Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on July 31, 2013, 03:55:56 PM

Title: Manny Ramjohn Stadium
Post by: Flex on July 31, 2013, 03:55:56 PM
Scoreboard Trinidad posted some 2013 pictures of the Manny Ramjohn Stadium

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/1095113_582991895070328_937864206_n.jpg)

(https://sphotos-a-lga.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash4/1003340_582993451736839_1904571393_n.jpg)

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/1003903_582992315070286_1513540246_n.jpg)

Title: Re: Manny Ramjohn Stadium
Post by: Banter Banton on July 31, 2013, 03:57:20 PM
JESUS CHRIST

Post by: vb on July 31, 2013, 04:00:15 PM
WDMC!!!!????? :o :o
Post by: Cocorite on July 31, 2013, 04:18:50 PM
Where those Water Melons come from? The Stadium? It should be called the MR Pastures
Post by: Socapro on July 31, 2013, 04:38:52 PM
Scoreboard Trinidad posted some 2013 pictures of the Manny Ramjohn Stadium
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/1003903_582992315070286_1513540246_n.jpg)
Are those fellas using water mellons as footballs in Manny Ramjohn Stadium?
Is that the type of football now being played there to match the state of the pitch?

Or maybe they are now growing water mellons on the football pitch!  :devil:
Post by: Football supporter on July 31, 2013, 05:41:43 PM
Apparently, it's a good spot to find decent mushrooms.

This is what we're up against. OK, so the stadium can't be used, but maintain the damn pitch for Gods sake. Now a whole new set of turf will need to be relaid after you treat the soil underneath. Next thing: there'll be no budget, so we'll be without the stadium for another season.

This is extremely poor management and heads should roll. Of course, the first head should be the Minister of Sport. Disgusting mismanagement of taxpayers resources.
Post by: Flex on July 31, 2013, 05:54:20 PM
The thing is, if the ministry of sport or who ever is responsible for maintaining the stadium is not interested then why not give the stadiums to league teams then or they just prefer to see it waste down to nothing?

I know 2 foreign investors who wants to get into the T&T league but not getting the Gov. support for a field, this is a perfect opportunity.

In other news, I heard Steve David wants to bring out a league team for the new season.
Post by: Nashy on July 31, 2013, 05:59:34 PM
The Stadium is not even fully paid for I can tell you.  T&T  this is our land.   Imagine millions expended and no ball.
Post by: Football supporter on July 31, 2013, 06:50:57 PM
The thing is, if the ministry of sport or who ever is responsible for maintaining the stadium is not interested then why not give the stadiums to league teams then or they just prefer to see it waste down to nothing?

I know 2 foreign investors who wants to get into the T&T league but not getting the Gov. support for a field, this is a perfect opportunity.

In other news, I heard Steve David wants to bring out a league team for the new season.

Even better, give it to two teams a la Bayern Munich. State owned facilities, ANYWHERE in the world tend to be run poorly. Private enterprise comes with a key aim: to make money. That means that facilities are usually better maintained and utilised. Even Wembley Stadium is owned by the F.A. through govt support.

I'd suggest giving Manny, Ato and Larry to the TTFA (once they've proved themselves) and let them make some cash for our football.
Post by: Jah Gol on July 31, 2013, 07:57:19 PM
Worthy of the foulest language possible to express the pinnacle of disgust.
Post by: weary1969 on July 31, 2013, 08:10:23 PM
JESUS CHRIST

Stop calling d Lord's name in vain just say WHATTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT OR LOUD STEUPSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
Post by: D.H.W on July 31, 2013, 08:15:30 PM
Who is the management for this place. Security?  How there get like that? Im lost
Post by: Football supporter on July 31, 2013, 08:24:07 PM
Who is the management for this place. Security?  How there get like that? Im lost

They say Tarouba has been stripped bare of fittings. Doors, bathroom fittings etc.

Shocking. You know, this stuff belongs to us. Those people who fail to look after our stuff should be made to pay. They have a duty of care, a responsibility to the citizens. This is nothing short of criminal negligence.
Title: Re: Re: Manny Ramjohn Stadium
Post by: D.H.W on July 31, 2013, 08:27:02 PM

They say Tarouba has been stripped bare of fittings. Doors, bathroom fittings etc.

Shocking. You know, this stuff belongs to us. Those people who fail to look after our stuff should be made to pay. They have a duty of care, a responsibility to the citizens. This is nothing short of criminal negligence.

Boy im shocked.  These Stadiums normally have management and security. So what happen? No track training goes on there anymore?
Post by: de_redman on July 31, 2013, 08:30:18 PM
 :rotfl: ....   :-\ ....  :-[ .....  >:( ......  :cursing:
Post by: dwolfman on July 31, 2013, 08:31:49 PM
I still hoping it's pictures from somewhere else. However, it's not difficult to imagine any one of our state run stadia looking like this except for HC or LG.
Post by: D.H.W on July 31, 2013, 08:36:57 PM
I still hoping it's pictures from somewhere else. However, it's not difficult to imagine any one of our state run stadia looking like this except for HC or LG.

Nah boy that is Mannie. Im still confused how this happen. Somebody call a media house
Post by: royal on July 31, 2013, 08:41:15 PM
did de staff just walk out and leave de place? It's totally confusing. Didn't dey use dis ground last season?
Post by: dwolfman on July 31, 2013, 08:44:31 PM

Nah boy that is Mannie. Im still confused how this happen. Somebody call a media house

While I agree that the national community should be made aware of this, what will come of it? There's no accountability in this country. Nobody will even be redeployed or warned about it.
Post by: Deeks on July 31, 2013, 10:12:57 PM
What is Anil doing. While they building the velodrome and swimming pool next to Ato, how could they neglect this stadium. Did they not play intercol finals in this stadium last year. You mean to say they can't pay some guys with lawmower to give the ground a haircut. Hire some goat to eat the grass. Nah that is a photo shop!!! I refuse to believe that!
Post by: Banter Banton on July 31, 2013, 10:22:06 PM
If they feel they could just cut that grass and maintain from there they mad

All the fields should be relaid.. but because Pro League around the corner they will have to focus solely on Manny because Ato not in bad shape at all..saw it the other day and it looked quite decent... HCS not bad either

Have not seen Larry Gomes in a while...hopefully out there not like a scene in Jumanji like Manny

DISGUSTING from Ministry of Sport..... get to work on this field immediately shithongs
Post by: Football supporter on July 31, 2013, 10:57:25 PM
From what I recall, to refurbish the track and do safety repairs to the stands they took Larry and Mannie offline. I guess (in their infinite wisdom) that the grass don't need looking after as no one is playing on it.

I hear Larry is in good shape. Dwight Yorke is also unsafe for spectators, though the field is in perfect condition (Tobago really looking after their fields). Even Hasely is an eyesore, with the parking lot like a rally cross circuit.

Really what is needed is a national stadium and savannah department, to identify priority maintenance, and basically maintain the sporting assets......wait a minute...isn't that what SPORTT is supposed to do??
Post by: Sam on August 01, 2013, 04:17:15 AM
Where is this, Jamaica ?

F00ck de track, fix de field and put proper drainage.

Anal Roberts is a big fat hairy big mouth c0nt.

Post by: Flex on August 01, 2013, 04:31:27 AM

Did you say call the media house.

Come on, this is T&T, they only concern about writing about Jack and Kamla everything else could wait.

And if Jack runs for PM and wins, all football in T&T will be dead. So its important the TTFA get some foundation to build on quick, maybe work out some deal with the MOS to get these stadiums.

If you check the T&T dailies, all of them, same story different writers.

No one brings anything different.

Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on August 01, 2013, 05:41:15 AM
i refusing to believe this..going down south later and check this for myself
Post by: Football supporter on August 01, 2013, 06:16:52 AM
Some info on Mannie......

http://www.sportt-tt.com/Facilities/MannieRamjohnStadium.aspx

http://www.sportt-tt.com/Facilities/MannieRamjohnStadium/VisitorInformationMannieRamjohnStadium.aspx

SPORTT   http://www.sportt-tt.com/Whatwedo.aspx

What we do    

The company’s core activities are divided into four main areas.

Construction and Facility Maintenance
    The Construction, Operation and Maintenance of high quality sport and recreation facilities for both communities and high performance athletes who are called to national service.

Post by: Football supporter on August 01, 2013, 06:25:23 AM
Newsday

Pro League top two face tough tasks

Friday, February 1 2013

THE DIGICEL Pro League will return to the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya, for the first time this season, as Round Two Match Day Five action takes place today and tomorrow.

Matches for the past few weeks have been confined to the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva, due to the unavailability of the other Government-owned stadia in Trinidad — Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo (Carnival shows), Larry Gomes Stadium in Arima and Manny Ramjohn Stadium in Marabella (refurbishment).

But, with the Couva venue due to host Wednesday’s friendly football international between Trinidad and Tobago and Peru, the League got the okay to stage this weekend’s games at the privately-owned Macoya facility.
Post by: Football supporter on August 01, 2013, 06:29:49 AM
Friday, October 31, 2008
Hunt criticises UNC-built stadia

Government plans to spend some $102 million to refurbish the four stadia which were built under the UNC government for the 2001 Youth World Cup, Sport Minister Gary Hunt stated yesterday.

The stadia were built through the instrumentality of FIFA vice president and Concacaf boss Jack Warner and there was a controversy over the tendering procedures.

"It speaks to the quality of construction," Hunt said, as he noted that the 30-year-old Hasely Crawford Stadium, which was close to the sea, never had a need for that kind of upgrade.

Giving details of the breakdown in cost, Hunt said Government would spend $23.5 million on the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Tobago, $27.5 million on the Larry Gomes in Arima, $22 million on the Ato Boldon in Couva and $29 million on the Manny Ramjohn Stadium in Marabella. He said the Government proposed to put down two artificial fields on the two stadia - Manny Ramjohn and Larry Gomes- which were in high use.

Ed: Mind you, PNM don't have a much better record judging by Tarouba!
!
Post by: Sam on August 01, 2013, 06:32:48 AM
So Jack Warner telling Anil to stop fixing de stadiums so he could make money on he Marvin Lee Stadium.

This man really powerful, he not even in power and still doing damage.

He only successful because T&T people dont have a unity and they dont care.

Post by: D.H.W on August 01, 2013, 06:45:34 AM

Did you say call the media house.

I have two people I can pass it on to Joel Villafana and Roger Sant
Post by: D.H.W on August 01, 2013, 06:45:54 AM
How recent are those pics?
Post by: OutsideMan on August 01, 2013, 07:27:52 AM
I've some trouble understanding the stadium pics on this thread.  The grass on the near side of the pics look pretty short, neat, and at least minimally maintained; but the grass on the far side of the pics looks quite overgrown.  The thing is, the angle of the pics don't really show the condition of the actual field, but only one particular side of the field.  If a photo of the field was taken from the upper stands and from behind the goal-posts, then we might get a better idea of the field condition. 

Other than that, though the stadium & field might really be in extreme disrepair from neglect, there isn't really much to go on from those pics.
Post by: Tenorsaw on August 01, 2013, 09:51:59 AM
Who is responsible for maintaining the stadia back home:  SportTT?
Post by: soccerrama on August 01, 2013, 11:21:55 AM
CNC3/Roger Sant had this story on their newcast last evening. The pictures shown here were also shown.
Post by: Football supporter on August 01, 2013, 11:55:13 AM
From SPORTT website Friday, March 08, 2013

Works are being conducted simultaneously at the Larry Gomes and Mannie Ramjohn Stadiums and involve complete renewals of the playing surfaces. Contractor for the field surfaces Pooran and Amzad Ogeer Maintenance has completely replaced the old field, filling with a coarse sand imported from Guyana which is expected to allow for better filtration and reduce surface run-off. Additionally, the grass to be used is Celebration Bermuda grade which is more resistant to local weather conditions and other environmental factors that cause deterioration such as mole crickets and weeds.

According to Anthony Blake, Facilities Manager at SPORTT, 80 percent of the works to the field at Larry Gomes and Mannie Ramjohn are complete and should be ready for us in approximately eight weeks. Blake also revealed that the track upgrades at both facilities, as well as the Dwight Yorke Stadium are also within schedule. The Arima and Marabella stadiums will be furnished with IAAF certified surfaces which can be used primarily for training purposes while the Ato Boldon and Dwight Yorke tracks will be IAAF Class 2 certified and therefore suitable for elite international events. The contractor providing services on the tracks is Advance Performance Technologies, who are expected to deliver the finished product at all the facilities in approximately ten weeks. Blake explained that works to the track are in the first phase with the old track being removed and the surface being prepared to receive the synthetic layer. Drainage works to the perimeter of the field, where it meets the track, are also being conducted to minimise overflow and prevent water from collecting in these areas.

The Sports Company of Trinidad and Tobago as the implementation arm of the Ministry of Sport is tasked to deliver major construction projects for the sport industry and has been competently fulfilling its mandate. SPORTT recently got the Hasely Crawford Stadium ready for athletic events a mere two weeks after a hectic Carnival season. The first event at the venue, the Carifta Trials, went smoothly with no delays as a result of inadequate facilities.
Post by: Coop's on August 01, 2013, 12:06:18 PM
I should think after this last report taken from Sportt website our concerns and questions were answered,i would think someone like FS would check these sites and give us some updates,i don't things are as bad as they seen after reading that report from Sportt.
Post by: Football supporter on August 01, 2013, 12:32:16 PM
I should think after this last report taken from Sportt website our concerns and questions were answered,i would think someone like FS would check these sites and give us some updates,i don't things are as bad as they seen after reading that report from Sportt.

Coops....you mean the websites or the stadiums?  Considering SPORTT said that back in March, 80% of work on the field is complete and should be ready in 8 weeks (lets be generous and say end of May) I think it is cause for huge concern! Clearly, any work that has been carried out on that field has been wasted. At a minimum, the surface will need to be, cleared, treated by weed killer and then re sown.
Post by: Coop's on August 01, 2013, 02:45:03 PM

Coops....you mean the websites or the stadiums?  Considering SPORTT said that back in March, 80% of work on the field is complete and should be ready in 8 weeks (lets be generous and say end of May) I think it is cause for huge concern! Clearly, any work that has been carried out on that field has been wasted. At a minimum, the surface will need to be, cleared, treated by weed killer and then re sown.
     I mean the stadiums.
I just want to share this with you all,i guess most of u is famillier with Las Quevas,u may have noticed there is a small community ground by the road opposite the fishing village,if any of u go there right now u will see the kind of work being done on that ground,the ground can't even hold a full size Football field but they grade it,put top soil,put concrete drain around the edges,plant seed grass,run pvc pipe all over the field to constantly wet when necessary,well i pass there this week and they started cutting,i don't know how long it will last but somebody is working,work is going on but we are not awear,a Pavillion is being built in my community as we speak.

Sometimes if we can find out who are the ppl responsible for these project and i'm not talking about the minister,i'm talking about those guys who actually does the work,i think we will get a better picture off what's going on,all these projects are handled by contractors,
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on August 01, 2013, 05:38:13 PM
went today and tried to get to see the field. The security bar is at the car park gate so couldnt drive in and wen i attempted to walk in the security caught me right before I made it the "marathon entrance" so didn't get to see the field..Nothing looked different from the outside in terms of the stadium itself
Post by: Flex on August 01, 2013, 06:22:45 PM
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=300193883459185

Post by: King Deese on August 02, 2013, 09:28:38 AM
For the life of me, I just couldn't get "A Few Good Men" out of my head.
This is an excerpt taken from Colonel Jessep's lines in the movie. Reedited to fit this thread of course.

Col. Jessep: Son, we live in a world that has small minded people, and those people have a job to do. They have a greater responsibility than they could possibly fathom. We are disgusted by people like them,  and we curse them. We have that luxury. We have the luxury of seeing their ineptitude. That incompetence, while tragic, hurts a nation. And their existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to us, destroys lives. They don't want the truth because deep down in places they don't talk about at parties, we don't want them on that job, we don't need them on that job. We use words like honor, code, loyalty. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent defending something. They use them as a punchline. We have neither the time nor the inclination to explain ourselves to inept individuals like Roberts, Creed, Blake,  SPORTT, and the entire ministry of sport, who rises and sleeps under the blanket of the very freedom that we provide, and then insults us. I would rather they just said thank you, and went on their way, Otherwise, I suggest they pick up a shovel,  and get to work. Either way, I don't give a damn what they think they are entitled to.

Somebody send these pictures to Rowley. Should be nice bacchanal.
Post by: Football supporter on August 02, 2013, 10:48:54 AM
This is an excerpt taken from Colonel Jessep's lines in the movie. Reedited to fit this thread of course.

Col. Jessep: Son, we live in a world that has small minded people, and those people have a job to do. They have a greater responsibility than they could possibly fathom. We are disgusted by people like them,  and we curse them. We have that luxury. We have the luxury of seeing their ineptitude. That incompetence, while tragic, hurts a nation. And their existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to us, destroys lives. They don't want the truth because deep down in places they don't talk about at parties, we don't want them on that job, we don't need them on that job. We use words like honor, code, loyalty. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent defending something. They use them as a punchline. We have neither the time nor the inclination to explain ourselves to inept individuals like Roberts, Creed, Blake,  SPORTT, and the entire ministry of sport, who rises and sleeps under the blanket of the very freedom that we provide, and then insults us. I would rather they just said thank you, and went on their way, Otherwise, I suggest they pick up a shovel,  and get to work. Either way, I don't give a damn what they think they are entitled to.

Love that film. Love that speech! When then 06 court case was going on, we used to talk about getting Jack on the stand, just like Jessop. "You want the truth? You can't handle the truth. Yes, I ordered the code red"
Post by: D.H.W on August 02, 2013, 01:07:09 PM
went today and tried to get to see the field. The security bar is at the car park gate so couldnt drive in and wen i attempted to walk in the security caught me right before I made it the "marathon entrance" so didn't get to see the field..Nothing looked different from the outside in terms of the stadium itself

So if security there how did the feild end up like that?
Post by: King Deese on August 02, 2013, 01:53:12 PM

Love that film. Love that speech! When then 06 court case was going on, we used to talk about getting Jack on the stand, just like Jessop. "You want the truth? You can't handle the truth. Yes, I ordered the code red"

If the story in those pictures are true then I can't handle that truth. I am in the wrong line of business. Millions spent for a job that was never done. $9.6m spent on  staff party. $10m to pull ah firetruck out of a ditch. One man spending millions on an election campaign. Millions of so called taxpayer monies missing and no one being held accountable? I am in the wrong business. Code shit.
Post by: Fyzoman on August 02, 2013, 06:20:07 PM
This is truly unbelievable and seriously thought it was a 'doctored' photo, how de hell has this been allowed to happen???
Post by: weary1969 on August 02, 2013, 08:39:49 PM
This is truly unbelievable and seriously thought it was a 'doctored' photo, how de hell has this been allowed to happen???

That is what we rise 2
Post by: frico on August 03, 2013, 05:41:01 AM
There's money to be made if somebody set up a stall and start selling outside de Stadium,who knows it could be the start of something big.Imagine a whole stadium of melons with no travelling involved in getting them to the stall just outside Mannie Ramjon Std.
 :D
Post by: Flex on October 25, 2022, 12:44:46 AM
SporTT: Manny Ramjohn Stadium available once bookings made
T&T Newsday Reports.

THE Sport Company of TT (SporTT) has said that a number of sporting groups are allowed to use the Manny Ramjohn Stadium in Marabella, following a protest where people claimed there was no activity at the venue and athletes were forced to train at other venues.

On Saturday, a SporTT media release, said, “In the activity the two persons indicated that there is no activity at the venue and people are being forced to go as far as Port of Spain due to the perceived inconvenience. Currently, the Marabella Stadium hosts ten different track clubs, a national Under-17 boys team and even football fete matches. All of these groups have access by using our booking mechanism.”

SporTT has a policy when it comes to use of venues. “It has been reiterated many times in the past that people seeking to use any of our managed facilities can go to the bookings page at www.sportt-tt.com or email the bookings department at bookings@sportt-tt.com.”

SporTT said when bookings are made it enables a better control and flow of activities and prevents conflicting schedules while allowing the opportunity to provide cleaning services if needed before and after activities.

“While we may provide the occasional exemptions for fees affiliated to use, there is no exemption from the booking process,” SporTT said. “SporTT can reliably state that in the past, one of the two protesters has refused to comply with the above-mentioned protocols which are for everyone.”

Issues were also raised about the condition of the Manny Ramjohn Stadium.

“With regards to the protester’s comment on the state of the facility, both the Minister of Sport and Community Development Shamfa Cudjoe and the chairman of SporTT Douglas Camacho have stated on separate occasions that assessments of all facilities are currently being done to determine the refurbishment needs and develop the scope of works at the various facilities under SporTT’s remit.”

Cudjoe has also said that a full refurbishment is preferred, rather than the patching of bits and pieces of these legacy facilities. Refurbishment works at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium and Larry Gomes Stadium in Arima will be addressed in fiscal 2023. The Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva and Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet are being given priority in order to facilitate the Commonwealth Youth Games being hosted in TT in August 2023.