General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Flex on February 05, 2015, 03:00:07 AM

Title: Brent Sancho Thread.
Post by: Flex on February 05, 2015, 03:00:07 AM
Minister Sancho focuses on new venues.
T&T Express Reports.

In one of his first official meetings since being appointed Minister of Sport, Senator Brent Sancho reviewed plans yesterday morning for the opening of the three national venues for cycling, tennis and aquatics with executives of each of the respective National Governing Bodies (NGBs).

The meeting was also attended by outgoing Minister of Sport, Dr. Rupert Griffith. Each NGB has outlined a schedule of events to coincide with the opening of each mega facility. The events are designed to showcase the talent within the various disciplines, promote Trinidad and Tobago as a destination as well as market the modern facilities which will be accessible to elite athletes, local, regional and international.

According to a release from the Sports Company of Trinidad and Tobago (Sportt) Minister Sancho was pleased with the progress being made in each discipline and was careful to impress upon the executives the need to get value for money. He also was keen to learn about opportunities to secure investment from the private sector, for these events and beyond, so as to wean the NGBs off their heavy reliance on state funding.

Minister Sancho further stressed the need to increase participation in sports and improve the level of adjudication, officiating and use of timing and other technical systems so that future hosting of events may be driven by local expertise. Comprehensive training programmes in these areas will take place prior to opening of the facilities, the release stated.

Minister Sancho will conduct private site visits to each of the new national facilities over the weekend.
The National Cycling Velodrome in Couva and National Tennis Centre in Tacarigua are scheduled to be completed in June while the National Aquatics Centre, also in Couva, is due to come on stream in July/August.

Title: Re: Minister of Sport Brent Sancho Thread.
Post by: Deeks on February 05, 2015, 07:38:24 AM
Also check all the football/TF stadiums while you at it!!!!!!!
Post by: FF on February 05, 2015, 03:08:28 PM
Satire
Post by: Flex on February 08, 2015, 05:10:40 AM
Griffith willing to work with Sancho
T&T Newsday Reports.

DR RUPERT GRIFFITH, former Minister of Sports, is willing to work with his successor Senator Brent Sancho, during the transition period from one Minister to another.

Dr Griffith, who held the post as Sports Minister from August until last Monday, described his six-month period at the helm as “excellent”.

“When I went in there, it was a difficult period, everyone knew that, when (Anil) Roberts stepped down from the Ministry, and we had to stabilise things and pull it back up, which I think is what we did. It had always been a temporary appointment. It was a temporary arrangement. So (the Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar) made a decision now and I’m happy for Brent Sancho.”

He continued, “I propose to work with him as much as he would want me too, and assist him in discharging the remit of the Ministry. I’m very pleased to do that with him. I am glad for him and I wish him well.

Concerning Sancho’s ability to cope with the pressures of being a Cabinet Minister, Dr Griffith noted, “there were a number of initiatives and I’ll take time to go over it with him. I’m very pleased and happy, and I’ll be willing to work with him.”

Reflecting on his time as Sports Minister, Dr Griffith said, “in terms of accomplishment, you’ll remember the game we had with the female football players (on December 2 against Ecuador) right here in Trinidad. Getting ready for that, putting things in place for that successful game I think was one of the biggest challenges.

“And then also to regularise the grant funding. I’ve been able to look at the policy to make it more efficient. In the six months, those were some great challenges. Of course, meeting with the various sporting governing bodies, finding out their plans was also a good experience,” he ended.

Post by: Flex on February 08, 2015, 05:14:33 AM
Sancho names principles for sporting growth
T&T Newsday Reports.

NEWLY-APPOINTED Sports Minister Brent Sancho is suggesting three key principles to National Governing Bodies for the development of sport.

In a meeting on Friday with executives of the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee (TTOC) and the Trinidad and Tobago Netball Association (TTNA), the former national footballer listed value for money, an athlete-centred philosophy and national pride in sport as critical to success.

Sancho indicated his willingness to assist in the improvement of all National Governing Bodies (NGBs) in the achievement of those principles, in collaboration with the Sports Ministry and the Sports Company of Trinidad and Tobago (SPORTT).

He also indicated his interest in enabling national associations to improve their development programmes by increasing participation levels, creating opportunities for talent identification, and eliminating the duplication of efforts in each discipline.

Additionally, he noted the need for NGBs to ensure compliance with national policy as it relates to sport, not merely in relation to requests for funding, but also placing issues of safety and diversity in the forefront of the program planning process.

Sancho also pledged his support for the Olympic Committee’s #10gold24 campaign (the thrust for Trinidad and Tobago athletes to win 10 gold medals at the 2024 Olympic Games).

Commenting on his first meeting with the new Minister, TTOC president Brian Lewis said he had found the discussions to be “very positive, candid and solution-oriented, and the importance of the Sports Ministry, the Sport Company and the TTOC working together to improve good governance in national sporting organisations was also emphasised.”

Lewis added that transparency and accountability and putting the athletes’ best interests first figured prominently in the hour-long meeting.

Sancho will meet next with representatives of the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB) and Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) tomorrow.

Post by: weary1969 on February 08, 2015, 07:12:24 PM
What handover and what transition Griffith talking bout. What he did during his cobeau sweat?

Title: Critical role for Minister Sancho
Post by: Socapro on February 09, 2015, 12:22:40 AM
Critical role for Minister Sancho
Anand Rampersad (T&T Guardian)
Published: Monday, February 9, 2015

(http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p12/Socapro/Brent%20Sancho%20Sport%20Minister%20at%20International%20School%20of%20Gymnastics.jpg) (http://s124.photobucket.com/user/Socapro/media/Brent%20Sancho%20Sport%20Minister%20at%20International%20School%20of%20Gymnastics.jpg.html)
Sport Minister Brent Sancho, centre back row, and Gymnastics Association president Ricardo Lue Shue participate in a group photo with awardees at the Association’s 5th awards presentation on Saturday at the International School.

For the sake of sports, let us hope that the new Minister of Sport, Brent Sancho, is the last until the general election is held.

Instability at the helm or perception of instability does not instill confidence in stakeholders especially the private sector who will be called upon to provide funding where the state cannot provide.

Sancho is the third Minister of Sport and second since the resignation of Anil Roberts, on July 31, 2014.

The change in leadership at the Ministry of Sport has not received the same kind of critical analysis as those of the Attorney General and National Security.

However, it is important to recognise that approximately $2.3 billion dollars have been budgeted for sport 2011-15 (see various Appropriation Acts 2011-15, www.ttparliament.org).

The amount of monies allocated to sport demands greater scrutiny of the functions and operations of the Ministry. This inquiry should be twofold: firstly to ensure that goals and objectives of the Ministry are met and secondly to ensure a positive return on the expenditure of taxpayers’ monies.

The assessment of the Ministry can only be undertaken if there are clearly defined policies, objectives and goals. These must be subjected to rigorous monitoring and evaluation conducted by independent bodies such as the UWI. For example, the research of the Mona School of Business and Management (MSBM), UWI to assess the financial impact of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) on the Caribbean in 2013 and 2014. The Ministry’s website (http://www.sport.gov.tt/the-ministry/strategic-intent-and-direction), states that its ‘Strategic Intent and Direction’ is based on four strategic themes:

1. Sport for All/Total Participation in Sport where there is a society in which the majority of citizens are participating in sport.

2. High Performance Sport where athlete medal count is continuously increasing.

3. Sport as an Industry where:

(a) New sport businesses are established and operation successfully

(b) Sport tourism is making significant contributions to GDP

4. Improve the overall efficiently and efficacy of the Ministry through the use of ICT to increase efficiency to all stakeholders.

Based on the aforementioned strategic themes the following information should be available:

1. In terms of Sports for All which falls under the theme of Sports Development-

• What robustly collected research data has been collected on participation in sport and physical activities? How many people in Trinidad and Tobago are physically active and this information should be based on geographical location, age, gender, ethnicity, religion, disabilities, social class and working people? This type of data is what drives sports for all programmes in countries such as England, Canada, and New Zealand.

• What percentage of the National Sport Policy 2002 have been implemented? What percentage of the various programmes such as ‘Women and Girls in Sport’, and ‘Taking Sport to Rural Areas’ have been implemented and how much continuity is taking place?

• How data is linked to addressing issues of growing non-communicable diseases such as heart attacks, diabetes especially Type II and growing cases of obesity among the population 15-64 years.

• How is the Sports for All programme linked to the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) as have been done in countries such as Ethiopia, Ghana, Mozambique and Papua New Guinea? (http://www.un.org/millenniumgoals/bkgd.shtml).

• What is the total expenditure on Sports for All?

2. In relation to High Performance Sport:

• What are the resources (financial, human resources- coaches, trainers, medical-infrastructure, etc.) available to assist athletes?

• What is the total expenditure on High Performance Sport?

3. With respect to Sport as an Industry:

• What new sport businesses have been established or are in the pipeline?

• What is the status of the Sport Tourism Policy?

• What programmes are to be rolled out to promote sport tourism?

• What have and are the projected benefits of sport tourism to the GDP?

• In what way are the new sporting facilities (swimming, cycling and tennis) are incorporated into the sport tourism policy and implementation programmes?

4. Increase use of ICT to increase efficiency:

• What have been the improvements through the use of ICT?

• What is the status of professional development of sporting bodies under the Ministry and what measures are in place to ensure that national governing bodies comply with the requisites of the Ministry?

• What has been the costs of these ICT improvements?

It will be foolhardy to expect Minister Sancho to make any significant impact on all four of the Ministry’s strategic themes given his short timeframe to work with.

He is caught between a rock and a hard place.

The newness of the job, the power he wields and the desire to stamp his leadership style may result in goals and objectives which are practical for medium to long term development of sports and sports development.

However, in the short run they may be idealistically ambitious although he may not think so and understandably so to some extent. The questions raised are for all vested interest - Ministry of Sport, the public, sponsors, media etc.

The objective is to continuously seek to critically improve on the delivery of sporting services both in terms of quality and the efficiency of taxpayers’ monies expended.
Post by: Bakes on February 09, 2015, 12:27:37 AM
And in his first major act as Minister of Sport, the Hon. Brent Sancho hires... his friend and business partner, Kevin Harrison to fill some unspecified role (apparently), ent see confirmation yet, but Harrison (aka Football Supporter) seems to have confirmed as much.

The thot plickens.
Post by: elan on February 09, 2015, 08:13:19 AM
And in his first major act as Minister of Sport, the Hon. Brent Sancho hires... his friend and business partner, Kevin Harrison to fill some unspecified role (apparently), ent see confirmation yet, but Harrison (aka Football Supporter) seems to have confirmed as much.

The thot plickens.
Yuh on ah serious mission boy. Yuh have it bad.
Post by: Bakes on February 09, 2015, 08:50:45 AM

What "mission" I on... what I have bad?  Not surprisingly, you reveal yourself to be a supreme hypocrite. Not one word about "nepotism" now.
Post by: Deeks on February 09, 2015, 10:24:03 AM

The thot plickens.

elan, Bakes is making references to some who claimed nepotism when Lincoln was hired as goal-keeping coach for the Women National team. They claimed that Sheldon hired his father. We later learned that it was the coach who asked for LP.
I think I understand why Sancho hire FS. Is it wrong? I don't think so. He is hiring someone who he knows. It is his business partner. Their is a confidentiality bond between them. Just like Kamla and her sister.
Post by: Bakes on February 09, 2015, 11:32:41 AM
elan, Bakes is making references to some who claimed nepotism when Lincoln was hired as goal-keeping coach for the Women National team. They claimed that Sheldon hired his father. We later learned that it was the coach who asked for LP.
I think I understand why Sancho hire FS. Is it wrong? I don't think so. He is hiring someone who he knows. It is his business partner. Their is a confidentiality bond between them. Just like Kamla and her sister.

Deeks is not "some"... is elan himself (along with Sam) who was crying nepotism over Waldrum hiring LP.  I don't know what role FS is supposed to be filling so I can't speak on his qualifications for the job.  That being said, a familiar pattern has started to emerge yet again with people associated with this PP government, and yes, that now includes Sancho too.  Unless FS is being paid out of Sancho's private funds then why is public money being spent on his salary?  What will he be doing that career civil servants within the Ministry, already drawing a salary, can't themselves do?  If it good for the goose then it good for the gander.
Post by: elan on February 09, 2015, 01:02:46 PM

Deeks is not "some"... is elan himself (along with Sam) who was crying nepotism over Waldrum hiring LP.  I don't know what role FS is supposed to be filling so I can't speak on his qualifications for the job.  That being said, a familiar pattern has started to emerge yet again with people associated with this PP government, and yes, that now includes Sancho too.  Unless FS is being paid out of Sancho's private funds then why is public money being spent on his salary?  What will he be doing that career civil servants within the Ministry, already drawing a salary, can't themselves do?  If it good for the goose then it good for the gander.

I know what Bakes doing. Is me who made that reference. And he defended he buddy Sheldon Phillips vehemently citing that Lincoln Phillips is a Legend so it was okay when Waldrum wanted him.

All of a sudden Bakes is the TTFA biggest sympathizer. Go back to the transition of power from JW and to Sheldon Phillips and see how drastically Bakes changed his views on the "Warriors v. TTFF" to accompany his new found "insider" info regarding the TTFA. Apparently cursory searches on Google wasn't available pre-Sheldon Phillips in the TTFA.

Again, I glad Sancho get the job. How does that make me different from Bakes hating that Sancho get the job? Dude, Sancho as minister does not affect me one way or the other. This "outrage" in this thread is very amusing to me which is why I more or less trolling this thread.

I don't know if Bakes have a personal with Sancho, but I don't. I have always liked how Sancho took a stand JW.

This just amusing.
Post by: Bakes on February 09, 2015, 03:26:06 PM
I know what Bakes doing. Is me who made that reference. And he defended he buddy Sheldon Phillips vehemently citing that Lincoln Phillips is a Legend so it was okay when Waldrum wanted him.

All of a sudden Bakes is the TTFA biggest sympathizer. Go back to the transition of power from JW and to Sheldon Phillips and see how drastically Bakes changed his views on the "Warriors v. TTFF" to accompany his new found "insider" info regarding the TTFA. Apparently cursory searches on Google wasn't available pre-Sheldon Phillips in the TTFA.

Again, I glad Sancho get the job. How does that make me different from Bakes hating that Sancho get the job? Dude, Sancho as minister does not affect me one way or the other. This "outrage" in this thread is very amusing to me which is why I more or less trolling this thread.

I don't know if Bakes have a personal with Sancho, but I don't. I have always liked how Sancho took a stand JW.

This just amusing.

It is indeed 'amusing' to see just how big ah imps yuh is.  I never defended Sheldon Phillips over Lincoln Phillips' hiring because there was nothing to "defend"... Waldrum hired his own staff, Sheldon Phillips wasn't in any position to tell him who to hire.  And my stance on the TTFF vs. Warriors didn't change with the new TTFA leadership... that just shows yuh how schupid yuh is. I was critical of some of the legal tactics used by Townley towards the end of the litigation, which resulted in them letting Jack off the hook. 

Even when Camps and Rhoden was still in charge I said that the Warriors were pursuing a broken strategy... and I was proved right.  I doh have no "personal" with Sancho... I was lavishing praise on him for taking the figt to the TTFF and for his leadership of NE Stars and Central at first. I became critical of Sancho's leadership of the Warrior's cause given that he was prone to running to the press pushing some kinda scorched Earth strategy to try and force money from the new TTFA.  Everybody was bawling "sue them", "embarrass them"... well look where that get the Warriors?  How the suit going?  I said they couldn't sue to recover anything and again I was right.  I criticise the FA when I feel it's merited but I not on no agenda like some ah allyuh.  At the end of the day I could back up everything I say, you can't say the same... all you could do is talk ah emotional pack ah ass all the time and post yuh little  :bs: smiley.
Post by: Flex on February 11, 2015, 02:53:23 AM
Opportunity to market T&T, says Sancho
By Roger Seepersad (Express).

Former Soca Warrior and recently-appointed Minister of Sport Brent Sancho wants to transform sport from a pastime into a financially viable business and a real money earner for local clubs and stakeholders. Sancho has already held fruitful discussions with various sporting governing bodies and a key part of his message to them is working towards making sports a business.

Speaking at a press conference at the Ministry of Tourism on Monday to announce T&T as hosts for seven Caribbean Premier League matches, including the semi-finals and final, Sancho said he recognised the money-earning potential of sport and insisted that the time was right for T&T to join the party.

“International franchise sport is a multi-billion dollar industry and I have made it a key part of my message to all of the sporting organisations that we must work together to make sports a business here in Trinidad and Tobago,” said Sancho.

With construction of the Cycling Velodrome, Aquatics Centre and National Tennis Centre all moving apace and the government fully behind the Sport Tourism thrust as a means of diversifying the oil-based economy, Sancho believes hosting the CPL semis and final will be an ideal opportunity to market T&T to the world.

“The CPL represents the ideal opportunity to prove to the world that franchise sport can work in our region,” said Sancho. “Further it is proof that we can host an event of international relevance and appeal.”

“The last time the CPL was hosted here in T&T there was a significant return on investment and the positive economic impact was felt across several key markets and industry sectors,” he added. The minister also wants to sell the idea of sport tourism “in generating the right amounts of local investment in order to boost our capacity to host regional and international sporting events.”

With the CPL being broadcasted across the world, Sancho said the capital of Port of Spain will become the focus of hundreds of thousands of international viewers and will be “an opportunity to showcase our people, our culture, and our talents.’’

“Indeed the way we watch cricket is unique to our people. We do it with a vibes and rhythm that is part of who we are. Trinidad and Tobago is the entertainment capital of the Caribbean which goes hand in glove with the fastest growing form of entertainment globally...sport.

“Television broadcasting rights aside, many countries are reaping the rewards of improved infrastructure and the injection of resources into athletes and teams which cover all angles of the industry. “It is time for us to join the party and reap the rewards that comes with global positioning in the sports industry,” Sancho added. The CPL will be played between June 21 and July 26.

RELATED NEWS

Government gives TTCB $250,000
T&T Newsday Reports.

TRINIDAD and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB) have received a cheque valued at $250,000 from the Government, as well as accolades for their management of the sport in the twin island republic.

Newly appointed Sports Minister Brent Sancho praised the TTCB saying the cricketing governing body has “exemplified good governance” and is being rewarded.

“We had a long discussion…and I think it is the first time Mr Bassarath has left the Ministry smiling,” Sancho told the media following a press conference at the Ministry of Tourism.

“We have had a lot of acrimony in the past but I said to him we cannot right the wrongs of the past but we will work in partnership moving forward.”

TTCB president Azim Bassarath complained that the board received no financial assistance since 2011, and it was owed funds which have severely hampered the organisation’s ability to administer its programmes.

“We presented a cheque to Mr Bassarath for $250,000 because I believe that the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board has exemplified good governance in sports in terms of what is required to get funding for various programmes,” said Sancho.

“They have done the requirements that we need in the Ministry of Sport and we want to reward and show the other sporting bodies what good governance looks like.”

Sancho, a former national footballer who became the new sports minister following last week’s Cabinet shake-up, says Government and TTCB have agreed to partner on a number of initiatives.

They include the use of the country’s cricket icons to facilitate training camps during Easter and summer for young cricketers. (CMC)

Post by: Flex on February 11, 2015, 02:56:00 AM
Sport Ministry no ATM
By ANDRE BAGOO (Newsday).

THE MINISTRY of Sport is not an ATM.

That’s the catchphrase new Minister of Sport Brent Sancho has been using at meetings with stakeholders to describe the Ministry’s policy under his tenure in the face of him receiving requests from sporting organisations for money and equipment.

Sancho, who was sworn in last week, has spent the last few days meeting with organisations and, invariably, these organisations have had one request.

“They all ask for money,” the Minister told Newsday yesterday. “I have gone out and met about seven or eight organisations so far.” However, he said, there was a need for organisations to be able to stand on their own feet.

“We want to see different sporting organisations become self-sufficient financially in whatever they do,” Sancho said. “We are now going into an era where we are seeing development in that direction.”

The Minister said it has become difficult to get corporate sponsors to fund organisations due to the risk of controversy and maladministration. He noted sport has, unfortunately, become an arena tainted by scandal, citing the defunct Life Sport programme as one example.

“We understand some of their plights,” Sancho said. “It is a challenging environment especially when sport, for the first time in a very long time, has a negative stigma attached to it. When you look at the back pages of newspapers there is always an administrative scandal for all these different things. It is very difficult to stimulate corporate Trinidad because of it.” At the same time, the Minister said, State funds need to be better controlled and regulated.

“They need to be more understanding that these are taxpayers’ dollars,” the Minister said. “This is not to blame the sporting organisation by any stretch of the imagination. There are challenges. But some sporting organisations are run like the mama and papa parlours. We have to help them.” Sancho said in the past, decisions in relation to funding were not made based on merit but on personal opinion. He said the drying up of corporate sponsorship has been a long time in the making.

“I don’t think it’s a single problem with a single programme such as Life Sport,” the Minister said. “When you look at issues that relate to corporate sponsorship, this has been going on for many years. People did not just wake up after Life Sport and then this started happening. This has been happening for a long time.”

In relation to this country hosting the Caribbean Premiere League (CPL), Sancho said he would like to see value for money and he has met with CPL CEO Damien O’Donohoe.

“We had a long chat,” Sancho said. “We want to make sure that with the CPL we get value for money. When you bring in that plethora of cricket stars you have to have some value. You must have some projects.”

At a meeting of the Rotary Club of Port-of-Spain, held at Fitzblackman Drive, Port-of-Spain, O’Donohoe praised the minister’s approach, saying Sancho was different from other Sport Ministers he has met.

“I was really impressed by the fact that he was very unlike most Ministers of Sport,” O’Donohoe said. “Normally they simply ask, ‘How many boxes (in the stands) do we get?’ or ‘How many tickets?’ The focus for Sancho was the human side in terms of what we could do in the community. What we can do is the fact that we will have some of the best cricket players in the world here in Trinidad for two and a half weeks. How will we use that to encourage the children of Trinidad to make them realise that whatever they want to do with their life, with the right attitude and with the right discipline they can achieve anything they want?” He said CPL sold 220,000 tickets last year.

On the practice of allowing sporting stadia to be used for events such as concerts, Sancho said this was now standard internationally.

“The athlete side of me will say no, but the business side says of course these events should be allowed,” the Minister said. “It is done all over the world. That is the norm. What we do have to develop is a facility that is multi-faceted.”

Post by: Flex on March 05, 2015, 02:56:01 AM
Sancho: Sport facilities must become viable
By Sue-Ann Wayow (Express).

New home

THE main focus for Sport Minister Brent Sancho is to make money for the country through sport. Sancho said sport could not be continued to be seen as recreation only but as an investment.

Sancho was speaking to the media yesterday during a tour of the National Cycling Velodrome soon to be opened in Couva.

Using the multi-million facility as an example of world class status, Sancho said the facility and others to be built will be used for both business and recreation. Sancho said: “We are looking at sport as a business and that is something this ministry is very high on. We are looking at naming rights for it, different booths named after different corporate companies.

‘’This arena is multifaceted. You could hold functions, parties, weddings. All our facilities that we build in this country here on forward has to be multifaceted. Sports tourism is a business in itself. You talk about the low oil prices, sports could be a supplement for us in terms of possible diversification of the economy.” He said in the past a stadium was built for one purpose which was no longer feasible for the country.

“We tend to look at sport from the entertainment perspective but we have not really ventured out into the business of sport and that really is what I want to see,’’ pointed out the Sport Minister. “That is where we have to go. We have to look at things from a business perspective. We have to start looking at sport tourism as the next big income earner for us.”

Sancho said facilities must be built with gyms, restaurants, bars and other recreational type businesses.
Having top facilities will only increase athletes’ competencies, he contends.

“What happens with a world class facility now is that it attracts world class athletes and the only way you can get better in sport is when you compete against the best. That is what these facilities will do. It would give you the opportunity to compete and not just on a random level but on a consistent level against the best,” said Sancho.

He said it did not matter the amount spent on facilities. “There is no cost in sport and what sport can do for a nation. There is no price tag to what sport can do in impoverished areas, what it can do to the young man.

It could help quell a lot of our social ills,” Sancho emphasised. He said the opening of the velodrome was long overdue but now “the ability of us accomplishing real medals, gold medals, in all the major cycling competitions is right around the corner.”

Post by: Flex on March 06, 2015, 04:08:35 AM
Sancho disburses Elite Athlete Funding
T&T Newsday Reports.

Newly appointed Minister of Sport, Brent Sancho, disbursed a total of $397,500 in Elite Athlete Assistance Programme (EAAP) funding to seven national athletes from two sporting disciplines on Wednesday.

Receiving the much welcomed funds from the Ministry of Sports were athletic representatives Darrel Brown, Rondell Sorrillo, Romona Modeste, Gerrone Black, Kai Selvon and Shawna Permin. Additionally, national endurance cyclist Varun Maharajh also received funds for the first time, and is expected to put it to good use as he further develops himself on the American cycling circuit.

Meanwhile, athletes who were also recipients of funding prior to the aforementioned include Lalonde Gordon, Zwede Hewitt, Richard Thompson (all of athletics) and boxer Michael Alexander.

The total sum of the Elite Athlete Funding released by the Ministry of Sport for fiscal year 2014-2015 thus far is $1,015,000.

Post by: AB.Trini on March 06, 2015, 06:53:02 PM
How could a " sane" likeable person allow the self to be used exploited and  turn into  a vehicle for political propaganda?
 It appears that this government has invested a lot in branding and PR- from the billboards to the Ads to what is coming out form certain ministries!
 All this PR appearances and  image rebranding seems like it was very necessary after the last minister and the Life Support fiasco- again the public's  apparent short term memory is evident by  folks who are ready to heap praises for what the new minister is doing. Could people not see through this?

Why is it that the people of T&T not stand up and demand more accountability for mismanagement than fall prey to the seduction  of  niceties and  pappy showing all over the country like some brand of Robin Hood . This mass appeal  to placate all the Bs have  some folks lapping up the sheet- Steups

PS I owner who paying for all them ads I seeing on papers ? Government or  U ent see?
Post by: Sando prince on March 06, 2015, 08:08:58 PM
Brent Sancho was on UNC campaign platform two days ago! He is now part of the political campaign battle. Brent want to eat ah food, because this may just be a corbeau sweat for you ;D
Post by: Bakes on March 06, 2015, 10:22:04 PM
Brent Sancho was on UNC campaign platform two days ago! He is now part of the political campaign battle. Brent want to eat ah food, because this may just be a corbeau sweat for you ;D

I find that so hard to believe... his annointed mouthpiece, Football Supporter himself said Sancho was not a politician and had no designs on political office.
Post by: Sando prince on March 07, 2015, 12:00:09 AM
^^ I bet you FS or no one will come and deny what ah saying  :D

He was campaigning on a political platform in Brazil High School for UNC Monday night forum.

Man wearing his yellow jersey too  :D
Post by: Bakes on March 07, 2015, 12:43:05 AM
^^ I bet you FS or no one will come and deny what ah saying  :D

He was campaigning on a political platform in Brazil High School for UNC Monday night forum.

Man wearing his yellow jersey too  :D

Socapro posted the picture of him dressed like a canary and singing for his supper (as I said elsewhere)... I was being facetious given the self-righteous pronouncements from his sidekick and mouthpiece.
Post by: Flex on March 08, 2015, 09:30:56 AM
Ministry not an ATM
By COREY CONNELLY (Newsday).

Brent Sancho says transparency and accountability will be the hallmark of his stewardship as Minister of Sport in the People’s Partnership Government.

“I see organisations bringing me budgets and pleading poverty while management enjoys a high standard of living, yet their staff is owed money. I cannot justify that kind of budgeting,” Sancho says of his interactions with sporting bodies since assuming the post last month.

“If an organisation is in debt, you have to reduce your spending. Every sporting organisation, team and club needs to be run like a business.”

Borrowing a perspective from United National Congress (UNC) political leader, Kamla Persad-Bissessar, who, early in her tenure as Prime Minister in 2010, condemned the practise by some Caribbean islands of turning to Trinidad and Tobago for financial assistance in times of crisis, a tough-talking Sancho declared that the ministry, too, “was not an ATM where people can just receive handouts.”

“I want transparency and accountability. These may just be words to some people but to me they are fundamental requirements to achieve funding,” he says. During his tenure, Sancho, 37, says he will also be pushing for value for taxpayers’ money.

“I want to know what’s in it for the TT citizen.

I want their coaches supporting our programmes. I want our youths to be welcomed at events.

I want to see development,” he says, Weaning organisations away from government support, says Sancho, also factors prominently on his agenda. Bent on encouraging various sporting bodies to take an active involvement in future facilities and so generate income and control their own destiny, Sancho says:

“I want to see how they (sports organisations) have engaged support from the corporate sector and how they have developed income streams for themselves. In return, I can offer more than money. If need be I will help them with their audits and accounts.” He also plans to convene a symposium with senior corporate executives to promote the value of investing in sport.

“I am engaging corporate TT in sport in a meaningful way. For example, I am talking to Caribbean Airlines (CAL) to assist with overseas flights for our athletes and teams. In return, CAL would be recognised as a sponsor with their logo on travel jerseys and tracksuits.

“Think about it, our athletes compete in every continent and are televised into hundreds of millions of homes globally. What a fantastic promotional tool! Sponsoring sport is the best value for money promotion you can buy.”

Sancho’s goals may seem quite ambitious given the limited time frame in which he has to effect meaningful change at the ministry, ahead of the upcoming general election.

However, he assures that he will not pursue any major initiatives within the next few months but rather influence improvements in existing projects as well as make tangible inputs in forthcoming policy decisions. “My goal is to make a positive impact on the ministry so that whoever takes over my portfolio will have streamlined procedures, structured policies and motivate staff,” he says. The dreadlocked Sancho, who holds a degree in Psychology from St John’s University in New York, has had no grace period within which to gradually embrace his role at the ministry.

He’s had to buckle down to work quickly but describes his stint within the government thus far as phenomenal.

“It has been an exciting time for me as I experience the inner workings of the People’s Partnership.” The sport portfolio, he admits, has been especially overwhelming.

“My initial thoughts were, how can one person do this job?” he jokes.

“My wife says that I live at the ministry. I’m usually at work by 7 am and I’m rarely home before 8pm each day.”

Apart from his Cabinet and senatorial duties, the former national footballer has a slew of tasks to which he has to attend on a daily basis.

Outside of these responsibilities, he oversees the SPORTT Company, “which in itself is a full-time role.”

The father of two, who announced his retirement from international football in October 2006, told Sunday Newsday, “There was no honeymoon period as I had to immediately immerse myself in a myriad of projects while trying to learn everyone’s name and function. But I have to say that I am enjoying the role and I have set myself specific goals to achieve during my tenure.” The founder of Central FC, who enjoyed a stellar career as a member of TT’s beloved Soca Warriors and as a player on several high-profile, foreign-based teams, Sancho admits that he had never considered a career in politics before being approached by the Prime Minister to take up the sport portfolio in the government. “I had no previous political inclination and had not considered entering politics, at least not for another ten years or so.” The ministry, he was told, was in need of “someone dynamic with leadership to bring about positive change” and the Belmont-bred Sancho, who made his debut on a political platform during the UNC’s Monday Night Forum at Brazil Government Secondary, last week, readily accepted the opportunity to serve.

“As a professional footballer and sport being my passion, I see myself contributing to my country in a meaningful way and to helping the youths and all athletes by ensuring that proper facilities and funding required, are provided for them to succeed in their relevant discipline. I am grateful for the opportunity to see the situation from the other side of the fence and bring positive change where I can,” he says.

So, can a sportsman make a good politician?

Observing that quite a few athletes have made the transition from sport to politics, Sancho listed Brazilian football legends Pele and Zico as persons who have successfully traversed both fields.

Pele, he says, holds the title of “Extraordinary Minister of Sport” in his homeland while Zico, who worked briefly in Fernando Collar de Mello’s administration in the early 1990s as sport minister, is still recognised for securing passage of a bill to assist clubs with their business affairs by ensuring they were run in a professsional fashion. At home, he recalls that late netball star Jean Pierre had also served briefly as Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs and Member of Parliament for Port-of-Spain West from 1991 to 1995 in the People’s National Movement administration.

Sancho, who was the owner/coach of the Trinidad and Tobago Football League Club, North East stars, again dismissed talk that he is being groomed to contest the Toco/Sangre Grande seat on a UNC ticket for the upcoming general election.

“I have not been asked by the Honourable Prime Minister to contest the Toco/Sangre Grande seat or any other seat. There is no truth to the talk,” Sancho says. The seat is currently held by his predecessor in the sport ministry Dr Rupert Griffith.

Sancho says his focus, in the interim, will be to improve the status of sporting organisations.

His announcement of a semi-professional women’s football league during last week’s political meeting is a case in point.

“Most people would agree that our national women’s team excited the nation like no other team since the Soca Warriors of 2005/6 but after their last-minute loss to Ecuador, what have they done?” Sancho asked.

“They have had no games, nothing has been put in place to build upon their success and the interest generated. These girls need regular football so that they can develop.”

Sancho is hoping to use his office to organise international matches for the players. He laments that while there has been a positive start to women’s league football, it did not provide any income for the players. “My concept is to offer six or eight franchises to corporate TT based on the Multiple Listing Service (MLS) system,” he says. “Each team would have its own sponsor and would contain a sprinkling of overseas players.” The minister pointed out that while he will assist with the creation of the league, there would be very little financial input from the government.

Sancho also intends to embark upon the construction of several football-specific facilities to encourage Pro League clubs to become financially self-sufficient. “I am seeing that there are many sports in need of facilities and I would hope to address this more after the election,” he says. Aside from his portfolio, Sancho says he is deeply concerned about the ccountry’s crime situation. However, he believes that sport can help to turn young people away from crime.

“No child is born bad. We have to give them attractive alternatives to drugs and gangs,” he says.

Sancho says the society has the ability to mentor children who do not respect institutions such as schools and the law. “They come to us to have fun, and while they’re enjoying their sport we can embed certain core messages that can help to shape their psyche going forward,” he says. “Teamwork, honesty, respect, passion, self-belief are all components of sport success. They are also building blocks for great citizenship. Prevention is better than cure and sport can be a cure.”

Post by: Bakes on March 24, 2015, 11:15:22 PM
Every other day is some new revelation of how this PP Gov't draining the treasury dry to fatten them and dey friends, but Sanko eh see nutten wrong wid dat.

“My Cabinet colleagues are really a good bunch of people based on what I have seen,” Sport Minister Brent Sancho told Wired868. “Every discussion that they have in Parliament and outside of Parliament is for the better of Trinidad and Tobago. The Prime Minister in particular has really impressed me…

http://wired868.com/2015/03/22/no-brainer-sancho-defends-decision-to-join-pp-government/#sthash.lFopAqyp.iGHF6xkM.dpuf
Title: Bravo: I was there to support Sancho
Post by: de_redman on March 25, 2015, 12:30:04 PM
I was there to support Sancho
guardian.co.tt
(http://www.guardian.co.tt/sites/default/files/field/image/11080726_10152772014178067_810119352622479540_o.jpg)
Former West Indies cricket captain Dwayne Bravo yesterday allayed fears from some quarters that he may be joining the People’s Partnership Government.

In dismissing concerns raised on social media that he was being courted as a possible candidate for the forthcoming general election, Bravo said he was only there as a guest of close friend and Sport Minister Brent Sancho.

“It’s no big deal,” Bravo told the T&T Guardian of his appearance on the United National Congress’ political platform.

Bravo, who recently announced his retirement from Test cricket soon after being left out of the West Indies’ World Cup team, which some speculated was a direct result of his leading the walkout of the India tour, greeted Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar seconds after she finished delivering her feature address to the Debe crowd.

He then hugged Persad-Bissessar and they both flashed the “V” for victory sign as photographers snapped away and supporters cheered loudly.

The photo and story of Bravo’s appearance on the T&T Guardian’s Facebook page and web site, which was posted moments after he made his stage appearance, caused heated debate among supporters of the various political parties. Some speculated Bravo, just like Sancho, was being eyed for a potential seat in the general election.

Yesterday, however, Bravo said he was there as a mere guest to lend his support to his personal friend, Sancho.

Asked if there was politics in the near future, given the rumours, Bravo added: “I don’t understand what all of this is about. It is no big deal. I just went there to support my friend, who has been my personal friend for years.”

Sancho also dispelled rumours that Bravo had a political career ahead for the UNC, confirming he was there supporting him.

Sancho added that long before his appointment as Sport Minister, Bravo had been at his side and that friendship had not changed.

“Bravo is a friend of mine and he has always supported me in my endeavours. We have a good relationship way before my ministerial post and nothing has changed,” he said.

“He (Bravo), like many other athletes, has been very supportive to me and it is good to have them along.”

Title: Re: Bravo: I was there to support Sancho
Post by: Bakes on March 25, 2015, 01:42:27 PM
Bravo mustbe take people fuh asses.  Sancho running for anything?  What he supporting him in really?  The marionette supports de muppet.
Post by: elan on March 25, 2015, 02:29:56 PM
Now Bravo is ah Target too. lol

Wonder who next? Let's see who supporting Sancho next to be a Muppet too.
Post by: Bakes on March 25, 2015, 02:53:49 PM
Now Bravo is ah Target too. lol

Wonder who next? Let's see who supporting Sancho next to be a Muppet too.

Anybody who supporting this corrupt government is a target.
Post by: Sando prince on March 25, 2015, 03:41:35 PM

I waiting to see if Sancho will run for a seat this election  :D
Post by: Brownsugar on March 25, 2015, 06:33:22 PM
I does still feel to do this every time I see Sancho in the mix.................

:puking: :puking: :puking:
Post by: Bourbon on March 25, 2015, 07:05:15 PM
I hear toco manzanilla.

And bravo supported the unc long time so no scene. Everybody has the right to associate with which ever party they wish.
Post by: de_redman on March 25, 2015, 08:08:38 PM
(http://www.guardian.co.tt/sites/default/files/field/image/bravo_11.png)
Post by: de_redman on March 25, 2015, 08:15:58 PM
(http://www.guardian.co.tt/sites/default/files/styles/cover_popup/public/01main_16.jpg?itok=QwkYrp0E)
Post by: weary1969 on March 25, 2015, 09:01:22 PM
I does still feel to do this every time I see Sancho in the mix.................

:puking: :puking: :puking:

Girl I by gravol by the case.
I hear toco manzanilla.

And bravo supported the unc long time so no scene. Everybody has the right to associate with which ever party they wish.

Yes and we have a write to call him an Uncle Tom if he does. Yea the PNM candidate very week. It have real brave people when I see who getting to run to be MP.
Post by: de_redman on March 26, 2015, 05:35:37 PM
STEUPS! WHY THE MODS MERGE MY BRAVO THREAD WITH SANCHO!!! THIS STORY NOW GETTING INTERESTING!  :pissedoff:
Post by: Socapro on March 26, 2015, 07:05:34 PM
STEUPS! WHY THE MODS MERGE MY BRAVO THREAD WITH SANCHO!!! THIS STORY NOW GETTING INTERESTING!  :pissedoff:

They need to allow certain stories to run their course before merging with related topics as it only helps to kill off the number of responses to these topics when they are so quickly merged.
Post by: Sando prince on March 30, 2015, 11:12:11 AM
Bourbon you mean Toco/ Sangre Grande?
Post by: Flex on April 02, 2015, 01:49:44 AM
Cricket Board, Sports Ministry sign million-dollar club deal
By Sean Nero (Guardian).

Sports Minister Brent Sancho and Azim Bassarath, president of the T&T Cricket Board yesterday signed a million-dollar deal that will see 191 clubs in various categories access critical assistance from the state.

The agreement was signed at a media conference held at the VIP Lounge at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Woodbrook, where Sancho announced premier one clubs would each receive $25,000, while premier two clubs would be entitled to $13,000 each.

The sum of $10,000 has been allocated to clubs in the championship division, while, clubs from Tobago, as well as, the zones were presented with grants valued at $2,500 each.

Sancho praised Bassarath for his quality approach to the discussions that led to rebuilding the relationship between the board and the ministry.

The TTCB official said letters requesting assistance for his membership were sent to the ministry twice before. Those correspondences were not acknowledged.

This time around, he said, letters issued on February 9 this year, did not go unattended as a direct result of the new minister’s philosophy.

Sancho said: “I want to ask Mr Bassarath and his executive to give a serious thought to making your top league a semi-professional league, so that more young people will see sport as a viable career option and that they do not have to wait on the West Indies cricket team to present such an opportunity. A semi-professional league will also open the door to other top cricketers choosing T&T as a possible place of work, while helping in developing the game in T&T. Because of the strength of the club system in cricket, I told Mr Bassarath that we should work together to ensure the survival of club life and club competition in T&T.”

He added, “The Ministry of Sport in conjunction with the TTCB have decided to allocate $1 million to clubs in T&T to help with their on-going work in the key areas of administration and development. No club is being left out and after some hard bargaining by your president, we have arrived at the following breakdown. I fully understand the cost of the game is way beyond today’s grant. I assure you that this is a start and that my ministry will continue to aggressively find ways to ensure clubs survive and even thrive in T&T.”

Sancho underscored how cricket played a key role in the destiny of so many of this country’s heroes and said it would be a serious breach not to pay attention to the sport.

On taking up office a month ago, he said, cricket was a top priority.

“While the sport has been experiencing serious challenges across the region, T&T has been a shining light. Our Red Force is the envy of the world. Kieron Pollard, the Bravo Brothers (Dwayne and Darren), Sunil Narine, Shannon Gabriel, Lendl Simmons, Samuel Badree, Ravi Rampaul, Denesh Ramdin, are just a few of the names to have graduated from the programmes of the TTCB and the club that are its members and indeed the communities that nurture those clubs. Thanks to the TTCB and you the clubs, these young men are now making sport a very good livelihood,” he said.

In a direct response, Bassarath said, “Our clubs, Mr Minister, continue to unearth, nurture and develop talent to represent our country and our region. Yes, all our stars of today are home grown. They represent clubs. They represent communities. They have all passed through our youth development programmes. As a board, we recognise the highly important role that our local clubs fill in the making of a cricketer and even in the lean years, we rewarded their input in a small, but tangible way.”

He added, “Today, your ministry has joined us in recognising our clubs and we thank you and your staff at the ministry, who all, we are sure worked to make this possible. To the clubs who are the recipients: a word of advice and caution. We at the TTCB are here to facilitate growth and improvement of our sport. We are custodians of the game on your behalf. Let this contribution by the Ministry of Sport enhance your club, your community and the game of cricket. Do not spend, but invest for investment brings returns.”

(http://www.guardian.co.tt/sites/default/files/field/image/Minister%20Brent%20Sancho.jpg)
Former WIPA president Dinnanath Ramnarine receives a check valued at $15,000 from Minister of Sports, Senator Brent Sancho during the distribution of cheques to local cricket clubs at the VIP Lounge, Hasley Crawford Stadium, yesterday. PHOTO: ABRAHAM DIAZ

Post by: Sam on April 06, 2015, 05:25:11 AM
February 03,

My interview with new minister of sports Sancho.
Interview with Samuel Edwards.

Sam: Yo Sanch, wadda up, congrats on your new wok.
Sancho: Thanx boy, thanx. I really lucky to get in, to be a minister in T&T you dont really need to be a college graduate, even though I went St John in de US but left to play ball in Finland and bull gal.

Sam: So what is your plans for football seeing that you eh like Tim Kee.
Sancho: Between you and I Sam, I plan to start a campaign very soon to bring Kevin Jack to run for TTFA head, you know this wok only short term because tanty Kamla-matie gone soon, so I want to take full advantage while ah here. Tim Kee does lie to much and he hate de public. I will suffer de national team and force him out. But ah plan to improve de pro league and super league, Central FC will be de new Malabar FC when they was under Anal Roberts. Expect to see more Central players on de national side, we need to sell players so de club will survive and now I have a chomp card to make sure Central players get first pick. Expect a lot of changes, I want to scrap de thiefing Sports company of T&T and finally start up de players union, I want to bring Lasana, Gally and Eve onboard soon and bring back de lifesport program under new management, how to cut grass for under $50,000 a month, we importing a few goats from Jamaica to help out, 3 black ram and a brown nanny.

Sam: How did you get that wok boy?
Sancho: Myself and tanty meet up by Lalls liquor depot in Curepe and when she head get nice, I apply for de wok right they and she take me eeen one time. She say she cabinet full of indians and she wanted to paint a difference color as election close nah, I remember when we was fighting Jack, we wrote her a million times and she never even acknowledge us, look how de tables turn now. Jack in she dog house now and I in she kat,,,,,,,, She want to bring Machel to be AG soon now that Ramlogan gone and Ravi B to replace Gary Griffith. Now all them Guyanese and Jamaicans could stay in T&T illegal once more, election coming and Gary gone. Tanty might be a drunk but she eh no ass. Big up, big up, Tanty, big up, big up.... now I can feed my family once more.

Sam: So will de national teams and league teams have a stadium to call home.
Sancho: I want de TTFA out of de national stadium, ent they building a new stadium let them go they. As for de league teams, yes, they go get de Manny Ramjohn to use once carnival done. Is fete first, water melon second and football last. (((ring))) (((ring))) hold on Sam, leh me take this, hello, this is de new sheriff in town, how can I help,,,, [yea, this is brownsugar from de SWO, and I have a flipping question for u].... shoot.,,,, [I didnt know yuh was ah indian giver? yuh jump over to UNC/PP now, I am really disappointed, I thought you was PNM for life, just remember how much de SWO did for you guys when you went through allyuh court battle]..... no, no, I will not forget allyuh, infact, I will contact Flex and work out something for SWO soon, doh worry, I only using this as a platform, soon as tanty loose election, I jumping over like Gypsy,,, [ok then, brownie still love yuh, and see if you go hook up my BFF weary with a promotion nah, she to woking for tanty and getting de same pay since 1976],,, ok, I will see to that and ah want to offer Flex a job to on my books, axe him if he interested, meet me by JAPS in Port of Spain Friday morning. {{Saying to himself}}.... if ah had de same wok as minister of sports under PNM they woulda be happy, is not about de party, think outside de box, its about de individual.

Sam: So whats de plan for de other athletes in T&T.
Sancho: I plan on supplying all athletes with free fry chicken for life courtesy JAPS, that KFC de TTFF use to feed we was real junk. We have to feed our athletes proper food and take better care of them. Anyhow Sam, I in de States now, I have to go, will be in T&T on Thursday, tanty sending a first class ticket for meh, she say stop in duty free and pick up a few gallons of Bacardi as a payment. Boy, I love this wok, life as a politician in T&T is sweet, you sign up, thief a few millions and resign and yuh could keep de money or, and between you and I, you really feel we paying back that money tanty give us (de 06 Warriors), that was only for show, to let de TTFA know we eh fraid them, they not of de hook.

Sam: But is Jack who rip allyuh off.
Sancho, yea, but yuh know de saying, Peter pay for Paul and Paul mudda come from America. We also realise that we cant beat Jack, he just to good, but Tim Kee is easy pray.

Sam: So allyuh was really going and kill T&T football if allyuh didn't get allyuh money.
Sancho: Maybe not, that was a bluff, but I can tell you Sam, Tim Kee does real lie, frank-o-ment lies and he have Sheldon lying for him to and making false promises to we and the players, I spoke to a few national players and none of them want to play anymore for T&T because they real vex, players still aint get they money from de last caribbean cup. Every week we getting money and it cah reach yet. They playing one game every six months and saying we lucky to play Argentina but by de time de next game come, de players forget each other. Hyland watching Jones like he never see him before, that shit have to stop. De women team not playing for T&T again, de Under 17 ladies say they not playing, they fed up.

Sam: So Kevin, what now for Central FC.
FS: Money will flow like water now, and I am de new boss at Central. Its all about de green. I love T&T, were Jack Horner, where him? talk nah, talk.

Sam: Good luck.
FS: Thank you Sam and dont worry, I will organise a proper trial for Roopie soon..

Post by: Sam on April 06, 2015, 05:25:22 AM
De follow up with new minister of sports Sancho.
Interview with Samuel Edwards.

Sam: Sancho, ah hear yuh doh like creole, tha's ture?
Sancho: My best friend is Kevin Harrision, my wife is from Germany, I woking for Kamla and my hair long and straight, does that answer yuh question?

Sam: Are you a real Rastafarian?
Sancho: I am in politics and I eat and sell fry chicken (JAPS only), does that answer yuh question? Which real rasta does do that? I only get this hairstyle to bull girls when I was in St John in de US. They like rastas up they.

Sam: I notice since yuh get de MOS wok, yuh only studding big projects, like macco-ing de stadiums and facilities, but not doing de small things that would make a difference, like grassroots stuff, how come?
Sancho: I am here for a short time Sam,,,,,, I cant make long term change, that is for de federations to do, I am all about making T&T look modernise, make sure we have top class facilities so when foreigners visit they will see how beautiful T&T is even though we athletics cant use de facilities at least we go look like a first world country. I want us to look good for de world Sam, when I build all these facilities, when PNM win de next election at least they go get everything woking in correct order, them go benefit from my hard work, I also want de facilities to pay for them selves so de government dont have to spend any extra money,,,, foreigners will use it during the day and then fetes in de night,,,,,. Let de federations build they own grounds,,,,,,,,,. Ah planning to kick out de TTFA from de stadium soon, ah need to renovate it, de stadium in a bad state because carnival just done nah and de fields destroy,,,,,,. More facilities equals more fete and more money in de government pocket,,,,,,, T&T is a party capital, yuh eh see de NAPA building how it destroying slowly because of de cheap Chinese wok and how de PNM government keep de rest,,,,,, we need to use our stadiums because it stronger and can hold more people, which equals more money,,,,. This is why I not fixing Dwight Yorke Stadium, Tobago have to little bit of people and they cant fill de stadiums for parties,,,,, yuh eh see we doh even have one footballer from Tobago on de T&T team now. Even Yorke eh care bout he own people he does drive drunk in Tobago and bounce don people and walk free, ent he get bounce dong when he did small to and de driver walk free, so he learn well..

Sam: So yuh went to some tops colleges in T&T and USA but yuh cant spell Laventille, how come?
Sancho: Sam, I get into St John's because I could of play ball, not because I was bright....... Boy, yuh feel them people in T&T care about my spelling, them eh even have computers? once they get rum and football around election time them happy, I want to help de caribbean people,,,,, f00ck T&T, this is why I pick Laventille where all de Grenadians and Vicentians Eric Williams bring, de Guyanese Panday and Kamla bring and de Africans, Chinese and Haitians Patrick Manning bring living there illegally,,,,,,, Laventille will be a multicultural city when I am done with it. They have footballs now, even though them eh have no fields, they could clean up de Beetham and play Futsal soon. That is grassroots Sam...

Sam: Ah see Flex axe yuh (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=64051.msg920928#msg920928) ah question about changing or asking tanty Kamla to change de law to help us get a bigger pool or have more options to get some better foreign born players on de T&T side, but yuh said no, yuh prefer home grown, but I eh seeing yuh enforcing any grass roots program to help develop home grown yet,,,,,, even yuh team Central FC doh even have a good youth system and yuh coaches eh even home grown, infact, even de staff yuh hire is not home grown, how come?
Sancho: Sam, I am a pelican,,,,,, sorry,,,,,, ah mean politician now Sam, (I have to get a spell check yes)......,,,,, so I have to be very diplo-automatic about how I answer anyona, ah mean anyone,,,,,. I dont like locals, this is why Kevin Harrison is my right hand man,,,,,, me eh care about bringing foreigners here to play for T&T,,,,,, so them could look better than we, I want to see Tim Kee suffer, infact, Tim Kee doh want no foreign born either,,,,,, he eh know if he ass punch or if it boar,,,,,,, so if them eh care, yuh want me to care? Flex axe very good questions and all make sense, but I wanted to be very diplomatic and I wanted it to be my ideas first, this is why I didn't answer them truthfully.

Sam: So TTFA election is in June, yuh planning or nominating someone?
Sancho: Well, yes, I want to bring in Kelvin Jack, he eh woking at de moment and he money he got from Kamla done,,,,,, so I want to bring him in, ah axe Shaka fost, but he only studying to sniff Yorke and Lara bottom anyway they go,,,,,, he playing golf in Tobago now,,,,,, these guys doh help nobody,,,,,,, yuh eh see he leave de court case and gone, he and he father is users, all de talk about bringing down Jack done,,,,,, them men have real contacts in Europe, yuh even see him even get a youth from T&T a trial with a club self? yuh ever see him return home to help with football,,,,,, even if is just a week camp? Look at Yorke, he bringing a bunch of retired ole men to play football in Tobago, f00ck gals and drink rum,,,,,, but de T&T government make he ambassador,,,,,,, what a f00cking joke,,,,,,,. So back to yuh question, I want Kevin there, he is good.....,,, (((ring))) (((Ring)))... [hold on Sam]... [hello]... (yes, hello, this is Mike Berry, ah just want yuh to know, ah hear yuh pushing for Kelvin to be TTFA president, yuh know I is he agent and I want my 50%, he still owe me money yuh know).... beep, beep, beep.... please hand up and try yuh call again, this is a recording.

Sam: Who was that boy?
Sancho: Nah, a long time pal, anyhow, forget he, back to de TTFA election, Sam, Tim Kee is de POS mayor, yuh ever hear him doing anything good for POS? Look he bring Sheldon Phillips here and we cant hear from him or see him, he doh come out he office to even see what goes on in training or on de field,,,,,, de man bring some TTFA plan for me to read and only talking about what they accomplish,,,,,, nothing forward and yuh eh see de shirt they have them fellas wearing, boy, them men vex, Hyland tell me, de light in de stadium when they was playing Panama was reflecting off de shirt and blinding them, that is why de team played badly in de first half, then when they change sides for de second half one bulb did blow on de east side so it was much better, ah axe Hart if he like de uniform, Hart tell me, he vex, he say de logo on top they shoulders and JOMA had some left over shirts, they just fix up and send for them,,,,,, Sam boy, I cant support this unprofessional way, they have no idea, they hire a bunch of cock burners and they do as they please, look what happen with de Argentina thing,,,,,,,. Teams only doing good because of individual talents and the love for the coach,,,,,,, but axe them players if the happy, look Hart and half of de team eh get paid since de Caribbean Cup, yuh feel Tim Kee studying that. Something have to be done about Tim Kee, yuh know he tell me point blank eh doh get paid to be de TTFA president and de POS Mayor, so he want everybody else to follow he motto,,,,,,. I will make sure T&T look bad for this Gold Cup,,,,,, Tim Kee will be gone and I will jump right in. Everything plan out,,,,,, you feel T&T football could make money? this is why I only support Cricket because its an indian sports, and once it have indians, cricket and rum,,,,, we will make money,,,,,,,,. Ah planning to selling Central FC and opening a curry factory soon,,,,,, Gally might buy it,,,,,,. You have to be smart Sam. Talking about Central, we only here two years now and we miles ahead of de TTFA, look at how the club in run and then look at de federation.

Sam: Ah like Kevin Harrision, I feel out of all them fellas, he is very good.
Sancho: Yes, Kevin is my right hand, infact, he might run for TTFA head to,,,, if I say pull meh toetie, he does do it, no questions asked, so why should I hire someone else, them Trinis want to much money,,,, yuh eh see who doing all de hard labour in T&T, is Guyanses,,,,,,, anyhow Sam, I have to go, I going up by Charlie and eat some puddin now,,,,,, we go link up again, ah like yuh interviews (((ring)) (((ring))), [hold on Sam, Maylee callin], hello darlin... (Hello baby, yuh know ah missin yuh, ah like man in power yuh know, ask Jack),,, [look oman, I is ah respectable man in this community yuh know..... whispering now, honey shhh, ah cah talk now, Sam here and he does hear everything, so ah playing it off nah, doh vex, doh vex]..,,,, (ok, ok, bye, call me later and stay way from that Brownsuger gal, she is hard core PNM, she go plan for yuh)..... [ah know right, them people on SWO is a real pain in de ass, Kevin tell me all about each one of them, he even tell me since Touches met his wife on SWO, he doh post no more, he went to eharmony to promote SWO now).

Sam: One more question, yuh going after Jack for allyuh money?
Sancho: Why, and Tim Kee paying we?,,,,,,, yuh go buy de f00cking cow if yuh getting de milk free? Ah figure out a way to cheat de T&T government though,,,,,,, and my time short, so ah want to be like ah de other Sport Ministers,,,,,, thief and go free,,,,,,, so here is de plan, take off yuh mike, this one is just for you,,,,,, give de TTFA 10 million,,,,,, de exact amount they owe us and in return they will pay us and be debt free,,,,,,,, this way my hands clean and them own to,,,,,,, I plan his soon, but keep that low, this is why Sam,,,,,,, f00ck helping them, let them fen for themselves like we did in de past,,,,,,,, f00ck players union to,,,,,, nobody cares, so I dont either. Them eh getting a red, muchless a black cent from my cabinet. I want to see where my money going fost, T&T government in not a ATM for sport,,,,,,,,, only rum. After de stadiums, my project is a giant Rum shop, right by de white house and them chinese woking for cheap too.

(https://scontent-lga.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/v/t1.0-9/10951104_905347782821484_862275302684177604_n.jpg?oh=7b2504406e580bb36b02dd7afb463ad4&oe=55A0ACFC)

Title: Karamath heartened by Sancho’s Tarouba Stadium take
Post by: Socapro on April 06, 2015, 09:52:30 AM
Karamath heartened by Sancho’s Tarouba Stadium take (http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2015-04-05/karamath-heartened-sancho%E2%80%99s-tarouba-stadium-take)
Published: Sunday, April 5, 2015 (T&T Guardian)
(http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p12/Socapro/Brian%20Lara%20Stadium%20aka%20Tarouba%20Stadium.jpg) (http://s124.photobucket.com/user/Socapro/media/Brian%20Lara%20Stadium%20aka%20Tarouba%20Stadium.jpg.html)
Tarouba Stadium—an eyesore

As he was forced to do more than two years ago the Executive Chairman of the Karamath Group of Companies, Yashmid Ellis, has come out in a strong defense of the construction of the controversial Tarouba Stadium to protect the integrity of the firm contracted to build the facility, Hafeez Karamath Limited (HKL).

This time he is doing so after the newly-appointed Sports Minister Brent Sancho, recently expressed disappointment that the Tarouba Stadium has not yet been completed and not in use.

Speaking to reporters touring the National Cycling Velodrome in Couva, Sancho told the T&T Guardian: “It is a disappointment when you look at the amount of money spent and it is just sitting there. I would hope that at some point some sort of salvaging can be done.

“I want to see proper usage. I want to see it become an income generator for the country, I want to see less tax payers dollars being spent and even if it is spent it is an investment and this investment can grow into monies being earned.”

The stadium, which began under the previous government, is now under the purview of the Urban Development Corporation of Trinidad and Tobago Limited (Udecott).

Yesterday the normally reclusive Karamath, who shies away from giving interviews to the media, told the Sunday Guardian that he was gratified that Sancho saw the benefits that the Tarouba Stadium could bring to T&T, particularly the athletes who would be the main users of the plant the cost of which is still in doubt—“I am an action man not a compulsive talker.”

The principal reason he claimed why the Tarouba Stadium was not yet opened was politics—from all sides of the equation.

Referring to some of the “unfounded” allegations about the work done on the Stadium, Karamath said his company sent documents to the Uff Commission of Inquiry to justify every aspect of the work carried out which it was requested to do so by the Commission.

He said that in spite of the allegations made against the firm the Commission never called them to give their side of the story, and only “God knows where they got their information from.”

Stressing that the company did not ignore stop orders Karamath explained because the consultants and designers were all foreigners, HKL thought they would not have a proper appreciation of local conditions and standards so they proceeded to do what they knew was acceptable in the T&T context.

On the allegation that some $1 billion was spent on the project Karamath is still alarmed about where that figure emanated from.

“Try for the life of me and HKL, I cannot fathom where this magical amount materialised from. I maintain up to this day that HKL received $500 million which sum is contained in a draft final account that was prepared by an Independent quantity surveyor hired by Udecott to reconcile the contract.

“Where did the balance of money go?…We can account for every cent spent on that project and Udecott knows the truth. We will soon publish the figures and I am sure as night follows day we did not receive a billion dollars on that project.”

One debilitating feature of what he termed was the unfair publicity HKL got for the Tarouba Stadium dispute was that the company was being squeezed out of other contracts.

“This to me is so unfair that HKL is being made to suffer from a situation that we did not create, we did not instigate, we never went against the terms of our contract...yet we are being hurt because we did all the right and proper things to fulfill our side of the contract. Is this fair?” he cried.

Arguing that HKL should not be denied the right to be considered for a contract or contracts because of perceptions over the Tarouba contract Karamath deemed this highly offensive and prejudicial.

Pointing out that HKL still has a physical presence at the Tarouba site security guards and dogs included, the company’s executive chairman was adamant that the main impediment to the completion and opening of the project was politics.

Karamath said:“I also do not want to involve the new sports minister Brent Sancho in this senseless imbroglio and I am indeed heartened that he has seen the potential benefits that the Tarouba Stadium would be to our sportsmen and sports women.

“However I maintain that this unfortunate situation is being fuelled by naked politics and I am hoping that those responsible could see the wisdom of bringing a satisfactory end to this sorry impasse as it has gone on for far too long and let us think about the nation’s interest before anything else.”
Post by: mukumsplau on April 06, 2015, 03:43:50 PM
jus spen d money an fix d damn thing..what else can we do with it?

just like eteck tamana park they will allow it to crumble to dust
Post by: Flex on June 17, 2015, 01:56:06 AM
Sancho for Toco seat.
By Yvonne Webb (Guardian).

In February former national footballer Brent Sancho replaced Dr Rupert Griffith as sport minister.

Now Sancho’s supporters are urging Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar to also have him replace Griffith as the candidate to contest the Toco/Sangre Grande seat in the September 7 general election.

Outside the Rienzi Complex headquarters of the United National Congress (UNC), Couva, on Monday night, a throng of Sancho supporters lifted him in the air, shouting at the top of their voices, “We want Sancho, we want Sancho. Give we, Sancho, give we Sancho.”

The men and women dressed in grey T-Shirts with the words ‘Delivery beats ole talk anyday’ on the front and “Sancho, we deliver, we deliver’ on the back, kept up a lively chant as Sancho mingled inside the building with the PM and other cabinet colleagues after the Monday Night Forum at the party headquarters.

As he emerged from the building around 11 pm, the group surged forward and two men lifted him in the air, in sportsman-like fashion, carrying him for a short distance.

“We love him. We love him,” a jubilant woman shouted identifying herself as a Toco/Sangre Grande constituent. She let out a resounding, “Nooooo,” when asked about Griffith returning as their candidate.

“We don’t want Griffith (the incumbent). We had him for five years and he do nothing. This man (Sancho) now come and in a couple of months this man doing a good job. So we done know what going to happen in five years to come,” one of the men holding him up in the air said.

“Brent is the man. Brent is the man,” another shouted.

In response, Sancho, who represented T&T at the 2006 World Cup in Germany, would only say, “This is the voice of the people.”

Asked if he had filed nomination papers to contest the seat for the UNC, Sancho replied, “That will be disclosed soon.”

Last month, Griffith’s former chauffeur, David John, collected a nomination form and indicated his intention to wrest the seat from his former boss on a UNC ticket.

At that point Griffith told the media all seats were opened and he had no problem with anyone contesting the seat as it was their democratic right so to do.

Although a political newbie, Sancho has been featured prominently as one of the UNC platform speakers. He was on the platform on Monday night as the party kicked off its campaign, telling the audience about plans for sports should the Government get the opportunity to serve a second term.

He said the PP was the only Government that treated sports with respect.

Post by: Flex on June 17, 2015, 02:01:43 AM
Housing for elite athletes agenda must be pursued.
By Mark Pouchet (Express).

Lewis, Sancho on same page

The Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee proposal for expedited housing for elite athletes has been rejected. But TTOC president Brian Lewis says he will pursue the proposal despite this setback while Minister of Sport Brent Sancho says he is fighting hard to make it a reality.

In a March 25 correspondence to the Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, the Minister of Housing and Urban Planning Dr Roodal Moonilal and Minister of Sport Brent Sancho, the TTOC president made a request for expedited access to HDC housing for athletes, attaching a policy proposal for housing assistance for athletes.

The proposal was a two-page document under two headings--one giving first the policy statement and then the second explaining rationale behind the proposal. The TTOC also invited further discussion if more details were required.

But on May 12, the Housing Development Corporation managing director Earlean John, in acknowledging receipt of the TTOC March 25-dated letter, declared that the HDC “takes its directives relative to the allocation and distribution of housing from the Ministry of Housing and Urban Development.”

It continued: “Consequently, we thank you for your proposal but any implementation of an ‘Elite Housing Assistance Programme’ by the HDC will have to be mandated by the Ministry of Housing & Urban Development.”

Contacted yesterday, TTOC president Brian Lewis praised Minister of Sport Sancho for making representation to his cabinet colleagues. But he said a response coming from the HDC, which he never wrote, seems to be “paper-pushing”.

“The letter didn’t go to the HDC. Considering that the correspondence was sent to the Prime Minister and copied to the Ministers of Housing and Sport, the reasonable expectation would have been to be given the opportunity to discuss the rationale for the proposal,” Lewis said.

Lewis added that T&T elite level athletes make huge sacrifices to represent the country sometimes at personal and financial costs to themselves. “Why must our athletes always have to consider packing up or migrating. The disrespect for what our athletes go through must stop. “We will not achieve 10 or more Olympic gold medals by 2024 if the plight of our athletes continue to be dismissed,” Lewis said.

But Minister of Sport Sancho said the Government is receptive to the idea but since this is the first time a government would be undertaking a venture like this, the issue had to be examined thoroughly.

“We are putting together a holistic plan and last week I had a meeting with TTOC and some other governing bodies as it relates to a 2016 push for Rio. Separate and apart from elite athlete funding we are looking at ways at how we can now generate this machinery, for lack of a better word, that could prepare our athletes holistically and not just throwing funds into their pockets, but also the possibility of housing, preparation and the training that will accumulate into us being very prepared, as my good colleague from the TTOC coined the phrase to be podium ready,” said Sancho, adding that he plans to reveal that plan in another week or two.

On the elite athlete housing assistance issue, Sancho said while he understood Lewis’ frustration and that the culture of the country doesn’t place enough emphasis on sport, he is confident because all the parties involved are receptive to the idea.

“The receptive mess by all parties to make it a reality, as sport minister I am trying hard and want it done – the TTOC president wants it and a prime minister that is receptive to the idea speaks well for us moving forward,” Sancho said.

Sancho added that one of the other projects he is working on is a pilot project of a sports academy at the primary and secondary school level.

But Lewis is adamant the housing issue must come to the fore sooner rather than later.

“The aspirations of 10 or more Olympic Gold Medals by the year 2024 is a powerful motivating impetus,” Lewis said, “The TTOC is of the resolute view that the athletes of Trinidad and Tobago especially those who are giving their all in service of their country require support in a manner such as proposed. That the TTOC did not get the opportunity to present its case does not diminish in the view of the TTOC the merit of its efforts to get acceptance for the proposal.”

Post by: asylumseeker on June 17, 2015, 06:38:03 AM
From Yvonne Webb's article, 'Sancho for Toco seat':

In response, Sancho, who represented T&T at the 2006 World Cup in Germany, would only say, “This is the voice of the people.”

Nothing like a choreographed palace coup. 

http://dictionary.cambridge.org/us/dictionary/british/palace-coup
Post by: AB.Trini on June 17, 2015, 06:04:47 PM
These sounds more like the voices  of a ignorant masses -

Apologies to Julius Caesar

The manner of this report  is mind blogging. This reads like mere foolery.  Is like they want to offer him a crown (yet ’twas not a crown neither,). Seeing how the ambitious ideas and the craving for political power has ruin many a politician, he  would probably jump at the offer of a seat at least once—but, for all that, to common thinking, he would probably pretend to not wanting it.  Then hoping they offered it to him again, then he put it by again—but, to common thinking, he was very loath to lay his fingers off it. And then they offered it the third time. He put it the third time by. And still, as he refused it, the rabblement hooted and jumped and waved their chapped hands and threw up their sweaty night-caps and uttered such a deal of stinking rum infested breath you would think that all manner of thinking have been sucked  from their inner craniums.

In that kinda country crowd  I durst not laugh for fear of opening my lips and receiving the bad air of rotting promises and senseless ability to see the foolishness  and incompetence of the choice ahead of them.
Post by: Flex on June 24, 2015, 02:06:55 AM
Sancho: Sports ministry changes necessary
By ASHFORD JACKMAN (Newsday).

CHANGE IS coming to the way sport is introduced and developed in the country, and the key element will not be the Sports Ministry, but rather the Ministry of Education.

Speaking with Newsday yesterday afternoon, Minister of Sport Brent Sancho confirmed that there is to be a new approach in seeking sporting excellence from the country’s talented athletes in every sport, but he also emphasised that most of what is being contemplated is still in the early stages of planning.

It was previously reported that Sport Ministry personnel, including coaches and sport officers had already been transferred to the Ministry of Education, and that morale was low as a result. Minister Sancho admitted changes were in the making, but he denied any major move had yet been made, saying plans were still being discussed and formulated. “That is not yet decided, but logistically, we would want that (coaches etc going to the Education Ministry),” he said.

“Everything is still at the embryonic stage. Sometimes change would bring fears, anxieties... but we have to start somewhere.”

Sancho said the concept of Education taking over certain aspects of operations that normally fall under the purview of the Sports ministry was born out of the need to meet the country’s athletic talent at an earlier age. “We are on the cusp of a ground-breaking formula. Our objective is to get closer contact with primary school students to play more sport,” he said, adding that as a result, the youngsters would benefit from advanced training in their chosen disciplines.

Among the initiatives would be the development of coaching programmes that would take young athletes from primary to secondary school. “We are not catching the athletes at a young enough age, before they develop bad habits,” the minister explained.

Sancho confirmed that as a result, there would eventually be a transfer of personnel to the Education Ministry, but the method was a long way from being worked out. “We got Cabinet approval to set up a steering committee to guide us through the process.” He also confirmed that a sporting academy was to be established; asked whether the University of Trinidad and Tobago would be involved, he answered, “It definitely won’t be part of UTT; it would be something separate and apart.

How I envisage it, we would start at a very young age.” Sancho expressed his personal conviction that this is the way forward for the country’s sporting future. “We have to recognise that sport is now a legitimate career path,” he concluded.

Post by: asylumseeker on June 24, 2015, 09:08:38 PM
"I know the needs of the people, who can defend them better than a sportsman?" (http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/32884136) --- Pamphile Mihayo, former captain of TP Mazembe (2010 FIFA World Club Championship finalist), currently assistant coach at the same club, upon commenting on his intention to stand during parliamentary elections in DR Congo.

Post by: AB.Trini on June 25, 2015, 07:21:00 AM
"I know the needs of the people, who can defend them better than a sportsman?" --- Pamphile Mihayo, former captain of TP Mazembe (2010 FIFA World Club Championship finalist), currently assistant coach at the same club, upon commenting on his intention to stand during parliamentary elections in DR Congo.

This is like sayingiknow the needs of the artist and those in cultural aspects of life who can advocate best? - leh we put Gypsy dey?

Pure incompetent rubbish and what a myopic way of choosing a candidate! If people are so easily swayed by this talk then the price of suffering will be paid for such ignorance.

Ps
Question- does the minister have any personal intentions of paying back the Moines that was given to him as part of the payments for 2006 WC ( oops looks like another patronage  move) by the government ?
If I could recall it was for monies owing to the players by the then SA , under the agreement published then, the players would pay the money back once they continued to pursue funding from the source. Hahaha big joke like that was going to happen!
In retrospect that public gesture is now looking like another buy out of potential  voters - the MO of this governance- they really say anyone could be had and bought- ah looking for hpuse and land inTobago -

Post by: asylumseeker on August 02, 2015, 10:20:58 AM
Who has been the PNM's shadow MoS? Who has been the parliamentary point person on issues regarding sport? Of the PNM candidates, who is likely to be the voice of sport?
Post by: Controversial on August 02, 2015, 10:54:53 AM
Who has been the PNM's shadow MoS? Who has been the parliamentary point person on issues regarding sport? Of the PNM candidates, who is likely to be the voice of sport?

Great questions, I've asked this before and no one answered..
Post by: Flex on August 26, 2015, 05:31:02 AM
Sport Ministry disappoints TTOC pres
T&T Guardian Reports.

President of the T&T Olympic Committee (TTOC) Brian Lewis has expressed disappointment after four national athletes employed by the Ministry of Sports were forced into taking no-pay leave when traveling to Toronto for the Pan American Games last month.

According to Lewis, the athletes’ short-term contracts did not make provisions for special leave. However, he noted it would be difficult for elite athletes to be given special treatment by their employers when the Ministry of Sport could not accommodate its own.

“I was very disquieted to be informed about this,” he said. “I think the fact that they were employed by the Ministry of Sport raises some fundamental questions. Where is the moral authority now to expect that corporate T&T and other employers will consider representing your country as national service. I’m not saying it as a criticism, I’m saying it as an observation and it’s an issue that needs to be dealt with upfront.”

Lewis stressed that the country needed to create an environment which would enable its athletes to reach their full potential.

“We still have a lot of work to do and the TTOC is really trying to deepen the whole athlete-centered approach,” he said. “If we really want to achieve ten or more Olympic medals by 2024, we need to ensure our athletes have what they need.”

Lewis did commend the Ministry for its new ‘Podium Push’ initiative, though he was awaiting clarification about whether it would affect existing programmes.

“We have to make sure it is aligned with our various programmes already in place,” he said. “I am a big supporter of our Elite Athletes Assistance Programme. Yes, it needs to be revamped and reviewed. It has been Cabinet-approved. It assures that the TTOC is part of the process which makes for better transparency and accountability, better fairness and equity.

“I think it is important therefore that whatever is coming up acts as a compliment and not a replacement for the EAAP. The reality is that we are in an environment where due to the drop in oil and gas revenue, the Ministry of Finance has called for belt tightening. If we are coming up with another programme, is it going to be at the expense of the EAAP? I think all these things need to be looked at.”
Post by: R45 on August 26, 2015, 02:33:38 PM
Optics are poor given they are Ministry of Sport employees, but this is probably a wider discussion - are employers responsible for providing paid leave to athletes to represent their country?

I'd use an example of Jury Duty, which is also serving your country. Employers are not required by law to offer paid leave for employees to go on Jury duty (they must offer leave and not alter their employment, but the leave can be unpaid). Is jury duty any different from representing your country in sports?

In my opinion, it's no different.
Post by: Controversial on August 26, 2015, 02:35:30 PM
Optics are poor given they are Ministry of Sport employees, but this is probably a wider discussion - are employers responsible for providing paid leave to athletes to represent their country?

I'd use an example of Jury Duty, which is also serving your country. Employers are not required by law to offer paid leave for employees to go on Jury duty (they must offer leave and not alter their employment, but the leave can be unpaid). Is jury duty any different from representing your country in sports?

In my opinion, it's no different.

great point...
Post by: asylumseeker on September 11, 2015, 01:26:33 AM
Having rendered himself a servant of public life in Trinidad and Tobago, former Minister Sancho is deserving of acknowledgment for his willingness to participate in, and contribute to, the civic life and development of the country.

In the context of the democratic ideal, it is important that we separate this basic act of service from the undercurrent of consequences and polemics that flow from the cut and thrust of politics; and, from diverse views on policy, policy-making and the execution thereof.

As citizens, we all have varying visions of the present and of the future. Minister Sancho had his. However, this should not detract from separating the man from the office. As such, Brent Sancho, thanks!

Time will tell whether it was a beneficial exercise.

Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2015, 07:41:54 AM
Having rendered himself a servant of public life in Trinidad and Tobago, former Minister Sancho is deserving of acknowledgment for his willingness to participate in, and contribute to, the civic life and development of the country.

In the context of the democratic ideal, it is important that we separate this basic act of service from the undercurrent of consequences and polemics that flow from the cut and thrust of politics; and, from diverse views on policy, policy-making and the execution thereof.

As citizens, we all have varying visions of the present and of the future. Minister Sancho had his. However, this should not detract from separating the man from the office. As such, Brent Sancho, thanks!

Time will tell whether it was a beneficial exercise.

Title: Zoff takes legal action against Sancho
Post by: Tallman on July 29, 2016, 07:56:00 AM
Zoff takes legal action against Sancho
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian)

Community sports organiser Roger Celestine, known as “Zoff” is taking legal actions against Brent Sancho, former Minister of Sports under the People’s Partnership Government.

“Zoff,” who for the past 39 years has been the man organising football, cricket, all fours and other cultural events in the San Juan/Barataria area in the name of Tyro Sports Club, is suing Sancho for monies owed to him for payment of prizes for an all-fours tournament last year, that comprised a League, Knock-Out, Mixed Doubles, Big 8, Champion of Champions, After Party Knock-Out, as well as special awards such as most bullseye, most discipline and most hanged jacks.

Zoff said yesterday a pre-action protocol letter was delivered to Sancho’s home in Maraval by the club’s lawyers Natasha and Company. Apart from all-fours, the veteran sports administrator was asked by Sancho to organise football and cricket tournaments.

Celestine said he received $60,000 from Sancho, an ex-national defender to cover prizes in cricket, as well as $50,000 for football, but was given the run around for the $70,000 promised for all-fours.

Zoff said Sancho has since caused severe discomfort to him and his family, noting that it is only because of his good name over the years, that no one has decided to sue, threaten or inflict any pain on him to date. He said he last spoke to Sancho, the managing director at local Pro League club Central FC back in November, the day before the final of the all-fours. “Sancho told me then that he was $200, 000 out of pocket for his election campaign. I told him that the competition was almost completed and I needed monies to pay the teams the day after,” Zoff explained.

He noted it was the last time he heard from Sancho, as the ex-minister has since been avoiding his calls and not responded to his text messages.

Zoff noted it was because of Neil Gosine, chairman of the National Petroleum Marketing Company Limited that he was able to finish the all-fours tournament. Zoff is calling on Sancho to settle the issue, saying: “All I want is to pay the people their money.”

He insisted there is no bad blood between him and Sancho, admitting that if Sancho wants him to organise another tournament, he will do it.

“This is not about me or Sancho. The bigger picture is that the people in the country will be served, as there is mounting tension in the country. We have crime on the rise, people losing their jobs daily and people are becoming frustrated, so I want to provide an opportunity for people to channel their energies and to relax and cool their heads,” Zoff said.