Sports => Cricket Anyone => Topic started by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 07:48:48 AM

Title: CPLT20 2013 - T&T Red Steel vs Jamaica Tallawahs (7/8/13)
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 07:48:48 AM
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/q71/s720x720/998072_1409883385890455_762017374_n.jpg)

NO EXCUSES

Red Steel coach Greenidge wants home advantage to pay off

Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel head coach Gordon Greenidge says he is not going to make any excuses for his team’s poor showing in their first two matches in the Caribbean Premier League Twenty20 and is hoping for better returns in their home games starting tomorrow night.

The Red Steel lost to the Guyana Amazon Warriors in their tournament opener last week before being blown away by the Barbados Tridents over the weekend.

With five matches to play in the preliminary round of the competition, the Red Steel need to turn their fortunes around if they are to have any chance of making the semi-finals.

They tackle the Jamaica Tallawahs at Queen’s Park Oval tomorrow night in the first of three home matches and Greenidge says the turnaround must start there.

He said: “No excuses. We had matches to play. We had opportunities. We just did not play well enough to win.

“We are looking forward to better things obviously. So far we have not played as well as we should and know we could but we have three home matches so we need to make use of the match here like the other teams have done.

“Hopefully, come Wednesday we can put that first win under our belts and move on to Friday and Sunday.
“Trinidad have performed exceptionally over the years in T20 games. As a matter of fact, Trinidad in the last eight years or so has been perhaps the mainstay in the regional cricket in the Caribbean. The players are not new to this,” he added.

The coach also noted that the players have been getting along and gelling together really well and are eager to get their first win of the campaign.

“Once you get that first win under your belt, things will start to happen. We hope we can get that win on Wednesday. It has to happen on Wednesday, we can’t wait for it to happen on Friday.
“There is no looking back now. There are no second chances. Each match now is like a final to us and we need to win the next three matches at least,” the coach insisted.

Asked about what needs to be done to turn things around for the franchise, Greenidge did not discount making changes.

“The top order, the middle order...it is all concerns at the moment. We need to see if a change or shuffle around can make the difference. We need to find out if the guys are happy and contented in the position they are in and also the positions they may have to occupy seeing that things have not gone according to plan.

“I think we have not batted well which is obvious. We have not scored sufficient runs.

“In the first match, we should have done better but we didn’t. The second match, we lost our way completely and we did not bat for 20 overs which is a major disappointment. As a matter of fact, the whole match lasted only 20 overs. That is not acceptable in a situation like this.

“We should have done better. We know we can do better,” he added.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/NO-EXCUSES-218448351.html
Title: Re: CPLT20 2013 - T&T Red Steel vs Jamaica Tallawahs (7/8/13)
Post by: TdotTrini on August 07, 2013, 08:23:15 AM
DHW always forgetting. ;D

http://www.live-cricket.cricmelive.com/
Title: Re: Re: CPLT20 2013 - T&T Red Steel vs Jamaica Tallawahs (7/8/13)
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 11:43:32 AM
DHW always forgetting. ;D

http://www.live-cricket.cricmelive.com/

Lol.

Them Pakistani rel following this tournament. Alot people actually find it better than IPL. They like the atmosphere colours and the theme song / music.
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 12:21:48 PM
Allyuh hear it's 2 for 1 for The Greens (New Pavillion stand ) for tonight's game!  Come early and get at the Oval!  $60 for two tickets

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BRFA_e5CIAAAbYH.png:large)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BREp7vHCcAAwGTZ.jpg:large)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BRFAakECMAAbuk1.png:large)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BRFXwqkCUAAYRO1.jpg:large)

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/q71/s720x720/999076_1409967845882009_341674486_n.jpg)
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 12:26:06 PM
Remember that we will have LIMITED replica jerseys & team caps on sale at the Oval, under the Carib Stand. Jerseys: $250 & Caps:$100
Post by: Michael-j on August 07, 2013, 12:59:55 PM
DHW, are the other stands sold out?
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 01:15:30 PM

All i know is republic bank stand sold out, Carib stand was almost sold out a few fays ago by now im sure that sold out too. Not sure about the rest. The new stands they put up might have room
Post by: Michael-j on August 07, 2013, 01:23:08 PM

All i know is republic bank stand sold out, Carib stand was almost sold out a few fays ago by now im sure that sold out too. Not sure about the rest. The new stands they put up might have room

Thanks. A couple pardners looking for tickets last minute.....we'll see what happen.
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 05:27:17 PM
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/q71/s720x720/1004926_10151519464715824_513987074_n.jpg)
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 05:34:55 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BRGitaACUAAJ0SY.jpg:large)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BRGi0P7CIAIpwGO.jpg:large)
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 05:46:54 PM
Toss won. Bowling first
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 05:55:55 PM
Guilen and Jacobs out. Barath and Delorn in
Post by: Bitter on August 07, 2013, 06:19:39 PM
Jamaica Tallawahs 25/0 (4.0/20 ov)
Looking like more of the same...
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 06:27:03 PM
One down
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 06:51:10 PM
Gayle out!
Post by: Bitter on August 07, 2013, 07:29:30 PM
Bravo on at the death to get licks - again.
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 07:31:46 PM
Bravo again stueps.
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 07, 2013, 07:33:20 PM
I am thoroughly convinced that he is grey-cell challenged
Post by: Bitter on August 07, 2013, 07:34:23 PM
26 runs off the over. Somebody please stop him!
Tackle him, clout him, take the ball and just start bowling, something.
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 07:34:28 PM
Lord boy.
Post by: che on August 07, 2013, 07:35:23 PM
Bravo  :cursing:
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 07:37:29 PM
Bravo kill the team spirit
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 07, 2013, 07:39:08 PM
26 runs off the over. Somebody please stop him!
Tackle him, clout him, take the ball and just start bowling, something.

Sense, Dujon call him out, "statistics have proven that Bravo is not a death bowler, but he continues to back himself to bowl at the death"
Post by: TdotTrini on August 07, 2013, 07:40:50 PM
Steups!!! effin Bravo boy. shit man. Expecting the Talawahs to swing freely in the death overs with wickets in hand, but Bravo is not the man for that situation.
Post by: frico on August 07, 2013, 07:51:51 PM
Oh Bravo you have probably given the match to the Tallawahs by your death bowling,will you learn.Why does Dujon keeps calling the team from Jamaica,Jamaica its the Jamaican Tallawahs,get it right Mr.Dujon.
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 08:03:51 PM
Bravo is the main problem right now with this team. Killing moral. Plus we have no proper opener other than barath
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 08:13:20 PM
Man get knock over trying to high five yes hahaha
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 08:18:11 PM
Red Steel have a nice physio . a reds .
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 08:58:35 PM
Darren Bravo hadn't done anything at all. What is that boy?
Post by: lefty on August 07, 2013, 09:22:28 PM
ah bravo sigh
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 09:22:34 PM
Bravo again cost us victory
Post by: che on August 07, 2013, 09:23:45 PM
Lost my feed with 7 balls to go  :cursing:
Post by: FF on August 07, 2013, 09:26:01 PM
Bravo is de worse!

You could drop yuh captain in dis?
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 09:28:13 PM
Its safe to say Bravo cost us all our wins
Post by: Bitter on August 07, 2013, 09:28:34 PM
That is 100% on Bravo.
 >:(
Post by: lefty on August 07, 2013, 09:30:52 PM
bravo needs to learn.....what make him feel d result would change....my goodness...alyuh realize dat over made the difference
Post by: NUFF on August 07, 2013, 09:35:03 PM
Bravo should step down as captain. 
Post by: lefty on August 07, 2013, 09:35:34 PM
alyuh tink he understand now that he is not a death bowler :cursing: surely he gets it now :cursing:
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 07, 2013, 09:43:58 PM
alyuh tink he understand now that he is not a death bowler :cursing: surely he gets it now :cursing:

If he is only a slow learner, if he seriously metally challenged he may not have yet learned that lesson
Post by: dwolfman on August 07, 2013, 11:02:35 PM
The Oval had plenty empty seats tonight. A man a couple rows behind me called Bravo almost to a T. He said he'll start well, think he's back in business and save himself for overs 18 and 20 only to go for about 20 each over. He was close. I said that if he went round the wicket we're in trouble and the next ball he did just that. I don't think he cost us the first two matches, but tonight he was the difference maker and not in a positive way. Remember that Fidel and Cooper went for 33 runs each while Benn and Badree were both economical (yet got 2 overs each).

We paced the innings okay, even if I felt we were a little too conservative at key times. Taylor looked to be trying to play himself into some form and Lil Bravo looks firmly out of it. I'm not sure what Pooran is doing that no one else on the team seems able to do. We lost by 5 runs when we allowed Jamaica about 20-25 runs more than they should have gotten. The team is not a bad one, we're just making some really bad mistakes and most of them are coming from guys who would have been on the team even in the old format.

I'll be there again on Friday. I hope that Bravo indeed bowls his overs before the 17th. I can't promise not to cuss if I see him running in after that.
Post by: weary1969 on August 07, 2013, 11:43:07 PM
I am so happy I choose 2 ignore this nonsense.
Post by: D.H.W on August 08, 2013, 06:27:32 AM
Bravo on TV this morning. He look sour and embarrass. He say he read all the tweets about him. He apologizing on TV and saying is his fault.
Post by: D.H.W on August 08, 2013, 06:39:24 AM
After the game Zen Gayle bravo. He his captain boy? Stueps

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BRJSLtOCIAIuaoj.jpg)
Post by: Michael-j on August 08, 2013, 06:49:46 AM
After the game Zen Gayle bravo. He his captain boy? Stueps

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BRJSLtOCIAIuaoj.jpg)

Business as usual I see...
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on August 08, 2013, 07:32:44 AM
He apologize? Steupse he should refund me. I went in scotia, Constantine and stollmeyer, all had room. I glad for the empty seats tho. Much more comfy and coolers fit nice
Post by: FF on August 08, 2013, 07:54:19 AM
We paced the innings okay, even if I felt we were a little too conservative at key times. Taylor looked to be trying to play himself into some form and Lil Bravo looks firmly out of it. I'm not sure what Pooran is doing that no one else on the team seems able to do. We lost by 5 runs when we allowed Jamaica about 20-25 runs more than they should have gotten. The team is not a bad one, we're just making some really bad mistakes and most of them are coming from guys who would have been on the team even in the old format.

Using a brain
Post by: sammy on August 08, 2013, 08:11:39 AM
Bravo on TV this morning. He look sour and embarrass. He say he read all the tweets about him. He apologizing on TV and saying is his fault.

he dont seem too bothered...
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 08, 2013, 08:15:08 AM
rest of the region must be happy.  We in last place. Not right to see TnT in last place for t20.

Bravo real fck up.
Post by: lefty on August 08, 2013, 08:21:26 AM

If he is only a slow learner, if he seriously metally challenged he may not have yet learned that lesson

so true :frustrated:
Post by: D.H.W on August 08, 2013, 08:51:51 AM
we should have 4 points now. Guyana and Jamaica game is a carbon copy, except this time he bowl the second to last over.
Post by: Michael-j on August 08, 2013, 09:25:46 AM
Japs and Stag man has his say   :D

http://www.youtube.com/v/rT1wiReDiS4
Post by: D.H.W on August 08, 2013, 09:52:46 AM
Hmm he talk some truth there. No way Guillen was making my team over Lewis. We cah blame CPL or WICB for that. Cause on in the end we pick our team.
Post by: rickstaa on August 08, 2013, 10:48:10 AM
then why comment,people leave my boy Bravo alone pls the team batting week and bowling suspect
Post by: D.H.W on August 08, 2013, 10:49:56 AM
bowling suspect

Yes because Bravo bowling  >:(
Post by: D.H.W on August 08, 2013, 10:51:34 AM
Video in Zen

http://instagram.com/p/cwiuVrKveM/
Post by: rickstaa on August 08, 2013, 11:15:19 AM
Video in Zen

bowling suspect

what about the batting it goes both ways,what about KO,RT,DJ blame the international stars ah lil bit too nah
Post by: weary1969 on August 08, 2013, 01:54:52 PM
then why comment,people leave my boy Bravo alone pls the team batting week and bowling suspect

So because yuh eh spend yuh money or not upset that Bravo whinning low in Zen after the defeat I not suppose to commend? BIG FAT WET LOUD STEUPSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS. This competition was ill conceive from day 1 our brand is different and not because the whole world playing T20 this way mean it will be successful. Lets c how successful the team that eventually win this will be next year.
Post by: lefty on August 08, 2013, 04:24:15 PM
Video in Zen

bowling suspect

what about the batting it goes both ways,what about KO,RT,DJ blame the international stars ah lil bit too nah

dread u seriously trying to downplay what has been a recurring theme with Bravo these last few games and has been called exactly what it is by biased...well except for u...and unbiased eyes looking on......duj even call him out....and he him himself was forced to acknowledge is nonsense he do.....

"frenism" at its ridiculous SMH
Post by: rickstaa on August 08, 2013, 05:24:21 PM
Video in Zen

bowling suspect

dread u seriously trying to downplay what has been a recurring theme with Bravo these last few games and has been called exactly what it is by biased...well except for u...and unbiased eyes looking on......duj even call him out....and he him himself was forced to acknowledge is nonsense he do.....

Video in Zen

bowling suspect

still ain't hear you say nothing bout the international stars,yes Bravo having ah bad tournament but he is 1 man in ah 11 man TEAM sport
Post by: rickstaa on August 08, 2013, 05:26:39 PM

So because yuh eh spend yuh money or not upset that Bravo whinning low in Zen after the defeat I not suppose to commend? BIG FAT WET LOUD STEUPSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS. This competition was ill conceive from day 1 our brand is different and not because the whole world playing T20 this way mean it will be successful. Lets c how successful the team that eventually win this will be next year.
ah guess you want him stay in the hotel and cry what he do with his life outside cricket is he business anyway
Post by: lefty on August 08, 2013, 06:11:11 PM
still ain't hear you say nothing bout the international stars,yes Bravo having ah bad tournament but he is 1 man in ah 11 man TEAM sport

but has managed to be a negative difference maker since before CPL start\, a team is 11 man as u rightly said.....then one man ego shouldn't trump d interest of d team , good leaders also know when to step back....I will say no more on this...thin fanboy arguments don't interest me
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 08, 2013, 06:39:37 PM
There is a very small piece of what Rickstaa said that I agree with, so far our batting has been atrocious. That said, a good skipper will rally and find ways to win, in this 3rd game their tails were up, that 19th over was a dagger and bullpistle, could have at the very least have 2 pts...sigh, red force get replaced wid white wash