Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on June 03, 2014, 06:13:34 AM

Title: Gavin Hoyte Thread
Post by: Flex on June 03, 2014, 06:13:34 AM
New Hoyte on the block
By Ian Prescott (Express).

GAVIN HOYTE has a grandfather who lives in San Fernando.

He was once a member of Arsenal’s youth team and after his elder brother, defender Justin Hoyte, became a full international for Trinidad and Tobago a year ago, it seemed a natural progression that he do so as well.

Due to ancestral links, Gavin is eligible to play for T&T and has been called up by senior men’s national head coach Stephen Hart for international friendlies against World Cup-bound Argentina in Buenos Aires tomorrow and Iran on June 8 in Sao Paulo, Brazil.

Born in Leytonstone, London, 23-year-old Gavin has a heavy English accent. Already a father of two, he is son of former British sprinter Wendy Hoyte, the 1982 Commonwealth Games gold medal winner who missed the 1984 Olympics through pregnancy, and T&T-born British sprinter Les Hoyte.

Gavin was a defender with the England squad at the 2007 FIFA Under-17 World Cup and played in all five of England’s matches in the tournament, coming on as a substitute three times and starting the games against Brazil and Germany.

His current T&T teammates Marcus Joseph, Kevin Molino and Sheldon Bateau represented the twin-island republic at that same tournament in South Korea.

A product of the Arsenal academy, Hoyte signed with the English Premiership club at age nine, was captain of Arsenal’s U-18 team and signed a senior contract which kept him at the club until 2012.

But Gavin had few Premier League appearances for Arsenal, for whom he debuted in 2008, playing for 60 minutes before current star Aaron Ramsey replaced him. He also played League Cup matches against Sheffield United and Wigan.

“I was at Arsenal from the age of nine till 21 when I got released,” he said of his still early career, which has also seen him going on loan to Watford City, Brighton, Lincoln City and Wimbledon, before his release from Arsenal as a free agent two years ago.

He then signed a deal with League Two club Dagenham and Redbridge, which is near its end.

“I’m delighted to be here,” Hoyte exclaimed, not hiding his enthusiasm on joining the Trinidad and Tobago squad. “It’s a big step up to an international side. It’s a big thing for me.”

Gavin’s career mirrors that of 29-year-old brother Justin, who also played internationally for England from under-16 up to under 21 level.

Justin also began at age nine for Arsenal where he made 34 appearances at various (senior) levels, but was still down the pecking order behind Ivory Coast international Emmanuel Eboe and French internationals Gaël Clichy and Bacary Sagna at various times.

Justin became a Trinidad and Tobago international last year, seven years after turning down an initial offer to join T&T’s 2006 World Cup team.

Gavin said that while his brother joining the Soca Warriors was influential, he made his own choice once invited by coach Hart.

“At the end of the day I had to make my own decision,” he said. “My father was born here.”

Gavin has so far forged a relationship with roommate and England-born midfielder Andre Boucad. And Central FC striker Willis Plaza has also taken him out to eat some “doubles”.

He is simply happy to be here and hopes to make playing for T&T a solid future position.

“My long-term goal is to play every game I can,” the younger Hoyte said. “Everyone has made me feel comfortable.”

Title: Re: New Hoyte on the block.
Post by: Flex on June 04, 2014, 11:54:48 AM
If Gavin makes his debut today it will be ironic that his brother Justin also made his debut for T&T today a year ago vs Romania.

Post by: frico on June 05, 2014, 08:23:33 AM
Ah hear the commentators were calling him,Hoy-T,they gave him a Spanish sound to his name. :)
Post by: Touches on June 05, 2014, 09:12:30 AM
So both brothers were on the field at the same time...When was the last occurrence of an event such as this in T&T?

I know it happens at colleges league level but what about National team level.

Title: Gavin Hoyte on trial at Southend United
Post by: Tallman on July 16, 2014, 06:15:51 AM
Gavin Hoyte on trial at Southend United
By Chris Phillips (Echo News)

GAVIN Hoyte is on trial at Southend United.

The 24-year-old defender has spent the last two seasons with Dagenham & Redbridge but has yet to commit his future to the club.

And he is expected to line up for the Shrimpers at Billericay Town tonight.

“Gavin will be coming in on trial for the Billericay and Tottenham games,” confirmed Blues boss Phil Brown.

“It would be good to get another defender in and put pressure on the back four for places.”

Hoyte came through the ranks at Arsenal and spent time on loan with Watford, Brighton, Lincoln and AFC Wimbledon before joining Dagenham in July 2012.

He has also played internationally for Trinidad and Tobago and played for them against Argentina before the start of the World Cup.

Hoyte will now be bidding to earn a deal with Blues but is unlikely to be joined in the side by Spaniard Alberto de las Heras.

The midfielder trained with the Shrimpers in Malaga last week and flew over to meet up with them again at the weekend.

However, Echosport understands the 26-year-old has since returned home although this has yet to be confirmed by the club.
Post by: Sando prince on July 16, 2014, 10:32:32 AM
New Hoyte on the block
By Ian Prescott (Express).

Justin became a Trinidad and Tobago international last year, seven years after turning down an initial offer to join T&T’s 2006 World Cup team.

Gavin said that while his brother joining the Soca Warriors was influential, he made his own choice once invited by coach Hart.

“At the end of the day I had to make my own decision,” he said. “My father was born here.”

Gavin has so far forged a relationship with roommate and England-born midfielder Andre Boucad. And Central FC striker Willis Plaza has also taken him out to eat some “doubles”.

He is simply happy to be here and hopes to make playing for T&T a solid future position.

“My long-term goal is to play every game I can,” the younger Hoyte said. “Everyone has made me feel comfortable.”

This makes me wonder. Now I am open to any player (with Trini roots) who has proved himself as potential asset for the national team being given having a chance to represent the country. HOWEVER around the world we see a lot of players who realize after YEARS of being turned down or ignored by their country of birth (Germany, England) they now change their decision to playing for their parents country. (USA, Trini, Jamaica)

This makes me wonder how much passion and how much they really want to play for the T&T national team. And some coaches have the mindset because that because they were born in Europe and progress a European youth system they easily earned a spot on the national team. And that's bullshit! but of course players in Europe know Caribbean and African coaches have this mindset so they will continue to exploit it.. hence why they can take their sweet time (years of time) when making a decision to represent their dad or mom country.

"Let me see if I can make my Germany or England team first, and if I can't then I will make myself available for my mom or dad country"- the mindset of many
Post by: maxg on July 16, 2014, 12:52:46 PM
u really don't know what you are talking about, and the psychological pressure and stress involved of making that decision as far as these kids are concerned..especially depending on the stress & pressure their parents or aquantances faced if they were also dealing with past selections and some measure of bias and favoritism, predjudice and other turmoultous obstacles...yet belief as you wish...if you against putting forward our best foot, as everybody else does, and bring home our talent (if even to help develop/motivate) to assist our locals..then why stick with only sports ?
Post by: Sando prince on July 16, 2014, 07:26:37 PM
If you read my post as me being against putting forward our best foot by bringing home our talent then you either missed the jist of my argument or you have another topic you want to discuss. My points are loud and clear. Most times players who are born in Europe choose the countries of their parents after realizing a place on the national team of their country of birth is slim to none. Especially for England who have English born players being grabbed by Caribbean and American national team coaches after making themselves available for these coaches. In TnT its even worse because we tend to have an inferior complex by believing these players automatically can make our national team ahead of our local players before they even kick a ball before the coach in practice. Most times we are slapped in the face when reality shows us these players are not who we perceived them to be (does Samuel, Zamora, Shakes ring a bell to you?)  So we continue to desperately seek out these players  with Trini roots instead of just going about our business. This complex has us thinking our national team will automatically become stronger by having European born players on the roster. Disregarding the fact they can be less talented than some of our players playing locally.

My opinion is we should go about the natural order of developing our locals through different methods of creating a more competitive and stronger domestic league. If a European born player wants to make himself available that's good. He can come and TRY OUT for the team when the coach names a roster for training or screening. This is how most young local players have been introduced into the national system in the past. In fact his choice to make himself available for his parents or his grandparents country should not even be a news article of high relevance (you know how our media greet past European players with Trini roots as national stars before they even kick the ball smh). But if the national coach ready to just give him an automatic spot in the starting XI just based on his new citizenship then I hope he is ready for the backlash. The cultural mindset has to change if we want to be taken seriously
Post by: Tiresais on July 17, 2014, 12:47:33 AM
Mostly agreed Sando - I made my misgivings clear when he was called up, but he did come and try out in the camp before the friendlies, and Hart saw/thinks that he's good enough for the NT.
Post by: maxg on July 17, 2014, 06:38:39 AM
Of course I misunderstood.. I thought the issue was with the player. Obviously, your issue is with a coach and his team selectors, and the media.
Thank god with our inferiority complex this is only restricted to guys just walking on our football team, and all them foreign players showing up just so. Btw, wha we go do bout all dem good locals who go foreign to play, train and study. Many end up coaching, developing foreign...and getting big up and lauded in foreign media to...them having kids and then ...well, we understand the cycle...and dem not even good enough for we or better than we locals. Good thing a few of us don't have complexes.  ;D
Post by: Tallman on July 17, 2014, 08:14:54 AM
Southend United manager Phil Brown: Gavin Hoyte could be this year's Ben Coker
By Chris Phillips (Echo News)

SOUTHEND United manager Phil Brown feels he could have unearthed another potential signing in former Dagenham & Redbridge defender Gavin Hoyte.

The right-back is currently on trial with the Shrimpers and lined up against both Billericay Town and Tottenham Hotspur.

And Brown has hinted the 24- year-old could follow in the footsteps of Ben Coker in signing for Blues after a successful trial period in pre-season.

“Gavin played 45 minutes against Billericay and probably 60 against Spurs and he’s done well in those games,” said the Shrimpers boss.

“We could have another situation like the one we had with Ben Coker here last summer.

“We will be talking to him again and hope he will be able to play in our next friendly against Braintree on Saturday.”

Hoyte has figured mostly at right-back during his career, a position Southend skipper John White did well in last season.

As a result, Brown is considering moving White in to a central defensive position.

And he could well figure there in Blues’ forthcoming friendlies.

“John was very commanding in a central position against Billericay and he can play well there so that’s certainly another option for us,” said Brown.

“We are definitely short of defenders at the moment though and we definitely need to bring in one or two more in that area before the start of the season.”

Luke Prosser is currently the only fit recognised centre back in the Southend squad with Adam Thompson currently sidelined with a back problem.

However, Nabil Aslam – who had been on trial with the Shrimpers – will not be joining.

“Nabil showed he can play but, although it sounds crazy, I think he would actually be better off playing at a level higher than League Two so he’s moved on now,” said Brown.

“At our level it’s a war of attrition.

"You play Saturday, Tuesday, Saturday and come up against some big forwards and teams playing route one.

“I’m not sure he would have been able to cope with that."
Post by: Dinner Mints on July 17, 2014, 09:33:00 AM
I have yet to see a foreign-born player 'walk into the team' who didn't belong there. So I ain't sure what concerns are being expressed.
Post by: Tallman on August 19, 2014, 09:00:14 AM
Gillingham boss Peter Taylor adds former Arsenal youngster and Dagenham player Gavin Hoyte to his Priestfield squad
By Luke Cawdell (Kent Online)

Gillingham have bolstered their squad with the signing of Gavin Hoyte on a five-month contract.

Right-back Hoyte, 24, is a product of Arsenal’s academy, but spent the last two years at Dagenham & Redbridge.

He has joined the Gills on a deal until January 18.

Boss Peter Taylor said: "I'm pleased to have Gavin on board. He's trained with us for a couple of weeks and has a lot of games under his belt."

Hoyte was on trial with Southend United over the summer after rejecting a new contract with Dagenham.

He had been with the Daggers for two seasons, signing on for them in 2012 following his release from Arsenal, playing 68 Football League matches.

He made his one and only Arsenal league appearance in November 2008, starting in a 3-0 defeat to Manchester City. His three other appearances for the north London side were in the Carling Cup.

Loan spells at Watford, Brighton, Lincoln and AFC Wimbledon followed before joining being released in 2012.

Hoyte played youth football for England but in the summer appeared for Trinidad & Tobago during their tour of South America, with games against Argentina and Iran.

In June he was a substitute against Argentina, who were preparing for the World Cup, coming up against the likes of Lionel Messi.

He could be involved on Tuesday night against Swindon, if registered in time, but Taylor does have Matt Fish as an option at right back. Fish came through Saturday's game unscathed after recovering from a knee injury.
Post by: Tiresais on August 19, 2014, 10:41:43 AM
Awesome :) Gillingham's not too far from me so might go see them in action
Title: Whatever happened to the Hoyte brothers?
Post by: Tallman on September 14, 2014, 07:35:56 PM
Whatever happened to the Hoyte brothers?
By Devon Gray (vavel.com)

Justin and Gavin Hoyte joined Arsenal as children, but failed to establish themselves as regulars in the side - a common fate among academy products at England's biggest clubs.

At the conclusion of this summer's transfer window, Arsenal released or loaned out a number of academy products, including the formerly exciting prospects Chuks Aneke and Benik Afobe. It is not uncommon these days for highly touted youngsters to fail to live up to expectation, especially at large clubs like Arsenal. But what is proving to be an increasing worry is the lack of first team players that have been able to successfully break through from Arsenal's famed youth system.

Despite an ever-growing English core in Arsène Wenger's side, only Jack Wilshere and Kieran Gibbs have established themselves whilst coming through the Arsenal ranks - with the rest having been developed at Southampton and, with the addition of Danny Welbeck, Manchester United.

Two more memorable names that failed to live up to their billing were Justin and Gavin Hoyte, the brothers from Leytonstone who each joined the club at nine years of age. Justin, five years his brother's senior, made his first team debut in 2002 as an 18-year-old. In six seasons with the club, he amassed only 34 league appearances, but holds the record as the first Englishman to score for Arsenal at the Emirates Stadium, with a goal scored during a substitute appearance against Charlton in 2007.

Despite coming back from a fruitful loan spell the previous year with Sunderland, he returned as only a reserve to first choice full-backs Emmanuel Eboue and Gael Clichy. When the following season saw him pushed further down the pecking order with the signing of Bacary Sagna, Justin soon moved to the northeast to join Gareth Southgate's Middlesborough, but the club was relegated to the Championship later that season. Still a youngster at 23, however, Justin became a regular at right back for the Teessiders as they fought for promotion. A trip back to the top flight never came though, and after a six-year spell with Boro, he moved back to London to join Millwall at the start of 2014, where he currently plies his trade.

Gavin, the younger of the Hoyte brothers, has experienced much less fortune than Justin. His potential with Arsenal was nearly as promising, having had success throughout the various youth teams. But after a disastrous first team debut, in a 3-0 defeat to a Robinho-inspired Manchester City in 2008, Gavin was sent to Watford on loan the very next month. The following seasons saw Gavin sent out on loan three more times, to Brighton and Hove Albion, Lincoln City, and AFC Wimbledon, with relatively little success to show for it.

In 2012, he was finally released from Arsenal and signed with Dagenham and Redbridge, where he had arguably his most successful spell, albeit in the fourth tier of English football. Despite this, he was released from the club at the start of this summer after failing to agree to a new contract. Gavin has since signed with League 1 side Gillingham on a deal that runs until January.

Both of the Hoyte brothers have chosen to represent Trinidad and Tobago at the national level, despite appearing for various England youth teams earlier in their career. Justin, as it so happens, had the opportunity to represent the Soca Warriors at the 2006 World Cup, but declined the offer in hopes of one day donning the England shirt at the highest level. That chance never came, and that disparity between expectations and reality has summed up the careers of the Hoyte brothers and many others who come through high-profile footballing institutions.

So often, it seems, young and exciting prospects wither away in the youth teams of England's biggest clubs. It is becoming increasingly unlikely that England will ever see another "Class of '92" to emerge out of a club like Manchester United. As will be the case for years to come, larger sides prefer to invest in proven talent rather than bleeding youth players at the highest level to gain experience - a phenomenon that we've all come to expect.

But with so few youngsters getting the chance to break into the first teams of massive clubs, why do they choose to start their careers there when there are plenty of more suitable academies like Southampton's that have earned a reputation for giving youth a chance? For one, it must be awfully difficult for a parent to turn down the opportunity to send their prodigy to an establishment like Manchester United or Liverpool. And for families who grow up in the local area of a large club, just like the Hoytes, sometimes receiving an education at a club like Arsenal is simply more convenient.

What is worrying, however, is that in the midst of extreme pressure to succeed immediately, Arsène Wenger may have lost his reputation as a manager who will take a chance on youth. His experimentation with young sides defined the majority of the past decade with Arsenal, but the club has only started to find success again with the abandonment of this policy.

Currently, there are few hopes of another local talent breaking through anytime soon. Even the imported prospects have struggled in this regard. Thomas Eisfeld, who was bought from Borussia Dortmund, was just sold to Fulham despite consistently showing high potential whenever given an opportunity. Other young players in the team, like Serge Gnabry and Gedion Zelalem, will be disappointed with their lack of chances on the pitch in competitive matches.

The Hoyte brothers, though, did get their opportunities but failed to establish themselves as indispensable members of the squad. Despite being touted as England hopefuls, neither reached their expectations. But as is becoming increasingly apparent, the expectations placed on the shoulders of a young teenager in a high-pressure environment can completely stall a career, particularly with limited opportunities available.

Perhaps things would have been different for the Hoytes had they begun their careers in a more conducive environment with more available opportunities to gain professional experiences. Or maybe this is just a case of two players simply not possessing the talent to succeed at the highest level. If one thing is certain though, it's that fewer and fewer local academy products will succeed at the very highest level. With the largest clubs possessing the cash to buy all of their requisite talent, it is less frequently in their best interest to invest in the development of local talent.
Post by: Mose on September 15, 2014, 02:16:03 PM
For me, the important take aways from the above are:
But with so few youngsters getting the chance to break into the first teams of massive clubs, why do they choose to start their careers there when there are plenty of more suitable academies like Southampton's that have earned a reputation for giving youth a chance?

and, most importantly:

If one thing is certain though, it's that fewer and fewer local academy products will succeed at the very highest level. With the largest clubs possessing the cash to buy all of their requisite talent, it is less frequently in their best interest to invest in the development of local talent.

I think more and more English players should forego the immediate glory of the big clubs and look to get experience playing for the smaller clubs with the potential of a bigger payday if/when they develop into better players.
Post by: Tiresais on September 17, 2014, 11:11:20 AM
Thought that for a while - interesting article. Players need graduated experience just like in any field for youngsters basically doing an apprenticeship. Moreover, too much football at a high level can cause injury problems down the line á la Michael Owen.
Title: Gillingham defender Gavin Hoyte hoping for another call-up by Trinidad & Tobago
Post by: Tallman on March 13, 2015, 05:31:29 AM
Gillingham defender Gavin Hoyte hoping for another call-up by Trinidad & Tobago
By Luke Cawdell (Kent Online)

Gavin Hoyte is hoping a run of form for the Gills will be rewarded by an international call-up.

Last summer the former Arsenal youngster got a taste of the international life with two appearances for Trinidad & Tobago.

And with the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup taking place this summer, Hoyte wants to be a part of it.

He said: “The Gold Cup is a big one to look forward to and hopefully they call me up.

“The tournament has some big teams and is being held in America. I can learn so much from being involved.”

Hoyte played for England under-17s as a youth but qualifies for the Trinidadians through his father, who was born there. His grandfather still lives in Trinidad.

Last summer, Hoyte represented the Caribbean country in friendly matches against Iran and Argentina, playing 20 minutes against Lionel Messi.

The defender was sounded out about a return to the national team earlier this season but decided to put club before country.

He said: “I was just coming back from suspension. I needed to concentrate on getting back into the team at Gillingham and Trinidad were understanding.”
Title: Gavin Hoyte signs for Barnet FC
Post by: Tallman on June 11, 2015, 07:51:02 AM
Gavin Hoyte signs for Barnet FC
barnetfc.com

Barnet FC are delighted to announce the latest new arrival to The Hive in 25-year-old defender Gavin Hoyte, who has signed for the club on a two-year deal.

Gavin Hoyte joins the Bees after his contract with Gillingham expired, of whom he made over 30 appearances for last season. Hoyte signed for Arsenal’s academy when he was just nine years old, where he featured regularly for their U18 and Reserve team – going on to sign a professional contract with the Gunners in September 2007.

Since then, Gavin has featured for Watford, Brighton, Lincoln, AFC Wimbledon, Dagenham & Redbridge and Gillingham – along with appearances for the Trinidad and Tobago National Team.

Commenting on his move to Barnet, Gavin said that he’s delighted to be at Barnet and can’t wait to get back playing football:

“I’m delighted to be at Barnet, the club won the league last year and coming up into League Two they’re going to be on a big high and I want to be part of it.”

“I can’t wait to get back to playing football again, you really miss it when you’re off over the summer so I can’t wait for the league to start.”

“I’ve played quite a lot of games in League One and League Two, so I think I can bring good experience to the team. My strongest attribute is definitely my speed, I love to get up and down the pitch and get crosses in – but more important than anything, I love defending.”

Meanwhile, commenting on his latest signing, Bees Manager Martin Allen has said that Gavin is a great young player and received a glowing reference from his previous club Gillingham: 

“Gavin’s a very good player and he’s at a good age.

“I spoke to some people at Gillingham that gave him fantastic references and we have signed another very good player today.”
Post by: Tallman on September 04, 2015, 03:06:45 PM
Barnet FC fans discuss the club’s refusal to let Gavin Hoyte go on international duty with Trinidad and Tobago
http://www.onlybarnet.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=9968
Post by: royal on September 05, 2015, 08:16:23 AM
after all de talk Hoyte not even on de starting 11 for Barnet today. He on de bench.
Post by: fari on September 05, 2015, 11:06:52 AM
after all de talk Hoyte not even on de starting 11 for Barnet today. He on de bench.

what a shame
Post by: de_redman on September 05, 2015, 03:57:01 PM
He didn't make it off the bench in their 3-2 loss to Carlisle.
Post by: Dinner Mints on September 05, 2015, 05:03:17 PM
From de Barnet link, it seem like de team have injuries in defence and dey keep he for cover. My bigger concern is he cyah get a start for a League 2 side. Is he even on par with what's available to us?
Post by: Tallman on September 05, 2015, 07:49:06 PM
My bigger concern is he cyah get a start for a League 2 side.

This is the first game of the season where he didn't get ah run. He has started all previous 5 games.
Post by: de_redman on September 05, 2015, 08:21:54 PM
Seems like clear intimidation to me... A slap on the wrist for even thinking about playing for T&T. There has to be some rule against this!
Post by: Tallman on September 11, 2015, 11:01:02 AM
Barnet boss Martin Allen has hit back at claims from Trinidad & Tobago coach Stephen Hart that he “bullied” Gavin Hoyte into skipping international duty. “At no point has their manager tried to contact me, called me, texted me or emailed me,” sniffed Allen, failing to mention if Hart had MySnapGrammed him instead. “I have been doing this since I was 15 years old. I’ve just won a championship and we are one of the most professional, organised, tight-knit little teams of staff in the lower leagues. So it is a shame he never had the decency to ring me. That is what you call unprofessional.”
http://www.theguardian.com/football/2015/sep/11/the-fiver-the-one-where-david-de-gea-picks-up-his-toys-and-gets-handsomely-remunerated-for-doing-so
Post by: FF on September 11, 2015, 11:17:09 AM
Haha. The Fiver at it again. Allen real boldface.

Here is the original story they have riffed.

http://m.times-series.co.uk/sport/13713343.Allen_hits_back_at_Trinidad___Tobago_coach_s__unprofessional__claims/?ref=erec

Post by: royal on September 11, 2015, 05:29:39 PM
Allen has always been a mad man in de lower leagues.he mash up plenty teams like Leicester City with his unorthodox approach to coaching
Post by: Flex on October 07, 2015, 02:00:11 AM
Hoyte excited to join Soca Warriors.
T&T Guardian Reports.

England-based Soca Warriors defender Gavin Hoyte was among the group of overseas-based players to link up with the T&T squad in Panama on Sunday.

The 25-year-old Hoyte who plies his trade with Barnet FC  after being on the Arsenal player list until 2011, has only featured twice for the Soca Warriors, both last year, against Argentina and Iran in two friendly internationals.

Since then he has not suited up for the Stephen Hart-coached Soca Warriors and missed the 3-3 draw with Mexico last month in Utah after a mix-up in communication.

After being named in the T&T team for the match, Hoyte was asked by his club to miss the friendly just a day before his departure from London, and speaking in Panama yesterday he said he felt confident that there will not be such an occurrence again.

“I’m quite excited to be back. It’s been more than a year now since I’ve played for T&T. I’m very relieved. I don’t think this will happen again as obviously there was a bit of a mix up in communication between my manager and the coach but hopefully now it’s all resolved and I’m happy to be here.  I’ve spoken to my manager and he’s very happy. I think he now knows more of what’s going on and he’s happy for me to go and play.

“I’ve been following the team and it’s good to be back and hopefully I can get back into the mix,” the former Arsenal and England youth international added.

Defender Yohance Marshall who is attached to Mexican club Murcielagos believes the two friendlies are key to the preparations for the November 2018 World Cup qualifiers, away to Guatemala on November 13 and four days later at home to USA (November 17).

“I think it’s very important to come together as a group again especially with one game being in Central America and then the other back in T&T. There are a couple new faces and it’s good for us to get that unity and chemistry going. We know the kind of opposition Panama is and they will present us with a good test. The mentality of our preparation and hopefully the results will build the confidence of the team heading into the two qualifiers in November,” Marshall said.

T&T captain Kenwyne Jones who celebrated his 31st birthday yesterday reflecting on his assist to Stern John which helped T&T to a 1-0 win over Panama to revive its World Cup 2006 campaign said, “It’s already ten years since that game here against Panama.

“Time flies but it’s great to be back and on the verge of another qualifying campaign. We’re here to prepare for the two opening matches and we’ll take it one step at a time with the hope of being sufficiently ready,” Jones said.

Thursday’s match will take place at the Estadio Rommel Fernandez at 9:30pm (TT time) and coach Hart was expected to have his first session last night at the match venue with his team, minus Sheldon Bateau, Aubrey David, Jonathan Glenn and Radanfah Abu Bakr who were expected in last night.

Thursday’s match will be broadcasted live on Flow channel 99.

More Info:

Tickets can be purchased at:

The Fan Club (Movietowne, Trincity and Gulf City), Sports & Games, Kenny’s Sport Shop, Ramsingh’s, www.islandetickets.com

Cost $200 (covered), $100 (uncovered).

Kick off time for the T&T vs Nicaragua: 7pm.

Title: Barnet has made Gavin Hoyte available for a transfer or loan
Post by: Tallman on October 30, 2015, 02:19:13 PM
Barnet has made Gavin Hoyte available for a transfer or loan
By Tom Bodell (times-series.co.uk)

Martin Allen has revealed Ben Tomlinson is joining National League side Tranmere Rovers on loan for three months whilst Gavin Hoyte is available for transfer or loan.

The pair only joined the Bees in the summer but Tomlinson has already been out on loan for a month, at Grimsby Town, whilst full-back Hoyte’s potential exit is more of a surprise having started the last two league matches.

Speaking to Bees Player, Allen said: “Young Ben (Tomlinson) we’ve just agreed a deal for him to go up to Tranmere Rovers for three months on loan.

“Ben has been back training with us but he wants to play. He’s full of energy, is a very positive character and I’m delighted for him to get a chance to go to such a great club as Tranmere. So Ben is leaving us today.”

Allen continued: “I’ve had a good chat with Gavin Hoyte this morning and I’m also making him available for loan and transfer.

“He’s done a tidy job since he’s been here but I needed to change things.

“He’s a good lad, a really good person, a good trainer, has a great attitude and a good professional but I feel like we need something different and need something else and I’ve got a good young player coming through [in his position].”

Hoyte joined the Bees following his release by League One Gillingham at the end of last season and has made 12 league appearances this season for the Bees.

However, Brentford loanee Josh Clarke has since joining and can play at right-back. Under-18s defender Hakeem Odofin can also play in the same position and has been in Barnet’s matchday squad on a couple of occasions already.
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 30, 2015, 02:22:58 PM
Gavin  better be careful or he may end up like jake thompson ......
Post by: asylumseeker on October 30, 2015, 03:13:23 PM

Had a really interesting conversation recently regarding a player named Febian Brandy. Read about him and tell me what you think.
Post by: Tallman on January 03, 2016, 09:59:27 AM
Gavin Hoyte lets his frustration boil over with impetuous free kick intervention (http://www.balls.ie/football/gavin-hoyte-free-kick/320533)
Post by: palos on January 03, 2016, 03:47:27 PM

Had a really interesting conversation recently regarding a player named Febian Brandy. Read about him and tell me what you think.

According to Wikipedia, he's Kittitan and made his debut for SKN in 2015
Post by: Tallman on January 04, 2016, 06:03:02 AM
Gavin Hoyte lets his frustration boil over with impetuous free kick intervention (http://www.balls.ie/football/gavin-hoyte-free-kick/320533)
Turns out that this is a case of mistaken identity. It is Andy Yiadom who kicked away the ball, NOT Gavin Hoyte.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 04, 2016, 12:30:51 PM

According to Wikipedia, he's Kittitan and made his debut for SKN in 2015

There is a narrative that has developed in which some regard players having dropped off the map, as evidence that the players in question are inferior ballers. This is not necessarily the case.

I mentioned Brandy because his career fortunes reflect the "drop off" of which Trini_2018 cautioned, but from what I understand, a loss of confidence was a factor in the player's descent. The considered opinion on this player is that he could have/should have changed location/gone abroad, and he would have revalued himself while having positive, revalidating professional experiences outside the UK.

Although Brandy isn't Trini, I thought him a good example. Ppl have looked at him and scratched their heads wondering how he didn't end up elsewhere.
Post by: Tallman on January 09, 2016, 05:37:07 PM
Gavin Hoyte's first career goal gave Barnet a 1-0 win over Bristol Rovers (http://www.thisislocallondon.co.uk/sport/14193871.Hoyte_s_first_career_goal_gives_Bees_win_over_Rovers/)
Post by: Tallman on January 11, 2016, 05:52:41 AM
WATCH: Gavin Hoyte scores his first career goal in Barnet’s 1-0 win over Bristol Rovers
https://www.youtube.com/v/jYfLyF_loBo
Title: Gavin Hoyte ruled out for at least six months with knee ligament damage
Post by: Tallman on February 06, 2016, 10:05:09 AM
Barnet defender Gavin Hoyte has been ruled out for at least six months with knee ligament damage
By Tom Bodell (times-series.co.uk)

Barnet defender Gavin Hoyte will be out for at least six months after rupturing his anterior cruciate knee ligament but John Akinde, Sam Togwell and Michael Nelson are fit to face Newport County this afternoon.

Hoyte was substituted two minutes before half time at Stevenage in the Bees' last fixture a fortnight ago.

However, the full-back suffered knee ligament damage which has ended his first season at The Hive.

Head coach Martin Allen told Bees Player: "Gavin Hoyte has had a scan and seen two consultants this week and will probably be out for a minimum of six months with an anterior cruciate knee ligament rupture.

"It's a big blow for Gavin when he's got back in the team and shown the sort of form [I know he can].

"He's a good player and I think it's ok to say now he was signed to replace Andy Yiadom because I thought he was going off to another club at a higher level but that didn't materialise.

"Gav has been a bit unlucky and a bit unfortunate not to play a lot more games," continued Allen. "We've seen the real form of Gavin and it's a real blow for all of us.

"He's a tremendous professional and a really nice person off the field. We'll do everything we can now to make sure we get the best consultants, the best pre operation work and the best operation consultant to do that op and then the long recovery starts."

There is, however, better news regarding top-scorer Akinde, midfielder Togwell and veteran centre-back Nelson. All three will be fit for Saturday's visit to Newport County.

Bira Dembele (knee), Michael Gash (hamstring) and Graham Stack (groin) are all sidelined, though.

The loss of Hoyte will be offset by the arrival of former Leicester City defender James Pearson on a non-contract basis.

"I know some of hte people behind the scenes from my time there," said Allen. "James hasn't had a club so we've taken him on.

"He's full of enthusiasm. He's been training here without getting paid or any expenses. He just wants a chance. I'm all for giving peope a chance.

"We're going to help him, look after him and support him and we will see how he does between now and the end of the season."
Post by: kounty on February 06, 2016, 12:07:31 PM
Gosh Boy. Please ask somebody to organize a bush-bath next time yuh touch down. Blessings brother. speedy recovery. (hope is only the 6 months).
Post by: Tallman on April 18, 2016, 10:18:26 AM
WATCH: Defender Gavin Hoyte talks about the progress he’s making since his anterior cruciate ligament injury which ended his season prematurely.

https://www.youtube.com/v/uk6jmAm_1Rs
Title: Defender Gavin Hoyte signs for Eastleigh FC
Post by: Tallman on December 15, 2016, 03:55:41 PM
Defender Gavin Hoyte signs for Eastleigh FC
eastleighfc.com

Eastleigh Football Club is delighted to announce the signing of Gavin Hoyte from Barnet FC on a free transfer.

Hoyte is a full international for Trinidad & Tobago and the defender joins The Spitfires on an 18-month contract.

The 26-year-old came through the ranks at Arsenal and made a handful of appearances for the first team. During his time with The Gunners he had loan spells at Watford, Brighton & Hove Albion, Lincoln City and AFC Wimbledon; before signing for Dagenham & Redbridge in 2012.

In 2014 he joined Gillingham, leaving them after one full season to team up with Martin Allen at Barnet.

London-born Hoyte represented England at U17, U18, U19 and U20 level. He is approaching 200 first team appearances across all four top divisions in England.
Title: The story of Gavin Hoyte and his one Premier League appearance for Arsenal
Post by: Tallman on September 19, 2017, 05:36:38 AM
The story of Gavin Hoyte and his one Premier League appearance for Arsenal
By Will Unwin (planetfootball.com)

Gavin Hoyte only made one Premier League appearance for Arsenal, but nine years on and still playing, he thinks of that solitary game as one of the highlights of his career.

“I remember just going out there, seeing Robinho and thinking about what he’d done to other defenders, hoping he wouldn’t do that to me. But I was full of confidence and I was ready.”

As a young right-back set to make his league debut, there are probably opponents you would choose before Manchester City and their new super signing from Real Madrid at the Etihad Stadium.

But that’s exactly what Gavin Hoyte got in 2008 when he was drafted into Arsenal‘s backline the day after William Gallas had been stripped of the club captaincy for criticising some of his team-mates during a poor run for the team which saw them win only one of their four games heading to Manchester.

“When the chance came there were a few injuries and that was it, I was in,” Hoyte says. “I remember the training session before the game, one of the coaches said to Armand Traore, Jack Wilshere and me, ‘One of you is going to make your debut, who do you think it is?’

“Everyone thought it was either Jack or Traore, no one thought it was me, and then he said, ‘It’s going to be you, Gavin.’ I don’t think anyone thought too much of it, but then we were doing shape work and I was in there, and I just had to be ready.”

It was the culmination of almost a decade’s work for Hoyte, who had joined the club aged nine. Like most inside a club’s academy, Hoyte believed stepping up to the first team was a natural step as he moved through the ranks at the Emirates, particularly with his brother Justin having made 68 appearances for the Gunners before being sold to Middlesbrough that summer.

“When you’re there you always think you’re going to make it – I was pretty confident. I had my older brother there as well, so that helped a lot, seeing how he progressed.

“That was a big thing for me, seeing him play every week, watching him thinking, ‘I want to try and get to where he is.'”

Hoyte Jr. had captained Arsenal’s Under-18 side during his path towards the first team and had sat on the bench as an unused substitute for several games before making his debut in a 6-0 League Cup win over Sheffield United a couple of months before that Manchester City game.

He started in the next two rounds of the League Cup too, against Wigan and Burnley, and his Arsenal career only seemed to be heading in one direction.

“Just to play at the Emirates was massive, coming out to a big crowd,” he says of that game against Sheffield United. “There were a lot of young boys in the team so that helped me with confidence and eased it. I think I had three games in the cup, so it helped a lot.

“But there were a lot of players in front of me, so I didn’t think about playing (in the Premier League). It was always in the back of my mind, but I wasn’t thinking I was going to play immediately.”

Yet just 11 days after the second of those League Cup appearances, Hoyte was handed his Premier League debut. Some brotherly advice helped him prepare for the experience, and though he was withdrawn after an hour of a 3-0 defeat, he had no idea that would prove to be both the start and end of his top-flight career.

“Seeing my brother do it, that helped a lot. He didn’t say too much, as he didn’t want to make me too nervous. He just said to enjoy it and everyone would help me out.

“It was one of them things, I was still young so I didn’t take too much in. I took it a little bit for granted, but looking back it at it now, I shouldn’t have.”

Wenger and has staff didn’t give much feedback to Hoyte after the game, but he was awarded a new long-term contract soon after before being sent out on loan to Championship side Watford in the winter transfer window.

It certainly didn’t seem at that time as though his Gunners career was already over, but having made his fourth appearance for the club in the League Cup quarter-final defeat to Burnley at the start of December, he would never play for them again.

“They didn’t say anything (after the Man City defeat) as we were losing a few games at that point. It was when Gallas was stripped of the captaincy, so there was a lot of stuff going on off the pitch, so I think that overtook the game.

“Most of the coaches just told me ‘well done’ and to keep doing what I was doing, and that’s when I went on loan to Watford straight after.”

Life away from Arsenal
“I’d always lived at home with my mum and dad, so I got a chance to live alone. Living on your own, cooking the right things and just doing everything for yourself, it was a good life experience.

“At Arsenal you get everything: food; the gym is top quality; the training gear; even the pitch as well. The Championship was a lot different to how it is now the quality is a lot higher now than it was back then.

“Also, in the reserves I was playing every week, but when I went to Watford I played, then I was out of the team, so you get that experience of coming out of the team and how you deal with it.”

Hoyte would spent most of the following season on loan at League One Brighton before dropping down another division for further loan spells with Lincoln City and AFC Wimbledon over the next two years.

By then he realised there was little hope of him ever returning to the Arsenal first team, and he eventually left for Dagenham and Redbridge, three and a half years after making his solitary Premier League appearance for the Gunners.

“From when I came back on loan (from Watford), I didn’t train with the first team as much, so from then I realised I’d had my chance. Before that I was training with them nearly every day.

“When I went to Lincoln that was an eye-opener for me as I’d always played higher, I’d never really looked at the lower leagues, so I knew I needed to buck up my ideas here, otherwise I would end up with nothing. So there was where I realised I had to do my best.

“I think it was Dagenham and Barnet who wanted me so I spoke to my agent, he told me about John Still and how he works, so I thought it was for me. And the goalkeeper coach at Arsenal, Tony Roberts, he was at Dagenham before that and told me I’d enjoy it, so that helped make my decision.”

International career
Hoyte, who now plays in the National League with Eastleigh, enjoyed a largely successful career in the lower leagues with Dagenham, Gillingham and Barnet, and also has three three caps for Trinidad and Tobago to his name.

And just as his Premier League debut came against star-studded opposition, his international bow came against Lionel Messi’s Argentina as part of their preparations for the 2014 World Cup.

“My brother was playing for them at the time and the manager asked if I’d be interested in going, so I said yes. He gave me a call, I spoke to him, he said they had some good games coming up and that he was going to pick me for the friendlies against Argentina and Iran, so I didn’t need much enticing after that.

“I came on for 20 minutes, and Maxi Rodriguez and Marcos Rojo were on my side. Messi was on the pitch at the time too, and even though it was only 20 minutes, to watch people like that was incredible. It was a great experience.”

Still, nine years on, even with his international experience, that hour against Manchester City still stands out for Hoyte. He may never have played again in the Premier League, but it was the result of years of work and sacrifice, and an achievement few others manage.

“It’s one of the best memories, I don’t think many people can say they’ve done that, even if it is for one game. You can never take that away.

“Starting from aged nine, when everyone’s aim is to play in the Premier League or just play in the first team, I did that, so it’s definitely up there.”
Post by: Tallman on May 10, 2018, 11:44:25 AM
Eastleigh FC release defender Gavin Hoyte (http://www.dailyecho.co.uk/sport/16216966.Eastleigh_release_four_players/)
Post by: soccerman on May 10, 2018, 07:47:30 PM
Defender Gavin Hoyte signs for Eastleigh FC
eastleighfc.com

Eastleigh Football Club is delighted to announce the signing of Gavin Hoyte from Barnet FC on a free transfer.

Hoyte is a full international for Trinidad & Tobago and the defender joins The Spitfires on an 18-month contract.

The 26-year-old came through the ranks at Arsenal and made a handful of appearances for the first team. During his time with The Gunners he had loan spells at Watford, Brighton & Hove Albion, Lincoln City and AFC Wimbledon; before signing for Dagenham & Redbridge in 2012.

In 2014 he joined Gillingham, leaving them after one full season to team up with Martin Allen at Barnet.

London-born Hoyte represented England at U17, U18, U19 and U20 level. He is approaching 200 first team appearances across all four top divisions in England.
After such promise he's been a journeyman in England. I never seen him in the games he played for us but you think he should be on the radar for selection? After all most of our players are in USL.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 10, 2018, 09:40:31 PM
His challenge, should he accept it, is to break into the USL and convince?
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 11, 2018, 08:06:24 AM
I'm all in favor of tapping every foreign-born resource we can possibly use. I'm not opposed to a whole team of UB40s, to be honest. But a player who cyah make it on the 14th placed team in non-league football is probably worse than what we already have.
Title: Stones say hello to Hoyte
Post by: Tallman on June 14, 2019, 06:55:26 AM
Stones say hello to Hoyte
maidstoneunited.co.uk

Experienced defender Gavin Hoyte is the latest addition to John Still’s new-look Maidstone side.

In a professional career spanning more than a decade, he started at Arsenal from the age of nine and went on to make several senior appearances for his boyhood club.

While signed for the Gunners, he had loan spells with Watford, Brighton & Hove Albion, Lincoln City and AFC Wimbledon.

A permanent move to Dagenham & Redbridge followed in 2012 and in two spells with the east London side – including last season – he made more than 75 appearances.

In between his Victoria Road days, the 29-year-old played for Gillingham, Barnet and Eastleigh.

Speaking after signing his one-year deal, Gavin said:

"I am delighted to get the deal done. I’ve played here a few times and know how great the fanbase is.

I’ve worked under John Still before at Dagenham, so I know what he wants and expects.

He knows how to get the best of out players and he knows how to win leagues, so I am sure he will help me and the team achieve what we want to.

This is going to be a tough league but if we get our team together and work hard, we can beat anyone."
Title: Re: Gavin Hoyte Thread
Post by: Tallman on November 30, 2019, 12:10:03 PM
FA Cup second round: Gavin Hoyte and Maidstone United looking to join Premier League clubs in third round
By Neil Johnston (BBC Sport)

"They won a corner and I suddenly found myself standing next to him. It was the only time I got anywhere near him."

Former Arsenal defender Gavin Hoyte is talking about his brief encounter with Lionel Messi in front of 40,000 Argentina fans in Buenos Aires in 2014.

Five years on from his substitute appearance in Trinidad & Tobago's 3-0 friendly defeat in South America, Hoyte is set to turn out in the FA Cup second round for non-league Maidstone United at Blackpool on Sunday.

Hoyte was 18 when he made his senior Gunners debut alongside Aaron Ramsey in a League Cup tie in 2008.

While Ramsey has since moved to Juventus, Hoyte combines playing in the sixth tier of English football with working as a learning support assistant in special needs schools in Essex - and says he "could not be happier".

"I get a sense of achievement going into schools and doing that," said Hoyte, who has been in non-league since leaving Barnet, then in League Two, in December 2016.

This is his first season in National League South after being released by Dagenham & Redbridge in the summer and Hoyte, who joined Arsenal as a nine-year-old before leaving in 2012 after four senior appearances, says he is still adjusting.

"At Arsenal you play on a carpet and you have to shout to the other person in the changing room because it is so big," he added.

"At this level some opposition grounds are terrible. Some don't even have hot water. It's very windy, there might be 500 watching, it's really hard to get up for.

"But it's the real world and I wouldn't have it any other way.

"Obviously I do look back and think 'what if I had played more games at Arsenal?' but you've got to be positive. I've got six or seven assists this season and I couldn't be happier."
Post by: pull stones on November 30, 2019, 05:38:52 PM
another player lawrence totally ignored, what a pity.
Post by: Tiresais on December 01, 2019, 03:58:50 AM
If he's playing for Maidstone United, unfortunately I don't think he's got the quality to worry the national team anymorem
Post by: pull stones on December 01, 2019, 04:07:27 AM
If he's playing for Maidstone United, unfortunately I don't think he's got the quality to worry the national team anymorem
have you noticed that most our defenders are playing in bush leagues all over asia? at least Hoyte will never make the elementary mistakes these present jokers are prone to making, expensive mistakes I might add.
Post by: Tiresais on December 01, 2019, 04:31:20 AM
I've watched Vanorama National South Games; he is not developing the skills in that league to help us in international football. I happen to like the more authentic nature of footy at that level, but seriously he's not learning how to deal with players who can move off the ball, players with flair, players with a technical ability of teams like Jamaica, Haiti, or Martinique.

Vanorama South is more like Saint Vincent, Guyana and Saint Kitts, although given our shocking record again them too maybe you're not far wrong...
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 01, 2019, 08:44:52 AM
I want every available foreign player on our team, but the man is a semipro at this point. ‘Foreign’ cyah be the only criterion.
Post by: Controversial on December 15, 2019, 05:48:58 PM
ITs time to come home Gavin and play for the gold cup and wc
Post by: Tallman on December 31, 2019, 12:16:17 PM
Maidstone United defender Gavin Hoyte buzzing after scoring just the third goal of his long career
By Craig Tucker (kentonline.co.uk)

No wonder Gavin Hoyte looked so chuffed to score against Dulwich Hamlet on Saturday.

When the former Arsenal man finished Zihni Temelci's cross to put Maidstone 3-1 up, it was just the third goal of his 12-year professional career.

No one was more deserving than the popular defender who is approaching double figures for assists this season getting forward from right-back.

His only other goals came in Barnet's 1-0 win over Bristol Rovers in January 2016 and for Eastleigh in a 2-1 victory at Torquay in January 2018.

"I'm delighted to score," said Hoyte.

"I don't get many chances but when I do it's a good moment.

"I've scored two goals in my career, that's the third, so I'm buzzing with that.

"At the start of the season I try and set myself a target for assists and goals.

"The goals one never comes but I wanted one this year and I've got that, so hopefully I can get some more.

"With the assists, they tell me to cross it and someone's got to be there.

"That's what I try and do and it's normally Dan Wishart on the end of it so a lot of credit goes to him."

Hoyte, who made his Premier League debut for Arsenal at Manchester City in 2008, has excelled at Maidstone.

He arrived at the Gallagher on the back of a frustrating season with Dagenham, having barely featured under Peter Taylor.

But reunited with John Still, the man who first took him to the Daggers, the 29-year-old has been ever-present.

He loves playing for Still and Hakan Hayrettin and that shows in his performances.

Hoyte said: "I played maybe five or six games last year so it's good to get a run and get that confidence back.

"I'm enjoying my football as well, so that's the main thing, enjoying it, playing every week and trying to help the team as much as I can.

"I know how John likes to play and it's good because I know my job, I've got to try and cross the ball and stop crosses at the other end.

"He nails it on what he wants you to do and I think I'm trying to implement that into my game and it's helping me massively.

"John and Hak get the best out of me and I need to carry that on."

Even after a career that's taken in the likes of Watford and Brighton, as well as Arsenal, Hoyte can still improve.

"Hak's been on to me since the start of the season to be a bit louder," said Hoyte.

"I definitely think you can bring that into your game and he's helping me to do that.

"I'm older now, I've got a lot of experience and I think he wants me to relay that on the pitch and help other players."

Maidstone hope to kick on in the second half of the season.

They're just outside the National South play-offs at the turn of the year but Still's sides generally get stronger after Christmas.

With that in mind, plus the club's excellent support, Hoyte is confident of a promotion challenge.

He said: "The Dulwich win was big for us and now we've got to push on.

"It's one game at a time, we can't think too far ahead, but we've got the players to do it and the fans are always behind us.

"They're a great set of fans.

"The noise, it does push us along, and it's great.

"After I scored I heard them singing my name and that's pretty special.

"We're in Conference South, you would never have thought you would get this amount of support and noise. Credit to them."
Post by: Tallman on December 31, 2019, 01:20:44 PM
WATCH: Gavin Hoyte scores the third goal of his career in Maidstone United's 3-1 win over Dulwich Hamlet

https://www.youtube.com/v/TkPpc30z6ks?start=386
Post by: Tallman on January 03, 2020, 05:55:27 PM
WATCH: Gavin Hoyte marks his second consecutive game with a goal in Maidstone United's 2-2 draw with Tonbridge Angels

https://www.youtube.com/v/oXYBxCfUTb0?start=71
Post by: FF on January 03, 2020, 06:33:00 PM
When it rains it pours
Title: The story of Gavin Hoyte and his solitary Premier League game for Arsenal
Post by: Tallman on June 06, 2020, 09:25:56 AM
The story of Gavin Hoyte and his solitary Premier League game for Arsenal
By Will Unwin (planetfootball.com)

Gavin Hoyte only ever made one Premier League appearance for Arsenal, but he still thinks of that solitary game as one of the highlights of his career.

“I remember just going out there, seeing Robinho and thinking about what he’d done to other defenders, hoping he wouldn’t do that to me. But I was full of confidence and I was ready.”

As a young right-back set to make his league debut, there are probably opponents you would choose before Manchester City and their new super signing from Real Madrid at the Etihad Stadium.

But that’s exactly what Gavin Hoyte got in 2008 when he was drafted into Arsenal’s backline the day after William Gallas had been stripped of the club captaincy for criticising team-mates amid a poor run of only one win in four games.

“When the chance came there were a few injuries and that was it, I was in,” Hoyte says.

“I remember the training session before the game, one of the coaches said to Armand Traore, Jack Wilshere and me, ‘One of you is going to make your debut, who do you think it is?’

“Everyone thought it was either Jack or Traore, no one thought it was me, and then he said, ‘It’s going to be you, Gavin.’

“I don’t think anyone thought too much of it, but then we were doing shape work and I was in there, and I just had to be ready.”

It was the culmination of almost a decade’s work for Hoyte, who had joined the club aged nine.

Like most inside a club’s academy, at the time Hoyte believed stepping up to the first team was a natural step, particularly with his brother Justin having made 68 appearances for the Gunners before being sold to Middlesbrough that summer.

“When you’re there you always think you’re going to make it – I was pretty confident,” he says. “I had my older brother there as well, so that helped a lot, seeing how he progressed.

“That was a big thing for me, seeing him play every week, watching him thinking, ‘I want to try and get to where he is.'”

Road to the first team
Hoyte Jr. had captained Arsenal’s Under-18 side during his path towards the first team and had sat on the bench as an unused substitute for several games before making his debut in a 6-0 League Cup win over Sheffield United a couple of months before that Manchester City game.

He started in the next two rounds of the League Cup too, against Wigan and Burnley, and his Arsenal career only seemed to be heading in one direction.

“Just to play at the Emirates was massive, coming out to a big crowd,” he says of that game against Sheffield United.

“There were a lot of young boys in the team so that helped me with confidence and eased it. I think I had three games in the cup, so it helped a lot.

“But there were a lot of players in front of me, so I didn’t think about playing (in the Premier League). It was always in the back of my mind, but I wasn’t thinking I was going to play immediately.”

Yet just 11 days after the second of those League Cup appearances, Hoyte was handed his Premier League debut. And though he was withdrawn after an hour of a 3-0 defeat, he had no idea that would prove to be both the start and end of his top-flight career.

“Seeing my brother do it, that helped a lot,” he says. “He didn’t say too much, as he didn’t want to make me too nervous. He just said to enjoy it and everyone would help me out.

“It was one of them things, I was still young so I didn’t take too much in. I took it a little bit for granted, but looking back it at it now, I shouldn’t have.”

Wenger and his staff didn’t give much feedback to Hoyte after the game, but he was awarded a new long-term contract soon after before being sent out on loan to Championship side Watford in the winter transfer window.

It certainly didn’t seem at that time as though his Gunners career was already over, but having made his fourth appearance for the club in the League Cup quarter-final defeat to Burnley at the start of December, he would never play for them again.

“They didn’t say anything (after the Man City defeat) as we were losing a few games at that point. It was when Gallas was stripped of the captaincy, so there was a lot of stuff going on off the pitch, so I think that overtook the game.

“Most of the coaches just told me ‘well done’ and to keep doing what I was doing, and that’s when I went on loan to Watford straight after.”

Life away from Arsenal
“I’d always lived at home with my mum and dad, so I got a chance to live alone. Living on your own, cooking the right things and just doing everything for yourself, it was a good life experience.

“At Arsenal you get everything: food; the gym is top quality; the training gear; even the pitch as well. The Championship was a lot different to how it is now the quality is a lot higher now than it was back then.

“Also, in the reserves I was playing every week, but when I went to Watford I played, then I was out of the team, so you get that experience of coming out of the team and how you deal with it.”

Hoyte would spend most of the following season on loan at League One Brighton before dropping down another division for further loan spells with Lincoln City and AFC Wimbledon over the next two years.

By then he realised there was little hope of him ever returning to the Arsenal first team, and he eventually left for Dagenham and Redbridge, three and a half years after making his solitary Premier League appearance for the Gunners.

“From when I came back on loan (from Watford), I didn’t train with the first team as much, so from then I realised I’d had my chance. Before that I was training with them nearly every day.

“When I went to Lincoln that was an eye-opener for me as I’d always played higher, I’d never really looked at the lower leagues, so I knew I needed to buck up my ideas here, otherwise I would end up with nothing. So there was where I realised I had to do my best.

“I think it was Dagenham and Barnet who wanted me so I spoke to my agent, he told me about John Still and how he works, so I thought it was for me. And the goalkeeper coach at Arsenal, Tony Roberts, he was at Dagenham before that and told me I’d enjoy it, so that helped make my decision.”

International career
Hoyte, who now plays in the National League South with Maidstone United, enjoyed a largely successful career in the lower leagues with Dagenham, Gillingham and Barnet, and also has three caps for Trinidad and Tobago to his name.

And just as his Premier League debut came against star-studded opposition, his international bow came against Lionel Messi’s Argentina as part of their preparations for the 2014 World Cup.

“My brother was playing for them at the time and the manager asked if I’d be interested in going, so I said yes.

“He gave me a call, I spoke to him, he said they had some good games coming up and that he was going to pick me for the friendlies against Argentina and Iran, so I didn’t need much enticing after that.

“I came on for 20 minutes, and Maxi Rodriguez and Marcos Rojo were on my side. Messi was on the pitch at the time too, and even though it was only 20 minutes, to watch people like that was incredible. It was a great experience.”

Still, even with his international experience, that hour against Manchester City still stands out for Hoyte. He may never have played again in the Premier League, but it was the result of years of work and sacrifice, and an achievement few others manage.

“It’s one of the best memories, I don’t think many people can say they’ve done that, even if it is for one game. You can never take that away.

“Starting from aged nine, when everyone’s aim is to play in the Premier League or just play in the first team, I did that, so it’s definitely up there.”
Post by: Tallman on June 12, 2020, 01:41:34 PM
Gavin Hoyte explains his career, lockdown and life after football…
By Nathan Jacobs (outsidetheninetytwo.wordpress.com)

Once captain of the Arsenal U18 squad, current Maidstone United full-back Gavin Hoyte discussed his career so far, lockdown routines, best advice and plans for life after football.

The former Gunners youth team product joined ‘The Stones’ after a disappointing second spell with Dagenham & Redbridge, a time in which the defender admitted considering his future in the game.

But his current spell in Kent has revived his love of football and Hoyte says he can’t wait to get back out there.

“I just miss football, really. That’s all I’ve done my whole life. To not be playing for this length of time is hard.

“From not even wanting to train last summer to be back loving football shows how much this move has done for me.

“The Maidstone fans are great, some of the best in Non-League, we’ve got a great group of lads and I even scored two goals this season so it’s been a special one for me!”

Hoyte’s journey to Maidstone has been filled with numerous ups and downs; good spells at Gillingham and Eastleigh plagued by less satisfying spells at Wimbledon or on the sidelines.

But one constant in his career to date has been the wealth of good managers he’s played under.

“My first three managers were Arsene Wenger, Brendan Rodgers (Watford) and Gus Poyet (Brighton) so that’s a lot of top coaches early in my career.

“Even in the lower league with Dagenham, Barnet and Gillingham I’ve always had successful winning managers in charge like John Still, Martin Allen and Peter Jackson.

“I may not have seen eye-to-eye with all of them but they each taught me a heck of a lot.”

But for a lot of these lower league clubs, life will start to look very different as the effect of the Coronavirus pandemic hits home.

Votes on the future of the National Leagues Steps 2-3 will be cast in the coming days following the decision to curtail all football in March due to the viral outbreak.

And for many players like Hoyte, the whole situation is rather unclear.

“I’ve enjoyed it this season but I’m out of contract and I’m just waiting to hear what’s going to happen.

“No-one really knows when Non-League is going to return or how it’s going to be resolved so we’ll just have to wait and see.”

For Maidstone, a cancelation of the playoffs would end their hopes of promotion, and sitting just five points outside the current playoff places with two games in hand, that would be a bitter blow.

As for the players themselves, life during lockdown has thrown up some difficult challenges.

“It’s not easy being at home and having to motivate yourself. I have been going out for runs and taking the kids out for bike rides as much as possible but it’s tough.

“My friends and I have completed this 50km a month challenge but now the next one has been set at 100!

“As for other hobbies, I’ve never been good at kick ups so I didn’t even try the toilet paper challenge but I’ve just started the Sunderland Till’ I Die documentary which is pretty good!”

The uncertainty surrounding how this season might conclude and how the next one might begin is a looming challenge for the key footballing bodies.

But for footballers like Hoyte, while the precariousness of the situation unfolds, he’s implementing a valuable lesson he’s learned throughout his career.

“Be ready. The most important time of your career is when you’re out of the team, for whatever reason.

“It’s about working hard, focussing and not sulking because you never know when that opportunity to be in the team is going to come and if you’re not ready, that could be it.

“If you are ready, you never know where that could take you. You could play every game thereafter and become player of the season!”

Hoyte is still preparing for a number of years in football, assuming a return to normality can be restored.

But he’s very well aware of the difficulty in transitioning from a career in football to life after and has also been working in a school the last couple of years as a learning support assistant.

“To be honest, after football I really couldn’t tell you what I was going to do but my mum suggested I’d be good at this.

“I thoroughly enjoy working with the special needs students because when I go in, the delight on their faces is great. It’s a tremendously fulfilling role.

“But I’ve also considered starting my own soccer school. My little boy is 8 and I’ve been helping out one of the dads who is a manager and I really enjoy that as well.

“Either way, I like to think I’m now well prepared for a path after football.”
Post by: Tallman on December 22, 2020, 07:21:16 PM
Maidstone United manager Hakan Hayrettin says they are lucky to have former Arsenal defender Gavin Hoyte
By Craig Tucker (kentonline.co.uk)

Hakan Hayrettin says Maidstone are lucky to have Gavin Hoyte at the club.

The popular right-back scored his first goal of the season in the Stones’ 2-0 FA Trophy win against Poole on Saturday.

He remains one of the first names on the teamsheet at the Gallagher and Hayrettin was delighted to see him score.

It was a cracking finish, too, as the 30-year-old got himself in the box and fired home Justin Amaluzor’s lay-off.

“Hoytey’s consistently Steady Eddie isn’t he, you know what you’re going to get out of him,” said manager Hayrettin.

“I keep pushing him, he’s a great lad, a great leader, he’s played in the Football League, he played in the Premier League for Arsenal.

"Are we lucky to have him? Yes, we are.

“He’s a great personality and a great character. He’ll always be one of the players I turn to when I need him.”

Hoyte’s goal, and a second from Ibrahim Olutade, set up a third-round home tie against Frome.

That game is due to be played this week, with the winners at home to United’s National League rivals Dorking in the last 32.

Hayrettin, an FA Trophy winner as a player with Wycombe, retains great affection for the competition but progress comes at a price as the matches mount up at a busy time of year.

“I don’t know if it’s a good distraction to be honest right now with the fixture pile-up we’ve got,” said Hayrettin.

“It’s not looking as good as it should do but talking to my chief exec he’s telling me other teams are in a similar situation.”
Post by: Tallman on December 31, 2021, 02:36:26 PM
WATCH: Gavin Hoyte scores his first goal of the season during Maidstone United's 4-1 win over Welling United.

https://www.youtube.com/v/zHBcr_zMDYE?start=485
Post by: Tallman on February 05, 2022, 04:44:16 PM
Maidstone United defender Gavin Hoyte on captaining the side in George Elokobi's absence
By Craig Tucker (Kent Online)

Gavin Hoyte is loving his extended spell as Maidstone skipper, knowing injured club captain George Elokobi is always on hand for advice.

Hoyte has had the armband throughout the Stones’ 11-match unbeaten run in National South, with Elokobi sidelined since the end of October.

The right-back, named vice-captain after signing from Dagenham three years ago, hadn’t always fared too well when deputising in the past.

But he appears to have cracked it this time, helped by words of encouragement from Elokobi, who celebrated his 36th birthday this week.

“It’s a funny one because the first year I came here, George got injured and I was captain and it didn’t go too well the first few times,” said Hoyte, 31.

“But this year has been a big change, everyone’s doing well and I’m loving every minute of it.

“Hak’s (manager Hakan Hayrettin) always on at me about talking more and being more of a leader on the pitch and that’s what I try and do.

“I’m always speaking to George. I’m fortunate enough to have someone like him.

“I drove in with him for the first two years so I’m learning off him every day.

“He’s a brilliant guy to have around, I don’t think I could have a better person to learn from.

“Even when we were having a bad run when I was captain, he was always giving me a call to see how things were because I felt like it was myself, what was I doing wrong?

“I had some words with him, what can I do better? He’s been a massive help throughout everything.

“The best advice he’s given me is keep being confident, keep the boys going, they go off of your vibe so just try and lead by example. That’s what I try and do.

“It’s brilliant to be captain of this team. I’m loving every minute. I’ve always wanted to be a captain.

“I was captain when I was younger at reserve level at Arsenal but I’ve always wanted to be captain and I’m fortunate enough to be captain of this great team and we’re doing so well, which makes it even better.

“You’ve got to enjoy it and that togetherness, I think that’s why we’re doing so well as well. We’re all fighting for each other.”

It’s a first Saturday home game of the year for Maidstone this weekend when they take on Bath City.

They’re looking to complete the double over the Romans, having won 3-0 at Twerton Park in October.

“I think this is the best run of my career, I don’t remember another team doing so well,” said Hoyte, whose side came from a goal down to beat Concord 5-1 last weekend.

“The first half at Concord wasn’t great but we got round each other at half-time, helped each other, had a few words and got the result we deserved in the second half.

“We need to keep everyone level-headed and make sure that first half doesn’t happen again.

“That same goal as when I first joined is still there, to win something.

“We’ve got to keep doing what we’re doing and you never know where it takes you.”
Post by: Tallman on March 24, 2023, 08:27:33 AM
Maidstone United club captain Gavin Hoyte closing in on return from injury
By Craig Tucker (Kent Online)

Club captain Gavin Hoyte is on course to return for Maidstone before the end of the season.

Hoyte hasn’t featured since dislocating his shoulder in a Kent Senior Cup tie at Corinthian in November.

The right-back is closing in on a comeback and was even named on a seven-man bench for the Stones’ FA Trophy Quarter-Final defeat against Barnet a fortnight ago.

Maidstone are treading carefully with the 32-year-old, who is ahead of schedule in his recovery, but he’ll play some part in the final weeks of the National League season.

“Gav is progressing extremely well but we’ve got to ensure we’re ticking all the right boxes,” said caretaker manager George Elokobi, whose side host third-placed Woking at the Gallagher Stadium on Saturday (3pm).

“He’s training and he’s doing well. He’s ever so close to being back on the pitch but we have to be patient, we have to ensure he’s right and ready to go when called upon.

“He’s ahead of schedule but that’s why we have to be a little bit careful as well and not be hasty with our decision to bring him on the pitch. He’s patient. He understands.

“Everyone is going to have a part to play.

“You can see from his desire he’s hurting that he’s not been able to try and help the boys on the pitch.

“But behind the scenes he’s been tremendous in terms of helping and leading and trying to give the boys that support. You can only respect that.

“We all want the best for the future of this football club.

“Gav is a popular figure, he’s our club captain and it stays that way for now, definitely.”
Post by: Tallman on January 26, 2024, 01:28:27 PM
Gavin Hoyte says Maidstone FA Cup tie at Ipswich among biggest moments of career
Express & Star

Former Arsenal defender Gavin Hoyte says leading non-league Maidstone into a historic FA Cup fourth-round tie at Ipswich will be among the greatest moments of his career.

The National League South club – the lowest-ranked team remaining in the competition – have reached this stage for the first time since they were reformed in 1992.

Stones captain Hoyte made four first-team appearances for the Gunners under Arsene Wenger in 2008, including one Premier League outing, while his international career with Trinidad and Tobago saw him line up against an Argentina side containing Lionel Messi.

“This is completely different, we’ve had six games just before this (to reach this stage), so it all builds up,” said the 33-year-old, who joined Maidstone from Dagenham in 2019.

“I get to lead the team out – hopefully I’m playing!

“It’s definitely up there, the biggest thing in my career. I’m coming near the end of it now so I might not get this opportunity again.

“These games are easy to get up for. You’ve just got to make sure everyone is sticking to the game plan and not going off script.

“Sometimes with a big occasion you might want to do something extra but it’s very important we stick to the script.”

Following three FA Cup qualifying fixtures, Maidstone overcame Chesham in round one before upsetting Sky Bet League Two club Barrow and then League One side Stevenage.

The Kent club’s reward is Saturday lunchtime’s televised tie against the Tractor Boys, who sit second in the Championship, with just under 4,500 away fans due to make the trip to Portman Road.

Stones midfielder Sam Corne scored in the two previous rounds and is once again relishing underdog status.

“This is something you always dream of, to play against a top, top side,” said Corne.

“When we played the lower league sides, sometimes they’re the tougher opponents and then when we flipped it to Barrow and Stevenage, we’re the underdog and we still are now and we thrive off that.

“We’ve got nothing to lose. As long as we give a good account of ourselves and stick to the game plan, anything can possibly happen.”

Manager George Elokobi took charge of Maidstone on a permanent basis in March 2023 and has guided the club to fourth place in the sixth tier, in addition to a memorable cup run.

The 37-year-old former Wolves defender will be proud of his squad regardless of the outcome in Suffolk.

“The players, what they’ve done is magical, the magnitude of that result (against Stevenage) has put this community on the map in the eyes of the world,” said Elokobi.

“We would be foolish to change how we have done things in the past just because it’s Ipswich.

“We’re showing them every bit of respect and we know if we’re not on our absolute best on the day then it might be disastrous.

“But even if it is disastrous, we’re going to be proud of our group of players.”