General => Entertainment & Culture Discussion => Topic started by: Trini _2026 on October 25, 2013, 08:40:25 AM

Title: Soca 2014
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 25, 2013, 08:40:25 AM
 love this old time beat remake

http://www.youtube.com/v/jtFXqnoJIjI

http://www.youtube.com/v/lz2Vz-X3fyM
Title: Re: Soca 2014
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 25, 2013, 08:41:49 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/lz2Vz-X3fyM
Post by: Bitter on October 29, 2013, 09:18:54 PM
Mr Famous - Play More Local

http://www.youtube.com/v/1xyAAjIiDSA
Post by: Tallman on November 01, 2013, 08:58:53 PM
Kes The Band - Play De Music

http://www.youtube.com/v/ALwosXvl4H4

Machel Montano - HMA (Happiest Man Alive)

http://www.youtube.com/v/p5i6vA8teaw
Post by: Salvador on November 01, 2013, 10:20:12 PM
2014 will be a great year for soca, it's just going up another level
Post by: mal jeux on November 02, 2013, 03:32:59 AM
machel pull that out d rubbish bin
riddim nice but the vocals boi!
Post by: Tallman on November 05, 2013, 09:03:06 PM
Bunji Garlin - It's A Carnival

http://www.youtube.com/v/KaT_42u_TOw
Post by: Tallman on November 08, 2013, 01:22:32 PM
Fay Ann Lyons - Done D Party

http://www.youtube.com/v/oQXG0bh9jz8
Post by: Tallman on November 10, 2013, 06:24:35 PM
Denise Belfon - Challenge

http://www.youtube.com/v/5EWf2oU_JTk

Super Blue - Champion Daddy

http://www.youtube.com/v/zy1TPXVJnP8
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 11, 2013, 01:09:29 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/3ST0weh5iug
Post by: Tallman on November 18, 2013, 09:01:14 AM
Patrice Roberts - Pong It

http://www.youtube.com/v/srpbLUiyVmk
Post by: Socapro on November 23, 2013, 10:18:56 PM
New Birthday celebration release from Machel Montano called "Shameless". Sounds good! :thumbsup:

Machel Montano - Shameless [2014 T&T Groovy Soca]
http://www.youtube.com/v/irOqK1G7X5M
Performed by Machel Montano, Written by Akeem 'Preedy' Chance and Stephanas 'Steffy' Ramgattie for WeMad Music, Machel Montano, Nikholai Greene & Kasey Phillips. Additional Vocals by Akeem 'Preedy' Chance. Produced & Mixed by Precision Productions. Mastered by Mike Wells, CA.

For those outside of Trinbago's culture, our bodily gyrations during Carnival may seem scandalous and steeped in licentious pleasure; but truly, this movement is our expression of pure joy, love, and laughter. This is how we free our minds and hearts, as we embrace the unique divinity that defines this season.

The writing team of Akeem "Preedy" Chance and Stephanas "Steffy" Ramgattie of WeMad, cleverly captures this brilliant transformation of our people into "Shameless" beings of passion and art. Machel Montano meanwhile, narrates the intriguing translation in his indomitable style, even as Precision Productions simultaneously binds us all in a musical grasp no fete lover will ever want to shake free.

Created to transcend all worldly chains, this release arcs through the pleasure centers of the soul transitioning listeners to that stage where shame has absolutely no name. ©Mystie Thongs
Post by: FireBrand on November 26, 2013, 09:16:52 AM
Machel Montano - Drop it down

http://www.youtube.com/v/Iiwd78W7Qzo&list=PLSrzKgH3I4YLFfG0UpZo5_UnNDH7EnksM

Bunji Garlin - Red Light District

http://www.youtube.com/v/45oDrGNtqGY&list=PLSrzKgH3I4YLFfG0UpZo5_UnNDH7EnksM

Destra - Just A Little Bit

http://www.youtube.com/v/vxQsyq_Hd1g&list=PLSrzKgH3I4YLFfG0UpZo5_UnNDH7EnksM

Mr Killa - Rolly Polly

http://www.youtube.com/v/yegybq_d9Go&list=PLSrzKgH3I4YLFfG0UpZo5_UnNDH7EnksM

Kerwin Du Bois & Lil Rick - Monster Wine

http://www.youtube.com/v/2vu_IWkNlwY&list=PLSrzKgH3I4YLFfG0UpZo5_UnNDH7EnksM

Jaiga (Formerly Super Jigga TC) - Keisha

http://www.youtube.com/v/VXgiEqd_Cag&list=PLSrzKgH3I4YLFfG0UpZo5_UnNDH7EnksM
Post by: Deeks on November 27, 2013, 06:10:38 PM
Destra, followed by Fay-Ann. All the others have to grow on meh.
Post by: Bitter on December 07, 2013, 11:52:51 PM

Cassi - Man in yuh house

http://www.youtube.com/v/CPzRvOpQRSA
Post by: FireBrand on December 20, 2013, 10:01:50 AM
Bunji Garlin- Truck on D road

https://www.youtube.com/v/4SzLv_bkK5o#t=33
Post by: Bitter on December 22, 2013, 10:40:30 PM
Sando Riddim

Farmer Nappy - Family
http://www.youtube.com/v/Pkji69d3Md0

Isaac Blackman - Soca
http://www.youtube.com/v/m4c4weFM3Yo
Post by: Bitter on January 03, 2014, 05:11:28 AM
Fayann Lyons - Gimme That

https://www.youtube.com/v/IFfwdvDPi30
Post by: Bitter on January 03, 2014, 05:28:20 AM
Prophet Benjamin Feat. Denise Belfon - Ah Comin

http://www.youtube.com/v/Q9R4I56Yx8g
Post by: Bitter on January 03, 2014, 05:30:43 AM
This song need a different category, but it in here for now.

David Rudder - Smallie Dancing

http://www.youtube.com/v/tBxMWj66MLk
Post by: Bitter on January 03, 2014, 05:37:06 AM
The mainstream finally catch up to MX Prime.

MX Prime & Kerwin Du Bois - Welcome to the Carnival

http://www.youtube.com/v/PeKJHASwshU
Post by: Bitter on January 03, 2014, 05:40:51 AM
Kerwin Du Bois - Too Real

http://www.youtube.com/v/74pYwmtzl24
Post by: Bitter on January 03, 2014, 05:47:56 AM
Mr Famous - We Time

http://www.youtube.com/v/aeDl0bVoPCY
Post by: Bitter on January 03, 2014, 05:48:51 AM
Farmer Nappy - Big People Party

http://www.youtube.com/v/-FcgukujmjI
Post by: Bitter on January 03, 2014, 05:52:09 AM
Oscar B - Play On

http://www.youtube.com/v/R4417afbTSA
Post by: Bitter on January 10, 2014, 01:47:23 PM
Two soca tunes from Kurt Allen

Mountain
http://www.youtube.com/v/M6qX_sZpkGo

Innocent
http://www.youtube.com/v/rJZZuDc4Zs0
Post by: Bitter on January 10, 2014, 02:03:17 PM
Bunji Garlin - All O'Dem

http://www.youtube.com/v/rL5Qzrhg3Iw
Post by: Bitter on January 10, 2014, 02:13:08 PM
Timaya Ft. Machel Montano HD - Shake Ya Bum Bum (Remix)

http://www.youtube.com/v/M7-s0BdH7uc
Post by: Bitter on January 10, 2014, 02:18:14 PM
Benjai:

Dance (Optimus Riddim)
http://www.youtube.com/v/9juLcvgSxtE

Come Out to Play (Vintage Riddim)
http://www.youtube.com/v/FTrUnrsVRZg
Post by: Bitter on January 10, 2014, 02:27:15 PM
Classic 60's Riddim

Tracks:
Zan & Ronnie McIntosh - Good Morning
Shurwayne Winchester & Lord Nelson - It Cyah Done
Anslem Douglas & Lil Bitts - I Want To Know
Olatunji & Iwer George - Play Ah Mas

http://www.youtube.com/v/whX9O7G2oeo
Post by: Bitter on January 14, 2014, 09:25:05 PM
Kes - Country Gyal

https://www.youtube.com/v/wdfXxUeXbWs

I liking this one plenty.
Post by: Deeks on January 15, 2014, 06:51:45 PM
I thought it was a remake of an old Shadow song.
Post by: Bitter on January 15, 2014, 07:54:26 PM

Which one is that?
Post by: Deeks on January 15, 2014, 09:11:58 PM

Which one is that?

Around 72 and 73 before Bassman, Shadow sang "The Threat" and the next year "Country Gyul". He was knocking the door since then. Then 74 he breakdown the door with "Bassman". It just break the Sparrow-Kitchiner Road March tandem.
Post by: Deeks on January 15, 2014, 09:24:27 PM
Check this Carib-Beat article. It did mentioned "the Threat" but not Country Gyurl. Anybody remember that tune. Ask your father, unle or grandpa!

But Shadow returned to Trinidad (“I was desperate. I wanted to get close to calypso”) with one thing in mind: to break into the calypso kingdom ruled by Kitchener and Sparrow. He came with a song called The Threat.

http://caribbean-beat.com/issue-16/shadow-uncrowned-king

Post by: Bitter on January 16, 2014, 01:15:50 PM
Flipo - Doh Tell Meh Dat

https://www.youtube.com/v/Ic7zkopn_pE
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 18, 2014, 05:21:05 PM
ROLLY POLLY GIRLS

http://www.youtube.com/v/poNAsf8iY_c
Post by: Bitter on January 19, 2014, 10:47:46 AM
Mistah Shak - Mind Games

https://www.youtube.com/v/i2mS70BIZdw
Post by: Deeks on January 21, 2014, 10:27:34 PM
So allyuh think them DJs go play Red light District for Kiddies carnival!
Post by: Socapro on January 21, 2014, 11:04:48 PM
So allyuh think them DJs go play Red light District for Kiddies carnival!
Well they have been playing on the radio at all hours so I am sure all the kids already heard and know it.
Post by: Bitter on January 23, 2014, 12:56:39 PM
Shadow - Sugar

https://www.youtube.com/v/QrrGyZNErJU
Post by: Bitter on January 23, 2014, 09:41:03 PM
Prophet Benjamin - Anger Management

https://www.youtube.com/v/spxV5ZPlwdc
Post by: Bitter on January 24, 2014, 11:05:13 AM
Nutron - Just 1 Wine

https://www.youtube.com/v/-yJe70Ng_H4
Post by: Brownsugar on January 24, 2014, 03:26:01 PM
My observations on the soca so far........

1. Songs are out in quantity but the overall quality is poor.  Only a few artistes are bringing out tunes that really gripping mih.

2.  If Kerwin Dubois sing ah next song, de sweetness goh kill mih from diabetes!!!  Is almost every song he bring out so far nice, nice, nice....

3.  Machel need to take a break and come again.....

4.  Differentology still going strong......

Post by: Brownsugar on January 24, 2014, 03:29:14 PM
.....6. Oh and Farmer Nappy song sweet for days.....is mih break way, throw back and wine song of the season.....but.....a guy from St. Lucia sang a song a few years ago with a chorus that is very, very, very similar if not the same as Farmer Nappy's.....

Will try to find it on you tube and post the link.............

Edit:  ah find it.....

http://www.youtube.com/v/Bo2Z6DU5cIw
Post by: Brownsugar on January 24, 2014, 03:46:36 PM
How all yuh eh have this one on the list yet?  Clever!!  Ah love it!!!

http://www.youtube.com/v/ZjWQXmIDEKk

Post by: Bitter on January 24, 2014, 04:30:01 PM
My observations on the soca so far........

1. Songs are out in quantity but the overall quality is poor.  Only a few artistes are bringing out tunes that really gripping mih.

2.  If Kerwin Dubois sing ah next song, de sweetness goh kill mih from diabetes!!!  Is almost every song he bring out so far nice, nice, nice....

3.  Machel need to take a break and come again.....

4.  Differentology still going strong......

1. Yes, every song is the same thing.

2. To me, Kerwin Dubois have too many songs out that beginning to sound the same from both last year and this one, the quality of the lyrics beginning to suffer, and they weren't that great to begin with.

3. Machel is doing what Machel does, which from my perspective looks like throwing songs out there until a few of them stick.
I like Epic, HMA and he manages to improve on Shake yuh bam bam. all Timaya had on that song was a good beat and a good hook, so it wasn't going to take much.

4. Yes, though I think Carnival Tabanca is a better song.
Title: Titans Riddim
Post by: Tallman on January 24, 2014, 04:49:27 PM
Ah like dis riddim, and all de songs decent.

Kerwin Du Bois - Spoil Mehself
https://www.youtube.com/v/Rx5jCHaZLBo

Kes - True Masquerader
https://www.youtube.com/v/fhFzkKxjo1c

Machel Montano - She Coming
https://www.youtube.com/v/ldgkP2xC1GU

Destra - State of Mind
https://www.youtube.com/v/pSrY5RQ_1mg
Post by: elan on January 24, 2014, 06:10:58 PM
Daiz me dey   :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

Mr Killa - Rolly Polly

http://www.youtube.com/v/yegybq_d9Go&list=PLSrzKgH3I4YLFfG0UpZo5_UnNDH7EnksM

Post by: Tallman on January 24, 2014, 06:49:06 PM
Boss chune!

Destra - First Time
https://www.youtube.com/v/Pe0LKRIrbJk
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 25, 2014, 01:55:40 PM
ROLLY POLLY GIRLS
https://www.youtube.com/v/ULtPRikWh0g
Post by: Bitter on January 26, 2014, 06:17:26 PM
Swappi - Three

https://www.youtube.com/v/BgPrtuhXGBM

If only we could separate Sappi from his music. The fella does have some sick beats.. and then he does start "singing"
Post by: mukumsplau on January 26, 2014, 09:41:55 PM
once a protagonist in this country's douglarisation movement i endorse dis tune

http://www.youtube.com/v/pU_3mr8q0bo
Post by: Bitter on January 27, 2014, 11:10:55 AM
Buffy - Manwa

https://www.youtube.com/v/ngMy06xjwms
Post by: Tallman on January 28, 2014, 01:50:07 PM
Cow on the Road

https://www.youtube.com/v/TbWFVCmzW74
Post by: davyjenny1 on January 29, 2014, 02:43:41 AM

Cassi - Man in yuh house

http://www.youtube.com/v/CPzRvOpQRSA

This song ripping the air waves
Post by: Bitter on January 31, 2014, 01:15:54 PM
David Rudder - Broken Hearts

https://www.youtube.com/v/qFuhsWnxrqM
Post by: Brownsugar on February 01, 2014, 01:58:31 PM
once a protagonist in this country's douglarisation movement i endorse dis tune

http://www.youtube.com/v/pU_3mr8q0bo

Hear nah.....ah love dis chune!!!.....
Post by: Bitter on February 01, 2014, 06:03:23 PM
Millject Riddim

M1 (Menace) - D Thing Mad Up

https://www.youtube.com/v/uM3TFLZh310

Benjai - Bam Bam

https://www.youtube.com/v/uM3TFLZh310
Post by: Bitter on February 03, 2014, 11:47:00 AM
D Boss

Iwer George - Mama Oh
https://www.youtube.com/v/jBLAOp6odso

Iwer George - Jab Jab Life
https://www.youtube.com/v/PoN6hXSL1fs
Post by: FireBrand on February 04, 2014, 03:50:47 PM
Machel Montano - Junction.   The music sounds similar to Bunji's "Truck on de Road".   

https://www.youtube.com/v/_JOJOEAbgzk
Post by: Brownsugar on February 04, 2014, 06:14:21 PM
Ah hear Olatunji Yearwood eh performing "Fete Ram" in de fetes......ah wonder why?   

:thinking: :whistling:
Post by: D.H.W on February 06, 2014, 06:39:56 PM
Bunji Music video. Carnival Tabanca. It bosss

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kTeDBTKt19M&feature=youtube_gdata_player
https://www.youtube.com/v/kTeDBTKt19M
Post by: Bitter on February 06, 2014, 10:42:20 PM
The contrast between Bunji's video and Machel's H.M.A. video is striking.

https://www.youtube.com/v/na5eNkT21Ds
Post by: Deeks on February 07, 2014, 11:13:49 AM
Yes, they are different. Which is good. Too much of the same is boring. Both artists taking "different" routes to the same final objective. Make Soca more internationally appealling. That is what "everybody" demanding of Soca artistes. So take your pick. One thing for sure of the quality of both videos are extremely good. For me at least.
Post by: Bitter on February 08, 2014, 12:29:19 AM
Crazy - Raise Dem High

https://www.youtube.com/v/jKOez5mb34I
Post by: Brownsugar on February 08, 2014, 05:24:46 AM
The kind of creativity in the Carnival Tabanca video is the what people were looking for in the Differentology video.  Hence the reason folks were so disappointed when it was released.....
Post by: Deeks on February 08, 2014, 08:55:50 AM
The kind of creativity in the Carnival Tabanca video is the what people were looking for in the Differentology video.  Hence the reason folks were so disappointed when it was released.....

I was kind of disappointed in the Differentology video, but ironically, it picked up all to international awards though. But I like the quality of the videos. To me the most creative is by Alves, "angel watching over me".
Post by: Trini Madness on February 08, 2014, 11:08:56 AM
i feel a big rivalry coming on between bunji and machel. imo bunji have the momentum and machel playing catch up. overall, great quality coming from both sides though.
Post by: elan on February 08, 2014, 12:30:14 PM
Big, big, big, big, chune sah....

http://www.youtube.com/v/crq5SnXApMM
Post by: elan on February 08, 2014, 12:32:21 PM
Best Bunji for awhile

http://www.youtube.com/v/sJnXigBWWmU
Post by: Bitter on February 09, 2014, 09:42:04 AM
Super Blue - Spankin

https://www.youtube.com/v/JmdecMo0UiM

Blue Boy - Mrs Pan

https://www.youtube.com/v/to_pNTuzdAo
Post by: Bitter on February 10, 2014, 10:06:29 AM
Stag Riddim

https://www.youtube.com/v/37DKvMA4bvI
Post by: Peong on February 11, 2014, 10:15:00 PM
.....6. Oh and Farmer Nappy song sweet for days.....is mih break way, throw back and wine song of the season.....but.....a guy from St. Lucia sang a song a few years ago with a chorus that is very, very, very similar if not the same as Farmer Nappy's.....

That is blatant in trute.  I love Farmer Nappy song though. The beginning have a New Orleans vibe with the drum and horn.
Post by: Socapro on February 12, 2014, 12:13:38 AM

That is blatant in trute.  I love Farmer Nappy song though. The beginning have a New Orleans vibe with the drum and horn.
Nappy’s Big People in hands of big people (http://www.guardian.co.tt/carnival/2014-01-30/nappy%E2%80%99s-big-people-hands-big-people)
Published: Thursday, January 30, 2014
Peter Ray Blood (Trinidad Guardian)

http://www.youtube.com/v/bFvD7oucJC4

Big People Party, performed by Daryl “Farmer Nappy” Henry, will be performed in position 39 at the semifinals of the 2014 Digicel International Groovy Soca Monarch Competition. However, eyebrows have been raised about the song’s originality with detractors claiming the song’s verse is suspiciously similar to Big People Party, sung by Teddyson John of St Lucia in 2012. Henry sought yesterday to give an explanation on the bona fides of the composition.

He said: “As with every Carnival, after I had a hit last year with Stranger, I travel sourcing new material for the following year. “Composer Steve Sealy of Ghost Writers approached me with the song. I subsequently took it to the Red Boyz in Barbados and they loved it, suggesting that I do it. Henry said when he recorded it at the end of last month while in Tampa for a show he began singing the material he intended using for the promoter.

“He (Sealy) told me then ‘you know it already has a Big Party out?’ I was shocked. I then listened to Teddyson’s song and realised the chorus was basically the same melody.” He added: “I then contacted Red Boyz and my management, which is also in Barbados. They also called Ghost Writers and they explained to me that Teddyson came to Trinidad previously to do a Red Bull ad. They showed me a voice note on April 4, 2012 of them having an original copy of the song.

“Apparently, Teddyson took Ghost Writers’ voice note and wrote a song using the chorus. His song was released on June 26, 2012. “He never informed them that he took Ghost Writers song. The song never scored so nobody ever heard of it. Now that my song is big some people are trying to raise an ants patch. “I am not the writer of the song, and this matter is in the hands of Ghost Writers’ attorneys. I have already contacted COTT and have submitted my recording.

“I love this song very much as I feel it could bring back peace and love in this country. I am singing about a country returning to love and togetherness, and to build my country,” Henry said. Sealy, a partner of Ghost Writers, along with Emmanuel Rudder and Brandson Villafana, said yesterday: “It is not an issue about anyone stealing anything. It is just a misunderstanding that will be resolved. We are dealing with it right now as professionals. We have spoken to Teddyson and are working it out.

We have the proof that our melodies were done in April 2012. We continue to do work with Teddyson and we are friendly with him. We are simply allowing the song to live and thrive.” Sealy asked: “How come it wasn’t brought to anyone’s attention in 2012 that Teddyson had this song? Why only now that Nappy’s song is happening?” “I have covered all bases. I spoke with the head of the International Groovy Soca Monarch (Peter Scoon) Competition as I was concerned about the song’s legitimacy and they said it was alright.”
Post by: Peong on February 12, 2014, 07:44:36 AM
Ah nice, no problems then.
Post by: Conquering Lion on February 12, 2014, 10:28:55 AM
Big, big, big, big, chune sah....

http://www.youtube.com/v/crq5SnXApMM

Nice Chune........But how he sounding like Tanya Stevens so? Like Orlando need to lower that voice ah Octave!....lol
Title: Super Blue - Carnival Yo Yo [2014 T&T Power Soca & Official Promo Video]
Post by: Socapro on February 14, 2014, 06:16:19 PM
Brand new promo video from Super Blue for his new 2014 Power Soca hit called "Carnival Yo Yo", directed by Kern Rose Films.
This promo video could have been even better if all the girls had yo-yo's and were spinning them during the dance routine!
This song has a jumbie and grows on you the more you hear it so within a week's time I have no doubt that everyone in T&T will be converted "Yo Yo" bouncers once all the radio stations have it pumping!  :thumbsup:

Super Blue - Carnival Yo Yo [2014 T&T Power Soca / Official Promo Video]
http://www.youtube.com/v/KKBQ0H40qIQ
Written by Super Blue (Austin Lyons),
Produced by Julian Nelson (Juelio) and Austin Lyons (Super Blue), and Mastered by FM Studios.
Promo Video By @KernRoseFilms.
2014 Competing Road March & Soca Monarch Song.
Post by: Bitter on February 14, 2014, 10:27:43 PM
Blue shoulda leave that tune wherever he find it.
Iwer too.
Post by: Socapro on February 14, 2014, 11:48:26 PM
Iwer too.
Blue's song will grow on you, just wait and see!  ;)
Post by: grimm01 on February 15, 2014, 08:41:31 AM
Iwer too.

My first thought was this tune is familiar; sounds recycled from the late 90's early 00's.
Post by: Socapro on February 15, 2014, 10:01:53 AM
Iwer too.

My first thought was this tune is familiar; sounds recycled from the late 90's early 00's.
It's Blue's style! He has a unique formula and it works for him so why change it?!  8)
Post by: soccerman on February 15, 2014, 04:02:23 PM
Iwer too.

It's Blue's style! He has a unique formula and it works for him so why change it?!  8)
Dem girls will be bouncing it for this song for sure and no man will complain ;D
Post by: Brownsugar on February 16, 2014, 05:20:29 PM
Ah not impressed with Blue song.......

This Iwer song is my personal pick for road march but alas I am alone since everybody running Ministry of Road and Truck on de road and for the life of me, no matter how hard I try, I can't see why.......*sigh*

p.s  I normally cyar stand nothing Iwer sings.....

http://www.youtube.com/v/enpaPYbQEVU
Post by: Conquering Lion on February 16, 2014, 08:01:05 PM
Machel Montano - Junction.   The music sounds similar to Bunji's "Truck on de Road".   

https://www.youtube.com/v/_JOJOEAbgzk

More like this........http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q4RqgezuN44
Post by: Conquering Lion on February 16, 2014, 08:24:26 PM
Iwer too.

♫♫♫♫♫ Jump and Jump and Jump and Jump and Jump and Jump and wave and jump around...
♫♫♫♫♫ Bounce de yo yo and bounce de yo yo and bounce de yo yo iz time to leggo....

Lil piece of flag party and Bacchanal time in the mix.
Blue really have a formula but not really a strong song. Wonder if he have another in the mix?

My pick for de Groovy is still Farmer Nappy with Kerwyn and Skinny Fab in de mix for 3-4. Nappy have to come real good to top Machel on the night though.

Post by: Socapro on February 17, 2014, 02:04:36 AM
Iwer too.

♫♫♫♫♫ Jump and Jump and Jump and Jump and Jump and Jump and wave and jump around...
♫♫♫♫♫ Bounce de yo yo and bounce de yo yo and bounce de yo yo iz time to leggo....

Lil piece of flag party and Bacchanal time in the mix.
Blue really have a formula but not really a strong song. Wonder if he have another in the mix?

My pick for de Groovy is still Farmer Nappy with Kerwyn and Skinny Fab in de mix for 3-4. Nappy have to come real good to top Machel on the night though.
It will be very difficult physiologically for Farmer to beat his boss. And if he does he might have to be prepared to leave the HD band soon after unless it’s a tie for first place in the Groovy between Farmer and Machel. Based on the sheer quality and number of Groovy hits he has this year Kerwin should win but he also has a psychological problem with being able to beat Machel.
Also don't forget about Destra, Biggie Irie, Mr Famous and Cassie who all have great Groovy songs so Skinny will not have it easy placing in the top 3 to 4 and could even end up out of the top 5 if those artists all bring their A+ game.
Title: Super Blue - Carnival Yo Yo (DJ Mike Remastered Drum Mix) with lyrics!!
Post by: Socapro on February 18, 2014, 12:53:35 AM
Wicked new remastered Drum Mix by DJ Mike that sounds even better than original mix and is on point!!
See the full lyrics below the video of song and follow the storyline as SuperBlue tells us a poetic story about finding a new catchy slang for shaking our behinds during the 2014 Carnival festivities!
Now who agrees its time to bounce your Carnival yo yo and this is a hot contender for T&T road march 2014?
Just get up to the time and be one of the first multi-pumping Carnival ravers to learn the words! :beermug:

Super Blue - Carnival Yo Yo (DJ Mike Remastered Drum Mix) [2014 T&T Power Soca]
http://www.youtube.com/v/5gGx72Oiuno
Remastered Drum Mix by DJ Mike
Written by Super Blue (Austin Lyons),
Produced by Julian Nelson (Juelio) and Austin Lyons (Super Blue), and Mastered by FM Studios.
2014 Competing Road March & Soca Monarch Song.

CARNIVAL YO YO (composed by SuperBlue)

LYRICS:

Intro

Bounce de yo yo, [Bend over]
Bounce de yo yo,
Carnival yo yo, Carnival yo yo
Carnival yo yo, Huhhh!
Everybody hurry, blow yuh whistle & party, huh!!
Ah start feeling nice, Ah start feeling nice
Ah start feeling, huhh!!
Ooh ooh, ummh we bouncing it, ummh we bouncing it
Ummh we bouncing it, ummh we bouncing it

Verse 1

Is royalty Hasley Crawford Stadium
Blow yuh whistle like Jab Molassie when Super come
Is ah royal show, Carnival woui yo yo
Is ah noun, ah adjective and a verb, hey!
I doh care, check webster dictionary, [oh oh oh]
Just say something differently, [oh oh oh]
Today we go make history, party royalty
Today we go, bounce de yo yo, bounce de yo yo
Bounce de yo yo, bounce de yo yo
Bounce it, bounce it, bounce it,
Bounce it, bounce it, bounce it, Everybody!

Chorus

[Party party, bounce back]
[Party party, bounce de yo yo]
Spin de yo yo & spin de yo yo
And spin de yo yo & bounce de yo yo
Bounce de yo yo & bounce de yo yo
And bounce de yo yo, is time to let go
[We feel to Party], on de road
[We feel to Party], on de pavement

Verse 2

Play yuh mas in front and behind the truck
Ash Wednesday morning is back to work
Bounce and spin de yo yo with attitude
When the sound break down, T&TEC go see thru
Blame the soca intelligence, [after tonight]
Your life wouldn’t be the same, [after tonight]
Blow ah whistle in soca name, we do all this royally
When we start to rag up the party, rag up the party
Rag up the party, rag up the party
Rag it up, rag it up, rag it up, rag it up

Chorus

[We feel to Party], on de road, huhh!!

Verse 3

Bounce de yo yo & party, oh oh oh
Blow yuh whistle & party, oh oh oh
Dance and make me a circumference
Play your mas, de body is a compass
A mystical unity, [oh oh oh oh oh]
Soca magically we harmony, [oh oh oh oh oh]
Commanding me to mash up this place, mash up on ten
Everybody, one, two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, ten!

Chorus

[We feel to Party], on de road, huhh!!

Verse 4

Is Carnival, we having a royal time
Blow yuh whistle & blow yuh whistle & blow they mind
Ah say is ah royal show, Carnival woui yo yo
In the wonder land, the gem of the Caribbean
Aye ayi ayi, soca music feeling nice, [oh oh oh oh oh]
If yuh like the song, we go do it twice, [oh oh oh oh oh]
Tell Oxford dictionary, invite them here
Leh we show them, everything in de air,
Everything in de air, everything in de air
Everything, everything, everything, everything!

Chorus

Bounce de yo yo, [Party party, bounce back]

The End
Post by: Brownsugar on February 18, 2014, 06:57:54 PM
Ah still cyar believe is Min of Road I have to jump to Mon and Tues.....steups!!
Post by: Bitter on February 19, 2014, 09:31:36 AM
A Boyz II Men groovy soca.

Machel Montano & Boyz II Men - Can't Let Go

https://www.youtube.com/v/MRq1_pHGO7U#t=11

I've give jack he jacket on this one. Or maybe couldn't get them to sing bout rum and bumper so he settle for this.
Post by: Deeks on February 19, 2014, 05:00:51 PM

I've give jack he jacket on this one. Or maybe couldn't get them to sing bout rum and bumper so he settle for this.

People can say what they want about Machel,  but he does things "outside the box" to stay  "fresh". Not the same old thing. This can also categorized as Love Zouk or Kizomba. Nice one.
Post by: elan on February 19, 2014, 08:22:54 PM

Summer jam right there.
Post by: Socapro on February 19, 2014, 11:32:45 PM

People can say what they want about Machel,  but he does things "outside the box" to stay  "fresh". Not the same old thing. This can also categorized as Love Zouk or Kizomba. Nice one.
So why can't it not be categorized as a romantic groovy soca which is what it is?  :idea:
Post by: Deeks on February 20, 2014, 06:53:55 PM
So why can't it not be categorized as a romantic groovy soca which is what it is? 

It could categorized romantic groovy soca,  Soca Romantica, but I don't think the soca artistes really serious about it. The Groovy Soca is a once a year fling. Could we hear 6 , 12, 24 hrs of groovy soca. No ! I can hear 24 hours of Love Zouk, Kizomba. The people who run the radio stations eh really interest in it either. The same way them Haitians, Cape Verdians, Angolans, Mozambicans can take it to a serious level, we can too.
Post by: Conquering Lion on February 21, 2014, 12:17:28 AM

I don't think this is a co-incidence especially since Boyz II Men have a Vegas show going on. He probably also watching how Kes and Bunji make more strides in a short time with a slower, stripped down approach. He just moving his brand and trying different angles to crack bigger markets. Same thing with doing Possessed with the Ladysmith fellas last year.........guess who just win Grammy for World music this year.
Post by: Bourbon on February 22, 2014, 08:56:09 PM
Junior Sammy and Machel release an advertisement tendering for work oui. ::)
Post by: Bitter on February 22, 2014, 10:01:00 PM

Yuh know, when you say them kinda ting, ppl does label you a hater.
Post by: Bourbon on February 22, 2014, 10:13:44 PM

Yuh know, when you say them kinda ting, ppl does label you a hater.

Yeah I know. But....for the cynics like me....it too easy.

https://www.youtube.com/v/zUxfgSdYNN4&
Post by: Bitter on April 05, 2014, 02:56:17 PM
Positive - Blessing After Blessing

https://www.youtube.com/v/masj5ifKhxY
Post by: soccerman on April 08, 2014, 10:21:51 PM
This song has potential to well, in our region at least, nice beat and rhythm. Since when we started making music video's like this in Trini? This is for BET after dark because we cyar show dis on TTT
https://www.youtube.com/v/8ysAJniJrdY
Post by: Bitter on April 12, 2014, 06:22:59 PM
Monster Winer Latin Remix - Amarfis, Kerwin Du Bois & Lil Rick

https://www.youtube.com/v/0FmfFZ1OmTY
Post by: Bitter on August 23, 2014, 10:13:33 PM
King Bubba & Kerwin Du Bois Feat. Jah Cure & Lil Rick - Partyak

https://www.youtube.com/v/ZnYRZl3SE4E
Post by: Bitter on August 24, 2014, 08:17:23 AM
Jus Now ft Blaxx - Leh Go (Radio Edit)