Sports => Football => Topic started by: Trini _2026 on October 18, 2014, 03:06:23 PM

Title: Ricardo John Thread
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 18, 2014, 03:06:23 PM
Ricardo John Has A Bright Future for the Virginia Tech Hokies.
fightinggobbler.com

The Virginia Tech Hokies’ men’s soccer program is slowly but steadily building the program up as they look to become national contenders in the future especially with the success of the Virginia Tech women’s soccer team.

The Hokies have players from all over the world on the roster but one breakout freshman from Trinidad and Tobago has been impressive.

Ricardo John from St. Augustine Secondary School in Arouca, Trinidad and Tobago is already looking like someone who could be one of the best soccer players ever for the Hokies. John started the season on the bench but has appeared in all 12 games and is now a regular starter with 8 starts on the season.

The stats back up John’s impressive start with the freshman leading the Hokies with 4 goals along with having an assist. A more impressive stat is the fact that 17 of his 28 shots have been on goal which works out to be just over 60%. This is a very impressive stat especially since John has taken the most shots of any Hokie soccer player this season.

John has the potential to be a big time aerial threat on corners at 6-3 but John is already a quality dribbler that can cut through defender and create space to make a shot or pass it to another player who is open. John has the potential to have some sort of professional career whether that be in Major League Soccer or in a lower tier like the NASL or USL Pro and could represent his country internationally also depending on how good he becomes.

For now, what we know is that Ricardo John is one talented player that has a very bright future in Blacksburg.

Title: Re: Ricardo John Has A Bright Future for the Virginia Tech Hokies
Post by: Banter Banton on October 18, 2014, 03:16:06 PM
I heard he would have been on the U20 team but he went to University and no Uni students were used during the CFU cup as they could not leave their schools as they are under scholarship. Hopefully he is part of the next phase.

Post by: soccerman on October 18, 2014, 03:19:10 PM
Saw him play against WVU this season, not a bad player, came off of the bench and provided a spark going forward. Tall and lanky but he's only a freshman so he has to develop and get use to the physicality of the game up here.

They had another Trini playing left back as well.
Post by: Banter Banton on October 18, 2014, 03:20:59 PM
Saw him play against WVU this season, not a bad player, came off of the bench and provided a spark going forward. Tall and lanky but he's only a freshman so he has to develop and get use to the physicality of the game up here.

They had another Trini playing left back as well.

Jonathan Cruickshank, very tidy player..too old for the U20's I'm told
Title: Ricardo John ends season with conference honors
Post by: Tallman on November 14, 2014, 09:21:17 AM
Ricardo John ends season with conference honors
hokiesports.com

After a phenomenal rookie campaign, freshman forward Ricardo John has been named to the All-ACC Second Team and the ACC All-Freshmen Team as announced by the ACC office on Thursday morning.

John tied for the team in points with 11 behind the strength of five goals and one assist. Out of the five goals he scored, two were game-winning goals. John’s only assist of the season was on the game-winning goal against NC State.

The Trinidad and Tobago native was one of only three freshmen to make an All-ACC team this season and is the first Hokie freshman to make an All-ACC or an All-Freshman team since James Shupp made the freshmen team in 2007.
Post by: Flex on January 09, 2015, 07:47:54 PM
John wants to be part of new chapter in T&T football.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

It’s his fist major international competition appearance for Trinidad and Tobago and he wants to begin with a bang. Quite naturally, national under 20 forward Ricardo John wants to make a strong impression during the upcoming CONCACAF Under 20 Championship which begins today in Kingston.

John is from Arouca and is a former student of St Augustine Secondary and Trinity College East.

John earned his pick after being overlooked in the early stages of the team last year. He shifted gears and went on to have an impressive season for Virginia Tech. in the United States. When he returned to the train with the Under 20 team, his efforts, his sharpness and his sheer desire to represent the country was enough to get the nod from King.

John has set his sights on pushing T&T through to New Zealand 2015. The final leg of the journey starts tonight at 8pm at the "Office" in Kingston when T&T squares off with Jamaica.

“My hope is for us to qualify for the World Cup. I really would like to score some goals in this tournament and to get maximum points in these games,” John told TTFA Media.

“ I think all the players want to do really well especially as there could be some scouts on hand to see what we have to offer. We really want to enter a positive chapter for Trinidad and Tobago football.”

Looking back at the preparations, John who was also involved in the Port of Spain training camp before the team arrived in Miami, said. “Preparing for the tournament has been a great experience I am grateful for this opportunity to be with the team because I see myself improving with every session.

“The training camp in Miami was pretty good. It gave the coaches a good chance to see what the players have to offer. And just being together was a boost for us before coming to Jamaica. We did a lot of tactical work trying to get right mix and approach for the games.”

He expects every game to be challenging but warns that T&T will not be fazed by the opposition.

“We know the tournament will be challenging. You look at teams like the US and Panama, they are the big ones in our group but Jamaica is always tough and Guatemala and Aruba are here for the same reasons we are. which is to do well and qualify.

We have to ensure we are ready to work right down until the end if we want to advance to the World Cup,” John ended."

Title: Re: Ricardo John Thread
Post by: Tallman on June 30, 2015, 05:11:52 PM
Rising sophomore, Ricardo John, wraps up summer play with Trinidad and Tobago U-23 National Team
hokiesports.com

Ricardo John, a rising sophomore on the Virginia Tech men’s soccer team, recently wrapped up summer competition with the Trinidad and Tobago U-23 National Team. In the team’s last match, John scored a pair of goals in a 5-0 win over the host Puerto Ricans.

The “Soca Warriors” failed to advance out of pool play with Puerto Rico and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. The three teams were competing for a spot in the 2016 Olympic Games through qualifying pool play. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines won the group with a 1-0-1 record. John’s Trinidad and Tobago squad went 1-1-0 while Puerto Rico went 0-1-1.

The native of Arouca, Trinidad and Tobago, appeared in 17 matches as a freshman last season for the Hokies, earning 13 starts. He garnered third-team All-South Region honors, earned All-ACC third-team honors and ACC All-Freshmen team honors. He was also named to Soccer America’s All-Freshmen second team and was ranked the No. 30 freshman in the country following last season by Top Drawer Soccer.

The Hokies will open their 2015 campaign in August with a trio of scrimmages before opening the regular season on Friday, Aug. 28 with a home match against UNCG at Thompson Field.
Post by: Flex on December 17, 2015, 02:52:26 AM
John makes NSCAA All Star team.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

Former T&T Under-20 forward Ricardo John has been was named to the American NSCAA All-South Region Third team for the second straight season.

John of Virginia Tech started 16 games for the Hokies this season and scored three goals while adding two assists. A great offensive threat, His 1.53 shots on goal per game made him tied for 35th in the nation and second amongst those in the ACC. John also recorded a total of 50 shots this season which put him 68th in the nation at 2.94.

This season, John scored a goal in Tech’s road upset of then-No 10 Xavier as well as the game-winning goal in a 5-1 defeat of Cincinnati. He had an assist in the Hokies’ 2-1 win at Virginia Military Institute and also in the 4-1 home defeat of preseason Colonial Athletic Association favorite Delaware.

John competed in the 2015 Pan American Games this past summer in Toronto as a member of the national team. He has also been a member of T&T’s U-20 World Cup Qualifying team

and also competed with the U-23 national team, taking part in Olympic qualifying.

During his freshman campaign last season, he scored a team-high five goals and added an assist on his way to earning All-ACC Freshman Team honours and All-ACC Third Team.

Post by: amielisadore on January 15, 2016, 11:49:26 PM
John has joined Bankers Central FC in this transfer window and scored his first goal against Point Fortin Civic tonight.
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 16, 2016, 12:10:24 AM
he quit school ???
Post by: amielisadore on January 16, 2016, 01:01:44 AM
he quit school ???

No idea. But there seems to be a trend where a good few players on scholarships in the US return home before finishing.
Post by: Jay10 on January 16, 2016, 06:36:16 AM
Would love to find out more on this development. If im right I think he was supposed to have 2 more years.

Maybe he decided the time is now, and he wanted to go pro and maybe finish school after.

Post by: soccerman on April 18, 2016, 09:12:01 PM
He went back to school this semester but is back at Central now.
Title: Ricardo John to sign professional contract with Central F.C.
Post by: Tallman on April 25, 2016, 06:30:32 PM
Ricardo John to sign professional contract with Central F.C.
hokiesports.com

Virginia Tech men’s soccer player Ricardo John has announced his intentions to turn professional and sign a contract with Central F.C. of the TT Pro League in his native Trinidad and Tobago.

John, a sophomore from Arouca, Trinidad and Tobago, becomes the 15th player to either sign a professional contract or be drafted by Major League Soccer after playing during Mike Brizendine’s 10-year tenure as a coach at Virginia Tech. John concludes his two-year career at Virginia Tech having played 34 games with 29 starts. The forward scored eight goals and had three assists.

“We’re thrilled that Ricardo has been able to take this next step in his playing career. I always hate to see one of my players leave this great university without a degree but I'm excited for Ricardo and this opportunity. Few players get the opportunity to fulfill their childhood dream of becoming a professional player and I know I speak for my staff and the team in wishing him nothing but the best,” Brizendine said.

John started 16 games for the Hokies this season and scored three goals while adding two assists. He was named to the NSCAA All-South Region Third team for the second straight season. His 1.53 shots on goal per game made him tied for 35th in the nation and second amongst those in the ACC. John also recorded a total of 50 shots this season which put him 68th in the nation at 2.94.

This season, John scored a goal in Tech’s road upset of then-No. 10 Xavier as well as the game-winning goal in a 5-1 defeat of Cincinnati. He had an assist in the Hokies’ 2-1 win at Virginia Military Institute and also in the 4-1 home defeat of preseason Colonial Athletic Association favorite Delaware.

John was named Named to Trinidad and Tobago's U-20 World Cup Qualifying Squad and also competed with the Trinidad and Tobago U23 National Team as part of Olympic qualifying in the summer of 2015. John donned his country’s colors as he played n the Pan Am Games in Toronto in July 2015.

In 2014, John was named to the NSCAA All-Freshman Second Team while being All-ACC Third Team and All-ACC Freshman Team. He tied for the team lead in points with 11 as he scored five goals with one assist. He scored the game-winning goals against Wake Forest and George Washington. He also scored a goal and added an assist against NC State.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 25, 2016, 07:27:59 PM
 1. ???

2. Fairly sure his scholarship at V Tech was valued more than his pay in the Pro League. 

3. Waiting on the next announcement.
Post by: amielisadore on April 25, 2016, 07:41:49 PM
Ricardo John confirms loss of Virginia Tech scholarship; targets foreign pro deal
Wired868

Former Trinidad and Tobago National Under-20 and Under-23 Team striker Ricardo John is aiming to earn a professional contract abroad, after losing his football scholarship at Virginia Technical Institute.

John, who is 21 years old, confirmed that the NCAA (National Collegiate Athletic Association) opened an investigation into his eligibility, after he represented Central FC in a handful of Pro League games in January, during his school holidays.

The tall, pacy striker did not have a contract when he played and was an unpaid player for the “Couva Sharks.” However, it was a costly decision.

“The NCAA found a problem with how I played for Central, so the school filed a complaint,” John told Wired868. “I would have been ineligible (to play for Virginia Tech)… I didn’t know it would be against the (NCAA) rules once I didn’t sign a contract (with Central).”

John, who was in his sophomore year at Virginia Tech, was selected on the NSCAA (National Soccer Coaches Association of America) All-South Region Third-Team in the 2014 and 2015 seasons. He was doing a degree in hotel and tourism management.

READ MORE... (http://wired868.com/2016/04/24/ricardo-john-confirms-loss-of-virginia-tech-scholarship-targets-foreign-pro-deal/)
Post by: soccerman on April 25, 2016, 08:21:37 PM
1. ???

2. Fairly sure his scholarship at V Tech was valued more than his pay in the Pro League. 

3. Waiting on the next announcement.
The article above is accurate in how things went down, the NCAA investigated how he played at Central over Christmas break and ruled as ineligible to play as a student athlete.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 25, 2016, 08:33:48 PM
he quit school ???

No idea. But there seems to be a trend where a good few players on scholarships in the US return home before finishing.

Intriguing.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 25, 2016, 08:37:48 PM
Central has a former D-I athlete running things ... in the form of Sancho. Ouch. How could this happen?
Post by: amielisadore on April 25, 2016, 08:51:49 PM
To even entertain the thought of playing on a pro team where players receive money was dangerous. They tried to avoid it by him not having a contract but this was always going to be the outcome. He tried to have his cake and eat it to, but unfortunately it backfired for his university career.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 25, 2016, 08:55:03 PM
Did Central have injuries at the time?
Post by: amielisadore on April 25, 2016, 09:15:41 PM
Did Central have injuries at the time?
I think that when he first played was around the time that Central lost Guerra and Plaza.
Post by: Flex on April 28, 2016, 04:25:49 AM
The Ricardo John scholarship lesson.
By Alvin Corneal (Guardian).

If the young footballers do not take a hint after hearing of the young (Central FC) player, then it will be worth your while to find out.

Ricardo John is a young T&T player whose desire to earn a bachelor’s degree at an American university by way of a scholarship. Unknowingly, he played for the Central FC in the champions’ league before he decided to accept a scholarship from Virginia Technical University.

I suppose it was because he was influenced by fast talking coaches who did not know the rules pertaining to the University rules which forbid scholarship students to participate in Football in any professional fashion and organisation prior to accepting attendance for scholarship.

This has occurred at a very opportune time where the urge to respond to requests from the prop league clubs has attracted the attention of the youngsters who are not even aware of the rules.

John has learnt his lesson and it is good that he has publicised his mistake because there have been others who have also been rejected in a similar manner and had to return home without a degree and to restart their careers.

Today, there are many young very promising players who are awaiting scholarships at various universities and continuing their Academy participation until they are eligible and acceptable for scholarships, (whether it be football, swimming, track and field, basketball or any other sport).

Only recently, great emphasis was made regarding the prospective recruits who are encouraged to join the Pro League clubs in order to be exposed to the national youth teams.

The young talented ones who are making an organised headway to university scholarships in the USA, are under the impression that they will not be considered for selection in our National Youth programs.

Naturally, we do not have the best teams on the field because of this dilemma and one can only hope that a most obvious exposure will be given to these outstanding players who are just awaiting scholarships abroad.

As we speak, there are more than eight students whose ability should have attracted the powers that be for the present youth teams, and parents should be keen in taking a closer look at this situation in order to allow your children the opportunities which are available.

It is interesting to reflect on the number of scholarship winners over the past two decades, and continue their professional careers after they have graduated. If you doubt me, ask, Ian Bain, Alvin Henderson, Neil Williams, Keith look Loy, David Nakhid, Garnet Craig, Veron Skinner, Shaka Hislop, Graeme Rodriguez, Garth Pollonais, Brian Haynes, his brother Frank Haynes, who now has a doctorate and lecturing at a top university in South Carolina, USA. I can go on with Julius James, Brent Rahim, Leston Paul and add another 30 others over the past three years. They have obtained an education and also excelled on the professional arena.

I hope that the owners of professional clubs will make it their duty to inform the youngsters whom they are approaching before they become another Ricardo John.

Post by: asylumseeker on April 28, 2016, 10:12:53 AM
Ricardo John is a young T&T player whose desire to earn a bachelor’s degree at an American university by way of a scholarship. Unknowingly, he played for the Central FC in the champions’ league before he decided to accept a scholarship from Virginia Technical University.

A departure from the facts.

Nonetheless, I agree with the implicit lesson being pointed to by Corneal.

Only recently, great emphasis was made regarding the prospective recruits who are encouraged to join the Pro League clubs in order to be exposed to the national youth teams.

A crafty tie-in.  ;D

P.S. The people at The Guardian seem not inclined to proofread and edit, despite ample evidence that such a practice is needed.
Post by: maxg on April 28, 2016, 06:08:24 PM

A departure from the facts.

Nonetheless, I agree with the implicit lesson being pointed to by Corneal.

A crafty tie-in.  ;D

P.S. The people at The Guardian seem not inclined to proofread and edit, despite ample evidence that such a practice is needed.
A quote from the Wired 868 piece
"Before the session started, the non-Pro League players were asked to stand up in front of their teammates.

“(The TTFA president) asked them what is the reason they are not with a Pro League club,” said the observer, who spoke on condition of anonymity. “The first two boys were Shim and St Hillaire and they said they were at academies and were focusing on improving their football with those academies.

“Then ‘Pappy’ said he was in Form Five and wanted to have some time to focus on exams. To which, John-Williams said ‘you are focusing on exams but you are here at national training (…) and just like you made a choice the coach has to make a choice’.

“He focused on Pappy for such a long time that he never got to ask Quinn Rodney why he was not at a Pro League club.”
Title: Toronto FC II sign Ricardo John
Post by: Tallman on August 04, 2016, 07:37:48 PM
Toronto FC II sign Ricardo John
Toronto FC Staff

Toronto FC II announced Wednesday that the club has signed forward Ricardo John to a USL contract. As per club and league policy, terms of the deal were not disclosed. He will be added to the roster upon receipt of his work permit and visa.

“Ricardo has been training with both our first and second teams over the past few weeks and has fit in well within the group,” said Toronto FC II Head Coach Jason Bent. “He is a player that has good pace and can add a new dimension to the team’s attack.”

John, 21, most recently signed with Central F.C. of the TT Pro League in April of 2016. Prior to signing with Central F.C., John spent two seasons at Virginia Tech University. He appeared in 34 matches, starting in 29, registering eight goals and three assists for the Hokies. During his collegiate career, John was named to the NSCAA All-South Region Third Team for the second straight season in 2015. During the 2014 season, John was named to the NSCAA All-Freshman Second Team, All-ACC Third Team and All-ACC Freshman Team.

John was named to Trinidad and Tobago's U-20 World Cup Qualifying squad and also competed with the Trinidad and Tobago U-23 national team as part of Olympic qualifying in the summer of 2015. John represented his country at the Toronto 2015 Pan Am Games.

TRANSACTION: Toronto FC II signed forward Ricardo John to a USL contract on Thursday August 4, 2016.

RICARDO JOHN

Position: Forward
Height: 6’3
Weight: 170
Birthdate: April 10, 1995
Birthplace: Arouca, Trinidad and Tobago
Nationality: Trinidad and Tobago
Last Club: Central F.C.
How Acquired: Signed with Toronto FC II on August 3, 2016
Pronunciation: “REE-CAR-DO JON”
Post by: soccerman on August 04, 2016, 09:18:04 PM
Glad for Ricardo, all the best!
Post by: Tallman on August 29, 2016, 07:05:05 AM
WATCH: Ricardo John scores a brace in his Toronto FC II debut

https://www.youtube.com/v/Up9w3hvrqtg

https://www.youtube.com/v/2A8vEWK_NJE
Post by: maxg on August 29, 2016, 08:17:09 AM
 http://www.torontofc.ca/post/2016/08/28/coach-brought-me-be-number-9-and-thats-what-im-gonna-do-ricardo-john?autoplay=true (http://www.torontofc.ca/post/2016/08/28/coach-brought-me-be-number-9-and-thats-what-im-gonna-do-ricardo-john?autoplay=true)
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on August 29, 2016, 09:00:43 AM
That second goal shows determination and hustle!!
Post by: maxg on August 29, 2016, 11:36:44 AM
That second goal shows determination and hustle!!
Almost scary even.
Post by: Adam Lake on September 05, 2016, 05:32:15 PM
We need to see some of that hustle from KJ tomorrow night as well as the remainder of the Hex
Post by: Tallman on September 11, 2016, 07:49:34 PM
WATCH: Ricardo John scores the game-winning goal in Toronto FC II’s 2-1 win over Orlando City B

https://www.youtube.com/v/2VPZmXVm6ug
Post by: Tallman on September 12, 2016, 04:44:05 PM
WATCH: Interview with Ricardo John after his game-winning goal in Toronto FC II’s 2-1 come-from-behind win over Orlando City B. (http://www.torontofc.ca/post/2016/09/11/we-had-reward-fans-win-ricardo-john?autoplay=true)
Post by: Tallman on February 03, 2017, 09:47:12 PM
From Bon Air to Toronto FC II, Ricardo John reveals the truth behind his massive switch
5050sportfactoryltd.blogspot.com

At a staggering 6"2, this "nice nice dougla boy" from Bon Air has etched his name into Trinidad and Tobago's history as one of our finest bred football talents. Ricardo Enrique John has lit up the school, youth and local professional leagues and is now maintaining that success at the USL level. A young man of tremendous humility and a permanent smile tattooed on, he has overcome his share of trials that have forced him to transform his mindset and strive for excellence, against all odds.

He has attributed his parents as sources of inspiration. After losing his mother at a tender age, his family structure became his career's provenance. "My childhood has been a bitter-sweet one. The death of my mother at such a young age affected my family a lot, but we have stuck together and were there for each other while growing up. He continued, " I think that made us stronger!" "I started playing football because of my dad," he enthusiastically shared. "Ever since I can remember, I've been following him around to his games. I picked up a love for the games from there."

The twenty-one year old named current T&T defender Sheldon Bateau as the player that he emulates. "I admire his heart and attitude on the pitch. He carries himself as a true professional."

Zuggy or Zig Zug, as he is popularly known as, has attained great success throughout his career. From coppingthe 2013 SSFL MVP and Player of the Year, to winning the Caribbean Cup with pro league giants Central FC, he is now with the Canadian based Toronto FC USL team and is on preseason with the MLS team. After leaving his alma mater St. Augustine Secondary School (Green Machine), he secured a scholarship to Virginia Tech. That would not be a lasting deal though, as his faith and belief in his abilities pushed him to higher levels

The multi-talented ace described his journey and time at Toronto FC, as the the best of his career thus far. "It has really opened my eyes to what being a real professional is like." He continued, "Being up close and personal with the likes of Jozy Altidore, Sebastien Giovinco and Bradley is really a great experience. "The desire to be professional is what motivated me most. I believe in myself! The people around me bekieved in me too, so I took a chance and it worked in my favour."

He insisted that in order to become a professional at any level in any sport, sacrifices need to be made. From liming to going boat rides before a game... It will be worth it in the end. "I sacrificed like any other athlete." He continued, "Being successful motivates me. Being able to make a difference and impact people's lives through football is what drives me the most." He has had the opportunity to record one of his greatest moments while on national duty, when he scored against Mexico at the Pan American games.

When he is not on official business, Ricardo enjoys a piping hot plate of his favourite food - Buss Up Shot and Curry. He stated that his goal in this 2017 season is to become the leading goal scorer on the team and help push the team to a play off spot. "I also aim to make the move up to the MLS team."

With eyes on a possible spot on the National Senior Men's football team, he is gunning for gold. Asked about New National coach, Dennis Lawrence's appointment, he stated, "I think it is a move in the right direction after Saintfiet's saga." He concluded, "Dennis Lawrence headed us to a World Cup once, I hope he can coach us to another."

Boasting of a whopping 26 goals to his name in one season for the Green Machine and leading them to East Zone and National Championships, there is no doubt that he can achieve this feat of success. The passion he possesses for the game is indescribable and infectious. He is unstoppable!
Title: We are TFC II - Ricardo John
Post by: Tallman on August 17, 2017, 07:00:15 AM
We are TFC II - Ricardo John
By Adam Krueger (torontofc.ca)

On this week’s edition of We Are TFC II, we sit down with forward Ricardo John.

What has been your favourite moment in your soccer career thus far?

John: Scoring against Mexico at the 2015 Pan American Games.

What was it like to represent your country?

John: It was a great feeling. To represent your country at an international level. Playing against big teams like Mexico, Paraguay, and Uruguay. It was an amazing experience. A once in a lifetime experience.

Was that your first-time visiting Toronto?

John: Yeah it was.

What was your first impression?

John: Very good. The Pan Am games were an amazing event. Very well done. I fell in love in Toronto during the games.

At what moment did you know you could go pro?

John: When I was called into the Trinidad and Tobago U-20 national team.

Do you have a coach/mentor that has impacted your soccer career?

John: Zoran Vranes had the biggest impact on my career. He showed confidence in me and taught me to be comfortable on the ball and enjoy the game.

How did you find your experience at Virginia Tech?

John: It was nice. I had just finished my high school season back home. It was great to get a scholarship to go to VT. It’s a nice college town. Everyone there is friendly. Blacksburg is a great place to be.

A player you like to model your game after?

John: I model my game after Edison Cavani. He has a high work rate, very good in the air and is a composed finisher.

Taking a quick look at your phone, which photo in it means the most to you?

John: A photo of my family, they mean a lot to me and we have a very strong bond.

How do you like to spend your free time?

John: Playing FIFA and just hanging out with friends.

Do you have a favourite movie?

John: Hackshaw Ridge

Music Artist?

John: Popcaan

How have you found the adjustment to life in Toronto/Canada?

John: It hasn’t been that hard. I’ve been away from home for a while with college in the US so it wasn’t that hard. Toronto is a nice city so it’s been easy to adjust to.

What do you miss the most about home?

John: My family for sure.

Favourite thing about the city?

John: The people. Everyone is so friendly here. When you go downtown and people are smiling at you, it’s great.

If you weren’t playing soccer, what would you be doing?

John: I’ve never thought about that. Soccer has always been my dream and my passion. I’ve honestly never thought of life outside of soccer.

Your nickname is Zuggy, is there a story behind it?

John: My first day in high school I had a bad haircut. We call it a “zugg” back home. So one of my friends just started calling me Zuggy and it stuck my entire time in high school. I just took it in stride.
Post by: Tallman on November 11, 2017, 11:04:53 PM
Made his national senior team debut against Grenada last night. Came on as a substitute in the 84th minute.
Post by: Tobago28 on November 14, 2017, 09:09:57 AM
Please for him that he got his first cap, however how he was selected is puzzling. He played 10 games for Toronto FC II in 2017 not having scored a goal. On his team are Telfer and Andrews who had much better season and more appearance but they did not get a call. Not to mention his team was the worst team in the Eastern Conference of USL.

At least they looking at USL seriously, Ranjitsingh get a call but made the right choice as he just won the 2017 USL Cup.

Interesting that two TNT nationals have won back to back USL Cup's but neither have received a cap for TnT.

Noah Powder NYRBII 2016
Greg Ranjitsingh Louisville FC 2017
Post by: Tallman on January 09, 2018, 03:42:25 PM
Forward Ricardo John has joined Salvadoran Primera División club, C.D. Luis Ángel Firpo, for the 2018 Clausura season. (https://www.elgrafico.com/futbol/Firpo-presento-su-nomina-completa-para-el-Clausura-2018-20180109-0008.html)
Post by: Tallman on February 08, 2018, 07:40:49 AM
WATCH: Ricardo John opens his goalscoring account with C.D. Luis Ángel Firpo with a spectacular effort during a 1-1 draw with Sonsonate FC.

https://www.youtube.com/v/Q3wGRcsFfGs?start=24
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on February 20, 2018, 09:02:06 AM
sweet goal!
Post by: maxg on February 21, 2018, 02:13:36 AM
sweet goal!

yes, but is give , that opposing player, give him the ball ? Dah'iz he padna from 'long time' ah wha ?
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on February 23, 2018, 02:36:58 PM
sweet goal!

yes, but is give , that opposing player, give him the ball ? Dah'iz he padna from 'long time' ah wha ?

Maybe eh caw dat was ah dread giveaway lol
Post by: Tallman on March 18, 2018, 09:10:01 AM
WATCH: Ricardo John’s 81st minute penalty earns CD Luis Ángel Firpo a 2-2 draw with CD Municipal Limeño

https://www.youtube.com/v/KGU5N31KM2Y?start=105
Post by: Tallman on March 25, 2018, 09:55:55 AM
WATCH: Ricardo John starts the comeback by scoring a fantastic header in CD Luis Ángel Firpo’s 4-1 come-from-behind win over AD Isidro Metapán. It is the 200th goal of the 2018 Clausura Tournament.

https://www.youtube.com/v/MMjZqIzr6NE?start=56
Post by: asylumseeker on March 25, 2018, 11:20:24 AM
Can we say he's in good form at the moment? He's definitely coming across as being comfortable in his club environment and thriving.
Post by: soccerman on March 25, 2018, 03:35:02 PM
Can we say he's in good form at the moment? He's definitely coming across as being comfortable in his club environment and thriving.
It certainly seems that way, keep it up Cardo.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 13, 2018, 06:17:38 AM
It has been a challenging last few weeks for Ricardo John and players at his club. They've been playing, but they've not been paid in recent time.

An attempt will be made to get Ricardo John's reaction to the situation, should he wish to comment.
Title: Up close with Ricardo John..A Q&A with the CD Luis Ángel Firpo forward
Post by: Tallman on April 23, 2018, 06:20:48 AM
Up close with Ricardo John..A Q&A with the CD Luis Ángel Firpo forward
By Chambi Sey

On behalf of socawarriors.net, the following interview with Ricardo John was conducted by Chambi Sey, in consultation with Nigel Myers. The interview occurred on multiple days spanning April 17, 2018 through April 20, 2018.

Ricardo Enrique John is a center forward attached to Club Deportivo Luis Ángel Firpo based in Usulután, El Salvador.

Q: Would you like to share with us what your experience of football in El Salvador has been like?
A: It has been an amazing experience so far. The level of football is high. It's a very competitive and technical league. Football is their life over here. The fan base is amazing, they support the team in good and bad and that's important. Overall it has been an eye-opening experience and I think my time here will help my game to improve.

Q: What led to you playing in El Salvador? How did the opportunity arise?
A: Through my representative. He contacted me [and told me] that one of the most historic teams in El Salvador wanted to sign me, so I jumped at the opportunity.

Q: Sometimes you tweet in Spanish. Why?
A: So the fans of the team can understand.

Q: What has been the reaction to your tweets from the fans?
A: Some good, some bad, but mostly encouragement. They all want the team to do well, so they are always encouraging.

Q: Do you have someone tweet for you or are you doing it yourself?
A: No, I do it for myself.

Q: What sort of things have you had to do to adapt your game to the Salvadoran league?
A: I'd say the pace of the game is played fast in the league and the defenders are physical, they don't give you an inch.

Q: So what do you do to nullify those things?
A: I just stick to my game, pass and move and use my speed to get on behind defenses.

Q: How do you think you would have adjusted had you gone to El Salvador directly from Virginia Tech?
A: My time at Toronto definitely prepared me for life in El Salvador. I learned a lot in Toronto, seeing guys like Altidore, Bradley and Giovinco train and how they carry about themselves and being able to train with them showed me what a professional footballer is all about.

Q: Did you have any First Team opportunities there?
A: I trained with the First Team a couple of times, but never played in any games.

Q: Have you always played as a forward?
A: I played defense for a little, back in high school but I've always preferred playing as a forward and scoring goals.

Q: Was there someone in football in Trinidad and Tobago who helped you with that opportunity?
A: Brent Bennett went to school with one of my coaches at Virginia Tech and they were looking  for a forward at the time. Mr. Bennett was a former player of Michael Grayson who was my coach at St. Augustine Sec. That year I won the Golden Boot and MVP awards for the school league. Virginia Tech came and watched one of my games and they were impressed and the rest is history.

Q: Up until what age did you play as a defender?
A: Probably 16.

Q: How many seasons did you play in the Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL)? 
A: Five. Three seasons with Trinity College East and two seasons with St. Augustine.

Q: Which coaches in Trinidad and Tobago football have been the most influential on your progress? Be frank.
A: Michael Grayson definitely. He changed the way I play and taught me to play with confidence. Zoran Vranes helped me a lot [during] my time with him with the U23s. My game developed a lot. I think under him I played the best football of my career so far.

Q: Do you stay in touch with those coaches?
A: Yes, I see Grayson every time I go back to Trinidad and I talk to Vranes on Facebook.

Q: At what age did you start playing organized football?
A: I started late. I would say in high school. I was never involved in any academies or anything like that.

Q: You're a young man, but what would you like to pursue after your playing days are done?
A: I have to finish my degree in hospitality and tourism management and probably get into something in that field.

Q: There was a labor dispute at your club recently. Reports indicate that players had not been paid. Could you shed light on where the situation stands?
A: Yes, we had some problems with the sponsors but the president has since paid the debt that was owed.

Q: For how long did the team not practice?
A: Only two days.

Q: Has that experience shaped your thoughts on what could, or should, be done with football in Trinidad and Tobago to improve the job security of players?
A: I think a players' union in Trinidad will help that situation a lot.

Q: Have you had any outreach from the national team staff?
A: No, I haven't. After the friendly against Grenada, Coach Lawrence told me he was impressed with me and to keep working to improve my game.

Q: What do you think you need to do to earn a consistent place?
A: Start scoring more consistently with my club.

Q: Do you see Leston [Paul] often?
A: No, not really. Our teams are probably a three hour drive from each other, but I talk to him every day.

Q: What advice would you give to any player from T&T who is thinking about playing in El Salvador?
A: I would say to always work hard, even though it's a foreign country and a different language, to always work hard every day.

Q: You've played in the USL, the TT Pro League and in the Salvadoran Primera Division. How do the leagues compare to each other?
A: Every league has its own style. The USL, of course, is the more attractive league because of all the money and sponsors they have. It is a competitive league with a lot of good players. The travel schedule is also difficult. Playing in Toronto almost all our away games are in America so that plays a toll on you. In El Salvador it is a very technical and physical league. There are teams like Alianza and Santa Tecla who can easily beat many USL teams. Santa Tecla beat Seattle Sounders in the [CONCACAF] Champions League this season. It might not be as glamorous as the USL, but it is definitely competitive.

Q: How have you been received as a black player in the league?
A: I have been received as any other player would be received. Race is not a problem over here.

Q: Please describe for your fans what a typical day is like for you. How is the day structured?
A: Wake up at 7 in the morning, have breakfast and go to training for 9. After, I have lunch and just relax for the rest of the day. More or less, it is the same everyday. Eat, train, sleep, repeat.

Q: Earlier in the interview, you mentioned Michael Grayson's role in your development. What are your thoughts about his firing by St. Augustine?
A: This is football, coaches and players come and go. I think maybe the school could have done more to honor his time at the school.

Q: Who is your favorite player on the international scene? Why?
A: I like Sheldon Bateau a lot. His attitude on and off the field epitomizes what a professional player should be. He leaves everything on the pitch and that is commendable.

Q: Same question applied to within the TT Pro League.
A: In the pro league I would say Triston Hodge. We played together in St Augustine and then at Toronto. He is a very good defender, very technical. I always loved playing with him.

Q: Could you name an up and coming player that T&T football fans should be on the lookout for? Perhaps a player that is off the radar? A player who is under 18?
A: Jaydon Prowell is a up and coming player that we should look out for. He is a very good forward for his age. I saw him play at Central and St. Anthony’s and he has a lot of potential. Once he keeps working hard, he can become a good player.

Q: You became a professional player prematurely due to being ruled ineligible to continue as an amateur in the NCAA system. Is that something you regret?
A: No, I don’t regret it. My dream was always to play professionally abroad and I thank God every day I am able to do that.

Q: What led to the ineligibility decision and what could have been done to avoid it happening?
A: I played in the pro league on my off-season. I was under the impression that I could of (sic) played if I had not signed a contract. I think NCAA players can pay more attention to the Rules because there are a lot of things you can lose eligibility for.

Q: Do you consider yourself 100% responsible?
A: Yes, it was my decision and I take full responsibility for it.

Q: During your time with Central FC, how was the experience and how did that opportunity come about?
A: The experience was great at Central. I won a TT Pro League title and Caribbean Cup there. It was a great learning experience playing with guys like [Ataulla] Guerra, Leston Paul, Sean de Silva, Jamal Jack, Jan-Michael [Williams]. My good friend Adrian Romain brought me to the club.

Q: Was Aikim [Andrews] a direct replacement for you at TFC II? Didn't you want to stay in Toronto?
A: We played a season together at Toronto, my second and his first. I wouldn’t say my direct replacement because we are two different players. Toronto is a great club, but this is the business. Players come and players go. It isn’t always a bed of roses.

Q: What's your ambition for the rest of 2018?
A: Well, my first goal is to try to win the Clausura championship with my club. I hope to become a regular on the national team.

Q: Final question: who are you backing to win the World Cup and why?
A: For the World Cup definitely Argentina. They have the best player in the world in Messi and they play attractive attacking football that is a joy to watch, so I hope they can lift the trophy at the end of the tournament.

SW: Ricardo, on behalf of socawarriors.net, thank you for sharing and interacting with us. May the most of what you want be the least of what you get.

RJ: No problem, my pleasure.

About the Interviewer
Chambi Sey earned the Máster Internacional en Negocios y Administración del Fútbol (MINAF) at the Johann Cruyff Institute. Although MINAF has graduates from CONMEBOL and UEFA member nations, he is the first and only MINAF graduate from a CONCACAF member association country other than Mexico. MINAF graduates occupy positions of influence across the gamut of professional football. Among other credentials, Chambi holds coaching and technical development certification from the Deutscher Fußball Bund, the German football federation, and another Master's degree in Physical Education and Sport Administration with a concentration in Public Administration.
Post by: Tallman on April 23, 2018, 12:05:03 PM
WATCH: Ricardo John scores a late goal in CD Luis Ángel Firpo’s 2-1 loss to CD Audaz

https://www.youtube.com/v/nbCmfjWNtIU?start=215
Title: Re: Up close with Ricardo John..A Q&A with the CD Luis Ángel Firpo forward
Post by: soccerman on April 24, 2018, 04:04:22 PM
Title: Re: Up close with Ricardo John..A Q&A with the CD Luis Ángel Firpo forward
Post by: asylumseeker on April 27, 2018, 06:42:54 AM
The player seems to have struck a diplomatic note when he discussed Grayson's firing. In the interview he states that Adrian Romain is his "good friend". Seems like he was walking a fine line while giving both Grayson and Romain their due. Recall this (https://wired868.com/2016/04/28/green-machine-has-dropped-the-ball-in-sacking-of-coaches-grayson-and-desiree/) and this (https://wired868.com/2016/05/09/grayson-sarjeant-and-cyrus-speak-out-on-shock-dismissals-at-st-augustine-and-st-benedicts/).
Post by: asylumseeker on May 10, 2018, 10:05:07 AM
The player seems to have struck a diplomatic note when he discussed Grayson's firing. In the interview he states that Adrian Romain is his "good friend". Seems like he was walking a fine line while giving both Grayson and Romain their due. Recall this (https://wired868.com/2016/04/28/green-machine-has-dropped-the-ball-in-sacking-of-coaches-grayson-and-desiree/) and this (https://wired868.com/2016/05/09/grayson-sarjeant-and-cyrus-speak-out-on-shock-dismissals-at-st-augustine-and-st-benedicts/).

And now these comments by Anthony Streete (regarding why he left Rangers) that mirror the comments made when the Grayson sacking occurred at St. Augustine.

How should Romain's alleged conduct be viewed? As a pattern of conduct or as uncorrelated coincidence?

Streete joins TTSL newcomers, RSSR, as coach; Matura unveil three-year ambitions.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

Last year, the wily coach served as back-up to head coach Adrian Romain at Rangers as part of a merger between the football team and sponsor, MIC-IT.

Romain, who was instrumental in bringing MIC-IT on board, allegedly insisted on being head coach.

“When Adrain came, he said he wanted me to not be around for two weeks so he could set up his team,” Streete told Wired868. “You don’t want your assistant coach to be around? I could smell the coffee. So I decided to give him the freedom to coach the team.”

Post by: Tallman on August 31, 2018, 06:21:39 AM
WATCH: Ricardo John scores the game-winner in CD LA Firpo’s 2-1 win over CD Municipal Limeño

https://www.youtube.com/v/_UwAa2dwunY?start=108
Post by: Tallman on September 17, 2018, 12:28:24 PM
WATCH: Ricardo John scores in CD Luis Ángel Firpo’s 1-1 draw with Santa Tecla FC

https://www.youtube.com/v/o1bxT_x_FM8?start=63
Post by: Tallman on November 08, 2018, 05:52:19 PM
WATCH: Ricardo John scores a golazo in CD Luis Ángel Firpo's 1-1 draw with C.D. Municipal Limeño

https://www.youtube.com/v/-oeJV6Lr7HQ?start=45
Post by: Tallman on December 08, 2018, 10:45:04 AM

Striker Ricardo John has his contract with C.D. Luis Ángel Firpo terminated by mutual agreement/url] (https://www.elgrafico.com/futbol/Dirigencia-de-Firpo-ya-finiquito-a-sus-extranjeros-20181206-0015.html)
Post by: Tallman on September 16, 2019, 12:32:54 PM
Striker Ricardo John has joined Honduran Second Division club, Juticalpa FC. Los Canecheros campaign in Group D of the Liga de Ascenso.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EEmzEz4XsAIu8fn?format=jpg&name=medium)
Post by: Tallman on September 16, 2019, 01:56:04 PM
WATCH: Ricardo John heads in Juticalpa FC's second goal of the night during their 5-0 thrashing of Inter FC.

https://www.youtube.com/v/Nif37P22m8A?start=2652
Post by: Tallman on November 01, 2019, 09:05:14 PM
WATCH: Ricardo John nutmegs the defender and curls the ball into the far corner to round off the scoring in Juticalpa FC's 2-0 win over CD Gimnástico.

https://www.youtube.com/v/pAMXuNhYmEM?start=7223
Post by: asylumseeker on April 26, 2022, 04:53:02 PM
WATCH: Ricardo John nutmegs the defender and curls the ball into the far corner to round off the scoring in Juticalpa FC's 2-0 win over CD Gimnástico.

https://www.youtube.com/v/pAMXuNhYmEM?start=7223

Dear Ricardo John,

How did you go from Juticalpa to Anguilla? What's the Master Plan for career rescue?

Please and thanks.