Sports => Football => Topic started by: de_redman on January 31, 2014, 07:26:51 AM

Title: Cardiff City For the Hour Thread
Post by: de_redman on January 31, 2014, 07:26:51 AM
(http://www.thesportsbank.net/core/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/cardiff-city-badge-300x224.jpg)

Cardiff City F.C.
wikipedia

Cardiff City Football Club (Welsh: Clwb Pêl-droed Dinas Caerdydd) is a professional football club based in Cardiff, Wales that competes in the English football league system. The club is competing in the Premier League for the first time in the 2013–14 season. They play their home games at the Cardiff City Stadium, after moving from Ninian Park in 2009.

The club was founded as Riverside A.F.C. in 1899 and is the only club from outside England to have won the FA Cup, which they won in 1927. The club won the Football League Championship title in the 2012–13 season and were promoted to the top flight for the first time in 51 years. This followed two lost national cup finals, the 2008 FA Cup Final against Portsmouth and the 2012 Football League Cup Final against Liverpool, the latter being settled by a penalty shootout.

In 2012, Cardiff City was rebranded by the club's Malaysian owner, Vincent Tan. This included the change of the club's home colours and crest.

(http://news.images.itv.com/image/file/332373/article_img.jpg)

www.cardiffcityfc.co.uk (http://www.cardiffcityfc.co.uk)
Cardiff City Football Club are delighted to announce that Kenwyne Jones’ move from Stoke City to the club has today been finalised, subject to FA clearance. The striker will be available for selection for the first time this Saturday in the Barclays Premier League home game against Norwich City.

Give Kenwyne a warm @CardiffCityFC welcome on twitter now, using hashtag: #WelcomeKenwyne

In profile: Kenwyne Jones

Imposing 29-year-old front man Kenwyne Jones has been well known to viewers of British football since arriving at Southampton from Trinidad & Tobago side W Connection in 2004.

Born in Point Fortin in Trinidad, Jones spent three years at St Mary’s Stadium, making 71 appearances and scoring 19 goals in total for the Saints. During his time on the south coast, Jones also had spells with Stoke City and Sheffield Wednesday on loan, impressively scoring seven goals in seven appearances while at Hillsborough.

A permanent move to Sunderland came in 2007 as the Black Cats prepared for life back in the top flight under then manager Roy Keane. Jones made his debut in a 1-0 defeat to Manchester United before scoring his first goal for the club in a 2-1 win over Reading that September.

The 58-time capped Trinidad front man went on to score 26 goals during a three year spell in the north east, making 94 appearances in total before joining fellow Premier League club Stoke City in August 2010.

Taking the Potters’ number nine shirt, Jones has scored 13 goals in 88 appearances during his three-and-a-half year spell at the Britannia Stadium with first-team opportunities limited for the Stoke frontman in recent months.

His career now continues at Cardiff City, with all at the club wishing him every success.

#WelcomeKenwyne
Title: Re: Cardiff City Forever Thread
Post by: che on January 31, 2014, 07:32:16 AM
I wonder if I am the only one that supports a team that sighed one of our players even after that player leaves just because they gave one of ours a chance?
Post by: Dinner Mints on January 31, 2014, 07:47:06 AM
I wonder if I am the only one that supports a team that sighed one of our players even after that player leaves just because they gave one of ours a chance?
I either support them or want them to fail. Depending on how the player's time was while there.
Post by: lefty on January 31, 2014, 08:08:01 AM
steups alyuh do diss shit........sigh
Post by: FF on January 31, 2014, 08:16:48 AM
I should merge all these forever threads  :thinking:
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 31, 2014, 08:19:08 AM

Do someting useful  ;D
Post by: sjahrain on January 31, 2014, 09:04:38 AM
KJ you have been presented with a new canvas,forget about Southhampton,Sunderland and Stoke,this is an opportunity to paint an unforetable masterpiece
Good luck Cappo
You are a Warrior
Rastafari

Post by: lefty on January 31, 2014, 10:01:23 AM
it have a kj thread dais who we supportin anyway not d team........no body would give ah rats ass otherwise
Post by: lefty on January 31, 2014, 10:14:19 AM

kev still post in d sunderland one so if alyuh decide to do dat give 'im ah heads up or live dat be
Post by: Dinner Mints on January 31, 2014, 10:29:02 AM
The Sunderland thread exist because it was more than one player there. Easier to keep tabs on them all. De Stoke and Cardiff threads is just a imitation thing that not really serving the same purpose.
Post by: de_redman on January 31, 2014, 11:49:00 AM
it have a kj thread dais who we supportin anyway not d team........no body would give ah rats ass otherwise
I follow the fortunes of Stoke and their players whether present or past (Delap, Pennant, Shawcross, Fuller, N'Zonzi, Butland, Huth, Begovic, and even Crouch) whether KJ was playing or not... same for Sunderland. Yeah I might not have followed them if KJ wasn't a player in the first place but nothing wrong with backing a small side especially when you get a good reason to do so.
Post by: de_redman on January 31, 2014, 11:54:31 AM
Come on mods. Let's see where this goes, especially with a relegation battle in progress. You may be a believer after the game tomorrow  ;D
Post by: Tenorsaw on January 31, 2014, 12:20:00 PM
Club football and international football are not the same.  My support at the club level has to do with Liverpool.  Anything against that does not matter.  While I want to see our players do well at their clubs, I don't see the need to support their clubs; that's not how it works.  I keep a watchful eye to see how they are doing.
Post by: AB.Trini on January 31, 2014, 01:42:58 PM
And the bouncing start....... All the man other teams started with "S" maybe now he get a "C" he go bang balls in the hole
Post by: de_redman on February 01, 2014, 08:48:21 AM
Kenwyne Jones is inserted straight into Cardiff's starting lineup for today's game.
Post by: de_redman on February 01, 2014, 08:50:47 AM
Cardiff City starting XI: David Marshall, Fabio da Silva, Steven Caulker, Ben Turner, Declan John, Craig Noone, Peter Whittingham, Gary Medel, Jordan Mutch, Craig Bellamy, Kenwyne Jones.
Post by: de_redman on February 01, 2014, 08:54:22 AM
Cardiff bench: Joe Lewis, Fraizer Campbell, Magnus Wolff Eikrem, Aron Gunnarsson, Mats Moller Daehli, Kevin Theophile-Catherine, Wilfried Zaha.
Post by: de_redman on February 01, 2014, 09:06:28 AM
Against the run of play Norwich scores a soft goal. KJ seems tentative in the earlies.
Post by: FF on February 01, 2014, 09:22:39 AM
Against the run of play Norwich scores a soft goal. KJ seems tentative in the earlies.

Against? What game you watching?
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 01, 2014, 09:28:04 AM
Ah never watch Cardiff before. Either they're terrible or they've had a terrible start.

Actually, both these teams terrible. I am watching a terrible game.
Post by: FF on February 01, 2014, 09:30:53 AM
Good passage by Cardiff now. Kenwyne more involved
Post by: de_redman on February 01, 2014, 09:41:36 AM
Zaha is on 38th minute. Norwich still up 1-0
Post by: de_redman on February 01, 2014, 09:43:02 AM
Cardiff are not playing badly. High tempo approach. Now getting KJ more involved in the game. His first touch and passing still leave a lot to be desired but is having an impact.
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 01, 2014, 09:46:40 AM
Cardiff are not playing badly. High tempo approach. Now getting KJ more involved in the game. His first touch and passing still leave a lot to be desired but is having an impact.
His passing alright, I find. His first touch is a mess. Always has been.
Post by: FF on February 01, 2014, 09:49:02 AM
De first touch getting better as he getting more involved in de game. He is a man need confidence.
This Cardiff team have room for improvement. Let's see what they bring in the second half.
Post by: kev on February 01, 2014, 09:53:21 AM
Good luck to Kenwyne at least he's playing.

:shameonyou: Leave my Fred alone we won't be happy  :nailbiting: :nailbiting:
Post by: de_redman on February 01, 2014, 10:07:56 AM
Goal by Cardiff! ... And nearly two ... And KJ scores!!!
Post by: de_redman on February 01, 2014, 10:08:15 AM
2-1 Cardiff
Post by: de_redman on February 01, 2014, 10:08:53 AM
KJ missed the header and then kicks it in from the goal line
Post by: FF on February 01, 2014, 10:09:10 AM
Kenwyne yes!! Bong to score on debut
Post by: Bitter on February 01, 2014, 10:09:21 AM
Jones!
That fella is no Altidore...  ::)
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 01, 2014, 10:10:16 AM
Nice recovery after de missed header.
Post by: bingie man on February 01, 2014, 10:10:36 AM
joness :beermug: :yellowcard:
Post by: de_redman on February 01, 2014, 10:10:43 AM
Bellamy and Jones on the scoresheet. Now Norwich hits the crossbar. End to end action!
Post by: de_redman on February 01, 2014, 10:16:21 AM
KJ chested or header off the post!!! It was all too quick.
Post by: Peong on February 01, 2014, 10:16:47 AM
Bizarre chance for Jones off his chest.
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 01, 2014, 10:18:42 AM
Bizarre chance for Jones off his chest.
I think that was a little header actually. And I think it was on purpose.
Post by: de_redman on February 01, 2014, 10:39:14 AM
Jones has made several critical defensive headers in this second half. Let's see if Cardiff can hold on.
Post by: lefty on February 01, 2014, 10:42:05 AM
pressure
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 01, 2014, 10:50:58 AM
Jones has made several critical defensive headers in this second half. Let's see if Cardiff can hold on.
He's basically playing a 3rd CB right now. He barely leaving dat penalty area at all.
Post by: de_redman on February 01, 2014, 10:54:53 AM
Cardiff wins 2-1 thanks to KJ's winner and his defensive output. Congrats to Kenwyne and Cardiff  :applause:
Post by: g on February 01, 2014, 11:00:42 AM
Nice win but jeez an ages Cardiff defending is not great at all, gong to be a real race for survival over the next few months.
Post by: Bakes on February 01, 2014, 11:01:31 AM
Kenwyne yes!! Bong to score on debut

It's all downhill from here...
Post by: D.H.W on February 01, 2014, 11:06:00 AM
Cardiff forever? Stueps
Post by: de_redman on February 01, 2014, 11:08:54 AM
Cardiff forever? Stueps
Cardiff FOREVER! .... Or at least until relegated  ;D
Post by: Peong on February 01, 2014, 11:20:33 AM
Good thing Cardiff won, plenty teams in the lower half picked up points today.
Post by: FF on February 01, 2014, 11:25:03 AM
Cardiff forever? Stueps

Cardiff City For a Period of time Thread
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 01, 2014, 11:29:41 AM
Cardiff City For The Hour.
Post by: lefty on February 01, 2014, 11:31:20 AM
steups dis should in d kenwin thread ............watched and glad he score, but thread is stupid
Title: Re: Cardiff City For the Hour Thread
Post by: FF on February 01, 2014, 11:31:47 AM
Cardiff City For The Hour.

I like dat one  ;D
Post by: Peong on February 01, 2014, 11:37:39 AM
What allyuh have against forever threads?  Doh fight it, it's become a SW.net tradition.
Post by: fari on February 01, 2014, 11:45:25 AM
man score on he debut yes...take dat!
Post by: sjahrain on February 01, 2014, 01:25:10 PM
Go figure,Stoke beat ManU by the identical score
Post by: palos on February 01, 2014, 01:32:07 PM
A bess thread title  :beermug:
Post by: lefty on February 01, 2014, 01:41:21 PM
ok goh take dat change............ like it........... :D
Title: Re: Re: Cardiff City For the Hour Thread
Post by: D.H.W on February 01, 2014, 02:15:10 PM
What allyuh have against forever threads?  Doh fight it, it's become a SW.net tradition.

Not the United thread though. We just different
Title: Cardiff City vs Norwich City 2-1 all goals and highlights epl 1/2/14 HD: Kenwyne
Post by: Socapro on February 01, 2014, 06:32:38 PM
Cardiff City vs Norwich City 2-1 all goals and highlights epl 1/2/14 HD: Kenwyne scores
http://www.youtube.com/v/7z0BwphlFhM
Post by: dreamer on February 02, 2014, 12:53:23 PM
Lovely. Can't be anything but truly happy for Kenwyne and the team. He must be elated to send a signal that he is prepared to deliver to a new unfamiliar football family with varied degrees of belief in him. It doesn't get better than that on day one at Cardiff with all the nerves, especially when there is a cloud of insecurity over the whole team and management.
Post by: Flex on February 05, 2014, 03:22:28 AM
Veteran striker Jones admits there's not enough belief in Cardiff's dressing room.
By Gareth Rogers (WalesOnline).

Having signed for the Bluebirds just before the transfer window closed, debut goal scorer Kenwyne Jones says his teammates need more self belief.

Kenwyne Jones is determined to add far more than physical presence and goals for Cardiff City in their remaining 14 Premier League matches this season.

The experienced Trinidad and Tobago international believes he has spotted a Bluebirds weakness he can help put right.

“An early observation for me is that the players in our dressing room don’t give themselves enough credit,” says Jones. “There isn’t enough belief in themselves and each other.

“But with new faces in and a win against Norwich City that side of things will improve.

“There are young, quality players in our dressing room and those with more experience, including myself, must do their bit to lift those around us.

“There is character in this team and that was clear against Norwich when we pulled together and earned our win. With a little more belief we can make solid progress.

“This is not every man for himself. We all need each other in our aim to climb the table.”

Jones includes supporters in that, having felt the tension around the stadium after Norwich went ahead.

“The players were nervous, the fans were nervous and that can spread,” he said.

“After Norwich scored it was always going to be tense. But when we scored our goals the atmosphere lifted and helped all of the home players.

“That’s what happens - and the whole stadium was behind us during the second half.”

Cardiff added seven new signings during January including Jones, Wilfried Zaha and Fabio, while Spanish defender Juan Cala is completing his switch from Sevilla to South Wales.

Manager Ole Gunnar Solskjaer also added three attacking players from Norway in Magnus Eikrem, Mats Daehli and Jo Inge Berget.

Former Sunderland and Stoke forward Jones, 29, marked his City debut by scoring the winner against Norwich, while substitute Wilfried Zaha’s first half intervention turned the match.

“I’ve played against Wilf and know what he can do,” says Jones.

“He has been given the chance to showcase his talent and will enjoy that.

“He can be a lynchpin for the team as we work to climb. I’m happy for him.

“Our role is to feed him the ball and give him the chance to show what he can do. Wilf is an amazing player.”

Jones led the Bluebirds’ attack with power and tenacity against Norwich, while he also dropped back to help out in defence at set pieces and won a series of crucial headers.

“That’s what I need to do for the team,” he says. “Every player has to help the team in whatever way they can. We are fighting for our lives and every moment counts. We all have to do what we can for the team.”

Now Jones and his new Bluebirds team-mates are preparing for Saturday’s South Wales derby at Swansea’s Liberty Stadium.

The 6ft 2ins centre-forward from Point Fortin in Trinidad knows all about derby matches, having played in Sunderland v Newcastle fixtures three times plus Sunderland v Middlesbrough and Southampton v Portsmouth.

And his advice for City players is to focus on the match and not the occasion.

“Of course it’s special because it’s a derby and we understand that,” says Jones. “It’s huge for the fans, but we have to approach it as a regular game, keep our heads and do all we can to win.

“The most important factor is to earn three points. We are working on a game plan and won’t be spending too much time looking at Swansea.

“We will analyse their team, see where we can penetrate and where we feel they have a weakness. But that’s what happens for every match.”

Cardiff are off the bottom thanks to that 2-1 win against Norwich, when Craig Bellamy and Jones were the scorers, and they now play two matches in four days. The trip to Swansea is followed by a home clash with Aston Villa next Tuesday.

And Jones makes it clear he is relishing the challenge ahead for the Bluebirds, saying: “I made the decision to sign for Cardiff because I want to play football. It was nothing to do with money or status. I wanted to play and wasn’t getting a chance (at Stoke).

“At my age I am supposed to be enjoying my football. When the chance came along to sign for Cardiff I made a decision to come down.

“Cardiff still have to play just about everybody in the bottom half of the table. It’s crucial to build confidence and that will help when we meet those teams around us.”

Jones arrived in South Wales after a straight swap deal with Peter Odemwingie was agreed with Stoke.

Stoke paid Southampton £8m for Jones in 2010, but manager Mark Hughes fell out with the striker when Jones said he was unavailable to play against Liverpool and was fined two weeks wages.

Jones didn’t play for Stoke, but says: “Nobody from the club (Stoke City) can say I was miscreant, disrespectful or even on strike as they would like to put it.

“The main reason (for my stand) was for my voice to be heard because they didn’t want to pay attention to me. That’s all I needed.

“I didn’t want to disrupt the squad disrespect the manager (Mark Hughes) or anything.

“Clubs have to come out, say what they have to and keep fans onside. I have no problem with that. My thing is I am happy. In the end I got heard and I am here in Cardiff now.”

Jones and Fraizer Campbell, who played together for Sunderland, are now Cardiff City’s main men in attack now and both are certain to be in the squad against Swansea City on Saturday.

The impact made by Jones against Norwich was just what the Bluebirds needed and now he has the Swans in his sights as Cardiff aim to earn successive Premier League wins for the first time this season.

Post by: trini_stallion on February 05, 2014, 04:20:32 AM
Spoken like a skipper! I hope he rises to the occassion and fulfills his potential. I have always believed in this guy, and I have seen what he can do when he ready. Come on Jonesie enjoy yuh football!
Post by: de_redman on February 05, 2014, 05:41:07 AM
Nice interview... Now grind it out and help Cardiff to safety!
Post by: de_redman on February 06, 2014, 08:09:21 AM
Swansea v Cardiff: Wales set for biggest Premier League game
www.skysports.com (http://www.skysports.com)

Derbies don't come much more fierce; rivalries more intense; games much bigger than the skirmish in South Wales this Saturday.

When Swansea and Cardiff meet for only the second time in the top division of English football there will be so much more than the usual quarrel to resolve. Both proud clubs are fighting for their futures.

Cardiff, the Premier League newcomers, have been catapulted from crisis to crisis off the pitch but they've been thrilled by the ride and they want more.

Swansea, who for three seasons have strolled amongst the elite with style and grace, have been hit hard by the demands of their success; a European adventure which has tested their resources to the limit and a slump in domestic form which this week cost Michael Laudrup his job.

It seems football fans were outraged by Laudrup's exit from the Liberty stadium: all those apart from the Swansea fans themselves.

They knew it was never a comfortable marriage. There had been too many tales of player unrest, of dressing room cliques and quarrels that never end well. They had seen performances decline in front of their eyes and they knew change was coming.

There had been notable highs along the way, such as the League Cup success, but the slip in standards was troubling chairman Huw Jenkins long before he made the decision to sack a manager for the first time in almost 10 years.

Enemy
You will do well to meet a calmer, more thoughtful and reflective chairman than Jenkins in any league; so steeped in his club and it's traditions, so inherently linked with his club's legendary rise and for that he has earned almost total trust from Swansea fans.

They will feel that even in the hands of a managerial novice like Garry Monk, they are better placed to take on the pressures and demands of a relegation scrap, which just happens to start against the enemy.

To make matters worse the Bluebirds are flush with confidence after coming from behind to beat Norwich last Saturday to record their first league win under Ole Gunnar Solskjaer.

Kenwyne Jones and Wilfried Zaha have added a more potent attacking thrust to Solskjaer's team, while the manager has already shown he has the guile to affect games from the sidelines just as he once did as a player.

It was a win Cardiff desperately needed after four straight defeats had threatened to leave them cast adrift, but now they know a victory on Saturday would leave them with an identical record as their neighbours.

Should they lose, the gap will open up to six points again. Both clubs could survive and prosper; both could fall from grace. Wales has never seen a more important Premier League game.

Post by: de_redman on February 08, 2014, 11:13:36 AM
Starting 11s

Cardiff team: Marshall; John, Caulker (c), Turner, Fabio; Whittingham, Medel, Kim, Zaha; Bellamy, Jones.

Swansea team: Vorm, Rangel, Chico, Williams (c), Davies, Britton, de Guzman, Emnes, Dyer, Routledge, Bony.

Post by: de_redman on February 08, 2014, 11:44:37 AM
13th min - Nice cross from Bellamy but KJ heads wide
Post by: FF on February 08, 2014, 11:55:24 AM
Kenwyne now throw way dey.
Post by: de_redman on February 08, 2014, 11:57:54 AM
KJ pokes another cross wide! Solskjaer not impressed!
Post by: chelsealife on February 08, 2014, 12:07:02 PM
How do u know he's not impressed? I didnt see any reaction from the coach :?
Post by: FF on February 08, 2014, 12:08:29 PM
Yes on my feed they showed solskaer looking distinctly unimpressed and the commentators also made note of it.
Post by: de_redman on February 08, 2014, 12:12:37 PM
??? not sure what game you watching...
Post by: de_redman on February 08, 2014, 12:18:32 PM
halftime 0-0
Post by: chelsealife on February 08, 2014, 12:19:21 PM
Lol i really didnt see anything, my bad
Post by: Bitter on February 08, 2014, 12:19:54 PM
??? not sure what game you watching...

Solskjaer looking that way whole game. The attribution of that to any particular play was speculation by the commentators.
Jones should have trap the ball and then fall over the tackle. Easy dive he miss there.
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 08, 2014, 12:25:34 PM
That second miss wasn't no throw way. Good defending.

Besides dem two chances, Kenwyne eh up to nothing, though.
Post by: de_redman on February 08, 2014, 12:35:12 PM
Swansea up 1-0
Post by: de_redman on February 08, 2014, 12:39:06 PM
Bellamy shot from the top of the box off the crossbar!
Post by: FF on February 08, 2014, 12:42:19 PM
Kenwyne coming off just now
Post by: de_redman on February 08, 2014, 12:42:57 PM
Frazier Campbell on for KJ in the 56 min
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 08, 2014, 12:46:19 PM
KJ like he sleepy today. Take care he find heself rooted to a next bench.
Post by: Bitter on February 08, 2014, 12:46:46 PM

We could stop watching this game now.
Post by: FF on February 08, 2014, 12:48:05 PM
KJ like he sleepy today. Take care he find heself rooted to a next bench.

Yep. He ent do heself no favours today.
And when he bench, men go say solskaer have it out for him.
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 08, 2014, 12:49:31 PM

We could stop watching this game now.
Hell, I think I done watching Cardiff in general. Cyah handle this struggle ball every week just to see if maybe perhaps KJ show up that day.
Post by: FF on February 08, 2014, 12:52:00 PM
Hear nah, Fabio is a real shit snake boy. Like Rafael get all de skill
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 08, 2014, 12:56:35 PM
At fault for the goal last week too.
Post by: Tallman on February 08, 2014, 12:57:30 PM

Ah better defender woulda slide to cut out dat through ball.

Rafael get all de wildness too.
Post by: masterblaster on February 08, 2014, 12:59:05 PM
anytime a trini player is playing a in a foreign league game I'm usually excited to watch.....Never with Jones...he is least exciting Trini player to ever play abroard...d man is no good!!! might score a goal here and there due to the hard work of others but talent wise he in ah mess.....he need to come back to Trini and play in the pro league
Post by: maxg on February 08, 2014, 01:00:17 PM
Unlike Norwich today, both these teams show why they fighting up for last..especially Cardiff.  After all these years KJ don't know or hasn't been taught how to make runs to give yourself space and be open for passes..or he get spoil with Nzonzi & Adam drawing men and causing defenders to run at them and leave him open?
Somebody tell him this for me please, that not happening here. He will have to anticipate, and recognize wher the ball will be, and make runs where he will be able to receive the ball with max space between him and defender, yet be still forward of the play..he can't depend on Ppl to be afraid of Bellamy..Btw, Zaha & Fabio well overrated, but they still young.
Post by: FF on February 08, 2014, 01:03:01 PM
Well put maxg. Last week we talk about KJ defensive movement, but this week he show is offensive off the ball movement is lacking
Post by: de_redman on February 08, 2014, 01:07:44 PM
Dyer with the diving header bottom corner. 2-0 Swansea and that's that!
Post by: FF on February 08, 2014, 01:12:25 PM
More cutarse. 3-0. Is a struggle to watch this side in truth.
Post by: de_redman on February 08, 2014, 01:13:42 PM
like Cardiff forget KJ was their best defender last week...
Post by: asylumseeker on February 08, 2014, 01:32:42 PM

Ah better defender woulda slide to cut out dat through ball.

Rafael get all de wildness too.

There was a discussion about this on English radio. Apparently, historically, both acknowledged that Fabio was the better player. However, there's a thought that the way Fabio has been utilized in England stifled his natural game. It was an insightful passage of discussion. Will try to source it.
Post by: maxg on February 08, 2014, 01:35:38 PM
Btw..wha Carlos and Birchall retire from intl competitions for ? Managers in training courses ? Cause it ain't to really play club football..a lil sweat now an then didn't require retirement from we
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 08, 2014, 01:41:17 PM
Btw..wha Carlos and Birchall retire from intl competitions for ? Managers in training courses ? Cause it ain't to really play club football..a lil sweat now an then didn't require retirement from we
Let's be honest bout Carlos. He ain't Carlos no more.
Post by: maxg on February 08, 2014, 01:47:11 PM
for TT. 3/4 Carlos as well as his team management training course will serve us better than Ipswich.
add: he'll always be Carlos, a Rolls Royce is always a Rolls, even if it park up in a garage somewhere
Post by: Tiresais on February 08, 2014, 04:06:55 PM
for TT. 3/4 Carlos as well as his team management training course will serve us better than Ipswich.
add: he'll always be Carlos, a Rolls Royce is always a Rolls, even if it park up in a garage somewhere

Bear in mind that the leagues they play in won't take a break for international games, meaning they will miss two or three matches, not to mention that 8 hours here and 8 hours back puts a lot of stress on the body, especially when you're an athlete. In that time, any kid can nick your place in the team, which might mean you never get it back as you get older. Moreover, that's time away from the family (if that's a concern for them), and the threat of an injury.
Post by: maxg on February 08, 2014, 05:13:59 PM

Bear in mind that the leagues they play in won't take a break for international games, meaning they will miss two or three matches, not to mention that 8 hours here and 8 hours back puts a lot of stress on the body, especially when you're an athlete. In that time, any kid can nick your place in the team, which might mean you never get it back as you get older. Moreover, that's time away from the family (if that's a concern for them), and the threat of an injury.
well is a done deal...but hypothetically shit-talkin
they have been at the last few matches. and have had no influence on the match, at least on the pitch..
http://espnfc.com/player/_/id/6013/carlos-edwards?cc=5901
http://espnfc.com/player/_/id/10445/chris-birchall?cc=5901

I know some ole fellas travelling to TT and back every couple months, and twice round Carnival...why relatively young men can't handle it..

Trust me...Carlos & Birchie place in them team nicked, and they probably won't be getting them back.
At least one of them have a lot of Family in TT and the other have many friends...2, 3 trips a year is good enough for both parties..
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 08, 2014, 05:42:10 PM

well is a done deal...but hypothetically shit-talkin
they have been at the last few matches. and have had no influence on the match, at least on the pitch..
http://espnfc.com/player/_/id/6013/carlos-edwards?cc=5901
http://espnfc.com/player/_/id/10445/chris-birchall?cc=5901

I know some ole fellas travelling to TT and back every couple months, and twice round Carnival...why relatively young men can't handle it..

Trust me...Carlos & Birchie place in them team nicked, and they probably won't be getting them back.
At least one of them have a lot of Family in TT and the other have many friends...2, 3 trips a year is good enough for both parties..

I don't think Carlos ever said he was retired actually. I think Hart retired him. Seem to remember, before his and Birchall's 'farewell' game, he say he eh done but is up to the manager. Or something so.
Post by: FF on February 11, 2014, 02:16:35 PM
Jones more active in de game today. He is paired up with Frazier Campbell. Lets see how this goes.
0-0 in the 31st min
Post by: ckhan on February 11, 2014, 02:40:58 PM
Should have had a pen, had a decent half and Cardiff showing some signs of scoring...Noone is a tricky player.
Post by: Peong on February 12, 2014, 09:25:49 PM
Marshall's save at the end was amazing.
Post by: de_redman on February 22, 2014, 09:05:28 AM
Cardiff 11
1 Marshall
35 Fabio
4 Caulker
27 Cala
3 Taylor
16 Noone
19 Cowie
15 Eikrem
36 Zaha
10 Campbell
9 Jones

Hull 11
1 McGregor
27 Elmohamady
6 Davies
4 Bruce
3 Figueroa
2 Rosenior
14 Livermore
8 Huddlestone
7 Meyler
18 Jelavic
21 Long
Post by: de_redman on February 22, 2014, 09:15:37 AM
Nice run, shield and shot on target by KJ. Showed good strength and power.
Post by: de_redman on February 22, 2014, 09:28:07 AM
Nice opportunity for Kenwyne from point blank range but great defending.
Post by: de_redman on February 22, 2014, 09:28:45 AM
Hull up 1-0 by the way.
Post by: de_redman on February 22, 2014, 09:38:25 AM
KJ heads wide from the edge of the 6 yard box. Kenwyne is in the heat of the action this half.
Post by: de_redman on February 22, 2014, 09:39:32 AM
And once again against the run of play 2-0 Hull
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 22, 2014, 09:40:51 AM
I cyah handle Cardiff ball, nah. Ah suffer through Sunderland and Stoke ball to watch KJ play. Ah think mih tour of duty done. Or at least on leave until KJ hit a hot streak.
Post by: FF on February 22, 2014, 09:43:40 AM
KJ more unlucky than shitty today
Post by: FF on February 22, 2014, 09:48:54 AM
Two good penalty shouts. Howard Webb.
Post by: de_redman on February 22, 2014, 09:50:54 AM
KJ tries to control with the header but taken down hard in the penalty area. Clear penalty but no call from Webb!!! 2-0 Hull halftime.
Post by: de_redman on February 22, 2014, 09:54:13 AM
from skysports:

Cardiff appeal for a penalty as the ball is fired into the box and when Jones attempts to get the ball down, Jelavic bundles into the back of the Trinidad and Tobago international. Nothing given and Cardiff have a right to feel aggrieved
Title: Cardiff City For the Hour Thread
Post by: g on February 22, 2014, 10:16:29 AM
Cardiff defending is absolutely woeful
Post by: de_redman on February 22, 2014, 10:24:17 AM
I'm outta here...
Post by: FF on February 22, 2014, 10:29:23 AM
I'm outta here...

red man tap out... time to delete de thread?  ;)
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 22, 2014, 10:30:54 AM
I'm outta here...
Lol. This move was worse than staying on Stoke bench. I know he frustrated and want to play, though. But still...

On the plus side, he'll probably ball out in the Championship.
Post by: elan on February 22, 2014, 10:41:57 AM
So 2 games in a row clear PK on KJ and no call....   :-\
Post by: maxg on March 02, 2014, 11:14:31 AM
Well my verdict in. Sols is another wonderful ManU graduate who don't know how to manage at this level. I adding he to my growing list of "we was good under Alex, but we only learn how to play from him".  Hey, it still not a bad life, in any EPL club. I coulda live with them frustrations for a few years..i woulda be sitting real pretty financially today. Yet I still thankful for the lil blessing i get yes.
Post by: trini_stallion on March 02, 2014, 11:23:29 AM
Cardiff just not aggressive enough...they not closing down men...and making some rel poor touches as well...idk if is poor quality players...or management. ..or both....lord hv mercy!
Post by: asylumseeker on March 02, 2014, 11:25:45 AM
What's the scene in this game? Ah not following. Chose Atl Madrid over Spurs.
Post by: maxg on March 02, 2014, 12:05:01 PM
More frustrating being on the pitch than on the bench   ::)
Post by: Peong on March 02, 2014, 12:09:53 PM
KJ came on

93rd minute KJ sprints back to defend, Cardiff wins the ball, break with speed while KJ jogs, no mistaking it.
Somebody talk to the man nah.
Post by: maxg on March 02, 2014, 12:29:56 PM
KJ came on

93rd minute KJ sprints back to defend, Cardiff wins the ball, break with speed while KJ jogs, no mistaking it.

Ok...KJ get outta Dodge fast..That whole team eh good...not just you for the one breakout yuh didn't sprint back, and sprint back up on the breakout, that your teammates lorse anyway... and If i was you when Paulinho did come off, I woulda quickly put on a white shirt and run on.. that woulda worth a 2 years ban from this club...i hope
Post by: trini_stallion on March 02, 2014, 12:33:34 PM
KJ came on

Ok...KJ get outta Dodge fast..That whole team eh good...not just you for the one breakout yuh didn't sprint back, and sprint back up on the breakout, that your teammates lorse anyway... and If i was you when Paulinho did come off, I woulda quickly put on a white shirt and run on.. that woulda worth a 2 years ban from this club...i hope

He know that team eh shit....idk nah...he career jess fustratin
Post by: asylumseeker on March 02, 2014, 12:41:38 PM
Buh maxg, I listen tuh ah interview in which players who played under OGS say that he's meticulous, a good man manager and engineered effective change at his old club.

None ah that eh translating?  :devil:

At the mere mention of Cardiff, I couldna been bothered. Allyuh is patriots. :)
Post by: asylumseeker on March 02, 2014, 12:43:28 PM
More frustrating being on the pitch than on the bench   ::)

Post by: maxg on March 02, 2014, 01:24:26 PM
Buh maxg, I listen tuh ah interview in which players who played under OGS say that he's meticulous, a good man manager and engineered effective change at his old club.

Ah winning coach with a team in one league may go to another league in another country and it just not wukking ah tall...Ask Terry Fenwick...it happens on the Ntl level too...it can even happen where a man coaching Professional go to coach house league and he cyah win ah game..sometimes it just don't wuk out...good for the goose, not necessarily good for the fox..yet all could live in the same zoo    :laugh:

add: but at the end of the match..i never watch fellas playing EPL that I would even entertain the thought of calling dem messhounds, as when I watch THIS Cardiff team   lawd knows

ps: not to say doh, that KJ is the best thing that coulda happen for them..but he definitely far from the worse
Post by: Preacher on March 02, 2014, 01:48:00 PM
Man I hurry home from church to watch this game I was keeping my fingers cross for him. 
Post by: elan on March 02, 2014, 04:37:42 PM
That Cardiff team is level frustration. No midfield play, very savannah-like football tactical decision making, very naive and easily manipulated. I feel real sorry for KJ boy. Players struggling to make a simple crosses to KJ.
Post by: maxg on March 04, 2014, 09:23:57 AM
That Cardiff team is level frustration. No midfield play, very savannah-like football tactical decision making, very naive and easily manipulated. I feel real sorry for KJ boy. Players struggling to make a simple crosses to KJ.
Aston Villa ah enjoy, Blackburn Rovers & Birmingham City ehhhhh, but ah didn't voice no complaint, Sunderland & Stoke, I actually liked, even if i didn't agree with the ex-Manu managers issues, or the lack of individual coaching development and "get stuck in" style that shows heart but don't win games..ah take that, ah even make deal with the devil and Back Man U  just for meh country man, even if i find since he moving like a ManU bitc...ok ok...sorry, sorry...not going there...
But oh Gorm, dis Cardiff, real hard to back boy..Did KJ actually see them play before ? even so, he should just fire he agent now, stay friends if yuh want, but doh let he/she handle yuh football business.. I real feel sorry for them fans, between the owner and that football, and will admire them for "getting stuck in", but me not touchin that mud with ah mango pelting stone..Like ah man above, I stay home from church to watch the game, miss meh daughter swim race...get in noise with the family...eh heh, KJ ent start..ah say, oh gorm boy, i have to stop doing this to my family for football...since they small, i cancelling family stuff for all kinda fete match, Yorke playing it on TV, Stern playin and this one on TV..TT playin, sorry allyuh, yuh know how it go...next time , next time...and many of those times, Yorke bench, Stern bench, TT didn't show up - allyuh know what ah mean..ah get more buff, ah apolegize, ah beg ...until next time, ah take the same route...so when ah see KJ not on field, ah say oh gorm, not again.... and then ah actually watch this new strategy by OGS, and ah start prayin for KJ not to come on the field..it made no sense...ah see 2 subs, not KJ..ah say good, let them play they tata, none go splatter on him..and then they bring him on......   NEVER I missing NO Family Function for FOOTBALL again...eh eh..at all   unless TT playin, maybe , ah apolegize....

add:   wait, Honey, if yuh read this...let's get it clear...Cardiff Football eh   ;D  Cardiff football
Post by: Peong on March 08, 2014, 09:43:38 AM
2 shit sides in action, Jones start.  If Cardiff can't get points off the bottom side then I eh know.
Post by: Bitter on March 08, 2014, 09:47:03 AM
Ay, look they score!
Post by: Peong on March 08, 2014, 09:51:55 AM
Jones forces a good save.
Goal Cardiff!

Jones should have had a goal there, he placed it too close to the keeper.
He might have been surprised that the ball got through to him, but that shouldn't matter.
Cardiff 1-0 at the half.

I now see a play where Jones made a through run and the winger decided not to play him in.  Good run from Jones.
Post by: maxg on March 08, 2014, 09:56:00 AM
wta..I don't believe it have a team worse than MINE  ;)
Post by: asylumseeker on March 08, 2014, 09:57:22 AM
Ah doh see this game ending 1-0, on present form.
Post by: Bitter on March 08, 2014, 10:15:01 AM
Both of these sides frustrating.
A lack of confidence mean men either holding on to the ball too long, or just kicking it away.

Lots of effort, little quality.
Since I sitting down here Noone eh beat he man one time, but keep running at him with the ball.
Post by: Bitter on March 08, 2014, 10:16:31 AM

Yuh ent lie. 1-1
Post by: FF on March 08, 2014, 10:18:25 AM
That miss from Kenwyne Jones could prove critical according to the commentators
Post by: asylumseeker on March 08, 2014, 10:24:27 AM

Yuh ent lie. 1-1

Both of these teams have handy players. But both are kinda mirror images of each other.

2-1.
Post by: Bitter on March 08, 2014, 10:24:35 AM
Ay, look they score again.

"Craven" cottage is the correct place for this game.
Post by: lefty on March 08, 2014, 10:26:12 AM
doh know 'bout alyuh but I see plent instances today where KJ earn he lazy rep :( ...........2-1 as I type
Post by: Bitter on March 08, 2014, 10:28:16 AM
They can't be stopped!
Post by: lefty on March 08, 2014, 10:30:16 AM
ugly as hell but it workin
Post by: Bitter on March 08, 2014, 10:34:13 AM
Why am I watching this?  :frustrated:
Post by: asylumseeker on March 08, 2014, 10:38:25 AM
Watch and see how Medel shows with Chile in a few months.
Post by: Bitter on March 08, 2014, 10:42:09 AM

I suspect that Chile will have a gameplan other than "run with the ball until you lose it" and "kick it long to Jones"
Post by: Peong on March 08, 2014, 10:53:43 AM
Where was KJ on that last attack?  Cardiff attackin for a minute and KJ not even in the same half as the ball.
Ey KJ if yuh unfit tell the coach to give yuh some extra wuk in training.

Vital three points for Cardiff.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 08, 2014, 10:54:59 AM

I suspect that Chile will have a gameplan other than "run with the ball until you lose it" and "kick it long to Jones"

I suspect you're right. Medel to de world ... coming soon.
Post by: Bitter on March 08, 2014, 10:55:48 AM
Where was KJ on that last attack?  Cardiff attackin for a minute and KJ not even in the same half as the ball.

I believe he was playing defense.
Post by: trini_stallion on March 08, 2014, 11:03:08 AM
Kj had a few attempts on goal. Pitty he eh score...cardiff look decent today
Post by: trini_stallion on March 08, 2014, 11:04:08 AM
And noone play ah bunch ah shit...trying to beats man and just falling down...
Post by: asylumseeker on March 08, 2014, 11:05:30 AM
doh know 'bout alyuh but I see plent instances today where KJ earn he lazy rep :( ...........2-1 as I type

"A lot of people have different opinions on who I should be," he said. "The only position I haven't tried is keeper but I always knew what I wanted to be." --- Kenwyne Jones.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=35378.0
Post by: g on March 08, 2014, 11:15:04 AM
I find that the Cardiff midfield always hesitates playing the ball to Jones' feet. they will turn backward or sideways rather than play a through ball for him or even allow him to link up the play. I observed at least 5 times him coming back to show for the ball and being completely ignored. Funny thing is when he does get on the ball he made good decisions and passes today. Just the one bad miss today, thankfully for him it didn't matter in the overall result. He still doesn't appear fully fit IMO. Maybe a bit short on confidence too.
Post by: elan on March 08, 2014, 11:15:34 AM

I suspect that Chile will have a gameplan other than "run with the ball until you lose it" and "kick it long to in the general direction of Jones"
Post by: Peong on March 08, 2014, 01:14:11 PM

This time he played 90 mins so he probably was bun but jeez man even if he jogged up he woulda reached. Strange behaviour.
Post by: elan on March 08, 2014, 03:51:23 PM

This time he played 90 mins so he probably was bun but jeez man even if he jogged up he woulda reached. Strange behaviour.

daiz tru, why he cyah  make ah save and then run up de field and score the goal. Lazy arse.
Post by: maxg on March 08, 2014, 08:52:34 PM

daiz tru, why he cyah  make ah save and then run up de field and score the goal. Lazy arse.
Yeah..like Campbell, Noone & Mutch...dem workhorses..yuh ent see how when they have the ball how they does take on 2, 3 man and ting, before they lose it..and when the other team have the ball how, they does be so busy covering guys, the camera can't even focus on them..buh dem spiting we by showing Lazy KJ all the time...back, front..side...there he is..not doing nothing...and not even scoring with the 2 passes he managed to get..shameful...the guys got so fedup they chose to kick over bars or wide themselves..just a total waste giving him anymore after those 2.. ::)
Post by: Peong on March 08, 2014, 09:25:50 PM
I bet if he ran up and scored he would have energy for backflips though.
Post by: maxg on March 08, 2014, 10:39:27 PM
Whenever a WestIndian (not just a TT ) player score in EPL...an is a long wait in between eh..I an all does have energy for backflips..mammy does get vex, cause I old no arse, an doh have energy to put out the garbage once ah week...but one of we score, is all kinda somersault an beer run I making..weird eh ?

Add: is y I still buying Canadian healing oil at the West Indian store
to this day
Post by: rotatopoti3 on March 09, 2014, 03:03:23 AM
dat 3rd goal...was that an anticipated header by KJ or did he fall down??
Post by: frico on March 09, 2014, 05:25:03 AM
KJ,YOU SHOULD HAVE HAD AN EASY HAT-TRICK YESTERDAY.
Post by: trini_stallion on March 09, 2014, 06:50:34 AM
Imo I think KJ and Bellamy would make a good strike partnership with a 4 4 2...noone all de way left, Campbell on de right, Zaha in de middle with Mutch...that seem like a potent attack force right dey....what all yuh think!?
Post by: Dinner Mints on March 09, 2014, 07:29:20 AM
dat 3rd goal...was that an anticipated header by KJ or did he fall down??
He get a little nudge by the defender. Ah tink he sprawl out dey looking for a penalty.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on March 10, 2014, 05:47:41 AM
He get a little nudge by the defender. Ah tink he sprawl out dey looking for a penalty.

thx dinner mint...dat make sense... :beermug:
Post by: Peong on March 15, 2014, 10:55:54 AM
Heartbreak for Cardiff. Jones didn't get a sniff of the field.
Post by: elan on March 15, 2014, 11:09:02 AM

Well when yuh lazy yuh cyah play. Cause all the hard working guys win de game, right. They work so hard in this game that they out the relegation zone.
Post by: g on March 15, 2014, 11:20:34 AM
Bad luck for Cardiff but a slice of luck for KJ cause Cardiff looked better today in open play but no result. Had they got a result today with the performances his chances may have been even further limited. Seems like the managers plays him in the home fixtures, will have to wait and see in the games coming up how he is used.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 15, 2014, 11:22:53 AM

Well when yuh lazy yuh cyah play. Cause all the hard working guys win de game, right. They work so hard in this game that they out the relegation zone.

In fairness, Cardiff's display today was more fluid and fluent than last weekend. Everton is a superior team, but once the game entered into added time Cardiff should have come away with a point. True Everton was insistent, but in the dregs Cardiff's midfield either misunderstood their assignment or were given the wrong one.
Post by: Peong on March 15, 2014, 11:40:24 AM

You good yes. You didn't see how they almost got a point?
Post by: elan on March 15, 2014, 01:32:54 PM

Almost only count in horse shoe
Post by: Peong on March 15, 2014, 01:41:39 PM

Almost only count in horse shoe

It counts to the coach when he chooses his lineup and tactics though.
Cardiff played well by their admittedly low standards.
Post by: maxg on March 15, 2014, 02:08:44 PM
Unfortunately for KJ, and in spite of him, this team deserve to be demoted, no almost about that. They are (one of )the weakest link. Goodbye.
Post by: maxg on March 22, 2014, 11:16:23 AM
As peong would say, Cardiff almost beat Pool at 2 different times today, with KJ relegated to bench.
Is that like saying Bakes almost melt down twice thinking about it. Once KJ came on Bakes sanity was almost safe for all. Right Peong ?

:D  ;)  ;D
Post by: Peong on March 22, 2014, 08:22:17 PM
Please eh, Everton scored in injury time, that is almost, doh pretend I talkin with no basis.
I wanted Jones to score a hattrick but I will settle for the assist.  Good header, good decision not to go for goal, that cross had no power on it.
Cardiff will be pleased with their attack today, 3 goals against liverpool is a good shift.
Post by: Peong on March 29, 2014, 12:14:09 PM
3 goals again for Cardiff.
Looks like Campbell is OGS's #1 choice and Bellamy is his preferred partner.
KJ might have to kick down one of them in training so he could get a run.
Post by: g on March 29, 2014, 01:38:27 PM
Another game as an unused sub for KJ. Back to your regularly scheduled program 
Post by: grimm01 on March 29, 2014, 02:30:22 PM
KJ on the bench salting and Odemwingie score his 4th for Stoke today.
Post by: Peong on March 29, 2014, 04:57:25 PM

That's his 5th goal for Stoke.  4 in the last 3 games.
Post by: grimm01 on March 29, 2014, 06:12:41 PM

That's his 5th goal for Stoke.  4 in the last 3 games.

Ok my mistake.
Post by: de_redman on April 05, 2014, 08:37:03 AM
KJ starts but 1-0 crystal palace on a Puncheon goal... :yawning:
Post by: FF on April 05, 2014, 09:04:06 AM
playing ok but need to be plenty more greedy. Passing when he shoulda shoot.
Post by: royal on April 05, 2014, 09:05:07 AM
Cardiff has a third tier defence 
Post by: Bitter on April 05, 2014, 09:19:24 AM
And I thought Stoke and Sunderland were hard to watch...
Post by: Peong on April 05, 2014, 09:44:34 AM
Cardiff is real shit boy.  Jones off so I switching to another game.
Post by: Quags on April 05, 2014, 09:45:54 AM
All well and good to be saying things on this tread ......but am getting a little concerned over here.
KJ is our Captain now and he played so well for the NT in his last 6 or so outings ,whats gonna happen when he returns home , we have so many epic games on the horizon.  :nailbiting:
Hope he regains his form that he had before he returned to England.
Post by: Bitter on April 05, 2014, 09:48:18 AM
Them Cardiff players ent even pretending to play hard in the back there.
They have a weak defense, no creativity in the midfield and the service to the forwards is terrible.

Nice strike by Puncheon though
Post by: Dinner Mints on April 05, 2014, 09:51:54 AM
All well and good to be saying things on this tread ......but am getting a little concerned over here.
KJ is our Captain now and he played so well for the NT in his last 6 or so outings ,whats gonna happen when he returns home , we have so many epic games on the horizon.  :nailbiting:
Hope he regains his form that he had before he returned to England.
KJ is useless in a shitty team. He ain't usually de kinda man could win a game individually. Put him in a team that knocking OK and he'll make a difference. Assuming Hart team still knocking OK, I think he'll look better.

I cyah handle watching Cardiff, though, so me eh know how he looking now.
Post by: de_redman on April 05, 2014, 09:52:29 AM
R.I.P. Cardiff  :flamethrower:
Post by: Bitter on April 19, 2014, 09:56:02 AM
KJ had a couple nice touches, and a couple decent clearances, but Cardiff is a side lacking quality all over. I don't know why you pull off Kim for Zaha. Kim was the only player on the pitch with any kind of creativity.
Post by: Tiresais on April 23, 2014, 05:45:42 AM
At this rate Jones won't make the NT starting line-up :(
Post by: Dinner Mints on April 23, 2014, 06:57:15 AM
Maybe not 10 years ago when we had an abundance of striking options. When man like Scott Sealy couldn't even get a call-up. Cupboard bare these days. If KJ fit, he starting.
Post by: Tiresais on April 23, 2014, 07:15:39 AM
Maybe not 10 years ago when we had an abundance of striking options. When man like Scott Sealy couldn't even get a call-up. Cupboard bare these days. If KJ fit, he starting.

I ddunno, depends how you rate the following; Plaza, Jorsling, Joseph, Caesar, Winchesters (R and S).

Given it's friendlies, and Jones is on the slide, maybe he'd risk blooding some new strikers.
Post by: maxg on April 23, 2014, 07:22:22 AM

i asked a man about something like this the other.If you had the unfortunate circumstance of choosing, i.e. you can't play both same time..Would you play someone who practicing daily but not playing games regularly, from a lowly class Top Tier foreign team, or play someone from the top local league who playing regularly and performing exceptionally (defense/offense, doesn't matter).? SH won't have no headache with this at all.
Post by: Dinner Mints on April 23, 2014, 07:43:06 AM

i asked a man about something like this the other.If you had the unfortunate circumstance of choosing, i.e. you can't play both same time..Would you play someone who practicing daily but not playing games regularly, from a lowly class Top Tier foreign team, or play someone from the top local league who playing regularly and performing exceptionally (defense/offense, doesn't matter).? SH won't have no headache with this at all.
I going with 'higher level' every time unless 'higher level' playing toots.
Post by: Tiresais on April 23, 2014, 09:30:21 AM
Yea the Premier League trains at a higher level, which prepares them better than the much lower-intensity training of the Pro League imo. My argument would more be towards finding out who's good and young up-front to take over from Jorsling and Jones when they retire.
Post by: maxg on April 23, 2014, 02:21:32 PM
MO: Invite as much - foreign/local as you can afford, have them run and train together, select best combination based on training and execution of required performance goals, and there is your starting players. Everyone feeds of the other, push, yet learn from each other. It's about the best team, not the best individual. This is the normal approach. If Jones is showing best touches, fitness good, etc..his training against a general higher calibre of players may give him the nod...but if given all before, he is now withering in the heat after 30 minutes of extreme exercise, then this will have to be considered, and a different strategy and and thus possible selection and thus sub rotation plan employed. Basically you work with what you got, but you have to see what you got to make selection. Hilights are just usually less than 3 minutes, the game is 90. Hart will pick his best team, once he has them together, and I trust his judgement way more than i trust anyone else. If Trini-Ronaldo(fictious) poops down the place in training- for whatever reason - because he get a belly wuk, then how can he start under those circumstances.   ;D
Post by: Bitter on April 27, 2014, 06:38:10 AM
Cardiff has no ideas.

Solkaer is not the answer. The owner mess up his own team with his manager stupidness. Them going right back down. But which manager worth his salt will take that wuk?
Post by: Dinner Mints on April 27, 2014, 06:52:18 AM
The owner mess up his own team with his manager stupidness.
This is why I'm glad they going down. Hard luck to Kenwyne.
Post by: Sam on April 27, 2014, 07:00:34 AM
OGS can't coach.

And Kenwyne is just a lazy f00cker.

De man lame and never gives his best, he coulda also stop de 3rd goal, but he jump like he half dead.

USA best striker can't make Sunderland side and T&T best striker can't make Cardiff side, I eh feeling to bad.

But, boy, Kenwyne does make me feel to cuss him, he all round play is terrible.

I can't believe is de same Kenwyne who play for T&T last year and don't tell me Cardiff is de problem, because every team he go to is de problem, is never KJ.

Post by: chelsealife on April 27, 2014, 03:06:51 PM
OGS can't coach.

And Kenwyne is just a lazy f00cker.

De man lame and never gives his best, he coulda also stop de 3rd goal, but he jump like he half dead.

USA best striker can't make Sunderland side and T&T best striker can't make Cardiff side, I eh feeling to bad.

But, boy, Kenwyne does make me feel to cuss him, he all round play is terrible.

I can't believe is de same Kenwyne who play for T&T last year and don't tell me Cardiff is de problem, because every team he go to is de problem, is never KJ.

next season he will score some goals for Leicester  ;D
Post by: trini_stallion on April 27, 2014, 07:48:37 PM
I am one of Jones biggest supporters throughout, this man shut up rel critics in the rwb but oh gosh boy, I keep telling myself d best is yet to come, so much potential,  but I starting to give up....de man is a beast....but he lazy..me in at defenders,  close down play, shut off men...do something....jog even....JOG.....is that too much to ask....come on KJ bettet than that...hopefully somebody in de PL pick u up...if not....well is pay cut in d CL...and is only you too blame
Post by: Tiresais on April 28, 2014, 02:21:44 AM
KJ needs to fight for his place, but it looks like he's already dreaming of Carnival next year :P
Post by: de_redman on May 03, 2014, 09:34:05 AM
KJ on for Campbell... 1-0 down to Newcastle... This may be Cardiff's last stand.
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 03, 2014, 09:36:31 AM
KJ on for Campbell... 1-0 down to Newcastle... This may be Cardiff's last stand.
Not 'may be'. It is. If all scores stay the same, Fulham and Cardiff go down today.
Post by: g on May 03, 2014, 09:53:02 AM
Relegated
Post by: asylumseeker on May 03, 2014, 09:58:54 AM
May this thread rest in peace! The hour has come ...
Post by: ckhan on May 03, 2014, 10:01:26 AM
Ah well....(plays violin)
Post by: Peong on May 03, 2014, 10:06:38 AM
If yuh keep getting thumped by other bottom-clubs then there's only one place for you.
Hopefully KJ gets something good.
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 03, 2014, 10:07:39 AM
Well, if KJ cyah start in the Championship, then ah doh know what else.
Post by: lefty on May 03, 2014, 10:13:53 AM
kenwin seemed to be wworkin on his deficiencies at stoke earlier in d season....and den seem to fall back into his usual mode after ah few good performances anda couple not so good ones.......wonder what might have been if did jus humble heself and continue d fitness and game improvement plus go to d pool game
Post by: de_redman on May 03, 2014, 10:19:00 AM
 :salute: I salute you Cardiff thread! For a thread that no one wanted, you have over 200 posts!  ;D
Post by: maxg on May 07, 2014, 06:35:12 PM

http://www.walesonline.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/7-reasons-ole-gunnar-solskjaer-7080297
Post by: asylumseeker on May 07, 2014, 09:19:20 PM

http://www.walesonline.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/7-reasons-ole-gunnar-solskjaer-7080297

Thanks fuh that. How long is KJ's contract there?

Yeah, the interview I heard was on the BBC. If memory serves correctly, it was a segment on the program World Football. In it Norwegian players from his old club Molde, and those otherwise familiar with his methodology, heaped praise upon praise. The bet made on OGS was that after a couple successful seasons of management in Norway his playing experience in the BPL would assist him in management in that setting. Not so much?

I have to agree that some of his selection choices have been questionable. His real exam will come when he has to face an English season from start to finish. As owner, I wouldn't bet on him to return the club to the Prem. I would be looking around.

I was looking at some relegation research recently, and Cardiff had been projected to go down ... even before OGS' arrival. The lesson of OGS might be a good review for the Giggs worshippers ... and for Giggs himself.

(By the way, Kim Bo Kyung is a baller! ... enjoyed watching his industry. I doh see him playing Championship ball next year). :praying:
Post by: Tallman on May 14, 2014, 03:25:10 PM
The Norwegian had the January transfer window to strengthen his new squad and one of the players he brought in was Kenwyne Jones. The former Stoke striker has a wealth of Premier League experience and is a strong imposing character with a big physical presence. Unfortunately when he ran onto the pitch Jones transformed into a shadow of his former self and made very little contribution in front of goal in the games he played. He did score the winning goal on his debut against Norwich but that was as good as it got. He was one player who excited when he signed but his impact after that was virtually nonexistent. Cardiff needed a goal-scoring centre-forward but unfortunately they got Jones instead.

http://www.espnfc.com/blog/_/name/cardiff-city/id/267/end-of-season-review-cardiff-city?cc=5901
Post by: Bakes on May 14, 2014, 03:49:49 PM
The Norwegian had the January transfer window to strengthen his new squad and one of the players he brought in was Kenwyne Jones. The former Stoke striker has a wealth of Premier League experience and is a strong imposing character with a big physical presence. Unfortunately when he ran onto the pitch Jones transformed into a shadow of his former self and made very little contribution in front of goal in the games he played. He did score the winning goal on his debut against Norwich but that was as good as it got. He was one player who excited when he signed but his impact after that was virtually nonexistent. Cardiff needed a goal-scoring centre-forward but unfortunately they got Jones instead.

http://www.espnfc.com/blog/_/name/cardiff-city/id/267/end-of-season-review-cardiff-city?cc=5901

Stoke City Fan's Verdict:

The flops Kenwyne Jones and Jermaine Pennant. Thankfully both of them have now moved on – and their performances since leaving Stoke have shown it was 100% the right decision.
http://www.theguardian.com/football/2014/may/10/premier-league-fans-verdicts-manchester-united-west-ham

Cardiff City Fan's Verdict:

The flops The highest-profile flop was Andreas Cornelius. Signed for £8m in the summer he was sold back to FC Copenhagen for an undisclosed fee thought to be a small fraction of what he cost. £15m loanee Wilfried Zaha failed to live up to his billing, and another Ole Gunnar Solskjaer signing, Kenwyne Jones, has been a waste of money.
http://www.theguardian.com/football/2014/may/10/premier-league-fans-verdicts-arsenal-manchester-city
Post by: maxg on May 14, 2014, 09:43:40 PM
yup...they come last because they waste money on superman KJ for 6 game starts ,5 sub, not realizing they club house was full ah kryptonite...meanwhile Peter Odemwingie who suffered the same Delilah complex happened to rock the walls of Stoke, with the Waltes/Crouch partnership rested.
The only thing I fault Jones for, was not looking before he leap. That team was bad. Dey shoulda offer Ronaldo ah 200 million, they woulda win for sure, no waste ah money at all.
Cardiff and Stoke fans have every right to cuss. Unfortunately I'm a TT & Jones fan. I remember when Villa used to bench Yorke to play everybody else (3 guys in particular), even when the guy was having super games. When he leave for ManU, dey want to shot him. KJ is no Yorke, but he still my Team player. so sorry, so sorry, must leave now
Post by: trini_stallion on May 19, 2014, 02:41:28 PM
Newcastle linked with Kenwyne Jones transfer.
By Graham Porter (themag.co.uk).

The close season is young but already we have heard some strange transfer links, though Kenwyne Jones to Newcastle is a new one on me.

In the dim and distant past United had been linked with Jones but reports coming out of Wales now claim that Newcastle United are keen on the ex-Sunderland striker as a cut price signing, with United needing to recruit a number of forwards.

The 29 year old headed to Cardiff mid-season in the swap deal that took Peter Odemwingie to Stoke.

However, Kenwyne Jones did little to ease Cardiff’s fall with only one goal in eleven appearances for the Welsh club.

The reports claim that Jones is being lined up as a possible replacement for Shola Ameobi and the comparisons are there to be seen.

Both Shola and Jones have scored exactly five Premier League goals each over the last three years, so hard to tell whether this would be an improvement on Ameobi who will shortly be out of contract.

A ‘bargain’ transfer fee of £2m could land Jones, a player who was once bought by both Sunderland and Stoke for fees of around the £7m-£8m mark.

Post by: maxg on May 19, 2014, 02:49:03 PM
oh gorm..doh excite meh so nah...if just to have some toe to toe with kev an dem  :devil:
Post by: Deeks on May 19, 2014, 03:50:19 PM
Kj has more lives than a cat.
Post by: de_redman on May 19, 2014, 08:38:43 PM
Newcastle United ponder over a move for Cardiff striker Kenwyne Jones

Footballleagueworld.co.uk (http://Footballleagueworld.co.uk)

Premier League side Newcastle United have set their sights on Cardiff City striker Kenwyne Jones as a possible candidate to replace the departing Shola Ameobi.

The news has come in just a matter of days after it was announced that Shola Ameobi would bring his 14 year stay at the club to an end when his contract expires in the summer. It is thought that he will join Steve Bruce’s Hull City.

Trinidad & Tobago international Kenwyne Jones is being lined up as his replacement. Jones joined Cardiff in January from Stoke in a deal which saw Peter Odemwingie moving in the opposite direction.

The striker has so far made 11 league appearances for the club whilst scoring one goal.

It is thought that he will be amongst the fringes at the club with their recent signing of Javi Guerra and expected signing of Lewis Grabban from Bournemouth.

If he does decide to join Newcastle, it has been rumoured that it will cost them around £2 million for the striker.

The 29-year old would prove to be an experienced member of the squad having spent numerous years in the Premier League with Stoke City. However, it is unlikely that he would feature as a starting squad member too often.
Post by: g on May 20, 2014, 03:21:58 PM
Only seeing this happening if Remy actually moves to Arsenal as was rumoured a few weeks ago, has to be a situation where Newcastle are looking for multiple striker options. KJ will not be any team's first buy option.
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 20, 2014, 07:48:33 PM
Only seeing this happening if Remy actually moves to Arsenal as was rumoured a few weeks ago, has to be a situation where Newcastle are looking for multiple striker options. KJ will not be any team's first buy option.
Remy ain't a Newcastle striker either way. He was on loan from QPR. So they lacking.
Post by: g on May 20, 2014, 07:50:11 PM

Remy ain't a Newcastle striker either way. He was on loan from QPR. So they lacking.

Kool, well better to stay in the BPL, and take his chance if it comes
Post by: de_redman on August 16, 2014, 11:19:35 AM
Cardiff secures first win in Championship, Kenwyne scores twice

www.skysports.com (http://www.skysports.com)

Cardiff secured their first victory upon their return to the Championship after beating Huddersfield 3-1, with Kenywne Jones scoring twice.

The Bluebirds won only five times at the Cardiff City Stadium last season in a short-lived spell in the Premier League but they immediately found the Championship much more to their taste.

Peter Whittingham set them on their way with a wonderful long-range strike and Kenwyne Jones scored either side of half-time to make it three goals in two games for the former Stoke and Sunderland striker.

Murray Wallace briefly gave Huddersfield hope when he made it 2-1 in first-half stoppage time but caretaker-boss Mark Lillis could not oversee a second-half comeback for the Terriers.

Lillis had been put in charge following the shock departure of Mark Robins after the 4-0 home defeat to Bournemouth on the opening weekend of the season.

There was little to get excited about in the opening stages until Jones failed to make contact with the ball from Mats Daehli's cross with the goal beckoning.

But that chance stirred Cardiff into life and almost immediately Whittingham fired the Bluebirds ahead after 28 minutes.

There seemed no danger when Whittingham picked the ball up from 30 yards but the midfielder took aim with his trusty left-foot and expertly found the bottom of Alex Smithies' net.

Seven minutes later Cardiff doubled their advantage when John Brayford's ball cleared the head of centre-half Joel Lynch to find Jones.

The Trinidadian was foiled at the first attempt by Smithies but the ball rolled back into his path for the big striker to convert.

Huddersfield had played some neat and tidy football until that point without possessing a cutting edge and Radoslaw Majewski dragged his shot wide after some inventive build-up play.

But the Terriers were back in the game in first-half injury time when Wallace's skewed header fell to Conor Coady at the far post.

Coady forced a fine point-blank save from David Marshall but the rebound fell to Wallace, who crashed it home past several defenders on the line.

Huddersfield went close to an equaliser when Majewski tested Marshall soon after the re-start but the Scottish goalkeeper batted out his 25-yard effort to safety.

But Cardiff restored their two-goal lead after 56 minutes when Daehli spotted the unmarked Jones 10 yards from goal, the finish unerring high into Smithies' net.

Jones might have collected his hat-trick in bizarre fashion 10 minutes later when Daehli's drive hit him on the back and flew goalwards, but Smithies held on.

Cardiff manager Ole Gunnar Solskjaer handed Spanish summer signing Javi Guerra his debut for Jones to earn a deserved standing ovation but Huddersfield refused to lie down.

Nakhi Wells created a chance for himself with a smart turn but his effort from an acute angle came back off the woodwork.

Marshall tipped over substitute Jordan Sinnott's close-range shot late on but Cardiff ran out easy victors.
Post by: Bakes on August 16, 2014, 11:37:08 AM
Look like Kenwyne find he level.
Post by: chelsealife on August 16, 2014, 01:12:46 PM
Look like Kenwyne find he level.
I dont think so. He's showing he's better than this level. Cant say i wasn't expecting this idiotic comment but not so soon into the season *sigh*
Post by: Bakes on August 16, 2014, 11:33:16 PM
I dont think so. He's showing he's better than this level. Cant say i wasn't expecting this idiotic comment but not so soon into the season *sigh*

"Idiotic" is indulging in the madness of doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results... or better saying "no support from me :bs: :bs:" because yuh doh like de selection of the National team.  I wish Kenwyne well, hopefully he tear up de Championship, but he's proven at three different stops now that he's not a Premiership player.  Initial success at Sunderland has given way to inconsistency and mediocrity.  Doh shoot de messenger.
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 17, 2014, 02:18:28 AM

"Idiotic" is indulging in the madness of doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results... or better saying "no support from me :bs: :bs:" because yuh doh like de selection of the National team.  I wish Kenwyne well, hopefully he tear up de Championship, but he's proven at three different stops now that he's not a Premiership player.  Initial success at Sunderland has given way to inconsistency and mediocrity.  Doh shoot de messenger.

Doh let facts stand in the way of healthy bias. One day he'll sign your flag.

Let's leave out his success at Stoke. Or his performances in Europe. Let's ignore his scoring rate being the best at the club even when he was only getting pigeon sweats.

Let's only focus on a bad last season at Stoke and pretend that's his whole career.

Meanwhile, even by your own estimation, 'mediocrity' would suggest that he's a middling, average Prem player. So yeah.
Post by: davidephraim on August 17, 2014, 02:48:02 AM

Let's leave out his success at Stoke. Or his performances in Europe. Let's ignore his scoring rate being the best at the club even when he was only getting pigeon sweats.

Let's only focus on a bad last season at Stoke and pretend that's his whole career.

Meanwhile, even by your own estimation, 'mediocrity' would suggest that he's a middling, average Prem player. So yeah.

That was refreshing! Seems the glass is sometimes half full!
Post by: Bakes on August 17, 2014, 06:51:00 AM

Is that what he doing fuh yuh... signing yuh flag?  Well after yuh put away yuh fanboy-ism and wipe de mist from yuh eye this is what yuh left with:

"Success at Stoke"... perhaps, if yuh find 13 goals in 88 appearances (or 2 1/2 seasons) "success" then that is laughable.  No amout of "bias" could hide that (yuh might want to check yuh own bias at de door next time before commenting).

By your own estimation he had a "bad last year at Stoke"... what was a good year?  And at 30 he's on the downside of his career, as a one-time 'mediocre' Premiership player.

Welcome to reality  :beermug:
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 17, 2014, 08:00:50 AM

Is that what he doing fuh yuh... signing yuh flag?  Well after yuh put away yuh fanboy-ism and wipe de mist from yuh eye this is what yuh left with:

"Success at Stoke"... perhaps, if yuh find 13 goals in 88 appearances (or 2 1/2 seasons) "success" then that is laughable.  No amout of "bias" could hide that (yuh might want to check yuh own bias at de door next time before commenting).

By your own estimation he had a "bad last year at Stoke"... what was a good year?  And at 30 he's on the downside of his career, as a one-time 'mediocre' Premiership player.

Welcome to reality  :beermug:
Let ignore the context of Stoke being a low scoring side in general. The least goals scored in all four leagues one season. All of their strikers' goal records are shit. And Kenwyne's was the least shit in relation to minutes played. But, of course, it's convenient to say '88 games' when a 'game' is usually 12 minutes against Man City and already down 3-0. Yeah, he had a lot of those 'games'.

As for a good year, how about: Leading scorer in his first season. Goals taking them to a cup final and Europe. How about: Good performances as a key player in Europe the next season, while dropping behind Crouch in the Prem.

That Crouch become the preferred striker in a one striker system doesn't say much more than Crouch fit the system better. Nobody being a fanboy or claiming he a superstar. But suggesting that Championship is 'his level' is pretending that the Prem is only comprised of the top 5 teams. Like he couldn't do a wuk at a Hull or QPR. Like he'd look outta place at a West Ham. Maiga earning a Premiership paycheck for less.

But you cyah see all that because KJ talk to somebody bad a time.
Post by: Bakes on August 17, 2014, 08:40:42 AM
Let ignore the context of Stoke being a low scoring side in general. The least goals scored in all four leagues one season. All of their strikers' goal records are shit. And Kenwyne's was the least shit in relation to minutes played. But, of course, it's convenient to say '88 games' when a 'game' is usually 12 minutes against Man City and already down 3-0. Yeah, he had a lot of those 'games'.

As for a good year, how about: Leading scorer in his first season. Goals taking them to a cup final and Europe. How about: Good performances as a key player in Europe the next season, while dropping behind Crouch in the Prem.

That Crouch become the preferred striker in a one striker system doesn't say much more than Crouch fit the system better. Nobody being a fanboy or claiming he a superstar. But suggesting that Championship is 'his level' is pretending that the Prem is only comprised of the top 5 teams. Like he couldn't do a wuk at a Hull or QPR. Like he'd look outta place at a West Ham. Maiga earning a Premiership paycheck for less.

But you cyah see all that because KJ talk to somebody bad a time.

Poor Kenwyne, all he ever do is play for shit sides apparently, which in itself tells you all that you need to know.  Savaging Stoke as a side does nothing to bolster your claim that Kenwyne is a good/viable PL player.  Even if he goes to West Ham and starts he'll still be playing against Premier League competition... that's the point that you're missing.  He couldn't score against the worst PL teams with Stoke, but he'll score with WH?
Post by: FF on August 17, 2014, 11:18:56 AM
Damning with faint praise.

Kenwyne could clearly play a role at premiership level, but that ain't de point.
Post by: maxg on August 17, 2014, 11:39:05 AM
Allyuh like to argue boy... KJ is a championship player , playing for a championship team..if a PL team does a transfer that could change..right now, he doing his job very well..and Cardiff teammates actually giving him chances. Stay the course KJ. It will get more difficult, as other teams fear you. This is where they will test your mental resolve.
Post by: Tiresais on August 17, 2014, 12:56:19 PM
The truth lies somewhere between - Kenwyne Jones is a specialist - great at a specific job in a specific formation with a specific game plan in mind. Any club in the Premiership who plays to his strength would do a lot worse than having him on their team, and he is clearly capable of scoring goals. However, that's not his main strength, and has never been since he left W Connection. He's a physically powerful player, both quick and strong, who can terrorise defences and pull defenders left and right, but without a midfielder or partner running into that gap it's not for much. He can also bring balls down, but again he needs support and once he has that he can really transform the attack.

Really, players like Jones are often under-utilised in England especially, where British managers tend to have less tactical nous than those on the continent. Jones is still a good player - strikers tend to rely more on confidence than anyone would like, but they're ultimately human and people under high-pressure situations (or indeed anyone in creative industries) do better when they're happy. Jones will do well this season, it won't necessarily be reflected in his goals, but more in the team performance if he's used well.
Post by: Peong on August 18, 2014, 08:56:43 AM
https://www.youtube.com/v/9lPkMYmbLZY

KJ coulda had 4!
His teammates looking for him and able to pick him out, good stuff.

Oh yeah Cardiff City has their own youtube channel.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfBVy8PAMwyNbac6D0Mk8gQ
Post by: g on August 18, 2014, 07:02:52 PM
Watch this space, if he drop a brace again this weekend doh be surprised if a premiership team try to swipe him before the transfer window closes.
Post by: chelsealife on August 18, 2014, 07:45:29 PM
Watch this space, if he drop a brace again this weekend doh be surprised if a premiership team try to swipe him before the transfer window closes.
I think he will be moving as well.... I would love to see him with Everton or QPR, their style may suit his play
Post by: davidephraim on August 19, 2014, 06:12:39 AM
any links for game today! Cardiff vs Wigan?
Post by: de_redman on August 19, 2014, 02:20:42 PM
Goal! Cardiff City 1, Wigan Athletic 0. Nicky Maynard (Cardiff City) right footed shot from the left side of the six yard box to the bottom left corner. Assisted by Kenwyne Jones with a headed pass following a corner.
Post by: Tiresais on August 20, 2014, 04:21:18 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/9lPkMYmbLZY

KJ coulda had 4!
His teammates looking for him and able to pick him out, good stuff.

Oh yeah Cardiff City has their own youtube channel.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfBVy8PAMwyNbac6D0Mk8gQ

Seeing those highlights make me scared to play Cardiff!
Post by: Andre on August 21, 2014, 10:29:59 AM
Cardiff in the news. Malky was a racist.

http://prosoccertalk.nbcsports.com/2014/08/20/malky-mackay-and-iain-moody-investigated-by-fa-for-sexist-racist-and-homophobic-text-messages-while-at-cardiff-city/

According to the Daily Mail, Mackay and Moody were under investigation for eight controversial transfers – totaling around $75 million – made by the duo while at Cardiff in 2013. As part of that investigation, Cardiff hired Mishcon de Reya to perform an investigation into the transfers, which revealed that $4.5 million was withheld in payments due to agents.

The investigation also turned up 70,000 text messages and 100,000 emails in connection to alleged wrongdoing related to transfers. Mackay and Moody were told that Cardiff were in possession of these messages, which have since been passed along to the FA as per rules requiring clubs to report any matters that may constitute ‘aggravated misconduct’.

Below are bullet-points of the alleged remarks, which contain sexist, racist and homophobic language:

In July 2012, Cardiff signed South Korean international Kim Bo-kyung, but when Moody informed Mackay on July 12 that ‘five of the b******s including the player’ were arriving for talks, the reply from Mackay’s phone was: ‘Fkn chinkys.’ A further message says: ‘Fk it. There’s enough dogs in Cardiff for us all to go around.’

In reference to the prominent football agent, Phil Smith, a text states: ‘Go on, fat Phil. Nothing like a Jew that sees money slipping through his fingers’. The Israeli club, Maccabi Tel Aviv, are also referred to simply as ‘the Jews’.

A football official at another club is referred to as ‘a gay snake’ and ‘the homo’ and someone who is ‘not to be trusted’, while a French player is someone ‘who struck me as an independently minded young homo’.

An exchange with a young player who has a female agent makes reference to a sex act and states: ‘I hope she’s looking after your needs,’ the player is then told. ‘I bet you’d love a bounce on her falsies.’

On August 16, 2012, a list of players proposed by a French agent is forwarded, stating to Mackay that ‘he needs to rename his agency the All Blacks’. A separate text in reference to a list of French players states: ‘Not many white faces amongst that lot but worth considering.’

In a separate exchange a picture entitled ‘Black Monopoly’ is sent, with every square a ‘Go To Jail’ square. Of one African player, it is stated: ‘Doesn’t look like a good cv. And he’s Nigerian.’
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 21, 2014, 11:04:19 AM
Looks like Tan wasn't a capricious madman after all.
Post by: Andre on August 21, 2014, 11:17:07 AM
yuh doh get so rich from being a madman. Tan have some kinda gameplan.
Post by: Mose on August 21, 2014, 12:09:24 PM
Actually, I think the fact that the language used was so blatant and off the cuff casual means it's quite common in the football world in the UK (at the least).
Post by: Tiresais on August 21, 2014, 04:09:18 PM
If true, he's a scumbag "C" word of the highest order
Post by: Pur_Trini on September 18, 2014, 07:06:50 AM
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer parts company with Cardiff City

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/26328068
Post by: grimm01 on September 18, 2014, 07:22:04 AM

And guess who name in the mix as a replacement... Tony Pulis

Here's a reminder of what KJ had to say about Pulis: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2430411/Kenwyne-Jones-reveals-quit-Stoke-City-Tony-Puliss-bland-style-football.html
Post by: toonmili on September 18, 2014, 08:50:18 AM
I also think it's probably common language. I also think all these work permits rules are to keep the sport in England from becoming dominated by black foreigners. They aren't there fussing about other Europeans or Argentinians. Its the Africans, West Indians etc they don't want. 
Post by: Tenorsaw on September 18, 2014, 09:45:29 AM
I also think it's probably common language. I also think all these work permits rules are to keep the sport in England from becoming dominated by black foreigners. They aren't there fussing about other Europeans or Argentinians. Its the Africans, West Indians etc they don't want. 

Don't quite agree with your argument.  While permit issuance can come over as a somewhat subjective decision, it is heavily based on the caliber of the player, in terms of how many international caps he has, as well as the Fifa ranking of his national team.  You're a bit over the top here.
Post by: Dinner Mints on September 18, 2014, 12:22:34 PM

Here's a reminder of what KJ had to say about Pulis: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2430411/Kenwyne-Jones-reveals-quit-Stoke-City-Tony-Puliss-bland-style-football.html
From what dem Cardiff fans saying, Kenwyne is de only player working hard on de pitch, so a reunion go be a shock for both of them.
Post by: maxg on September 18, 2014, 01:44:04 PM

Maybe Pulis learn something and will do things differently...eg.. Transfer kenwyne Jones   :rotfl:   then he could deal with fans.. it's a wuk for everybody..not glee club..if he have a better player, trade he ass yes..if not, then yuh think he not go play him, cause he to honest ?
Post by: Peong on September 18, 2014, 01:50:38 PM
Neil Lennon in the frame.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2761307/Neil-Lennon-moves-Cardiff-shortlist-Tony-Pulis-Craig-Bellamy-Paul-Hartley-distance-vacancy.html
Post by: de_redman on August 29, 2015, 08:53:56 AM
Cardiff vs Nottingham Forrest
K Jones scores a header from the centre of the box to the bottom left corner - 23rd minute
Post by: de_redman on January 05, 2016, 04:38:50 PM
This thread is officially closed!  ;D
Al Jazira forever thread anyone?  :devil:
Post by: asylumseeker on January 05, 2016, 06:03:26 PM
This thread is officially closed!  ;D
Al Jazira forever for de hour thread anyone?  :devil:

;)
Post by: kounty on January 05, 2016, 09:38:56 PM
so which T&T player is playing (at least semi-consistently) in the highest level league now?
Maybe Cornell Glen might have a case   ;D