Sports => Cricket Anyone => Topic started by: socafighter on November 11, 2013, 06:49:25 PM

Title: Sunil Narine Thread
Post by: socafighter on November 11, 2013, 06:49:25 PM

Sunil Narine Gets married

(http://s15.postimg.org/r3ueca67v/Narine_Wedding_photos.jpg)

http://instagram.com/p/gj5mwkyPhC/

Watch the idiot next to Bravo texting ..sigh

let see here Simmons,sombady, Cooper ,Narine  The Boss,Rampaul , Bravo , Idiot Texting and somebady

Sunil Philip Narine is Christian ..she is the boss she got him under bamboo ...hindu rites .

Gyal power ....
Title: Lara questions Sunil Narine Test omission
Post by: socafighter on November 20, 2013, 12:31:09 PM
Lara questions Sunil Narine Test omission
 Nov 19, 2013

lMUMBAI

Former West Indies Captain Brian Lara has questioned the decision by selectors to ignore Dwayne Bravo and Sunil Narine for the Test leg of West Indies’ tour of India.
Lara has described Bravo as having equal or stronger credentials as an allrounder than West Indies captain Darren Sammy, who made only 25 runs in the series and went wicket-less.
The cricket legend says he is also baffled at Narine’s omission describing him as the best spinner in Caribbean first-class cricket.

“I don’t need any confirmation from Sammy, I know for a fact that his confidence was shattered and he started to wonder what’s going to happen next,” said Lara writing in his column for the Times of India.

“Well what we saw in the Test series is a result of this chain of events. A captain that looked lost on the field and his personal display especially with the bat, was one even he would like to forget.”

West Indies crashed to innings defeat inside three days in their two test matches against India.
The former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd has blamed the losses on poor batting, weak bowling and a heavy diet of T20 cricket.

“A more baffling omission is Sunil Narine, the most successful bowler in West Indies regional four-day cricket,” Lara said.
“You would think that he knows Indian pitches like the back of his hand. Another one of world’s best cricketers labelled by our selectors as not good enough.”

According to Lara, the selectors had benched the wrong people and the consequences had badly hurt the team.

“What about the Test squad selected for this tour? The very day that Sammy was elected as captain of the team it made it very difficult for someone like Dwayne Bravo to be considered,”wrote Lara.
“Dwayne hasn’t played Test cricket for about three years now and knowing him closely it pains him that the selectors seem to only require him for the shorter versions of the game”.

T&t Express
Title: Sunil Narine .....Growing up, I never used to bowl spin
Post by: socafighter on July 12, 2014, 05:27:47 PM
Sunil Narine .....Growing up, I never used to bowl spin

(http://s24.postimg.org/9a0trjkth/Growing_up_I_never_used_to_bowl_spin.jpg)
Sunil Narine said he is excited to play for Guyana in the CPL 2014 season © Getty Images

Sunil Narine is gearing up for the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) with the Guyana Amazon Warriors. He has been one of the best spinners in T20 cricket in the world and has a huge armoury of tricks. In an exclusive chat with CricketCountry’s Nishad Pai Vaidya, Narine speaks about the carom ball, the CPL, experience in the Indian Premier League and a lot more.
Sunil Narine is one of the leading spinners in T20 cricket in the world. Hailing from Trinidad and Tobago, Narine went on to make name for himself with his unique brand of off-spin which made him one of the best bowlers in the shortest format. In the Indian Premier League (IPL), he has been a crucial part of the Kolkata Knight Riders setup, where he has won two titles. He has also been an important player for the West Indies. Having played all over the globe, Narine is now looking forward to play in front of home fans in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2014.
In this exclusive chat, Narine speaks about the CPL, the IPL, the toughest batsman to bowl to, his carom ball and a lot more.

Excerpts:
CricketCountry (CC): The second season of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) is upon us. What are the expectations a player from the West Indies or an international player would have from this tournament?
Sunil Narine (SN): I think this tournament would help cricket in the Caribbean just like it is in IPL (in India). I feel it will help showcase a lot of new talent that hasn’t reached international cricket. I think it is going to be a good tournament with all the international players coming from overseas. The local bunch has a lot of talent and should try to make the best use of it.

CC: Last year as well, you were a part of the Guyana Amazon Warriors. What was the first CPL like for you and your teammates?
SN: Having played all over the world and then playing a very big tournament at home makes you comfortable. It is going from strength to strength and trying to improve cricket in the West Indies.

CC: There is a lot of innovation in your bowling. As a young boy, did you start off with that unorthodox manner?
SN: Growing up, I never used to bowl spin, I used to bowl medium pace. It was only at the age of 17 that I started bowling spin. I was always a bit unorthodox but never had the carom ball then.

CC: So how did the carom ball and other variations come about?
SN: When Ajantha Mendis first came into the Sri Lankan team, he started bowling the carom ball.  Looking at him, it gave me the confidence of starting it and eventually developing it.

CC: How long did it take you to perfect it? Carom ball comes from the fingers and it isn’t just about the arm.
SN: It wasn’t that difficult for me. Growing up in Trinidad, you played soft ball cricket with the same grip. You are just trying to convert it with a harder ball. At first it was a little difficult. But after practicing it, I became comfortable. I still have things to learn about it. Hopefully, I could learn as much as I could and go from strength to strength.

CC: How much importance and attention do you give to your batting? You do have some hitting ability.
SN: All the years I have played international cricket as a bowler, something you forget that you can bat as well. I do try to get as many hits as possible because you do not know what to expect in a T20 game. I’ve definitely given my batting a chance now.

CC: In T20 cricket, a batsman may go after you from the first over. How does a bowler maintain his calm in such situations and try to come back?
SN: Composure is an individual thing. How you react to certain things, makes it better for you. I can try to be humble and what do is to be as humble and quiet as possible, not show any expression to the batsman, so that they don’t read you and judge whether you are tense or you are anxious.

CC: What is the secret to Kolkata Knight Riders’ success? They have won two IPL’s in your time there.
SN: There has been team-work. The team, the management, the support staff, everybody at KKR were like one big family. I think we won the title was because we are very good off the field. Any team that is good off the field can give a 100 percent on the field. You stay together, no matter what situation you are in.

CC: Your rise was quite quick after the 2011 Champions League. How did you adapt to such a sudden rise?
SN: I played most of my cricket in Guyana and Trinidad, not flying as often. The Champions League set it off for me. My goal was always to play international cricket. The traveling etc was on the cards. Doing something you love makes it a lot easier as you enjoy it. Sometimes, when people say it is very hectic, to you it is a normal thing because that (playing cricket) is what you are living for.

CC: Having played T20 cricket across the world, who has been the toughest batsman to bowl at?
SN: For me, Virender Sehwag. He is a very good player of off-spin. He doesn’t let the situation of the game affect his mindset and the way he goes about his batting. He is always one way or no way.

CC: And bowling to someone like your compatriot Kieron Pollard or a Shahid Afridi. How difficult is that?
SN: It is very difficult. The next ball you bowl your very best ball and it can go many miles into the stands. At the end of the day, you back your ability. Once you have the self belief, you try to end up on top.

CC: You’ve also bowled to Sachin Tendulkar and got him out a couple of times. What was that experience like?
SN: First time bowling to Sachin, I hadn’t played a lot of international cricket and bowling to someone with runs that no one would even think about making, it was a pleasure that I had. It was very nice bowling to Sachin and hope someday the opportunity comes again.

CC: How has the buildup been like for Guyana Amazon Warriors?
SN: We have a good chance of going all the way this year. Having said that, I think you have to start from the very first game. You take all the positives from the previous year and try to make the best of it. At the end of the day, any team could win the tournament. It all matters on who plays better cricket on the day. We have to take care of the little things and the big picture will fall in place. Speaking to the guys, I think everyone is keen and ready for the first game.

CC: You belong to Trinidad and Tobago, how is it going to a different place and representing them on the Caribbean stage?
SN: It is a bit different. In the Caribbean, you play for with your country, unlike in Australia or England, where there are states and counties. But, as an international cricketer, you have to adapt to the situations. The tournament needs you to and adapt to different groups of people and the setups. You go as an international player and make the best use of it.
Sunil Narine returns to the Guyana Amazon Warriors for the Caribbean Premier League (CPL)

2014. The CPL 2014 begins on the July 11, 2014 in Grenada – for more info visit CPLT20.com
(Nishad Pai Vaidya is a Correspondent with CricketCountry)

http://www.cricketcountry.com/articles/sunil-narine-virender-sehwag-is-the-toughest-batsman-i-have-bowled-to-156573 (http://www.cricketcountry.com/articles/sunil-narine-virender-sehwag-is-the-toughest-batsman-i-have-bowled-to-156573)

Post by: socafighter on September 29, 2014, 06:39:08 PM
Sunil Narine reported for suspect action
ESPNcricinfo staff
September 29, 2014
Be the first to comment | Login via  | Text size: A | A

(http://s29.postimg.org/n78w8gng7/194873.jpg)
Sunil Narine approaches the crease during his spell, Dolphins v Kolkata Knight Riders, Champions League T20, Group A, Hyderabad, September 29, 2014
Sunil Narine became the fourth bowler to be reported for a suspect action during the 2014 CLT20 © BCCI

Kolkata Knight Riders offspinner Sunil Narine has been reported for a suspected illegal bowling action following his side's 36-run win over Dolphins in the Champions League Twenty20 Group A match on Monday evening in Hyderabad.

The charge was laid by on-field umpires Anil Chaudhary and Chettihody Shamshuddin along with third umpire Kumar Dharmasena and specifically relates to Narine's quicker ball. Under CLT20 guidelines, Narine may request for an official assessment from the BCCI's suspect bowling action committee. Narine has been placed on the tournament's 'warning list' but will still be able to play. However, if he is reported again while still on the warning list, he will be suspended from bowling for the remainder of the tournament.

Narine claimed figures of 3 for 33 in his four-over spell during the win over Dolphins. The Knight Riders next match will be in the tournament semi-finals on October 2. He is the fourth bowler to be reported during the tournament, joining Mohammed Hafeez and Adnan Rasool of Lahore Lions and Prenelan Subrayen of Dolphins. Being reported in the CLT20 has no impact on a bowler's participation in international cricket.

Narine is currently the leading wicket-taker in this year's CLT20 with 11 wickets in four games at an average of 7.45, also the best in the tournament. He also has the most wickets in the six-year history of the CLT20, accumulating 38 in 19 matches, eight more than Dwayne Bravo and Doug Bollinger. Narine's career bowling average of 8.81 in the CLT20 is almost a full eight runs better than Lasith Malinga, the next best bowler on the list who holds average of 16.40 for his 25 wickets, while Narine's CLT20 career economy rate of 4.61 is more than a full run better than Brett Lee in second place at 5.71.
Title: Re: Sunil Narine reported for suspect action
Post by: socafighter on September 29, 2014, 06:45:15 PM
Suspect actions in the news since June

3 June: Sri Lanka off-spinner Sachithra Senanayake is reported for a suspected illegal bowling action and ordered to undergo testing within 21 days.

22 June: New Zealand off-spinner Kane Williamson is reported for a suspected illegal bowling action and ordered to undergo testing within 21 days.

28 June: The ICC Cricket Committee meets in Melbourne and recommends an increased focus on bowlers with questionable actions.

12 July: Senanayake is banned from bowling by the ICC after undergoing official testing in Cardiff.

23 July: Williamson is banned from bowling by the ICC after undergoing official testing in Cardiff.

11 August: Pakistan off-spinner Saeed Ajmal is reported for a suspected illegal bowling action and ordered to undergo testing within 21 days.

15 August: The ICC confirms three newly accredited testing centres will be unveiled in the coming months.

22 August: Zimbabwe off-spinner Prosper Utseya is reported for a suspected illegal bowling action and ordered to undergo testing within 21 days.

25 August: Bangladesh off-spinner Sohag Gazi is reported for a suspected illegal bowling action and ordered to undergo testing within 21 days.

25 August: Ajmal begins official testing at Cricket Australia's National Cricket Centre in Brisbane.

9 September: Ajmal banned with immediate effect by ICC. Pakistan Cricket Board say they will weigh up their options, while Ajmal says a medical condition is to blame and he remains confident of playing in the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup.

10 September: Bangladesh fast bowler Al-Amin Hossain is reported for a suspected illegal bowling action and ordered to undergo testing within 21 days.

13 September: PCB release details of ICC report that show Ajmal was found to be straightening arm nearly three times the legal limit.
Post by: socafighter on September 29, 2014, 06:47:04 PM
 Lahore Lions offspinner Mohammad Hafeez has been reported for a suspect bowling action by the umpires, following the team's Champions League T20 match against Dolphins in Bangalore on Saturday evening. Dolphins offspinner Prenelan Subrayen was also reported.

Under CLT20 guidelines, both players could request for an official assessment from the BCCI's suspect bowling action committee. For now, while they can continue to play for their teams without assessment, they have been placed on the tournament's 'warning list' as per its rules. If they are reported again, while still on the warning list, the players will be suspended from bowling in the tournament - and in any cricket organised by the BCCI - until their actions are cleared. Being reported in the CLT20 has no impact on a bowler's participation in international cricket.

The reports were made by umpires Kumar Dharamsena, Vineet Kulkarni and Anil Chaudhary, who had officiated in the Dolphins-Lions match. Both bowlers had opened the bowling for their sides and gone on to bowl a full quota of four overs. While Hafeez claimed 2 for 18 as Lions successfully defended 164, Subrayen did not pick up wicket while conceding 39 runs.

Earlier Lions' Adnan Rasool, another off spinner, had also been reported. He has continued to turn out for his team.

Post by: socafighter on September 29, 2014, 08:11:39 PM
Narine reported
Mystery spinner’s faster ball called by umpires

Story Created: Sep 29, 2014 at 9:55 PM ECT
Express
\\\\\ HYDERABAD

Umpires in the ongoing Champions League Twenty20 have reported West Indies mystery off-spinner Sunil Narine for having a suspected illegal action.

The report, which relates specifically to his faster delivery, was lodged by on-field umpires Anil Chaudhary and Chettithody Shamshuddin, along with third umpire Kumar Dharamsena, following Kolkata Knight Riders’ 36-run victory over Dolphins at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium here yesterday.

Trinidad and Tobago players Narine has so far picked up 11 wickets for the Indian Premier League franchise, KKR, who have played unbeaten in the group phase of the CLT20 to qualify for the semi-finals.
A CLT20 media statement said that Narine would now be placed on a “warning list” but would be free to continue playing for KKR.
The statement also said that Narine could request an official assessment from the Bowling Action Committee of the Indian Cricket Board (BCCI), who are organisers of the tournament.
However, the media statement said that if Narine received another report while on the warning list, he would be suspended from bowling.

“Under the CLT20 Suspected Illegal Bowling Action policy, if a player receives a report while on the warning list, the player shall be suspended from bowling for the remainder of the tournament and from bowling in any matches organised by the BCCI until such date as he is cleared,” the statement said.
“A player suspended from bowling may continue to be selected to play in matches, however he will not be entitled to bowl.”

Narine has been outstanding during the tournament and his tournament-leading 11 wickets have been key to KKR’s recent dominance where they have now won 13 straight matches in all T20 competitions.

KKR are the reigning IPL champions after beating Kings XI Punjab in the final last June.
He is ranked number two in the ICC one-day and Twenty20 bowling rankings.
Narine is the fourth bowler to be reported so far in the CLT20 following Mohammed Hafeez, Adnan Rasool and Prenelan Subrayen.

Post by: socafighter on September 30, 2014, 05:49:35 AM
Sunil Narine latest to be reported for suspect action
30 Sep 2014, 0853 hrs IST,  PTI

(http://s9.postimg.org/5dgadtwpr/43866067.jpg)
Sunil Narine has been reported during the ongoing Champions League Twenty20.
Hyderabad: West Indies spinner Sunil Narine has been reported for suspect bowling action during a Champions League Twenty20 match between Kolkata Knight Riders and Dolphins, in Hyderabad on Monday in what turned out to be another ICC crackdown on chucking.

The CLT20 organising committee issued a media advisory, confirming the development, that on-field umpires Anil Chaudhary and Chettihody Shamshuddin along with third umpire Kumar Dharmasena have expressed their suspicion about the quicker delivery bowled by Narine.
"Mr Narine was reported by on-field umpires Anil Chaudhary and Chettithody Shamshuddin, along with third umpire Kumar Dharamsena at the conclusion of the match. The report specifically relates to the quicker ball bowled by Mr. Narine," the press release states. "Under the CLT20 Suspected Illegal Bowling Action policy, Mr. Narine may request an Official Assessment from the BCCI Suspect Bowling Action Committee. Mr. Narine has been placed on the warning list and may continue to be selected to play and bowl for his team in a match," the release further stated.
However if Narine is reported again for the same problem, he will be debarred from bowling further in the Champions League T20 although he can play as batsman.
"Under the CLT20 Suspected Illegal Bowling Action policy, if a player receives a report while on the warning list, the player shall be suspended from bowling for the remainder of the tournament and from bowling in any matches organised by the BCCI until such date as he is cleared. A player suspended from bowling may continue to be selected to play in matches, however he will not be entitled to bowl."
Narine has been KKR's primary weapon over the past four seasons and has helped the franchise co-owned by Bollywood star Shah Rukh Khan to win two IPL titles in last the three editions. He is also on top of wicket-takers list with 11 scalps to his credit in the current edition of CLT20.
The ICC has instructed on-field umpires to be vigilant about suspected chuckers with Pakistan's offspinner Saeed Ajmal already suspended from bowling in competitive cricket. In this tournament, two Lahore Lions bowlers Adnan Rasool and Mohammed Hafeez have been reported for suspect actions.
Post by: socafighter on September 30, 2014, 05:56:46 AM
Lack of clarity in CLT20 bowling-action policy
Amol Karhadkar
September 30, 2014

(http://s27.postimg.org/ai0ht0tf7/194401.jpg)
Sunil Narine became the fourth offspinner to be warned in a week © BCCI
The Champions League T20's clampdown on bowlers with suspect actions is the first of its kind in six seasons of the tournament, with Kolkata Knight Riders' Sunil Narine becoming the latest to be warned in this year's event. While the officials have been given a free hand to report bowlers with suspect action, it is not yet clear whether the participating teams had been briefed specifically about the issue.

There had been no warnings over the qualifying stages of the tournament, but over the last week CLT20 match officials have reported four offspinners - Lahore Lions' Adnan Rasool and Mohammad Hafeez, Dolphins' Prenelan Subrayen, and Narine, the most successful bowler in the tournament's history.

The media releases issued by CLT20 authorities stated that all the bowlers have been put on a "warning list", and go on to mention: "Under the CLT20 Suspected Illegal Bowling Action policy, if a player receives a report while on the warning list, the player shall be suspended from bowling for the remainder of the tournament and from bowling in any matches organised by the BCCI until such date as he is cleared." The pre-tournament handbook given to teams which details playing conditions, however, contains no mention of a policy with regard to illegal actions.

CLT20 authorities informed ESPNcricinfo that if a player is reported twice during any of the BCCI-organised tournaments - CLT20 is one of them, despite Cricket Australia and Cricket South Africa being stakeholders along with BCCI - he will have to be cleared by the BCCI suspect bowling action committee headed by former India captain and umpire S Venkataraghavan.

The tournament website, however, has a different ruling on suspect actions. "The on-field umpire will take action in the case of suspect bowling action. Once he has reported the matter, the player will be referred to the technical committee (made up of eminent members of the various boards) for corrective action," the official website of the tournament says. This is the only reference to the procedure for dealing with suspect bowling actions on the tournament's official website.

While the website says the technical committee will include members of various boards, it currently has three BCCI representatives, BCCI secretary Sanjay Patel, IPL Chief Operating Officer Sundar Raman and BCCI's general manager, cricket operations MV Sridhar. None of them was willing to go on record about the policy pertaining to illegal actions.

The CLT20 crackdown is in line with ICC's fresh impetus with regard to reporting and taking action against suspect actions. BCCI officials insist they are following their own rules, and say, off the record, that over the last three years the BCCI has given a free hand to all umpires and match referees to eliminate chuckers from the game.

BCCI insiders have also pointed out that the common factor in all the four reported cases has been that of ICC elite umpire Kumar Dharmasena, the winner of the ICC best umpire award.

In BCCI's other big T20 event, the IPL, so far there have been four cases of bowlers reported for suspect actions. In 2011 the IPL announced a four-member illegal bowling action committee, and its own suspect action policy came into place on February 1, 2014.

During this year's CLT20 pre-tournament briefing, umpires and match officials were told that they were free to report bowlers if they were convinced about the need to examine their bowling actions.

The bowlers warned during the CLT20s can continue to play elsewhere in the world except India. According to the new CLT20 policy, of which a detailed text is so far unavailable, the bowler will only be allowed to play again in BCCI-conducted matches after undergoing corrective procedures at the new centre in Chennai.

A CLT20 official said while the "intention" is to extend the policy to other countries to bring in uniformity, they can implement it only in India since despite the three stakeholders, "CLT20 is a domestic tournament governed by BCCI".

Amol Karhadkar is a correspondent at ESPNcricinfo

RSS Feeds: Amol Karhadkar
© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Title: Backing SUNIL Gray, QPCC say spinner can overcome warning
Post by: socafighter on September 30, 2014, 07:28:09 PM
Backing SUNIL
Gray, QPCC say spinner can overcome warning

By \\\\\ Garth Wattley
Story Created: Sep 30, 2014 at 9:05 PM ECT
Express

Members of the local cricket fraternity are backing Sunil Narine to overcome his latest problems with his bowling action.

The West Indies and Trinidad and Tobago off-spinner was put on the Champions League T20 warning list after his faster ball was reported by the umpires in Monday’s Champions League match between his Kolkata Knight Riders and Sunfoil Dolphins.

Narine is still allowed to bowl, but will be banned from the competition if he is reported a second time. And according to the CL T20 policy, such a ban would also mean that he will only be allowed to play again in BCCI-conducted matches after undergoing corrective procedures. This would affect Narine’s particpation in the West Indies’ tour of India.

Reacting to news of Narine being called, Tony Gray, the former T&T and West Indies fast bowler said yesterday, “I thought all his deliveries were very legal but obviously the umpires didn’t think so.”

This is the second time that Narine’s action has been called into question. The first was during the Caribbean T20 tournament in 2011, after which he and Kevon Cooper underwent remedial work at the University of Western Australia in Perth.

“He did well by going to Australia for remedial work and I thought his action was good, not perfect but within the laws. After coming back from Australia he had improved a lot,” Gray added.

However, Gray said the “mystery spinner” would now face psychological pressure.

“You have to have a strong mind after being called,” Gray said. “He will be conscious of the cameras. People will be looking at his action.” But Gray said the bowler’s work ethic will serve him well.

“He’s introverted but he is a worker. When you look at the different types of deliveries he bowls, it has come from a lot of practice. He’s internally strong and I expect for him to rectify that delivery.”

Gray said though, that regular work was now required for the leading bowler in the history of the CL T20.

“There must be time allotted to improving the action in practice,” he said. “He will have to work at bowling the faster ball with a legal action for half an hour (each session) until it becomes second nature. You have to re-culture the human being (since) he’s been doing that for a while.”

Narine’s coach at Queen’s Park Cricket Club, David Furlonge was even more confident of Narine’s recovery from this setback.

“He has come back from it already so he can come back from it again, he said, adding that, “he will probably come back with something new. We’ll have to see what’s happening with the semi-final tomorrow (today). But he has so many balls in his arsenal, he could probably do without the faster one.”

Another QPCC official Bryan Davis added: “It means working hard on your action and I know he has the ability to do that, to ensure it’s approved.”

Narine’s Knight Riders will face the Hobart Hurricanes in the first of two Champions League semi-finals today.

Title: Re: Backing SUNIL Gray, QPCC say spinner can overcome warning
Post by: socafighter on September 30, 2014, 07:37:45 PM
Not possibly good to bowl in CLT20 but can roll arm over in ODIs?
30 Sep 2014, 1625 hrs IST,  G Rajaraman,  gocricket.com 

(http://s29.postimg.org/z96483d07/43897980.jpg)
Not possibly good to bowl in CLT20 but can roll arm over in ODIs?© Sportzpics

CLT20 rules say that a bowler reported for suspect action twice can be barred from bowling again in the tournament but remain silent on escalating the issue to the international level.
New Delhi: Sunil Narine faces the strange but fascinating prospect of being a bowler whose action - at least when bowling the faster one - may not be good enough for the Oppo Champions League Twenty20 final but can step into the one-day international series immediately without the weight of such a penalty bearing him down.

If, on Thursday, the umpires in Kolkata Knight Riders' semifinal match emulate their colleagues Anil Chaudhury, Mohammad Shamshuddin and Kumar Dharmasena and report Narine, he will be barred from rolling his arm over again in the tournament. But, as his luck would have it, he can bowl in the West Indies' opening ODI against India in Kochi on October 8.

Not good to bowl in CLT20 but good for ODIs, even if it will be at the back his mind?
CLT20 rules - like those of IPL - specify that a bowler reported for suspect action twice in the tournament can be barred from bowling again in the tournament but remain silent on escalating the issue to the international level. It is like saying that he can't bowl for his domestic team but can go ahead of bowl in international cricket.

It is not without precedent. Trinidad paceman Kevon Cooper was reported after Rajasthan Royals' last game in IPL 2014. He has since claimed 12 wickets in 11 games for T&T Red Steel in the Caribbean Premier League, without being inhibited by thoughts of umpires Rod Tucker and K Srinath's report against him.

Come to think of it, at the beginning of the month, BCCI said umpires would be empowered to call 'no-ball' if they felt a bowler delivered a ball with an action that does not comply with the Laws of Cricket. So why then did Chaudhury and Shamshuddin not call Narine but went back to the erstwhile method of reporting?

Curiously, though CLT20 is an international tournament, the bowler's first recourse is to seek an official assessment from the Board of Control for Cricket in India's Suspect Bowling Committee (S Venkataraghavan, Javagal Srinath, AV Jayaprakash and BCCI Secretary Sanjay Patel) as if it were a domestic event.

Of course, this is not an event conducted by the International Cricket Council but as one which has the international body's blessings - after all, ICC nominates umpires to official CLT20 games, does it not? - it must follow a procedure that is not any different from what happens at international games.

They say the road to a not-so-good place is paved with good intentions. Clearly, it does not take much for BCCI and its umpires to return to their old ways after indulging in sabre-rattling at appropriate times. So much for empowerment of umpires by good old Board of Control for Cricket in India.

Post by: socafighter on September 30, 2014, 07:43:43 PM
Sunil Narine reported for suspect action

West Indies mystery spinner Sunil Narine has Monday been reported for suspect bowling action\ during a Champions League T20 match between KKR and Dolphins, here yesterday in what turned out to be another ICC crackdown on chucking.

The CLT20 orgamizing committee issued a media advisory late Monday night, confirming the development, that on-field umpires Anil Chaudhary and Chettihody Shamshuddin along with third umpire Kumar Dharmasena have expressed their suspicion about the quicker delivery bowled by Narine.

The report specifically relates to the quicker ball bowled by Mr. Narine
“Mr Narine was reported by on-field umpires Anil Chaudhary and Chettithody Shamshuddin, along with third umpire Kumar Dharamsena at the conclusion of the match. The report specifically relates to the quicker ball bowled by Mr. Narine,” the press release states.

“Under the CLT20 Suspected Illegal Bowling Action policy, Mr. Narine may request an Official Assessment from the BCCI Suspect Bowling Action Committee. Mr. Narine has been placed on the warning list and may continue to be selected to play and bowl for his team in a match,” the release further stated.

However if Narine is reported again for the same problem, he will be debarred from bowling further in the Champions League T20 although he can play as batsman.
“Under the CLT20 Suspected Illegal Bowling Action policy, if a player receives a report while on the warning list, the player shall be suspended from bowling for the remainder of the tournament and from bowling in any matches organised by the BCCI until such date as he is cleared.
“A player suspended from bowling may continue to be selected to play in matches, however he will not be entitled to bowl.”

Narine has been KKR’s primary weapon over the past four seasons and has helped the franchise co-owned by Bollywood star Shah Rukh Khan to win two IPL titles in last three He is also on top of wicket-takers list with 11 scalps to his credit in the current edition of CLT20.
The ICC has instructed the on-field umpires to be vigilant about suspected chuckers with Pakistan’s off-spinner Saeed Ajmal already suspended from bowling in competitive cricket. In this tournament, two Lahore Lions bowlers Adnan Rasool and Mohammed Hafeez have been reported for suspect actions.
Post by: Quags on September 30, 2014, 11:12:33 PM
Ahh man the owner of the Knight Riders will be pissed ,lol lets see who's more powerful ,Bollywood or bcci  .
Post by: Sando prince on October 01, 2014, 08:22:49 AM

So suspect action is determined by the Umpires? Not true every Umpire will have a different perspective?
Title: Focus on Sunil Narine as KKR start favourites against Hurricanes
Post by: socafighter on October 01, 2014, 07:53:19 PM
Focus on Narine as KKR start favourites against Hurricanes
1 Oct 2014, 1710 hrs IST,  gocricket staff,  gocricket.com 

(http://s18.postimg.org/6oykcpp09/43999419.jpg)
Focus on Narine as KKR start favourites against Hurricanes© Sportzpics

KKR's three-pronged spin attack will be key in their semi-final against Hobart Hurricanes.
Having won all the four group matches and extend their winning streak to 13, Kolkata Knight Riders head into the first semi-final of the 2014 CLT20 against Hobart Hurricanes on Thursday as strong favourites at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad. After narrowly scraping past the victory line in their first three matches, KKR managed a convincing 36-run victory in their last Group A game against Dolphins in an apparent warning for the other title aspirants. Robin Uthappa and Manish Pandey's return of form also bolsters their chances.

KKR have also been highly impressive in their bowling department. Apart from Sunil Narine, KKR has found a wicket-taking bowler in chinaman Kuldeep Yadav, giving skipper Gautam Gambhir a lot of options. The only team they should be wary about is their fielding. With too many catches being dropped, KKR may have to pay heavily especially when they are defending a total. Three of their last four wins have come while chasing.

The Tim Paine-led side, on the other hand, is also on a roll as they have registered convincing wins in their previous three games and are looking to peak at the right time. The Hurricanes' strength is their fielding and one can expect a cracker of a game between the IPL champions and the Big Bash runners-up.

Date: Thursday, October 2

Time: 16:00 IST

Venue: Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

Weather: Temperature between 18 to 32 degrees Celsius, mostly pleasant.

Team news

Kolkata Knight Riders

They have the belief and the confidence going in to the semi-final. The most encouraging part of their win is the emergence of players like Suryakumar Yadav, Andre Russell and Kuldeep Yadav. Every time they have been in a tense situation, they have found a crisis man. Despite Narine being reported for a suspect bowling action, KKR would go with an unchanged side. The CLT20 rules allow teams to include players even after being reported and therefore Hobart Hurricanes can prepare themselves for his tricky four overs. It will be surprising if KKR make any changes to their playing XI.

Probable XI: 1 Gautam Gambhir (capt), 2 Robin Uthappa, 3 Jacques Kallis, 4 Manish Pandey, 5 Yusuf Pathan, 6 Ryan ten Doeschate, 7 Suryakumar Yadav, 8 Andre Russell, 9 Piyush Chawla, 10 Sunil Narine, 11 Kuldeep Yadav

Hobart Hurricanes

The Hurricanes confirmed their place in the semi-final of the CLT20 after registering a clinical six-wicket win over Barbados Tridents and would hope to build on the winning momentum. Their new-ball attack in Ben Hilfenhaus and Doug Bollinger has led the way for their spinners. Xavier Doherty and Shoaib Malik have bowled well in tandem and with Ben Dunk and Aiden Blizzard at the top, the Hurricanes have the potential to pull off an upset. They are likely to field an unchanged side from their last encounter.

Probable XI: 1 Ben Dunk, 2 Tim Paine (capt/wk), 3 Aiden Blizzard, 4 Shoaib Malik, 5 Travis Birt, 6 Jonathan Wells, 7 Joe Mennie, 8 Ben Hilfenhaus, 9 Xavier Doherty, 10 Ben Laughlin, 11 Doug Bollinger

Watch out for

Hurricanes skipper Tim Paine is due a big one. He is a hard-hitting batsman and has shown signs of coming in to form. A strong off-side player, Paine is capable of winning a game on his day.

After being reported, Sunil Narine will keen to get on in a big game and prove a point. No team can afford to ignore him and it will be interesting to see his response to the awkward situation he finds himself in. Narine is a match-winner and expectedly he has got his team's backing.
Title: Re: Focus on Sunil Narine as KKR start favourites against Hurricanes
Post by: socafighter on October 01, 2014, 07:58:19 PM

CLT20: Gocricket previews Thursday's semi-final games

http://www.gocricket.com/videos/news/CLT20-Gocricket-previews-Thursdays-semi-final-games/cricketvshow/43988625.cms (http://www.gocricket.com/videos/news/CLT20-Gocricket-previews-Thursdays-semi-final-games/cricketvshow/43988625.cms)
Post by: Quags on October 02, 2014, 02:23:26 PM
Two games in a row and banned from finals ,also may not be able to play for WI in India lol.
Look like them BCCI men throw him to the wolves to win the WI series.
Post by: Michael-j on October 02, 2014, 02:38:50 PM
Two games in a row and banned from finals ,also may not be able to play for WI in India lol.
Look like them BCCI men throw him to the wolves to win the WI series.

Read in a Cricinfo article that the ban only applies to the Champions league and other BCCI-organised tournaments, eg. the IPL....so his international duties with the W.I should be unaffected.....but having said that, how much you willing to bet that he'll be reported after the first O.D.I against India next week?
I can't really say I'm surprised by this turn of events. His action always looked rather suspect to me to be honest....but I do question the timing of the reports...India series next week, World cup around the corner?? hmmm...
Post by: Quags on October 02, 2014, 03:24:22 PM
According to the article above my first post in this tread
Paragraph 7 .He is banned from all BCCI events so I think that include international games .
I think them Indians start quaking in there sandals and stab him in his back .
Post by: Quags on October 02, 2014, 03:47:11 PM
Either that or the other teams complain but like u said he might still play but something stinks .
And Pollard just tweeted something cryptic about it also.
Title: Narine banned from bowling in CLT20 final
Post by: socafighter on October 02, 2014, 07:09:53 PM
Hobart Hurricanes v KKR, semi-final, CLT20, Hyderabad
Narine banned from bowling in CLT20 final

ESPNcricinfo staff
October 2, 2014

Sunil Narine has been barred from bowling for Kolkata Knight Riders in the Champions League T20 final on Saturday after being reported for a second time in two matches for a suspect action. He was reported by the umpires after Thursday's semi-final against Hobart Hurricanes, which Knight Riders won by seven wickets. He had also been reported following their final group match, against Dolphins, when the umpires questioned his quicker delivery.

ESPNcricinfo understands that this time the umpires, Rod Tucker, S Ravi and Vineet Kulkarni, had noted in their written complaint that several of the 24 deliveries Narine bowled against Hurricanes were suspect. "It was three deliveries in the last match. But this time all his four overs were reported," an official privy to the complaint said.

No official from Knight Riders' management responded to queries, so it is not yet known whether the franchise might appeal against the penalty.

According to a Champions League T20 release, the umpires reviewed footage of the semi-final and "felt that there was a flex action in Narine's elbow beyond the acceptable limit when bowling during the match". He had already been on the tournament's warning list and, since he had not subsequently had his action cleared, is now automatically banned from bowling further in the tournament.

Knight Riders will now be "advised" to send Narine to the Sri Ramachandra University in Chennai - which has been accredited by the ICC as a testing centre for suspect bowling actions - to have his action tested.

The bowling ban will not affect his West Indies duties, though - it is confined only to the Champions League T20 and other BCCI-organised tournaments, including the IPL.

Darren Sammy, Narine's West Indies team-mate, came out in support of him on Thursday, prior to him being reported a second time. "I am not worried. Narine is a champion. Whether they stop him from bowling the faster ball, he is still the most dangerous spinner in the world," Sammy had said. "I believe that he will still be a great asset to us. He will do whatever he has to do and have all his different tricks up his sleeves by the time the World Cup is here. I still feel he will be our a champion spinner."

Narine is the fourth bowler to be reported in the Champions League - the others are Lahore Lions' Adnan Rasool and Mohammad Hafeez, and Dolphins' Prenelan Subrayen. However, he is the first bowler to be reported a second time. This comes at a time when the ICC has been stepping up its action against suspect bowling actions, with several spinners being called and suspended from bowling in international cricket.

It comes as a big blow to Knight Riders, as they look to extend their T20 winning streak to 15 and secure the double of winning the IPL and the Champions League T20 in the same year.

Title: Re: Narine banned from bowling in CLT20 final
Post by: socafighter on October 02, 2014, 07:15:58 PM

Narine reported again, suspended from bowling in CLT20
2 Oct 2014, 2227 hrs IST,  gocricket staff,  gocricket.com 

Narine has been advised to visit the ICC-accredited facility in Chennai to undergo rehabilitative tests for his action.

Kolkata Knight Riders have been dealt a major blow to their chances in the Champions League T20 final, as spinner Sunil Narine has been reported for having a suspect bowling action a second time following the team's semi-final victory over Hobart Hurricanes on Thursday. The West Indies offspinner will hence not be allowed to bowl in Saturday's final.

Narine, who was called for the first time during KKR's final league game against Dolphins, was again reported, this time by on-field umpires S Ravi and Rod Tucker. Narine finished with figures of 1 for 24 as KKR restricted the Hurricanes to 140 for 6, before chasing it down successfully.

"After all video evidence of the match was taken into account, on-field umpires Rod Tucker and S Ravi along with third umpire Vineet Kulkarni felt that there was a flex action in his elbow beyond the acceptable limit when bowling during the match," a CLT20 release said on Thursday.

"Under the CLT20 Suspected Illegal Bowling Action policy, if a player receives a report while on the warning list, the player shall be suspended from bowling for the remainder of the tournament and from bowling in any matches organised by the BCCI until such date as he is cleared," the release said. "Mr Narine is suspended from bowling, but may continue to be selected to play in matches, however he will not be entitled to bowl."

Narine has been advised to visit the ICC-accredited facility in Chennai to undergo rehabilitative tests for his action.

Narine has been part of a very successful spin trio for the Knight Riders, as along with Piyush Chawla and Kuldeep Yadav they have not allowed opposition teams to dictate terms in the competition. Narine has also been the most successful bowler in the tournament so far with 12 wickets from five games.

Narine's stifling bowling has also been a major factor in KKR being the most economical bowling unit in the competition, after achieving the same during the IPL.

Post by: socafighter on October 03, 2014, 07:07:41 PM

Narine withdrawn from India tour

Amol Karhadkar
October 3, 2014

(http://s29.postimg.org/x2qomdeo7/186487.jpg)
Clive Lloyd: 'This guy has been doing well for KKR for three years. [His action] has been pretty much the same; what has been found that they ban him?' © BCCI

West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) has decided to withdraw offspinner Sunil Narine from the entire India tour. A WICB spokesperson confirmed to ESPNCricinfo that Narine was being called back home after the CLT20 banned him from bowling having called his action illegal.

Suggesting that corrective measures to his action, if any were needed, should have been made earlier, Lloyd questioned the timing of Narine's suspension, saying the decision could be "destroying" to Narine and affect the team's chances on the forthcoming tour of India and in the World Cup.

From October 8, West Indies will play five ODIs and a T20 against India, before three Tests. Narine's bowling ban is restricted only to the Champions League and other BCCI-run tournaments like the IPL, but it is sure to increase scrutiny on him in international cricket as well.

"We will have to take that decision in a day or so. I am very disappointed because he is an exciting cricketer," Lloyd said on Friday, at Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai, where West Indies played a warm-up game. "The point is, just like [Muttiah] Muralitharan, because your action is different, doesn't mean that you are throwing.

"We have to take a look at things and assess the situation. We don't want to make any rash decision as such. We will discuss it. The board [WICB] will probably take it from there. We will have to inform the board. We can't take decisions just like that. They have to be informed."

ESPNcricinfo understands that the decision will be arrived at before October 6, when the West Indies squad leaves Mumbai for Kochi, which will host the first ODI.

Lloyd said the WICB and the West Indies team management had been told that Narine would be under the scanner in India by a source whose identity he would not disclose. "Before we came here we were told that they were going to call Narine, so it's quite obvious that something must have been said somewhere," he said. "I really can't tell you that [who it was] but I can tell you it's a highly reliable source, because we have to make contingency plans for things like that just in case it happens," Lloyd said, adding that the West Indies cricket fraternity would back Narine.

KKR move to Bangalore, minus Narine

While the Kolkata Knight Riders team moved to Bangalore for the Champions League T20 final, Narine remained in Hyderabad. He has been advised to wait for further instructions from the WICB, on whether to join his West Indies team-mates in Mumbai or Kochi or to head back home.

The Knight Riders management was surprised with the umpires' ruling on Narine, particularly the fact that two days after his faster delivery was reported, his action for several deliveries was termed suspect. However, Venky Mysore, Knight Riders' CEO, said that the franchise would comply with the measures recommended by BCCI, so that Narine can bowl in BCCI-run tournaments like the IPL.

Mysore said he did not want to question the authority of the umpires. "Those are the rules. We accept that. We will be very supportive of everything that Sunil wants to do," Mysore said. "If WICB reaches out, we are always there to support them. We are going to miss him in the final, but we are there to do everything to support him as we don't want his career to get affected.

"I have to say the timing is surprising and so is the fact that he was the only one called twice in the tournament. But we will do everything to help him to put this behind him."
- Nagraj Gollapudi

Lamenting the timing of the suspension, "just before an important series against India and the World Cup that follows", Lloyd said he could not really understand the need to raise questions over the legality of Narine's action when "he has been bowling in the same manner" for years.

"He has been bowling over the years with the same sort of action. Now all of a sudden it has changed. What has changed, I don't know," Lloyd said. "You can't just ban him from bowling just before an important tour like this and with the World Cup coming up. It destroys the individual's ability as such and I think you may end up destroying someone's career.

"This guy has been doing well playing for KKR for the last three years. If you look at his action, he has been doing pretty much the same and I want to know what is it that has been found that they ban him and not say something like, 'Listen, you have a bit of a problem and you have to rectify it.'"

Lloyd compared the situation with that of Pakistan offspinner Saeed Ajmal, who has been suspended from bowling in international cricket. "All of a sudden, this guy [Narine] who is supposed to be one of the best bowlers around - like Ajmal for that matter, how many Test wickets does Ajmal have? - and all of a sudden his bowling action is suspect. My point is something should be done before all this comes to this point.

"It can destroy a team. You want to know if this is being orchestrated because if you lose your main bowler then it puts some pressure on the selectors and the team and so on."

Lloyd also questioned the Champions League T20 regulations and procedure, which has proven to be rather ambiguous.

"Nobody has told us anything. Nobody has written a letter. That is the thing about it. Something should be said to us. We are left high and dry. All of a sudden, the guy is not playing in a tournament he has played for the last three years. What are you then saying about the tournament then? Are you saying that the tournament has probably previously allowed people who have got bad actions to play?"

Asked if the ICC, which has been tightlipped over the issue since it doesn't govern the Champions League, should step in and get in touch with the WICB, Lloyd sad he hoped it happened soon. "I think it's wrong the way they have gone about it and I have been involved in the ICC for years [as a match referee and technical committee chief] and I think you cannot just ban a guy just like that. This is a guy who has played for us all over the world, not only in the West Indies. All of a sudden, this guy has got a suspect action. I am not happy, I would like to strongly say that."

Kumar Dharmasena, a leading umpire on the ICC Elite Panel, has been involved in three of the four cases of suspect actions being reported in Champions League. So, Lloyd said, he was not sure if that indirectly meant Narine would be reported in international cricket.

With the ICC taking a hard stance on illegal actions in the last six months, the WICB is likely to be wary. Ian Gould, another Elite Panel umpire, will be one of the match officials for the ODI series in India. Gould was among the umpires who reported offspinners Sachithra Senanayake and Ajmal, both of whom were later banned from bowling in international cricket, earlier this year.

Amol Karhadkar is a correspondent at ESPNcricinfo

RSS Feeds: Amol Karhadkar
© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.
Title: 'I'm not surprised about Narine' - Croft
Post by: socafighter on October 03, 2014, 07:19:07 PM
'I'm not surprised about Narine' - Croft

Video ....http://www.espncricinfo.com/champions-league-twenty20-2014/content/video_audio/787069.html (http://www.espncricinfo.com/champions-league-twenty20-2014/content/video_audio/787069.html)

Former West Indies fast bowler Colin Croft demonstrates why he wasn't surprised by the recent reporting of Sunil Narine's action considering the current climate within in world cricket (00:57)
Title: Narine ban skews title fight.....Super Kings v Knight Riders
Post by: socafighter on October 03, 2014, 07:23:28 PM
Narine ban skews title fight......Super Kings v Knight Riders
The Preview by Karthik Krishnaswamy
October 3, 2014

Match facts
Saturday, October 4, 2014

Agarkar: Narine suspension makes CSK favourites

It's easy to overstate the influence of one player in a team sport, but the loss of just one player might mean Kolkata Knight Riders go into the Champions League T20 final as underdogs despite having won their last 14 matches. Unless they choose to play him as a specialist batsman, Sunil Narine will play no part in the final. Chennai Super Kings, against whose power-packed batting lineup he has an economy rate of 5.90 in eight matches, must have rejoiced when they heard news of his bowling ban during their semi-final game.

The last time Super Kings faced him, in the opening game of the tournament's group stage, they scored nine runs off Narine's four overs, and scored 148 off the 16 overs bowled by Knight Riders' other bowlers. In the end, Knight Riders won despite slipping to 51 for 5 at the start of their chase.

Narine is the highest wicket-taker in this tournament, has the best economy rate of anyone who has bowled a significant number of overs, and is absolutely central to Knight Riders' bowling plans. Out of the 20 overs he has bowled in the CLT20, only four have come outside the first six or the last five of an innings. Now, in their most important game of the tournament, Knight Riders will have to rejig their entire bowling plan and figure out which of their bowlers will deliver the most critical overs.

This isn't to say Knight Riders are a one-man team. As shown by S Rajesh, ESPNcricinfo's stats editor, in his analysis of their winning streak, the improved performance of their batsmen has been a vital factor in their success. The rest of their spin attack, moreover, has been excellent. But can they stand up to Super Kings' fearsome phalanx of batsmen without their talisman bowling the bulk of the pressure overs?

Form guide
Kolkata Knight Riders WWWWW (completed matches only, most recent first)
Chennai Super Kings WWWLL

Watch out for
Since smashing a 43-ball 90 against Dolphins, Suresh Raina has twice been out cheaply in frustrating ways - run-out against Perth Scorchers, caught at a specifically stationed short midwicket against Kings XI Punjab. Raina is striking the ball as cleanly as ever, and Knight Riders might need to get him out early to keep Super Kings in check.

Jacques Kallis scored a match-winning half-century the last time he faced Super Kings in a final, and he seems to be in good touch with the bat, having scored an unbeaten 40-ball 54 in the semi-final against Hobart Hurricanes. Kallis has only had to bowl four overs in three matches so far in this tournament, but he might be required to fill in with the ball in the final, with Narine not around.

Team news
The boundaries at the Chinnaswamy Stadium are considerably shorter than those in Hyderabad, where they played their semi-final, and this might cause Super Kings to consider selecting an extra seamer in place of Pawan Negi, the third spinner.

Chennai Super Kings 1 Dwayne Smith, 2 Brendon McCullum, 3 Suresh Raina, 4 Faf du Plessis, 5 Dwayne Bravo, 6 MS Dhoni (capt & wk), 7 Ravindra Jadeja, 8 R Ashwin, 9 Ishwar Pandey/Pawan Negi, 10 Mohit Sharma, 11 Ashish Nehra

Knight Riders have used all four of their spinners in their recent games, and don't have anyone else in the squad as a direct replacement for Narine. It looks like they will have to go with an extra seam option, and that probably means Pat Cummins will return to their line-up.

Kolkata Knight Riders 1 Robin Uthappa (wk), 2 Gautam Gambhir (capt), 3 Jacques Kallis, 4 Manish Pandey, 5 Yusuf Pathan, 6 Ryan ten Doeschate, 7 Suryakumar Yadav, 8 Andre Russell, 9 Piyush Chawla, 10 Pat Cummins, 11 Kuldeep Yadav

Stats and trivia
Kolkata Knight Riders may not miss Sunil Narine all that much, after all. In his two finals for them, he has picked up only one wicket, and has conceded 83 runs in eight overs
Ravindra Jadeja is yet to be dismissed in the tournament. He has batted three times and scored 111 runs off 55 balls, at a strike rate of 201.81
Karthik Krishnaswamy is a senior sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

RSS Feeds: Karthik Krishnaswamy
© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Title: Re: Narine withdrawn from India tour
Post by: socafighter on October 03, 2014, 07:37:50 PM
Fearing he’ll be called for suspect action, Windies send Narine home

Written by Bharat Sundaresan | Mumbai | Posted: October 4, 2014 4:20 am

Offspinner Sunil Narine has left India for the Caribbean, and will not play in the Test and ODI series beginning in Kochi on October 8, it is reliably learnt.
Narine was banned from bowling in Saturday’s Champions League final after he was reported for suspect action for a second time in two matches during Kolkata Knight Riders’s semifinal game against the Hobart Hurricanes on Thursday.
The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) declined to confirm on Friday that Narine had flown home. However, it is learnt that one of two left arm orthodox spinners, Nikita Miller and Suleiman Benn, will replace him in the squad.

Mystery repeats itself

WICB chairman of selectors Clive Lloyd said that even before the squad arrived in India, the team management had learnt from “reliable sources” that the umpires were “going to call Narine (for suspect action)” during the ODI series. India and the West Indies are scheduled to play five One-Dayers, followed by a T20 and three Tests.
Reacting to the Champions League ban on Narine, Lloyd had indicated that with the World Cup just four months away, the team management was wary of playing the 26-year-old Trinidadian in the ODIs.
“If you hear these sort of rumours, it’s obvious that something was said before. It can destroy a team. You want to know if this is being orchestrated, because if you lose your main bowler then it puts pressure on the team. If he was called in the ODIs, he would have had to take quite a few months off and therefore missed the World Cup,” Lloyd, one of the game’s legends and the last West Indian captain to win a bilateral series in India, said.

Since he emerged on the international scene in 2011, Narine has taken 73 wickets in 52 ODIs and 21 wickets in 6 Tests, and been the top spinner for the Windies. His action was first reported during KKR’s league match against the Dolphins, where his quicker delivery came under the scanner.

He was reported a second time on Thursday by umpires Rod Tucker, S Ravi and Vineet Kulkarni for flex action in his elbow beyond the acceptable limit.
“He has been bowling over the years with the same sort of action and delivering the same faster ball. And all of a sudden, they say his action is suspect. Just like what happened with (Saeed) Ajmal, who like Sunil is one of the best bowlers around. I have been involved in the ICC for years and I think you cannot ban a guy just like that,” Lloyd said.
“If somebody is saying that you are fraudulent, what do they do? They are going to write you a letter, and say you’ve done so and so. They don’t just send you off to jail. I want to know how they decided to ban him rather than say something like, ‘Listen, you have a bit of a problem and you have to rectify it’,” he added.

Of late, the ICC has taken a tough line on suspect actions, with Ajmal suspended and Senanayake, Shane Shillingford and Kane Williamson having been reported. Lloyd, however, insisted that Narine and Ajmal weren’t the only off-spinners with kinks in their action, and that if ICC were to stick with the crackdown, “a lot more bowlers would not be bowling in a month or so”.

“The point is, just like (Muttiah) Muralitharan, because your action is different doesn’t mean that you are throwing. I think it is wrong that one of our best bowlers is being penalised now when he’s been bowling well for years in India in matches being overseen by top ICC match referees and not been called,” he said.] With Narine’s immediate future uncertain, Lloyd said the WICB and selection committee would back him fully. “I have seen a lot of people whose actions are very funny but they were still playing.

I am unhappy with the way things have been done about West Indian players and I think it’s about time that we stand up for our youngsters,” he said. -

Title: Re: Narine withdrawn from India tour
Post by: socafighter on October 04, 2014, 06:11:34 AM
Narine dilemma
...top spinner’s place on India tour in doubt

Story Created: Oct 3, 2014 at 9:04 PM ECT
Express

The West Indies are considering removing Sunil Narine from their squad for the upcoming one-day international (ODI) series in India starting next week. Convenor of the selection panel Clive Lloyd told the ESPNcricinfo website yesterday that a decision will be made on the off-spinner within the next couple days.

Narine’s place in the five-match ODI series has come into question after he was reported in consecutive matches this week for a suspect bowling action by umpires in the Champions League T20 competition in India. The second suspension, which came after his team Kolkata Knight Riders’ semi-final win over the Hobart Hurricanes, has ruled him out of today’s final against Chennai Super Kings.

Reacting to the turn of events, former West Indies captain Lloyd said he was “very disappointed” by the banning of Narine.”The point is, just like [Muttiah] Muralitharan, because your action is different, doesn’t mean that you are throwing.
“We have to take a look at things and assess the situation. We don’t want to make any rash decision as such. We will discuss it. The board [WICB] will probably take it from there. We will have to inform the board. We can’t take decisions just like that. They have to be informed.”

Lloyd also questioned the timing of Narine’s suspension, describing it as “destroying” to Narine. Lloyd also told the website that the WICB and the West Indies team management had been told that Narine would be under scrutiny in India by a source whose identity he would not disclose. He said: “Before we came here we were told that they were going to call Narine, so it’s quite obvious that something must have been said somewhere.”

The chairman of selectors added: “He has been bowling over the years with the same sort of action. Now all of a sudden it has changed. What has changed, I don’t know,” Lloyd said. “You can’t just ban him from bowling just before an important tour like this and with the World Cup coming up. It destroys the individual’s ability as such and I think you may end up destroying someone’s career.

“This guy has been doing well playing for KKR for the last three years. If you look at his action, he has been doing pretty much the same and I want to know what is it that has been found that they ban him and not say something like, ‘Listen, you have a bit of a problem and you have to rectify it.”

Knight Riders CEO Venky Mysore also told the website the team was surprised by the clampdown on the ace bowler. ‘’I have to say the timing is surprising and so is the fact that he was the only one called twice in the tournament. But we will do everything to help him to put this behind him.”

On Thursday, the chairman of the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board’s selection panel, Alec Burns, called for Narine not to be used in the upcoming series so that he could work on his action.

“Psychologically he would not be at ease,” Burns told the Express. “This is the second time he has been cautioned (in the CL T20)...I think that is cause for concern. I would want the West Indies board to move with haste to have him do remedial work. He is a key part of our bowling attack. Without Sunil Narine I don’t think we will be as effective.”

Post by: socafighter on October 04, 2014, 07:08:02 AM
Lloyd: WICB knew Narine was going to be reported
4 Oct 2014, 1104 hrs IST,  gocricket staff,  gocricket.com

(http://s27.postimg.org/iu3lfzevn/44295427.jpg)

A livid Clive Lloyd expressed displeasure over the timing of Sunil Narine's ban.

Chairman of West Indies selectors, Clive Lloyd has revealed that a credible source had notified WICB and the team management in advance about Sunil Narine coming under the scanner during the Champions League Twenty20 prior to the tournament. Narine, on whom the ban was imposed following Kolkata Knight Rider's semi-final win against Hobart Hurricanes, was on Friday withdrawn from West Indies' scheme of things for the series against India.

"Before we came here we were told that they were going to call Narine, so it's quite obvious that something must have been said somewhere," he said. "I really can't tell you that [who it was] but I can tell you it's a highly reliable source, because we have to make contingency plans for things like that just in case it happens."

Lloyd expressed surprise over the timing of the decision made by the CLT20 since Narine's action was clear during all these years. "He has been bowling over the years with the same sort of action. Now all of a sudden it has changed. What has changed, I don't know," Lloyd said during West Indies' warm-up game against India A on Friday.

"You can't just ban him from bowling just before an important tour like this and with the World Cup coming up. It destroys the individual's ability as such and I think you may end up destroying someone's career."

Narine has been an exceptional performer for KKR ever since he joined the franchise in 2012. He has bagged 67 wickets from 47 games in addition to playing a key role in guiding KKR to two IPL titles in three years.

"This guy has been doing well playing for KKR for the last three years," Lloyd said. "If you look at his action, he has been doing pretty much the same and I want to know what is it that has been found that they ban him and not say something like, 'Listen, you have a bit of a problem and you have to rectify it.'"

Lloyd was baffled at the guidelines of the CLT20 since the entire procedure was very unclear and there was no intimation from any party or individual. "Nobody has told us anything. Nobody has written a letter. That is the thing about it. Something should be said to us. We are left high and dry. All of a sudden, the guy is not playing in a tournament he has played for the last three years.

"What are you then saying about the tournament then? Are you saying that the tournament has probably previously allowed people who have got bad actions to play?"

Title: Re: A livid Clive Lloyd expressed displeasure over the timing of Sunil Narine's ban.
Post by: socafighter on October 04, 2014, 07:10:18 AM
KKR rally behind beleaguered Narine
3 Oct 2014, 1549 hrs IST,  PTI 

Sunil Narine's quicker delivery has come under scanner during the ongoing CLT20.

New Delhi: The Kolkata Knight Riders team management is standing by their star spinner Sunil Narine, who won't be able to bowl in their Champions League T20 summit clash against Chennai Super Kings in Bangalore on Saturday, and is hopeful that he will come back strongly despite this setback.

"Sunil is not only a fantastic cricketer but also a brilliant team man. Right now, we are not thinking about anything else but we want him to come back strongly and not get disheartened. We are with him and we will help him in all necessary manners," KKR Team Director Joy Bhattacharjya said.

Asked if KKR would appeal against the decision, Bhattacharjya clarified, "As per the rules and guidelines of the CLT20, there are no provisions for appealing. If three umpires -- two on-field and the third umpire have felt that his action is suspect, you have to respect their decision."

Narine's quicker delivery has come under scanner during the ongoing CLT20 and on-field umpires C Shamshuddin and Anil Chaudhary reported during the final group league match against the Dolphins. As per rules, Narine would have been barred if he had bowled the quicker delivery once again in the tournament and that's precisely what had happened in the semi-final match between KKR and Hobart Hurricanes.

On-field umpires Rod Tucker and S Ravi expressed their suspicion about his quicker delivery and subsequently banned him from bowling in the final match. Although Narine is free to bowl in international matches, he will certainly be under immense pressure during the upcoming five-match ODI series between India and the West Indies, where some of these international umpires are set to officiate.

Title: Benn replaces Narine in West Indies squad
Post by: socafighter on October 04, 2014, 01:29:01 PM
Benn replaces Narine in West Indies squad
4 Oct 2014, 2111 hrs IST,  PTI 

(http://s28.postimg.org/93yzj1cb1/44338732.jpg)
Benn replaces Narine in West Indies squad© AFP
The 33-year-old Barbados player, Benn will join the team on Monday at Kochi, the venue for the first ODI.

Mumbai: Left-arm spinner Sulieman Benn will be replacing mystery bowler Sunil Narine, who has been was withdrawn from the tour of India following his "illegal" bowling action reported during the Champions League Twenty20 tournament.

The 33-year-old Barbados player, Benn will join the team on Monday at Kochi, the venue for the first ODI. The opening match is scheduled for October 8. "The withdrawal from the upcoming tour will allow Narine the opportunity to have his action assessed and plan his return to cricket," a WICB release stated.

WICB's chairman of selection committee, Clive Lloyd has expressed disappointment with Narine's removal and the way the matter was dealt with by CLT20 organisers.

"I am disappointed that our best bowler could suddenly be out of the tour. I am quite disappointed about the procedure that surrounded the 'calling' of Sunil in the Champions Trophy tournament. These things have the potential to disrupt the team's preparation for a critical series against India but we will have to overcome this hurdle," Lloyd said.

"We would like some clarity from the authorities on what led to the present situation and the details as we move forward. I think there must be a better way of doing the right things," he added.

Meanwhile, opener Lendl Simmons, who has a back problem, was rested for today's practice match. Jermaine Blackwood, 22-year-old from Jamaica, has been called in as a cover for Simmons. Blackwood trained with the rest of the team today at the Wankhede Stadium here.

Title: Sunil Narine will come back as a better bowler, feels West Indies team manager
Post by: socafighter on October 04, 2014, 01:33:00 PM
Sunil Narine will come back as a better bowler, feels West Indies team manager

Press Trust of India | Mumbai | Posted: October 4, 2014 9:53 pm

Former West Indies captain Richie Richardson came out in full support of mystery spinner Sunil Narine, who has been barred from playing the Champions League T20 final for a suspect illegal bowling action, saying he will return as an even better bowler.

The off-spinner was reported for a suspected action during a CLT20 match and was subsequently withdrawn from not only the CLT20 final between Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders but also from West Indies’ tour to India, commencing on October 8 at Kochi.
Tweets
These things will happen and it's how well you handle these crisis that proves the strength of character
“Knowing the character that he is, he is not gonna let that get him down. He is gonna go back and work. He is gonna come back with a bang. And he is gonna come back an even better bowler,” Richardson, who is the West Indies cricket team manager in the current tour of India, said.

“These things will happen and it’s how well you handle these crisis that proves the strength of character. I know he is a very strong individual. Might seem very easy going, very quiet but deep down he is a very confident, strong individual,” he added.
Asked what advice he would give to 26-year old Trinidadian, Richardson said, “How do you know he is not in a very good frame of mind? Nobody wants it to happen to himself . Nobody wants it to happen to anybody. It’s unfortunate. He has just got to go home, think about it and come back.

“And I know that’s his approach, that’s his attitude. He would obviously be disappointed but he is not down.”

Stating that the team is confident of beating the hosts even without their ace bowler, Richardson said, “We just have to focus on what we have to do. We are positive even without him that we can play well against India and beat India. That’s the attitude we have got to adapt. Things happen in life that you have no control over.
“The most important thing for you is to always pick yourself up and go forward. Sometimes when you lose a major player, other players dig deeper, somebody else comes to the fore. And that’s what we want to see,” he said.

Asked if the team should have gone with two spinners Richardson said, “I am not the selector. Even when I was the captain I never got the playing XI I wanted to pick. At the end of the day it is a democratic process. The selectors have a plan. We just have to support the team.”
Post by: socafighter on October 05, 2014, 05:10:35 AM
Narine pulled from Indian tour over throwing fears

Published: Guardian
Sunday, October 5, 2014

MUMBAI, India—West Indies’ chances in the upcoming one-day series against India has been dealt a severe blow, with the West Indies Cricket Board opting to pull champion off-spinner Sunil Narine from the 14-man squad. The move comes after the Trinidadian right-armer was twice reported for having a suspected illegal action during the Champions League Twenty20 and was subsequently banned from bowling in the tournament.

A replacement for Narine is expected to be named shortly with combative left-arm spinner Sulieman Benn widely expected to fill the breach. In a release late Friday night, the WICB said the decision to withdraw Narine from the tour was taken after discussions with the player, the selection panel and the West Indies team management, and said the time off would allow the bowler the opportunity to have his action assessed. Chairman of selectors Clive Lloyd said he was “disappointed” by the latest development which saw Narine reported by umpires following Kolkata Knight Riders’ final preliminary CLT20 game last Monday and then following Thursday’s semi-final.

Lloyd, the legendary former West Indies captain, said West Indies were requesting “clarity” on the situation so the team could plan their way forward. “I am disappointed that our best bowler could suddenly be out of the tour. I am quite disappointed about the procedure that surrounded the ‘calling’ of Sunil in the Champions [League] tournament,” Lloyd said. “These things have the potential to disrupt the team’s preparation for a critical series against India but we will have to overcome this hurdle.” He added: “We would like some clarity from the authorities on what led to the present situation and the details as we move forward. I think there must be a better way of doing the right things.”

Lloyd, appointed two months ago, had earlier indicated that Windies management were aware that Narine would have come under close scrutiny had he played in the one-day series. “Before we came here we were told that they were going to call Narine, so it's quite obvious that something must have been said somewhere,” Lloyd said. “I really can't tell you that [who it was] but I can tell you it's a highly reliable source, because we have to make contingency plans for things like that just in case it happens.” The 26-year-old Narine is ranked two number two in both the ICC one-day and Twenty20 world rankings. He has been one of the main thrusts behind KKR’s recent success, taking a tournament-leading 12 wickets to help them reach Saturday's final of the CLT20 against Chennai Super Kings. West Indies play the first of five One-Day Internationals starting Wednesday at the Nehru Stadium in Kochi. (CMC)

Title: Re: Narine pulled from Indian tour over throwing fears
Post by: Michael-j on October 05, 2014, 05:56:08 AM
Why so many threads about Narine?....can't they be merged to one thread? :frustrated:  They're all about the same thing...
Title: Re: Narine pulled from Indian tour over throwing fears
Post by: asylumseeker on October 05, 2014, 07:15:09 AM
Why so many threads about Narine?....can't they be merged to one thread? :frustrated:  They're all about the same thing...

Good call.
Title: No plan for Narine yet
Post by: socafighter on October 09, 2014, 05:57:22 AM
No plan for Narine yet
By Roger Seepersad
Story Created: Oct 8, 2014 at 11:49 PM ECT
Express

(http://s7.postimg.org/9wp6ff1tn/expressnews_16.jpg)
NOT IN TRAINING: Sunil Narine

The West Indies Cricket Board will be working with spinner Sunil Narine to ensure the 26-year-old makes a speedy return to the international arena following his Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) ban. But for now the mystery spinner says he is on a break and he is not going to let the situation get him down.

The Kolkata Knight Riders player Narine was suspended from bowling in CLT20 due to a suspected “illegal” bowling action and the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) subsequently withdrew the mystery spinner from their side for the tour of India which started yesterday with the first One-day International.

“The withdrawal from the upcoming tour will allow Narine the opportunity to have his action assessed and plan his return to cricket,” a WICB release stated.
So far no “plan” has been outlined by Narine or the WICB, however WICB CEO Michael Muirhead said: “We are hoping it won’t be a protracted thing and we are working with him to have that process take place.”

Contacted by the Express Tuesday, Narine preferred to make no statement about the CLT20 ban and his withdrawal from the West Indies squad saying: “I have no comment on that.” Asked if the situation was getting to him in any way, Narine said: “No, I’m good”.

Muirhead even explained that “He (Narine) has volunteered and wants to go and get tested and do rehabilitation if necessary. It was a joint decision with both Sunil and the WICB in terms of what would be in the best interest of the team.”

Asked Tuesday if the WICB had made any arrangement for him to get his action tested or to do any remedial work, Narine said: “I have no comment on any of the situation(s) relating to (what happened during) the Champions League (Twenty20).”

Asked whether he was planning to resume training with the Trinidad and Tobago team or if he is was planning taking a break, Narine said: “More or less, I am on a break”.
Questioned about his interim plans Narine said he did not have any as yet and asked when he was planning to resume training, he said “I have no idea as yet”.

Title: Re: No plan for Narine yet
Post by: Deeks on October 09, 2014, 03:05:35 PM
This is not right. Keep your head up, Breds. Swallow your pride, go and take your remedial classes and come back better than ever.
Title: Re: No plan for Narine yet
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 09, 2014, 06:15:43 PM
This is not right. Keep your head up, Breds. Swallow your pride, go and take your remedial classes and come back better than ever.

Part of it Deeks may be the shock of getting over this which he may view as an insult.  For all we know the break could be very short, 1-2 weeks, who knows.  But his emotional dust cloud has to settle a little before he has an official plan of attack so to speak that he can stand up to and share w/the media - at least I am hoping this is what it is....
Title: Did BCCI Orchestrate Sunil Narine 'Exit' from India-West Indies Series? Richards
Post by: socafighter on October 10, 2014, 02:49:25 PM
Did BCCI Orchestrate Sunil Narine 'Exit' from India-West Indies Series? Richards, Lloyd Feel Decision is Suspect
Sunil Narine was withdrawn from West Indies tour of India after the Kolkata Knight Riders spinner was banned from bowling in the Champions League Twenty20 final for illegal action, which simply means throwing the ball in an attempt to spin it.
Reported by: Soumitra Bose Last updated on Thursday, 09 October, 2014 18:43 IST

(http://s28.postimg.org/v8ew6ce99/narine_wicket_clt20.jpg)
Sunil Narine's 'ouster' from the India-West Indies series is clouded in suspicion.
© BCCI

The mystery around Sunil Narine's 'ouster' from the India versus West Indies series is spewing some bad blood. Was the shocking 'exit' engineered by some influential people in the ICC? Was he deliberately called for suspect bowling action during the Champions League Twenty20 so that Kolkata Knight Riders missed him in the final against Chennai Super Kings? Sunil Narine remains an interesting side story.

The first seed of suspicion that Narine has been fouled was sown by former West Indies captain and now chief selector Clive Lloyd. Having been a high-profile ICC match referee and chairman of the ICC's Cricket Committee, Lloyd would know the difference between fair and unfair bowling action. The decision to banish Narine from the Champions League and subsequently from the current bilateral series has left Lloyd stunned and bitter. So is Vivian Richards.

"He has been bowling over the years with the same sort of action. Now all of a sudden it has changed. What has changed, I don't know," Lloyd was quoted by ESPNCricinfo. "You can't just ban him from bowling just before an important tour like this and with the World Cup coming up. It destroys the individual's ability as such and I think you may end up destroying someone's career."
Lloyd is not the only man surprised. Former captain Richie Richardson was stumped by the sudden call. But since he is currently the tour manager, Richardson chose to be more diplomatic.

"We can't do nothing about that. We just have to focus on what we have to do. We were positive even without him that we can play well against India and beat India. That's the attitude we have got to adapt," Richardson said. The 124-run win in Kochi should give the West Indians more belief that Narine is not indispensable. (Narine Dangerous Even Without Faster Ball: Sammy)

"Things happen in life that you have no control over, the most important thing for you is to always pick yourself up and go forward. Sometimes when you lose a major player, other players dig deeper, somebody else comes to the fore. And that's what we want to see," Richardson said. In Narine's absence, left-arm spinner Sulieman Benn is now heading the spin attack.

Just like Lloyd, Richards has questioned the timing of banning Narine. Former Pakistan captain had echoed similar views after Saeed Ajmal was penalised for suspect action. A hurt Pakistan are currently playing against Australia in the UAE, minus Ajmal, till recently the world's leading spinner.

Richards, usually nonchalant in life, is smelling a fish. In the world of cricket politics where rich Boards like the BCCI calls the shots, Richards is unhappy that Narine is missing a crucial series just months away from the World Cup.

"In my opinion such action should have been taken some time ago and on a wider basis because these guys have been there for quite some time," Richards told ESPNCricinfo in Colombo. The former master blaster is now the technical director of the West Indies A team.
"I am not sure because West Indies are touring India, there is going to be a World Cup next year, whether all this has something to do with it, I just believe the timing has to be good. With the next World Cup around the corner this is not the correct time to take such measures," said Richards.

The ICC seems to be handing out suspensions on a war footing. On Wednesday, it hauled up Zimbabwe bowler Prosper Utseya and Bangladesh spinner Sohag Gazi for illegal action. While the 'cleaning' drive has been appreciated by former Test skippers like Ricky Ponting, Lloyd feels ICC's action seems vindictive.
Lloyd said: "I think it's wrong the way they have gone about it and I have been involved in the ICC for years and I think you cannot just ban a guy just like that. This is a guy who has played for us all over the world, not only in the West Indies. All of a sudden, this guy has got a suspect action. I am not happy, I would like to strongly say that."

He may not be around, but Sunil Narine will continue to haunt the current India versus West Indies series. Like so many cricket issues that get swept under the carpet, the Narine episode will remain just that, suspect!

Title: Narine pulls out of WC
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 27, 2015, 11:32:30 AM
http://www.espncricinfo.com/icc-cricket-world-cup-2015/content/current/story/824461.html
Title: Re: Narine pulls out of WC
Post by: che on January 27, 2015, 11:45:05 AM
Every Trini should pull out of that team.
Post by: vb on January 27, 2015, 04:13:32 PM
What happened to Badree. Is he injured?
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 27, 2015, 05:40:49 PM

For whatever reason for WI never been regarded as an ODI bowler, then again w/Lloyd you never know
Post by: vb on January 27, 2015, 06:14:32 PM

For whatever reason for WI never been regarded as an ODI bowler, then again w/Lloyd you never know

You have a point but I just check. He injured.

Title: Narine cleared to play in IPL
Post by: vb on April 05, 2015, 11:34:47 PM
http://www.espncricinfo.com/indian-premier-league-2015/content/story/858373.html

Sunil Narine will play the IPL this season for Kolkata Knight Riders after the BCCI's sub-committee dealing with suspect actions gave him a clean chit.

Narine had taken a retest at Sri Ramachandra University, an ICC-accredited centre, on Thursday where he was put through various tests by the panel comprising former India captain S Venkataraghavan, former India fast bowler Javagal Srinath and ex-international umpire AV Jayaprakash.

"The committee concluded that Mr. Sunil Narine, who had remodelled his bowling action, was within the ICC approved limits for all types of deliveries that were assessed and has hence recommended to the BCCI, that his name may be removed from the warning list of bowlers with suspect action," a BCCI press release said.

This means Narine will be available for selection for the defending champions who play the tournament opener against Mumbai Indians at Eden Gardens on April 8, and in all BCCI-organised tournaments henceforth.

Narine was first called for a suspect action last October during the Champions League T20. Subsequently he was asked by the BCCI to get it tested at any of the ICC-accredited centres with a rider saying that he would need to travel to Chennai centre if the panel deemed fit. Objecting to this condition, Knight Riders management sought the intervention of BCCI president Jagmohan Dalmiya and lodged a protest.

It was Dalmiya who made the first call to Knight Riders to inform that Narine was cleared. "The work has been done. Sunil Narine has been cleared," Dalmiya told ESPNcricinfo.

Venky Mysore, the Knight Riders' chief executive, said the franchise was relieved that Narine, their premier match-winner, was available to play again. "It is a matter of genuine relief. We are very thankful to the BCCI president, secretary and other board officials for bringing the matter reach the appropriate conclusion."

Nagraj Gollapudi is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.
Title: Narine reported for suspect action again
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on April 24, 2015, 12:34:49 PM
These people really have it out for Narine...

http://www.espncricinfo.com/indian-premier-league-2015/content/story/866063.html

Kolkata Knight Riders offspinner Sunil Narine has been reported once again for a suspect action following the game against Sunrisers Hyderabad on April 22 in Visakhapatnam.

An IPL release said that Narine "will still be eligible to bowl in forthcoming IPL matches" and that he "may request a biomechanical analysis of the deliveries in question at the ICC and BCCI accredited testing facility, the Sri Ramachandra Arthroscopy and Sports Science Centre in Chennai."

Narine was first reported for a suspect action during the Champions League Twenty20 in October 2014, following Knight Riders' group game against Dolphins. He was allowed to play their next game, the semi-final against Hobart Hurricanes, but all 24 deliveries of his spell were called suspect by the on-field umpires, meaning he was banned from bowling in the final, against Chennai Super Kings.

Consequently, Narine skipped West Indies' tour of India later that month, and informed the WICB about handling the rehabilitation process on his own. Despite not having played any competitive cricket since then, Narine was surprisingly picked by Clive Lloyd's selection panel in West Indies' World Cup squad on January 11 and two weeks later, he clocked his best bowling performance in List-A cricket, picking 6 for 9 to help Trinidad & Tobago to the NAGICO 50-over title.

Narine, though, withdrew from the World Cup squad on January 27, stating that he did not want to rush back, and instead focused on remodeling his action, working with a very small group of coaches including former Pakistan offspinner Saqlain Mushtaq.

In early March, Narine underwent tests at the ICC accredited centre at University of Loughborough and got a positive nod from the experts. However, when the clearance report from the Loughborough centre was submitted for review and clearance from BCCI's sub-committee dealing with corrective actions, the board wrote back to Knight Riders saying Narine would have to clear another round of tests at the Sri Ramachandra University centre if he was to play in the IPL. It meant the BCCI was effectively cancelling the Loughborough report.

While Knight Riders questioned how the board could discredit a report from an ICC-approved centre, the BCCI maintained that they were merely making their own assessment to be adequately convinced with the bowler's action. Despite the protest from his team, Narine eventually took the retest and was granted a clean chit by a panel comprising former India captain S Venkataraghavan, former India fast bowler Javagal Srinath, and ex-international umpire AV Jayaprakash. Upon being cleared, a BCCI press release stated that Narine had "recommended to the BCCI that his name may be removed from the warning list of bowlers with suspect actions".

Since reworking his action, Narine has been extracting substantially lesser turn than before, and picked up only two wickets at an average of 73.50 from five IPL matches this season.
Title: Re: Narine reported for suspect action again
Post by: vb on April 24, 2015, 09:43:51 PM
I think this man may be ruined and just too paranoid.
However, he has been called many times in his career and not just in India.

I remember Mukesh Persard having the same problem many years ago.

Post by: rotatopoti3 on April 24, 2015, 11:34:25 PM
I think there is a personal vendatta again KKR even more so against Sharuk Khan..

All of last season nothing wrong with Narine..just from about d semi final...IPL pull d plug..

It not making sense...

Dey aint calling no Indian bowler...something not adding up..I standing with Narine ...
Post by: Controversial on April 25, 2015, 02:23:37 PM
of course they not calling an indian bowler, they don't want an indo-caribbean bowler better than ashwin, jealousy and sabotaging west indies

and if it is not that, it just means that they trying the same thing that they did with murali

Post by: vb on April 26, 2015, 01:17:05 AM
Davis Furlonge back Narine

By by Roger Seepersad roger.seepersad@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Apr 25, 2015 at 9:11 PM ECT 

(Story Updated: Apr 25, 2015 at 9:11 PM ECT  )

Queen’s Park Cricket Club (QPCC) coach David Furlonge and administrator Bryan Davis have thrown their support behind Sunil Narine after the West Indies and Kolkata Knight Riders spinner was reported for a suspect illegal bowling action during the Indian Premier League (IPL) match against Sunrisers Hyderabad on April 22.

Narine was first reported for a suspect action during the Champions League T20 series last year.

He modified his action and was cleared by the ICC during his biomechanical test in Loughborough in England.

The BCCI requested that the off spinner undergo another round of testing at the Sri Ramachandra University in Chennai after which the BCCI’s sub-committee on suspect actions cleared him to bowl in the IPL.

Now after being reported again, Narine reached out to his QPCC coach Furlonge who offered the spinner some words of advice before he went for more testing on his action in India.

“We spoke about the situation and you must be bothered by it,” Furlonge told the Express yesterday.

“You are not being told which balls were suspect. He went and did the tests and now he is waiting on the results,” Furlonge explained.

“His action is good, very much improved and it was proven when the ICC tested it and said it was good, then when the BCCI tested it and said it was good,” the QPCC coach added.

“We spoke about the situation and I said this is just another hurdle that he has to overcome.

I think he is strong enough to counter it. He really loves the cricket and he has a passion for the game,” said Furlonge.

Davis also believes that while being reported again will be disheartening for Narine, he is confident the spinner will be able to come out on top.

“I think it must affect him. Psychologically it must worry him. You will be thinking about if you are bending your elbow or not,” said Davis.

“But it is just a kink. It happened before and he went back and worked on it. He really worked hard and it was passed by all these people so for him to be reported now, it must be very disheartening. But he has a strong character and I think he will just keep trying,” he added.

However for Davis, he does not see anything wrong with Narine’s action.

“I am not an umpire but from what I saw, it (his action) looked different to me. It was smoother,” Davis added.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/-Furlonge-Davis-back-Narine-301333281.html
Post by: vb on April 27, 2015, 12:12:08 AM
Maybe the solution is to say fawwk India and play everywhere else.

The English and the WI seem fine with his action.

Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on April 29, 2015, 08:31:27 AM

Post by: Controversial on April 29, 2015, 03:49:15 PM

jealousy... it has way more players with suspect action that are not called..

Narine is just too good for them, they can't bat him, so they want to ban him because he is the best in the world...
Title: Narine banned from bowling off spin in India
Post by: vb on April 30, 2015, 12:04:42 PM
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/NIGHTMARE-CONTINUES-301785271.html

NIGHTMARE CONTINUES

Now Narine banned from bowling off-breaks

By Mark Fraser

Story Created: Apr 30, 2015 at 1:14 AM ECT 

(Story Updated: Apr 30, 2015 at 1:14 AM ECT  )

West Indies spinner Sunil Narine has been banned from bowling off breaks in any match organised by the BCCI, officials announced yesterday.

Narine’s ban, imposed after the BCCI suspect bowling action committee reviewed the evidence, also extends to matches in the Indian Premier League (IPL).
Narine may continue to bowl his other deliveries - the knuckle ball and the quicker straight ball.
However if he uses the off-break again in the ongoing IPL, he will be suspended from bowling in BCCI-organised matches, officials have said.

Narine is now expected to undergo corrective work on his action again after which he can request another assessment by the BCCI committee.
He was reported again for a suspect action following Kolkata Knight Riders’ (KKR) game against Sunrisers Hyderabad

NIGHTMARES on April 22 in Visakhapatnam and went to the ICC-accredited Sri Ramachandra Arthroscopy and Sports Sciences Centre in Chennai for a biomechanical analysis of his bowling action.
The BCCI suspect bowling action committee‎ concluded that Narine’s action for his off-break was illegal.
Narine has since missed Knight Riders’ match against Chennai Super Kings on Tuesday as the franchise had decided to not risk playing the spinner.

Twice he was reported during the Champions League T20 last year forcing him to skip the West Indies’ tour of South Africa. And despite remedial work and participation in the regional Nagico Super50 competition, Narine also opted to miss the World Cup in Australia and New Zealand in February.
Narine’s current plight has brought him sympathy from his KKR teammate Brad Hogg.
“All I can say is that I feel sorry for Sunil, what he is going through at the moment,” said Hogg, a left-arm chinaman bowler, and a lower-order left-handed batsman.
“I think it is disappointing that he has gone away. He has come back. He is being tested. All of a sudden he is put under the spotlight again. I feel sorry for him”.

Hogg added: “It’s one of them things as a cricketer I am not happy with those situations at the present moment. He has got a wonderful skill. It’s just disappointing where he is at the moment but he is in high spirits and hopefully we will see him again in the rest of the IPL in the future”
Post by: Deeks on April 30, 2015, 12:21:02 PM
Can someone post a video of him bowling his illegal(according to CBCI) stuff?
Title: Re: Sunil Narine Thread
Post by: Flex on May 04, 2015, 03:41:47 AM
Sunil please take the Indians out of their misery.
By Vinode Mamchan (Guardian)

Sunil Narine pack your bags and come home boy! You would do the world a favour, as they would not have to put up with looking on, as the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) continues to show its ugly head.

Also, before you come home and don your maroon cap where you will be welcomed against the Australians who tour here soon, please tell the Indian players what you do with the ball, so that they can face bowlers like your type and also some of the poor quality Indian spinners can learn a trick or two. Tell Shah Rukh Khan thanks for all the faith and support and make sure to let him know that his relations with the BCCI was one of the reasons you were targeted. And before I forget send one of your playing shirts to N Srinivasan so at least he can have something that belonged to a great player.

If Narine refuses to come home then the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) needs to step in to save the career of one of their best bowlers currently on the scene.

If Dave Cameron and his boys don’t act then the BCCI will surely end his career. The mystery man has outfoxed nearly everyone in India and how does the BCCI react — play on his mind, tell him that as an off-spinner he cannot bowl the off-break.

This is very puzzling indeed because he is allowed to bowl the arm ball and the doosra which are difficult balls to bowl. His stock ball which is the one he bowls the easiest with the least effort, is now being taken out of his repertoire. So, effectively, what happens is that the Indian batsmen in the IPL can now focus on learning how to play his arm ball and doosra.

If he is chosen by the Kolkata Knight Riders to play in any of the matches, the batsmen can go after him with the full knowledge none of his deliveries will be turning in. God help him, if one of his offerings hits a crack and turns in. The umpires would then no-ball him and he would be banned from cricket matches under the auspices of the BCCI.

The very first time Narine was called by the BCCI for an illegal action was at the Champions League last year. I mentioned at the time that this was very odd, as the West Indies had an impending tour of India on the cards and probably the Indians would be afraid of facing him and going to Australia for the World Cup under a defeat from the lowly West Indies. Some people thought that I had finally lost it, but I responded by saying that the ODI series at least would be very competitive.

Narine with the problems of being called twice during the Champions League on his mind, decided to stay away from the ill-fated tour of India. The West Indies were more than competitive in the shortened series. They actually won the opening game at Kochi without Narine and a major collapse at the end of their run chase in the second game at Delhi gave India a narrow in.

With the third game at Visakhapatnam abandoned due to cyclone Hudhud, the series was then cut to four matches. West Indies lost the third and what would be the final game easily in the mountains of Dharamsala and decided against playing the last game in Calcutta over a payment structure dispute with the WICB and the West Indies Players Association (WIPA). They lost the series 1-2 but with Narine on board they could have won that series, so there was justification for the Indians to keep him out.

Now there are a number of spinners in India with questionable actions and what the BCCI needs to tell the world, is why they are not under the radar. Harbhajan Singh and Ravichandran Ashwin both have questionable actions in my opinions but they are allowed to ply their trade without fear.

I am not for once saying that “chucking” is good for the game or should be tolerated. What I am questioning is why Sunil Narine is being targeted when there are problems with so many other people.

The WICB needs to get all his test results and take it to the ICC and have consultation with them. They must ask the question why is the BCCI allowed to do as they please. Why was Narine’s Loughborough’s test ignored?

We in the Caribbean and world cricket need to stop this raging monster called the BCCI. It has become a case of who pays the piper calls the tune. Everyone knows that the BCCI has been wielding a heavy arm when it comes to many of the issues in world cricket but they are also of the knowledge that they contribute around 80 per cent of the revenue that comes to the ICC.

These people will destroy many along the way, but Indians like to believe in Karma and they should understand that “God don’t sleep” and when you do wrong, sit and wait, Karma is coming to get you.

Title: Narine banned from international cricket
Post by: vb on November 30, 2015, 10:52:54 AM
http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2015-11-30/icc-bans-narine

DUBAI—The career of beleaguered West Indies off-spinner Sunil Narine lay in tatters yesterday after the International Cricket Council banned him from bowling in international cricket because of an illegal action.

The 27-year-old was reported following the third One-Day International against Sri Lanka earlier this month and after undergoing testing at the Loughborough University on November 17, his action was found to exceed the 15 degrees level of tolerance on “all variations of his deliveries”.

Narine will be allowed to play in West Indies Cricket Board tournaments but will be forced to curtail all other international commitments.

He is currently campaigning in the Bangladesh Premier League and will now have to abort his campaign for Comilla Victorians. He is expected to leave Dhaka on Sunday night.

“The International Cricket Council today confirmed that an independent assessment has found the bowling action of West Indies Sunil Narine to be illegal and, as such, the off-spinner has been suspended from bowling in international cricket with immediate effect,” the ICC said in a release.

“In accordance with Article 6.1 of the regulations, Narine’s international suspension will also be recognised and enforced by all National Cricket Federations within domestic cricket events played in their own jurisdiction, save that, with the consent of the West Indies Cricket Board, Narine may be able to play in domestic cricket events played under the auspices of the West Indies Cricket Board.

“The assessment revealed that all variations of his deliveries exceeded the 15 degrees level of tolerance permitted under the regulations.”

Under ICC regulations, Narine can ask for a re-assessment once he has modified his action.

The development is a massive blow not only for Narine but for West Indies, especially with the Twenty20 World Cup set to be played in India starting next March.

He had opted out of the 50-over ICC World Cup in Australia and New Zealand earlier this year, choosing rather to continue rehabilitation on his action, after running into problems with his action last year.

Playing for Kolkata Knight Riders, Narine was first reported in October, 2014 during the Champions League Twenty20 and while he was allowed to continue playing, was reported again in the next game – the semi-final – and banned from bowling in the final.

Though he was cleared in March this year after undergoing tests at the ICC-approved Loughborough University, the Indian Cricket Board forced the Trinidadian to undergo additional tests at Sri Ramachandra University in Chennai, before he was allowed to play in the Indian Premier League.

However, Narine was reported yet again for a suspect action during the IPL and subsequently banned from bowling off-breaks after an assessment of footage by the BCCI’s suspect bowling action committee, and following more testing at Sri Ramachandra University.

In May, he was cleared by the committee to continue bowling but handed a final warning.

Narine is currently the leading bowler in both limited overs formats of the game.
Title: Re: Narine banned from international cricket
Post by: Quags on November 30, 2015, 12:11:46 PM
They pelt him down from his high perch, almost seems premeditated .And if Sunil  was smart he should announce his retirement from international cricket .He was a very bright star and if the ICC don't need him in there stable , he should show some pride and self respect and bow out.
Title: Re: Narine banned from international cricket
Post by: Deeks on November 30, 2015, 12:49:49 PM
Forumites! Speak honestly! Put down your Trinbago bias for once. Is Narine that bad with his arm movement. I have seen him on video.. And I can't say definitively that his arm actions are suspect.
Title: The Sunil Narine thread
Post by: vb on January 22, 2016, 08:34:09 PM
http://www.newsday.co.tt/sport/0,222921.html

Narine barred from TT players’ enclosure

By RENALDO MATADEEN Thursday, January 21 2016

Despite being allowed to mingle with his national teammates throughout the group stage of the NAGICO Super 50 tournament, embattled off-spinner Sunil Narine, was yesterday barred from the Brian Lara Pavilion at the Queen’s Park Oval during their semi-final match against the Guyana Jaguars.

A day after news broke of a possible local club cricket ban for the Arimian, Narine was yesterday stopped by security during the Red Force innings as he approached the enclosure.

“I was going to talk to the players and the security stopped me and said match officials and support staff said I couldn’t come,” he said.

Narine, flabbergasted, continued to enquire about what was happening but was later advised by another national player to forget about it and not make an unsavoury scenario. But national team manager Roland Sampath, speaking to Newsday after the incident, made it clear that security were only following strict instructions stipulated by match referee Carlyle Felix.

“There is nothing about ban, no unauthorised person supposed to go there. He is not a member of the team, he is not a member of the squad, nobody else supposed to go there,” Sampath explained.

Asked why in the group stage Narine was permitted to be in the players pavilion, Sampath said: “That (rule was) always enforced but if yuh pass in the back there, yuh see that man there (pointing to a security personnel), he supposed to be by the back gate so nobody can come in. If they have to come there, they have to come through permission from the manager or security personnel, not the police. You have the anti-corruption people there, no player supposed to have cellphones and so on because you have rules and regulations,” he added.

Sampath revealed though that West Indies pacer Shannon Gabriel passed through the back entrance yesterday and was mingling with Red Force players in the enclosure but no one told him anything.

“Them fellas say ‘but how he come there’ , I say, ‘I not to ketch, let the anti-corruption people ketch’, because he’s unauthorised,” he concluded.

Title: NLC wants enquiry into Narine attacks
Post by: vb on March 02, 2016, 12:15:04 PM

The National League Committee (NLC) has written to the secretary of the T&T Cricket Board (TTCB), Arjoon Ramlal calling on him to convene a meeting to set up a committee to investigate what they see as attacks on West Indies off-spinner Sunil Narine by the local board.

In a letter sent by former West Indies Players Association (WIPA) president Dinanath Ramnarine yesterday, the group which includes Daren Ganga, Giles Antoine, Anil Kamal, Clint Pamphille and Andre Lawrence  has called for a meeting on Friday March 4.

The group claimed that they received a request from Narine requesting  intervention in a matter involving him, with specific reference to the president,  Azim Bassarath, and an email with Bassarath’s address which mocked Narine at a time when he needed the total support of all the TTCB’s members and stakeholders.

Following a meeting yesterday, the members are of the view that they have a  serious responsibility to ensure that the issue is fully investigated with objectivity and transparency. “Additionally, we do not wish our pursuit of the truth to be tainted by any appearance or allegations of impropriety, witch-hunting or personal vendettas. This is an extremely sensitive matter and we do not wish to impose any further emotional burden on Mr. Narine. He is going through a difficult and traumatic period in his life and career and we all need to deal with this issue with the utmost discretion and fairness.”

The members claim that they are not seeking to change the past but to ensure the right precedent is set. “Mr. Narine as well as any other player, should not be subject to what seems on the surface to be a personal attack by the President of the TTCB and other members of the TTCB Executives.”

Narine also claimed he was denied entry to the Players’ Enclosure during the Nagico Tournament after having been allowed on two previous occasions to enter.

And attempts were made to change the rules regarding his eligibility to bowl in national tournaments organized by the TTCB. “The NLR views these matters seriously as they have the potential to bring the TTCB into disrepute, an organization which is sacrosanct in its own right having been constituted by an Act of Parliament Act No. 34 of 1989.

As elected members of the TTCB we strive to uphold the principles of good governance and measure success based on the benchmark of what is considered best practice in sport administration. In this particular matter, we must fulfill our fiduciary duty and recommend a course of action which is fair, credible, transparent and equitable to both parties. This is in keeping with request conveyed to us by Mr Narine for an independent investigation into this matter.

“In light of the above, we are seeking an opportunity to discuss a suitable list of persons or panel acceptable to all who will conduct, with our support (for both the NLR and the TTCB) an investigation of the matters raised and make pronouncements on same for the greater good of the TTCB and the sport of cricket in general. We also hope that the outcomes of said investigations will allow for any breach/es to be dealt with in accordance with the constitution of the TTCB and the laws of Trinidad and Tobago.”
Title: Re: The Sunil Narine thread
Post by: vb on March 02, 2016, 12:15:58 PM
I´m now beginning to understand the snub at the players´pavillion.

Post by: vb on April 08, 2016, 08:38:49 AM

http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2016-04-08/icc-clears-narine

...tests find bowling action legal

Published:

Friday, April 8, 2016

Sunil Narine

WALTER ALIBEY

T&T’S mystery spinner Sunil Narine has been cleared to bowl again. The International Cricket Council (ICC) yesterday confirmed in a release that Narine’s action was found to be legal after remedial work and a retest at the Sri Ramachandra University in Chennai on March 28.

The off-spinner can resume bowling at both international and domestic cricket events worldwide. According to the ICC,  the re-test revealed the amount of elbow extensions in Narine’s bowling action were within the 15-degree level of tolerance permitted under the ICC’s regulations for review of bowlers reported for suspected illegal bowling action.

It noted however that umpires are still free to report the player if he is found to be displaying illegal action. 

Contacted David Furlonge, the Queen’s Park coach where Narine plays, said he was elated to hear the news and credits the 26-year old Narine for his hard work and dedication towards correcting his action. He also praised the assistance of English bowling coach Carl Crowe and T&T’s Kelvin Williams for the work they did.

“When he was reported and heard later that he was banned by the ICC, Sunil called and told me that he was returning home to work on his action. As soon as he arrived, he went straight in the nets and had been there spending many hours and days to be able to bowl legally again,” Furlonge explained.

Word of Narine’s clearance spread yesterday with Crowe contacting Furlonge who was also contacted by Narine and other coaches.

Narine has been back home following the death of his father last week and Furlonge said his bowler did not want to speak with anyone yesterday as he was enduring a trying period in his life. “He has been going through a lot lately, ranging from discrediting e-mails from the T&T Cricket Board executives to the death of his father.”

Narine was also given time off by his IPL club Kolkata Knight Riders and will return when he has dealt with his issues. He will make an appearance today when the Parkites play Esmeralda Sports in the National Gas Company (NGC) T20 Festival Tournament at the National Cricket Centre, Balmain Couva from 7:00pm. He is expected to return to India for the IPL soon.

Furlonge said he now looks forward to the ICC publishing the release of Narine’s clearance as they did when he was banned a few months ago.
Post by: Sando prince on April 10, 2016, 02:53:21 PM

Sunil Narine’s clearance from the ICC to resume bowling was official.

https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/videos/10154027080095610/
Post by: che on April 11, 2016, 03:52:05 AM

Sunil Narine’s clearance from the ICC to resume bowling was official.

https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/videos/10154027080095610/

Is funny how they clear him after the World Cup.  :thinking:
Post by: vb on June 08, 2016, 09:05:28 AM

the Ice Man Cometh

http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2016-06-08/iceman-narine-holds-key-windies-chances-says-coach

Vinode Mamchan

Published:

Wednesday, June 8, 2016.

WELL DONE: Windies players congratulate Sunil Narine, third right, after he took a wicket during Match 2 of the Ballr Cup Tri-Nation Series against Australia at Guyana National Stadium, Providence on Sunday. Photo: WICB Media

Sunil Narine has a big role to play in the current Ballr Tri-Series among West Indies, Australia and South Africa and bowling consultant Roddy Estwick is thrilled by the prospects he brings.

Speaking at the Providence Stadium in Guyana yesterday, Estwick who is new to the role said: “I have nicknamed Sunil Narine ‘Iceman’, I cannot understand how this man can be under so much pressure and still be cool. He has come back from real difficulties and is bowling so well. He is key for us and has bowled brilliantly this series and we hope this continues.”

Narine picked up career best figures of 6/27 against South Africa in the opening match which West Indies won by four wickets while he took 2/36, as the home team went under by six wickets to Australia in the second match.

Looking ahead Estwick said: “We did not play well as a team in the last game. We need to get partnerships and somebody in the top four can get a big score, we will turn it around. St Kitts is a different pitch and the guys have to rise to the challenge as a team and collectively as a unit.

“Length has to change at different venues and we have to look at par scores and stuff, at certain venues before setting our targets. Certain things we can work on that will work anywhere and one of that is cutting out the extras and boundary balls. I have stressed big on extras and cutting out boundary balls those are areas where we can improve.”

West Indies have been very good in the extras column, giving away only five against South Africa and one against Australia.

Estwick said: “We are trying to stop the opposition’s momentum, not giving them that first ball four and that last ball four, where they can gain momentum. Looking at the bowling I think we are 75 per cent there, we have to keep working and keeping passing on ideas. Keep learning and I always say if teaching takes place, then learning will take place.”

Estwick replaced the legendary former West Indies fast bowler Curtly Ambrose. He described his short stint as very good.

“The stint has been great so far, having worked at the under-19 level for many years, I have worked with these guys, so it was not difficult making the transition.

“As a matter of fact It goes way back to 2006 with players like (Keiron) Pollard and Narine. I have never found any challenges working with young people. You have to be honest and get their trust.

“So far we have put some systems in place and once they continue to follow it and work hard, things will be fine. It is not going to be easy but the discipline and work ethic is there so the improvement will come.

“When you play at the international level, you have those little technical changes that come into play and of course patience is key. It’s a test of your character and I have already stressed to the players that patience and hard work is so vital.”

Yesterday, the West Indies cancelled their 9.30 am practice session at the National Stadium and moved it to the afternoon period and will leave Guyana today at 12.30 pm for St Kitts. The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) has chartered a flight on Caribbean Airlines direct from Guyana to St Kitts to ease the team’s travel woes from Island to Island.
Post by: vb on June 24, 2016, 10:02:58 AM
http://www.sportskeeda.com/cricket/wear-tear-sunil-narine

The wear and tear of Sunil Narine
f   
Tall and lanky fast bowlers were the top of the mind recall for West Indies bowling and Narine has changed that.

by  Sabyasachi Chowdhury  @sabya0912
Opinion
/ 19 Jun 2016, 11:22 IST
/ Updated : 24 Jun 2016, 13:20 IST

sunil narine west indies
AdTech Ad
Victimized as many as two times, Narine kept storming back only to stamp his authority on the batsmen
There you go, yet another time Sunil Narine was twirling the ball in his hand and strategizing the release to catch the batsman napping. It didn’t faze him that yet again, he was tantalizingly standing on the verge of getting reported for a suspect action and inflicting yet another dent in his career endeavor.

The fans agonizingly waited in anticipation of yet another one-man show that took the world off its feet during IPL 2012, when he was crawling his way into taking giant strides to supremacy. Though he didn’t master out a wicket, he was miserly enough to keep the likes of Eoin Morgan on their toes.

If conceding runs at less than seven runs per over seems to be rusty, then one can imagine the standards he set for himself during the course of a fairy-tale journey carved in no time.

He made Sourav Ganguly, the demigod of countering spin, hustle and bustle like a cat on a hot tin roof. The memories of the encounter between Pune Warriors India and Kolkata Knight Riders in 2012 will remain etched in the mind for a long time.

Also read: 9 mystery spinners through the ages

Champions League - a curse for the big honchos of Cricket, but panned out to be a blessing for the players. Sunil Narine’s coronation to the world was not the IPL, but the CL-T20 in 2011. When Trinidad & Tobago handsomely rear-guarded a paltry score against a Chennai Super Kings batting line-up crowded with blazing guns, at the corner of the mind one knew that there was some uniqueness to the bowling.

Getting the spinners operating at a time when batsmen are fuming to pick the bones out of every delivery was once equivalent to knowingly letting the feet in a manhole. The strange irony was that he successfully shouldered every mantle, churning out two to three overs of sheer domination at the death.

After sweating it out in the domestic arena for three years, Narine deservingly earned his place. But, mercilessly enough his tenure is being cut short, at least for the time being. He isn’t getting any younger which is making things more tumultuous for the man from Trinidad & Tobago. 

People can’t be blamed for depicting the downfall of Narine in the planet of technical analytics. The battle between finger spinners and the 15-degree rule saw no love lost, making it a hard-fought, yet gracefully crafted career.

15-degree rule, a legitimate, yet an innocuous regulation acting as the thorn in the flesh in Narine’s priceless repertoire. Victimized as many as two times, Narine kept storming back only to stamp his authority on the batsmen. Such was his hegemony that even after the daunting setbacks, he was perched handsomely on the top of the ICC Rankings for T-20 bowlers before the T-20 carnival in India.

The bashing part wasn’t left unturned by the public too, labelling him as a one-season wonder.

sunil narine t&tSunil Narine’s coronation to the world was not the IPL, but the CL-T20 in 2011

It’s pretty inevitable to not get reduced in guile and trajectory after one gets his action operated and Narine could easily have been pardoned for not hitting his straps right from the word go. Instead, he decided to record his career-best ODI figures against South Africa. The match after that, versus Australia, he was handed over the new-ball.

One asks a Shane Warne to rip a ball from outside the leg stump ending up a foot outside the off-stump after coming back from an injury and he does it as if he is playing non-stop cricket for an eternity. Narine’s record shouldn’t be compared to Warne’s, but it’s the indefatigable ranger in Narine, alike Warne’s, that never ceases to amaze people.

After going through every possible hurdle, it’s high time that Narine is rightfully given his due by the ICC. He has been deprived of a place in the national squad for two of the prestigious tournaments - the 2015 World Cup and the T-20 World Cup 2016. Attributed by his wearing and tearing, he was rarely being in contention for a Test Cap.

Test Cricket in the Caribbean is currently being strangled by mayhem for the last couple of years. Narine’s injection is in dire requisite for a much-needed impetus to the Test team.

The scars look far more beautiful if they are succeeded by a conquest. It’s the champion in him that didn’t let hurdles deter him from going for glory. Talking about glory, he dished out a wicket-maiden in a super over in the Caribbean Premier League, with five balls evading the swinging bat with absolute ease.

Tall and lanky fast bowlers were the top of the mind recall for West Indies bowling. Out of nowhere he has turned upside down the actual picture of their bowling.

It’s no less than a treat watching him bowl, more so if one’s present at the ground. The umpires are the luckiest of them all. Zeroing in on every incident inside the playing arena may be the primary duty of an on-field umpire, but one can’t deny that they secure the best place in the house and are worth envying.

Apart from Cricket, his family life was never a smooth one. A son of a taxi driver and a restaurant worker, Narine was never blessed with a luxurious lifestyle. Yet, stitched torn pads and immense support made it a gleeful upbringing for Narine.

Such was the backing that he was named after the legendary Sunil Gavaskar, someone who always considered Trinidad to be his second home. His father’s demise in April 2016 added to the woes of his personal self in addition to the bowling action rehabilitations. Yet, they were never vicious enough to be detrimental in his career.

2016 is entering into its second half. May be with the ongoing tri-series, Narine’s career has entered into its better half - a half, which not only Narine will cherish, but his admirers will bow down to, a half, which presents an ever more matured and versatile Sunil Narine and also a bowler who dictates terms in all the three formats of the game.
Post by: Sando prince on April 24, 2017, 07:58:40 AM

(http://www.trinidadexpress.com/storyimage/TT/20170423/LOCAL/170429811/AR/0/AR-170429811.jpg&MaxW=730&imageversion=Article)

SUNIL STARS*
...as Kolkata Knights slay RCB

KOLKATA

Trinidad and Tobago’s Sunil Narine continued to shine with the bat for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), scoring a vital 34 at the top of the innings as the home team, cheered on by a partisan Eden Gardens crowd, completed a stunning 82-run victory over Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), yesterday.
Having themselves collapsed from 65-1 to 131 all out in 19.3 overs, KKR produced an amazing performance with the ball to skittle RCB for 49 — the lowest score in IPL history — in just 9.4 overs.
Narine top-scored for KKR while opening the batting and wasn’t needed to bowl as the quick bowlers did the damage, Nathan Coulter-Nile (3-21), Chris Woakes (3-6) and Colin de Grandhomme (3-4) each taking three wickets as RCB imploded.
Post by: vb on April 24, 2017, 06:32:22 PM
Sunil Narine, new action, old returns

CHENNAI: Sunil Narine is making the ball talk again in the IPL. After mediocre performances in the last two years - seven and 11 wickets with economy rates of 7.31 and 7.09 respectively - the mystery spinner, with a remodeled action, is back to troubling the batsmen again. In the first five matches for Kolkata Knight Riders this season, Narine has got four wickets with an economy rate of 5.60, much like his first couple of years in the IPL.

Narine's action has been under constant scrutiny over the last three years. But he had been able to adapt well to his new action, something that most bowlers struggle to do. Earlier, Narine used to bowl four different deliveries - the off-spinner, the carrom ball, the knuckle ball and the off-cutters. Now he has let go of the off-cutters - one where the ball turns away from the batsmen more sharply than the carrom ball - because it could not be corrected despite the work put in on his action. But strangely, that hasn't stopped Narine from delivering the goods.

Post by: 100% Barataria on May 07, 2017, 12:26:05 PM
Fastest 50 in IPL history!  Narine is now a T20 alrounder
Post by: vb on May 07, 2017, 01:06:35 PM
Fastest 50 in IPL history!  Narine is now a T20 alrounder

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: vb on May 07, 2017, 01:10:38 PM
Narine's fastest fifty in IPL history.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fjuFI4Aua2Q

Post by: vb on March 16, 2018, 10:32:23 AM
This man go have to end up bowling with he foot.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1661734/7-narine-reported-suspect-bowling-action/

Narine reported again

KARACHI: Lahore Qalandars off-spinner Sunil Narine has been once again reported for a suspected bowling action.

The 29-year-old was reported by the match officials after the match between Qalandars and Quetta Gladiators, where he claimed figures of two for 22 in his four overs.

Narine has now been placed on the warning list, but will allowed to bowl in Qalandars’ final match of the tournament where they will play Peshawar Zalmi on Friday.
Nawaz, Watson help Gladiators thrash Qalandars

This is not the first time that Narine has been reported for a suspected bowling action, and the Trinidad and Tobago-born has had to work on remodeling his action on more than one occasion. He resumed bowling after getting clearance from the International Cricket Council (ICC).

The match officials report on Narine’s bowling action will be sent to the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB), where he will go through the process followed by the board in case of a suspected illegal bowling action.

Earlier, Gladiators coach Moin Khan had also accused the veteran spinner of ‘chucking’ after he guided Qalandars to a 17-run win on Wednesday.

Bopara, Afridi star as Kings thrash Qalandars

While talking to the Daily Express, Moin showed his disbelief that the off-spinner was not reported after the match.

“It was clear that Narine was chucking and it was unbelievable that the officials didn’t report him,” said Moin. “Looking at the high standards set in the PSL, it is not correct to avoid something as evident as that.”

Khan also questioned what he calls the ‘double standards’ when it comes to dealing with suspected bowling actions in the world of cricket. “Clearly, there are double standards when it comes to dealing with the suspected bowling actions,” he said. “Saeed Ajmal’s career was damaged after his action was declared illegal, Mohammad Hafeez is not bowling in a domestic league, but no one reported the action of Narine.”

Moin believes that even though his words might not be appreciated in some circles, they are for the betterment of the PSL.

The Gladiators coach also urged the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to make sure that from next season, foreign players should only be signed if they are willing to come to Pakistan.

“I believe the PCB should only sign those players in the PSL who are ready to come to Pakistan,” Moin added. “Because once certain players don’t show up for the all-important playoffs, it disturbs the balance of the side which becomes a real disadvantage for the team.”
Post by: Deeks on March 16, 2018, 04:22:00 PM
Bull too-too!!!
Title: Re: Sunil Narine .....Growing up, I never used to bowl spin
Post by: Flex on October 11, 2020, 12:40:47 AM
Narine's bowling action reported
JOEL BAILEY (NEWSDAY).

TT Red Force and West Indies T20 off-spinner Sunil Narine's bowling action has been called into question again, as he has been reported for a suspect action after Saturday's Indian Premier League (IPL) match between Kolkata Knight Riders and Kings XI Punjab in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

According to a media release from the IPL, "The report was made by the on-field umpires according to the IPL's Suspected Illegal Bowling Action Policy, Narine will be placed on the Warning List and is permitted to continue to bowl in the tournament."

Kolkata Knight Riders won Saturday's game by two runs with Narine claiming two wickets for 28 runs in his allotted four overs.

The 32-year-old Narine will be suspended from bowling in this year's IPL if he is reported for a second time. He will then have to get his action cleared by the BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) Suspect Bowling Action Committee to bowl again in the tournament.

Narine's action has been called on numerous occasions. He was reported twice in the Champions League 2014 tournament and missed the 2015 ICC World Cup to work on his action. He was reported during the 2015 IPL as well and was eventually suspended from bowling in November that year. The International Cricket Council (ICC) cleared his action in April 2016 but he had to pull out of the T20 World Cup in India that year. In March 2018, he was reported again during the Pakistan Super League.

Narine has worked extensively with Carl Crowe, an off-spinner himself during his playing days, to remodel his action. KKR got a Leicester-based biomechanist into the picture to help the allrounder.

Post by: Deeks on October 11, 2020, 02:34:06 AM
WTF!
Post by: Flex on October 12, 2020, 03:00:27 PM
Narine warned
...reported over bowling action in his last match
T&T Express Reports.

Kolkata Knight Riders spinner Sunil Narine’s bowling action has been reported again after Saturday’s IPL match against Kings XI Punjab, the league has said.

“The report was made by the on-field umpires according to the IPL’s suspected illegal bowling action policy,” league authorities said in a statement after the match in Abu Dhabi. The 32-year-old West Indies spinner would be put on a “warning list”, it added.

Narine can continue to bowl in the tournament until he is reported again. The bowling all-rounder was reported twice during the now-defunct Champions League T20 in 2014, following which Narine remodelled his action but the problem persisted.

Narine was subsequently reported again in the 2015 IPL and also after a one-day match against Sri Lanka that year and then again during the 2018 Pakistan Super League before being cleared to bowl.

The T20 specialist returned two for 28 in Saturday’s thrilling two-run victory, bowling a tight last over to earn praise from captain Dinesh Karthik. “Sunil Narine stands up for us a lot of time,” Karthik said. “He is calm. He is always looking to find the best way to contribute to the team.”

Post by: Deeks on October 12, 2020, 06:03:48 PM
vb, why they jumping on this man neck so ?