Sports => Football => Topic started by: Football supporter on October 05, 2013, 10:15:20 AM

Title: Fenwick hits out at flood of foreign imports
Post by: Football supporter on October 05, 2013, 10:15:20 AM
http://www.socawarriors.net/league/league-news/competitions/competition-news/league-cup/13017-central-connection-puffed-up-for-couva-derby-on-friday.html

Central FC head coach Terry Fenwick has a point to make against DIRECTV W Connection, and wants to do it on Friday when both teams meet in the semi-final round of the First Citizens Cup at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

“I’m just hoping that (our) local boys come through,” he said.

The highly anticipated Couva derby between Central and six-time First Citizens Cup winners (2001, 2004-2008) Connection will kick off from 8pm in semi-final two.

Two hours earlier, 6pm, San Juan Jabloteh and two-time winners (2002 & 2009) Defence Force will kick off semi-final one.

Jabloteh defeated St. Ann's Rangers 2-1 to reach the semi-final, while Defence Force, the defeated finalists to Caledonia last season, edged the Morvant/Laventille club 1-0.

As for Central and Connection, the Couva clubs reached the semi-final round by defeating North East Stars 2-1, and Point Fortin Civic 6-5 following a goalless draw, respectively.

Connection head coach Stuart Fevrier, has played down the magnitude of the derby, saying that the semi-final clash against Central it as a typical day for his team.

But there is more to it for Fenwick, than just the precious spot into the First Citizens Cup Final onOctober 18.

“The magnitude of the game is on several fronts,” said Fenwick, a longtime rival of the “Savonnetta Boys” and a former England international.

“W Connection made a statement by bringing in fourteen foreigners,” the three-time Pro League winning coach continued.

“They clearly don’t have faith in local development. It’s disappointing that a club like W Connection isn’t helping the cause whether it be the Pro League or the national team.

“(Connection coach) Stuart Charles (Fevrier) and (Connection owner) David John Williams have gone for third rate Brazilians and Colombians. None of these players are Brazilian, or Colombian national team players.

“There are criteria everywhere else in the world when it comes to foreign players. So why isn’t there a more critical criteria? Where is the development in that?

“(Caledonia head coach) Jamaal Shabazz and (North East Stars head coach) Angus Eve have been very vocal when it comes to foreign coaches, but nothing was said when Connection signed fourteen foreigners. That’s clear contradiction!"

Fenwick went further to add, “We are doing our best not just for Central, but for the national effort as well. Our objective is to get as many players from Central into the national team. Clearly, Connection doesn’t have that sort of ambition.”

But contrary to some of Fenwick’s views, Connection made seven new foreign signings this season.

Twenty-one year-old midfielders Yefer Steven Lozano Rubiano and Yhon Stiven Reyes Lopez, and 23 year-old striker Camilo Andres Ortega Diaz were all snapped up from their native Colombian Club Deportivo Orsomarso; 25 year-old Brazilian midfielder Celio Guilherme Da Silva Santos, formally of Brazil’s second division club Gremio Anapolis, and fellow countryman 22 year-old right-back João Ananias Jordão Júnior on a six-month loan deal from Brazil's First Division outfit Clube Nãutico Capibaride. St. Kitts/Nevis international goalkeeper Julani Archibald and former Italy Under 20 striker Mirko Delia were also new signings.

But the 24 year-old Delia returned home last month and could possibly quit the game because of chronic knee pain according to Fevrier.

Last month Fevrier defended the club's decision to shop outside T&T for talent. He explained that a number of players had renege on contracts while others were unprofessional in their attitude towards the game at a time when Connection were preparing for the Concacaf Champions League.

Central Football ClubThe rest of Connection’s squad includes T&T Senior Team internationals Joevin Jones and Daneil Cyrus; T&T Senior Team capped players Hashim Arcia, Mekeil Williams and Jamal Clarence; ex-T&T Senior Team internationals Silvio Spann and Clyde Leon; T&T U23 players Jerrel Britto and Jomal Williams; T&T U20 players Neil Benjamin and Alvin Jones; ex-T&T U23 defender Leslie Russell; while former T&T youth player Andell Noray and fellow Tobagonian Gem Gordon were new signings.

St. Lucia Senior Team Internationals Kurt Frederick and Tremain Shayn Paul; Suriname Senior International Stefano Rijssel; and St. Kitts/Nevis Senior International Davaughn Elliot were part of the Connection set-up prior to this season, while Colombians Christian Viveros and Alejandro Figueroa, and St. Kitts/Nevis Senior International Gerard Williams are seasoned Pro League campaigners.

“Our boys are pumped up and they are ready to go," said the Central coach, turning his focus on Friday’s First Citizens Cup semi-final clash. "They have recognized the statement Connection have made.

"We have a nice mixture of youth and experience and played particularly well in the first 45 minutes against North East Stars [in our last game] and should have been 3 goals up. We are hoping to keep lifting our standard."

Fevrier meantime, was cool as ever ahead of the Central contest.

“It’s a normal game for me,” said the St. Lucian. “Every game we play is a derby for us. Everyone is always motivated when they are against us, and this one is no different.”

However he didn’t trim down the physical task ahead, adding, “Normally, teams that Fenwick coach, tend to be very physical. So that’s the type of game we are expecting. That’s the sort of the game our players are expecting.”

This week Connection welcomed back Trinidad and Tobago Senior Team duo Joevin Jones and Cyrus to the squad after the pair served a retroactive two-match suspension following a breach of contract.

Jones and Cyrus, the club's then captain and vice-captain respectively, were guilty of playing in a minor league match last month.

Fevrier left the duo out of his squad for the team's final group match of the Concacaf Champions League away to Houston Dynamo of the United States Major League Soccer, and against Point Fortin at the Mahaica Oval.

Jones and Cyrus were fined two month’s salaries of which one month was suspended pended any further infractions within the next six months, as part of the club’s Disciplinary Committee’s ruling.

Fevrier said that all his players are available and whatever the selection on Friday, "We always have confidence in our ability. We always back our team to do well against any opponent. And I have confidence in all my players, and at any point in time, anyone will play.”

Title: Re: Fenwick hits out at flood of foreign imports
Post by: Sam on October 05, 2013, 10:35:26 AM
Angus Eve complaining about foreign coaches and he was Fenwick's understudy and is the reason why he is coaching today when no other coaches give him the break, Fenwick stepped in.

These local coaches have a complex problem and will continue to fail because they have no dam common sense.

Look at Shabazz with his Guyana Caledonia team.

Stuart Charles have some really poor foreign players on his team, I cant see how they can provide anything better that what we have.

They complain about local players not getting the chance to play for T&T and they import so many foreign players. So they controdicting they self, they dont like foreigners and yet more than half of their team is foreigners.

Fenwick will take a LOCAL Central FC team and win de league, allyuh watch !!!!

Post by: soccerrama on October 05, 2013, 06:27:04 PM
Fenwick seems to have a Connection tabanca....lol!!!
Post by: rotatopoti3 on October 05, 2013, 08:22:02 PM
Hit them hard Terry..dey doe like tuh hear d truth...

all these years...Terry should have been running d TTFA as well
Post by: D.H.W on October 05, 2013, 08:28:54 PM
Why is Terry not in the national setup.?

Tim make it happen
Post by: Tenorsaw on October 05, 2013, 09:10:41 PM
Why is Terry not in the national setup.?

Tim make it happen

Good question.  The man has really blooded some good young talent over they years.  Jabloteh had an enviable youth setup, until the collapse of CL Financial.
Post by: Coop's on October 07, 2013, 12:15:20 PM
Fenwick is a big cry baby,when Fenwick does his thing nobody says anything,he eh develop no locals,Jabloteh always have been producing national team players from their Youth programs since in the days of Dwarika,Gibbs,Chinapoo etc etc

If the best Youths in the country go to Jabloteh they must have the best,that weakens all the other teams and you call yourself champion,the same thing Fenwick is also doing with Central and vex when others do it.

You can't say Connection don't care about development because they have always had one of the best development programs in the country,they have been producing players for our national teams for years,everything must be about Fenwick let him run T&T Football and see what happens. 
Post by: Football supporter on October 07, 2013, 12:51:48 PM
Fenwick is a big cry baby,when Fenwick does his thing nobody says anything,he eh develop no locals,Jabloteh always have been producing national team players from their Youth programs since in the days of Dwarika,Gibbs,Chinapoo etc etc

If the best Youths in the country go to Jabloteh they must have the best,that weakens all the other teams and you call yourself champion,the same thing Fenwick is also doing with Central and vex when others do it.

You can't say Connection don't care about development because they have always had one of the best development programs in the country,they have been producing players for our national teams for years,everything must be about Fenwick let him run T&T Football and see what happens. 

Not sure if you haven't worded this right, but it doesn't make a lot of sense! Why is Fenwick a cry baby? Central are doing fine, so what's he crying about? As for not developing locals, I'm pretty sure in the 8 or 9 years he was at Jabloteh, many players came through the youth system. He may or may not have coached them every day, but somewhere along the road he decided they were good enough for the senior team. He took Darren Mitchell in January and got him into the national team by March. Mitchell had been playing Super League and never got noticed. When he came to Central he was great going forward but his defensive game was poor. Now he has a very good all round game. That was down to Fenwick.
Look at Winchester and Quintero progressing nicely.
I'm sure W.Connection do care about development, but the fact remains that they are starting games with less than 25% of the team coming from T&T. Perhaps we'll see another great season from Connection, which will vindicate their decisions, but remember how good they were with all those local youngsters? That's the mark they need to beat to prove their new philosophy.
Post by: Sam on October 07, 2013, 03:13:41 PM

Dwarika came from Joe Public. Gibbs play for T&T ? and Chinapoo came from Malvern.

How much Pro League titles did Jabloteh win before Fenwick?

Did Jabloteh ever play in the CCL before Fenwick?

What is some of the accomplishment before Fenwick went to Jabloteh at the highest level.

Fenwick is responsibly for grooming many top players today, like, Nigel Daniel, Collin Samuel, Lester Peltier, Sheldon Bateau, Khaleem Hyland, Hector Sam, Kevin Molino, Ataullah Guerra, Willis Plaza, Cornell Glen and helped Kelvin Jack and Brent Rahim come back into the league... etc etc...

The players came to Jabloteh at a young age from School and he broke them into better players.

I cant stand man who does only talk without substance.

Players will always go to club but that is just half the problem, they need to be coach the right way.

Even Angus Eve still benefitting from Fenwick.

He may not be de best coach in T&T to some but give the man some credit bro.

Post by: Deeks on October 07, 2013, 04:27:54 PM
Sam, I think Chinnas was originally a Jabloteh player in PYM before going to Malvern.
Post by: Coop's on October 07, 2013, 05:50:59 PM
Sam, I think Chinnas was originally a Jabloteh player in PYM before going to Malvern.
    Don't worry with Sam nah,Dwarika,Chinanas,Oliver,Hector Sam,Roderick Gibbs etc etc are all Jabloteh born and bred,i talking with diapers on.

I am from San Juan they are all from my neighborhood,i used to have Summer Camps with all of them,i started Jabloteh.

I am not saying Fenwick eh help nobody but don't take away credit from the local Coaches who helped these guys from day one,before Fenwick came here where our players was coming from?
Post by: doc on October 07, 2013, 05:58:31 PM
    Don't worry with Sam nah,Dwarika,Chinanas,Oliver,Hector Sam,Roderick Gibbs etc etc are all Jabloteh born and bred,i talking with diapers on.

I am from San Juan they are all from my neighborhood,i used to have Summer Camps with all of them,i started Jabloteh.

I am not saying Fenwick eh help nobody but don't take away credit from the local Coaches who helped these guys from day one,before Fenwick came here where our players was coming from?
I don't know where all this coming from. I thought it was just TT style mindgame before the derby.  :frustrated:
Post by: Sam on October 08, 2013, 04:16:26 AM
All them men came from Jabloteh, so what is some of de accomplishments coops? With all them good players they probably win real titles.

You leaving out de main questions.

Hector Sam broke under Fenwick.

You not trying to undersdtand my point. Having good players on a side dont make them good, asked Chelsea and Real Madrid.

Roderick Gibbs was so good, he probably play for T&T real times and win Jabloteh real titles.

Post by: g on October 08, 2013, 05:32:02 AM
The bottom line in the end is that the results will speak for themselves. Connection has not exactly covered themselves in glory after that poor CONCACAF Champions Leage showing. It will continue for me to be the benchmark of the success of the Pro League. The Pro league champions and runners up MUST be able to secure points consistently in champions league games at HOME!

If Connection, Caledonia, Central or any other pro league club can't elevate their game to compete with the other clubs in the confederation then the composition of their squad becomes almost a mute point.
Post by: Coop's on October 08, 2013, 09:43:37 AM
All them men came from Jabloteh, so what is some of de accomplishments coops? With all them good players they probably win real titles.

You leaving out de main questions.

Hector Sam broke under Fenwick.

You not trying to undersdtand my point. Having good players on a side dont make them good, asked Chelsea and Real Madrid.

Roderick Gibbs was so good, he probably play for T&T real times and win Jabloteh real titles.

Aye Sam lets drink a bear here,i don't like to argue,our discussion was not about who good or who not good,we were talking about development programs and who producing players for the national team,it does not matter to me who win titles because nobody eh win more titles in T&T Football than Defence Force and produce national players.
Post by: Trevor on October 08, 2013, 10:20:36 AM
But Coop's yuh doh drink beer.  Ah hear if they give yuh a beer, you will hide it. 
Post by: Coop's on October 08, 2013, 10:43:00 AM
But Coop's yuh doh drink beer.  Ah hear if they give yuh a beer, you will hide it. 
        :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: u catch mi i was just kidding with Sam,u guys know me too good i can't even hide and take one.
Post by: Sam on October 08, 2013, 11:12:13 AM
Coops....

Government teams have the advantage because them money and game guaranteed, especially back in the days when no one else could compete, Defence Force couldn't buy all these good players.

But now that the game, the players and coaches evolved, you notice Defence Force and Police cant win nothing.

Defence Force may win here and there but nothing, because why, they have a shit coach. A team who use to win in Concacaf getting licks from a semi pro team from Guyana now.