Sports => Football => Topic started by: E-man on October 25, 2014, 07:33:31 PM

Title: Thread for the T&T WNT vs Mexico WNT Game (26-Oct-2014)
Post by: E-man on October 25, 2014, 07:33:31 PM
(https://scontent-a-ord.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfa1/v/t1.0-9/1958567_10152842307744314_5245691398254831729_n.jpg?oh=21ef9557f6a95bdbecc954d646bdc95f&oe=54EE01DF)

As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the Mexico WNT vs T&T WNT 2014 CONCACAF Women's Championship 3rd place match/2015 World Cup Qualifiers game at PPL Park, Chester, PA 3:00 PM EDT on the 26th of October 2014 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

Ticket Info for PPL Park (http://www.philadelphiaunion.com/ppl-park/ppl-park-non-union-events-calendar)

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

Possible Online Streams.

CONCACAF Gamecast (http://www.concacaf.com/category/world-cup-qualifying-women/game-detail/211471)

Foxsoccer2go.com (http://www.foxsoccer2go.com/match/eventid/969449/mexico_v_trinidad_&_tobago)

http://cricfree.sx/fox-sports-1-usa-live-stream.php

Possible TV Station.

FOX Sports 1

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers

Kimika Forbes, Tinesha Palmer.

Defenders

Ayanna Russell, Rhea Belgrave, Arin King, Liana Hinds, Brianna Ryce, Khadisha Debessette, Lauren Hutchinson, Patrice Superville.

Midfielders

Khadidra Debessette, Maylee Attin Johnson, Janine Francois, Karyn Forbes, Anique Walker.

Forwards

Mariah Shade, Dernelle Mascall, Tasha St Louis, Ahkeela Mollon, Kennya Cordner.

Coach - Randy Waldrum.

Mexico Squad

GOALKEEPERS

Cecilia Santiago, Pamela Tajonar

DEFENDERS

Arianna Romero, Bianca Sierra, Alina Garciamendez, Paulina Solís, Kenti Robles, Mónica Alvarado, Christina Murillo

MIDFIELDERS

Liliana Mercado, Nayeli Rangel, Teresa Noyola, Karla Nieto, Dinora Garza

FORWARDS

Charlyn Corral, Stephany Mayor, Mónica Ocampo, Veronica Perez, Tanya Samarzich, Luz Duarte

COACH - Leonardo Cuéllar

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.
Title: Re: Thread for the T&T WNT vs Mexico WNT Game (26-Oct-2014)
Post by: dreamer on October 25, 2014, 09:45:56 PM
Good luck again ladies. Doh study the fans, just play hard and doh put pressure on yourselves
Just think of strategies how to confuse the opposition.
Strategies like how to use Cordner, Mollon and Shade in a different way with other players stepping up in surprise attack and how to try some new set play tricks
Remember they have been scouting how you take penalties so try to mix it up.
We are proud of you win lose or draw. Seriously.
Post by: Carib-Briton on October 26, 2014, 06:17:01 AM
Good luck ladies!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hkuf6xjD01U
Post by: AB.Trini on October 26, 2014, 06:48:34 AM
Yes you can- best of luck ladies

Post by: che on October 26, 2014, 07:33:04 AM
Come on Lady Warriors, you can do this.
Post by: trinbago1 on October 26, 2014, 09:26:34 AM
Good luck ladies, important thing today, start aggressive, give mexico no space. 100% support ladies, bless
Post by: Socapro on October 26, 2014, 10:47:57 AM
Good luck Soca Princesses.

I prayer that you bring your A game from the whistle this afternoon and keep your intensity for the full 90 minutes and I know you can do it.

Let Mexico be the ones to play the home and away play-off against Ecuador as they are more suited and accustom to playing at altitude than we are.
Post by: Socapro on October 26, 2014, 11:28:31 AM
I suspect we will be able to follow the game live this afternoon featuring our T&T Soca Princesses vs Mexico from this link: http://cricfree.sx/fox-sports-1-usa-live-stream.php
Post by: gawd on pitch on October 26, 2014, 12:58:52 PM
The key is to not concede any early goals. Then the pressure will be on Mexico. We can do this. Good luck women warriors!
Post by: gawd on pitch on October 26, 2014, 01:04:51 PM
stream

http://www.astream.tv/liveonline/1/928396/october-26-2014/mexico-trinidad-and-tobago-football-womens-football.html
Post by: che on October 26, 2014, 01:08:02 PM
Game can be seen here : http://www.wiz1.net/channel59
Post by: toonmili on October 26, 2014, 01:16:23 PM
Their passing is really poor. Basic passing they are messing up.
Post by: soccerman on October 26, 2014, 01:30:42 PM
Gawd damn...goal for Mexico
Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2014, 01:39:56 PM
Poor positioning on the throw-in. Had Mollon been in a withdrawn position on the throw-in, she would have been in the gap which made a containable situation dangerous.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2014, 01:50:59 PM
So much for the stereotype that our players are "faster".
Post by: gawd on pitch on October 26, 2014, 01:56:43 PM
We arent playing too bad. I think the long ball will be key for us.

@ Asylum.. You would think so. But this team is not as rested as Mexico's.
Post by: g on October 26, 2014, 01:57:28 PM
Seeing some fatigue for the first time.

I think they need to revisit the format. 5 games in less than 12 days is too much. We don't have the squad depth.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2014, 02:08:11 PM
We arent playing too bad. I think the long ball will be key for us.

@ Asylum.. You would think so. But this team is not as rested as Mexico's.

Saw it versus CRC as well re: change of pace. Also referring to technical speed with the ball.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2014, 02:20:23 PM
Poor positioning on the throw-in. Had Mollon been in a withdrawn position on the throw-in, she would have been in the gap which made a containable situation dangerous.

In fairness, although I take issue with her awareness and positioning on the throw-in, there's also the problem of a defender trying to make it 2 v 1 on the throw-in, but with the wrong teammate. Help was needed to deny the entry pass.

Too casual and poor defensive organization for players at this level on that throw-in.

Mexico could have opted for a long throw-in and we would have been poorly set-up either way.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2014, 02:21:43 PM
Goal!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Finally Ya-Ya shows up!
Post by: E-man on October 26, 2014, 02:22:35 PM
Sweeet! we're back in it.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2014, 02:38:56 PM
We're not quite in PK territory yet, but ...
Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2014, 02:45:16 PM
UCONN baby!!!  .... Shade!

WTH, that's twice now that MEX has transitioned to the goal after we've scored.  :pissedoff:
Post by: D.H.W on October 26, 2014, 02:47:39 PM
Lol
Post by: E-man on October 26, 2014, 02:49:10 PM
That player was left way open. And they knew how Mexico reacted right after the 1st goal. We should have had that handled. Fool me twice..
Post by: E-man on October 26, 2014, 02:53:56 PM
C'mon Forbes, cool your herbs.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2014, 02:55:26 PM
That player was left way open. And they knew how Mexico reacted right after the 1st goal. We should have had that handled. Fool me twice..

Ent!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Deeks on October 26, 2014, 02:59:07 PM
What is the score. Can't get the stream.
Post by: Jumbie on October 26, 2014, 02:59:27 PM
C'mon Forbes, cool your herbs.

ent! she failed to learn from the previous red card.
Post by: Jumbie on October 26, 2014, 02:59:44 PM
What is the score. Can't get the stream.

2:2 over time now

try this one: http://www.wiz1.net/channel59
Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2014, 03:03:31 PM
High drama.
Post by: Socaman on October 26, 2014, 03:04:37 PM
This game real intense...
Post by: Deeks on October 26, 2014, 03:06:14 PM
Not working for me. But two comebacks. jeez, these girls really have a spirit of resilience despite their shortcomings. Good luck in the pks.
Post by: Deeks on October 26, 2014, 03:08:40 PM
Oh shims! Game eh over yet. My iPad slow no tail. Score one before we go to pks!
Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2014, 03:10:53 PM
Deeks, we were up 2-1 (for about a minute).
Post by: D.H.W on October 26, 2014, 03:14:07 PM
Our women team rel improve boy. Big difference in quality
Post by: Savannah boy on October 26, 2014, 03:16:42 PM
Give up a shit goal.
Post by: Sando prince on October 26, 2014, 03:17:21 PM
NAH MAN! that goal was too easy for Mexico to score  >:(
Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2014, 03:18:09 PM
We have conceded the midfield.

Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2014, 03:22:39 PM
4-2. Too many pockets of space for the MEX attackers to ghost into. RT ticket to Quito time.
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 26, 2014, 03:23:02 PM
 on to ecuador it seems
Post by: Sando prince on October 26, 2014, 03:23:14 PM
Ok so what happened to our defense in the last couple mins of the game? Ah done in this thread
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 26, 2014, 03:30:07 PM
Our women team rel improve boy. Big difference in quality

Agreed but , i think we need more of our players  attending universities or going pro in europe 
Post by: Deeks on October 26, 2014, 03:31:28 PM
Guys, as much as I am disappointed, I knew we were always swimming upstream against the tide. What if Waldrun had everything in place without all the hoopla? They could have played some good warm ups against some decent teams. We definitely lack poise, tactical awareness and a few obvious things. But these are our " daughters" and we should give them encouragement to the very last. God Bless!!!
Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2014, 03:33:05 PM
Going to Ecuador will add to the experience base of this team. That's the good news. The bad news is that we have to go.
Post by: Savannah boy on October 26, 2014, 03:33:53 PM
Dem backs making nightmarish passes.
Post by: socalion on October 26, 2014, 03:41:04 PM
These ladies have my undauntung support  throughout this entire journey .. proud proud of these ladies ... for against all odds you have come this far....... your dream is very much alive   .. 100% support  all  the way through ... keep on pushing you'll get there ..... best wishes  once again to all the players and coaching staff ...... god bless
Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2014, 03:43:24 PM
Wish we were in a position to leave for altitude "right now". Via gradual introduction.
Post by: che on October 26, 2014, 03:44:00 PM
Good fight girls  :applause: Now we have to regroup and stay focus because the dream is still alive. Playing against Ecuador at altitude will not be easy but at least the second leg will be at home. Hold Ecuador on the road and finish them off at home.
Post by: royal on October 26, 2014, 03:44:38 PM
Next game in 2 weeks, November 8th in Ecuador. Hope they keep these girls together to work together. Also hope we go to a high altitude place to train now !!! 
Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2014, 03:45:02 PM
These ladies have my undauntung support  throughout this entire journey .. proud proud of these ladies ... for against all odds you have come this far....... your dream is very much alive   .. 100% support  all  the way through ... keep on pushing you'll get there ..... best wishes  once again to all the players and coaching staff ...... god bless

Fuh real.
Post by: soccerman on October 26, 2014, 03:45:19 PM
So it was 2-2 around the 90th minute, I left to run an errand real quick and come back to see game done and Mexico win ???
Post by: E-man on October 26, 2014, 03:47:17 PM
Still believe it can happen.

Ecuador will host the first leg on 8 November 2014, and Trinidad and Tobago the second leg on 2 December 2014
Post by: E-man on October 26, 2014, 03:47:46 PM
So it was 2-2 around the 90th minute, I left to run an errand real quick and come back to see game done and Mexico win ???

In extra time
Post by: soccerman on October 26, 2014, 03:50:37 PM
Was listening to the ladies on set and they were speaking positively in regards to our team advancing but Wynalda doubting us bc he says he don't think we have the resources.....

The ladies had a point though, the training camp in a place like Mexico will be ideal for us to adjust to the altitude in Ecuador.
Post by: royal on October 26, 2014, 04:08:55 PM
the ministry of sports should be asking, what do you need to qualify ?
Post by: Deeks on October 26, 2014, 04:12:49 PM
Yep they should go to Mex. for altitude training and play about two games against the Mex. team. then fly to Quito. the HCS should be full for the return.
Post by: socalion on October 26, 2014, 04:19:27 PM
I have every belief  this team will qualify for the world cup   ... keep in mind  ppl ecuador  have to come to face  us in the stadium as well ..... this is when home support will be especially vital,  here's hoping  fans turn up in their numbers  .   so coach  randy waldrum and crew  do your thing  we're behind you  and your team our team ......lets  get ready for the road ...
Post by: Sam on October 26, 2014, 04:19:52 PM
De ladies fight ad anh love them.

Hinds had a piss game and Mollon was a dead beat, nice girl, good skills and a fast player.

But just don't have the physicality to be on the field.

She was a ghost vs Costa Rica snd Mexico.

Arin King is a general.

Maylee Johanson was a BOSS !!!!!!! she fight to de end.

Then they bring on a ole lady name Tasha.

Post by: OutsideMan on October 26, 2014, 04:21:56 PM
Is it true that the T&T coach is not being paid to coach the team?  I heard one of the commentators mention that Coach Waldrum (T&T coach) has volunteered his services to the team, and is not being compensated.   ???
Post by: maxg on October 26, 2014, 04:22:46 PM
they could also stay in US and train in Denver playing against american university players etc. Also not far from coach home base. In addition to more practical travel arrangements and hospitality.
Post by: Tallman on October 26, 2014, 04:27:23 PM
HIGHLIGHTS of T&T Women vs Mexico Women

https://www.youtube.com/v/EqmMElJdkDI
Post by: socalion on October 26, 2014, 04:30:20 PM
LoL... jeezanages sam    yuh is real tears yes ... de other day yuh was beatin up  maylee  like a boboolee  , now  yuh doh think  mollon should be on the field  becuz ah she size ....  boss yuh  eh easy  :)  anyways ah know yuh mean well...
Post by: AB.Trini on October 26, 2014, 04:30:52 PM
the ministry of sports should be asking, what do you need to qualify ?

Another 50 grand - what ah joke to distract the team with money b4semis
Post by: Deeks on October 26, 2014, 04:37:47 PM
they could also stay in US and train in Denver playing against american university players etc. Also not far from coach home base. In addition to more practical travel arrangements and hospitality.

That is good also, max!
Post by: dreamer on October 26, 2014, 04:41:33 PM
Great fighting ladies that was a thrillah indeed. Allyuh have fight like Germans boy.
I hope the powers at be heard loud and clear what the commentators said about the next prep for T&T.
T&T can conquer Ecuador and the team needs financial support immediately to send those girls to a plac like Mexico at least 6000 feet to prepare.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2014, 04:50:52 PM
Yep they should go to Mex. for altitude training and play about two games against the Mex. team. then fly to Quito. the HCS should be full for the return.

Ideally, the teams we should play (if such a thing is realistic) are Colombia and Argentina. I would also opt for closed door contests in those or similar engagements.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2014, 05:10:33 PM
The temp in Quito this time of year is a high of round 65 deg F/ low of 48 ... 18 deg C/ low 9 deg. Lots of cloud cover and a fair amount of rain and thunderstorms.

I'm an advocate of immersion in every respect: culture/location, opponent, temp, altitude ...
Post by: Deeks on October 26, 2014, 05:24:35 PM
Boy I just watch the highlights. Man I feel for the Ladies. So close. Just the little mistakes. Blessing and lots of love.
Post by: gawd on pitch on October 26, 2014, 05:32:55 PM
Our women play without any fear. They dont panic. Much better composure than our men's team.

We need to get acclimatized to the high elevation for the next match. A game in Mexico or Colombia may be good preparation. However, I dont know if that is realistic considering that the game is in 14 days.

On a side note, Ecuador is not as mighty as suggested by the Fox commentators. They only got the high altitude as an advantage. I checked their recent results. Not too impressive. Especially considering that they played the tournament at home in the high altitude.

Ecuador    1–0    Peru
Barre Goal 84'

Ecuador    1–0    Venezuela
Vázquez Goal 30'   

Ecuador    0–1    Colombia
Ariza Goal 60'

Ecuador    1–2    Uruguay
Lattanzio Goal 87'    P. González Goal 7' Badell Goal 56'

Brazil    4–0    Ecuador
Cristiane Goal 14', 17'
Maurine Goal 37'
Raquel Goal 87'   

Argentina    2–3    Ecuador
Banini Goal 25'
Bonsegundo Goal 30'   Caicedo Goal 36' Rodríguez Goal 60' Lattanzio Goal 77'
Post by: dreamer on October 26, 2014, 05:42:52 PM
Time to get cracking on evaluating and analyzing the opponent:
Colombia vs Ecuador: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Wsxy96J398
Argentina vs Ecuador: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=77YuU_uhP4s
Let's go!
Post by: gawd on pitch on October 26, 2014, 05:43:18 PM
US 6 - 0 CR
76th min
Post by: King Deese on October 26, 2014, 05:48:53 PM
The wnt have more composure than the men's?

Well, maybe, they should send the wnt to the men' s world cup on a sneak tip?
Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2014, 06:05:22 PM
@ gawd-o-pitch

I would not dismiss 3 come-from-behind goals versus ARG. That was the match that got them into the playoff. And, that was 2 days after losing to Colombia 2-1 (they scored a late [consolation] goal in that encounter, after conceding a penalty early in the second half). The Colombia game was played in HEAVY! rain.

The 1-nil loss to Colombia was on September 17th during the group stage. The 2-1 match I mentioned occurred 9 days later. September 26th. Neither of these games was played in Quito, but the critical game v ARG was played there.

Post by: gawd on pitch on October 26, 2014, 06:14:18 PM
@ gawd-o-pitch

I would not dismiss 3 come-from-behind goals versus ARG. That was the match that got them into the playoff. And, that was 2 days after losing to Colombia 2-1 (they scored a late [consolation] goal in that encounter, after conceding a penalty early in the second half). The Colombia game was played in HEAVY! rain.

The 1-nil loss to Colombia was on September 17th during the group stage. The 2-1 match I mentioned occurred 9 days later. September 26th. Neither of these games was played in Quito, but the critical game v ARG was played there.

Okay. Never realized.
Post by: Tallman on October 26, 2014, 06:27:52 PM
Post-game interview with Anique Walker

https://www.youtube.com/v/NIpMpd2ozwg
Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2014, 06:36:36 PM
@ gawd-o-pitch

Okay. Never realized.

Yeah, there were 2 groups. Group A was COL, ECU, URU, VEN and PER. Group B was BRA, ARG, PAR, CHI, and BOL. Colombia dominated Group A (won all 4) and Ecuador was 2nd (won 2, skated through over Uruguay on goal difference). Brazil and Argentina went through from the other group essentially even (Argentina lost to Chile and Brazil lost to Argentina).

Then these 4 teams entered a round robin ... Ecuador won 1 of its 3 games (the one v. ARG). Finished 3rd to Brazil and Colombia and earned the berth to meet us. However, all 4 qualified for the Pan American games.  So ... they will be in Canada next year one way or the other.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2014, 06:58:23 PM
Why not a charter to lend support to our Warriors? If iz good enough fuh de men fuh Argentina, why not arrange one to Ecuador?
Post by: AB.Trini on October 26, 2014, 07:10:23 PM
Darn I don't put much credence in studies like this but there was one  which  looked at the success of teams wearing red. You know that is twice now that we lost to the teams in red. We have not had much luck in our white kits.

PS - I would be interested in a charter or an all inclusive- game accommodation flight transport to and from game.

Not interested if the travel agency is simpauls (sic) lol

On another note- just noticed it is a home and away- I am looking into flights to Trinidad - could be back home to take in the game.
Post by: Bakes on October 26, 2014, 07:45:27 PM
Disappointed for the ladies... lack of composure in defense cost them.  The positives is that they've grown a lot as a unit over the past several months, and indeed over the course of the past 10 days.  Let's keep improving, there's still one chance left to qualify, and it's certainly within their ability to do so  :beermug:
Post by: AB.Trini on October 26, 2014, 07:51:16 PM
In many ways a bit of déjà Vu 2006 - Bahrain all over - winner moves on to WC. You know we could never take the easy road.
Title: One last chance still for Soca Princesses
Post by: Socapro on October 26, 2014, 10:56:56 PM
One last chance still for Soca Princesses
By STEPHON NICHOLAS Monday, October 27 2014 (T&T Newsday)

The Soca Princesses have just one last chance to book their spot in next year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup after they were beaten 4-2 by Mexico in yesterday’s third/fourth match of the Concacaf Women’s Championship at the PPL Park, Chester, Pennsylvania.

Mexico, who rested their five best players for their semifinal vs USA, had a huge scare after Trinidad and Tobago rallied from a goal down in the 24th minute to snatch the lead in the second half.

A diving Kennya Cordner headed in the equaliser in the 57th minute from a right-sided cross by Ahkeela Mollon and 21 minutes later, the speedy Cordner turned provider.

The forward chased a pass down the left hand channel in what seemed like a lost cause but hooked it back into the danger area where a bustling Mariah Shade stabbed in the ball to stun the Central Americans.

Just one minute later, though, it was the Trinbagonians turn to be stunned, the Mexicans answering back immediately with Monica Ocampo heading her team level after a good run and cross from Sandra Mayor.

With no changes to the score after the end of the 90 minutes, Mexico were always going to be the favourites in extra time and their fresher legs definitely showed. A double from the dangerous Veronica Corral in the space of three minutes (104th and 106th) took the sting out of a spirited TT who finished the tournament in fourth spot.

The Soca Princesses will now have to qualify for the World Cup as their male counterparts did in 2005 with a home and away play-off against Ecuador. The first leg is in South American on November 8 with the return leg scheduled for December 2.

In 2005, the Soca Warriors created history by beating Bahrain 2-1 on aggregate to advance to the 2006 Germany World Cup for the very first time.

The TT women must now follow a similar path with the hope of repeating that feat.

Speaking with Newsday yesterday, Brent Sancho, a member of the Soca Warriors team that played in the World Cup, showered the national women with adulation and believes they can still achieve their ultimate dream.

“Seems like it is destiny,” Sancho said, when told that the team must qualify like they did through a play-off.

“I’m extremely proud in the girls’ performance for the entire tournament. They’ve shown a lot of resolve and a certain appetite and attitude to win and to be successful. You have to give them credit, they’ve been tremendous through the entire tournament despite all the adversity we have faced before and even during the tournament with injuries and suspensions etcetera. To go down twice in extra time against two of the strongest teams in women’s football in Concacaf, I’m really proud of their performance. It’s without doubt something they can hold their heads high.”

Asked whether the Mexican coach’s decision to basically concede their semifinal vs USA in anticipation of the third place match gave TT’s opponents the slight edge in extra time, Sancho agreed.

“It always would...Trinidad could not afford that luxury. Playing against Costa Rica we were three penalty kicks from qualifying for the World Cup so we have to start with our strongest team right through. It has been a gruelling tournament for these girls every single game. They’ve played with a lot of heart throughout,” he said.

National coach Randy Waldrum, on the eve of yesterday’s encounter, had warned his team against starting slowly vs Mexico and they certainly heeded his advice.

In the 4th minute, Cordner showed good anticipation to rob a Mexican defender of the ball on the edge of the Central Americans’ penalty area but was quickly closed down as she surged forward.

Cordner was looking active and intercepted another poor pass from Mexico but her switch to Mollon was deflected and the play broke down.

Mexico weathered the early TT storm and began to find their rhythm with their quick short-passing game.

They took the lead in the 24th when a cross off a throw-in was fizzed low into the box where Sandra Mayor took one touch before curling the ball into the back of the net. Corral was proving a handful and defender Brianna Ryce, drafted in for the suspended Rhea Belgrave, was yellow carded after taking a hand full of Corral’s jersey to stop a counterattack as the half ended 1-0.

The Soca Princesses, desperate for a way back into the match, began pushing bodies forward in search of an equaliser and defender Arin King almost got on the end of a loose ball in the area from a free-kick in the 51st.

Six minutes later though, a diagonal pass from the left by King dropped to Mollon on the right who wasted no time in crossing to the last post where a diving Cordner butted the ball into the back of the net.

The goal jolted Mexico into action and Veronica Perez (58th) and Ocampo (60th) had shots on goal repelled by the TT goalkeeper and defence respectively. The resulting corner kick though caused an almighty melee in the TT box after an error by goalkeeper Kimika Forbes with the crossbar, King and Lauren Hutchinson combining to somehow stop Mexico from scoring.

The TT defence was under tremendous pressure and it was a relief when a pass down the left was chased down by Cordner who hooked the ball into the Mexico penalty area where Shade was on-hand to knock it into the back of the net.

Perhaps still celebrating, the TT defenders were caught napping as Mayor dribbled past King down the right and sent a delightful ball to the back post which found the head of Ocampo who left Forbes no chance with a powerful strike.

Pushing for the winner, Mexico found an inspired Forbes who kept them at bay at the end of the second half.

With 30 minutes still to go, however, the TT women had little to offer as Corral finally broke free. A misjudgement by Ryce saw her miss her headed clearance from a right-sided cross and Corall chested the ball down in the box before poking it past an onrushing Forbes in the 104th.

Two minutes later, Corral sealed the victory after she was played through on goal, angling her right-footer past Forbes and to the far post.
Title: Heartbreak ...but Soca Princesses still alive after 4-2 loss to Mexico
Post by: Socapro on October 27, 2014, 07:59:39 AM
Heartbreak
...but Soca Princesses still alive after 4-2 loss to Mexico
By Ian Prescott ian.prescott@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Oct 26, 2014 at 11:26 PM ECT (T&T Express)

A two-leg World Cup playoff against Ecuador beckons for the Trinidad and Tobago women’s national football team, after a 4-2 extra time defeat to Mexico in yesterday’s third-place playoff at the 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championshipin in PPL Park in Chester, Pennsylvania.

The Soca Princesse travel to high altitude Ecuador for the first-leg on November 8, and play the second leg at home on December 2.

Ecuador has never beaten a CONCACAF team, losing 1-0 to Jamaica, and 4-0 to Canada at the 2007 Pan Am Games.

Ecuador reached the playoff beating Argentina 3-2 and earlier also beat a Venezuela (1-0) team, which T&T had defeated 5-0 in July at Ato Boldon Stadium. For a second time, the Soca Princessess were forced into extra-time, after the regulation period ended in a 2-2 draw.

Rested Mexican striker Veronica Corral, then scored twice to win the match.

The ‘Tri color’ led 1-0 in the 24th through former US Under-20 striker Steffany Mayor before T&T netted twice in the second half. Goals from Kennya Cordner (56th) and close-up finishing from Mariah Shade (78th), from Cordner’s first time cross into the penalty area, handed T&T a brief 2-1 lead with just over ten minutes to go. However, T&T were caught still celebrating when Monica O’Campo headed in Mayor’s cross at the back post in the 79th minute to level the match in regulation time.

Mexico came with a plan; T&T came with determination. Mexican coach Leonardo Cuellar rested his stars Veronica Charlyn Corral, Monica Ocampo, Veronica Perez, Teresa Noyola and Sandra Stephany Mayor from the semi-final match against the USA which he felt he could not win.

“We have some very skillful players who were not in the game,” Cuellar said after the 3-0 defeat to No 1 world-ranked USA. “We hope with the time they have been resting that they will be ready and definitely they can make a difference in our lineup. That’s our plan.”

Meanwhile, Soca Princesses coach Randy Waldrum spoke of determination and the never-say-die attitude of his players. “Whether it’s Sunday, whether it’s with Ecuador, this team I believe strongly is going to qualify,” the 58-year-old had said before the match. “We’ve got a handful of really, really talented players. It’s just a matter of putting the pieces together and get it done.”
Post by: Tallman on October 27, 2014, 07:22:11 PM
T&T Women’s Head Coach, Randy Waldrum, reflects on the loss to Mexico and looks ahead to the playoff series against Ecuador.

https://www.youtube.com/v/5YrEnBXn4bw
Post by: Flex on October 28, 2014, 12:37:53 AM
One last chance still for Soca Princesses
By STEPHON NICHOLAS (NEWSDAY).

The Soca Princesses have just one last chance to book their spot in next year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup after they were beaten 4-2 by Mexico in yesterday’s third/fourth match of the Concacaf Women’s Championship at the PPL Park, Chester, Pennsylvania.

Mexico, who rested their five best players for their semifinal vs USA, had a huge scare after Trinidad and Tobago rallied from a goal down in the 24th minute to snatch the lead in the second half.

A diving Kennya Cordner headed in the equaliser in the 57th minute from a right-sided cross by Ahkeela Mollon and 21 minutes later, the speedy Cordner turned provider.

The forward chased a pass down the left hand channel in what seemed like a lost cause but hooked it back into the danger area where a bustling Mariah Shade stabbed in the ball to stun the Central Americans.

Just one minute later, though, it was the Trinbagonians turn to be stunned, the Mexicans answering back immediately with Monica Ocampo heading her team level after a good run and cross from Sandra Mayor.

With no changes to the score after the end of the 90 minutes, Mexico were always going to be the favourites in extra time and their fresher legs definitely showed. A double from the dangerous Veronica Corral in the space of three minutes (104th and 106th) took the sting out of a spirited TT who finished the tournament in fourth spot.

The Soca Princesses will now have to qualify for the World Cup as their male counterparts did in 2005 with a home and away play-off against Ecuador. The first leg is in South American on November 8 with the return leg scheduled for December 2.

In 2005, the Soca Warriors created history by beating Bahrain 2-1 on aggregate to advance to the 2006 Germany World Cup for the very first time.

The TT women must now follow a similar path with the hope of repeating that feat.

Speaking with Newsday yesterday, Brent Sancho, a member of the Soca Warriors team that played in the World Cup, showered the national women with adulation and believes they can still achieve their ultimate dream.

“Seems like it is destiny,” Sancho said, when told that the team must qualify like they did through a play-off.

“I’m extremely proud in the girls’ performance for the entire tournament. They’ve shown a lot of resolve and a certain appetite and attitude to win and to be successful. You have to give them credit, they’ve been tremendous through the entire tournament despite all the adversity we have faced before and even during the tournament with injuries and suspensions etcetera. To go down twice in extra time against two of the strongest teams in women’s football in Concacaf, I’m really proud of their performance. It’s without doubt something they can hold their heads high.”

Asked whether the Mexican coach’s decision to basically concede their semifinal vs USA in anticipation of the third place match gave TT’s opponents the slight edge in extra time, Sancho agreed.

“It always would...Trinidad could not afford that luxury. Playing against Costa Rica we were three penalty kicks from qualifying for the World Cup so we have to start with our strongest team right through. It has been a gruelling tournament for these girls every single game. They’ve played with a lot of heart throughout,” he said.

National coach Randy Waldrum, on the eve of yesterday’s encounter, had warned his team against starting slowly vs Mexico and they certainly heeded his advice.

In the 4th minute, Cordner showed good anticipation to rob a Mexican defender of the ball on the edge of the Central Americans’ penalty area but was quickly closed down as she surged forward.

Cordner was looking active and intercepted another poor pass from Mexico but her switch to Mollon was deflected and the play broke down.

Mexico weathered the early TT storm and began to find their rhythm with their quick short-passing game.

They took the lead in the 24th when a cross off a throw-in was fizzed low into the box where Sandra Mayor took one touch before curling the ball into the back of the net. Corral was proving a handful and defender Brianna Ryce, drafted in for the suspended Rhea Belgrave, was yellow carded after taking a hand full of Corral’s jersey to stop a counterattack as the half ended 1-0.

The Soca Princesses, desperate for a way back into the match, began pushing bodies forward in search of an equaliser and defender Arin King almost got on the end of a loose ball in the area from a free-kick in the 51st.

Six minutes later though, a diagonal pass from the left by King dropped to Mollon on the right who wasted no time in crossing to the last post where a diving Cordner butted the ball into the back of the net.

The goal jolted Mexico into action and Veronica Perez (58th) and Ocampo (60th) had shots on goal repelled by the TT goalkeeper and defence respectively. The resulting corner kick though caused an almighty melee in the TT box after an error by goalkeeper Kimika Forbes with the crossbar, King and Lauren Hutchinson combining to somehow stop Mexico from scoring.

The TT defence was under tremendous pressure and it was a relief when a pass down the left was chased down by Cordner who hooked the ball into the Mexico penalty area where Shade was on-hand to knock it into the back of the net.

Perhaps still celebrating, the TT defenders were caught napping as Mayor dribbled past King down the right and sent a delightful ball to the back post which found the head of Ocampo who left Forbes no chance with a powerful strike.

Pushing for the winner, Mexico found an inspired Forbes who kept them at bay at the end of the second half.

With 30 minutes still to go, however, the TT women had little to offer as Corral finally broke free. A misjudgement by Ryce saw her miss her headed clearance from a right-sided cross and Corall chested the ball down in the box before poking it past an onrushing Forbes in the 104th.

Two minutes later, Corral sealed the victory after she was played through on goal, angling her right-footer past Forbes and to the far post.

Princesses slip in extra time.
T&T Guardian Reports.

T&T’s senior footballers lost their second of three opportunities to book their first ever spot at the Fifa Women’s World Cup, yesterday, after conceding two goals in extra time in a 4-2 loss to Mexico in the Concacaf Women’s Championship third place playoff, in Pennsylvania.

The disappointing loss, after another gruelling 120 minutes of football, followed only two days after Costa Rica defeated the Soca Princesses on penalty kicks after a 1-1 draw at full time at the semifinal stage.

The loss, again, was not the last chance for the team as it now remains with a third and final chance of qualifying for the World Cup via an intercontinental two-match playoff against Ecuador.

The South Americans will host the first leg on November 8, three weeks before T&T hosts the second on December 2.

Yesterday’s loss was perhaps more disappointing as the T&T players conceded a sloppy goal immediately after taking the lead late in the second half.

And, even though T&T started with much more purpose than it did against Costa Rica on Friday, efforts on goal were hard to come by. In fact, Mexico registered 19 shots, while T&T made only three attempts, two of which resulted in goals.

The Las Tri enjoyed a 1-0 lead at half-time after Sandra Mayor scored in the 24th minute, which clearly spurred T&T onto a much more positive second half performance.

But it took another 10 minutes to get the ball rolling for T&T in a desperate attempt to overturn the deficit. But coach Randy Waldrum’s team did just that in the 57th minute when Kennya Cordner scored her third goal of the tournament to level the scores.

Cordner met a beautiful cross from Ahkeela Mollon on the head and threw her frame forward to make it 1-1, a move very similar to Cordner’s two previous goals.

Buoyed and confident, T&T continued to enjoy more forward movement despite the hindrances of fatigue and capitalised once again to take a shock lead from Shade. Cordner with a strong run on the left side of the penalty box crossed in for Brianna Ryce who chested down in the path of an onrushing Mariah Shade to finish.

A celebratory frenzy ensued, but T&T switched off. Immediately after scoring, T&T conceded from the thorn in its side, Monica Ocampo, 30 seconds later, and returned on the back foot.

While not as damaging, the subsequent extra time periods bore similarities to the 7-3 loss T&T’s Under-20 women’s team suffered against Costa Rica in the Concacaf Championship in January after that third-place playoff ended 3-3 after regulation time.

This time, Mexico scored another two goals to ensure its second straight spot at the Women’s World Cup. Waldrum and his charges are expected to head back into camp almost immediately upon their return in order to regroup ahead of the playoffs, starting in under two weeks’ time.

Results

Mexico  4  v  T&T  2
Mayor 24    Cordner 57
Ocampo 79  Shade 78
Corral 104
Corral 106

United States  6  v  Costa Rica  0
Wambach 4
Lloyd 18
Wambach 35
Wambach 41
Leroux 73
Wambach 71

Teams

Trinidad & Tobago: - 1.Kimika Forbes (Yellow 88), 15.Liana Hinds (Yellow 71), 16.Brianna Ryce (Yellow 36), 5.Arin King, 20.Lauryn Hutchinson (8.Patrice Superville 93rd), 14.Karyn Forbes, 9.Maylee Attin-Johnson (capt), 6.Khadidra Debessette (10.Tasha St Louis 106th), 12.Ahkeela Mollon, 19.Kennya Cordner, 3.Mariah Shade.

Unused Substitutes: - 21.Tenesha Palmer (GK), 2.Ayanna Russell, 7.Dernelle Mascall, 11.Janine Francois, 13.Anique Walker, 18.Khadisha Debessette.

Coach: - Randy Waldrum.

Mexico: - 12.Pamela Tojonor, 13.Kenti Robles, 4.Alina Garciamendez, 15.Christina Murillo, 3.Bianca Sierra; 10.Sandra Mayor, 17.Verónica Pérez (Yellow 89) (18.Dinora Garza 114th), 8.Teresa Noyola (7.Lydia Rangel 48th), 16.Karla Nieto, 11.Monica Ocampo (19.Tanya Samarzich 106th), 9.Veronica Corral (capt) (Yellow 38).

Unused Substitutes: - 1.Cecilia Santiago (GK), 2.Ariana Romero, 5.Paulina Solis, 6.Liliana Mercado, 14.Monica Alvarado, 20.Luz Duarte.

Coach: - Leonardo Cuellar.

Referee: - Chenard.

Final Standings

USA - Champions
Costa Rica - Runners-up
Mexico - Third Place
Trinidad & Tobago - Forth Place

VIDEOS:

Trinidad and Tobago vs México Highlights (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EqmMElJdkDI)

CWC Flash Zone: Trinidad & Tobago vs. Mexico (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NIpMpd2ozwg)

Upcoming Games (Play-Off Spot)

Nov 8

Ecuador v Trinidad & Tobago, Nov 8, Ecuador

Dec 2

Trinidad and Tobago v Ecuador, Trinidad.