Sports => Cricket Anyone => Topic started by: D.H.W on November 05, 2013, 04:52:28 PM

Title: West Indies vs India 1st Test (5/11/13)
Post by: D.H.W on November 05, 2013, 04:52:28 PM
Eden Gardens, Kolkata

11:20pm ESPNC

India squad
MS Dhoni*†, R Ashwin, S Dhawan, V Kohli, B Kumar, A Mishra, Mohammed Shami, PP Ojha, CA Pujara, AM Rahane, I Sharma, RG Sharma, SR Tendulkar, M Vijay, UT Yadav

West Indies squad
DJG Sammy*, TL Best, DM Bravo, S Chanderpaul, SS Cottrell, N Deonarine, KA Edwards, CH Gayle, V Permaul, KOA Powell, D Ramdin†, KAJ Roach, MN Samuels, S Shillingford, CAK Walton†
Title: Re: West Indies vs India 1st Test (5/11/13)
Post by: D.H.W on November 05, 2013, 09:16:09 PM
The West Indies have won the toss and elected to bat first in the 1st Test Match against India in Kolkata.

Early news is that Kemar Roach is not fit to play, so the West Indies have picked Sheldon Cottrell to replace him.

WI: C Gayle, K Powell, Darren Bravo, M Samuels, S Chanderpaul, D Ramdin+, D Sammy*, S Shillingford, V Permaul, S Cottrell, T Best.

IND: S Dhawan, M Vijay, C Pujara, S Tendulkar, V Kohli, R Sharma, R Ashwin, M Dhoni*+, B Kumar, Mohammed Shami, P Ojha.
Post by: Bitter on November 05, 2013, 10:13:49 PM
Gayle out
34/1
Title: Re: Re: West Indies vs India 1st Test (5/11/13)
Post by: D.H.W on November 05, 2013, 10:16:03 PM
Gayle out
34/1

Going to sleep now. Will check back in a few hrs
Post by: Bitter on November 05, 2013, 10:30:53 PM
Gayle out
34/1

I shoulda go to sleep too.
47/2
Post by: Controversial on November 06, 2013, 12:48:36 AM
Gayle out
34/1

47/2

from the time the selectors didnt select narine, you should have boycott this nonsense
Post by: D.H.W on November 06, 2013, 03:51:53 AM
Gayle out
34/1

47/2

from the time the selectors didnt select narine, you should have boycott this nonsense

Only for the Test Team. Narine will get his chance again. You cah pick Narine over men who performing better than him in Test. Narine test record ain't that special.
Post by: D.H.W on November 06, 2013, 03:54:21 AM
234 all out
Post by: D.H.W on November 06, 2013, 07:39:00 PM
It's going to be a long day.
Post by: socafighter on November 06, 2013, 08:56:00 PM
A Cricinfo response

"If it were Shikhar Dhawan you would have settled in for a century but that's the problem with WI batsmen, when they're in good touch they try to ride that form into extravagance rather than accumulation. I suppose they all think they're going to go on like some latter day Viv Richards and blast 100 of 60 balls rather than settle in like a Cook or Amla and craft a big score. But when a guy like Sammy (i.e. the king of get-yourself-out) is their captain what can you expect".
Post by: weary1969 on November 06, 2013, 09:30:13 PM
I thank my Heavenly Father that I do not even remember when these jokers are playing cricket
Post by: D.H.W on November 06, 2013, 10:23:00 PM
Shillingford gets rid of two openers. 67-2

Sachin batting
Post by: D.H.W on November 06, 2013, 10:48:56 PM
Cotterell with his first wicket 81-3
Post by: Bitter on November 06, 2013, 10:51:11 PM
Watching Sachin is like watching Yorke play for Man U.
I want him to do well, but I want India to lose

As I type, Shillingford gets him!

82/4
Post by: D.H.W on November 06, 2013, 10:52:22 PM
Pure class is Shillingford. King test spinner
Post by: Bitter on November 06, 2013, 10:52:52 PM
Tief out!
That ball was high.
Post by: D.H.W on November 06, 2013, 10:55:26 PM
Tief out!
That ball was high.

Ah taking it!
Post by: D.H.W on November 06, 2013, 11:00:57 PM
Narine ain't seeing that Test Team anytime soon. Shillingford destroying India. Gets Kohli. 4 wickets
Post by: Bitter on November 06, 2013, 11:05:16 PM
Tief out!
That ball was high.

Ah taking it!

I ent complaining.  ;D
Post by: D.H.W on November 06, 2013, 11:05:49 PM
Shillingford is the Narine of Test cricket

91-5
Post by: Bitter on November 06, 2013, 11:13:49 PM
I should really go and sleep eh... :yawning:
Post by: Bitter on November 07, 2013, 06:22:33 AM
India 354/6

Normal service is resumed
Post by: sjahrain on November 07, 2013, 09:58:48 AM
This partnership is worth 190 odd and nowhere the captain see it fit,to give Gayle Samuels or even Chanderpaul atleast one over to take a wicket,neither did the coach see it fit to make such a recommendation to that effect.
This is just maddening
Post by: Controversial on November 07, 2013, 10:58:01 AM
Narine ain't seeing that Test Team anytime soon. Shillingford destroying India. Gets Kohli. 4 wickets

what did he do afterwards? no wickets for 2 sessions? >:(

how the hell is permaul selected ahead of narine? and they have sammy spot secure and he cant bowl to save his life on this pitch..

narine is the top bowler in the world in odi and 20/20, where the hell is shillingford? he doesnt even turn the ball much... narine would have devastated this attack, hence the reason india told wicb not to select him for this tour...
Post by: D.H.W on November 07, 2013, 11:58:30 AM
Breds its doesnt matter how well he performs in the other formats he got chances and didnt deliver.

narine is the top bowler in the world in odi and 20/20, where the hell is shillingford? he doesnt even turn the ball much... narine would have devastated this attack, hence the reason india told wicb not to select him for this tour...

T20/ODI and Test cricket is totally different. Being a good ODI or T20 player doesn't mean you can automatically be a good Test Player big difference. Why you don't ask why Chanderpaul not on the T20 team? Yet he is one the best Test batsmen currently.

where the hell is shillingford?
They dont pick him to play ODI and T20 because Narine Performs better in those formats, the same way Pollard is not a Test player

Narine wasn't selected for the 2 Test against Zimbabwe did India cause that too? You really believe India telling WICB who to pick? The team is practically unchanged from the past 4 or so Test Matches.

and they have sammy spot secure and he cant bowl to save his life on this pitch..

Becuase Sammy is the Captain  :devil: ask WICB that. He aint lose 6 Test matches in a row so it hard to drop him that easy

what did he do afterwards? no wickets for 2 sessions? >:(

how the hell is permaul selected ahead of narine

4 Wickets not enough? The pitch got slower plus Shillingford is not the only bowler on team eh, If Narine had get 4 wickets im sure your tone would be different. When next Narine get his chance tell him get some wickets. Narine also went Bangladesh and failed to get Wickets. I too want him in Test but so far he hasn't delivered.

Gayle and Tino Best shouldn't be in the team.
Post by: D.H.W on November 07, 2013, 07:30:26 PM
Only way to have a chance to bowl out India early. And we batsmen play the game of their lives.
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 07, 2013, 07:50:35 PM
The insularity in we cricket ridiculous yes, amazing we survived this long...
Post by: Bitter on November 07, 2013, 11:43:09 PM
India all out for 453.
We have to bat well into day 4 and perhaps beyond. This ain't T20
Post by: D.H.W on November 08, 2013, 03:47:35 AM
Honestly I don't think any team selection right now will save us. We just don't have Test players good enough simple as that.
Post by: D.H.W on November 08, 2013, 04:10:03 AM
Chanders is the only one left to put up a fight after Gayle and Powell out. I would use the second Test to give the ones on the bench a game. We cah get worse than this.
Post by: D.H.W on November 08, 2013, 04:12:11 AM
Innings and 51 run defeat
Post by: NUFF on November 08, 2013, 07:31:50 AM
The West Indies selectors and a lot of the current players are a joke.  People talk about Sammy being a good captain but how is throwing away your wicket playing stupid shots good captaincy?  Sammy is a waste of a pick on the test team.  His game is better suited for 20/20 and one day cricket.  I think Dwayne Bravo would be a better choice for tests over Sammy. 

A lot of our test batsmen bat with a 20/20 mentality.  They are very impatient and give away their wickets needlessly.  Powell and Sammy in the first inning and Gayle in the second inning are prime example.  Somebody need to get these batsmen to change their mentality in tests or we will continue to get the same results. 

Anybody know why Chanderpaul isn't moved up the order?  I would even ask him to open the batting.  He is being wasted in the middle because no one will stick around long enough with him.

I hope this is the last test series we see Sammy on the test team.
Post by: Controversial on November 08, 2013, 11:06:45 AM
Honestly I don't think any team selection right now will save us. We just don't have Test players good enough simple as that.

that's bull bro and you know it...

the wicb and selectors are controlled by the top 3 nations, they tell the selectors and wicb who to select. You really think India wants to face a strong west indies in Tendulkar last match? They control the tv rights worldwide for cricket, they lose and over 400 million turn off their tv sets, loss in ad revenue and other ancillary streams.

west indies are the fete team of world cricket, give them the 20/20 world cup, odi every now and then, test matches is more money bc of the length and commerical roi from ads and so forth...

the best team has not played for the west indies in donkey years since the advent of tv revenues...

Narine is 10 times a better spinner than Shilly, insularity is also a part of the equation, but over that is control and money
Post by: weary1969 on November 08, 2013, 11:14:58 AM
So I now remember them fellas so I come here jokingly saying all out you mean them fellas serious they lost the match in 3 days. Again I say thank God I GET MY DELIVERANCE FROM THESE FELLAS.
Post by: Controversial on November 08, 2013, 11:15:15 AM
Gayle out
34/1

47/2

Only for the Test Team. Narine will get his chance again. You cah pick Narine over men who performing better than him in Test. Narine test record ain't that special.

really? you ever wonder why west indies are at the bottom still?  :rotfl:

every other test playing nation would select their best spinner and especially if he is #1 in both odi and 20/20... only in the west indies, insularity and corruption prevents the best players from playing...

that's why tt should go it alone... then I would enjoy test cricket once more... not under this fake regime
Post by: D.H.W on November 08, 2013, 11:19:00 AM
Narine is 10 times a better spinner than Shilly.

Definitely not in Test cricket, unless you know something i don't. Have you seen Shillingford record in Test cricket?.

Narine wasn't selected against Zimbabwe for Test so the India argument kinda thin for that.
Post by: D.H.W on November 08, 2013, 11:26:04 AM

really? you ever wonder why west indies are at the bottom still?  :rotfl:

every other test playing nation would select their best spinner and especially if he is #1 in both odi and 20/20... only in the west indies, insularity and corruption prevents the best players from playing...

that's why tt should go it alone... then I would enjoy test cricket once more... not under this fake regime

You is another one who think Trinidad should go it alone? We only good in T20. We cah even beat Jamaica in four day cricket or win the regional ODI cup.

You have a point with the WI team selections. But everybody will have their own favourite and only 11 men can play on the field.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on November 09, 2013, 05:41:49 AM
Narine aint prove he good enough for test cricket.
Post by: NUFF on November 09, 2013, 10:30:05 AM
Narine aint prove he good enough for test cricket.

He should be given a few more matches to prove himself at test level.
Post by: D.H.W on November 09, 2013, 11:08:52 AM
Brathwaite
Powell
Edwards
Darren Bravo
Samuels
Chanderpaul
Ramdin
Narine
Shillingford
Roach
Rampaul
Post by: rotatopoti3 on November 09, 2013, 04:37:47 PM
He should be given a few more matches to prove himself at test level.

If Im being fair to Narine..i would say.its no fault of his own that there arent ENOUGH test matches to prove himself because there are too many 20/20 matches now...

But he will not develop this side of his game as long as 20/20 cricket is keeping him busy...