Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on September 12, 2014, 03:42:57 PM

Title: Thread for the T&T vs Antigua & Barbuda Game (12-Oct-2014)
Post by: Flex on September 12, 2014, 03:42:57 PM
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs Antigua & Barbuda 2014 Caribbean Cup game at the Ato Boldon Stadium (6:15pm) on the 12th of October 2014 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

To be updated.

Possible TV Station.

To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers

Jan-Michael Williams (Central FC), Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin Civic Centre).

Defenders

Yohance Marshall, Sheldon Bateau (KV Mechelen), Carlyle Mitchell (Vancouver Whitecaps), Daneil Cyrus (Ha Noi T&T), Alvin Jones (W Connection), Justin Hoyte (Millwall), Joevin Jones (HJK Helsinki).

Midfielders

Andre Boucaud (Dagenham & Redbridge), Khaleem Hyland (Racing Genk), Kevan George (Columbus Crew),
Ataullah Guerra (Central FC), Leston Paul (Central FC), Lester Peltier (Slovan Bratislava), Cordell Cato (San Jose Earthquakes), Hughtun Hector (Hanoi T&T), Kevin Molino (Orlando City).

Forwards

Kenwyne Jones (capt) (Cardiff City), Trevin Caesar (San Antonio Scorpions).

Coach - Stephen Hart.

Antigua & Barbuda Squad

Goalkeepers

Molvin James (Old Road FC/Antigua), Brentton Muhammad (Unattached).

Defenders

Zaine Francis-Angol (Motherwell/Scotland), Akeem Thomas (Caledonia AIA/Trinidad), Karanja Mack (Sap FC/Antigua), Connor Peters (Swansea City/England), Mervyn Hazelwood (Villa FC/Antigua), Quinton Griffith (capt) (Charleston Battery/USA).

Midfielders

Keiran Murtagh (Woking/England), Joshua Parker (Domzale/Slovenia), Odell Murray (Sap FC/Antigua), Tomarley Thomas (Hoppers FC/Antigua), Tavaughn Harriett (Parham/Antigua), Gason Gregory (Parham/Antigua), Calaum Jahraldo-Martin (Hull City/England), Okeem Challenger (Sap FC/Antigua), Jorrin John (Nuneaton FC/England).

Forwards

Peter Byers (Sap FC/Antigua), Nathaniel Jarvis (Cirencester Town FC/England), Rondalph Burton (Parham/Antigua).

Coach - Rolston Williams (Antigua).

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

Title: Re: Thread for the T&T vs Antigua & Barbuda Game (12-Oct-2014)
Post by: CDR on September 26, 2014, 07:57:40 AM
Any squad announcement yet? I heard antigua is coming with a weak local based squad. should be an easy game for tt
Post by: Tiresais on September 26, 2014, 03:06:32 PM
This will be excellent for our rankings - we easily have the quality to see Antigua off, if we don't get complacent. Them being above us in the rankings should see us gain some valuable points :)
Post by: Sando prince on September 26, 2014, 07:54:59 PM

Looking forward to seeing which players will be representing T&T
Post by: CDR on October 01, 2014, 07:26:59 AM
info on antigua team is here

https://www.facebook.com/BennaBoysFanClub
Post by: andre samuel on October 01, 2014, 08:45:48 AM
Are those rankings correct? Is Antigua really the #1 in the caribbean?
Post by: Deeks on October 01, 2014, 06:04:08 PM

"maybe" ?
Post by: Tallman on October 01, 2014, 06:34:45 PM

"maybe" ?

Yes, it is correct. Antigua & Barbuda moved up 69 positions. This is their highest ever ranking.
Post by: coache on October 01, 2014, 10:00:43 PM
All yuh really concerned about some little place where football is nil ?

Well yes..bring all the foreign pros for this match..

which cost more a locally based National squad or spending money to buy tickets to bring back pros to play a small game like this?
Post by: trini_stallion on October 02, 2014, 05:37:27 AM
Trinidad and Tobago Soca Warriors

4 hrs · 

ANTIGUA/BARBUDA CONFIDENT AHEAD OF CARIBBEAN CUP 'SEMIS' NEXT WEEK IN T&T

With his team now holding the number one ranked position among Caribbean countries on the FIFA World rankings, Antigua//Barbuda head coach Rolston Williams believes they can defeat any team in the Caribbean.

Willams was speaking as he looked ahead to the Caribbean Cup semi final round which kicks off on Wednesday at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva. Antigua faces St Lucia from 6pm. They will take on hosts Trinidad and Tobago on Sunday.

“I am not looking at no one team; we have a tournament to play and we have to take one game at a time. I think Antigua is good enough to play with any team in the Caribbean, so to say one team is more important than the other. We will have to win all three games, so we’ll take one game at a time; that’s the approach we’ll take,” Williams said. 

Antigua scored ten goals in three Caribbean Cup qualifying matches last month, defeating Anguilla 6-0, also beating Dominican Republic and St Vincent/Grenadines 2-1. Their squad includes six UK-based professionals including Hull City striker Calaum Martin and Swansea City defender Connor Peters.

Antiguan FA President Everton Gonsalves is also basking in the glory of this team’s current run of success, adding “Our youth development programmes are up in the upper echelons in terms of the Caribbean,” he said. “You would have seen our level of play at the Under-17 level, at the Under-20 level and certainly at the female level but I think the real (meat) of the matter is the success of the men’s senior national team

Post by: dreamer on October 02, 2014, 11:58:03 AM
Ok, thanks for warning us Antigua.
We will take you seriously, very seriously. Watch this space.
Molino and company, ... over to you.
Post by: gawd on pitch on October 02, 2014, 08:32:43 PM
Trinidad and Tobago Soca Warriors

4 hrs ·

ANTIGUA/BARBUDA CONFIDENT AHEAD OF CARIBBEAN CUP 'SEMIS' NEXT WEEK IN T&T

With his team now holding the number one ranked position among Caribbean countries on the FIFA World rankings, Antigua//Barbuda head coach Rolston Williams believes they can defeat any team in the Caribbean.

Willams was speaking as he looked ahead to the Caribbean Cup semi final round which kicks off on Wednesday at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva. Antigua faces St Lucia from 6pm. They will take on hosts Trinidad and Tobago on Sunday.

“I am not looking at no one team; we have a tournament to play and we have to take one game at a time. I think Antigua is good enough to play with any team in the Caribbean, so to say one team is more important than the other. We will have to win all three games, so we’ll take one game at a time; that’s the approach we’ll take,” Williams said.

Antigua scored ten goals in three Caribbean Cup qualifying matches last month, defeating Anguilla 6-0, also beating Dominican Republic and St Vincent/Grenadines 2-1. Their squad includes six UK-based professionals including Hull City striker Calaum Martin and Swansea City defender Connor Peters.

Antiguan FA President Everton Gonsalves is also basking in the glory of this team’s current run of success, adding “Our youth development programmes are up in the upper echelons in terms of the Caribbean,” he said. “You would have seen our level of play at the Under-17 level, at the Under-20 level and certainly at the female level but I think the real (meat) of the matter is the success of the men’s senior national team

lol. We can't be worrying about this team. I pretty sure we could field a B team and still beat them.. They won't surprise us again. Last time was a fluke.
Post by: Sando prince on October 02, 2014, 10:43:13 PM
T&T has not won the Caribbean Cup in a long time so we should take EVERY team seriously and remain a disciplined team until the end.

Now is nuh de time to have a superior complex
Post by: CDR on October 02, 2014, 11:09:03 PM
last time they won with all local squad. i believe this time they are using the same squad again. i will try to get the roster and post it for their team.
Post by: truehaitian on October 03, 2014, 08:24:02 AM
Are those rankings correct? Is Antigua really the #1 in the Caribbean?

On paper Antigua is not the number one team and not even  number number 2. The number one team in the Caribbean right now is Martinique followed by French Guiana based on last 10 games wins /losses ( Both undefeated in last 5 games). Teams in the CFU  such as Guadeloupe, French Guiana,  Martinique, Bonaire etc..are  not ranked because they are not  Members of FIFA. If Martinique and French Guiana could be ranked, Antigua wouldn't have been the number team in the CFU.  Here is how Antigua got to be number 1 in the Caribbean right now:

The number 1 spot more often than not usually occupied by Jamaica, Trinidad , Haiti and Cuba.

Jamaica  is win-less in the last 5 games (1-2 VS Serbia, 0-1 VS Switzerland, 2-2 VS Egypt, 0-8 VS France and 1-3 VS Canada)
Trinidad Winless in the last 2 games ( 0-3 Vs Argentina,  0-2 Vs iran)
Haiti winless in the last four games (0-1 vs Salvador, 1-4 VS Korea, 0-0 VS Kosovo, 0-1 VS Chili)

Cuba does not / rarely play friendlies. They're only active in tournament so they can never hold on to the number spot even though they won it last year.. Antigua won 3 straight in their CFU conference and all three teams being FIFA Member, that helped them immensely in the ranking.

Next week will be reality check for the number one team in the Caribbean. Their fans all over social media  bragging about being number 1 in the Caribbean. Well, next week, It will be time for their coach and players to put up or shut up. Stay tune!
Post by: CDR on October 03, 2014, 09:36:44 AM

On paper Antigua is not the number one team and not even  number number 2. The number one team in the Caribbean right now is Martinique followed by French Guiana based on last 10 games wins /losses ( Both undefeated in last 5 games). Teams in the CFU  such as Guadeloupe, French Guiana,  Martinique, Bonaire etc..are  not ranked because they are not  Members of FIFA. If Martinique and French Guiana could be ranked, Antigua wouldn't have been the number team in the CFU.  Here is how Antigua got to be number 1 in the Caribbean right now:

The number 1 spot more often than not usually occupied by Jamaica, Trinidad , Haiti and Cuba.

Jamaica  is win-less in the last 5 games (1-2 VS Serbia, 0-1 VS Switzerland, 2-2 VS Egypt, 0-8 VS France and 1-3 VS Canada)
Haiti winless in the last four games (0-1 vs Salvador, 1-4 VS Korea, 0-0 VS Kosovo, 0-1 VS Chili)

Cuba does not / rarely play friendlies. They're only active in tournament so they can never hold on to the number spot even though they won it last year.. Antigua won 3 straight in their CFU conference and all three teams being FIFA Member, that helped them immensely in the ranking.

Next week will be reality check for the number one team in the Caribbean. Their fans all over social media  bragging about being number 1 in the Caribbean. Well, next week, It will be time for their coach and players to put up or shut up. Stay tune!

If I remember Antigua knocked out Haiti last world cup qualifiers?
Post by: Deeks on October 03, 2014, 10:37:20 AM
Geez, why is everybody hot and sweaty over who is number one. Ranking is over-rated. But it is a necessary evil for FIFA evaluation. Let the fans blow some steam, nah!!!! They have every right to be over exuberant. Until the final whistle on Friday's game. I just hope TT coach thinking past AB. They will poison us if our prima donnas go on the field with an attitude.
Post by: truehaitian on October 03, 2014, 11:17:44 AM

If I remember correctly Haiti knocked out Antigua at home in the last CFU qualifier in front of their crowd and also did beat them in Haiti in the same world cup qualifier....AM I RIGHT CDR?
Post by: CDR on October 03, 2014, 02:09:09 PM

If I remember correctly Haiti knocked out Antigua at home in the last CFU qualifier in front of their crowd and also did beat them in Haiti in the same world cup qualifier....AM I RIGHT CDR?

yes but i think something is wrong with the haiti team if an all local based antigua team ended your wcq campaign. then in carib cup you only beat them 1-0 when they had all locals.
Post by: Deeks on October 03, 2014, 03:41:13 PM
yes but i think something is wrong with the haiti team if an all local based antigua team ended your wcq campaign. then in carib cup you only beat them 1-0 when they had all locals.

CDr, what you state may not apply to the current situation. I think the Haitians will be ready this time.
Post by: CDR on October 03, 2014, 04:17:21 PM

CDr, what you state may not apply to the current situation. I think the Haitians will be ready this time.

agreed. I have them this time as favorites to win the carib cup
Post by: CDR on October 03, 2014, 04:37:01 PM
The Antigua and Barbuda Football Association is pleased to announce its 20 man squad for the second qualifying round of the 2014 Men’s Caribbean Cup in Trinidad & Tobago.

Goalkeepers:
Molvin James (Old Road FC/Antigua)
Brentton Muhammad (Unattached)

Defenders:
Zaine Francis-Angol (Motherwell/Scotland)
Akeem “Leppy” Thomas (Caledonia AIA/Trinidad)
Karanja Mack (Sap FC/Antigua)
Connor Peters (Swansea City/England)
Mervyn Hazelwood (Villa FC/Antigua)
Quinton Griffith (Charleston Battery/USA)

Midfielders:
Keiran Murtagh (Woking/England)
Joshua Parker (Domzale/Slovenia)
Odell Murray (Sap FC/Antigua)
Tomarley “Ziggy” Thomas (Hoppers FC/Antigua)
Tavaughn “Peter Reds” Harriett (Parham/Antigua)
Gason “Bubbler” Gregory (Parham/Antigua)
Calaum Jahraldo-Martin (Hull City/England)
Okeem “Soda” Challenger (Sap FC/Antigua)
Jorrin John (Nuneaton FC/England)

Strikers :
Peter “Big Pete” Byers (Sap FC/Antigua)
Nathaniel Jarvis (Cirencester Town FC/England)
Rondalph “Etty” Burton (Parham/Antigua)

Captain: Quinton “QQ” Griffith
Coach: Rolston “Debu” Williams (Antigua)

Injured: Mikele Leigterwood, Dexter Blackstock (Nottingham Forrest/England)

Other Commitments: Marvin McCoy (York City/England), Lawson “Boy Blue” Robinson (Parham/Antigua), Ranjae Christian (Parham/Antigua)

(http://antiguafootball.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/Benna-Boys-Slideshow-640x360.jpg)

Source: https://www.facebook.com/BennaBoysFanClub
Post by: andre samuel on October 04, 2014, 10:27:24 AM
Peter Byer yes!! Big big player............i rated him while he played in the Proleague............how old is he now?
Post by: Tallman on October 04, 2014, 11:56:31 AM
Peter Byer yes!! Big big player............i rated him while he played in the Proleague............how old is he now?

Post by: CDR on October 06, 2014, 01:34:01 PM
http://antiguafootball.com/abfa-live-streaming/ is broadcasting this game
Title: Coach says Benna Boys ready for challenge
Post by: Tallman on October 07, 2014, 07:23:21 AM
Coach says Benna Boys ready for challenge
By Neto Baptiste  (Antigua Observer)

Head coach of the senior national football team Rolston “Debu” Williams said despite knowing little about their first opponent in the second round of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Caribbean Cup, he believes Antigua & Barbuda Benna Boys are equipped to take on any challenge.

Benna Boys will take on St Lucia, opponents they haven’t face in over three years, when they open their Group Seven campaign in Trinidad tomorrow (Wednesday).

Williams is however, confident of a victory.

“I believe in something Arsčne Wenger said that if you prepare well, I don’t think you have to study the opponent so much. The opponent will study you and once his players go and play his tactics, he doesn’t believe he will lose the game. I don’t think that St Lucia are so different from (Dominican Republic) or St Vincent or they may not be better at all than those teams. We will just have to look at them in the game, and if we have to make changes, then we will make changes quickly,” he said.

In their last meeting, a friendly at the Antigua Recreation Grounds (ARG) in 2011, Antigua & Barbuda hammered St Lucia 6-0.

Williams believes that changes made to the Antigua & Barbuda squad ahead of Wednesday’s match, have served to strengthen the team going forward.

“I think the players that come in are stronger players and more experienced players. One who was here before in Zane Angol; he is a very good player and players for Motherwell FC and the next player, Jorrin John of Nuneaton FC, this is his first time but he seems to be a very good player too,” the coach said.

“Etty (Randolph Burton) has also come into the team because one of the players (overseas-based) that should come down changed his mind at the last minute so we had to get a next midfielder to fit in and I think Etty was the ideal individual to fit that spot,” Williams added.

The coach, who had expressed small concerns over the team’s inability to score a higher percentage of their “easy scoring opportunities” during the competition’s first round in Antigua, is optimistic there will be improvements in that aspect of the team’s game.

“What is good is that from since that, the players have been playing matches and so therefore, they should be working on that with their clubs and they are shooting goals in the Premier Division league so they should be a lot more confident. I can’t speak much for the English guys except I know they are playing too, but I can speak more for the locals,” Williams said.

Following tomorrow’s opener against St Lucia, the Benna Boys will take on the Dominican Republic on Friday before facing hosts Trinidad & Tobago on Sunday.
Post by: CDR on October 07, 2014, 09:25:43 PM
Antigua goals last round

http://www.youtube.com/v/ot3xh5oAjM0

http://www.youtube.com/v/uUSRZIBOqog

http://www.youtube.com/v/ZCe3E35b_Kw
Post by: CDR on October 12, 2014, 03:14:52 PM
Is there a broadcast today?
Post by: Socapro on October 12, 2014, 04:00:23 PM
Is there a broadcast today?

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/wisports
Post by: theworm2345 on October 12, 2014, 04:09:23 PM
J Jones, Bateau, D Cyrus, H Hector, K Hyland, K Jones, K Molino, A Boucaud, C Mitchell, J M Wiliams, L Peltier
Post by: FireBrand on October 12, 2014, 04:20:50 PM
First match ended, DR 3 - St. Lucia 2.
Post by: che on October 12, 2014, 04:43:33 PM
What is the crowed like tonight?
Post by: che on October 12, 2014, 04:55:29 PM
Is it just me or does Hyland play a little to relaxed?
Post by: lefty on October 12, 2014, 05:02:34 PM
sweet passing boy
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 12, 2014, 05:07:40 PM
Game will open up more now, they (ANT) will un-park the bus
Post by: che on October 12, 2014, 05:07:51 PM
Gooooaaaaaallllll T&T.
Post by: lefty on October 12, 2014, 05:08:42 PM
stream start to play d ass when d goal score steups
Post by: che on October 12, 2014, 05:10:29 PM
Good first half for T&T. Our passing and over all team shape has really improve under Hart.
Post by: che on October 12, 2014, 05:11:09 PM

mine gone  :cursing:
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 12, 2014, 05:11:37 PM
Good first half for T&T. Our passing and over all team shape has really improve under Hart.

Think back to the GC when he only had the team for a few mths, even then there was a remarked ball possession improvement.  +ve
Post by: Dinner Mints on October 12, 2014, 05:11:43 PM
Steups. Look like dey had some kinda organized celebration when de camera cut away to the crowd.
Post by: Dinner Mints on October 12, 2014, 05:13:31 PM
We looking good, but leh we remember this is Antigua. Still having lil sloppy moments that a better team will eat up.
Post by: soccerman on October 12, 2014, 05:13:44 PM
Well taken goal by Molino and very good ball movement by T&T
Post by: palos on October 12, 2014, 05:13:57 PM
Nice goal from Molino.

T&T a cut above despite the scoreline
Post by: palos on October 12, 2014, 05:15:42 PM
We looking good, but leh we remember this is Antigua. Still having lil sloppy moments that a better team will eat up.

Considering this team is literally a pick up side with little or no prep....we doing what we supposed to do in this tournament....which is dominate teams such as this.

Last WCQ....we couldn't beat Guyana.  Keep that in perspective
Post by: FireBrand on October 12, 2014, 05:22:01 PM
Some calling for a goal scorer... Look him right dey... M10, Nash, Molino!!!
Post by: Socapro on October 12, 2014, 05:22:22 PM
Both teams playing well but as Palos say T&T is a cut above. Like how our defenders have been solid and not giving the Antiguans any clear chances at our goal.

Nice skill from Molino for the goal. Like how our midfielders are scoring goals and we are not just relying on our strikers.

I think we can score at least another goal in the 2nd half we keep our shape and ball possession.

2nd half just about to start.
Post by: socachynee on October 12, 2014, 05:23:09 PM
radio streaming unfortunately I have to listen to Alvin Corneal  :banginghead: 105.1 Vibe CT

mine gone  :cursing:
Post by: palos on October 12, 2014, 05:26:43 PM
Th
That would be a mistake IMO

They have to lose by 4 clear goals for DR to go through I think

If they open up, they'll be vulnerable on the counter.  I wouldn't be surprised if they just play to the damage limitation game
Post by: Dinner Mints on October 12, 2014, 05:30:05 PM

Considering this team is literally a pick up side with little or no prep....we doing what we supposed to do in this tournament....which is dominate teams such as this.

Last WCQ....we couldn't beat Guyana.  Keep that in perspective
Yeah, I ain't being negative. Just thinking out loud really.
Post by: Socapro on October 12, 2014, 05:36:20 PM
Just saw Big Mag in the stands.
Post by: lefty on October 12, 2014, 05:37:52 PM
lawd have mercy
Post by: kiffysmooth on October 12, 2014, 06:14:02 PM
Good fitball tonight! ah taking dat!!
Post by: Socapro on October 12, 2014, 06:15:51 PM
Yeah, nice match!! Antigua is not a bad team.
Post by: soccerman on October 12, 2014, 06:18:46 PM
Good result, this should give us a boost in the rankings
Post by: royal on October 12, 2014, 06:20:29 PM
must say the technical and tactical level of the game in the Caribbean has improved a lot
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 12, 2014, 06:35:27 PM
Th
That would be a mistake IMO

They have to lose by 4 clear goals for DR to go through I think

If they open up, they'll be vulnerable on the counter.  I wouldn't be surprised if they just play to the damage limitation game

True and sense  :beermug:
Post by: maxg on October 12, 2014, 06:53:27 PM
whappen game dun ? link showing some police sports...wha going on...nobody writing..score
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 12, 2014, 06:54:12 PM
 :rotfl:  max, like yuh have a dial up connection ah wah  ;D.  Game done, 1-0 TT
Post by: maxg on October 12, 2014, 06:57:20 PM
:rotfl:  max, like yuh have a dial up connection ah wah  ;D.  Game done, 1-0 TT
dang...for a sec dey ah thought a wake up in the twilight zone yes..all post dun just so...no report...seta freaky business..whew...ok..I'll wait for celebration to dun.  thanks
Post by: dreamer on October 12, 2014, 07:12:55 PM
Very happy and a sigh of relief with a clean sheet, further boosting the T&T brand that is in repair in the post-Jackula period.
Happy that we won with good organized football and there are no coach mutiny issues.
Happy that fresh Antigua, feeling dey in ting, with their alternate role as The Barracudas playing in de US league, were put in their damn place.
Happy that we will go a little further up the ranking table, having beaten an imposter ranked higher.
Happy that a winning team means happy fans in stands, on the socawarriors website and chance for non-damaging articles from T&T journalists. Happy that Fazeer Mohammed should have nutten cynical to say.
Happy that everybody who played had no serious injuries.
Happy that our defense is showing so much depth that we doh even have to play Yohance Marshall. Never have we had it so good for our defense.
Happy that Molino and Guerra are such class acts and in such good form.
Happy that Hector came in to his own and showed what he can do with one of the best cracks at goal.
Happy that Hyland showed his solidity and relevance at a time when some of the observers were beginning to act up about him.
Happy that Jan was solid in stopping some dangerous raids. Happy Leston geh a touch and another cap.
Ah jess happy, that we buildin' good vibes and good player, fan & sponsor morale. :beermug:

Post by: socalion on October 12, 2014, 07:43:39 PM
To all the players , the coach  and his technical staff  thank yuh,  thank yuh,  thank yuh all for a job well done  .....!!.   get ready for de road .......onwards to jamaica ...
Post by: Big Magician on October 12, 2014, 08:46:59 PM
well done tnt...all the best in jamaica.

The match had a feel of Antigua trying to make sure no bad result for them...not really parking the bus...but very cautious and well organised.

tnt playing well and getting better.... making an IDENTITY,,
Post by: Socapro on October 12, 2014, 09:02:58 PM
well done tnt...all the best in jamaica.

The match had a feel of Antigua trying to make sure no bad result for them...not really parking the bus...but very cautious and well organised.

tnt playing well and getting better.... making an IDENTITY,,
Saw you in the crowd supporting the team via the live stream.

Good job!!  :chilling:
Post by: SWF Reporter on October 12, 2014, 11:08:08 PM
‘Almost perfect’ Warriors keep 100 percent record; Jones targets Caribbean title
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868.com)

The first noticeable slip from a Trinidad and Tobago footballer at the Ato Boldon Stadium tonight came about half hour after the final whistle as the media playfully grilled midfielder Hughtun Hector about life in Vietnam where he represents champion club, Hanoi T&T.
“I try to learn a few words but the language is difficult,” said Hector. “I learned to say a few things like: ‘thanks’ and ‘I love you’.”
The diminutive playmaker turned red as reporters roared in laughter. Hector had probably said a little bit more about life in Vietnam than he would have liked.
In the prior 90 minutes, though, the “Soca Warriors” gave nothing away as the Trinidad and Tobago senior team edged Antigua and Barbuda 1-0 for its third successive win of the 2014 Caribbean Cup qualifying tournament.
Both teams advance to the regional finals. Trinidad and Tobago will play in Group A alongside defending champion, Cuba, French Guiana and Curacao while Antigua and Barbuda is in Group B with host Jamaica, Martinique and Haiti.
Trinidad and Tobago coach Stephen Hart suggested that regional football fans should get used to seeing a lot of Antigua and Barbuda.
“I was really impressed with Antigua,” said Hart. “I will make a prediction; I think you will see them in the (2015) Gold Cup.”
Antigua and Barbuda has never qualified for CONCACAF’s showcase tournament before and the tiny nation can hardly afford to be cocky in a group that includes two former Caribbean champions, Jamaica and Martinique, and a Haitian team on an upward trajectory.
But the “Benna Boys”, led by Polish technical director Piotr Nowak and coach Rolston Williams, were not short of tactical discipline and desire in Couva and, even without injured midfield ace Jorrin Jones, were able to conjure up a few half chances tonight.
There was no doubting Trinidad and Tobago’s superiority though and, for once, Hart was satisfied.
“I am very, very proud of the team tonight,” said Hart. “(Antigua and Barbuda) played exactly as we thought and I thought we executed well. I was most impressed with the discipline we kept in the game...
“We knew they would sit deep, try to pull us forward and see what happened after that. I told the players: don’t throw yourselves into it; be patient and move the ball around and you will get chances.”
Read more: http://wired868.com/2014/10/13/almost-perfect-warriors-edge-antigua-and-target-caribbean-title/
Post by: CDR on October 13, 2014, 04:33:53 AM
highlights? also tht baracuda team has been dismantled for over 2 years. the commentator was wrong.
Post by: Socapro on October 14, 2014, 01:32:12 PM
How come there is no highlights video for this game up to now?

Can anyone help?!  ???
Post by: CDR on October 17, 2014, 11:34:16 AM
where are the highlights???
Post by: Sando prince on October 17, 2014, 02:57:48 PM

Sorry boss none online at the moment.
Post by: CDR on October 18, 2014, 04:55:19 AM

Sorry boss none online at the moment.

why? every other game had one