Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on March 03, 2016, 06:00:48 PM

Title: Building a local team could be a step in the right direction.
Post by: Flex on March 03, 2016, 06:00:48 PM
Building a local team could be a step in the right direction.
By Inshan Mohammed.

Time to bridge the gap.

When Trinidad and Tobago came tantalizingly close to qualifying for the 1990 FIFA World Cup finals in Italy back in 1989, two things stood out to me that just couldn't be ignored.

The first thing was the fact that CONCACAF was only allotted two qualifying spots to the FIFA World Cup.  The second impressive fact was that the Trinidad and Tobago team which was made up of 100% locally based players who never played at a professional level; still managed to come within a point of qualifying for its first World Cup.

We must pay tribute to then head coach Everald Cummings for such a huge accomplishment despite the heartbreak in the end. The Striker Squad made a lasting impression on the entire country, the Caribbean and to an extent, the world. They caught the eyes of everyone who followed football and one must feel honoured to have witnessed the historic event.

The team did so well that it united the entire country and built fan support from the ground up. However, it was no easy task in building such a reputation. The Strike Squad eliminated Guyana and Honduras in 1988, and then finished the job the following year by eliminating both El Salvador and Guatemala. T&T also had impressive 1-1 draws with group leaders and World Cup bound teams Costa Rica and USA, to finish 3rd in the group from a five team home and away series.

Now, you're probably asking yourself, why bring this up now? Well, it's evident that with the current state of our football, T&T needs to go a step back in order to make two steps forward.

When you have a team that is comprised of mainly foreign-based players it's very difficult to play on a regular basis. This is due to the limited FIFA friendly match dates and the cost of flying players from across the world to exhibition matches. This is a luxury T&T simply cannot afford with its limited resources and support. Not to mention, the infrequency of games that causes the team to break any momentum it may have developed.

The last time the Soca Warriors won the Caribbean Cup was in 2001 and the team was mainly made up of locally based players. Despite one defeat to Martinique, T&T managed to beat Haiti, Cuba, Jamaica and Barbados to cop the prestigious award for the late Ian Porterfield coached-team.

To take it a bit further, the previous Copa Caribe Cup (1999) under Tobago-born coach Bertille St Clair, T&T also won the title with a squad made up of 97% locally based players finishing flawlessly with victories over Cuba, Haiti, Guadeloupe, Grenada and Jamaica. Let’s not forget that some of T&T's most successful local coaches such as Cummings and St Clair mainly had so called ‘B teams’ to draw from.

While not comparing players in anyway as circumstances were a bit different then, my main focus in this article is to highlight the importance of having a local core of players.  This local core can be supplemented with a few available foreign-based players and will no doubt do wonders for T&T by catapulting the overall squad to a much higher level.

When you look at CONCACAF teams like Guatemala, Haiti, Jamaica, Honduras, Costa Rica, Panama, USA and Mexico, they seem more serious about the game because they play matches outside of the FIFA window. These teams field mostly local players when their foreign-based aren’t available, and utilize their time, resources and leagues efficiently. Why can’t T&T do the same? As a T&T fan all you can do is shake your head in disappointment at this fact.

In my humble opinion I think the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) should do all in its power to provide coach Hart with a comprehensive local programme that will provide him with a foundation to build on and at the same time help him integrate and develop younger players coming up.

The current professional league is a dying one, with no money, infrastructure, gyms, crowd support and proper planning, it has been a major downfall to T&T players and though it provides employment opportunities, it can also stagnate local players’ development. Yes, we've managed to catch a few standouts who eventually go aboard and our clubs do relatively well at Caribbean level competitions, but that’s hardly a surface to gauge what our players can really do as they usually fail considerably at CONCACAF level competitions.

This is why having a local core of national players can help raise their level and make them better prepared for the rigors of domestic and international football.

After following the local league for quite some time, a few names stood out to me that can add value to a solid Soca Warriors A or B team. These players include, but are not limited to-

Darren Mitchell, Aquil Selby, Jean-Luc Rochford, Andre Ettiene, Alvin Jones, Curtis Gonzales, Kishun Seecharan, Sean De Silva, Nathaniel Garcia, Kaydion Gabriel, Leston Paul, Neveal Hackshaw, Jesus Perez, Jabari Mitchell, Jomal Williams, Aikim Andrews, Shahdon Winchester, Kevon Villaroel, Jamal Jack, Jason Marcano, Jelani Peters, Jerwyn Balthazar, Makesi Lewis, Shackiel Henry, Kareem Freitas, Kadeem Corbin, Ricardo John, Ryan Stewart, Nathan Lewis and Brent Sam.

These are local players who I think can hold their own given the proper training, international experience and knowledge to know what it takes to become better athletes physically and mentally.

We've seen over the past two years that coach Stephen Hart has a knack for bringing out the best in players. He's experienced and intelligent, but is currently hanging on the edge of a cliff due to the lack of planning and support for him to provide the necessary coaching to his players, especially on the local front.

Many fans including myself have no idea what’s in-store for T&T football, as new president David John-Williams has been very silent since assuming his head position. His reluctance to speak with media outlets on main issues has been frustrating, however, I can only plead with him to do all in his power to help save our football (both men’s & women’s programmes) and get us back on track in the football world.

There are many positives to having a local core of national players in training. It is inexpensive to set up, it would give coach Hart a better indication of the capabilities of his local players and would better prepare the local Soca Warriors contingent for international duty.  This is an experiment that's worth the gamble.

Title: Re: Building a local team could be a step in the right direction.
Post by: socalion on March 03, 2016, 07:21:51 PM
Building a local team could be a step in the right direction.
By Inshan Mohammed.

Time to bridge the gap.

When Trinidad and Tobago came tantalizingly close to qualifying for the 1990 FIFA World Cup finals in Italy back in 1989, two things stood out to me that just couldn't be ignored.

The first thing was the fact that CONCACAF was only allotted two qualifying spots to the FIFA World Cup.  The second impressive fact was that the Trinidad and Tobago team which was made up of 100% locally based players who never played at a professional level; still managed to come within a point of qualifying for its first World Cup.

We must pay tribute to then head coach Everald Cummings for such a huge accomplishment despite the heartbreak in the end. The Striker Squad made a lasting impression on the entire country, the Caribbean and to an extent, the world. They caught the eyes of everyone who followed football and one must feel honoured to have witnessed the historic event.

The team did so well that it united the entire country and built fan support from the ground up. However, it was no easy task in building such a reputation. The Strike Squad eliminated Guyana and Honduras in 1988, and then finished the job the following year by eliminating both El Salvador and Guatemala. T&T also had impressive 1-1 draws with group leaders and World Cup bound teams Costa Rica and USA, to finish 3rd in the group from a five team home and away series.

Now, you're probably asking yourself, why bring this up now? Well, it's evident that with the current state of our football, T&T needs to go a step back in order to make two steps forward.

When you have a team that is comprised of mainly foreign-based players it's very difficult to play on a regular basis. This is due to the limited FIFA friendly match dates and the cost of flying players from across the world to exhibition matches. This is a luxury T&T simply cannot afford with its limited resources and support. Not to mention, the infrequency of games that causes the team to break any momentum it may have developed.

The last time the Soca Warriors won the Caribbean Cup was in 2001 and the team was mainly made up of locally based players. Despite one defeat to Martinique, T&T managed to beat Haiti, Cuba, Jamaica and Barbados to cop the prestigious award for the late Ian Porterfield coached-team.

To take it a bit further, the previous Copa Caribe Cup (1999) under Tobago-born coach Bertille St Clair, T&T also won the title with a squad made up of 97% locally based players finishing flawlessly with victories over Cuba, Haiti, Guadeloupe, Grenada and Jamaica. Let’s not forget that some of T&T's most successful local coaches such as Cummings and St Clair mainly had so called ‘B teams’ to draw from.

While not comparing players in anyway as circumstances were a bit different then, my main focus in this article is to highlight the importance of having a local core of players.  This local core can be supplemented with a few available foreign-based players and will no doubt do wonders for T&T by catapulting the overall squad to a much higher level.

When you look at CONCACAF teams like Guatemala, Haiti, Jamaica, Honduras, Costa Rica, Panama, USA and Mexico, they seem more serious about the game because they play matches outside of the FIFA window. These teams field mostly local players when their foreign-based aren’t available, and utilize their time, resources and leagues efficiently. Why can’t T&T do the same? As a T&T fan all you can do is shake your head in disappointment at this fact.

In my humble opinion I think the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) should do all in its power to provide coach Hart with a comprehensive local programme that will provide him with a foundation to build on and at the same time help him integrate and develop younger players coming up.

The current professional league is a dying one, with no money, infrastructure, gyms, crowd support and proper planning, it has been a major downfall to T&T players and though it provides employment opportunities, it can also stagnate local players’ development. Yes, we've managed to catch a few standouts who eventually go aboard and our clubs do relatively well at Caribbean level competitions, but that’s hardly a surface to gauge what our players can really do as they usually fail considerably at CONCACAF level competitions.

This is why having a local core of national players can help raise their level and make them better prepared for the rigors of domestic and international football.

After following the local league for quite some time, a few names stood out to me that can add value to a solid Soca Warriors A or B team. These players include, but are not limited to-

Ross Russell Jr, Aquil Selby, Jean-Luc Rochford, Andre Ettiene, Alvin Jones, Curtis Gonzales, Kishun Seecharan, Sean De Silva, Nathaniel Garcia, Kaydion Gabriel, Leston Paul, Neveal Hackshaw, Jesus Perez, Jabari Mitchell, Jomal Williams, Aikim Andrews, Shahdon Winchester, Kevon Villaroel, Jamal Jack, Jason Marcano, Jelani Peters, Jerwyn Balthazar, Makesi Lewis, Shackiel Henry, Kareem Freitas, Kadeem Corbin, Ricardo John, Ryan Stewart, Nathan Lewis and Brent Sam.

These are local players who I think can hold their own given the proper training, international experience and knowledge to know what it takes to become better athletes physically and mentally.

We've seen over the past two years that coach Stephen Hart has a knack for bringing out the best in players. He's experienced and intelligent, but is currently hanging on the edge of a cliff due to the lack of planning and support for him to provide the necessary coaching to his players, especially on the local front.

Many fans including myself have no idea what’s in-store for T&T football, as new president David John-Williams has been very silent since assuming his head position. His reluctance to speak with media outlets on main issues has been frustrating, however, I can only plead with him to do all in his power to help save our football (both men’s & women’s programmes) and get us back on track in the football world.

There are many positives to having a local core of national players in training. It is inexpensive to set up, it would give coach Hart a better indication of the capabilities of his local players and would better prepare the local Soca Warriors contingent for international duty.  This is an experiment that's worth the gamble.

flex you absolutely spot on !.. I   myself have often  wondered why  that very solid and practical idea of having a core of locally based players  have not been selected   and kept in training for  the very reasons  you've  just pointed out , as a matter  fact it would  a mistake if the current administration ( TTFA ) should not consider  such a   super idea    ...   wonderful idea
Post by: palos on March 03, 2016, 07:25:13 PM
Our best players are snapped up by foreign clubs

That's a fact.

Our local Pro League is the highest form of football we have domestically

Our Pro League is poor compared to our CONCACAF rivals....as evidenced by our teams percormances in the CONCACAF Champions League.  Not against teams from Suriname or Guadeloupe or Antigua.  But against teams from Costa Rica, Mexico, USA, etc.

So by definition.....the local players, until they go abroad are NOT our best players.

The major difference between the 1990 Strike Squad which was ALMOST total local and a local squad today is......our best players then.....bar Dwight Yorke.....so players like Latas, Leonson, etc....weren't playing abroad.  They were playing for Trintoc etc.

That's not the case today.

Nothing wrong with having a local based team to some extent.  But when imprtant matches come up.....and the foreign based players get selected.....that might cause more harm than good.

Post by: Flex on March 04, 2016, 05:38:51 AM
Our best players are snapped up by foreign clubs

That's a fact.

Our local Pro League is the highest form of football we have domestically

Our Pro League is poor compared to our CONCACAF rivals....as evidenced by our teams percormances in the CONCACAF Champions League.  Not against teams from Suriname or Guadeloupe or Antigua.  But against teams from Costa Rica, Mexico, USA, etc.

So by definition.....the local players, until they go abroad are NOT our best players.

The major difference between the 1990 Strike Squad which was ALMOST total local and a local squad today is......our best players then.....bar Dwight Yorke.....so players like Latas, Leonson, etc....weren't playing abroad.  They were playing for Trintoc etc.

That's not the case today.

Nothing wrong with having a local based team to some extent.  But when imprtant matches come up.....and the foreign based players get selected.....that might cause more harm than good.

Palos, socalion, good talk, but consider, players will rise their game if they get picked for many reasons.

Lets also consider, maybe a local core that are probably Under 23 players, that could also be an option.

Having a team where 80% of them is based in foreign and playing one game every 3 months is not good either.

We need a foundation, even if we get 2 players out of it, that would be a success than just doing nothing at all.

Look at Cummings for example, IMO, he was one of our best attacking players last year after K.Jones.

The last game against Haiti, Shahdon Winchester was a major standout and looked really good, if he can keep that sort of momentum he will be a regular on the team.

I am not saying or trying to play a Local v Foreign card, but we need some sort of consistent training for local players to raise their game and feed our national team.

Yes, the good ones will eventually leave, at least it could also benefit the local clubs.

It's a win, win situation.

Post by: Deeks on March 04, 2016, 05:52:43 AM
It is all well and good to have a local squad. In the past many forumites have suggested that idea. But comes down to one thing. Who are the going to play. Over the past decades, the TTFA has been inept when coming to schedule friendlies for any of our national teams. We doh have money ... or some other rangahtang. Venezuela right friggin dey and them kiss-meh-arse can't or would not schedule a game with them. I agree totally with the idea, but I don't have faith in TTFa
Post by: Sam on March 04, 2016, 06:30:52 AM
This article makes to much sense Flex.

David Clown-John Williams can see past he big toe.

Post by: Rastaman on March 04, 2016, 10:13:49 AM
Thanks Flex for writing this article. Hopefully someone in authority will read this.

I keep saying that players will improve if they are exposed to a higher level of training. Not knocking the Local Teams and Coaches but when you take the best and put them together they will improve.

There is a similar discussion across here in Tobago. We have players here that are good enough but unless they are training at a higher level how on earth can they compete with players training with the National Teams.

Example :National U17 Team training months now and as yet no body ent look at a Tobago player. Then the usual excuse. It is too late for them to join the team....Team already gel.

It boils down to this
At what point do you give lesser player a chance
Post by: Controversial on March 04, 2016, 10:56:50 AM
Thanks Flex for writing this article. Hopefully someone in authority will read this.

I keep saying that players will improve if they are exposed to a higher level of training. Not knocking the Local Teams and Coaches but when you take the best and put them together they will improve.

There is a similar discussion across here in Tobago. We have players here that are good enough but unless they are training at a higher level how on earth can they compete with players training with the National Teams.

Example :National U17 Team training months now and as yet no body ent look at a Tobago player. Then the usual excuse. It is too late for them to join the team....Team already gel.

It boils down to this

Why were no Tobago players looked at?
Post by: Controversial on March 04, 2016, 10:58:54 AM
Good post flex but we've been saying this for donkey years now since the old board. Build a local based team to compliment the foreign base, this is still an issue
Post by: palos on March 04, 2016, 11:23:10 AM
I'll play devil's advocate

With some Pro League teams openly refusing to let their players practice with the National team unless it's a FIFA sanctioned window , how often will this local based National team train together?

As someone asked earlier, what matches will the local based team play and against whom?
Post by: weary1969 on March 04, 2016, 11:28:04 AM

With some Pro League teams openly refusing to let their players practice with the National team unless it's a FIFA sanctioned window , how often will this local based National team train together?

As someone asked earlier, what matches will the local based team play and against whom?

Stop asking pertinent questions.
Post by: Controversial on March 04, 2016, 12:44:12 PM

Stop asking pertinent questions.

Here's a better question, will the government fund this and help pay for insurance and other fees to take care of these players and to bring teams to lay is local based team..

It's a matter of money, the real question is, will the government and private sector fund this to help our national program..
Post by: Flex on March 04, 2016, 12:48:36 PM

Well, Dexter Skeene (CEO), Wood (Police), Shabazz (AIA), Stuart (W), Muhammad Isa (Sando) are part and or good friends of the TTFA's new network, I am sure there will be some compromise.

But, I catch your drift.

I still stand by what I say.

Post by: Flex on March 04, 2016, 12:52:18 PM

It boils down to this

The problem is not reading it, the problem is actually listening..

;)

We have a lot of know-it-all in T&T.

Why is Tobago being ignored? Wasn't Bertille hired to fix this or was it just for reading purposes?

;)

Post by: Errol on March 04, 2016, 01:37:46 PM
Hart have to put his feet down and not sit and wait on certain players or for the TTFA to pull through because they wouldn't.

Foreign players are essential, but a local camp will do no harm and could only improve players and team.

Good going Flex.

Post by: socalion on March 04, 2016, 04:17:14 PM
It will appear that most , if not all  here on the forum  do agree that  the idea of having  a core  locally based   players  training can only in the long run benefit all involved ,!!    There 's no ifs  nor buts about  it .!  Many on this very forum are  providing ample ideas and suggestions  progressivly so , it is hoped the current TTFA  officials   drop by here ever so often   in order to read   and take note of some  super suggestions  from fellow forumites !!  leh meh just compliment  allyuh for keeping this board interesting ....
Post by: Jay10 on March 04, 2016, 06:07:06 PM
Yea its a good idea to have a local based team...maybe play a few matches against Guyana, St Kitts etc.

Fact is crunch time we call for foreigners. Cummings was a real find, as he showed he absolutely had what it took to be  at that level. If  it weren't for his unfortunate situation he probably would not be local based anymore though.

S. Winchester was not originally in the squad. Hackshaw, Plaza moved overseas. My point being once you are good enough for the national team, you probably will not be locally based for long.

Post by: amielisadore on March 04, 2016, 07:08:19 PM
Very good idea but requires too many parts moving in the same direction for it to become a reality in sweet T&T. The Pro League would actually have to have a strict schedule. Any chopping and changing, especially at the last minute would directly affect the designated day for NT training. The TTFA would also need to have medical and insurance coverage in place for players.

Would be extremely surprised to see any sort of the practice games identified anytime soon. Even if the invited team's FA covers airfare, leaving the broke TTFA to pay for accommodation and meals for a few days is conservatively upwards of $25k. And that's without providing any sort of accommodation to Hart and his team in a semi camp. 
Post by: Preacher on March 05, 2016, 01:43:59 AM
The past is in the past.  Building a team from any ideology that doesn't include your best players in the world is rank foolishness. 
Post by: Sando on March 05, 2016, 06:26:55 AM
I don't think he meant building a local team that will replace your first team, go easy preacher.

Building a local team that will feed your first team is more like it.

Good idea if you asked me.

Once local players get call up by T&T and under Hart they will improve overall.

Lets not forgot that we do have a lot (11) of local players who are already regular players on Hart's team, Jan, Marvin, Cummings, Cyrus, Guerra and if you want, Winchester, Marcus, Jomal, DeSilva, Hector and Hackshaw.

Post by: Preacher on March 05, 2016, 07:39:33 PM
I don't think he meant building a local team that will replace your first team, go easy preacher.

Lets not forgot that we do have a lot (11) of local players who are already regular players on Hart's team, Jan, Marvin, Cummings, Cyrus, Guerra and if you want, Winchester, Marcus, Jomal, DeSilva, Hector and Hackshaw.

I understand very well what Flex is saying.  But it will never pan out. The issue with local football vs National team has always been ideological.  It's not the role of the national team to improve players.  The National team is not an extension of Pro League development.  That's why we've lost very good foreign coaches.  And even though Sir Hart is doing well, the same falsely placed entitlement is there and more so now with this new TTFA Director.  Let the league do their thing let the National coach do his thing.  I don't trust how we do business.  Look, we have a winning team for the first time in how long.  So what to do we do?  We vote out the Director and right away we start loosing. 
Post by: Sando on March 06, 2016, 10:46:28 AM

I understand very well what Flex is saying.  But it will never pan out. The issue with local football vs National team has always been ideological.  It's not the role of the national team to improve players.  The National team is not an extension of Pro League development.  That's why we've lost very good foreign coaches.  And even though Sir Hart is doing well, the same falsely placed entitlement is there and more so now with this new TTFA Director.  Let the league do their thing let the National coach do his thing.  I don't trust how we do business.  Look, we have a winning team for the first time in how long.  So what to do we do?  We vote out the Director and right away we start loosing

For real, about we start loosing.

About the role of the TTFA to develop players, maybe, especially since the president's club could benefit from it.

Post by: FireBrand on March 07, 2016, 08:17:59 PM
Well Flex, he might be silent, but its obvious he is looking on. Yuh asked for a local team in training and a few days later...voila! Yuh get it and a game against Grenada. Lol.

Well done DJW. I hope more positive moves (for T&T) are on the horizon.

Post by: Rastaman on March 08, 2016, 07:42:14 AM
 :applause: :applause: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :cheers: :notworthy: :notworthy:
They have listened 😀 To at least they are thinking with some sense. Thank you coach Hart for your insite.
Post by: Flex on March 08, 2016, 09:30:20 AM
:applause: :applause: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :cheers: :notworthy: :notworthy:
They have listened 😀 To at least they are thinking with some sense. Thank you coach Hart for your insite.

No, guys, I am sure DJW/Hart (whom ever) was planning this a while now, this having nothing to do with listening or the article.

Post by: spideybuff on March 09, 2016, 09:38:42 AM
I think DJW had this in his campaign manifesto. Along with plans to have year round youth age teams as well. Maybe he looking for money to start the ideas, or maybe he was just talking to get votes
Post by: Star Child on March 09, 2016, 10:11:05 AM
spideybuff, I'll go with option 2.   ;D

This article should be printed and stick in the TTFA's office walls.

It's a good article that covers the ground work.

We all know the good players will eventually go aboard and yes, this and that, like some of you pointed out here.

But give credit, a solid local team is a good start even if its a U-23 team.

Our coach will always want his top players even if its a friendly game because he doesn't want to get embarrass again, but I see nothing wrong in getting a bad result in a friendly game if we learn from it.

What if Hyland, Kenwyne, Boucaud, Joevin and Abu Bakr can't make it, then what?

Then we are left to throw in rookies and it could be worst.

On the other side, credit to Hart, he does have good pedigree as a coach and the players like him, this is why a local thing can be a good step for him to develop players to another level.

Post by: Star Child on March 09, 2016, 11:01:00 AM
One of T&T's unsung heroes recognized today.
By: Inshan Mohammed.

That B-team was comprised of players who were some of the best the country had to offer, with the likes of Elliot Allen, Clint Marcelle, Garfield DeSilva, Timothy Haynes, Kelvin Jones, Dexter Lee, Ivan Sampson, Richard Chinapoo, Nevick DeNoon and Anthony Sherwood.

Both Cooper and his assistant in former St Benedicts College coach Jan Steadman took that T&T B-team to the 1989 Shell Cup final group stage before being dropped by Jack Warner. Coops and his entire team were disbanded by Warner because the players wanted the same treatment that Gally's Strike Squad (A-Team) were getting.

Despite some impressive results in the group stage (Zone A) here in Trinidad and Tobago, Coops disclosed that the TTFF blamed the 1-0 lost to Grenada as the excuse to dismantling the team. T&T were 11-0 winners over Aruba which was probably one of the biggest wins in the history of the tournament, a 3-1 win over French Guyana and Coops’ “Army” was also victorious over St Kitts (2-0). The already qualified T&T then finished the semi-final group with a 1-0 lost to none other than Grenada.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=52152.msg714038#msg714038

Post by: Flex on March 10, 2016, 04:47:17 PM
Hart to announce W/Cup qualifier squad later this month.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Stephen Hart will announce his final squad for the two World Cup qualifiers against St Vincent and the Grenadines later this month.

Hart has indicated that he will have a final look at some of the home-based players at the upcoming international friendly against Grenada in St George’s on March 19th.

While there have been reports emanating out of Europe on T&T players who have been called up to the squad, Hart stated today that their selections are not final as he is yet to announce the final squad. But the TTFA has a stipulated time during which to make the official requests for the release of players to join the national team for international matches.

“This is customary where we have to make the official request of the players who are in contention for selection in advance during the stipulated time. There are a number of players who we ensure are on the list or the general pool and contact is made with the clubs before our final squad is announced. This is merely to ensure we have access to these players once they are required to join the team,” Hart told TTFA Media.

The squad to face Grenada will be announced tomorrow (Friday).

Post by: Sam on March 12, 2016, 06:22:05 AM
Hector, Hyland in squad to face Grenada
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago Senior Men’s Head Coach Stephen Hart has today announced a 22-man squad for the upcoming international friendly against Grenada in St George’s on March 19th.

The game comes as part of preparation for the 2018 CONCACAF Semi-Final Round World Cup qualifiers against St Vincent/Grenadines on March 25th in Kingstown and March 29th at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain.

As hinted earlier by Hart, the squad comprises mainly home-based players and sees the return of DirecTV W Connection midfielder Hughtun Hector who was sidelined from action for close to year with injury before making his return a few weeks ago.

Belgium-based midfielder Khaleem Hyland is available for selection and has been included in the squad which includes four players from Hart’s team that have been involved in the qualifying matches for the 2018 World Cup so far. Those other players include goalkeeping duo Jan Michael Williams and Marvin Phillip and defender Daneil Cyrus. Some other names that have been in the national squad previous, who have been selected for this friendly include W Connection’s Shahdon Winchester, Alvin Jones and Jomal Williams, Central FC midfielder Sean De Silva, Marcus Joseph and Leston Paul.

There are also selections for Defence Force duo Jerwyn Balthazar, a member of the T&T Futsal team, and Curtis Gonzales, as well as newcomers Club Sando’s Akeem Humphrey, Jamali Garcia of Defence Force, defender Andre Ettienne, Kevon Villoreal, Nathaniel Garcia of Central FC and Police duo Elijah Belgrave and Makesi Lewis.

In a brief statement, Hart said: “I am looking for players who adapt quickly and can bring something different to the present squad. I am also looking to create a deeper playing pool, with an aim of establishing competition for places.

“This game will serve its purpose in that way and it provides that opportunity for players who have been knocking on the door. And of course we have a few of the regular squad players who will add that stability and experience to the team that will play in Grenada. This is also a good opportunity for us to get these players, several of them new to the stage of international football, in a training camp environment which allows us to see how the react to such conditions,” Hart added on Friday.

The team will enter a training camp on Sunday and will hold its first training session on Monday morning at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium. Sessions will take place both at the Manny Ramjohn and Ato Boldon Stadium prior to the team’s departure on March 18th.   The game on March 19th is scheduled for 7pm a the Grenada National Athletic Stadium in St George’s.

Meantime, tickets for the T&T versus St Vincent World Cup qualifier on March 29th are presently available for purchase. Tickets are priced at $300 for the covered section and $150 for the uncovered section of the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

These tickets can now be purchased at Sports and Games outlets nationwide, Kenny’s Sports (nationwide), Sportway at Ellerslie Plaza and Gulf City, Ramsingh’s Sportworld in Couva and Heritage Sports, Scarborough Tobago from this Friday. Tickets can also be purchased online via the TTFA’s official website - TTFootball.Org.

T&T Squad for Grenada

Goalkeepers

Jan-Michael Williams (Central FC), Marvin Phillip (Morvant Caledonia United).

Defenders

Alvin Jones (W Connection), Andre Ettienne (Central FC), Tristan Hodge (W Connection), Jamali Garcia (Defence Force), Kevon Villaroeal (Central FC), Daneil Cyrus (W Connection), Elijah Belgrave (Police FC), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force).

Midfielders

Sean De Silva (Central FC), Jomal Williams (W Connection), Nathaniel Garcia (Central FC), Hughtun Hector (W Connection), Akeem Humphrey (Club Sando), Jason Marcano (Central FC), Leston Paul (Central FC), Khaleem Hyland (KVC Westerlo/BEL).

Forwards

Shahdon Winchester (W Connection), Jerwyn Balthazar (Defence Force), Makesi Lewis (Police FC), Marcus Joseph (Central FC).

Post by: Deeks on March 12, 2016, 08:11:56 AM
I thought I saw Sean's name in the AntiguaBarbuda line up?
Post by: amielisadore on March 12, 2016, 08:37:09 AM

Doubt it. He has never committed to them. Still interested in playing for T&T.
Post by: AB.Trini on March 13, 2016, 07:56:26 AM
Do we want the best for TnT? yes
Do we want to see our team humiliated at  a big time tournament? no

Have we learned form the Guyana debacle? ummmmmm

Did we not have a combined contingent of  some of our  so called best overseas players? did we not have a foreign coach?

When will we  put a long term strategic plan in place to focus on development of a team for WC qualifying instead of INSTANT results?

I am not opposed to combining the best of our talented players be they abroad or local, however we need to find a way to ensure that our dependency on those players who are abroad are readily available to commit to the process and that our local players are at a standard that will provide us with legitimate and competitive opportunities for continuing success.

If we value a K Jones
, what is the possibility of having a local player  who fits that abilities? We then develop local players with the aptitudes and skills which the foreign base player brings. Time to look at different ways of developing , selecting and planning for long term success.

Post by: asylumseeker on March 13, 2016, 08:03:59 AM

His name was among a group of players named in an article ... if it's that article (on the CFU thread), I put ah note below as ah caution/caveat regarding the date ... because the list was prospective rather than certain.
Post by: Deeks on April 04, 2016, 06:49:31 AM
This should have been going on all along as had been done in the past. That was before Jack and them. We need a local squad so that the coach can see how the socalled fringe players do in international competition. The CFU should have a championship for local players who play in the Caribbean only. Right now the current championship is used for qualification for Concacaf. So coaches will not use locals only. They will include their overseas pros (US, EUROPE, ASIA, MID EAST) for a better chance of qualifying. But a local only tournament in the alternate year will only help all the national teams will regular international games for these players at home.
Post by: Sando on September 22, 2016, 07:43:10 AM
Missed this one, time to revisit.

Excellent, I saw the TTFA/Hart tried it against Grenada and I believe it's an exercise worth exploring.

We may not get success right away, but it would surely come.

Post by: Tobago28 on September 22, 2016, 08:00:56 AM
With technology and many coaches in the diaspora, we can have foreign based teams at U13, U15 and U17. That is choose an area like NYC, with many nationals and work with a club/coach to gather nationals at those age groups for training and ID once per month. It will not interrupt with the players normal football nor school, it would get players interested and committed to TNT early and not leave us scrambling at the last minute to identify foreign based players. Quarterly reports on players with video would be easily forwarded to TTFA and technical director.
Post by: Errol on October 16, 2016, 11:08:30 AM
We need a local core of players, we consistently picking foreign based players who do not play regular for their clubs. How can you put a team together every 2 months and expect them to play well?

Players like Wright-Phillips, Sheanon Williams, Tyler David, Ryan Inniss, Shaquell Moore and Nick De Leon will raise the attitude of the ones we have now because there are no competition for a place on the team. Hart keeps using 15 players, no wonder the team is playing flat.

I hope to see Primus and Cummings back soon too.

If this idea was implemented a long time now, we would have found a few decent players by now. Of course, the TTFA have to make it happen.

Post by: Errol on November 16, 2016, 03:53:42 PM
This is the only way T&T will get better, I'll keep saying it.

Post by: palos on November 16, 2016, 04:11:19 PM
We need a local core of players, we consistently picking foreign based players who do not play regular for their clubs. How can you put a team together every 2 months and expect them to play well?

Players like Wright-Phillips, Sheanon Williams, Tyler David, Ryan Inniss, Shaquell Moore and Nick De Leon will raise the attitude of the ones we have now because there are no competition for a place on the team. Hart keeps using 15 players, no wonder the team is playing flat.

If this idea was implemented a long time now, we would have found a few decent players by now. Of course, the TTFA have to make it happen.

Here's the problem with this local core lyrics.

The best players in local football inevitably get sold to foreign clubs

Why?

Because the local clubs need $$ and the only revenue generator they have are players.

Foreign clubs not going to buy your average player.  They want the best players.

So....the best local players end up playing abroad.  There they have to compete with other "best" players from around the globe.

Therefore....BY DEFINITION.....the local players left are often NOT the best players eligible to represent T&T.

The argument is....let the local players play for the national team and get "exposure".

Sadly...that has happened and the only thing the majority of them get is exposed.   Exposed to be not nearly good enough for international football.  Exposed technically, physically, and mentally.

Now the experience is good because they at least get a taste of what is required at international level.  So they know they need to improve.

But how are they to improve?  They all go back to the Pro League which everyone acknowledges is sub standard, the pace of play is pedestrian, and the quality on display is sub par.

In addition to that, several Pro League clubs refuse to release their players for National team training UNLESS it's a FIFA window.   Their rationale being..."Chelsea does refuse to release players unless is in FIFA window so why do we have to release them?  We no different than Chelsea.  We're also a professional club".

So what's going to happen when the local core as you put it return to the national team?  They'll play better through osmosis?  Just by being on the same field as Ruiz, and Navas, and Joel Campbell will cause them to be better players?
Post by: palos on November 16, 2016, 04:49:24 PM

Here's a list of players called to the T&T Mens National Team by Stephen Hart from June 2013 (CONCACAF Gold Cup) to present (3 years, 5 months):

Total Players = 61.  I doubt he plan it but 31 or the 61 players are local based.  Not sure what else could be done to have more "local" based players on the national team.

Golakeepers - 6
Jan Michael Williams - local
Marvin Phillip - local
Adrian Foncette - local
Cleon John - local
Glenroy Samuel - local
Greg Ranjitsingh - foreign

Defenders - 21
Daneil Cyrus - local
Radanfah Abu Bakr - foreign
Sheldon Bateau - foreign
Yohance Marshall - foreign
Carlyle Mitchell - foreign
Mekeil Williams - foreign
Aubrey David- foreign
Robert Primus - foreign
Dwane James - local
Jerlani Peters - local
Tristan Hodge - foreign
Seon Power - foreign
Curtis Gonzalez - foreign
Justin Hoyte - foreign
Gavin Hoyte - foreign
Andre Etienne - local
Weslie John - local
Alvin Jones - local
Jamali Garcia - local
Kevon Villaroel - local
Elijah Belgrave - local

Midfielders - 24
Khaleem Hyland - foreign
Ataullah Guerra - foreign
Kevan George - foreign
Cordell Cato - foreign
Kevin Molino - foreign
Lester Peltier - foreign
Keron Cummings - local
Andre Boucaud- foreign
Neveal Hackshaw - local
Hughton Hector - local
Levi Garcia - foreign
Joevin Jones - foreign
Kevon Carter - RIP
Keon Daniel - ??
Marcus Joseph - local
Carlos Edwards - foreign (at the time of selection...now local)
Christopher Birchall - foreign
Leston Paul - local
Sean De Silva - local
Jomal Williams - foreign
Nathan Lewis - local
Nathaniel Garcia - local
Akeem Humphrey - local
Jason Marcano - local

Forwards - 10
Kenwyne Jones (capt). - local (foreign at time of selection)
Jonathan Glenn - foreign
Willis Plaza - local
Kadeem Corbin - local
Rundell Winchester - foreign
Darryl Roberts - foreign
Cornell Glen - local (now foreign)
Jamal Gay - local
Makesi Lewis - local
Jeremy Balthazar - local
Post by: Errol on November 16, 2016, 04:59:58 PM
61 players and he only use 15 consistently.

Them fellas tired, unchallenged and unfit.

When Hart went to the 2013 gold cup, he did not name the squad, Shabazz already had named the team.

Post by: palos on November 16, 2016, 05:08:19 PM
61 players and he only use 15 consistently.

Them fellas tired, unchallenged and unfit.

When Hart went to the 2013 gold cup, he discovered not name the squad, Shabazz already had named the team.

Every GOOD coach has a core.  That's actually the hallmark of good teams.  A solid core where everyone knows their roles and knows what is expected of them.

If there aren't challengers, thats neither the incumbent or the coach fault.  Other players by dint of performance should be breaking down the door to get into the team.

That's how Kevan George took Andre Boucaud's place.  It's how Neveal Hackshaw forced his way onto the squad, if not the final XI.  Same for Levi Garcia at Peltier's expense.

When the West Indies team was under Lloyd how many changes did that team have? 

BTW...Shabazz not only named...but coached the team against Guyana in the 2014 World Cup qualifiers.  How did that go?

Post by: Errol on November 16, 2016, 05:15:05 PM
I'm not comparing Shabaaz, because he was total crap. I just wanted to point out he was the one that named the squad.

More players get exposed even if they go aboard at least he would have options and would not be in the position he's in now.

Depth is needed.

Hart is good, but I believe he is not supported and is constantly under pressure by DJW and his crew.

Post by: Deeks on November 16, 2016, 05:24:50 PM
Look, the core and most of the team is the foreign based players. About 7 of 11 starters are foreign based. We are not getting the quality we are expecting from the overseas guys. What should the coach and the association do? Go  and look for the next batch of local players. That is why TTFA should have a local squad. As a matter of fact the CFU should have a tournament for players who only play in the Caribbean.
Post by: palos on November 16, 2016, 05:28:03 PM
Depth is needed.

Agreed.  Unfortunately any international coach is restricted in that regard

You can only select players who are deemed eligible to play for the country.

If you want to have a local core......then you'll need to have them play REGULARLY as a team against decent opposition

So the TTFA will have to mandate to Pro League clubs that players selected for the national team MUST attend ALL practice sessions and games.

Pro League clubs will then demand (rightfully so) compensation, otherwise, their product is not viable.

But let's say this is somehow accomplished.

Then the TTFA will have to arrange regular competitive matches to test the "local based" team.  Is no use they play against WASA or Mau Pau.   That does nothing for their development.

So let's say TTFA able to arrange some matches (they should be able to play Guyana regularly at least).  Then they'll be able to say....we can play with Guyana.  That is international ball at least.
Post by: Deeks on November 16, 2016, 08:09:20 PM
Palos  that could work also.
Post by: injunchile on November 17, 2016, 01:19:14 PM
Revisit Palos post and let us put this local talk to rest- Some of us are tired of the same thing.
 Let us take off the rose colored glasses- W e just cant cut it- Not only in discipline but fitness and footballing intelligence. Let us face it the cream will always rise to the top and go abroad else they will become a big fish in a small pond- Ask Arnold  Dwarika if you  think I lie. Having said that there was a small guy by the name of Toussaint who showed remarkable positioning and good ball sense with the ability to take on players and he even was a regular goal scorer but faded in the background from lack of International exposure.
Post by: Deeks on November 17, 2016, 01:44:54 PM
Injun. The issue is not about only picking locals. Most of the locals who go abroad improve a lot. But this current bunch not pulling their weight. In the GC they were good but yet not good enough to make it to the 1/4 final. The foreign players must step up their game. They missing in action for the past 2 games.
Post by: palos on November 17, 2016, 01:48:10 PM
Injun. The issue is not about only picking locals. Most of the locals who go abroad improve a lot. But this current bunch not pulling their weight. In the GC they were good but yet not good enough to make it to the 1/4 final. The foreign players must step up their game. They missing in action for the past 2 games.

So your solution is to replace them with local based players and then the team will play better?
Post by: Mose on November 17, 2016, 02:52:18 PM

Here's the problem with this local core lyrics.

The best players in local football inevitably get sold to foreign clubs

Why?

Because the local clubs need $$ and the only revenue generator they have are players.

Foreign clubs not going to buy your average player.  They want the best players.

So....the best local players end up playing abroad.  There they have to compete with other "best" players from around the globe.

Therefore....BY DEFINITION.....the local players left are often NOT the best players eligible to represent T&T.

The argument is....let the local players play for the national team and get "exposure".

Sadly...that has happened and the only thing the majority of them get is exposed.   Exposed to be not nearly good enough for international football.  Exposed technically, physically, and mentally.

Now the experience is good because they at least get a taste of what is required at international level.  So they know they need to improve.

But how are they to improve?  They all go back to the Pro League which everyone acknowledges is sub standard, the pace of play is pedestrian, and the quality on display is sub par.

In addition to that, several Pro League clubs refuse to release their players for National team training UNLESS it's a FIFA window.   Their rationale being..."Chelsea does refuse to release players unless is in FIFA window so why do we have to release them?  We no different than Chelsea.  We're also a professional club".

So what's going to happen when the local core as you put it return to the national team?  They'll play better through osmosis?  Just by being on the same field as Ruiz, and Navas, and Joel Campbell will cause them to be better players?

If yuh ask me dat is the elephant in the room that no one seems to acknowledge when this local vs foreign talk comes up!! Thank you for laying it out palos!!  :beermug:
Post by: Sando on January 11, 2017, 04:53:23 PM
MLS season starts back in March.

We have 4 players in Europe, Levi, Boucaud, Hyland and Bateau.

Abu Bak I'm not sure about his schedule.

Peliter and Hoyte is still questionable so I didn't include them because they have no suited up for T&T in a while.

Then the rest of our players are based home.

So by now until March we should be able to get in a few games before our WCQ starts back.

Post by: Controversial on January 11, 2017, 04:58:40 PM
Depth is needed.

If you want to have a local core......then you'll need to have them play REGULARLY as a team against decent opposition

So the TTFA will have to mandate to Pro League clubs that players selected for the national team MUST attend ALL practice sessions and games.

Pro League clubs will then demand (rightfully so) compensation, otherwise, their product is not viable.

Then the TTFA will have to arrange regular competitive matches to test the "local based" team.  Is no use they play against WASA or Mau Pau.   That does nothing for their development.

So let's say TTFA able to arrange some matches (they should be able to play Guyana regularly at least).  Then they'll be able to say....we can play with Guyana.  That is international ball at least.
Depth is needed.

Forget Guyana..

The local squad should be playing clubs at first, from Argentina, Mexico, Brazil, the us, and then Europe ... after that, then play countries, clubs will give them a better test than Guyana ...
Post by: Controversial on January 11, 2017, 05:00:18 PM
Top clubs... having camps there and a budget with a proper training regime, these players home should be training for 120 min football like in Germany
Post by: Bourbon on January 12, 2017, 06:53:01 AM
Yuh know....it all well and good to think and want a local team that consistently is training.
Anybody could give me an example of what country uses that and it working?

As Palos said....naturally with our best local players being exposed they would most likely move abroad and therefore not be local based again.
Plus getting them to train.

Spain...Germany..Holland...they had a football blueprint for their teams....using all clubs...for all age groups. Fitness standards established. So even if players domestically based...they at least following a coherent plan.

What do we have? The Pro-League is woeful. Men struggling to make it abroad and coming back home and starring. The intensity low. The quality low.

With all due respect to those who have gone before......times have changed..and while we not saying the previous PRINCIPLES may not apply...the execution and application of those principles would have to evolve to fit the current context.

Just last night I read a letter Gally wrote to Wired868. Yuh getting the bitterness and tote in it. Saying he had the most exciting local team...and is the most successful local coach...and basically saying he should be given a chance. Again with all due respect to Gally...the players he had at his disposal..the context of football then....as  compared to the situation now...is vastly different. I cant see it being immediately expected that the same results would happen.

That was in 1987 to 1990. We didnt adapt and evolve to meet the change. We struggling to catch up now. We cant expect ideas that worked 30 years ago to work the same way now. The way names being thrown about as to who should be the coach....my question is...for those who were trying to justify DJW selection of Saintfeild....how many coaches have international certification? What are we really going towards? Success is an achievement of purpose...whats the purpose of what we trying to do?

The technical director or technical committee...what are their plans? Is there a short..medium and long term plan? Are there specific targets? Are there metrics with which we can gauge progress?

If you dont know where you going...then any road will take you there.

And when you add the agendas and favoring of special persons and feeding at troughs...well.....you make things even worse.

Sent from my TBOOK 11(E5A6) using Tapatalk

Post by: Mose on January 12, 2017, 11:10:03 AM
MLS season starts back in March.

We have 4 players in Europe, Levi, Boucaud, Hyland and Bateau.

Abu Bak I'm not sure about his schedule.

Peliter and Hoyte is still questionable so I didn't include them because they have no suited up for T&T in a while.

Then the rest of our players are based home.

So by now until March we should be able to get in a few games before our WCQ starts back.

MLS clubs start training in January. Hasn't Kenwyne already left for Atlanta?
Post by: Flex on February 09, 2017, 03:58:30 PM
U.S. coach Bruce Arena won't favor Europe-based players over MLS talent
BY JEFF CARLISLE (ESPN).

U.S. men's national team manager Bruce Arena indicated that when it comes to building his roster for the March World Cup qualifiers, "it doesn't matter" whether a player is playing domestically or overseas.

Arena just concluded the U.S. team's annual January camp, one that saw him get a close look at 31 domestic players. But with the MLS season not set to begin until March 3, there are questions as to how sharp they will be heading into the critical matches against Honduras in San Jose, California, on March 24, and then away to Panama four days later.

As a point of comparison, foreign-based players will have been playing for about eight months. But Arena insisted he'll look at each player on a case-by-case basis.

"We're going to follow every player, both in Europe, Mexico, the U.S. and Canada, and decide on who we think are the best group of players to help us get some results," he said on a conference call with reporters. "It doesn't matter where they come from. We have players in Europe who aren't playing.

"We have players in Europe that are playing a lot. It's the same case in Mexico. And then in the U.S. the players we've had in camp are for the most part the players that will be under consideration for the March roster.

"They have a bit of a jump, so they have another six weeks or so to be prepared for the March camp."

Arena added that he'll be visiting U.S. players playing in Germany, England, and Mexico over the coming weeks.

Included in that group are fringe players like Nottingham Forest outside back Eric Lichaj and Club Tijuana midfielder Paul Arriola, with Arena stating that they were under "strong consideration" for the March camp.

"[Those visits] will help us make some final determinations as to how he'll piece together our roster," he said.

One player who hasn't been seeing time is Middlesbrough goalkeeper Brad Guzan. Guzan, who will join MLS expansion side Atlanta United in the summer, has been stuck on the bench behind starter Victor Valdes. But Arena said Guzan remains very much a candidate to take the field against Honduras.

"Brad Guzan is a very experienced goalkeeper, and as we saw in the case of Nick Rimando in the January camp, that experience means a lot," said Arena. "Because they're not getting games on a consistent basis doesn't mean you can rule them out. I think Brad has shown enough that he's still a strong candidate to be our No. 1 goalkeeper."

Guzan's status is impacted in part by the groin injury Tim Howard sustained back in November that required surgery. But Arena wasn't necessarily ruling out Howard being on the squad either.

"[Howard] is on schedule to maybe start the first week of the MLS season. Having said that, [his recovery] could be off a couple of weeks, and perhaps he won't be a candidate for March. But right now he's in the picture, and that's a positive as well," Arena said.

Arena also seemed more optimistic about the status of Stoke City defender Geoff Cameron, who has been sidelined by a knee injury since October.

"[Cameron] is making progress and he'll be back in full training shortly," said Arena.

Post by: Deeks on February 09, 2017, 04:07:02 PM
I think Arena has all right to build a loacal based team. But ah tell yuh, if any foreign based player lighting it up in any overseas league, let's see if he will stick to his guns.

Post by: Marcos on February 09, 2017, 04:21:02 PM
Fellas,

Read through this thread. Can someone explain to me why our local-based team cannot be exceptionally fit? I understand there may be shortcomings in talent etc., but fitness seems like the lowest hanging fruit. Especially before the qualifiers if the pro league is in off season. These guys should be in camp for a 4 to 6 weeks and in prime condition. What makes one team fitter than another? Does it just come down to physical ability again?
Post by: Mose on February 10, 2017, 12:57:32 AM
Fellas,

Read through this thread. Can someone explain to me why our local-based team cannot be exceptionally fit? I understand there may be shortcomings in talent etc., but fitness seems like the lowest hanging fruit. Especially before the qualifiers if the pro league is in off season. These guys should be in camp for a 4 to 6 weeks and in prime condition. What makes one team fitter than another? Does it just come down to physical ability again?

Because most people don't fully understand just what it takes to achieve that!
Post by: Flex on March 17, 2017, 01:57:42 AM
Lawrence pays close attention to home-based players.
TTFA Media.

The Senior Men’s Team will enter a live-in training camp from next Monday ahead of the upcoming 2018 World Cup qualifiers against Panama and Mexico but before that final roster of players assemble, head coach Dennis Lawrence and his staff will pay close attention to the form of the majority of home-based players in a couple final session heading into the weekend.

Lawrence and assistant coaches Sol Campbell and Stuart-Charles Fevrier resumed training on Thursday at the Ato Boldon Stadium on Thursday morning before Lawrence and his staff along with members of the team attended the funeral service of Nikela John, the deceased daughter of assistant coach Stern John.

And on Friday, Lawrence will lead his troops out at the Hasely Crawford Stadium for an evening session.

One of the home-based players who has been in training under Lawrence for the past fifteen sessions including the recent international friendly with Barbados is Hughtun Hector who explained on Wednesday that he was feeling at his best and ready to give his best efforts for Lawrence and the national team.

“Right now I can say that I feel great. I’ve been training and staying active and putting in the work based on the instructions of the coach and his assistants,” Hector told TTFA Media.

“We know there are the overseas-based players to come into the team next week and we are working towards having the best team available for the Panama and Mexico games. Right now we are putting in extensive work under Dennis and trying to ensure he has the best possible options when it comes to selecting his final squad.

“Coach has laid out his intentions and the manner in which he wants us to do things in training and in the games and we are working constantly on this in the sessions,” Hector added.

Meantime, the TTFA introduced its “March Madness” campaign with the addition of the two international women matches with T&T facing Venezuela on March 26th and 29th at Ato Boldon Stadium at 4pm and 7pm respectively .Tickets are priced at $100 (Adults) and $50 (children) and will be available on match days at the venues. Tickets for the two World Cup qualifiers for the men’s senior team are on sale at NLCB Lotto outlets nationwide. The early bird ticket period closes on Friday (March 17th) and tickets will then be priced at $350 (covered) and $200 (uncovered) from Saturday until March 28th.

Post by: Sando on January 18, 2020, 01:10:55 PM
Time to revisit.

Glad to see Fenwick is coach.

Post by: lefty on January 18, 2020, 01:38:49 PM
Time to revisit.

I would be for this, give the locals exposure to higher intensity than pro league, which is all I want, locals being exposed to high intensity play, might well be a precursor to introducing high intensity play to pro league and SSFL which is all I advocating, proper exposure the build the levels of player here if we are going to pursue the diaspora more aggressively, again I have no issue with that, I just want the structure put in place for locals to know understand and one day match what will be required going forward.
Post by: Deeks on January 18, 2020, 07:59:47 PM
Time to revisit.

I would be for this, give the locals exposure to higher intensity than pro league, which is all I want, locals being exposed to high intensity play, might well be a precursor to introducing high intensity play to pro league and SSFL which is all I advocating, proper exposure the build the levels of player here if we are going to pursue the diaspora more aggressively, again I have no issue with that, I just want the structure put in place for locals to know understand and one day match what will be required going forward.

But remember Lefty, the local have to step up their game. Terry does not have magic wand.
Post by: lefty on January 18, 2020, 08:15:24 PM
Time to revisit.

But remember Lefty, the local have to step up their game. Terry does not have magic wand.

dat is what ah saying, but d step up have to be encouraged at all levels, we cyah have pro league running ball at sunday league pace, then expect dem to make d step up jus so, it will not work, den local players will be complaining dey not gettin pick, all while nothing is being done to help dem meet d levels required, saw dat shit with hart and local players and coaches, doh want it repeated....again dais where I coming from.....I well aware that local ballers are inadequate from a technical and fitness POV, and yes dat eh Fenwick job, TTFA need to help plug dat gap, If d German fed could liaise with there leagues to build a common standard we can do it too
Post by: Errol on January 19, 2020, 11:32:35 AM
Can't wait to see Fenwick's team.

Anyone knows he he currently have a team in training?

Post by: Deeks on January 19, 2020, 07:06:25 PM
Time to revisit.

dat is what ah saying, but d step up have to be encouraged at all levels, we cyah have pro league running ball at sunday league pace, then expect dem to make d step up jus so, it will not work, den local players will be complaining dey not gettin pick, all while nothing is being done to help dem meet d levels required, saw dat shit with hart and local players and coaches, doh want it repeated....again dais where I coming from.....I well aware that local ballers are inadequate from a technical and fitness POV, and yes dat eh Fenwick job, TTFA need to help plug dat gap, If d German fed could liaise with there leagues to build a common standard we can do it too

The proleague is the key to the locals playing an up tempo game. Fenwick will not have the time to whip them into shape for international games. The clubs have to iniate that. The TTFA can only advise them on the importance of having fit players. Maybe TTFA could coordinate with the clubs to get multiple sponsors. They can't penalize the clubs for producing substandard players.. Thus, the TTFA will have to look to the foreign born Trini to fill that void. As far as I know TTFA used to do that  until dracula got hold of the association for 25 years and the football was all of the  f-----g place. It became a one man show.
Post by: coache on January 20, 2020, 09:23:50 PM
I know I am wasting my valuable time right now taking this time to write a reply to this thing.

The question is: Is building a local team could be a step in the right direction . one has to ponder this question and consider a number of factors before answering it.

Factors to consider: How old should the players of this team be?

If you want to build this local team with players beyond the age of fourteen ..I say that would be a big waste of time.

Who should  be responsible for building this team?

If you say the name of any local coach whose name is already known to us..I say that would be a big waste of resources.

How would something like  that be paid for? 

If you say the same way things like that traditionally get paid for...I say that would be a big waste of money.

The preparation involved in putting forth a world class National team requires at least 14 yrs of sophisticated and scientific training and development of the players.

The Trinidad player develops in primary school leagues, amateur clubs with little knowledge of world class player development, and ofcourse the Colleges league.

The only place where the player gains some knowledge of the game is the Club..that's if the Coaches were former players themselves.

If the player is playing  meaningless competition ..the player is wasting his time and talent.

Competition does not and will never ..as long as the sun shines..can ever make a world class player.

If you say that the leagues of the old days produced the top players ..I say to you that it's the other way around ..those players made those leagues..they came to the leagues with their gifts and left the leagues with their gifts..by and large most of them didn't improve.( Recreational)

Meaningful , systematic , scientific and regularly organized planned training by the best Coaches over a span of 14yrs will produce the best players.
Post by: Flex on January 26, 2020, 12:28:44 PM
MLS players headline USMNT squad for Feb. 1 friendly vs. Costa Rica
By Jeff Carlisle U.S. soccer correspondent

U.S. men's national team manager Gregg Berhalter has announced his 22-player roster for next Saturday's friendly against Costa Rica (3:55 p.m. ET on ESPN News).

he match will take place at Dignity Health Sports Park in Carson, Calif. The team has spent most of January at the IMG Academy in Bradenton, Fla. after its original plans to hold the camp in Doha, Qatar were canceled.

Originally, 26 players were invited. FC Dallas midfielder Paxton Pomykal was forced to withdraw as he continues his rehabilitation from groin surgery he underwent back on Oct. 31. San Jose Earthquakes goalkeeper JT Marcinkowski returned to the San Jose Earthquakes while winger Jordan Morris and midfielder Cristian Roldan rejoined the Seattle Sounders ahead of the club's Concacaf Champions League campaign. The remaining players and staff are flying to the Los Angeles area this afternoon.

"It's been a good few weeks in Florida. The guys have worked hard and have made progress in all aspects of our game model," Berhalter said. "We'd like to thank Seattle Sounders and San Jose Earthquakes for their collaboration in releasing their players and wish them success at the start of their campaigns. We now turn our focus to preparing for Costa Rica and encouraging the players to take advantage of the opportunity and finish off the month with a positive result."

USMNT DETAILED ROSTER BY POSITION (Club; Caps/Goals):

GOALKEEPERS (3): Sean Johnson (New York City FC; 8/0), Bill Hamid (D.C. United; 6/0), Matt Turner (New England Revolution; 0/0)

DEFENDERS (8.): Julian Araujo (LA Galaxy; 0/0), Reggie Cannon (FC Dallas; 10/0), Chase Gasper (Minnesota United FC; 0/0), Justen Glad (Real Salt Lake; 0/0), Aaron Long (New York Red Bulls; 16/3), Mark McKenzie (Philadelphia Union; 0/0), Sam Vines (Colorado Rapids; 0/0), Walker Zimmerman (LAFC; 11/2)

MIDFIELDERS (6): Brenden Aaronson (Philadelphia Union; 0/0), Christian Cappis (Hobro/DEN; 0/0), Bryang Kayo (Unattached; 0/0), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy; 13/2), Brandon Servania (FC Dallas; 0/0), Jackson Yueill (San Jose Earthquakes; 6/0)

FORWARDS (5): Paul Arriola (D.C. United; 32/5), Jesus Ferreira (FC Dallas; 0/0), Jonathan Lewis (Colorado Rapids; 5/0), Ulysses Llanez (Wolfsburg/GER; 0/0), Gyasi Zardes (Columbus Crew SC; 55/12)

Post by: Errol on July 14, 2020, 04:05:52 PM
Nice to see Fenwick implementing some of these pointers Flex wrote about.

Post by: Deeks on July 14, 2020, 04:55:38 PM
Nice to see Fenwick implementing some of these pointers Flex wrote about.

Errol, what has Fenwick implemented? Do You mean using just using local players?