Sports => Football => Topic started by: davidephraim on October 10, 2013, 04:37:01 AM

Title: Is our current midfield the best ever?
Post by: davidephraim on October 10, 2013, 04:37:01 AM
I am amazed at that midfield. Question?  Have we ever had a better midfield?  dis is a real question eh!

H. Hector - A Guerra - Molino - Boucaud - Peltier - Hyland - Theobald - K. George -Cato

any takers?
Title: Re: Is our current midfield the best ever?
Post by: Tallman on October 10, 2013, 05:34:38 AM
Here is ah better one:

2000 - Latapy, Nakhid, Dwarika, Rougier, Eve
Post by: de_redman on October 10, 2013, 06:08:40 AM
Here is ah better one:

2000 - Latapy, Nakhid, Dwarika, Rougier, Eve
:thumbsup:
Post by: spideybuff on October 10, 2013, 06:50:11 AM
uhh...Yorke, Birchie,Edwards, Whitley and 36 yr old Latas

umm...Hutson Charles, Latas, Yorke, Jamerson and Leonson Lewis on d left for we,we,we,we

In terms of "names...any midfield with Hardest or Gally

I really not sure where this question come from.
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 10, 2013, 08:16:46 AM

umm...Hutson Charles, Latas, Yorke, Jamerson and Leonson Lewis on d left for we,we,we,we

But to D' point, nice to see we come back relatively quick in island years after those high points.  Now they just have to live up to it and press on; tangible goals: next CFU champs, next GC semis min and next WC qual
Post by: diamondtrim on October 10, 2013, 08:43:34 AM
I am amazed at that midfield. Question?  Have we ever had a better midfield?  dis is a real question eh!

H. Hector - A Guerra - Molino - Boucaud - Peltier - Hyland - Theobald - K. George -Cato

any takers?

Guess Dr Abracadabra amazes you too...........
Post by: Tenorsaw on October 10, 2013, 10:24:09 AM

But to D' point, nice to see we come back relatively quick in island years after those high points.  Now they just have to live up to it and press on; tangible goals: next CFU champs, next GC semis min and next WC qual

Way Faustin?
Post by: Banter Banton on October 10, 2013, 10:53:13 AM

any takers?

It is definitely one of our strongest....ability wise it is quite good...add Keon Daniel to that list as well
Post by: Mose on October 10, 2013, 10:58:49 AM

any takers?

It is definitely one of our strongest....ability wise it is quite good...add Keon Daniel to that list as well
Can't agree with that. While we've definitely had weaker I wouldn't call this group one of our strongest.
Post by: FireBrand on October 10, 2013, 11:41:51 AM
It's possible that they could be one of the strongest... but they simply have not been tested enough for me to draw that conclusion.
Post by: lefty on October 10, 2013, 11:59:19 AM
they have potential, I would say the Most Promising in recent times, still need more seasoning like firebrand suggests.......

question though the "old" midfields with no Latas ....this bunch has no "Special ones" per say?
Post by: Banter Banton on October 10, 2013, 12:37:01 PM
It's possible that they could be one of the strongest... but they simply have not been tested enough for me to draw that conclusion.

fair enough...most promising is definitely it then

A 4-2-3-1 with the 5 supporting Kenwyne :

------------------Hyland--------Boucaud
---Peltier--------------Hector---------------Molino

Ability wise all these players are supreme....they can all play football and all have Football IQ

Post by: vb on October 10, 2013, 01:51:38 PM
Considering the midfield we had in the late 80 to the late 90s, I don't see how this is even a discussion.

Imagine in their prime - Latas, Nakhid, Dwarika, L. Lewis and Faustin. Backed up by ppl like Jughead, A. Thomas. Shucks even Boisson and Jemott coulda walk on to the present team.

Post by: Dumplingdinho on October 10, 2013, 02:05:28 PM
fellahs leonson was a left winger on the strike sqaud while faustin was the left back.
Post by: soccerman on October 10, 2013, 02:30:26 PM
fellahs leonson was a left winger on the strike sqaud while faustin was the left back.
Correct
Post by: Cocorite on October 10, 2013, 03:06:40 PM

any takers?

Largely untested midfield
Post by: Big Magician on October 10, 2013, 03:14:01 PM
Doh leave out Porterfield 4 man mid... Carrington...Latapy...Mason and Eve... ( ask Panama,Canada and Mexico)
Post by: Sando on October 10, 2013, 04:02:15 PM
Gally, DeLeon, Archibald, Sookram and Spann.

Post by: 100% Barataria on October 10, 2013, 04:54:59 PM
Considering the midfield we had in the late 80 to the late 90s, I don't see how this is even a discussion.

Imagine in their prime - Latas, Nakhid, Dwarika, L. Lewis and Faustin. Backed up by ppl like Jughead, A. Thomas. Shucks even Boisson and Jemott coulda walk on to the present team.

in a bar maybe
Post by: Fyzoman on October 10, 2013, 06:49:19 PM

Hahahaha...somehow ah like dis simple post :)
Post by: g on October 10, 2013, 09:01:07 PM
D present crop need more games...... and a full cycle of world cup qualifying before any judgement will pass

But i do admit that SH has a wonderful selection headache given the talent available.
Post by: palos on October 10, 2013, 09:13:51 PM
A man say hardest yes

Wheeeeyyyyyy sah. All dis time I tort it was bout de national team. Me eh know is a passa passa side he was torkin bout
Post by: vb on October 11, 2013, 06:22:09 AM
A man say hardest yes

Wheeeeyyyyyy sah. All dis time I tort it was bout de national team. Me eh know is a passa passa side he was torkin bout

Gives you an idea of how bad things have been and how easy and quick it is to impress when we finally get some decent talent.

I didn't call him by name but Rougier was a stalwart in the 90s and would play any position you give him - and perform.

Post by: davidephraim on October 11, 2013, 06:51:57 AM
Ok people, I know; facetious at best but potentially speaking, stop and look at these young talents. I like the midfield Banter put up with Hyland and Boucaud Anchoring and Peltier, Molino, and Hector free to feed and so far unafraid to run.... So if I have to re-title

Could this midfield be the best ever because these young men alongside guerra and others so far is showing great chemistry - in my opinion.

Wow, De Leon & Archibold - Latapy and Dawrika - de more yuh look, is de more yuh realize that we have had some best mid-fielders over the years
Post by: Sam on October 11, 2013, 06:55:14 AM
VB, how Jemmott come out yuh mouth !!!..

Jemmott is in no class to be in T&T top 20 midfieldrs of all time.

No F00CKING WAY !!!!!!!!!!!!

Post by: lefty on October 11, 2013, 07:08:43 AM
I
Ok people, I know; facetious at best but potentially speaking, stop and look at these young talents. I like the midfield Banter put up with Hyland and Boucaud Anchoring and Peltier, Molino, and Hector free to feed and so far unafraid to run.... So if I have to re-title

Could this midfield be the best ever because these young men alongside guerra and others so far is showing great chemistry - in my opinion.

Wow, De Leon & Archibold - Latapy and Dawrika - de more yuh look, is de more yuh realize that we have had some best mid-fielders over the years

I like it too, I tink we also stumble onto someting with KJ as d withdrawn center forward 4411 against Saudi Arabia, we have plenty room for variation, which is never a bad thing.  :beermug:
Post by: Peong on October 11, 2013, 07:20:00 AM
As talented as that 1998-2002 midfield and squad on the whole was, everybody cut we tail in the 2002 Hex.
Post by: FF on October 11, 2013, 07:40:09 AM
As talented as that 1998-2002 midfield and squad on the whole was, everybody cut we tail in the 2002 Hex.

It wasn't that simple...
Post by: lefty on October 11, 2013, 07:41:31 AM

2002 was we best opportunity, everybody was peekin, d first mistake was firing St. Clair after d gold cup, many people like to give porterfield all credit for we semifinal performance, but I saw that disastrous hex coming from d very first game of d semis........allyuh doh recall just how terrible we were in dat Canada game before we scored....and then d TTFF was underminin team discipline by allowing Yorke and Latapy the kind of latitude they did......there were many things dat was wrong, bad and miscalculated about 2002 dat lead to its failure
Post by: Deeks on October 11, 2013, 10:19:17 AM
Work in progress. When the they can share the ball possession(effectively) 50/50 against US/Mex/Ja, then is time to bray. Right now, is a long road to progress. Then ah next thing, allyuh mixing up players in different eras.
Post by: davidephraim on October 11, 2013, 01:01:13 PM

T&T top 20 midfielders of all time....... Run it Sam!
Post by: vb on October 11, 2013, 01:25:21 PM

The point went right over your head didn't it?

No hardest couldn't make the top 20 and yet he and Boisson (who also couldn't make it) could walk on to the present team in their youth.
My point being our midfield although talented is still a work in progress. So let's not get carried away about the best ever.

Post by: Anbrat on October 11, 2013, 06:12:06 PM

Gally, De Leon, Betram Grell and 'Jimmy' Springer.
Post by: davidephraim on October 11, 2013, 09:39:35 PM

so Archibald suppose to be one of the best ever and he cya even make your midfield? Way sah! Maybe ah shoulda start this thread on an American forum. Like we have too many great ones to choose from.
Post by: palos on October 11, 2013, 11:54:25 PM

so Archibald suppose to be one of the best ever and he cya even make your midfield? Way sah! Maybe ah shoulda start this thread on an American forum. Like we have too many great ones to choose from.

If ah not mistaken, Warren Archibald was a forward
Post by: davidephraim on October 12, 2013, 07:10:06 PM

thanks for clarification..
Post by: Sam on October 14, 2013, 01:34:13 PM
Yorke was one of our best midfielders alongside Latas.

Post by: dwolfman on October 14, 2013, 03:19:44 PM
Best in terms of what? Their individual success or as a unit? Team results or their ability to entertain the people in the stands? Given our success as a nation I find this a very open ended question and the discussion we've seen proves it. I too would wait to see them play more matches before starting to class them as the best, but they are definitely the best we've seen in recent times (5 or so years). Again, this is keeping in mind that they've not been around all that long.
Post by: Anbrat on October 15, 2013, 08:04:13 AM

thanks for clarification..

You are not mistaken, Palos. Warren 'Lagga' Archibald was indeed a forward and not a midfielder. Bobby Sookram was also a forward.
Post by: jai john on October 15, 2013, 02:19:52 PM
Difficult question to answer because we have never been noted for  great midfield play ..... defence and goal keeping yes ..a great forward now and then but not as a team which controls the middle ...and I around long time ! ..but even so this midfield has played together for how many games now ? ..and we ready to say they are the best ever ? ...so we basing this on what again ?

I saw a bit of the Saudi arabian game and even though we were 2 up in 5 mins they were bossing us around in the middle ... dem fellas have to show something more  than just better than what we had in the last 5 years. I say that because in my view we have finally found a good coach. I know littel of the man but i am seeing his work ..I am sure others have seen the difference in the way the team plays ...with largely the same players . Some of them may move on to other things but they eh ready yet ...work in progress ...and leh we not put too much pressure on de fellas and give dem time to master their trade.
All this talk about best ever is therefore a little premature for me ..
Post by: jai john on October 15, 2013, 02:22:34 PM

Aye Plaos
What going on pards ?? what you tink bout the yellow team now ??  ;)
Post by: spideybuff on October 17, 2013, 10:31:43 AM
I call Hardest name cause obviously this thread is about names and not performance.

This midfield eh do nuttin yet. And Hardest had all the potential in the world. He, Brent Rahim...and even Theobald was world beaters when they first break through from college football.

I haven't seen anybody in this midfield even approach that level of potential, far less performance. Yet.

Hyland especially, still going by name and not performance(for the national team.)
Post by: spideybuff on October 17, 2013, 10:34:58 AM

We wasn't playin a 4-2-4 so I really eh know how to classify Leonson. The best I could say is that was playing the role that Thierry Henry play for Arsenal, cutting in from the left., with Philbert Jones or Alibey being the "fox in the box". Leonson wasn't known for crossing the ball if he was a left winger.
Post by: vb on October 17, 2013, 04:42:00 PM
I call Hardest name cause obviously this thread is about names and not performance.

This midfield eh do nuttin yet. And Hardest had all the potential in the world. He, Brent Rahim...and even Theobald was world beaters when they first break through from college football.

I haven't seen anybody in this midfield even approach that level of potential, far less performance. Yet.

Hyland especially, still going by name and not performance(for the national team.)

I glad somebody finally say dat. Hyland had some bad ass moves. Now offensively speaking he offers nothing.

At best now he is a def. midfielder or withdrawn midfielder.