Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on March 13, 2015, 08:47:09 AM

Title: Thread for the T&T vs Guatemala Game (9-Jul-2015)
Post by: Flex on March 13, 2015, 08:47:09 AM
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs Guatemala 2015 Gold Cup game at Soldier Field, Chicago (7pm) on the 9th of July 2015 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

http://deportesenvivo.univision.com/game/guatemala-at-trinidad-on-20150709

http://johnnystv.blogspot.com/

Possible TV Station.

Fox Sports 2 (in US)

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers

Jan-Michael Williams (Central FC), Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin Civic), Adrian Foncette (Police FC).

Defenders

Mekeil Williams (Antigua GFC, Guatemala), Sheldon Bateau (KV Mechelen, Belgium), Joevin Jones (Chicago Fire, USA), Radanfah Abu Bakr (HB Koge, Denmark), Daneil Cyrus (W Connection), Aubrey David (Shakhter Karagandy, Kazakhstan), Yohance Marshall (Juventud Independiente, El Salvador).

Midfielders

Andre Boucaud (Dagenham & Redbridge, UK), Khaleem Hyland (KVC Westerlo, Belgium), Ataullah Guerra (Central FC), Keron Cummings (North East Stars), Cordell Cato (San Jose Earthquakes, USA), Lester Peltier (Slovan Bratislava, Slovakia), Dwane James (North East Stars), Kevan George (Columbus Crew, USA).

Forwards

Kenwyne Jones (A.F.C. Bournemouth, UK), Jonathan Glenn (IBV, Iceland), Willis Plaza (Central FC), Rundell Winchester (Portland Timbers 2, USA), Kadeem Corbin (St. Ann’s Rangers).

Coach - Stephen Hart.

Guatemala Squad

Goalkeepers

To be updated.

Defenders

To be updated.

Midfielders

To be updated.

Forwards

To be updated.

Coach - To be updated.

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

Title: Re: Thread for the T&T vs Guatemala Game (9-Jul-2015)
Post by: Flex on July 07, 2015, 07:10:52 AM
Warriors move to Chicago for opener.
T&T Express Reports.

The Trinidad and Tobago senior men's team will arrive in Chicago just after midday today ahead of their opening 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup opening match against Guatemala on Thursday at Soldier Field.

Head coach Stephen Hart is expected to conduct a light session this evening at a nearby training field before the “Soca Warriors” run out for a one-hour training session at the match venue the following day.

Skipper Kenwyne Jones and his team will be hoping to see evidence of support for the team in the stadiums for the games and already one person has guaranteed this for the game against Cuba in Phoenix.

Dr. Anil Ramnanan,Consul General of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago of Miami, visited the team during their training camp in Fort Lauderdale and looked on at the 1-0 victory over Haiti at the Central Broward Regional Park. Ramnanan revealed that there will be buses takings T&T nationals from Florida to Phoenix to support the team on July 12.

Meantime, goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams is focusing on the Guatemala affair.

“The training camp here in Fort Lauderdale had its benefits for us. We have been growing in confidence. The players have been coming together and really focusing now on what is ahead of us.

The level of preparation before this camp was not perfect but now we have had some valuable time together. The vibe and atmosphere in the camp has gotten better. There are lots of competitions for places in the team and that is always good heading into matches like the ones we are preparing for,”Wiliams said.

RELATED NEWS

Jones rallies supporters for Gold Cup.
T&T Newsday Reports.

The Trinidad and Tobago Senior Men’s Team will arrive in Chicago just after midday today ahead of their opening 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup match against Guatemala on Thursday at Soldier Field.

Skipper Kenwyne Jones and his team will be hoping to see evidence of support for the team in the stadiums for the games and already one person has guaranteed this for the game against Cuba in Phoenix.

Dr Anil Ramnanan, Consul General of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago of Miami, visited the team during their training camp in Fort Lauderdale and looked on at the 1-0 victory over Haiti at the Central Broward Regional Park. Dr Ramnanan revealed that there will be buses taking TT nationals from Florida to Phoenix to support the team against Cuba on July 12.

“It’s been a pleasure seeing any national team play up here. We are very happy to welcome this national football team as they move on to play their first game in Chicago, North Carolina and Charlotte thereafter,” Ramnanan said.

“We feel with the institutional success of TT football over the decades, the tenacity and hard work, the innate talent and skill, the coaching and the effort these guys have put in, we must show our appreciation to the team. We want to say that the TT nationals abroad are here to support our national team and we will see them as we travel on the road in large numbers as we offer our support to them. We have already purchased block tickets and will be going there in numbers to show our support to the boys.

“There is a burning desire for people to see their national teams participating out there. With football being the most popular sport in the world and gaining so much popularity here in the US it’s even more welcoming and heartening to see our national team here. The United States is looking forward to Trinidad and Tobago success over here,” Ramnanan said. Meantime, goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams is focussing on the Guatemala affair.

“The training camp here in Fort Lauderdale had its benefits for us. We have been growing in confidence.

“The players have been coming together and really focussing now on what is ahead of us. The level of preparation before this camp was not perfect but now we have had some valuable time together.

“The vibe and atmosphere in the camp has gotten better. There are lots of competitions for places in the team and that is always good heading into matches like the ones we are preparing for,” Williams said.

Post by: maxg on July 07, 2015, 07:44:14 AM
florida to phoenix by bus. Give them people medals.. the boys Must play for them.
Post by: Sam on July 07, 2015, 08:20:45 AM
T&T must play compose and take their chances they cannot let Guatemala come at them to hard and control the game early.

Phillips
Williams
Abu Bakr
Bateau
Cyrus
Joevin
Boucaud
Cummings
Peltier
Plaza
Jones

Post by: kaliman2006 on July 07, 2015, 08:22:48 AM
Any updates on TV stations viewing options for tomorrow's match?
Post by: soccerman on July 07, 2015, 08:42:52 AM
The game is Thursday and it's on Fox Sports 2 (if you have that channel), not sure about online.
Post by: Controversial on July 07, 2015, 09:08:33 AM
T&T must play compose and take their chances they cannot let Guatemala come at them to hard and control the game early.

Phillips
Williams
Abu Bakr
Bateau
Cyrus
Joevin
Boucaud
Cummings
Peltier
Plaza
Jones

Harty not playing a 4-4-2... its a 4-3-3...
Post by: kaliman2006 on July 07, 2015, 09:14:13 AM
The game is Thursday and it's on Fox Sports 2 (if you have that channel), not sure about online.

Thank you
Post by: Controversial on July 07, 2015, 09:55:02 AM

Thank you

game is also on sportsnet world in canada
Post by: Flex on July 08, 2015, 02:11:03 AM
Warriors touch down in Windy City.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Hart expects tough Guatemala challenge

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior men footballers will have a walk through Soldier Field, Chicago tomorrow (Wednesday) on the eve of their opening 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup encounter with Guatemala. They will train once on Wednesday in the early afternoon at the University of Illinois training field.

The Team arrived in Chicago at 3pm TT Time from Fort Lauderdale before settling in at the  Marriott Magnificent Mile hotel.

Head coach Stephen Hart told reporters in Chicago that he is expecting Guatemala to pose a difficult challenge to the “Soca Warriors” but nothing that would be beyond Kenwyne Jones and his teammates.

“I think they will be a difficult opponent for us. We’ve had a look at them on tape and we saw also them against the US a couple days ago. The scoreline was flattering for the Americans because Guatemala also created a lot of scoring chances which they didn’t capitalize on. They have always been a decent team and I expect them to come at us,” Hart said.

“But I think we are also up for this challenge. Our immediate aim is to get out of the group stage which I think we are capable of doing and then of course we are here to go one step better than we did in 2013 which would mean us wanting to get to the quarter finals and then get into the last four,” Hart added before conducting a training session with the team at the University of Illinois Training field at 7pm on Tuesday.

T&T player Joevin Jones is back in familiar territory and would be more accustomed to the conditions here than most of his teammates having been with MLS club Chicago Fire for the past few months.

“It’s great to be here with the national team. I’ve been here playing for a good bit of time now and to be able to play with my country is special. We’ve been working quite hard over the past few days and hopefully we can show it on the field on Thursday,” Jones said.

“I have a few fans at the club here and hopefully they will be supporting us in the match on Thursday. It would be wonderful to taste victory with Trinidad and Tobago here in Chicago,” Jones added.

Slovakia-based winger Lester Peltier was the final player expected to join the team on Tuesday, coming in from Slovakia.

Post by: Tiresais on July 08, 2015, 03:55:05 AM
Gonna predict 1-0, don't know which way, sadly I suspect Guatemala, but desperately hoping for T&T
Post by: pull stones on July 08, 2015, 04:59:49 AM
if our players follow the coaches instructions and play with purpose there's no way guatemala could beat us, it would have to be purposeful sabotage like they did in jordan. i've seen guatemala and they are the worst team in the whole competition, especially now since they don't have ruiz.
Post by: de_redman on July 08, 2015, 05:33:37 AM
Gonna predict 1-0, don't know which way, sadly I suspect Guatemala, but desperately hoping for T&T
How can 1-0 either way be a prediction?  ::) Come better than that!
Post by: de_redman on July 08, 2015, 05:34:02 AM
2-0 T&T victory...
Post by: Tiresais on July 08, 2015, 06:06:48 AM
How can 1-0 either way be a prediction?  ::) Come better than that!

I'm hedging my bets, sitting on the fence, could go either way, pick your favourite phrase ;) I'm gonna plum for T&T, might even lay a bit of money on it, but sadly think that I might be wrong.
Post by: dreamer on July 08, 2015, 06:20:50 AM
All the best T&T Socawarriors. Joevin looking to see you explode in Chicago and get on like a marabunta on the L midfield, whipping in crosses with your L foot or darting inside, weaving and twisting, letting go shots outside the box or causing free kicks at the edge of the area. Rundell while he is doing that, I want to see you make off the ball runs, spreading the Guacamole Guatamole defense. Guerra need to see the roughneck in you with the laser rocket shot, low into the corner of the net. Plaza do yuh ting like Scrunter de hunter in front of goal. Kenwyne plenty hustle and sweet headers off Peltier's, Cyrus's, Joevin's and Rundell's crosses. Peltier blistering pace from you. Happy that you are healthy and in 90 mins form. Cato you to continue the misery for Guata's L back in the last 20 mins. Hyland steady the ship in the defensive mid and let go your two footed rockets every now and then. Kevan or Boucs, nice hustling, while quietly doing your thing. Bateau, Marshall or Abu, best of luck in the center mid. Defensive rocks allowing us to attack more. Mikeil your day to shine in the wing back, before you start playing (actually professionally) in Guatemala. Cyrus manhandle the Guate winger, and to our goal keepers Jan and Marvin, we praying for your spiderman skills to fluorish.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 08, 2015, 08:47:18 AM
if our players follow the coaches instructions and play with purpose there's no way guatemala could beat us, it would have to be purposeful sabotage like they did in jordan. i've seen guatemala and they are the worst team in the whole competition, especially now since they don't have ruiz.

Negative. Pescado was the mastermind slowing down the proceedings versus Bermuda. He's involved at this Gold Cup.
Post by: Controversial on July 08, 2015, 10:01:24 AM
2-0 TT ... Not a fence sitter.. TT taking this...
Post by: de_redman on July 08, 2015, 10:49:39 AM
2-0 TT ... Not a fence sitter.. TT taking this...
Post by: de_redman on July 08, 2015, 10:52:08 AM
Time to vibes it up fellas!  :challenge: :wavetowel: :challenge: :wavetowel: :cheers:
Post by: Tiresais on July 08, 2015, 01:04:25 PM
Got a whole British Pound riding on T&T for the win! Could afford half a pint if I win! ;)
Post by: theworm2345 on July 08, 2015, 04:47:43 PM
Disappointed I can't make it tomorrow, good luck T&T (and Cuba)
Post by: kaliman2006 on July 08, 2015, 05:34:37 PM
Although I am lucky to have fox sports 2, it is ridiculous that none of the local stations is televising any of Trinidad and Tobago's matches.

No wonder our football is in the state it is in...
Post by: Tallman on July 08, 2015, 06:25:07 PM
Head Coach Stephen Hart gives his thoughts ahead of Trinidad and Tobago’s Gold Cup opener against Guatemala
https://www.youtube.com/v/KK-87TSNZok
Post by: Tallman on July 08, 2015, 08:39:54 PM
Head Coach Stephen Hart and Captain Kenwyne Jones speak at a CONCACAF Gold Cup pre-match press conference ahead of T&T’s opener against Guatemala
https://www.youtube.com/v/-zEWZEZSw6k
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on July 08, 2015, 08:56:53 PM
That stereotypical question that the latin journalist asked Jones is precisely the reason why I want Jamaica and Haiti to also have success. Jones should have asked if the Latino players were gonna dive roll around everytime they feel slight contact. You could tell coach and captain were very annoyed by that one.
Post by: pull stones on July 08, 2015, 09:05:27 PM
Head Coach Stephen Hart gives his thoughts ahead of Trinidad and Tobago’s Gold Cup opener against Guatemala
https://www.youtube.com/v/KK-87TSNZok
coach hart it's trinidad and tobago, not trinidad. thank you.
Post by: pull stones on July 08, 2015, 09:18:02 PM
steve hart looks like a very unhappy man with the present state of trinbago football and the problems that plague the team behind the scenes on an administrative level. i sure hope he stays for the world cup qualifying.
Post by: de_redman on July 08, 2015, 09:29:41 PM
Although I am lucky to have fox sports 2, it is ridiculous that none of the local stations is televising any of Trinidad and Tobago's matches.

No wonder our football is in the state it is in...
CNC3 has already committed to showing CPL T20 cricket every night
Post by: Controversial on July 08, 2015, 09:35:23 PM
steve hart looks like a very unhappy man with the present state of trinbago football and the problems that plague the team behind the scenes on an administrative level. i sure hope he stays for the world cup qualifying.

Thanks to the corrupt Tim Kee
Post by: AB.Trini on July 08, 2015, 11:01:37 PM

Wow! What a hasty generalization based on some oblique references to external pressure- from that man done attribute it to specific person or admonistration- look as a coach and a player there are variables beyond ones locus of control - for players and coach alike the most redeeming factor is the preparation and play onthe field. In many apects an opportunity to play at a tournament like this has more gains for the individual playand coach as oppose to any Federation administration. The team's success and players performances  will result in more possible benefits for players looking for exposure and possible foreign contracts.
The discipline another's us required of a player amd  coach to focus on the energy  on where they have control over and wher they could dictate the outcome.  This coach as one of our own has a lot more to gain rather than packing a suitcase and waking- allyuh forget how unceremoniously he was dues by Canada after the lost to Honurous? Is like how quickly Ben Johnson became  a Jamacian again after the doping scandal! Coach Hart is in a position to exert positive change and to show what could be accomplished in spite of-  as his resielcy come forward so will the teams- if he falters as are su.t of the external pressures the team may be impacted as well. So I believe this coach who understands the system, the culture and the bacchanalian of the Federation has the most to give  to lead andto shape the nationl team away from the distractions nd to bring our football back to a point of respectability in spite of...,
People who basking in bashing  an easy target forget all the legacy ofa SA who ran rampant with mismanagement of the funds and left it in the state we are in today -Then instead of former minister of sports and present ones trying to come together to resolve issues and make things right, it appears that they are creating more divisiveness among players and Federation this adding to the turmoil- people ought to be part of a solution rather that adding to thero let IMHO
Talented players disciplined players passionate players willing players  will prevail in spite of a dexter Al pressures ought not be an excuse for failure- everyone needs to hold a mirror to himself and see who has the powers to make a difference and a commitment to the betterment of football in TNT!
Post by: pull stones on July 09, 2015, 12:01:31 AM

all due respect mate i am not here to discuss politics and you seem to be a little too political for my football taste. in all honesty i don't understand why you would say that timkee is corrupt when he happens to be one of our best administrators in decades, maybe ever. i could only resort to thinking that this might be politically motivated. i am however disgusted with the fact that he sancho was once a national player and knows the hardship of international football, yet he does nothing to ease the stress of his former team mates (k.jones, j williams). what a guy.
Post by: Flex on July 09, 2015, 01:52:27 AM
Warriors hunt winning start.
T&T Guardian Reports.

T&T Soca Warriors will be looking to get out of the blocks strongly when they face Guatemala in the 2015 Concacaf Gold Cup Group C opener at Soldier Field Stadium, Illinois, Chicago from 6 pm today.

Both teams have a long history with the last meeting between the two teams being in the 2010 World Cup qualifying campaign when T&T pulled off a 0-0 draw in Guatemala City to stay alive in the semi-final round of qualification, after a 1-1 first-leg result in T&T.

In their last meeting, both teams drew 1-1 in 2007 in their final Gold Cup Group stage match while T&T had a 3-2 home win in the second-leg of the 2006 successful Germany World Cup qualifying campaign to avenge a 5-1 away loss.

Yesterday, T&T coach Stephen Hart, appearing in his second Gold Cup with the Soca Warriors after a quarterfinal finish last time out, had one final session at the University of Illinois.

Speaking on the eve of the clash with the Central Americans Hart said he was anxious to get over the opening game.

“The first game is always the one you want to get out of the way in a tournament like this. There is anxiety, eagerness and just a willingness to take the field and play the game. And of course the performance and the result somewhat sets the pace for the rest of the tournament,” Hart said.

Hart’s men will enter today’s clash on a goal drought, but the T&T coach is confident of turning around their fortunes in Chicago.

Officially, T&T is without a goal in 450 international minutes dating back to the Caribbean Cup in November - but did earn a 1-0 win over Haiti behind closed doors, also on Friday, in an unofficial friendly while Guatemala advanced in Concacaf's World Cup qualifying with a 1-0 aggregate win over Bermuda in June, to end a seven-match winless streak before suffering a 4-0 loss to USA in a friendly on Friday.

Since July 1, the “Soca Warrior” have had a strong eight days of preparations in both Miami and Chicago 1 and according to Hart the players have all showed good energy levels.

“I felt it’s good to have certain leadership and people who have played in the tournament especially now where we have a lot of young players who have done well and deserve to be here," Hart said.

With respect to Guatemala Hart says he is expecting a difficult challenge, but nothing that would be beyond Kenwyne Jones and his teammates.

Tournament officials revealed yesterday that 48,000 tickets have been sold for the double header which will also see Cuba taking on Mexico in the second match. The majority of fans will no doubt include Guatemalans, Mexicans and Cubans but the atmosphere is expected to be abuzz and a win for the Soca Warriors will be the ideal start. The conditions have been chilly with temperatures ranging between 16-20 degrees Celsius.

T&T: Guatemala’s ‘Black Beast’.
T&T Express Reports.

Guatemalans have described Trinidad and Tobago as their “Black Beast”, meaning a ferocious and dangerous foe which has often hurt them.

It may be a fitting description. The Soca Warriors have knocked Guatemala out of World Cup qualifying the last two times the countries have met. T&T have not lost to Guatemala since a humiliating 5-1 away loss during the 2006 World Cup campaign. But with the Guatemalans looking qualifiers, T&T won 3-2 at home, edging the Central Americans to fourth place in CONCACAF on the way to qualifying for the World Cup. T&T also kayoed Guatemala in 2010 following a goalless draw in Guatemala City.

Matches between Trinidad and Guatemala are always close, with the Soca Warriors having a slight winning edge. Three CONCACAF Gold meetings have followed that trend. The teams drew 1-1 in the last meeting in 2007; T&T won 4-2 in 2000 under Bertille St Clair and Guatemala won 1-0 in 1991.

OVERALL RECORD

P W D L GF GA

Trinidad and Tobago 14 5 5 4 16 20

Guatemala 14 4 5 5 20 16

HEAD TO HEAD

12/10/2008 WC Qualification CONCACAF 2010 South Africa:

Trinidad and Tobago 0 Guatemala 0

06/09/2008 WC Qualification CONCACAF 2010 South Africa:

Trinidad and Tobago 1 Guatemala 1

12/06/2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup 2007:

03/09/2005 WC Qualification CONCACAF 2006 Germany:

Trinidad and Tobago 3 Guatemala 2

27/03/2005 WC Qualification CONCACAF 2006 Germany:

Guatemala 5 Trinidad and Tobago 1

15/02/2000 CONCACAF Gold Cup 2000:

Trinidad and Tobago 4 Guatemala 2

08/12/1996 WC Qualification CONCACAF 1998 France:

Guatemala 2 Trinidad and Tobago 1

06/10/1996 WC Qualification CONCACAF 1998 France:

1991 CONCACAF Gold Cup 1991:

Trinidad and Tobago 0 Guatemala 1

03/09/1989 WC Qualification CONCACAF 1990 Italy:

Trinidad and Tobago 2 Guatemala 1

20/08/1989 WC Qualification CONCACAF 1990 Italy:

Guatemala 0 Trinidad and Tobago 1

10/12/1973 WC Qualification CONCACAF 1974 West Germany:

Trinidad and Tobago 1 Guatemala 0

20/11/1968 WC Qualification CONCACAF 1970 Mexico:

Trinidad and Tobago 0 Guatemala 0

17/11/1968 WC Qualification CONCACAF 1970 Mexico:

Guatemala 4 Trinidad and Tobago 0

Post by: Flex on July 09, 2015, 01:54:38 AM
Shaka pushes ‘Warriors’ to dig deep.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

Former national goalkeeper Shaka Hislop wants the Soca Warriors to pull out all the stops in the CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Hislop, who saved at the 2001 CONCACAF Gold Cup under Rene Simoes, sees the tournament as a main stage for teams in the region outside of the World Cup and believes it could be critical towards this country’s road towards regaining some respect in the region and beyond.

“There is a lot that has as happened not just with T&T but in world football in general. My hope is that it’s a clean slate for us to reinvent to refine and refocus our football. That is my greatest hope. As we set off on another World Cup campaign and Gold Cup I think it’s a perfect opportunity for us to say this is who we are and this is who we will be going forward,” Hislop said.

Regarding T&T’s Gold Cup campaign specifically, the ESPN football pundit said, “There is an opportunity to write their names in history. We’ve shown in the past that we can do well in this tournament. I saw the team in the last Gold Cup and I think they were able to put on a performance that surprised many and it was a good sign for us. This time around, with everything that has happened, hopefully we can give a strong showing again and push on from here.”

Post by: Tallman on July 09, 2015, 07:00:13 AM
Trinidad and Tobago prepare for opening Gold Cup match against Guatemala
https://www.youtube.com/v/ppkbra0nA-M
Post by: pull stones on July 09, 2015, 07:01:49 AM
Coach hart I have a few concerns with our players going into this game but my main concern is with jan Michael Williams. This man makes some impossible saves and foul up the simple ones, and one of the reasons for this is his positioning. Most of the time jan stands in the middle of the six yard box off his line especially when we are defending an attack, that is when he concedes the most. And i could only attribute it to his lack of faith in his defenders, and if he is to stop making these basic errors he better learn to trust the guys in front of him. The best goal keepers in the world hug their goal line and trust their defenders when they defending an attack and jan should too.
Post by: Controversial on July 09, 2015, 07:36:03 AM

all due respect mate i am not here to discuss politics and you seem to be a little too political for my football taste. in all honesty i don't understand why you would say that timkee is corrupt when he happens to be one of our best administrators in decades, maybe ever. i could only resort to thinking that this might be politically motivated. i am however disgusted with the fact that he sancho was once a national player and knows the hardship of international football, yet he does nothing to ease the stress of his former team mates (k.jones, j williams). what a guy.

this is not political mate... this is facts about a man who cannot run our football, regardless of political affiliation...

ps- Make sure to check the Trinidad newspapers in the coming weeks  ;)
Post by: Tallman on July 09, 2015, 12:56:29 PM
PREVIEW: Trinidad & Tobago vs Guatemala
https://www.youtube.com/v/Kk7glig33Ao
Post by: frico on July 09, 2015, 02:58:42 PM
Got a whole British Pound riding on T&T for the win! Could afford half a pint if I win! ;)
Yuh sure one pound can buy a half pint,I don't think so,anyway I'll sit with my Special Brew,and hope for the best.
Post by: rickstaa on July 09, 2015, 03:51:00 PM
Good luck tonight T&T represent us well :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Socapro on July 09, 2015, 03:52:51 PM
T&T Express Reports.

Guatemalans have described Trinidad and Tobago as their “Black Beast”, meaning a ferocious and dangerous foe which has often hurt them.

This sounds a bit racist but I like it!

More motivation for our team not to lose to Guatemala!  :thumbsup:
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 04:04:03 PM
What time is this game?
Post by: Preacher on July 09, 2015, 04:18:08 PM
What time is this game?

6pm central time. 
Post by: vb on July 09, 2015, 04:30:55 PM
T&T Express Reports.

This sounds a bit racist but I like it!

More motivation for our team not to lose to Guatemala!  :thumbsup:

It's a compliment.
Post by: Tallman on July 09, 2015, 04:47:54 PM
LIVE STREAMS: T&T vs Guatemala. Kick-off at 7pm EST.
http://deportesenvivo.univision.com/game/guatemala-at-trinidad-on-20150709
http://johnnystv.blogspot.com/
Post by: Tallman on July 09, 2015, 04:55:18 PM
Starting XI vs Guatemala:
21. Jan-Michael Williams
2. Aubrey David
4. Sheldon Bateau
5. Daneil Cyrus
6. Radanfah Abu-Bakr
8. Khaleem Hyland
3. Joevin Jones
13. Cordell Cato
19. Kevan George
9. Kenwyne Jones
11. Ataulla Guerra

Subs:
1. Marvin Phillip
22. Adrian Foncette
18. Yohance Marshall
17. Mekeil Wiliams
14. Andre Boucaud
20. Keron Cummings
15. Dwane James
23. Lester Peltier
16. Rundell Winchester
7. Jonathan Glenn
12. Kadeem Corbin
10. Willis Plaza
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 05:04:30 PM
TT Anthem, Short, sweet, to the point.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 09, 2015, 05:04:45 PM
Jan leggo ah huge exhale dey. Nerves. Maybe he'll feel better after de national anthem.
Post by: theworm2345 on July 09, 2015, 05:07:07 PM
Starting XI vs Guatemala:
21. Jan-Michael Williams
2. Aubrey David
4. Sheldon Bateau
5. Daneil Cyrus
6. Radanfah Abu-Bakr
8. Khaleem Hyland
3. Joevin Jones
13. Cordell Cato
19. Kevan George
9. Kenwyne Jones
11. Kadeem Corbin

Subs:
1. Marvin Phillip
22. Adrian Foncette
18. Yohance Marshall
17. Mekeil Wiliams
14. Andre Boucaud
20. Keron Cummings
15. Dwane James
23. Lester Peltier
16. Rundell Winchester
7. Jonathan Glenn
12. Ataulla Guerra
10. Willis Plaza

11 is Guerra, he is starting
Post by: Tallman on July 09, 2015, 05:13:44 PM
11 is Guerra, he is starting

Yes, there was a mistake between him and Corbin on CONCACAF's site.
Post by: pull stones on July 09, 2015, 05:16:03 PM
we look very sloppy and we are sloppy because we are trying to do too much, just play the simple pass and wait till the game open up. come on guys have you learned nothing from previous mistakes?
Post by: lefty on July 09, 2015, 05:18:53 PM
GOAL! ;D
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 05:19:01 PM
Yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Cocorite on July 09, 2015, 05:19:19 PM
Goal T&T Bateau
Post by: soccerman on July 09, 2015, 05:19:27 PM
Yes yes yes  :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: Tallman on July 09, 2015, 05:19:35 PM
GOAAAALLLLLLL! Sheldon Bateau gives T&T a 1-0 lead over Guatemala in the 11th minute. Khaleem Hyland provided the corner. #TRIvGUA
Post by: soccerman on July 09, 2015, 05:20:16 PM
Finally a good corner and we score  :applause:
Post by: Cocorite on July 09, 2015, 05:21:28 PM
Goal Cato
Post by: soccerman on July 09, 2015, 05:21:40 PM
How you mean Cato  :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: lefty on July 09, 2015, 05:22:12 PM
GOAAL AGAIIIN!
Post by: Tallman on July 09, 2015, 05:22:23 PM
GOAAAALLLLLLL! Cordell Cato gives T&T a 2-0 lead over Guatemala in the 14th minute.
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 05:22:35 PM
yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Dinner Mints on July 09, 2015, 05:23:07 PM
We eh even playing that good I find. If we settle down, we could real rout these fellas.
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 09, 2015, 05:25:00 PM
We never get proper revenge for the 5-1 in Guat, make today de day!!!!!
Post by: bingie man on July 09, 2015, 05:26:41 PM
 :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: soccerman on July 09, 2015, 05:28:12 PM
Good Cyrus...rough dem up!
Post by: Tallman on July 09, 2015, 05:29:32 PM
Both Sheldon Bateau and Cordell Cato have scored their first goals for the T&T senior team.
Post by: Preacher on July 09, 2015, 05:29:38 PM
Dang some Black Beasts out dey!!!!!   ;D
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 05:29:52 PM
We still eh settle down.
Post by: lefty on July 09, 2015, 05:32:41 PM
3-0 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Cocorite on July 09, 2015, 05:33:01 PM
Goal JJ
Post by: Tallman on July 09, 2015, 05:33:22 PM
GOAAAALLLLLLL! Joevin Jones makes it 3-0 for T&T over Guatemala in the 25th minute.
Post by: Preacher on July 09, 2015, 05:33:36 PM
Who is this team boy?   ;D
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 05:33:42 PM
yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Dinner Mints on July 09, 2015, 05:34:08 PM
It might be on.
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 05:34:23 PM

The team that got 3 from Jordan, the other day!!!!
Post by: soccerman on July 09, 2015, 05:34:41 PM
You coulda been in de stands  ;D
Post by: soccerman on July 09, 2015, 05:36:31 PM
Like we take ah note from de US women
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 09, 2015, 05:37:18 PM
Like we take ah note from de US women

Or Germany  ;D
Post by: Preacher on July 09, 2015, 05:40:04 PM
You coulda been in de stands  ;D

Right?    ;D    I Deeks I don't think this team will ever settle down.  Straight running and wildness.   As long as it wukking...
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 05:43:34 PM
This is the Tullah we want to see!!!
Post by: Tallman on July 09, 2015, 05:43:41 PM
That was also Joevin Jones’ first goal for the T&T senior team.
Post by: soccerman on July 09, 2015, 05:45:42 PM
We miss to sitters dey...no mercy fellas, buss de net
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 05:47:38 PM
Our guys need to check their studs. they slipping too much!!!
Post by: Preacher on July 09, 2015, 05:50:08 PM
Yep
Post by: lefty on July 09, 2015, 05:51:48 PM
we playin 4-3-3 didn't ketch d stats
Post by: Preacher on July 09, 2015, 05:53:59 PM
I not even really sure what kinda brand I watching fro T&T.  Anyone care to interpret? 

It's almost like high pressure in every third. 
Post by: asylumseeker on July 09, 2015, 05:55:13 PM

It's the usual suspect.
Post by: Tallman on July 09, 2015, 05:55:53 PM
HALF-TIME: T&T 3-0 Guatemala. Goals by Sheldon Bateau (10’), Cordell Cato (14’), and Joevin Jones (25’). They have all scored their first goals for the T&T senior team.
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 05:55:58 PM
To tell you the truth, it has been ages since I have seen TT score quick goals like those at this level of competition!!!
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on July 09, 2015, 05:56:12 PM
That was also Joevin Jones’ first goal for the T&T senior team.

MOTM so far they can't deal with his speed and skill. Even though Cato scored I really do not think he has played well. And lastly Guatemala is horrible if we were actually playing well it really could be 5 or 6.
Post by: pull stones on July 09, 2015, 05:57:14 PM
this is what kills me with kenwin. for a former epl player you suppose to fracture the net with that opportunity. he's getting worst.
Post by: kounty on July 09, 2015, 05:57:32 PM
the 4-3-3 wukkin against Guat. I wouldn't use it for Mexico :)  Good stuff guys!!!  :wavetowel:
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 05:58:16 PM
I not even really sure what kinda brand I watching fro T&T.  Anyone care to interpret? 

Quick counter attack. But I find we still not settled. But we scoring. This may look good against Guatemala, but would not work all the time against Mex. or Cuba.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 09, 2015, 05:58:31 PM
We miss to sitters dey...no mercy fellas, buss de net

Unforgivable, even given de scoreline. Slow to react to the chance we had @ ~36'. Usual suspect again.
Post by: pull stones on July 09, 2015, 05:59:51 PM
To tell you the truth, it has been ages since I have seen TT score quick goals like those at this level of competition!!!
yes it's true but don't be mislead with the lead, we are playing very poorly especially in defense. we are simply not possessing the ball and making clever passes. this guatemala team is rubbish and we're supposed to be punishing them.
Post by: OutsideMan on July 09, 2015, 06:00:28 PM
We could play much better, but I'm really impressed with our fellas so far.  They playing unintimidated, boldfaced, and with a slight touch of some arrogance....key ingredients that have been missing from our game for mad years now. 

It's about time!   ;D :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: 
Post by: Peong on July 09, 2015, 06:01:41 PM
Early goals!  And lots of them!!!!! :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: che on July 09, 2015, 06:06:52 PM

What? qualifying for the WC in that same cycle was the perfect revenge.
Post by: Preacher on July 09, 2015, 06:08:14 PM

Quick counter attack. But I find we still not settled. But we scoring. This may look good against Guatemala, but would not work all the time against Mex. or Cuba.

;D  Yeah it's a risky method and needs to be proven on better teams.  I know Hart is a fan of restricting the opponents space.  They are doing that well in the middle.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 09, 2015, 06:08:23 PM
Some ah allyuh rell full ah shite oui. No matter what our players do you have to complain about something.  A ball ricochet to KJ he square up and take a side foot strike, defender get lucky but hey blame KJ.  Cato pressure defenders into a mistake and he score, but lewwe forget that.  Lewwe forget the run into the box that force the keeper to rebound the ball to JJ. Lewwe forget that he also doing what he has to on the other flank to say he not playing well.  Leading by 3 and it working against this team, but lewwe forget this game to focus on what wouldn't work against Mexico.  Some allyuh is de biggest assholes T&T ever produce. And allyuh wonder why many players will avoid this site like ah f00kin plague?
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 06:08:49 PM
yes it's true but don't be mislead with the lead, we are playing very poorly especially in defense. we are simply not possessing the ball and making clever passes. this guatemala team is rubbish and we're supposed to be punishing them.

Actually, I think the defence is holding its own. It is the mid fielders who need to keep their formation in check. But yes this Guatemala team good for 5. We missed some clear cut goals. I hope we up our game in the second half and keep them constantly on the backfoot. Hart really have to pong some sense in their heads.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 09, 2015, 06:12:06 PM
Spanish-language commentators have determined that the match has been "liquidado" ... meaning we done dem already and would be blasted chupid not to preserve our "partial victory".

Of note, they ran a quiz question soliciting responses via Twitter from respondents across South America. The correct answer to the question was "Dwight Yorke". However, someone submitted "Stern John" as an answer, and they provided the entire content with honorable mention of a lil background on Stern. Respondents from Argentina, Chile and Peru provided the correct answer.

Post by: theworm2345 on July 09, 2015, 06:13:33 PM
Soldier Field is renowned for having a bad pitch, the Bears are criticized every year for it.  Three Grateful Dead concerts there last weekend didn't help I'm sure.

Speaking of the Bears, they could learn a thing or two from this match
Post by: che on July 09, 2015, 06:15:33 PM
Come T&T don't let them back into the game.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 09, 2015, 06:19:16 PM
Early goals!  And lots of them!!!!! :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

Dahis de mantra!
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 06:22:20 PM
Some ah allyuh rell full ah shite oui. No matter what our players do you have to complain about something.  A ball ricochet to KJ he square up and take a side foot strike, defender get lucky but hey blame KJ.  Cato pressure defenders into a mistake and he score, but lewwe forget that.  Lewwe forget the run into the box that force the keeper to rebound the ball to JJ. Lewwe forget that he also doing what he has to on the other flank to say he not playing well.  Leading by 3 and it working against this team, but lewwe forget this game to focus on what wouldn't work against Mexico.  Some allyuh is de biggest assholes T&T ever produce. And allyuh wonder why many players will avoid this site like ah f00kin plague?

Breds, these ball jumbies on this site know what they talking about. We know we counter acting and scoring. But when you winning you fail to see your faults. These guys just voicing their opinions.
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 06:24:19 PM
Good save Jan!!!
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on July 09, 2015, 06:26:11 PM
It was coming
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 06:27:19 PM
See!!!!
Post by: Tallman on July 09, 2015, 06:27:31 PM
GOAL: Guatemala pulls one back through Carlos Ruiz in the 62nd minute. T&T 3-1 Guatemala.
Post by: pull stones on July 09, 2015, 06:31:16 PM
i was just wondering if we had the fortitude to hold this lead and continue to punish this shit team. i guess i just got my answer. it's like we don't know how to keep a clean sheet with jan and is silly shenanigans.
Post by: Cocorite on July 09, 2015, 06:31:49 PM
Steups!!!
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 06:33:26 PM
Come on guys!!!
Post by: asylumseeker on July 09, 2015, 06:36:16 PM
i was just wondering if we had the fortitude to hold this lead and continue to punish this shit team. i guess i just got my answer. it's like we don't know how to keep a clean sheet with jan and is silly shenanigans.

Moreso with Ruiz on the field. Evidence of his gamesmanship is already on display. And, he's seeking to exert influence on the ref. If they get to 3-2, Ruiz will take it up a notch.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 09, 2015, 06:39:20 PM
what happening here man ..... fellas come and play nuh
Post by: asylumseeker on July 09, 2015, 06:39:37 PM
Let's see how the yellow card impacts him (Ruiz).

Anyone think pulling Guerra was the call?
Post by: asylumseeker on July 09, 2015, 06:41:03 PM
Boucaud on to protect Hyland from another yellow.
Post by: Preacher on July 09, 2015, 06:41:35 PM
Yeah Boucaud shot that down....
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 06:42:01 PM
14 mins, to hold out, guys!!!!
Post by: asylumseeker on July 09, 2015, 06:43:56 PM
We've conceded domination of the game.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 09, 2015, 06:45:53 PM
jones man
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 06:45:57 PM
Coach, make them men use long stud for the next game. Man falling down like they playing with sneekers.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 09, 2015, 06:47:02 PM
Then Boucaud himself gets carded. Ouch!
Post by: Dinner Mints on July 09, 2015, 06:53:03 PM
We lucky is a setta short leg man in front ah goal for dem.
Post by: Preacher on July 09, 2015, 06:53:22 PM
Our Left back tired.... 
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 06:53:32 PM
What the frigg wrong now?!!!!
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on July 09, 2015, 06:55:06 PM
Ruiz has always been a dirty cheat
Post by: Preacher on July 09, 2015, 06:55:12 PM
Ruis still a nasty player I see...  Abu to slow...
Post by: asylumseeker on July 09, 2015, 06:55:21 PM
One of the interesting things for me is the relative lack of attention the chapines are applying to KJ. Where has their double marking been? It has also been absent on set plays (they mostly had Wilson Lalin or another player on him, never two markers). He has had relative freedom of the park.
Post by: pull stones on July 09, 2015, 06:55:34 PM
this is trinidad football. play with massive leads and act simple instead of establishing their dominance.  it's almost like we love to play from behind, we not serious at all.
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 06:55:56 PM
5 mins!!!!
Post by: Brownsugar on July 09, 2015, 06:57:27 PM
Score??   Please and thx.........
Post by: pull stones on July 09, 2015, 06:57:41 PM
jones man
jones splurging and enjoying his big money, that man is not on football agian. he loves the glo fetes and the boat rides. what can i say.
Post by: futbolfan on July 09, 2015, 06:57:52 PM
Pescado real nasty! Daiz ah straight red card. den he had the nerve to roll around on the ground like he get foul.... stupessss
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on July 09, 2015, 06:58:29 PM
Our Left back tired.... 

To be fair David worked his socks off in the second half.
Post by: Bitter on July 09, 2015, 06:59:50 PM
Score??   Please and thx.........

Game done
3-1!!!

:applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on July 09, 2015, 07:00:10 PM
I think Kenwyne worked hard without him as a target this system would not work.
Post by: Preacher on July 09, 2015, 07:01:37 PM
Congrats fellas.....   Now Cuba and draw Mexico. 
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 07:01:50 PM
I could not wait for the ref to blow the whistle. Great first half. Dr. Jekyl second half. Congrats guys and coach. :beermug:
Post by: kaliman2006 on July 09, 2015, 07:02:07 PM
La selección de Trinidad y Tobago ha vencido a los guatemaltecos.

In case I butchered the Spanish language, we won! (to state the obvious).

Well done fellas.

Nervy in some aspects but three points is three points.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 09, 2015, 07:02:12 PM

he is the best for the system welll........help us...............................
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 07:03:23 PM
Our Left back tired.... 

To be fair David worked his socks off in the second half.

He played very well. But he and the rest of guys need to change they boots.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 09, 2015, 07:03:32 PM
Congrats to the squad. Mission accomplished. Opening match victory.

Fuentes please relay as much of the post-game official press conference as you can. We doh have any other forum to get that aside from you.
Post by: lefty on July 09, 2015, 07:03:53 PM
 :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: two more to go
Post by: asylumseeker on July 09, 2015, 07:04:53 PM

he is the best for the system welll........help us...............................

Not convinced.
Post by: che on July 09, 2015, 07:05:04 PM
We were scrappy at times but considering how little preparation we had, I will gladly take that win.  :applause: :applause: :applause: 
Post by: OutsideMan on July 09, 2015, 07:05:16 PM
Great result for T&T.  It's a shame we 'stopped' playing in the 2nd half though.
Post by: pull stones on July 09, 2015, 07:06:11 PM
alls well that ends well.  congrats TT for that nervy 90 mins of football. now time to work on our passing  and decision making.  big up coach hart well done.  sorry guys for the doom and gloom, i love my trinbago a little too much.
Post by: lefty on July 09, 2015, 07:08:34 PM
who we playin next
Post by: asylumseeker on July 09, 2015, 07:09:32 PM
Pescado real nasty! Daiz ah straight red card. den he had the nerve to roll around on the ground like he get foul.... stupessss

Dahis his MO. Create doubt in the ref's mind. A wily customer. Constantly thinking in calculation.
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on July 09, 2015, 07:10:40 PM
Great result for the team. One win away from the quarterfinals. I think it showed character to hold out for the result. Being up 3 goals is a tricky situation because you naturally drop to defend. Congrats to the team, and so far it looks like Hart's system change worked.
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 07:12:04 PM
alls well that ends well.  congrats TT for that nervy 90 mins of football. now time to work on our passing  and decision making.  big up coach hart well done.  sorry guys for the doom and gloom, i love my trinbago a little too much.

Breds, no probs. about the doom and gloom. Our guys are still a work in progress. We still working on learning to play a full ninety mins, rather than 45 and hanging on for the next 45.
Post by: frico on July 09, 2015, 07:13:40 PM
People like to say we daz complain,well I complaining bout that 3-1 win.If ah team cyah settle dong after scoring 3 goals in 25 mins...what is worse is the opposition come back and boss the game,and could have come away with a draw.Please,KJ,could you get your arse in gear,yuh lose a ball deep in Guat half,yuh stand up for the ball to come to yuh,the ball was taken off yuh and Guat nearly scored.That happened with about 5 mins to go.
Post by: futbolfan on July 09, 2015, 07:14:05 PM
Great result for the team. One win away from the quarterfinals. I think it showed character to hold out for the result. Being up 3 goals is a tricky situation because you naturally drop to defend. Congrats to the team, and so far it looks like Hart's system change worked.
This is the signature of a good coach, when yuh system eh wukin and cutarse sharing left and right. Change things up!
Post by: Storeboy on July 09, 2015, 07:20:16 PM
It's only one game. Good result, but we have a lot of work to do if we want to get out of the group and win a knockout game.
1. Our passing is atrocious. We have to pass accurately in tight spaces
2. We have to learn to play one-touch football. We hold on to the ball too long then lose it too easily.
3. When we take hard shots, it should be low not sky high.
4. Despite the aerial threat, I am not convinced that Kenwyne Jones is a good striker.

Wishing this gives then a little confidence without complacency or we'll be packing our bags in spite of the good start.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 09, 2015, 07:20:27 PM
who we playin next

Cuba on Sunday.
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 09, 2015, 07:23:53 PM
Can't remember the last time the team looked this good. Good win.

The TTFA needs to keep Hart at all costs.. Pun intended

Post by: fari on July 09, 2015, 07:25:43 PM
Guatemala ent no sht side, this is a good result. Hart's tactics were spot on today. Looking forward to Cuba on Sunday.
Post by: pull stones on July 09, 2015, 07:26:08 PM

you joking right?
Post by: de_redman on July 09, 2015, 07:26:25 PM
It's only one game. Good result, but we have a lot of work to do if we want to get out of the group and win a knockout game.
1. Our passing is atrocious. We have to pass accurately in tight spaces
2. We have to learn to play one-touch football. We hold on to the ball too long then lose it too easily.
3. When we take hard shots, it should be low not sky high.
4. Despite the aerial threat, I am not convinced that Kenwyne Jones is a good striker.

Wishing this gives then a little confidence without complacency or we'll be packing our bags in spite of the good start.
We really just win by 2 goals? Alyuh fellas real jokey!
Post by: Dinner Mints on July 09, 2015, 07:29:06 PM
When them big side take a lead and den park de bus, we say dey smart. When we do it, we's shit?

The passing start getting worse as men start getting tired, but overall me eh vex with this game at all.
Post by: futbolfan on July 09, 2015, 07:30:00 PM
Guatemala ent no iz a shyt side, this is a good result. Hart's tactics were spot on today. Looking forward to Cuba on Sunday.

let meh fix dat for yuh.
Post by: Tallman on July 09, 2015, 07:30:42 PM
Sheldon Bateau
https://www.youtube.com/v/Q_nYFe1dbFA

Cordell Cato
https://www.youtube.com/v/7onAvT839po

Joevin Jones
https://www.youtube.com/v/nsA_7bOG83s
Post by: lefty on July 09, 2015, 07:31:59 PM
who we playin next

Cuba on Sunday.

thanks
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 09, 2015, 07:32:12 PM
Breds, these ball jumbies on this site know what they talking about. We know we counter acting and scoring. But when you winning you fail to see your faults. These guys just voicing their opinions.

I not against opinions nor am I not seeing things that may need adjusting against a stronger opponent.  However by most accounts a 3-0 scoreline in the first half reflects dominance.  So to take that away from them and make it about Guatemala playing shit is a disservice to our warriors. To choose this particular moment to launch into a myriad of criticisms just shows how ungrateful we as fans can be. No one expected such a scoreline in the first half.  Why not appreciate it and credit the players for taking advantage of Guatemala not being ready from the opening whistle?
Post by: Peong on July 09, 2015, 07:35:29 PM
Well done warriors, it's not easy for us to hold on to a lead for so long. Too much temptation to stop playing. 
Congrats to the guys who got their first senior goals.
Let's learn lessons from this game and go into the next one a better team.
Plenty work to do still, but a win is one foot in the next round.

Too many yellow cards.
I was just telling a lady how much I hate Ruiz.  Then the man pop up and remind me just how nasty he can be.
Abu Bakr hit a nice volley but he shoulda saved it for Ruiz.
Post by: Savannah boy on July 09, 2015, 07:35:48 PM
Nuff man was expecting de worse. Let we enjoy this win nah. Allyuh feel we is Brazil or wha?
Post by: Big Magician on July 09, 2015, 07:36:52 PM
3 "fackin" points...lets go...keep going staff and squad..
Post by: Tallman on July 09, 2015, 07:37:07 PM
MATCH HIGHLIGHTS: Relive Trinidad and Tobago’s 3-1 win over Guatemala in their opening match of the 2015 Gold Cup.

https://www.youtube.com/v/GvRYMCUVn88
Post by: Banter Banton on July 09, 2015, 07:37:12 PM
Nuff man was expecting de worse. Let we enjoy this win nah. Allyuh feel we is Brazil or wha?

Finally someone with common sense  :beermug:
Post by: futbolfan on July 09, 2015, 07:37:57 PM
Cuba playing short-handed tonight

Six Cuban players and manager Raul Gonzalez Triana are having visa troubles and aren't even in the country for tonight's Gold Cup opener against Mexico. And a 7th is missing in Chicago after leaving the team hotel.

hmmmmmm.... man done defecting already.
Post by: pull stones on July 09, 2015, 07:38:19 PM
as i reiterated before. the goal we conceded was a direct result of jan not trusting his defenders by not staying on his line while defending an attack. that goal would have been a cool tip over or an easy grab had been been closer to his goal line.
this is how he concedes most of his goal by being on the edge of the 6 yrd box like he's a bloody central defender. learn to trust your defenders jan, most great keepers do. get some tapes of petr chec and learn how to position yourself. no pun son.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 09, 2015, 07:39:39 PM
Meanwhile fox sports is ah asshole network ah wha. Why I had standard definition broadcast of this game?  Bet fackin Mexico go be in HD doh steups
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 09, 2015, 07:41:11 PM

you joking right?

I meant only for the first half. They was a bit too shaky in the second. Made Guatemala look good..
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 07:54:20 PM
as i reiterated before. the goal we conceded was a direct result of jan not trusting his defenders by not staying on his line while defending an attack. that goal would have been a cool tip over or an easy grab had been been closer to his goal line.

I know many have issues with Jan, but did you see  from where the guy hit that shot. There is no way Jan could have gotten. The guy beat our defense. He got the ball perfectly in the six yard box, perfectly on his right foot and just swing. Which goalie getting that?
Post by: asylumseeker on July 09, 2015, 07:55:30 PM
Cuba playing short-handed tonight

Six Cuban players and manager Raul Gonzalez Triana are having visa troubles and aren't even in the country for tonight's Gold Cup opener against Mexico. And a 7th is missing in Chicago after leaving the team hotel.

hmmmmmm.... man done defecting already.

I wondered how this would play out given the "new relations" between the countries. But defecting probably beats playing Russian roulette on getting another chance to enter the country.

Next thing is ... why defect before completing yuh matches. Play and give MLS clubs something to work with as a reference.
Post by: D.H.W on July 09, 2015, 07:56:21 PM
Well done Guatemala have another reason to hate us.
Post by: lefty on July 09, 2015, 07:57:16 PM
this is how he concedes most of his goal by being on the edge of the 6 yrd box like he's a bloody central defender. learn to trust your defenders jan, most great keepers do. get some tapes of petr chec and learn how to position yourself. no pun son.

EXCEPT DAT JAN DIDN' PLAY....HE SEND HE BAD VIBES FROM D BENCH ???
Post by: FF on July 09, 2015, 07:59:52 PM
Good job team! Was not able to see the game but 3 goals in 25 mins and 3 points, regardless of the 2nd half performance, should do wonders for our confidence.

Hopefully we continue to build and get stronger in the Cuba game
Post by: Peong on July 09, 2015, 08:01:15 PM
Guatemala ent no sht side, this is a good result. Hart's tactics were spot on today. Looking forward to Cuba on Sunday.

They slip yuh know.  105 in the world.  They not the team they once were. We lucky they ent hit us three like Jordan though.
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 08:01:28 PM
Any link for the next game? Plz
Post by: Bitter on July 09, 2015, 08:03:51 PM
Meanwhile fox sports is ah asshole network ah wha. Why I had standard definition broadcast of this game?  Bet fackin Mexico go be in HD doh steups

Yuh know yuh was enjoying that nascar race.
Post by: Peong on July 09, 2015, 08:04:07 PM

Who was keeping?  Troy Marquis?
Post by: socalion on July 09, 2015, 08:09:51 PM
To Coach Stephen Hart  and his team ......just wanna say congrats for de win ...well done  keep up the good wuk ......a win is a win    as for fellow  forumites........fellas come on  wha happen....... we win didn't we ? ah doh care how we win  dis rounds as long as de results is favorable to hartie and he team  .. ah go take it .....  congrats again warriors for de win
Post by: soccerrama on July 09, 2015, 08:11:41 PM

http://goatd.net/114384/watch-mexico-vs-cuba
Title: Congratulations on a Fantastic Result!
Post by: coache on July 09, 2015, 08:14:45 PM
I would like to congratulate my SocaWarriors on a magnificent performance in the opener. I am happy and proud. I am glad to see SPEED being used as a weapon. I saw attacking football. There was pressure on top; compactness and a funtional second defender.

Speed on the outside left ..phenominal..speed within the team excellent, composure.... fabulous...quality second to none.. The one player who looked out of sorts was Abu..because the man is fasting..I think the man is a liability at this moment in time.

The keeper is not fit..I don't like any player ..especially the keeper..not to be in top form .

All in all excellent performance ..fantastic result.

Go Warriors!
Post by: Savannah boy on July 09, 2015, 08:15:05 PM
Harty run dem men into the ground boy.Strong men like Cyrus and David looking as trim as l can recall.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 09, 2015, 08:17:05 PM

The legend of the "Black Beast" lives on.

(Wait dahis DHW appear dey? Good to see yuh alive and hopefully well.)
Post by: de_redman on July 09, 2015, 08:18:10 PM
My only concern was the 4 yellow cards... Abu bakr, Cyrus, Boucaud and Hyland... What's the rule for suspensions with yellows for this tournament?
Post by: asylumseeker on July 09, 2015, 08:19:48 PM
When them big side take a lead and den park de bus, we say dey smart. When we do it, we's shit?

The passing start getting worse as men start getting tired, but overall me eh vex with this game at all.

Parking the bus eh quite what this was ... this was more like de bus was idling.
Post by: ribbit on July 09, 2015, 08:20:42 PM

nice win fellas!!!
Post by: Controversial on July 09, 2015, 08:21:19 PM

Parking the bus eh quite what this was ... this was more like de bus was idling.

They carry... Hart might use a different line next game... To ensure guys don't miss Mexico
Title: Re: Congratulations on a Fantastic Result!
Post by: asylumseeker on July 09, 2015, 08:22:43 PM
I would like to congratulate my SocaWarriors on a magnificent performance in the opener. I am happy and proud. I am glad to see SPEED being used as a weapon. I saw attacking football. There was pressure on top; compactness and a funtional second defender.

Speed on the outside left ..phenominal..speed within the team excellent, composure.... fabulous...quality second to none.. The one player who looked out of sorts was Abu..because the man is fasting..I think the man is a liability at this moment in time.

The keeper is not fit..I don't like any player ..especially the keeper..not to be in top form .

All in all excellent performance ..fantastic result.

Go Warriors!

Talk done! If coache happy, talk done! On to Cuba.

Hmm, something to consider ... it is Ramadan. But, sports science studies do not support your assessment.
Post by: soccerman on July 09, 2015, 08:27:43 PM
Well done fellas, way to start the tournament strong with 3 points  :applause: :applause: :applause:

We have something to build on and improve as the comptition progresses  :beermug:
Post by: soccerman on July 09, 2015, 08:28:54 PM
The game on Fox Sports 1
Post by: Controversial on July 09, 2015, 08:30:35 PM
SH and the team... God bless and on to the next game..
Post by: asylumseeker on July 09, 2015, 08:54:02 PM

I know many have issues with Jan, but did you see  from where the guy hit that shot. There is no way Jan could have gotten. The guy beat our defense. He got the ball perfectly in the six yard box, perfectly on his right foot and just swing. Which goalie getting that?

As an occasional critic of Jan's, generally I saw better application tonight.

However, one of the concerns doh was on back passes and subsequent clearances. That needs to be refined by finding a better balance between timing of execution and precision in distribution. Some of those moments were a tad risky.

And, the players making those passes need to evaluate whether better options are available and choose those. There's no point in doing the opponent's work for him.
Post by: PATRIOT on July 09, 2015, 08:56:04 PM
That 1st half was a joy to watch! I cannot remember the last time I saw a T&T team start so quick off the blocks!!! I worried if we could sustain it, and while we did fade a bit in the second half overall I am satisfied with the performance. Coach Hart is a BOSS!! He clearly did his research and prepared our team well...Mexico already showing their pedigree hammering Cuba4-0 up to last score so I'm glad we face them last as we get another match on Sunday for our Warriors to better gel as a unit before the acid test next week!
Post by: lefty on July 09, 2015, 09:00:41 PM

wasn't phillips ??? could swear I see he name on the startin line up
Post by: Socapro on July 09, 2015, 09:23:50 PM
Congrats to our Warriors on a well played game and maintaining their lead after a good first half.

Keep it up. If we can improve versus Cuba then we should be able to come away with another 3 points against them on Sunday!  :beermug:
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2015, 09:26:31 PM
We guys falling down too much!!!!!!!
Post by: g on July 09, 2015, 09:29:50 PM
Gosh ah was in the air during the game. Anybody have the match on download?
Post by: Peong on July 09, 2015, 09:47:14 PM
wasn't phillips ??? could swear I see he name on the startin line up

Nah man. Like you celebrating with a few drinks  :beermug:
I lookin to do the same.
Post by: dreamer on July 09, 2015, 09:48:03 PM
Well done Warriors. Let's put this in persapective:
1. Delicious game plan of attacking onslaught by T&T in first half with overpowering aerial power and blistering wing play by team
2. Super new role by Joevin, catering for the absence of Molino.
3. Guerra was showing deadly skill. The T&T team really looked frightening to the Guacamoleans
4. When last have we scored early, and 3 goals to boot, in first half and conceded NONE before the 1/2 time whistle
5. Great morale boosting win after all these months of depressing football administrative issues and lack of preparation
6. Well done BraveHart, staff and team for a great win against a desperate Central American team
7. If Guata looked bad then we made them look bad.
8. Great to see so many on the scoresheets
9. Good work by the goalkeeper and great fighting by the defense.
Post by: E-man on July 09, 2015, 10:20:57 PM
Well done, Warriors! Had to take in the highlights. Comcast doesn't have FS 2 in my area, but Univision Deportes had it also.
Post by: kounty on July 09, 2015, 11:06:22 PM
Well done again lads! Work to do still, but pat yourselves on the back for this performance (particularly the 1st half). You made us proud!  :beermug: More mountains to climb (please don't feel we reach yet). Just look at the tape and see how much there still is to go. But you definitely reach a good landmark.
Post by: Tiresais on July 10, 2015, 12:34:22 AM
Awesome result :)
Post by: Richard G. on July 10, 2015, 02:53:56 AM
Congrats Mr. Hart. Continue to guide our players (our team) to achieve more.

Richard G.
Post by: weary1969 on July 10, 2015, 09:24:37 AM

Post by: asylumseeker on July 10, 2015, 09:26:42 AM
Watch what has been deemed "Trinidad & Tobago vs. Guatemala Best Save by Allstate"

http://www.concacaf.com/video/trinidad-tobago-vs-guatemala-best-save-allstate
Post by: asylumseeker on July 10, 2015, 09:32:56 AM
View what has been deemed "Trinidad & Tobago vs. Guatemala Best Play by Sprint"

http://www.concacaf.com/video/trinidad-tobago-vs-guatemala-best-play
Post by: weary1969 on July 10, 2015, 09:34:02 AM

CO-SIGNNNNNN
Post by: asylumseeker on July 10, 2015, 09:38:22 AM
View Hart's post-match comments.

https://www.youtube.com/v/pNGQNSNhgNk
Post by: Banter Banton on July 10, 2015, 10:17:48 AM
Interesting rope a dope from Harty saying 4-3-3 in the build up but went with his customary 4-2-3-1/4-4-1-1 last night... Thought the tactics were spot on.

We are lacking a dynamic CAM(#10) , Molino's absence is a massive blow... Guerra is more of a languid presence while Plaza is dynamic his ability and decision making is not high... An option may be Joevin Jones and use Peltier and Cato wide .
Post by: injunchile on July 10, 2015, 11:13:14 AM
Congratulations and Best Wishes to this Team. I only saw the first half and could not believe the ball I was seeing the Boys looked Good, confident and it easily could have been 5- nil.Thank you guys for making all of T&T proud. Now on to Cuba. Six points from two games and then we are ready for  Mexico
 We are a World Cup  team lest we forget.
Post by: palos on July 10, 2015, 11:54:31 AM
So far I've only seen the 1st half.

My take

POSITIVES:
- Guatemala buckled under our pressing tactics and Cato's goal came as a result of that
- They had real problems defending our corners.  Bateau's goal was a result of that but we also had other chances to score from corners.
- KJ and Guerra held the ball up excellently and had good interchanges with each other as well as supporting players. 
- Joevin Jones was Man of the Half.   Looked dangerous every time he got the ball and it was his penetration that resulted in the 3rd goal scored by him
- Such was our dominance that the backline had very little to do because Ruiz was always surrounded by 2 or 3 players...isolated on his own, and we could easily have been 5-0 at the half.
- I really liked how our players put pressure on the Guatemalans in midfield causing a ton of turn overs
- I am a Daniel Cyrus fan and when his head is in the game, he is a really effective player

CONCERNS:
- For all the pressure and turn overs, our goals all came from capitalizing on really bad Guatemalan mistakes, rather than efficient play on our end.  Better teams will not be so lax.  That said....at least we capitalized.  I saw the Canadian striker Cyle Larin (Molino's teammate at Orlando) get the same chance against El Salvador as Cato did yesterday and hit it high and wide

EPIC MISS (http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2518620-canada-striker-cyle-larin-produces-epic-miss-vs-el-salvador-at-gold-cup)

Other than that, no real complaints from the 1st half I saw.
Post by: Controversial on July 10, 2015, 12:18:28 PM

My take

POSITIVES:
- Guatemala buckled under our pressing tactics and Cato's goal came as a result of that
- They had real problems defending our corners.  Bateau's goal was a result of that but we also had other chances to score from corners.
- KJ and Guerra held the ball up excellently and had good interchanges with each other as well as supporting players. 
- Joevin Jones was Man of the Half.   Looked dangerous every time he got the ball and it was his penetration that resulted in the 3rd goal scored by him
- Such was our dominance that the backline had very little to do because Ruiz was always surrounded by 2 or 3 players...isolated on his own, and we could easily have been 5-0 at the half.
- I really liked how our players put pressure on the Guatemalans in midfield causing a ton of turn overs
- I am a Daniel Cyrus fan and when his head is in the game, he is a really effective player

CONCERNS:
- For all the pressure and turn overs, our goals all came from capitalizing on really bad Guatemalan mistakes, rather than efficient play on our end.  Better teams will not be so lax.  That said....at least we capitalized.  I saw the Canadian striker Cyle Larin (Molino's teammate at Orlando) get the same chance against El Salvador as Cato did yesterday and hit it high and wide

EPIC MISS (http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2518620-canada-striker-cyle-larin-produces-epic-miss-vs-el-salvador-at-gold-cup)

Good analysis brother... I would like to hear your assessment on the second half...
Post by: Cocorite on July 10, 2015, 12:23:47 PM

My take

POSITIVES:

CONCERNS:

Good analysis brother... I would like to hear your assessment on the second half...

Yeah Palos . . . Spot on even with Cyrus.
Post by: lefty on July 10, 2015, 12:31:40 PM
Interesting rope a dope from Harty saying 4-3-3 in the build up but went with his customary 4-2-3-1/4-4-1-1 last night... Thought the tactics were spot on.

We are lacking a dynamic CAM(#10) , Molino's absence is a massive blow... Guerra is more of a languid presence while Plaza is dynamic his ability and decision making is not high... An option may be Joevin Jones and use Peltier and Cato wide .

was wondering about that since d formation didn't look "4-3-3-like" the wingers and wingbacks got forward really well though, so it was all good
Post by: reggae-fan on July 10, 2015, 12:55:00 PM
Good start by the CFU teams...Cuba I believe ran into a Mexican team that looks like they will go all the way and lift the tournament.

Cant say I'm surprised T&T got the better of Guatemala, LOL at them for still using old men like Contreras and Pescadito, who it seems have been playing for Guatemala since i was a little boy.

T&T has Cuba next, so i believe you passage to the next round is pretty much secure alongside Mexico. Jamaica has Canada, anything but a win there will put pressure on the boyz to make it out of the group.

HAiti have the USA next, not an easy game. T&T sitting pretty.
Post by: Controversial on July 10, 2015, 12:57:04 PM

Good points but what about Cummings... Tall man said he has it.. That #10 calling for him... Left to be seen...
Post by: Peong on July 10, 2015, 02:37:56 PM
Ey I doh know if anyone mentioned it but KJ worked real hard in the buildup to the third goal.
Without his saving touch that play was dead.  Good effort.  Now he just has to work on scoring sitters  ;D

Also fork Ruiz that man come out of retirement to continue the nastiness.
Post by: palos on July 10, 2015, 02:45:29 PM

Good points but what about Cummings... Tall man said he has it.. That #10 calling for him... Left to be seen...

That #10 is Guerra own....when he want it.  And coach will know when Guerra wants it when he does what he is asked to do.

3 games in 6 days will be tough for this group though.  They're not the fittest so the coach will have to manage his resources accordingly.

Does he field his strongest team against Cuba therefore going all out for the win?  If that happens, he can rest his players against Mexico so they're fresh for the second round.  Of course, those on a yellow will risk another yellow that makes them not eligible for the next game

Or.....does he gamble, rest a couple key players, and hope the team still gets the victory giving him more flexibility with the squad for upcoming matches?
Post by: Controversial on July 10, 2015, 02:57:29 PM

That #10 is Guerra own....when he want it.  And coach will know when Guerra wants it when he does what he is asked to do.

3 games in 6 days will be tough for this group though.  They're not the fittest so the coach will have to manage his resources accordingly.

Does he field his strongest team against Cuba therefore going all out for the win?  If that happens, he can rest his players against Mexico so they're fresh for the second round.  Of course, those on a yellow will risk another yellow that makes them not eligible for the next game

Or.....does he gamble, rest a couple key players, and hope the team still gets the victory giving him more flexibility with the squad for upcoming matches?

I left Guerra name off the #10 hunt until he.....  8)

I say Hart rest the couple of players and let players like winchester, glenn, cummings and corbin get a chance against cuba... i believe they can pull off the win.. however, there is a chance Hart will play a full team, win and if they get any yellows, they will miss Mexico and be ready for the next round..

I hope i have that cards scenario right... if you get another yellow, you can't play the next game, but will be available for the game after..
Post by: Football supporter on July 10, 2015, 03:43:13 PM
Interesting to see 7 Comunicaciones players vs T&T. It gives Central a lift to see them get beat by Trinis!!
Post by: samo on July 10, 2015, 05:11:51 PM
Good Job T & T... Now onto to Cuba
Post by: Peong on July 10, 2015, 06:56:55 PM
Grab the game torrent fellas
https://kat.cr/concacaf-gold-cup-2015-trinidad-tobago-v-guatamala-720-hd-mp4-t10919042.html
Post by: injunchile on July 10, 2015, 08:54:57 PM
All Yellow cards are wiped out after the Group matches. Those presently on Yellows against Cuba if they get another yellow will miss the Mexico match. My guess is that Hart will start with his first eleven and give some others playing time in the second half. remember we need the three points against Cuba. This is not the time to experiment. T&T here we come.
Post by: Deeks on July 10, 2015, 09:10:50 PM
 remember we need the three points against Cuba. This is not the time to experiment. T&T here we come.

yep! If we get 3 points from Cuba, Hart can use some of the reserve for the Mex. game.

Post by: Dinner Mints on July 10, 2015, 09:22:03 PM
I like how allyuh men done concede loss to Mexico already. Smh.

(Me too.)
Post by: futbolfan on July 10, 2015, 10:43:40 PM

(Me too.)

I don't think that is the consensus... At this point, the objective is to advance into the quarterfinal round but with the high pressure style of play being enforced by our technical staff, 3 games in 6 days can be extremely taxing on the body. If we beat Cuba on Sunday, a quarterfinal berth would be a mere formality so resting some of the starters against Mexico can be an option.
Not conceding defeat to Mexico, but the possibility does exist that we may face them in the later rounds, 'so yuh have to play dead to catch cobo alive'.
Post by: Anbrat on July 11, 2015, 10:25:59 AM
Grab the game torrent fellas
https://kat.cr/concacaf-gold-cup-2015-trinidad-tobago-v-guatamala-720-hd-mp4-t10919042.html

Much thanks, Peong!!! :cheers:
Post by: Controversial on July 11, 2015, 03:13:13 PM

(Me too.)

I don't think that is the consensus... At this point, the objective is to advance into the quarterfinal round but with the high pressure style of play being enforced by our technical staff, 3 games in 6 days can be extremely taxing on the body. If we beat Cuba on Sunday, a quarterfinal berth would be a mere formality so resting some of the starters against Mexico can be an option.
Not conceding defeat to Mexico, but the possibility does exist that we may face them in the later rounds, 'so yuh have to play dead to catch cobo alive'.

when we beat Cuba my fellow supporter... when, not if...

thanks for the info guys on the cards, that's a sigh of relief, was worried there for a moment...

since that is the case, play our full team and go for the win, regardless of cards, play a mix of players against mexico because of the rigors of this tournament, we need fresh legs going into the quarters..

i don't think anyone conceding defeat here but after we win this upcoming match, it is better to face Mexico again after we have 2 more matches as a unit under our belt, i believe we will make the semis minimum... which will either be US or Mexico..
Post by: D.H.W on July 12, 2015, 04:47:36 PM

The legend of the "Black Beast" lives on.

(Wait dahis DHW appear dey? Good to see yuh alive and hopefully well.)

Yeh i good man just work and life, dont have the free time i use to have. Only work and sleep
Post by: dreamer on July 13, 2015, 04:21:10 PM
Great win by the Socawarriors, team capt, Head coach, assistant coaches , trainers, teamdoc, travel planners and well wishers.
Words cannot describe how huge this win was. Saw the whole game and it was thrilling.
More progress in the rebranding of T&T which suffered a serious interruption recently
Jan, even though you get a li'l mash up, thanks for saving a certain goal that would have caused panic in the camp
You are areal trooper and thanks Marvin for stepping up to the plate
Thanks to all the players for playing with heart and soul. You all are real warriors. Thanks BraveHart for tolerating all the BS from TTFA