Sports => Football => Topic started by: KND2 on July 20, 2015, 07:01:16 AM

Title: Fitness is a Huge Problem
Post by: KND2 on July 20, 2015, 07:01:16 AM
These guys are not fit.

Is one thing to talk about heat and days rest etc

but fitness is fitness.

from the start to the end we were slower and did not have the required intensity.

As Hart mention we are not playing in the same leagues as our opponents.

Nowadays men wearing heart monitors in training and computers monitoring distance travelled and average velocity.

without tools how can we know which players and which areas need fitness work.

We still asking man to run laps and hoping for the best.

Title: Re: Fitness is a Huge Problem
Post by: royal on July 20, 2015, 07:04:47 AM
sad but true.
Post by: Controversial on July 20, 2015, 07:42:39 AM
These guys are not fit.

Is one thing to talk about heat and days rest etc

but fitness is fitness.

from the start to the end we were slower and did not have the required intensity.

As Hart mention we are not playing in the same leagues as our opponents.

Nowadays men wearing heart monitors in training and computers monitoring distance travelled and average velocity.

without tools how can we know which players and which areas need fitness work.

We still asking man to run laps and hoping for the best.

I agree but if you're liming the night before it doesn't help either...
Post by: Deeks on July 20, 2015, 09:03:52 AM
How allyuh know them guys were liming?
Post by: Controversial on July 20, 2015, 09:20:49 AM

Right now it is speculation.. AB heard a few friends in New York talking that they know a number of the players were in small limes the nit before the game.. So we were thinking why would these people lie?

But if you think of it, the team was dead tired and that could translate to them liming the night before..

Mexico and Costa Rica had the same schedule like us, with the same amount of rest and they still ran all game..
Post by: palos on July 20, 2015, 11:02:39 AM
Of course the guys not fit.....this is not new information.

Pro League fit and International fit are 2 different things completely. 

Nearly half the side playing at a below professional league level...doh mind what they call it

Our players play with heart and soul all tournament...especially yesterday despite coming to a gun battle with caps guns...and were in position to still win.

But all people could do is waste them down while indulging in idle, idiotic speculation.

f**ked up I tell you.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 20, 2015, 11:03:39 AM

Right now it is speculation.. AB heard a few friends in New York talking that they know a number of the players were in small limes the nit before the game.. So we were thinking why would these people lie?

But if you think of it, the team was dead tired and that could translate to them liming the night before..

Mexico and Costa Rica had the same schedule like us, with the same amount of rest and they still ran all game..

Imagine man visit family and a few players tag along (including ones from the same village that also know the family being visited) and it turn into players were liming the night before.  People rell like idle talk boi :banginghead:
Post by: KND2 on July 20, 2015, 11:05:09 AM
that limining thing is nonsense.

it is the automatic trini response to failure

too much party "blah blah"

distracts from the realty

which is,
As a professional footballer it is your responsibility to be fit, to take yourself personally to the next level.

Yorke used to party the most out of anyone but on the field he working.

Jovin Jones, Kenyane Jones walking on the field from minute one to minute 120 in the panama match.

These men playing for big clubs

Cryus aint play in the last game bun like a dog could not make a step in the last minutes cramping up. How must rest he need to be ready to run 90 minutes.

Peltieir come on after 60 mintutes and could not provide any work rate for 30 mins?

Yes if you big and strong and can butt a ball I will put you on my team and pay you a million pounds to come on the field and score a few goals.

But where is the personnal desire to be able to play a "running" game for 90 minutes
Where is the work ethic

Talent is the mask that does hide the deficencies.

example
Jovin Jones have talent, he can run at defenders with great speed and trickery...that is a talent.
we will play him on the team irregrdless of the fact that defensively he does not run back and is work rate is inconsistient especially defensively.

compare description above to say Hazzard or Willian for Chelsea who running back every time.
why
because of the metality and the desire for success.
because of expectation set by the coaching staff

Unless the players have that personal desire inside and the coaching staff have the balls to demand it where we really going.

You have to have the basics

Fitness
positional awareness
Shape
effort
intensity

basic things all players at this level have to have, without these dont go on the field.

the extra skills and ability means nothing without the foundation.

our team consist of too many players who missing the foundation because as a people we gravitate to the  "Talent"

K Jones was walking on the field in the Guatemala game ist half
He was walking on the field in the gold cup 2 years ago
He was walking on the field in the caribbean cup last year

the only time he did not walk on the field was in the second half of the mexico game.

so if you could run in that game why you cant run in every other game.

His ass should have been on the bench since the ist half of the ist game

But we will leave him on the field because

"His Talent" will mask our deficencies

What we need the most is Honesty.

Dont worry Kenyane you is a top scorer, you could butt real good, you is we captian, here is another multi million dollar contract.
Dont worry we not subbing you.

Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 20, 2015, 11:06:53 AM

Nearly half the side playing at a below professional league level...doh mind what they call it

Our players play with heart and soul all tournament...especially yesterday despite coming to a gun battle with caps guns...and were in position to still win.

But all people could do is waste them down while indulging in idle, idiotic speculation.

f**ked up I tell you.

My seat was in the sun and I was cooking jus sitting.  Imagine how dem fellas was feeling out there in that heat! Despite what the results from the group suggested, Panama was a very formidable opponent.  They made our players work hard and always had 2 men near KJ while he up top isolated.  Them fellas fight hard and is ah shame that people on here refuse to recognize it but instead have loads of criticisms.
Post by: KND2 on July 20, 2015, 11:07:41 AM
how is a man playing in MLS and British Championship not fit.

It have no better leagues that these.

Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 20, 2015, 11:11:43 AM

How many days of the year is it 97 degrees in England?  How often do they play 4 games in a 12 day span in England and MLS? 
Post by: injunchile on July 20, 2015, 11:19:39 AM
Good Incisive post from KND2 and Palos. I hope Sancho can start thinking football and not politics and sit down with Hart and the coaching staff and plot the way forward for the W?C qualifiers. We need to look at foreign base players , yes including Bobby Zamora and play some serious teams as preparation
 Surely Yorke / Tallest at Everton and Birchy can help in the recruiting process. Finally we need a playmaker in the center of the park
Post by: KND2 on July 20, 2015, 11:25:02 AM
keep giving them excuses

How many days it is over 97 degrees in chicago and what season is the MLS games played in.

How many games did panama play in 12 days.

imagine this is where we reach when a Trinidad team losing cause Sun to hot.
back in 1989 we set up game at 2:30 just so we have hot Sun advantage

we come full circle.

Pro league have no fitness standards
British league weather too cool

Well I guess it pays to be from Panama, them men running the in rain forest whole day so they can handle the heat.

what we men doing?

Post by: daryn on July 20, 2015, 11:31:49 AM
I think a significant part of the fitness issue is the fact that we don't have a lot of possession. Also defensive mistakes add up.

Our players spend a lot of energy chasing the ball or sprinting to get back in the right position.
Post by: Controversial on July 20, 2015, 11:37:12 AM

f**ked up I tell you.

So Breds, none of our players fit then? Even the mls players? KJ played well.. Bakr and Cyrus had an extra day rest... So what is their excuse?

Most of them men born in Trinidad... All of a sudden heat is the factor.. When man drink rum the night before, that could dry you out the next day... I agree..

Not saying that they fete but they played like they did... Saw them play much better, yesterday they should have put it away.. SH did the best he can, they failed him yesterday and the fans who always supporting them whether they play like garbage or not..

The whole joke is I didn't even care about the Jordan match... But this one was more important than that Mexico game.. We play superior attacking football against Mexico and rubbish in our quarter final..

Yet I have to sit here and listen to some supporters telling me to accept that.. Can't do that.. As far as I am concerned KJ and Hart get top honours.. Everyone else failed.. Miserably..

Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 20, 2015, 11:39:39 AM
Weird how yuh cah answer meh doh KND.  MLS plays once ah muddflippin week!!  So Jones and Cato played the equivalent of a months worth of games in 12 days.  Whether they fit or not it would still be a lot to contend with.  KJ doh play in that type of whether even remotely often. 

Do our players need to be more fit? Yes!
Does playing in MLS and EPL/ Championship in England once a week mean playing so many games so rapidly should be a breeze? No

Is not about excuses, yuh ask a question and I countered it to show that by itself where they play doesn't determine that they will be able to manage all these games in a short space of time and not be bun.

In 1989 how many games we played in the 11 days prior to that qualifier?
Post by: Controversial on July 20, 2015, 11:41:03 AM

How many days of the year is it 97 degrees in England?  How often do they play 4 games in a 12 day span in England and MLS? 

What is the temperature in Trinidad right now or worse yet, 430 during the day?

Remember we are closer to the equator than New Jersey.. What was the other players excuse, when they sat out mexico? What excuse should I prepare myself for ?
Post by: Controversial on July 20, 2015, 11:43:40 AM
Weird how yuh cah answer meh doh KND.  MLS plays once ah muddflippin week!!  So Jones and Cato played the equivalent of a months worth of games in 12 days.  Whether they fit or not it would still be a lot to contend with.  KJ doh play in that type of whether even remotely often. 

Does playing in MLS and EPL/ Championship in England once a week mean playing so many games so rapidly should be a breeze? No

Is not about excuses, yuh ask a question and I countered it to show that by itself where they play doesn't determine that they will be able to manage all these games in a short space of time and not be bun.

So in other wards the U.S. Panama, Costa Rica and Mexico can play in more heat than us and they fitter to booth?
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 20, 2015, 11:48:10 AM

Remember we are closer to the equator than New Jersey.. What was the other players excuse, when they sat our mexico? What excuse should I prepare myself for ?

KND singled out MLS and England, my response was to that.  But even if we took it a step further; how often do the pro league players play? More than once a week?  Which pro league matches does start 4:30 pm?  I doh know what anyone's "excuse" is and I doh care.  Before this tournament most recognized that Panama are ahead of us and that their football development in the last decade has taken them above us.  Now all of a sudden it seems everyone expected us to just walk over Panama.  I will repeat this "Panama eh no shit team"  Don't let their group results fool you. 
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 20, 2015, 11:52:45 AM

So in other wards the U.S. Panama, Costa Rica and Mexico can play in more heat than us and they fitter to booth?

Mexicans play in altitude that is difficult to breathe in normally with ease.  So yes they are fitter and easily so!  The US team has loads of preparation and can meet the coaches demands better than us.  They practice together often enough, take advantage of all FIFA dates on the calendar. And most play MLS so when their league is off Klinsmann has more access to them to develop them.  Better facilities, better equipment, better training regimen and frequency.  So yes they are fitter than us by a mile.  Watching Costa Rica live yesterday I will say yes they are fitter than us.  Panama I doh know enough about and they had the benefit of 2 extra days rest.  So yesterday they had a bit more to offer as far as fitness goes.
Post by: Controversial on July 20, 2015, 12:03:25 PM

Remember we are closer to the equator than New Jersey.. What was the other players excuse, when they sat our mexico? What excuse should I prepare myself for ?

KND singled out MLS and England, my response was to that.  But even if we took it a step further; how often do the pro league players play? More than once a week?  Which pro league matches does start 4:30 pm?  I doh know what anyone's "excuse" is and I doh care.  Before this tournament most recognized that Panama are ahead of us and that their football development in the last decade has taken them above us.  Now all of a sudden it seems everyone expected us to just walk over Panama.  I will repeat this "Panama eh no shit team"  Don't let their group results fool you. 

we have had national team matches at this time before my fellow supporter.. Sometimes even midday, check the records if you think I'm lying.. Panama has been playing better football than us because of our Ttfa problems and because they are playing more games than us, to be honest they are not playing inspiring football and I'm not impressed... For the record despite my thoughts I never said they were a walk over... But Trinidad make them look better than what they are, because they played garbage...

Mexico played run and gun football for 120 mins, how do you explain that? For me, heat was no factor... You have a mission and a goal... Whether it's hot or not, you have to have the mindset to go out there and win..
Post by: Controversial on July 20, 2015, 12:14:47 PM

Mexicans play in altitude that is difficult to breathe in normally with ease.  So yes they are fitter and easily so!  The US team has loads of preparation and can meet the coaches demands better than us.  They practice together often enough, take advantage of all FIFA dates on the calendar. And most play MLS so when their league is off Klinsmann has more access to them to develop them.  Better facilities, better equipment, better training regimen and frequency.  So yes they are fitter than us by a mile.  Watching Costa Rica live yesterday I will say yes they are fitter than us.  Panama I doh know enough about and they had the benefit of 2 extra days rest.  So yesterday they had a bit more to offer as far as fitness goes.

Not saying what you're saying is rubbish, because they are many valid points but it seems like Trinidad always has a plaster for everything.

So what do you attribute to Cyrus and his miss? I will place the blame on the ttfa as well for not preparing the team... They will shoulder some of this blame but players not being fit is also on the players..

No one is stopping them from training on their own to be a better player physically ..... This is international football and they will have to get accustom to the pace of the game at this level..

And they cannot rely on Hart to get them into game shape.. That to me is laziness and the players need to take the onus on themselves to get in shape and be able to run 120 like what is done in the German program and the Dutch program.. Did you see Levi Garcia and what the coach in holland said? They said he was fit and ready when he arrived.. Can that be said for these players?

So the Ttfa gets part of the blame of course and right so but so do the players, because they should be taking care of themselves and training on their own to take their game and careers to a higher level... Who's fault is that? The weather? 
Post by: kaliman2006 on July 20, 2015, 12:19:36 PM

f**ked up I tell you.

So Breds, none of our players fit then? Even the mls players? KJ played well.. Bakr and Cyrus had an extra day rest... So what is their excuse?

Most of them men born in Trinidad... All of a sudden heat is the factor.. When man drink rum the night before, that could dry you out the next day... I agree..

Not saying that they fete but they played like they did... Saw them play much better, yesterday they should have put it away.. SH did the best he can, they failed him yesterday and the fans who always supporting them whether they play like garbage or not..

The whole joke is I didn't even care about the Jordan match... But this one was more important than that Mexico game.. We play superior attacking football against Mexico and rubbish in our quarter final..

Yet I have to sit here and listen to some supporters telling me to accept that.. Can't do that.. As far as I am concerned KJ and Hart get top honours.. Everyone else failed.. Miserably..

To be fair, summer time in the NY/NJ area is a different kettle of fish to the heat in Trinidad and Tobago; take it from one who has lived in upstate NY where the weather was hot enough up there, never mind NYC and East Rutherford NJ (Where Met Life Stadium is located).

The continental seat can be quite suffocating and oppressive. One feels like a ham being baked in an oven in those parts.

So it is quite valid for our players to have felt the effects of the heat yesterday, especially after playing so many matches in a short space of time.

Buh say wha; go Reggae Boyz!

I know Jamaica is our rival and we goh take real ole' talk if Yard makes the final, but ah really CYAH stand the USA with its Johnny-come-lately arrogance with regards to the beautiful game
Post by: Controversial on July 20, 2015, 12:22:23 PM

f**ked up I tell you.

To be fair, summer time in the NY/NJ area is a different kettle of fish to the heat in Trinidad and Tobago; take it from one who has lived in upstate NY where the weather was hot enough up there, never mind NYC and East Rutherford NJ (Where Met Life Stadium is located).

The continental seat can be quite suffocating and oppressive. One feels like a ham being baked in an oven in those parts.

So it is quite valid for our players to have felt the effects of the heat yesterday, especially after playing so many matches in a short space of time.

Buh say wha; go Reggae Boyz!

I know Jamaica is our rival and we goh take real ole' talk if Yard makes the final, but ah really CYAH stand the USA with its Johnny-come-lately arrogance with regards to the beautiful game

I live in Toronto, it's no different to New York, maybe even hotter than New York because we are more inland.. So that is no excuse for the players...

Yard plays with more pride than talent, which gets them far, our players need a lesson in patriotism and pride for their nation..
Post by: Sando prince on July 20, 2015, 01:18:53 PM
keep giving them excuses

How many days it is over 97 degrees in chicago and what season is the MLS games played in.

How many games did panama play in 12 days.

imagine this is where we reach when a Trinidad team losing cause Sun to hot.
back in 1989 we set up game at 2:30 just so we have hot Sun advantage

we come full circle.

Pro league have no fitness standards
British league weather too cool

Well I guess it pays to be from Panama, them men running the in rain forest whole day so they can handle the heat.

what we men doing?

men in here only making excuses after excuses. This is the SAME type of reaction I seeing for YEARS in TnT football after we exit tournaments due to poor performances (Gold Cups and World Cup qualification). We play poorly in very important games. It still mind boggling men in here ready to accept what they saw yesterday against Panama as good football or the best we could have done. Why do we think like this? Maybe its psychological issues, because we a small nation with not a lot of people so our standards are lower
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 20, 2015, 01:30:12 PM
Contro u hadda be ah madman hoss  T. and NYC is no where near similar where heat and humidity is concerned  Doh try dat atall.

As for Cyrus he was about 10 or so minutes removed from having cramps that left him noticeably limping.  Why you think KJ attempted to change the order which the ref declined?

I agree that fitness is in part their responsibility.  However the hunger and the desire to be more fit is not likely to be motivated by their inability to succeed in the Gold Cup.  That desire can only be fed by personal ambition. Whether it has to do with fame, riches, or playing for the best clubs in the best leagues.  There is no way any of us can reasonably expect that these players will individually aim to improve themselves for the sake of international football especially with the support or lack thereof afforded to the program.

Of Course LG fit and ready, he getting a chance at a European club.  If he want to stay there he have to be ready.  But again the conditions under which he gets to display that readiness isn't on the pitch during his fourth game in 12 days in 97 degree temperature  (not even calculating what it really feels like with humidity).

To me I feel like is disingenuous to compare our players to the German national team whose players mostly play in the Bundesliga where the standard is leaps and bounds beyond where or players play with the exception of KJ
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 20, 2015, 01:35:19 PM
We played poorly against a team which hasn't been defeated yet in this Gold Cup by taking them the complete distance and only failing to capitalize with a lead in PKs.  So our entire showing at the GC is down the drain with our inability to beat Panama?  OK den!
Post by: Sando prince on July 20, 2015, 01:41:06 PM
We played poorly against a team which hasn't been defeated yet in this Gold Cup by taking them the complete distance and only failing to capitalize with a lead in PKs.  So our entire showing at the GC is down the drain with our inability to beat Panama?  OK den!

We played poorly and was lucky not to lose the game in regulation. Lack possession, long ball to Kenwyne on almost every play going forward was a failed tactic. No midfield presence to control the game. Panama created more scoring opportunities. We lacked communication at the back. Our defenders were scrambling for some parts of the game. Even Stevie Wonder can see we played poorly and didn't deserve to even reach penalties.
Post by: KND2 on July 20, 2015, 01:52:16 PM
MLS players play one game a week?

What about US open cup games
What about concacaf champions league
What out friendly games versus those european teams

Most of the time the players on average will play 2 games a week in MLS especailly during the summer.

Not to mention training is high intensity so it come like a game.

if you in that environment you have to be able to play at a hight level every 3-4 games without skipping a beat.

In the UK men conditioned to play at least 2 games a week when you take into account all the other tournaments involved.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 20, 2015, 02:09:45 PM

We played poorly and was lucky not to lose the game in regulation. Lack possession, long ball to Kenwyne on almost every play going forward was a failed tactic. No midfield presence to control the game. Panama created more scoring opportunities. We lacked communication at the back. Our defenders were scrambling for some parts of the game. Even Stevie Wonder can see we played poorly and didn't deserve to even reach penalties.

Football is a game of opportunity so deserve or not we managed to actually have a chance to win.  Apart from 2 great chances to kill the game how much more did Panama have?  They pressed high and forced us into errors and we indeed did not play our best game.  Yet we had a very good tournament overall that has illuminated many positives that we can work with.  So for me I will not condemn the players and staff over yesterday.  I will look at the tournament showing in general and assess them on that.  Oddly enough anyone I talk to that's not from Trini but has been watching has offered nothing but praise for the overall showing.  KJ is on everybody's lips.  But allyuh hear is like allyuh have a special latent hatred for these fellas that does block allyuh from seeing anything else but all the negatives.  Yet these are the players that we as fans demand the best from.  If you get their best 2 games and something off the third, the 2 best is out the window as usual.  What have you done for me lately because I do care about how high yuh had meh flying 3 days ago.  ::)

KND Most MLS tems not offering up their best players in no CCL so try yuh best.  For the most part MLS players are playing once a week with very few exceptions.  They certainly not playing no four games in 12 days ever!  In fact if they (MLS teams) could control it, the likes of Jones, Cato, Venega, Dempsey, etc. wouldn't be able to participate in no Gold Cup but they have no choice.

In the UK unless you on a team that playing CL or Europa there in no possible chance you play 4 games in 12 days.  KJ only been on one team that played Europa his whole Career and even then he didn't play all league and Europa games.  Allyuh could claim excuses as much as allyuh like.  Yet your classification of what's being said doesn't negate facts

Post by: dervaig on July 20, 2015, 02:34:54 PM
Good thread.

KJ when he was in the Prem, and now with Cardiff was told the
same thing, occupy the last defender. In the game yesterday,
there were 2 Panamanians shadowing him. Size does matter,
and he gotS size, which made them put 2 guys on him!

No matter how fit you are, 108 in NYC in July is probably as
oppressive as what Qatar will deliver in 2022, if they manage
to hold on to what they got. After coming off the high of the
Mex game, both an emotional and physical exertion high, these
guys did not have what it takes to go 120, and it showed. We
were DARN lucky to get to penalties, but could not bring home
the bacon.

This was a good tune up for WC qualifying. If this group of guys
can give the same effort every 90 minutes, like the Mex game,
AND Coach Hart doesn't bolt, Russia could be in our future.
Otherwise, it will be same old, same old......................
Post by: Fyzo10 on July 20, 2015, 03:13:03 PM
What Trini was missing from the Panama game-
1) Fitness
2) Possession

Seriously. I don't know if Hart told the boys at half time that they need to keep possession, but that's what they were suppose to do to beat that Panama side. Panama straight up dominated our half of the field seriously. We just sat back and wasted our energy defending when we supposed to conserve it for an attack. Trinidad is so dangerous with set pieces and crosses, yet we weren't able to take advantage of those plays because we barely had the ball. Jones is the finish man for our side but he's getting old. The boys better take advantage of his presence while he's here.

For us to do well in the WC qualification, everyone has to work on fitness during their club season, especially the wingers and fullbacks.

We have a great team though. I can see us doing well in the future with the likes of Joevin Jones, Molino, Cato, Bateau, Hyland, etc.
Post by: Controversial on July 20, 2015, 04:02:21 PM
Contro u hadda be ah madman hoss  T. and NYC is no where near similar where heat and humidity is concerned  Doh try dat atall.

As for Cyrus he was about 10 or so minutes removed from having cramps that left him noticeably limping.  Why you think KJ attempted to change the order which the ref declined?

I agree that fitness is in part their responsibility.  However the hunger and the desire to be more fit is not likely to be motivated by their inability to succeed in the Gold Cup.  That desire can only be fed by personal ambition. Whether it has to do with fame, riches, or playing for the best clubs in the best leagues.  There is no way any of us can reasonably expect that these players will individually aim to improve themselves for the sake of international football especially with the support or lack thereof afforded to the program.

Of Course LG fit and ready, he getting a chance at a European club.  If he want to stay there he have to be ready.  But again the conditions under which he gets to display that readiness isn't on the pitch during his fourth game in 12 days in 97 degree temperature  (not even calculating what it really feels like with humidity).

To me I feel like is disingenuous to compare our players to the German national team whose players mostly play in the Bundesliga where the standard is leaps and bounds beyond where or players play with the exception of KJ

At least improve your fitness for your career, club football if not international football.. Self improvement is a word that probably never floats around in these players minds.. When my cousins played in holland for the top clubs  they took upon themselves to train and improve in the off season, because they had a goal to play national football and shine.. What is the point of playing football if you have no aim or target? No love to be at your best or seize your full potential?

There has to be a standard to aim for, why not Germany, why is that so far fetched?

I can't blame the heat because whatever you face as a footballer you need to adapt and make the best of it..

Keep in mind, the wc is a tournament
Post by: Socapro on July 20, 2015, 06:22:34 PM
The things we need to work on if we want to be one of the top 3 teams in CONCACAF and to automatically qualify for the 2018 World Cup are:-

1. Player Fitness (ability to run for 90 minutes)

2. Possession (to help preserve energy so we can run more efficiently for 90 minutes). We also lose the ball to our opponents too regularly and easily on our Goal kicks (from keeper) and throw-ins (from players).

3. Better and more frequent crosses into the box for Kenwyne and other players to take advantage of against shorter teams.

4. Scoring from corners kicks and set pieces (the last goal against Mexico is an example of what we should be able to do more regularly even when missiles are being thrown on the pitch)

5. Taking penalty kicks under pressure

6. Regular games against quality opponents on all FIFA dates.

7. Coaching staff and players need to be paid properly and on time and to generally be better taken care of whenever they are representing T&T with our long term goals in mind.

Thanks to SH and his staff and our players for a great effort for this 2015 Gold Cup.

Now onto preparing for World Cup qualification and working on all the points listed above.   :beermug:
Post by: maxg on July 20, 2015, 09:21:42 PM
men could accept or not, stomp dey feet, drop the whole team, fire the coach, argue, have a pissing contest who is best supporter, rant & rave how much dey want..Fact is we Lorse, yuh think our boys don't care bout that lorse more than these ppl sittingon a couch and sippin a brew, or in stands bawling boo or ray...dey give up all the life to come and try an represent, some get thru, some get drop. regardless of the Jacks, issues (TTFF, TT Government, clubs) and critics..they running up and down always with a potential of losing their livelihood , not knowing, actually maybe knowing dey not getting nothing but buff..and many true true fans not disappointing..Mediocrity my mudda ass, go an train and show dem how nah...born & grown Trini to the Bone.. It's why the Athletes voice, "Me doh have allyuh to study"
 Great run guys..we will be better and stronger next time..for those that don't make it, thanks for your yeoman service

add: is one thing to have private discussions and personal opinions..but to bring here on the fan site.. when it have so much more important things to DO to help. well I tell u a some fans not easy..the best in the world
Post by: Flex on July 21, 2015, 02:05:44 AM
Fatigue no joke
T&T Express Reports.

STEPHEN HART, Trinidad and Tobago's senior men's national team head coach, believes that Panama benefited from getting two extra days' rest for their quarter-final match on Sunday at Met Life Stadium in the New York/New Jersey area.

T&T were back in action three days after a gruelling 4-4 draw with Mexico, while Panama had rested for five days. The Warriors also faced a wide range of conditions over three cities during group play: cold and windy Chicago; 40 degrees Phoenix, Arizona where they had to play in a full air-conditioned, enclosed stadium and also hot New Jersey, minus cooling. The teams played out a 120-minute 1-1 draw, before Panama advanced to the semi-finals 6-5 on kicks from the penalty mark.

“We were completely exhausted,” Hart said. “But, I have to give credit to my players. They gave me everything. I extracted every bit of juice out of that orange. At the end of the day penalties are a cruel way to go, but that is how the game ends.”

Hart added: “I think fatigue was a big factor. We couldn't get up and down the field as a unit and as the game went further and further, we just couldn't keep possession of the ball. We ran out of legs.”

Over the tournament, Hart felt his players had done well, given their under-preparation. Defensively he felt they were mainly solid, but need to possess the ball better.

Meanwhile, Panama's Colombian head coach Hernan Gomez described the level of Gold Cup competition as world class, but complained about the effects of long travel hours on teams. What would he change?

“The transportation,” Gomez said. “The amount spent on planes. But the competition is world class.”

Likewise, a couple of CONCACAF officials also spoke off the record, of the strenuous travel arrangement and long hours in airports, which like the teams, they also faced.

Post by: diamondtrim on July 21, 2015, 04:00:10 AM
Wow.....I have no problem admitting that I expected nothing from this TT team. 4 games into the Gold Cup and I had to eat humble pie.

Now the argument is about fitness? Really?

Is it an athletic crime to cramp up after chasing shadows for almost 2 hours?

If what I read is correct, footballers not supposed to get tired at all....especially playing in the hot sun. Why? Because they're footballers?

Fight up with one or two defenders for 2 mins and then lets discuss how not tired a player supposed to be.

Concentrate for 90+ mins, while chasing the ball and the game and then lets discuss how not tired a player should be.

When Ozil, Alexis and even Ronaldo cramps up thats ok because those guys are stars. Let Cyrus cramp up and its because he's not fit or serious about the sport.

Footballers aren't superheroes....hard game in hot sun and they will get tired.
Post by: Sando prince on July 21, 2015, 06:28:52 AM

Fitness is just one problem. We can point to many other problems but good thread from the original poster
Post by: Sam on July 21, 2015, 06:39:58 AM
If was me I woulda start this team.

Phillip
Joevin
Bateau
Abu Bakr
Cyrus
Winchester
Cummings
George
Boucaud
Cato
Jones

The team was tired and Hart know this thats why he went with a 451 formation.

Panama control de midfield and we chase de game and pay de price.

Cyrus, Abu Bakr and Boucaud was fresh, because they miss de last game.

Leave Williams on de bench, drop back Joevin in left back and bring in a extra experiece midfielder (Boucaud).

Winchester speed woulda kill Panama.

Even though Hyland played de tournament like a boss, leave him on the bench, to many tired players on the field, let Winchester or James start. Bring in Hyland if T&T need help after.

4 fresh players on de field woulda make a difference.

We try we best, so credit fr de players and Hart was great throughout de tournament, bu that Mexico game took a of from them fellas.

This is why 3/4 fresh players woulda been great.

Post by: Sando prince on July 21, 2015, 07:26:49 AM
Wow.....I have no problem admitting that I expected nothing from this TT team. 4 games into the Gold Cup and I had to eat humble pie.

If what I read is correct, footballers not supposed to get tired at all....especially playing in the hot sun. Why? Because they're footballers?

Fight up with one or two defenders for 2 mins and then lets discuss how not tired a player supposed to be.

Concentrate for 90+ mins, while chasing the ball and the game and then lets discuss how not tired a player should be.

When Ozil, Alexis and even Ronaldo cramps up thats ok because those guys are stars. Let Cyrus cramp up and its because he's not fit or serious about the sport.

the excuses are the "sun was too hot" and "we too tired from the Mexico game"  :D

Seriously this what I am reading this morning. We talking about a senior national team and these are the excuses for going out of a tournament on a piss poor performance. We were lucky to even reach penalties.
Post by: Controversial on July 21, 2015, 07:39:56 AM

the excuses are the "sun was too hot" and "we too tired from the Mexico game"  :D

Seriously this what I am reading this morning. We talking about a senior national team and these are the excuses for going out of a tournament on a piss poor performance. We were lucky to even reach penalties.

Well according to maxg if we criticize the team, we should suit up and try to make the team if we better  :D :bs:

I never knew constructive criticism is now taboo and politically incorrect on this board...
Post by: Sando prince on July 21, 2015, 08:47:48 AM
Maxg want us to be quiet and don't post any criticism because he believe our players are babies that will see criticism then be offended and discouraged lol

Smh what ah joke
Post by: Controversial on July 21, 2015, 09:32:22 AM
Maxg want us to be quiet and don't post any criticism because he believe our players are babies that will see criticism then be offended and discouraged lol

Smh what ah joke

I thought KJ say he don't care what age or how young the player is, once they step on that field, they need to be a "man". What happen with all that big man talk, It gone down the latrine or what?
Post by: maxg on July 21, 2015, 10:08:55 AM

Well according to maxg if we criticize the team, we should suit up and try to make the team if we better  :D :bs:

I never knew constructive criticism is now taboo and politically incorrect on this board...
according to maxg... I want allyuh to be quiet..i cyah even get my kids to be quiet,  I could ask or make allyuh big men be quiet..I don't want allyuh to criticize ?.. allyuh must be joking.. But if you come saying my team play shit or mediocre in this tournament, because of a reduced performance in their last knockout game..yuh don't know one fk about sports or competing at any level above highschool.. yuh could talk and be friend with who yuh want, yuh have no idea what that stratosphere  is like...yeah, I say that too..so  :bs:  ;D
Post by: Controversial on July 21, 2015, 10:25:19 AM

according to maxg... I want allyuh to be quiet..i cyah even get my kids to be quiet,  I could ask or make allyuh big men be quiet..I don't want allyuh to criticize ?.. allyuh must be joking.. But if you come saying my team play shit or mediocre in this tournament, because of a reduced performance in their last knockout game..yuh don't know one fk about sports or competing at any level above highschool.. yuh could talk and be friend with who yuh want, yuh have no idea what that stratosphere  is like...yeah, I say that too..so  :bs:  ;D

Whoa Tonto...

Sando and I talked about one game, not the entire tournament... That is misinterpreting what was said...
The team played rubbish in their last match... We were upset with the way we lost... Simple...
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 21, 2015, 10:30:05 AM
Whoa Tonto...

Sando and I talked about one game, not the entire tournament... That is misinterpreting what was said...
The team played rubbish in their last match... We were upset with the way we lost... Simple...

That is not how allyuh comin off doh!  Especially Sando.  Anytime anybody say anything positive it seem like he want to neutralize it with da mediocrity talk so it eh seem like is no one game atall but the team play in general that is being cited as substandard.
Post by: Controversial on July 21, 2015, 10:32:27 AM
Whoa Tonto...

That is not how allyuh comin off doh!  Especially Sando.  Anytime anybody say anything positive it seem like he want to neutralize it with da mediocrity talk so it eh seem like is no one game atall but the team play in general that is being cited as substandard.

I can't speak for Sando but my impression was the last game from his posts.. For me it was based on the last game...

You reach this far and play good football, to lose like that and worse yet, play a poor game of football in our most crucial game..

Didn't rub me right, still doesn't, I still seeing Cyrus miss and shaking my head..
Post by: maxg on July 21, 2015, 10:35:55 AM
so you mean the putting things in place and assistance being offered by letting them know of them being rubbish and mediocre, is based on ONE performance.. you know a lot of ppl, ask any successful one, how many failures, personal & public, they endure beforethey achieve success.. Men busting they gut, hobbling, crying like baby..some sit on bench throughout the whole tourney, some didn't even get  chosen to go...staff not getting proper remuneration, and your best analyses where they barely hold on, yes, outplayed, and lost on kicks...they hoping just to survive thru this day we having...and u come with they play rubbish...oh, they didn't know that...only u and Sando...right..thanks for pounding it thru our thick skulls..so what u gonna do about it now..or u gonna keep repeating the same mantra..Hare Hare  :-\
Post by: Controversial on July 21, 2015, 10:37:24 AM
Whoa Tonto...

I will personally apologize to the board and football team if you can find a post where I stated we played substandard football for the entire tournament.. I never said anything like that..

I addressed the last game and my displeasure... Anything else beyond that is a lie other posters trying to spin.. I'm not Bakes who does write something and go and edit it after because of its defamatory nature..
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 21, 2015, 10:45:07 AM
Whoa Tonto...

I will personally apologize to the board and football team if you can find a post where I stated we played substandard football for the entire tournament.. I never said anything like that..

I addressed the last game and my displeasure... Anything else beyond that is a lie other posters trying to spin.. I'm not Bakes who does write something and go and edit it after because of its defamatory nature..

Dan I just telling yuh how allyuh comin off.  Take it or leave it
Post by: lefty on July 21, 2015, 10:48:45 AM
Whoa Tonto...

this...even in d post dey was bitchin about, I posted d tourney stats in summary and they never address dat ...............AND it appeared that they dismiss d entire effort in d GC
Post by: Controversial on July 21, 2015, 10:52:23 AM
Whoa Tonto...

this...even in d post dey was bitchin about, I posted d tourney stats in summary and they never address dat ...............AND it appeared that they dismiss d entire effort in d GC

The web of lies you will spin to come across like a true supporter.. Lefty you missed your calling, you should run for office, it have a lot of other sociopaths like yourself who will welcome you with open arms..

I didn't dismiss de entire effort you liar... That fork tongue must be real hard to hide amongst men who believe...

Show me where I dismissed our entire effort for this tournament madussa? Prove me wrong.. Find that fabricated piece of rubbish you are propagating

You can't get away with that nonsense with me..

You never post any tourney stats for me to read, post them again let's see what the hell you are making a big fuss about...
Post by: fitzinho on July 21, 2015, 10:55:44 AM

Speculation is a hell of a thing. Why would these complete strangers lie??... Why would our players jeopardize their game??... A lot of unanswered questions, and hear say.
Post by: lefty on July 21, 2015, 10:58:13 AM
Whoa Tonto...

The web of lies you will spin to come across like a true supporter.. Lefty you missed your calling, you should run for office, it have a lot of other sociopaths like yourself who will welcome you with open arms..

I didn't dismiss de entire effort you liar... That fork tongue must be real hard to hide amongst men who believe...

Show me where I dismissed our entire effort for this tournament madussa? Prove me wrong.. Find that fabricated piece of rubbish you are propagating

You never post any tourney stats for me to read, post them again let's see what the hell you are making a big fuss about...

u need to get over yourself and stop being dishonest about yuh intent

but since yuh want to get technical

In four Gold Cup matches, T&T were bested by none of their opponents in open play. They beat Guatemala (3-1), Cuba (2-0) and drew with Mexico (4-4) and Panama (1-1). These are some of the same opponents the Soca Warriors will face when they enter the fourth (semi-final) round of CONCACAF qualifying for the 2018 World Cup in November.

a pity that people choose to label dat as mediocre .....Alyuh did good fellas.

and ....I yuh want to be yuh usual slimy self d edit was to to remove d remark  yuh panties get knot up for
Post by: Controversial on July 21, 2015, 11:07:16 AM
Whoa Tonto...

u need to get over yourself and stop being dishonest about yuh intent

Hear nah liar, God know what in my heart, I spoke about one game and not the entire tournament... Stop spreading lies madussa...

If you can't point it out, shut up and ride out... Because you're a liar that is trying to manipulate the situation to look big, when yuh small and small minded at that..
Post by: Controversial on July 21, 2015, 11:10:07 AM
Whoa Tonto...

Dan I just telling yuh how allyuh comin off.  Take it or leave it

Nah I coming off as being upset about one game... Check my posts after our other games.. There is no way you can say I coming off like that.. That's ridiculous and duplicitous

You know what thought make a man do?

I coming off like I upset about one game... How the hell does that translate into the entire tournament ..

That is borderline disingenuous Breddah..
Post by: fitzinho on July 21, 2015, 11:11:55 AM

Remember we are closer to the equator than New Jersey.. What was the other players excuse, when they sat out mexico? What excuse should I prepare myself for ?
So you're saying it is consistently 97°F with humidity making it feel like 102°F in Trinidad and Tobago? Nothing happens in a vacuum. Panama had 2 extra days off as a team as well. Not saying the boys are blameless, but to the point that they could have prepared better, I'm not so sure how.
Post by: Controversial on July 21, 2015, 11:14:58 AM

So you're saying it is consistently 97°F with humidity making it feel like 102°F in Trinidad and Tobago? Nothing happens in a vacuum. Panama had 2 extra days off as a team as well. Not saying the boys are blameless, but to the point that they could have prepared better, I'm not so sure how.

In terms of prep, that is all ttfa fault... Nothing to do with them..

But they played a bad game and throw away the game on penalties.. I pointed out that KJ played well and Hart was exemplary..

But you have compulsive liars like lefty that will fabricate how i stated we played bad all tournament but can't prove that..

TT has gotten to 90 and above and men played in that heat ... So I can't say heat was a major factor for the loss..
Post by: fitzinho on July 21, 2015, 11:18:50 AM

But they played a bad game and throw away the game on penalties.. I pointed out that KJ played well and Hart was exemplary..

But you have compulsive liars like lefty that will fabricate how i stated we played bad all tournament but can't prove that..

TT has gotten to 90 and above and men played in that heat ... So I can't say heat was a major factor for the loss..
Fair enough
Post by: lefty on July 21, 2015, 11:24:35 AM

But you have compulsive liars like lefty that will fabricate how i stated he played bad all tournament but can't prove that..

where yuh see I state u state anyting ....I said I posted stats in d comment alyuh bitchin about it was bold and in yuh face....right there and then u could have clarified yuh position........... u chose instead to go off on one of yuh usual my shit doh stink holier than though hissy fits

u for real
Post by: Controversial on July 21, 2015, 11:34:47 AM

But you have compulsive liars like lefty that will fabricate how i stated he played bad all tournament but can't prove that..

where yuh see I state u state anyting ....I said I posted stats in d comment alyuh bitchin about it was bold and in yuh face....right there and then u could have clarified yuh position........... u chose instead to go off on one of yuh usual my shit doh stink holier than though hissy fits

u for real

So let me get this right pathological liar...

You post stats which I can't even remember seeing or reading and because I didn't respond to these mysterious stats that you posted, I am now being labelled as a person who said we played rubbish all tournament?

Where is the logic and reasoning in your argument? Was I asked to respond to these mysterious stats that I asked you to post but you still haven't re posted them?

So you fabricate something and then try to lynch me with your fabricated story and post that wasn't even addressed to me..

St.annes calling yuh name...

Post by: lefty on July 21, 2015, 11:44:45 AM
ok alice ............it had a posting collision above so yuh didn't  see the edit here
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=64677.msg934376#msg934376
then follow d yellow brick road some more and
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=64685.msg934318#msg934318

and yes that bold part was always their....in case yuh want to contest dat too...yuh even quote it but your post conveniently gone now

Post by: Controversial on July 21, 2015, 11:55:59 AM
ok alice ............it had a posting collision above so yuh didn't  see the edit here
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=64677.msg934376#msg934376
then follow d yellow brick road some more and
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=64685.msg934318#msg934318

and yes that bold part was always their....in case yuh want to contest dat too...yuh even quote it but your post conveniently gone now

So you post the score lines and stated we playing them in our wcq  ::)

So the fact that I didn't answer you left you to believe that I was in disagreement with your statement and felt those were mediocre scorelines.

I see, so you are not only a liar but also presumptive... I encourage you to find where I said the team played mediocre in their 3 group games, you will have a hard time finding that because it doesn't exist..

I also didn't know a lack of response was equated to agreeing or disagreeing with a certain opinion.. I am not afraid to state my opinion, I don't need to lie on another poster to prove my point..

I know you need to use those tactics to try to win arguments but I don't need that.. I'm intelligent enough to win without lying..

Our team did well in the group stage... We played poorly in our quarter... Mediocre in our quarter , we let ourselves down when we could have played better, we threw away the game..

Furthermore, those aren't full stats, the way you made it sound, was like you posted player stats and performance stats beyond scorelines, blowing it up like you were sweating to produce some well researched documents

Take that to the bank... You can spin it any way you want to and lie but I never said we played bad in the entire tournament liar..

Post by: lefty on July 21, 2015, 12:03:30 PM
u need help mih boy........... :beermug: carry on