Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on November 09, 2015, 04:09:18 PM

Title: 2016/17 Hexagonal Series Thread.
Post by: Flex on November 09, 2015, 04:09:18 PM
Trinidad’s Hart: CONCACAF Hexagonal is the goal.
CONCACAF.COM.

With the goal clearly stated, Stephen Hart is priming Trinidad & Tobago to navigate an arduous CONCACAF qualifying campaign in order to obtain a treasured place at the 2018 FIFA World Cup table.

Four years removed from missing out on the six-team final round for Brazil 2014, the Soca Warriors will launch their Russian journey at Guatemala on November 13, before hosting the United States four days later.

“The objective is to get in the Hex,” Hart told CONCACAF.com, referring to what is the widely-known moniker for the final round of qualifying in CONCACAF. “If you do your business at home and hope to get some points on the road, you should be able to get in.”

After the failed qualifying attempt last time and before the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup, the Trinidad & Tobago Football Association hired Hart, who had previously managed Canada.

For next week’s encounters, captain and forward Kenwyne Jones headlines a 22-man squad, which will train in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, for four days, before traveling to Guatemala City.

“They (the Guatemalans) are very confident at home, we cannot be sloppy in our approach,” remarked Hart. “They have had tremendous success at home and we have to be cognizant of the fact that you are playing a team that at home has been difficult for anyone going in there.”

It won’t get any easier for the Trinidadians when the U.S. pays a visit to Hasely Crawford Stadium. Although the Americans are winless in five of their last six matches, including three straight losses, Hart isn’t letting those recent results dictate his approach to preparation.

“We will see a different United States team,” he expressed. “They will be a team that is completely different from what we have seen in the last few outings. However, we have to take advantage of the fact we are playing at home.”

Since taking charge of T&T more than two years ago, Hart has galvanized support from the local community with enterprising play and positive results, including two thrilling draws against Mexico during the last four months.

In the CONCACAF Gold Cup, Trinidad earned a Group C-clinching point thanks to Yohance Marshall’s goal late in stoppage time that made it 4-4. The sides then tied 3-3 in a neutral-site friendly on September 4.

Those impressive scorelines have inspired confidence heading into World Cup Qualifying, but Hart believes a measured, patient approach must be maintained.

“The main thing is not to panic with the opening two games because there is a huge break between these games in November and March,” the 55-year-old finished. “That’s the most important thing.”

Title: Re: 2016/17 Hexagonal Series Thread.
Post by: Sando prince on November 09, 2015, 04:35:35 PM
Boss does this mean the Concacaf WC qualifying thread is done?  :D
Post by: Flex on November 09, 2015, 04:39:06 PM
Boss does this mean the Concacaf WC qualifying thread is done?  :D

No, we will merge when the time is right.

Post by: grimm01 on November 13, 2015, 06:23:24 PM
Couldn't find the WC qualifying thread

Vincy 1 - US 0
Post by: dreamer on November 13, 2015, 06:55:35 PM
3-1 USA in 43 minute
Post by: grimm01 on November 13, 2015, 07:20:30 PM
It might get ugly for the Vincy Heat tonight. 4-1
Title: Hex here we come!
Post by: palos on September 02, 2016, 07:35:14 PM
Congrats to the team.

We should have won the match outright. We were REAL shaky in the end but the ultimate goal of reaching the HEX was achieved.

Now we could study alternate lineups against USA, look at who we playing in the Hex and when etc.

Good job guys.
Title: Re: Hex here we come!
Post by: Controversial on September 02, 2016, 07:37:04 PM

Very happy that the team played one of its worst matches and still drew it and could have won..

It shows how strong of a team we have... Congrats to the brothers..
Post by: Trin on September 02, 2016, 07:57:39 PM
Firstly glad we're in the hex  :beermug:

Secondly I've held my tongue on Cyrus, I've given him the benefit of the doubt but...... my God it was glaring tonight. Every single attack came on his side  :frustrated: It was rediculous. And when he went forward there was absolutely  no cover. Cato did not have a good game either btw. I honestly  would not have started either if I were hart... live and learn I guess but it seems we're taking very long to learn.
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 02, 2016, 07:59:12 PM
Yes. Great Independence gift.
Post by: Sando prince on September 02, 2016, 08:00:12 PM

Secondly I've held my tongue on Cyrus, I've given him the benefit of the doubt but...... my God it was glaring tonight. Every single attack came on his side  :frustrated: It was rediculous. And when he went forward there was absolutely  no cover. Cato did not have a good game either btw. I honestly  would not have started either if I were hart... live and learn I guess but it seems we're taking very long to learn.

Exactly! the problems we see in this game are the same ones we were seeing since the campaign started last year. Same defensive problems with the team, Cyrus playing shit once again, Cato run with the ball with his down and never up thus missing open players... same shit
Post by: lefty on September 02, 2016, 08:01:01 PM

for me cyrus is back up winger we need to find ah more reliable fullback for he
Post by: Big Magician on September 02, 2016, 08:13:54 PM
HEX
Post by: soccerman on September 02, 2016, 08:46:16 PM
Good post Palos, HEX here we come.
Post by: Socapro on September 02, 2016, 09:52:43 PM
WE inside!!

Congrats to our team for getting to the Hex with one game to spare!!  :beermug:
Post by: g on September 02, 2016, 10:06:45 PM
Sheldon Bateau is emerging as one of the best centre backs in concacaf
Post by: Cocorite on September 02, 2016, 10:39:34 PM
Sheldon Bateau is emerging as one of the best centre backs in concacaf

Ain't see the game yet, but Bateau is class. Future Captain.
Post by: weary1969 on September 02, 2016, 11:26:45 PM
Hex with a game to spare have to pinch myself. Agree this was the worse game we played.
Post by: Cocorite on September 03, 2016, 12:41:08 AM
Jus see de game. Mitchell also impressed. Great squad of fellas to groom for the Hex
Title: T&T earns CONCACAF Hexagonal berth.
Post by: Flex on September 03, 2016, 01:49:24 AM
T&T earns CONCACAF Hexagonal berth.
Concacaf.com.

Joevin Jones and Carlos Ruiz scored twice for their respective sides as Trinidad & Tobago advanced to the final round of CONCACAF qualifying for the 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifying, while 10-man Guatemala kept faint hope alive in a dramatic 2-2 draw on Friday.

Three minutes before Ruiz’s 87th-minute equalizer for Guatemala, teammate Cristian Jimenez was sent off at Hasely Crawford Stadium for pulling down Jones on a clear goal-scoring opportunity.

Had Jones completed the hat-trick, it would’ve sealed victory for the Soca Warriors (3W-2D-0L, 11 points) and eliminated the visiting Guatemalans (2-1-2, 7).

Instead, Ruiz pounced upon a rebound of Marco Pappa’s dipping effort to score his second goal of the evening and his third of the Russia 2018 campaign.

Guatemala still has a lot of work to do on the final day of Group C play Tuesday to have any hope of advancing. It has to defeat visiting St. Vincent & the Grenadines, while Trinidad & Tobago must beat the host United States (3-1-1, 10). Then goal difference will come into play with the U.S. currently holding a sizeable +13 to +1 advantage.

T&T can capture the group with a win or a draw.

After a promising opening for the Central Americans, Ruiz put Guatemala ahead in the 36th minute.

Jimenez provided the service, latching onto a pass down the right and sending in a first-time cross that skidded across a wet field and toward the back post. Ruiz slid to redirect it home from close range.

The Soca Warriors responded with more offensive pressure, twice coming close to scoring before Jones leveled things in first-half stoppage time.

On an odd-man break, Daneil Cyrus whipped in a cross from the right. Jones held his run to stay onside and met the service 10 yards from goal, where he sent a low finish between the legs of charging goalkeeper Paolo Motta.

Jones gave T&T the lead in the 62nd minute, getting free on the left side of the penalty area and cutting back to elude Jimenez, before poking a left-footed effort beyond Motta’s dive.

Four minutes later, T&T goalkeeper Marvin Phillips made a pair of acrobatic saves to keep his side in the lead. But 20 minutes after that, his failure to corral Pappa’s initial shot from near the edge of the penalty area gave Ruiz the room he needed for his second.

Results

Trinidad and Tobago  2  v  Guatemala  2
J.Jones 45    C.Ruiz 35
J.Jones 62    C.Ruiz 85

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago: 1.Marvin Phillip; 5.Daneil Cyrus, 4.Sheldon Bateau (Yellow 89), 12.Carlyle Mitchell, 17.Mekeil Williams (Yellow 12); 14.Andre Boucaud (19.Kevan George 66th), 8.Khaleem Hyland, 13.Cordell Cato, 10.Kevin Molino (16.Levi Garcia 68th), 3.Joevin Jones, 9.Kenwyne Jones (capt) (20.Trevin Caesar 85th).

Unused substitutes: 21.Adrian Foncette (GK), 22.Gregory Ranjitsingh (GK), 2.Aubrey David, 6.Radanfah Abu Bakr, 7.Hughtun Hector, 11.Shahdon Winchester, 15.Neveal Hackshaw, 18.Yohance Marshall, 23.Jomal Williams.

Coach: Stephen Hart.

Guatemala: 12.Paula Motta; 3.Christian Jimenez (Red 84), 4.Hamilton Lopez (Yellow 89), 5.Jefrey Payeras, 14.Rafael Morales (Yellow 73) (11.Victor Matta 81st); 22.Rodrigo Saravia, 8.Jean Marquez, 16.Marco Papa, 10.Jose Contreras (19.Jose Rosales 80th), 20.Carlos Ruiz (capt), 9.Gerson Tinoco (18.Mario Castellanos 76th).

Unused substitutes: 1.Ricardo Jerez (GK), 21.Jose Garcia (GK), 2.Wilson Lalin, 6.Carlos Mejia, 7.Jairo Arreola, 13.Eddy Aragon, 15.Luis Cardona, 17.Edi Guerra, 23.Jorge Aparicio.

Coach: Walter Claveri.

Referee: John Pitti (Panama).

Venue: Hasely Crawford Stadium.

(http://www.concacaf.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/FEAT-JoevinJones-090216vGuatemala.jpg)
Trinidad & Tobago's Joevin Jones (red jersey) scored two goals in a World Cup Qualifying draw with visiting Guatemala on September 2, 2016, in Port of Spain. (Photo: Caribbean Action Images)

Title: Re: T&T earns CONCACAF Hexagonal berth.
Post by: frico on September 03, 2016, 05:35:07 AM
Because of our Keeper's half hearted attempt to get to that cross which never looked as a threat everyone left it for Ruiz,I haven't seen the second goal but I read it was the keeper's fault.The keeper made an attempt to get the grounded cross but pulled back,dear oh dear,we like to give away things.
Post by: Sam on September 03, 2016, 06:22:16 AM
Marvin Phillip - 8, put dong some big saves, but he does catch he ass with crosses and he lil hesitant at times, but he did save we ass though. He need to talk to he defence more to.

Daneil Cyrus - 6, made some silly mistakes, but going forward he look decent, had a nice assist, dont trust him in de back though. Cant understand why Hart like this fella so much to start him infront of David in a important game.

Sheldon Bateau - 9, Big f00cking player.

Carlyle Mitchell - 7, handle he self decent.

Mekeil Williams - 7, decent, but he shoulda stop that man who cross led to Guatemala first goal.

Andre Boucaud - 6, had a decent game but coulda do more going forward. Still we best short range passer of de ball.

Khaleem Hyland - 7.5, played hard.

Cordell Cato - 6, love this fella but ah feel he coulda do more going forward.

Kevin Molino - 4, did nothing much, ah surprise Hart took so long to sub him.

Joevin Jones - 9.5, big f00cking player. He second goal was like a Dwarika type goal vs USA in de gold cup. Joevin does day dream sometimes doh and he does forget to help defend from de midfield, and he James Brown hairstyle making him look like kum kum from Barrackpore.

Kenwyne Jones - 6, played like de ole KJ at times, but he presence is needed.

Big up to Hartie, he need to wok on that defence though, because we allow two soft goals and we catching we ass to deal with tickie tackie passing football, especially dong de center.

We team fell asleep to fast in de game and allow Guatemala to come back into it, if we did score first we mighta lose de game because we cant protect a lead for shit and we play badly at home.

We does also play to careful and dont kill off teams when we have de chance, T&T dont make me feel comfortable doh matter who they playing.

We in big problems if we relying on Caesar to score goals for we.

We midfield was not functioning to good and it allow we defence to be under real pressure.

Post by: Deeks on September 03, 2016, 06:29:15 AM
Because of our Keeper's half hearted attempt to get to that cross which never looked as a threat everyone left it for Ruiz,I haven't seen the second goal but I read it was the keeper's fault.The keeper made an attempt to get the grounded cross but pulled back,dear oh dear,we like to give away things.

Frico, that keeper save our arse last night! I know allyuh ready to dump him but we were good for about 4. Yes the first goal was his fault, but it a defensive lapse, starting in the mid-field that allowed the pass to set up the goal. Despite JJ moments of brilliant, he and rest of midfielders made Ruiz look like a general. Hart have to figure out why our mid-field are so disjointed. Sorry, that is how I see it.
Post by: frico on September 03, 2016, 06:38:25 AM
Deeks I suppose we gotta show some gratitude to our keeper but,I didn't mean to discredit him at all. 
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 03, 2016, 07:01:18 AM
That's what happens when you put a bunch of players together who haven't played with each other in 6 months. If we got the Copa games, this would have been an easier game for us.

The Guatemalans played about 3 games together since March. In fact they played Panama about 2 weeks ago, so they were much more prepared for this game than we were. They did their homework as well, and it showed. Ruiz was certainly man of the match. His experience and leadership made it difficult for us to get comfortable. Guatemala is a good team. Definitely a formidable opponent.

I've been reading some articles and comments in the Guatemalan  media.. They are saying that 2016 is another year to add to the mis fortunes of 2005 and 2008. We have become a huge stumbling block towards their world cup qualifying attempts. That result last night is bound to leave an indelible imprint on the minds of the Guatemalan football ethos.
Title: Re: T&T earns CONCACAF Hexagonal berth
Post by: pull stones on September 03, 2016, 08:09:34 AM
First up thank you coach hart for your hard work and dedication. Boss coach.
Now on to the game. Is it just me or was Jovin jones way off side on that first goal?

And I never want to see caryle Mitchell starting over a healthy Abu bakar again, he is a poor reader of the game and make too many silly errors in the defensive third. Cordell Cato is another liability, this bloke loses the ball more than any other winger on the team, and he frequently makes very poor decisions and squander many scoring opportunities especially where a simple pass is all that's needed for a clear goal scoring opportunity.

He has a very bad habit of running down the flank like a crazy horse right in the middle of a huddle of opposing players creating turn over after turn over and this is unacceptable. We have the best header of the ball in concacaf yet there are so very few crosses from Cato to jones, how is that possible?

Last but not least, mr Daniel Cyrus. I can't believe the coach started him in this crucial game over david. this is another poor reader of the game and gives the ball away way too much with his erratic Hail Mary passes. On the second goal it was his poor marking of Ruiz that lead to the second goal. In my opinion these three guys should never start alongside each other again.

every thing else was a good effort and I applaud the team. Well done guys.  Now on to the next hurdle.  Good luck coach.

Post by: Trin on September 03, 2016, 08:12:52 AM
As others have said the sign of a good team is getting the result even when they don't play well. We had an off game. You could see the first half especially we were rusty. Much  better second half. Cato needs to look up when running at ppl. There were a few times he could have played men in to score.

I agree Cyrus was a liability. Thought Mitchell had a solid game.

Honestly the midfield played out as expected as Guatemala overloaded the middle and gave up the wings. This meant we needed better service from the wings which was why I was frustrated with Cato....
Post by: lefty on September 03, 2016, 08:25:37 AM
As others have said the sign of a good team is getting the result even when they don't play well. We had an off game. You could see the first half especially we were rusty. Much  better second half. Cato needs to look up when running at ppl. There were a few times he could have played men in to score.

Honestly the midfield played out as expected as Guatemala overloaded the middle and gave up the wings. This meant we needed better service from the wings which was why I was frustrated with Cato....

Cyrus should be a back up winger or even a starting one if d regular righty out, but nah he not no fullback
his assist on joevin first goal was nice though
Post by: pull stones on September 03, 2016, 08:28:18 AM

Cyrus should be a back up winger or even a starting one if d regular righty out, but nah he not no fullback
the problem with that notion is that cyrus is a poor dribbler of the ball, the main ingredient needed to be an efficient winger.
Post by: lefty on September 03, 2016, 08:40:01 AM

the problem with that notion is that cyrus is a poor dribbler of the ball, the main ingredient needed to be an efficient winger.
thats why I said back up....his pace and ok passing can more than compensate if work on his positioning....if yuh position yuhself to simple blow past defenders or run into gaps then dribbling becomes less of an issue...especially if he can release d ball early like yesterday......remember Abu bakr slow, but has good positioning reads the game well. is about figuring out yuh strengths and finding ah way to use them.
Post by: Tallman on September 03, 2016, 09:18:15 AM
WATCH: Post-match press conference with Head Coach Stephen Hart
https://www.youtube.com/v/Nl7Nev8_TgM

WATCH: Comments from midfielder Levi Garcia
https://www.youtube.com/v/975JQQQpEDY

WATCH: Comments from midfielder Andre Boucaud
https://www.youtube.com/v/6xH5Npx5tVk
Post by: Sando prince on September 03, 2016, 09:20:05 AM

^^ Listen to what Hart saying, we failed to take opportunities and disappointed Guatemala was allowed to get back in the game.
Post by: maxg on September 03, 2016, 10:34:22 AM
Everything Hart said, except KJ has to score(if once), whenever they ease up on him. He almost did, and really tried, but I felt he reacted, rather than prepared mentally for that one time. I'm certain doh, he does the job and will make it happen. This will then cause the opposition to spend even more time, bustin his rass, making our hungry youths even more dangerous. It coming KJ. U have to be like Ruiz, punish them when yuh ketch them slipping by yuh.  :cheers:
Post by: christiano on September 03, 2016, 10:35:52 AM
Remember Decades ago when we topped the group and ended up last in the Hex ? That was when changes were made with the staff and it upset the coaching team and players ...

We must guard against that ....
Post by: Sando prince on September 03, 2016, 12:14:53 PM
Hart said everything I am saying, the game was a disappointment despite the success of reaching the final stage.

We have to give credit to earlier games in the campaign for gaining the points necessary to reach the hex.
Post by: Flex on September 03, 2016, 03:14:45 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/dTS_tgPoD0I
Post by: Trini on September 03, 2016, 03:21:27 PM
If at the start of the semi-final round you had asked which teams would get tot he HEX, I wlda say:
Mex, USA, CR, Honduras, Trinidad, and Panama (with Jamaica an outside shot of displacing Panama).

I think the best 6 teams are in this final group. And that's good for the region.

It will be a dogfight, as it always is, but teams are getting better.

Since I know myself we fighting up with this Guatemala. Jamerson to Jones, we always seem to have their number. They must really hate us.

Reaching the HEX is an achievement, considering we didn't make the semi-final round for 2014 when Guyana beat us.

35 countries, final 6, I taking that and proud of the Warriors.

Now onto trying to make something special happen..

Post by: asylumseeker on September 03, 2016, 10:56:57 PM
Time to improve the quality of the pressers. Start by gehhin a mic on the media asking the questions. This should be a fundamental goal for the Hex home games.   

EDIT: Would not hurt to have the media personnel identify who they are and who they represent.
Post by: Tallman on September 04, 2016, 07:24:28 AM
https://www.youtube.com/v/qOMFlQdYzbc
Post by: Trini on September 04, 2016, 11:04:46 AM
It gives me great happiness to work out these tentative Hexagonal schedules below....

If we lose to the USA and finish second in Group C,

Team 1: C1 (United States)
Team 2: B2 (Panama)
Team 3: A2 (Honduras)
Team 4: B1 (Costa Rica,)
Team 5: A1 (Mexico)
Team 6: C2 (Trinidad and Tobago,)

Matchday 1: November 2016
TT vs. costa Rica

Matchday 2: November 2016
Honduras vs TT

Matchday 3: March 2017
TT vs PAN,

Matchday 4: March 2017
TT  vs. Mexico

Matchday 5: June 2017
USA vs TT,

Matchday 6: June 2017
Costa Rica vs TT

Matchday 7: August 2017
TT vs Honduras

Matchday 8: September 2017
Panama vs TT,

Matchday 9: October 2017
Mexico vs. TT

Matchday 10: October 2017
TT vs USA,

……………………

If we avoid defeat vs the USA and win group C,

Team 1: C1 (Trinidad and Tobago)
Team 6: C2 (USA)

TT vs Mexico

Costa Rica vs TT

TT vs Honduras

Panama vs TT

TT vs USA

Mexico vs TT

TT vs Costa Rica

Honduras vs TT

TT vs Panama

USA vs TT
Post by: Socapro on September 04, 2016, 03:38:49 PM
It gives me great happiness to work out these tentative Hexagonal schedules below....

If we lose to the USA and finish second in Group C,

Team 1: C1 (United States)
Team 6: C2 (Trinidad and Tobago,)

TT vs. costa Rica

Honduras vs TT

TT vs PAN,

TT  vs. Mexico

USA vs TT,

Costa Rica vs TT

TT vs Honduras

Panama vs TT,

Mexico vs. TT

TT vs USA,

……………………

If we avoid defeat vs the USA and win group C,

Team 1: C1 (Trinidad and Tobago)
Team 6: C2 (USA)

TT vs Mexico

Costa Rica vs TT

TT vs Honduras

Panama vs TT

TT vs USA

Mexico vs TT

TT vs Costa Rica

Honduras vs TT

TT vs Panama

USA vs TT

Does this mean we play our first Hex match at home whether we lose, draw or win against USA on Tuesday?
Are you absolutely sure that whatever the outcome on Tuesday we will play our first Hex game at home?  :thinking:
Post by: Peong on September 04, 2016, 05:31:24 PM
Socapro he's right according to this.

http://mobile.concacaf.com/article/official-draw-confirms-positions-and-match-ups-for-the-final-round-of-concacaf-qualifying-for-fifa-world-cup-russia-2018
Post by: Sando prince on September 04, 2016, 07:30:17 PM

T&T targets Group C title

http://www.concacaf.com/article/tt-targets-group-c-title
Post by: Socapro on September 05, 2016, 12:18:12 AM

http://mobile.concacaf.com/article/official-draw-confirms-positions-and-match-ups-for-the-final-round-of-concacaf-qualifying-for-fifa-world-cup-russia-2018

Ok cool.

So other than bragging rights and keeping positive momentum there are no extra benefits from us beating the USA on Tuesday.

We start our first Hex game at home regardless of outcome of game on Tuesday.

Interesting!

The T&T public better learn between now and the start of the Hex how to be an effective 12th man to help give their team a home game advantage. Currently T&T seems to be the only team in CONCACAF who's fans don't help to give their team a home advantage and most of the time we seem to play better away from home. Lets hope this changes during our WC qualification campaign from the Hex.
Post by: g on September 05, 2016, 06:34:05 AM

Ok cool.

So other than bragging rights and keeping positive momentum there are no extra benefits from us beating the USA on Tuesday.

We start our first Hex game at home regardless of outcome of game on Tuesday.

Interesting!

The T&T public better learn between now and the start of the Hex how to be an effective 12th man to help give their team a home game advantage. Currently T&T seems to be the only team in CONCACAF who's fans don't help to give their team a home advantage and most of the time we seem to play better away from home. Lets hope this changes during our WC qualification campaign from the Hex.

I think the public response has been good. The skipper literally called out the public on radio saying "The cost of a ticket is less than a boat ride", the stadium was about 90% full on Friday and even the Vincy and US games were about 80-85% full and it was more noisy than usual. There was the obligatory Mexican wave in effect.

Soca Warriors represents something positive in a T&T society that is desperately looking to hold on to something uplifting amidst the many negatives plaguing the national psyche.
Post by: g on September 05, 2016, 06:51:09 AM
What are the thoughts on having 1 Hex game in Tobago? I not sure what the current state of the DY stadium is but I remember we played Costa Rica in a qualifier there. It was well attended. Would it be an advantage or disadvantage?

1 out of 5 in Tobago?
Post by: Peong on September 05, 2016, 10:11:44 AM
Both scenarios have us playing USA last but if we come 2nd in group C we play them at home, while 1st place sees us playing them in the US.
Hmm I think I rather end the round at home in a noisy hasely crawford.
Post by: Sando prince on September 05, 2016, 10:22:27 AM
ok people the last three games we played at home, I repeat last three games we played at home have had great turn outs from the public. More than 80% of the HCS full! So no need to worry about T&T coming out to support our team.
Post by: Adam Lake on September 05, 2016, 11:34:09 AM
ok people the last three games we played at home, I repeat last three games we played at home have had great turn outs from the public. More than 80% of the HCS full! So no need to worry about T&T coming out to support our team.

Agreed, we have the public support...

But my Issue is not with the numbers, is what we do when we inside the stadium that counts.... We need to be more bacchanalish, gimme a chance and I woulda remove every blasted seat in UC and make people stand up whole game... More Vibes Needed!

Also the TTFA or Vendors better sort out the liquor license in time for Hex and not have a repeat repeat of the madness on Friday. Cuz the more man drink the more noise they make!  ;D :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Sando prince on September 05, 2016, 06:36:59 PM

Agreed, we have the public support...

But my Issue is not with the numbers, is what we do when we inside the stadium that counts.... We need to be more bacchanalish, gimme a chance and I woulda remove every blasted seat in UC and make people stand up whole game... More Vibes Needed!

Also the TTFA or Vendors better sort out the liquor license in time for Hex and not have a repeat repeat of the madness on Friday. Cuz the more man drink the more noise they make!  ;D :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

Years now people have been saying this eh. We as fans are not loud enough and not vocal enough in our stadium. We can be a stronger 12th man for our team
Title: Russia—here come the Soca Warriors
Post by: Tallman on September 21, 2016, 06:59:59 AM
Russia—here come the Soca Warriors
By Andre Baptiste (T&T Guardian)

T&T’s Soca Warriors have their destiny in their own hands, or should we say in their boots in the coming 12 months.

After a draw with Guatemala and a loss to the USA, the schedule of matches ahead from November 11, 2016 to October 10, 2017 for the Warriors is fixed.

There are some interesting permutations, the most noteworthy being the fact that three of our first four matches are at home. This means that the Hasely Crawford Stadium must become a fortress from this moment, where our players will need the assistance of 25,000 fans to make it as uncomfortable as possible for our opponents, and inspire them to the World Cup for the second time this century.

If we can capture at least seven (7) points from these three encounters, it will be a wonderful kick start to the campaign.

Our first match is against 2014 World Cup quarterfinalists Costa Rica on Friday, November 11, and we must be at our best in all areas to stand any chance of winning that encounter and capturing all three points.

Costa Rica qualified very early but looked vulnerable when they played away to Caribbean neighbours Jamaica. This suggests their unfamiliarity with the conditions, the surface and the type of aggressive football which the Reggae Boys played.

This is something which coach Stephen Hart must take note of and capitilise on. With a full stadium and an aggressive T&T Warriors, I feel certain we can kick start the campiagn with three points.

Our next match is away to Honduras four days later on November 15 (a good sign as this is the date 11 years ago when Dennis Lawrence headed the winner for T&T in Bahrain to put the Warriors on a flight to the World Cup finals in Germany 2006).  This is going to be a difficult encounter as Honduras has always proven to be a difficult venue for T&T to get a result. The Honduras authorities ensure that not only the away team, but the away fans and away media suffer in everything before a match. It is an area that our Football Association must  be ready for and make the necessary arrangements to overcome as early as possible. If we can leave Honduras with a point, this will inject positive vibes and leave the Warriors upbeat for the rest of the campaign.

The Soca Warriors will next host Panama on March 24, at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, and given our history with this team, we have to ensure that we use the home support and surface to its full potential and put Panama on the back foot.

Their football has improved significantly and they will be ready for a battle but there must be a definite plan and objective to ensure that the Warriors break their rhythm.

Again home support is crucial. We should have a capacity crowd at the Stadium to throw behind the Warriors. Red and Ready.

Four days later, on March 28, our opponents will be familiar foes and perhaps the powerhouse team,  Mexico, who in recent matches have struggled to defeat T&T, with meetings ending in entertaining draws.

This will be another crucial match for both teams and we should have a good idea of how each team in the hex has been performing by this time since points on the table will be known.

But we have beaten the Mexicans at this venue before and there is no doubt that we have the quality of players to match them on this occasion.

If we are to reach Russia, beating Mexico will have to be on the cards as this could give the world an indication of our worth as it relates to the world stage.

By the end of our first four matches, anything less than eight points will not be good. Nine or ten points must be our minimum target at this stage. If we do better than that and earn 11 or 12 points, that will be super.

But we will be in a definite position, whatever points we have, to guage whether or not this team will be on the flight to Russia.

We are aiming for a top three out of the six teams that will gain us automatic qualification for Russia 2018.

Fourth?

We will be back in familiar territory ala Bahrain 2005.

Fifth and sixth. We just were not good enough.

Which will it be?

The optimist in me says Russia here we come. One, two or three.
Post by: Flex on November 11, 2016, 03:48:39 PM
Pulisic can provide U.S. X-Factor in World Cup qualifying Hexagonal
BY JEFF CARLISLE (ESPN Soccernet).

World Cup qualifying began in CONCACAF 17 months ago when the U.S. Virgin Islands defeated Barbados 1-0. Four rounds and 81 games later, 29 teams have been eliminated, leaving six countries to contest the final round.

The format of the Hexagonal is forgiving to say the least. (Find the full Hex schedule here.) The top three finishers qualify automatically for Russia 2018 while the fourth-place team will take on the fifth-place side from the Asia Football Confederation in a playoff to help fill out the tournament's qualifiers. Yet even for regional powers like Mexico and the U.S., there are bound to be more than a few detours along the way and devastation for those who miss out.

With that in mind, here's a brief rundown of the countries that have made it this far.

U.S.

The U.S. has recovered well from the disappointment that was the 2015 Gold Cup, when it was bounced by Jamaica in the semifinals, and with the help of a semifinal appearance at the Copa America, Jurgen Klinsmann's side appears to be gelling at the right time. The defense, led by Geoff Cameron and John Brooks, looks solid. The midfield balance, with Michael Bradley now in a holding role, has improved. And in Christian Pulisic, the U.S. has an up-and-coming player who could be a mainstay for years to come. About the only concern for coach Klinsmann is the health of some key performers like Clint Dempsey and Jermaine Jones, but so far, the U.S. has weathered those absences.

Key player: Jozy Altidore

It's easy to forget that Altidore's goals propelled the U.S. through qualification for the 2014 World Cup, and he could do so again now that his hamstring injuries appear to be a thing of the past. His ability to play with his back to goal makes him a big part of the U.S. attack.

X-Factor: Christian Pulisic

Pulisic's creativity and vision give the U.S. the kind of attacking weapon it has lacked in recent years, and while he is just 17, he already looks like a veteran out there.

Mexico

Turmoil always seems to find El Tri, and heading into the Hex, little has changed. Manager Juan Carlos Osorio has lost just once in his 13 games in charge, and the team cruised through the semifinal round of qualifying. But the lone defeat was a whopper, a 7-0 hammering at the hands of Chile in the quarterfinals of Copa America. Combined with the aforementioned draw against Honduras, Osorio finds himself in a vulnerable position. Mexico is still as talented a team as there is in the Hex, but facing -- and handling -- external pressures remains its biggest challenge.

Key player: Hector Herrera

The Porto captain was among those responsible for the disaster against Chile at the Copa and it's imperative that he shakes off that disappointment. His two-way presence in midfield makes him a vital piece for Osorio and El Tri.

X-Factor: Rafa Marquez

El Tri just can't quit Rafa. While Marquez has lost a step, his leadership remains invaluable, and no other El Tri player can organize the team's defense like he can. The question is, can he hold up physically?

Costa Rica

Recapturing the form that took the Ticos to the quarterfinals of the 2014 World Cup hasn't been easy, especially after manager Jose Luis Pinto resigned and took up the reins for Honduras. Paulo Wanchope was forced to step down after being involved in a scuffle with a match steward during a U23 game against Panama. But Oscar Ramirez has provided some stability -- a group stage exit at the Copa America Centenario notwithstanding -- and Costa Rica went on to take 16 out of a possible 18 points in the semifinal round. The Estadio Nacional remains a formidable venue, with the Ticos having lost just one World Cup qualifier (against Mexico) since it opened in 2011.

Key player: Celso Borges

Bryan Ruiz may get many of the accolades, but Borges is still the hub through which much of the Costa Rica attack runs. He puts in plenty of work on the defensive side of the ball as well, and at 28, the Deportivo La Coruna man is at operating at his peak.

X-Factor: Joel Campbell

The perpetually on-loan Arsenal striker remains a critical piece of the Ticos' success due to his mobility, power and finishing. Campbell has been sent to Portuguese side Sporting CP this season and Ramirez's hope is that a steady dose of playing time there will keep the forward sharp.

Honduras

After leading Costa Rica to World Cup success in 2014, Jorge Luis Pinto has replicated his approach with Los Catrachos, forging a team that is disciplined defensively and quick on the break. The transition to Pinto's style has had its ups and downs, however. Honduras endured a dreadful 2015 Gold Cup, a showing that saw it fail to qualify for the Copa America Centenario. But Honduras recorded a rugged 0-0 draw against Mexico in the Estadio Azteca on Tuesday night to secure passage into the Hex. A new crop of attacking players is also emerging and Honduras' run to the semifinals of the Olympic soccer tournament could be a harbinger of things to come.

Key player: Maynor Figueroa

Pinto's emphasis on defensive organization requires experienced heads at the back and Figueroa fits the bill, with over 130 caps for the national team. The FC Dallas defender has been a constant presence for Pinto even as the manager has switched between four and five-defender alignments.

X-Factor: Alberth Elis

U.S. fans will recall that it was Elis' two goals that helped eliminate the U.S. from Olympic qualifying, and the Monterrey attacker now represents part of the next wave of Honduran players. In a team that might find goals hard to come by, Elis will need to deliver.

Panama

After letting a playoff spot slip through their fingers on the last day of qualifying for the 2014 World Cup, the Canaleros are determined to move on from that heartbreak. In Hernan Dario Gomez, Panama has an experienced manager at the helm, one who led it to a third-place finish at the 2015 Gold Cup. While Panama was dealt some harsh lessons at the Copa, it navigated a tricky qualifying group, dispatching Jamaica along the way.

Key player: Gabriel Gomez

Gomez's experience and physicality make him a mainstay in the Panamanian midfield. He's also a favorite of Hernan Dario Gomez, who spoke recently of how indispensable the 32-year-old is to this team.

X-Factor: Roman Torres

The Seattle Sounders defender missed all of the semifinal round of qualifying due to a torn ACL, but Torres has been cleared to return to his club, and his play alongside captain Felipe Baloy could help a solidify a Panama defense that will need to be at its best in order for Los Canaleros to qualify.

Trinidad & Tobago

After failing in the preliminary round during qualification for the 2014 World Cup, the Soca Warriors have bounced back nicely under manager Stephen Hart. T&T has shown it is more than willing to play the region's powerhouses straight up, and they have given Mexico a hard time in particular. At the moment, T&T is a team that looks suspect in the back, a concern for Hart as he prepares for the Hex.

Key player: Kenwyne Jones

T&T is going to need to score goals, lots of them, in order to qualify, and Jones -- recently signed by new MLS side Atlanta United -- remains one of the more lethal strikers in the region.

X-Factor: Levi Garcia

T&T seems to have no shortage of pacy players capable of getting into the attack, but they have high hopes for the 18-year-old, who currently plays for Dutch side AZ. Garcia could provide a valuable additional scoring option to the likes of Kenwyne Jones, Joevin Jones and Kevin Molino.

Five key games

1. U.S. vs. Mexico, Nov. 11, 2016

The first day of the Hexagonal is witness to a titanic clash between the region's two heavyweights in a venue -- Crew Stadium -- where the U.S. has historically fared well. The game starts a brutal stretch for El Tri that sees it play three of its first four on the road.

2. Costa Rica vs. U.S., Nov. 15, 2016

For all that's been written about the U.S. team's struggles in Mexico, Costa Rica has proved to be a brutal trip. The U.S. is 0-8-2 all-time in Costa Rica.

3. Mexico vs. Honduras, June 9, 2017

During the 2014 World Cup cycle, Honduras handed El Tri just its second World Cup qualifying defeat at home in 78 games. After recently tying Mexico at the famed venue, Honduras will be a difficult opponent indeed for El Tri.

4. Honduras vs. Costa Rica, March 28, 2017

Honduras and Costa Rica have often proved themselves to be the equal of Mexico and the U.S., but if the form book holds, they will likely be battling for the third and final automatic qualifying spot. That makes this encounter critical for both teams.

5. Panama vs. Costa Rica, Oct. 10, 2017

A defeat to the U.S. on the last day of 2014 qualifying dealt Panama's World Cup hopes a fatal blow. Panama will face the Ticos on the last day of qualifying and will hope to banish that memory once and for all.

Post by: soccerman on November 15, 2016, 09:59:00 PM
We're in 5th place after 2 games
Post by: che on November 15, 2016, 10:32:13 PM
We're in 5th place after 2 games

We moving in the right direction. We where last after 1 game.
Post by: soccerman on November 17, 2016, 10:12:57 PM
Updated SPI World Cup projections:

99% Mexico
93% Costa Rica
60% United States
52% Panama
29% Honduras
6% T&T

— Paul Carr (@PCarrESPN) November 16, 2016
Title: The Hex is broken. For a fix, CONCACAF should look to UEFA
Post by: Tallman on November 18, 2016, 06:07:44 AM
The Hex is broken. For a fix, CONCACAF should look to UEFA
By Terrance F. Ross (theguardian.com)

Two games into the Hexagonal and USA are rooted to the bottom of the table. The 1-2 loss to Mexico and the 0-4 drubbing away to Costa Rica has left US soccer in need of some serious soul-searching, and Jürgen Klinsmann has again found himself on the chopping block.

Yet despite their poor start, USA are still odds-on to make it to the 2018 World Cup – an indictment on a qualification system that is not only outdated, but serves the confederation’s big teams in a disproportionate way.

Consider this: we’re 570 days away from the opening match in Russia, and 82% of Concacaf’s teams have already been eliminated. It’s a point not lost on Victor Montagliani, the confederation’s president, who derided the qualifying system earlier this year. “Something needs to change because you can’t have 85% of your members who are on the outside looking in two years before the World Cup,” Montagliani said.

The first seven Concacaf teams were eliminated in March 2015. And while the likes of the Cayman Islands, Montserrat and the US Virgin Islands are unlikely to become world-beaters anytime soon, the winner-take-all early rounds of qualifying, where a four-year project can come down to a home and away tie three years before the actual competition, is more than a tad harsh.

The plight of the minnows is probably not even the worst of it. Those most affected are the teams just outside the Hex, the ones on the cusp that would certainly benefit from a more inclusive system. The likes of Canada, Haiti, Jamaica and Guatemala – teams that can be formidable on their day. These teams were all eliminated this past summer after the second phase of qualifying. What are they supposed to do now?

Concacaf in its current form has become a top-heavy feedback loop. Yes, the likes of the US, Mexico and Costa Rica deserve their positions at the top of the region but the system – which explicitly states on its site that it aims to: “Develop, promote and manage football throughout the region with integrity, transparency, and passion in order to inspire participation in the game” – isn’t doing that.

In its current iteration, the perennial Hex teams – only 10 teams have qualified for this final stage since 1998 – reap the rewards both on and off the field. Everything is concentrated at the top. The minnows of the federation are forced to scrap in the prelim stages with a sliver of hope that they would get any further.

Here’s how the loop functions: the extra competitive matches mean the Hex’s six teams are likely to get a favorable seeding when qualifying starts again two years later. For the Cayman Islands or Suriname, for example, it would take a few World Cup cycles of consistent success and a healthy dose of luck to get a decent enough seeding to avoid being knocked out a full three years ahead. “Caribbean countries have problems climbing the Fifa rankings, just because we are not able to play as many international games as you want to,” Suriname soccer president John Krishnadath told the Associated Press.

For an real-world example of how this could work, look at Uefa. Their expanded qualifying system has been viewed as a resounding success. The likes of Albania, Wales and Iceland benefited from an expanded system that allowed them to play against tougher competition consistently. Wales and Northern Ireland finished second-bottom of their 2014 qualifying groups, yet bounced back with impressive runs in the European Championships this year.

And Iceland, a nation of only 325,000 people that has climbed over 100 spots in the Fifa ranking in three years. Iceland, of course, invested heavily in their domestic football, but without the prospect of consistent competition they would have stagnated.

Solely based on population size alone – for comparison, Trinidad & Tobago has 1.3 million people – Iceland has no business appearing at major tournaments, far less doing well. But Europe’s approach to qualifying means that every two years major stars head to Reykjavík, drawing attention and sponsorship dollars. Over time, it all adds up.

This six-team system in Concacafalso encourages complacency: with 3.5 spots available, there isn’t a final round in qualifying that offers such fantastic odds for success. Despite the USA’s horrendous start, it would be a shock if they didn’t qualify. Look no further than Mexico’s performance in the last cycle – winning just two of 10 matches in the Hex was enough for El Tri to secure a playoff spot and a berth in the final tournament.

One possible proposal would be to extend the hexagonal to an octagonal: the top teams would still make the final round, but we’d see more turnover in those 6-8 positions, where teams can truly begin to make the leap. From a logistical standpoint, having more teams involved at the final stage means more teams gaining ranking points in competitive fixtures later in the cycle as well.

Having three groups of six as the final round could work, with the winner of each group and the best third place finisher going to a playoff. In this scenario we do lose the big top-heavy fixtures as the likes of USA, Mexico and Costa Rica are likely to be separated, but over time the teams outside of the top handful are going to get stronger and present a tougher challenge.

Another solution would be to allow the elites the prospect of increased competition without compromising things for the other teams. Concacaf and Conmebol have been flirting with each other for years and the rousing success of the Copa America Centenario could be a proxy for more things to come. A full merger would likely be far too complicated, but a partial merger could offer some interesting solutions.

How about Mexico, USA and Costa Rica moving to Conmebol? In this scenario, two qualification spots could move there, to make 6.5 spots for 13 teams. Concacaf would still retain 1.5 spots, but it would result in far more parity, and upward mobility for the smaller nations (and more meaningful games).

But Concacaf should live up to its credo, not cut and run. In addition, without Mexico and USA, Concacaf would become an afterthought at a time where the region has made massive strides on the world stage, considering their success at the 2014 World Cup.

A few days ago Thomas Müller came under fire for his comments after Germany’s 8-0 win over San Marino. The Bayern Munich star said that “matches like the one against San Marino have nothing to do with professional football.” The backlash was swift and Muller was given a full dressing down—and a 10-point manifesto to boot – by San Marino press officer, Alan Gasperoni.

Point six in his Müller manifesto: “It was helpful to your federation (and to ours too) to earn image rights money with which they, in addition to pay you for the trouble, can build structure for the kids in your country, football academies, safer stadiums. Our federation will build a new field in an isolated little town called Acquaviva. You could have built it with six months of your salary; we will with the money from a 90-minute-match. Not bad, is it?”

Concacaf doesn’t have to go all-in on either approach, but by deciding which side they want to be on, they could make the system fairer, and better, for everyone involved.
Post by: g on November 18, 2016, 06:47:14 AM
I like the 2 groups of 6 which will be 12 teams. 3 groups of 6 may be too diluted in terms of quality.

Top team from each group automatically qualify
Second team from each group enter playoff
Winner of playoff automatically qualify
Loser enters playoff for the .5 spot.

That will allow for the top 12 teams to be alive through till end of qualifying.
Possible pool

1. Mexico
2. Costa Rica
3. USA
4. Honduras
5. Panama
6. T&T
7. Guatemala
8. Jamaica
9. Haiti
10. Canada
11 and 12. St Vincent/St Kitts/Antigua/Cuba/Barbados/Grenada/Guyana/El Salvador
Post by: Tallman on November 29, 2016, 12:18:11 PM
WATCH: Stern John discusses World Cup Qualification and more!

https://www.youtube.com/v/ifPYnKZ_UU0
Post by: Dutty Love on November 29, 2016, 03:20:09 PM
I like the 2 groups of 6 which will be 12 teams. 3 groups of 6 may be too diluted in terms of quality.

That will allow for the top 12 teams to be alive through till end of qualifying.
Possible pool

1. Mexico
2. Costa Rica
3. USA
4. Honduras
5. Panama
6. T&T
7. Guatemala
8. Jamaica
9. Haiti
10. Canada

El Salvador doesn't belong in that group. They are Guatemala level.
Post by: gawd on pitch on November 29, 2016, 03:30:35 PM

Possible pool

1. Mexico
2. Costa Rica
3. USA
4. Honduras
5. Panama
6. T&T
7. Guatemala
8. Jamaica
9. Haiti
10. Canada

El Salvador doesn't belong in that group. They are Guatemala level.

Same with Barbados. They more in the Dominica, DR, St Lucia, Cayman Islands, USVI and Puerto Rico category.
Post by: Flex on January 06, 2017, 01:15:36 PM
U.S. MEN’S NATIONAL TEAM JANUARY CAMP ROSTER

Goalkeepers: David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Stefan Frei (Seattle Sounders FC), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), Luis Robles (New York Red Bulls).

Defenders: DaMarcus Beasley (unattached), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Greg Garza (Atlanta United FC), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Taylor Kemp (D.C. United), Chad Marshall (Seattle Sounders FC), Keegan Rosenberry (Philadelphia Union), Walker Zimmerman (FC Dallas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City).

Midfielders: Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Jermaine Jones (unattached), Sacha Kljestan (New York Red Bulls), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy), Kekuta Manneh (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Dax McCarty (New York Red Bulls), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Chris Pontius (Philadelphia Union), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC).

Forwards: Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy).

Post by: palos on January 06, 2017, 01:24:12 PM
U.S. MEN’S NATIONAL TEAM JANUARY CAMP ROSTER

Goalkeepers: David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Stefan Frei (Seattle Sounders FC), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), Luis Robles (New York Red Bulls).

Defenders: DaMarcus Beasley (unattached), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Greg Garza (Atlanta United FC), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Taylor Kemp (D.C. United), Chad Marshall (Seattle Sounders FC), Keegan Rosenberry (Philadelphia Union), Walker Zimmerman (FC Dallas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City).

Midfielders: Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Jermaine Jones (unattached), Sacha Kljestan (New York Red Bulls), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy), Kekuta Manneh (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Dax McCarty (New York Red Bulls), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Chris Pontius (Philadelphia Union), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC).

Forwards: Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy).

Damn!  Never knew Manneh was eligible for the US.
Post by: MEP on January 06, 2017, 06:40:15 PM
What !!!!???? No Landycakes??????
Post by: asylumseeker on January 06, 2017, 07:01:50 PM
Manneh citizenship certificate barely dry.
Post by: soccerman on January 06, 2017, 07:36:26 PM
Looks like Beckerman got dropped, unless he's injured?
Post by: Flex on January 11, 2017, 05:02:46 PM
Bruce Arena prioritizing full-backs, creativity at United States camp
BY JEFF CARLISLE

CARSON, Calif. -- As the U.S. national team begins its annual January training camp, manager Bruce Arena says that finding depth at the full-back positions, as well as discerning what creative players can contribute going forward are among his biggest priorities.

The camp marks Arena's first extended period with the team since taking over from predecessor Jurgen Klinsmann late last year. Though it's worth noting that the camp's timing means that no European-based players are among the 31 players called in.

The camp will last for almost the entire month and will conclude with matches against Serbia in San Diego on Jan. 29, as well as Jamaica in Chattanooga, Tenn. on Feb. 3.

But the bigger targets on the horizon are two World Cup qualifiers in late March -- the first on March 24 at home to Honduras, and then a road tilt in Panama. After losing its first two games of the final round hexagonal, the U.S. currently sits in last place.

"We have to win some games, that's the biggest challenge," Arena said via telephone. "Obviously sifting through the pool and making the right decisions and dealing with the timeframe and the availability we have with the players will be challenging. That complicates things as well.

"I'm just looking at players that are all good players, capable players, and seeing how many of those are capable of helping us in 2017. This is a year where anywhere from 18 to 20 games will be played by the national team. We need to look at our full pool of players. Our defensive players will get opportunities, whether it's in March or June or July or what have you. It's important that I have a good sense of these players and how they fit in."

The gathering amounts to a new opportunity for many players that couldn't get a look under Klinsmann, among them Sporting Kansas City midfielder Benny Feilhaber, FC Dallas defender Matt Hedges, and New York Red Bulls midfielder Dax McCarty. Some veterans like Sporting Kansas City's Graham Zusi will also get looks at a new position -- in his case outside back. That Zusi will get reps at the position speaks to the need at that spot.

"Certainly DeAndre Yedlin has been a good addition over the last couple of years. Fabian Johnson has played on the left side a fair amount of times," said Arena. "But there's been a bit of musical chairs at other times, so I'm trying to build two or three deep in those positions so they're ready to contribute to the program."

The inclusion of Feilhaber, as well as Portland Timbers midfielder Darlington Nagbe, speaks to Arena's search for more technical and creative players. The fact that domestic players tend to get more playing opportunities than their European-based counterparts isn't lost on Arena.

"[Creativity in midfield] is certainly an area that we need help in," said Arena. "They'll demonstrate in January and throughout the year what kind of role they're going to play, all these players. We need to closely look at these attacking players and see how they can contribute.

"Obviously there are players abroad that we've used in the pool, like Bobby Wood and Christian Pulisic, but when you really think about it, how many players are abroad that have played active attacking roles for the U.S. team? Not many."

Arena added that he believes that 35-year-old midfielder Jermaine Jones still can contribute to the U.S. effort going forward, despite battling a variety of injuries over the past two years. Last year a knee injury sidelined Jones for the better part of four months.

"Jones can still play for the national team, I don't doubt that," said Arena. "I think the qualifiers at the end of the year may have been a little bit too much for him, too much too soon. He was just getting back with Colorado, and it's tough making that transition where you recover from an injury after being out for a few months, and then getting back to playing with your club team and then having to shift quickly into international.

"I think that was very challenging, but he did show that he's a tremendous competitor and still has the legs to play at this level."

Post by: kounty on January 11, 2017, 06:30:18 PM
Bruce Arena prioritizing full-backs, creativity at United States camp
BY JEFF CARLISLE

The camp will last for almost the entire month and will conclude with matches against Serbia in San Diego on Jan. 29, as well as Jamaica in Chattanooga, Tenn. on Feb. 3.

Post by: asylumseeker on January 16, 2017, 07:20:00 AM
Bruce Arena: 'There's no reason we can't qualify'
By Paul Kennedy, Soccer America.

No one knows January camp better than Bruce Arena. He's quick to point out that this is not his second, but third time around with the national team. If you include the U.S. U-23 camp ahead of the 1996 Atlanta Olympics, he's had 10 camps in January.

At his first camp, Arena shared an apartment with his two assistants, Bob Bradley and the late Glenn Myernick, in Chula Vista, California, near the Mexico border, and they were holed up in what they called the "Cave" as they prepared for the Olympics.

Two January camps were to prepare the USA for the Gold Cup in winter. Arena says that's something that should never happen again though the second Gold Cup, in 2002, ended with a U.S. championship -- an important momentum-builder for its quarterfinal run at the 2002 Gold Cup.

Probably the craziest January camp was the strike year of 2005 when a group of replacements from the USL First Division and USL Second Division were brought in while a new labor deal was ironed out. Less than three weeks later, the USA went out and beat Trinidad & Tobago, 2-1, on the road to start the Hexagonal.

The previous two times, Arena had other coaching responsibilities when he took the job. In 1996, Arena and Bradley did double duty, preparing for the launch of MLS's D.C. United. In 1998, Arena coached the USA to a 0-0 tie against Australia in San Jose less than two weeks after MLS Cup and before D.C. United's greatest triumph, its victory over Brazil's Vasco da Gama in the second-led Inter-American Cup.

In 2017, Arena doesn't have to worry about anything else besides the task at hand -- get the USA out of the deep hole into which it dug itself by losing both games to start the Hexagonal for the first time.

"In 1998, you had a group of players come out of a World Cup, though not successful," he said after practice on Sunday. "We had a little bit clearer picture of the pool and what needed to be done. This time, we are in the middle of the whole process, and I don't think you can make too many changes in the early going. Maybe later in the year we can."

He did say the program has changed a lot since 1998. "It's obviously a program that's better supported," he said. "The depth of the program has improved. There's no reason we can't qualify for the World Cup."

Arena has had the 31 of his 32 players in camp -- all but Dax McCarty, who was excused  because of his previous scheduled plans to get married -- for five days before Monday's day off. He's coached or coached against all the players in MLS except Greg Garza, who signed with Atlanta United after five seasons in Mexico.

"They're all good players," he said. "We need a little more time to see. We have to play some games. We haven't done much to be able to watch and say these are the better players at this point in time. They've been good. MLS players are certainly a better group of players than in 1998. They're much more experienced. Their club environments are much more improved than they were in 1998, no question about it. One would think that those characteristics should have a positive manner on the field."

On top of the 32 players in camp, there's another group of players in Europe and Mexico that puts the total pool at around 50 players who are in contention to make the team Arena will pick for the Hexagonal matches March 24 against Honduras and March 28 at Panama. He admitted that group will be narrowed down after the second friendly against Jamaica on Feb. 4 in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

"We have a lot of work to do when camp ends," he said. "We have to quickly piece together a tighter working roster to prepare for the qualifiers.We have to do a lot of communication, see the players, look at film, work with them before we even get them. All the coaches will be assigned some players and do some travel, so there's a lot to do between the end of camp and March 24."
Post by: sjahrain on January 16, 2017, 09:56:36 AM
While the other teams are getting their house in order
We are stuck..And it's not even in neutral
Why is it so dam hard to do the right thing
Egoism destroying it all right before our eyes....And they don't even care
Terrorist in the city making me cry blood.... :devil:.... :devil:
Post by: kounty on January 18, 2017, 06:52:24 PM

So assistant coach Latapy..nothing happening during the break? Waste of whole January while the US (among others) working? Players even get together to keep themselves fit? anybody in the know?
Post by: Controversial on January 18, 2017, 07:03:37 PM

So assistant coach Latapy..nothing happening during the break? Waste of whole January while the US (among others) working? Players even get together to keep themselves fit? anybody in the know?

If you're sabotaging a team, would anything be happening?
Post by: asylumseeker on January 18, 2017, 07:07:33 PM
Kounty, all the Hex opponents are in motion as we post. All of them!
Post by: Controversial on January 18, 2017, 09:51:33 PM
Kounty, all the Hex opponents are in motion as we post. All of them!

That's how sabotage works my friend..
Post by: kounty on January 20, 2017, 07:24:05 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/nr5ebSAanWE
a couple of them playing now.
Post by: Deeks on January 20, 2017, 08:57:16 PM
Hondo 1-0.
Post by: coache on January 20, 2017, 09:33:31 PM
The only team that is playing any football in this Hex is Costa Rica.

Mexico is very beatable ...

Panama is a spirited bunch and will trouble teams because of their fighting spirit.

USA ..like Panama will be motivated to fight for Arena.

Honduras...very beatable..they also have a fighting spirit though.

Whoever the next Coach is can pick up points from every game.

Hart needed a few tactical changes along with change of a few players..other than that he was the right man for the job...I am afraid that now we are in a bad situation... a very bad situation in this moment.

Post by: palos on January 21, 2017, 12:06:48 AM
Mexico is very beatable ...
Huh? By who?

Hart needed a few tactical changes along with change of a few players..other than that he was the right man for the job...I am afraid that now we are in a bad situation... a very bad situation in this moment.

Who knew all them other teams in the Hex were so familiar with Kaiso and Lord Blakie in particular when they play us

Mama look a booboo
Post by: kounty on February 03, 2017, 08:50:15 PM
http://www.espnfc.us/report?gameId=471249

Jordan Morris scores as the United States beats Jamaica 1-0 (http://www.espnfc.us/report?gameId=471249)

sigh. I wonder what dennis lawrence favorite food is. smdh.
Post by: soccerman on March 24, 2017, 09:49:07 PM
Mexico beat Costa Rica 2-0 and USA leading Honduras 3-0 at the half
Post by: MEP on March 24, 2017, 10:01:10 PM
4-0.... honduras like dey tired

my bad unfackinbelievable 5-0 us...hondurs playing shyte
Post by: g on March 24, 2017, 10:07:31 PM
Honduras in free fall.

Coach getting fired for sure
Post by: MEP on March 24, 2017, 10:08:37 PM
hmm 6-0 now
Post by: soccerman on March 24, 2017, 10:56:44 PM
Honduras got dismantled and manhandled. Bruce Almighty is back with a bang!
Post by: royal on March 24, 2017, 11:23:08 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C7vUXsFUwAAIgov.jpg)
Post by: Socapro on March 25, 2017, 12:26:22 AM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C7vUXsFUwAAIgov.jpg)

With the Hex now being so tight we need to take our chances when we get them so we can beat our opponents by a healthy goal cushion as goal difference could come into play at the end of the Hex to decide if we get an automatic of play-off spot.

We should have won that game vs Panama by 3 - 0 if we had taken all our good chances.
Post by: frico on March 25, 2017, 06:33:50 AM
How di hell did a team beat us 3-1 and then get their arses kicked outta di park by the US who appeared to be struggling before this match,hopefully they have done us a favour by giving us the idea...Honduras not that good.At our worst we didn't get 6 past us against the US.
Post by: soccerman on March 28, 2017, 04:56:39 PM
Costa Rica tied Honduras 1-1
Post by: soccerman on March 28, 2017, 09:57:02 PM
USA 1 Panama 1
Post by: E-man on March 28, 2017, 10:34:34 PM
(http://i.imgur.com/L29vUqk.jpg)
Post by: soccerman on May 16, 2017, 08:29:27 AM
2017 International Friendlies In USA
Look at how these countries getting prepared for the next round of games, and we had Grenada....

May
 May 27: Mexico vs. Croatia friendly in Los Angeles
 May 27: Honduras vs. El Salvador friendly in Washington

June
 June 1: Mexico vs. Ireland friendly in East Rutherford, N.J.
 June 3: U.S. vs. Venezuela in Sandy, Utah
 June 28: Mexico vs. Ghana in Houston

July
July 1: U.S. vs. Ghana in East Hartford, Conn.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 16, 2017, 09:38:39 AM
Look at how these countries getting prepared for the next round of games, and we had Grenada....

May

June

The US is also playing Ghana. July 1.
Post by: soccerman on May 16, 2017, 10:38:53 AM

May

June

July
 July 1: U.S. vs. Ghana in East Hartford, Conn.

The US is also playing Ghana. July 1.

I noticed that and just edited it...looks like the right time to contact Equatorial Guinea