Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on July 27, 2013, 08:04:28 AM

Title: Birchall set to consider his future with T&T
Post by: Tallman on July 27, 2013, 08:04:28 AM
Birchall set to consider his future with T&T
The Sentinel

CHRIS Birchall could be ready to quit international football to concentrate solely on his career at Port Vale.

The 29-year-old midfielder missed a large part of the Valiants' pre-season programme as he was on duty with Trinidad and Tobago in the CONCACAF Gold Cup.

And, after their exit at the quarter-final stage, he says he'll think "long and hard" about playing for the Soca Warriors again.

"I'll have a good look at it and see if playing for Trinidad and Tobago is jeopardising my club football," he said.

"We are out of the World Cup qualifiers now, so for a couple of years there won't be much to play for.

"I'll speak to the gaffer (Micky Adams) and see what he wants me to do this season if and when I get call-ups.

Read More... (http://www.socawarriors.net/foreign-based/foreign-based-news/foreign-based-news/12708-birchall-set-to-consider-his-future-with-t-t.html)
Title: Re: Birchall set to consider his future with T&T
Post by: OutsideMan on July 27, 2013, 09:06:06 AM
Pretty much expected.  I think everyone more-or-less realized that he probably played his last game in a T&T uniform in the dying minutes of the Mexico game last week Saturday. 

Whether he plays for T&T again, all the best, CB!

You represented the country well with hard work and honour.   :beermug:
Post by: Reaper2004 on July 27, 2013, 09:07:47 AM
Do what you got to Birchie if you want to focus on your club we wont criticize you for that. But I blame you Stephen Hart for using him to late against Mexico AND when he could have had some playing time in the last 4 games of the Gold Cup!!!   :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: >:( >:( >:( >:( :pissedoff: :pissedoff: :pissedoff:
Post by: royal on July 27, 2013, 09:40:34 AM
he got to do what he got to do. Talking to his manager is a waste of time because we all know what he's going to say. He needs to talk to Hart also.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 27, 2013, 10:23:43 AM
Do what you got to Birchie if you want to focus on your club we wont criticize you for that. But I blame you Stephen Hart for using him to late against Mexico AND when he could have had some playing time in the last 4 games of the Gold Cup!!!   :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: >:( >:( >:( >:( :pissedoff: :pissedoff: :pissedoff:

u blame hart? birchall looked real out of shape...which made sense when u looked at his twitter posts where he complained about the intensity of the training sessions...the man unfit right now.
Post by: futbolfan on July 27, 2013, 10:30:03 AM

Most on here wondered about his exclusion from the lineup, but when he came on for the Mexico game you could look at his physical appearance ( the pooch) and surmise that he was not in the best of condition. Obviously the coach and training staff felt, for whatever reason that he was not up to par.
I wish him well in all of his future endeavors and hope that his international career did not end against Mexico. :beermug:
Post by: Sam on July 27, 2013, 10:45:26 AM

We have another coach on de board.

Anyway, I love Birchall, but he is not fit and was not used, bottom line.

I respect his opinion and he will be a player we will always remember for T&T.

Hopefully, we will see him in the future for T&T to help pass something along the younger ones.

Good luck Me Mum.

Post by: supporter on July 27, 2013, 02:54:24 PM
If international duty is a lot of football training with tough matches, then how can that set you back with League One preparations? If anything, you come back sharper and fitter.  He should be thankful he even got called up as he hasnt been playing anywhere and has been in poor shape.
Post by: Rodney on July 27, 2013, 03:06:43 PM
As Royal say, don't know why he is bothering talking to his club manager (especially a British one!) about his international future. There is only one way that conversation would come out in favour of T&T and that is if Adams still considers him a fringe player so keeping him in the international picture would help with his marketability if they wanted to sell him.

Yes he was clearly unfit & yes we ain't got any competitive fixtures until after Brazil but I think the extended riding of the pine had a part to play with this soul searching. He has almost always been a first teamer since he agreed to play for us; must have been hard to stomach especially when they first insisted on persisting with an ineffective Theobald and then didn't consider him as an option to replace Bleeder.

It will be a shame if he does call it a day as he could still have been an option for 2018. Would have only been 32 or 33 by tournament time and we all know Concacaf have the longest qualification of all regions. Plus, playing fuh T&T seems to extend the playing career (if not your success  ::) ) well into the 30's.
Post by: OutsideMan on July 27, 2013, 03:15:01 PM
If international duty is a lot of football training with tough matches, then how can that set you back with League One preparations? If anything, you come back sharper and fitter.  He should be thankful he even got called up as he hasnt been playing anywhere and has been in poor shape.

Post by: Sando on July 27, 2013, 03:29:36 PM
Birchall was unhappy he did not play and should not be, the first game vs el Salvador maybe but not the rest because he was not match fit and we needed running legs.

His Vale manager should be happy he has an international player at his club and we got him trim and fit just in time for the new season.

Birchall, just remember you are one of the original warriors and will alway be please don't get sucked into this media or club vs country thing as playing international football has help you as a Player.

There were many good players that did not even get the chance to train with the team farless play. Our captain played one game, our captain was bench and he did not mind because the team is first.

Post by: Coop's on July 27, 2013, 03:34:59 PM
Guys lets try and think as a player in Birchall position would think,u was a starter from day one on the team,is not now Birchall is being benched or even called (not sure),as a player these are signs to start considering your future,does he have the descipline to play Football for four to five more years at this level.

I think he has more of a future with his club than T&T so he should talk to his club manager because that's where his Bread and Butter is.
Post by: just cool on July 27, 2013, 07:20:19 PM
Stteeeuuupppsssssss!!!

ah glad allyuh hear fuh allyuh self, the man say it eh have nothing to play for, no gold cup, no world cup, so he dun wid that until further notice.

so here it is in ah nut shell, the only reason to be an international is when something is @ stake, but when it's just friendlies or regional tourneys, lemme just wait this out and let the B teamers fight their guts out and when we qualify i will come in and do meh ting.

my self and "true trini" talked about this many times! IMO birchal saw that he may not FEATURE ON THE TEAM AS HE WOULD LIKE AND DECIDE IS BETTER TO RIDE OUT THAN TO SIT AND RIDE PINE.

two degicel cups in a row birchall was called up and he fained injury or business matters so he wont wave to participate, he never wants to play in unimportant tourneys, he only wants to star in the big games while the local base do all the heavy lifting.

and it's not just birchal but all those english players with the exception of boucaud and ricky shakes who really wanted to play for T&T.

fellas like hoyte, zamora, JLLoyd and even birchall. had those guys got ah wiff @ england yuh think they would even give T&T the slightest thought?

it's all a using game, now these fellas either realize that their english dreams would not materialize and decided finally to come play for we, but grudgingly.

i bet if T&T had the status of a mexico or uraguay they would've been in our squad since they were as young as 21 yrs old, just look @ the other hoyte who's still young(23) and could get an england call up, see if he would jump on the trini train anytime soon??
Post by: fitzinho on July 27, 2013, 10:26:21 PM
Can't see how anybody could vex with the man for making this decision, everybody hadda eat.
Post by: Trini Madness on July 27, 2013, 11:00:57 PM
When i went to the training session in jersey birchy didnt look fit. We all know what he can do when he is fit. If he decides to retire from international football it'll be ok i can respect that. Birchy will go down as one of T&T's favorites and wont be forgotten. IMO i hope he doesnt we still need that "hustlers" presence in the midfield, i believe he can still do it.
Post by: Rodney on July 28, 2013, 05:22:54 AM
Stteeeuuupppsssssss!!!

ah glad allyuh hear fuh allyuh self, the man say it eh have nothing to play for, no gold cup, no world cup, so he dun wid that until further notice.

so here it is in ah nut shell, the only reason to be an international is when something is @ steak, but when it's just friendlies or regional tourneys, lemme just wait this out and let the B teamers fight their guts out and when we qualify i will come in and do meh ting.

my self and "true trini" talked about this many times! IMO birchal saw that he may not FEATURE ON THE TEAM AS HE WOULD LIKE AND DECIDE IS BETTER TO RIDE OUT THAN TO SIT AND RIDE PINE.

two degicel cups in a row birchall was called up and he fained injury or business matters so he wont wave to participate, he never wants to play in unimportant tourneys, he only wants to star in the big games while the local base do all the heavy lifting.

and it's not just birchal but all those english players with the exception of boucaud and ricky shakes who really wanted to play for T&T.

fellas like hoyte, zamora, JLLoyd and even birchall. had those guys got ah wiff @ england yuh think they would even give T&T the slightest thought?

it's all a using game, now these fellas either realize that their english dreams would not materialize and decided finally to come play for we, but grudgingly.

i bet if T&T had the status of a mexico or uraguay they would've been in our squad since they were as young as 21 yrs old, just look @ the other hoyte who's still young(23) and could get an england call up, see if he would jump on the trini train anytime soon??

Normally I don't bother with statements like that and let people say what they want, but the utter nonsense you just spew there has cheesed me off. So you saying Birchall been using the country all along and because he think he is ah starboy and the situation don't suit him, he done with us.

There are two MASSIVE flaws in your argument - First, WE ASK HIM TUH PLAY FOR US , he never offer his services to T&T. Before we came calling the man had never even considered playing international ball far less playing fuh T&T. Second the man agreed as soon as we asked, there was no 'let me think and explore other options first'. All the others you mentioned were approached by T&T (some multiple times!!) and turned us down. The only reason Boucaud and Shakes considered T&T was because -like Birchall - they knew they had no future with England, very early in their careers. What makes them different to Birchall??? And please, you know many of our foreign based been avoiding the digicel since before digicel start sponsoring it. not just Birchall.  All this has been common knowledge fuh years!

Where do you get your information from  ??? ???
Post by: de_redman on July 28, 2013, 06:18:10 AM
It is amazing how quick we are to cry down our heroes! To tell you the truth there has been a natural bias against Birchall from certain posters like jus cool, but I will not get into that... All the best Birchall! I doubt we've seen the last of you in the red, white and black! Hope you have success at every level of this game.  :beermug:
Post by: Dinner Mints on July 28, 2013, 06:26:33 AM
...there has been a natural bias against Birchall from certain posters like jus cool, but I will not get into that.
It's pretty obvious.
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 28, 2013, 07:31:37 AM
JC, you really hate Bleeder ahead of Chris throughout their int'l career? Hard to measure/quantify Bleeder's impact nationally IMO versus Chris and there are many contributions from Chris that changed the course of int'l games, several readily come to mind. Just hope is really footballing skills you are looking at when you critique the man and not phenotype or other passports etc. You could cuss me if u want, but it comes across more like the latter
Post by: just cool on July 28, 2013, 07:32:42 AM
Here's a list of players who IMO, could replace birchall any day of the week.

jovin jones
darryl roberts
mekeil williams
kedell jagdoesingh
hyland
guerra
molino
hector

we don't need him if he wants to be treated special, and don't want to put in the work and earn his playing time. IMO the only reason he bitchin is bc he got very little playing time on hart's squad, and he figure's it would be a waste of his time to train and not get any playing time in these insignificant friendlies, just like the insignificant degicel cup.
Post by: just cool on July 28, 2013, 07:48:00 AM
JC, you really hate Bleeder ahead of Chris throughout their int'l career? Hard to measure/quantify Bleeder's impact nationally IMO versus Chris and there are many contributions from Chris that changed the course of int'l games, several readily come to mind. Just hope is really footballing skills you are looking at when you critique the man and not phenotype or other passports etc. You could cuss me if u want, but it comes across more like the latter
Barataria i believe you smarter than that.

tell me this, if i hating on CB only bc he's white, then explain me why i rate and lobby for ppl like pfister and beehakker, why am i one of the few who calls our own ppl xenophobic if i adhere to the same principles??  that would make me the hypocrite of the decade if your speculative assertions were true, now wouldn't it?

despite my out spoken ways on white supremacy (this western white governmental system, not to be mistaken with the ayrian nation) i have nothing against white individuals like many of the baboons on here may like to think, as ah matter of fact i have half white kids believe it or not, and many white colleagues whom i get on very well with.

in ah nut shell, i think CB is very average and nothing to lose sleep over. as ah matter of fact i would be more worried if last leg carlos says he's contemplating retirement, than one trick pony CB.

BTW, my favorite player for a long time was steven gerard, and no i'm not a pool fan. another player who fascinates me id chritiano ronaldo, so white boy eh have sh!t to do with this, bottom line is, the man is ah lame duck!! end of fackin story!
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 28, 2013, 07:57:07 AM
Well, I brought it up b/c while I understand and oftentimes agree with you on many anti-neocolonial, pro African positions this one (which you clarified is not one of the same) is very puzzling. If you are making a today statement about Chris I could understand it, no pro baller showing that level of fat is ready for international ball, so clearly he has some work to do to get back fit. But once fit, if you examine what he has contributed to the national team his contributions are tremendous, stevie wonder and ray Charles could see that and thus would be great to have in the mix, experience wise as well -- you need that in the dressing room. Your list put up while true today should also be taken in the context of his current fitness. Bottom line, we need all of our pool ready for the next series of comptetive games leading into the 2018 quals. CB is 28, has more to contribute IMO, along with KJ and the others who are on the right side of 30. Bless
Post by: Big Magician on July 28, 2013, 12:14:05 PM
Legend 8

just go out and  cement a starting spot for Vale...thats the start...
get your drive and passion back for the game...
after all...this man come out the blue...play every minute at the WC finals... 2 league medals in MLS...maybe he thinks he had enough...who knows

Post by: fitzinho on July 28, 2013, 01:14:23 PM
Men talking about him not offering much to the national squad, yet it was goals from him that kept us in the hunt for our first World Cup. When last Bleeder score a goal/assist a goal/ prevent a goal??
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on July 28, 2013, 05:04:37 PM
So d football finally look like it getting back on track and allyuh pissing on a man who eh sell like many others out and give blood, sweat and tears from d moment he realize he was a son of d soil........he still young and should not be physically burnt out so I hope to see him continue being a shining image of hard work and discipline for our young athletes to follow........or allyuh know something from behind d scenes?
Post by: just cool on July 28, 2013, 06:12:58 PM
Men talking about him not offering much to the national squad, yet it was goals from him that kept us in the hunt for our first World Cup. When last Bleeder score a goal/assist a goal/ prevent a goal??
So wait!!  ah man like stern who have 100 caps with 69 goals get to be ridiculed, even going through WCQ in 2005 which he netted 8 fackin goals, but birchall who score one goal for the cause is untouchable, and if anyone remotely throw a critical comment his way, it brings so much uproar?? man allyuh must like the taste of white poo!!

lemme ask yuh this though, when last he scored for us?? every time i criticize birchall i have to hear bout his great hussle and that one goal that helped took us to a WC, a WC that evidently took our football down to bare board bc of the impasse and the WC money that jack had a plan for in the first place.

i eh hate the bredder, but what is all the hype about, the guy eh all dat, he 's very ordinary. i could understand if the man was ah goal machine or an assist king, but what the guy brings to the team we could get that from one of the many midfielders that i specified earlier.

So d football finally look like it getting back on track and allyuh pissing on a man who eh sell like many others out and give blood, sweat and tears from d moment he realize he was a son of d soil........he still young and should not be physically burnt out so I hope to see him continue being a shining image of hard work and discipline for our young athletes to follow........or allyuh know something from behind d scenes?
So bleeder don't give his all, in that last tourney hyland didn't give his all, roberts didn't give his all?? but yet allyuh pound them!

right through the game man was bawlin for roberts to come off while he was bustin ah gut for the team, same with hyland, and doh talk for bleeder, that man never turn down ah call up, and is one of our very faithful players, but allyuh treat this boy worst than mud froth.  stueeppsss!

man talking bout "allyuh must know something behind the scenes", anybody have to know what's goin to give their opinion on a players. sttiuueeepppsssss! allyuh does kill me sore yes!!  since when golden boy is beyond reproach.

PS: and it have nuff members who feel the same as i do but scared sh!tless to stand up and back ah mdfkr!! real soft pussy sh!t!
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on July 28, 2013, 08:47:06 PM
Ok soldier.........who else need to be given their walking papers?
Post by: fitzinho on July 29, 2013, 09:20:33 AM
So wait!!  ah man like stern who have 100 caps with 69 goals get to be ridiculed, even going through WCQ in 2005 which he netted 8 fackin goals, but birchall who score one goal for the cause is untouchable, and if anyone remotely throw a critical comment his way, it brings so much uproar?? man allyuh must like the taste of white poo!!

lemme ask yuh this though, when last he scored for us?? every time i criticize birchall i have to hear bout his great hussle and that one goal that helped took us to a WC, a WC that evidently took our football down to bare board bc of the impasse and the WC money that jack had a plan for in the first place.

i eh hate the bredder, but what is all the hype about, the guy eh all dat, he 's very ordinary. i could understand if the man was ah goal machine or an assist king, but what the guy brings to the team we could get that from one of the many midfielders that i specified earlier.

So bleeder don't give his all, in that last tourney hyland didn't give his all, roberts didn't give his all?? but yet allyuh pound them!

right through the game man was bawlin for roberts to come off while he was bustin ah gut for the team, same with hyland, and doh talk for bleeder, that man never turn down ah call up, and is one of our very faithful players, but allyuh treat this boy worst than mud froth.  stueeppsss!

man talking bout "allyuh must know something behind the scenes", anybody have to know what's goin to give their opinion on a players. sttiuueeepppsssss! allyuh does kill me sore yes!!  since when golden boy is beyond reproach.

PS: and it have nuff members who feel the same as i do but scared sh!tless to stand up and back ah mdfkr!! real soft pussy sh!t!
I get what you saying, and I agree that he isn't a superior talent, but my issue is that if the man said he needed to evaluate his future with the team how does that make him a "star boy" who only thinking bout his self which is what the initial comments seemed to suggest. If you not a fan blast away, but keep it in perspective cuz as u said people including myself put men like Stern and Bleeder on blast. Birchall knows why he didnt see playing time this tournament. All I'm saying is if he have to feed his family MNT ball could take a back seat.  :beermug:
Post by: Andre on July 29, 2013, 03:14:15 PM
like de man say, club football is he bread and butter. league one players doh make much so if something happen b/c of playing for t&t who going and feed he family?
Post by: just cool on July 29, 2013, 04:21:52 PM
I have no problem with the fella taking a back seat (retiring), that's all well and good, but don't come later when we are in contention foranother WC or gold cup and express his desire to play once more, this is my point.

listen to the words the man used as to why he may consider retirement, "we're out of the world cup qualifiers now, so for a couple yrs their wont be much to play for".

this sound like to me this guy is not interested in playing "insignificant" football (friendlies), just tournament football. so the other players could work toward rebuilding a cohesive unit, while other players take a back seat until tournament time?? this i would have to say is quint essential birchall mentality.

just go back and see how many friendlies and caribbean tourneys did birchall participated in,  even when his season was over in MLS and was available to participate refused the call up.

as for the ppl who talking bout he busted a gut for us and was down for the cause, well why not! it's not every day a league 2 player gets the opportunity to play in a world cup. matter of fact it's ah fackin dream come through.
Post by: PATRIOT on July 29, 2013, 05:53:22 PM
All the Best Birchall! You always played with heart and your goals for T&T, tho few in number, were significant. If you decide to retire, thanks for the memories Me Mum, and best wishes in your club career!
Post by: Socapro on July 31, 2013, 11:29:57 PM
It's all about playing time!

Check this different perspective from Andre Boucaud who had much more playing time than Birchall in the Gold Cup at this link: Andre Boucaud out to impress - Nottingham Post
(http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=60204.0)
Post by: royal on August 06, 2013, 11:33:52 AM
Birchall announces his retirement from international football

http://www.wired868.com/2013/08/06/birchall-announces-retirement-from-soca-warriors/
Post by: D.H.W on August 06, 2013, 11:36:10 AM
Hmmmmm
Post by: FF on August 06, 2013, 11:45:40 AM
Well... good luck Birchall. Thanks for everything!

Post by: vb on August 06, 2013, 12:13:08 PM
Thanks Birch and see you in the next qualifiers.  :)
Post by: KND2 on August 06, 2013, 12:14:43 PM
onliest man on the field who probably did not know what Nov 19th felt like.

That was a crucial goal he score against bahrain.

if that game did finish 0-1 in the back of everybody in the country mind we would have start to talk about jinx etc etc
Nov 19th all over again.

to go to Baharian needing to win would have been difficult mentally on the guys who knows what the outcome would be

That was a crucial goal he score against bahrain.

it settle the nerves.............
Post by: Thomo on August 06, 2013, 12:49:19 PM
Thanks for everything Birchall and good luck and GodSpeed in your future endeavours!! That goal versus Bahrain still makes me jump for joy and in my opinion was your crowning moment!! RESPECT!!
Post by: de_redman on August 06, 2013, 01:16:21 PM
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!
Birchall I know you read this forum. Doh take on idiots like jus cool please. His opinions do not reflect even 0.0001% of trinidadians.
Anyway if you need to call it a day then all the best in your professional career. As far as I'm concerned we were not reaching Germany without your commitment to our country, your dedication to the team, your fight on the field, and your goal against Bahrain!  :beermug:
Let no one cry you down, Hold your head high for you are a true Soca Warrior!  :salute:
Post by: D.H.W on August 06, 2013, 01:19:57 PM
I doubt this forum have anything to do with it. I will be shocked if it does
Post by: Banter Banton on August 06, 2013, 01:36:49 PM
LEGEND

Thank you Chris for your service and always giving 100% in the red black and white

Really Sad news... Good luck with your club career and buss de net
Post by: Andre on August 06, 2013, 02:02:27 PM
a man must do what a man have to do.

nice retirement letter - https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151637678258929&set=a.10150284289968929.347400.22087728928&type=1

big up Birchall!

http://www.youtube.com/v/KV0SxGDkF2o
Title: Re: Re: Birchall set to consider his future with T&T
Post by: D.H.W on August 06, 2013, 02:11:39 PM
a man must do what a man have to do.

big up Birchall!

http://www.youtube.com/v/KV0SxGDkF2o

I saw this live and direct!
Post by: Thomo on August 06, 2013, 02:37:21 PM
For the life of me I didn't expect a reply strewn with racist undertones by JC. No need for that type of language or behavior!!
Post by: Deeks on August 06, 2013, 03:02:13 PM
When ever we build TT Football Hall of Fame, you will be there together prominently with those who never had the opportunity to play in WC qualifiers, those who almost made it, and the future ones who will take us there again. What a goal!!!! Me Mum. Thanks for the great memories. I hope this retirement from football does not mean you will retire back in Port Vale. Get your FA badge. Come and impart your knowledge on the youngsters in TT. Who knows, you will be TT national team coach one day. Let me see if they go call you foreigner. ;D
Post by: grimm01 on August 06, 2013, 04:58:41 PM
Thanks and good luck Chris!
Post by: Bakes on August 06, 2013, 05:45:33 PM
In my estimation this fella was never fully appreciated by the old Federation, and some would argue the new as well.  No sense in leaving yuh club to come TnT and ride pine in these b.s. competitions we does be playing in, not when your own professional livelihood at stake.

Well done Chris, always a Trini, always a Warrior... and best of wishes moving forward  :beermug:
Post by: FireBrand on August 06, 2013, 06:12:27 PM
Thank you Chris! Blessings and best wishes in all your future endeavors.

http://www.youtube.com/v/uMnxLgf5YeI
Post by: trini_stallion on August 06, 2013, 06:20:19 PM
Man is class..thanks me mum...true warrior! All de best star
Post by: Cocorite on August 06, 2013, 07:34:40 PM
Thanks Chris for your commitment and contributions to Team T&T. All the best with your continued club career. Don't be a stranger to SWO we appreciate you and wish you the very best. We will miss your hustle in the engine room.  :salute:
Post by: weary1969 on August 06, 2013, 09:15:52 PM
 :beermug: All the Best that goal v Bahrain will forever be edged in my memory.
Post by: Controversial on August 06, 2013, 09:47:02 PM
good luck and thanks for the service...

after i pointed out his out of timing comment after the guyana match, that set the tone for how players are viewed and what must be given to the national colours :beermug:
Post by: Flex on August 07, 2013, 01:52:26 AM
Birchall calls it a day from international football.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association acknowledges the decision by midfielder Christopher Birchall to retire from  international football.

Birchall sent a letter to the TTFA at 5:30am on Tuesday August 6th, 2013 which effectively means his last appearance for Trinidad and Tobago would have been the 2013 Concacaf Gold Cup quarter-final fixture against Mexico.

TTFA President Raymond Tim Kee thanked Birchall’s for his services to this country.

“We would like to acknowledge the letter sent by Christopher Birchall indicating his decision to retire from international football and the national team. We at the TTFA, and I speak on behalf of the coaches, his teammates and the local fraternity, take this opportunity to wish Chris the very best for the future and his career at the club level.

His services to our country’s national team have been of tremendous significance and played a great role in our thrust forward. His goal in the opening leg of the playoff versus Bahrain remains etched in our minds,” Tim Kee stated.

The 29-year-old Birchall scored four goals in 43 appearances for T&T. He made his debut on May 25th, 2005 in a friendly international against Bermuda. His first competitive appearance was against Panama in a 2006 World Cup qualifier on June 4th, 2005.

Below is a transcript of Birchall’s resignation letter.

I am writing to inform the TTFA of my immediate retirement from International football for Trinidad & Tobago.

I have thought long and hard about my decision and although it is a very difficult decision for me to make, I believe it's the correct one.

I would like to concentrate on my club football with Port Vale FC and give my best for the years I have left with them.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank many people that have made my international career possible and colourful throughout.

Mr Jack Warner made it all possible for me and I will always be eternally thankful to him for introducing me to the start of my journey with the team. He made me and my family very welcome to the country and gave my mother a chance to come home to Trinidad.

Mr Mike Berry whom worked with Mr Warner made my early years with the team exciting and was always there to communicate with to make my transition very easy.

I would like to take time to thank all the coaches I've worked under with the national team, Mr Beenhakker, Mr Rijsbergen ,Mr Maturana, Mr Latapy, Mr Hutson Charles and Mr Shabazz and Mr Stephen Hart.

A special mention has to go to Mr Beenhakker, he was the first coach I worked under and had a special relationship with, he knew what he wanted to do with the Soca Warriors and  personally what he wanted from me to help the team create history and qualify for our first ever World Cup, without him  it would never have been possible and subsequently it produced the best memories of all of our lifetime.

To all of the players I've played with, they have all been an honour to play with and all brought their own strengths to represent the nation.

The 2006 squad was an exceptional one and was led by Dwight Yorke. As the captain I'd like to thank him for being a friend off the pitch and welcoming me with open arms to the team and on the pitch being a warrior and a pleasure to play in the middle of the park with.

Players like Kelvin Jack, Shaka Hislop, Clayton Ince,Tiger Fitzpatrick, David Nakhid, Stern John, Russell Latapy, Brent Sancho, Avery John,Dennis Lawrence, Marvin Andrews, Carlos Edwards, Densill Theobald, Kenwyne Jones have all become friends and I'd like to thank them all.

Mr Peter Rampersad has been there every step of the way as the technical manager and has done an amazing job and hopefully will continue to do so.

Last I would like to thank the most important people of all, the fans and the general public of Trinidad & Tobago.

Never did I think I would be accepted in the manner of which I did, the support I have received over the years has been phenomenal and I think it was made easier due to my fighting spirit and hard attitude on the pitch.

It is hard to call it a day but if I have left just one historic memory with the fans then I have achieved much more than I ever dreamed imaginable with the team.

I have always tried to give 100% on the pitch and give my all for the nation whenever called upon and wear the shirt with pride as I know how many people would die for my opportunity.

So with pride I announce my international retirement and look forward to seeing future Soca Warriors represent the country under the special guidance of coaches and TTFA president Mr Raymond Tim Kee.

Yours Faithfully
Chris Birchall

Post by: rotatopoti3 on August 07, 2013, 06:29:53 AM
Thank you Mr.Birchall...

May new opportunities open up for you....

You never know, perhaps one day you may return to coach TNT or help out in the PFL.....

All the best and thank you for your sacrifice....and service... Triniboy
Post by: de_redman on August 07, 2013, 06:42:17 AM
For the life of me I didn't expect a reply strewn with racist undertones by JC. No need for that type of language or behavior!!
News Flash: JUST COOL HATES HIMSELF!
This is the only conclusion I can come to. Has anyone ever noticed that when he maligns us on this forum, he refers to us as monkeys or baboons? The same derogatory insults we've tried to move away from as a people for many years. Yet he does this to divide us. Just Cool doesn't dislike white people he just loathes himself... blast away I'm done, all I feel is pitty for you now...
Post by: sjahrain on August 07, 2013, 08:03:17 AM
After all is said done,you came through for us,you even brought us closer as a nation and people,we called and you came giving all spearing none,if this is truely your desire,I will say thank you so very much and I am positive many will be in agreement,you truely belong in the Hall of our heroes,you have earned that right
Take a bow and when you are through make sure you hold your head high,you are truely a WARRIOR.... :worried: :devil:
Post by: Savannah boy on August 07, 2013, 09:20:45 AM
Thank you and good luck to you Chris!!!
Post by: socalion on August 07, 2013, 11:57:18 AM
chris birchall ... take a bow warrior !!  you will certainly be remembered by many for representing  the red , white and black  colours of trinidad and tobago  honourably , professionally and with commitment, thankyou very much indeed  you've done us proud along with the rest of your team mates of 2006 .. all of you  brought tremendous joy to all of trinidad and tobago , so  to you warrior chris birchall may god bless you and your family with sustainable health  and wishing you the very best  in all of your lifes future endeavours ......... best wishes  and thanks much for the memories...( n.b)   here's hoping this will not be the last contribution to the national football programme .  chris birchall .....god bless
Post by: Bakes on August 07, 2013, 12:15:56 PM
good luck and thanks for the service...

after i pointed out his out of timing comment after the guyana match, that set the tone for how players are viewed and what must be given to the national colours :beermug:
Look how peer pressure does make man turn pussy, and change their tune in order to appease.

first rule of life = always remain true to your self. here's ah yellow card for a yellow belly fello.     :yellowcard:

Just Cool you really need to cool it now.  There is no need for these kinda personal attacks on Chris Birchall's character.
Post by: damiangoal on August 07, 2013, 12:44:32 PM
To the Mighty Warrior, may God continue to bless every thing you touch. You and the rest of "2006" team made us believe that we too as citizens can be the greatest in anything we do with your never say die spirit. Mr. Christopher Birchall you have shown us that to be a "Warrior" is to show "TRUE GRIT".  :applause:
So on behalf of me and my wife Carmen, thank you and may the the light that is Jesus Christ continue to light your path! :peace: :salute:
Post by: Big Magician on August 07, 2013, 12:48:46 PM
LEGEND 7

blessings to you and the Fam...respect forever

Warri facking or
Post by: grskywalker on August 07, 2013, 03:34:32 PM
Chris Birchall your name is forever stamped in the hearts of many Trinis. You came in as an unknown quantity and delivered time and time again for TNT, omg your goals your goals!!! Damn these will long be reviewed. You were a workhorse for us even in the midst of other "professionals" , I only wish is if more of our players could give us half of what you brought to the team we would have more to be proud of. Just like that you played in a World Cup for Trinidad and Tobago where many before you and after can only dream of doing.
You have given your best for us and it is sad to see you go, and I do hope you have continued success at Port Vale
Post by: futbolfan on August 07, 2013, 03:54:54 PM
Thanks for all the great memories, your dedication and efforts will never be forgotten. :beermug:
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on August 07, 2013, 09:04:49 PM
A servant to the Red White and Black, thanks for your service. Should look into coaching when he retires, a player who gets the absolute most out of his god given talents usually makes a good coach.
Post by: Flex on August 08, 2013, 03:49:33 PM
Anyhow, finally meeting Chris was an absolute honor. I wish him all the best in the future.

He has always put his best foot forward for T&T. Its sad to see someone 29 years old hanging up his boot but its his decision and we have to respect that.

Had it not been for the blacklist we would have seen more of him and at a better capacity and even though he was not blacklisted after 2006 but the chemistry broke and things changed in the admin for the worst which I am sure affected him among others.

Glad he was part of the team that beat USA and was instrumental in that game as well...

Good luck Birchall, you will always be remembered and your goal against Bahrain will live in our history books and minds forever.

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/17518_10201436682499631_479744467_n.jpg)

Post by: Socapro on August 09, 2013, 12:55:38 AM
Thank you Chris for your exemplary dedication and service to the red, white & black.   :beermug:

It was great to meet you and support you at a local Port-Vale FC game in 2005 before you helped us qualify with that dynamic and most memorable goal against Bahrain!

Wishing you all the best with the rest of your football career and I will do my best to come and see you play at a game or two with Port Vale FC as you will forever be Soca Warrior #7 for me and all other Trinis.
Post by: Brownsugar on August 10, 2013, 06:29:48 AM
Thanks for de goal against Bahrain...... :beermug:
Post by: Sando on August 26, 2013, 07:11:13 AM
Since Birchall retired to focus on his club career he have not started or played in a game for them.

Being an international rises your stock.

Post by: Rodney on August 26, 2013, 09:04:21 AM
Since Birchall retired to focus on his club career he have not started or played in a game for them.

Being an international rises your stock.

I've said it before; I think his retiring had less to do with his club career and more to do with him ridin the pine at the GC. It is a difficult decision to commit to playing for T&T when your chances of playing are slim for both club and country, so many things go against you in the lower leagues if you are an international but fighting for a starting spot at your club. I think he looked at his options and realised at this stage he had little choice but to do what he did as the club career is the one that pays the bills.

I highly doubt that if he was still a certain starter that international retirment would have been seriously considered. This is not meant to be critical of his decision, just an opinion. Birchall was a great servant to the MNT.
Post by: vb on August 26, 2013, 09:19:14 AM
I think Chris riding pine at the GC had more to do with his belly than the actual competition in the team.

Chris should still be a major factor in pro football for the next three years.
With TT having no WC prospects for that period, he is logically trying to cement a place in a good club.

I guarantee you if in 2017 we in the semis or the hex final, and Chris has good form, he will "unretire."

Post by: Dinner Mints on August 26, 2013, 02:48:37 PM
It's been that way even before he retired. It's probably why he retired.
Post by: dreamer on August 26, 2013, 09:53:31 PM
Thanks Me mum for your contribution to the brand of the Warriors when it was at its highest.
I will never forget that goal against Bahrain. You did it and made many of us happy like pappy. Awesome when one looks back at those days fighting up like crabs in a barrel to make World Cup.
Post by: Tallman on December 06, 2013, 01:48:44 PM
Birchall fully focused on club commitments
The Sentinel

THIS afternoon's World Cup draw will bring back happy memories for Chris Birchall, but matters in Burslem rather than Brazil are at the forefront of his mind these days.

Eight years ago, Birchall was in the Crown Hotel in Stone to watch the draw for the 2006 World Cup finals in Germany.

The midfielder, from Yarnfield, was practically dancing on the ceiling when his Trinidad and Tobago side were paired in the same group as England.

He went on to represent club and country with distinction as Vale's first-ever World Cup finalist helped Trinidad to a draw with Sweden before they suffered 2-0 defeats to England and Paraguay.

That was the highlight of an international career which ended last month when Birchall played his last game for the Soca Warriors in a 2-0 home victory over Jamaica.

The 29-year-old, who qualifies because his mum, Jenny, was born in Trinidad, had retired from international football in the summer, but was invited back for a farewell game.

He said: "I can't believe it is eight years since that draw.

"I was just a whippersnapper then and it was one of the most exciting times of my life.

"I'm sorry to be saying goodbye to football with Trinidad and Tobago because I appreciate everything they have done for me.

Read More... (http://socawarriors.net/foreign-based/foreign-based-news/foreign-based-news/13388-birchall-fully-focused-on-club-commitments.html)