Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on April 04, 2005, 05:08:10 AM

Title: Bertille St Clair Thread
Post by: Flex on April 04, 2005, 05:08:10 AM
Soca Warriors did not improve under St Clair.
By: Jovan Ravello - T&T Guardian.

“The writing was on the wall,” says former T&T senior football coach Edgar Vidale. He was asked his opinion about the sacking of coach Bertille St Clair last week.
Vidale noted that although there was a slight reversal of the team’s fortunes in St Clair’s last game in charge (T&T— Costa Rica 0-0 on Wednesday) the team had not improved during his (St Clair’s) tenure.
While the dismissal was not unexpected, Vidale took umbrage to the manner in which it was executed,  saying: “I don’t think it was in the best interest of Bertille St Clair.”
Though he recognised that St Clair’s fate had been decided before last Wednesday’s match at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Vidale called on the T&TFF to adopt a more humane approach to such matters in the future.
On new coach, Dutchman Leo Benhakkar, Vidale said his expertise should be able to assist T&T’s cause, but that our successful journey in the World Cup campaign hinges on what happens in the next two months.
During this period, says Vidale, it would be important for the coach to get a feel of the players and the culture, in order for him to properly cater to the team’s needs as a unit.
Vidale said the presence of Russell Latapy and David Nakhid as assistant coaches should link the coach to the players and prepare them both for greater responsibility in the team.
He stressed that it was important that both the former T&T captains quash whatever personal differences that may exist between them for the better of the team.
Ex-national football team captain Clayton Morris was also of the view that the team’s under-performance meant that there was something wrong with its technical direction and that the coach had to go.
Morris, a former assistant coach and coach of T&T’s Under-20 team, said that St Clair’s ouster may have been better for the welfare of the team had it been effected at a earlier time.
Morris said that the team appeared to be technically and tactically weak, so he was in agreement with the sacking of St Clair.
“The question is, do we have that amount of time?” Morris said, referring to the players’ ability to adapt to Benhakkar’s coaching.
Morris said he had doubts about the capacity of the team to get going again under the present conditions, but made a plea for foresight from the administration. “It is sad to see that at this point we have to make these drastic changes,” drawing parallel to a similar move by Costa Rica, but noting that the structure of the Ticos’ team is more concrete and can therefore weather the change.
He also said that the players are aware of the task ahead and should be committed to the cause, in order to play catch-up to the other teams that are better equipped and in better positions on the table.
Ex-national footballer Sedley Joseph said it was common practice to fire a coach when teams aren’t getting positive results, adding that St Clair is one of the many coaches that have been removed internationally.
He also thought that the team wasn’t playing as it should in the friendlies, Digicel Cup and World Cup qualifiers. Saying he does not know much about the new coach, he hopes that Beenhakkar, a reputed good tactician, will effect a turn-around.
But Joseph, recipient of FIFA’s Centennial Order of Merit in 2004, was skeptical about Benhakkar’s recent inactivity.
“Top coaches aren’t found hanging around.”
He said it would be difficult for Benhakkar, dealing with a first team comprised mainly of foreign-based players. Despite his skepticism Joseph said: “Hopefully we’ll get some good results in the games to come.”
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 28, 2012, 06:48:16 AM
bertille interview
http://www.youtube.com/v/_r-__yEaYqw&list=UUYjTv-40_nhaU5HVy5er3Ug
Title: Re: Bertille St Clair's interview
Post by: Brownsugar on January 28, 2012, 09:00:58 AM
laaaawwwwddd this too difficult to listen to because of the background noise......couldn't make it to the end......
Post by: Flex on January 29, 2012, 05:41:25 AM
St Clair impressed by Under-23s.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Former National coach Bertille St Clair believes this countrys football can escape from its current troubles and return to the glory days it experienced in the Caribbean and Concacaf particularly during his time at the helm.

As a matter of fact, the Tobago-born coach is offering his services to the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation to assist in its development programme which is being orchestrated by Technical Director Anton Corneal.

St Clair was at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Bacolet last Wednesday to witness the T&T Under 23s 1-0 victory over Finland and expressed some form of satisfaction over the teams progress.

I think they are growing and from what I am seeing this evening they have gained some confidence and I like their aggression and their touches has started to develop also, St Clair commented.

St Clair, a past T&T Olympic team head-coach with the likes of Carlos Edwards, Brent Sancho, Hector Sam, Brent Rahim, Jason Scotland, Kerwyn Jemmot, Jefferson George and Derek King in his team, wants to see more emphasis on development and is supporting Corneal in his efforts to do so.

St Clair led T&T to the 1991 FIFA World Youth Cup in Portugal and also led the team to its best ever finish, a semi-final spot at the 2000 CONCACAF Gold Cup. He also coached the T&T team for part of the 2006 World Cup campaign prior to Leo Beenhakkers appointment.

He also led T&T to the 1997 and 1999 Caribbean Cup titles. Actually we cant go lower and right now its an opportunity  for us to start to develop again. Sometimes you are up sometimes you are down and its an opportunity to get better. But we have to put the right people in charge and the right things in place, he added.

On that note, he touched on Corneals appointment, saying: I hope he gets the support, Anton is a qualified coach and he is educated. He needs the support from everyone and I dont mind making a contribution. Im happy with the things I did in the past. Im happy for Anton and if he wants any support Im here to give it.

He spoke briefly on the 2006 World Cup team and some of the ingredients he thinks can help T&T achieve some form of success. The team (2006) was well balanced and we did well. Now I do things for Tobagos children and Trinidads children and I want to see our football develop to the highest level.

Actually Im playing my part through my coaching school. I had some offers to go to Grenada and St Kitts but I thought that I could do something for Trinidad and Tobago football. We have a lot of talented kids in Tobago and we need to get them exposed and the Football Federation needs to focus on that. Football is all about results also, St Clair added.

I remember when I spent some time at Bristol Rovers and Bobby Gould was the manager. He used to say there are three As in football. The first one is ability and we have that in our football. We need a little bit more of aggression and then theres attitude and thats how we build our character. Those are some of the things I would like us to work on to get back to the next level, St Clair said.
Post by: Flex on January 29, 2012, 05:44:01 AM
Coach St Clair offers services to TTFF.
T&T Newsday Reports.

FORMER NATIONAL coach, Bertille St Clair is offering his services to the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) to assist in the development of the sport.

St Clair, who coached Trinidad and Tobago to the 1991 FIFA World Youth Cup in Portugal, also lavished praise on new TTFF Technical Director Anton Corneal and endorsed his appointment.

I hope he gets the support, Anton is a qualified coach and he is educated. He needs the support from everyone and I dont mind making a contribution. Im happy with the things I did in the past. Im happy for Anton and if he wants any support Im here to give it, he said. Commenting on the current state of football in this country, the Tobagonian believes now is the ideal time to rebuild with the right people in charge.

Actually we cant go lower and right now its an opportunity for us to start to develop again. Sometimes you are up sometimes you are down and its an opportunity to get better. But we have to put the right people in charge and the right things in place, he added

St Clair, who was in the sister isle on Wednesday to see the national Under- 23 team edge Finland 1-0 at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, congratulated the Young Warriors on their performance.

I think they are growing and from what I am seeing...they have gained some confidence and I like their aggression and their touches has started to develop also, St Clair pointed out. The ex-TT coach was also in charge of an Olympic team which featured several players who went on to have top careers for the national team including Carlos Edwards, Brent Sancho, Hector Sam, Brent Rahim, Jason Scotland, Kerwyn Jemmot, Jefferson George and Derek King.

St Clair says the emphasis needs to be on developing young players if TT want to regain their prestige in the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) and ultimately CONCACAF.

Now I do things for Tobagos children and Trinidads children and I want to see our football develop to the highest level. Actually Im playing my part through my coaching school. I had some offers to go to Grenada and St Kitts but I thought that I could do something for Trinidad and Tobago football.

We have a lot of talented kids in Tobago and we need to get them exposed and the Football Federation needs to focus on that. Football is all about results also, he remarked. St Clair, who led this country to a semi-final spot at the 2000 Gold Cup - TTs best ever finish, identified three areas which he believe are the key ingredients in being successful in the sport.

I remember when I spent some time at Bristol Rovers and Bobby Gould was the manager. He used to say there are three As in football. The first one is ability and we have that in our football. We need a little bit more of aggression and then theres attitude and thats how we build our character. Those are some of the things I would like us to work on to get back to the next level, St Clair concluded.
Post by: Sam on January 29, 2012, 09:23:05 AM

Thanks but no thanks.

Stay in Tobago please.
Post by: Coop's on January 29, 2012, 12:51:41 PM

Thanks but no thanks.

Stay in Tobago please.
     Sam regardless to how we feel about Bertille he is still one of the better Coaches in the Country,at least we need someone in Tobago with his expertise,we have always had good talent coming from Tobago because of him and at the moment we have none,TTFF does not only mean Trinidad lets get Tobago involved a little more.
Post by: Trinitozbone on January 29, 2012, 06:45:48 PM
Just for Tobago sake? He was a beneficiary of the 1990 campaign and he had a good team in the Gold Cup which made it in Germany in 2006 led by Latapy and Yorke so I am not sure what kind of development work he has one on his own! I remember him best for coaching a St Vincent team in the World Cup  and getting 13 goals from a CONCACAF team! I guess if he wants to help no one should be turned away because we cannot get worst than where we are! We should start having records of all the coaches in all National teams so we have a good background of track records ! Trinis have short memories and they jump from one thing to the next!
I think the most success he has had was with Signal Hill!
Post by: Coop's on January 29, 2012, 07:03:04 PM
Just for Tobago sake? He was a beneficiary of the 1990 campaign and he had a good team in the Gold Cup which made it in Germany in 2006 led by Latapy and Yorke so I am not sure what kind of development work he has one on his own! I remember him best for coaching a St Vincent team in the World Cup  and getting 13 goals from a CONCACAF team! I guess if he wants to help no one should be turned away because we cannot get worst than where we are! We should start having records of all the coaches in all National teams so we have a good background of track records ! Trinis have short memories and they jump from one thing to the next!
I think the most success he has had was with Signal Hill!
       Breds if you go to list the records of any national team Coaches both local and foreign (coaching in T&T)through our Football history you will find there isn't much who have any kind of good background of track records.
       You said it Trinis have short memories because i think Bertille took a U19 team to the WC finals in Portugal,is the first Coach from T&T to qualify a team for a WC finals.     
Post by: Deeks on January 29, 2012, 08:30:29 PM
Bertille did take the Senior team to the 1/4 finals of the Gold Cup. The best we have ever done in that tournament.

We had a thread about how north people does dominate everything. Central, South, East and Tobago does get overlooked. So what allyuh saying in Bertille case is to continue the socalled status quo. I know a lot of people who feel Bertille can't coach. I am not of that opinion. He had difficult time getting the team to qualify for  WC. So what? I think Bertille still has a lot to offer, especially at the youth level. He is a bit of a disciplinarian, kind of old fashion. So what. Sometime them yutes need a good kick in dey arse.
Post by: Storeboy on January 29, 2012, 09:44:24 PM
Bertille did take the Senior team to the 1/4 finals of the Gold Cup. The best we have ever done in that tournament.

We had a thread about how north people does dominate everything. Central, South, East and Tobago does get overlooked. So what allyuh saying in Bertille case is to continue the socalled status quo. I know a lot of people who feel Bertille can't coach. I am not of that opinion. He had difficult time getting the team to qualify for  WC. So what? I think Bertille still has a lot to offer, especially at the youth level. He is a bit of a disciplinarian, kind of old fashion. So what. Sometime them yutes need a good kick in dey arse.
...and that is what Trinidad and Tobago soccer has always needed. Not only soccer, but Trinidad and Tobago, with all its wealth and brain power is a disgrace at discipline and getting things done.  It is a shame.  Look what a little bit of discipline by Leo Beenhaker did for us!
Post by: Sam on January 30, 2012, 05:39:01 AM
Bertille might be a decent coach but sometimes he does go over board.

1. He did not want to pick Dwarika because of his dreads and when Dwarika scored 45 goals in de Pro league, de TTFF had to step in and make Bertille call up Dwarika, now if he did not want to pick Dwarika because of discipline, then fine, but because of ah man hair style ? while I agree you should tie up your dreads while playing (Sancho vs Crouch), but Bertille is just an ass hole sometimes. I remember after Dwarika came on de team and mash up de 2000 Gold Cup, Bertille was he biggest fan.

2. He also came out in public one day and said he does not need to scout teams. And he eh need to take no coaching course to improve his coaching. He f00cking head real hard then (something like Coops)....

Bertille is good for Tobago football, leave him they, he does do very well for St Clair CC.

De football move on and leave him in the past, if he could work on a few things then maybe he might be a good coach for the youths teams of T&T, catch them before they go delinquent.
Post by: Trinitozbone on January 30, 2012, 07:22:30 AM
Coop's any coach who get 13 goals in one game in world cup qualifying at senior level cannot be taken seriously! Maybe he is disciplinarian and old fashioned and he could teach that to some of these youths but when it comes to the top level. I say nah! Yes that's true about Dwarika! He is a little backward in his thinking! We passed that stage!
Post by: Coop's on January 30, 2012, 07:32:19 AM

1. He did not want to pick Dwarika because of his dreads and when Dwarika scored 45 goals in de Pro league, de TTFF had to step in and make Bertille call up Dwarika, now if he did not want to pick Dwarika because of discipline, then fine, but because of ah man hair style ? while I agree you should tie up your dreads while playing (Sancho vs Crouch), but Bertille is just an ass hole sometimes. I remember after Dwarika came on de team and mash up de 2000 Gold Cup, Bertille was he biggest fan.

2. He also came out in public one day and said he does not need to scout teams. And he eh need to take no coaching course to improve his coaching. He f00cking head real hard then (something like Coops)....

Bertille is good for Tobago football, leave him they, he does do very well for St Clair CC.

De football move on and leave him in the past, if he could work on a few things then maybe he might be a good coach for the youths teams of T&T, catch them before they go delinquent.
     I don't care what you say our past History and records prove we had better Coaches which produced better players and by extention we got better results,we had a vibrant National league and Colleges league,we were well respected in the region,all that with no foreign Coach.
     Football move on?what Football move on?if you are happy with where we are as a Football nation i'm sorry for you,our Football in good hands with the present crop of Coaches we have.
Post by: Coop's on January 30, 2012, 07:34:21 AM
Coop's any coach who get 13 goals in one game in world cup qualifying at senior level cannot be taken seriously! Maybe he is disciplinarian and old fashioned and he could teach that to some of these youths but when it comes to the top level. I say nah! Yes that's true about Dwarika! He is a little backward in his thinking! We passed that stage!
      What about a Coach who qualified a team for a WC?
Post by: injunchile on January 30, 2012, 07:54:01 AM
Bertille was asking to scout Tobago players and recommend them to the National Coaches.
 Nothing wrong with that?, Trust me we need Bertille with the youths in terms of discipline and attitude.
 So let the man be the Tobago scout for the Federation and take him seriously.
Post by: Coop's on January 30, 2012, 12:33:37 PM
Sam i've learned not to worry myself over you because the same thing you saying about Bertille you said it about every Coach we ever had includeing Lincoln,Gally,Corneal etc etc you all does look for every little deficiency a man have to bring him down.
Post by: elan on January 30, 2012, 02:01:46 PM

I don't care what you say our past History and records prove we had better Coaches which produced better players and by extention we got better results,we had a vibrant National league and Colleges league,we were well respected in the region,all that with no foreign Coach.
     Football move on?what Football move on?if you are happy with where we are as a Football nation i'm sorry for you,our Football in good hands with the present crop of Coaches we have.

Coop's again that is total :bs:

Point to anything in your time that supasses Dwight Yorke, Latapy, Stern John, the 2 youth team that went WC and the 2006 Warriors.

This is not about "feel good", results is all that matters.
Post by: Coop's on January 30, 2012, 03:20:27 PM

Coop's again that is total :bs:

Point to anything in your time that supasses Dwight Yorke, Latapy, Stern John, the 2 youth team that went WC and the 2006 Warriors.

This is not about "feel good", results is all that matters.
       Who coached these guys Elan?who was responsible for making these guys who they end up to be?it's the same local Coaches that we are rejecting today,the unqualified College Coaches,the Coaches that never did courses,don't worry about anything we did in my time,the foundation we built for T&T Football was good enough because what we started those guys was able to improve on and finish and don't forget to say thanks to JW.
Post by: Flex on April 03, 2012, 03:24:17 AM
Myself and a good friend are having a discussion.

He told me that Bertille St Clair was the coach of St Vincent in 1992.

I beg to differ, I said he was coach for SVG in 1996.

I also did a search and it confirm he was SVG coach in 1996.

The person swear he was SVG coach in 1992 and he saw the game when he was SVG coach during the 1992 WCQ's when Mexico beat them 11-0.

Maybe Wiki made a mistake ?

Can anyone clear this up ?

Tallman, e-man, anybody ?

Title: Re: Bertille St Clair.
Post by: Tallman on April 03, 2012, 05:28:08 AM
It was a Brazilian named Jorge Ramos who was in charge of St. Vincent when dey get dat 11-0 cut-ass from Mexico in 1992.

Ah tink de man yuh seeing 15 seconds into de following clip is him:

http://www.youtube.com/v/UTN4Yf6M6pE
Post by: Trinitozbone on April 03, 2012, 06:30:08 AM
Why don't you check with the St Vincent Football Association?
I recall St Clair as having a stint as the coach during a World Cup qualification and he got a lot of goals from one of the teams from theCentral American region! I remember looking at the game but can't remember the year ! It was very embarassing ! Surely St Vincent will have that information!
Post by: Tallman on April 03, 2012, 06:39:38 AM
Why don't you check with the St Vincent Football Association?
I recall St Clair as having a stint as the coach during a World Cup qualification and he got a lot of goals from one of the teams from theCentral American region! I remember looking at the game but can't remember the year ! It was very embarassing ! Surely St Vincent will have that information!

That was against Honduras in 1996 when they lost 11-3.
Post by: Trinitozbone on April 03, 2012, 06:43:08 AM
I remember it was real licks! I believe from Honduras as well!
Tall man How many goals St Clair got from these teams? I recall it being a lot ! I thought I was looking at Basketball!
Post by: fishs on April 03, 2012, 06:44:32 AM

Tallman ah just curious.
Where do you get all this info from ?
Yuh compiling football archives since yuh could walk, talk an tief pen an paper or yuh have some private search engine that does find from the very best in the world to football with rugby like scores?
Post by: Tallman on April 03, 2012, 08:11:54 AM
Tall man How many goals St Clair got from these teams? I recall it being a lot ! I thought I was looking at Basketball!

Bertille was in charge for de last four matches of St. Vincent's 1998 WCQ campaign:
11-3 loss to Honduras (1996-11-17)
5-0 loss to Jamaica (1996-11-10)
5-1 loss to Mexico (1996-10-30)
4-1 loss to Honduras (1996-10-13)
Post by: Flex on April 03, 2012, 08:15:59 AM
Thanks Tallman.

Bertille was indeed the coach of SVG in 1996.

Really disappointed to see how terrible that SVG team performed, but I know Bertille came in late...

Post by: maxg on April 03, 2012, 09:25:17 AM

Bertille was in charge for de last four matches of St. Vincent's 1998 WCQ campaign:

so them fellas get all that licks, and in 4 years, dem learn they lesson and beat we in ah friendly ?..Who represent we, the SWN.net sweat team ?  ;D
Post by: Sam on April 03, 2012, 10:12:37 AM
Bertille St Clair was coach of St Vincent in 1996.

In 1990, 1991 and 1992 he was the coach of T&T Under 20 team.

I heard Anton wants to bring him back.... and Vidale too.

Post by: Savannah boy on April 03, 2012, 05:42:15 PM
BSC good at grooming young players (who eh have dread locks). Feeding de next generation of players to de National Seniour Team, me eh see no problem with dat.
Post by: vb on April 03, 2012, 06:35:03 PM

so them fellas get all that licks, and in 4 years, dem learn they lesson and beat we in ah friendly ?..Who represent we, the SWN.net sweat team ?  ;D

How ppl using Bertille name so. Is anyone saying Otto lost to Guyana?

The man came in the middle of a campaign and his first game was vs. Honduras.
How many coaches could do better with a team like St. Vincent.

Looking at the last two games, that could've easilly been TT playing those teams.

Bertille didn't get licks. It was a weak ass SVG team. And you notice the quality of the opposition - No Guyana.

Looks like ppl have a real anti Bertille sentiment here.

Post by: Deeks on April 03, 2012, 07:03:15 PM
Thanx, VB for putting everything in perspective. The problem with Vincy was all the players of the previous generation, Pete Morris and he brothers and a couple of good players all migrated to Brooklyn. I used to see Hairoon in Boys High mashing teams(Trini, Ja, Haitian,etc). They had beat TT  about 4 or 5 years before to reach the CFU finals. The problem was, that Vincy never had replacements and/or they never groomed the next batch of players as well the previous batch. Their team was indeed weak and Bertille did join the campaign late. He could not pull off a miracle like Beenie man seeing the resources Vincy had at the time. Bertille record speaks for itself. He was a good coach. But he was not able to carry the team to the WC. That is it. Plain and simple
Post by: maxg on April 03, 2012, 07:50:29 PM

How ppl using Bertille name so. Is anyone saying Otto lost to Guyana?

The man came in the middle of a campaign and his first game was vs. Honduras.
How many coaches could do better with a team like St. Vincent.

Looking at the last two games, that could've easilly been TT playing those teams.

Bertille didn't get licks. It was a weak ass SVG team. And you notice the quality of the opposition - No Guyana.

Looks like ppl have a real anti Bertille sentiment here.

nb: not an anti bertille joke as much as an anti TT joke...4 yrs later SVG beat TT in a friendly, so what dat say bout how far we had progress...get it..get it...awww forget meh stale joke  ;).  Tough crowd
Title: Bertille St. Clair mugged
Post by: Deeks on October 01, 2014, 11:20:05 PM
Is this true. Just reading the Express that Bertille was mugged outside his home?

Bertille St Clair tied up, robbed.
By Elizabeth Williams (Express).

A search is on for two men who tied up and robbed 72-year-old former national football coach and retired schoolteacher Bertille St Clair on Tuesday at his home in Pascal Village, Lambeau, Tobago.

Officers said this was the third time St Claira mentor to former Trinidad and Tobago captain and Manchester United striker Dwight Yorke and several other national senior and youth playershad been robbed of his valuables.

A female relative told the Express the latest incident occurred shortly after noon, when St Clair was returning home to have lunch. According to police reports, St Clair was jumped from behind by two masked bandits armed with guns, upon arrival at his home.

He was pushed to the ground, assaulted and a gun placed to his head. The bandits then tied him up. Signature jewelry, including rings, gold ID bands and chains, along with jewelry belonging to his wife, Jackie St Clair, and a number of alcoholic beverages from his in-house bar were taken.

Valuables to the tune of $14,000 were stolen. St Clair later freed himself and drove to Scarborough Police Station, where a report was made.

When the Express visited St Clair yesterday, he was in good spirits, doing some chores around his home.
He said while he did not go to Scarborough General Hospital on Tuesday, it was his intention to visit yesterday to have an X-ray on his back.

The incident occurred in the vicinity of Sylphil Home in Love, a home that cares for abandoned children. Acting Corporal Tafewa Daniel of the Scarborough station is spearheading investigations.

Title: Re: Bertille St. Clair mugged
Post by: Bally on October 02, 2014, 01:15:57 PM
sad  :cursing: :cursing:
Post by: socalion on October 02, 2014, 01:44:22 PM
Beyond de Ridiculous now our beloved TnT is in a real dark place  currently  .......  real madness   :bs:
Post by: asylumseeker on October 03, 2014, 06:32:41 AM
Officers said this was the third time St Claira mentor to former Trinidad and Tobago captain and Manchester United striker Dwight Yorke and several other national senior and youth playershad been robbed of his valuables.

Absolutely ridiculous ...
Post by: chelsealife on October 03, 2014, 09:23:24 AM
I wont name any names but i am 99.9% sure i know the two idiots who did this. I'll put my head on a block! and if i can be so sure the police should already know as well  :cursing: :cursing:
Post by: supporter on October 03, 2014, 03:40:25 PM
I wont name any names but i am 99.9% sure i know the two idiots who did this. I'll put my head on a block! and if i can be so sure the police should already know as well  :cursing: :cursing:

SPEAK UP THEN! Alert the police! Do not assume they know. We need more people speaking up against this sort of crap.
Post by: chelsealife on October 03, 2014, 05:45:52 PM

SPEAK UP THEN! Alert the police! Do not assume they know. We need more people speaking up against this sort of crap.
Already did, and these two are surprisingly no where to be found. Up till Monday they were living next door but they havent been seen anywhere in the village since then
Post by: Brownsugar on October 05, 2014, 06:15:44 AM
 :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :pissedoff: :pissedoff:
Dey distress mih coach dread!!!  Steups!!
Title: TAU condemns attack on coach St. Clair
Post by: Tallman on October 12, 2014, 10:01:09 AM
TAU condemns attack on coach St. Clair
By Opuku Ware (Tobago News)

THE robbing at gunpoint of legendary Tobago football coach, Bertille St. Clair is being strongly condemned by the Tobago African Union (TAU). The incident happened at the retired school teachers home at Pascal Village, Lambeau last Tuesday.

The police are still hunting for two men, who tied up and robbed St. Clair of $14,000 worth of jewellery and alcohol.

In a statement from the TAU, Field Secretary, Robert Hislop, himself a sports coach, says St. Clair has contributed greatly to Tobago.

"It is very hard to imagine any Tobagonian who would want to hurt or rob Coach St. Clair because he is an individual who has brought joy and happiness to Tobago by his work over the years, he says.

St. Clair was the coach of Signal Hill Comprehensive (now Signal Hill Secondary) School when a then youthful Dwight Yorke led the team to win a number of national college championships. He has also created the St. Clair Coaching School Football Academy, which has produced hundreds of top quality footballers. Some of those players have gone on to foreign colleges and universities through the good work of coach St. Clair.

Hislop, who is a former Tobago House of Assembly (THA) Sports Secretary, described St. Clair as, "a model citizen who is deserving of the highest respect and gratitude from every Tobagonian". Hislop, who also served as a member of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service, is calling on those investigating the case to "leave no stone unturned in their quest to bring the perpetrators to justice."

In recent discussions with the THA, the National Security Minister, Gary Griffith and Minister in the Ministry of National Security, Embau Moheni promised to keep 'Trini' criminals out of Tobago. However, there have been reports from reliable eye witnesses that individuals linked to crime in Trinidad are 'playing' themselves at popular night spots in Tobago.
Post by: KND2 on October 12, 2014, 06:57:24 PM
Third time getting robbed time for a change...maybe ge a big dog , a security guard, hind your gold do something

These youths nowadays not easy. They will kill u to buy a new shoes

How much warming you need
Post by: asylumseeker on November 27, 2014, 11:49:43 AM
They solve this yet?
Post by: coache on November 27, 2014, 06:38:17 PM
Tobago is a lawless place...
Title: Say thanks to Bertille
Post by: Tallman on January 07, 2015, 08:23:00 PM
Say thanks to Bertille
Opuku Ware (Tobago News)

IT was a wonderful feeling for yours truly to know that our own, Bertille St. Clair was among those honoured by the Olympic Association for their contribution to sports in Trinidad and Tobago.

This column has been in the forefront of championing the call for the Milford Road Esplanade to be named the St. Clair Esplanade. The powers in Trinidad have deemed it fit to name the Independence Square Promenade after cricket legend Brian Lara, and quite rightly so.

The records will show that this column has taken an uncompromising position that the pint sized Coach St. Clair is deserving of such honour.

It was St. Clair, as football coach, who brought Dwight Yorke to prominence as a player, and while we salute those responsible for granting Dwight Yorke pride of place at the Bacolet Stadium, surely Coach St. Clair must also get his 'day in the Tobago sun'.

There is a latent input into our minds as a former colonised people, in terms of how we do not show the type of appreciation and gratitude to those who have contributed to the development of their people. It is an attitude we must strive to eliminate in order to inspire others to serve the nation and its people with dedication and sacrifice.

Let us not forget that the Friendsfield born Bertille St. Clair was a footballer during the 1960s with the  Tobago All Stars when he suffered a broken leg in the game. He then turned to coaching and used every opportunity to enhance his knowledge as a football coach.

He passed on his knowledge of the game to every community and school he had the opportunity to serve. He trained hundreds, maybe thousands, of Tobagonian and Trinidadian youth in the sport of football and cricket. He took young men, who did not have a clue about football, and made them into players.

Every human being must be judged by the era from which they came, and the same must be done with St. Clair. He came from an era when  parents insisted on the ultimate discipline from their children.

It is, therefore, no surprise that St. Clair's trade mark includes an iron clad discipline and dedication. St. Clair's high quality coaching ability was highlighted nationally, when he took the Signal Hill Comprehensive School and defeated the best colleges in Trinidad and won several national college titles. It was from these competitions that Dwight Yorke and Colvin Hutchinson emerged as top national footballers.

It is important to note that when members of the Signal Hill team were at the top of their game during the 1980s, they generated a sense of pride among Tobagonians of all ages. Hundreds of Tobagonians journeyed to Trinidad to support the Bertille St. Clair coached college team in their games.

As a coach, St. Clair likes to develop players. The President of the Tobago Football Association, Raymond Alleyne once told me that he did not understand how coach St. Clair was able to walk around the school and choose young men to play on the team; some of them had never played the game before, but he was able to take them and fashion them into competent footballers.

St. Clair has been able to secure scholarships to many international universies for scores of  young Tobago footballers.

When St. Clair took charge of the national Under 19 team with the likes of Dwight Yorke and  Russel Latapy, he was able to coach them to become the first English speaking Caribbean team to qualify for an international FIFA World Cup tournament at the Under 20 World Cup finals in Portugal in 1990.
As the senior national coach, St. Clair was able to take a virtual national 'B' team and win the Caribbean Cup. He also guided the national team to their best ever performance in the Gold Cup in the United States of America. It is my view, that Trinidad and Tobago's senior team played their best ever football under Coach St. Clair.

In fact, he coached the national team (Soca Warriors) in 13 of their 20 World Cup games, when they eventually gained qualification for the 2006 World Cup finals in Germany. It was only the hasty and bullheaded actions of Jack Warner which prevented our 'home boy' from having the distinction of leading our senior team in Germany.

Let us not forget, that it was the St. Clair coached team which revived their qualifying chances for the 2006 World Cup with a crucial 2-1 victory over Guatemala. They also played with great spirit and technique to hold the dangerous Costa Rica to a one all draw. So when Warner brought in the Dutchman Leo Beenhakker to take over the team, he was, in fact, taking over a well-coached team.

Before we deal with what yours truly considers to be the greatest sporting contribution of coach St. Clair, let us look at his cultural contribution. When the founder of Our Boys Steelband, Patrick Arnold left Tobago to study at a North American university, it was Bertille St. Clair who was left to lead the steel band.

St. Clair, himself, had a reputation as a competent tenor pan player. It was said that once he learnt a tune on the pan, he never forgot it. However, it was as the leader of the then top ranking steel band that he made his mark. He recruited many new players into the steel band, and developed a cooperative style of operation within the band's structure.

He instituted a high sense of discipline among the pannists and ensured that Our Boys had a sense of continuity until Arnold returned from his studies.

Now, Our Boys steel band has fallen on not so good times and there is an ever increasing call for St. Clair to return to revive the band's fortunes.

As we return to St. Clair and his contribution to the sporting community, it is his St. Clair Coaching School which shines highly in terms of his time in sports. Recently, national women team star striker, Kenya 'Ya Ya' Cordner spoke in glowing terms of coach St. Clair.

It is the same respect he gets from Dwight Yorke, Latapy or Shaka Hislop. The players whom he has coached at his coaching school have maintained a healthy respect for the man they all call Coach.

St. Clair took a piece of pasture land from a Carnbee family and through hard work and guts, he built a smooth surface and structures to facilitate his weekly training programmes for young Tobagonians from all over the island. Year after year, St. Clair struggled to build his sporting institution and he created one of the best football teams Tobago has ever seen. The St. Clair Coaching School team won competition after competiton. However, even the great God in the Christian Bible (St James version) had his detractors, and for all the good Coach St. Clair did for the youths of Tobago, there were a few who did not like his direction at the Carnbee facility. So being the man he is, he simply went away and continued to do his good works for the Tobago youth at his new base at the Signal Hill school ground.

This action by St. Clair proves the mettle of the man. We all witnessed him take some young third form students from Signal Hill Secondary School ten years ago, and last year they took on the might of the other secondary schools in Tobago and gave them 'a run for their money'. He has also begun to rebuild a senior team with some very young players and I have no doubt that soon, Bertille St. Clair and his team will be back in the big times, not only in Tobago but nationally and possibly in the region.

Yours truly, hereby make a plea to the powers that be in Tobago to show some have an appreciation to the man Bertille St. Clair for his monumentous contribution towards sports on the island.

Give him the land he needs to establish his sporting academy and, without haste, name the Esplanade the Coach St. Clair Esplanade.

We have given others land, we have given foreigners 'big food' from Tobago.

Why not St. Clair!
Post by: real madness on January 07, 2015, 10:12:43 PM
Latapy? Why people cannot have accurate information in their articles?  Journalism is a big joke these days.
Post by: Brownsugar on January 08, 2015, 05:18:48 AM
My coach!!!   :notworthy: :notworthy:
Post by: Deeks on January 08, 2015, 08:09:54 AM
It was only the hasty and bullheaded actions of Jack Warner which prevented our 'home boy' from having the distinction of leading our senior team in Germany.

Nice and worthy piece on Bertille. Actually a committee had recommended Beenhakker. Jack wanted Ron Atkinson?(correct me), but Dwight and Shaka protested. They resented his attitude. So a committee, which included LP picked Beenie.
Post by: Mose on January 08, 2015, 09:49:16 AM
It was only the hasty and bullheaded actions of Jack Warner which prevented our 'home boy' from having the distinction of leading our senior team in Germany.

Nice and worthy piece on Bertille. Actually a committee had recommended Beenhakker. Jack wanted Ron Atkinson?(correct me), but Dwight and Shaka protested. They resented his attitude. So a committee, which included LP picked Beenie.
Revisionist history. In reference to the bolded quote.
Post by: vb on January 08, 2015, 05:33:54 PM

Revisionist history. In reference to the bolded quote.

A good article with the exception of that mamaguy. If memory serves me correctly BS had one point from three games.
I think two of those were home games.

Title: Re: Bertille St Clair Thread
Post by: Flex on March 15, 2019, 04:20:56 AM
Ex-players to honour coach St Clair.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Former players under Bertille St Clair are coming together to hold three days of events to honour the former National Coach.

Several players who played under St Clair at the 1991 FIFA Under-20 World Cup and at the senior national mens team level, for Signal Hill Senior Comprehensive are set to be present in Tobago this weekend with a series of activities from today to Sunday.

According to ex-national captain Angus Eve, there will be Church service on this morning at 9:30 am to be followed by a visit to Signal Hill Secondary to lay a stone in St Clairs honour and players will also give motivational talks to students of the school.

The players will then attend a training session at the St Clair Coaching School at 9 am on Saturday with past national players and St Clair Coaching School ex-players in attendance.

Later at 7 pm, a gala dinner will take place with specially invited guests.

The feature event will be an exhibition game from 2 pm on Sunday either at the Dwight Yorke Stadium or the Mt. Pleasant Recreation Ground depending on availability which will be confirmed today.

Members of the Signal Hill Intercol champion teams of 1987-1989, the T&T U-20 World Cup team of 1991, the mens senior team of the 2000 CONCACAF Gold Cup will all be featuring in the match. There will be a cooldown on Monday at St Clairs home.

Its really the group of players who played under Bertille St Clair all coming together to honour a gentleman who has played an integral role in our lives as footballers and as men in T&T, Eve said.

He has made a tremendous contribution to the sport and many of us have played under him from a very young age, from schoolboys to Senior national players for T&T. We are all really looking forward to spending these days as a mark of respect and honour for him, Eve said.

Nakhid also added, It's our pleasure and honour to be able to in at least some small measure pay tribute to a coach, a mentor, a father figure, a brother and a teacher who has impacted the lives of so many in so many ways."

Among the players carded to be involved include Eve, Arnold Dwarika, Brent Sancho, Gary Glasgow, Anthony Rougier, Ansil Elcock, Anthony Sherwood, Clint Marcelle, Clayton Ince and Dwight Yorke and a host of others with Nakhid also hoping to attend from Lebanon. Stern John, Ross Russell and Dennis Lawrence will be absent due to national duties in Wales.

Video - Honouring Bertille St. Clair (https://www.facebook.com/tttliveonline/videos/2081368641976898/UzpfSTE5Nzg2NTY1OTMxMzoxMDE1NzI5OTY2NDY1OTMxNA/)

Title: Glorious tributes, honours for St Clair
Post by: Tallman on March 16, 2019, 03:18:34 PM
Glorious tributes, honours for St Clair
By Corey Connelly (T&T Newsday)

REVERED football coach and administrator Bertille St Clair has received a glorious tribute, celebrating a decades-long career in sport and culture in his native Tobago and the wider football fraternity.

Retired national players, sporting enthusiasts, current athletes and former students of the Signal Hill Secondary School spoke effusively about St Clair during a church service in his honour on Thursday at St Andrews Anglican Church, Scarborough.

The church service launched three days of activities commemorating St Clairs work as a coach and administrator, which included the unveiling of a commemorative stone at Signal Hill Secondary, an awards ceremony at Shaw Park Cultural Complex and a football extravaganza at Mt Pleasant Recreation Ground. The Signal Hill Secondary School Recreation Ground was also named after St Clair.

The three-day celebration, co-ordinated by former national player Angus Eve and others, is titled, Coach Bertille St Clair: A Living Legend.

A recipient of the Chaconia Silver and Hummingbird Gold medals for his contribution to football, St Clair is credited with nurturing the talent of former Strike Squad and Manchester United striker Dwight Yorke and others.

Former Signal Hill Secondary player Xavier King recalled St Clairs role in exposing Tobagos players to national competition.

When I examined the 80s when all of this took place, I saw there was a need for a particular kind of leadership in Tobago and that came from Mr Bertille St Clair, he told the gathering.

A leadership of confidence, a leadership of building the self-esteem of Tobagonians and therefore, when I loom at that period, that is the kind of man that came out in that period.

Therefore, that is why I ranked him as a real legend because that period, that is where you compare people and see what they have done, when Tobago needed that lift, to go Trinidad and show that we could have beat people and come back in Tobago. He was the man who inspired that kind of leadership, King added.

Kings tribute focussed on St Clairs fighting spirit and discipline as a coach.

Dont disturb him in his coaching because he would tell you that if you are a doctor and you are operating, you not going to disturb a doctor when he is operating. So, dont disturb me at all. Leave me with my work, let me finish my work.

Lance Dillon, who once attended St Clairs Coaching School, shared their relationship spanned some 41 years.

However, he joked that, as a young footballer, St Clair was a pain in my backside.

And every footballer who played for him, dont tell me you dont feel the same, Dillon said.

But, as a man, I thank you.... I hated practising with you. But I loved playing games for you because I knew we were always the fittest and most intelligent team on the field, except when I was playing for Bishops, he joked.

Laughs aside, Dillon said his experience in the US has allowed him to see people at the end of their lives.

And no one ever talks about money, house or car. The only thing they speak of is the experience with people.

Dillon said he grasped the opportunity to be a part of the celebration.

I am grateful that you are a part of my life.

St Clair, in a message to students of Signal Hill yesterday, stressed that success only comes through discipline. If you dont have any discipline, you cant go anywhere its so important. The skys the limit and what you put in is what you will get out. Respect your teachers; respect your fellow men, because we want you to be proud. You are from Signal Hill. I promise you from this year on, the school will get back to the winning place, he said. (additional reporting by Elizabeth Gonzales)
Post by: Tallman on January 05, 2020, 09:49:49 PM
WATCH: Listen to Bertille St. Clair, the first coach to qualify Trinidad and Tobago for a FIFA World Cup (1991 Youth World Cup in Portugal). He shares some interesting insights on his journey in local football  while coaching various national teams.

https://www.youtube.com/v/JL_AZ9f1BXo
Post by: asylumseeker on January 05, 2020, 11:22:41 PM
Conclusion: St. Clair is the Daniel Passarella of T&T football?
Post by: Deeks on January 06, 2020, 05:03:16 AM
Conclusion: St. Clair is the Daniel Passarella of T&T football?

When you say Passarella, you mean as coach. He was a no non-sense coach. Nice interview. I always heard that he was a disciplinarian.
Post by: maxg on January 06, 2020, 02:01:16 PM
Good interview. Looking forward to other coaches as well.

Didnt get the Passarella cipher doh
Post by: asylumseeker on January 06, 2020, 04:20:36 PM
Good interview. Looking forward to other coaches as well.

Didnt get the Passarella cipher doh

The whole interview was about discipline. Ironically, he wasn't disciplined in responding to the Qs, but he had time to call Keon Daniel a "tie head".  ;D

Major takeaways: be 'well-groomed', punctual and tuck your shirt in".  Oh and doh drink rum. And everybody on de same bus.

SF tried, but I found the going painful.

Passarella wanted players with short hair and lost track of whether he was recruiting for the army or the NT.
Post by: maxg on January 06, 2020, 05:00:03 PM
Every coach has their shtick. Some good some bad. One dont have to in agreement with all their policies to learn from their successes. In my opinion, I do agree on some measure of discipline, examples, attitudes, etc..however to disregard talent, because they not on ones rules of law is kinda hypocritical on the we are all the same thoughts.
Thats he. And may work temporarily in development in Tobago, or may not. But wont work for us out here.
I tend to learn from their positives and skip their negatives. In most cases, I dont have to like or dislike who they are, they dont care.

Keon was ah mess doh 😣
Post by: asylumseeker on January 06, 2020, 09:15:25 PM
Please do a 45+ with Cornell Glen. He's one of the most candid voices around.
Title: Do the right thing - Bertille's Philosophy
Post by: Tallman on January 19, 2020, 08:53:47 AM
Do the right thing - Bertille's Philosophy
By Shaun Fuentes (T&T Guardian)

The philosophy of sport is never fixed. Its methods demand an inherently self-critical conception of intellectual activity; one that challenges its preconceptions and guiding principles continuously both as to the nature and purposes of philosophy and of sports. It draws upon and develops many of the diverse branches of the parent discipline, philosophy, and reflects a broad church of theoretical positions and styles.

Recently Eurosport highlighted ten sporting philosophers which they believe were top of the pack. Among them was Bill Shankly, the legendary former Liverpool manager who took a club which lay at the bottom of the old Second Division and turned them into the best club in English football. He mixed his managerial nous with a fine line in wit and wisdom, however, dispensing endless verbal gems - including perhaps the most famous quote in football history. "Some people believe football is a matter of life and death, I am very disappointed with that attitude. I can assure you it is much, much more important than that." Included in that list was Frenchman Eric Cantona. His extraordinary philosophical introspections allied to his often brutal physical nature which made him a legend, the report stated. Then there was Muhammad Ali, "As good a boxer as Ali was, any objective analysis has to show that his reputation as "The Greatest" relied just as much on his flair for self-promotion, verbal dexterity and pithy insights as his boxing prowess."

I'd like to highlight someone from our shores who I consider to be among the top local philosophers and disciplinarians in sport. He is former National Football coach Bertille St Clair, the first man to guide Trinidad and Tobago to World Cup qualification in 1991 at the FIFA Under-20 World Cup in Portugal. He also led T&T to its best-ever Gold Cup finish, reaching the semi-final in the 2000 edition. I spent a half-day on the first weekend of the year with Bertille at his sports shop in Scarborough and there are some beliefs and quotations that stood out.

"The football structure has changed, The attitude has changed. It is so important and coaches must recognise that. What we do normally is that because you are a good player you can do what you want," St Clair said during our chat.

"I am saying it is a level playing field. I am continuing to say that if you have good discipline you can be anybody. Our coaches have to recognise that. Football is a level playing field dont care how good you are.

"If you are good you must set the standard for the others to follow. Our coaches are not strong enough to stand up for what they believe."

Football has three As," he says. "The first one is the ability and we are loaded with that in Trinidad and Tobago. The second one we are lacking is aggression. We are laid back and the final one is an attitude and that goes for everything, even the coaches. You have to set the standard for everyone to follow.

"We need that in Trinidad and Tobago. Once you can get the players to come together and work, then the sky is the limit. But you have to do things step by step. People learn differently. There are no dunce people. Football is a brain game but there are no dunce people. Everybody doesnt have the same type of talent but we are all good enough to grow.

"Trinidad and Tobago has too much talent for us to be in this situation. We have to stand up for the right thing. Like I used to tell Dwight and Latapy when they come, I say, you see what you all do in England, do the same thing over here or take the next plane out. In England, you cant do anything unless the coach says. People want to come and see you look the part. Pride is important.

"The big ones set the standard for the others to follow. Everybody has a part to play in life and you must respect each other. There is Capital D which is discipline. You are here to do a job, then focus on doing that. Do the right thing," St Clair continued.

He had some wise words for the football leaders. "Unity is strength and we need to understand that. We are all equal. In Trinidad, we think aye he is a big player and he is everything. It cannot be like that. Set the standard and you can be anything you want to be. Football is a world game and everyone is looking forward to seeing it so set the right example for the world to see.

We want our football to be elevated to the next level. Football made me what I am. People who are in positions must be committed to taking the football upwards. You get back what you put in."
Post by: Tallman on April 23, 2020, 06:39:58 AM
Finally recognised...St Clair takes deserved place in First Citizens Hall of Fame
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

BERTILLE ST CLAIR was in Trinidad, having been hospitalised with a heart issue when he was inducted into the 2020 First Citizens Foundation Hall of Fame. He is better now, back in Tobago and buoyed by finally having received national recognition while he is alive.

St Clair cherishes the occasions those around him have honoured him, like a year ago when a three-day extravaganza was held in his honour in Tobago. St Clair is equally pleased at being inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Nothing happens before time, said the 78-year-old, who confessed to feeling elated.

St Clair boasts a long history of achievement. He has coached national football teams at every levelUnder-13, Under-16, Under-19, Under-23 and twice at senior level. He is still the only coach to have taken Trinidad and Tobago to the semi-finals of the Concacaf Gold Cup and also has five InterCol finals wins, during his time with Signal Hill Senior Comprehensive.

For St Clair, football was always about getting the best out of footballers. One could sense a smile on his face when he spoke of Dwight Yorke, a 10-year-old he put on the national Under-13 team for a Puerto Rico tournament despite objection from the then team manager.

When I pick him, the manager said where you going with that lil boy, St Clair recalls. I told him, who picking the team?

He remembers Yorke, a lanky Neil Shaka Hislop and cricketer Brian Lara as players he had selected after a national Under-13 team screening, and gave instruction that they return to St Augustine the next day.

Lara was not a bad player, he said. After I choose him, the father tell Lara if is cricket ah go take yuh, but if yuh going to football, yuh go have to walk.

That ended Laras football career, before he went on to become a record-breaking international cricketer.

St Clair rates Yorke, Russell Latapy and David Nakhid as the three most talented players he has worked with and he had a special place for Nakhid, who he said was a superb player who did subtle things other players didnt and some coaches never recognised.

Latapy was a good player, too, said St Clair, who also rated the goalkeeping pair of Shaka and Clayton Ince among his top players along with Angus Eve who, he said, did a lot for the country.

St Clair recalls always having to discipline his stars, particularly Yorke and Latapy, who sometimes wanted to be apart from the team in private cars. A strict disciplinarian, St Clair would have none of it. The former Montgomery school teacher recalled dropping in at Canaan and seeing 10-year-old Dwight among big men, with a beer in hand.

When he saw me, he dropped the beer, recalled St Clair, who promptly gave Yorke push-ups to do.

He also sent Latapy home for coming late to national team practice, let Angus Eve run the side-lines for a training session for a similar infringement and warned Arnold Dwarika as well.

On Charlotte Street I saw Arnold Dwarika, a very good player, drinking in a bar. I told him if I ever saw him in a bar again, then dont come around again.

St Clair felt Nakhid was one of those that led by example. And despite having to sometimes curb the former Manchester United strikers activities, St Clair also praised Yorke for his dedication on the field because when others were scurrying away after training, Yorke remained on the field to do what he termed his homework.

St Clair recalled the bittersweet experience of coaching Trinidad and Tobago to its only Concacaf Gold Cup semi-final in 2000, but being fired immediately after. The Soca Warriors went down 1-0 to champions Canada although St Clair felt T&T should have at least reached the final.

Having taken care of Costa Rica 2-1 at the quarter-final stage, T&T dominated the Canadians although Yorke was injured and not playing. Outstanding keeper Craig Forrest kept Canada in the match with a series of good saves, including to Nakhids first-half penalty, before a defensive lapse saw Mark Watsons 68th minute header win the match for Canada and the North Americans went on to beat Colombia 2-0 in the final.

An incident in Los Angeles on the morning of the match might have had a profound outcome. Yorke and Latapy wanted to travel in a private car while the rest of the team, including Dwarika, Nakhid, Anthony Rougier, Stokely Mason, Shurland David, Ancil Elcock, Marvin Andrews, Ince and Eve were expected to travel in the team bus.

Latapy came to me and tell me that a lady came for Dwight and I, said St Clair, who informed Latapy that all will be travelling in the team bus.

In football, you have to have a level playing field. What is good for one, is good for all, St Clair declared.

Like St Clair, Yorke, Latapy, Eve and Hislop are now also in the First Citizens Sports Foundation Hall of Fame. St Clair recalls Eve, now national Under-17 mens coach, joking and stating, all aboard to the great entertainment of the others as the stars were forced to also ride in the team bus that morning.

Yorke was the designated penalty taker, followed by Latapy and Nakhid in that order.

Latapy was to take that penalty but he was vexed because I did not give him the opportunity to travel in the car and didnt, St Clair stated. David Nakhid tried to take it and he missed, and that is how we didnt go on to the final of the Gold Cup.

St Clair still has some underlying resentment, like having an unbeaten national Under-16 team taken from him and given to another coach, and also being replaced by Englishman Ian Potterfield immediately after giving the country its greatest success at the Gold Cup.

They fire meh before I reach home, St Clair stated.

As a schoolteacher, St Clair applied incentive and discipline to making players better, more disciplined people. He frowns on coaches who allow stars to do what they want,

You have to lead by example, he said. We have an attitude that if you are a big player, you could go as you want. But if that same big player is injured, ent we have to play without him? he asked.

I used to tell Dwight Yorke and them yuh see what you do in England, do the same thing here.

Discipline is for all and respect is mutual, he said.

For St Clair, football was never about money since it was never motivation for a man who has lived simply and is dedicated to his vocation.

I see all about, people suing the TTFA for millions of dollars, St Clair said. I could have sued, too. But I love my country. And I love football.
Post by: Tallman on April 23, 2020, 07:14:45 AM
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago's most successful coach, Bertille St. Clair, explains his philosophy and experiences as a coach and teacher.

https://www.youtube.com/v/2PtCQe14D4c
Title: St. Clair Academy assists Tobagos needy
Post by: Tallman on May 28, 2020, 06:12:22 PM
St. Clair Academy assists Tobagos needy
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

Former national football team coach Bertille St Clair and members of the Bertille St Clair Sporting Academy aided the Covid-19 relief effort with a distribution of food hampers in Tobago last week.

A recent inductee into the First Citizens Foundation Hall of Fame, 77-year-old St Clair donated food hampers to those in need in the Bethel, Canaan, Carnbee, Ottley Street, Signal Hill, Patience Hill and Bon Accord communities.

St Clair took Trinidad and Tobago to their only Concacaf Gold Cup football semi-final in 2000 and also got the Caribbean nation to the Hex, the final stage of qualifying for the 2006 FIFA World Cup, before being replaced in the latter stages by renowned Dutch coach Leo Benhakker.

St Clair boasts a long history of achievement. He has coached national football teams at every level Under-13, Under-16, Under-19, Under-23 and the seniors twice. And he is still the only coach to have taken T&T to the semi-final stage of the Concacaf Gold Cup and also has five schoolboy football InterCol finals wins, during his time with Signal Hill Senior Comprehensive.

Having coached football, cricket and hockey, former school-teacher St Clair set up his own sporting Academy in 2019, having ended his long association with the St. Clair Coaching School. It is through his new academy that St Clair extended a helping hand. St Clair himself is just recovering from a heart ailment, having been hospitalised in Trinidad in March.

We at the Bertille St Clair Sporting Academy thought it best to help the parents, and some of the elderly people who are not doing so well, he told the Express.

We got some funds put together and a lot of grocery items, a lot, St Clair added, We distributed at Fourth Street in Scarborough, to Signal Hill, Patience Hill, Bethel and into Canaan. Bon Accord. We went quite a few places.

St Clair credits the initiative to Diane Thomas, manager of the one-year-old Bertille St Clair Sporting Academy. She is the manager. She came up with the idea and they came by me and we got it going, he said. Thomas said it was a spur of the moment thing after seeing the need in Tobago. Members immediately dived into action. Some of the members donated financially while others donated food stuff, with which we made up the hampers, Thomas said.

Of those helped, some were living under dire conditions, even before the Covid-19 pandemic struck, and graciously accepted whatever help came their way. One of the persons we helped had seven children and her mother had no feet, Thomas said.

There are still a lot of people in need, Thomas added. We will still try to help them.
Post by: Deeks on May 29, 2020, 02:26:14 PM
St Clair took Trinidad and Tobago to their only Concacaf Gold Cup football semi-final in 2000 and also got the Caribbean nation to the Hex, the final stage of qualifying for the 2006 FIFA World Cup, before being replaced in the latter stages by renowned Dutch coach Leo Benhakker.

Not trying to pour water on Bertille's accolades, he did a hell of a job in that tournament, remember Kevin Verity almost got us to the 74 WC. The tournament served as  WC qualifying.
Post by: Tallman on March 10, 2021, 07:06:25 PM
Former Trinidad and Tobago national football coach Bertille St Clair describes his coaching legacy, Signal Hill, the making of Dwight Yorke and the three As of developing talent.

https://www.youtube.com/v/iOufeZnq6G0
Post by: asylumseeker on March 10, 2021, 08:22:16 PM
Pure headache to get BSC to give tactical responses.
Post by: Peong on March 11, 2021, 08:14:25 AM
Signal Hill, the Green Machine, and later Malick with Dwarika used to leave me awestruck. Those teams used to ball under high pressure.
Post by: maxg on March 11, 2021, 03:02:59 PM
posted a response, but it seems to have been removed or deleted.    ??? ???
Post by: asylumseeker on March 11, 2021, 03:21:26 PM
posted a response, but it seems to have been removed or deleted.    ??? ???

Shite, that was a great post. I made two attempts at responding to it and deleted my posts because the configuration was off while trying to bolden parts of yours. It appears I deleted your post in doing so. It might be in another window. Hold tight.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 11, 2021, 03:25:48 PM
So I finally listened to the rest. I think you might of missed the forest for the trees. He has a philosophy not really particular tactics.
I can follow because I experienced similar coaches and think I adopted some of that. It is very basic, so much so that the tactic is oft times missed or overlooked. No magic formulas. Final product therefore is based on what is believed to be best selections for position, based on attitudes, passion, fitness and development.
In my opinion, therein lies the weakness. His philosophy on the international level does not consider the opposition. He puts what he considers his best on the field, they are trained to maintain their strengths, improve their weaknesses and let the chips fall where they may. 3 Gs, 3 As. No consideration of what type of players, tactics or coaching the opposition has. Thus he knows his players but has no idea, what theyre facing.
With technology and media, modern coaches have the advantage of knowing what and who they are facing and develop tactics to suite, in addition to picking their best team available.

no: he could speak at length of his teams, but hardly anything about the opposing teams, won or lost. We did this, we did that. We win, we lost  late. What did they do to beat your team was a question that should have been asked ? And he probably wont have had much of an answer, except to possibly say what his charges may have done incorrectly.

I like his philosophy,  as I say, football isnt rocket science, however today it has become more studied and scientific, besides changes in society and social values. Thus every facet to get a positive result ( win or lose) should be explored. A sportsman in an environment where he can achieve riches does not hold the same value in society, as a sportsman where that same activity is just a recreation. There are many levels in between and thus different levels of motivation to each individual perception.

I observed BSc NT training once and what I noticed most was buff and shouting. It was later explained that he is a disciplinarian and many TT youths only respond at the time to such. Go with a softer approach they think youre soft and sometimes develop disrespectful attitudes or behaviour. I didnt get it at the time, but the more I observed other cultural habits there, I noticed how pervasive that method of communication was. I still think doh, mutual respect can be achieved somewhere in between, however its a theory I myself have been unable to test. I would like one day to discuss SH experience with him, given the opportunity.

All reports Canadian and Trinbagonian indicate that as a coach SH struck and strikes a good balance between carrot and stick. At the end of the day, that comes down to personality and personal experiences (lived+learned) brought to the job.

I am curious what other posters think about BSC.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 11, 2021, 03:34:36 PM
I had modified and expanded on that response in what I deleted. Will try to reproduce it a bit later. The modified version was a much longer response.

One point I submitted is that I saw/heard a forest that was discipline, discipline, discipline, DISCIPLINE, DISCIPLINE, DISCIPLINE and no tree of any other stripe.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 12, 2021, 07:13:17 AM
So I finally listened to the rest. I think you might of missed the forest for the trees. He has a philosophy not really particular tactics.
I can follow because I experienced similar coaches and think I adopted some of that. It is very basic, so much so that the tactic is oft times missed or overlooked. No magic formulas. Final product therefore is based on what is believed to be best selections for position, based on attitudes, passion, fitness and development.
In my opinion, therein lies the weakness. His philosophy on the international level does not consider the opposition. He puts what he considers his best on the field, they are trained to maintain their strengths, improve their weaknesses and let the chips fall where they may. 3 Gs, 3 As. No consideration of what type of players, tactics or coaching the opposition has. Thus he knows his players but has no idea, what theyre facing.
With technology and media, modern coaches have the advantage of knowing what and who they are facing and develop tactics to suite, in addition to picking their best team available.

no: he could speak at length of his teams, but hardly anything about the opposing teams, won or lost. We did this, we did that. We win, we lost  late. What did they do to beat your team was a question that should have been asked ? And he probably wont have had much of an answer, except to possibly say what his charges may have done incorrectly.

I like his philosophy,  as I say, football isnt rocket science, however today it has become more studied and scientific, besides changes in society and social values. Thus every facet to get a positive result ( win or lose) should be explored. A sportsman in an environment where he can achieve riches does not hold the same value in society, as a sportsman where that same activity is just a recreation. There are many levels in between and thus different levels of motivation to each individual perception.

I observed BSc NT training once and what I noticed most was buff and shouting. It was later explained that he is a disciplinarian and many TT youths only respond at the time to such. Go with a softer approach they think youre soft and sometimes develop disrespectful attitudes or behaviour. I didnt get it at the time, but the more I observed other cultural habits there, I noticed how pervasive that method of communication was. I still think doh, mutual respect can be achieved somewhere in between, however its a theory I myself have been unable to test. I would like one day to discuss SH experience with him, given the opportunity.

1. Football may not be rocket science but it IS complex. I know that there is a school of thought that promotes that it is simple, but proponents of that view will have a hard time convincing Klopp, Guardiola, Bielsa, or Heinze. None of that is to say that there are aspects that do not need to be complicated. However, it is also a case of beauty (simplicity or moderate complexity or complexity) is in the eye of the beholder.

2. Yesterday, I was viewing Brazil playing in 1970. Zagallo had rigorously studied the opposition. It reflected in the play. If you ask Zagallo in 2020 about his tactical disposition during 1970, he can tell you. If you ask him this morning, he can tell you. Why can't BSC? (Doesn't?) To the comments you rendered, I add: I doh think it is a function of amnesia.

3. I don't think Zagallo was a pioneer standing all by himself 15-20 years before BSC.

4. Listen to BSC and he wasn't short of confidence. Or pride. See 5.

5. I think BSC suffered from some of the same malady you suggested afflicted Clauzel. (I gave Clauzel the benefit of the doubt. I'm not sure that I am going that route here).

Post by: asylumseeker on March 12, 2021, 07:32:18 AM

... It was later explained that he is a disciplinarian and many TT youths only respond at the time to such. Go with a softer approach they think youre soft and sometimes develop disrespectful attitudes or behaviour. I didnt get it at the time, but the more I observed other cultural habits there, I noticed how pervasive that method of communication was. ..

Including allegedly coming to blows.

A player told me he wanted out of his club because the coach had just shown a player who was man and that he wasn't accustomed to that dynamic between coaches and players.

I gather things returned to 'normal' but it was never back to normal for that player. Foreign ballers doh buy in to our "cultural habits".

Post by: maxg on March 12, 2021, 09:21:35 AM
You know, I once had a thought. I wondered if in some (maybe most) cases the perceived indiscipline to others, but the player disciplined to self and the sport is what makes many exceptional players achieve. They not being afraid to step out of the norm and do the things that not even the coach could teach or develop, yet do it successfully. And the crowd goes wild and everybody say great, and the coach look like a genius. Of Course it can be more detrimental in a team sport.

I can give a few examples I'm sure many will agree of the indiscipline of some of the best players that represented TT.

In my own experience, some of my most talented players were rogues, so my strategy was to manage their indiscipline and not have that spread throughout the rest of the team. In most cases it worked, however, where that strategy failed was when those players were stressed or pressured, they became even more individualistic to the detriment of the team. I countered with having the less talented, more disciplined players cover for those instances, however it demanded a change of personnel during the game, and as changes were limited, it mostly served to change tactics, which didn't work in the most critical game, the final.
It like a brilliant kid in an average class, becoming bored and getting into trouble. Termed deviant and ostracized.

you're so right about the usual Foreign ballers. However, in foreign I coached one of the few black teams in our new at the time Semi Pro league.

I miss working with players, As i said my greatest coaching experience was with kids, as I had to teach and thus I learned more of the game.

Some of my best charges on that team were a drug runner (assassinated -RIP), a bank robber(Phd who could not get work,RIP), 2 introverts (1 heart issues- RIP), alcoholic, a couple small business men (barber, shoemaker, Jazz musician), illegal immigrant - Morocco. These were outstanding above average ballers, the other guys were good model citizen and good players as well.  I didn't try to control them, I didn't have the capacity to choose them, the owner made the choice. I managed them but couldn't really say I coached them. One managed to make Canada and did well for a bit, another made St Kitts and Nevis but died before he played international. I couldn't take credit for their development or games we won, especially as we maybe had 2 full practices for the season, most of the time was just I and the 10 or so disciplined players, but I managed to keep them on the same page, and I studied the opposing teams, and gave my strategies in the warm up.

Years later when i run into a few, most thanked me for a job well done, a couple of the model citizens who later became better players thanked me for making them better players, but chastised me for not playing them enough. I long time learned in coaching, win or lose, you won't ever please everybody. You could only stick with your philosophy and make adjustment as you learn and whatever cards you're dealt with.

In my opinion, some coaches who may have been great at one time, get stuck on the philosophy and disregard the learning and adjustment. I always wonder what type of coach I'd be if I didn't step back. I honestly hoped I coulda of had the talent of an SH. I think his greatest strength as you mentioned is balanced communication. However, I didn't think I would have ever attaind that level at the time in this city. With the New Impact coach, things might be changing doh. Yet I see coaches have to give their life (and sometimes family) to the job. Not sure I wanted that, how about you seeker ? I feel you dun commit ahready, for better or for worse.   :devil: :beermug:  :rotfl:
Post by: asylumseeker on March 12, 2021, 01:25:57 PM
I thought Nancy merited the look before Henry, but they wanted a brand name. There's a gold mine of talent in the city and he might be the one to connect the dots.

Yuh ever read The Old Man and the Sea?
Post by: maxg on March 12, 2021, 05:27:11 PM
I thought Nancy merited the look before Henry, but they wanted a brand name. There's a gold mine of talent in the city and he might be the one to connect the dots.

Yes. I don't know him personally, I have seen him around awhile. I saw his charges play against a Jnr TFC team, my bud son was on that team. Their (Impact) play, formation and technical and tactical abilties were on point. I believeknow he knows the team and the city. I think he would do a good job. However, we know how the institutionalized system sometimes work and there is always, always 'fren' thing, even with successes.
Yes, on the book, but it was almost 50 yrs ago. Remind me, is it a similar fella like us with a donkey or a Vene. ?  :-[
Post by: asylumseeker on March 12, 2021, 06:37:01 PM

Yes. I don't know him personally, I have seen him around awhile. I saw his charges play against a Jnr TFC team, my bud son was on that team. Their (Impact) play, formation and technical and tactical abilties were on point. I believeknow he knows the team and the city. I think he would do a good job. However, we know how the institutionalized system sometimes work and there is always, always 'fren' thing, even with successes.
Yes, on the book, but it was almost 50 yrs ago. Remind me, is it a similar fella like us with a donkey or a Vene. ?  :-[

Ah ole fisherman reels in a BIG marlin. Goes far beyond his usual fishing ground to get it. Before that he went WEEKS without ketching even a 'wabeen'. On de way back he feeling NICE, but de sharks feeling nicer cause dey doh hadda work for dinner. By de time he touch land, de marlin is a skeleton, de sharks fully satisfied, and de ole man MASH UP from battling de fish and de sharks. Mission accomplished?
Post by: maxg on March 12, 2021, 06:56:26 PM
 :beermug: :chilling:
Post by: Tallman on February 21, 2024, 03:09:58 PM
Bertille St Clair among 21 sporting titans honoured at SHAPE launch
By Roneil Walcott (T&T Newsday)

Legendary Tobago football coach Bertille St Clair was one of 21 stalwarts recognised for their years of service within their communities on Monday, when the Ministry of Sport and Community Development launched their 2024 Sport, Health, Athletic Performance Empowerment (SHAPE) programme at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo.

St Clair coached Trinidad and Tobago's football teams at various youth levels and he has the distinction of being the only coach to take Trinidad and Tobago's senior team to the semi-finals of the Concacaf Gold Cup a feat they managed in the 2000 edition of the tournament. He was also the coach of the Soca Warriors in the successful 2006 World Cup campaign, before being replaced by Dutchman Leo Beenhakker.

St Clair also brought Signal Hill Secondary to prominence in the 1980s, with Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) league and national intercol titles.

St Clair is also widely regarded as one of the main forces who influenced the career of former Soca Warriors captain Dwight Yorke, who had an outstanding career with Manchester United, with success in the English Premier League and Uefa Champions League.

The former Trinidad and Tobago coach was not present to receive his award, but the VIP lounge at the Hasely Crawford Stadium was swarmed by sporting pioneers who have dedicated their lives to bettering the youth in the communities through activities such as dance, cricket, rugby, football, netball, track and field and so many more.

Two of the awardees, Rhonda Jones and Preston Nanan, told Newsday they were grateful to be acknowledged for their work and they said it gives them additional motivation to keep pushing the youths to excel.

Jones, a former coach of Trinidad and Tobago's youth female cricket teams from 2009-2014, was recognised for contribution in the sports of netball, football and her first love, cricket. Meanwhile, Nanan, who has been working in sport for over 30 years, was rewarded for his immense contribution to football.

Nanan's San Fernando Sports Academy has produced quality players such as 16-year-old St Benedict's College and Premier SC striker Malachi Webb, who has been selected on the Trinidad and Tobago's under-20 men's football team for the Concacaf under-20 championship qualifiers.

Nanan founded the San Fernando Sports Academy NGO over 15 years ago, with former Naparima goalkeeper Levi Fernandez and 2022 SSFL MVP Tarik Lee being two other high-profile graduates of the programme.

"It is a great accomplishment and a great feeling to know you coach these young guys and now you are seeing them on TV," Nanan told Newsday.

"It is a great feeling to know you have been honoured ...it is a great thing to recognise people for their work.

"Sometimes, these people go unnoticed for the work they do; and they have great influence in their communities, spending time with children and nurturing them and training them and giving them the courage they need."

Jones, a teacher for over 30 years, is extremely passionate about her La Horquetta community, and in 2009, she started the LH Movers Sports and Cultural Committee following the spate of murders in and around her community. Jones' brother lost his life, after a life of crime, and she remains committed on her quest to steer the youth of her community away from nefarious activities.

"I was always battling behind the scenes and that kind of thing," Jones said, reflecting on her community involvement prior to forming the committee.

"I decided I would come forward and let people know we could do so much more. We got some like-minded people together and we formed the committee. Since then, we have been doing so much."

Jones said the LH Movers Sports and Cultural Committee hosts a plethora of social, cultural and sporting events, and the recent Carnival season saw them teaching youngsters about the traditions of the festival to try and foster a greater appreciation for its roots.

While Jones is appreciative of the award, she said the hard work must go on.

"For me, getting this award is just saying: 'your work was recognised and it was not in vain.' And I will continue whether another award comes my way or not until God says no more.

"In my community, it is needed. It is really needed because it is really sad when I hear gunshots as opposed to a ball bouncing. I will go for a ball any day. I will give them a bat and a ball. That is just me."

21 Community Sport Titans honoured:
Trevor Alleyne (Cricket)
Charmain Archer (Netball)
Brian Browne (Cricket, Football)
Randolf Cato (Dragon boat)
Verna Edwards (Table tennis, Track and Field) Posthumous
Nikeisha Felix-Lewis (Cricket, Netball)
Gerard Franklyn (Track and Field)
Wade Franklyn (Track and Field)
Roger Frontin (Cycling)
Vishnu Gokool (Cricket, Table tennis)
Ulric "Buggy" Haynes (Football)
Rudolph Jack (Rugby)
Rhonda Jones (Cricket, Football and Netball)
Ingrid Maxwell (Cricket)
Ray Mitchell (Football)
Preston Nanan (Football)
Willet Pantor (Rugby)
Verlyn Ross (Rugby and Tagby)
Reynold Sewdass (Cricket)
Bertille St Clair (Football)
Lana Lisa Thompson (Dance)