Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on May 27, 2015, 01:59:13 AM

Title: Raymond Tim Kee Thread.
Post by: Flex on May 27, 2015, 01:59:13 AM
Tim Kee wants four more years.
By Sean Nero (Guardian).

...as he aims to continue TTFA strategic reform

Radical changes to the management of local football are underway says Raymond Tim Kee, president of the T&T Football Association (TTFA).

Even as his term of office comes to an end in June after four years in office, he has offered himself for re-election to the post, Tim Kee was talking tough on the issue of strategic reform.

He said gone were the days when practitioners were installed in key positions because they simply knew the sport. The TTFA head did not say if this was among the suite of constitutional reforms a special committee of the TTFA was presently reviewing.

In order for football in T&T to become a major revenue earner and as a consequence ensure the TTFA achieved self-sufficiency, he said, business professionals needed to be enlisted by the football body.

This said the TTFA head, was one sure way to win the confidence of the private sector about the tremendous returns to be had from this type of investment.

Speaking at the TTFA 2014 Awards held at the VIP Lounge of the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Woodbrook, Tim Kee said, “The TTFA is undergoing change management exercises which seems go against the thread of what has become habit or natural, as you would say, because our focus is a new one and a different one. Our focus is on good governance with emphasis on transparency and accountability. And as time progresses, we are going to see emerging some new faces, some different faces, many of whom may not have ever played football; probably never bounced a ball.”

He added, “I came out of the business sector and I recognised by looking and observing that football is a product. But the people who market and sell products are the business people, not practitioners in the craft that produce the product. So Mr Hart (Stephen) and his team and other members of the technical staff, it is their business to produce the product on the field and they are accountable to those who sit, not in their ivory towers, but those fairly comfortable rooms–air conditioned rooms–who at times would complain of heat because of challenges. So, we expect a different product. We expect a different behaviour. We expect different norms. Football as anything else depends on economics.”

Turning his attention to the development of the sport, Tim Kee cited the level of capital that went local governing bodies for the sport in Concacaf.

While the Mexican Football Association had an annual budget of US$100 million, he said, the United States Football Association got an allocation of US$75 million.

“You know what our own is? Five million and we struggle to make it. And yet, we go out and produce a quality of that product that is comparable to some of those other countries who are better endowed financially and who enjoy the financial support from so many different corporate citizens,” he said.

Tim Kee added, “So when people say that ‘God is a Trini’, I am inclined to believe that sometimes, because against all odds, we still prevail and not only prevail, prevail with distinction. Our commitment is that qualifying for World Cup would not be a flash-in-the-pan anymore. We intend to pursue qualification for World cup from 2018 onwards.”

(http://www.guardian.co.tt/sites/default/files/field/image/Untitled-12_5.jpg)
Former T&T and West Indies cricketer Deryck Murray, left, accepts a TTFA insignia from the organisation’s president Raymond Tim Kee. PHOTO: SEAN NERO

Title: Re: Tim Kee wants four more years.
Post by: Sando on May 27, 2015, 03:22:07 AM
He added, I came out of the business sector and I recognised by looking and observing that football is a product. But the people who market and sell products are the business people, not practitioners in the craft that produce the product. So Mr Hart (Stephen) and his team and other members of the technical staff, it is their business to produce the product on the field and they are accountable to those who sit, not in their ivory towers, but those fairly comfortable rooms air conditioned rooms who at times would complain of heat because of challenges. So, we expect a different product. We expect a different behaviour. We expect different norms. Football as anything else depends on economics.

How can they expect Hart to produce anything when the tools are not given to him or any other T&T coach, isn't this a double edge sword? I find Tim Kee very disrespecful here.

The way Tim Kee talks really invites trouble and none support, no wonder no one wants to support T&T football.

I hope someone else goes up for T&T president, maybe David John Williams or some other person who have good buniess knowledge and loves the game.

Jeffrey Webb is arrested, lets see who the TTFA will cling on to now.

Post by: Controversial on May 27, 2015, 06:58:41 AM
Tim Kee wants four more years.
By Sean Nero (Guardian).

...as he aims to continue TTFA strategic reform

Radical changes to the management of local football are underway says Raymond Tim Kee, president of the T&T Football Association (TTFA).

Even as his term of office comes to an end in June after four years in office, he has offered himself for re-election to the post, Tim Kee was talking tough on the issue of strategic reform.

He said gone were the days when practitioners were installed in key positions because they simply knew the sport. The TTFA head did not say if this was among the suite of constitutional reforms a special committee of the TTFA was presently reviewing.

In order for football in T&T to become a major revenue earner and as a consequence ensure the TTFA achieved self-sufficiency, he said, business professionals needed to be enlisted by the football body.

This said the TTFA head, was one sure way to win the confidence of the private sector about the tremendous returns to be had from this type of investment.

Speaking at the TTFA 2014 Awards held at the VIP Lounge of the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Woodbrook, Tim Kee said, “The TTFA is undergoing change management exercises which seems go against the thread of what has become habit or natural, as you would say, because our focus is a new one and a different one. Our focus is on good governance with emphasis on transparency and accountability. And as time progresses, we are going to see emerging some new faces, some different faces, many of whom may not have ever played football; probably never bounced a ball.”

He added, “I came out of the business sector and I recognised by looking and observing that football is a product. But the people who market and sell products are the business people, not practitioners in the craft that produce the product. So Mr Hart (Stephen) and his team and other members of the technical staff, it is their business to produce the product on the field and they are accountable to those who sit, not in their ivory towers, but those fairly comfortable rooms–air conditioned rooms–who at times would complain of heat because of challenges. So, we expect a different product. We expect a different behaviour. We expect different norms. Football as anything else depends on economics.”

Turning his attention to the development of the sport, Tim Kee cited the level of capital that went local governing bodies for the sport in Concacaf.

While the Mexican Football Association had an annual budget of US$100 million, he said, the United States Football Association got an allocation of US$75 million.

“You know what our own is? Five million and we struggle to make it. And yet, we go out and produce a quality of that product that is comparable to some of those other countries who are better endowed financially and who enjoy the financial support from so many different corporate citizens,” he said.

Tim Kee added, “So when people say that ‘God is a Trini’, I am inclined to believe that sometimes, because against all odds, we still prevail and not only prevail, prevail with distinction. Our commitment is that qualifying for World Cup would not be a flash-in-the-pan anymore. We intend to pursue qualification for World cup from 2018 onwards.”

(http://www.guardian.co.tt/sites/default/files/field/image/Untitled-12_5.jpg)
Former T&T and West Indies cricketer Deryck Murray, left, accepts a TTFA insignia from the organisation’s president Raymond Tim Kee. PHOTO: SEAN NERO

Four more years to do what... Play de ass.. Rundown our football more.. I'm sorry but sancho is acting equally as bad...

I hope all of them disappear because it will be better for our football... The only thing Tim kee right about is that the other nations are better funded but that's because football is run well and actually run like a business..

Post by: elan on May 27, 2015, 06:59:25 AM
I tell alyuh Tim Kee is a real tool. He is so detached from reality it not funny.
Post by: Controversial on May 27, 2015, 07:06:23 AM
I tell alyuh Tim Kee is a real tool. He is so detached from reality it not funny.

Sancho in the same boat fellah, and they both sinking fast...
Post by: Sam on May 27, 2015, 07:24:50 AM
You f00cking kidding me.

Somebody need to kick this f00cker out of T&T football like FIFA did to Warner.

Post by: dreamer on May 27, 2015, 08:31:32 AM
You f00cking kidding me.

Somebody need to kick this f00cker out of T&T football like FIFA did to Warner.

On behalf of Weary, I say ... Cosign.  :rotfl:  sorry Weary.

Uncle Tim, careful with traveling abroad from now on.
Yuh li'l friends with whom yuh does lash some good gin and coconut water .... well, dey have some unexpected news for you. Yuh drinkin' padnah Webbolito and uncle Renraw eh have you to study or protect right now as dey very very busy and cyah answer email or text.
All de best.
Post by: Sam on May 27, 2015, 09:10:13 AM
Stephen Hart need to set this f00cker straight once and for all and stop hiding in de corner while getting blast in public.

Post by: elan on May 27, 2015, 09:35:59 AM

Sancho in the same boat fellah, and they both sinking fast...

Sancho had/has a club that providing development for our players.
Post by: Banter Banton on May 27, 2015, 10:04:00 AM
So I take it elections is the end of June then?

Post by: Sam on May 27, 2015, 10:08:56 AM
So I take it elections is the end of June then?

I want to see who go run, ah hope we get some decent honest people.

Who controlling de votes?

Who incharge of de zones fellas?

Post by: Errol on May 27, 2015, 10:12:26 AM
Radical changes to the management of local football are underway says Raymond Tim Kee.

Start cleaning out your home by firing yourself first Mr President.

Charity begins at home.

This guy is another Jack Warner, he doesn't want to leave and will leave T&T in the same state he got it.

Post by: dreamer on May 27, 2015, 10:20:05 AM
Kelvin, time to make your move.
But first I want to hear you say: " I pledge to distance myself COMPLETELY from the nefarious activities of Jackulito, Scampito, Rodent and by extension Uncle Tim and his entourage". "I promise to serve the TTFA, T&T, the current, future and past socawarriors and the football loving public with integrity, honour and do ALL I can to regain trust and do all I can to right the wrongs of Renraw no matter how politically inconvenient it is, so help me God".
Post by: Banter Banton on May 27, 2015, 10:56:50 AM
I'll bet Tim Kee runs unopposed... should they not give a mandatory 3 month notice that the vote will be this day this month this year so interested parties can put together their campaign?

It all seems geared towards a snap announcement and no time for interested parties to put things in place.
Post by: Bakes on May 27, 2015, 11:00:52 AM
I'll bet Tim Kee runs unopposed... should they not give a mandatory 3 month notice that the vote will be this day this month this year so interested parties can put together their campaign?

It all seems geared towards a snap announcement and no time for interested parties to put things in place.

Tim Kee has no control over when the elections will be called... that's an ExCo decision.  Even that decision is held up by them taking dey time finalizing the constitutional reforms.  But bless allyuh heart, is Tim Kee calling all de shots.
Post by: Banter Banton on May 27, 2015, 08:18:41 PM

Tim Kee has no control over when the elections will be called... that's an ExCo decision.  Even that decision is held up by them taking dey time finalizing the constitutional reforms.  But bless allyuh heart, is Tim Kee calling all de shots.

Ok thanks for clearing that up but my point is still valid.... I hope the date of the election is a fixed date 2-3 months after the announcement to allow interested parties time to build their campaign and put together their plans etc.
Post by: Bakes on May 27, 2015, 08:40:30 PM
Ok thanks for clearing that up but my point is still valid.... I hope the date of the election is a fixed date 2-3 months after the announcement to allow interested parties time to build their campaign and put together their plans etc.

The elections were scheduled for next month (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/TTFA-elections-postponed-279996172.html), per FIFA.  Again, however, all of that is contingent on the ExCo finishing up ratification of the reforms, since (again per FIFA) it makes no sense to hold new elections under outmoded bylaws and processes.
Post by: Flex on May 28, 2015, 01:52:38 AM
Tim Kee concerned for Caribbean football.
By Ian Prescott (Express).

Caught off guard

Trinidad and Tobago Football Association president Raymond Tim Kee awoke in Zurich, Switzerland, in the wee hours of yesterday morning to the news that some of his CONCACAF colleagues, including president Jeffrey Webb, had been arrested on racketeering, conspiracy and corruption charges.

Following United States Government indictments, Swiss police made dawn raids at the Baur au Lac hotel in Zurich, where Fifa officials are staying ahead of Friday's FIFA presidential election. Tim Kee, president of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association and a sitting member of two FIFA committees was staying at the CONCACAF Hotel in Zurich.

Yesterday, former FIFA vice-president Jack Warner was also arrested in Port of Spain on similar charges, and was up to press-time fighting to secure bail in the amount of $2.5 million. A day before, Tim Kee was at the Baur au Lac hotel having discussions with the Prince of Jordan, a country Trinidad and Tobago will play next month in a friendly international.

"My reaction was one of shock and surprise about how it came about," Tim Kee said of the action in Zurich. "To be awakened at 2 a.m. and told that police had taken some of our people. But, it was not unexpected, because we knew that investigations were ongoing."

Following yesterday's events, Tim Kee reported that tomorrow's election in which incumbent Sepp Blatter - is seeking another term as head of the governing body for world football - will proceed. But he has a gut feeling that yesterday's events might affect the outcome of the contest between Blatter and underdog Prince Ali bin al-Hussein of Jordan. Concerning CONCACAF and the Caribbean, Tim Kee said he will watch proceedings closely.

"Trinidad and Tobago is not affected in terms of our participation in the Gold Cup or anything so, but with indictments brought against the president, it will be interesting to see how the Caribbean will be affected and the kind of treatment the Caribbean is given, if there were to be changes at the helm (of CONCACAF)," Tim Kee added.

Yesterday, the TTFA issued a statement expressing its concern at the turn of events.

"The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) is observing, with concern, the events that took place this morning in Zurich, Switzerland. We acknowledge this investigation and hope it will lead to improved governance in the world's most popular sport of which our organisation is actively involved.

The TTFA will give this ongoing investigation the respect it deserves and, as a result, will refrain from making further statements on the ongoing investigation at this time."

RELATED NEWS

Tim Kee stunned by FIFA officials’ arrest
T&T Newsday Reports.  

PRESIDENT OF the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA), Raymond Tim Kee, has expressed his surprise over yesterday morning’s arrests of a number of FIFA officials, including Concacaf president Jeffrey Webb, by Switzerland law enforcement personnel, and the indictment of former football honcho Jack Warner by the United States Department of Justice.

The US Department of Justice yesterday revealed a 47-count indictment against the officials, alleging an elaborate 24-year scheme involving racketeering, wire fraud and money laundering conspiracies.

Tim Kee and Webb were in Zurich, Switzerland ahead of tomorrow’s FIFA presidential elections.

In a radio interview yesterday (Power 102 FM), Tim Kee, who has been the TTFA boss since November 2012, said, “one thing I can say is that those legal folks have been quite professional, and there is nothing to suggest that anything was happening.”

Tim Kee, who is also the Mayor of Port-of-Spain and a Guardian Life insurance executive, continued, “that was kept extremely quiet and private. So there was no expectation. Everybody was found in a state of shock.

The TTFA president admitted, “(on Tuesday) night I was talking to the president of Concacaf, and some of his vice-presidents. There was nothing in their demeanour or what was said to suggest any feeling or suspicion that something was in the making.”

Warner served as Concacaf and CFU (Caribbean Football Union) president, and FIFA vice-president, for 21 years, as well as special adviser of the then TTFF (Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation) until he left his football positions in June 20 2011, in the wake of a FIFA corruption investigation.

Meanwhile, the TTFA will be staying silent, with regards to any public pronouncements, on the latest controversy to hit FIFA.

“We acknowledge this investigation and hope it will lead to improved governance in the world’s most popular sport of which our organisation is actively involved,” said the TTFA in a media release.

“The TTFA will give this ongoing investigation the respect it deserves and, as a result, will refrain from making further statements on the ongoing investigation at this time.”

The TTFA, according to the media release, “wishes to reiterate that it is currently involved in a process of reforming and re-organising its governance, organisational structures, and practices in striving to meet ever-increasing expectations of transparency, accountability and performance from a wide range of stakeholders.”

Post by: royal on May 28, 2015, 04:55:58 PM
Tim Kee should state who the TTFF is voting for tomorrow just like the US. Everything always in secret
Title: Tim Kee wants four more years.
Post by: grimm01 on May 28, 2015, 05:12:00 PM
Tim Kee should state who the TTFF is voting for tomorrow just like the US. Everything always in secret

Don't we have a game against Jordan coming up? Where Sepp challenger from? Then again England bring a squad to play us in the Stadium and Jack never give them a vote as far as we can tell.
Post by: Star Child on May 29, 2015, 08:22:37 AM
I hope this does not happen.

Tim Kee is not good.

Post by: R45 on May 29, 2015, 08:30:29 AM
Posted this in another thread, but it's pretty clear who he's supporting:

Blatter received pledges of support from 10 federations as his bid for a fifth term as the head of the governing body gathers pace, with Trinidad and Tobago FA chief Raymond Tim Kee also praising him as the "father of football".

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11095/9809090/sepp-blatter-likened-to-mandela-at-concacaf-congress

Post by: FF on May 29, 2015, 08:36:43 AM
Interesting. I understand otherwise... So either the sources are incorrect or Tim Kee is playing both sides/talking out of the two sides of his mouth.
Post by: R45 on May 29, 2015, 08:48:15 AM
Interesting. I understand otherwise... So either the sources are incorrect or Tim Kee is playing both sides/talking out of the two sides of his mouth.

Sounds plausible. There's definitely some kind of power move happening between the CFU / Blatter given the latter is making promises for WC spots to the region (which suggests perhaps his votes aren't quite as locked up as we may be expecting).
Post by: grimm01 on May 29, 2015, 08:49:16 AM
Posted this in another thread, but it's pretty clear who he's supporting:

Blatter received pledges of support from 10 federations as his bid for a fifth term as the head of the governing body gathers pace, with Trinidad and Tobago FA chief Raymond Tim Kee also praising him as the "father of football".

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11095/9809090/sepp-blatter-likened-to-mandela-at-concacaf-congress

:rotfl: Sounds more like a cult or like when North Koreans fall over themselves to heap the biggest praise on the dear leader.
Post by: R45 on May 29, 2015, 08:57:50 AM
:rotfl: Sounds more like a cult or like when North Koreans fall over themselves to heap the biggest praise on the dear leader.

It's eerily similar to what (some) people in Chaguanas East are saying about Warner today - about the same amount of rhetoric. The way Jack deals with his constituents is really no different to how Blatter treats the small countries in FIFA.
Post by: FF on May 29, 2015, 09:30:06 AM

It's eerily similar to what (some) people in Chaguanas East are saying about Warner today - about the same amount of rhetoric. The way Jack deals with his constituents is really no different to how Blatter treats the small countries in FIFA.

For real. Spot on.
Post by: royal on May 29, 2015, 09:31:19 AM
will anti Blatter countries form their own union after he wins today?
Post by: grimm01 on May 29, 2015, 10:15:55 AM

For real. Spot on.

Well they both studied at the foot of João Havelange.
Post by: dreamer on May 29, 2015, 10:56:36 AM
Crooks to the max. Webbolito and Uncle Tim. Could be Jackulito's own sons de way they does move.
Cut from the exact same cloth. One day Uncle Tim will have to reveal where all that money went. There is a strong feeling that that day is going to be much sooner than originally thought as everybody will be forced to save they own behind and t'row dey gin-and-tonic-lashin' buddies under de bus. A treasure trove of stuff was also obtained from Concacaf offices too. Btw, careful how yuh spell dah word: (CONCACAF vs Concacaf) especially when yuh dealin' with Jackulito and Uncle Tim and which corresponding bank account yuh focusing on. Stay tuned people. Horner yuh dey? Any comment from Cornmeal?
Post by: Flex on June 01, 2015, 05:26:26 AM
Tim Kee defends Warner’s CONCACAF tenure
By JONATHAN RAMNANANSINGH (Newsday)

President of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA), Raymond Tim Kee, has defended former FIFA vice-president Jack Warner for standing up for this nation’s football interests during his tenure as both CONCACAF and Caribbean Football Union (CFU) president.

Tim Kee, who returned from representing the TTFA at the world governing body’s elections in Zurich, Switzerland, on Saturday night, believes Warner was a major voice pushing for TT’s football development on both the regional and international stage during his reign. However, when Jeffrey Webb of the Cayman Islands was appointed president of CONCACAF in 2012, things changed, and TT’s affairs were put on the bench by the provisionally sacked CONCACAF boss.

“Remember when Mr Warner was president of CONCACAF and CFU, he was very much inward thinking in terms of what Trinidad is getting into,” said Tim Kee yesterday. “Warner worked so hard to the point where our funny kind of thinking people felt that he was pulling strings for Trinidad’s benefit. All the rumours about Warner setting up matches for Trinidad to win and other ideas of the sort all of a sudden began to circulate.

“However, what Mr Warner was really doing was looking after Trinidad and trying to put Trinidad and Tobago in a position to have an equal chance because he would have known of course (about) where he sat, how many things were available and how many were not. Everything came and happened and he was then replaced by another Caribbean man, Jeffrey Webb,” Tim Kee added.

It was here, according to the TTFA boss, that Webb then began to redirect his attention toward more development in Jamaica and the Cayman Islands. Tim Kee said when he realised this country was not given any priority, he challenged the decisions being made but was told that “Trinidad must breathe a little.”

“It was not as equitable as it could have been (for TT). But the others (governing bodies) who were given opportunities to breathe, were not in a position to breathe either because they did not have any actual resource.

What I realised is that we were not getting a fair break as we would have liked for Trinidad,” he continued.

Now, with both Warner and Webb removed from their respective capacities in regional football and currently under investigation for racketeering and money laundering by the United States Department of Justice, Tim Kee is hoping to once again bring the Caribbean nations together in an effort to return transparency and strong sport development to the region. Following his vote in Zurich on Friday, Tim Kee conversed with several of the region’s association presidents with the intention of strengthening their voice on a global scale.

He also warned that the US, along with Central America, have been trying from behind the scenes to control CONCACAF. But, Tim Kee is intent on ensuring that his and the Caribbean’s voice are constantly heard. The Port-of-Spain mayor admitted however, that wooing the other regional territories to one sound conclusion might be a bit tougher than expected.

He further explained: “The position is that I’ve had some conversations with some president’s (football bodies) from the Caribbean.

I told them what my picture is of the situation and that we need to get our act together and so on. But you see a lot of them are intimidated because they got a lot of, what they consider favours and therefore they don’t want to rock the boat. And to a large extent not only in the Caribbean, but as well as the American and African continents.”

Speaking in relation to Blatter’s re-election for a fifth consecutive term, Tim Kee declared that the audience of Hallenstadion, Zurich, went silent upon hearing Prince Ali’s withdrawal from the second round of voting at the elections after being behind 133-72 in the initial round.

“You could have felt a sense of sadness (when Ali withdrew). Those who supported the incumbent (Blatter) were in glee. But you would have looked around the room at the 209 countries, each of which was represented by three delegates, and of course maybe about 100 observers, you would have sensed some form of quiet and sadness. It was then that I had a little bit of concern.. Ali and I have a good relationship and he calls me often. I was unable to speak to him after the elections, but I might speak with him tonight (Sunday). If there was some other candidate, or rather if Mr Blatter was not there, I’m sure Prince Ali would have won because nobody could have faulted him for his presentation and constitution,” he added.

Meanwhile, amidst all the allegations put forward against multiple ex and current members of FIFA last week, Blatter maintains his innocence and admitted that the cleanup of FIFA is good for the game. When asked how Blatter could have pleaded ignorance of the alleged corruption taking place in his organisation, Tim Kee declared: “If the top US and Swiss agencies working together, and they have been digging up for the past 20 years, have found nothing, possibly, there is nothing to be found but I do not want be conclusive and unfair to Mr Blatter. But how so many calls and comments could be made and there’s no truth? You have to sometimes consider the saying ‘where there is smoke, there is fire’. So how is there so much smoke, but no fire?”

Post by: Deeks on June 01, 2015, 06:29:10 AM
While there is truth that Jack did work for TT "interest" when he was FIFA VP, why in the long run when he was kicked out, we found ourselves in gigantic hole of debt. Even you, an insurance executive, can't use your business acumen to get us out of this mess. You also saying you tying to get the CFU to speak with one voice. No Trini will ever get that opportunity again. Dupree messed up and Jack mucho Messed up. You think they will allow another Trini take the lead. What have you done for TT football for the past two years.
Post by: dreamer on June 01, 2015, 06:56:16 AM
Yes Uncle Tim. Tell us more about these deeply patriotic thoughts that you have, that dispel the myth of your mooksy, silent, I-eh-talking character.
It took this crisis and a possible existential threat to you and your people, for you to open your damn mouth, speak up when interviewed and allow us to hear about your profound policy positions. Tink it easy with dese fellahs?
Post by: Bakes on June 01, 2015, 07:09:07 AM
Both ah allyuh miss the point Tim Kee was trying to make... perhaps because he didn't go into great detail how much Webb was starving TnT.  Case in point, the TTFA yet to receive their share of this year's broadcast rights appropriation from CONCACAF.  Why?
Post by: elan on June 01, 2015, 12:08:21 PM
Both ah allyuh miss the point Tim Kee was trying to make... perhaps because he didn't go into great detail how much Webb was starving TnT.  Case in point, the TTFA yet to receive their share of this year's broadcast rights appropriation from CONCACAF.  Why?

He did not go into details, but you can.

Cursory search of google right?
Post by: elan on June 01, 2015, 12:09:08 PM
Watch something we will wake up one morning in the not to distant future and see Tim Kee re-elected.  :devil:
Post by: Sam on June 03, 2015, 09:07:16 AM
De only four years Tim Kee should get is in Golden Grove next to Warner.

Post by: Sam on June 03, 2015, 09:21:59 AM

President of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA), Raymond Tim Kee, has defended former FIFA vice-president Jack Warner for standing up for this nation’s football interests during his tenure as both CONCACAF and Caribbean Football Union (CFU) president.

Tim Kee, who returned from representing the TTFA at the world governing body’s elections in Zurich, Switzerland, on Saturday night, believes Warner was a major voice pushing for TT’s football development on both the regional and international stage during his reign. However, when Jeffrey Webb of the Cayman Islands was appointed president of CONCACAF in 2012, things changed, and TT’s affairs were put on the bench by the provisionally sacked CONCACAF boss.

“Remember when Mr Warner was president of CONCACAF and CFU, he was very much inward thinking in terms of what Trinidad is getting into,” said Tim Kee yesterday. “Warner worked so hard to the point where our funny kind of thinking people felt that he was pulling strings for Trinidad’s benefit. All the rumours about Warner setting up matches for Trinidad to win and other ideas of the sort all of a sudden began to circulate.

“However, what Mr Warner was really doing was looking after Trinidad and trying to put Trinidad and Tobago in a position to have an equal chance because he would have known of course (about) where he sat, how many things were available and how many were not. Everything came and happened and he was then replaced by another Caribbean man, Jeffrey Webb,” Tim Kee added.

It was here, according to the TTFA boss, that Webb then began to redirect his attention toward more development in Jamaica and the Cayman Islands. Tim Kee said when he realised this country was not given any priority, he challenged the decisions being made but was told that “Trinidad must breathe a little.”

“It was not as equitable as it could have been (for TT). But the others (governing bodies) who were given opportunities to breathe, were not in a position to breathe either because they did not have any actual resource.

What I realised is that we were not getting a fair break as we would have liked for Trinidad,” he continued.

Now, with both Warner and Webb removed from their respective capacities in regional football and currently under investigation for racketeering and money laundering by the United States Department of Justice, Tim Kee is hoping to once again bring the Caribbean nations together in an effort to return transparency and strong sport development to the region. Following his vote in Zurich on Friday, Tim Kee conversed with several of the region’s association presidents with the intention of strengthening their voice on a global scale.

He also warned that the US, along with Central America, have been trying from behind the scenes to control CONCACAF. But, Tim Kee is intent on ensuring that his and the Caribbean’s voice are constantly heard. The Port-of-Spain mayor admitted however, that wooing the other regional territories to one sound conclusion might be a bit tougher than expected.

He further explained: “The position is that I’ve had some conversations with some president’s (football bodies) from the Caribbean.

I told them what my picture is of the situation and that we need to get our act together and so on. But you see a lot of them are intimidated because they got a lot of, what they consider favours and therefore they don’t want to rock the boat. And to a large extent not only in the Caribbean, but as well as the American and African continents.”

Speaking in relation to Blatter’s re-election for a fifth consecutive term, Tim Kee declared that the audience of Hallenstadion, Zurich, went silent upon hearing Prince Ali’s withdrawal from the second round of voting at the elections after being behind 133-72 in the initial round.

“You could have felt a sense of sadness (when Ali withdrew). Those who supported the incumbent (Blatter) were in glee. But you would have looked around the room at the 209 countries, each of which was represented by three delegates, and of course maybe about 100 observers, you would have sensed some form of quiet and sadness. It was then that I had a little bit of concern.. Ali and I have a good relationship and he calls me often. I was unable to speak to him after the elections, but I might speak with him tonight (Sunday). If there was some other candidate, or rather if Mr Blatter was not there, I’m sure Prince Ali would have won because nobody could have faulted him for his presentation and constitution,” he added.

Meanwhile, amidst all the allegations put forward against multiple ex and current members of FIFA last week, Blatter maintains his innocence and admitted that the cleanup of FIFA is good for the game. When asked how Blatter could have pleaded ignorance of the alleged corruption taking place in his organisation, Tim Kee declared: “If the top US and Swiss agencies working together, and they have been digging up for the past 20 years, have found nothing, possibly, there is nothing to be found but I do not want be conclusive and unfair to Mr Blatter. But how so many calls and comments could be made and there’s no truth? You have to sometimes consider the saying ‘where there is smoke, there is fire’. So how is there so much smoke, but no fire?”

No one should give special treatment to one particular federation, but Tim kee sounding like Jack didn't do the same?

Post by: King Deese on June 03, 2015, 09:51:25 AM
Tim Tee sounding just like Jack. Paranoid and delusional. Sounds like he crowned himself leader of CONCACAF on a sneek tip. But anyways, now I understand why Tim Tee and the spiderman didn't want to go after Jack, legally.
Post by: Controversial on June 03, 2015, 10:26:38 AM
I warned people about Tim kee but no one listened....
Post by: Bakes on June 03, 2015, 10:35:41 AM
Tim Tee sounding just like Jack. Paranoid and delusional. Sounds like he crowned himself leader of CONCACAF on a sneek tip. But anyways, now I understand why Tim Tee and the spiderman didn't want to go after Jack, legally.

Tell us why then?  Because yuh talking shit.
Post by: R45 on June 03, 2015, 01:18:27 PM

He seems like he's cut from the same cloth as Jack. It also seems like he's doing some power positioning either within Concacaf or for FIFA itself, trying to stay on the fence. The fact that he only released that he didn't vote for Blatter after he resigned is a pretty clear indication of his capability of spotting which bandwagon to jump on at which time.

I really cannot see myself contributing a cent to another TTFA effort for the foreseeable future.
Post by: dreamer on June 03, 2015, 01:55:07 PM
De only four years Tim Kee should get is in Golden Grove next to Warner.

Btw we've heard the agonizing babble & dance from Papa Cornmeal in his recent article.
Anybody heard from "President" in defense of Jackulito ... and all the others who were on the take from Renraw?
Post by: Controversial on June 03, 2015, 09:47:50 PM

He seems like he's cut from the same cloth as Jack. It also seems like he's doing some power positioning either within Concacaf or for FIFA itself, trying to stay on the fence. The fact that he only released that he didn't vote for Blatter after he resigned is a pretty clear indication of his capability of spotting which bandwagon to jump on at which time.

I really cannot see myself contributing a cent to another TTFA effort for the foreseeable future.

My suggestion of a rival federation would work but will take time... The players union must be formed first to neutralize the pro league and tim kee run federation ... Once that is achieved, then a new fed will have the power and force the regional associations to make the switch.. No players, no football.. Ttfa will be relegated to a rogue org and Fifa will have no choice but to move to legitimize the new fed...
Post by: Flex on June 04, 2015, 02:13:53 AM
Tim Kee calls for Caribbean unity in CONCACAF.
By Ian Prescott (Express).

Stand up!

Caribbean football officials are not pleased about being left out of the decision-making process of the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF).

Further, Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) president Raymond Tim Kee, urged his colleagues to “stand up” and assert its power as the most influential group of voters in the regional football body. Tim Kee commented at a press conference held in Trinidad and Tobago on Tuesday.

Tim Kee is particularly perturbed that the Caribbean was left out of the decision-making process when a week ago, CONCACAF’S Executive appointed a Special Committee charged with evaluating and sustaining all of the business operations of the Confederation. This Special Committee was appointed in the wake of the corruption indictments brought against former CONCACAF president Jack Warner and Warner’s replacement Cayman Islands banker Jeffrey Webb.

The Special Committee appointed to run the 41-strong CONCACAF federation consists only of the three North Americans representatives. Appointed were Victor Montagliani, the president of the Canadian Soccer Association, Justino Compean, the president of the Mexican Soccer Federation and Sunil Gulati, the president of US Soccer Federation. The Caribbean has a majority of 28 countries in CONCACAF.

“They have appointed an Emergency Committee to look after the business of CONCACAF until the term comes to an end,” Tim Kee declared. “The thing that stood out for me, is that not one member of the CFU (Caribbean Football Union), who has the largest compliment of votes in CONCACAF, was sitting on that.”

Tim Kee is unaware if there was consultation between the CONCACAF Executive Committee and CFU president Antiguan Gordon Derrick, before recent decisions were made.

Further, Tim Kee hinted that Derrick should have objected had any such consultation taken place. “As to whether there were any objections, it is reasonable to argue there would have been the inclusion of somebody from the Caribbean (as a result). That did not happen, and that may be the style of the president of the CFU (Derrick), who may have opted to take a certain direction.

“But, at the end of the day, I don’t know if that is something we want, and we have to correct that,” the Trinidadian insurance executive and Port of Spain mayor said.

Tim Kee admitted to having spoken to some Caribbean colleagues on the matter.

“I have had conversions with some presidents of the other islands in the CFU about that situation and that is something we should seek to address,” he added.

Tim Kee said that, traditionally, the US and Mexico try to dominate CONCACAF because of financial and political influence, but at the end of the day, Caribbean votes will determine who takes power.

He further said that he expected challenges for the Caribbean, now that Caribbean representatives Warner and Webb are removed from the helm. “Now that both parties are out, and the Caribbean not represented, I suspect there will be some challenges coming to the Caribbean until we stand up and insist that must not happen because we have numbers,” said Tim Kee.

“The thing that carries you in football is numbers, not necessarily money, because numbers are votes,” added Tim Kee. “I can see some turbulence initially, but things will soon smooth out in a real way by (the Caribbean) having a voice on the Executive of CONCACAF,” he ended.

Post by: Errol on June 04, 2015, 03:00:26 AM

Tim Kee was part of Jack regime for over 20 years and help destroy and suck T&T dry, so obviously he will defend the man who put him here and made him.

Post by: Deeks on June 04, 2015, 07:17:38 AM
Errol, think like a rational man. What Tim Kee is saying makes sense. I am not an apologist for him. But what he said is true. Whether Webb or Jack go to jail, the CFU members must have a common agenda when decisions in Concacaf are made. The U.S. also have a fraudster in Blazer the tax evader, and yet they have Gulati on the committee?  We know the CFU will be forever be paying for the sins of Jack, and now Webb, but we have to put aside differences and vote with a common agenda that will benefit CFU.
Post by: Mose on June 04, 2015, 07:33:42 AM
Errol, think like a rational man. What Tim Kee is saying makes sense. I am not an apologist for him. But what he said is true. Whether Webb or Jack go to jail, the CFU members must have a common agenda when decisions in Concacaf are made. The U.S. also have a fraudster in Blazer the tax evader, and yet they have Gulati on the committee?  We know the CFU will be forever be paying for the sins of Jack, and now Webb, but we have to put aside differences and vote with a common agenda that will benefit CFU.

Deeks, ah tink Errol was replying to a different post than the one you talking about.
Post by: Errol on June 04, 2015, 08:17:10 AM
Thanks Mose, hence the reason I quoted it.

Deeks, you nice.

Post by: Deeks on June 04, 2015, 11:27:01 AM
Thanks Mose, hence the reason I quoted it.

Deeks, you nice.

My bad! I apologize !
Post by: Flex on June 05, 2015, 01:53:18 AM
Tim Kee sees invoice for UNC banquet Jack used our $ to pay bill.
By Rhondor Dowlat (Guardian).

T&T Football Association (TTFA) president, Raymond Tim Kee is now corroborating at least part of the claims by former Fifa vice-president, Caribbean Football union president and TTFF adviser Jack Warner that he (Warner) funded the People’s Partnership 2010 general election campaign.

There is currently a war of words between Warner and the People’s Partnership over his claims that he funded the party’s election campaign with money sourced through his Fifa dealings.

While Warner is stickling to those claims and has allegedly provided information to a group of attorneys to prove this, the UNC continues to deny the claim.

But speaking exclusively to the T&T Guardian yesterday, Tim Kee said he knew for a fact that former Warner used his own money to fund at least one UNC event which he (Tim Kee) had knowledge of.

Tim Kee was referring to an invoice he allegedly received from a popular hotel and conference centre in Port-of-Spain which had billed the TTFA for a “UNC Banquet Dinner.”

Although initially admitting to not really wanting to let the “cat-out-of-the-bag,” Tim Kee said, “I don’t want to make it an issue yet. I have to find the document first.”

He added, “I know of this because with the invoice were some notes which indicated the items.”

Tim Kee also assured that he knew for a fact that Warner took money from the TTFF which went straight to the UNC.

“The man took our money and gave it to politics,” he said.

Tim Kee said Warner was committed to the UNC cause in 2010.

“Knowing Mr Warner as I do, he does not give up until he comes to the end of his effort and all strategies, for which he is well known, were applied in that effort to put the UNC party into power,” he said, saying he was sure Warner used the monies he would have acquired from Fifa to spend in the 2010 election.

“I would think it is public knowledge when he became chairman, he had a goal and that goal was to take the UNC party into government,” he said.

Similar football strategy

Tim Kee explained that Warner had a similar behaviour and strategy in football and in the earlier years mortgaged his house in a bid to raise money for football and to take care of some other expenses in relation to the sport.

“That was the sort of passion he (Warner) had demonstrated over the years for local football. What happens subsequent to those years I am not in a position to converse on and comment,” he said.

During an address to the nation on Wednesday night, Warner, a former national security minister and now political leader of the Independent Liberal Party, reiterated that there was a link between Fifa’s millions and the PP’s 2010 campaign.

He disclosed that he had compiled a series of cheques and supporting documents that would corroborate his financial support to the PP’s successful general campaign in 2010. The documents, Warner said, were already in the hands of attorneys.

Warner is currently out on $2.5 million bail after he appeared in the Port-of-Spain Magistrates Court on charges of corruption and racketeering conspiracy in relation to his dealings with Fifa, stemming out of an indictment by the US government, which is now seeking to extradite him to the US to face those charges.

RELATED NEWS

Jack of all funds.
By Sharlene Rampersad (Guardian)

I paid for Moonilal’s wife’s education

Independent Liberal Party (ILP) leader Jack Warner says his support for the United National Congress (UNC) was not only limited to the party, as he now alleges he paid for deputy leader Dr Roodal Moonilal’s wife to study in London.

Warner, a former Fifa vice-president who was placed on Interpol’s “red notice” on Wednesday, made the claim during an ILP cottage meeting at Battoo Street, Marabella, on Wednesday night.

“Moonilal trying today to make my chairman name look bad and Moonilal trying to demean. Her and Moonilal of course forget that is I who pay to send his wife to school in London,” Warner alleged.

“And I must sit here and listen to Moonilal?”

Warner said while going through some of his documents, he found a receipt showing where he allegedly paid to rent a house in Santa Margarita for three months for the party. He said he also found a receipt where he gave the Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP) $350,000 on April 6, 2012, but said “Ashworth Jack will watch me and say I did not give him anything.”

He threw out a challenge to the Government to deny his claims, saying he had all the documents to show where his money was spent.

“Let them say I didn’t pay for a house for three months, let them say I didn’t give the TOP money, let them say I didn’t give Moonilal money for his wife’s education in London.

“I took a considerable amount of my resources, my resources Kamla, into supporting the person who is now your Prime Minister.”

Warner also said he has a number of tapes and documents on the link between the UNC’s 2010 campaign and Fifa funding that he will release soon.

“I have documents showing the link between Fifa funding and me, the link between Fifa, its funding the UNC and the PP Government in the general elections of 2010, documents on the Section 34 fiasco, documents on my knowledge of transactions at Fifa, including, and not limited to the President Sepp Blatter.”

He apologised to the country for not disclosing these matter sooner, but promised all would be brought to the light in the near future.

Making reference to members of the international media attending the meeting, Warner said they would only be in T&T until next week.

“Look at them, first time in your lives you may be seeing them in Marabella. Don’t worry, they will be gone by next week, they only here to see Jack Warner in handcuffs.”

Warner refused to field questions from the media after at the meeting and as soon as his speech was finished  he was hustled into a waiting vehicle by security.

Post by: Mose on June 05, 2015, 09:03:04 AM
Tim Kee should have kept his mouth shut because now the question becomes if he knew this and had this evidence why did he not go after Jack and the UNC to reclaim it?
Post by: Controversial on June 05, 2015, 09:42:35 AM
Tim Kee should have kept his mouth shut because now the question becomes if he knew this and had this evidence why did he not go after Jack and the UNC to reclaim it?

Because he is just as corrupt...
Post by: Sam on June 05, 2015, 09:48:22 AM

T&T Football Association (TTFA) president, Raymond Tim Kee is now corroborating at least part of the claims by former Fifa vice-president, Caribbean Football union president and TTFF adviser Jack Warner that he (Warner) funded the People’s Partnership 2010 general election campaign.

There is currently a war of words between Warner and the People’s Partnership over his claims that he funded the party’s election campaign with money sourced through his Fifa dealings.

While Warner is stickling to those claims and has allegedly provided information to a group of attorneys to prove this, the UNC continues to deny the claim.

But speaking exclusively to the T&T Guardian yesterday, Tim Kee said he knew for a fact that former Warner used his own money to fund at least one UNC event which he (Tim Kee) had knowledge of.

Tim Kee was referring to an invoice he allegedly received from a popular hotel and conference centre in Port-of-Spain which had billed the TTFA for a “UNC Banquet Dinner.”

Although initially admitting to not really wanting to let the “cat-out-of-the-bag,” Tim Kee said, “I don’t want to make it an issue yet. I have to find the document first.”

He added, “I know of this because with the invoice were some notes which indicated the items.”

Tim Kee also assured that he knew for a fact that Warner took money from the TTFF which went straight to the UNC.

“Knowing Mr Warner as I do, he does not give up until he comes to the end of his effort and all strategies, for which he is well known, were applied in that effort to put the UNC party into power,” he said, saying he was sure Warner used the monies he would have acquired from Fifa to spend in the 2010 election.

“I would think it is public knowledge when he became chairman, he had a goal and that goal was to take the UNC party into government,” he said.

Tim Kee explained that Warner had a similar behaviour and strategy in football and in the earlier years mortgaged his house in a bid to raise money for football and to take care of some other expenses in relation to the sport.

“That was the sort of passion he (Warner) had demonstrated over the years for local football. What happens subsequent to those years I am not in a position to converse on and comment,” he said.

During an address to the nation on Wednesday night, Warner, a former national security minister and now political leader of the Independent Liberal Party, reiterated that there was a link between Fifa’s millions and the PP’s 2010 campaign.

He disclosed that he had compiled a series of cheques and supporting documents that would corroborate his financial support to the PP’s successful general campaign in 2010. The documents, Warner said, were already in the hands of attorneys.

Warner is currently out on $2.5 million bail after he appeared in the Port-of-Spain Magistrates Court on charges of corruption and racketeering conspiracy in relation to his dealings with Fifa, stemming out of an indictment by the US government, which is now seeking to extradite him to the US to face those charges.

RELATED NEWS

Jack of all funds.

Independent Liberal Party (ILP) leader Jack Warner says his support for the United National Congress (UNC) was not only limited to the party, as he now alleges he paid for deputy leader Dr Roodal Moonilal’s wife to study in London.

Warner, a former Fifa vice-president who was placed on Interpol’s “red notice” on Wednesday, made the claim during an ILP cottage meeting at Battoo Street, Marabella, on Wednesday night.

“Moonilal trying today to make my chairman name look bad and Moonilal trying to demean. Her and Moonilal of course forget that is I who pay to send his wife to school in London,” Warner alleged.

Warner said while going through some of his documents, he found a receipt showing where he allegedly paid to rent a house in Santa Margarita for three months for the party. He said he also found a receipt where he gave the Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP) $350,000 on April 6, 2012, but said “Ashworth Jack will watch me and say I did not give him anything.”

He threw out a challenge to the Government to deny his claims, saying he had all the documents to show where his money was spent.

“Let them say I didn’t pay for a house for three months, let them say I didn’t give the TOP money, let them say I didn’t give Moonilal money for his wife’s education in London.

“I took a considerable amount of my resources, my resources Kamla, into supporting the person who is now your Prime Minister.”

Warner also said he has a number of tapes and documents on the link between the UNC’s 2010 campaign and Fifa funding that he will release soon.

“I have documents showing the link between Fifa funding and me, the link between Fifa, its funding the UNC and the PP Government in the general elections of 2010, documents on the Section 34 fiasco, documents on my knowledge of transactions at Fifa, including, and not limited to the President Sepp Blatter.”

He apologised to the country for not disclosing these matter sooner, but promised all would be brought to the light in the near future.

Making reference to members of the international media attending the meeting, Warner said they would only be in T&T until next week.

“Look at them, first time in your lives you may be seeing them in Marabella. Don’t worry, they will be gone by next week, they only here to see Jack Warner in handcuffs.”

Warner refused to field questions from the media after at the meeting and as soon as his speech was finished  he was hustled into a waiting vehicle by security.

Tim Kee putting he foot in he mouth.

Now self de gov eh helping T&T football.

This man will bury we after Jack Warner kill we.

Tim Kee was Jack right hand man, he guilty too, him and Camps.

Jail all ah them, because he know and kept quiet for a long time.

Post by: Bakes on June 05, 2015, 10:09:00 AM

Non-issue for Tim Kee.  The way Jack's personal funds were tied up in the TTFF, the UNC/Jack easily could have argued that the funds were paid from the TTFF accounts, because the TTFF itself owed money to Jack.  That is the larger issue here, tying of funds paid by Warner to the UNC's election efforts.

Another problematic issue nobody seems to be willing to mention is the possibility that the 2006 WC players were essentially paid with FIFA bribe money channeled thru Jack and the UNC.  Sancho was on the radio this morning trying hard to distance himself from the growing scandal and callers were letting him have it.
Post by: Bakes on June 05, 2015, 10:12:26 AM
Tim Kee putting he foot in he mouth.

Now self de gov eh helping T&T football.

This man will bury we after Jack Warner kill we.

Tim Kee was Jack right hand man, he guilty too, him and Camps.

Jail all ah them, because he know and kept quiet for a long time.

You have any proof that Tim Kee was "Jack right hand man"?  Do you have any clue as to how the political structure within the TTFF/FA functions?  I swear some ah allyuh does just bump allyuh gums for the sake of bumping allyuh gums.
Post by: Mose on June 05, 2015, 10:35:10 AM

Non-issue for Tim Kee.  The way Jack's personal funds were tied up in the TTFF, the UNC/Jack easily could have argued that the funds were paid from the TTFF accounts, because the TTFF itself owed money to Jack.  That is the larger issue here, tying of funds paid by Warner to the UNC's election efforts.

Another problematic issue nobody seems to be willing to mention is the possibility that the 2006 WC players were essentially paid with FIFA bribe money channeled thru Jack and the UNC. Sancho was on the radio this morning trying hard to distance himself from the growing scandal and callers were letting him have it.

Good point. Hadn't thought about that possibility. But it does bring up another issue that I've been thinking about. Which is that the corruption in that organisation is so deep seated and systemic that even the 'good' people in the organisation can't help but have been tainted by it.

We had a similar issue in a construction corruption scandal here in Montreal where kickbacks were such an established way of doing business that some honest businessmen found that that was the only way they could get contracts from the city and 'honest' city functionaries found money being placed in their hands and supervisors/managers/bosses telling them just take it and keep quiet.
Post by: E-man on June 05, 2015, 01:30:12 PM

Another problematic issue nobody seems to be willing to mention is the possibility that the 2006 WC players were essentially paid with FIFA bribe money channeled thru Jack and the UNC. Sancho was on the radio this morning trying hard to distance himself from the growing scandal and callers were letting him have it.

Good point. Hadn't thought about that possibility. But it does bring up another issue that I've been thinking about. Which is that the corruption in that organisation is so deep seated and systemic that even the 'good' people in the organisation can't help but have been tainted by it.

We had a similar issue in a construction corruption scandal here in Montreal where kickbacks were such an established way of doing business that some honest businessmen found that that was the only way they could get contracts from the city and 'honest' city functionaries found money being placed in their hands and supervisors/managers/bosses telling them just take it and keep quiet.

In the end the 'loan' the WC 2006 players got from the UNC gov't may be tainted funds. But the amount they were owed is based on established sponsorship money. That 'legit' money had to be somewhere in Warner's accounts as well. When you launder without separating the white wash turns pink.
Post by: Bakes on June 05, 2015, 01:45:15 PM
In the end the 'loan' the WC 2006 players got from the UNC gov't may be tainted funds. But the amount they were owed is based on established sponsorship money. That 'legit' money had to be somewhere in Warner's accounts as well. When you launder without separating the white wash turns pink.

How can it be "legitimate"?  The Government never owed them any money, Jack did.  Also, il/legitimacy aside, the source is in question.  Of course this is only a semi-serious point being made, if not, then ever single government payment would have to be similarly compromised, which morally speaking (given Jack's role in putting them into power), they are.
Post by: E-man on June 05, 2015, 02:23:20 PM

How can it be "legitimate"?  The Government never owed them any money, Jack did.  Also, il/legitimacy aside, the source is in question.  Of course this is only a semi-serious point being made, if not, then ever single government payment would have to be similarly compromised, which morally speaking (given Jack's role in putting them into power), they are.

I understand that the gov't 'loan' and money the TTFF owed which Jack probably pilfered are 2 things, though in this case who knows. TTFF->Jack->UNC->'loan'  ;D

Post by: elan on June 05, 2015, 02:54:14 PM

Another problematic issue nobody seems to be willing to mention is the possibility that the 2006 WC players were essentially paid with FIFA bribe money channeled thru Jack and the UNC.  Sancho was on the radio this morning trying hard to distance himself from the growing scandal and callers were letting him have it.

Bakes youself. What kinda spin is that. That's a Fox News spin you just try to put on we.

How the hell Sancho supposed to know where JW getting he money from to pay them. What kinda foolishness is that you trying to put out there. Deflect the issue from Tim Kee if you want but that right there is some :bs:

How is that problematic? Can you prove that Sancho knew JW received bribe money and paid them with it?

:bs: :bs:
Post by: Bakes on June 05, 2015, 04:55:53 PM

Bakes youself. What kinda spin is that. That's a Fox News spin you just try to put on we.

How the hell Sancho supposed to know where JW getting he money from to pay them. What kinda foolishness is that you trying to put out there. Deflect the issue from Tim Kee if you want but that right there is some :bs:

How is that problematic? Can you prove that Sancho knew JW received bribe money and paid them with it?

Let me break it down for you since you seem intent on playing the part of the village idiot:  It is a non-issue for Tim Kee/the current TTFA administration, because they have already submitted a dossier to the DPP three months ago with regards to monies due the TTFF which was inappropriated by Jack Warner.  There is a criminal investigation which will begin whenever the DPP gets around to it, until then, no civil proceding can take place.  Tim Kee was in no position to make any allegation before that, plus I said, given the convoluted financial practices between Jack and the TTFF, he easily could have waved off any complaints (prior to the audit which was turned over the the DPP) as unsound business practices, but nothing illegal.

As for Sancho... you love waving that :bs:  flag... yuh need to take that and beat yuhself in the head with it for being so dotish.  For starters I said " (o)f course this is only a semi-serious point being made...", not only that but your argument makes no sense.  Can anyone prove that Kamla and the PP gov't knew that Jack got the money via bribes, grafts or embezzlement?  When it comes to money laundering it doesn't matter whether the recipient knew the tainted source of the funds or not, the fact is that they benefited from illegally laundered funds.  This is why I say it's problematic for Sancho if it turns out that bribe money somehow ended up in his hands, given how he's positioned himself as this champion of 'transparency and accountability'.  It's not a lega quandary, it's a moral one.  You don't have to see it, so don't worry your head.
Post by: elan on June 05, 2015, 05:18:23 PM

Let me break it down for you since you seem intent on playing the part of the village idiot:  It is a non-issue for Tim Kee/the current TTFA administration, because they have already submitted a dossier to the DPP three months ago with regards to monies due the TTFF which was inappropriated by Jack Warner.  There is a criminal investigation which will begin whenever the DPP gets around to it, until then, no civil proceding can take place.  Tim Kee was in no position to make any allegation before that, plus I said, given the convoluted financial practices between Jack and the TTFF, he easily could have waved off any complaints (prior to the audit which was turned over the the DPP) as unsound business practices, but nothing illegal.

As for Sancho... you love waving that :bs:  flag... yuh need to take that and beat yuhself in the head with it for being so dotish.  For starters I said " (o)f course this is only a semi-serious point being made...", not only that but your argument makes no sense.  Can anyone prove that Kamla and the PP gov't knew that Jack got the money via bribes, grafts or embezzlement?  When it comes to money laundering it doesn't matter whether the recipient knew the tainted source of the funds or not, the fact is that they benefited from illegally laundered funds.  This is why I say it's problematic for Sancho if it turns out that bribe money somehow ended up in his hands, given how he's positioned himself as this champion of 'transparency and accountability'.  It's not a lega quandary, it's a moral one.  You don't have to see it, so don't worry your head.

Shut your mouth. You tossing "semi-serious" :bs: out to detract from Tim Kee dotishness. You stretching yuhself so thin that yuh transparent now.

Sancho has 0, nada, nothing, - moral or legal - to do with JW receiving bribe money. That's just you trying to muddy the water.

There's nothing to see. If Sancho is i a moral quandary, then so to is everyone who JW paid, donated, gave money to.

Get real Bakes.
Post by: Bakes on June 05, 2015, 05:35:57 PM

Shut your mouth. You tossing "semi-serious" :bs: out to detract from Tim Kee dotishness. You stretching yuhself so thin that yuh transparent now.

Sancho has 0, nada, nothing, - moral or legal - to do with JW receiving bribe money. That's just you trying to muddy the water.

There's nothing to see. If Sancho is i a moral quandary, then so to is everyone who JW paid, donated, gave money to.

Get real Bakes.

You have Sancho nuts in yuh mouth at the same time yuh head up Tim Kee ass... he "dotish" for taking what he know to the DPP rather than running to Kamla complaining?  You come juss like Harrison, Sancho is allyuh God.  Can't take you seriously.
Post by: elan on June 05, 2015, 05:54:46 PM

Get real Bakes.

You have Sancho nuts in yuh mouth at the same time yuh head up Tim Kee ass... he "dotish" for taking what he know to the DPP rather than running to Kamla complaining?  You come juss like Harrison, Sancho is allyuh God.  Can't take you seriously.

You must can't take me seriously calling you on your crusade. You can say what you want about me having Sancho's nuts in my mouth. It still will not change the fact that you are Sheldon Phillip and by extension Tim Kee spin doctor.

There is no reason to bring Sancho into this. Yet for some reason you just slide his name in. That's because you looking to deflect from you buddies.

You come with your fox news strategy. Putting something out there that's false and then trying to work around it. Dude, really. Come on son.

Here, I'm gonna do a cursory google search on the timeline of the TTFA election.  :joker:

Post by: Bakes on June 05, 2015, 09:23:34 PM

You must can't take me seriously calling you on your crusade. You can say what you want about me having Sancho's nuts in my mouth. It still will not change the fact that you are Sheldon Phillip and by extension Tim Kee spin doctor.

There is no reason to bring Sancho into this. Yet for some reason you just slide his name in. That's because you looking to deflect from you buddies.

You come with your fox news strategy. Putting something out there that's false and then trying to work around it. Dude, really. Come on son.

Here, I'm gonna do a cursory google search on the timeline of the TTFA election.  :joker:

Boy, you's ah even bigger dunce if you suggesting I "juss slide" Sancho name in this... Sancho not the one running up and down talking about how he "not surprised Warner was charged with corruption (http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2015-05-28/sancho-not-surprised)", and that he "wants Warner to answer FBI questions (http://www.newsday.co.tt/sport/0,211820.html)"?  Sancho is the one inserting himself in the mix, joining the rest of the PP hypocrites in trying to shovel dirt on Warner head when all of them benefited from him thiefing money.  Imagine the irony then if Mr. "transparency and accountability" end up taking money which potentially came from bribes paid to Warner?  Doh worry, as I said, I doh expect yuh to see it.  Keep talking about who spin doctor I supposed to be.
Post by: congo on June 06, 2015, 08:45:26 PM
Sancho playing corruption buster whilst serving in what is arguably the most corrupt government in our nation's history.  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Why he doh dig up in LifeSport and supply us with some answers?

Oh and by the way "Carapo endorses Brent Sancho"....LOL...would be interesting to see how that link plays itself out.
Post by: Flex on June 07, 2015, 06:00:06 AM
Caption this

(http://www.socawarriors.net/images/stories/tim-kee-camps-jack.jpg)
Post by: asylumseeker on June 07, 2015, 06:25:34 AM
Sancho playing corruption buster whilst serving in what is arguably the most corrupt government in our nation's history.  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Why he doh dig up in LifeSport and supply us with some answers?

Oh and by the way "Carapo endorses Brent Sancho"....LOL...would be interesting to see how that link plays itself out.

:-X
Post by: Sando on June 08, 2015, 04:05:14 AM

RELATED NEWS

Jack of all funds.

Tim Kee will destroy T&T football, wait and see guys.

The same people he reliant on for money he blasting.

Now the little funds T&T use to get from de gov, they will cut.

Shut your mouth man and resign your post.

I am fed up with this fool.

Post by: dtool on June 08, 2015, 04:16:02 AM

I believe the longer the foreign news media in Trinidad the more information we will get.
They are digging for everything that was missed by our news
What do you think?
Post by: dreamer on June 08, 2015, 06:01:12 AM

I believe the longer the foreign news media in Trinidad the more information we will get.
What do you think?

We are collectively slowly waking up to the sneakiness, twistedness and deception of this clown (Uncle Tim).
All will come to light gradually and sometimes explosively. Have no fear ... at least not too much.
Post by: Controversial on June 08, 2015, 07:49:15 AM

What do you think?

We are collectively slowly waking up to the sneakiness, twistedness and deception of this clown (Uncle Tim).
All will come to light gradually and sometimes explosively. Have no fear ... at least not too much.

how long did it take all of you to wake up... not too long ago i was being attacked on the board because i stated from the beginning tim kee is not to be trusted and is not right for our football..

no one listened...
Post by: Banter Banton on June 08, 2015, 08:34:47 AM
Tim Kee should resign... he has done absolutely nothing during his time to take T&T forward. He is the reason why they have few sponsors.

That post should not be held by anyone associated with any political party because if your party not in power you will be squeezed. If you in power you will be unfairly funded and the other Sporting associations will complain.

At the end of the day the most important members of the TTFA are the national programs and because of One Man they have had to suffer for 3 years financially. Senior men and women teams, youth teams etc.

At least Sheldon Phillips trying something, I've heard he has good ideas and very professional just partnered up with the wrong president.

If Tim Kee really cares about T&T football he should step aside. It's simply an ego thing at this point.
Post by: Controversial on June 08, 2015, 09:21:08 AM
Tim Kee should resign... he has done absolutely nothing during his time to take T&T forward. He is the reason why they have few sponsors.

That post should not be held by anyone associated with any political party because if your party not in power you will be squeezed. If you in power you will be unfairly funded and the other Sporting associations will complain.

At the end of the day the most important members of the TTFA are the national programs and because of One Man they have had to suffer for 3 years financially. Senior men and women teams, youth teams etc.

At least Sheldon Phillips trying something, I've heard he has good ideas and very professional just partnered up with the wrong president.

If Tim Kee really cares about T&T football he should step aside. It's simply an ego thing at this point.

sheldon aligning himself with tim kee brings his motives into question as well, sadly...

i understand he wanted to give him a chance, but dragging it on for so many years, leaves a sour taste in the mouth of many, so i think we need to wipe the slate clean...
Post by: dreamer on June 08, 2015, 10:18:20 AM
Contro, no problem with your views here. Never be afraid to stand by your views especially if you're driven by sincerity and true concern for the unsung exploited players. Don't be intimidated by henchmen and agents for Jackulito, Scamps, Rodent, Uncle Tim. Uncle Tim was not known by all so he was given time to show his colours ... and what lovely colours many see now.
Watch as he slowly tries to distance himself from Renraw and as he watches to see how far the dragnet spreads, with more nuts being squeezed and the treasure trove of Concacaf documents being perused after their office was busted open.
Post by: Bakes on June 08, 2015, 01:52:45 PM
how long did it take all of you to wake up... not too long ago i was being attacked on the board because i stated from the beginning tim kee is not to be trusted and is not right for our football..

no one listened...

I don't recall seeing anyone attacking you, but let's explore this for argument's sake:

Why is he not to be trusted?

Why do you feel your position has been validated, in the three years since he took over?
Post by: King Deese on June 08, 2015, 02:36:01 PM
Tim.Tee, the Spider-man, the Scamps- man, the Rodent, and the Mouth of the West, are like peas in a pod. Now I know why they didn't want to go after the Jack of all funds, legally. Question is, how you gonna sue yourself?
Title: Raymond Tim Kee Thread.
Post by: Sam on June 15, 2015, 11:08:58 AM
Fire Raymond Tim Kee Thread.

Tim Kee is a millionaire and makes millions from his insurance company (Trinre Insurance), why can't he use some of that money and invest it into some marketing strategy to generate more money for T&T football?

Money makes money.

Instead of relying on the government alone and making T&T football look bad and making me cuss to much.

He allowed 10 years of corruption as a VP with TTFA. He even admitted he knew what was happening...remember he saw the UNC banquet invoice. Right, so why did he not report this 5 years ago? If you witness a crime and don't report it, you are just as guilty not so?

The Germany LOC was still renting 40,000 dollars a month offices from Jack in 2009, how?

A of the big men he knows from being mayor or PNM treasurer, not one would support him?

On de flip side.

I know my boy Kevin Harrison is a good dude and I go like to see him involve in T&T football, he should not be involved in this Sancho vs TTFA problem and we could use him on the TTFA staff and get ride of some of them back stabbers working there.

In 3 years Kevin made Central into a top club and they self efficient.

Sancho lose points by me though and SPoRTT need a staff redo.

Everybody wants to be a boss in T&T and now all of them want to get into politics so they could full they pockets and be heroes.

Tim Kee need to step up his game or step the hell down.

We football in a mess and he making it worst.

If you can't handle de job, please retire and let someone else take it up.

If you want to stay on, find, then do de right thing.

Title: Re: Fire Raymond Tim Kee Thread.
Post by: dreamer on June 15, 2015, 11:16:29 AM
Now we talking. Uncle Tim must go and must be the unwavering focus of our actions just like we did for Jackulito. Remember iz a work in progress. I will donate money to see him go and stay invested in securing that another one of his Cosa Nostra cabal does not succeed him. Daiz how dey does do it to cover their tracts and avoid prosecution.
Whoever helps to get rid of Uncle Tim will be fairly welcome as long as they too eh dealing in evil intent to damage the warriors. More on this later.
Post by: Banter Banton on June 15, 2015, 11:43:16 AM
Check this scenario:

Gov't Elections September 7th 2015. PNM wins and Tim Kee and the TTFA have more corporate sponsors and better M.O.S relations. World Cup qualification campaign begins in November 2015.
TTFA have not announced when their election will take place. Let's say later this year and Tim Kee loses I can assure you it will be a repeat of the same political bullshit which has taken place over the last 3 years.

You really feel Tim Kee going to fund Football if some rival oust him ? We will have to pray that the person coming in as President etc is someone who very very good at getting sponsors because we all know this game. This country is the most petty vindictive place in the world.

I have no faith in Tim Kee but I rather see him fund Football as president for 4 years during a world cup qualification campaign than a repeat of the last 3 years with a new man in charge getting the squeeze like he did from UNC/PP...... so I can assure you he keeping his ass in that president chair until Gov't Elections where you have to fancy PNM to win it.

Stephan Hart and all the coaches, all the national programs deserve full backing..If it's Tim Kee doing it, I don't give a f**k... I cannot take another few years of bullshit that affecting THOUSANDS of players, coaches, fans etc for a few people ego's who have the power to change things here.

Post by: asylumseeker on June 15, 2015, 01:25:35 PM
Who would be considered as credible alternatives?
Post by: gb8702 on June 15, 2015, 02:34:56 PM
my vote is for Bakes :rotfl:
In all honesty for me it would be the guys at central. They have taken football back to the community and that's whats needed.

You have a real chance now to shape the future of your nation, engage in youth projects as todays children could be tomorrows stars. Get out to the local communities hold coaching sessions across the nation this could be funded by the corporates.

Football is a game for the people, not for the rich and shameless
Post by: Football supporter on June 15, 2015, 03:13:44 PM
my vote is for Bakes :rotfl:
In all honesty for me it would be the guys at central. They have taken football back to the community and that's whats needed.

You have a real chance now to shape the future of your nation, engage in youth projects as todays children could be tomorrows stars. Get out to the local communities hold coaching sessions across the nation this could be funded by the corporates.

Thanks, but no thanks lol
Post by: gb8702 on June 15, 2015, 03:27:49 PM
Hi FS I only say you guys as your very proactive and the only guys who can get corporate T&T on board, as well as your success in a short period of time
Post by: Deeks on June 15, 2015, 03:51:47 PM

gb8702, minor league/Sunday morning football is a game for the people, Pro-football is for the rich, famous, and shameless
Post by: gb8702 on June 15, 2015, 03:53:23 PM
Without the average person football wouldn't exist, where do the players come from not muti millionaire family's !!
Post by: Deeks on June 15, 2015, 03:55:08 PM
Actually, there is community football in TT. It never died. Is just that the media don't feature community football as before. Plus over the years(Jack Warner era), the various communities have been doing their own thing. They did not want to be bothered with Jack and his TTFF.
Post by: gb8702 on June 15, 2015, 04:07:11 PM
Maybe a fresh start and time to engage again with the future of the nation?
Post by: Deeks on June 15, 2015, 04:45:51 PM
Without the average person football wouldn't exist, where do the players come from not muti millionaire family's !!

Yes, most of the players are not from millionaire famailies. But the multimillions are the ones pumping  money into football. Abramovich, the Emratis, Glazer family, etc,etc are putting money in Euro football. The English, Spanish, Germans, Italians, French leagues is where the big money is currently. That is why everybody wants to play there.  Is the multi millionaires running(or ruining, take your pick) the game now.
Post by: gb8702 on June 16, 2015, 12:59:12 AM
For me its ruining the game Deeks, Look at ticket prices in the uk the games gone mad.

It's ok having rich backers but with no fans buying shirt, tickets, etc do you think these people would stick around? If you look at these backers in the uk they have engaged with the fans, do a lot in the communities and have links to junior football.

Trinidad produces some great footballers, with the right guidance these players can reach the top but it needs the people at the top to pull in the same direction to ensure that the future of football has solid foundations on which it can build upon.
Title: Tim Kee's dilemma: Son or TTFA?
Post by: Flex on November 11, 2015, 06:01:10 PM
Tim Kee's dilemma: Son or TTFA?
Sunshine Newspapers Reports.

TTFA current President Raymond Tim Kee needs to clear the air and tell the national community whether the firing of the General Secretary of TTFA has anything to do with his refusal to pay his son a whopping $15,000.00 USD to build a website for the TTFA.

Apart from all the legal brouhaha and arguments concerning whether or not he has the right to terminate the General Secretary, Tim Kee needs to be open about the real reasons why he wants Phillips to go.

Sunshine learned that Tim Kee contracted his son, Kareem Tim Kee to build a website for the TTFA. As far as members close to the TTFA are concerned, no one is aware of the process or procedure that was used to retain the services of Tim Kee’s son.

No one knew about the contractual arrangements until invoices began appearing from Kareem’s company, requesting payment for work done. This was no small amount for a sporting organization that is strapped for cash.

Invoices in the sum of $6,000.00USD, $1,500.00 USD and $7,500.00 USD were submitted for payment and it is said that President Tim Kee began applying pressure on General Secretary Sheldon Phillips to have his son paid for his services.

His son was paid $50,000.00 TTD before Sunshine understands that the General Secretary indicated that he was not prepared to sign off for any other payment given the lack of funds within the Association.

Sunshine was told that a number of coaches are still to be paid and TTFA still has outstanding payments for a number of players, yet the President’s sole interest was not in the payment to these stakeholders but to his son for building a website for which there is no contractual arrangement.

Sunshine understands that the General Secretary felt that the President had his priorities misplaced and expressed to him that seeking his son’s benefit created a conflict of interest.It was at this juncture that the relationship be-tween the two went south.

Furthermore, the Sunshine was told that at this juncture with the national team getting ready to compete for a spot in the 2020 World Cup to be held in Russia, the TTFA is under threat of being suspended from international competition.

According to correspondence dated 17 March 2015, which was sent by FIFA to the TTFA, the Association was warned to settle the debt of some $202,125.00 USD which includes interest up to 3 March 2015.

This is an outstanding sum that is owed to Mr. Even Pellerud, the for-mer national coach for the Women’s U-17 team.

The consequences are so severe that FIFA has threatened that if payment to Pellerud was not made by 10 July 2015 and a copy of the proof of payment was not sent to FIFA by the same date then the case of Pellerud vs the TTFA would be sent to the Disciplinary Committee of FIFA.

It is informative to note that to date no payment has been made and, in an effort to assist the TTFA and not to suspend them from the World Cup competition FIFA has decided to deduct the debt from the $250,000.00 USD FIFA annual stipend to the TTFA.

Anyone close to football understands that once the TTFA indebtedness had reached the FIFA Disciplinary Committee harsher sanctions could have been imposed.

But as far as Tim Kee is concerned, it seems like the fate of the TTFA was of little or no consequence; his main interest was to ensure that his son Kareem got paid.

So while Coach Hart and the national team are in training to bring glory to Trinidad and Tobago, the President of the TTFA was more concerned with putting money into his son’s pocket.

This is what Sunshine was told is the real reason behind the current impasse between the President and the General Secretary of the TTFA.

The question that keeps lingering though is whether Tim Kee has the authority to terminate the services of his General Secretary?

Or is he blinded by other factors that have pushed him to make a plethora of errors into seeking to terminate the services of Phillips?

Persons of longstanding within the TTFA believes that Tim Kee does not have the power or authority to fire the General Secretary.

They state that based on the TTFA Constitution, both the old and new ver-sions, the authority to dis-miss a General Secretary is the remit of the Executive Committee.

One senior executive member noted that under the Section: “Duties/Responsibilities of the President” the wording is not just similar but identical.

Article 23.3 of the previous constitution and Article 39.3 of the present constitution state that “. . .only the President may propose the appointment or dismissal of the General Secretary.

”In Article 30.9 under the heading “Powers of the Executive Committee” again the Constitution is clear that “the Executive Committee shall appoint or dismiss the General Secretary on the proposal of the President.”

In all three cases the operative word is “propose” and the meaning seem to have somehow been lost to Tim Kee since the word con-notes “to offer and suggest for consideration” some-thing that is lacking in the actions of the President.

Clearly based on the Constitution, Tim Kee has arrogated unto himself power that he does not have and rather than taking a proposal to the Executive Committee, Tim Kee proceeded to terminate the service of the General Secretary of the TTFA.

Even if Tim Kee had legitimate grounds to do so, the most he can do is pro-pose.It is left up to the Executive Committee to deter-mine whether or not it sup-ports Tim Kee’s proposal and terminate the tenure of Phillips or whether they support the actions of Phil-lips in which case Tim Kee needs to resign because he has lost the confidence of his executive.

That Phillips to date has not been reinstated has raised serious concerns because one can only hope that the installation of Paula Chester-Cumberbatch, Assistant Secretary, Administration to the post of Ag General Secretary of the TTFA was not simply to ensure that Kareem Tim Kee gets paid. Such an action should result in the immediate suspension of the President who should be debarred from contesting the elections on November 29, 2015.

One can only hope that the way Tim Kee manages the TTFA is not the same way the Office of the Mayor is managed because under the PNM it is this type of nepotism and cronyism that the leader of the party promised to get rid of when he ascended into power.

It is difficult to imagine Tim Kee as a Jekyll and Hyde where in the seat of the Mayor he displays one kind of personality while as the President of the TTFA another kind is displayed.

Maybe football needs to take a closer look at Tim Kee the man who valorized Jeffrey Webb who is now embroiled in the type of controversy that Tim Kee feigned to shun.

The lessons, football has learned with Tim Kee as President, have been extremely difficult and many hope that his actions against Phillips would now become the basis for his withdrawal as a candidate for the post of President.

Maybe that is too much to ask but when personal interests take precedence over national interest then the decent thing for anyone to do is to resign and give your office to one who puts country first and self after. The time has come for Tim Kee to go so that football can once again breathe freely.

Title: Re: Tim Kee's dilemma: Son or TTFA?
Post by: Sando prince on November 11, 2015, 06:03:27 PM
Flex just for clarification. This media source you posting from is owned by Jack Warner right?
Post by: Flex on November 11, 2015, 06:04:11 PM
Flex just for clarification. This media source you posting from is owned by Jack Warner right?

Correct !!!!

Post by: Sando prince on November 11, 2015, 06:08:44 PM
^ well I for one would rather see this news story investigated then published by one of TnT mainstream newspapers instead of a newspaper owned by a man who does not think highly of Tim Kee. Regardless how anyone feel about Tim Kee I am sure right minded people would think along similar lines.
Post by: trini_stallion on November 11, 2015, 06:15:35 PM
Where there is smoke there was fire!
Post by: Errol on November 11, 2015, 06:16:04 PM
Things really bad when you see Sheldon running news on a Jack Warner owned newspapers that no one takes seriously, its like the punch or bomb newspapers. I guess he needed an outlet that will not do much research and just publish anything.

If the allegations are right, Tim Kee really mess up a good thing he could have had.

And all the time Sheldon was down with Tim Kee secret deals (Mullien, Akeem, 500 for the entire women team, where did the 10,000 US Randy raised for them went, etc, etc) but now he got fired and decide to spill the beans.

I am glad he spilling beans, but it would be nice coming from a more trust worthy source, like SWO or the Guardian?

Post by: Deeks on November 11, 2015, 06:27:22 PM

Correct !!!!

I will hold my opinions for now. Never a dull moment.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 12, 2015, 08:15:24 AM
"Sunshine" understands a lot of things (so states the article). However, somewhat 'curiously', Sunshine refers to the WC as the "2020 World Cup" ... especially after all the sun shining on FIFA 2018.

Hence...
Post by: Sando on November 12, 2015, 08:36:41 AM
This article is really piss poor and makes the story look like fake gossip. It does more harm than good.

Jack Warner really cant pay someone better to write for him with all that money he stole?

Poor Sheldon, so sad to see he has to take this route and id the story is real, I applaud him for standing up.

He should have used SWO or one of the T&T more recognized dailies.

Post by: Bakes on November 12, 2015, 09:02:04 AM
This article is really piss poor and makes the story look like fake gossip. It does more harm than good.

Jack Warner really cant pay someone better to write for him with all that money he stole?

Poor Sheldon, so sad to see he has to take this route and id the story is real, I applaud him for standing up.

He should have used SWO or one of the T&T more recognized dailies.

Why are you assuming that he's the source?
Post by: spideybuff on November 12, 2015, 09:35:25 AM
The Sunshine usually speaks the truth, man. They just don't have the proof to take it to court...but how many of the allegations against the UNC leading up to elections have resulted in actual law suits ?

In other words, its good enough for us on this site to have a conversation and get more info on it but it is not good enough for the police to charge anybody. Nothing wrong with posting that type of stuff on a talk forum.
Post by: weary1969 on November 12, 2015, 09:38:27 AM
The Sunshine usually speaks the truth, man. They just don't have the proof to take it to court...but how many of the allegations against the UNC leading up to elections have resulted in actual law suits ?

In other words, its good enough for us on this site to have a conversation and get more info on it but it is not good enough for the police to charge anybody. Nothing wrong with posting that type of stuff on a talk forum.

ENT The mama of mamaguy threaten to sue she eh even send a PAP.
Post by: Mose on November 12, 2015, 09:41:26 AM
Interesting that so many assume that Sheldon is the source.
Post by: lefty on November 12, 2015, 09:42:57 AM
even so it is always good for nonsense like this to come to light....timkee continues to loose points
Post by: Mose on November 12, 2015, 09:43:19 AM

Is one thing to post on a talk forum. Is another to print it as actual fact in a newspaper.
Post by: Mose on November 12, 2015, 09:45:53 AM
even so it is always good for nonsense like this to come to light....timkee continues to loose points

If it is true. Remember, there are still members of the executive who are loyal to Jack.
Remember also that we've criticised Lasana for better articles than this.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on November 12, 2015, 09:48:59 AM
Echoing a few posters, I not sure why SP is automatically assumed to be the source of this article.  Furthermore I am a little confused as to why anyone would take issue with this paper releasing this story as if it would be impossible that they got legitimate information.  Forget about the forum used to dispense the info and concentrate on what is actually being said and whether it can in fact be true or not.
Post by: Mose on November 12, 2015, 10:33:17 AM
FUD! Fear, Uncertainty, and Doubt! Something Jack is a master at! Throw out some unverified damning or salacious allegations and while everybody chasing dey tail trying to figure out if is true or not, dey not paying any attention to de man behind the curtain and he machinations.

Anybody else notice that the only quotes in the article are in relation to whether or not RTK had the right to fire Sheldon? Not a single quote from the sources as to the reason he was fired.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on November 12, 2015, 10:45:06 AM
FUD! Fear, Uncertainty, and Doubt! Something Jack is a master at! Throw out some unverified damning or salacious allegations and while everybody chasing dey tail trying to figure out if is true or not, dey not paying any attention to de man behind the curtain and he machinations.

Anybody else notice that the only quotes in the article are in relation to whether or not RTK had the right to fire Sheldon? Not a single quote from the sources as to the reason he was fired.

Lending much credence to the idea that SP is NOT the source.  I agree he is a master at manipulation and subterfuge but i believe we have enough people close enough to learn the truth (if any) behind what was said in this article.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 12, 2015, 11:23:44 AM
Allyuh think JW penned that? Not convinced.
Post by: Mose on November 12, 2015, 12:05:58 PM
Not relevant. The article is a straight up smear job!
Post by: Mose on November 12, 2015, 12:10:56 PM

Lending much credence to the idea that SP is NOT the source.  I agree he is a master at manipulation and subterfuge but i believe we have enough people close enough to learn the truth (if any) behind what was said in this article.

And if we go to Sheldon himself he will most likely say not true as he's already had the opportunity to address his firing in the news and said nothing of this. After that, what is the point?

Had Sheldon said anything, RTK was dead in the water.
Post by: vb on November 12, 2015, 01:46:11 PM

Even if the accusation is true, there was no attempt at responsible journalism here.
If Warner is the owner of this paper, then the article is even more laughable.

Post by: Deeks on November 12, 2015, 02:39:28 PM
Maybe somebody or parties are attempting to widen the chasm between RTK and Sheldon, so that RTK will not rehire him. I don't know. This is highly confusing.
Post by: Sando prince on November 12, 2015, 04:20:04 PM

Even if the accusation is true, there was no attempt at responsible journalism here.
If Warner is the owner of this paper, then the article is even more laughable.

There is no "if". He is the owner
Post by: dtool on November 13, 2015, 12:42:20 AM

Will TTFA current President Raymond Tim Kee (or a representative from the TTFA) be at the game today?.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 13, 2015, 09:29:09 AM
Maybe somebody or parties are attempting to widen the chasm between RTK and Sheldon, so that RTK will not rehire him. I don't know. This is highly confusing.

The main purpose is ... mango hadda hit de ground when it ripe. Low hanging fruit? Shake and pull de branches. Why climb de tree?

Post by: Bakes on November 13, 2015, 09:13:18 PM

Tim Kee widen the chasm on his own he didn't need help with that... and unnecessarily so too.  I have no doubt that there is some kind of truth to the allegations.  I saw the beta version of the website a year ago, fellas like Tenorsaw and Feliziano could attest to that because I shared the link with them.  The site didn't look any different than it does now, save for the functional links.  There is nothing that explains a years delay, unless it was to draw out delivery and extract additional pay.  Tim Kee real disappoint in the end.  Make it worse, the ExCo, FIFA and CONCACAF all telling him he's wrong and rather than accept that he react like an emotional backside, he's digging in his heels.  Even a broken clock like Jack gets it right every now and then, his decision-making seriously compromised.
Post by: Flex on February 12, 2016, 05:56:55 AM
Online action group to present petition, demanding mayor's resignation...
By Kim Boodram (Express).

MAYOR MUST RESIGN

WHILE its online petition seeking the resignation of Port of Spain Mayor Raymond Tim Kee steamed ahead with more than 4,500 signatures by yesterday afternoon, civil action group Womantra TT is expected to march to City Hall today, petition in hand, to reinforce a call for Tim Kee to hang up his mayoral chain.

The group, which operates on social media engine Facebook, began a petition yesterday, calling for Tim Kee's resignation following comments he made on Wednesday after the discovery of the body of Japanese musician Asami Nagakiya, who was in Trinidad for Carnival. She was 30.

At the time of the discovery, the cause of Asami Nagakiya's death was unknown (she was strangled), and in a media conference later that day, Tim Kee said women had a responsibility to ensure they are not abused.

He also said he has spoken in the past about “vulgarity” and “lewdness” displayed by women during the festivities.

Womantra's event today is titled “Don't be Vulgar, Mr Tim Kee”.

Title: Re: Raymond Tim Kee Thread.
Post by: Anbrat on February 12, 2016, 12:17:19 PM
Tim Kee: No parking at Nelson Mandela Park if it rains
Published on Jan 14, 2016, 8:46 pm AST
By Michelle Loubon
0 CommentsArticle
Share:FacebookTwitter

TTFA PRESIDENT: Raymond Tim Kee

PORT of Spain Mayor Raymond Tim Kee said yesterday patrons attending St Mary's College all-inclusive, Fete With The Saints tomorrow, will only be allowed to park their vehicles in Nelson Mandela Park if it does not rain.

He said the fete's organisers will have to pay if there is any damage to the park. Permission will not be granted to other fete promoters.

St Clair residents have complained about the Port of Spain City Corporation's decision to allow patrons the use of the park.

Tim Kee was speaking with reporters after an award ceremony and live broadcast for calypso icon David Rudder at Power 102FM's studio in Port of Spain. (See Page 16)

Councillor Darryl Rajpaul, chairman of a committee which oversees the upkeep of Nelson Mandela Park said he was disappointed with the decision and did not know who granted the approval.

Asked about Mandela Park, Tim Kee said: “We made it absolutely clear they should not park there if it rains. If there is any damage to the park, they will have to pay for it. It's just for a few hours. We will not be letting other fete promoters park there.”

Asked about permission to use the park, Tim Kee maintained yesterday: “I was not in the country when the decision was taken.”

But deputy mayor Keron Valentine said on Wednesday that approval was granted by Tim Kee. Tim Kee added: “Mandela Park belongs to Trinidad and Tobago. We have a serious parking problem in Port of Spain. (The fete organisers) asked since last year. About 75 vehicles were wrecked in the vicinity of the park.”

Lee Sing: Let Saints patrons park at St Mary's

Former Port of Spain mayor Louis Lee Sing said yesterday that St Mary's College should make its grounds available to fete patrons.

He said: “People know they could not park there before. I told them they could not park (at Mandela Park). I have nothing against St Mary's College. But why can't they give their grounds for parking as Queen's Royal College does? St Mary's College's position is clear—you can't park on the field. This decision stinks to high heaven. While democracy is a strong thing, it is also a weak thing. You will have faulty decisions which result in people suffering. I hope Tim Kee would allow good sense to prevail and he would not proceed. Nelson Mandela Park is a recreational space. We have spent millions of dollars re-engineering Nelson Mandela Park. It is wrong. Do the right thing because it's the right thing to do.”

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160114/news/tim-kee-no-parking-at-nelson-mandela-park-if-it-rains
Post by: Flex on February 13, 2016, 05:52:28 AM
No love for Tim Kee at PoS march: Stop victim shaming
By Anna-Lisa Paul (Guardian).

Tensions ran high yesterday, as human rights activists and concerned citizens converged on Woodford Square, Port-of-Spain, to publicly demonstrate their support for the call to remove Port-of-Spain Mayor Raymond Tim Kee over his comment on the death of Japanese musician Asami Nagakiya.

However, they were forced to acknowledge the presence of activists Juliet Davies and Melba Boxill, who ensured their voices were also heard, as they accused the media of misrepresenting Tim Kee's comments.

The lunchtime protest, which was first announced via social media, attracted a wide range of people from across society, including former justice minister Christlyn Moore, national award recipient Du-Marouis Horsley, attorneys, business owners, civil servants, visiting Japanese media and representatives of other foreign news agencies.

Although women were urged to don their Carnival costumes and attend the peaceful protest, only a handful of them heeded this call from the group led by Angelique Nixon and Atilah Springer.

Observing a minute of silence prior to addressing the crowd gathered at the bandstand, a teary-eyed Springer stressed that the event had been organised on behalf of not just Nagakiya but all the victims who had lost their lives through an act of violence.

The call for Tim Kee’s removal followed a press conference on Wednesday afternoon, when he made statements alluding to the dress and conduct of women at Carnival time as he spoke about the death of Nagakiya, whose lifeless body was found clad in a costume and buried under some leaves under a tree at the Queen's Park Savannah on Wednesday morning.

Referring to Tim Kee’s comments as “victim shaming”, Springer said there was an immediate need for local and regional authorities to work together to erase the culture of insensitivity that continues to pervade all levels of society. She said the time had come for gender sensitivity training to be introduced into the education system, police and public service.

Springer said everyone, especially women, needed to learn “that licks is not acceptable.” She said this was a remnant left over from the days of slavery and indentureship, and it was time to ensure that men and boys were taught not to rape or abuse women. Similar sentiments were expressed by Angelique Nixon, who urged the Government to listen to the people and act on their request to remove Tim Kee from office.

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley weighed in on the matter on Thursday, when he announced that the mayor’s controversial comments did not warrant his dismissal.

But Nixon invited those present to “resist the way in which the mayor of Port-of-Spain has chosen to deal with this issue”.Minutes after a four-paragraph letter condemning the practice of victim shaming and demanding Tim Kee's removal was read out to the gathering, a handful of senior police officials escorted Springer, Nixon and several other people to the mayor’s City Hall office where it was handed over to the mayor’s secretary.

Under the watchful eyes of the dozens of police officers who were posted throughout the square and at the front of City Hall, the protesters were allowed to walk along the pavement whilst holding aloft the placards and signs conveying their disgust and dissatisfaction over Tim Kee's statements. Over in the United Kingdom, Trinidadian nationals held a similar protest outside the T&T High Commission in Britain.

They too delivered a letter in which they knocked Tim Kee over his statement and called for his removal. Also present yesterday in a figure-hugging white dress was former justice minister Christlyn Moore, who also condemned the mayor’s comments as she said, “It is not the job of any man and certainly not the mayor to police women's bodies. That is totally unacceptable.”

Saying that she had carefully selected her outfit so as to ensure it would not end with her being abused or raped, Moore described Tim Kee as a “frightening man.” She went further to say that it could be construed from his statements that alcohol and music were a dangerous mix for women only—and in that instance, he, being a public official elected to serve the people, had neglected to say how he would protect women from such risks.

Asked if she thought the reintroduction of a ministry of gender could assist in eradicating any such future incidents that drew the public's ire, Moore agreed it was a “fantastic idea.”

However, she added, “The entire Government needs a gender policy.” Several of the Japanese media present yesterday revealed that they had only arrived in the country on Thursday night, as they sought to piece together the last hours of Nagakiya’s life.

One cameraman said: “Her death has been a kind of a big impact because she loved here (Trinidad).” He explained that in her home town of Sapporo, which is on the northern Japanese island of Hokkaido, Nagakiya’s death was “a very sad thing.”

Post by: Deeks on February 13, 2016, 08:12:53 AM
Condolences to Asami's family, friends and her steelband buddies. At least RTK could have express condolences to her family. But I will wait before ah say anything further.
Post by: boss on February 13, 2016, 03:22:50 PM
He will resign today according to TV6 on twitter  :beermug:

Post by: Sando prince on February 13, 2016, 03:34:19 PM

BREAKING: Port of Spain Mayor Raymond Tim Kee to resign at emergency meeting of Port of Spain City Council on Monday. Details to come...

(https://scontent-lax3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xlt1/v/t1.0-9/12717207_10153871892605610_6251792895585772739_n.jpg?oh=4d824c1185197dabc399f5d0cf053e6a&oe=57230E9F)
Post by: asylumseeker on February 13, 2016, 04:34:36 PM
Not the best of months for RTK, but also a rather infrequent occurrence that an officeholder in Trinidad & Tobago demits office with the responsibility indicated in that media release. In that respect, kudos to RTK even if political pressure came to bear behind the scenes.

It seems that Dr. Rowley might have been better off without comment at that moment in time. Mr. PM, it is better to accumulate political capital rather than to squander it.
Post by: Flex on February 14, 2016, 08:44:51 AM
Tim Kee to resign
Rhonda Krystal Rambally, Sascha Wilson & Shaliza Hassanali
T&T Guardian

Port-of-Spain Mayor Raymond Tim Kee is expected to tender his resignation tomorrow.

His decision comes one day after scores of concerned citizens and human rights activists staged a protest at Woodford Square in Port-of-Spain, calling for him to resign over comments he made on the discovery of Japanese pannist Asami Nagakiya’s body at the Queen’s Park Savannah on Wednesday.

In a statement issued yesterday on the Port-of-Spain City Corporation letterhead, Tim Kee stated that he noted the continued outrage and hurt over statements attributed to him.

He said he deeply regretted the consequences of the statements and apologised unreservedly to those who had been affected.

On Wednesday during a news conference at City Hall, the mayor was questioned about the discovery of an unidentified female masquerader. Later that night she was identified by police as Nagakiya.

Tim Kee’s response to reporters at the news conference was that women did not need to behave in a vulgar and lewd manner to enjoy themselves during Carnival.

He said, “I spoke of some of the things that I see women do, assisted by men, of course, but the woman has the responsibility that they ensure that they are not abused. You can enjoy Carnival without going through that routine.”

Tim Kee added that women needed to maintain a level of dignity during Carnival festivities.

Following his statements which created outrage on social media and among different civil society groups, Tim Kee issued a statement on Thursday apologising, saying his statements were taken out of context.

But it’s not the first time the mayor has made such remarks about women’s behaviour during Carnival.

In 2014, speaking to reporters at the Downtown Carnival judging point in South Quay, the mayor said, “I see some women do some things with some men—nothing for the imagination, you can’t do that.”

He said he felt that some of the costumes he had seen then were “unacceptable—almost like a beach party on the street. I hate to say this, some women just don’t care.”

Calls on Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley for Tim Kee to resign fell on deaf ears as the PM said the controversial remarks did not warrant a dismissal.

Rowley said Tim Kee may have “misspoken” and his People’s National Movement Government (PNM) did not support victim blaming.

WomanTra TT started a petition on Wednesday calling for Tim Kee’s resignation and up to last night the petition had reached over 10,000 signatures.

Tim Kee is also the treasurer of the PNM.

In November 2013 he was elected unopposed as mayor. He was also the president of the T&T Football Association, but was voted out last November.

When Sunday Guardian contacted Tim Kee yesterday he said his resignation statement had been issued to all media houses and that he would be engaged in a meeting that would last an hour.

He asked that the newspaper call him back but several calls thereafter went unanswered.

Tim Kee: I respect women

In the 12-line release, Tim Kee said, “I consider the reaction has been sufficient to cause damage to the Office of the Mayor of Port of Spain, which any holder of this office should be concerned to protect at all costs. It is in these circumstances, why I intend to call an emergency meeting of Council, and tender my resignation as Mayor, and as an Alderman.”

He added that it was important for him to point out as a citizen of T&T, a man and a father, he reiterated his unreserved respect for women, and in fact for all people, regardless of their race, gender or religion.

“It is hoped that with this decision, the Office of the Mayor is now protected, my unreserved apology accepted by my fellow citizens, and that the focus can now be placed fully on solving the murder of a visitor to our shores,” Tim Kee wrote.

It does not rise to the level of resignation—Cuffie

Communications Minister Maxie Cuffie, when contacted last night, referred all questions to Rural Development and Local Government Minister Franklin Khan, who is also chairman of the PNM.

However, calls to Khan’s cellphone went unanswered.

Earlier in the day, Cuffie told reporters during a walkabout in La Horquetta that Government had no intention of removing Tim Kee from office. Cuffie referred to Rowley’s earlier comments on the issue, saying that while Tim Kee’s statements were unfortunate, they did not warrant his removal from office.

“It (Tim Kee’s comments) does not rise to the level of resignation and I wouldn’t want to go further than that,” Cuffie said of the government’s position.

Rowley did not respond to a message sent by the Sunday Guardian last night.

AG: Tim Kee is a compassionate man

Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi publicly commended Tim Kee for acting as quickly as he did in offering his resignation.

Asked by reporters at the scene of a business fire at High Street, San Fernando, last night to comment on the situation, Al-Rawi said, “I think that Mayor Tim Kee is a man who knows very well what public sentiment looks like. It is a very unfortunate incident. I mean the death of the Japanese national...a woman who loved T&T is certainly a great tragedy for this nation.”

Al-Rawi said he knew Tim Kee personally and that he was a very compassionate man.

“There is no excuse or holding water in your mouth in relation to the statements that were put in the media.

“I am not saying what he ought to do or ought not to do, but what I can tell you is that public sentiment is real and I give Mayor Tim Kee a serious public commendation for acting as quickly as he had in this manner.”

Persad-Bissessar: Victory of the people

In response to Tim Kee’s intention to resign, Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar yesterday hailed civil society groups and associated individuals who, after days of activism, compelled the mayor to offer, albeit belatedly, an unequivocal apology for his reckless and offensive comments.

“This is a true victory of the people and I heartily commend the principled men and women who took up this struggle and spoke out against Mr Tim Kee’s vile sentiments, for their courage, perseverance and commitment,” Persad-Bissessar said.

She added that it served as a lesson to Rowley and his Government that they cannot callously dismiss the voice of the people, “since true power lies in the collective will of the citizens of this great nation.”

Lee Sing: PNM placing burden of responsibility on PoS council

In a Facebook post at 6.27 pm, former mayor Louis Lee Sing said, “The Mayor’s resignation letter I have read closely and on the surface I hold the view the PNM is once again placing its ‘burden of responsibility,’ on the laps of its Port-of-Spain Council.

“Let's think this out!

“The Mayor convenes his meeting and members (all PNM) are given the offer of resignation, but prior to the meeting Council Members are instructed NOT to accept the resignation. The Mayor stays and the responsibility for the mayor remaining in office becomes the hot potato of members of Council!

“In such a scenario the PM and Mayor are relieved of their burden of responsibility and Democracy suffers a mighty blow!

“I am hopeful on this occasion the PNM will remember the importance of the will of the people!”

Post by: Sando prince on February 14, 2016, 12:04:35 PM
This is interesting read.

Women’s groups misguided in call to fire mayor

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160213/letters/women8217s-groups-misguided-in-call-to-fire-mayor

Here is the Point Fortin Mayor take..

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/news/point-fortin-mayor-they-are-hypocrites
Post by: dtool on February 16, 2016, 08:55:19 AM

From the movie Comancheros:  "Transgress, and you die."
Post by: Sando prince on February 17, 2016, 03:29:34 PM

TIM KEE GONE*
...POS Mayor resigns one week after 'vulgar women' statement

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160216/news/tim-kee-gone

JUST call him “Ray” from now on.

This was the request, according to one local government councillor, made of the staff and officials of the Port of Spain City Corporation after Port of Spain Mayor Raymond Tim Kee tendered his resignation to the chief executive officer of the corporation yesterday.
In accordance with the Municipal Corporations Act, Deputy Mayor Keron Valentine is now set to accept the mayoral chain today, to become custodian of the capital city at age 31.

Valentine, in an interview with the media outside City Hall yesterday evening, said Tim Kee tendered his resignation around 3 p.m. yesterday, following which he held court with his former officers to exchange pleasantries and discuss the future of some of the development projects started under him (Tim Kee).

Valentine said the yesterday's convention was not to facilitate a position on the resignation from the council.
Asked the reasons offered by Tim Kee for the resignation, Valentine said the former mayor “did not go into that”
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on February 18, 2016, 10:23:55 AM
Unnecessary.  Whether we like him or not making that statement did not rise to a level of removal or resignation.
Post by: weary1969 on February 18, 2016, 10:48:46 AM
Unnecessary.  Whether we like him or not making that statement did not rise to a level of removal or resignation.

:beermug: but I remember Al Capone made jail for tax evasion.
Post by: Deeks on February 18, 2016, 04:45:37 PM

:beermug: but I remember Al Capone made jail for tax evasion.

Al is not the only one to feel the wrath of the IRS for evading taxes.
Post by: Anbrat on February 21, 2016, 08:20:54 PM
The majority has spoken and that speaks for something.

Post by: pull stones on February 22, 2016, 04:39:52 AM
not true mate. there was a bunch of manginas and some tank top wearing lesbos out there pounding the pavement and shouting. some majority.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on February 22, 2016, 09:27:33 AM

Yuh mad ah wha?!!!  What Majority would that be?  Was there 900, 000+ people calling for his dismissal?  How many came out to protest? 
Post by: Deeks on February 22, 2016, 05:56:11 PM

Yuh mad ah wha?!!!  What Majority would that be?  Was there 900, 000+ people calling for his dismissal?  How many came out to protest? 

This Mayor position is an appointed one unlike other countries where mayors are elected. The power of the purse is marginal, depending on which party in power. He can't tax the residence of POS in order to raise money. So he has no real power.   Whether lesbos, etc were protesting is beside the point. He got blind sided for being frank with his opinion. I think much more people agree with him than the protesters. But they feel it is a waste of time trying counter-protest. There are more pressing issues to fight over, other than a man appointed to a ceremonial position.

Again, it is sad that this young woman lost her life at Carnival. We don't know how. Everybody just speculating. It is equaling sad that the mayor did not, in the beginning of his speech,  pay condolences to Akami and her family. That was the least he could have done. Should he resign or be fired. In my opinion. No!. But the PNM felt this situation would damage their standings, so they took the precaution to remove RTK from the position before the situation get outa hand.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on February 23, 2016, 08:28:03 AM

This Mayor position is an appointed one unlike other countries where mayors are elected. The power of the purse is marginal, depending on which party in power. He can't tax the residence of POS in order to raise money. So he has no real power.   Whether lesbos, etc were protesting is beside the point. He got blind sided for being frank with his opinion. I think much more people agree with him than the protesters. But they feel it is a waste of time trying counter-protest. There are more pressing issues to fight over, other than a man appointed to a ceremonial position.

Again, it is sad that this young woman lost her life at Carnival. We don't know how. Everybody just speculating. It is equaling sad that the mayor did not, in the beginning of his speech,  pay condolences to Akami and her family. That was the least he could have done. Should he resign or be fired. In my opinion. No!. But the PNM felt this situation would damage their standings, so they took the precaution to remove RTK from the position before the situation get outa hand.

I know is by appointment and what many don't realize is that the PM cannot even unilaterally remove him.  I agree that he mishandled the situation in what he chose to say and the apparent lack of sensitivity.  However I will continue to maintain that what he said hardly rose to a level that required dismissal/ removal/ resignation.  It's amazing how our people are able to pick and choose battles so arbitrarily and conveniently turn a blind eye or are passive in the face of such unfettered corruption as we saw in the last administration.
Post by: Deeks on February 23, 2016, 03:40:16 PM
 what he said hardly rose to a level that required dismissal/ removal/ resignation.  It's amazing how our people are able to pick and choose battles so arbitrarily and conveniently turn a blind eye or are passive in the face of such unfettered corruption as we saw in the last

I too agree, that what he said did not warrant termination. But it was insensitive.
Post by: sjahrain on February 23, 2016, 05:25:20 PM
True lies and folly workers happy like pappy
Post by: FF on February 09, 2017, 09:11:50 AM
Interview with Tim-Kee about his motivations, thinking and strategy behind his Presidency as well as thoughts about the current state of the game. Good stuff about how he found Stephen Hart.

https://youtube.com/v/agLVPI_yjsE
Post by: pull stones on February 09, 2017, 10:57:42 AM
Interview with Tim-Kee about his motivations, thinking and strategy behind his Presidency as well as thoughts about the current state of the game. Good stuff about how he found Stephen Hart.

the interview was ok yet very insightful but nothing we didn't know about or at least speculated about here on the forum. the interviewers seem to be more inquisitive about DJW bad moves than more of the pressing issues that face football particularly the development programs that was sidelined, i was hoping to hear more questions asked regarding that area rather than those that were asked.

one of the main questions i would have liked to have been asked was if mr timkee had any intentions of returning to football or was planning on making a come back as president in the next elections, but of course the DJW fiasco was more of a juicy bone to be had. typical journalist response no doubt with the juicy nasty gossip which makes for better viewing.

on another note, what a class act mr timkee is. it was real saddening to see him go.
Post by: Quags on February 09, 2017, 03:38:13 PM

the interview was ok yet very insightful but nothing we didn't know about or at least speculated about here on the forum. the interviewers seem to be more inquisitive about DJW bad moves than more of the pressing issues that face football particularly the development programs that was sidelined, i was hoping to hear more questions asked regarding that area rather than those that were asked.

one of the main questions i would have liked to have been asked was if mr timkee had any intentions of returning to football or was planning on making a come back as president in the next elections, but of course the DJW fiasco was more of a juicy bone to be had. typical journalist response no doubt with the juicy nasty gossip which makes for better viewing.

on another note, what a class act mr timkee is. it was real saddening to see him go.
Don't be too hard on Steve he's just getting going and also very angry at DJW and just wants to rip him lol .
As for Raymond I still can believe ppl wanted him gone ,but now that he is ,for him to come back would mean to start over and rebuild all over again .Who ever voted him out have too live with their choice now .
Post by: Controversial on February 09, 2017, 08:25:31 PM

Don't be too hard on Steve he's just getting going and also very angry at DJW and just wants to rip him lol .
As for Raymond I still can believe ppl wanted him gone ,but now that he is ,for him to come back would mean to start over and rebuild all over again .Who ever voted him out have too live with their choice now .

Raymond did a decent job but his partisan politics killed it, unc was playing the ass but pnm is also playing de ass and he did the same to Sancho when he was there..

Leo made the recommendation and it was a good one..

The question now remains can Tallest do as well or better than hart ...
Title: Former TTFA president Raymond Tim Kee dies
Post by: Tallman on December 08, 2019, 09:20:12 AM
Former TTFA president Raymond Tim Kee dies
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday)

FOR THE second time this year, the local football community and T&T Football Association (TTFA) lost a former president as Raymond Tim Kee died on Saturday night.

On January 1 (New Year’s Day), Oliver Camps, under whom Tim Kee served as a vice-president, died at the St Clair Medical Centre.Tim Kee, who was TTFA president from November 2012 to November 2015, kept a low profile after he was replaced by David John-Williams as head of the local governing body.

In July, Tim Kee expressed his intention to run for president at the November 24 TTFA elections but, due to health reasons, he threw his support behind the United TTFA slate, led by William Wallace (who defeated John-Williams by 26 votes to 20). Offering condolences to Tim Kee’s family were the T&T Super League and the Futsal Association of T&T.
Title: Re: Former TTFA president Raymond Tim Kee dies
Post by: soccerman on December 08, 2019, 09:27:13 AM
Just got that msg and came on here to confirm. RIP Tim Kee, thank you for your contributions to the sport and in society.
Post by: lefty on December 08, 2019, 09:42:04 AM
Just got that msg and came on here to confirm. RIP Tim Kee, thank you for your contributions to the sport and in society.
+1 even with the gaffes and missteps he oversaw one of the most productive periods in trini football on the field
Title: Former TTFA President Raymond Tim Kee has died
Post by: Tallman on December 08, 2019, 10:00:52 AM
Former TTFA President Raymond Tim Kee has died
TTFA Media

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association extends deepest condolences and sympathy to the family of our former President Raymond Tim Kee following his passing at age 71 early on the morning of Sunday December 8th, 2019 at his home in Port of Spain.

Raymond was kindhearted, devoted and committed to serving his country the best way he could. His commitment, intellect, sense of humor but above all the simple and straightforward manner of relating to all of us will be a lesson always on modesty and humility.

In all situations—whether on the public stage or away from the cameras—Raymond’s passion for life and sport, moreso football and his deep desire for a better world shone through. Raymond was known throughout local arenas not just for his inspirational eloquence but for his human warmth, who showed the skills of leadership and great determination.

His charisma was remarkable and there is no doubt but he was a formative influence on those around him. He always identified with those who were less fortunate, or those experiencing hardship, no matter where they came from—and he translated this into a forceful articulation of the need for those with power to do more. He was an efficient and competent corporate man. He was a true Warrior.

Despite their grief and pain, we hope that Raymond’s family and friends can see that his work has not ended with his passing—but that instead, that his spirit will live on in the daily acts of those whose lives he touched.

TTFA President William Wallace saluted the former President, saying “It is with great emotion and deep sadness that I learnt about his death early this morning. I salute the memory of an exceptional man who I knew as a voice of reason. Raymond was an excellent entrepreneur, friend and family man. His passing leaves a big void in our hearts. My heartfelt sympathy condolences to his entire family.”

Mr Tim Kee was elected President of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association in November, 2012 and served until November, 2015. Under his reign, the T&T Men’s Senior Team qualified for two CONCACAF Gold Cup quarter finals in 2013 and 2015 and finished second in two Caribbean Cup Finals, also advancing to the Hexagonal Final Round of 2018 World Cup qualifying  The Senior Women’s Team also advanced to within one point of 2015 World Cup qualification, becoming champions of the Caribbean in 2014. Mr Tim Kee served on the FIFA Futsal committee during his tenure as President of the TTFA.

In August, 2015, Tim Kee stated, “Enlisting support for our national footballers is how I will be focusing my time, energy, and efforts, especially as we enter our Road To Russia Campaign. Now is the time to show our footballers and coaches the same level of commitment and teamwork they recently displayed on the field at the Gold Cup. Now is the time we must give our undivided and unequivocal support. Our footballers have earned that respect.”

Raymond Tim Kee
July 19th,1948-December 8th, 2019

In an immediate reaction to the news, former Trinidad and Tobago English Premiership goalkeeper Shaka Hislop stated, “I got to know Raymond Tim Kee during his time as the TTFA president. Though our paths were linked given his earlier time in football administration it was during his time as the TTFA president that I came to know the administrator, the man. Inheriting a thankless task he set about restoring dignity to the position. I found Tim Kee to be honest, forthright and honorable in every way, in each of our interactions.It is with a heavy heart I write this. I will always hold Raymond up as an example, remembering him as the person he proved he was to me.”
Post by: asylumseeker on December 08, 2019, 11:01:23 AM
"I have come to this Presidency with no grandiose perception of who I am and what I can do except to confess that my goal is to leave local football a little better than I have found it." --- Raymond Tim Kee

RIP.
Post by: socalion on December 08, 2019, 11:08:13 AM
Wow this is an absolute shocker ....... To all who knew him personally foremost his family I extend deepest sympathy , may the almighty give you ( the timkee family ) strength and comfort . God bless to the timkee family ! 
Post by: Deeks on December 08, 2019, 04:06:28 PM
WOW, absolute shocker indeed. He did his best even though the tide was against him. I really can't find the words to express his going home, because I am really surprised. Thanks for your services to TT football especially at the crucial point when we going down the precipis. I would say you steadied the ship. RIP Mr. Tim Kee. God Bless!!!!
Post by: Controversial on December 08, 2019, 11:42:01 PM
Condolences to his family  :beermug:
Post by: Tiresais on December 09, 2019, 03:39:12 AM
Damn what a shock, condolences to his loved ones.
Title: Tim Kee’s funeral on Monday
Post by: Tallman on December 11, 2019, 02:28:54 PM
Tim Kee’s funeral on Monday
By Joan Rampersad (T&T Newsday)

The funeral of the late Raymond Tim Kee takes place at St Theresa’s RC Church in Woodbrook at 10 am on Monday.

The former T&T Football Association (TTFA) president and Port of Spain mayor, died last Sunday at his Flagstaff home in St James. He had been ailing for some while.

His widow Natasha Babwah-Tim Kee said as the funeral programme is still being worked on, tentatively, her husband’s best friend will be one of the eulogists, as well as a member of the Tim Kee family.

Babwah-Tim Kee is expected to sing Ave Maria at the service. Pannist Len “Boogsie” Sharpe will play How Great Thou Art.

Another former football executive, Roland Forde, died on Tuesday night at the Westshore clinic in Cocorite. He was 77.

Forde, who served on the TTFA executive, was president of the Northern Football League for a number of years. He had a stroke last Wednesday. He was also a life member of the Harvard Club, and served as its treasurer for many years, as well as secretary from 2010-2017.

Forde’s death is the third to hit the football fraternity this year, the first being Oliver Camps, also a former president of the TTFA and a long-standing president of Harvard Club.

His widow Louise Forde told Newsday she is still in shock and can’t believe it.

She said Forde’s funeral will be held on December 20, at the Holy Trinity Cathedral in Port of Spain, at 9 am.

Apart from Louise, Forde leaves to mourn his two daughters Giselle Reid and Gina Lumwai, four grandchildren and four sisters. Patricia Barrow, Sybil Hogan, Jacqueline Thomas and Camille Parmassar.
Post by: Deeks on December 11, 2019, 08:23:58 PM
RIP to all!
Title: Tim Kee—a true statesman
Post by: Tallman on December 12, 2019, 06:19:28 AM
Tim Kee—a true statesman
By Colin Murray (T&T Guardian)

It was with a great de­gree of sad­ness when I heard of the pass­ing of Ray­mond Tim Kee - some­one who lived to help and de­vel­op T&T in any way pos­si­ble.

I met Tim Kee many years ago when I was coach­ing foot­ball at Fa­ti­ma Col­lege and his son was rep­re­sent­ing the school. He would come along to match­es to sup­port him and al­so give the school the kind of as­sis­tance a coach would look for­ward to from a par­ent - not in­ter­fer­ing, but rather say­ing the right things and al­ways full of en­cour­age­ment for the team.

We al­ways kept in touch; not reg­u­lar­ly but when­ev­er I saw him. We would talk for long pe­ri­ods about dif­fer­ent top­ics but sport, par­tic­u­lar­ly foot­ball, was his love and he al­ways had a good sense of hu­mour try­ing ex­treme­ly hard to crack a joke some­where dur­ing every con­ver­sa­tion.

It was in 2012 when we crossed swords as he was nom­i­nat­ed for the T&T Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion (TTFA) pres­i­den­cy. Un­known to me, I had no idea that Ray­mond was to be a can­di­date, as I was ap­proached by two zones to al­so run for the top foot­ball job in T&T. I nat­u­ral­ly ac­cept­ed at that point, as I felt I could make a con­tri­bu­tion to the sport which has giv­en me so much in years gone by. I saw it as a great op­por­tu­ni­ty to give back to the game and since the crick­et fra­ter­ni­ty chased many of us from their closed ranks, I knew the time to help foot­ball was then.

The amus­ing thing is that Ray­mond called me to say that he nev­er knew I was go­ing up or he would have not run for the post and he said to me (and I know he said it pub­licly as well): “The TTFA should have two pres­i­dents and it is a pity one of us has to lose.”

We re­mained friends even though we were go­ing to fight against one an­oth­er and I have nev­er heard him one day say any­thing deroga­to­ry about me. Now, he may have, but it must have been be­hind closed doors. As it turned out, much to the an­noy­ance of quite a few peo­ple, I even­tu­al­ly with­drew my nom­i­na­tion.

The first thing I did af­ter in­form­ing the peo­ple who sup­port­ed me, I called Ray­mond to con­grat­u­late him and wished him well. He had a dif­fi­cult job be­cause he had to please his sup­port­ers while try­ing to bring some sta­bil­i­ty to the TTFA. He was a gen­tle­man and his re­al wish was to put T&T foot­ball back on the map.

He even­tu­al­ly grew proud of his achieve­ments while at the helm of the TTFA. Qual­i­fy­ing for two Gold Cups af­ter tak­ing a bold step and em­ploy­ing Stephen Hart as the na­tion­al coach; fin­ish­ing sec­ond twice in two Caribbean Cup fi­nals and the biggest one of all - get­ting the se­nior team to the ‘Hex’ - the fi­nal round of the 2018 FI­FA World Cup qual­i­fi­ca­tion. He al­so built a great re­la­tion­ship with T&T’s women foot­ballers as we lost to Ecuador in the fi­nal match and failed to qual­i­fy for the 2015 FI­FA Women’s World Cup. The women al­so be­came Caribbean cham­pi­ons in 2014.

It was in the build-up to the 2015 TTFA elec­tions that I met with Ray­mond, as he called me to his of­fice down­town one Sat­ur­day as he had tak­en on an­oth­er near mis­sion im­pos­si­ble job of may­or of Port-of-Spain. I ar­rived at the may­or’s of­fice at around 3 pm and some three hours lat­er, Ray­mond and some oth­er gen­tle­men had con­vinced me to run on his slate as first vice pres­i­dent.

I dis­cussed with him the plan mov­ing for­ward and how he in­tend­ed to get vot­ers on his side to guar­an­tee a win. He was con­fi­dent, as he felt his track record as pres­i­dent would speak vol­umes. I warned him from my ex­pe­ri­ence that he need­ed to put in the ground­work. But he in­sist­ed that “per­for­mance beats old talk any­time” (no pun in­tend­ed). As it turned out, the vot­ers were not in­ter­est­ed in per­for­mance and sub­se­quent­ly, his slate was de­feat­ed and sad­ly foot­ball in this coun­try then pro­ceed­ed to hit an all-time low. Every time we met he would ex­press his dis­en­chant­ment with the state of T&T foot­ball.

Fast for­ward to 2019, when he told me that he was join­ing with Unit­ed TTFA and once he was suc­cess­ful in go­ing up for the pres­i­den­cy, he want­ed me to run with him again. Just how could I refuse Ray­mond Tim Kee? I sup­pose I am a glut­ton for pun­ish­ment? He got very up­set with me when he saw my name be­ing linked with Lind­say Gillette and it took some con­vinc­ing from me that I just at­tend­ed a meet­ing and that was it.

I knew his health was de­te­ri­o­rat­ing, as I last saw him three weeks ago at the Queen’s Park Crick­et Club’s (QPCC) an­nu­al din­ner where his wife, who is a tremen­dous singer, was per­form­ing and I al­ways joked with him that her singing would soothe and calm his nerves.

Ray­mond Tim Kee was al­ways im­mac­u­late­ly dressed, he was hon­est and al­ways seemed to have time for every­one and de­vot­ed his life to serv­ing peo­ple. To his wife Natasha, his chil­dren and grand­chil­dren, my heart­felt sym­pa­thy to you all. May he rest in peace.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 12, 2019, 09:18:50 AM
Condolences to our TTFA friends
BFA Media

President, Executive Board, and Management of the Barbados Football Association would like to extend our deepest condolences to the family friends and Trinidad & Tobago football fraternity on the passing of the former President of Trinidad-and-Tobago FA Raymond Tim Kee. May he rest in peace.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 12, 2019, 04:58:13 PM
CFU sends condolences on the passing of former TTFA President Raymond Tim Kee
CFU Media

Caribbean Football Union (CFU) President Randolph Harris has extended sincere condolences, on behalf of the Executive Committee and the membership of the regional organization, on the death of former TTFA President Mr. Raymond Tim Kee.

President Harris offered condolences to the wider TTFA family, Mr. Tim Kee’s family and friends and all who mourn his loss, saying the deceased, like many Caribbean administrators, gave yeoman service to football and, by extension, the community.

Mr. Tim Kee, who served as president of the TTFA from November 2012 to November 2015, died on Sunday, December 8, 2019 at the age of 71.
Title: Family, friends pay final respects to Tim Kee
Post by: Tallman on December 16, 2019, 04:24:57 PM
Family, friends pay final respects to Tim Kee
By Ryan Hamilton-Davis (T&T Newsday)

Politicians, dignitaries and officials from various organisations mixed with family, friends and loved ones to pay final respects to Raymond Tim Kee, former mayor of Port of Spain and president of the T&T Football Association.

His funeral took place on Monday at the St Theresa's RC Church on Warren Street, Woodbrook.

All lauded him as a person of integrity, focus, discipline and, most of all, love. In fact, all who spoke at the funeral told the congregation of his mantra, "Love is the answer."

In his eulogy, Tim Kee was praised for the work he did in football and with several grassroots projects in otherwise neglected areas.

“Peter Aleong dubbed him the president of the grassroot operations” said Noel Conliffe in his eulogy. “There were many grassroot projects which he was involved in that were not publicised.

"I remember when he became president of the Rotary Club of Central PoS he had to give his presidential address and he spoke of 1 Corinthians, which said there was no greater way than love. He allowed this theme to formulate his life and work. You would often hear him say ‘Love is the answer’”

His daughters, Ramona and Taheera Tim Kee, described him as a loving father who inspired them both at different times in their lives.

Taheera told the congregation Tim Kee taught her that her complexion or gender were not hindrances and showed her by example always to strive to achieve that vision of the life one desires.

“With his perseverance, sacrifice and tenacity he made it happen and he inspired many along the way. As a father he was loving and affectionate but had high expectations of his children. He had a love for deep conversations. He was practical, rational and a realist. My dad was my protector and my biggest cheerleader and his passing will leave a hole in my life.”

His second daughter, Ramona, spoke of the causes he championed and his children.

“He worked countless hours, accepted less than he should have, whether it be respect, money or support, and he persevered in the way only he knew how – with integrity and dignity.”

Officiator Fr Emmanuel Pierre encouraged the congregation to live a life like Tim Kee, so that when they finally die, their passing will be a blessing.

“There is such a thing as a good death,” Pierre said. “We are responsible for the way we die. The feeling we get when someone dies is not based on whether a person died accidentally or naturally. Rather, it takes root in how that person lived and how that person related to life in general.

"If our spirits were loving, like Raymond Tim Kee, who decided to empower people, pursue greatness, building young people and nation-building, we will get a glimpse of his beauty while we travel this earth. Conversely if our spirits had been poor and petty and bitter our deaths will also be that.”

Tim Kee died on December 7.
Post by: lefty on December 16, 2019, 05:30:56 PM
Family, friends pay final respects to Tim Kee
By Ryan Hamilton-Davis (T&T Newsday)

Politicians, dignitaries and officials from various organisations mixed with family, friends and loved ones to pay final respects to Raymond Tim Kee, former mayor of Port of Spain and president of the T&T Football Association.

His funeral took place on Monday at the St Theresa's RC Church on Warren Street, Woodbrook.

All lauded him as a person of integrity, focus, discipline and, most of all, love. In fact, all who spoke at the funeral told the congregation of his mantra, "Love is the answer."

In his eulogy, Tim Kee was praised for the work he did in football and with several grassroots projects in otherwise neglected areas.

“Peter Aleong dubbed him the president of the grassroot operations” said Noel Conliffe in his eulogy. “There were many grassroot projects which he was involved in that were not publicised.

"I remember when he became president of the Rotary Club of Central PoS he had to give his presidential address and he spoke of 1 Corinthians, which said there was no greater way than love. He allowed this theme to formulate his life and work. You would often hear him say ‘Love is the answer’”

His daughters, Ramona and Taheera Tim Kee, described him as a loving father who inspired them both at different times in their lives.

Taheera told the congregation Tim Kee taught her that her complexion or gender were not hindrances and showed her by example always to strive to achieve that vision of the life one desires.

“With his perseverance, sacrifice and tenacity he made it happen and he inspired many along the way. As a father he was loving and affectionate but had high expectations of his children. He had a love for deep conversations. He was practical, rational and a realist. My dad was my protector and my biggest cheerleader and his passing will leave a hole in my life.”

His second daughter, Ramona, spoke of the causes he championed and his children.

“He worked countless hours, accepted less than he should have, whether it be respect, money or support, and he persevered in the way only he knew how – with integrity and dignity.”

Officiator Fr Emmanuel Pierre encouraged the congregation to live a life like Tim Kee, so that when they finally die, their passing will be a blessing.

“There is such a thing as a good death,” Pierre said. “We are responsible for the way we die. The feeling we get when someone dies is not based on whether a person died accidentally or naturally. Rather, it takes root in how that person lived and how that person related to life in general.

"If our spirits were loving, like Raymond Tim Kee, who decided to empower people, pursue greatness, building young people and nation-building, we will get a glimpse of his beauty while we travel this earth. Conversely if our spirits had been poor and petty and bitter our deaths will also be that.”

Tim Kee died on December 7.
:salute: :(
Post by: Flex on December 17, 2019, 01:12:59 AM
Tim Kee—A true friend to many.
By Brian Lewis (Guardian).

You have three types of friends—True friends, band­wag­on friends and fair-weath­er friends. There is a dif­fer­ence be­tween a truth-teller and a crit­ic. A crit­ic drags you down to make them­selves feel su­pe­ri­or and a truth-teller cor­rects and in­structs out of a de­sire to see you be bet­ter.

For­give­ness doesn’t mean we for­get what some­one did to us or that we be­come best friends with them. For­give­ness is about mak­ing peace with your past so you can move for­ward in­to your fu­ture. If you can­not for­give you will al­low bit­ter­ness and re­sent­ment to write your sto­ry. Lead­ers can­not af­ford to hate, as it gets in the way of strat­e­gy.

“No wheel moves with­out fric­tion.” Those words were said by Ray­mond Tim Kee in our many con­ver­sa­tions over the years. I knew Ray­mond as a col­league in the in­sur­ance in­dus­try and sport. I al­so knew him as a men­tor but above all a friend who I fond­ly called “Big Broth­er.”

Ray­mond was a se­ri­ous man who bright­ened our lives with his smile. He be­lieved sport was in­te­gral to our cul­ture and he trans­formed that be­lief in­to ac­tion. His ser­vice to the youth and young peo­ple through sport is im­mea­sur­able.

He reg­u­lar­ly re­mind­ed me—A ris­ing tide lifts all boats, the re­al pow­er of sport lies in the hearts and minds of the youth and young peo­ple—the foot­ball play­ers, the ath­letes, the sports­men and women.

“Give peo­ple a fish and you feed them for a day, teach peo­ple to fish and feed them for a life­time.”

We must teach peo­ple how to fish and then sup­port them with every­thing we’ve got. Ray­mond be­lieved in the pow­er of see­ing the best in peo­ple and that every­one de­served an op­por­tu­ni­ty. A leader’s du­ty, oblig­a­tion and re­spon­si­bil­i­ty is to make things bet­ter for, in par­tic­u­lar, the vul­ner­a­ble and less for­tu­nate.

He walked his talk. He brought to sport his dis­tinc­tive in­sight that sport should be a force for good, mak­ing a pos­i­tive dif­fer­ence and not a force for poor gov­er­nance, cor­rup­tion, abuse of of­fice and to fa­cil­i­tate peo­ple with hid­den and self­ish agen­das. He wasn’t afraid to fail. He gave ex­tra­or­di­nary en­er­gy, time and ideas to sport and foot­ball in par­tic­u­lar. Ray­mond sin­cere­ly be­lieved that sports wasn’t on­ly about sports pol­i­tics but the larg­er forces that shape our so­ci­ety. When oth­ers may have cho­sen the easy op­tion, be­come bit­ter and re­sent­ful, Ray­mond was re­silient in the face of im­mense ad­ver­si­ty and that re­gard­less of how oth­ers may be­have to­wards you, you can still have grace, dig­ni­ty, for­bear­ance and be a class act.

You didn’t break him in life. He looked ahead, re­mained fo­cused and in­domitable in do­ing what he be­lieved need­ed to be done or had to be said, even if he would be mis­un­der­stood or mis­char­ac­terised. He was a truth-teller and true friend to sport, foot­ball and na­tion­al life.

Ray­mond’s life is a song whose lyrics sing about what is pos­si­ble if we con­tin­ue each day to be in­spired by his life­long ex­am­ple to nev­er cease work­ing for a bet­ter, fair­er and more just and equal T&T. Those of us who grieve his pass­ing are left with the mem­o­ries he gave, the good he did, the dreams he kept alive.

There are many things for which Ray­mond will be re­mem­bered but what we will nev­er for­get is his spir­it of pa­tri­o­tism, kind­ness, for­give­ness, com­pas­sion, re­spect for oth­ers, his love of fam­i­ly, his ser­vice, in­tegri­ty and stew­ard­ship. Those at­trib­ut­es will live with­in us for­ev­er and con­tin­ue to be a bea­con of hope. Even though he has ceased to be with us phys­i­cal­ly, his spir­it lives in our hearts and in our mem­o­ry.

God bless you Ray­mond. We love you and we al­ways will. Farewell war­rior leader, till we meet again.

May you rest in eter­nal peace.

Title: Ray of will and purpose
Post by: Tallman on December 22, 2019, 09:15:55 AM
Ray of will and purpose
By Shaun Fuentes (T&T Guardian)

We prob­a­bly all have our per­son­al ex­am­ples of in­di­vid­u­als who we ad­mire. Whether it be lead­ers, priests, teach­ers, coach­es or a neigh­bour, they all leave a mark on us. These cer­tain in­di­vid­u­als are role mod­els for many of us dur­ing their and our lives. With some of them, for as long as we can re­mem­ber, these peo­ple were al­ways “around” us. And with some of these role mod­els, we tru­ly be­lieve they are im­mor­tal. These leg­ends will nev­er die. For many peo­ple, Bri­an Lara or Sir VS Naipaul were such an in­spi­ra­tion. For oth­ers, it was the likes of Nel­son Man­dela or Ma­hat­ma Gand­hi, or po­lit­i­cal lead­ers like Patrick Man­ning or Barack Oba­ma.

And when these fa­mous icons de­part from this life, we read about them in the press or in books, we see videos on so­cial me­dia, watch spe­cial TV-items about their lives and achieve­ments, view all the YouTube videos avail­able and use their quotes end­less­ly to in­spire oth­ers. For me, I take this op­por­tu­ni­ty to­day to men­tion of for­mer TTFA pres­i­dent Ray­mond Tim Kee, who sad­ly passed away on De­cem­ber 8, 2019 at age 71. Af­ter writ­ing this col­umn, my­self and the rest of the foot­ball fam­i­ly had to face the un­time­ly death of na­tion­al for­ward Shah­don Win­ches­ter.

Like Tim Kee, Win­ches­ter was a very warm and so­cial hu­man be­ing. Tim Kee’s hu­mil­i­ty, kind­ness, re­spect, pas­sion and in­valu­able in­sight will re­main part of his lega­cy. He was not afraid to take de­ci­sions and made bold steps to try and re­vive the for­tunes of our foot­ball af­ter we had en­tered a dim pe­ri­od fol­low­ing the suc­cess of the 2006 World Cup qual­i­fi­ca­tion.

For Win­ches­ter, his per­sis­tence to make it to the top was ad­mirable. His hat­trick against Haiti in 2017 I will nev­er for­get and I’m sure War­ren Archibald and the rest of the T&T 1973 Squad would be proud of that per­for­mance in Cou­va.

From 2007 to 2012, we strug­gled to rec­i­p­ro­cate any kind of suc­cess and our foot­ball be­came em­broiled in con­tro­ver­sy. What fol­lowed be­tween 2012-2015, and I chal­lenge any­one to ob­ject to this, was un­doubt­ed­ly a sol­id pe­ri­od for our foot­ball on the in­ter­na­tion­al stage, clear­ly much bet­ter than what we wit­nessed post 2015 to present. Qual­i­fy­ing for the Gold Cup in 2013 and mak­ing it to the quar­ter­fi­nals for the first time since 2000, achiev­ing this feat again in 2015, reach­ing two con­sec­u­tive Caribbean Cup fi­nals, our women’s team win­ning the Caribbean Cham­pi­onship and reach­ing to with­in a point of World Cup qual­i­fi­ca­tion, our Un­der-20 men’s team win­ning the Caribbean cham­pi­onship and qual­i­fy­ing for the CON­CA­CAF cham­pi­onship and our Un­der-17 men get­ting to with­in a vic­to­ry of World Cup qual­i­fi­ca­tion in 2013. The crowds were re­turn­ing to the sta­di­ums.

Was it all smooth sail­ing? Cer­tain­ly not, but it was a pe­ri­od where we were catch­ing our­selves again. The then-TTFA boss be­lieved in those around him and was con­fi­dent enough to pass on re­spon­si­bil­i­ties with­out mi­cro­manag­ing. I re­call dur­ing the 2013 CON­CA­CAF U-17 Cham­pi­onship in Pana­ma, I had checked in­to the team ho­tel with the T&T un­der-17s and we were stay­ing at the same lo­ca­tion of the Cana­di­an team. A gen­tle­man by the name of Stephen Hart was al­so in camp with the Cana­di­ans. Tim Kee found this out as by that time, Hart’s name was al­ready pop­ping up among can­di­dates for the T&T coach­ing job. I had one sim­ple task and that was to ap­proach Hart and set up a meet­ing with Tim Kee at the ho­tel he was stay­ing a few min­utes away. The rest of that sto­ry is his­to­ry.

You get grades or marks for Eng­lish, So­cial Stud­ies, Sci­ence and Math and re­ceive medals, tro­phies and ac­co­lades for suc­cess in sport, but of­ten lit­tle is men­tioned of one’s char­ac­ter. I of­ten won­der what this means for our chil­dren, es­pe­cial­ly when re­search con­firms the cor­re­la­tion be­tween char­ac­ter and suc­cess.

We are uni­fied on­ly in our cyn­i­cism, as it seems that there are few­er peo­ple and in­sti­tu­tions our chil­dren can look up to and count on to con­sis­tent­ly do the right thing. Role mod­els play a crit­i­cal part in char­ac­ter de­vel­op­ment. If chil­dren have few­er strong role mod­els, are we re­duc­ing the chances of rais­ing a gen­er­a­tion who will do the right thing when oth­ers aren’t look­ing? We can nev­er have too many role mod­els such as Tim Kee, Man­ning, Moth­er Tere­sa, Lara, Ato Boldon or the teacher who spot­ted your abil­i­ty to en­ter­tain an au­di­ence in com­e­dy or song rather than speak a dif­fer­ent lan­guage. I read where in­spi­ra­tion pulls you to­wards some­thing that stirs your heart, mind, or spir­it. We are in­spired by a per­son, an event, or a cir­cum­stance.

Here’s to meet­ing, know­ing and work­ing with more in­di­vid­u­als with this kind of abil­i­ty in 2020.
Post by: Cocorite on December 22, 2019, 01:43:39 PM
Kudos to you Shaun. Well said.