Sports => Football => Topic started by: 100% Barataria on November 07, 2005, 12:02:20 PM

Title: Trivia: Tobago Ballers
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 07, 2005, 12:02:20 PM
Tallman (or anyone else)

Apart from Dwight, C. Hutch., and Cyd, who are some of the prominent ballers to originate from the sister isle?

Also, what is the maximum number of Tobago ballers to have played on a national team?  WC qualifying or otherwise
Title: Re: Trivia: Toabgo Ballers
Post by: football king on November 07, 2005, 12:12:23 PM
wasn't Denoon and arab nelson from tobago?
keeper granville
Post by: palos on November 07, 2005, 12:14:28 PM
Best footballer for me from Tobago...excludin Dwight but not my much....was

Wendell Moore.  BIG BIG BALLA DAT!  Shoulda play way more than he did for T&T

If is anybody have justifiable cause to complain about being "marginalized" in T&T football is players from Tobago.
Post by: Jahyouth on November 07, 2005, 12:16:20 PM
Colvin Hutchinson from the Strike Squad.  Aston Villa were interested in him first, but due to his age they went with Dwight instead.   

He was a big player from Tobago.
Post by: football king on November 07, 2005, 12:18:28 PM
wendell moore was a good one
outside of dwight and well cyd gray of course Hutchinson was baaaad, wrong timing, yorke latapy take all the spotlight.
Post by: Observer on November 07, 2005, 12:34:07 PM
wendell moore was a good one
outside of dwight and well cyd gray of course Hutchinson was baaaad, wrong timing, yorke latapy take all the spotlight.

Terry Williams was in the early 80's
Post by: Pointman on November 07, 2005, 12:36:53 PM

If is anybody have justifiable cause to complain about being "marginalized" in T&T football is players from Tobago.

:rotfl: :rotfl: like ah geh under yuh skin wid da one or wha?? :rotfl:
Post by: Saltanfresh on November 07, 2005, 12:42:34 PM
What about Roy "National" Wright, ah short man with real pase, from ate seventies and early eighties. He played 3rd division ball in Switzerland right up into his late thirties. i think his last club was Winterthur FC.

By the way, it looking like "Time Fuh Germany"
Post by: BigToe on November 07, 2005, 12:44:26 PM

Per Dwight's book, Wendell was his football idol growing up. I played with Wendell in Florida, even with bad knees he was a sick baller. We once beat a side 14 - 1, Wendell scored 10.
Post by: freakazoid on November 07, 2005, 12:46:42 PM
now i have looked at our performances of tobago secondary schools at national level they holding they own. i have seen tobagonians getting there fair share on national youth teams . the 2001 u 17 team had about 5 bagonians in the squad and 3 were starting( we also had d skipper)
tobago football suffers from a skill drain our footballers get schols to american colleges and either never return or lose their love 4 d game.remember otis burris he captained joe public when semi pro now start he was about twenty one of the best sweepers i have seen. they all dissappear
burt fitwilliams made bout 3 appearancesin 2003. crab connection skipper ( warren butler) from bago too he also has some national caps
Post by: palos on November 07, 2005, 12:51:49 PM
Best young footballer I have seen in T&T is Keon Daniel.
Post by: palos on November 07, 2005, 12:52:20 PM

Honestly...yuh did.  But I over dat now.   ;D
Post by: freakazoid on November 07, 2005, 12:58:41 PM
Best young footballer I have seen in T&T is Keon Daniel.
tru dat but he losing he head he hanging with the wrong crowd on d wrong cloud
Post by: scooby on November 07, 2005, 01:07:10 PM
well if you say wendell moore you know foootball and not wearing football diaper. Wendell was a classic never made it big with break in got in England but he had excellant vision as mid feilder, he was a better than David Nakhid, while I am on the case of Mr Nakhid do guys think he was really that good. For me personelly I think was a good professional and took the game serious but compared to others he rarely made a penetrating passes, square passes all day.  What do you think
Post by: vb on November 07, 2005, 01:08:10 PM
Tallman (or anyone else)

Apart from Dwight, C. Hutch., and Cyd, who are some of the prominent ballers to originate from the sister isle?

Also, what is the maximum number of Tobago ballers to have played on a national team?  WC qualifying or otherwise

reposting and editing...some kinda tech prob.

In addtion to the names mentioned...Wendell Moore..John Granville...Richard Goddard, who is presently a GK in Canada...looked very promising for the U-23s in 1999...but seems to have fallen off the map.

Post by: Pointman on November 07, 2005, 01:15:56 PM

Honestly...yuh did.  But I over dat now.   ;D

my apologies...lehwe jes focus in de RED for tru!!
Title: Re: Trivia: Tobago Ballers
Post by: football king on November 07, 2005, 02:47:06 PM
have to say had some ballers from bago get screwed, why i don't know.

heard keon daniel is the real deal
all yuh might not know this guy i saw a skinny youth form bago play in SC lefty real good player one fo the bestt bago men i ever seen named BERT WILLIAMS-quick as heck strong left foot.  but could use soem pounds.  Now he was good.
Post by: royalian on November 07, 2005, 05:31:23 PM
Warren Butler had potential, was a great striker, even had a trial with English club, Birmingham i think (?), but was too injury prone. playing with crab connection now
Post by: ß!aCkÒuT on November 07, 2005, 05:51:34 PM
 carlton "Squeakie" Hinds  is another player from tobago ..he played a long time ago
Post by: Big Magician on November 07, 2005, 06:00:31 PM
allyuh remember " zico "  manswell.....it have plenty manswell footballers in bago...but zico was seen by an ac milan scout on holiday in bago....the man took zico to milan where he spent like 6 months i think....but it did not work out.....
Post by: fivers on November 07, 2005, 06:02:06 PM
that youth bert williams is now going by fitzwilliams. bertille called him and gave him a run. one of bago best. played for university of newhaven. made all american. he playing pro in canada now

best that i have seen, desides york, wendell, terry williams, shunneal, buckie moses guys,culvin hutchinson

the thing is, i have seen a lot of tallent pass through Tobago, but a lot of the more talented ones never went to high school and therefore did not get the exposure for the national team. Wish we had a coach like Beenie in them times. He has an eye for tallent.
Post by: Feliziano on November 07, 2005, 08:01:18 PM
i remember Hassel Thom..he was kinda good in U17 or something..also i think a fella who get shot a couple years ago was from Tobago too..was a striker..cant remeber he name though but i think it was close to Ralston?
Post by: palos on November 07, 2005, 08:47:06 PM
Had a Mohammed fella used to play fuh Signal Hill back in de day.  He was bad.

Post by: prodigy23 on November 07, 2005, 09:05:02 PM
Rodrick Anothny, he was d under 17 captain in 2001, he used to be on connection pro- team until he broke his leg, dunno if he still plays 4 them though.
Post by: Tallman on November 07, 2005, 09:45:12 PM
Here is a list of Tobago-born players who have represented T&T at the senior level:
Dwight Yorke, Colvin Hutchinson, Wendell Moore, John Granville, Warren Butler, Dwayne Jack, Cyd Gray, Rolston James, Marvin Raeburn, Hayden Fitzwilliams, Devon Leacock

I'm sure Richard Goddard and bigsnakes could add to de list.

carlton "Squeakie" Hinds is another player from tobago ..he played a long time ago
As far as I know, Squeakie was from Moruga.
Post by: Feliziano on November 07, 2005, 10:03:50 PM
Rolston James is the man name
Tallman ent he get killed in a holdup or something sometime ago?
Post by: Tallman on November 07, 2005, 10:07:42 PM
Rolston James is the man name
Tallman ent he get killed in a holdup or something sometime ago?

Yes, he was fatally shot during a robbery at his home in Aranjuez on December 16, 2002.
Post by: palos on November 08, 2005, 12:00:56 AM
Makan Hislop is an excellent young player as well.

Den yuh had Devon Leacock and de young forward who did get ban fuh cussin or lashin some referee.  He was prolific but nuff bad behaviour.
Post by: Flex on November 08, 2005, 03:14:13 AM
If you want to count Ian Cox as well, his parents from Tobago..
Post by: Richard G. on November 08, 2005, 07:45:38 AM
As man I could give the names of many I remember, but not of those I've seen once or twice, or players my dad have told me about.

Yorke...will always be the benchmark of footballers out of the Caribbean (represented his native country)

Colvin Hutchinson...Probably the most skillful player (could have been a Latapy clone)

Wendell Moore...It was always said he was better than Yorke. He just never went the way of the professional athlete.

Bert 'stregge' Fitzwilliams...No left-footed player in Tobago was better.

John Granville...Personally I wish he was around me all the time. Goalkeeper to goalkeeper coach. What more could I wish I had? Unfortunately I never saw him play, but I guess 50,000+ Tobagonians couldn't be wrong in saying...he was that good.

Rolston* (sp) James...Powerful, strong, and skillful enough as a striker to be rated one of the best strikers in the PFL before he was killed (RIP Cibby)

Cyd Gray...It seems as though he's only beginning to show some of his potential. Thank God.

Keon 'Schilacchi' Daniel...The last time I saw him play was las Christmas at the annual Coaching School Foreign-Based vs Coaching School Local Match. I tell you..de boy smooth and he left foot wicked. Now can he push his talents past his laziness? Hopefully.

Kevin Nelson...Probably the most unlucky Tobagonian I know. He's been all over the world and never really got a break. He still pushes on though. Hopefully those Aussies fall in love with him and keep him there.

Henry 'Bucky' Ceasar...Maybe behind Yorke the best striker Tobago has ever produced. Over-powering with both left and right guns; I don't know of any keeper (Trinidad or Tobago) that willingly stood in front the goal while he prepared to shoot. Very Prolific scorer that should have been given a fair chance ($$$ and a Trinidad bias made things very difficult unfortunately).

Warren Butler...Individual skill was tremendous. Individual professional attitude was lacking. He could have been T&T's next Yorke. It never worked out that way.

We could throw into the mis 'Arab' Nelson, the quartet that went to the Youth World Cup in '91 (don't know the names but Yorke was the captain), Devon Leacock, Makan Hislop, Frankie Mohammed, Dwayne Jack, Marvin Raeburn, Roy Wright (I didn't know we had a baller playing pro in Switzerland in the 70's and 80's) but these are players I've never seen or know too little about to make any assessments.

Lata, blessings and enjoy the day.
Luv yuh T&T Always
Richard G.

Post by: football king on November 08, 2005, 08:19:56 AM
i ain't know raeburn originally from bago.

Bert yeah now remember his real name was Hayden fitzwilliams-really really good player.  deceptive speed and i mean speed but skill as well.  never see him swing a right foot though.  that man no doubt suppose to be on the national squad easy.
Post by: Gladman on November 08, 2005, 09:03:36 AM
As ah bago youth i'll tell u that one of d man reasons that bago players dont make it really is d constant travelllin bac and forth to train 4 d national team.I im only 22 i ent see much,but i can tell u bout is Warren Bulter d man had real skill jus neva made it.Even though the future bright 4 bago player. As 4 Keon Daniel i played with d man in school d man have x amount of talent and ah wicked left foot ,jus give him time .
Post by: fivers on November 08, 2005, 11:17:06 AM
football king, Bert Williams is his original name. He decided to change it to Hayden Fizwilliams. Don't know why, but that man is meh causen from Carnbee Tobago, the man bad. An he real mashup the college league here in the US both 1st division and Second division. Got all American in both leagues. if anybody wondering if division II is better. That's up in the air. Some will say division II has no age limit therefore more older and experience players and others may sayd division I have the best younger players. The truth is, I have seen nuff to ranked D I schools get the as%^&& buss by D II.
Post by: football king on November 08, 2005, 11:27:08 AM
to me outside of dwight hutchy the older guard- he by far the best bago player i seen-just my opinion.  real nice fella too,I consider him a real good friend.

soemetimes it seem like the easy chances he miss but then he bring out something spectacular and leave yuh wondering who this man? he could use a stern john diet a lil bit, but maybe tha might slow him down.  excellent player. wha he doing in canada he should be in mls at least.
Post by: fivers on November 08, 2005, 11:45:08 AM
football king, ah lotta people geh fool by he size, doh leh that fool uh bredda. The man from Bago and ha real strength. Trust meh. I use to tell him the same thing meh self.
Post by: CarenageBoy on November 08, 2005, 11:50:34 AM
An he real mashup the college league here in the US both 1st division and Second division

This sounds like a man for we warrior scouts!
Post by: fivers on November 08, 2005, 12:16:51 PM
He should have been given a chance under beene. Very talented. He did get a run under BSC when they played in that tournament in Barbados recently. But, did not get the start.
Post by: fivers on November 08, 2005, 12:18:59 PM
The man was signal hill top striker in college days and also for Coaching school. I will send u guys the canadian league link.
Post by: fivers on November 08, 2005, 12:22:50 PM
He plays for Toronto Croatia. Here is the league link http://www.cpsl.ca/teams.asp?id=6

Here is the team's website http://www.croatiatoronto.com/

The reason I know all this about him. I followed his career from day one.
Post by: Baygo Boy on November 08, 2005, 12:58:19 PM
Tallman (or anyone else)

Well, well. most of our poster may be too young to remember Tobagonian players like:

Claudy "maho" Hills - Striker - The best Tobagonian striker ever (even if we use Dwight as the guage), ask Bertille.

Hugh Daniel - ask Wendell 'bout Hugh

Ivor 'Bumpy" Jack - maho striking partner, and one of the most capped Tobagonian strikers.  

The above players just happen to be born in the wrong decade.

To answer your question, apart from the above these are MY picks (bear in mind that I haven't seen some of the younger players):

#1 - "maho" Hills
#2 - Wendell Moore
#3 - Dwight Yorke
#4 - Ralph "Arab" Nelson
#5 - John Granville
#6 - Hugh Daniel
#7 - Ivor Jack
#8 - Colvin Hutchinson
#9 - Ralston James
#10 - Terry Williams
#11 - Sheneil MacMillian
#12 - Cyd Gray
#13 - Ricky Nelson - Strike Squad
#14 - Richard MacFarlane
#15 - "Bucky" Ceasar
#16 - Kevin Nelson
#17 - Ashley MacMillian
#18 - Richard Goddard
#19 - Keith Virgil ( 1st Tobagonian to be named all american in the late
 Â                        70's)
#20 - Woodsy (Arab high school partner)
#21 - Frankie Mohammed

Richard G, how you forget "Maho", Hugh and Ivor. However, There are many Tobagonian players with enough talent to play for T&T, and pro ball abroad, but for as long as the present mind-set prevails in Tobago football, little progress will be made. Thanks to Bertille,  Wendel and Richie Mac for charting the course and paving the way for many young Tobagonian 'ballers.

Share your thoughts
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 08, 2005, 01:09:26 PM
Baygo bredder and others, thanks for the FYI.

What is the present mindset in Tobago football that you mention?
Post by: fivers on November 08, 2005, 01:12:39 PM
some of those players are before my time. but heard of John Granville, Hugh Daniel, Ivor Jack
Post by: palos on November 08, 2005, 01:16:37 PM
Tallman (or anyone else)

Well, well. most of our poster may be too young to remember Tobagonian players like:

Claudy "maho" Hills - Striker - The best Tobagonian striker ever (even if we use Dwight as the guage), ask Bertille.

Ivor 'Bumpy" Jack - maho striking partner, and one of the most capped Tobagonian strikers.  

To answer your question, apart from the above these are MY picks (bear in mind that I haven't seen some of the younger players):

#1 - "maho" Hills
#2 - Wendell Moore
#3 - Dwight Yorke
#4 - Ralph "Arab" Nelson
#5 - John Granville
#6 - Hugh Daniel
#7 - Ivor Jack
#8 - Colvin Hutchinson
#9 - Ralston James
#10 - Terry Williams
#11 - Sheneil MacMillian
#12 - Cyd Gray
#14 - Richard MacFarlane
#15 - "Bucky" Ceasar
#16 - Kevin Nelson
#17 - Ashley MacMillian
#18 - Richard Goddard
#21 - Frankie Mohammed

Richard G, how you forget "Maho", Hugh and Ivor. However, There are many Tobagonian players with enough talent to play for T&T, and pro ball abroad, but for as long as the present mind-set prevails in Tobago football, little progress will be made. Thanks to Bertille,  Wendel and Richie Mac for charting the course and paving the way for many young Tobagonian 'ballers.

Share your thoughts

Yuh post all dem name and eh even mention meh breddrin Peter Granville?  Fiyah bun!!!   ;D ;D

Went to Scarborough RC wit both he and Richie Mac.  Richie was talented fuh trute.

One a de best goalkeepers out of either Trinidad or Tobago at youth level was Clint Khoury.  Dat boy was wicked!!!
Post by: palos on November 08, 2005, 01:18:37 PM
Dey also had a youth on de 1990 Youth team dat went de World Cup by de name of Nigel Davidson.  Left back on de team.  Decent player but never really heard about him after that.
Post by: Richard G. on November 08, 2005, 01:23:39 PM
Tallman (or anyone else)

#1 - "maho" Hills
#2 - Wendell Moore
#3 - Dwight Yorke
#4 - Ralph "Arab" Nelson
#5 - John Granville
#6 - Hugh Daniel
#7 - Ivor Jack
#8 - Colvin Hutchinson
#9 - Ralston James
#10 - Terry Williams
#11 - Sheneil MacMillian
#12 - Cyd Gray
#14 - Richard MacFarlane
#15 - "Bucky" Ceasar
#16 - Kevin Nelson
#17 - Ashley MacMillian
#18 - Richard Goddard
                         70's)
#21 - Frankie Mohammed

Richard G, how you forget "Maho", Hugh and Ivor. However, There are many Tobagonian players with enough talent to play for T&T, and pro ball abroad, but for as long as the present mind-set prevails in Tobago football, little progress will be made. Thanks to Bertille,  Wendel and Richie Mac for charting the course and paving the way for many young Tobagonian 'ballers.

Share your thoughts

Yuh post all dem name and eh even mention meh breddrin Peter Granville?  Fiyah bun!!!   ;D ;D

Went to Scarborough RC wit both he and Richie Mac.  Richie was talented fuh trute.

One a de best goalkeepers out of either Trinidad or Tobago at youth level was Clint Khoury.  Dat boy was wicked!!!

Oh gosh doh kill me nah. I only heard about Maho, Hugh, and Ivor. I was thinking of puttin their names on the list but again...so many names. I stand corrected.

Lata and enjoy the evening.
Richard G.
Post by: Pointman on November 08, 2005, 01:30:31 PM
Tallman (or anyone else)

#1 - "maho" Hills
#2 - Wendell Moore
#3 - Dwight Yorke
#4 - Ralph "Arab" Nelson
#5 - John Granville
#6 - Hugh Daniel
#7 - Ivor Jack
#8 - Colvin Hutchinson
#9 - Ralston James
#10 - Terry Williams
#11 - Sheneil MacMillian
#12 - Cyd Gray
#14 - Richard MacFarlane
#15 - "Bucky" Ceasar
#16 - Kevin Nelson
#17 - Ashley MacMillian
#18 - Richard Goddard
#21 - Frankie Mohammed

Share your thoughts

Yuh post all dem name and eh even mention meh breddrin Peter Granville?  Fiyah bun!!!   ;D ;D

Went to Scarborough RC wit both he and Richie Mac.  Richie was talented fuh trute.

One a de best goalkeepers out of either Trinidad or Tobago at youth level was Clint Khoury.  Dat boy was wicked!!!

So palos you's ah Baygo man??? ;D awright!!!
Post by: fivers on November 08, 2005, 01:40:06 PM
palos, meh father tome me about Richie Mac, I heard he was a very good defender and should have been on the national team. If anyone wondering. Meh father and Richie played for sould city in the day. Father's name is, Augustus Mitchell AKA Duck. Men from Bonnacord will know.
Post by: palos on November 08, 2005, 01:49:44 PM

Born Trini...moddah family from Tobago.  Faddah family from Sando.  Went Tobago at 2.  Move back Trini at 11.  Live in Mt. Lambert fuh 2 years.  Move to Newtown fuh 5 years.  Den move to Petit Valley.

In other words.....I is a Trinbagonian.
Post by: Baygo Boy on November 08, 2005, 01:59:00 PM

Born Trini...moddah family from Tobago.  Faddah family from Sando.  Went Tobago at 2.  Move back Trini at 11.  Live in Mt. Lambert fuh 2 years.  Move to Newtown fuh 5 years.  Den move to Petit Valley.

Palos, we suppose to know each other. Peter is a friend also (remember he played for Calder hall after high school), You are right about Clint Khoury, he was a very good keeper, but as someone mentioned previously travelling to Trinidad for National team training was tough for most players in those days, my brother was a victim of that. PS: Clint and Simon are friends also. However, I went to Scarborough secondary and Compre, and Peter and Simon to Bishops.

Post by: Pointman on November 08, 2005, 02:04:29 PM

ah like de pedigree ;D
now ah could put tings in perspective...it's all good all ah we is one...T&T before all!!!
Post by: doc on November 08, 2005, 02:10:25 PM
Tallman (or anyone else)

#1 - "maho" Hills
#2 - Wendell Moore
#3 - Dwight Yorke
#4 - Ralph "Arab" Nelson
#5 - John Granville
#6 - Hugh Daniel
#7 - Ivor Jack
#8 - Colvin Hutchinson
#9 - Ralston James
#10 - Terry Williams
#11 - Sheneil MacMillian
#12 - Cyd Gray
#14 - Richard MacFarlane
#15 - "Bucky" Ceasar
#16 - Kevin Nelson
#17 - Ashley MacMillian
#18 - Richard Goddard
                         70's)
#21 - Frankie Mohammed

Richard G, how you forget "Maho", Hugh and Ivor. However, There are many Tobagonian players with enough talent to play for T&T, and pro ball abroad, but for as long as the present mind-set prevails in Tobago football, little progress will be made. Thanks to Bertille,  Wendel and Richie Mac for charting the course and paving the way for many young Tobagonian 'ballers.

Share your thoughts

Yuh post all dem name and eh even mention meh breddrin Peter Granville?  Fiyah bun!!!   ;D ;D

Went to Scarborough RC wit both he and Richie Mac.  Richie was talented fuh trute.

One a de best goalkeepers out of either Trinidad or Tobago at youth level was Clint Khoury.  Dat boy was wicked!!!

Ah eh know if Peter in dah category. I'll add a few names including a few from country  ;D
Dennis Morgan???
Frankie Sieusankar(sp)
Telford Daly
Gordon "Sarfraz" Moore
Dave "Pony" Moore
Harry Donaldson
David George
Dave George
Kenneth Sterling
and a legend from Charlotteville named "Sheba" - the premier striker I have seen in Tobago! ;D
Post by: palos on November 08, 2005, 02:13:30 PM
Telford was bad in trute.
Post by: Baygo Boy on November 08, 2005, 03:09:35 PM
Doc, you named some good 'ballers, Frankie and Hugh played for slammers, but the saying goes that Hugh Donaldson could only play well when Dennison Jack (Ivor older brother) playing.

To the best of my knowledge - both players represented Tobago in the late 60's early 70's. Daly was verey good also - another player who would have made the National team if things were different then. Frankie had good skill, but I don't believe that he would have made it as apro player like say  "Maho" , Wendell, Ivor and Daly would have.

Who is Sheba? I don't remember him. Is he a young player?
Post by: doc on November 08, 2005, 03:20:58 PM
Doc, you named some good 'ballers, Frankie and Hugh played for slammers, but the saying goes that Hugh Donaldson could only play well when Dennison Jack (Ivor older brother) playing.

To the best of my knowledge - both players represented Tobago in the late 60's early 70's. Daly was verey good also - another player who would have made the National team if things were different then. Frankie had good skill, but I don't believe that he would have made it as apro player like say "Maho" , Wendell, Ivor and Daly would have.

Ah eh know if Saeed (Frankie) would remember sometime 'round 72-73 when Slammers came up country to open de league, and take 11 goals. Sheba was full of guile and insight. Slim dark fella who was very difficult to subdue. I understood he left Tobago for England in the early to mid '70s, but haven't heard about him since.
Post by: Baygo Boy on November 08, 2005, 03:31:41 PM

To the best of my knowledge - both players represented Tobago in the late 60's early 70's. Daly was verey good also - another player who would have made the National team if things were different then. Frankie had good skill, but I don't believe that he would have made it as apro player like say "Maho" , Wendell, Ivor and Daly would have.

Ah eh know if Saeed (Frankie) would remember sometime 'round 72-73 when Slammers came up country to open de league, and take 11 goals. Sheba was full of guile and insight. Slim dark fella who was very difficult to subdue. I understood he left Tobago for England in the early to mid '70s, but haven't heard about him since.

Doc doh vex, but in 72-73 if ah come country was for de weekend wid de family to hangout by Janet an dem. ah guess dat is why a don't know Sheba, forgive me
Post by: Observer on November 10, 2005, 10:29:25 AM
Telford and Dave George was real ballers yes.
Post by: Tallman on December 05, 2006, 11:23:20 AM
football king, Bert Williams is his original name. He decided to change it to Hayden Fizwilliams. Don't know why, but that man is meh causen from Carnbee Tobago, the man bad. An he real mashup the college league here in the US both 1st division and Second division. Got all American in both leagues. if anybody wondering if division II is better. That's up in the air. Some will say division II has no age limit therefore more older and experience players and others may sayd division I have the best younger players. The truth is, I have seen nuff to ranked D I schools get the as%^&& buss by D II.
As a matter of fact Hayden Fitzwilliams aka Bert Williams still holds three scoring records at the University of New Haven:
Most career goals - 56
Most goals in a season - 30 (in 2000)
Most points in a season (30 goals, 6 assists) - 66 (in 2000)

He is also second in the "Most Career Points" category with  132 (56 goals, 18 assists).

What school did he play with in NCAA Divsion I?
Post by: Baygo Boy on December 05, 2006, 02:42:10 PM
How come Fellas don't remember Ricky Nelson (Strike Squad)? Another Tobagonian to play for T&T was Jason Nelson. The Nelson family is probably the top football familiy in Tobago. Their members have represented T&T at all levels more then any other on the island.

Ralph "Arab" Nelson - Senior team
Ricky Nelson - Senior team
Kevin Nelson - T&T U-23/ U-20/ U-17/ U15
Ian "Piley" Nelson - T&T youth teams
Jason Nelson - Senior team & youth team.

But the top 5 Tobagonian ballers ever:
Wendell Moore - MF
Dwight Yorke  - FW
Claude 'Maho" Hills - FW
Hugh Daniel - DF
Ralph Nelson - DF

Post by: Gladman on December 05, 2006, 04:18:14 PM
I find nobody mentioning Micheal Carrington the man who i think holds d record 4 most goals in ah SSFL season and d man who cuss Rene Simoes .Sadly his attitude fails him daily
Post by: davidephraim on December 05, 2006, 09:57:34 PM

big name yuh call dey palos..  Wendell was definetly a big balla...
Post by: Deeks on December 06, 2006, 11:23:03 AM
Telesford Daly, David Reid, Granville, Earl and Seco Moore, Sandy
Post by: RGarcia on December 06, 2006, 11:50:08 AM
WARREN BUTLER is the best player that i have ever play with he was said at one time that he was better than Yorke in drinking and smooking so he did not reach too far :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: freakazoid on December 06, 2006, 01:20:55 PM
Makan Hislop is an excellent young player as well.

Den yuh had Devon Leacock and de young forward who did get ban fuh cussin or lashin some referee.  He was prolific but nuff bad behaviour.

the players is actuallly michael carrington and the coach was rene simoes. leacock got a small run in a friendly against hati when tnt were preparing for WC qualifiers
Post by: Mallo on March 11, 2008, 04:08:25 PM
I hereby end this discussion RIGHT NOW. Talking about Ballers coming out of Tobago, there was NONE better than Claudius "Mahoe" Hills. Ask Bertille and I am 100% sure that he will agree. As a matter of fact, ask Wendell & Dwight. Even though they never saw him play themselves, just from the things they have heard, they too will agree that he was leaps and bounds ahead of them. There is the argument that perhaps he was the BEST BALLER out of the Caribbean PERIOD.
Do the research folks. He played in the early 70's with Paradise & Calder Hall. He was the JOY of Tobago football. He was the one individual who could have brought out ALL OF TOBAGO TO A SINGLE FOOTBAL GAME. SADLY though, today Claudius now walk the streets of Tobago as an unknown to many. Those of us who were blessed to see this GEM of a Baller will ALWAYS measure Tobago's football by such yardstick. Furthermore, it is high time that the "Powers that Be in Tobago" pay tribute to Claudius "Mahoe" Hills for all that he was to Tobago football. SUCH AN ACT WOULD HELP TO SERVE ALL THE YOUNG BALLERS WELL, not only in Tobago, but, throughout T & T.
Post by: Deeks on March 11, 2008, 07:20:58 PM
Telesford Daly, David Reid, Granville, Earl and Seco Moore, Sandy. Dennis Morgan?????
Post by: Ngozi on March 11, 2008, 07:21:10 PM
Wendell does still play with us in Atlanta he still have a great footballing brain and nice lil skill and his younger son ..hmmm lemme put it this way we have a future star in the making
Post by: Storeboy on March 11, 2008, 07:54:08 PM
That is good stuff Richard.  Thanks man
Post by: Dumplingdinho on March 11, 2008, 08:29:59 PM
the 1991 under 20 world cup team had good baygo players...nigel davidson, dale boucher and hayden james.

Post by: Babalawo on March 12, 2008, 04:00:07 PM
Signal Hill as a whole produce some good players that the TTFF don't really invest in.
Post by: Fantastic on March 13, 2008, 06:44:58 PM
Richard G, ah could see yuh young if yuh saying Hutchie was probably as or more skilful than latas and yorke. Hutchie was very good, but plenty of that was work rate and football intelect. In terms of touch and niceness on de ball, anybody in dey mid to late 30's who see dem boys play from college league and up, know that.
Post by: Storeboy on March 14, 2008, 08:50:42 AM
When I was in high school playing soccer in the mid to late '60s, Tobago did not have a schools league.  Bishop's High School played with the men in the Tobago Football League.  We were 15,16, 17, and 18 year olds who frequently got whipped but also held our own in some games.  We had many talented players who went on to play with clubs in the Tobago league or quit to follow academic careers.  Our players were never scouted by the Trinidad football brass or if called could not accept as the TTFA then never provided funds and accomodation forus to go to Trinidad for training sessions, and so a lot of talent was left untapped.  However, for the people who saw football players like Frankie Seasanker, Arnold Lyons, Selwyn Pilgrim (who went to France on an Academic scholarship and quit playing), there was no incentive to play but they were very gifted players.  Ask Bertille St. Clair.