Sports => Football => Topic started by: SWF Reporter on December 01, 2013, 07:34:54 PM

Title: Joevin Jones set for Italy trial with Udinese
Post by: SWF Reporter on December 01, 2013, 07:34:54 PM
Buona fortuna, Joevin: Connection starlet off for Udinese trials
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868)

Twenty-two year old DIRECTV W Connection starlet and “Soca Warrior” utility player Joevin Jones should leave for Italy by next weekend and a 12-day trial with mid-table Serie A team, Udinese Calcio.

Jones, who helped Connection to secure the 2013 Toyota Classic crown with a 2-0 win over Club Sando last night, is his club’s highest scorer this season with five goals in all competitions while he has been a fixture in the Trinidad and Tobago national senior team for the past three years.

Connection owner David John Williams hopes Jones’ fine form helps earn him a move to a team that has employed unique talents like retired Brazil legend Zico, Chile and Barcelona winger Alexis Sanchez and present Udinese captain and Italy international Antonio Di Natale.

“Joevin has to be there by the 10th of December,” Williams told Wired868. “The Italian season breaks on the 22nd (of December) and restarts on the 6th of January. Hopefully he can impress and be asked to return (after the winter break).”

If Jones is successful, he will become the second Trinidad and Tobago player to sign for a Serie A club. His Connection teammate Silvio Spann signed for Perugia as a 20-year-old in 2001 but never played in the top flight and his only outings in Italy came while on loan at Serie C team, Sambenedettese.

In 2001, Spann had failed to force his way into the national under-20 team and it was another two years before he made his first start for the international senior team. In contrast, Jones, the son of former “Strike Squad” defender Kelvin Jones, already has 33 full international caps and has played in a CONCACAF Gold Cup and two CONCACAF Champions League tournaments.

Williams claimed Connection has had talks with several interested European clubs about Jones including present England Championship leader, Leicester City, big spending French champions Paris Saint-Germain (PSG) and Spanish outfit Real Betis. However, Udinese made the first move.

“Leicester wanted to bring him over but they were concerned about the work permit situation as Trinidad and Tobago is still ranked outside the top 70 nations,” said Williams. “But Udinese was first to offer him a trial…

“It is a massive, massive opportunity for the boy. Obviously he is talented; the biggest challenge for him is dealing with the cold.”

Jones’ brilliant solo effort and two clever assists against Guaya United in the Classic semi-final underlined his status as the Pro League’s most entertaining player at present and Williams waited until after the final whistle, last night, to tell him the good news.

“I didn’t tell Joevin until after the (Classic final),” said Williams, “and he made a promise to give it his best shot. There was a joke in the dressing room that just now we will not have a team.

“If Joevin goes in the next transfer window, we will definitely have to bring in some new faces.”

At present, Connection is six points clear atop the Pro League team with a game in hand and a maximum 15 points from five outings.

Technically, Jones will be available when the “Savonetta Boys” play away to Guaya United in the TTFA FA Trophy on Wednesday December 4 and then face Central FC in League action on Saturday December 7.

Connection coach Stuart Charles-Fevrier suggested that he would consider using Jones against Guaya but, at the moment, is still undecided. Fevrier revealed that he does not intend to scrap Connection’s present formation, which was tailor-made for Jones and features the Italy-bound Warrior as a roving playmaker ahead of two holding midfielders and behind a mobile front three.

“We will not change the system,” said Fevrier. “We have Bebo (Jomal Williams), Yefer (Lozano) and (Yhon) Lopez. Any one of those three can function in that role.”

Connection may have already lost three other players to Vietnam for the remainder of the season. Trinidad and Tobago international defender Daneil Cyrus moved on loan to Hanoi T&T last month while former national youth team strikers Jerrel Britto and Jamal Clarence hope to complete moves to Song Lam Nghe.

However, another starlet, 21-year-old Shahdon Winchester, has returned from his loan stint with Finland Premier League team, FF Jaro, and will be back in Connection gear when the transfer window opens on December 23.

“We have eight League games in January and four in February, so the League will be won and lost then,” said Williams. “Shahdon will be joining us at a key time and he has already been training every day. We are just waiting for the window to open.”

Title: Buona fortuna, Joevin: Connection starlet off for Udinese trials
Post by: FireBrand on December 01, 2013, 07:35:41 PM
Buona fortuna, Joevin: Connection starlet off for Udinese trials
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

Twenty-two year old DIRECTV W Connection starlet and “Soca Warrior” utility player Joevin Jones should leave for Italy by next weekend on a 12-day trial with mid-table Serie A team, Udinese Calcio.

Jones, who helped Connection to secure the 2013 Toyota Classic crown with a 2-0 win over Club Sando last night, is his club’s highest scorer this season with five goals in all competitions while he has been a fixture in the Trinidad and Tobago national senior team for the past three years.

Connection owner David John Williams hopes Jones’ fine form helps earn him a move to a team that has employed unique talents like retired Brazil legend Zico, Chile and Barcelona winger Alexis Sanchez and present Udinese captain and Italy international Antonio Di Natale.

“Joevin has to be there by the 10th of December,” Williams told Wired868. “The Italian season breaks on the 22nd (of January) and restarts on the 6th of January. Hopefully he can impress and be asked to return (after the winter break).”

If Jones is successful, he will become the second Trinidad and Tobago player to sign for a Serie A club. His Connection teammate Silvio Spann signed for Perugia as a 20-year-old in 2001 but never played in the top flight and his only outings in Italy came while on loan at Serie C team, Sambenedettese.

In 2001, Spann had failed to force his way into the national under-20 team and it was another two years before he made his first start for the international senior team. In contrast, Jones, the son of former “Strike Squad” defender Kelvin Jones, already has 33 full international caps and has played in a CONCACAF Gold Cup and two CONCACAF Champions League tournaments.

Continue reading (http://wired868.com/2013/12/01/buona-fortuna-joevin-connection-starlet-off-for-udinese-trials/)

Title: Re: Buona fortuna, Joevin: Connection starlet off for Udinese trials
Post by: Peong on December 01, 2013, 07:38:36 PM
Good opportunity, good luck Jones.
Title: Re: Joevin Jones set for Italy trial with Udinese
Post by: Fyzoman on December 01, 2013, 10:01:55 PM
WHAT?!?!?!

Good vibes and good luck....hopefully minor league loss will be Udinese gain ;)
Post by: mukumsplau on December 02, 2013, 03:08:58 AM
nice news...if he is successful he will be shipped to Granada or Watford or a Serie B club...if he really impresses then he'll stay with the first team...
Post by: trini_stallion on December 02, 2013, 03:32:57 AM
Big big news!!
Post by: Tiresais on December 02, 2013, 05:21:32 AM
Great stuff :)
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 02, 2013, 06:59:35 AM
Great opportunity. Great news is if he's signed. Gotta go out there with no fear. Humble arrogance.
Post by: sammy on December 02, 2013, 07:44:29 AM
I really hope he impresses
Post by: dumpalewie on December 02, 2013, 09:00:27 AM
Good player....hope it works out!
Post by: dreamer on December 02, 2013, 09:30:25 AM
Sick!!
Joevin, hold yuh head up high and represent. Don't go over there looking oversees and as if yuh begin' for a break.
Get yuh visa straight and start checking off your to do list so yuh nice and relaxed when yuh reach.
Thanks to the increased game schedule and intensity of the TT Proleague they will be pleasantly surprised that you are in good shape with high confidence level from all those goals scored.

Once again great work by Lasana for these inspiring stories. It must be stared how much we appreciate your work and you must be encouraged to continue. I hope your wired 868 grows from strength to strength.
Post by: weary1969 on December 02, 2013, 09:33:39 AM
Good player....hope it works out!

CO-SIGNNNN
Post by: Dansteel - The Iceman on December 02, 2013, 02:17:50 PM
Best of luck Joevin! Show them what you can do!
Post by: Deeks on December 02, 2013, 03:34:39 PM
Good Luck JJ. Jah Bless!!!
Post by: Football supporter on December 02, 2013, 04:41:02 PM
I am really pleased for Jones. I hope he gets through because it's a great advert for T&T and the Pro League.

However, a word of caution.....Italy has the largest number of licensed agents in the world, over 1,100. Nearly 3 times more than the next....England. They all fight to get a player signed, so there are many players on trial in Italy.

On a positive note, if Jones gets through, it's an indication of just how good he really is!!
Post by: dreamer on December 02, 2013, 06:28:40 PM
Joevin, do yuh research and let yuh fans know about this team and town that yuh checkin' out. Remember to keep as many options as possible open. Doh have tunnel vision as if they see yuh have only one option, you become more of a target for exploitative contracts. Keep talking to Leicester City, PSG in France and the others while yuh attack Udinese with full force. Good luck.

http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://maps.pickatrail.com/europe/italy/map/udine.gif&imgrefurl=http://maps.pickatrail.com/europe/italy/udine.html&h=515&w=432&sz=18&tbnid=gJY-jMbbEEhpiM:&tbnh=90&tbnw=75&zoom=1&usg=__jKbwfslDxAvV7jZ3caHWCiG2rMM=&docid=DE589reWAhzEMM&sa=X&ei=KCSdUo7sIunHsATwkYCYDQ&sqi=2&ved=0CDwQ9QEwBA

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Udinese_Calcio

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Udine

Post by: Coop's on December 02, 2013, 06:42:22 PM
We just have to wish JJ the best of luck,at this point in time nothing is guaranteed,people was complaining about Vietnam,this is a once in a lifetime opportunity lets hope he can take advantage of it.
Post by: Sam on December 02, 2013, 07:16:14 PM
Best player I have seen in T&T for a long time, he is a utility player and watch out for his brother Alvin who McComie dog and got fire, de man have talent to.

Post by: mukumsplau on December 03, 2013, 02:01:32 AM
Udinese's scouts are in my, and alot of other ppls opinion, the best in italy...this relly confirms to me how far and deep their scouts really dig...honestly never really saw many of his performances or paid much attention so as to pinpoint his position because he switches up now and again...interesting enough that utility aspect to his game is evident in alot of udinese players....

i would really like him to work under Guidolin...rel rate that coach...damn good coach...

alot of top clubs in europe shop at udinese...he will be watched by more eyes at udinese than say leicester...and as i said its the quality of eyes we talkin bout here..top clubs always keep tabs on udinese players..
Post by: asylumseeker on December 03, 2013, 03:56:22 AM
Warrior, great opportunity. Stay calm, be positive, be professional, do yuh thing, and vibes it up!  Yuh best is yuh best. Good luck, son.
Post by: trini supporter on December 03, 2013, 09:22:33 AM
Big Big News!! goodluck Jones
Post by: toonmili on December 03, 2013, 10:07:56 AM
Eh, isn't a starlet a female? I've never heard it being used in reference to male before.

Either way this is great news for him. Hope he can impress.
Post by: SWF Reporter on December 03, 2013, 10:35:08 AM
Interesting point toonmili. I had only ever heard it used to reference "a rising star" before. But I'm not too much of a Hollywood guy. I just checked it up and it can mean a young actress or simply a small star.
If it is popularly used to indicate a female a present parlance, as seems to be the case, I won't use it in sport again.
Thanks for pointing that out :beermug:
Post by: FF on December 03, 2013, 10:43:34 AM
Interesting point toonmili. I had only ever heard it used to reference "a rising star" before. But I'm not too much of a Hollywood guy. I just checked it up and it can mean a young actress or simply a small star.
If it is popularly used to indicate a female a present parlance, as seems to be the case, I won't use it in sport again.

You good man... if you look up starlet in the news, every single one references a young male football star.
Keep the level high and let people raise they level not the other way round.

Post by: Peong on December 03, 2013, 10:49:43 AM
Where is the grammar/vocab/spelling thread when you need it?
Post by: ZANDOLIE on December 03, 2013, 12:52:18 PM
best of luck!
Post by: Bakes on December 03, 2013, 01:19:55 PM

It sounds odd but I believe the usage is correct... as is the reference to a nascent Hollywood actress.  I first paid attention when Raheem Sterling burst on the scene 3 years ago... so definitely has currency in the parlance of professional football.
Post by: King Deese on December 03, 2013, 03:15:41 PM
Yo, Joevin. Christmas time is here and it came early for you. What a gift to give to your family, friends and to your fans. Represent my brother. Do me a solid. Don't half step like you did at Toronto FC., the Serie A is a much much tougher league but like they say the cream always rises to the top. Give it a hundred and nothing less.

Good luck young warrior.
Post by: Thomo on December 03, 2013, 03:34:59 PM
Give it your best shot. Bless!!
Post by: mukumsplau on December 03, 2013, 03:53:40 PM
joevin bring back a juve jersey for me pls. 23 vidal. wud pay u wen u come back. thanks. good luck with the football thing too.
Post by: Flex on December 08, 2013, 07:40:22 AM
Udinese, sbarca Joevin Jones (http://www.vocidisport.it/2013/12/07/udinese-sbarca-joevin-jones/)

Post by: Fyzoman on December 08, 2013, 09:09:21 AM
Udinese, sbarca Joevin Jones (http://www.vocidisport.it/2013/12/07/udinese-sbarca-joevin-jones/)

http://translate.google.com/

Give thanks Flex, I went ahead and added ah link for the non-Italian speakers :)
Post by: Fyzoman on December 08, 2013, 09:17:58 AM
I feeling really good about this trial and see no reason for this youth not to make it...on a related note, I see that the weather in Udinese will be in the 50s and up (Fareniheit) for the next week, so give thanks for that!!!
Post by: maxg on December 08, 2013, 09:37:28 AM
Hope pittance for dem is big money for Jones
Post by: Tiresais on December 08, 2013, 09:40:21 AM
Youth Players in the UK could earn $10,000 (£1000) a week in the top division. Hell in the Championship you can at least look forward to £500 a week. I imagine Serie A offers similarly lucrative money, especially for rotation/1st team players
Post by: maxg on December 08, 2013, 10:01:21 AM
Yes, but what one could get, and what one is offered, because the individual is desperate to get their foot in the door, is sometimes not close to what is fair.
Eg he could get 1000/wk, but they offer 200, take it or go back home..then your agent have to rationalize in yuh head that it's ok if yuh making 1/5 everybody else salary, yuh still out playing them, and making more than if yuh was home, just hold on till next year, so yuh going thru the year as a foreigner, language barrier, no friends, some heckling & insults, no immediate friends,no Doubles, training and playing harder and better than everyone else, yet might make less...sometimes it might be difficult to concentrate...

So I hope if he manages a decent showing, the club treats him with the respect he deserves, and not use/abuse his talent.
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 08, 2013, 11:05:03 AM
That article calling him a left back. Is that the position they looking at him for and is that the position he shines in?
Post by: Tiresais on December 08, 2013, 12:15:25 PM
Yes, but what one could get, and what one is offered, because the individual is desperate to get their foot in the door, is sometimes not close to what is fair.
Eg he could get 1000/wk, but they offer 200, take it or go back home..then your agent have to rationalize in yuh head that it's ok if yuh making 1/5 everybody else salary, yuh still out playing them, and making more than if yuh was home, just hold on till next year, so yuh going thru the year as a foreigner, language barrier, no friends, some heckling & insults, no immediate friends,no Doubles, training and playing harder and better than everyone else, yet might make less...sometimes it might be difficult to concentrate...

So I hope if he manages a decent showing, the club treats him with the respect he deserves, and not use/abuse his talent.

The thing is, 1k a week IS the low-end - besides PFA's take a very dim view of contracts set that low. Even at £200 a week he'd be earning $8000 a month, which I'm told is quite respectable in Trini.

I'm not worried about the wage - I'm worried about the rest you're talking about. Italy has a terrible record for racism, although being so far north might mean conditions are a bit better for him. Besides he'll have contact with Stefano Monti and his contacts in Italy which should help give him some protection in general.
Post by: Tallman on December 08, 2013, 12:28:25 PM
That article calling him a left back. Is that the position they looking at him for and is that the position he shines in?

I eh see no reason why he cyar play in dat position, like an Ashley Cole, Leighton Baines, Patrice Evra, Jordi Alba, Marcelo etc. Is just that when he has played there for T&T, he has been reluctant to get forward. I know for a fact that Hart does encourage him to get forward, but so far it eh relly work out. It would also help if he put on some muscle.
Post by: Cocorite on December 08, 2013, 12:34:38 PM
What is the gist of the article?
Post by: Deeks on December 08, 2013, 02:01:30 PM
Joevin is a left back. But he can play a midfield. I think he is a better left back than mid.
Post by: mukumsplau on December 08, 2013, 06:52:56 PM
the pittance in the translation doesnt refer to salary. rationed for a pittance means that if they do want him they wud buy him for a real small fee.... udinese has an ability to purchase talent for peanuts and sell for large sums of money..

udinese play a 352/4231 so they would be looking at joevin primarily for that left wingback/left back role curently occupied by gabriel silva, also 22..silva is the starting left wingback/left back so far this season douglas santos is the sub..other than that the leftback options are a couple of centrebacks who can play there at left back...anyway, i pray his lungs are up to it because that position requires alot of running...also with guidolin's style....udinese team presses for the ball in all areas of the field...their players are very industrious and technically and tactically sound...versatility is a plus too...they dont have the largest squads so sometimes you may have to play out of position...

udinese's president owns Granada in spain and Watford in england as well so if the presi likes him he may see if he can farm him out to one of those sides as a first resort or to another serie a team or at worst a serie b team...or just loan him to any team..
Post by: Pointman on December 08, 2013, 09:48:29 PM
This is yuh shot youthman, go over dey HUNGRY and give 200%.  These opportunities doh come everyday, make de absolute best of it. :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Tiresais on December 09, 2013, 03:34:43 AM
the pittance in the translation doesnt refer to salary. rationed for a pittance means that if they do want him they wud buy him for a real small fee.... udinese has an ability to purchase talent for peanuts and sell for large sums of money..

udinese play a 352/4231 so they would be looking at joevin primarily for that left wingback/left back role curently occupied by gabriel silva, also 22..silva is the starting left wingback/left back so far this season douglas santos is the sub..other than that the leftback options are a couple of centrebacks who can play there at left back...anyway, i pray his lungs are up to it because that position requires alot of running...also with guidolin's style....udinese team presses for the ball in all areas of the field...their players are very industrious and technically and tactically sound...versatility is a plus too...they dont have the largest squads so sometimes you may have to play out of position...

udinese's president owns Granada in spain and Watford in england as well so if the presi likes him he may see if he can farm him out to one of those sides as a first resort or to another serie a team or at worst a serie b team...or just loan him to any team..

Good points - I would worry for him competing, but it would be awesome if he got some game time in England at Watford - Udinese already treat Watford as a B-team lol. a "small fee" in the big leagues for a player is still in the hundreds of thousands, although I don't think W Connection will get that.
Post by: Flex on December 09, 2013, 06:34:38 AM
Udinese, Jones arrives in Italy: Pictures (http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=it&u=http://www.golnapoli.it/senza-categoria/udinese-jones-arriva-in-italia-le-foto/197349/&prev=/search%3Fq%3Djoevin%2Bjones%2Bat%2Budinese%26start%3D20%26newwindow%3D1%26client%3Dgmail%26sa%3DN%26rls%3Dgm%26biw%3D1093%26bih%3D533)

Post by: Tiresais on December 09, 2013, 07:48:36 AM
he looks quite angry/jet lagged :p
Post by: mukumsplau on December 09, 2013, 02:50:40 PM
im a lil nervous, but positive.
Post by: Tallman on December 09, 2013, 03:07:43 PM
im a lil nervous, but positive.

So yuh could imagine how he feeling.  :nailbiting:
Post by: maxg on December 09, 2013, 03:27:18 PM
he looks quite angry/jet lagged :p
nah man..he just realize no Boom Champions, Vibe 105, or even WACK fm....oh oh   :devil:
Post by: Tiresais on December 09, 2013, 04:56:41 PM
They're online - me and the missus used to listen to them from time to time, especially for Jayson Williams
Post by: MEP on December 09, 2013, 06:41:52 PM
The man look like he settle in already...especially with he coach man purse
Post by: g on December 09, 2013, 06:59:07 PM
The man look like he settle in already...especially with he coach man purse

(http://www.gianlucadimarzio.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/wpid-IMG-20131208-WA00061.jpg)
Man rocking a serious murse
Post by: mukumsplau on December 10, 2013, 08:52:57 AM
doin up a project here so turned on udinese tv around when training sessions usually is...i figure this was after training because the coach is conducting a press conference now

anyway joevin was the last player to exit...knew it was him because he jus stood there not knowing where to go and looking around till someone came to him...u can see from his demeanor he is the new kid on the block...the others had a confident bounce in their step whereas he looked like shuffling his feet and tense..this is to be expected and im not worried...soon hopefully pretty soon he will gain confidence and be able to express himself on the field the way he wants to...nerves is a bitch really..

(http://i39.tinypic.com/2a5j0j.jpg)
Post by: mukumsplau on December 10, 2013, 08:56:14 AM
honestly i think d fella didnt understand one shit jones was saying so he maybe directed him incorrectly as jones turned around and walked back in through the doors confused
Post by: FF on December 10, 2013, 09:29:20 AM
de man looking like a deer in the headlights yes...

Come Joevin, put on dat trini swagger... yuh badder than all of dem...
fake it til you make it.
Post by: palos on December 10, 2013, 10:03:58 AM
Joevin isn't 16 or 17 eh.  He's 22.  Considered a man.

Hopefully all will go well for the young man.
Post by: FireBrand on December 13, 2013, 01:57:38 PM
Joevin in training scrimmage at Udinese.  (http://udinesechanneltv.twww.tv/?ev=1fb4650db824249d56d473bab7d373c0)

Post by: Trini _2026 on December 13, 2013, 02:41:56 PM
Joevin in training scrimmage at Udinese.  (http://udinesechanneltv.twww.tv/?ev=1fb4650db824249d56d473bab7d373c0)

they not passing him the ball based on that clip  >:(
Post by: FF on December 13, 2013, 03:04:34 PM

they not passing him the ball based on that clip  >:(

You should go and complain in the Udinese forum
Post by: Fyzoman on December 13, 2013, 04:11:33 PM
Yeah the little we saw Mr central defender playing that long ball, and when he not doing that he starting the knock on the right side right thru.

Hopefully other scrimmages look better than the few minutes we saw on this one :)

Also do we have those free=kick dummies locally?
Post by: elan on December 13, 2013, 04:27:37 PM
So we eh have no one saying Udinese bring the man in and eh give him ah good look. Look they tell the man turn right when he should have gone left. Slip shod organization.
Post by: Deeks on December 13, 2013, 05:23:36 PM
Yeah the little we saw Mr central defender playing that long ball, and when he not doing that he starting the knock on the right side right thru.

Hopefully other scrimmages look better than the few minutes we saw on this one :)

Also do we have those free=kick dummies locally?

Funny, I was saying  this look like we national team playing. One set ah long ball by the central defender and the right back. It look like them have blinders on the left side of the their brains. But you, know perception can be deceiving. Hopefully the next scrimmage go be better.
Post by: MEP on December 13, 2013, 05:38:25 PM
de yute will do well man..he just have to come into his own...it's a huge transition for him made even more difficult by the language barrier...if they didn't think he had potential he wouldn't be there
Post by: Flex on December 13, 2013, 05:52:06 PM

Jones seems a little shy, it can work against him.

Its important that W Connection seeing that they normally send a lot of players aboard should consider sending an agent with the players especially when they are trailing alone.

Post by: diamondtrim on December 13, 2013, 07:19:18 PM
I like JJ....but gotta be honest here....if that clip is what he's going through on that trial it aint making no sense. Correct me if I'm wrong but he got 2 touches? One kinda scaredy header and another to throw in the ball. NOBODY passed to him...NOBODY. Poor JJ body language and all poor. His shoulders dropped.....I could only imagine what he going through....probably aint understanding one ass, nobody giving him a pass, he aint know what to do and he cant even get d chance to do what he could do (play ball). Any local up there with him?
Post by: Football supporter on December 13, 2013, 07:34:14 PM
I like JJ....but gotta be honest here....if that clip is what he's going through on that trial it aint making no sense. Correct me if I'm wrong but he got 2 touches? One kinda scaredy header and another to throw in the ball. NOBODY passed to him...NOBODY. Poor JJ body language and all poor. His shoulders dropped.....I could only imagine what he going through....probably aint understanding one ass, nobody giving him a pass, he aint know what to do and he cant even get d chance to do what he could do (play ball). Any local up there with him?

DT, this is exactly how I described trials to be. It's tough. You're trying to take someones place in the squad.
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on December 13, 2013, 09:23:27 PM
Flex right about those guys having some kind of support with them or they need a workshop on what to expect while on Trial.......otherwise Im thinking 2 things........he needs to assert himself (be more aggressive) and whoever running the training should/would make sure plays are running thru him to see what he have to offer........that's if an Invited Trial  :banginghead:
Post by: elan on December 13, 2013, 11:11:47 PM
You all sounding like you send a lil yute man on trial. This is an interview for a job in a fortune 500 club so you have to have a CEO mentality, not a janitors mentality.

The minute he see them going into tackles and being cut-throat like that you have to get up to that speed. He never matched the speed of the session. He seem like he was trying to figure out what was going on with the session. This is where smarts come in. You not sure the main objective, you them either get the 1st or 2nd pass and a make a quick pass and move to support. You have to play harder and faster than everyone else. You have to impose your presence on the team and players. You have to force their respect because they will not give it to you.

He jogging around looking for a pass which never came. Remember you never get a 2nd chance to make a 1st impression. He reinforce my theory of why we don't win more often even though we have great talent and ability.
Post by: elan on December 13, 2013, 11:14:44 PM
Flex right about those guys having some kind of support with them or they need a workshop on what to expect while on Trial.......otherwise Im thinking 2 things........he needs to assert himself (be more aggressive) and whoever running the training should/would make sure plays are running thru him to see what he have to offer........that's if an Invited Trial :banginghead:

That's for college. This is a big man game. It have so many other players waiting to come in and impress right away. No one have to make things good for you. They open the door for you now the onus is on you to find a seat, you can make some one get up or you can wait until someone tired sitting down.
Post by: FF on December 14, 2013, 12:54:57 AM
You all sounding like you send a lil yute man on trial. This is an interview for a job in a fortune 500 club so you have to have a CEO mentality, not a janitors mentality.

The minute he see them going into tackles and being cut-throat like that you have to get up to that speed. He never matched the speed of the session. He seem like he was trying to figure out what was going on with the session. This is where smarts come in. You not sure the main objective, you them either get the 1st or 2nd pass and a make a quick pass and move to support. You have to play harder and faster than everyone else. You have to impose your presence on the team and players. You have to force their respect because they will not give it to you.

He jogging around looking for a pass which never came. Remember you never get a 2nd chance to make a 1st impression. He reinforce my theory of why we don't win more often even though we have great talent and ability.

Elan you hit de nail on de head... dese men like dey never try out for a football team dat already have an established squad or dey ent seeing de equivalence to a job interview
Post by: Sam on December 14, 2013, 03:01:24 AM

DT, this is exactly how I described trials to be. It's tough. You're trying to take someones place in the squad.

So they passing de ball to all de other players on trial but not Jones and you saying this,,,, please. You just tying to justify what Central did to Roopie was normal. Is ok, if the players do it because they fighting for a place but when the staff invite you to come and then set you up that is below low or other staff cussing you.

Joevin not calling for de ball, watch de next black youth how he up and down.

Stop making excuses, de bredda need to get more involved and up to speed.

Post by: trini_stallion on December 14, 2013, 04:10:21 AM
From what it is I seeing dey...he hadda goo take de ball from men..notice how everyone attacking the ball...JJ...show dem men them you is ah trinidadian stallion....if they not passing it to you brother...get it from dem!
Post by: soccerrama on December 14, 2013, 05:48:35 AM
As far as I am aware an Italian national who is resident in Trinidad Mr. Stefano Monti accompanied Jones on this trip to Italy. At the end of the day you could have your mama, papa, tantie & nennen with you, the bottom line is you have to go out there and show your hunger and give 100%.
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 14, 2013, 06:00:25 AM
The very fact that he does go into a shell when he on the national team had me wondering about his confidence level under bright lights. Hope he sort it out. Everybody saying he a star, but he have to believe that himself.
Post by: Sam on December 14, 2013, 06:11:39 AM
Wha happen to de Italian striker W Connection did sign, Mirko Delia.?

I know he got injured and went back to Italy, did they release him?

Post by: soccerrama on December 14, 2013, 06:20:27 AM
Wha happen to de Italian striker W Connection did sign, Mirko Delia.?

I know he got injured and went back to Italy, did they release him?

He had a recurring knee injury and there was an amicable parting of ways.
Post by: FF on December 14, 2013, 07:05:19 AM

So they passing de ball to all de other players on trial but not Jones and you saying this,,,, please. You just tying to justify what Central did to Roopie was normal. Is ok, if the players do it because they fighting for a place but when the staff invite you to come and then set you up that is below low or other staff cussing you.

How you know who on trial from that video? FS and Elan are right you have to go and fight and prove your worth.
Post by: Coop's on December 14, 2013, 08:23:06 AM

U still they with Roopie ?  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Fyzoman on December 14, 2013, 08:52:30 AM
Quote from: Coop's link=topic=61085.msg879044#msg879044 date=1387030986

[/quote
      U still they with Roopie ?  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Coops you laughing but that rell annoying, we talking bout Joevin now:)

Some more observations:

I didn't know was a group of fellow-trialist I was watching??
I could be very, very wrong but I don't think others (especially that left footer who playing the long ball out the back, unless he has been there for a few days/week and has been given instructions to do that?) are only trialist?

I also thought Joevin had someone there with him, though we didn't see him in any photos with him, maybe he took the photos, I dunno, I just thought he had someone there with him.

At the end of the day we could all talk. talk. talk on here but if friggin Joevin want to go quite Italy and stick, well dais he own damn fault. I mean really, as ah balla as soon you figure out the lay of the land, you next option is to start tackling your own damn teamates for the friggin ball under level greedy-man vibes man!!!!!

I hopeful for the de brotha :)

Post by: 100% Barataria on December 14, 2013, 11:46:46 AM

He jogging around looking for a pass which never ca me. Remember you never get a 2nd chance to make a 1st impression. He reinforce my theory of why we don't win more often even though we have great talent and ability.

:applause:

i remember reading when dwight went on trial w/villa he would be there before and after sessions, doing push ups, shuttles etc to up his fitness to compete....success is a fine line between genius and insecurity, the "fear" of returning to mediocrity should be enough for these guys to push extra hard, matters in all walks of life competing at an international level....
Post by: Bakes on December 14, 2013, 12:30:18 PM

I have to agree... you can't complain about men not passing him the ball, all them fellas hungry and looking to get in the squad and they supposed to share their opportunity with him?  He need to go out and seize that opportunity.  His reaction to adversity is one of the things I'm sure that the evaluators will be looking at.  You can't control what other people do, whether they pass you the ball or not, but you can always control how you play and how you respond/react.
Post by: Tiresais on December 14, 2013, 02:03:44 PM
Absolutely - the problem is the mentality when our players go abroad, possibly due to ill-preparation. It's a great shame and holding back Trini footballers from securing contracts abroad.
Title: Joevin Jones set for Italy trial with Udinese
Post by: mukumsplau on December 14, 2013, 03:14:44 PM
When i watched the session a couple days ago i opted not to post it here because i was disappointed at the timid display by joevin from what i saw. I cudnt even watch the entire thing because i cudnt suffer it. Has to be hungrier than that. I didnt see him in the scrimmage for the session arter that. Saw him in the drills tho. At the end of a drill it seems as if he was roasted. Panting and blowing hard hands on hips trying to catch himself while walking for water. 
Post by: Bakes on December 14, 2013, 05:22:36 PM
When i watched the session a couple days ago i opted not to post it here because i was disappointed at the timid display by joevin from what i saw. I cudnt even watch the entire thing because i cudnt suffer it. Has to be hungrier than that. I didnt see him in the scrimmage for the session arter that. Saw him in the drills tho. At the end of a drill it seems as if he was roasted. Panting and blowing hard hands on hips trying to catch himself while walking for water. 

Which begs the question (already asked a million times) about conditioning in the local game.
Post by: ANC2 on December 14, 2013, 06:08:33 PM
We always overate Trini players. Jones does be jogging around with W and even with the National team. I watch his performance with W in Concacaf CL on  stream, he can't even lift his game at that level.
No  fight at all, weak on the ball, movement zero. Then he make a little move and everybody rah rah. Jones not close to SerieA standard  sorry if people feel I disrespectful, but I calling it as I see it. Right now T&T team have nobody ready for the big ball heights, we football in trouble
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 14, 2013, 06:23:45 PM
We always overate Trini players. Jones does be jogging around with W and even with the National team. I watch his performance with W in Concacaf CL on  stream, he can't even lift his game at that level.
No  fight at all, weak on the ball, movement zero. Then he make a little move and everybody rah rah. Jones not close to SerieA standard  sorry if people feel I disrespectful, but I calling it as I see it. Right now T&T team have nobody ready for the big ball heights, we football in trouble
While true we does underestimate what it takes to play at a higher level, de man must have something about him to be so highly rated. I doh see PL games, so I does be trusting de people who do. So I assuming he able.

Nuff man we rate up and never go nowhere, though. Me eh know.
Post by: Quags on December 14, 2013, 08:55:47 PM
There still kinda young, no worldly experience   ,they don't know how to  impress someone on the spot ,he needs that self confidence some machismo ,toughness ,guts ,balls ,swagger . you know ..
like this song says .
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nQSk0CYPvwE
Post by: kounty on December 15, 2013, 06:16:08 AM
if you readin Joevin, jus large up yuhself! nobody on here ever get no trial for no Serie A club (prob except 1 :) ). Try your best, be more aggressive, and at the end if it don't work out, at least you know what to do when you get back home (before your next big opportunity come knocking).  :beermug:
Post by: trini_stallion on December 15, 2013, 07:04:35 AM

Soldier is ah scout eye he catch in de gold cup...ah scout. ..meaning de man getting payy to find ppl....you is a scout?
Title: Joevin Jones fails to land deal in Udinese
Post by: SWF Reporter on December 15, 2013, 11:59:31 AM
Addio Serie A: Joevin fails to seduce Udinese
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868)

DIRECTV W Connection and Trinidad and Tobago starlet Joevin Jones will have to wait a bit longer for the chance to ply his trade abroad; and it will probably not be in the Serie A.

Wired868 understands that Jones failed to impress during a trial with Italy top flight club, Udinese, and was sent home early. The talented 22-year-old utility player is expected to land in Piarco tomorrow night.

Jones’ trial was supposed to run for 12 days. Instead, it was cut short in under a week after the “Soca Warrior” played in a reserve team match for Udinese on Thursday.

A source, who kept in touch with Jones during his stint abroad, told Wired868 that Udinese felt the player did not yet have the dynamism expected for a club of that level.

Trinidad and Tobago players have walked straight out of the Pro League and into top flight teams in Scotland, Kazakhstan, Belgium and Hungary. But the gap between Connection and a respected Serie A club that once had the likes of Brazilian legend Zico and, more recently, Chilean star Alexis Sanchez on its books was apparently too wide to cross in barely a week’s time.

Twelve years ago, another Serie A team, Perugia, signed Connection midfielder Silvio Spann but Spann never played in the top flight and spent much of his time on loan in Serie C.

Jones’ return adds to a miserable spell for Connection in the transfer market as teammates Daneil Cyrus, Jamal Clarence and Jerrel Britto all left Vietnam last week without securing deals after trials with Hanoi T&T and Song Lam Nghe.

It is unlikely any of that quartet will feature in Connection’s upcoming TTFA FA Trophy final from 7.30 pm on Wednesday December 18 against Central FC at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva.

Connection won the FA Trophy three times before but its last success was over a decade ago in 2002 and the “Savonetta Boys” lost in three FA Trophy finals since then against North East Stars (2003), Caledonia AIA (2008) and Joe Public (2009) respectively.

Still, Connection starts as favourites against a Central outfit that is in its second successive FA Trophy final but enduring a modest run of form. Caledonia defeated Central 2-0 in the 2012/13 edition of Trinidad and Tobago’s oldest knock-out tournament.

Connection owner David John Williams could not be reached for comment on Jones’ imminent return and what the club’s recent transfer setbacks might mean for its business in the upcoming transfer window.

Connection is certain to add at least one fresh face to its ranks when the local transfer window swings open on December 23. Twenty-one year old attacker Shahdon Winchester has already returned from a loan stint with Finland Premier League team, FF Jaro, and spent the last month training with the Couva-based outfit. Connection has already agreed to send Winchester back to Jaro for another loan stint early next season.

Title: Re: Joevin Jones fails to land deal in Udinese
Post by: soccerrama on December 15, 2013, 12:06:37 PM
Maybe the Trinbagonians should learn from the small islanders in this case Saint Lucia. Saint Lucian Zaine Pierre (another W Connection product) went over to Serie A Team Genoa a couple of years ago, he has prevailed and today he was on the bench against Atalanta. #99. He had one shot, went to Italy, impressed and remained. He was just 18 years old at the time, went there on his own, all he had was his determination & talent.

http://www.flashscore.com/match/YZPvHvj4/#lineups;1
Post by: asylumseeker on December 15, 2013, 12:07:56 PM
Maybe the Trinbagonians should learn from the small islanders in this case Saint Lucia. Saint Lucian Zaine Pierre (another W Connection product) went over to Serie A Team Genoa a couple of years ago, he has prevailed and today he was on the bench against Atalanta. #99. He had one shot, went to Italy, impressed and remained.

To his benefit, he went slightly younger than Joevin. He seems to have support with him. On his twitter, he occasionally publishes photos of someone with him ... doh know if it's his father or brother or uncle ... but someone riding with him. The other noticeable thing is he focuses a lot on inspirational statements.
Post by: Sam on December 15, 2013, 12:17:08 PM
No surprised, watching his body language alone speaks volume.

You don't get a lot of opportunities but when you get you have to make use of it.

Is this kid to me is one of the best players we have in de league today.

Respect to Peltier, he went on his own and fight for a contract at a young age, de man was determine.

This is not the first time Joevin went on trials, so I am disappointed.

Post by: asylumseeker on December 15, 2013, 12:18:16 PM
... the other issue here is that players tend to benefit more when trial opportunities come in fairly quick succession, rather than one this week and another who knows when. 

I would want my player to go to Udinese and then somewhere else, and if need be, somewhere else after that. If the player can't sustain Serie A/B expectations, that doesn't mean a look-in elsewhere on the continent would be folly. As I've stated on here before, I'm hard-pressed to think of African players getting the opportunity and winging back home just so.

Multiple opportunities on one trip is the better way to go, instead of winging over a bunch of places that might very well be in need of your services... Not to mention the likely disillusionment the player will feel through merely flying up and flying down upon rejection ... especially an early one.

I am curious to hear what the player's takeaway from this experience is. Lasana, dahis ting to do.
Post by: soccerrama on December 15, 2013, 12:21:55 PM
Maybe the Trinbagonians should learn from the small islanders in this case Saint Lucia. Saint Lucian Zaine Pierre (another W Connection product) went over to Serie A Team Genoa a couple of years ago, he has prevailed and today he was on the bench against Atalanta. #99. He had one shot, went to Italy, impressed and remained.

To his benefit, he went slightly younger than Joevin. He seems to have support with him. On his twitter, he occasionally publishes photos of someone with him ... doh know if it's his father or brother or uncle ... but someone riding with him. The other noticeable thing is he focuses a lot on inspirational statements.

Trust me he went on his own, he came from a single parent household (mother only). These are friendships he has developed, he was always focused and he is a virtual "ball hog", he knew what he wanted & when he got the break, he grabbed it with both hands. About being slightly younger my point exactly he was younger (18) so you would have thought that would have worked against him in terms of yearning for home etc but it didn't.
Post by: Fyzoman on December 15, 2013, 01:37:38 PM
if you readin Joevin, jus large up yuhself! nobody on here ever get no trial for no Serie A club (prob except 1 :) ). Try your best, be more aggressive, and at the end if it don't work out, at least you know what to do when you get back home (before your next big opportunity come knocking).  :beermug:

Niceness...on the one hand I hope he reading to use the negativity-and ecouragment-as motivation (not that he should need more motivation anyway, right?) to do better. On the other hand I kinda hope he eh even studying we and just putting his head down and best foot forward.
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on December 15, 2013, 02:29:59 PM
Flex right about those guys having some kind of support with them or they need a workshop on what to expect while on Trial.......otherwise Im thinking 2 things........he needs to assert himself (be more aggressive) and whoever running the training should/would make sure plays are running thru him to see what he have to offer........that's if an Invited Trial :banginghead:

That's for college. This is a big man game. It have so many other players waiting to come in and impress right away. No one have to make things good for you. They open the door for you now the onus is on you to find a seat, you can make some one get up or you can wait until someone tired sitting down.
I agree with what you are saying but sometimes the maturity level just isn't there as yet for a young man and no matter what age sometimes we all need a strong support system around us.......especially during a life alternating move........making the adjustment from T&T into the real world is not easy for anyone
Post by: mukumsplau on December 15, 2013, 03:09:36 PM

Niceness...on the one hand I hope he reading to use the negativity-and ecouragment-as motivation (not that he should need more motivation anyway, right?) to do better. On the other hand I kinda hope he eh even studying we and just putting his head down and best foot forward.

only if he sorf he wud hav a prob.  criticism, even extreme criticism, is a part of it

Post by: FF on December 15, 2013, 04:01:05 PM
The man need the criticism. The send him home early. He ent even last the trial period.
Post by: Fyzoman on December 15, 2013, 04:06:45 PM
I say we take the criticism up several notches (if indeed they really send him home early), let's not let this glorious opportunity go to waste, I'm sure we could make this at least ah 7-pager if we dig deep...c'mon now, off we go!!!!!
Post by: Tiresais on December 15, 2013, 04:53:53 PM
Exactly I can't believe they shelled out so much for a plane ticket and didn't go around looking for trials in the local area - as I mentioned before I suspect bad planning and preparation (of course I ain't saying I'd know any better! Simply that we probably need to up our game with it comes to marketing out players)
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 15, 2013, 05:09:02 PM
Peltier made waves in England .. went on trial at millwall ended up at arsenal earned a second trial there however Cardiff and Portsmouth  made offers . and his  work permit fell trough or he would have earned a move ... so to did hyland ....  Don't know what's up with Jones
Post by: fari on December 15, 2013, 05:19:22 PM

i was watching a short documentary on dwight yorke on youtube and in it he talked about wanting to escape the grinding poverty he grew up in, and being determined to do so at all costs.   you hadda want it in life, and sometimes you get the impression that our players doesn't want it hard enough (not saying that this is the case here, i just saying in general)
Post by: Coop's on December 15, 2013, 05:24:03 PM
The man need the criticism. The send him home early. He ent even last the trial period.
Yes the man needs the criticism if it's constructive,better luck next time.
Post by: OutsideMan on December 15, 2013, 05:26:58 PM
I wished him all the best, and know he was and is capable of making the team, but i'm not surprised he did not get through.  Just from seeing  some short clips of his trial (and yes, I understand there's much more to a few short clips), the body-language and general demeanor goes a long way.  You cannot go to any interview or trial to a team and act as if the weather is affecting you.  You cannot have your hands on your waist as if you're exhausted.  And you cannot go into a trail and play at half-speed because you want to be 'respectful' to every one else.

You have to go in there and run hard...play hard...mark- hard...tackle hard...and make yourself available & free for the passes.  It is not a vacation, and the people there don't care about you and if you're timid and a nice guy.  The are looking to hire pitbulls and lions.

They not looking to hire skillful timid rabbits with a free pass to heaven.  They want players who walk with Hellfire to their backs.

That's my observation.   
Post by: mukumsplau on December 15, 2013, 05:56:54 PM
lacked dynamism...hmm

disappointed that he didnt last the entire thing but these clubs dont play...if you dont fit with their philosophy then ur throat is cut and you cant really fault them...these top level clubs is not just about talent for them...mentality, drive, bite and conditioning is key as those things u can say help activate and accentuate talent...so it speaks volumes that the club so early into the thing realised they were wasting their time...because honestly they schedule trials for a number of ppl throughout the year. disappointed that he didnt show enough so at least they can purchase him and send him out on loan somewhere..and trust me udinese has dozens of guys on loan in spain, england, italy and all over europe...

maybe these fellas cool with being starboys here at home...a good friend of mine had a trial with columbus crew last year...i implored the guy to stop with the 'small sweat' leading up to the trial date since all dis small sweat take place at all parts of the country on all kinda football fields that can cause injury...i told him focus on his conditioning...anyway i spoke in vain...so he went up..lasted the full trial period...even impressed the coaches but he spoke of the fitness levels of the guys up there...even tho some of the guys were obviously less talented than he, they were fit no arse and had some iron lungs..and this is MLS eh!...he was able to see where he was at...needed more size on him and needed to up his conditioning...
Post by: Quags on December 15, 2013, 05:57:37 PM
Once in a lifetime chance ,squandered ..schuckss...wonder why dad Philbert didnt go with him and man walk him tru it .He needed to act as if he belonged ,as if the Seria A was waiting for him . Be one of the guys juggle the ball like maradonna ...anything to stick .Act like Eric Cantona going for a try out .
Dont act like your overwhelmed or out of your depth ,WC need to better prepare trailist .otherwise they just trowing them in the deep end .
all these guys and men .cant just belike  ,me i woulda being brave swinging my....  like eddie murphy bahamas  guy forgot his name .
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nozewQJ4hyw
Post by: mukumsplau on December 15, 2013, 06:01:46 PM
Once in a lifetime chance ,squandered ..schuckss...wonder why dad Philbert didnt go with him and man walk him tru it .He needed to act as if belonged ,as if the Seria A was waiting for him . Be one of the guys juggle the ball like maradonna ...anything to stick .Act like Eric Cantona going for a try out .
Dont act like your overwhelmed or out of your deoth ,WC need to better prepare trailist .otherwise they just trowing them in the deep end .
all these guys and men .cant just be ,me i woulda being brave swinging my  like eddie murphy .

lol yea i agree...like kevin hart say...:say it with ya chest"

hard luck but he will learn...pro ball is not only what is seen on the field..is a lot off it and in ur mind that contributes to what u see when u flick on espn or sportsmax on a weekend morning...thas y d shittiest of players i give them they props...

Post by: FF on December 15, 2013, 06:06:09 PM
lacked dynamism...hmm

yep... read between the lines
Post by: mukumsplau on December 15, 2013, 06:16:37 PM
lacked dynamism...hmm

yep... read between the lines

i aint mean to sound a certain way but when u see a black player lining up for udinese u tend to know what you're gonna get...strong like an ox..confidence...bursting speed...quick on the ball...imposing...asamaoh gyan, kwadwo asamoah, muntari, appiah when they were there, even curently badu...impose themselves on and off the ball...when opportunities come u hadda take it
Post by: Coop's on December 15, 2013, 07:28:19 PM
Once in a lifetime chance ,squandered ..schuckss...wonder why dad Philbert didnt go with him and man walk him tru it .He needed to act as if he belonged ,as if the Seria A was waiting for him . Be one of the guys juggle the ball like maradonna ...anything to stick .Act like Eric Cantona going for a try out .
Dont act like your overwhelmed or out of your depth ,WC need to better prepare trailist .otherwise they just trowing them in the deep end .
all these guys and men .cant just belike  ,me i woulda being brave swinging my....  like eddie murphy bahamas  guy forgot his name .
     His Dad is not Philbert,he is the son of Kelvin Jones.
Post by: Quags on December 15, 2013, 09:23:09 PM
     His Dad is not Philbert,he is the son of Kelvin Jones.
oh shoot dohhhh   Hey at least I didnt get the dreaded Awatt ticket .It would`ve been my first ever  .damn thanks coops ,sorry Philbert and jeovin and Kelvin ,......the Strike squad generation over here .
Post by: Coop's on December 16, 2013, 05:02:26 AM
Qmire,i would like u or anyone on this site to explain to me how u/club prepare a trialist?
Post by: Tiresais on December 16, 2013, 05:40:39 AM
Qmire,i would like u or anyone on this site to explain to me how u/club prepare a trialist?

Following steps would presumably be part of it (but speaking mostly from ignorance)

-Breakdown of potential tactical roles you would fill at the club
-Preparation for style of play
-Any information on the current training regime
-Comparisons between the player and competing players at the club
-Breakdown of club culture and history
-Information on manager and coaches
-Informal meetings with representatives before the trial with anyone you can muster together, even if on Skype
-Intensive training in the weeks leading to the trial
-Itinerary for down-time that can relieve some of the pressure/stress
-Working on confidence/commanding in order to get ball time during trial
-Making sure at least one family/friend representative can come over for the trial
-Basic language necessities (common phrases for demanding the ball, common tactical shouts, thank you, etc)

It can be overcome with a high work rate from the player (see Dwight Yorke), so it's not a magic ticket, but they'd be things I'd work on if I was a player agent
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 16, 2013, 05:52:24 AM
Amen T, no different from any prof interview.  Employment is all about a marriage for the apprpriate length of time, find out about your employer's needs, determine how you can illustrate that you at least meet the min requirements for those needs and if not close the gap before you interview, ie if seriously interested, and then of course sell yourself on the days in question...having internal advocates tht can +vely aid your cause
Post by: dinho on December 16, 2013, 06:15:17 AM
Saw the 2 minute training clip last week, and just as anyone else was not too impressed but was half hoping that this scrimmage was just a very minor part of the training session and that he got more involved in other drills that would allow him to display his talents in his favored positions e.g. a whole field practice game etc. After all it was only 2 minutes.

I was more impressed by the fact that in this day and age, we as fans could actually get a glimpse of one of our players on a trial, i think that's something unprecedented for me at least.

I can't say I know what a trial entails and I suspect the same goes for the majority of posters here, so I won't go so far as to pass judgement on what I saw in that small clip. Anyone who has seen Joevin play knows that high intensity, workrate, hustle and grit is not his game so I am not at all surprised. Although I too would have like to see him more assertive, you can't ask the man to pretend to be what he is not, he has to play his game. As is the case with the majority of skillful Trinidadian players, that's something I would have hoped he would have learned from a stint abroad.

Hope he keeps his head up, takes the lessons from the experience and uses them to his benefit in the next trial to come along (because they will). He's a very good player, so I think its only a matter of time.
Post by: Quags on December 16, 2013, 07:33:03 AM
Where just talking general not about Joevin rite ,Coops in your generation  with you Gally ,Steve ect ,you guys just had to be yourselves ,just grown men .Now ah days nuff guidance and hand holding ,tips and motivation keep him her focused.
 iIf it was my kid.I would use unorthodox methods which I cant put everything ,but basically anything that you think would be needed for his his confidence and desire to soar .
These kids dont seem to want to be the the next Dwight ,they got to learn its ok to be the best at what you do .
My kid  I would have them master a serie A video game tbh ,just to let them since the atmosphere and would want them to win the game lol.
I would show them the great history and heritage of the club .let them know whats at stake .
Watch tons of video of the club playing ,to get a since what they want ,and then start trainig to atleast be close to there fitness .Find out about the coach  ,and his style .
When my kid gets there atleast if he dont make it ,they wont say he was not prepared .
With a kid like Joevin his dad did a wonderful job ,just having a kid this talented not to mention trainig him awesome job   .The next hurdle was just ushering him kicking and screaming into glory .
Hey btw my 6 yr old starts Whoo shu classes tonite .That should kung foo kick the shyness outta him lol
Post by: Quags on December 16, 2013, 07:55:11 AM
Btw a motivated player could do these things themselves ,unless there nervous and over whelmed by the opportunity .Thats where support comes in to play .
Post by: MEP on December 16, 2013, 09:18:24 AM
Typical Trinbagonian mentality..look how people are chastising and criticizing the yute for not making it in a trial... no wonder the country is in  the current state.....it was his trial..nobody else's ...some of you act as if you've never had a job interview and not gotten the job.
JJ if you're reading this is what can you take from this experience and move forward.
Post by: Quags on December 16, 2013, 09:35:44 AM
What is it with our soccer players ,if Bovell was going to try out for a high paying swimming club ,I bet he wouldve had a 2 month training stint to get ready .
Same with our Olympic sport ppl train like animals to get ready ,except our footballers .What footballers dont need to constantly improve and work hard as in other disciplines ?
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 16, 2013, 09:46:49 AM
Typical Trinbagonian mentality..look how people are chastising and criticizing the yute for not making it in a trial... no wonder the country is in  the current state.....it was his trial..nobody else's ...some of you act as if you've never had a job interview and not gotten the job.
JJ if you're reading this is what can you take from this experience and move forward.
Typical Trinbagonian mentality is being too soft-skinned about criticism. Criticism in the right spirit is important, and I ain't see nobody here go left yet.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on December 16, 2013, 10:18:06 AM
I feel some ah allyuh want blood from a stone.  JJ is not gritty nor known for crunching takles etc.  He has some speed, a soft touch and good control.  Conditioning is always a problem it seems for our players which speaks to their playing and training environment in the PFL which is several steps behind.  Our players should be aware of the fact that condition wise they are not up to standard and if they have high aspirations should be working on that on their own since PFL doesn't prepare them for that.  Hard luck JJ, use the experience to prepare for when the next opportunity knocks.

I hop Nashy is paying attention to this thread since he has dreams of moving on to Europe. 
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 16, 2013, 10:24:17 AM
Men here upset, but part of this is the culture back home.  We are too laid back, and wait for things to come to us.  Also, the level of intensity of our training sessions leaves a lot to be desired.  We play WAY too slow.  I always had issues when I was vacation from college in the U.S. and had to play with Trini teams.  Whenever I tried to spring an attack as a GK, I would get the defenders saying to slow it down; utter madness if the opportunity is on.  We also need to teach these fellas life skills, as they seem totally lost when removed from their natural environs.  If they want to make it in Europe, they'll have to learn to adapt to different cultures.  Easier said than done, but it's a necessity for any aspiring footballer hoping to make it big in Europe.
Post by: FF on December 16, 2013, 10:35:15 AM
Men here upset, but part of this is the culture back home.  We are too laid back, and wait for things to come to us.  Also, the level of intensity of our training sessions leaves a lot to be desired.  We play WAY too slow.  I always had issues when I was vacation from college in the U.S. and had to play with Trini teams.  Whenever I tried to spring an attack as a GK, I would get the defenders saying to slow it down; utter madness if the opportunity is on. We also need to teach these fellas life skills, as they seem totally lost when removed from their natural environs.  If they want to make it in Europe, they'll have to learn to adapt to different cultures.  Easier said than done, but it's a necessity for any aspiring footballer hoping to make it big in Europe.

I hate this with a passion. One of my biggest pet peeves.

But ditto to all what you say...
Post by: Quags on December 16, 2013, 10:40:44 AM
I feel some ah allyuh want blood from a stone.  JJ is not gritty nor known for crunching takles etc.  He has some speed, a soft touch and good control.  Conditioning is always a problem it seems for our players which speaks to their playing and training environment in the PFL which is several steps behind.  Our players should be aware of the fact that condition wise they are not up to standard and if they have high aspirations should be working on that on their own since PFL doesn't prepare them for that.  Hard luck JJ, use the experience to prepare for when the next opportunity knocks.

I hop Nashy is paying attention to this thread since he has dreams of moving on to Europe. 
So he was like a violinist in a rock band.
ok but that scout saw a niche he might fit in the organization .Infact that scout shouldve been his best friend over there .
btw what international player has a similar skill set to joevin .and what route did he take ?
Post by: King Deese on December 16, 2013, 11:11:16 AM
This is Joevin Jones 3rd trial abroad. In each situation he was cut without even getting into a pre season game.Couldn't get pass the scrimmage. If he did not learn anything from his past two experiences, how many trials would it take for him to learn something? Trials are not a guarantee. Life can throw Joevin a curve ball tomorrow and change his whole story. You gotta take advantage of an opportunity to play with a big club like Udinese. You have to research the club, the coaches running the club, players and owners to optimize your chances of being selected. Reiterating what someone said earlier, which were great points by the way. Whoever labelled this kid a starlet might have done him an injustice. Why would you travel 100s of miles to learn that you were not prepared. If you fail to prepare, prepare to fail.
Post by: Quags on December 16, 2013, 11:34:47 AM
This guy has the rarest of all football gifts .More prized and valued than anything else ,the ability score bag full of goals .But the coaches would never see it ,if he never bother to even make a run and poach a one quick ,before they pull him off .
Post by: frico on December 16, 2013, 11:40:54 AM
I wish we had defenders like the boy who played in the 2006 WC;he got sent off in the second half against Sweden,can't remember his name,but he was the business.
Post by: mukumsplau on December 16, 2013, 11:43:33 AM
as someone said earlier about researching club, tactics, coaches etc they were spot on. yes we live in an epl-centric country but the internet at your fingertips...maybe someone told him serie a is a slow league and he bought into that i dunno...but some of their coaches have brutal training regimes...i dunno how deep a role Monti played here but i would like to think that he brought joevin up to speed on what to expect...i have visitors coming in for carnival and i prepping them already for what to expect from safety to physical conditioning to party and lime for carnival...

so, i dunno what went on with joevin..as someone else said it would be interesting if liburd or flex or tallman interview these guys so there experiences would be out there for all ballers to see and learn from...we wud learn more from failures than successes..
Post by: mukumsplau on December 16, 2013, 11:44:24 AM
I wish we had defenders like the boy who played in the 2006 WC;he got sent off in the second half against Sweden,can't remember his name,but he was the business.

avery john
Post by: Banter Banton on December 16, 2013, 11:52:48 AM
You have to want it... as Sam said, Body Language was off.. he is an arrogant kid locally, everyone knows he has a confident vybe in the local game.... fold up in that environment, unfortunately.. could be a good lesson for him. If you want to play in Europe etc you have to go out there with a do or die attitude

Anything else and you on a plane home early watching a Caribbean Airline movie

Post by: mukumsplau on December 16, 2013, 12:11:41 PM
You have to want it... as Sam said, Body Language was off.. he is an arrogant kid locally, everyone knows he has a confident vybe in the local game.... fold up in that environment, unfortunately.. could be a good lesson for him. If you want to play in Europe etc you have to go out there with a do or die attitude

didnt know he had a starboy mentality but i wudnt doubt it as ive seen how alot of youth ballers comport themselves in public..

Post by: Dinner Mints on December 16, 2013, 12:14:18 PM

didnt know he had a starboy mentality but i wudnt doubt it as ive seen how alot of youth ballers comport themselves in public..

I doh have a problem with starboy mentality. But TAKE IT WITH YOU on your travels.
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 16, 2013, 01:17:45 PM
Men here upset, but part of this is the culture back home.  We are too laid back, and wait for things to come to us.  Also, the level of intensity of our training sessions leaves a lot to be desired.  We play WAY too slow.  I always had issues when I was vacation from college in the U.S. and had to play with Trini teams.  Whenever I tried to spring an attack as a GK, I would get the defenders saying to slow it down; utter madness if the opportunity is on. We also need to teach these fellas life skills, as they seem totally lost when removed from their natural environs.  If they want to make it in Europe, they'll have to learn to adapt to different cultures.  Easier said than done, but it's a necessity for any aspiring footballer hoping to make it big in Europe.

Tenors, what did you do at that pt? Take off your gloves and walk off?  ;D
Post by: elan on December 16, 2013, 01:18:06 PM
Those who say negatives are being posted, I will really like for you to point to a post that is negative. Criticism, disappointment being expressed, but I am yet to read a negative post.
Post by: frico on December 16, 2013, 02:17:41 PM

avery john
Yea,that's the boy,ah loved his game.
Post by: MEP on December 16, 2013, 02:33:30 PM
Those who say negatives are being posted, I will really like for you to point to a post that is negative. Criticism, disappointment being expressed, but I am yet to read a negative post.

I say negatives are being posted because all of a sudden everyone knows why he didn't make it. His failure to make is is an indictment upon Trini football and its coaches as he is a product of that. That is what people are supposed to be criticizing.
Post by: Tiresais on December 16, 2013, 04:04:44 PM

I say negatives are being posted because all of a sudden everyone knows why he didn't make it. His failure to make is is an indictment upon Trini football and its coaches as he is a product of that. That is what people are supposed to be criticizing.

You have a fair point - I think it's really collective disappointment - I can't speak for anyone else but I'm gutted that a Trini isn't plying his trade in Serie A, especially one of Jones' talent. Apart from that disappointment there's that knowledge - he's a good player who didn't show it in his trial and a number of us are drawing conclusions. There's just disappointment about the game we all love :(
Post by: Preacher on December 16, 2013, 04:12:43 PM

Well if you thinking like that you should thank Trini football and Trini coaches for him getting the trial.  If he's good enough to get there, he had a chance.  Maybe Mr Jones just ain't ready yet for top flight.  Obviously. 
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 16, 2013, 04:33:35 PM

Lol...nah...Ah only do that once in my career....lol ;D
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 16, 2013, 04:36:43 PM

Wouldn't say negatives are being aimed at him personally.  We all know the problem with Trini football is systemic.  On the other hand, there has to be personal accountability at some level.  At some point, players need to be professional enough and prepare themselves for when opportunity comes knocking. 
Post by: FF on December 16, 2013, 04:36:55 PM

Twice!
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 16, 2013, 04:37:56 PM

Twice!

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :beermug:
Post by: g on December 16, 2013, 04:52:29 PM

Bullocks!

Jovein didn't make it because he wasn't good enough full stop. Out of the same coaching systems locally we have dozens of players playing in clubs all over the world. Our local football infrastructure is hardly up to scratch but players with the talent and the commitment have taken their chances in other places and plying their trade. The difference this time is that we have seen some of the clips first hand and combined with the FACT that he was sent home early gives rise to the assumption as to why his trial was cut.  Before the trial, everybody yes EVERYBODY had high hopes for the man, he is extremely talented but so are thousands of other players and as one of our own we were all behind him. Again we all hope for him to learn from this experience and keep plugging away. Jovein if you reading this my brother keep your head up and when you go again cause i believe you will. Grab the opportunity with both hands and feet.
Post by: ZURITRESS on December 16, 2013, 05:35:57 PM
I think the saying failure to prepare will prepare you to fail, from the clips he looked out of place , like he did not belong. That shows he was not mentally prepared to face whatever was there to be encountered. Talented will get you in doors but your work ethic and desire to succeed is what keeps you there.
Professionalism is a lifestyle , how you think , eat, tackle situations , carry yourself. The first thing clubs need to do back hope is change the culture of its organization, because you are setting up these your men to fail by just sending them out there on just talent alone. Talent is abundant , heart is the 2% that make it.
Another thing is football is a brotherhood, these players have enough men back home to enquire of the culture they about to enter into. It can't be that hard to pick the phone and make a call to a Sancho. a Hyland and get some advice. Today's generation is a different breed but like generations before, those who commit to succeed invite guidance while others grasp at the rope after they begin to fall.
Post by: OutsideMan on December 16, 2013, 06:15:22 PM

Post by: mukumsplau on December 16, 2013, 06:27:31 PM
i want to add one thing too that im seeing years now that to me showed me that clubs here do not see about their players properly..ive seen school ballers, national ballers and club ballers working out in the gym and not knowing what exercises to do or how to structure a workout...the exercises they do are usually not what is required from football players,..do not know what the strength training aspect of local football clubs is like but it seems poor to me...its as tho they leave everyone to find a gym wherever and do a thing..
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 16, 2013, 08:13:26 PM

Twice!

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :beermug:

Good times man, is nice we could look back at these moments and laugh, that's what it's all about  :beermug:
Post by: trini supporter on December 17, 2013, 09:46:42 AM
A little disappointed but keep at it son, he needs the guidance of players who have been around to many a trial to give him some advice such as Latas, Yorke or even Lawrence. I dont think its an issue of his talent its about controlling the nerves and he probably needs a little more grooming.
Post by: Tallman on July 24, 2018, 01:13:28 PM
They also did a test training at Udinese Calcio and were sent away after a short while because they were "not dynamic" enough. That's surprising, did you still have jet lag?

(laughs) Honestly, I was just not as good as the other players there. I learned from it, went home and continued working on my game and attitude to reach that level. But it was not a setback, just a lesson to remember my strengths again.

http://www.kicker.de/news/fussball/2bundesliga/startseite/727463/artikel_jones_ich-will-mindestens-zehn-tore-schiessen.html
Post by: Deeks on July 24, 2018, 04:44:33 PM
laughs) Honestly, I was just not as good as the other players there. I learned from it, went home and continued working on my game and attitude to reach that level. But it was not a setback, just a lesson to remember my strengths again.

At least he is being honest.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 25, 2018, 05:00:52 AM
laughs) Honestly, I was just not as good as the other players there. I learned from it, went home and continued working on my game and attitude to reach that level. But it was not a setback, just a lesson to remember my strengths again.

At least he is being honest.

plus when he went there he was the best player by far in the proleague