Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on July 20, 2015, 03:10:08 AM

Title: Penalty pain as T&T goes down to Panama in Gold Cup 'quarters'
Post by: Flex on July 20, 2015, 03:10:08 AM
Penalty pain as T&T goes down to Panama in Gold Cup 'quarters'
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

To be Defeated, But Not Give In, is Victory! What this Trinidad and Tobago Senior Men’s Team has achieved during the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup is just that!

Skipper Kenwyne Jones and his teammates had a bitter sweet ending to their tournament but deserved to be saluted for their efforts during the confederation’s premier event for which the curtains came down on the “Soca Warriors” as they went down 6-5 on penalty kicks after 90 minutes plus thirty minutes of grueling football at the MetLife Stadium in New Jersey on Sunday evening.

The result meant T&T did not secure qualification to the semi-finals with the team of 2000 with the likes of Dwight Yorke, Russell Latapy, David Nakhid andArnold Dwarika, being the last to achieve that.

Playing before a significant amount of support for the Red,White and Black in the stands, more than any previous game this year, T&T battled it out with their Central American opponents but it came down to one penalty to keep them alive and Panama goalkeeper Jaime Penedo tipped  Lester Peltier’s kick onto the cross bar to send T&T packing.

Prior to that, Roman Torres skied the first kick over for Panama and Ataullah Guerra clinically converted his attempt to put T&T 1-0 ahead.

Goalkeeper Marvin Phillip would then come up big to push away  Erick Davis’s attempt.

Radanfah Abu Bakr, Kenwyne Jones and Mekeil Williams all converted but Sheldon Bateau and Joevin Jones had missed T&T’s second and third attempt to leave the teams locked at 4-4  and into sudden death.

Phillip denied Alberto Quintero leaving T&T sniffing a win once Daneil Cyrus could convert. Cyrus was stopped on his way up as Honduran referee Hector Rodriguez thought the defender had already kicked.  And a few moments later, Panama were back in the contest as Cyrus blasted his attempt over bar.

Andre Boucaud would be T&T’s last converter as Blas Perez and Valentin Pimentel scored to put the pressure on Peltier. Panama were the ones left celebrating as the second half substitute saw his effort push onto the woodwork by Penedo.

It was the third time T&T lost out on penalties, first going down to United Arab Emirates  at the OSN Cup in 2013 and then to Jamaica in the 2014 Caribbean Cup final.

During the match, T&T had the better start of the two teams and the first good look at goal when Jones’ strong header went inches over from a Cyrus long throw in minute 25.

A defensive mishap then led to Panama’s opening goal when Abu Bakr’s partial clearance to a right side ball resulted in Bateau’s attempt ricocheting  onto Luis Tejada’s path and he made no mistake with the gift, hitting low past a stranded Phillip.

Just before the break Jones stepped up again but just couldn’t find the target. A nice, searching ball from the right by Cyrus saw the Cardiff City man head goal-wards only to see the ball flash wide of the upright with Keron  Cummings and Jones (J) rushing in behind him.

There were two cooling breaks during regulation time due to the extreme humid conditions. And T&T, which had two days less to prepare for the game than Panama who completed its Group phase before T&T, seemed to have tired as the game progressed.

But not before they would put Panama under pressure.

Jones ran in to neatly direct his header into the net from a Khaleem Hyland left side free kick and T&T were level on 54 minutes. It was his second goal of the tournament and his fourth in Gold Cup history.

Perez went close to Panama in the dying stages and fortunately for T&T, his effort went wide. Boucaud and Jones (J) would have further long range efforts for T&T but neither team had any spark in them as the game played out in extra time.

Hart later commended his players for the effort but felt fatigue was a factor in their performance on the evening.

“I think at the end of the day the two days extra rest for Panama showed. We were completely exhausted. But I have to give credit to my players. They gave me everything. I extracted every drop of juice out of that orange. But Penalties are a cruel way to decide a game but it’s how the game ends,” Hart told TTFA Media.

“I think fatigue was a big factor. We could not get up and down the field as a unit like we did against Mexico and as the game went further and further forward we just couldn’t keep possession of the ball. We ran out of legs,” Hart added, saying it was different kicking penalties in practice in front of no one as to doing it in front of thousands.

“Yesterday nobody missed (in practice) and today we had three chances to take it and we missed.”

“A lot of what we have to work on comes with experience and playing matches. A tournament like this would have done a lot for our young players and hopefully with the right preparation, we can continue to grow and improve as a team,” Hart added.

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago: 1.Marvin Phillip; 5.Daneil Cyrus, 6.Radanfah Abu Bakr, 4.Sheldon Bateau, 17.Mekeil Williams; 8.Khaleem Hyland (11.Ataullah Guerra 91st), 19.Kevan George; 13.Cordell Cato (23.Lester Peltier 65th), 20.Keron Cummings (14.Andre Boucaud 80th), 3.Joevin Jones; 9.Kenwyne Jones (capt).

Unused Subs: 22.Adrian Foncette , 2.Aubrey David, 7.Jonathan Glenn, 10.Willis Plaza, 12.Kadeem Corbin, 15.Dwane James, 16.Rundell Winchester, 18.Yohance Marshall.

Head Coach: Stephen Hart

Panama: 1.Jaime Penedo; 6.Gabriel Gomez (13.Adolfo Machado 45th), 5.Roman Torres (capt), 3.Harold Cummings, 15.Erick Davis; 2.Valentin Pimentel, 14.Miguel Camargo (22.Abdiel Arroyo 90th); 11.Armando Cooper, 19.Alberto Quintero; 7.Blas Perez, 10.Luis Tejada (8.Gabriel Torres 82nd).

Unused Subs: 12.Luis Mejia (GK), 21.Jose Calderon (GK), 4.Alfredo Stephens, 9.Roberto Nurse, 16.Rolando Blackburn, 17.Luis Henriquez, 18.Darwin Pinzon, 23.Angel Patrick.

Head Coach: Hernán Darío Gómez.

Video: Trinidad & Tobago vs. Panama Highlights (http://www.concacaf.com/video/trinidad-and-tobago-vs-panama-highlights)

Panama outlasts T&T on PKs for semifinal spot
CONCACAF.COM.

EAST RUTHERFORD, New Jersey – Jaime Penedo made two saves as Panama advanced to the CONCACAF Gold Cup semifinals 6-5 on penalty kicks after the teams played to a 1-1 draw in the first game of a quarterfinal doubleheader at MetLife Stadium on Sunday.

Panama will next face either Mexico or Costa Rica, while the defending champion United States takes on Jamaica in a pair of semifinal matches on Wednesday at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta.

The shootout didn’t start favorably for the Panamanians with captain Roman Torres putting the first attempt over the crossbar. The Soca Warriors had a chance to progress after Marvin Phillip saved Alberto Quintero’s shot in the seventh round, but Daneil Cyrus chipped his subsequent attempt over the bar.

Blas Perez and Andre Boucard exchanged makes, before Valentin Pimentel gave Panama a 6-5 advantage by putting his team’s ninth attempt up the middle. Lester Peltier stepped forward in a bid to level, but Penedo tipped his shot off the right post to seal advancement for the Canaleros.

The result was almost 10 years to the day that Penedo and Panama fell to the United States in the final on penalty kicks at Giants Stadium.

Luis Tejada broke the scoreless stalemate in the 37th minute, capitalizing on a defensive breakdown by the Caribbean runner-up. Abu Bakr struggled to deal with Pimentel’s dangerous cross just inside the box and Sheldon Bateau’s attempted clearance deflected right to Tejada. The 33-year-old forward tapped past Marvin Phillip from 10 yards out for his second goal of the tournament.

An unmarked Kenywne Jones leveled for the Soca Warriors in the 54th minute. The 2006 FIFA World Cup veteran latched onto a free kick by Khaleem Hyland and headed home from eight yards out.

It is the fourth time this tournament that Panama conceded the equalizing goal in the second half after taking a 1-0 lead.

In the 78th minute, Torres attempted to restore the Central Americans’ lead, but his header off an Armando Cooper corner was wide of the net. The 29-year-old defender scored the lone goal in a friendly between the sides in March.

Six minutes later, a fantastic individual effort by Cooper nearly put the Canaleros back in front. He skipped past one defender into the box and cut inside of another only to see his first shot be blocked and the second effort be saved by a diving Phillip.

An unmarked Perez had an even better chance in the first minute of second-half stoppage time, knocking Erick Davis’ left-sided cross wide of the left post.

Trinidad’s best chance of the first half came deep into stoppage time. However, Jones’ diving header off a right-sided cross by Cyrus was wide.

Panama will compete in the Gold Cup semifinals for a third consecutive time, while Trinidad was eliminated at the quarterfinal stage for the second straight edition.

NOTES:

• Panama has conceded one goal or fewer in 14 straight CONCACAF Gold Cup games.
• Panama is 1W-3D-2L in six all-time CONCACAF Gold Cup quarterfinals outings

• Trinidad & Tobago has not advanced to a CONCACAF Gold Cup  semifinal since 2000.

Warriors go out on penalties to Panama.
By Ian Prescott (Express).

HART-BREAK

Panama advanced to the quarter-final of the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup followinging a dramatic 6-5 penalty victory shootout over Trinidad and Tobago men’s national footballers yesterday at Met Life Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey, USA.

Two saves by T&T keeper Marvin Phillip put the Soca Warriors in position to win it (5-4) had defender Daneil Cyrus converted. But he casually lifted the ball over the crossbar, and after Panama went ahead, Slovenia-based Lester Peltier had his effort pushed onto the crossbar by Panama keeper Jaime Pinedo.

T&T’S Sheldon Bateau and Joevin Jones also missed from the spot. Panama now move onto the Georgia Dome in Atlanta, for a semi-final on Wednesday with the winner of last night’s second quarter-final between Mexico and Costa Rica.

Yesterday’s quarter-final match was decided in penalty kicks after 120 minutes of football left the teams deadlocked, following a 1-1 draw after 90 minutes and an additional 30 minutes extra-time.

Luis Tejada 37th minute goal gave Panama a 1-0 lead in a sedate first half, where Trinidad and Tobago looked more likely to score. But Cardiff City striker Kenwyne Jones levelled the Soca Warriors at 1-1 in the 54th minute with a close-up header from Khaleem Hyland’s free-kick. Panama, though, looked better for the rest of the match and USA-based MLS striker Blas Perez missed two excellent scoring chances.

It was a hot, hot day in New Jersey, one when it was wise to conserve energy. So much so that Honduran referee Hector Rodriguez allowed two water breaks within the first half hour. Neither team went out full throttle in the first half, although the Soca Warriors looked more likely to score, until Tejada’s goal.

It was in many ways a lazy Soca Warriors effort, and not the complete 90 minutes T&T coach Stephen Hart was asking for. Defending was indecisive collectively and individually, while Panama’s Perez and Tejada were far more inclined towards work than Joevin Jones or Keron “Ball Pest” Cummings.

Following his impressive two-goal showing against Mexico, North East Stars midfielder Cummings won a starting spot at the expense of Central FC’s Ataulla Guerra. He also got the first chance in the opening minutes, but took too long on his weaker right foot and was bundled over.

Soon after, Joevin Jones’ cross created a half-chance header for Jones (K), and later the T&T captain only marginally headed over Cyrus’ corner-kick on 25 minutes, despite Panama playing him close attention all match. In first-half injury time, Jones might also have left another Cyrus cross for teammates Cummings and Cordell Cato driving in at the back post, instead of heading the ball into touch.

Panama rarely attacked, but for a brief period midway through the first half, but went ahead when a wild attempted clearance by defender Sheldon Bateau gave Tejada a gift, which he poked past Marvin Phillip.

The breakdown began all the way in midfield where Joevin Jones was lazy and unwilling to get back. Poor T&T transition from attack to defence, also gave Panama another chance in the 40 th minute, with Perez shooting powerfully at Phillip from an acute angle.

After conceding early in the second half, Panama might have retaken the lead soon after, but for a poor shooting effort by Perez, who hit straight at goalkeeper from eight yards. It also took Radanfar Abu Bakr at full stretch to deny a Perez shot, as Panama turned up the pace as conditions got cooler. And in injury-time, Perez also put wide a cross with only keeper Phillip guarding the goal.

Title: Re: Penalty pain as T&T goes down to Panama in Gold Cup 'quarters'
Post by: Sando prince on July 20, 2015, 05:22:22 AM

I say no more. This has been a cycle in T&T football

This cycle of T&T not being able to get over the desired hump as we have seen since the 90's when we had so many talented players will only continue. Win or draw a big game and falter the next important game. Mental lapses in the back, long ball tactics, lack of possession end in a bad performance and a loss. Fans will then say we did our best considering we iz ah small nation and then hope for a miracle next time.

Same cycle since the days of Dwarika and Nixon

Just to clarify my issue is not really about the team not making it to the Semis although I would have love for it to happen. My issue is how T&T teams have approached and played the most important games in these tournaments, including WC qualifiers (The 2006 WC campaign is the only exception where we had the right attitude and approach and execution for more of our qualifying games) If T&T go out and play their best football and lose I will accept defeat but seriously as someone who have seen his team play better how does one expect me to accept ANOTHER poor performance on the most important day when the team should have given its best. Like I said earlier this has been a cycle in T&T football for YEARS. What is it with the mental breakdown? Why do fans (especially the older heads) just accept this as the norm?

Anyway doh bother to answer. The most fans can do now is just hope

Post by: Controversial on July 20, 2015, 07:51:34 AM

I say no more. This has been a cycle in T&T football

This cycle of T&T not being able to get over the desired hump as we have seen since the 90's when we had so many talented players will only continue. Win or draw a big game and falter the next important game. Mental lapses in the back, long ball tactics, lack of possession end in a bad performance and a loss. Fans will then say we did our best considering we iz ah small nation and then hope for a miracle next time.

Same cycle since the days of Dwarika and Nixon

Just to clarify my issue is not really about the team not making it to the Semis although I would have love for it to happen. My issue is how T&T teams have approached and played the most important games in these tournaments, including WC qualifiers (The 2006 WC campaign is the only exception where we had the right attitude and approach and execution for more of our qualifying games) If T&T go out and play their best football and lose I will accept defeat but seriously as someone who have seen his team play better how does one expect me to accept ANOTHER poor performance on the most important day when the team should have given its best. Like I said earlier this has been a cycle in T&T football for YEARS. What is it with the mental breakdown? Why do fans (especially the older heads) just accept this as the norm?

Anyway doh bother to answer. The most fans can do now is just hope

Don't worry Sando, lefty has 101 excuses as to why you should accept the performance...
Post by: pull stones on July 20, 2015, 09:28:45 AM
was at the game last evening and was very disappointed by the crowd support we got knowing that new york has the biggest trinidadian population outside of trinidad. imagine a stadium filled with mexican panamanian and costa rican supporters you would swear it was a big hispanic convention with less than a thousand trinidad supporters. i am sure we get more trinis at a marchel fete during labor day and way more in jouvert on empire boulevard so i know we had the numbers to pack that stadium and give the lads a lift.

let me start by saying that yesterday was the hottest day that i ever experienced anywhere in the world and even though i have been living in new york for two years i have never seen or felt anything like it i was simply blown away to see how those lads actually played under those condition. i swore they would have postponed the match but they didn't, i guess that is what happens to someone after living in england's smog and fog for 30 years. i tried to sit in the stands but just couldn't it was that bloody scorched.

my take on the game was that the lads were worn out and didn't have anything left in the tank after mexico, i said it and i would say it again steven hart should have played the mexico game with a second string team and rest his big guns for the quarter finals. panama on the other hand had two more days of rest and it showed. they were more energetic and pressed harder and apart from having more energy they also took the game away from our attacking mids by double teaming the wingers in j. jones and especially cato who in my opinion should not have started this game, the bloke does not know when to pass the ball and kept running into panamas trap on the right wing. and if i were to blame anyone for our lack of offense i would blame the wingers who time after time tried to out maneuver the trap that was set for them on the flanks and kept giving away possession. lets give it to panama, they are a very good team and it would have took an absolute miracle for us to beat them because they were well prepared and studied us quite a bit because they simply shut us down having the lion share of the possession. with that said it was very sad to see what has become of out two most promising prospects in guerra and peltier. i am afraid to say it but i think those guys are done, they simply did not make any kind of impact on this tournament and have become very limited players, talk about zero impact.

the best part of my day yesterday was that i met up with some very friendly indian people who got me half drunk and hanging with them was a blast, i guess that was natures way of taking away the brunt of the pain. apart from that our game sucked and who ever put defenders to kick penalties before strikers and midfielders needs to have their heads examined.
Post by: Controversial on July 20, 2015, 09:33:10 AM
was at the game last evening and was very disappointed by the crowd support we got knowing that new york has the biggest trinidadian population outside of trinidad. imagine a stadium filled with mexican panamanian and costa rican supporters you would swear it was a big hispanic convention with less than a thousand trinidad supporters. i am sure we get more trinis at a marchel fete during labor day and way more in jouvert on empire boulevard so i know we had the numbers to pack that stadium and give the lads a lift.

let me start by saying that yesterday was the hottest day that i ever experienced anywhere in the world and even though i have been living in new york for two years i have never seen or felt anything like it i was simply blown away to see how those lads actually played under those condition. i swore they would have postponed the match but they didn't, i guess that is what happens to someone after living in england's smog and fog for 30 years. i tried to sit in the stands but just couldn't it was that bloody scorched.

my take on the game was that the lads were worn out and didn't have anything left in the tank after mexico, i said it and i would say it again steven hart should have played the mexico game with a second string team and rest his big guns for the quarter finals. panama on the other hand had two more days of rest and it showed. they were more energetic and pressed harder and apart from having more energy they also took the game away from our attacking mids by double teaming the wingers in j. jones and especially cato who in my opinion should not have started this game, the bloke does not know when to pass the ball and kept running into panamas trap on the right wing. and if i were to blame anyone for our lack of offense i would blame the wingers who time after time tried to out maneuver the trap that was set for them on the flanks and kept giving away possession. lets give it to panama, they are a very good team and it would have took an absolute miracle for us to beat them because they were well prepared and studied us quite a bit because they simply shut us down having the lion share of the possession. with that said it was very sad to see what has become of out two most promising prospects in guerra and peltier. i am afraid to say it but i think those guys are done, they simply did not make any kind of impact on this tournament and have become very limited players, talk about zero impact.

the best part of my day yesterday was that i met up with some very friendly indian people who got me half drunk and hanging with them was a blast, i guess that was natures way of taking away the brunt of the pain. apart from that our game sucked and who ever put defenders to kick penalties before strikers and midfielders needs to have their heads examined.

So it had Indians from India at the game supporting TT?
Post by: pull stones on July 20, 2015, 09:44:07 AM

no trrinidad indians and they were lovely. didn't know trinis indians were that friendly and loving. i lived in birmingham for many years and made friends with many pakis but it was my very first experience with trinis indians, boy they know how to have a good time.
Post by: Controversial on July 20, 2015, 09:47:03 AM

no trrinidad indians and they were lovely. didn't know trinis indians were that friendly and loving. i lived in birmingham for many years and made friends with many pakis but it was my very first experience with trinis indians, boy they know how to have a good time.

You're kidding me right? Were you born in trini or UK?

I'm sorry but a trini is a trini, when I lime with my friends, it's never, he is mixed or an Indian or black.. Just trini..
Post by: pull stones on July 20, 2015, 10:00:47 AM

I'm sorry but a trini is a trini, when I lime with my friends, it's never, he is mixed or an Indian or black.. Just trini..
come on mate you're killing it for me. you're actually making this thing out to be more than it really is. the point was that new york is supposed to be a big west indies strong hold so i was surprised to see more indians and whites than black trinis. it was just an observation man, calm down.
Post by: Controversial on July 20, 2015, 10:11:55 AM

come on mate you're killing it for me. you're actually making this thing out to be more than it really is. the point was that new york is supposed to be a big west indies strong hold so i was surprised to see more indians and whites than black trinis. it was just an observation man, calm down.

I think you killed it for yourself brother when you chat that rubbish above.. The country is already segregated by race because of people buying into the political games, don't add fuel to the fire with those ignorant comments..

Actually I'm not surprised Trinis were there of all ethnic backgrounds... Football is a sport for all races, so it doesn't surprise me at all..

Not attacking you but the statements were ignorant ...
Post by: injunchile on July 20, 2015, 02:41:31 PM
Controversial- Easy on the brother , he is having an Epiphany moment an AHA moment.
 Understand the context in which he is coming from an English/ Trini who hang out with Pakis in Birmingham. So it was a Culture shock for him to experience a real trini lime and because it was an ethic group that he was not exposed to the rum got to his head . If the truth be told the man get a lesson in I like how trini does lime.
Post by: Fyzo10 on July 20, 2015, 03:01:40 PM
Sorry but Trini Indians are just as much Trini as black Trinis...And NYC has a HUGE Indo-Trini population. Indo-Trinis follow Football too you know.
Post by: Tallman on July 21, 2015, 10:08:41 AM
A behind the scenes look at the moments following Trinidad and Tobago’s elimination from the 2015 Gold Cup

https://www.youtube.com/v/JzXO2L1mnPE
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 21, 2015, 10:42:32 AM
Allyuh could ever tell me anything about KJ?!!  MY CAPTAIN IS AH BOSS!!!
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 21, 2015, 10:54:14 AM
Thanks for sharing TM  :beermug:  Moving
Post by: Controversial on July 21, 2015, 11:43:02 AM
A behind the scenes look at the moments following Trinidad and Tobago’s elimination from the 2015 Gold Cup

https://www.youtube.com/v/JzXO2L1mnPE

Good statements from Harty and KJ... Didn't expect less to be honest..

On a side note.. Fuentes could have added a violin concerto to add more dramatic effect to the piece..
Post by: soccerman on July 21, 2015, 12:08:41 PM
Very heartfelt and inspiring! This team is special and has the potential to progress moving forward.
Post by: maxg on July 21, 2015, 12:57:31 PM
Great game Marvin Phillip.. good step up
Post by: Spursy on July 21, 2015, 01:00:00 PM
We had no chance of winning this game. The fact that we could of won speaks volumes on how this team over performed given the circumstances. After that Mexico game the players were drained, we had 2 less days to recover. I knew it would be difficult to win this one but the team showed alot of character and despite the yorke latas team of 2000, this team has to be one of the best we ever had.

And Jones, our captain, you sir have proved to everyone and yourself that you can be the player we need, hope you can keep this form and join a MLS club so we can see you in action here in the states. 
Post by: Controversial on July 21, 2015, 02:26:48 PM

marvin did well in the penalty shoot out.. he gave us the game on a platter...
Post by: Deeks on July 21, 2015, 02:54:01 PM
So which is first WC or Copa America against Haiti.
Post by: maxg on July 21, 2015, 03:09:00 PM
Thanks for the video. 1 question, the credits at the end. these are sponsors of the team  federation ? I thought we couldn't get much ?
Post by: Tallman on July 22, 2015, 03:09:28 PM
Daneil Cyrus, Lester Peltier, and Sheldon Bateau give their views on Trinidad and Tobago’s recent Gold Cup campaign
https://www.youtube.com/v/Te_v9CPAREU
Post by: trini_stallion on July 22, 2015, 04:09:04 PM
Pull stones....say is you nah...I meet up with a warrior and we drink some serious scotch! Is you horse? It was my cousin, a smallie and I...I was messing with my cousin for making me miss the first half...my face was painted red white and black!
Post by: Cocorite on July 22, 2015, 04:20:40 PM

Agreed! Pleasantly surprised.
Post by: Controversial on July 22, 2015, 04:56:46 PM

You see what going on with Ja and U.S.

Watch family, that is what you call pride and passion for your nation...

TT didn't have none of that in their game against Panama..

Worse yet they kick over bars like if it wa a fete match.. No love for who they represent
Post by: Deeks on July 22, 2015, 08:42:46 PM
I was really disappointed in Guerra and Peltier. These two needed to really step up their play. They have not reach that level for international performance. Still did not get to see Glen play.
Post by: Deeks on July 22, 2015, 08:47:29 PM

Worse yet they kick over bars like if it wa a fete match.. No love for who they represent

Breds, because the man kick the ball over bars, he don't love TT. So Baggio doh love Italy. Higuian doh love Argentina. All them men who missed pks for Eng. doh like the 3 dandy lions?
Post by: pull stones on July 22, 2015, 09:49:45 PM
Pull stones....say is you nah...I meet up with a warrior and we drink some serious scotch! Is you horse? It was my cousin, a smallie and I...I was messing with my cousin for making me miss the first half...my face was painted red white and black!
i doubt it. I was liming with my sister and her husband a French creole looking bloke. We were in section 218 in the club house and we met up with about 10 Trinis who was drinking jack Daniels and henessy. These folks were chasing jack with beer and didn't allow us to pay for a single thing. I felt bad about that because I wanted to return the favor.
Post by: Controversial on July 22, 2015, 09:52:11 PM

Breds, because the man kick the ball over bars, he don't love TT. So Baggio doh love Italy. Higuian doh love Argentina. All them men who missed pks for Eng. doh like the 3 dandy lions?

He could have taken his time and done better... I feel like these men just walk up and hope for the best and if he miss, yeah that's cool...

I done, I could go home now... The men who made the penalties put in the thought and effort..
Post by: trini_stallion on July 22, 2015, 11:11:58 PM
i doubt it. I was liming with my sister and her husband a French creole looking bloke. We were in section 218 in the club house and we met up with about 10 Trinis who was drinking jack Daniels and henessy. These folks were chasing jack with beer and didn't allow us to pay for a single thing. I felt bad about that because I wanted to return the favor.

Bro I was like wait nah...cuz I end up making a lime with a few trinis that I didn't know...and this one trini guy was from Birmingham and recently migrated to NY...a real cool fellah...so when I read ya comments I say this have to be de soldier...we rel discuss football and thing... Say what!

Post by: pull stones on July 23, 2015, 04:13:28 AM

Bro I was like wait nah...cuz I end up making a lime with a few trinis that I didn't know...and this one trini guy was from Birmingham and recently migrated to NY...a real cool fellah...so when I read ya comments I say this have to be de soldier...we rel discuss football and thing... Say what!
damn that could be me but i was so wasted i wouldn't remember. was he with a light skin woman and a tall slim half white man with a goati? if that's the case then it was certainly me, but i can't remember interacting with anyone with painted faces. all i remember was hanging with some super cool "trinis" of indo decent that got me peppered and knackered and a guy who made me laugh so hard that i forgot about cyrus blowing that sky hawk to the hills, it was a blast.
Post by: trini_stallion on July 23, 2015, 08:35:53 AM
I hv pictures...but I'm not seeing where I can attach them...nah there was a light skin girl with him...and another guy and girl...but they were both dark...it's all good bro! I still not over Cyrus kick....all I hadda say is that I remember watching him in d stands...when it was his turn he turn around and it appeared like he didn't want to take the kick and his team mates literally pushed him of to take it...namely boucaud (pushed him) and peltier held his hand pulling him in a forward direction...
Post by: Sando on August 03, 2015, 03:59:53 PM
Anyone have this game I can download?

Post by: Peong on August 03, 2015, 05:42:51 PM
There's a torrent
https://kat.cr/concacaf-gold-cup-usa-2015-qf-19-jul-trinidad-and-tobago-v-panama-720p-jaguar777-t10966951.html#main
Post by: Errol on August 04, 2015, 08:21:08 AM
If you asked me, Hart messed up a little in this game.

You have a squad of 23 players who are not all 100% fit.

He didn't have to play 9 tired players in this game.

Hyland, Cato, Jovein and George should have been rested.

Boucaud, Glenn, Winchester and Marshall (in George place) should have started.

Post by: spideybuff on August 04, 2015, 12:02:28 PM

I never really heard of managers "rotating" in a must win game. Usually you play your strongest team
Post by: palos on August 04, 2015, 05:02:18 PM

I never really heard of managers "rotating" in a must win game. Usually you play your strongest team

Maybe this Gold Cup competition allowed 4 subs  :devil:
Post by: pull stones on August 04, 2015, 05:42:31 PM

if you had said that he messed up in the mexcico game where he could have rested his starters for the quarter finals then i would have been tempted to agree, but in a quarter finals you have to come with your best options available because it's win or go home. the only players in would have played in that mexican game would have been hyland simply because he was rested in the game before against cuba.
Post by: Errol on August 04, 2015, 06:46:45 PM

Maybe this Gold Cup competition allowed 4 subs  :devil:

Palos, I am not saying to make 4 subs, I meant make 4 changes...

Post by: Errol on August 04, 2015, 06:47:39 PM

if you had said that he messed up in the mexcico game where he could have rested his starters for the quarter finals then i would have been tempted to agree, but in a quarter finals you have to come with your best options available because it's win or go home. the only players in would have played in that mexican game would have been hyland simply because he was rested in the game before against cuba.

Thanks pull stones, that sounds more reasonable.

You cant play most of your players for the entire tournament especially if they are not fit in the first place.