Sports => Football => Topic started by: elan on October 15, 2014, 10:10:57 AM

Title: Thread for the USA WNT vs T&T WNT Game (15-Oct-2014)
Post by: elan on October 15, 2014, 10:10:57 AM
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T WNT vs USA WNT 2014 CONCACAF Women's Championship/2015 World Cup Qualifiers game at the Sporting Park Kansas City, KS 7:30 PM CST (8:30 PM EST) on the 15th of October 2014 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

USWNT Twitter Feed (https://twitter.com/ussoccer_wnt)

Possible Online Streams.

Foxsoccer2go.com (http://www.foxsoccer2go.com/upcoming)

Possible TV Station.

FOX Sports 2

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers

Kimika Forbes, Tinesha Palmer.

Defenders

Ayanna Russell, Rhea Belgrave, Arin King, Liana Hinds, Brianna Ryce, Khadisha Debessette, Lauren Hutchinson, Patrice Superville.

Midfielders

Khadidra Debessette, Maylee Attin Johnson, Janine Francois, Karyn Forbes, Anique Walker.

Forwards

Mariah Shade, Dernelle Mascall, Tasha St Louis, Ahkeela Mollon, Kennya Cordner.

Coach - Randy Waldrum.

United States of America Squad

Goalkeepers

Ashlyn Harris, Hope Solo.

Defenders

Julie Johnston, Whitney Engen, Meghan Klingenberg, Ali Krieger, Kelley O’Hara, Christie Rampone, Becky Sauerbrunn.

Midfielders

Morgan Brian, Tobin Heath, Lauren Holiday, Carli Lloyd, Heather O’Reilly, Megan Rapinoe.

Forwards

Sydney Leroux, Alex Morgan, Christen Press, Amy Rodriguez, Abby Wambach.

Coach - Jill Ellis.

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.
Title: Re: Thread for the USA WNT vs T&T WNT Game (15-Oct-2014)
Post by: Sando prince on October 15, 2014, 10:19:35 AM

Will be a difficult game for our women to win but I believe they can get the job done.

This game will give us an insight of how much we have improved since the Caribbean Cup.
Title: Re: Thread for the T&T WNT vs United States of America WNT Game (15-Oct-2014)
Post by: elan on October 15, 2014, 10:28:51 AM
2014 CONCACAF Women's Championship in Focus: Trinidad & Tobago (http://www.ussoccer.com/stories/2014/10/14/16/27/141015-wnt-concacaf-in-focus-trinidad)

IN FOCUS: TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Trinidad and Tobago Football Association
Founded: 1908 (Joined FIFA in 1964)
Head Coach: Randy Waldrum
FIFA World Ranking: 86
CONCACAF Ranking: 9
FIFA World Cups: None
Best FIFA World Cup Finish: None

Trinidad & Tobago Women’s National Team Roster by Position:

GOALKEEPERS (3):   Kimika Forbes, Afiyah Matthias, Tinesha Palmer

DEFENDERS (8): Ayanna Russell, Rhea Belgrave, Arin King, Danielle Blair, Liana Hinds, Brianna Ryce, Khadisha Debessette, Lauren Hutchinson

MIDFIELDERS (4):  Khadidra Debessette, Maylee Attin Johnson, Janine Francois, Karyn Forbes

FORWARDS (5): Mariah Shade, Dernelle Mascall, Tasha St. Louis, Ahkeela Mollon, Kennya Cordner

TRINIDAD & TOBAGO ROSTER NOTES

- Trinidad & Tobago qualified for the 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championship by defeating Jamaica 1-0 in the final of the inaugural Caribbean Football Union Women’s Caribbean Cup in Port of Spain.

- Mariah Shade – named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player – struck for the lone goal in the eighth minute.

- The Soca Princesses completed the final round with a perfect 4-0-0 record, winning Group B while scoring 20 goals and conceding none.

- Trinidad & Tobago’s head coach is Randy Waldrum, one of the top college coaches in U.S. history who won 399 games spanning 24 seasons at Tulsa, Baylor and Notre Dame. He won two NCAA titles with the Fighting Irish.

- Waldrum is currently the head coach of the Houston Dash in the NWSL, where he coaches U.S. players Whitney Engen and Meghan Klingenberg.

- Waldrum also coached the U.S. Under-23 WNT in 2012-2013.

USA VS. TRINIDAD & TOBAGO:

- The U.S. WNT has played seven matches in its history against Trinidad & Tobago with four of them coming in CONCACAF qualifying events. The USA is 7-0-0 in those games.

- The most recent meeting came during the Olympic qualifying tournament in 2004, a 7-0 victory in San Jose, Costa Rica, that featured a hat trick from Shannon Boxx.

- The last meeting in Women’s World Cup qualifying came in 2003 during a challenging 3-0 victory in Fullerton, Calif. on goals from Brandi Chastain, Cindy Parlow and Tiffeny Milbrett.

- Trinidad & Tobago’s best result against the USA came in 1994, a 3-1 U.S. victory in Scarborough, Tobago, in the only match between the two countries that was played in Trinidad & Tobago.

- The USA has gotten into double-figures in goals three times against Trinidad & Tobago; at the first CONCACAF Women’s World Cup qualifying tournament in 1991 (10-0), at the qualifying tournament for the 1995 Women’s World Cup in Montreal, Canada (11-1 in a match that featured a brawl) and at the CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup in 2000 (11-0 in a tournament that was not a qualifying event).
Post by: elan on October 15, 2014, 01:04:06 PM
I wonder how close I will be to the starting line up.

Kamika Forbes
Rhea Belgrave
Arin King
Ayanna Russell
Liana Hinds
Karyn Forbes
Maylee Johnson
Tasha St. Louis
Akheela Mollon
Kennya Cordner
Mariah Shade

Post by: Soccer 19 on October 15, 2014, 01:11:50 PM
Have my tickets in hand & they say 7:30 PM  start tonight for our Women's game  so wouldn't want anyone to tune in late as all advertising we have been seeing is saying 8:30 PM.

Cheers  19
Post by: elan on October 15, 2014, 01:23:26 PM
Have my tickets in hand & they say 7:30 PM  start tonight for our Women's game  so wouldn't want anyone to tune in late as all advertising we have been seeing is saying 8:30 PM.

Cheers  19

You are in Central Standard Time so it is 7:30 pm which is 8:30 pm Eastern Standard Time.
Post by: Flex on October 15, 2014, 03:45:07 PM
National Under 20 captain Anique Walker and defender Patrice Superville have been drafted into the squad due to injuries to Danielle Blair and Afiyah Matthias.

Post by: Big Magician on October 15, 2014, 05:56:17 PM
tnt...play de fitball
Post by: dreamer on October 15, 2014, 06:32:07 PM
Good luck lady socawarriors. This will be a tough opening game in faraway Kansas where you will try to blunt the expected USA blitz but remember the best opportunities for 3 points will be against Guatemala and Haiti. We expect that the margin of the score will show a lot of improvement. Doh worry, you've won our support. Lets go !!!!
Post by: elan on October 15, 2014, 06:35:46 PM
Looking sharp in the tunnel.
Post by: FF on October 15, 2014, 06:36:42 PM
I thought I saw Anique Walker in a pic with the squad. I just assumed it was an old pic
Post by: chelsealife on October 15, 2014, 06:37:01 PM
Link for those who dont have access otherwise http://cricfree.tv/live/watch/usa_vs_trinidad_and_tobago/60264
Post by: Tallman on October 15, 2014, 06:39:26 PM
LIVE VIDEO STREAM: USA Women vs T&T Women
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/woso-streams
Post by: che on October 15, 2014, 06:45:22 PM
Game can be seen here: http://cricfree.sx/live/watch/usa_vs_trinidad_and_tobago/60264
Post by: dwolfman on October 15, 2014, 06:50:19 PM
0-0 after 8 minutes.
Post by: Bakes on October 15, 2014, 06:57:20 PM
We look woefully overmatched.  13 minutes and already we holding on for dear life.  We conceding way too many set pieces and every clearance is just "anywhere will do"... usually right back to an attacking player.  No composure whatsoever.
Post by: Lower St. John on October 15, 2014, 07:09:54 PM
We doing better than our Men's team versus the US.  0-0 in the 30th minute.

Blessings
Post by: socafighter on October 15, 2014, 07:11:48 PM

Game live here....http://www.cricmelive.tv/fox-sports-2.php (http://www.cricmelive.tv/fox-sports-2.php)
Post by: dwolfman on October 15, 2014, 07:13:12 PM
We look woefully overmatched.  13 minutes and already we holding on for dear life.  We conceding way too many set pieces and every clearance is just "anywhere will do"... usually right back to an attacking player.  No composure whatsoever.

Agreed. We can't seem to 3 passes together, we're slower to balls that are 60-40 in our favour and really just surviving on grit. I'm pleased to see them as determined as this, but there needs to be a little more to their game still. Hoping for the miracle all the same.  ;D
Post by: lefty on October 15, 2014, 07:16:08 PM
they need to use d ball better though, d mids to weak and slow to try and beat dey way through d middle dey gettin stop every time
Post by: Sando prince on October 15, 2014, 07:16:25 PM
AT SOME POINT WE WILL NEED TO START PLAYING ATTACKING FOOTBALL. the game cannot just be played in our half of the field!
Post by: hg495 on October 15, 2014, 07:17:15 PM
USA getting frustraitedddddd I love ittttttt
Post by: Bakes on October 15, 2014, 07:23:12 PM
Agreed. We can't seem to 3 passes together, we're slower to balls that are 60-40 in our favour and really just surviving on grit. I'm pleased to see them as determined as this, but there needs to be a little more to their game still. Hoping for the miracle all the same.  ;D

25 minutes later and we seem much more settled.  The defense is much more composed, though midfield still a mess.  Really impressed with Arin King so far, doing everything to keep Wambach in check.  Kimika Forbes is playing on another level right now... phenomenal game so far.
Post by: andre samuel on October 15, 2014, 07:24:14 PM
The expectations of some of the forumites here really does amaze me.  Coming up against the world's best women's team in their home territory on the back of a roller coaster preparation and men still upset that we 0-0 after 30mins.

The game plan has to be simple.  Keep it tight vs USA and go for the wins vs Guatemala and Haiti.

smh

Post by: hg495 on October 15, 2014, 07:27:40 PM
aayyyyyyy greatttttt showing in the first halfff dayyyyyy
Post by: andre samuel on October 15, 2014, 07:28:01 PM
Well done to the girls so far!! 0-0 HT
Post by: chelsealife on October 15, 2014, 07:28:41 PM
This USA team thrashed Mexico 7-0 last month, good going girls and a few attacks as well.
Post by: hg495 on October 15, 2014, 07:30:10 PM
win loose or draw I'm already totally proud or the women  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: hopefully we adjust quick in the nxt half because the yanks surely will. the goalie , #5 and the thick dogula holding strong.
Post by: chelsealife on October 15, 2014, 07:31:50 PM
win loose or draw I'm already totally proud or the women  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: hopefully we adjust quick in the nxt half because the yanks surely will. the goalie , #5 and the thick dogula holding strong.
This lol smh
Post by: Lower St. John on October 15, 2014, 07:32:19 PM
The team has settled somewhat and not looking terribly outclassed. But it is still an exercise in backs and forwards for the most part. Hopefully our conditioning and timely substitution serves us well in the second half. Our keeper knows her stuff. Go T&T. Goal difference is important.

Blessings
Post by: Sando prince on October 15, 2014, 07:32:44 PM
The expectations of some of the forumites here really does amaze me.  Coming up against the world's best women's team in their home territory on the back of a roller coaster preparation and men still upset that we 0-0 after 30mins.

The game plan has to be simple.  Keep it tight vs USA and go for the wins vs Guatemala and Haiti.

smh

Its not about the scoreline. Its about how the T&T team is playing. Possession, passing, shots on goal, I would like to see my team accomplish this
Post by: dwolfman on October 15, 2014, 07:32:57 PM
0-0 at halftime. I have no complaints. If the midfield doesn't protect the back line a little better though things can get rough as the legs get tired. Is Arin King #5? If so she's been my player of the game (for T&T). Need a little more hold up play from the skipper. That #16 has some pace (more than the US right wing back) and if she can remain composed long enough might be able to hurt the US. I think our women's football has come a long way in a relatively short period. Still hoping for the second half.
Post by: Adam Lake on October 15, 2014, 07:38:04 PM
Kimika doing a great Job...  :bs: :bs:
Post by: chelsealife on October 15, 2014, 07:48:53 PM
Kimika doing a great Job...  :bs: :bs:
Yes she is and Arin King 5 looks a  very good player
Post by: Bakes on October 15, 2014, 07:53:05 PM
Wambach with the header... 1-0 US in the 55'
Post by: Lower St. John on October 15, 2014, 07:53:58 PM
Pressure does buss pipe. It was coming with how the US started the second half.

Blessings
Post by: fitzinho on October 15, 2014, 07:58:46 PM
Our girls need to hit the weight room or sum...they tiny next to these Americans
Post by: chelsealife on October 15, 2014, 08:03:25 PM
Wow Mariah Shade is beautiful  ::)
Post by: maxg on October 15, 2014, 08:05:21 PM
they should be doing this, and  they should be doing that...and they could do so better, and connect la faster..and weaker than the US team...but this is the best they have ever played.. and they playing the BEST team in the world..giving a full strength US team Hell.. Kudos to Forbes and defensive team, special mention, King and Belgrave...keep it up ladies.. well done.
1 or 2 individual disappointments, but cyah knock this team.
add: King is a Queen
Post by: soccerman on October 15, 2014, 08:09:46 PM
USA playing with their big guns too
Post by: dwolfman on October 15, 2014, 08:11:19 PM
Defenders walking back while the team under pressure. Fatigue starting to set in. They needed more possession so it wouldn't come to this. Hopefully they continue to learn and develop. It's unfortunate that most of that must happen on the job.
Post by: lefty on October 15, 2014, 08:11:28 PM
greedy greedy play
Post by: soccerman on October 15, 2014, 08:12:15 PM
Way hardluck dey Cordner, ah jes get excited yes
Post by: dwolfman on October 15, 2014, 08:16:27 PM
Imagine we getting chances against the USA with the score at 1-0. Shows the value of grit and determination. It's not only about the skill, which of course is important.
Post by: soccerman on October 15, 2014, 08:19:01 PM
We keeper for Man Woman of the match  :applause:
Post by: FF on October 15, 2014, 08:22:29 PM
Very impressed by the girls and organization. Bodes well for the Haiti and Guatemala games...

USA will probably destroy those teams by the way
Post by: soccerman on October 15, 2014, 08:22:34 PM
Like Hope Solo playing fun we
Post by: Lower St. John on October 15, 2014, 08:25:36 PM
Very impressed by the girls and organization. Bodes well for the Haiti and Guatemala games...

USA will probably destroy those teams by the way

Agreed!!!
Post by: Bakes on October 15, 2014, 08:26:53 PM
The ladies settled down nicely after some early jitters.  We still need composure up front and in midfield, but the team did a great job staying organized.  More than staying organized, they have tried to make the game competitive.  Better touches and composure here and there and we might have seen a different result.  Agree with maxg, have to add Belgrave to my list of standouts as well... but Forbes and King were really impressive.

EDIT:  Ah real love Akheela Mollon, not her best game, but she run hard whole game and was able to pressure the US defenders with her pace a couple times.
Post by: maxg on October 15, 2014, 08:31:10 PM
 :applause: :applause: :applause: :challenge: :wavetowel:
Post by: soccerman on October 15, 2014, 08:31:32 PM
1-0 defeat to the mighty US, I'll take that  :beermug:
Post by: lefty on October 15, 2014, 08:33:11 PM
 :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: elan on October 15, 2014, 08:33:20 PM
Very good result going forward.

A lot of work to do playing wise but yo have to do what you have to do.

Kamika Forbes was excellent
Attin-Johnson was very disappointing, so to Mollon.

Props to King.
Post by: elan on October 15, 2014, 08:34:13 PM
Rapinoe for MoM? :bs:
Post by: gawd on pitch on October 15, 2014, 08:35:07 PM
Good result. I was expecting the flood gates to open. Our first game was against the best on their home soil. The road will be easier from this point. Cant see Haiti or Guatemala playing as well as we did against the Americans.

World cup dream is getting closer. Big up women warriors :beermug:

Post by: dwolfman on October 15, 2014, 08:38:11 PM
This is our best result against the US. It's a loss, but there were a lot of encouraging aspects of the game. I agree with Bakes, they did settle down a bit, but still were too weak in the midfield. We got some pretty decent looks and we got it from being patient and organised. How often do you see Caribbean teams content to do the best they can for that long, especially after conceding? The next trick now is to see if they can bring that discipline, hard work and determination into the next game. Well done, ladies.  :applause:
Post by: Richard G. on October 15, 2014, 08:42:11 PM
Very good performance.
Post by: weary1969 on October 15, 2014, 08:46:36 PM
1-0 defeat to the mighty US, I'll take that  :beermug:

CO-SIGNNNNNNN
Post by: injunchile on October 15, 2014, 08:49:26 PM
Very Good performance and we had a good opportunity to tie it up at the end. Best women team in years.
 Kudos to the coach for the discipline at the back. If only we can get the midfield organize, we in business,this team will be going to the world cup. I like the speed from the wings and the attitude of this team. Say what we were competitive and we had the belief.
Post by: dreamer on October 15, 2014, 08:54:21 PM
Wow! What a game!
Supa dupa never say die Socawarriors creating history.
Next is war on Guatemala and Haiti. :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: socalion on October 15, 2014, 09:00:01 PM
All i have to say is  well done ladies  ah seeing progress ,  keep up  the excellent work ladies .... its former  world cup champions   we just lost  to a 1 nil  .. i say kudos for a damn good effort ... no criticism from me  right now is 100%  support for dem lady warriors... next !!
Post by: gawd on pitch on October 15, 2014, 09:15:36 PM
1- nil is something else. That same US team beat Mexico 8-0 last month.
Post by: Savannah boy on October 15, 2014, 09:16:27 PM
Well done ladies. Nice attitude and fight.
Post by: palos on October 15, 2014, 10:52:40 PM

Blessings

When did our Men play the US Women?
Post by: Socapro on October 15, 2014, 11:46:05 PM

Blessings

:D
Post by: Mose on October 16, 2014, 05:18:56 AM
Well done ladies!  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
However, don't let your guard down against Haiti and Guatemala. I know the temptation will be there to relax and open up but at this level you have to maintain your discipline. Do NOT assume those games will be easy because of your result here!!
Post by: diamondtrim on October 16, 2014, 06:05:16 AM
Let's not get carried away here....some folks even venturing as far as saying we got a 'result'. We lost. First game - 0 pts. Yes it was against probably the best women's team in the world, but the fact is we lost...period.

That being said, I really hope this team qualifies for the world cup. They seem to be playing with more heart than skill and that will take further than most.

I am proud of the girls....
Post by: Lower St. John on October 16, 2014, 07:33:39 AM

Blessings

LOL.  :rotfl:  When was that said or even implied? It continues to always amaze me the intellectual capital on this forum, ranging from Harvard graduates to Post Primary dropouts.

Blessings
Post by: AB.Trini on October 16, 2014, 08:24:22 AM
Well done- we did well to hold the USA. In check and keep the floodgates so,we hat secured. Ladies the immediate goal is to qualify. This would mean No letting up from here on in. Let's take on the next game with a deeper sense of urgency and we keep building from here on in.
Every game is a challenge every team presents it's own obstacles- - yuh got to figure that Haiti with one win go be wanting to set up a strong wall and play a defensive game-  we have to unleash a barrage of goals and play like there is no tomorrow.
All the best for the next encounter.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on October 16, 2014, 08:57:59 AM
0 points = 0 on d table.

Some ah allyuh acting as if dey already beat Guatemala and Haiti..

Ah hope these ladies aint get dotish after that score...

U are yet to get a point....

Post by: elan on October 16, 2014, 09:06:57 AM
0 points = 0 on d table.

Some ah allyuh acting as if dey already beat Guatemala and Haiti..

Ah hope these ladies aint get dotish after that score...

U are yet to get a point....

Daiz the thing.

Hope we eh behave like the U20s and think we inside. We have to do the job on the field. Right now we have Haiti 2nd guessing, so we need to work.

We are in a must win situation now. Can't draw and can't lose.
Post by: maxg on October 16, 2014, 11:00:28 AM
they should be doing this, and  they should be doing that...and they could do so better, and connect la faster..and weaker than the US team...but this is the best they have ever played.. and they playing the BEST team in the world..giving a full strength US team Hell.. Kudos to Forbes and defensive team, special mention, King and Belgrave...keep it up ladies.. well done.

Props to King.

These 2 will have to step up big time, if we are to win against the othe 2 teams.. We will be hard to beat with our defensive organization, but if we have to depend only on Yaya to win the game for us..well !
Post by: elan on October 16, 2014, 02:12:59 PM

Props to King.

These 2 will have to step up big time, if we are to win against the othe 2 teams.. We will be hard to beat with our defensive organization, but if we have to depend only on Yaya to win the game for us..well !

They played hard and worked hard. Don't get me wrong, but I know what these players are capable of and there were a couple of situations where I think they should have shown how good they are and they did not.

Hey, now Haiti have to look out for them unleashing everything on them.
Post by: Bakes on October 16, 2014, 02:36:26 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/ZHvGhxwlJOA
Post by: Deeks on October 16, 2014, 03:11:04 PM
Congrats to the the Ladies. They played one of the top 3 teams in the world and lost by one goal. I am sure the Ladies and the coach eh gone swellheaded as some of you may believe. Come on guys, lay off the Ladies. I saw previous encounters when get 10 or 8. This a vast improvement. After seeing what transpired last last with the training, travel, money, I can't understand some of the negative responses from from some of you. Allyuh really think TT can beat that US team. Steeeeeups. TT past the first test, let's see for the next 2 games. I will be at RFK next Monday for the last group game.
Post by: socalion on October 16, 2014, 04:16:03 PM
Well said deeks...!!! 
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 16, 2014, 06:41:01 PM
Some common sense prevails
Post by: maxg on October 17, 2014, 01:44:27 PM

Props to King.

They played hard and worked hard. Don't get me wrong, but I know what these players are capable of and there were a couple of situations where I think they should have shown how good they are and they did not.

Hey, now Haiti have to look out for them unleashing everything on them.
agree again..not at all knocking the work effort, just the effectiveness.