Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tiresais on June 28, 2014, 06:45:49 AM

Title: 2014 Caribbean U-20 Tournament
Post by: Tiresais on June 28, 2014, 06:45:49 AM
CFU Under-20 Men's Games Start Today
CFU Website

The stage is set for the start of Group 1 and 2 of the 2014 biennial Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Men’s Under-20 tournament.

The tournament which will see twenty-one (21) teams from across the Caribbean competing starts today, June 25, in two countries (Cuba and the Dominican Republic). This tournament is the official qualifier in the Caribbean Zone for both the CONCACAF Men’s U-20 Championship and the FIFA Men’s U-20 World Cup.

Today's action will see Barbados facing Martinique at 3:00pm and Cuba meeting St Vincent and the Grenadines at 5:00pm in Group 1 on the grounds of the Pedro Marrero Stadium in Cuba.

Group 2 will be played at the Estadio Panamericano in Dominican Republic with Guadeloupe encountering Bermuda at 2:00pm and at 4:30pm same day and venue the hosts entertains Antigua & Barbuda.

Groups 3 and 4 will begin on July 18 in host countries Haiti and Aruba, while Group 5 is scheduled to start on July 30 and hosted by Curacao.

Title: Re: 2014 Caribbean U20 Tournament
Post by: Tiresais on June 28, 2014, 06:47:39 AM
Groups 1 & 2

(http://cfufootball.org/images/MEN%20S%20U-20%20Qualifiers%20Fixtures%202014%20latest-page-001.jpg)
Post by: Tiresais on June 28, 2014, 06:50:31 AM
Goals Galore In Day 1 CFU Under 20 Matches
CFU Website

(http://cfufootball.org/images/10429832_895931220434059_7572506695318072367_n.jpg)

Day 1 of the CFU Under 20 World Cup Qualifying started in high goal scoring fashion and some surprising results.

In Group 1 host Cuba drew 1 - 1 with St. Vincent and the Grenadines. They surrendered 3 points after going a goal up by Frank Lopez in the 46 minute, St. Vincent's Vasbert Ledger the equalized in the 90 minute.

Earlier in Group 1 also saw Martinique draw 1 -1 with Barbados. Frederic Sellaye scored for Martinique in the 5 minute while Sebastian Hunte equalized in the 52 minute for Barbados.

Bermuda defeated Guadeloupe 4-3 in Group 2 of the 2014 biennial Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Men’s Under-20 tournament at the Estadio Panamericano in Dominican Republic today. Rai Simmons scored a hat trick for Bermuda with goals in the 39,50, and 65 minutes while Jibri Lawrence Salaam scored in the 17th minute.

For Guadeloupe Edwie Malpon scored twice in the 16th and 84 minute and Anthony Antoine in the 74th minute.

Meanwhile, in the other game played at this same venue Antigua & Barbuda outplayed Dominican Republic 3-0. Tevaughn Harriette scored twice in the 15th and 76th minute and Javorn Stevens scored in the 63rd minute of play.

This tournament is the official qualifier in the Caribbean Zone for both the CONCACAF Men’s U-20 Championship and the FIFA Men’s U-20 World Cup.
Post by: Tiresais on June 28, 2014, 06:51:25 AM
Day 2 of CFU Men’s Under-20 kicks off Today
CFU Website

(http://cfufootball.org/images/BERMUDA%20Vs.%20GUADALUPE-01.JPG)

Day two of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Men’s Under 20 competition continues today, June 27, with the staging of Group 1 games between Martinique and St Vincent and the Grenadines at 3:00pm and Cuba and Barbados at 5:00pm, at the Pedro Marrero Stadium in Cuba.

In Group 2, it will be Antigua & Barbuda doing battle with Guadeloupe at 2:00pm and at 4:30pm Dominican Republic encounters Bermuda on the grounds of the Estadio Panamericano, in Dominican Republic.

Cuba drew 1-1 with St Vincent and the Grenadines in their first game of Group 1 played on June 25, while Martinique did likewise with Barbados in the second played on that same day.

It was goals galore in Group 2 with Bermuda defeating Guadeloupe 4-3 in their game and Antigua & Barbuda blanking Dominican Republic 3-0.

This tournament is the official qualifier in the Caribbean Zone for both the CONCACAF Men’s U-20 Championship and the FIFA Men’s U-20 World Cup.
Post by: Tiresais on June 28, 2014, 07:04:11 AM
Results so far

Group A (All matches in Cuba)

Barbados         1 - 1          Martinique
Hunte ('52)                        Sellaye ('5)

Cuba               1 - 1           Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Lopez ('46)                         Ledger ('90)

Martinique        2 - 1           Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Defrel (10')                              Solomon (80')
Thimon (35')

Cuba                2 - 2           Barbados
Lopez (46',90')                       Boyce (43', 55')

SVG                 0 - 0           Barbados

Cuba               3 - 1            Martinique
Lopez (39', 61')                         Thimon (90')
Rosales (85')

Group B (All matches in Dominican Republic)

Guadeloupe         3 - 4          Bermuda
Malpon ('16, '84)                  Salaam ('17)
Antoine ('74)                       Simons ('39, '56, '65)

Dom Rep.            0 - 3          Antigua and Barbuda
                                           Harriete ('15, '76)
                                           Stevens ('63)

ATG                    0 - 1         Guadeloupe

Dom Rep.            2 - 0          Bermuda
Faliciano ('6)
Quezada ('90+2)

Bermuda             0 - 0         Antigua and Barbuda

Dom. Rep.           1 - 0         Guadeloupe
Puello ('39)
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 03, 2014, 02:25:23 PM
Group A Schedule

Friday – September 12, 2014
Group 5 winner v Group 1 winner
2nd best runner-up v Group 4 winner

Sunday – September 14, 2014
Group 4 winner v Group 5 winner
Group 1 winner v 2nd best runner-up

Tuesday – September 16, 2014
Group 1 winner v Group 4 winner
2nd best runner-up v Group 5 winner

Group B Schedule

Saturday – September 13, 2014
Group 3 winner v Group 2 winner
Trinidad & Tobago v Best runner-up

Monday – September 15, 2014
Best runner-up v Group 3 winner
Trinidad & Tobago v Group 2 winner

Wednesday – September 17, 2014
Group 2 winner v Best runner-up
Trinidad & Tobago v Group 3 winner

Match for Third Place

Friday – September 19, 2014
Group A runner-up v Group B runner-up

Final

Group A winner v Group B winner
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 03, 2014, 02:26:27 PM
I think Jamaica is hosting the concacaf under 20 championship
Post by: Tiresais on July 03, 2014, 03:02:01 PM
2014 Men’s CFU U-20 Action Resumes Today At Two Separate Venues
CFU Official Website

The 2014 Biennial Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Men’s Under-20 football tournament resumes today, Sunday, June 29 with the staging of two games each from Group 1 and 2 at two different venues.

In Group 1, St Vincent and the Grenadines will face Barbados at 3:00pm and at 5:00pm hosts Cuba meets group leaders Martinique. Both games will be played at the Pedro Marrero Stadium.

Bermuda plays Antigua & Barbuda at 2:00pm in Group 2 at the Estadio Panamericano in Dominican Republic while Dominican Republic entertains Guadeloupe at 4:30pm at this same venue.

In football action in Group 1 last Friday Martinique defeated St Vincent and the Grenadines 2-1. Goal scorers for Martinique were Demitri Defrel in the 10th minute and Axel Thimon in the 35th while Morelli Solomon scored in the 80th for St Vincent and the Grenadines.

Cuba and Barbados drew 2-2 in Group 1, with Frank Lopez netting in the 46th and 90th minute for Cuba and Shaquille Boyce scoring in the 43rd and 55th minute for Barbados.

In Group 2 Antigua and Barbuda lost 1-0 to Guadeloupe with a goal from Maverick Annerose. In the other game Dominican Republic defeated Bermuda 2-0.

The goals came from Aneury Feliz in the 7th minute and Luis Miguel Quesado in the 90th. Further Games from this tournament are scheduled to continue on July 18 when games from Group 3 and 4 will be played in Haiti and Aruba respectively.
Post by: Tiresais on July 03, 2014, 03:03:21 PM
Cuba and Dominican Republic Advance In 2014 Men’s CFU U-20 Tournament
CFU

Cuba and Dominican Republic earned the right to advance to the next round of the 2014 Biennial Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Men’s Under-20 football tournament, after topping Group 1 and 2 with five and six points respectively on Sunday, June 29.

Cuba defeated Martinique 3-1 in their game while St Vincent and the Grenadines and Barbados played to a stalemate to complete the Group 1 games.

Meanwhile, Dominican Republic clipped Guadeloupe 1-0 and Bermuda and Antigua and Barbuda drew 0-0 to mark the end of the Group 2 games.

Games from this tournament are scheduled to continue on July 18, when games from Group 3 and 4 will be played in Haiti and Aruba respectively.
Post by: Tiresais on July 03, 2014, 03:10:23 PM
Cuba rescued victory from the Jaws of defeat, Barbados will be disappointed to let such an opportunity slip. Guadeloupe were way below where they should be and Bermuda were so close to an upset :( Dominican Republic did well to recover from the catastrophic 3-0 defeat at the hands of Antigua though
Post by: Tiresais on July 03, 2014, 03:14:23 PM
I think Jamaica is hosting the concacaf under 20 championship

They said so, but then the CFU said that group A will have the best and second best 2nd place teams and omitting Jamaica from the second round fixture list - with all matches in T&T.
Post by: Sando prince on July 10, 2014, 12:34:45 PM
I am going to use T&T youth team performance in this tournament to rate the progress of our youth league in T&T. Yes I understand there are other factors involved like the quality of the opposing teams and coaching decisions but these tournaments can give you a good idea of exactly where our youth programs is today.

The main point of the youth league is to develop a pool of top players for the national youth coach to choose from. So if I watch these games and see players lacking the winning fundamentals such as creating a string of passes when moving forward, not making too many careless tackles to lose possession, quality shots on goal then I will tell allyuh from now the youth league is useless! These are fundamentals that the national coach should not have to teach. This should be learned and mastered when playing regularly for your club. So if we play poorly and win (like we have done against Caribbean opposition in the past)  I WILL NOT celebrate because I know we will be easily defeated later in qualification against CONCACAF teams like Costa Rica and Honduras. (like what has happened more than once in the past)

So leh we see what happens.. 

Post by: Flex on July 15, 2014, 03:08:56 PM
Derek King is the coach for them.

Title: Re: 2014 Caribbean U-20 Tournament
Post by: Flex on July 15, 2014, 03:19:35 PM
TTFA holds Men's U-20 screening sessions.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association will hold screening sessions for selection on the National Men’s Under 20 Team starting this Saturday at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Malabar from 9:00 a.m.

All players born on or after January 1st 1995 are invited to attend the sessions which will take place on Saturday July 19th, Tuesday (July 22nd) and Thursday (July 24th) from 9-12 midday on each day.

The sessions will be overseen by local coach Derek King and a supporting staff.

There is currently a pool of Under 20 players, inclusive of members of the previous National Under 17 team which took part in the final round of CONCACAF qualifiers in April, 2013. However, the local selectors will use the upcoming sessions to have a further look as the opportunity is offered for other players who have ambitions of representing the Red, White and Black and may be capable of joining the squad ahead of preparations for the qualifiers.

Players are asked to walk with a red and/or white jersey, black pants and red socks and passport or identification card.

T&T, which has qualified for two Under 20 World Cups in the past, 1991 and 2009, will host the second round of Caribbean Football Union Under 20 qualifiers September 10-19th. The CONCACAF Final round will be played from January 9th-25th at a venue to be determined from which the top four teams will qualify for the FIFA Under 20 World Cup.

The 2015 FIFA U-20 World Cup, which will be held in New Zealand, will be the twentieth edition of the U-20 World Cup, since its inception in 1977. It will take place from May 30th to June 20th, 2015.

France are the current title holders, but will not be able to defend the trophy after failing to qualify out of the opening rounds of the UEFA Qualifiers France becomes the fourth straight current title holder of the FIFA U-20 World Cup to fail to qualify for the tournament.

Post by: elan on July 15, 2014, 04:53:18 PM
What a time to have screening.
Post by: Tiresais on July 22, 2014, 08:37:32 AM
National U-20 screening continues today
T&T Guardian

Screening sessions for potential selection for T&T’s Under-20 men’s provisional squad began on Saturday at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Arima, and is set to continue today at the same venue.

Tuesday’s session will be for players from the North and East Zones and regional associations only and starts at 9 am.

The sessions continue on Wednesday at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva, for Central and South-based players from 9-12pm.

Players are asked to arrive by 8.15 am for registration and to walk with ID or passport, a red and a white playing tee shirt and black pants and red socks. Players must have been born on or after January 1, 1995.

T&T will enter Caribbean qualifying action for the 2015 Fifa U-20 World Cup in September.

There is currently a pool of players including members from the past U-17 team and those already scouted by the national team coaches.

However, these screening sessions will give the selectors and players further opportunities before a final pool is selected for official training.

--------------------

If anyone finds out who attends that'd be interesting info
Post by: socalion on July 22, 2014, 10:42:24 AM
Here we go again , comical @ best  .............unbelievable the screening for players who are to represent T&T  in a tournament in little under two months from now , are not yet selected and in training...!!  Are we really serious ?   this is utter madness..  same ole , same ole.!!! 
Post by: Deeks on July 22, 2014, 11:40:20 AM
Here we go again , comical @ best  .............unbelievable the screening for players who are to represent T&T  in a tournament in little under two months from now , are not yet selected and in training...!!  Are we really serious ?   this is utter madness..  same ole , same ole.!!! 

Why is this comical, Lion? They get the chance to play overseas for more money. It may be to their advantage, because Fenwick is involved. Plus, Plaza is about 27yrs. He has to grab it now.
Post by: royal on July 22, 2014, 11:51:39 AM

Why is this comical, Lion? They get the chance to play overseas for more money. It may be to their advantage, because Fenwick is involved. Plus, Plaza is about 27yrs. He has to grab it now.

???
Post by: elan on July 22, 2014, 12:03:25 PM
Ah hear the quality of player that show up wasn't to promising.
Post by: socalion on July 22, 2014, 12:53:49 PM
Deeks  i believe we are talking about two entirely different subjects !!   i am in no way talking about willis plaza  and his overseas move .....!!  here quote me its comical that our national under20's soccer team would soon be  hosting and competing against other teams within the caribbean region ,( September 10th - 19th) .... in trinidad ....and not yet selected  nor in full preparation mode.... that to me is a joke .. are we missing something here ??  ah well  best wishes to the under20's  in september
Post by: Deeks on July 22, 2014, 01:07:58 PM
Socalion, Oooooops!!!! I sincerely apologize. Old age is setting in my brain. You are correct about the length of time. But if they complete their screening by first week inAugust, they probably can winged it(not making excuses for them). They have to be tight and no lapse in practices, etc. I think they probaly have players already from the u16s/u17s, but looking for some "diamonds" they may have overlooked. You just don't know. I maybe wrong.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 22, 2014, 01:28:43 PM
Ah hope we ready
https://www.youtube.com/v/j1KVgM8KDCs
Post by: socalion on July 22, 2014, 01:47:43 PM
no worries deeks :)..... as i mentioned previous  our under20's  squad of players  should be well into their preparations already ......thats my concern... as a matter of fact other regional teams are quickly catching up and some cases moving full speed ahead with their preparations.. its  rediculous , seems the same  approach to every competition....   thats just my take anyways..... wishing the team well come september
Post by: Flex on July 22, 2014, 02:27:26 PM

Some real good talent, good on the ball, but tactical understanding was weak. Far too many players though were not up to standard & that made it difficult to assess.

Why these players not in the Pro League is beyond me, the best ones can play in the Pro League or Super League. This school football over 18 is killing the talent.

One of the main concerns to me is the level of fitness (sprinting & power). Players struggling to complete a full 60 minutes, much a 90. That is for both U-17 & U-20.

Half of the team not available due to College.

Post by: Trini _2026 on July 22, 2014, 03:06:12 PM

Some real good talent, good on the ball, but tactical understanding was weak. Far too many players though were not up to standard & that made it difficult to assess.

Why these players not in the Pro League is beyond me, the best ones can play in the Pro League or Super League. This school football over 18 is killing the talent.

One of the main concerns to me is the level of fitness (sprinting & power). Players struggling to complete a full 60 minutes, much a 90. That is for both U-17 & U-20.

time for tthe ttff  to put an age cap on the SSFL
Post by: Tiresais on July 22, 2014, 05:58:36 PM

time for tthe ttff  to put an age cap on the SSFL

Indeed, incredible there isn't one anyway. We need to get our youngsters into proper training.

Who were the best names on show ppl? Anyone turn up?
Post by: Flex on July 22, 2014, 07:45:28 PM
TTFA U-20 screening goes to Tobago on Saturday.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Some 200 players have been looked at during two screening sessions conducted by the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association for selection on the National Under 20 Men’s Team.

Sessions were held on Saturday and Tuesday at the Larry Gomes Stadium and will continue on Wednesday from 9am at the Ato Boldon Stadium for players from the South and Central regions.

Under 20 coach Derek King and other senior staff members Stephen Hart, Hutson Charles, Dale Saunders and Muhammad Isa have been present at the sessions.

The action shifts to Tobago on Saturday with a session carded for the Dwight Yorke Stadium from 9am. Players must be born on or after January 1, 1995 and must walk with ID, Red and White playing tops and black pants and red socks.

King noted that there has been some quality in the mix so far.

“We’ve seen a lot of enthusiastic and talented players in the screening so far coming from local Pro League clubs such as W Connection, North East Stars and St Ann’s Rangers as well the schools in the Secondary Schools League,” King told TTFA Media.

“We’ve seen maybe 200 players so far and they are a few guys with quality that can definitely bring something to the squad. We’ll continue to assess their ability and their potential before cutting the squad for a first set of official training sessions next week at which point we will bring in the current pool of players from the past National Under 17 team and some other faces we’ve already added,” King said.

“And the staff at the sessions are all very experienced with a keen eye for talent which is a great boost for the process at this time.”

T&T are preparing for the second round of the Caribbean Football Union leg of the 2015 FIFA Under 20 World Cup qualifiers which will be played in Trinidad and Tobago from September 10-19th.

The CONCACAF Final round will be played from January 9th-25th  at a venue to be determined from which the top four teams will qualify for the FIFA Under 20 World Cup in New Zealand from May 30th to June 20th, 2015.

Post by: Deeks on July 23, 2014, 08:28:32 AM
  I tend to agree that in this time period college league 'maybe" hampering development of age group players. But TTFA cannot ban or dictate who should play in college. They will get blows from the schools and parents. If the clubs want to develop players from young, they have to form their own schools. Or have some kind of association with some private schools where their players can get an education. TT is not England or other Euro. football countries. The children must get a 4/5 year education.
Post by: truehaitian on July 23, 2014, 09:29:54 AM
From looking the following schedule here , T&T U-20 group  in September  will include

Dominican Republic ( group 2 winner)
Haiti ( group 3 winner, finish with 9pts + 15 goals)
Surinam ( Best overall runner-up, finish 6pts+10 goals).

Group B Schedule

Saturday – September 13, 2014
Group 3 winner v Group 2 winner
Trinidad & Tobago v Best runner-up

Monday – September 15, 2014
Best runner-up v Group 3 winner
Trinidad & Tobago v Group 2 winner

Wednesday – September 17, 2014
Group 2 winner v Best runner-up
Trinidad & Tobago v Group 3 winner

Match for Third Place

Group A runner-up v Group B runner-up

Final

Group A winner v Group B winner
Post by: elan on July 23, 2014, 11:41:45 AM
  I tend to agree that in this time period college league 'maybe" hampering development of age group players. But TTFA cannot ban or dictate who should play in college. They will get blows from the schools and parents. If the clubs want to develop players from young, they have to form their own schools. Or have some kind of association with some private schools where their players can get an education. TT is not England or other Euro. football countries. The children must get a 4/5 year education.

If they serious they could. Klinsman did it in the US. If you want to play in the USDA you cannot play HS. Choose one.

Post by: elan on July 23, 2014, 11:46:08 AM
U.S. youth soccer: Is high school or playing on an elite academy team the best route? (http://www.washingtonpost.com/sports/highschools/us-youth-soccer-is-high-school-or-playing-on-an-elite-academy-team-the-best-route/2011/04/26/AFvKM59G_story.html)

Earlier this month in Woodbridge, one of the area’s top soccer players, Dario Redondo, sat in the stands watching No. 7 Gar-Field High School, a team for which he used to star, cruise to a 5-0 win.

One night later in Fairfax, Langley forward Josh Ellis charged from the top of the box as a blocked penalty kick rebounded into the area and smacked the ball into the net, helping lead the second-ranked Saxons to a 3-0 win in the district playoffs.

Both Ellis and Redondo are a part of D.C. United Academy, an elite soccer program established by the U.S. Soccer Federation in 2007. With their senior seasons approaching, however, they chose different paths for the final months of their high school careers: Redondo decided to play solely for D.C. United, while Ellis chose to balance his academy and high school schedules.

That decision may not be in the hands of high school-aged players much longer.

Four years ago, the USSF formed a league for elite youth soccer teams to develop better players and streamline what had become a jumbled system of club teams, summer development leagues and the Olympic Development Program. Now, more and more clubs in the U.S. Development Academy league are insisting that their players forgo their high school teams completely.

The movement pits those who believe training with elite clubs is the best route for developing international-caliber players against others who say the trend could undermine a uniquely American tradition in which the best athletes compete alongside their classmates for their high school teams.

“Since soccer is a really big sport here in the U.S., kids who play soccer think it’s fun here to play for their school,” said Ellis, a native of Sweden. “People come to watch you, your friends. For that reason I think it’s fun to play high school. At the same time, academy improves you as a player, takes you places, polishes you.”

In April, academy teams in Southern California switched from a seven-month to a 10-month season that will prohibit players from playing high school soccer. Academy teams in the Pacific Northwest and Texas followed suit.

The expectation is for the local academy clubs — D.C. United, Potomac and McLean — to eventually fall in line with what U.S. Soccer believes will become a nationwide standard.

McLean Academy technical director Zach Samol said it is “inevitable and it should be from a pure soccer standpoint, but it’s going to be hard in this area when it happens.” D.C. United General Manager Dave Kasper, whose club operates and finances the youth academy team, said he believes the transition will happen within one to two years.

There is a universal belief among those deeply entrenched in the higher levels of the sport that the academy is an important step, both in the individual development of players and the enhancement of Major League Soccer and the U.S. national pool. There is a distinct divide, though, among those same voices as to whether the academy can and should coexist with high school soccer.

“In top footballing nations, school soccer is not where the top players play and develop,” said Tony Lepore, director of scouting for U.S. youth national teams and a technical adviser for the Development Academy. “That’s how this has evolved and how this shift has continued. . . .We’ve given the choice to the clubs. It’s not a mandate yet, but we totally get why they’re choosing that and that’s why we’re supporting it.”

Among those who say the academy system can function alongside high school soccer and still produce top players is University of Maryland Coach Sasho Cirovski, who has won two NCAA national championships with lineups made up of players who have played for their schools. “We try to be too much like the rest of the world,” Cirovski said. “We have to find the American way, and the American way is always going to involve education.”

To those within the sport, the debate over high school and club soccer — one that has been waged for decades — lies in the technical aspects of a game that club coaches say demands high-level, year-round training.

The belief is that the training environment and level of play can significantly affect development. The prevailing thought among academy backers is that because high school soccer brings together players of different levels, those who also participate in higher-level soccer with an academy or club will suffer by playing alongside less-skilled players on the high school field. They also maintain that high school teams play too many games, which is counter to the academy philosophy of more training and fewer games.

Supporters of the high school game point to the current U.S. national pool and the number of players who played not only high school soccer, but other sports as well.

Taylor Twellman, one of the most prolific goal scorers in MLS history and a former U.S. national team forward, played four sports in high school and quit his club soccer team so that he could play multiple sports.

“There’s no denying if you play U.S. Development Academy, the coaching, fields, players surrounding you is going to be better, but is that ultimately the goal of life?” said Twellman, who played at Maryland. “I don’t know if that trade-off is worth it, but I understand U.S. Soccer’s best opportunity is to get the area’s best players together to train together. I understand that argument, but what is the sacrifice?”

Examples of teams and players affected can be seen at schools across the Washington region.

Kody Palmer, a goalkeeper at Westfield last season, and Mikias Eticha, who starred for Stuart a year ago, are not playing for their high schools this year. Both are on D.C. United Academy’s U-18 roster. Forward Andrew Panknen’s attempt to balance his commitment to both D.C. United Academy and Yorktown this season has proven difficult to manage, and he has played only a handful of games for the school. D.C. United Academy players such as Ellis and Madison midfielder Dan Traxler, however, have played throughout the season for their high schools.

D.C United Academy Coach Tom Torres, a former high school coach at Westfield, believes what may make the transition from a seven- to 10-month season more difficult in this area is the impact on private schools like DeMatha, which recruit many of the area’s top players.

The change to a mandate would affect only a small percentage of the area’s players, though they are among the most elite. Academy pools include 45 to 50 players across age groups, meaning the rule changes would impact about 150 players from the area. Even if the change is made, players will still have the option of playing for non-Academy club teams.

“For D.C. United it’s an issue we wrestle with every year,” Kasper said. “We’re getting kids who are missing practices, getting kids who are forced with choices. . . . We’re not getting half the time [European clubs] are to develop these players. And it’s a challenge.”

One thing few debate is that the Academy is a major step forward in the development and identification of higher-level players for MLS and the U.S. national team.

D.C. United started three former Academy players — Andy Najar, Bill Hamid and Ethan White — in several games this season, and has signed a fourth, Conor Shanosky.

MLS teams have signed 26 Academy products since its inception, and Lepore said that more than 30 others are now playing professionally in Mexico or overseas.

The model more closely resembles the European system and fast tracks promising young prospects into the professional environment and national team pool. D.C. United has specifically studied the system of famed Dutch club Ajax, which is widely considered as the standard in elite youth development.

Previously the U.S. system has had one residential academy in Bradenton, Fla., for the elite young players who had been identified.

“Our system is developing good players but we’re not developing enough good players and enough international stars,” Kasper said. “Talking about players who can go into Spain, who can go into the top clubs in England and be a star. We don’t have any players like that. We have players that can do well and have successful careers in Europe, but a nation as big as the United States, as advanced as we are, we’re still behind in world soccer.”
Post by: Deeks on July 23, 2014, 12:24:27 PM
If they serious they could. Klinsman did it in the US. If you want to play in the USDA you cannot play HS. Choose one.

They could do it. But they will lose out. Until the clubs have proper acadamies that will educate these guys while they learn their skills, this would not fliy in TT.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 24, 2014, 07:19:11 AM
Wednesday Jul 23, 2014
Jamaica Set to Host CONCACAF Under-20 Championships in January

Format: The twelve (12) teams shall be divided into a group stage consisting of two (2) groups (A, B) of six (6) teams each. The group winners qualify automatically for the FIFA U-20 World Cup New Zealand 2015. The second- and third-place teams from each group are re-seeded by group stage results, with the top team of the four facing the fourth-best team, and the second-best finisher facing the third-best. The winner of each of those two matches also advances to the FIFA U-20 World Cup New Zealand 2015.

i like this format ....... i guess this would be the under 17 format also .. lots of games .. i hope them fellas fit

Post by: CK1 on July 24, 2014, 10:25:14 AM

They could do it. But they will lose out. Until the clubs have proper acadamies that will educate these guys while they learn their skills, this would not fliy in TT.

I disagree with this notion. The top players can still attend their respective schools, but they only play for the club teams (Pro League) youth teams or reserves and not the school league. You have to get your best players training and playing at the highest levels possible.
Post by: Deeks on July 24, 2014, 11:37:25 AM
The top players can still attend their respective schools, but they only play for the club teams (Pro League) youth teams or reserves and not the school league. You have to get your best

I agree, but most schools "pressure" the star player to play, especially inter-col. What is TTFA going to do? Sue the principal and the football coach. If the player is from a socalled upper-class family, they will guide him to towards academics. Get a scholarship in the US. So you all know which ethnic groups going in that direction. If the player is from a poor family, there is a strong possibility he may opt for the "still attend their respective schools, but they only play for the club teams (Pro League) youth teams or reserves and not the school league."
Post by: Tiresais on July 24, 2014, 12:22:15 PM
Well personal development has to be a concern when training young players - is there a way to "loan" them to their respective US Colleges?
Post by: CK1 on July 24, 2014, 01:40:00 PM
The top players can still attend their respective schools, but they only play for the club teams (Pro League) youth teams or reserves and not the school league. You have to get your best

I agree, but most schools "pressure" the star player to play, especially inter-col. What is TTFA going to do? Sue the principal and the football coach. If the player is from a socalled upper-class family, they will guide him to towards academics. Get a scholarship in the US. So you all know which ethnic groups going in that direction. If the player is from a poor family, there is a strong possibility he may opt for the "still attend their respective schools, but they only play for the club teams (Pro League) youth teams or reserves and not the school league."

I don't follow your point relative to the socio economic status of the players and the pursuit of academic scholarship opportunities. Every top player should be guided towards preparing academically for those possible opportunities. I can tell you of countless men from non well-to-do families who have been guided towards scholarships and have succeeded above and beyond. I say get the best players out of the SSFL, put them with a Pro League team that is geographically situated in the area where the attend school and have that as a separate league from the SSFL. Secondary schools will still have their teams, but won't have their respective top players. The quality of the SSFL may suffer a bit or other budding players may rise.
Post by: CK1 on July 24, 2014, 01:47:51 PM
Well personal development has to be a concern when training young players - is there a way to "loan" them to their respective US Colleges?
The US college system is a whole different matter, yet it is a great place where many of our players can be exposed to personal development. Many US college athletic departments have programs that integrate personal development for their athletes known as the CHAMPS Life Skills Program. That said, they Pro League teams should have a structure/ system in place for these young players as well as for the pros to acquire the personal development training that you rightly point out as a concern.
Post by: Deeks on July 24, 2014, 04:07:35 PM
CK1. I am not dissing players from lower socio economic status. I am a product of that. In the past the high schools were the breeding ground for many of our players. But this can't work for us any more. The emphasis is on structured development of young players at the professional level, so that they can compete overseas. I am saying, for this to produce results, the individual pro clubs will have to have their own schools so that they can efficiently structure their practices to accommodate their education. The regular schools can't do that. What the clubs can do is have some kind of joint on-line high school that is properly supervised for their players. If clubs want the best out of the youths, they have to share the burden(expense) of  secondary education.
Post by: elan on July 24, 2014, 09:22:50 PM
CK1. I am not dissing players from lower socio economic status. I am a product of that. In the past the high schools were the breeding ground for many of our players. But this can't work for us any more. The emphasis is on structured development of young players at the professional level, so that they can compete overseas. I am saying, for this to produce results, the individual pro clubs will have to have their own schools so that they can efficiently structure their practices to accommodate their education. The regular schools can't do that. What the clubs can do is have some kind of joint on-line high school that is properly supervised for their players. If clubs want the best out of the youths, they have to share the burden(expense) of  secondary education.

Deeks, not much will have to change. The clubs won't all need that. The kids will still be attending school and then after school they go to their clubs and train.

If you want to make it where the clubs have more access, they can work with a local school and have their  player transfer to that school. They can then work with the school to come up with a plan where they can train the players in the morning and then after school, so 2 times a day.

The Jr. Sec. model might be accommodating where the boys train at 9 am and then attend class for 3 periods in the morning shift, break for lunch, attend another 3 period with evening shift and train again.  Obviously this has to be refined.

But maybe this is what need to happen. Work with the schools.
Post by: Deeks on July 24, 2014, 10:27:21 PM
Elan, I wish I can share your optimism. Is Trinidad we talking about. You have to deal with Anil, Gopeesingh and Gary Griffith.
Post by: CK1 on July 26, 2014, 11:11:17 AM

Deeks, not much will have to change. The clubs won't all need that. The kids will still be attending school and then after school they go to their clubs and train.

If you want to make it where the clubs have more access, they can work with a local school and have their  player transfer to that school. They can then work with the school to come up with a plan where they can train the players in the morning and then after school, so 2 times a day.

The Jr. Sec. model might be accommodating where the boys train at 9 am and then attend class for 3 periods in the morning shift, break for lunch, attend another 3 period with evening shift and train again.  Obviously this has to be refined.

But maybe this is what need to happen. Work with the schools.
Élan: that is the idea I was hoping to get across. My point is that they cannot keep doing things the same way and expect different results. I have a ton of practical solutions that can make this stuff work, but it can only work if people really want it to work. In fact, now we talking about having kids go to school in the local areas, so a top player say from Arima who attends CIC, he would not have to do that daily commute if he were aligned with NE Stars or which ever Pro league team is closest to his home. Deeks: I know you may argue that parents won't support the idea because they would rather have their child attend CIC than say Trinity East (old colonial prestige school mentality), but I talking about aspiring players who will be given the best opportunity to develop in the game. I could serve as a consultant and put a master plan together, and also do the parent education on the concept and overall benefits to the players. I can develop a program for the clubs and schools to help assist the academic and personal development of the players. What I struggle with is the lack of innovation in the approach to football as a whole and youth development in particular!
Post by: Tallman on September 09, 2014, 06:38:59 AM
https://www.youtube.com/v/VGITyKLfYUs
Post by: maxg on September 09, 2014, 08:37:58 AM
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=61503.msg883904#msg883904
Title: Meet the T&T U-20 team
Post by: Tallman on September 11, 2014, 12:28:44 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/EAHxIGIfCuY
Post by: frico on September 11, 2014, 03:24:44 PM
Those yutes got some good size,which may well help us.Over the years i have seen some quite small boys at Under 20,this lot look the business.
Post by: Flex on September 11, 2014, 04:02:06 PM
Under 20 squad named for Caribbean finals.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Derek King has finalized his 20-man squad that will begin their 2015 FIFA Under 20 World Cup qualifying campaign against Suriname on the opening day of the Caribbean Football Union U-20 Finals at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Friday.

King, who is also an assistant coach with the T&T Senior Team and a former National youth and senior team defender, has been overseeing the team’s preparations for the past couple months along with assistant coach Dale Saunders. The team manager is Douglas Archer

He explained on Monday that his squad is a balanced one which he believes can be strong contenders in the qualifying campaign.

Several members of the team are attached to local Pro League clubs and have had prior international experience at the CONCACAF Under 17 level.

Defender Shannon Gomez, Central FC's Levi Garcia, W Connection forward Akeem Garcia, Martieon Watson, defenders Josiah Trimmingham and Maurice Ford, US-based midfielder  Andre Fortune, Aikim Andrews Matthew Wooling and Kishun Seecharan are among those who were members of the previous National Under 17 team that came to within one victory of qualifying for the 2013 FIFA Under 17 World Cup. US-based goalkeeper Johan Welch was the last member to join the team and his first session with goalkeeper coach Michael Maurice and the rest of the team at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Tuesday evening.

Gomez is the team captain and North East Stars midfielder Neveal Hackshaw is the vice captain.

“I think the squad is a balanced one. We had open screening in the early part which allowed the staff to look at the best available players in the country and then we came down to a training squad,” King told TTFA Media.

“We continued to assess the players and then decided on the final squad for the tournament. The players were selected specific to their ability for roles and positions and of course there is some really good talent in there. These players have had international experience from the previous Under 17 World Cup campaign and are very eager to enter the tournament,” King added.

About T&T’s opponents which include Cuba, Suriname and Curacao, King said, “These are all formidable teams. Cuba for one has always given us a difficult time a the youth level and Suriname and Curacao have been improving. We cannot take any of these teams for granted and will prepare for each of them differently but with the same respect,” King said.

T&T will open their campaign on Friday from 7:15 pm against Suriname as the Caribbean Football Union advised the TTFA of a late change to the fixtures on Tuesday. Cuba will take on Curacao from 5pm. Admission is $40 and Kids under 12 are free.

T&T Roster

Goalkeepers:

1.Johan Welch (Houston Dynamo Juniors), 21.Javon Sample (Central FC);

Defenders:

13.Josiah Trimmingham (San Juan Jabloteh), 2.Shannon Gomez (W Connection), 3.Martieon Watson (W Connection), 5.Maurice Ford (W Connection), 4.Jesus Perez (North East Stars);

Midfielders:

8.Neveal Hackshaw (North East Stars), 7.Akeem Garcia (W Connection), 18.Jabari Mitchell (W Connection), 15.Aikim Andrews (San Juan Jabloteh), 11.Levi Garcia (Central FC), 6.Kevon Goddard (Central FC), 12.Kishun Seecharan (Defence Force), 17.Akeem Humphrey (Club Sando), 10.Andre Fortune (Unattached), 14.Matthew Woo Ling (W Connection), 16.Keon Joseph (North East Stars);

Forwards:

9.Kadeem Corbin (St Ann’s Rangers), 19.Nicholas Dillon (Central FC).

CFU Men’s Under-20 Caribbean Championship

Group A

(Fri Sep 12)

Curacao vs Cuba, 5 pm, Hasely Crawford Stadium,

Trinidad and Tobago vs Suriname, 7.15 pm, Hasely Crawford Stadium;

(Sun Sep 14)

Cuba v Suriname, 4 pm, Hasely Crawford Stadium,

Trinidad and Tobago vs Curacao, 6.15 pm, Hasely Crawford Stadium;

(Tue Sep 16)

Curacao v Suriname, 5 pm, Hasely Crawford Stadium,

Trinidad and Tobago v Cuba, 7.15 pm, Hasely Crawford Stadium;

Group B

(Sat Sep 13)

Haiti v Dominican Republic, 4 pm, Ato Boldon Stadium,

St Kitts and Nevis v Aruba, 6.15 pm, Ato Boldon Stadium;

(Mon Sep 15)

Dominican Republic v St Kitts and Nevis, 5 pm, Ato Boldon Stadium,

Aruba v Haiti, 7.15 pm, Ato Boldon Stadium;

(Wed Sep 17)

Dominican Republic v Aruba, 5 pm, Ato Boldon Stadium,

Haiti v St Kitts and Nevis, 7.15 pm, Ato Boldon Stadium;

Third Place Play Off

(Fri Sep 19)

Runner-up Group A v Runner-up Group B, 5 pm, Hasely Crawford Stadium;

U-20 Caribbean Championship Final

(Fri Sep 19)

Winner Group A v Winner Group B, 7.30 pm, Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Post by: Flex on September 12, 2014, 02:02:52 AM
T&T, Suriname predict victory
...Caribbean U20 Championship begins at Hasely Crawford Stadium
By Ian Prescott (Express).

TWO confident teams, Trinidad and Tobago and Suriname, are both predicting opening victories from their Caribbean Under-20 Championship matches tonight at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. The problem is that they are playing each other!.

Suriname head coach Werner Blackson boasts of having beaten the Suriname men’s national team with his Under-20 footballers in a warm-up match, while “Young Warriors” coach Derek King is buoyed by a recent commanding showing against Guadeloupe’s senior national team who they held to a 1-1 draw in Tobago a week ago.

Trinidad and Tobago host the Caribbean final round for the 2015 FIFA Under-20 World Cup, beginning at 5 (p.m.) today when Curacao face Cuba in Group A, followed by a 7.15 (p.m.) showdown between the Surinamese and the hosts. Meanwhile, Group B begins tomorrow at Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva, where from 4 p.m., the Dominican Republic face St Kitts-Nevis and from 6.15, Aruba tackle Haiti. Admission is $40 and children 12 and under enter free.

Described as one of the best Under-20 men’s teams to come out of Trinidad and Tobago, the current bunch of young Soca Warriors are battling to be among the four Caribbean qualifiers for the CONCACAF final round, which subsequently takes three team from North, Central America and the Caribbean to the Under-20 World Cup, to be played in New Zealand.

Most of the T&T team played at the 2013 CONCACAF U20 championships where they beat Costa Rica 2-0, but fell 4-2 at the quarter-final stage to tournament runners-up and hosts Panama. In the squad are potent Arima winger Akeem Garcia, outstanding Texas-born Houston Dynamo goalkeeper Johan Welch, North Carolina midfielder Andre Fortune and captain Shannon Gomez.

“Our team have a bunch of players you can call gems. Every players is playing (selected) off talent,” captain Gomez said. “You can expect to see Trinidad and Tobago putting on a show for any team which will challenge us.”

T&T coach King said his side is ready and confident. Most of the “Young Warriors” are drawn from the national Under-17 team which came within a game of qualifying for the FIFA World Cup two years ago. They have been training together for two months, and got good results against local Pro League clubs, and the draw against Guadeloupe last Saturday.

“The game against Guadeloupe, it came at the right time. The guys did well..... to see that an under-20 team match up against a senior team,” King declared. “The guys are eager to go, and come tomorrow we will get three points.”

Meanwhile Suriname, lost 2-1 to Haiti in qualifying, but beat St Lucia 6-3 and strugglers Turks & Caicos Islands 7-0 to qualify as the best second-placed team. Since then, they have trained together for six weeks, and beaten their national team. Coach Blackson feels recent improvements must put them among the contenders.

“With respect to the opponents of Suriname, I think tomorrow we will get our first three points,” Blackson said.

Meanwhile, Curacao have boosted their team by including seven players from Holland, but head coach Henry Calderon was level-headed and expects a tough tournament. He reminded everyone that two years ago, Curacao upset Trinidad and Tobago in qualifying.

“Maybe we are going to be the surprise of the group,” Calderon said.

Cuban coach Raymond Hernandez brings a disciplined team which is ready to play good football.

“Cuba always come to participate and give their best,” he said.

Post by: coache on September 12, 2014, 01:32:08 PM
Six players from Connection...so you tellin me that the best players come these Pro League Clubs? Who from Tobago, Mayaro, Rio Claro, Moruga ...I always phewing out nonsense...Same Kakhi pants we goin nowhere fast.
Post by: Sando prince on September 12, 2014, 03:05:22 PM

Respect to Yorke  :beermug:

Yorke to Under 20s: Give it your best shot

“It’s a fantastic tournament to qualify for at such a young age and it would be great if the current Trinidad and Tobago Under 20 team can get off to the right start in their match against Suriname tomorrow,” Yorke told TTFA Media from London on Thursday.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2014-09-11/yorke-under-20s-give-it-your-best-shot

Title: Live on WI Sports (channel 14)
Post by: Tallman on September 12, 2014, 03:20:12 PM
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xpa1/v/t1.0-9/s720x720/10419939_10154593906640704_6838409575227679630_n.jpg?oh=2753f37e83663e2c8dac447f3243d34f&oe=54CC48BD&__gda__=1418172226_1aa1e09587e0815a07810e47656031b5)
Post by: Deeks on September 12, 2014, 04:28:15 PM
Anybody know what the score is in the first game?
Post by: maxg on September 12, 2014, 04:32:44 PM
i going bold yes...ANY LINKS FOR THE GAME ?
Post by: socalion on September 12, 2014, 04:52:04 PM
Ah hope all de  home based fans  turn up to  support de boys in their numbers  , make  it a nice friday evening lime at the hasely crawford stadium ..... ah woulda  like to be at home  to take een dem games  , it should be a nice atmosphere come game time ............ come skipper shannon gomez and company  go do you all ting .... turn it up tonight  ....... all de best   young warriors.... go tnt  go .with .. ah discipline and 100 % focused game ... ah feeling good about dis team  ...  do yuh tings fellas goodluck
Post by: trini_stallion on September 12, 2014, 06:24:46 PM
1-1 at half time...Cuba won 2-0
Post by: Tallman on September 12, 2014, 06:35:53 PM
HALF-TIME: T&T 1-1 Suriname. A 27th minute penalty by Andre Fortune brought T&T U-20 on level terms after an early goal by Suriname’s Orveo Faerber in the 4th minute.
Post by: Sando prince on September 12, 2014, 07:00:04 PM
BTW this is still my stance

I am going to use T&T youth team performance in this tournament to rate the progress of our youth league in T&T. Yes I understand there are other factors involved like the quality of the opposing teams and coaching decisions but these tournaments can give you a good idea of exactly where our youth programs is today.

The main point of the youth league is to develop a pool of top players for the national youth coach to choose from. So if I watch these games and see players lacking the winning fundamentals such as creating a string of passes when moving forward, not making too many careless tackles to lose possession, quality shots on goal then I will tell allyuh from now the youth league is useless! These are fundamentals that the national coach should not have to teach. This should be learned and mastered when playing regularly for your club. So if we play poorly and win (like we have done against Caribbean opposition in the past)  I WILL NOT celebrate because I know we will be easily defeated later in qualification against CONCACAF teams like Costa Rica and Honduras. (like what has happened more than once in the past)

So leh we see what happens.. 

Post by: Tallman on September 12, 2014, 07:32:40 PM
FULL-TIME: Jabari Mitchell’s goal in the 76th minute gave the T&T U-20 team a come-from-behind 2-1 win over Suriname in their opening fixture at the 2014 Caribbean Men’s U-20 Championship at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. T&T were given an early scare when Orveo Faerber gave Suriname the lead in the 4th minute, but Andre Fortune equalized with a 27th minute penalty. The Junior Soca Warriors will face Curaçao on Sunday at 6:15pm.
Post by: Arimaman on September 12, 2014, 07:37:31 PM
Well done young men  :cheers:
Post by: trini_stallion on September 12, 2014, 07:43:51 PM
Yes team! Well done!
Post by: socalion on September 12, 2014, 07:55:49 PM
Nicely done young warriors ...
Post by: FireBrand on September 12, 2014, 09:03:18 PM
Well done Young Warriors! Stay focused...
Post by: Cocorite on September 12, 2014, 09:45:59 PM
Wonderful  ;D

Good Job Fellas . . .Represent
Post by: asylumseeker on September 12, 2014, 09:50:55 PM
Congrats on step 1 ...
Post by: Big Magician on September 13, 2014, 05:26:22 AM
decent first game...very disappointing crowd...nervy first half...better second...subs made big impact off the bench..Akim Andrews changed the game from wide left...Corbin is quite a gem ( as i always knew)..sadly he is playing a 9.. really a 10...but doing well...
Goddard with solid job in central mid....back 4 need some work with organization and shape...

saw 30 mins of Cuba/cuaraco...both teams look solid...more tests to come

Local based...come out...
Post by: dreamer on September 13, 2014, 07:23:44 AM
Phew!!
Well done young Warriors coming from behind against tough Suriname on opening day is a huge victory.
This is really really crucial and I commend these youngsters for fighting for the future of T&T football.
3 points is crucial. Dem fellas seem to understand the war that they are in. Gettin' zero points or only 1 point at the start with Suriname, DR or any of the others is looking fuh trouble.
These previously nonfootballing countries doing their homework and are closing the gap gradually as we slip with practice and funding. ... and thanks for the scoops Big Mag.
Big fight ahead. Is BraveHart helping out Derek and the others behind the scenes?
Post by: King Deese on September 13, 2014, 08:18:58 AM
Men planting peas and expecting corn.

Here comes another tournament that will result in another wasted opportunity. Lack of preparation can only take you so far. Suriname realized that sooner rather than later. Defeating their senior national team means nothing. T&T will realize later rather than sooner that beating a Central FC team with six Zoran Vranes playing in the attacking half, four Football Supporters playing in the defensive half and some dude in goal does not a good preparation make and playing against a Guadelupe senior team means nothing.

For me, preparation breathes success and success brings progress and for the TTFA it is still a hit and hope situation. There is no blueprint for success, no system of any kind to put to the test. They don't even have a technical director for crying out loud.

Make it to the World Cup and I will be one of the first people to say, congratulations. Beat one team in that tournament and that will be a sign of progress for me. Until then you ain't saying nothing. Prove me wrong damnit.
Post by: elan on September 13, 2014, 02:01:40 PM

Here comes another tournament that will result in another wasted opportunity. Lack of preparation can only take you so far. Suriname realized that sooner rather than later. Defeating their senior national team means nothing. T&T will realize later rather than sooner that beating a Central FC team with six Zoran Vranes playing in the attacking half, four Football Supporters playing in the defensive half and some dude in goal does not a good preparation make and playing against a Guadelupe senior team means nothing.

For me, preparation breathes success and success brings progress and for the TTFA it is still a hit and hope situation. There is no blueprint for success, no system of any kind to put to the test. They don't even have a technical director for crying out loud.

Make it to the World Cup and I will be one of the first people to say, congratulations. Beat one team in that tournament and that will be a sign of progress for me. Until then you ain't saying nothing. Prove me wrong damnit.

Men go ask yuh if have money to give or a blue print for the TTFA.
Post by: King Deese on September 13, 2014, 04:35:21 PM

Ent....

Real talk.
Post by: Tallman on September 13, 2014, 08:40:32 PM
HIGHLIGHTS of T&T U-20’s 2-1 win over Suriname

https://www.youtube.com/v/-aVffqQeA5k
Post by: Sando prince on September 13, 2014, 09:04:01 PM

^^ VERY POOR DEFENSE  is to blame for T&T conceding that goal
Post by: frico on September 14, 2014, 04:25:35 AM

^^ VERY POOR DEFENSE  is to blame for T&T conceding that goal
Where have I heard that same statement before,whenever TT play a football match...expect that.
Post by: Football supporter on September 14, 2014, 06:21:38 AM
Haiti 2 - 1 DR.  Real tense affair as you would expect. Haiti the better team, but DR held on well after losing a man to a red card in first half.

Aruba 2 - 1 St Kitts  Dull game. Aruba looked better going forward, but no much.

All 4 teams lacked imagination going forward. All played with one striker. Lots of long ball stuff although Aruba did try to pass forward at times.

Nothing to see here. T&T should beat any of these teams, although Haiti will be physically the toughest.
Post by: Tallman on September 14, 2014, 07:00:06 AM
Post-match press conference following T&T U-20’s 2-1 win over Suriname.

https://www.youtube.com/v/msO-Fe5e8x4
Post by: maxg on September 14, 2014, 02:24:58 PM

Ent....

Real talk.

The rest of statements I don't know, if they have or not..but will take your word for it..but if you know all those things you must know why there is no Technical Director as well..I think he didn't get paid for awhile, how come ?....btw we had a Simoes blueprint...a BeenE blueprint..i think the german fella and latapy created blueprints too...maybe the players had taken them with all the office stuff..check the boxes nah...don't tell meh we throw them all out .. ;D

Bang the drums loud..sooner or later ppl will hear and chip to suite.. but don't expect to play a trapset and pull people way from a community steelband..even if yuh mean well
Post by: Sam on September 14, 2014, 03:09:25 PM
decent first game...very disappointing crowd...nervy first half...better second...subs made big impact off the bench..Akim Andrews changed the game from wide left...Corbin is quite a gem ( as i always knew)..sadly he is playing a 9.. really a 10...but doing well...
Goddard with solid job in central mid....back 4 need some work with organization and shape...

saw 30 mins of Cuba/cuaraco...both teams look solid...more tests to come

Local based...come out...

Good going big mac...

Rate them players for we nah?

Who yuh feel go mash up soon.

How they being coach?

God techniques and tactics?

Post by: FF on September 14, 2014, 05:10:45 PM
T&T up 1-0
Post by: amielisadore on September 14, 2014, 05:29:49 PM
HT : T&T 2-0 Curacao. Jabari Mitchell scored a powerful shot from just inside the box in the 34th min from a good pull back from Kadeem Corbin. Corbin then turned from provider to goalscorer in the 45th min with a well taken penalty which was won by Central FC midfielder Levi Garcia. Levi has been excellent in this half.
Post by: FireBrand on September 14, 2014, 06:08:06 PM
3-0. Kadeem Corbin again in the 66th min.
Post by: FireBrand on September 14, 2014, 06:13:12 PM
4-0, Akim Andrews in the 84th min.
Post by: FireBrand on September 14, 2014, 06:18:08 PM
T&T wins 4-0.
Post by: Tallman on September 14, 2014, 06:22:52 PM
FINAL: A brace by Kadeem Corbin in the 45th and 66th minutes led T&T U-20s to a comprehensive 4-0 victory over Curacao at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. The other goals were scored by Jabari Mitchell (34’) and Akim Andrews (84’). Next up for the Junior Soca Warriors is Cuba on Tuesday.
Post by: che on September 14, 2014, 06:46:08 PM
What was the score in the first game?
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 14, 2014, 07:05:11 PM
2-1 TT, scroll up or maybe you meant the 1st game today?  Sorry
Post by: Big Magician on September 14, 2014, 07:35:03 PM
SAM...soon come...reports and players info soon
Post by: Big Magician on September 14, 2014, 07:35:45 PM
will mention..Levi Garcia looks impressive...expensive left foot...good pace
Post by: amielisadore on September 14, 2014, 07:51:34 PM
will mention..Levi Garcia looks impressive...expensive left foot...good pace

Dribbled with a purpose and produced an end product.
Post by: che on September 14, 2014, 08:08:39 PM

First game today.
Post by: Sando prince on September 14, 2014, 10:17:55 PM

First game today.

Suriname 1 Cuba 0
Post by: che on September 15, 2014, 03:12:15 AM

First game today.

Suriname 1 Cuba 0

Post by: Tallman on September 15, 2014, 05:51:41 AM
https://www.youtube.com/v/CH4F-LUkvdI
Post by: Tallman on September 15, 2014, 02:12:12 PM
HIGHLIGHTS of T&T U-20’s 4-0 victory over Curaçao

https://www.youtube.com/v/fy_PMxEznSY
Post by: elan on September 15, 2014, 11:59:20 PM
We need a GK bad.

Also some sophistication in front goal on attack.
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 16, 2014, 06:03:27 AM
We need a GK bad.

the goalie is good  they need organization
Post by: Deeks on September 16, 2014, 09:07:37 AM
Johan came a couple days before the tournament and it shows. Not blaming him, maybe  because of his prior commitments. h ad he been there for the beginning of camp he would probably been better prepared. I will give him the benefit of doubt. It is the same thing that happens with senior players. They may be released by the clubs less than 5 days and then they have problems adjusting with the team.
Post by: elan on September 16, 2014, 11:34:45 AM
We need a GK bad.

the goalie is good  they need organization

Not from some of the movement and technique I saw in that clip.
Post by: Football supporter on September 16, 2014, 11:41:13 AM
Nice to know who we'll be playing in Jamaica!!

http://www.jamaicafootballfederation.com/v1/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/CFU-Mens-U-20-Match-Schedule.pdf

CFU Men’s U ‐20
Kingston, Jamaica

Match
Schedule
Group A - Waterhouse
Curacao, Haiti, Puerto
Rico, Trinidad & Tobago

Group B – Stadium East
Antigua & Barbuda, Cuba, Jamaica, Suriname

Monday, November 5
A Waterhouse: 3:00pm Trinidad & Tobago vs. Puerto Rico 5:00pm Haiti vs. Curacao
Tuesday, November 6
B Stadium East: 5:00pm Cuba vs. Suriname 7:00pm Jamaica vs. Antigua & Barbuda
Wednesday, November 7
A Waterhouse: 3:00pm Puerto Rico vs. Curacao 5:00pm Haiti vs.Trinidad & Tobago
Thursday, November 8
B Stadium East: 5:00pm Antigua & Barbuda vs. Cuba 7:00pm Jamaica vs. Suriname
Friday, November 9
A Waterhouse: 3:00pm Curacao vs. Trinidad & Tobago 5:00pm Puerto Rico vs. Haiti
Saturday, November 10
B Stadium East: 5:00pm Suriname vs. Antigua & Barbuda 7:00pm Jamaica vs. Cuba
Post by: Tallman on September 16, 2014, 12:22:28 PM
Nice to know who we'll be playing in Jamaica!!

http://www.jamaicafootballfederation.com/v1/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/CFU-Mens-U-20-Match-Schedule.pdf

CFU Men’s U ‐20
Kingston, Jamaica

Match
Schedule
Group A - Waterhouse
Curacao, Haiti, Puerto
Rico, Trinidad & Tobago

Group B – Stadium East
Antigua & Barbuda, Cuba, Jamaica, Suriname

Monday, November 5
A Waterhouse: 3:00pm Trinidad & Tobago vs. Puerto Rico 5:00pm Haiti vs. Curacao
Tuesday, November 6
B Stadium East: 5:00pm Cuba vs. Suriname 7:00pm Jamaica vs. Antigua & Barbuda
Wednesday, November 7
A Waterhouse: 3:00pm Puerto Rico vs. Curacao 5:00pm Haiti vs.Trinidad & Tobago
Thursday, November 8
B Stadium East: 5:00pm Antigua & Barbuda vs. Cuba 7:00pm Jamaica vs. Suriname
Friday, November 9
A Waterhouse: 3:00pm Curacao vs. Trinidad & Tobago 5:00pm Puerto Rico vs. Haiti
Saturday, November 10
B Stadium East: 5:00pm Suriname vs. Antigua & Barbuda 7:00pm Jamaica vs. Cuba

That is the tournament from 2012.
Post by: che on September 16, 2014, 05:08:45 PM
Football Supporter, you deserve some kind of award for that one.  :rotfl:
Post by: socalion on September 16, 2014, 05:30:33 PM
Post by: Tallman on September 16, 2014, 06:06:00 PM
WATCH LIVE: T&T U-20 vs Cuba U-20. Cuba currently has a 1-0 lead.
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/wisports
Post by: che on September 16, 2014, 06:36:44 PM
WATCH LIVE: T&T U-20 vs Cuba U-20. Cuba currently has a 1-0 lead.
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/wisports

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Football supporter on September 16, 2014, 06:37:45 PM
Football Supporter, you deserve some kind of award for that one.  :rotfl:

LOL. I actually modified the post to say that I double checked and saw the date was 2012, but forgot to enter it!

Thing is, I was looking for correct fixtures for the 2014 tourny and can't find them anywhere!

But, yeah, that's a definite own goal right there!
Post by: coache on September 16, 2014, 07:04:29 PM
Coach King...a small GK from Texas.. and brand of football..hmm..allyuh rel good oui..only in Trinidad..Cuba is not a football place ..it looks as though they dress up  de baseball team in football clothes.
The rest ah teams that play Trinidad look like some InterCol teams from recent times..wha really goin on?
Post by: E-man on September 16, 2014, 07:10:31 PM
the equalizer 1:1
Post by: Tallman on September 16, 2014, 07:11:07 PM
GOALLLL!!! Josiah Trimmingham scores the equalizer for T&T in the 88th minute. T&T U-20 1-1 Cuba U-20.
Post by: Tallman on September 16, 2014, 07:22:17 PM
FINAL: A late goal by defender Josiah Trimmingham earned T&T U-20 a 1-1 draw with Cuba. This means that the Junior Soca Warriors have advanced to the Caribbean U-20 Championship final on Friday and also qualified for the CONCACAF U-20 Championship to be held in Jamaica from January 9-24, 2015.

Standings

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts
Trinidad & Tobago  3  2  1  0  7  2  7
Cuba  3  1  1  1  2  2  4
Suriname  3  1  0  2  4  5  3
Curacao  3  1  0  2  3  7  3

Post by: dreamer on September 16, 2014, 07:37:14 PM
Grateful to those who provided this stream.
Very gratifying goal at crunch time. Players have soe skills and nice style and they seem to be hungry with good attitude trying to please the coach.
That goal is an investment in keeping this fragile youth program alive. The 12th man crowd still very disappointing but I guess we have to be at the door of World Cup qualification for people to come out. What a ting!
Cyah afford a loss to Cuba while coaches barely holding on to their jobs, probably without pay.
Well done young Warriors. You could see that T&T footballers have something that sets them apart. Imagine if Rundell Winchester was there too.
Now on to Haiti. I hope that there is a financial incentive to win the tournament and pay for the program.
Its going to get tougher and tougher. Bravehart, I hope you are helping out. King hinted in prior interview that you were, so good.
Post by: coache on September 16, 2014, 09:46:09 PM
Dreamer...allyuh rel good..
Post by: Tallman on September 17, 2014, 05:50:08 AM
T&T U-20 vs Cuba U-20: Post-match comments from Head Coach Derek King, and players Josiah Trimmingham and Levi Garcia.

https://www.youtube.com/v/q94_OSiTYrg
Post by: dreamer on September 17, 2014, 07:28:16 AM

Thanks coache.
Post by: Tenorsaw on September 17, 2014, 11:29:35 AM
Have you
Coach King...a small GK from Texas.. and brand of football..hmm..allyuh rel good oui..only in Trinidad..Cuba is not a football place ..it looks as though they dress up  de baseball team in football clothes.
The rest ah teams that play Trinidad look like some InterCol teams from recent times..wha really goin on?

Didn't see him against Cuba, but from what I saw from him with the U17s, he seems technically solid:good range on crosses, excellent shot stopper, and really good at coming off his line in 1v1 situations; also good with his feet.  He might be a bit undersized, relative to the modern day GK attributes, but so to is Nick Rimando for the U.S., and he excels in the MLS and U.S. national team. 
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 17, 2014, 11:39:47 AM

Thanks coache.

Dreamer, somehow ah doh tink de man was complimenting yuh but rather sayin yuh livin up to yuh handle.  Me eh no different, I remember sweatin fuh tranquil down 16-0 to Fatima and still peltin down de line tryin to salvage someting  ;D
Post by: Sando prince on September 17, 2014, 12:15:18 PM
Congrats to the Young Warriors on qualifying for the final round. Remember this is just the first step and bigger challenges lie ahead against Concacaf teams

Looking forward to seeing the team win the Caribbean trophy on Friday
Post by: Tallman on September 17, 2014, 01:29:48 PM
HIGHLIGHTS of T&T U-20’s 1-1 draw with Cuba.

https://www.youtube.com/v/NVT36VdDTkI
Post by: SWF Reporter on September 17, 2014, 05:06:24 PM
Levi confirms star billing as T&T U-20s seize Caribbean Cup final spot
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868.com)

Trinidad and Tobago will contest its second regional football final in a month on Friday evening when the young “Soca Warriors” line up in the 2014 Under-20 Caribbean Championship finale from 7.15 pm at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain.
Almost certainly, the Warriors’ final dance partner will be Haiti, who leads Group B at present, and there is a high possibility of an entertaining, swashbuckling close to the under-20 competition.
On a cool, damp Tuesday evening, there was little sparkle at the Hasely Crawford, though, as the Warriors eventually clawed their way back to a 1-1 draw against Cuba in the final Group A fixture.
Trinidad and Tobago had already booked one of four automatic CFU qualifying spots for the 2015 Under-20 CONCACAF Championships before kick off—thanks to a surprise 3-2 win for Curaçao over Suriname—while Cuba only needed a point to join the Warriors in the next phase. The CONCACAF tournament will be held in Montego Bay, Jamaica next January and the four top teams there will play at the New Zealand 2015 Under-20 World Cup.
Yesterday, under-20 coach Derek King took the chance to give a few more players some tournament exposure and, in the end, he and Cuba coach William Bennett might have been satisfied with how things turned out.
“We took a look at a couple of guys and the first half was a bit scrappy,” said King, in the post-game press conference. “... The second half was much better (and) Cuba didn’t get a single shot on goal.”
First half? Not so good. Second half? Better.
It has been a recurring theme in Trinidad and Tobago’s post-game press conferences so far.
Undoubtedly, this is a talented bunch of teenaged players. But, just as certainly, they are playing nowhere near to the peak of their powers.
The Warriors, for all their endeavour and individual ability, often lacked collective play, passing triangles and the composure and know-how to switch points of attack. Not altogether surprising for a team that held its first training session in July and got its first live-in camp a week before the opening CFU match.
Yet, Cuba was clearly petrified at what the Warriors were capable of last night.
At kick off, Bennett employed a five-man defence with a sweeper so deep that he was an arm’s length from his own penalty area, even when Trinidad and Tobago goalkeeper Johan Welch was in possession.
The reason for Bennett’s paranoia probably wears green boots and is just 16 years old. His name is Levi Garcia and he might be Trinidad and Tobago’s most gifted player since former Joe Public star Arnold Dwarika.
Read more: http://wired868.com/2014/09/17/levi-confirms-star-billing-as-tt-u-20s-seize-caribbean-cup-final-spot/
Post by: trini_stallion on September 17, 2014, 05:21:32 PM
Im so pleased with the young warriors. They look such a talented bunch. ...the keeper looking suspect  though....he remind me of that fella we had bring in...I think he was with arsenal o something..he play one game...get boo down nd sent back to England
Post by: Football supporter on September 17, 2014, 07:26:43 PM
Dominican Republic 1 - 2 Aruba

Real bacchanal here tonight! DR bossed the match, taking the lead in the first half. Aruba play some nice football, but their many breaks seem to fizzle out before they reach the opposition 18 yard box.

I had a suspicion from DR's opening game that their keeper is crazy and that thought was further developed tonight. Even his name is mad : Johan Snick Guzman De Los Santos * He was lucky to only receive a yellow card in the first half of the game vs Haiti and then tested his luck again,escaping a second yellow in the second half. However, I began to wonder if it wasn't madness but more a case of arrogant confidence. He was doing things that makes you cringe, but doing them rather well! Such as collecting the ball in a busy 18 yard box with his feet so that he could move horizontally and pass the ball forward. How many international keepers under 20 would do that?

Anyway, the game was fairly pedestrian with DR solid at the back and not pushing too hard for a second goal. Then, out of nowhere in the 82nd minute, Aruba scored. DR were very upset as they had a man on the ground injured who had to be removed on a stretcher. This obviously set up a hectic final 8 minutes. Aruba, with the aid of a football teams greatest tool -momentum - suddenly piled on the pressure.

The crazy goalie now proved his true talent making one superb save and generally keeping DR in the game.

But when Aruba won a corner in the 90th minute, their keeper (with a more manageable name of Jean Marc Antersun) decided to stand on the goal line in front of Los Santos. Both goalies raising their arms straight up. It caused much confusion as the DR defenders clearly couldn't figure out how to mark the goalie! As you may have guessed, Aruba scored a scrambled goal from the corner.

Most DR players collapsed to the floor, but one guy on the bench began slamming the cooler and throwing water bottles and, I think, kicking the dug out. He was rewarded with a red card. Game done and the DR players were truly crushed, while Aruba will go home with happy memories of T&T!
Post by: elan on September 17, 2014, 08:00:58 PM
Sorry eh, but I am not really excited about this goalkeeper.
Post by: coache on September 17, 2014, 10:37:43 PM
Hear nah...I know allyuh want only positive talk and big ratings for de youths dem..but seriously ..how far this team goin?
I am sorry but that keeper could never make my team...
the best defender is the #2
the two Garcias dem good to go and de yankee midfielder is a quality player but the rest..? oh gawd de team needs rel work..de football is much to be desired..
it lacks cohesiveness ,structure and flow..help is needed from somewhere other than King.
Maybe bring in Hart to show dem how to play compact on defence, how to keep the ball, how to transition and how to finish.
And de keeper topped out at the U17 level..
Post by: Flex on September 18, 2014, 02:04:20 AM
Young Warriors in Caribbean final
Late goal secures draw with Cuba
By Ian Prescott (Express).

Defender Josiah Trimmingham scored on debut, as Trinidad and Tobago booked a spot in tomorrow’s 2014 Caribbean Men’s Under 20 Championship Final, despite a 1-1 draw with Cuba on Tuesday night at Hasely Crawford, Port of Spain.

Both Group A teams qualified for the CONCACAF leg of qualifying, but Cuba will only play for third in the Caribbean tournament tomorrow, after ending the group in second spot. The Young Warriors ended the group with victories over Suriname (2-1) and Curacao (4-0) and a draw with Cuba. In the final, they are likely to meet Haiti, who needed a point last night to top Group B.

The Young Warriors spent much of Tuesday night chasing a “soft” early goal, conceded in the 10th minute, when goalkeeper Johan Welch was caught off his goal-line by a long shot. Trimmingham’s equaliser only came with two minutes left in normal time, when the big T&T defender got the last touch to put in a free-kick.

The very short Welch, was similarly beaten by Suriname striker Ricardo Fauber at the start of the tournament, and the Cubans appeared to be ready to capitalise on the T&T goalie’s habit of pushing high up—many times outside his penalty area—to negate a lack of height.

Frank Lopez let fly from deep infield, when seeing the Welch almost at the edge of his penalty area, and scored. Cuba never created another good chance.

“We allowed a soft goal,” stated T&T head coach Derek King, who admitted to some worry that his goalkeeper has now been twice similarly beaten. “There is a bit of concern, and I believe he was a bit lackadaisical. But he is a good guy, consistent and likes to work hard.”

King added that going forward to the CONCACAF stage, T&T will be opening the selection process to gather the best team to represent the country. He further added that there are still a couple of goalkeepers to look at.

For the most part, Cuba were disciplined and compact behind the ball, but not adventurous going forward, and never quite created another scoring opportunity. But, they did stop the better Trinidad and Tobago team from dominating the wide positions, as in previous matches. William Bennett, who is in charge of Cuba’s entire coaching programme, admitted the Cubans mainly played for a point, and to win if possible.

Speaking through local interpreter Tristan Benjamin, he said: “Due to the (result of the) first game, we knew that we needed only a draw to move forward. We played a strategic game,” stated Bennett, who even admitted to putting in their tallest goalkeeper Elier Pozo, simply to eliminate T&T’s cross balls.

“We played against one of the toughest teams in the Caribbean. They play almost total football.” Bennett said of the Young Warriors. “Trinidad players are very explosive and they play very good one on one. So the best thing was to play two against one, to avoid them from coming into the area.”

Even so, T&T dominated possession, creating the odd chance along the way. Replacing the rested Kadeem Corbin up front, lanky 16-year-old striker Nicholas Dillon had two early chances, including when he struck the crossbar two minutes before the Cuban goal. And having scored explosively against Suriname and Curacao, midfielder Jabari Mitchell was off the mark with a hat-trick of close misses against Cuba. Not that the Cubans gave him more than a split second to shoot.

“We met a Cuba tonight that really did not create any chances’” King said. “We created four or five chances, which we did not put away.”

“Today against Cuba we made a couple of changes to the starting team to give a couple of guys (a run) to have a look at them,” King added. He commended young Dillon for his first showing for the national team, despite shouts in the crowd for Corbin’s inclusion, when T&T were losing.

“He (Dillon) did well. He held the ball well. He created a couple of scoring opportunities where he did not take the chances. All in all, it wasn’t bad,” King said.

Post by: Tallman on September 18, 2014, 08:51:58 AM
https://www.youtube.com/v/Mca50Vt3e98
Post by: frico on September 18, 2014, 12:20:08 PM
Hear nah...I know allyuh want only positive talk and big ratings for de youths dem..but seriously ..how far this team goin?
I am sorry but that keeper could never make my team...
the best defender is the #2
the two Garcias dem good to go and de yankee midfielder is a quality player but the rest..? oh gawd de team needs rel work..de football is much to be desired..
it lacks cohesiveness ,structure and flow..help is needed from somewhere other than King.
Maybe bring in Hart to show dem how to play compact on defence, how to keep the ball, how to transition and how to finish.
And de keeper topped out at the U17 level..
Thank you sir,that's exactly how I saw this team,you mentioned it...DISORGANISEDI saw some of the Curasoa match,and it looked like some kickabout in a park,Haiti must be better than us,our attacking play never looks like achieving anything.We may be lucky and beat Haiti,but that is wher everything stops,no Under 20 WC for we,sorry.
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 18, 2014, 12:49:00 PM

King added that going forward to the CONCACAF stage, T&T will be opening the selection process to gather the best team to represent the country. He further added that there are still a couple of goalkeepers to look at.

sounds good king
Post by: maxg on September 18, 2014, 01:24:53 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-1eGamKDTPQ
recognize some of thes goalies who didn't top out yet ?
Post by: AB.Trini on September 18, 2014, 10:19:40 PM

sounds good king

------------------------------------------------------------------/------------
So just to look at this with a reframe-  this is beginning to feel like the pattern of the senior team- the locals get to struggle and battle for glory then all of a sudden players  appear that did not go through the qualifiers and get to benefit by playing at the other stage?

Why did we not start with the best selected players? How would the coach feel if all of a sudden his weakness was exposed and a top notch foreign coach took over at the next stage?

Should these players not have the opportunity  in the first place to a competent coach who could help them organize an  attack and defend? Why blame it all on the players. From the clips I saw it appears that we have some raw talented players  and with a good coach one could transform raw talent to highly skilled players.
Post by: Bakes on September 18, 2014, 11:51:29 PM
Congrats to these young men on a very succesful campaign thus far.  No matter the outcome of today's game they have acquitted themselves well and done the nation proud.  Good luck today against Haiti fellas  :beermug:

https://www.youtube.com/v/L3hWt2yQP7Q
Post by: Sando prince on September 19, 2014, 10:33:22 AM

Looking forward to win later against Haiti. Playing at home and we claim to have the better team so lets get the job done Young Warriors  :beermug:
Post by: socalion on September 19, 2014, 10:38:59 AM
Simply want to wish the coaching staff and the  team /our national u20's the very best tonight  .......you've done the country proud thus far keep it up with a discipline and determined effort tonight...together as a team   best wishes guys.....
Post by: Insider on September 19, 2014, 12:42:50 PM
Haiti are very good and T&T will have to play their best. The coach is from France, the assistant of the senior coach also from France.

All their teams including the U20 have been together for 9 months.

The U20 has Three from France, one from Brazil and 2 from USA (MLS). They get their funding assistance from various countries & a good portion from France.

Also expats living abroad invest in the various teams generously.

Post by: jj1 on September 19, 2014, 01:32:43 PM
Can't wait till that short goalkeeper makes you all believers tonight.....
Post by: elan on September 19, 2014, 03:54:33 PM
Can't wait till that short goalkeeper makes you all believers tonight.....

Which short Goalkeeper? T&T's?

I not worried about height, but about technique, and decision making.
Post by: dreamer on September 19, 2014, 04:46:19 PM
Good luck Warriors. This one is big!! This is it.
Supporting you all the way as I like what y'all showing with the limited resources you had.
Supporters please come out.
Post by: Bally on September 19, 2014, 04:56:17 PM
good luck fellas
Post by: asylumseeker on September 19, 2014, 05:55:44 PM
Is there a link?
Post by: trini_stallion on September 19, 2014, 07:04:25 PM
Any updates anyone??
Post by: Tallman on September 19, 2014, 07:20:45 PM
Any updates anyone??

Only news I got was that Kadeem Corbin scored a goal in the 34th minute.
Post by: trini_stallion on September 19, 2014, 07:24:30 PM
Live link...uwisportsonline

Tt up 2-0
Post by: trini_stallion on September 19, 2014, 07:25:22 PM
Wisportonline
Post by: FireBrand on September 19, 2014, 07:41:12 PM
Wisportonline

Can you post a direct link please?
Post by: Football supporter on September 19, 2014, 07:50:29 PM
T&T won 3-0. Levi Garcia made 2 assists for Corbin.

Well done guys!!
Post by: weary1969 on September 19, 2014, 07:58:31 PM

Well done guys!!

FS  :beermug: but oh gorm spare me wit d assist
Post by: elan on September 19, 2014, 08:06:18 PM
So does that mean we have won every CFU Cup we've challenged for in the last year?
Post by: chelsealife on September 19, 2014, 08:07:20 PM

Well done guys!!

lol d man must advertise he Central FC player, wah yuh expect... Good going though to the team. Looking forward to CONCACAF Final Round to see what they are made of  :beermug:
Post by: Football supporter on September 19, 2014, 08:17:29 PM

Well done guys!!

Sorry miss, ah was excited lol
Post by: Big Magician on September 19, 2014, 08:24:00 PM
TnT are CFU Under 20 Champions.
TnT 3 vz Haiti 0
Not sure about the third goal ,as it may have been an own goal ( TBC)
If not ,then its a Kadeem Corbin hat-trick. Well Played young man.
Congrats to the squad ,the coaching staff and the Management Staff.
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 19, 2014, 09:22:38 PM
Congrats young warriors!
Post by: socalion on September 19, 2014, 09:24:33 PM
 Congratulations  to the  young warriors ,  skipper shannon gomez and all of your fellow team mates , the coaching staff   kudos for a job well done ...........    on to the next  phase  the journey has only just started ....   well done  well done     i pray everyone remain injury free   wishing all of you and the    team further success... congrats once again .......
Post by: Bakes on September 19, 2014, 09:28:38 PM
Congrats to these young men and congrats to the coaching staff on a job well-done.  Congrats too to the TTFA for a fantastic job in hosting this tournament, and doing so with aplomb.  Small steps on the road back to credibility for both program and administration.
Post by: Socapro on September 19, 2014, 09:29:20 PM
Congrats young Warriors!  :beermug:

Future looks bright if they get the required support and regular games against the right calibre of opponents.
Post by: dreamer on September 19, 2014, 09:47:27 PM
Really proud of you young Warriors. Well done.
If you believe in yourself anything is possible.
Hoping this winning trend gradually makes the fans come out again ....
... and that you grow from strength to strength
Post by: AB.Trini on September 19, 2014, 11:33:39 PM
Congrats - the red white and black continues to rise- well done -a It's a proud day for our  ballers and for those who made it happen- coaches and management.
Post by: frico on September 20, 2014, 02:56:18 AM
Waited up till 2 am Saturday morning,got sleepy and went to bed because there was no news.Got up 8am in the morning,checked Soca Warriors site,and what a surprise,but what a lovely surprise.I thought we couldn't have beaten Haiti with a team that consists of so many outside players,surely you would have thought with such experience,and coaching staff,they would have won...I am very happy that I was wrong.Well done to the YOUNG WARRIORS.Champions of the Caribbean is not to be sniffed at,the Hex is next.
Post by: dreamer on September 20, 2014, 06:32:07 AM
http://wired868.com/2014/09/19/corbin-tricks-haiti-as-tt-lifts-u-20-caribbean-crown/
Corbin tricks Haiti as T&T lifts U-20 Caribbean crown
Posted by Lasana Liburd
Friday 19 September 2014 | In International Sport, T&T National Teams, Volley

A Kadeem Corbin hattrick tonight secured a second Caribbean title for Trinidad and Tobago in just a month as the young “Soca Warriors” defeated Haiti 3-0 in the regional final at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain.

To be fair, the title of “Caribbean champ” sounds hollow when Jamaica is not involved. The just concluded competition was actually a qualifying tournament for the 2014 Under-20 CONCACAF Championship and Jamaica had already qualified as host nation.

Still, it is a welcome sight to see the two island republic walking off with trophies at this rate.

Photo: Trinidad and Tobago national under-20 captain Shannon Gomez (centre) takes the Caribbean Cup trophy from CFU president Gordon Derrick. (Courtesy Allan V Crane/Wired868)
Photo: Trinidad and Tobago national under-20 captain Shannon Gomez (centre) takes the Caribbean Cup trophy from CFU president Gordon Derrick.
(Courtesy Allan V Crane/Wired868)

On August 26, Trinidad and Tobago lifted the inaugural senior women’s Caribbean title at the same Port of Spain venue. And, despite low-keyed marketing at best, over 4,000 supporters turned out to see the teenaged boys repeat the trick tonight.

They did not leave disappointed either as St Ann’s Rangers striker and former St Anthony’s College schoolboy Kadeem Corbin announced his presence on the international stage with a hattrick when it mattered most.

Both Trinidad and Tobago and Haiti will represent the Caribbean at CONCACAF level along with Cuba, Aruba and hosts Jamaica. Cuba clinched the third place prize earlier this evening with a 2-1 win over Aruba at the same venue.

The three goals in the final were not shared as evenly though. The young Warriors made sure of that.

Haiti kicked off with a reputation for incisive, attacking play; but the French-speaking islanders were out of their depth tonight.

The Haitians prefer a 3-4-3 system with one midfielder, Alessandro Campoy, operating as a free playmaker behind three orthodox forwards. But Campoy and company were hopelessly outmanned against Trinidad and Tobago’s stronger and faster five-man midfield.

The menace of Trinidad and Tobago wingers Levi Garcia and Aikim Andrews meant Haiti’s 3-4-3 system quickly became 5-2-3. And the visitors simply could not get a toehold on the game.

Photo: Trinidad and Tobago winger Aikim Andrews (right) forces his way past Haiti defender Stephane Lambese. (Courtesy Allan V Crane/Wired868)
Photo: Trinidad and Tobago winger Aikim Andrews (right) forces his way past Haiti defender Stephane Lambese.

Haiti coach Jerome Velfert pointed to another reason for his team’s flat final display.

“Four games in seven days is too much,” said Velfert, via a translator.

Haiti’s final qualifying game was on Wednesday night while Trinidad and Tobago, who qualified for the final on Sunday night, took a calculated risk of using an experimental XI on Tuesday. It meant that some of the Warriors, like midfielder Neveal Hackshaw and central defender Martieon Watson, had four days rest while the Haitian players had just one.

Velfert moaned too that he was without four players who were either suspended or injured.

He got no mercy from the Warriors, though.

“Haiti’s strength is their two central midfielders,” Trinidad and Tobago coach Derek King, “so we tried to close them down as soon as (possible) and get behind them.

“When we analysed (Haiti), no one really pressured their back four and squeezed them (in any of their group matches).”

Trinidad and Tobago meant business.

“This was the game of the tournament,” said Trinidad and Tobago captain Shannon Gomez. “In all the other games we didn’t settle as fast and we conceded some soft goals. We were warned about that…

“If we went behind against Haiti, they are set up to counter…”

The Haitians never got a chance to display their counter-attacking capabilities. After 34 minutes, the Warriors were ahead.

Photo: Trinidad and Tobago winger Levi Garcia (right) prepares to create the opening goal while Haiti defenders Stephane Lambese (centre) and Jean Jean-Baptiste look on. (Courtesy Allan V Crane/Wired868)
Photo: Trinidad and Tobago winger Levi Garcia (right) prepares to create the opening goal while Haiti defenders Stephane Lambese (centre) and Jean Jean-Baptiste look on.

Levi Garcia, the highly touted 16-year-old Shiva Boys HC student, won a half yard of space down the left flank to swing in a low cross and Corbin diverted the ball clinically into the near corner.

It was a rare sight at goal for either team and Garcia did not have the same joy against Haiti that he did in the earlier rounds. But it was enough to send the Warriors into the break ahead.

Velfert tweaked his formation after the interval as Haiti sacrificed a defender for an additional midfielder in a 4-3-3 set-up. The visitors’ best passage of play came after that and they even had a stifled penalty appeal when Trinidad and Tobago defender Jesus Perez dragged Desire Jonel to the ground in the 71st minute.

Cuban referee Yadel Martinez was unconvinced, though, and the Warriors made the most of the reprieve.

In the 81st minute, Corbin doubled Trinidad and Tobago’s advantage in some style after some more clever wing play. On this occasion, substitute Kishun Seecharan provided the delivery and Corbin dragged the ball past Haiti custodian Steve Sanon before tapping home his second.

Four minutes later, Garcia and Corbin combined to telling effect again as the Rangers attacker converted his hattrick from another raking left side cross.

Garcia had been the talk of the tournament. But Corbin’s final showing saw him walk off with the MVP and Most Goals trophies.

Photo: Trinidad and Tobago striker Kadeem Corbin (right) prepares to fire home his second goal past Haiti goalkeeper Steve Sanon. (Courtesy Allan V Crane/Wired868)
Photo: Trinidad and Tobago striker Kadeem Corbin (right) prepares to fire home his second goal past Haiti goalkeeper Steve Sanon.

King, who is also a senior team assistant coach, revealed that the 18-year-old Corbin might make his debut with the senior Warriors in next month’s Caribbean Cup qualifying rounds.

“Corbin is a special player,” said King. “He is really a number 10 but we used him as a number nine. We are looking to bring him up to the senior team.”

Tonight, the young men were happy to just soak up their Under-20 triumph in front of an appreciative audience.

The eloquent Gomez, who just quit Form Six at St Augustine Secondary to turn professional with W Connection, thanked everyone from the Alicia’s Palace Hotel staff to the cleaners and security at the stadium.

“The rhythm section was really good tonight,” said Gomez. “I wanted to dance on the field… Everything was spot on… Once we get that support, I guarantee you that we can qualify for the Under-20 World Cup.”

The national under-20 team has just over three months to prepare for the likes of Mexico and the United States in the CONCACAF competition. The giant trophy that Gomez brought to the post-game press conference suggests the team is worth the gamble from corporate and public Trinidad and Tobago.

(Teams)

Trinidad and Tobago (4-2-3-1): 1.Johan Welch (GK); 2.Shannon Gomez (captain), 3.Martieon Watson, 4.Jesus Perez, 5.Maurice Ford; 8.Neveal Hackshaw, 17.Akeem Humphrey; 11.Levi Garcia, 18.Jabari Mitchell (16.Kion Joseph 75), 15.Aikim Andrews (12.Kishun Seecharan 56); 9.Kadeem Corbin (14.Matthew Woo Ling 88).

Unused substitutes: 21.Javon Sample (GK), 7.Akeem Garcia, 10.Andre Fortune, 13.Josiah Trimmingham, 19.Nicholas Dillon.

Coach: Derek King

Haiti (5-2-3): 12.Steve Sanon (GK); 7.Nerlin St Vil (4.Mike Guillaume 55), 2.Stephane Lambese, 15.Jean Jean-Baptiste (captain) (16.Exillien Fritz 84), 18.Paul Narkendel, 6.Demas Fernander; 8.Venel St Fort, 14.Alessandro Campoy; 9.Desire Jonel, 19.Junior Joseph, 10.Woodensky Cherenfant (20.Fredlin Monpremier 80).

Unused substitutes: 1.Guitho Charles (GK), 5.Wilmond Oracius.

Coach: Jerome Velfert

Referee: Yadel Martinez (Cuba)

Photo: Trinidad and Tobago striker Kadeem Corbin (left) eludes Suriname defender Nigel Zandveld during a previous Caribbean Cup fixture. (Courtesy Allan V Crane/Wired868)
Photo: Trinidad and Tobago striker Kadeem Corbin (left) eludes Suriname defender Nigel Zandveld during a previous Caribbean Cup fixture.

U-20 Caribbean Cup final

Trinidad and Tobago 3 (Kadeem Corbin 34, 81, 85), Haiti 0 at Hasely Crawford Stadium

Third Place Play Off

Cuba 2 (Eddy Saname 53, Frank Lopez 87), Aruba 1 (Ricky Hodge 84) at Hasely Crawford Stadium

Most Goals: Kadeem Corbin (5) (Trinidad and Tobago)

MVP: Kadeem Corbin (Trinidad and Tobago)

Best Goalkeeper: Jean-Marc Antersijn (Aruba)
Post by: Tiresais on September 20, 2014, 08:22:44 AM
Fantastic stuff :)
Post by: dreamer on September 20, 2014, 10:33:28 AM
Revenge for these events against Haiti:
1. Under 20s: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MAqxd2kbyXI
2. Seniors: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oKwUsDBfqwU
Post by: maxg on September 20, 2014, 11:19:10 AM
I'm so happy when our team win. Especially in spite of when some experienced, knowledgable nay sayers, tell us why we won't. So much not good, Coaching, players, training, administration,support, the other team better... the ball always seem to be to round for we. True we don't go all the way often, and may not next time. But win or lose, good or bad, this is our team. I know the naysayers will always be back, and may find something to criticize, cause it always have something... But this one time, I get to say, in a positive.. To the critics....HAFAzz    Thank you everybody
Post by: Bakes on September 20, 2014, 11:38:15 AM
But this one time, I get to say, in a positive.. To the critics....HAFAzz    Thank you everybody

Notice how scarce de biggest critic has been of late?  Women win the CFU... nothing.  Men's U-21 win... nothing.  But wait until Jamal Shabazz ready to sharpen he next axe  ::)
Post by: Sam on September 20, 2014, 03:07:06 PM
But this one time, I get to say, in a positive.. To the critics....HAFAzz    Thank you everybody

Notice how scarce de biggest critic has been of late?  Women win the CFU... nothing.  Men's U-21 win... nothing.  But wait until Jamal Shabazz ready to sharpen he next axe  ::)

Jamal Shabazz is a f00cking punk,,, a big belly punkin....

Anybody who supports this f00cking taliban have to be a tun tun....

Post by: Tallman on September 20, 2014, 03:08:28 PM
HIGHLIGHTS of T&T U-20 winning the Caribbean U-20 Championship Final by defeating Haiti 3-0.

https://www.youtube.com/v/Rmir2xWLX_w
Post by: dreamer on September 20, 2014, 03:31:19 PM
Haiti warming up: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s5zbY1ptFPo
Teams warming up: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-t8m0r5ED1I
Haitian team about to get cutarse: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qBWDh8slYKo
T&T pre-tournament game against Guadeloupe: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c0gFtA4OFWQ
Post by: asylumseeker on September 21, 2014, 05:06:31 PM
Guadeloupe's #22 left Jan with a message ... and maybe not only Jan.

Congrats to everyone involved en route to lifting the trophy.  :beermug:

Spare a thought also for Haiti ... once again, they've proven themselves as fierce regional competitors.

Lots of talented youths on display. Football without feints is a wholly different enterprise. Good to see them on display in Caribbean football.

Well done, Warriors!
Post by: Sando prince on September 21, 2014, 05:38:11 PM

So what the preparations looking like before the final round in Jamaica?

I see some mistakes in defense that we will need to correct before taking on teams like CR and Mex
Post by: elan on September 22, 2014, 09:29:37 AM
(http://static.arstechnica.net/2009/09/04/hurdles_low_ars.jpg)