Sports => Football => Topic started by: Trini _2026 on December 19, 2015, 03:02:59 PM

Title: 2017 Under 17 WC Thread
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 19, 2015, 03:02:59 PM
http://www.jamaicafootballfederation.com/v1/?p=13574
U17 begin training camp
Preparations for the CFU Under 17 Men's Qualifiers will begin on Friday, December 18 with a training camp called by National Under 17 Coach, Andrew Edwards. The camp will end on December 23.
Guided by the experience of the last Under 17 Qualifiers (2014-15) when our National Under 17 team came within a whisker of qualification to another FIFA Men's Under 17 World Cup, Coach Edwards has asked the Federation for another early start to preparation.
The team trains as follows at the JFF Football Center (UWI):
Friday December 18 - 4:00pm
Saturday December 19 - 7:00am and 4:00pm
Sunday December 20 - 7:00am and 4:00pm
Monday December 21 - 7:00am and 4:00pm
Tuesday December 22 - 7:00am and 4:00pm
Wednesday December 23 - 7:00am and 4:00pm
This camp begins the process of viewing and ranking some sixty-four players who have been identified to date.
Title: Re: 2017 Under 17 WC Thread
Post by: Tobago28 on January 03, 2016, 12:50:33 PM
Funding is one thing, but do we have a plan with schedule or do we have to wait for the funding to Plan?
Post by: Tobago28 on January 03, 2016, 12:56:47 PM
Trini 2018 your post is about U17 WC to be held in India, mine is about U20 WC in South Korea
Post by: Flex on April 05, 2016, 02:31:09 AM
U-17 footballers aiming for India 2017.
T&T Newsday Reports.

A 40-member squad of under-17 footballers is in deep training with their aim to make it to the age-group World Cup in India next year .

Coach Ken Elie is very confident his squad of under-17s will top their Caribbean Football Union qualification leg and become one of the four CONCACAF teams for the 24-nation 2017 FIFA Under-17 World Cup in September next year Elie said he had been preparing his squad since June last year.

He said he screened his squad between June and December last and put the players through specific training, both technical and physical .

Elie said his squad resumed training in January, “and there are four very special players in the squad, and we also have a couple of outstanding Secondary Schools Football League along with W Connection player John Paul Rochford who was on training with Barclays Premier League team Manchester City.”

He noted that it will be a difficult process to name his final squad. Elie hop;es to have a live-in camp in Tobago and also have a further look at some players from the sister island who I have already identified from a previous trip .

He said he and his team of coaches are working hand-inhand with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association to get the best possible preparations for the team .

Post by: Tobago28 on April 05, 2016, 05:31:52 AM
Great to learn that we started early, since last June.

However, concerned that players from Tobago have been identified but have not had the benefit of training with the group for over a year.

Secondly, where is the interest in overseas players? If you are training for almost a year but have not had Tobago players much less no mention of overseas players invited to camp.

Post by: doc on April 05, 2016, 07:13:51 AM
T&T Newsday Reports.

A 40-member squad of under-17 footballers is in deep training with their aim to make it to the age-group World Cup in India next year .

Coach Ken Elie is very confident his squad of under-17s will top their Caribbean Football Union qualification leg and become one of the four CONCACAF teams for the 24-nation 2017 FIFA Under-17 World Cup in September next year Elie said he had been preparing his squad since June last year.

He said he screened his squad between June and December last and put the players through specific training, both technical and physical .

Elie said his squad resumed training in January, “and there are four very special players in the squad, and we also have a couple of outstanding Secondary Schools Football League along with W Connection player John Paul Rochford who was on training with Barclays Premier League team Manchester City.”

He noted that it will be a difficult process to name his final squad. Elie hop;es to have a live-in camp in Tobago and also have a further look at some players from the sister island who I have already identified from a previous trip .

He said he and his team of coaches are working hand-inhand with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association to get the best possible preparations for the team .
.... and the beat goes on....
Post by: real madness on April 05, 2016, 08:19:00 AM
http://ttfootball.org/2016/04/04/u-17-men-preparing-for-qualifiers-for-2017-wcup-in-india/

Who are the players in training?
Post by: weary1969 on April 05, 2016, 09:21:24 AM
T&T Newsday Reports.

.... and the beat goes on....

AND ON AND ON
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 05, 2016, 10:23:52 AM
so ken eli got back the job .......
Post by: Bianconeri on April 05, 2016, 11:01:51 AM
 i hate when these writers dont even make the extra effort to give us a list of the players called up
Post by: Sando prince on April 05, 2016, 11:12:10 AM
i hate when these writers dont even make the extra effort to give us a list of the players called up

Right! We expect better from so called Sports Journalists
Post by: injunchile on April 05, 2016, 11:20:47 AM
Think of the Joy and pride in seeing the name of the players published in our local newspaper. Every Uncle Chester and Aunt Minerva will be beaming with pride, not to mention the players as motivation to make the final team. With all the bad press about Youth and Crime- Let us highlight the positives and eliminate the Negatives. As an added bonus - a photo shoot would be the icing on the cake.
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 05, 2016, 11:44:08 AM

Secondly, where is the interest in overseas players? If you are training for almost a year but have not had Tobago players much less no mention of overseas players invited to camp.

so no need to screen abroad ....Tobago28
Post by: Tobago28 on April 05, 2016, 06:17:41 PM
TRINI 2018 ah here yuh. Schools football equal to World Cup level and 4 special players compared to other countries with 11 special players.

I wonder how the non special players in that 40 player pool feel knowing that only 4 of them special and only the WC player that went on trial get mentioned.

Also, why put that pressure on Rochford.  Strange comments by coach.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 05, 2016, 06:58:01 PM
Elie made clarifications on the radio today. Said he has observed training in Tobago and that he has made fervent efforts to incorporate the Tobago-based players, but these efforts have been frustrated  (likely by the usual suspects: resources and getting things done ... I did not hear a specific reason offered).

Seems the plan or intention is to pull a few from Tobago rather than  to integrate all from 'Bago with all from T'dad and see who can hang.

My view: picking winners is just as effective as tossing a coin.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 05, 2016, 07:04:58 PM
TRINI 2018 ah here yuh. Schools football equal to World Cup level and 4 special VERY SPECIAL players compared to other countries with 11 special players.

I wonder how the non special players in that 40 player pool feel knowing that only 4 of them special and only the WC player that went on trial get mentioned.

Also, why put that pressure on Rochford.  Strange comments by coach.

:devil: Not "ordinary" special.
Post by: Tobago28 on April 05, 2016, 09:06:24 PM
Asylumseeker

We will see how "very special" they are. Special is always relative to the population and sample size. I often hear these comments from us with a population of 1.5 million, while Jamaica with double our population is inviting players from England, USA, Canada, Germany etc.

What is Elie expertise in identifying 'very special" vs. "ordinary" players?
Post by: ZANDOLIE on April 05, 2016, 11:04:44 PM
Yet another local coach who flex his mouth before thinking. 4 special players? What about the rest of the TEAM. You would never catch coaches of the calibre of a Beenhakker or Stephen Hart spouting this kind of nonsense. Ken, perhaps you should test and gel the TEAM with a few quality friendlies before you rush to coronate them as CFU champs. Good luck boys, you're going to need it.
Post by: Flex on April 06, 2016, 12:41:16 PM
Carlito Williams of Watford FC wants to play for T&T.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q039YsdNsdU

Post by: Cocorite on April 06, 2016, 03:05:54 PM

Ah see he have de Stern Turn. Looking good.
Post by: Richard G. on April 06, 2016, 04:17:14 PM
Elie made clarifications on the radio today. Said he has observed training in Tobago and that he has made fervent efforts to incorporate the Tobago-based players, but these efforts have been frustrated  (likely by the usual suspects: resources and getting things done ... I did not hear a specific reason offered).

Seems the plan or intention is to pull a few from Tobago rather than  to integrate all from 'Bago with all from T'dad and see who can hang.

There is a group of players from Tobago currently in training for screening. They've been in training since February. Players were being screened from January via the Tobago Zone SSFL. For Tobago, this is a step in the right direction (pre-screening training sessions rather than one-off surprise dates). Hopefully this will open the Tobago player's eyes to what is possible...
Post by: doc on April 06, 2016, 06:40:09 PM

There is a group of players from Tobago currently in training for screening. They've been in training since February. Players were being screened from January via the Tobago Zone SSFL. For Tobago, this is a step in the right direction (pre-screening training sessions rather than one-off surprise dates). Hopefully this will open the Tobago player's eyes to what is possible...
RG, when the coach mentioned the players they've seen, he's talking about from the screening a year ago. The Tobago player is playing uphill on a sloped field. The national pool were training 3 times per week for about 4-6 weeks, and then went to 1 day a week sometime in August. They continue to train together and still haven't brought in the fellows that they selected from Tobago to be included in the initial pool.
From my experience, the following words still resonate, " we have enough strikers in Trinidad, we looking for a central midfielder and goalkeeper. We'll have you as an alternate". I'll say no more.
Post by: Richard G. on April 06, 2016, 06:43:51 PM

RG, when the coach mentioned the players they've seen, he's talking about from the screening a year ago. The Tobago player is playing uphill on a sloped field. The national pool were training 3 times per week for about 4-6 weeks, and then went to 1 day a week sometime in August. They continue to train together and still haven't brought in the fellows that they selected from Tobago to be included in the initial pool.
From my experience, the following words still resonate, " we have enough strikers in Trinidad, we looking for a central midfielder and goalkeeper. We'll have you as an alternate". I'll say no more.

Been down this road before. Maybe fortunately, I didn't hear those words..." we have enough strikers in Trinidad, we looking for a central midfielder and goalkeeper. We'll have you as an alternate"....I would have blown my top. Anyhow...the work continues...
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 06, 2016, 07:19:16 PM

yuh sure flex :beermug:
Post by: Rastaman on April 09, 2016, 11:20:16 AM
Four years ago we had a group prepared in Tobago who played two games against the national team. The coach included four players into the national setup from those games.
The same process is in place. Hopefully the boys get the opportunity to play against their counterparts in Trinidad as soon as possible to give anyone that the coach likes to have a chance to gel with the team.

The games were supposed to be this weekend but we are all still waiting on any word from the TTFA.

In my opinion....without the benefit of seeing the Trinidad players..... There are about 6 or 7 players in the Tobago setup that could benefit from training with the full squad.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 09, 2016, 11:23:34 AM
I am going to shout. :) "THE PROCESS" SHOULD NOT BE AS DESCRIBED! It deprives players who live in Tobago of assessment on the same basis!
Post by: Rastaman on April 09, 2016, 11:44:31 AM
How much will it cost to send one person to Tobago one or two days a week to work with the boys. If the team trains on Tuesday and Saturday.....send an assistant coach to Tobago on Wednesday and Friday. That way when the boys are brought together the playing field s a little more level.

Beats having to carry 4-9 Tobago players to Trinidad to train with the team. That way more of them get the level of training that the national team is exposed to.......especially in the area of fitness.
Title: U-17 squad cut to 26 as Trinidad and Tobago prepare for CFU Qualifiers
Post by: Tallman on April 16, 2016, 05:41:23 PM
U-17 squad cut to 26 as Trinidad and Tobago prepare for CFU Qualifiers
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 17 Men’s Head Coach Ken Elie has selected a 26-man squad that will continue preparations towards the final round of Caribbean Football Union Under 17 World Cup qualifiers to be staged in T&T in September.

Elie has been overseeing preparations of the team since last year June and will be pushing on with the build-up program prior to the upcoming qualifiers.

Commenting on his selection thus far, Elie said: “We’ve got a good mixture of youngsters in the squad at this stage.

“The internal competition for positions is very keen and aggressive. There are three foreign based players in Omar Da Naia and Luke Singh from Canada; and Jonathan Godette of the USA. There is interest in one Tyresse Edwards of Canada, who is the lead scorer in his region in his last two divisional playoffs.

“We are into our first of five weeks on strength and conditioning training which in being spearheaded by Ronald Bradshaw at the Gym facilities at the National Stadium.

“We will also have regular sessions in May and June where the emphasis will be on tactical and technical precision as well as our psychological state regarding our competitive application and winning attitude,” Elie added to TTFA Media.

“What we’ve noticed is not only the abundance of talent within the squad but the appetite to play for country and to continue to learn and work hard is quite impressive.

He added that among those who have been consistent in training include Renaldo Mcintosh, John-Paul Rochford, Mark Ramdeen, Keshon Hackshaw, Jevaughn Humphrey, Nion Lammy, Omar da Naia, Luke Singh and Elijah Shade.

The 2017 FIFA Under 17 World Cup will be hosted by India which is the first time any FIFA tournament will be staged there. Four teams from CONCACAF will qualify for the 24-nation World Cup slated for September 2017.

T&T have appeared at two previous Under 17 World Cups, first in 2001 in T&T when the squad included the likes of current Senior Team players Kenwyne Jones, Jan Michael Williams and Marvin Phillip and then in 2007 South Korea when the local team qualified with players such as Kevin Molino, Daneil Cyrus, Sean De Silva, Leston Paul, Aubrey David and Sheldon Bateau.

Trinidad and Tobago U-17 Squad

NameSchoolClub
Ackeel JacobPoint Fortin East SecondaryPoint Fortin Civic FC
Andre RaymondTrinity College EastW Connection
Brandon SemperSan Juan North SecondarySan Juan Jabloteh
Christian RansomeTrinity College MokaW Connection
Che’ BennySt. Anthony’s CollegeSt. Ann’s Rangers
Darius DicksonQueen’s Royal CollegeDM Sport Academy
Darnell CharlesArima North SecondaryNorth East Stars
Devon CharlesArima North Secondary
Elijah ShadeSt. Anthony’s CollegeSan Juan Jabloteh
Emmanuel JohnTrinity College MokaSan Juan Jabloteh
Jerrin JackiePresentation College, San FernandoPoint Fortin Civic FC
Jesse WilliamsMucurapo East SecondarySt. Ann’s Rangers
Jevaughn HumphreySt. Benedict’s CollegeW Connection
John-Paul RochfordQueen’s Royal CollegeFC Santa Rosa/North East Stars
Jonathan GodetteMaryland USDC United
Judah GarciaShiva Boys Hindu CollegePoint Fortin Civic FC
Keon BoneyNorth Eastern CollegeNorth East Stars
Luke SinghCanada Soccer Academy
Mark RamdeenShiva Boys Hindu CollegeW Connection
Nickel OrrTrinity College EastSan Juan Jabloteh
Nion LammyPresentation College, San FernandoPoint Fortin Civic FC
Omar da NaiaCanada Soccer Academy
Renaldo McIntoshMayaro SecondaryClub Sando
Keshon HackshawTrinity College EastNorth East Stars
Tyrike AndrewsCouva East SecondaryW Connection
Zidane LiverpoolFive Rivers SecondaryW Connection
Post by: Storeboy on April 16, 2016, 10:27:10 PM
Not a single Tobago player. Are there no good players or the coaches are not scouting Tobago players?
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 17, 2016, 05:56:20 AM
U-17 squad cut to 26 as Trinidad and Tobago prepare for CFU Qualifiers
TTFA Media

He added that among those who have been consistent in training include Renaldo Mcintosh, John-Paul Rochford, Mark Ramdeen, Keshon Hackshaw, Jevaughn Humphrey, Nion Lammy, Omar da Naia, Luke Singh and Elijah Shade.

ah the sure pics
Post by: chelsealife on April 17, 2016, 07:14:34 AM
I'm just one person but no Tobago players then no support from me.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 17, 2016, 08:32:48 AM
It's April. 26 player squad for September? We playing de margins?
Post by: Deeks on April 17, 2016, 10:17:18 AM
Honestly speaking, there is room for gripes here. There are 3 overseas players on the squad. I have no issues with that. But to say not one Tobago player not good enough to make the team is highly suspect. The TTFA and Tobago FA have to do a better job to screen players from the sister island. I eh blaming the coach here. TTFA is at fault here. no excuse.
Post by: Tobago28 on April 17, 2016, 12:36:08 PM
This team is a rollover from U15 that the Coach has committed to work with, kudos to him but it suggests that no Tobago players were on U15 either. Since the Coach have narrowed players from Trinidad and he has until September he should be open to inviting players from Tobago and overseas. Its a long way from September and players develop, regress, get injured so the Coach has to keep looking.

The team has 4 or 5 gifted players but the majority need a lot of technical work to be able to compete at the CFU final and CONCACAF level.

Tobago players, parents and supporters have to do better and work to advance our most talented and hard working players. It is not just the TTFA nor the TFA; the parents and players have to push their agenda
Post by: Richard G. on April 17, 2016, 03:08:38 PM
The players from Tobago are still in training and are awaiting info on their screening sessions. This should have happened 1-2 weeks ago.
Post by: Tobago28 on April 17, 2016, 04:29:39 PM
This Tobago group in training story around for sometime now. The problem is the 26 mentioned entered a strength and conditioning program but the Tobago boys do not have the benefit of this coordinated preparation.  They will probably bring a Tobago 11 to play a Trinidad 11 and not choose Tobago boys. We need the same process and preparations for all boys.
Post by: Richard G. on April 17, 2016, 04:41:54 PM
Wha...yuh reach FULL WARRIOR status  ;D ;D ;D NICE

This Tobago group in training story around for sometime now. The problem is the 26 mentioned entered a strength and conditioning program but the Tobago boys do not have the benefit of this coordinated preparation.  They will probably bring a Tobago 11 to play a Trinidad 11 and not choose Tobago boys. We need the same process and preparations for all boys.

It's not a story. They are in training...up till this morning.

The weight-training problem has been a constant for some time now. Not saying it's an easy fix...There are some ways to keep them 'par' with their counterparts in T/dad. We need to use what we have for this.

Post by: Big Magician on April 17, 2016, 05:08:54 PM
ah kid name " Zidan Liverpool " yes...
Post by: Deeks on April 17, 2016, 05:19:35 PM
ah kid name " Zidan Liverpool " yes...

It could have been Everton!
Post by: Big Magician on April 17, 2016, 05:49:23 PM
or Ballotelli
Post by: asylumseeker on May 25, 2016, 10:47:11 AM
LIVE NOW AIFF Youth Cup FINAL USA v. SOUTH KOREA (U17s)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HpborO6TCOw

Hold tight ... whistle about to blow for second half of extra time.

UPDATE South Korea 2 USA 1. The Korean players were impressive technically and physically. Pay attention to them as a model!
Post by: Tobago28 on May 26, 2016, 07:28:42 PM
having watch our U17 team train, we are no where close to this speed of play. Our players crawling while they running. Its good we have time to improve by putting our players in pressure situations.

We can compete technically, not sure about tactically and physically
Post by: Flex on May 30, 2016, 04:58:06 AM
Elie: Under 17s preparations on stream for September.
TTFA Media.

National Under 17 Men’s Team head coach Ken Elie is continuing to monitor the progress of a 30-man squad during ongoing preparations for the Caribbean Football Union Final round of qualification slated to take place in Trinidad in September.

Elie has been overseeing the team’s preparations for close to a year now and has rated its current state as satisfactory.

“Things have gone fairly well. One of the big things for us of recent was our visit to Tobago a couple weeks ago. We played two games and were able to come away with five players that will be joining the current squad in June which is a boost for us,” Elie told TTFA Media.

The Team will play Petrotrin Palo Seco on Monday morning at Manny Ramjohn Stadium and Defence Force’s Super League team next Saturday at the same venue from 9:30am.

“We recently wrapped up our strength and conditioning training and this included a session on the Las Cuevas beach last Thursday which the players responded positively to” he added.

Elie said Canada-based player Tyrik Charles will join the team in June for a try out.

“We have thirty players in camp at the moment and everyone is quite eager and willing to put out the effort. We had a walkathon on Saturday from Marabella to High Street, San Fernando with the members of the team to create some awareness for the team which I thought went quite well, and we will be pushing on with our preparations with the aim and of having the team in the best possible shape by the time our first tournament comes around,” Elie added.

The team will be vying for qualification for the FIFA 2017 Under 17 World Cup in India. The grouping for the CFU Final Round will be determined and announced in due course.

(http://ttfootball.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/under17menmotorcade.jpg)

Post by: Tobago28 on May 30, 2016, 08:21:24 AM
Good idea on the walkathon to create awareness. Hope more events like this are planned to expose the boys to the public as a team, many positives
Post by: Deeks on May 30, 2016, 08:38:49 AM
Whey!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Kendal Walkes Jr. on the team. Front row extreme right, next to the moko jumbi. Congrats and Best of luck, KJ!!!!!
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 30, 2016, 01:12:21 PM
Whey!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Kendal Walkes Jr. on the team. Front row extreme right, next to the moko jumbi. Congrats and Best of luck, KJ!!!!!

he better get clearance he rep US virgin islands in  official qualifying already
https://www.facebook.com/PennFusion/photos/a.442650572522489.1073741826.441567535964126/642228835897994/?type=3
Post by: asylumseeker on May 31, 2016, 08:53:38 AM

Kudos to DJW? Seems an interesting inclusion given the off the field issues between Sr. and the TTFA.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2016, 09:49:12 AM
http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/sports/20160713/under-17s-confident-winning-cfu-group-qualifier
Post by: Storeboy on July 14, 2016, 03:08:54 PM
This summer vacation. No school. T&T should have these under 17s training every day 4-5 hours and playing games. I hope that is the case.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2016, 03:10:46 PM
This summer vacation. No school. T&T should have these under 17s training every day 4-5 hours and playing games. I hope that is the case.

4 to 5 hours? You driving mules!
Post by: Tobago28 on July 14, 2016, 04:31:43 PM
The U17 training but without a head coach, since our TTFA wannabe CFU President want all coaches to reapply. Two months from tournament and no coach and boys practicing by warming up with 6 laps at Ato Bolden. Where in football people still running laps instead of doing interval training, oh yes in Trinidad.

Elie was working with the group since they were U15 without compensation for almost 2 years, now you asking the man to apply leaving the boys unstable. This real chupidness.
Post by: Tobago28 on July 16, 2016, 03:54:47 AM
2016 CFU Mens Under 17 Day 1

16 July 2016

St. John's, Antigua - The first round of the 2016 Caribbean Football Union's Under 17 World Cup Qualifying saw Jamaica and Antigua and Barbuda grab victories.

Jamaica 4 - 1 Guayna

United States Virgin Islands 1 - 5 Antigua and Barbuda 
Post by: Tobago28 on July 19, 2016, 01:27:13 PM
2016 CFU Mens Under 17 Day 2

18 July 2016

St. John's, Antigua - CFU Under 17 qualifying continued in Group 4 with Jamaica grabbing their second win to go top after defeating Antigua and Barbuda and Guyana defeating USVI.

Jamaica 3 - 1 Antigua and Barbuda

Jeremy Verley 14', Kaheem Parris 37', Raewin Senior 88' (JAM).

D' Jarie Sheppard 84' (ANT)

USVI 0 - 1 Guayana

Joshua Ferreira 13' (GUY)
Post by: Tallman on July 20, 2016, 06:56:14 AM
Job listing for the position of National U-17 Head Coach (http://www.caribbeanjobs.com/National-Coach-U17-Boys-Job-72961.aspx)
Post by: truehaitian on July 25, 2016, 10:52:13 AM
Results for u-17 , group 2 in Cayman Island

Day1
Haiti 3 Puerto Rico 0
Cayman Island 4 Aruba 0

Day 2
Haiti 10 Aruba 0
Cayman Island 2 Puerto Rico 0

Day 3

Aruba 2 Puerto Rico 1
Haiti 4 Cayman Island 2
Post by: Tallman on July 25, 2016, 11:05:14 AM
Panama Named Host for 2017 CONCACAF Under-17 Championship
CONCACAF.com

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) today announced that Panama will host the 2017 CONCACAF Under-17 Championship, scheduled for April 21 to May 7, 2017.

The two venues for the competition will be Estadio Rommel Fernandez and Estadio Maracana in Panama City, Panama. Panama also hosted the CONCACAF Under-17 Championship in 2013.

“We are pleased to name Panama as host of the CONCACAF Under-17 Championship, which is one of our most important youth development tournaments,” said CONCACAF General Secretary Philippe Moggio. “Panama was an exceptional host of the 2013 Championship. We are confident that next year’s Under-17 Championship will be another unqualified success for fans and players alike, that will help the growth of soccer in Panama.”

Panama will welcome the region’s top Under-17 national teams to Central America for the tournament that will crown the regional champion at this age level. The championship will also qualify four teams to the FIFA U-17 World Cup India 2017.

“For the Panamanian Football Federation in particular and for Panama in general, hosting such an important tournament as the CONCACAF Under-17 Championship is a source of great pride,” said Panamanian Football Federation President Pedro Chaluja. “This designation demonstrates the credibility of FEPAFUT, its directors and collaborators, throughout the area and worldwide. We welcome all the participating teams and urge the players to practice Fair Play on and off the field, as they give their all for a place in the World Cup in India.”

The 2017 CONCACAF Under-17 Championship will include a field of twelve teams; Panama as host, three additional teams from the Central American Football Union (UNCAF), five from the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) and three from North America. The qualifying tournaments for the Caribbean and Central America will begin in July and November of 2016, respectively.   

The official draw for the CONCACAF U-17 Championship Panama 2017 will be conducted in Panama City in December.

Mexico is the defending Champion of the CONCACAF Under-17 Championship, after overcoming host Honduras 3-0 in the final of the 2015 CONCACAF Under-17 Championship.

CONCACAF Under-17 Championship Panama 2017
Date: April 21 to May 7, 2017
Site: Panama
Teams: 12
Caribbean Football Union (5)
Central American Football Union (4)
North America (3)

Number of teams to qualify for the World Cup: 4

Format: The twelve (12) teams shall be divided into a group stage consisting of two (2) groups (A, B) of six (6) teams each. The two group winners qualify automatically for the FIFA U-17 World Cup India 2017 and the championships final. The second- and third-place teams from each group are re-seeded by group stage results, with the top team of the four facing the fourth-best team, and the second-best finisher facing the third-best. The winner of each of those two matches also advances to the FIFA U-17 World Cup India 2017.
Post by: Tobago28 on July 25, 2016, 11:34:30 AM
We are hosting CFU in September and advertising for Head Coach, Assistant Coach, Goalkeeper Coach and physio on July 20th.

Ken Elie, who worked with the boys for over 18 months gone and now we doing what? LAWD and dem want FiFA position and CFU Presidency. Fix yuh blasted house fuss.
Post by: Tallman on July 25, 2016, 02:43:34 PM
Trinidad and Tobago will compete in Group A along with Haiti, Bermuda, and Jamaica at the 2016 Caribbean U-17 Championship (http://www.concacaf.com/article/caribbean-u-17-recap-six-book-tickets-to-tt)
Post by: Banter Banton on July 25, 2016, 02:56:32 PM
How the ass T&T Jamaica and Haiti end up in the same group? We don't use seed structure to draw groups?

Only in the f**king Caribbean yes
Post by: Tobago28 on July 25, 2016, 04:48:07 PM
How the ass T&T Jamaica and Haiti end up in the same group? We don't use seed structure to draw groups?

Do not presume that TT, Haiti and Jamaica are the powerhouses of the Caribbean, look at what happened to Jamaica in U20's. They did not qualify for CFU finals in Curacao and game third in group in Dominican Republic.  The rest of the Caribbean is catching up, some of their FA's are less corrupt and more stable thus able to plan and execute.

Cuba, St. Kitts & Nevis and especially Curacao with its ability to recruit Dutch players is on the rise. Look at Dominican Republic which was in my thinking a baseball country now have a a Professional league with 10 teams.  That's a country with almost 11 million people, many of Haitian descent that love football. Our U20's just played Turks and Caicos(TCI) and beat them 11-0 but the entire team was Haitian descent that love football, where will they be in 10 years with all the money in TCI for programs and training plus the benefit of being a British protectorate with access to UK.

We are falling behind by standing still is my point, the old assumptions are no longer valid because many people are using technology, improved coaching and more facilities to surpass our talent.

The draw is the draw, they had 6 balanced groups with 24 teams. We have to deal with new realities. Hope we ready or getting ready?

Post by: Tallman on July 25, 2016, 08:02:54 PM

Is de CFU, so dey could always change dey mind. LOL.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 27, 2016, 07:10:06 AM
Job listing for the position of National U-17 Head Coach (http://www.caribbeanjobs.com/National-Coach-U17-Boys-Job-72961.aspx)

Is this position (or any other) advertised on the TTFA website?
Post by: Tobago28 on July 27, 2016, 12:30:37 PM

Is this position (or any other) advertised on the TTFA website?

Did not see it on TTFA website but saw it on caribbeanjobs.com
Post by: Tobago28 on July 29, 2016, 12:37:38 PM
Yesterday they submitted 30 players to CFU/CONCACAF/FIFA for the September CFU Finals. I am told that that some players that only showed up to 1 or 2 practices in the last week were named while players that were there for months were ignored.

First they remove Elie by refusing to negotiate with him, leaving the team with Coach Dwayne and Coach Biggy. Sadly, this will not end well for our young men.
Post by: Tobago28 on August 05, 2016, 11:53:59 AM
TTFA name the U17 Coach yet?
Post by: Tobago28 on August 10, 2016, 09:17:27 PM
Wired868 Reporting that Latapy was interviewed for U-17 Coach today. Some bloggers saying he will get the job and be parked there to eventually remove Coach Hart.

If Latapy take that job with the intent to replace Hart, he will be sourly disappointed because no Coach can change the mess created by the TTFA when they fired Elie and are now less than a month away from the tournament and have no Coach.

TTFA allowed some ridiculously qualified coaches select the 30 Players to report to FIFA, now will bring in a coach to coach players selected by rank amatuers with the expectations of good results.

So sorry for what will happen to these boys against Jamaica and Haiti, maybe even Bermuda.
Post by: Tobago28 on August 16, 2016, 09:21:38 AM
16 September Haiti
18 September Bermuda
20 September Jamaica

Today is 29 days from first match and coach not named....LAWD!
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 17, 2016, 05:27:56 AM
 National Under 17 training squad has been called back to camp in preparation for the Final Round of Caribbean Football Union Qualifiers set to begin September 16, 2016 in Trinidad and Tobago.

As per attached Fixture, Jamaica is in Group A alongside the host; Bermuda and Haiti, playing its first game against Bermuda on September 16.

Group B consists of Suriname; Cuba; Curacao and Guadeloupe. Five teams from this Final Round will qualify for the CONCACAF Qualifiers.

Please see squad called to camp.

Training takes place each day, 7:00am and 4:00pm at Stadium East.
#    NAME    SCHOOL/CLUB    CLUB PARISH
1    Kimmani Gibbons    St Jago High Sch./Portmore Untd.    St. Catherine
2    Shaquille  Wright    St Jago High Sch./Portmore Untd.    St. Catherine
3    Tajay Grifffiths    Innswood High Sch./Royal Lakes FC    St. Catherine
4    Raewin Senior    Excelsior High Sch./Portmore Untd.    St. Catherine
5    ROMARIO Mcpherson    Bridgeport High Sch./Edgewater FC    St. Catherine
6    Jeadine White    St Andrew Technical/Cavalier FC    KSAFA
7    Jordan Petrekin    K.C./Real Mona FC    KSAFA
8    Terrence Francis    J.C./Santos FC    KSAFA
9    Horace Ramsey    K.C./Harbour View FC    KSAFA
10    Renato Campbell    K.C./Harbour View FC    KSAFA
11    Omar Thompson    K.C./Cavalier FC    KSAFA
12    Jamar Morrison    K.C.    KSAFA
13    Cleon Haynes    Wolmers Boys    KSAFA
14    Nickache Murray    Wolmers Boys/Cavalier FC    KSAFA
15    Tyrese Bennett    Wolmers Boys    KSAFA
16    Alex Gardner    Norman Manley/Waterhouse FC    KSAFA
17    Kaheem Parris    Dinthill Tech./Cavalier FC    KSAFA
18    Nickque  Daley    Clarendon Colege/Harbour View FC    KSAFA
19    Jamoi Topey    Camperdown High/Portmore Untd.    KSAFA
20    Calwayne  Russell    St James High Sch./Irwin Untd. FC    St. James
21    Daniel  Russell    Holmwood Tech./Hill Stars FC    Manchester
22    Jamar  Smith    Crystal Palace FC    England
23    Jordan Brooks    Portsmouth FC    England
24    Isreal  Perrin    Unattached    Canada
25    Clayton Brown    Markham Ontario Soccer Club    Canada
26    Malcolm Lewis    Unattached    USA

Seems he fully screened the local based now looking at more overseas
Post by: Cocorite on August 17, 2016, 01:12:12 PM
Coach Latapy?  ;)
Post by: Tobago28 on August 20, 2016, 03:52:16 AM
Latapy 2 year contract announced Friday, first training session on Monday. 25 Days to match vs. Haiti. I fear this will not end well for his young charges, seriously hoping for the best.
Post by: Tobago28 on August 31, 2016, 03:55:03 AM
First match 15 days away.

Latas been at the job for a couple weeks now, anyone have update on the preparations?

Post by: asylumseeker on August 31, 2016, 06:47:40 AM
First match 15 days away.

Latas been at the job for a couple weeks now, anyone have update on the preparations?

Really? He started working before his role/selection was announced on August 19?
Post by: Tobago28 on September 03, 2016, 08:44:39 PM
Really! He stated and I recall the media sent he observed training before his start. A coach and player of that quality would make at a minimum mental notes. So yes maybe not 14 days but certainly 10 days.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 03, 2016, 10:37:36 PM
That's one of the items I wanted to confirm because starting at 10 days effectively means taking a few days to immerse in the job (which would equate to maybe a week of intentional rather than casual work, but getting a headstart (on the timeline we are discussing) makes some difference.

The other thing that prompted my comment was whether there would be a question raised as to starting the job prior to being named publicly ... But, I suppose there is a defensible difference between being named publicly as the coach and an internal confirmation within the TTFA that a coach had been selected. No one needs another accusation of a lack of transparency or of not following internal protocol.
Post by: Tobago28 on September 09, 2016, 06:39:54 PM
LATAPY GETS HIS U-17 CHARGES READY FOR CFU QUALIFIERS STARTING ON SEPTEMBER 16TH

TTFA MEDIA

On the job for just under a month, former Trinidad and Tobago football maestro Russell Latapy is working feverishly with the National Under 17 Men’s Team to get them fully ready for the upcoming Caribbean Football Union Final Round of Under 17 World Cup qualifiers which takes place in this country from September 16th-25th.

Litany’s first assignment will be a clash with Haiti at the Ato Boldon Stadium on September 16th at 7:30pm. T&T then faces Bermuda on September 18th at 630pm and they finish the group with a Caribbean derby against Jamaica on September 20th at 7:30pm. All games take place at the Ato Boldon Stadium. There are double headers on each day. Group B matches involving Curacao, Cuba, Suriname and Guadeloupe will be played at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Lately pointed out that while there has been steady progress so far, there is still some fine tuning to be done before the opening match.

“Ive been in charge of the team there going on four weeks along with the rest of the staff. I’m very impressed with the standard of the players in the team. We have good players especially for their age and a lot of them are showing maturity beyond their age but there is a lot of work to do in terms of our organisational aspect of the game set pieces for and against, our positional sense and game awareness. But I am quite happy with the progress so far and with the players and their commitment to training and the effort of moving forward,” Latapy told TTFA Media.

He spoke of some of the immediate areas that needed attention within the 20-man squad.

“One of the important things that I had to do was get the level of fitness up. That was a tricky area because we are close to competition and while we needed to get them fit,they cannot be overworked because the recovery time is very short,” he said.

“One of the other principle areas I have been working on is game awareness and where they play in relation to the ball. At that age group we have in 20 players, we have seven or eight players that are mature beyond their age but then you have another 12 or 13 players who are getting their slowly or surely but tend to chase the ball about a bit, ball watching just keep following the ball and not seeing what is happening with the player they are marking in a defensive role and the ball. I have been working a lot on this and the tactical side of the game. Their technical ability is well on par for their age group,” Latapy explained.

Playing at home is something the ex-Porto FC player emphasized would be a key factor for the way his team approaches the matches.

“We are playing at home and we are Trinidad and Tobago. considered one of the giants in the English-speaking Caribbean. We are going to try and get back to the football we know we can play here which is offensive football, we gonna get the ball down, pass it around and we want to try and win games. With all respect to the other teams we are playing at home and we are going to go forward, try to win the game and entertain the fans and get the crowds back filling our stadiums.”

Lastly, Latapy commented on the support show by Dwight Yorke on Monday when the former Manchester United forward join the team for a training session at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

“We invited Dwight to one of our sessions for various reasons. Dwight is still very fit and he is also one of the players that most young players if not all in this country look up to. He was able to come in and do a session with the strikers, have a word with the team and share his views on our football and what is needed to do to achieve success.

“He emphasised on how hard they need to keep working. And hopefully him being in will give the whole team a lift and that was the whole idea behind it. He was still able to show them which runs to make and how to put the ball into the net. Dwight is a very positive influence on our football and on a lot of young lives. Just having him in there and playing a little scrimmage where they can go and say well yea I passed the ball to Dwight or I got a pass from Dwight that sort of stuff just gives them a lift before we go into this tournament and shows them what is possible for them to achieve with hard work.

“I want to thank Dwight for coming in and I would definitely invite him again to be part of our training session because the young players loved it. You could see them buzzing and speaking to each other about it and it’s the kind of positive influence we always want around any national team,” Latapy added.

T&T will face Haiti in their opening match at the Ato Boldon Stadium from 7:30pm on September 16th with Jamaica facing Bermuda from 5pm in the first game of the double header. T&T also faces Bermuda on September 18th at 6:30pm and Jamaica on September 20th at 7:30pm.

All Group A games will be played at the Ato Boldon Stadium with Group B games including Curacao, Cuba, Guadeloupe and Suriname being played at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. The top five teams from the tournament will advance to the CONCACAF Final round in Panama City next April towards the 2017 FIFA Under 17 World Cup in India.
Post by: Tobago28 on September 09, 2016, 06:56:54 PM
LATAPY GETS HIS U-17 CHARGES READY FOR CFU QUALIFIERS STARTING ON SEPTEMBER 16TH

TTFA MEDIA

On the job for just under a month, former Trinidad and Tobago football maestro Russell Latapy is working feverishly with the National Under 17 Men’s Team to get them fully ready for the upcoming Caribbean Football Union Final Round of Under 17 World Cup qualifiers which takes place in this country from September 16th-25th.

Litany’s first assignment will be a clash with Haiti at the Ato Boldon Stadium on September 16th at 7:30pm. T&T then faces Bermuda on September 18th at 630pm and they finish the group with a Caribbean derby against Jamaica on September 20th at 7:30pm. All games take place at the Ato Boldon Stadium. There are double headers on each day. Group B matches involving Curacao, Cuba, Suriname and Guadeloupe will be played at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Lately pointed out that while there has been steady progress so far, there is still some fine tuning to be done before the opening match.

“Ive been in charge of the team there going on four weeks along with the rest of the staff. I’m very impressed with the standard of the players in the team. We have good players especially for their age and a lot of them are showing maturity beyond their age but there is a lot of work to do in terms of our organisational aspect of the game set pieces for and against, our positional sense and game awareness. But I am quite happy with the progress so far and with the players and their commitment to training and the effort of moving forward,” Latapy told TTFA Media.

He spoke of some of the immediate areas that needed attention within the 20-man squad.

“One of the important things that I had to do was get the level of fitness up. That was a tricky area because we are close to competition and while we needed to get them fit,they cannot be overworked because the recovery time is very short,” he said.

“One of the other principle areas I have been working on is game awareness and where they play in relation to the ball. At that age group we have in 20 players, we have seven or eight players that are mature beyond their age but then you have another 12 or 13 players who are getting their slowly or surely but tend to chase the ball about a bit, ball watching just keep following the ball and not seeing what is happening with the player they are marking in a defensive role and the ball. I have been working a lot on this and the tactical side of the game. Their technical ability is well on par for their age group,” Latapy explained.

Playing at home is something the ex-Porto FC player emphasized would be a key factor for the way his team approaches the matches.

“We are playing at home and we are Trinidad and Tobago. considered one of the giants in the English-speaking Caribbean. We are going to try and get back to the football we know we can play here which is offensive football, we gonna get the ball down, pass it around and we want to try and win games. With all respect to the other teams we are playing at home and we are going to go forward, try to win the game and entertain the fans and get the crowds back filling our stadiums.”

Lastly, Latapy commented on the support show by Dwight Yorke on Monday when the former Manchester United forward join the team for a training session at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

“We invited Dwight to one of our sessions for various reasons. Dwight is still very fit and he is also one of the players that most young players if not all in this country look up to. He was able to come in and do a session with the strikers, have a word with the team and share his views on our football and what is needed to do to achieve success.

“He emphasised on how hard they need to keep working. And hopefully him being in will give the whole team a lift and that was the whole idea behind it. He was still able to show them which runs to make and how to put the ball into the net. Dwight is a very positive influence on our football and on a lot of young lives. Just having him in there and playing a little scrimmage where they can go and say well yea I passed the ball to Dwight or I got a pass from Dwight that sort of stuff just gives them a lift before we go into this tournament and shows them what is possible for them to achieve with hard work.

“I want to thank Dwight for coming in and I would definitely invite him again to be part of our training session because the young players loved it. You could see them buzzing and speaking to each other about it and it’s the kind of positive influence we always want around any national team,” Latapy added.

T&T will face Haiti in their opening match at the Ato Boldon Stadium from 7:30pm on September 16th with Jamaica facing Bermuda from 5pm in the first game of the double header. T&T also faces Bermuda on September 18th at 6:30pm and Jamaica on September 20th at 7:30pm.

All Group A games will be played at the Ato Boldon Stadium with Group B games including Curacao, Cuba, Guadeloupe and Suriname being played at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. The top five teams from the tournament will advance to the CONCACAF Final round in Panama City next April towards the 2017 FIFA Under 17 World Cup in India.

Latapy

It is not your fault if you do not succeed with this group, its the fault of the selectors that create a list of 30 players in advance of your arrival that was deficient of many technical and mature players.

Friend, family and bias ruled the day in selection

Good luck
Post by: Tobago28 on September 12, 2016, 04:07:24 AM
NAMES       CLUBS       SCHOOL                    POSITION                           D.O.B.
EMMANUEL JOHN   JABLOTEH   TRINITY EAST COLLEGE   GOALKEEPER                  11-Feb-01
ELIJAH SHADE   JABLOTEH   ST. ANTHONY'S COLLEGE   GOALKEEPER           4-Nov-00
JESSIE WILLIAMS   RANGERS   EAST MUCURAPO SECONDARY   DEFENDER            18-Jan-01
KERDELL SWEEN   JABLOTEH   SAN JUAN NORTH SECONDARY   DEFENDER   2-Mar-00
BRANDON SEMPER   JABLOTEH   SAN JUAN NORTH SECONDARY   DEFENDER   28-Jan-00
TYRIQUE ANDREWS   W. CONNECTION   NAPARIMA COLLEGE   DEFENDER   21-Nov-00
JERREN JACKIE   POINT FORTIN CIVIC   PRESENTATION COLLEGE SFDO   DEFENDER   24-Apr-01
MARK RAMDEEN   W. CONNECTION   NAPARIMA COLLEGE   MIDFIELDER   1-Jun-00
JOHN-PAUL ROCHFORD   NORTH EAST STARS   QUEENS ROYAL COLLEGE   MIDFIELDER   5-Jan-00
JODEL BROWN   JABLOTEH   ST. ANTHONY'S COLLEGE   MIDFIELDER   31-Oct-00
ANDRE RAYMOND   W. CONNECTION   NAPARIMA COLLEGE   MIDFIELDER   9-Nov-00
KEON BONEY   NORTH EAST STARS   NORTH EASTERN COLLEGE   MIDFIELDER   3-Feb-00
LUKE SINGH   VAUGHN AZZURI   ST EDMUND CAMPION   MIDFIELDER   12-Sep-00
NIKEL ORR   JABLOTEH   TRINITY EAST COLLEGE   MIDFIELDER   26-May-01
CHE BENNY   RANGERS   ST. ANTHONY'S COLLEGE   MIDFIELDER   18-Aug-00
ISAIAH HUDSON   W. CONNECTION   NAPARIMA COLLEGE   MIDFIELDER   27-Jul-00
OMAR DA NAIA   VAUGHN AZZURI   BILL BROTHERS SECONDARY   MIDFIELDER   17-Feb-00
JAYDON PROWELL   CENTRAL F.C.   ST. ANTHONY'S COLLEGE   STRIKER   5-Aug-00
NION LAMMY   POINT FORTIN CIVIC   PRESENTATION COLLEGE SFDO   STRIKER   31-Jan-00
JONATHAN GODETTE   D.C. UNITED   MARYLAND   STRIKER   11-Oct-00
KESHON HACKSHAW   NORTH EAST STARS   TRINITY EAST COLLEGE   STRIKER   26-Feb-00
TYRESE BAILEY   JABLOTEH   ST. ANTHONY'S COLLEGE   STRIKER   6-May-01
Post by: asylumseeker on September 12, 2016, 05:51:43 AM
T28, who would be examples of "technical and mature players" who did not make the 30-player list?
Post by: Tobago28 on September 13, 2016, 05:23:31 AM
T28, who would be examples of "technical and mature players" who did not make the 30-player list?

Asylumseeker, I prefer to not mention names going into the CFU Finals. However I have been reliably informed that if the U17 qualify for CONCACAF, Latapy has already developed a short list.

Post by: madness on September 13, 2016, 06:16:02 AM
what u mean short list?
Post by: Tobago28 on September 13, 2016, 06:34:32 AM
Short list of players that were left off the 30 for whatever reason that he will be bringing into camp if they qualify for the next round
Post by: asylumseeker on September 13, 2016, 06:47:36 AM

Asylumseeker, I prefer to not mention names going into the CFU Finals. However I have been reliably informed that if the U17 qualify for CONCACAF, Latapy has already developed a short list.

Fair enough.

Your comment seems to suggest that some players who didn't make this cut would be reconsidered (to include the players you are reluctant to name). Is that what you sought to relay?

Either way, once we prevail in CFU, I would strongly encourage the NT coaches to make their way to Honduras in November to view the UNCAF qualifying tournament and ask that the TTFA support such a request. The benefits from that trip would be immense regarding preparations for Panama. Ah not guessing.

EDIT: I see your confirmation above.
Post by: Tobago28 on September 15, 2016, 06:45:16 AM
Anyone have a link for tomorrow?
Post by: Tobago28 on September 16, 2016, 05:01:51 PM
http://wisports.tv/index.php/livestream

Respect Tallman
Post by: Deeks on September 16, 2016, 08:40:54 PM
Anybody WIsports live broadcast at Mandela Park(Geo V). That is nice though. Camera need a lil more close up.
Post by: Tobago28 on September 18, 2016, 07:16:55 AM
With some smart changes to the squad, we can get a good result this evening.
Post by: Sando prince on September 21, 2016, 04:45:45 AM
I am watching the full match in this video here, and these two teams are playing so slow, giving away possession easily and no intensity. Trust me when I say it will be the same old cycle when Caribbean teams meet the better teams at the CONCACAF stage. Mex, USA, CR and Pan will beat these Caribbean teams easily just like in recent years. The Caribbean youth football is too slow and lazy

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RYvdZrWbz_0&spfreload=10

Post by: Tobago28 on September 21, 2016, 02:22:23 PM
T&T U-17S STOPPED BY JAMAICA… LEFT TO WAIT ON GROUP B RESULTS

TTFA MEDIA

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 17 Men’s Team once again showed their ability to produce a strong show of resilience and ability to bounce back but it was not enough on Tuesday night as they went down 3-2 to Jamaica in their closing Group A fixture in the Caribbean Football Union Finals at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

Down 2-0 at half time and in a similar situation to that of their previous encounter against Bermuda, T&T fought themselves back into the affair to level the scores at 2-2 but the “Reggae Boyz” were just too good on the night.

T&T finished Group A in third place with three points behind winners Haiti (seven points) and Jamaica (seven points). Haiti drubbed Bermuda 5-0 in Tuesday’s earlier match in Couva.

T&T must now await the results of Group B’s closing games on Wednesday. If  Suriname loses to Cuba by two or more goals, T&T can still advance to the CONCACAF Final phase as the best third place team from the two groups.

On Tuesday night, a double by Raewin Senior in the 13th and 76th minutes and another item by Nicque Daley in the 36th minute did the job for the visitors. But a stubborn T&T outfit didn’t give in and skipper Jayden Prowell levelled the scores in the 57th minute after substitute Nion Lammy had pulled a goal back three minutes into the second half.

T&T had a somewhat sluggish start but soon found their footing after Jamaica pounced for the 1-0 lead.

A good combination between Damani Osei and Nicque Daley, led to a ball through for Senior who blasted past goalkeeper Emmanuel John from 12 yards out.

T&T had a couple good efforts near the half hour mark through Che Benny but Jamaica kept their advantage which they would double when Daley headed home from close up.

After rallying back and leaving their opponents on the blackfoot for long periods in the second half, T&T failed to finish the job and Jamaica would have the final say when Damani Osei’s left-sided cross found a lurking Senior and he made no mistake, shooting low past John for the winner.

T&T also lost to Jamaica, 5-1 in their previous meeting at this level, that time at the CONCACAF Final round in Honduras in 2015.

T&T Line up – Emmanuel John (GK), Kerdell Sween, Jesse Williams, Brandon Semper (Nion Lammy 38th), Isaiah Hudson, Jodel Brown (John-Paul Rochford 84th), Jaydon Prowell, Che Benny (Luke Singh 74th), Jerrin Jackie, Keishon Hackshaw, Nickel Orr

Subs not used: Keon Boney, Tyrike Andrews, Tyrese Bailey, Omar Da Naia, Jonathan Oddette, Elijah Shade

Jamaica Line up – Tajay Griffiths (GK) , Kendall Edwards, Damani Osei, Nickashe Murray, Cobi Atkinson, Kimmani Gibbons , Blake White (Jeremy Verley 53rd), Renato Campbell, Nickque Daley (Chad Letts 65th), Raewin Senior, Kaheem Parris (Jordan Petrekin 78th)

Subs not used: Daniel Russell, Cal-Wayne Allen, Horace Ramsay, Jamari Morrison, Omar Thompson

Referee: Trevor Taylor (Barbados)
Post by: Deeks on September 21, 2016, 06:10:03 PM
WI Sports showing Cuba vs Suriname at the HCS. 0-0. Curacao 0 vs Guadaloupe 0 in the first game.

http://wisports.tv/index.php/livestream
Post by: Deeks on September 21, 2016, 06:55:19 PM
so if Cuba and Suriname tie, TT out?
Post by: Deeks on September 21, 2016, 07:14:15 PM
Well Cuba leading 2-1! Good or bad?
Post by: Tobago28 on September 21, 2016, 07:34:29 PM
Well Cuba leading 2-1! Good or bad?

My calculations are we out!

Haiti        7      7           1
Jamaica  7      5           2
TnT        3     -2   
Bermuda 0   -10   

Cuba        9      8           1
Curacao  4      1           2
Suriname 3    0           Best 3rd on goal differnce
Guadeloupe   1  -9   
Post by: frico on September 22, 2016, 03:19:16 AM
Cuba needs to score one more goal,a 3-1 result wwill get us in.
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 22, 2016, 03:35:47 AM
Latapy should have had his team sit back late in the game ...y
Post by: Tobago28 on September 22, 2016, 04:24:25 AM
Latapy should have had his team sit back late in the game ...y

You make a great point. Two years ago Shawn Cooper did exactly that in CFU U17 Finals in Haiti to secure 3rd best for Concacaf.
Post by: elan on December 13, 2016, 08:18:58 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CzmMmK5UkAAnm70.jpg:small)
Post by: asylumseeker on May 07, 2017, 01:14:14 AM
2017 European U-17 Championship, Group Stage.

https://www.youtube.com/v/_I4Dpk4B1nk

Group A, matchday 1, Turkey v Spain.

https://www.youtube.com/v/Fk1uDBv31Nw

Group A, matchday 1, Croatia v Italy. 0-1.

Matchday 2 results:

Croatia 1  Turkey 4
Spain 3  Italy 1

Matchday 3 will be played on Tuesday, May 9.  Spain v Croatia and Italy v Turkey.

Post by: asylumseeker on May 07, 2017, 01:42:34 AM

https://www.youtube.com/v/jOEps4KFzy4

Group B, matchday 1,  Scotland v Faroe Islands. 2-0.

https://www.youtube.com/v/6kzs7v58HHc

Group B, matchday 1, Hungary v France. 3-2.

Mathday 2 results:

France 7 Faroe Islands 0.
Scotland 1 Hungary 1.

Matchday 3 will be played on Tuesday, May 9.

France v Scotland
Faroe Islands v Hungary.

https://www.youtube.com/v/vBP7dSSkHfU

Scotland's U17 Jonny Mitchell on the Under-17s Euros.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 07, 2017, 02:00:00 AM

https://www.youtube.com/v/1PgbTPeNFdo

Group C, matchday 1, Serbia v Ireland. 1-0.

https://www.youtube.com/v/p9A2YfnXNoQ

Group C, matchday 1, Germany v Bosnia-Herzegovina. 3-1.

Matchday 2 will be played today, Sunday, May 7. Germany v Serbia and Bosnia-Herzegovina v Ireland.

Matchday 3 will be played on Wednesday, May 10. Ireland v Germany and Bosnia-Herzegovina v Serbia.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 07, 2017, 02:49:54 AM

Group D, matchday 1, The Netherlands 1 Ukraine 0.

Reports indicate Holland was the dominant team and that the goal by El Bouchatoui (see below) was a powerful strike.

Video being sourced.

https://www.youtube.com/v/bJP1vsD9oE8

Group D, matchday 1, Norway v England. 1-3.

Matchday 2 will be played today, Sunday, May 7. England v Ukraine and the Netherlands v Norway.

Matchday 3 will be played on Wednesday, May 10. England v The Netherlands and Ukraine v Norway.

https://www.youtube.com/v/hvlLEH7kBRQ

Achraf El Bouchataoui (Feyenoord.)
Post by: asylumseeker on May 07, 2017, 03:08:45 AM
CONCACAF U-17, Final Classification Stage for India 2017.

https://www.youtube.com/v/Mtgb18LV8YI

Matchday 1, May 1, 2017. Cuba v Honduras. 1-7.
Other team in this group: The United States.

https://www.youtube.com/v/1oJerwv1MMw

Matchday 1, May 1, 2017. Costa Rica v Panama. 2-1.
Other team in this group: Mexico.

Post by: asylumseeker on May 07, 2017, 03:17:31 AM

https://www.youtube.com/v/BhqtIKAjFuo

Matchday 2, May 3, 2017. Honduras v The United States. 0-3.
Other team in group: Cuba.

https://www.youtube.com/v/zekVi5fFdso

Matchday 2. May 3, 2017. Panama v Mexico. 0-1.
Other team in group: Costa Rica.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 07, 2017, 03:44:15 AM

https://www.youtube.com/v/cxc0fZjz-G8

Matchday 3, May 5, 2017. Cuba v The United States. 2-6.
Other team in group: Honduras.

As a result of the matches played over three matchdays, the United States and Honduras qualify for the 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup. Having lost twice, with 3 goals for and 13 against, Cuba was eliminated.

https://www.youtube.com/v/GR4Q5WhvAes

Matchday 3, May 5, 2017. Costa Rica v Mexico. 1-6.
Other team in group: Panama.

As a result of the matches played over three matchdays, Mexico and Costa Rica qualify for the 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup. Having lost two matches, Panama was eliminated (2-1 v Costa Rica and 1-0 v Mexico).

The final of the 2017 CONCACAF U-17 Championship will take place today, Sunday, May 7, 2017. The match will be live streamed here (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1k2yhYRdsp) from 3:50 p.m. Eastern Standard Time (EST).

Battling for the championship: US v Mexico.

Go to CONCACAF's youtube page if the link does not work for you.
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 07, 2017, 02:19:46 PM
That guy from the uk jordan sancho is very good I i wonder what is his heritage :)
Post by: asylumseeker on May 08, 2017, 06:10:09 AM
Mexico are the 2017 CONCACAF U-17 Champions having defeated the United States through five "flawless" penalty kicks. Read and see more here (http://www.socceramerica.com/article/73296/this-us-loss-to-mexico-for-u-17-concacaf-crown.html?edition=17179).
Post by: asylumseeker on May 08, 2017, 08:44:04 AM

Group A

https://www.youtube.com/v/w7dVkOZZhx0

Group A, matchday 2, Croatia v Turkey, 1-4.

https://www.youtube.com/v/1b19r_hqaoc

Group A, matchday 2, Spain v Italy, 3-1.

After two matchdays, hosts Croatia have been eliminated following losses v Turkey and Spain.

Group B

https://www.youtube.com/v/X5ze48t1mD4

Group B, matchday 2, France v Faroe Islands, 7-0.

Group B, matchday 2, Scotland v Hungary, 1-1. Video being sourced.

After two matchdays, the Faroe Islands have been eliminated following two defeats (v Scotland 2-0 and the loss to France, above).

Group C

https://www.youtube.com/v/B1Q8o5OM2As

Group C, matchday 2, Germany v Serbia. 3-1.

https://www.youtube.com/v/1LaIPXJpaD0&index=4&list=PLhjLO-ekrsRt0LONramF8YMTJQT1NgIQH

Group C, matchday 2, Ireland v Bosnia-Herzegovina. 2-1.

Group D  matchday 2 results.

England 4 Ukraine 0 (includes a goal by Jadon Sancho).
Netherlands 2 Norway 2.

After two matchdays, Ukraine has been eliminated following losses to the Netherlands (1-0) and England above. Video being sourced.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 09, 2017, 12:28:01 AM
Penalty shootout trial begins
Sky Sports

A new penalty shootout system similar to the tennis tie-break will be tested at the European U17 championship, which got underway in Croatia on Wednesday.

Known as ABBA, the system is designed to prevent the team that goes second from being put at the psychological disadvantage of always having to play catch-up.

Currently, penalty shootouts see team A and team B take five penalties each in an alternating pattern with sudden death used after that if the scores are level.

Football's rules makers the International Football Association Board (IFAB), which approved trials of the new system in March, says research proves the team taking the first penalty have a 60 per cent chance of winning, giving them an unfair advantage.

Instead, IFAB want to try a new sequence that replicates the switch of serve between tennis players in a tie-break.

It involves team A taking the first penalty, team B the second and third, team A the fourth and fifth and so on until each team had taken five. The sequence would continue if the shootout then goes to sudden death.

"The hypothesis is that the player taking the second kick in the pair is under greater mental pressure," a UEFA statement read.

"If the opposition's first penalty in the pair has been successful, a miss by the second penalty-taker in the pair could mean the immediate loss of a match for his team, especially from the fourth pair of penalties onwards."

UEFA said the system was also being tried at the women's European U17 championship, which began in the Czech Republic on Tuesday.

As with the existing system, the referee will toss a coin to decide at which end of the pitch the shootout takes place.

The referee will then toss the coin for a second time and winners can decide whether to take the first or second kick.

New ABBA penalty shootout system to be tested
MARCA

UEFA are to test a new penalty shootout at the European Under-17 Championship, with a view to implementing it going forward in all competitions.

The tournament begins in Croatia on Wednesday (ongoing) for men and Tuesday in the Czech Republic for women (ongoing) and for any games that must be decided be a penalty shootout, the new system will be in place.

Instead of teams alternating kicks, as they currently do, a new 'ABBA' system will be tested, following a study by Spanish professors Ignacio Palacios-Huerta and Jose Apesteguia.

Under the new model, team A will take the first kick and will be followed by two successive kicks for team B, before they themselves take two consecutive penalties under the sequence which would continue until there is a winner.

Studies showed that change would perhaps be welcomed as there is a greater mental pressure on the team shooting second, particularly later in the shootouts if they are required to score to avoid defeat.

In total, 2,900 penalties across 270 shootouts between 1970 and 2008 were analysed and it was concluded afterwards that under the current format, the team which takes the first kick has a 21 percent higher chance of winning the game.

A coin will still be tossed in order to determine who goes first and which end of the ground the kicks will be taken.

Post by: asylumseeker on May 17, 2017, 10:24:55 AM
2017 U-17 Africa Cup of Nations

https://www.youtube.com/v/k4ko4ebxQWs

Group A

https://www.youtube.com/v/YBVuxKopA_c

Matchday 1, Ghana v Cameroon.

Other result: Gabon 1 Guinea 5

https://www.youtube.com/v/THpXhnxukOg
Post by: asylumseeker on May 17, 2017, 10:59:24 AM
Group B

https://www.youtube.com/v/hxv2qLVP_uM

Mali 0 Tanzania 0 Dropped points for the Malians.

https://www.youtube.com/v/er8Ira2rJBw

Angola 2 Niger 2

Equalizing goals shown first. Niger's goals follow.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 17, 2017, 03:10:19 PM
Cameroon Stop Guinea Run in Port Gentil
CAF Online

Guinea 1 Cameroon 1
Matchday 2, played today.

Guinea and Cameroon on Wednesday played out a pulsating 1-1 draw at the on going Total U-17 African Cup of Nations Gabon 2017 with a goal each in either half of a lively [Group  A] encounter in Port Gentil.

Les Syli Cadets' in-form player striker Djibril Fandje Toure scored the opener for Guinea in the 22nd minute which incidentally was his fourth goal in the campaign while Stephane Zobo scored a 67th minute equaliser to revive Cameroon's hope in the competition despite losing 4-0 to Ghana in their first match.

Cameroon started the encounter well prepared and enjoyed much of the play in the opening quarter of an hour yet they went behind against the run of play after Toure forced the ball away from his marker and on-rushing goalkeeper Boris Juniour Esele before slicing the ball into the net  for the only goal of the first half.

At the restart, Cameroon showed more hunger as they pinned Guinea to their half and delivering  more ball upfront for lone striker, Zobo who troubled his markers. It was in one of those deliveries that Zobo pounced on the ball and volley into the roof of the net beyond bewildered goalkeeper Ibrahima Sylla.

Wednesday's match was the third drawn result between both teams as the two previous encounters also ended 1-1(1999) and 0-0(2009).

Guinea will now face Ghana at the Stade de l'Amitie on Saturday  in their last Group A match in Libreville while Cameroon and Gabon meet in Port Gentil in the other group's encounter.

Total Man of the Match:  Djibril Fandje Toure

REACTIONS

Souleymane Camara ( Head Coach, Guinea)
The objective was a win today but a draw is still acceptable because it shows that we need to work harder in order to achieve our objective of qualifying for the World Cup. I'm not depressed that some of our players did not raise their game but this is a team effort; and we would continue to work on our collective abilities. Cameroon gave a good fight because they lost to Ghana and they were compelled to come out fighting. For our next game against Ghana, we would achieve a positive result to go through into the knockout stage.We  would expect a tough match against Ghan but we will be ready.

Bertin Ebwelle (Head Coach, Cameroon)
This is competition and we still have the possibility of going through with this result. We can look forward to our last group match against Gabon with great hope, anything is still possible. We are still hopeful and we need to score more goals in the next match to have a mathematical chances of going through.

Djibril Fandje Toure( Total Man of the Match)
This is my first major competition and I'm really happy that I won the Man of the Match Award in a very difficult contest against Cameroon. Scoring a goal and three in our first match against Gabon was a reward for the good job the coach has done on us. I want to thank the coach for relying so much on me and this would make us work better for the last game against Ghana.

+++++
In today's other encounter:

https://www.youtube.com/v/G_eJ5XmZS_8

Ghana 5 Gabon 0.

It's fair to say that the communication between the Gabonese keeper and his defenders needs much work.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 18, 2017, 11:09:36 AM
2017 UEFA U-17 Championship

On the  final group stage matchday, the results in Group A were as follows:

Spain 1 - 1 Croatia
Italy 1 - 2 Turkey

Spain and Turkey advanced to the knockout stage with Croatia and Italy eliminated.

Quarterfinal results

Spain 3  France 1      Match footage available here. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J39IYzTWlz0)

Hungary 0  Turkey 1.    Turkey won courtesy an own goal. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jnGFIPqTEaE)

After the quarterfinal round, Spain and Turkey both advanced to the tournament semi-finals.

Semi-final results

Spain 0  Germany 0 (in regulation time)
Spain 4  Germany 2 ( ABBA penalty shootout). Video available here. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fUlaJgIFqSk)

Spain advanced to the 2017 UEFA U-17 final, to be played on Friday, March 19. However, Turkey lost to England (1-2, with Jadon Sancho having scored the winner).

https://www.youtube.com/v/-e1-pTanYlU

Spain and England will face each other in the final.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 18, 2017, 11:21:44 AM
U17 EURO final preview: Spain v England
By Wayne Harrison, UEFA.

Spain or England will become UEFA European Under-17 Championship winners for a record third time when they go head to head in the 2017 final in Varazdin on Friday.

*Spain and England meet in a UEFA European Under-17 Championship final for third time
*La Roja defeated England for their first title in 2007; England overcame Spain in 2010
*Both nations are two-time U17 EURO winners – no team has three victories to their name
*Spain are in a record seventh final at this level, England their fourth
*Captain Abel Ruiz was in the Spain side beaten on penalties by Portugal in the 2016 final
*England have won all 11 of their matches in the 2016/17 competition

Possible line-ups

Spain: Fernández; Morey, Guillamón, Chust, Miranda; Blanco, Moha, Sergio Gómez; Torres, Ruiz, Orellana.

England: Bursik; Eyoma, Guehi, Panzo, Gibson; Foden, McEachran, Denny; Hudson-Odoi, Brewster, Sancho.
Out: Tashan Oakley-Boothe (head injury)

Santi Denia, Spain coach
England have a complete team and a lot quality that I haven't seen for a while in them. We have to be strong in attack and defence, be focused and work as a group. This England team demands perfection from us.

We're focused on how to win this tournament, not what has gone before in previous years [Spain having not won this title since 2008]. It would be really big for Spain to triumph again and that's what we'll try to do against a very tough side.

Steve Cooper, England coach
Joel Latibeaudiere is with us now [added to the squad after the semi-final injury to Oakely-Boothe], but in terms of selection and game plan, who replaces Tashan is something we haven't decided. I've said from day one that it's about everyone in the squad playing their part. Whatever team we put out, we really believe in each other.

We've prepared as normal. This is our sixth game of an intense couple of weeks and the biggest test comes with the occasion of the final. We really respect Spain's qualities, but we'll have a plan and be ready to go.

Form guide in Croatia (most recent first)

Spain: DWDWW
England: WWWWW

Reporter's view: Wayne Harrison

Having named the same XI for each of England's five fixtures in Croatia, Cooper will be forced into a change. Who comes in for midfielder Tashan Oakley-Boothe, knocked out in the first half of the semi-final against Turkey, remains to be seen. Alexander Denny did so on Tuesday, but Cooper has since drafted in Manchester City centre-back Joel Latibeaudiere, himself not long back from injury.

Jadon Sancho has five goals and four assists in Croatia. Full-backs Mateu Morey and Juan Miranda, both impressive versus France in the last eight, provide Spain's width. Whether they will be as forward-thinking against Callum Hudson-Odoi and, in particular, Jadon Sancho is another thing, however. The battle for supremacy on the flanks will be fascinating.   

Did you know?

• Midfielder George McEachran is striving to emulate his brother, Josh, who was in the England side that won the 2010 UEFA European Under-17 Championship. England's opponents in the final? Spain.

• Ruiz, the record appearance maker in U17 EURO history with 23 outings, requires one more goal to become the competition's all-time leading scorer, qualifying included. The Barcelona forward is tied with Portugal's José Gomes on 16.

• In 2007 Spain also won their semi-final on penalties and went on to play (and beat) England in the final.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 19, 2017, 11:24:03 AM
LIVESTREAM  Link to view the UEFA U17 final featuring Spain v England. Kicks off at 2pm TT time.

Click here. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rzA_8c8vOuA)
Post by: palos on May 19, 2017, 02:06:42 PM
LIVESTREAM  Link to view the UEFA U17 final featuring Spain v England. Kicks off at 2pm TT time.

Thanks for the links and updates
Post by: asylumseeker on May 19, 2017, 03:12:32 PM

Thanks for the links and updates

Ah keep hoping the decision-makers tune in to sorting out what age group football should look like ... rather than what they think it should look like.

Some on here will be vexed, but the mission will continue in a few hours when the U20 WC kicks off in Korea. Ah know once we eh there, we tend not to care ... but ah well, so be it.

Post by: asylumseeker on May 19, 2017, 03:41:48 PM
Qualifying Nations from UEFA

1. Spain
2. England
3. Germany
4. Turkey
5. France