Full Name: Jonathan Ricardo Glenn
Date of Birth: August 27, 1987
Position: Forward/Midfielder
Hometown: Maloney
Secondary School: St. Anthony’s College
University: Saint Leo University
Current Club: Íþróttabandalag Vestmannaeyja
League: Icelandic Premier League

Highlights of Jonathan Glenn in the Icelandic Premier League, through the first round of games.
https://www.youtube.com/v/nYldNY9CwPc

Title: Re: Jonathan Glenn
Post by: Tallman on July 31, 2014, 07:18:47 PM
WATCH Jonathan Glenn score his 10th goal of the season in all competitions for ÍB Vestmannaeyja. This one is against KR Reykjavík in an Icelandic Cup match.
http://visir.is/section/MEDIA&template=iplayer&fileid=CLP28699
Post by: KND2 on July 31, 2014, 08:36:52 PM
Does this guy have any caps for TNT?

Looks good in this league not sure if he real fast or them men real slow but he look good

He should fit right in with trinidad because I never see so much highlights with so little goals

But at 27 it kind of late to start international career another one slips through the cracks...

Sad but true

If he was born in holland they might be calling him Robben all about now
Post by: Tallman on July 31, 2014, 08:51:57 PM
He should fit right in with trinidad because I never see so much highlights with so little goals

He started of slow, but he now has 7 goals in 13 appearances in the league, and 10 goals in all competitions.
Post by: Tallman on August 11, 2014, 01:35:48 PM
WATCH Jonathan Glenn score his 8th goal of the season for ÍBV Vestmannaeyjar in a 1-1 draw with FH Hafnarfjardar. Glenn’s goal can be seen 44 seconds into the video.
http://www.visir.is/section/MEDIA&template=iplayer&fileid=CLP28867
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 12, 2014, 01:44:23 PM
WATCH Jonathan Glenn score his 8th goal of the season for ÍBV Vestmannaeyjar in a 1-1 draw with FH Hafnarfjardar. Glenn’s goal can be seen 44 seconds into the video.
http://www.visir.is/section/MEDIA&template=iplayer&fileid=CLP28867

is SH aware of glenn ? time for a socawarriors interview tallman and flex :)
Post by: frico on August 15, 2014, 04:57:06 AM
 When I saw the picture,I could not believe...It is exactly like my younger brother in football gear,same hair style,same facial features,i think there is a word to describe it when 2 people look exactly the same,can't remember it though.
Post by: Tallman on August 15, 2014, 05:17:44 AM
When I saw the picture,I could not believe...It is exactly like my younger brother in football gear,same hair style,same facial features,i think there is a word to describe it when 2 people look exactly the same,can't remember it though.
Doppelgänger
Post by: Bakes on August 15, 2014, 08:23:27 AM
Doppelgänger

Yup... that or 'dead ringer'.
Post by: frico on August 15, 2014, 09:38:27 AM
Doppelgänger
That's the word mate,i have a pic of my bro in his blue school top and if I could put it on the site I WOULD,EVEN MY BROTHER WILL THINK IT'S HIM.
Post by: Tallman on September 23, 2014, 01:05:26 PM
More highlights from the 2014 Icelandic Premier League

https://www.youtube.com/v/2gfTitduWWM
Post by: Insider on September 23, 2014, 03:19:46 PM
I heard that there is a very good chance Glenn will be called up for the Caribbean Cup.

Post by: vb on September 23, 2014, 03:44:07 PM
Any relation to Cornell?
Post by: Tallman on September 23, 2014, 03:48:18 PM
Any relation to Cornell?

Two different spellings. Glen and Glenn.
Post by: vb on September 23, 2014, 03:57:07 PM
Any relation to Cornell?

Two different spellings. Glen and Glenn.

Maybe they is half brothers.....HA HA HA HA  :rotfl: :rotfl: ;D
Post by: Deeks on September 23, 2014, 04:09:15 PM
So Tallman, you saying he should be the NT striker in the very near future??!!
Post by: Tallman on September 23, 2014, 04:11:26 PM
WATCH Jonathan Glenn score a candidate for goal of the season in the Icelandic Premier League. You can see it from around 25 seconds into the clip. He also scores the penalty at the beginning of the clip.
http://www.visir.is/er-thetta-mark-arsins-i-pepsi-deildinni-/article/2014140929863

Post-game interview (KR vs ÍBV) with Jonathan Glenn
https://www.youtube.com/v/DDhn7q909Hc

So Tallman, you saying he should be the NT striker in the very near future??!!

I think he should at least be called into camp to see what he offers. There are are only two games left in the season, so he would be available for the Caribbean Cup.
Post by: Tallman on September 24, 2014, 04:31:49 PM
A better version of the bicycle kick that Jonathan Glenn scored against KR over the weekend.

https://www.youtube.com/v/fCpdzvFP-LQ
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 24, 2014, 05:57:56 PM
Sweet  :beermug:
Post by: vb on September 25, 2014, 10:25:23 AM
Boy, cat is boss goal in Any league.
Post by: Deeks on September 25, 2014, 04:22:53 PM
That is a freaking golaso!!!! Thais guy should seriously get a try out on the NT.
Post by: Insider on September 26, 2014, 01:37:09 PM
He wasn't called.

Post by: Tallman on October 06, 2014, 04:21:18 PM
WATCH this TV interview with Jonathan Glenn following a successful first season in the Icelandic Premier League.
http://www.visir.is/-eg-var-bara,-island!-va-/article/2014141009384
Post by: Tallman on October 06, 2014, 04:39:23 PM
Jonathan Glenn was voted ÍBV’s Men’s Player of the Year and he also received the club’s Golden Boot Award for his 12 league goals.

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xap1/v/t1.0-9/1383669_10152794812859314_3482812809070605826_n.jpg?oh=dda9872deaae4540542472704e7a482c&oe=54B077DE&__gda__=1420660199_2d82f305c57a8771264de29a2e2fc414)
Post by: Deeks on October 06, 2014, 04:49:09 PM
WATCH this TV interview with Jonathan Glenn following a successful first season in the Icelandic Premier League.
http://www.visir.is/-eg-var-bara,-island!-va-/article/2014141009384

It is hard to make a fair judgement from the clips we see of this guy. Some people say if KJ go down, we don't have a striker. Well I think this guy should get a call up when ever we play a"friendly'. At least, let us see if he is for real. He appears to have speed, size and ball control. I hope this guy is on Hart's radar. What HS he went to in TT?
Post by: Deeks on October 06, 2014, 04:51:28 PM
Ok, I saw he went St. Anthony's. He is 27 already. Is a pity.
Post by: fari on October 06, 2014, 05:06:09 PM
A better version of the bicycle kick that Jonathan Glenn scored against KR over the weekend.

https://www.youtube.com/v/fCpdzvFP-LQ

that hadda be a goal of the week if not the season in that league.
Post by: Bakes on October 06, 2014, 05:32:24 PM
Sweet goal... I'm much more impressed by how polished he is in front the camera though, and not only that, he's very astute with the things he says.  For instance, in the interview he talks about interest from other teams elsewhere, and I thought he straddled that line perfectly, acknowledging the interest, being honest about his reaction to it, but also being extremely respectful to his present club.  Not everybody know how to navigate that often tricky situation.  But all of that aside, yes... he's shown he has a nose for goal and at the end of the day knowing how to score goals is a skill that won't go unnoticed, no matter what level.
Post by: Jumbie on October 06, 2014, 06:12:32 PM

horn chile?
Post by: Banter Banton on October 06, 2014, 06:19:36 PM
Wish he was part of this squad .... hopefully we can take him to the Caribbean Cup.

If the new format is true next year is massive..Gold Cup 2015 providing we qualify and WCQ's begin with a 2 leg playoff game. He is 27.. peak years for a striker is 25-30 and the way sports science is going even till 32. We need a different option to Kenwyne too. A dynamic striker can link with our attacking mids such as Guerra, Molino, Hector, Peltier etc vs a target man to dictate play by going in the air to play to his strengths cuz we all know Kenwyne is not the best technically and can disrupt fluid football.
Post by: Deeks on October 06, 2014, 06:30:56 PM
Sweet goal... I'm much more impressed by how polished he is in front the camera though, and not only that, he's very astute with the things he says.  For instance, in the interview he talks about interest from other teams elsewhere, and I thought he straddled that line perfectly, acknowledging the interest, being honest about his reaction to it, but also being extremely respectful to his present club.  Not everybody know how to navigate that often tricky situation.  But all of that aside, yes... he's shown he has a nose for goal and at the end of the day knowing how to score goals is a skill that won't go unnoticed, no matter what level.

He is indeed articulate in front the camera by Trini standards. At least for me.  And you are correct about his ability to score goals. And I hope he would not go unnoticed by coach Hart.
Post by: Tallman on October 06, 2014, 06:58:27 PM
Breds, that eh happening. But seriously, Glenn should get a try out. My only worry is his availability. Clash of country and club issues.

Actually, he available right now because de season finish over de weekend and doh start back until May.
Post by: Deeks on October 06, 2014, 07:05:15 PM
Breds, that eh happening. But seriously, Glenn should get a try out. My only worry is his availability. Clash of country and club issues.

Actually, he available right now because de season finish over de weekend and doh start back until May.

Oops, I accidentally removed my comment. Well, It would be nice to have him in the line up. But the coach already picked the team. So maybe next time around, if this team advance to the GC.
Post by: Tallman on October 06, 2014, 07:20:49 PM

Oops, I accidentally removed my comment. Well, It would be nice to have him in the line up. But the coach already picked the team. So maybe next time around, if this team advance to the GC.

This is only the second round of the Caribbean Cup. The final round is in November in Jamaica, so maybe he could get a look then. If not, he go hadda wait to see if we manage to play any friendlies.
Post by: Tallman on November 05, 2014, 07:47:42 AM
Wish he was part of this squad .... hopefully we can take him to the Caribbean Cup.

Your wish has been granted. Let's see if he can operate at this level.
Post by: frico on November 05, 2014, 08:17:45 AM
This Glenn fella should have already played for TT,a player of that calibre should have repped us at least 10 times,does anyone pay any interest of our players abroad,or don't they bloody care.Give credit to Mr.Hart for bringing in Glenn,who say 27 is old,if we have better than him then you can call him old,only if who you got is younger.
Post by: frico on November 05, 2014, 10:23:52 AM

horn chile?
Very educated response mate. ;D
Post by: Deeks on November 05, 2014, 12:00:13 PM
i think there is a word to describe it when 2 people look exactly the same,can't remember it though.

I maybe wrong. I think the term is six degrees of separation??
Post by: Deeks on November 05, 2014, 12:04:53 PM
does anyone pay any interest of our players abroad,or don't they bloody care.

Breds, this forum care so much, that coach Hart end up picking him. The mods and them post all  his goals, so the coach could not ignore it. THE POWER OF THE SOCA WARRIORS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;D. But honestly, I think coach and the TTFA had him and many others on the radar.
Post by: Tallman on November 05, 2014, 12:21:30 PM
But honestly, I think coach and the TTFA had him and many others on the radar.

I can't say for sure, but I doubt it. Maybe Glenn or his agent could have contacted the TTFA himself and sent his videos, who knows? Stephen Hart definitely pays attention to what's out there, but until we posted the news that he got a contract in Iceland, nobody said a word about him. And since then, we have been the only ones publicly sharing his exploits. This is a fella we have been reporting on since he was 20 and was scoring a setta goals for St. Leo University.

Our scouting (local & foreign) needs to be vastly improved.
Post by: Flex on November 05, 2014, 01:58:19 PM
I know personally Glenn's performance caught SH eye as he pays close attention to our players based in foreign, Hart made contact with Glenn's coach first.

Post by: Tallman on November 05, 2014, 02:23:17 PM
I know personally Glenn's performance caught SH eye as he pays close attention to our players based in foreign, Hart made contact with Glenn's coach first.

SH does his homework and he's ah ball ho, so dat is no surprise.
Post by: frico on November 05, 2014, 06:15:09 PM
i think there is a word to describe it when 2 people look exactly the same,can't remember it though.

I have just googled that statement,"six degrees of seperation",looks like some heavy reading,you learn something everyday.
Post by: Deeks on November 05, 2014, 07:14:59 PM

I have just googled that statement,"six degrees of seperation",looks like some heavy reading,you learn something everyday.

And there was a movie called by the same name with Will Smit, Donald Sutherland, Stockard Channing(I think). I thought Will Smith was pretty good in that. You must check it out.
Post by: Jefferz on November 07, 2014, 01:55:20 AM
27 or not. DAT is striker. Control, pace, confidence on the ball, vision, determination, i mean, check how many times in that highlight video he takes a ball down under serious pressure or the headed goal he scores while the keeper put a hard cuff in he face. Not to mention that bicycle kick. I don't think all the good I saw in those videos are a fluke. Sure it's not the highest level of football, but i'm still impressed. We have a couple decent prospects in the striking/attacking winger role, but this man looks as exciting a prospect to me as say Peltier, if not more exciting. Let's see if he comes good.
Post by: dreamer on November 07, 2014, 07:35:34 AM
Nice. Vibes it up Jefferz.
Post by: Tallman on December 26, 2014, 09:28:17 PM
The curious case of Jonathan Glenn - A lesson in talent development
By Siggi Eyjolfsson (linkedin.com)

As head coach of IBV in the men´s top league in Iceland this season I decided to sign a striker from Trinidad and Tobago in February this year. His name was Jonathan Glenn, he was 26 years old and had been playing in the lower leagues (PDL and NPSL who are considered 4th tier ) in USA and before that he played for a Division II college in Florida called St. Leo University.

Originally I saw a video of Jonathan that impressed me and invited him in for trial. He played in 2 matches for us and was a bit out of shape. What impressed me about him was that he was very strong physically, very fast and excellent with his back to goal. He had confidence and a good attitude. He could also take players on. So I signed him. I could help him work on his fitness, that is the easy part to fix. He also needed to simplify his game, work on intelligent runs when he did not have the ball and to become a better finisher.

The paperwork took about 2 months to clear so when Jonathan finally arrived in Iceland he was really out of shape but had willingness to work hard and did extra after training. 3 weeks before the season started he pulled his hamstring so we could not push him hard in training. Jonathan started in our first match of the season. Jonathan struggled.

Jonathan had played in several pre-season matches without scoring and in fact he only scored 1 goal in his first 12 matches for IBV. During that spell pretty much everyone came to me and told me to send the player home. Jonathan was slaughtered by the TV pundits, the fans, even by some of the players and members of the board. I was under pressure because our team was not doing well.

But I kept on playing him because I believed in him.

Jonathan scored 15 goals in his next 20 matches for IBV. He scored 43% of all goals IBV scored in the league this season and came 2nd leading goal scorer in the league. He got player of the year for IBV, became leading goalscorer at IBV and was selected into the Team of the year in the top league after the season. Jonathan also scored Best goal of the year in the Pepsi league.

Today Jonathan Glenn was selected into the A-national team of Trinidad and Tobago for the first time. What´s next?

There is a lesson here in talent identification and also in talent development. I am sure you can figure them out and comment below.

Here is the original video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R6tZvrOAnVo) I received of Jonathan. Have a look and see if you can spot a player who in 9 months became an A-national team player for his country and became one of the best players in the top league in Iceland within months. Would you have signed him and why?

Here is then another video of Jonathan (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ST0M2xVj--U) so you can see how he did in our league.

I will leave you here with the icing on the cake, the goal of the year in the Pepsi league (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fCpdzvFP-LQ), one of the best ones I have seen.

It is likely that you will see Jonathan playing in the MLS this season or in one of the top leagues in Scandinavia.
Post by: soccerman on December 26, 2014, 09:56:51 PM
That goal was spectacular, absolutely marvelous  :beermug:
Post by: coache on December 26, 2014, 11:46:37 PM
I will not say anyting bad about de quality of the players, de league, de men who this man playin against...

de main ting de yuteman enjoyin himself!
Post by: asylumseeker on December 27, 2014, 03:14:50 AM
The paperwork took about 2 months to clear so when Jonathan finally arrived in Iceland he was really out of shape but had willingness to work hard and did extra after training. 3 weeks before the season started he pulled his hamstring so we could not push him hard in training. Jonathan started in our first match of the season. Jonathan struggled.

What was he doing within those 2 months to address his fitness? Or was this a matter of not anticipating or recognizing the level of fitness required?
Post by: asylumseeker on December 27, 2014, 04:06:43 AM
 :beermug: on that Goal of the Year.

Would like to see him use his left foot more ... as an alternative, particularly in certain attacking zones. You can see his strengths and where he can continue to improve and be improved. Wish him the best in 2015.

Post by: Tallman on March 16, 2015, 05:32:03 AM
WATCH Jonathan Glenn score a hat-trick in ÍBV’s 5-0 win over BÍ/Bolungarvík in the Icelandic League Cup.

https://www.youtube.com/v/N25CHUJgYAA?start=40
Post by: Tallman on June 02, 2015, 07:48:47 AM
WATCH Jonathan Glenn score his first goal of the season in ÍB Vestmannaeyjar’s 3-2 win over Víkingur Reykjavík

https://www.youtube.com/v/aTbdoVZ-8yM?start=19
Post by: Tallman on July 27, 2015, 07:08:14 AM
Iceland-based striker, Jonathan Glenn, has been loaned to Breiðablik UBK for the remainder of the season
http://www.ruv.is/frett/jonathan-glenn-lanadur-til-breidabliks
Post by: asylumseeker on July 27, 2015, 07:41:13 AM
Interesting development. A loan to a club higher in the standings and to a club he netted against recently.

(Tallest see if yuh locate that goal, from a month ago).
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 27, 2015, 09:03:04 AM
Seeker I think that is a reflection as to how the higher positioned team views his talents.  If he go there and get on then either they try and make it permanent or a potentially bigger club comes knocking.
Post by: Deeks on July 27, 2015, 01:17:01 PM
Good luck. Don't give up on TT football. We will need you. Just concentrate scoring goal and staying fit. So when Mr. Hart call you number, just be ready for the road.
Post by: Tallman on August 17, 2015, 09:30:13 PM
After registering a hat-trick against ÍA Akranes, Jonathan Glenn is now the leading goalscorer in the Icelandic Premier League
http://www.mbl.is/sport/efstadeild/2015/08/17/glenn_ordinn_markahaestur/

Post-game interview
https://www.youtube.com/v/I5OQQOYjMhU?start=261
Post by: Tallman on August 18, 2015, 05:23:57 AM
WATCH: Jonathan Glenn’s hat-trick against ÍA Akranes.

First goal: http://www.visir.is/section/MEDIA99&fileid=CLP38498
Second goal: http://www.visir.is/section/MEDIA99&fileid=CLP38500
Third goal: http://www.visir.is/section/MEDIA99&fileid=CLP38501
Post by: de_redman on August 18, 2015, 05:57:44 AM
Nice job JG!
Post by: FireBrand on August 18, 2015, 06:05:35 AM
Well done Glenn!!! Keep it up.
Post by: dreamer on August 18, 2015, 08:12:49 AM
Glenn, people watching. Keep on bussin' de net and stay fit for our qualifiers coming up soon.
BraveHart will be calling again as he watches your performance stats.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 18, 2015, 09:13:15 AM
Since the start of this thread, (July last year) Glenn has found more supporters rallying to his cause. Keep the goals coming and that base will grow. :beermug:
Post by: asylumseeker on August 31, 2015, 04:56:48 AM
In the current edition of FourFourTwo, there's an article about the Icelandic league. If you read it, you'll get a sense about the quality of player Glenn and Adams face. The league has become a home (temporary and permanent) for players who were involved with very accomplished clubs. Very technical players who couldn't secure transition from the reserve team to the first team.

One could argue that being in Iceland is also a testament to character because the weather conditions can be harsh --- despite an otherwise good quality of life.
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on August 31, 2015, 09:23:16 AM
Huge opportunity for Glenn. Plaza hasn't really impressed me for us or with Central in the champions league. He has a chance to solidify himself as the #2 behind KJ.
Title: Saint Leo University alum, Jonathan Glenn, makes impact on international level
Post by: Tallman on September 15, 2015, 12:32:38 PM
Saint Leo University alum, Jonathan Glenn, makes impact on international level
saintleolions.com

Saint Leo Athletics caught up with former SLU men's soccer player Jonathan Glenn, who wore the green and gold from 2007-10. In his first start his national team, Trinidad and Tobago, Glenn scored his first international goal for, on Sept. 4, against Mexico in a friendly in Sandy, Utah.  This was Glenn's third cap for Trinidad and Tobago, having come in as a sub in the Caribbean Cup back in November 2014.

Let's start with your time at Saint Leo, what was your favorite part about Saint Leo?

JG: I wish I had one specific thing to point to but to be honest the entire experience impacted my life. The community-like atmosphere of the campus and the accessibility of faculty and staff is something that I would never forget along with the opportunity to play college soccer created some of the best memories of my life. However, I must say as cliché as this sounds, those core values that are engrained from day one really imprint on you without even realizing it. I didn't realize this until after I graduated and looked back on those four years realizing how much I had changed as a person. This was really satisfying for me and really gave me the confidence to go after my goals in life.

Now on to your current gig as a member of the Trinidad and Tobago national team, how does it make you feel to represent your nation on a world level?

JG: It a fantastic feeling to represent my country. This is something that I've dreamed about growing up and only few people are ever fortunate enough to be selected. It's very special to me and I want to make the most of it for myself and my country.

When you scored your goal against Mexico, what kind of emotions did you have?

JG: During the game I felt happy but it was the normal emotions I get after I score. I guess my body was in game mode. However, after the game I was on Cloud Nine. I must have replayed that goal in my phone 100 times and didn't sleep all night, lying awake with a smile on my face.

What are your ultimate goals for your career?

JG: To have a successful professional career and help take Trinidad and Tobago to the 2018 World Cup.

What has been your favorite moment while representing Trinidad and Tobago?

JG: Going to the Gold Cup was an amazing experience, but on a personal level, my performance in the Mexico game is definitely my favorite thus far.

Glenn finished his Saint Leo career ranked in the top-5 in SLU history in goals, points and shots. He scored 41 goals, registered 94 points, and took the second-most shots all-time at 251.
Post by: Cocorite on September 15, 2015, 03:02:22 PM
Good stuff.

Good player.
Post by: Flex on September 24, 2015, 02:55:14 AM
Glenn: Warriors prepared for tough World Cup quest
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

Just like Stern John did on his starting debut for T&T, newly installed “Soca Warriors” striker Jonathan Glenn netted in his first appearance in T&T’s recent 3-3 draw with Mexico in Salt Lake City.

Glenn, who plies his trade in the Iceland premier division, waited patiently on the opportunity from Stephen Hart to take the pitch after looking on from the sidelines during all of T&T’s matches at the 2015 Concacaf Gold Cup. He also saw just a few minutes on the field in the 2014 Caribbean Cup Finals in Jamaica.

But his patience and persistence paid off as his opening goal and his determination in the box which led to T&T’s second goal by Keron Cummings, has certainly brought him around as valuable addition to Hart’s attacking options.

“He’s done well. Actually he was very good for us in the Mexico game. His work rate was ideal and he came in to the team and showed us that he really wants to be part of the effort going forward which is a plus for the team,” Hart said.

T&T faces Panama on October 8 in Panama City in a training match ahead of the November 13 opening World Cup qualifier against Guatemala. Glenn was thrilled to play his part against “El Tri” earlier this month but he knows that the battle will only intensify from here on.

“It was great to start and help the team do well against Mexico. We knew we had to keep playing because they are a team that would come right back at you. And this is something that I think is good for us in terms of developing that habit of playing because we will have more games like these in the qualifiers,” Glenn said.

“It’s a long campaign ahead and we’ll be needing to get results on the road as well if we are to stand a chance of qualifying.  The upcoming games are crucial but I think each player is understanding his role more and the chemistry in the squad is developing more every time we come together.

“I think once we can take care of things off the field and get the right kind of preparation, then we as players in the team will have all the reasons to know our efforts will need to be big on the pitch. I have no fears or doubts that we will prove to be strong in the qualifiers and push on for the duration of the campaign.”

Post by: Tallman on September 24, 2015, 05:04:41 AM
WATCH: Jonathan Glenn scores a goal in Breiðablik’s 2-1 win over FH

https://www.youtube.com/v/M0mrrZ70v4Y
Post by: Deeks on September 24, 2015, 06:07:38 AM
Just be ready, Breds, just be ready!
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 24, 2015, 06:31:19 AM
Like this youth, bigger and better to come  :beermug:
Post by: Tallman on September 24, 2015, 07:42:00 AM
Jonathan Glenn may be on his way to Norwegian Premier League club, Lillestrøm SK.
http://www.visir.is/jonathan-glenn-liklega-a-leid-til-lillestrom/article/2015150929335
Post by: FireBrand on September 24, 2015, 07:50:11 AM
Jonathan Glenn may be on his way to Norwegian Premier League club, Lillestrøm SK.
http://www.visir.is/jonathan-glenn-liklega-a-leid-til-lillestrom/article/2015150929335

Hope it works out. That would be a step up. All the best Glenn.
Post by: Deeks on September 24, 2015, 09:25:02 AM

Hope it works out. That would be a step up. All the best Glenn.

All the best. Then after Norway, Man Boo.    ;D
Post by: Tallman on October 06, 2015, 02:40:56 PM
Jonathan Glenn received a two-match ban after being shown a red card in Breiðablik’s last game of the 2015 season against UMF Fjölni. Glenn claimed that he only lashed out at Fjölni defender, Jonatan Neftalí, because Neftalí repeatedly pulled his ear. Glenn’s ban will take effect at the beginning of the 2016 Icelandic Premier League season.
http://www.visir.is/arnar-og-glenn-byrja-naesta-timabil-i-tveggja-leikja-banni/article/2015151009149
Post by: Tallman on October 06, 2015, 09:40:40 PM
Jonathan Glenn poses with the 2015 Icelandic Premier League’s Silver Boot Award. Glenn scored 12 goals (8 for Breiðablik and 4 for IBV). This is his second consecutive Silver Boot Award.
(https://scontent-mia1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpl1/v/t1.0-9/12144691_10153691452754314_5739290422064492422_n.jpg?oh=cdac208697fd2072573bcaaf50fb2fdd&oe=56CE6C63)
Post by: Tallman on October 07, 2015, 07:01:04 AM
WATCH: All of Jonathan Glenn’s goals scored so far in 2015. Twelve in the Icelandic Premier League and one for Trinidad and Tobago.
https://www.youtube.com/v/uWfT7EaAViY
Post by: trini supporter on October 07, 2015, 07:23:26 AM
any update on his potential move to Norway?
Post by: Deeks on October 07, 2015, 07:37:07 PM
any update on his potential move to Norway?

Or potential move to Man Boo!!!
Post by: Tallman on October 19, 2015, 03:37:55 PM
Forward Jonathan Glenn is currently on trial at Norwegian Premier League club, Lillestrøm SK. Lillestrøm’s Assistant Coach, Sigurður Ragnar Eyjólfsson, was Glenn’s manager at IBV Vestmannaeyjar in 2014.
http://www.vg.no/sport/fotball/lillestroem/her-blir-haugesund-utspilt-av-lsk/a/23544791/
Post by: Deeks on October 19, 2015, 04:42:18 PM
Good Luck, dred!!!!
Post by: asylumseeker on October 19, 2015, 11:27:21 PM
Bodes well ...
Post by: trini_stallion on October 20, 2015, 05:24:13 AM
I wish coach Hart had experimented wit the 442 or a 433 a bit more...we can be so potent when attacking! What I've noticed is that a lot of times we have space upfront but no one to pass to... And if he doesn't then the attacking miss to to move forward as the ball moves forward to create shooting chances!

Good luck Glen!
Post by: lefty on October 20, 2015, 06:12:06 AM
I wish coach Hart had experimented wit the 442 or a 433 a bit more...we can be so potent when attacking! What I've noticed is that a lot of times we have space upfront but no one to pass to... And if he doesn't then the attacking miss to to move forward as the ball moves forward to create shooting chances!

Good luck Glen!

was never a fan of us playing a straight 442 we tended to get isolated in our zones and and the midfield would get cut out the game.....I can however say if anyone could get us playing 442 effectively it might well be Hart, but it well take time especially if is ah lopsided 442 like he try with Panama
Post by: trini_stallion on October 20, 2015, 08:09:32 AM

Good luck Glen!

was never a fan of us playing a straight 442 we tended to get isolated in our zones and and the midfield would get cut out the game.....I can however say if anyone could get us playing 442 effectively it might well be Hart, but it well take time especially if is ah lopsided 442 like he try with Panama

Good luck Glen!

In the Panama game we created alottttt of chances in the first half using the 442 in the first half...it was just squandered...Cummings and jones move like greedy men...glen was very busy in that first half with very intelligent movement setting up attempts...but Cummings and jones just attempted the half chance instead of passing the ball...even that bullet jones score...look at glen flick and movement...smart...if kj didn't buss that net I sure glen woulda cuss him...before that opportunity tho there was another neat one from glen and jones took the chance instead of just passing...

So as to reiterate...we could be deadly with it...but I don't think we played that formation enough for the teams comfort! But glen and jones up top is a commanding duo to terrorize defences!
Post by: lefty on October 20, 2015, 09:18:34 AM

Good luck Glen!

In the Panama game we created alottttt of chances in the first half using the 442 in the first half...it was just squandered...Cummings and jones move like greedy men...glen was very busy in that first half with very intelligent movement setting up attempts...but Cummings and jones just attempted the half chance instead of passing the ball...even that bullet jones score...look at glen flick and movement...smart...if kj didn't buss that net I sure glen woulda cuss him...before that opportunity tho there was another neat one from glen and jones took the chance instead of just passing...

So as to reiterate...we could be deadly with it...but I don't think we played that formation enough for the teams comfort! But glen and jones up top is a commanding duo to terrorize defences!

nah I not fightin yuh dong yuh know...I jus sayin dat in the past 442 resulted in unintelligent boom kick football and zonal isolation, none of which I saw versus panama, so I saw hope for us in dat format :beermug:
Post by: trini_stallion on October 20, 2015, 12:22:41 PM

Good luck Glen!

nah I not fightin yuh dong yuh know...I jus sayin dat in the past 442 resulted in unintelligent boom kick football and zonal isolation, none of which I saw versus panama, so I saw hope for us in dat format :beermug:

Yea man! I agree!
Post by: Tallman on October 28, 2015, 02:08:55 PM
Jonathan Glenn is on trial at recently promoted Allsvenskan club, Jönköping Södra (http://www.jnytt.se/landslagsman-pa-gang-till-j-sodra). Allsvenskan is the premier football league in Sweden.
Post by: Flex on October 28, 2015, 04:23:11 PM
So I take it things didn't work out at the Norwegian Premier League?

Post by: Tallman on November 03, 2015, 01:11:17 PM
Jonathan Glenn is on trial at Hungarian club, Szombathelyi Haladás.
http://vaol.hu/haladas/trinidad-es-tobagoi-csatar-a-haladasnal-1736323
Post by: dreamer on November 03, 2015, 01:31:12 PM
Keep playing and use the trials to keep beastly fit while you plan your eat-ah-food.
Post by: Tallman on November 06, 2015, 03:00:13 PM
Jonathan Glenn impresses the technical staff at Szombathelyi Haladás.
http://vaol.hu/haladas/elment-de-visszajohet-a-haladas-probajatekosa-1737102
Post by: spideybuff on November 06, 2015, 03:13:29 PM
How yuh does pronounce that???
Post by: chelsealife on November 06, 2015, 03:17:07 PM
Who are they and from where??
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 06, 2015, 03:21:45 PM
Hungarian football club
Post by: Tallman on November 30, 2015, 05:11:09 PM
According to Swedish media, newly promoted Allsvenskan club, J-Södra, has set its sights on acquiring the services of striker Jonathan Glenn.
http://www.jnytt.se/sodrastjarnan-jagas-av-flera
Post by: Tallman on December 03, 2015, 11:19:11 AM
Striker Jonathan Glenn has signed a 2-year contract with Icelandic Premier League club, Breiðablik UBK. Glenn rejoins the club where he scored 8 goals in 9 games whilst on loan during the second half of the 2015 season. Since the end of the 2015 season in September, Glenn has been on trial at Lillestrøm SK (Norway), J-Södra (Sweden), and Szombathelyi Haladás (Hungary). Though there was interest from some of the aforementioned clubs, Glenn elected to return to Iceland where he will have the chance to participate in the 2016 Europa League.
http://www.blikar.is/frettir/glenn_kemur_aftur/
Post by: soccerman on December 03, 2015, 11:24:14 AM
Congrats on your new deal Glenn :beermug:

Buss up de net in the Europa league now!!!
Post by: de_redman on December 03, 2015, 08:45:49 PM
Nice! Congrats! :beermug:
Post by: Deeks on December 03, 2015, 09:13:37 PM
 :thumbsup:
Post by: dreamer on December 04, 2015, 07:00:16 PM
Good job Glenn. Wok secured for 2 years. Stability and job security settled.
You can now focus on your international career where your good performances will cause your value to skyrocket.
Now to get ready for Haiti then St. Vincent
Stay healthy. We need you.
Post by: Flex on December 10, 2015, 02:56:04 AM
Glenn opts to stay in progressive Iceland.

T&T forward Jonathan Glenn says the decision to sign a new two-year contract with Iceland Premier League club Breioablik UBK was the best possible decision for him at this stage of his career.

Glenn had been on trial over the past few weeks with Lillestrom SK of Norway and Hungary’s Szombathelyi Haladas while also campaigning with the national team for the start of the World Cup 2018 qualifying campaign, including two international friendlies in October against Nicaragua and Panama.

But Breioablik was the most attractive option, particularly as Glenn will have the chance to play in the Europa League next year.

“I am very excited to continue my career for such a top club in Iceland. I was very impressed by the set up and professionalism of everyone involved at the club when I transferred in the summer,” said Glenn, who scored eight goals in nine matches during a loan stint with the club earlier this year. He also scored in the 3-3 draw with Mexico in Salt Lake City in September.

“The fans are some of the best in the league and it’s a club that is very ambitious. I think we have the right people and environment to achieve great things in the future and I want to be part of that,” the former St Anthony’s College and US College-based player said.

“I think the Iceland on a whole is doing great in football. Their progress as a national team and the development overall is quite impressive and I’ve fitted in quite nicely here.”

Football in Iceland is rapidly growing and with a population of 329,000 they became the smallest nation to ever reach a major tournament such as next year’s European Championship, finishing seven points ahead of closest rivals Holland. They are now ranked 31 in the world, jumping one hundred spots since May 2011 and have in their system, 13 UEFA Pro License coaches, 196 UEFA A License coaches and 639 UEFA B License coaches.

There are now 30 full-size all-weather pitches in Iceland, seven of which are indoors, and almost 150 smaller artificial arenas that ensure youngsters at grassroots can continue to play football in winter, often inside indoor dome structures.

“It is why the current crop of players, many of whom made history by qualifying for the European Under-21 Championship in 2011—Iceland’s first foray into any major international tournament—have been labelled “the indoor kids” according to the BBC.

Their “Golden Boy” Eidur Gudjohnson took them to the brink of qualifying for the 2014 World Cup and they would have erased T&T’s record as the smallest nation to qualify for a World Cup had they gone through. T&T defeated Iceland 2-0 in an international warm up prior to the 2006 World Cup.

Title: Re: Jonathan Glenn Thread
Post by: Flex on July 02, 2016, 05:24:24 AM
Glenn not surprised by Iceland’s success.

T&T’s Jonathan Glenn is not at all surprised at Iceland’s success at Euro 2016.

Glenn is currently attached to Breidablik,  one of Iceland’s more progressive clubs which has played a significant part in the country’s football development over the past decade or so.

Iceland’s  40-year-old goalkeeper Gunnleifur Gunnleifsson is a teammate of Glenn at Breidablik as well as players  Gylfi Sigurosson, Johan Berg Gudmundsson and Alfred Finnbogason who all came through the ranks at Breidablik. Gunnleifsson was left out of the team’s final roster for the Euros but has played 26 times for the national team.

“Everyone was going crazy here in Iceland after the win over England,” Glenn said.

But the T&T forward was not entirely surprised over the team’s 2-1 win which was described as probably England’s biggest loss at a major tournament.

“They easily got through their group in qualifying with two games in hand against the likes of Netherlands, Czech Republic and Turkey, so even though it’s their first major tournament based on their progress in the last few years it’s not that big of a surprise they are at this point now,”  Glenn added.

“In addition the infrastructure and coaching in Iceland has come a long way in the last ten years and it’s what everyone is saying has been the reason all their national teams are doing really well now. I really enjoy being part of the set up here. This is like my second home now,” Glenn said.

When Dadi Rafnsson, Breidablik’s director of coaching, looks out onto the indoor pitch situated behind his office, he sees 10 different games and training sessions taking place. The club is a shining example of everything that has happened since 2000, when the first of Iceland’s Bodo-styled indoor halls was opened in Keflavik, 25 miles from Reykjavik.

Glenn scored in T&T’s 3-3 draw with Mexico last year and is looking to make return to the national side for the upcoming 2018 World Cup qualifiers against Guatemala and the US on September 2nd and 6th.

Post by: soccerman on July 02, 2016, 10:47:05 AM
I forgot Glenn was playing in Iceland. Hopefully he'll be back on the team moving forward.
Post by: Tallman on July 02, 2016, 11:02:06 AM
I forgot Glenn was playing in Iceland. Hopefully he'll be back on the team moving forward.

He's not really having a good season so far.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 03, 2016, 09:45:52 AM

no goals yet ??
Post by: Tallman on July 03, 2016, 06:36:34 PM

no goals yet ??

Only one, and that was in the cup competition.
Post by: palos on July 04, 2016, 10:32:35 AM

He should change he name to Glennson
Post by: soccerman on July 04, 2016, 12:32:59 PM

He should change he name to Glennson
Post by: Tallman on July 23, 2016, 07:14:53 AM
Striker Jonathan Glenn may be on his way out of Breidablik after an indifferent start to the season (http://433.is/pepsi-deild/miklar-likur-a-ad-glenn-fari-valur-hefur-synt-ahuga/)
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 23, 2016, 08:50:30 AM
Striker Jonathan Glenn may be on his way out of Breidablik after an indifferent start to the season (http://433.is/pepsi-deild/miklar-likur-a-ad-glenn-fari-valur-hefur-synt-ahuga/)

hart may have a  striker problem
Post by: Tallman on January 14, 2017, 11:12:05 AM
Forward JONATHAN GLENN is on trial with USL club, Tampa Bay Rowdies.

(https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t31.0-8/15975131_10154933499724314_2845128494883052476_o.jpg?oh=ba47299813e04c6be42d0793e56baea0&oe=591299F5)

VfL Wolfsburg's Julian Klamt, left, chases Tampa Bay Rowdies' Jonathan Glenn , right, during their first-round match of the Florida Cup soccer tournament Sunday, Jan. 8, 2017, at Al Lang Stadium, St. Petersburg, Fla. (AP Photo/Steve Nesius)
Post by: asylumseeker on February 02, 2017, 06:37:03 AM
What's the latest?
Post by: Tallman on February 07, 2017, 02:43:39 PM
What's the latest?

Forward Jonathan Glenn signs with NASL club, Jacksonville Armada FC (http://www.armadafc.com/news/2017/02/07/armada-adds-defender-aaron-pitchkolan-forward-jonathan-glenn). Jacksonville already has Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Kevan George on their roster.
Post by: Deeks on February 07, 2017, 05:54:30 PM
What's the latest?

Forward Jonathan Glenn signs with NASL club, Jacksonville Armada FC (http://www.armadafc.com/news/2017/02/07/armada-adds-defender-aaron-pitchkolan-forward-jonathan-glenn). Jacksonville already has Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Kevan George on their roster.

I wish this dude all the success. But time is not on his side though. Good luck.

Funny, lots of people denigrate US football as bush league, and it may be true to a point, until they come and actually play in the league. This NASL has teams in Edmonton, San Francisco and Puerto Rico. All over the continent.  And I know they eh have private jets. That is jet-lag for so!
Post by: Tallman on April 29, 2017, 08:55:12 PM
WATCH: Jonathan Glenn scores his first goal of the season in Jacksonville Armada’s 1-1 draw with Indy Eleven

https://www.youtube.com/v/eYGgMji-iWs?start=88
Post by: Tallman on July 28, 2017, 12:21:03 PM
Forward Jonathan Glenn traded to North Carolina FC (http://www.northcarolinafc.com/news/2017/07/28/north-carolina-fcacquiresjonathan-glenn-danny-barrow-viatrade-with-jacksonville-armada-fcforbrian-shriver)
Post by: Sam on July 28, 2017, 02:38:42 PM
Ah think Andre Fortune and Kareem Moses playing they to.

Post by: Tallman on August 06, 2017, 09:39:08 PM
WATCH: Jonathan Glenn scores his first goal in his first start for North Carolina FC in a 3-2 win over Miami FC

https://www.youtube.com/v/hcOw4YayzIw?start=68
Post by: Tallman on February 20, 2018, 06:52:57 PM
Forward Jonathan Glenn has joined newly promoted Icelandic Premier League club, Íþróttafélagið Fylkir, on a two-year contract. (https://sport.is/pepsi-deild-karla-jonathan-glenn-samdi-vid-fylki/)
Post by: Tallman on May 07, 2018, 11:08:33 AM
WATCH: Jonathan Glenn scores the game-winning goal in Fylkir’s 2-1 win over KA. It’s his first of the season.

https://www.youtube.com/v/XoyeiJBYmo4?start=2448
Post by: Deeks on May 07, 2018, 02:52:55 PM
Allyuh think this guy should still be considered for national duty?
Post by: Tallman on May 07, 2018, 04:08:22 PM

Unless he has a hell of a season, I would say no. I think the window to capitalize on his skill set has closed. Plus he will be 31 in August. We really need to find a prolific goalscorer at the international level. Either that, or look for our goals from attack-minded midfielders. I eh think we seeing another Stern John anytime soon.
Post by: Jefferz on May 08, 2018, 01:19:26 AM
I'll tell you what though, when he played that friendly against Mexico he did look good, I remember he pressed hard on a Mexican defender slid in won the ball clean in THEIR box (a mistake Mexican aren't frequently forced into friendly or not) and set up I think it was Cummings for an easy tap in.

I think he should still be considered, but certainly he'll need to really turn it around. It's not a high level of football and their are other tnt strikers that are looking better. I would honestly like to see Guerra in a second striker role in the next set up, but alas, who knows.
Post by: Cocorite on May 08, 2018, 12:59:25 PM

Unless he has a hell of a season, I would say no. I think the window to capitalize on his skill set has closed. Plus he will be 31 in August. We really need to find a prolific goalscorer at the international level. Either that, or look for our goals from attack-minded midfielders. I eh think we seeing another Stern John anytime soon.

Agreed Tallman. We need about 3-4 dominant Forwards. Garcia might develop into that type. He can even get a lot of penalties with his speed and trickery. His brother, Judah, also got that skill.
Post by: Deeks on May 08, 2018, 04:30:19 PM

Agreed Tallman. We need about 3-4 dominant Forwards. Garcia might develop into that type. He can even get a lot of penalties with his speed and trickery. His brother, Judah, also got that skill.

I eh too sure about Garcia as a striker. Wings, yes.
Post by: soccerman on May 08, 2018, 05:30:05 PM
Maybe a call up could rejuvenate his career. I say he could at least be given a last chance.
Post by: Tallman on May 08, 2018, 05:31:45 PM
Maybe a call up could rejuvenate his career. I say he could at least be given a last chance.

But he hadda earn dat last chance.
Post by: Deeks on May 08, 2018, 09:39:06 PM

Actually, Hart gave him the call up, and he did fairly. Especially in the second Mexico game when we tied 3-3.  But then there was the move to the US league. Tampa and that did not work out and he went back Europe. Then DJW got elected and with all the bachanal, he got lost in the shuffle. I would like to see him get a call up again.
Post by: Tallman on May 09, 2018, 07:03:44 AM

Actually, Hart gave him the call up, and he did fairly. Especially in the second Mexico game when we tied 3-3.  But then there was the move to the US league. Tampa and that did not work out and he went back Europe. Then DJW got elected and with all the bachanal, he got lost in the shuffle. I would like to see him get a call up again.

Actually, he went to Jacksonville Armada then North Carolina FC, where he scored a total of 2 goals in 22 appearances, one goal for each club. So as you can see, he dropped off badly. Keep in mind that the Mexico game was almost three years ago.
Post by: Trini Madness on May 09, 2018, 07:13:49 AM

Actually, he went to Jacksonville Armada then North Carolina FC, where he scored a total of 2 goals in 22 appearances, one goal for each club. So as you can see, he dropped off badly. Keep in mind that the Mexico game was almost three years ago.
I would like to see him get one last chance but yes he has to earn that chance. Didn't he have an injury as well? And he wasnt the same after that?
Post by: Tallman on July 11, 2018, 05:57:26 PM
WATCH: Jonathan Glenn’s brace is in vain in Fylkir FC’s 3-2 loss to Vikingur. The goals can be seen at 7m03s and 35m36s.

https://www.youtube.com/v/6tZIbNcA0wQ?start=423
Post by: Tallman on November 12, 2020, 11:40:58 AM
Former national striker Jonathan Glenn has decided to hang up his boots and concentrate on coaching duties with IBV's youth teams (https://www.fotbolti.net/news/11-11-2020/jonathan-glenn-leggur-skona-a-hilluna). The 33-year old has been playing professionally in Iceland for the past six years.
Post by: Tallman on January 22, 2021, 12:24:14 PM
Former Trinidad and Tobago striker Jonathan Glenn has completed his UEFA Certificate in Football Management.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EsDn3a6XIAM-l2G?format=jpg&name=medium)
Post by: asylumseeker on January 22, 2021, 05:19:46 PM
Former Trinidad and Tobago striker Jonathan Glenn has completed his UEFA Certificate in Football Management.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EsDn3a6XIAM-l2G?format=jpg&name=medium)

Congratulations. :applause:
Post by: Deeks on January 22, 2021, 11:50:52 PM
Congrats to Glenn.  :thumbsup:
Post by: Tallman on November 22, 2021, 06:32:42 PM
Former Trinidad and Tobago forward Jonathan Glenn has been appointed as Head Coach of the ÍBV Women's Football Team. ÍBV competes in the Úrvalsdeild kvenna which is the top tier of women's football in Iceland. T&T defender Liana Hinds is on the club's roster.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FEwnIfuX0AMsOQU?format=jpg&name=large)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FEwnIfuWQAE3Yoi?format=jpg&name=large)
Post by: asylumseeker on November 22, 2021, 06:42:20 PM
Dahis two players from SH's battalion who have assignments in football played by women. Who is to be/could be the next coaching candidate from that bunch?

P.S. Ah feel Jan might have the requisite temperament to coach a women's team.
Post by: Tallman on April 18, 2022, 12:28:37 PM
Two years after hanging up his boots, Jonathan Glenn will lead the ÍBV women's team, making his debut as head coach in the Besta-deild kvenna (https://www.visir.is/k/53a93209-9755-4b47-af66-063a04c545b4-1650223675037), the top-tier women's football league in Iceland.
Post by: Deeks on April 19, 2022, 08:05:12 AM
Two years after hanging up his boots, Jonathan Glenn will lead the ÍBV women's team, making his debut as head coach in the Besta-deild kvenna (https://www.visir.is/k/53a93209-9755-4b47-af66-063a04c545b4-1650223675037), the top-tier women's football league in Iceland.

Good luck and all the best to him
Post by: Tallman on November 01, 2022, 09:50:46 AM
Jonathan Glenn has been appointed as Head Coach of Keflavík's women's team. Keflavík play in the Besta deild kvenna, the top-tier women's football league in Iceland. Glenn was previously in charge of ÍBV.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FgfT6NVWQAYQ5rv?format=jpg&name=large)
Post by: Tallman on December 11, 2022, 07:26:39 PM
Christmas is an amazing time in Trinidad and Tobago
By Jóhann Páll Kristbjörnsson (Víkurfréttir)

Christmas is an amazing time in Trinidad and Tobago says Jonathan Glenn, who recently took over the position of coach of the women's championship team at Keflavík, but last season he coached the women's championship team at ÍBV. Glenn, who is from Trinidad and Tobago, came to Iceland in 2014 when he joined the Pepsi League team ÍBV - it was Sigurður Ragnar Eyjólfsson who brought Glenn to Eyja, but Sigurður, who is the current coach of Keflavíkur's men's team, was with Eyjaliðið time

How come you, coming from Trinidad and Tobago, end up in Iceland of all places?

"It's kind of funny because after finishing school in Trinidad [High School], I got a scholarship to go to university in the United States, where I played football and finished my studies. After that, I had the opportunity to play professionally in the United States, where I played for two seasons," says Glenn when Víkurfrétir met him at the office of Keflavík's football department at Sunnubraut. "It's a bit funny, but Siggi Raggi was coaching ÍBV at the time and he was the one who signed me and got me here. I came to ÍBV in 2014 and stayed there for a season and a half, I switched to Breiðablik in the middle of the 2015 season and played with them for two years, but then I went back to the United States." Glenn returned to Iceland in 2018 and then joined Fylki but returned to Eyja a year later.

"I knew then that I would like to turn to training more than I had been training outside the United States. So, in parallel with my last years at ÍBV, I began to acquire UEFA coaching qualifications. It's been a fun journey, but it's very satisfying to have been able to coach from the junior categories up to the championship category, to get to know many interesting people and build relationships," says Jonathan, who is now married to an Icelandic woman, Þórhildi Ólafsdóttir , and together they have one daughter.

"We met when I came here in 2014," recalls Jonathan. "She was a player on the ÍBV women's team and we started talking, went on a date, and then we got married in the United States in 2017. Now we have a beautiful, three-year-old daughter, Amelia Grace."

Þórhildur played with ÍBV last season, so it is not out of the question to ask if she will remain in football.

"She's thinking about it, it's not certain." She played well last summer and enjoyed it, she is not sure if she will continue. It's a bit difficult to have a small child when we are both on the same schedule, away from her all the time. It was easier out in the Islands, where Þórhilda's parents could run around with us. Now we're moving to a new place, she's starting a new kindergarten, and we're thinking about it."

I ask Jonathan if he envisions himself coming to Iceland. Or where are you heading as a coach?

"When you choose to make football your career, you never know where it will take you. Þórhildur and I make our plans, but they are flexible, now we want to enjoy what we have and focus on that - get to know fun and interesting people and continue the football journey."

Trinidad and Tobago was the smallest nation to qualify for the World Cup ... until Iceland beat them to it
Jonathan comes from Trinidad and Tobago, which are islands in the Caribbean Sea, located just off the coast of Venezuela in South America, with about 1.4 million inhabitants. "Most people live on the island of Trinidad, but Tobago, which is a smaller island, can be said to be more of a tourist destination," says Glenn.

Football is a popular sport in Trinidad and many strong players come from there. Football player Dwight Yorke is probably the most famous of them, but he made the park famous with teams such as Manchester United, Aston Villa and Blackburn Rovers.

"Dwight Yorke is a real 'legend,'" says Glenn with a twinkle in his eye. "The school league [High School League] is very strong and it is more popular than the top league, many players from it go on a contract to the United States to study."

Trinidad and Tobago competed in the 2006 World Cup and was then the smallest nation to reach the finals, Iceland took that record from them four years ago.

"After qualifying for the World Cup, I expected football in Trinidad to go up, but it actually went the other way. I think we could have used that opportunity better but I love my country, it's so beautiful – awesome.”

Happy with what he has in hand
Jonathan took over the women's championship team at Keflavík just over a month ago and has only managed to form an opinion on the team. He has already got two players who played with ÍBV last season, Madison Wolfbauer and Latvian international Sandra Voitane.

How do you see the next season?

"I've been with the team for the last three, four weeks and I'm so happy with what I've seen. How they have reacted. I think the atmosphere and attitude of the team is very good, they are willing to put in a lot of effort and want to improve. It makes me very happy and I want to put together a team that Keflvíking can be proud of, a team where all players are ready to give 100% in every game.

For the next season, we will therefore look carefully at how the players fit into the squad and be careful with the selection - I am very happy with the squad I have in hand and only good players who will add to the quality of the squad will be considered," says the coach .

Do you think you will get more players for next season?

"I think we need to be very disciplined and be careful in selecting players, especially given that we don't have the same budget as the big clubs in the league. We need to be nice about the players. We also need to be sensible in how we train, how the players' diet is done and take good care of our bodies. We have to get the best out of each individual, especially given that we probably won't have the widest group. Of course we have to add some players but all these things are important to get the best out of what we have. So we will be competitive in a very strong league next year."

Trinidad and Tobago, a melting pot of different cultures
Jonathan says that society in Trinidad and Tobago is very mixed. This is a very multicultural society, but the vast majority of the inhabitants of the islands are of African or East Indian origin, then Chinese and European origins are also mixed into the mix, and of course indigenous people.

How is Christmas celebrated in Trinidad and Tobago?

"It's such a multinational place, a real melting pot of different cultures," he says. "If we look back a little in history, to the time of slavery, most of the people came from Africa and the East Indies. Each group about forty percent, then there were also Chinese, whites and natives of the islands. So we in Trinidad celebrate everything – everyone celebrates all festivals, whether Hindu, Muslim or Christian.

It is quite unique, but people of these different religions live together in harmony. It respects each other and rejoices together. It was unique to grow up in this place and I think it made it easier for me to adapt to life in other places, like in the United States and here in Iceland. I've traveled to many places with football and my upbringing allows me to appreciate different experiences and cultures - I love getting to know other people's cultures."

Jonathan says that Christmas is an amazing time in Trinidad and Tobago. They are a time of music and parties and are very festive.

"They are different from what is known in this country," he says. "First of all, we celebrate Christmas on Christmas Day and open packages on Christmas morning. On Christmas Eve and well into Christmas Eve, small bands go from house to house and play for people. These musicians need to be welcomed and given food and drink. Then they play and sing for twenty minutes, half an hour before they head next door. They start at midnight and can stay until six or seven in the morning on Christmas Day," says Jonathan with a smile. "So when you wake up in the morning, some stranger may just be sleeping drunken death in your garden." Now Jonathan rolled over with laughter. "It's disgustingly funny."

Jonathan says that these musicians perform Spanish songs and it is a legacy from the time when the Spanish were colonizers in these parts. "This is the only time of the year that Spanish songs are sung in Trinidad."

But here in Iceland, do you celebrate Christmas like every other Icelander?

"Yes, we keep to Icelandic traditions and open packages on Christmas Eve. We eat traditional Icelandic Christmas food."

How do you know Icelandic food?

"I love Icelandic Christmas food, I'm lucky that my wife and her mother are great cooks. Everything they cook; whether it's turkey, roast beef or whatever, I like it," concludes Jonathan Glenn.