Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on July 12, 2015, 06:34:41 AM

Title: Thread for Colombia Women vs T&T Women (14-Jul-2015)
Post by: Flex on July 12, 2015, 06:34:41 AM
Date: Tuesday, July 14th at 20:35pm EST
Venue: Hamilton Stadium, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Competition: Pan American Games

POSSIBLE LIVE STREAM: http://panam.cbc.ca/videos/video/soccer-womens-2030-570078.html

Title: Re: Thread for Colombia Women vs T&T Women (14-Jul-2015)
Post by: Sando prince on July 13, 2015, 06:01:25 AM

Best wishes to our Soca Queens
Post by: Soccer 19 on July 13, 2015, 06:59:08 AM

Hey peeps can we get it right , no disrespect Sando Prince my BFANM however the Women's squad was re-branded to the Soca Women Warrior's. Can we all please refer to them as such.

You don't see the men's squad being called anything else.

Thanks to everyone for your support as it was amazing to see a sea of RED in the east side stands supporting our Women. We are the later game on Tuesday 14th evening. Traffic will be a mess even though their is HOV lanes for 3 plus people. Take the 407 toll highway as you will save lots of time.

Anyone coming came and say hello as I am in section 115 , row 13 seats 22-26 . If I am not in my seat then I am right above on the rail at the accessible seating charging my phone  ;D

Go Soca Warrior Women Goooooooooooo !!!!!!!!!!!!!! :applause: :applause: :cheers: :salute: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

Post by: Sando prince on July 13, 2015, 07:10:59 AM

^ Ok 'Women Warriors'

Give it your best T&T women
Post by: Anbrat on July 13, 2015, 02:14:53 PM

We are the later game on Tuesday 14th evening. Traffic will be a mess even though their is HOV lanes for 3 plus people. Take the 407 toll highway as you will save lots of time.

Anyone coming came and say hello as I am in section 115 , row 13 seats 22-26 . If I am not in my seat then I am right above on the rail at the accessible seating charging my phone  ;D

Go Soca Warrior Women Goooooooooooo !!!!!!!!!!!!!! :applause: :applause: :cheers: :salute: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

[/quote]

Is our game at 8.35 pm or 5.30 pm? See http://heyevent.com/event/3iegynhhtsjzka/colombia-women-vs-tt-women
Post by: Deeks on July 13, 2015, 02:25:56 PM
Women Warriors, Soca Queens, Soca Princesses. Good Luck and God Bless!!!
Post by: Soccer 19 on July 13, 2015, 03:17:51 PM

We are the later game on Tuesday 14th evening. Traffic will be a mess even though their is HOV lanes for 3 plus people. Take the 407 toll highway as you will save lots of time.

Is our game at 8.35 pm or 5.30 pm? See http://heyevent.com/event/3iegynhhtsjzka/colombia-women-vs-tt-women
[/quote]

http://results.toronto2015.org/IRS/en/general/daily-schedule-date=2015-07-14.htm

The game is at 8:35 pm

Post by: Anbrat on July 13, 2015, 07:35:45 PM

http://results.toronto2015.org/IRS/en/general/daily-schedule-date=2015-07-14.htm

The game is at 8:35 pm

[/quote]

Thank you!!!
Post by: AB.Trini on July 13, 2015, 08:26:56 PM
Good luck ladies! This is your World Cup redemption- just show the world - what if you were there? Show what you could do aganist these Columbians- play yuh ball!
Post by: Jumbie on July 14, 2015, 08:58:46 AM
overcast, rainy and humid today (so far).. hoping it clears up. If you're coming in from the East and just for the Trinbago ladies game, I don't think traffic will be a problem at that time of the day/night. The jam is usually 3.30 - 6.30ish. If you have 'frens' the HOV lanes will bring you in most of the way into the city smooth. Do NOT chance the HOV lane if you're solo as the beast dem waiting to put your name on a ticket!

Good luck WARRIORS! I'll be there for a bit cheering you on.
Post by: Soccer 19 on July 14, 2015, 09:39:29 AM
overcast, rainy and humid today (so far).. hoping it clears up. If you're coming in from the East and just for the Trinbago ladies game, I don't think traffic will be a problem at that time of the day/night. The jam is usually 3.30 - 6.30ish. If you have 'frens' the HOV lanes will bring you in most of the way into the city smooth. Do NOT chance the HOV lane if you're solo as the beast dem waiting to put your name on a ticket!

Good luck WARRIORS! I'll be there for a bit cheering you on.

If you have a transponder for the 407 then use it. Even if you don't it's not worth sitting in traffic. I used the HOV lanes on the QEW on Saturday at about 10am to go to the stadium and they were terrible. With the rain that is expected this evening their will be no traffic relief.  Leave early is all I can say.

Anyone have any links to tonight's game ?? Please post them ASAP

Hey Jumbie (see my post above as to where I am sitting) please come over and say hello.

Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2015, 01:20:41 PM
Forbes
Superville #8
King #5
Belgrave #4
Russell #2 (C)
Cordner #19
Rice #16
Forbes #14
Mollon #12
Shade #3
Francois #11

This is how we started the match v. Argentina.

Back line: King was solid. Superville, Belgrave and Russell were not. Frankly doh see why Russell has the armband. Her play is incompatible with that responsibility.

Superville had fitness issues, but also failed to release and provide for Cordner and Rice effectively. Belgrave had unforgivable mental and decisional errors, and seems technically not ideal for this role. Russell had a positional error that was so glaring it almost resulted in a goal ... as her defence was quite rightly "stepping up", she was completely unmindful of the step, and actually took steps back ... yet once the shot went off, and was resolved, she proceeded to complain to her teammates, when she was the one at fault. However, Russell was more successful in connecting with the outside mid than was Superville. That said, she was also delinquent in providing sufficient cover for the marauding Laroquette; not to mention being squared up flat-footed without initiating a tackle (led to a goal). Success can't be had by having a flank defender as a spectator, especially that close to goal. Who played in that position during the WC campaign?

Anyhow, I think Russell can improve as the tournament progresses, but today versus the Colombians is probably NOT the time to venture that experiment.

King needs to communicate and assume the role as senior partner with Belgrave, if Belgrave continues in that role versus Colombia. She shouldn't. 

If only one change in the defence has to be prioritized, Belgrave should be benched.

Midfield: Mollon was more expressive in the second half ... almost explosive. Quality. Pity we can't use her closer to goal. (This is also tied to the fact that the defender behind her can't get forward. Whatever happened to the modern-day full back?)

Cordner. Has quality, but we need to play balls into her with a greater respect for accuracy. Balls that meet her in her stride, not balls that stretch her lungs or balls played behind her. THEN we also need to take up roles in support of her movement. Cordner also ignited as the second half got going. Why wait? Get the woman the ball and ignited earlier in the game. She can unlock defences once she is in that zone.

Rice ... I detected a fitness issue that was probably made no better by the weather. However, she's a player that can grow into games, by managing her runs etc. I like the prospects and interchanging she offers with Shade. Possesses good game intelligence. However, was disappointed to see her quibbling with the ref (although she wasn't the principal offender). Looking for her to concentrate and bring others into the game.

On the day, Forbes was not one of the bright spots. Should be more imposing in shutting down the opponent and in reading and influencing the movement of Francois. Having Mollon to her right is to her benefit, not liability. Found that Mollon was often isolated and lacking sufficient options from Forbes on the inside. (Although the coach wanted to exploit the wings, center mids have also to understand that doesn't mean each and every play per se. Where was the variation? Where was Forbes combining with runs coming off the other flank?)

Under Waldrum, and on display in this match, was the issue of how do we get numbers forward, quickly, effectively to receive service in the box or generally dangerous areas. There's something wrong when bth of my outside mids are in such advanced positions that the players coming through the center don't seem like they will be available for service. How can we draw the opponent's back line out?

Tired of seeing Mollon tearing down one wing, Cordner tearing down the other, and the forwards not making leading runs (which would be different from just running forward!)  Players in those central channels leh we do ah ting nah.

Forwards: Shade offered enough to merit continuity. Has the quality to change things on a dime. We need that. Also has determination in tight situations. Sufficiently good on the day, not spectacular.

Francois? For me the jury is still out on her, and that's probably not the most compelling case or assessment to make of an attacker leading the line. Thought she disappeared at moments and didn't ask questions of the ARG defence. If something isn't working, challenge the opponent differently.

In general, I think the combo of Rice, Shade, Francois and Forbes failed to ask these questions collectively ... but, to be fair, we did see moments of individuality making some difference.

Subs: None of them need any introduction. Hopefully we see more of them as senior contributors from here on in. Will reserve further comment for now. Ah done cause enough trouble as it is. 

Post by: Deeks on July 14, 2015, 05:47:44 PM
Mex beat Colombia 3-1.
Post by: Tallman on July 14, 2015, 06:16:56 PM
LIVE STREAMS: Colombia Women vs Trinidad and Tobago Women. Kick-off at 8:35pm EST
http://max-deportv.info/?canal=00003#www.rojadirecta.me
http://www.rojadirecta.me/goto/capodeportes.net/canal-3x.php
http://www.rojadirecta.me/goto/www.milloxtv.me/canal-12.htm
http://www.rojadirecta.me/goto/www.deportivotve.com/canal1.html
http://www.rojadirecta.me/goto/max-deportv.info/?canal=5b
http://www.rojadirecta.me/goto/max-deportv.info/?canal=05
Post by: Bianconeri on July 14, 2015, 06:42:47 PM
stream needed...

those streams showing swimming n other stuff
Post by: g on July 14, 2015, 06:46:41 PM
it now switch over, looks like we down a goal.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2015, 06:49:15 PM
The last link works.
Post by: Rastaman on July 14, 2015, 06:53:48 PM
The last link works.
how do you get it to work ??????
Post by: Rastaman on July 14, 2015, 06:57:21 PM
Can anyone give an update please !!!!!
Post by: Deeks on July 14, 2015, 07:00:14 PM
http://www.rojadirecta.me/goto/www.deportivotve.com/canal1.html.

sticking occasionally.
Post by: Rastaman on July 14, 2015, 07:00:57 PM
Ah finally get one to work.... First game I am getting to see for the week  :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: Socapro on July 14, 2015, 07:06:38 PM
Just logged in to one of the streams.

We are 1  - 0 down with 30 minutes gone!
Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2015, 07:09:59 PM
Yuh hadda play around with some of the links.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2015, 07:10:36 PM
No pressing at all.
Post by: Rastaman on July 14, 2015, 07:26:00 PM
No pressing at all.
yeah that is what I saying.....
Post by: Socapro on July 14, 2015, 07:29:30 PM
Half time Columbia 1 - 0 T&T.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2015, 07:38:51 PM
I like some of the adjustments Ross Russell made.  Superville on the right. Good call.

Our collective defending is lacking, but thankfully the positioning of some individual players is decent to good (King and Attin-Johnson in particular). Better rendition on display by Belgrave in having a key intervention and connecting better passes to the MF, but she still has to be careful about getting sucked out of the central defence to make challenges in the MF. Perhaps an indication that she's doing someone else's job.

Several of our players are not covering the immediately defending player. That is too basic to have to deal with ... I don't think it's the result of fitness. It's partially not reading the game well, reacting to play rather than influencing it, and also hedging bets on outcomes.

At the moment, Francois is not offering us enough. Cordner wukking hard defensively.

Our 1 v 1 defending when facing the opponent is not good. Swiping at the ball, trying to delay from improper distances (not close enough) ...

The good news is ... we can still do this. Would like to see Mollon cut inside.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2015, 07:56:50 PM
Our problems just magnified with Usme coming in. She will tilt the scale because her task is attack, attack, attack and preoccupy the center backs.

Good sub.

Rain to complicate things.
Post by: g on July 14, 2015, 08:09:15 PM
Columbia is technically very good even though their attack breaks down in the attacking third.
We would do well to get anything out this game.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2015, 08:19:58 PM
If we don't advance our lines and narrow the distance between the front and the defence, we won't get anything at all. We are stretching ourselves voluntarily.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2015, 08:22:52 PM
Thank you, Cordner. Exactly why I said two things: Colombia has GK issues (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=64283.msg931233#msg931233) and either Cordner or Mollon playing narrowly and closer to the goal will yield benefits.
Post by: g on July 14, 2015, 08:23:00 PM
Well yes, take dat
Cordner equalizer ...... Injured on the play
Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2015, 08:25:06 PM
Still a lot of time to play with 5 minutes added on.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2015, 08:27:11 PM
This will be a test of our game management. Very similar to the last few minutes v. Ecuador.
Post by: Rastaman on July 14, 2015, 08:28:20 PM
Conveniently lost my feed after we equalized  :cursing:
Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2015, 08:34:36 PM
A game of two goals from GK errors.

Congrats T&T!!!!!
Post by: Socapro on July 14, 2015, 08:35:25 PM
Looks like the final score is 1 - 1 after we equalized near the end of the game so well done to our Women Warriors.

Here is link to final game stats: http://results.toronto2015.org/IRS/en/football/results-women-a-05.htm
Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2015, 08:42:41 PM
Now both of our teams face Mexico next. One with a mission of needing to win (the women) and the other with the mission of maturing from the experience. Only blot on the copybook this week is yesterday's unfortunate event (and the impasse between the MoS and TTFA).

Let's go, T&T! :wavetowel:

I hope the injured players have only minor concerns.
Post by: AB.Trini on July 14, 2015, 09:59:14 PM
Congratulations ladies - lawd wish we had a chance at Ecuador - redemption is ah bitch - but say what this is the same Columbian team that buss up France?

Look nah this is our ladies World Cup - leh we play and show the world what could have been from this TnT!
Post by: Flex on July 15, 2015, 03:05:26 AM
Cordner rescues T&T as Women Warriors hold Colombia.
By Inshan Mohammed.

Kennya Cordner scored an 87th minute equalizer for Trinidad and Tobago against Colombia yesterday that spoiled the South Americans' victory party as both teams settled for shared points.

In their second match at the 2015 Pan American Games in the new CIBC Hamilton Pan Am Soccer Stadium in Canada, T&T came up with another tie, this time against World Cup Round of 16 finalist and group leader, Colombia.

The Soca Princesses fell behind in the 4th minute when Ingrid Vidal gave her side the early lead. T&T were persistent, and in the 87th minute Tobago-born striker Kennya Cordner came to the rescue when she pounced on a defensive error to clinically finish on goal.

T&T are in third place and must defeat Mexico on July 18th to advance to the semifinals. Ironically, T&T men's senior team also have a date with Mexico in a 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup Group-C match-up. A draw today will see T&T finish in first place.

The only hiccup for both men and women's teams are, talented midfielder Tasha St Louis, like Andre Boucaud, will both miss their country's next matches because of recurring yellow-card cautions.

Results

Colombia  1  v  T&T  2
Vidal 4'    Cordner 87'

Teams

T&T: - Kimika Forbes; Brianna Ryce (Tasha St Louis 65th - Yellow 93), Rhea Belgrave, Arin King (Yellow 73), Lauryn Hutchinson, Patrice Superville, Janine Francois (Yellow 77), Maylee Atti-Johnson (capt) (Khadidra Debesette 63rd), Ahkeela Mollon, Mariah Shade (Shenelle Henry 78th), Kennya Cordner.

Coach: - Ross Russell.

Colombia: - Sandra Sepulveda; Natalia Gaitan (capt), Diana Ospina, Daniela Montoya, Ingrid Vidal (Carolina Pineda 72nd), Orianica Velasquez, Angela Clavijo, Katherine Arias, Tatiana Ariza (Isabella Echeverri 84th), Carolina Arias (Yellow 79), Maria Santos (Maria Usme 58th).

Coach: - Felipe Taborda.

Referee: - Marie Beaudoin (CAN).

Standings

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts
Colombia  2  1  1  0  2  1  4
Mexico  2  1  0  1  3  2  3
T&T  2  0  2  0  3  3  2
Argentina  2  0  1  1  3  5  1

Post by: asylumseeker on July 15, 2015, 07:48:03 AM
Cheap yellow card from St. Louis. Avoidable. Steups.
Post by: soccerman on July 15, 2015, 07:52:02 AM
How did we look last night? Would you say an improvement from the first game?
Post by: Michael-j on July 15, 2015, 08:38:13 AM

Interested to know as well...
Did Lady Andrade play for Colombia? Would have been nice to see how our defenders fared against her.
Post by: Deeks on July 15, 2015, 09:01:33 AM
We defended well, but struggled in the attacking third of the field. Too many errands passes. I only saw the first half. But we have plenty of fortitude. This team has a certain will power to get a positive result every time so far.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 15, 2015, 09:54:02 AM

Interested to know as well...
Did Lady Andrade play for Colombia? Would have been nice to see how our defenders fared against her.

Lady Andrade didn't play. The key figures for them last night were Vidal and Ospina. Yoreli Rincon, who is normally at the center of action, wasn't brought to Pan Ams ... she asked to be excused so that she could participate in her club's pre-season; she just signed with a club in Norway. So we did not face the most potent COL side. COL gave minutes to Tati Ariza who was a player on the margin during the WC, and I think the subs were also in that category.

How to evaluate this game? We got a favourable result. We had significant problems linking up play and maintaining possession of the ball. Sad to say, we struggled.

Technically the Colombians are better. They have crisper ball movement; found more success when they passed to feet rather than trying to play into space. We didn't defend well collectively, but COL lost the plot during the second half so we grew into the game (disjointed, but we grew). Thing is doh, we never really tested Sepulveda in goal ... we generally struggled to get close. And for me, that renders set plays all the more relevant.

We need to rethink how we approach set plays ... play to our strengths. I don't think our set plays do that. There has got to be more than balls floated over the top. We need to consider our success ratio on them.

Anyhow, this was a very different game from the ARG game. In the ARG game we resolved more problems immediately; last night we didn't have a clear playing identity and couldn't quite get that done consistently ... but the switches in personnel showed promise.

Last night the rain was pouring, Maylee got hurt, several things were out of sync. I would say that this COL game was easier to plan for, but there were some tactical deficiencies (example ... no pressing!!). We had some headless chicken moments. Not being harsh ... just being frank. Some players will shudder if they see the video.

Yet, I suspect had COL not scored early ... we might have had 3 points.

Post by: soccerman on July 15, 2015, 10:23:16 AM
 :beermug: Thanks for the re-cap. This team has a lot of potential and talent, if we can play consistently as a cohesive unit, we will force to be reckoned with.
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 15, 2015, 12:06:36 PM
Any highlights?
Post by: asylumseeker on July 15, 2015, 12:35:29 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/dSSbopLPphQ
Post by: Dutty on July 15, 2015, 04:31:11 PM
:beermug: Thanks for the re-cap. This team has a lot of potential and talent, if we can play consistently as a cohesive unit, we will force to be reckoned with.

I dead on in agreement with seeker assessment....we get exposed time and time again on defence by colombian set plays
and especially their tactical awareness on the run

Man so much time dat vidal woman breeze troo , we defence look dishevelled ....we mid field was tight tho...nice passes in spaces
On a side note , I fine half of dat colombian squad have endomorph body types but dey still fast, matchin T&T pace on de ball easy

On the other  hand, what de highlights doh show is how de TT women fight...dey scrap for everything!! hard tackle passin on astroturf and dey get up limpin but gorne again.
Heads crashin in mid air for air balls..dey gettin up and still goin...dey tired and rain fallin sideways..dey still goin
Unlike de TT supporters who run when rain start...me and a few die hards take rain fuh dem too

As for Cordner..she hardcore..barkin orders, runnin both ends of the field, have the presence of mind  in lashin rain to capitalize on the colombian defensive lapse and tie it up...get injured on da play,stretchered off and come back on limpin tuh  finish
True Warrior!

Ah drive home soakin wet to mih draws well satisfy wit the effort

email allyuh cousin and tantie We need more supporters for the mexico game, dem colombian outnumber we three to one in the stands
Post by: soccerman on July 16, 2015, 08:18:56 AM
Nuff respect Dutty! Way to brace the elements and support like a true die hard. I think this Mexico game could be intense, in light of the game last night.
Post by: Deeks on July 16, 2015, 08:34:42 AM
Ditty, you talk about being outnumbered. When we play El Sal, Hondo, Mex, Guat or JA, Haiti in the US. then you realize how small we is.