Sports => Football => Topic started by: vb on January 30, 2014, 11:04:42 PM

Title: TT vs USA Nov. 19, 1989.......Full Game
Post by: vb on January 30, 2014, 11:04:42 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lznrT10ZkII
Title: Re: TT vs USA Nov. 19, 1989.......Full Game
Post by: Socapro on January 30, 2014, 11:36:36 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/lznrT10ZkII

Historic game where the US qualified for Italia '90, its first world cup in four decades!
Post by: vb on January 31, 2014, 12:03:59 AM
Pro,

I wasn't able to do what you do. What command do you use?
Post by: Socapro on January 31, 2014, 01:33:25 AM
Pro,

I wasn't able to do what you do. What command do you use?
You simply highlight the YouTube address in your post then click the flash button in menu above at the start of the 2nd row.
Then remove the "watch?" and replace the "=" with a "/"
Finally adjust the size of the screen by adjusting the values for width and height after the flash=www,hhh
I normally give www a value of 650 and give hhh a value of 400.

That's it and you can do a preview before posting to check how the post would look before posting it.
Post by: D.H.W on January 31, 2014, 05:28:53 AM
I ain't have the belly to watch that nah.
Post by: che on January 31, 2014, 07:28:46 AM
vb, like you trying to drive us to commit suicide or what? I eh get over the Women U20 game yet and you come and post this. Apart from two unexpected deaths in my family Red day is by far the saddest day in my life. I will try but I don't think that I can watch this. :beermug:
Post by: rotatopoti3 on January 31, 2014, 09:25:04 AM
some people like tuh live in d past yes...

ah get over it.....we already qualified..for WC

why yuh diggin up ants patch .... :yellowcard:
Post by: weary1969 on January 31, 2014, 10:36:44 AM
I ain't have the belly to watch that nah.

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN
Post by: che on January 31, 2014, 04:24:11 PM

We can qualify for ten more WC but that would not take away from the joy and eventual pain that the 1990 campaign brought to those of us that was right in the middle of it. The highs of tying Honduras on the road just to reach the pentagon. Beating Guatemala on the road and then again at home  with just seconds to go.The eventual lost to the U.S.  and the manner that the team and fans handled the whole thing will forever be with me.
Post by: Tiresais on January 31, 2014, 04:33:46 PM

We can qualify for ten more WC but that would not take away from the joy and eventual pain that the 1990 campaign brought to those of us that was right in the middle of it. The highs of tying Honduras on the road just to reach the pentagon. Beating Guatemala on the road and then again at home  with just seconds to go.The eventual lost to the U.S.  and the manner that the team and fans handled the whole thing will forever be with me.

Agreed - don't forget your past, all the trials and pain make the victory the sweeter. One day we'll be talking about T&T's first WC Goal, then their first victory, then their first Group Stage qualification, then who knows...
Post by: Brownsugar on January 31, 2014, 06:38:49 PM

Amen and amen brother.....
Post by: weary1969 on January 31, 2014, 08:48:12 PM

Amen and amen brother.....

It have some history that yuh does skip over when yuh reading. I skipping ovah Nov 19 and goin straight 2 Nov 16
Post by: trini_stallion on February 01, 2014, 04:55:19 AM
I was 3 years old...I going nd take it in...shitt...we eh hv no match no time soon anyway  ;D
Post by: Anbrat on February 01, 2014, 08:44:17 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lznrT10ZkII
Been searching for this a long time now. Collector's item! Thank you for this one, VB.
Post by: frico on February 01, 2014, 09:12:11 AM
The USA always had the beating of TT,but I always thought we would win this,although I took into consideration that the USA had the best defense in the region,something Gally Cummings didn't think about.Cummings thought we would waltz through the US defense,when that didn't happen he had no other ideas of how to break down US defense.I feel if we had played a more defensive formation,we would not have allowed a silly goal,and qualified with a goal-less draw
Gally Cummings should take the blame for our failure to get to Italy in 90,he also kept Nakhid on the bench,our only European pro at the time.
Post by: che on February 01, 2014, 09:22:12 AM
The USA always had the beating of TT,but I always thought we would win this,although I took into consideration that the USA had the best defense in the region,something Gally Cummings didn't think about.Cummings thought we would waltz through the US defense,when that didn't happen he had no other ideas of how to break down US defense.I feel if we had played a more defensive formation,we would not have allowed a silly goal,and qualified with a goal-less draw
Gally Cummings should take the blame for our failure to get to Italy in 90,he also kept Nakhid on the bench,our only European pro at the time.

To this day I don't understand why Allen started ahead of Huston Charles who was having a great run. But I would not go as far as to say that it was all on Gally. Because I don't think we would have even made it this far without him.
Post by: weary1969 on February 01, 2014, 12:42:17 PM

To this day I don't understand why Allen started ahead of Huston Charles who was having a great run. But I would not go as far as to say that it was all on Gally. Because I don't think we would have even made it this far without him.

My mom went 2 her grave wondering the same ting. Barber should have started.
Post by: frico on February 02, 2014, 10:34:48 AM
I will never forget the feelings that enveloped me when we just needed a draw,something we failed to achieve...up till this day part of the hurt still remains.Those tears of sadness was only partly repaid in 2006.
Post by: Zeppo on February 16, 2014, 08:24:07 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/Q-JP0uay6Aw

Post by: kaliman2006 on February 16, 2014, 11:40:04 AM
I was 3 years old...I going nd take it in...shitt...we eh hv no match no time soon anyway  ;D

I was 10 and can still remember the pain of that game. One of the few times in my life that I broke down and cried.

:(

I cannot ever watch that game again....
Post by: kounty on February 16, 2014, 01:07:22 PM
glad you post it. I hope the lesson stick with us forever - Doh 'reach' before you reach.
Post by: che on February 16, 2014, 02:07:53 PM

I was 10 and can still remember the pain of that game. One of the few times in my life that I broke down and cried.

Those that were too young to experience that 1990 team will never fully understand the joy and pain of that campaign.
Post by: kaliman2006 on February 16, 2014, 02:29:15 PM

Those that were too young to experience that 1990 team will never fully understand the joy and pain of that campaign.

I remember that Kerry Jameson goal against Guatemala at the National Statdium (it wasn't named the Haseley Crawford yet) the month before. I remember all the drama and tension that preceded that brilliant strike because the Strike Squad were moments from being eliminated from the 1990 campaign.

I was a football lime by my grandmother's house and my father was fulminating against the tactical inadequacies of our team.

As the seconds came down and the ball came into Jameson's path....

That strike sent the red multitude at the stadium into delirious raptures, my father, along with everyone else was beside themselves with joy.

And then came the cruel letdown a month later...
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on February 16, 2014, 02:56:42 PM
No conspiracy theory? I think the USA was suppose to win and their development began with that win..........watched the game on the big screen @ the Oval.........meh American pardna visit Trini a few times with me and saw all the November 19th memorabilia in parlors and stores and does ketch jones on me on how long we mourned that lost as a nation 
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 16, 2014, 06:04:21 PM
 i wonder  gally's instructions  were  ... our football was on par or ahead of the usa back then but  today well.......... :(
Post by: Thomo on February 17, 2014, 02:51:58 PM
I was 12 and remember that game like it was yesterday. 25 years later I still got autographs from Carter, Yorke and Latapy (when they did an exhibition training session in Roxborough, Tobago) back home in my mum's house. Never intend to sell or auction them ever, really are close to my heart. The joy and pain ( i felt for my country) will never leave me. Likewise I got laminated copies of how the 2006 qualification was reported by the British press. Never to be sold or auctioned EVER!!
Post by: Deeks on February 17, 2014, 04:07:11 PM
i wonder  gally's instructions  were  ... our football was on par or ahead of the usa back then but  today well.......... :(

He probably gave them the same instructions as always. He was confident that they would win. The biggest mistake was come from South the same day of the game. Them guys were emotionally spent.
Post by: boss on November 19, 2015, 04:38:22 PM
*bump*
Post by: Adam Lake on November 19, 2015, 05:26:51 PM
Alyuh tryna depress man dis hour d night...  :frustrated:
Post by: Zeppo on November 19, 2015, 06:51:31 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/QneHQdDMGh4
Post by: Brownsugar on November 19, 2015, 08:11:05 PM

Yeah...I eh watching it either..... :'(
Post by: davyjenny1 on November 20, 2015, 12:33:55 AM
1989 Strike Squad visits the Office of the President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

https://www.youtube.com/v/wQgv9WXLZWM

For those who have seen the video good and for those who haven't seen it spend a little time to view; this is a good watch, hear about some of the behind the scene issues from some strike squad members including Clayton who got emotional towards the end of his opinion.
Post by: Preacher on November 20, 2015, 02:19:05 AM
Yuh know with unique opportunities like this it wouldn't hurt to hire a professional camera man. 
Post by: Adam Lake on November 20, 2015, 09:06:51 AM

Agreed - don't forget your past, all the trials and pain make the victory the sweeter. One day we'll be talking about T&T's first WC Goal, then their first victory, then their first Group Stage qualification, then who knows...

Thank God for 2006, it Exorcise some a dem Demons a Depression from 89
Post by: frico on November 20, 2015, 09:37:19 AM
No Trini will ever forget this,no matter where they are,after the result I felt numb,and I don't think I recovered from it fully for the year to follow.I always hope that something special happens to TT football to make up for this,and Haiti 1973,where are the Gods of football,they should be looking down on us.
Post by: Deeks on November 20, 2015, 10:13:51 AM
No Trini will ever forget this,no matter where they are,after the result I felt numb,and I don't think I recovered from it fully for the year to follow.I always hope that something special happens to TT football to make up for this,and Haiti 1973,where are the Gods of football,they should be looking down on us.

Breds, we got our payback in 2005, you forget we went Germany. But still I still feel the pain like you. I was really sour when the Italy WC was going on. Thinking, TT should have been there. But faith, karma, whatever decided that it was not our time.  But 2005 when we saw Lawrence header and the ref blew the final whistle. YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on November 20, 2015, 12:57:15 PM
Look meh barber boi (Dexter Lee)
Post by: Flex on November 29, 2015, 05:59:19 AM
Morris says 1989 loss reveals its true purpose.
By Sean Nero (Guardian).

Twenty-six years after this country’s senior men’s football team, then known as the Strike Squad, lost a crucial Fifa World Cup qualifying game to the United States (1-0), on home soil, former captain Clayton Morris admits he has only now found ways to deal with the psychological horror of that result.

In a T&T Guardian interview at Friday’s First Citizens Sports Foundation Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony held at the Hyatt Regency Trinidad, Dock Road, Port-of-Spain, where Morris was recognised as a national sporting hero, he said, for an entire decade he went about his daily life blanketed by the shame of the defeat handed down to him and his teammates by the visitors on November 19, 1989.

So great was that loss, said the former defender, it left the nation scared and he accepted full responsibility for inflicting such hurt and the associated torment onto his countrymen.

Commenting on how he has since grown and declaring that being inducted into the Hall of Fame meant to him, he said: “This honour means a whole lot to me. It made me feel what I did in the past was something great and the organisers of the event saw it fit that it should be recorded in history.

But for me, it is an incentive for me to continue doing the work that I am doing, because a lot of people don’t know, but we make fun of it when November 19, comes around. For everyday I live, I live November 19, 1989. People remind me about that day, but I live that day…every day. For ten years after that day, it has really been a disappointing feeling.”

He continued, “I remember the whistle blew to end the game. I felt like the earth could have opened and taken me. I was laying flat on the ground.

I felt we disappointed the nation.

But ten years after that I have come to realise that something good has come out of it, so I live and pass on what I know. I have made a commitment to go to the unprivileged institutions and pass on the positive experiences from that defeat.

I have to thank God for the opportunity to be able to visit the Prison and share my life experience, not just football and work the inmates who have gave up hope in life.

Thank God for the University of T&T (UTT) where I am the football coach, I use this as part of an outreach programme. I visit the Prison on Thursday and mentor inmates through small goal football.

I also do a similar project in the Beetham Gardens, every other Saturday. As I see it, it’s giving back.”

As painful as the events of 26 years ago are, the ex-skipper was thankful he never had the urge to drown his pains at a rum shop, or turn to marijuana use or engage in any type of substance abuse as a form of comfort. His heeling had been through the outreach programmes which allowed he said allowed him to contribute to the handling of new talent for the sport.

Many years later, Morris believed he found what he was born to do and found himself in places doing what he enjoys and that coaching football and mentoring youths. He was the football coach at the University of T&T (UTT) and prided himself as being a life coach, too.

Following the 1989 result, the former defender never had a desire to take the field under the national colours and endure the stress associated with this level of national representation.

“But, here it is! Its football I am using to show people life. This award really re-energizes everything that I have been doing and now I want to do more. I have found my purpose, the Lord has kept me back so that I can share my experience of football which I was bless with and life in general.

He praised the late Richard Braithwaite for guiding him through that difficult chapter of his sporting career and dedicated the award and induction honour to him.

Receiving a photo from one of his UTT students last Thursday, dressed in graduated kit and brandishing his certificate of academic accomplishment moments after the ceremony brightened Morris’ day. As fate would have it, that day was also the anniversary of the Strike Squad’s defeat (November 19, 1989).

He recalled the student in his message wrote, “Coach! Look! A smiling Morris said, he replied, “I said I am very proud of you. So even if these guys don’t come out top footballers, but educational wise they make themselves better than when I meet them, I am very, very pleased. I coach in these hot spots in Chaguanas and I see some of thos same individuals in the Police service.

That really gives me that incentive and I really feel proud about their achievements. They may not come out a better footballer or make it to the national team, but once they are better citizens of T&T, I’m very happy with that”, he ended.