Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on May 30, 2016, 06:24:11 PM

Title: Noah Powder Thread
Post by: Tallman on May 30, 2016, 06:24:11 PM
The Noah Powder question
By Jake Evans (onceametro.com)

The New York Red Bulls seem to have a knack for discovering their own academy talent via their reserve team almost by happenstance. First, Derrick Etienne burst onto the scene last year, scoring three goals and assisting on three more on his way to being the most exciting player on New York Red Bulls II before having to leave for college. After just one season at UVA, the Red Bulls decided to bring Etienne on board full time, signing him to a professional deal. A year prior, very few had any idea who Etienne was and no one was talking about him being one of the team's next homegrown signings.

Now, RBNY appears to have unearthed another hitherto unheralded academy talent: Noah Powder.

For years, New York Red Bulls fans with an ear close to the ground heard rumblings about this great defender coming through the youth ranks. He was getting looks from Europe, from the national team, and even from the first team for a Homegrown contract. That defender's name is Mason Deeds.

Yet Deeds isn't the one we're talking about here, Powder is. Mason Deeds is a good defender who has shown well in his appearances for NYRB II, despite his haircut, and looks to have a solid college career at Georgetown before him. If he performs well and continues to develop he may well earn a homegrown contract in the future. However, as stated before, Deeds isn't who we're talking about.

Much like Etienne before him, Noah Powder was an above-average academy player who was given a shot in pre-season with the first team and then with New York Red Bulls II on an academy contract. Here, he grabbed the opportunity with both hands. Powder's performances at left back have earned him plaudits from day one this year, consistently showing as one of the better players on the field. More recently, he's been handed starts in USL in midfield, where he has perhaps been less effective - but he's 17 years-old. Seventeen! Tyler Adams, Mr. "Oh my God, this kid is really damn young", is less than four months younger than Powder. If you cut Frank Lampard in half, you have two injured soccer players still older than Noah Powder.

Powder is a winger by nature but appears to have converted well to being a left back at the professional level. He is only a teenager but seems comfortable playing with men. He has a wicked left foot, pace to burn, above average technical skills, and is fearless in defending. He has maintained his attacking tendencies from his time as a winger but is always willing to defend. Maybe he is a little rash in the tackle, but that's being pedantic. Most importantly though, he has a lot of time to grow into his technical and physical abilities. Brandon Allen is one of the more prominent players to emerge from RBNY's development system recently - just making his first team debut against Toronto FC on May 28 - and the forward is 22.

At the time of writing, Powder is fifth on NYRB II in terms of minutes played and hasn't looked out of place for any of them despite his age. Imagine the player he could be at the 22 if he can hold his own in the USL at 17.

So the question is, when is the team planning on signing Noah Powder? In fact, why haven't they signed him already? Powder isn't committed to playing soccer in college, so that's not holding him back. He's set to graduate from high school in the next month and he is clearly capable of playing professional soccer already. So what gives?

Yes, he may not be as flashy a player as Etienne was last year, but that's almost more impressive. It is a whole lot harder for a defender to break through at young age than an attacking player. They have much less room for error and most of the good often goes unnoticed.

It's not like Powder hasn't impressed the coaching staff; Jess Marsch is clearly a fan. Back in November Marsch cited Powder out of the blue as one of the club's top prospects. It's not like Powder hasn't shown well on the international stage. He has captained Trinidad and Tobago's U17 squad, was recently picked for their U20 team, and has scored a great goal or two for his country. So... what gives?

He doesn't need to sign a first team contract. He doesn't need to be rushed. Sign Powder to NYRB II and let him develop for a few years then bring him up to MLS when he's ready. That is one of the major benefits of running a USL team after all, keeping the talent you develop in-house.

Maybe Powder wants to graduate from high school before turning professional. Maybe the Red Bulls want him to be fully committed to soccer before they sign him. Maybe. Yet, with all the fantastic academy players New York has had walk away for nothing, the New York Red Bulls would be foolish to let a player of Powder's caliber slip through their fingers, especially when he is so close at hand.
Title: Re: The Noah Powder question
Post by: Tobago28 on May 30, 2016, 07:15:22 PM
Hope he does not sign with NYRB.  They saying he is in camp with first team and starting on 2nd (USL) team at 17. If at 17 he is one of the better(best) players, then he is in the wrong place.  This boys needs to be in Europe where he can be pushed to the limits of his potential. His technical and tactical development will not be maximized in MLS. Hope he has good advisers.
Post by: FF on May 30, 2016, 07:39:42 PM
He develop to this point fine at NYRB Academy. All of a sudden he in the wrong place.  ???
Post by: Tobago28 on May 31, 2016, 04:35:13 AM
He develop to this point fine at NYRB Academy. All of a sudden he in the wrong place.  ???

Wouldn't you agree if you are the brightest bulb in the room, then you are in the wrong room?

NYRB Academy has a good history of getting players to this level. What is their history on getting players beyond this point to the top leagues?

Once you find the answer to that question, you will understand why he is in the wrong place.
Post by: FF on May 31, 2016, 05:12:16 AM
Matt Miazga sold for 5 million pounds to Chelsea in January
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on May 31, 2016, 08:32:25 AM

Post by: Tobago28 on May 31, 2016, 10:36:52 AM

Matt Miazga?? You are joking, right?  Do some basic research on why Miazga deal only happened because Chelsea really wanted Pato. They have the same agent. Wasn't this a package? He will be out on loan for quite sometime before returning to MLS for the exact reason Powder should not stay. Other than playing in a 4-0 thrashing of now relegated Aston Villa, when will he see 1st team.

I admit your response is funny but ends at humour. You send Miazga, I would say Jose Altidore and Juan Aquedelo to the contrary.

One last, example a former team mate of Powder at Red Bull and U s U17 named Matthew Olosunde just joined ManU Academy instead of taking a 1st contract at NYRB. Why? Please do not say well its ManU, give me more than that.
Post by: Tobago28 on May 31, 2016, 12:30:47 PM
FF

Also, note that:

Miazga was 5 million dollars or 3.5 million pounds NOT the 5 million pounds you stated.

Second, to understand the Miazga deal the same agent also represented Ramires who exited to China.
Post by: FF on May 31, 2016, 07:18:23 PM
Tobago either way. You ask I answer. And a recent occasion to boot.

I'm quite happy for Matt, and there are a wealth of reasons to go abroad for a young player. Matt has his.
If Noah was to get an offer to go abroad and takes it, I would be one of the first celebrating. Player development is not about holding players back but preparing them to go forth.

My point is that he has had a strong past six months and coming along fine where he is. Let's see how he goes for another 6 months and evaluate again. Bringing up agudelo and altidore may even add to my argument if you think deeper.

Post by: Tobago28 on May 31, 2016, 08:30:41 PM
FF

I appreciate the answer. I should have been more specific with my question which is fostering short term versus long term careers in European leagues. Longevity abroad like Claudia Reyna who went early from college and in my opinion is the best American player thus far due to his time early at Bayer Leverkusen, Wolfsburg, and Rangers which led him to Sunderland and finally Man City. The players you mentioned went late and could not maintain the level because they were not well prepared in MLS/USA.

The reality is that American coaching is very poor tactically and technically, therefore the longer you stay in the environment the player regresses relative to Europe and South America.
Post by: Tallman on June 09, 2016, 07:17:08 AM
https://www.youtube.com/v/tfgfKchWQ1c
Post by: asylumseeker on June 09, 2016, 09:25:14 AM
Powder in yuh face!!! :applause: :applause: :applause:

Ah feel some mileage outta Machel coming on.
Post by: Tallman on June 09, 2016, 10:24:42 AM

(https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/t31.0-8/243810_385145671558845_1813551530_o.jpg)
Post by: Mose on June 09, 2016, 11:25:18 AM

(https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/t31.0-8/243810_385145671558845_1813551530_o.jpg)
Mods! Time to rename this thread!  ;D
Title: Red Bulls’ Powder ready to lock horns for T&T
Post by: Tallman on June 09, 2016, 03:01:12 PM
Red Bulls’ Powder ready to lock horns for T&T
T&T Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s US-based defender Noah Powder holds a strong yearning to play at the highest level for Trinidad and Tobago.

He’s already captained the National Under 17 Team at the CONCACAF Final round of World Cup qualification and now he intends to lead by example again as he suits up for the T&T Under 20 Team in their upcoming Caribbean Football Union Under 20 First round of qualification which kicks off next Wednesday at the Ato Boldon Stadium with a double header. T&T faces Guadeloupe from 7:30pm and Turks and Caicos meets St Lucia in the earlier match from 5pm.

Powder had his first session with the Brian Williams-coached team at the Ato Boldon Stadium on Wednesday evening and he fitted right into the program, of course knowing some of the players from his previous stint with the National Under 17 team under Shawn Cooper.

“It’s been a good experience representing Trinidad and Tobago so far. It’s been fun. I captained the Under 17s and I was the leading goalscorer so I felt that I did well as a leader although we didn’t come out of the tournament by qualifying for the World Cup,” Powder told TTFA Media.

“I enjoy the culture here a lot. When I was younger I used to come to Tobago and sweat with grown men and I loved the style of the football. I got my first call when I was fifteen to come and try out with the U-17s.

“I like the preparations so far under coach Brian Williams. I’ve only been here a day now but I like that he’s working closely with the defenders.

“I don’t know much about the other teams but I do know that we need to come away with nine points and top our group so that we can have a good rhythm going into the next stage. I think the key to our success will be our running, our passing and our movement of the ball as well as our goalscoring,” Powder added.

Eligible to play for T&T through his father who was born in Tobago, Powder is ambitious and has already set his sights on catching the eye of Senior Team head coach Stephen Hart.

“Within a year I would love to break into the full men’s squad under coach Hart. That’s my goal. I have been getting a lot of criticism from some people (over there) as to why I don’t play for the US because I have obviously been showing what I can do. I told them that the US called me maybe a year ago and I said I wanted to play for Trinidad. I turned down the US because I figured I could play more for Trinidad and Tobago and be able to express myself more. I have no regrets about my decision and I’m very thankful to play for Trinidad and Tobago,” Powder added.

The 17-year-old who lives in New Jersey, began his career with the New York Red Bulls Academy and trained with the Red Bulls first team in 201.5. He made his debut for the Reds Bull II against Toronto FC II in the United Soccer League on March 26th, playing the full match which ended 2-2.

The T&T team will play Defence Force’s Super League outfit at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium on Friday evening before entering a live-in camp at Metro Hotel in Couva for the duration of the tournament.

Tickets for each matchday will be sold at the Ato Boldon Stadium and are priced at $20 (covered) and $10 for uncovered.
Post by: FF on September 08, 2016, 07:25:43 AM
Congratulations to Noah Powder and Red Bulls II for clinching the USL regular season championship.

USL MATCH RECAP: New York Red Bulls II clinch 2016 USL Regular Season Championship
NYRB Media Release

Media Contact:
Chris Orihuela

MILLERSVILLE, PA (September 7, 2016) - New York Red Bulls II defeated Harrisburg City Islanders on the road, 4-1, to clinch the United Soccer League Regular Season Championship. Vincent Bezecourt and Red Bulls Academy player Noah Powder both scored twice in the victory.
As USL Regular Season Champions, New York has clinched home-field advantage throughout the 2016 USL Playoffs.
The win improves New York to 19-3-5 on the season, their seventh consecutive victory. The second-year club is the first MLS-operated team to capture the USL Regular Season Title and has done so in record fashion with three games remaining.
Red Bulls II's 12-1-1 road record is three more than the league's previous record, while the club's 19 total wins and 62 points ties the league record set by Orlando City SC in 2014.
New York is also approaching the league's single-season scoring record with 54 goals, which trails Orlando's 2014 record of 56 goals. Through 27 games, the club's 15 clean sheets is just two shy of tying Rochester Rhinos' 2015 league record of 17 shutouts.
New York took the lead in the 23rd minute of the match when Stefano Bonomo played in Bezecourt on the right side of the box, who calmly slotted away his chance at the back post.
Despite allowing a goal in the first minute of the second half, Red Bulls II rebounded quickly. Second-half substitute Powder restored New York's lead in the 62nd minute with his first professional goal, assisted by Bezecourt.
Bezecourt doubled the lead in the 73rd minute, taking a pass from Florian Valot and curling a shot with his right foot for his fourth goal of the season. The Frenchman has scored all four of his goals this season against Harrisburg.
Finally, Powder solidified the lead with a left-footed rocket from outside the box that found the top-left corner of the goal to give New York the 4-1 victory.
Red Bulls II hits the road this weekend to take on last year's USL Regular Season Champions, Rochester Rhinos, on Saturday, Sept. 10 at 5:05 p.m. NYRB II next returns home on Saturday, Sept. 17 against FC Montreal for their final home game of the regular season before the USL Playoffs. Kickoff is set for 7 p.m.

Scoring Summary (Assist in parenthesis):
NY: Vincent Bezecourt (Stefano Bonomo) 23'
HAR: Cardel Benbow (Craig Foster) 46'
NY: Noah Powder (Vincent Bezecourt) 62'
NY: Vincent Bezecourt (Florian Valot) 73'
NY: Noah Powder 78'
Discipline Summary:
NY: Vincent Bezecourt, Caution 34'
NY: Speedy Williams, Caution 45'

Lineup:
NY: Kyle Reynish, Justin Bilyeu, Tim Schmoll, Zach Carroll, Konrad Plewa (Noah Powder, 58'), Speedy Williams (David Najem, 46'), Tyler Adams (Dan Metzger, 34'), Vincent Bezecourt, Derrick Etienne Jr. (Florian Valot, 64'), Stefano Bonomo, Zoumana Simpara (Aaron Long, 72')
Post by: Tobago28 on September 09, 2016, 06:34:49 PM
Congrats to Noah Powder on his first and second professional goals. Just watched the goals on YouTube; the first good technique with right foot, the second masterful strike from outside 18 with dominant left.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IBISyO9mRYY

VIDEO TIME
First Goal     1:37:40
Second Goal 1:55:03
Post by: palos on September 10, 2016, 08:03:50 AM
Fantastic 2nd goal. GOLAZO!
Post by: maxg on September 10, 2016, 09:09:47 AM
" Powder's performances at left back have earned him plaudits from day one this year, consistently showing as one of the better players on the field. " May'16
"Powder is a winger by nature but appears to have converted well to being a left back at the professional level." May'16
"Trinidad and Tobago’s US-based defender Noah Powder holds a strong yearning to play at the highest level for Trinidad and Tobago." June'16

In those goals, he ain't playing defense. Well taken goals btw, I didnt watch the whole game. Was he overlapping or is he now a winger in Sept'16 ?
Is he being considered as a forward, midfield or defense, is what I am asking. I think I saw him play left mid for the U21, if it was him, showed ok, but opposition was very poor.
Post by: Tobago28 on September 12, 2016, 06:45:03 PM
Powder 2nd goal up for USL Goal of the week, vote for him

http://www.uslsoccer.com/news_article/show/696951
Post by: Tobago28 on September 22, 2016, 09:17:00 AM
Noah Powder with his season league champion and record setting NYRBII teammates will face Charleston Battery on Saturday at 7:30pm

Charleston Battery is home of former North East Stars FC, Neveal Hackshaw and former Central FC, Ataulla Guerra

http://www.uslsoccer.com/game/show/13218091
Post by: Sando on September 22, 2016, 09:41:18 AM
Saw him play a few times, very good player, Hart should cap him for the Caribbean Cup.

Post by: Tallman on September 22, 2016, 12:56:53 PM
Saw him play a few times, very good player, Hart should cap him for the Caribbean Cup.

Nah, he'll be playing with the U-20s in October.
Post by: Tobago28 on October 15, 2016, 08:58:56 AM
Powder on duty with U20's in Panama in preparation for CFU Finals to be held 21st October through 30th October.

Started more games at the same level as many receiving call ups, starter on a much better team that won regular season championship and playing in Conference Finals tomorrow.

He certainly had a season that warrants consideration from Hart as he can play LB and RB. Also played holding midfield and as a winger for New York Red Bulls II.

Age 17
Former U17 Captain
Current Vice Captain U-20
NYRB Regular Season 18 games played, 1051 Minutes, 2 Goals
NYRB Playoffs 2 games played, 210 minutes

NYRB in Eastern Conference Finals Sunday vs. Ranjitsingh Louisville FC but he reported to U20's

http://www.uslsoccer.com/news_article/show/694873?referrer_id=2693397

http://www.uslsoccer.com/game/show/13218194?subseason=280291

I pushing for his call up because Powder have 3 options born in USA, Haitian mother and TnT father. Right now he committed to TnT but you never know.

Post by: KND2 on October 15, 2016, 11:19:56 AM
we should give him a try on the senior team, our wing back position is very weak. by the time the world cup comes he will be 19 which is prime performing age to hit the scene.
Post by: Tobago28 on October 27, 2016, 09:26:05 PM
Powder, Trinidad & Tobago Qualify for CONCACAF U20s
10/27/2016, 9:04am EDT By USLSoccer.com Staff
Red Bulls II defender helps Soca Warriors record three consecutive shutouts

http://www.uslsoccer.com/news_article/show/714130?referrer_id=2855829

WILLEMSTAD, Curaçao – New York Red Bulls II defender Noah Powder and the Trinidad & Tobago U20 National Team qualified for the 2017 CONCACAF U20 Championship on Wednesday night after earning a 0-0 draw with Haiti in the final game of the group stage in the Caribbean Football Union U20 Tournament at Ergilio Hato Stadium.

Powder, who made 18 appearances for the Red Bulls II in the regular season and two in the 2016 USL Cup Playoffs, was part of a defense that did not concede a goal in its three group games. The 18-year-old also found the net in a 4-0 victory against Saint Lucia on Monday night as the side advanced in the tournament.

Trinidad & Tobago will face Antigua & Barbuda in the semifinals of the tournament on Friday night. The CONCACAF U20 Championship is set to be held next February in Costa Rica, and also serves as qualifying for the 2017 FIFA U20 World Cup in South Korea next May.
Post by: Tobago28 on February 17, 2017, 07:16:44 PM
Noah Powder listed as one of top 12 players to watch in CONCACAF U20

http://www.topdrawersoccer.com/
Post by: Tobago28 on February 18, 2017, 01:10:25 PM
A guide to the 2017 CONCACAF U-20 Championship for New York Red Bulls fans
Twelve teams competing for four U-20 World Cup spots, plus some Tyler Adams and
Noah Powder - what's not to like for RBNY fans?

http://www.onceametro.com/2017/2/14/14587890/a-guide-to-the-2017-concacaf-u-20-championship-for-new-york-red-bulls-fans-tyler-adams

The 2017 CONCACAF U-20 Championship kicks off in Costa Rica on February 17. In the 2015 edition of this tournament, the New York Red Bulls' Matt Miazga played for the USA. By the end of January 2016, he was a Chelsea player. The region's next generation of stars don't all appear at the U-20 tournament, but many of them do - and some, like Miazga, will look back on this competition as the beginning of the year that launched their pro soccer careers.

It's a tournament worth watching, particularly if your club has a player or two involved. As it happens, the Red Bulls do have a current player in this one: Tyler Adams is on the USA's roster. Also, Academy product and NYRB II regular Noah Powder is in the Trinidad and Tobago squad. So more than one reason for RBNY fans to pay some mind to this year's CONCACAF U-20 Championship.

The Basics
There are 12 teams in the tournament and the top four will qualify for the 2017 FIFA U-20 World Cup, which will kick off in South Korea on May 20. To make the top four, a team must successfully navigate two group stages.

The first group stage sees the 12-team field divided into three groups of four. The top two from each group will progress to a second group stage.

In the second group stage, the six qualifiers will be divided into two groups of three. The top two from each of those groups qualify for the U-20 World Cup. The winners of the two second-stage groups play each other to determine the CONCACAF U-20 Champion.

The Groups
The first group stage is perhaps the most significant. Only six of the 12 teams will still be in the tournament after this round. Of the six who get to the next stage, four will move to the 2017 U-20 World Cup. The first cut will be the deepest at this CONCACAF Championship.

Group A: Antigua and Barbuda, Canada, Honduras, Mexico
Mexico is the clear favorite to win this group, not least because Mexico is the clear favorite to win this tournament. El Tri's U-20s have won the last three CONCACAF Championships at this level, and this particular squad includes several players who were part of Mexico's 2015 U-17 CONCACAF Championship-winning squad, and eight members of the starting lineup of the team that lost a 2015 U-17 World Cup semifinal to eventual champion Nigeria.

Honduras doesn't seem to have graduated quite so many of its 2015 U-17 squad to this year's U-20s, but respect is due to the program that finished the 2015 U-17 CONCACAF Championship as runner up - so count the Hondurans as favorites to claim the second ticket out of this group. RBNY fans may be interested to see Douglas Martinez, who trialed with the Red Bulls in 2016 and had hoped to be part of the club's 2017 season will join the club's USL team, NYRB II, after this tournament.

Canada's squad does not include perhaps its two best-known teenage players: Vancouver Whitecaps' Alphonso Davies and Montreal Impact's Ballou Jean-Yves Tabla. Still, it is a worthy mix of emerging players (mostly) based at clubs in Canada and Europe.

Antigua and Barbuda, surprisingly, swept through two rounds of Caribbean qualification unbeaten, falling only to Haiti in the final of the Caribbean Football Union's 2016 U-20 Championship. Mostly comprised of Antigua-based players, the squad does include a smattering of youth-teamers from high-profile European clubs such as Leicester City and Manchester United. Forward Javorn Stevens was one of the more successful players in the qualifying campaign for this tournament and has recently signed a contract to play for Seattle Sounders 2 in USL.

Group B: Haiti, St. Kitts and Nevis, Panama, USA
It is a mark of the strength and depth of the USA's men's youth program that despite the absence of many of the standouts from the squad that went to the 2015 U-17 World Cup - Matt Olosunde, Christian Pulisic, Joshua Perez, Haji Wright - the Americans are still very heavy favorites to win this group and ultimately advance to the 2017 U-20 World Cup. RBNY's Tyler Adams was young for the U-17 squad in 2015 (which he was on) and he is young for this U-20 squad, but he is thought to have a very good shot at a breakout year and that is largely down to the potential for him to play a big role for the USA at this tournament and the U-20 World Cup.

Haiti ran away with Caribbean qualifying for this tournament, winning five out of six (and drawing the other) games in two group stage rounds and convincingly clinching the Caribbean U-20 title with a 3-0 semifinal win over Bermuda and a 4-0 win over Antigua and Barbuda in the final. Jimmy Sanon just won USL's 2016 Goal of the Year award, and might therefore be the best known Haitian player to American eyes on this competition.

But Haiti has done a good job of progressing a talented U-20 cohort. Ronaldo Damus is a 17-year-old goal scorer who bagged six goals in his team's five final-round games of Caribbean qualifying. Forward Jonel Desire has started to make a case for regular starts for the senior men's national team (and he was one of the top scorers in the 2015 CONCACAF U-20 Championship). Roberto Louima prepped for this tournament with a trial for NYC FC. That attacking trio alone makes Haiti one of the more exciting prospects in the competition.

The last time Panama showed up to a CONCACAF U-20 Championship, it breezed through the 2015 group stage with an unblemished record - five wins out of five and no goals conceded. The squad came up just short in the final, losing to Mexico on penalties after a 1-1 tie. But that team also won its qualifying tournament for the regional championship. This time around, however, Los Canaleros are only here because Guatemala was disqualified. The fourth-best team out of Central American qualifying might well be capable of surprising its opponents in this group. Once A Metro will be duly surprised if it does, not least because head coach Leonardo Pipino abruptly quit the team on February 9.

If you want to know why Jamaica is not in this tournament: St. Kitts and Nevis is the answer. The U-20 Sugar Boyz topped the qualifying group Jamaica was expected to win, and went on to clinch the lucky-loser's spot at this competition out of Caribbean qualifying. Tahir Hanley made a name for himself during the unexpected run to the CONCACAF Championship. Few expected St. Kitts and Nevis to get this far, fewer expect them to get any further - which ought not to deter the Group B underdog.

Group C: Bermuda, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Trinidad and Tobago
Costa Rica is the home team for this tournament, so make Los Ticos favorites to get out of Group C. There are players in the squad - like forward Andy Reyes - who were part of the U-17 selection that made it to the quarterfinals of the 2015 U-17 World Cup. Surprisingly, perhaps the most highly-rated player in the Costa Rican player pool for this age-group, Gerson Torres, did not make the roster for this competition, but head coach Marcelo Herrera essentially said the player's success - which has included senior national team caps and a move to Club America - had effectively prevented him from being integrated into the U-20s. Leaving one of the more admired U-20 players in the region off the team speaks to a confidence in the ability of a talented squad to be more than the sum of its parts.

Eduardo Lara has stepped up from coaching the  El Salvador U-20s to the senior national team job, handing over head coaching duties for this tournament to his assistant, Jose Helmer Silva. Lara had hoped to persuade Fiorentina's Joshua Perez - also eligible for USA squad - into the team for this competition, but that plan has not panned out. Still, the Salvadorans were the second-best team in Central American qualifying, and will expect to be better than the Caribbean teams in this group.

Trinidad and Tobago is another team unable to bring its best-known talent at this level to the tournament: AZ's Levi Garcia is not in the squad, and has arguably outgrown the U-20 player pool - he will be expected to continue to feature for T&T's senior men's national team this year. New York Red Bulls Academy product Noah Powder is on the roster, and should see a lot of time on the field, not least because the squad is short on left backs. T&T was the only team Haiti didn't beat in Caribbean qualifying, but it also lost to Bermuda in the third-place playoff of that tournament. The opening game of this group is a re-match for the Caribbean rivals - and will establish which of them can be expected to challenge for a place in the next round.

Given the fact Bermuda finished above Trinidad and Tobago in Caribbean qualifying, it's a little unfair to cast the team as least-likely to get out of Group C - but so it goes. The Gombey Warriors lack the reputation or history in this tournament to be regarded as anything other than makeweights. They will have ample opportunity to prove that perception wrong.

The Classification Stage
After the first group stage comes the second, titled the "classification stage" to avoid confusion and also because it is the stage from which the U-20 World Cup qualifiers will emerge. Two groups of three will see their top two teams secure tickets to South Korea.

There won't be much margin for error in these three-team groups: each team only plays twice. From the USMNT's perspective, the primary concern will be to avoid finishing second in the Group Stage. Second place in Group B will be in a Classification Stage group with the winners of the other two groups. And those winners are expected to be favorite Mexico and home team Costa Rica - the USA does not want to be playing its way out of such a group to make the World Cup.

If the USA can win Group B, as expected, it should have a somewhat smoother ride through the Classification Stage, playing against the second-placed teams from Groups A and C.

But there will doubtless be surprises in the Group Stage, and they will almost certainly create some surprises for the Classification Stage.
Title: Noah Powder training with New York Red Bulls II, decision forthcoming
Post by: Tallman on June 19, 2017, 05:38:48 PM
Noah Powder training with New York Red Bulls II, decision forthcoming
By Jake Evans (onceametro.com)

Once a Metro understands that Noah Powder is back with New York Red Bulls II, at least for the moment. Powder, 18, has not been with the team since the end of last season but is currently training with the team.

The New York Red Bulls academy graduate was a key piece of New York Red Bulls II’s dominant season in the USL last year, making twenty appearances as an amateur player for the double winning team. However, at the end of the year instead of signing a professional deal with either New York’s USL or MLS squad, Powder temporarily left the team for trials in Europe. Powder trained with Paris Saint-Germain and other French teams over the winter but did not catch on anywhere in Europe. The full details of his European excursion are unknown.

As first spotted by eagle-eyed fan Eric Friedlander on May 30, Noah Powder has been training with the New York Red Bulls II for the past two weeks.

The converted fullback graduated from New York’s academy at the end of last season and can no longer play for the team as an amateur player as he has in the past. Noah Powder’s future now lies as a professional, and potentially as a homegrown player for New York. Since he left New York at the end of 2016, Powder made youth international appearances for Trinidad and Tobago but otherwise has not played professionally.

No decision has been made as to Noah Powder’s place with the team yet. However, Once a Metro understands that a decision on his future is expected soon.
Title: New York Red Bulls II sign Noah Powder
Post by: Tallman on July 14, 2017, 10:54:02 AM
New York Red Bulls II sign Noah Powder
Red Bulls Communications

New York Red Bulls II have signed Red Bulls Academy product Noah Powder to a USL contract. Powder’s registration is complete and he will be available for selection this Saturday, when NYRB II hosts the Charlotte Independence at Montclair State University.

“It’s great to have Noah back in the mix,” said NYRB II Head Coach John Wolyniec. “We’re excited to have him with the team. Noah’s been a part of the academy and played with us last year, so we feel really good about having him back and hopefully I can help him get to the next level.”

Powder, a native of Maplewood, N.J., featured heavily for NYRB II in 2016 as an amateur, playing a total of 1261 minutes across 20 matches, while scoring two goals for the USL side en route to a USL Cup title.

Powder has also appeared for Trinidad and Tobago’s U-20 Men’s National Team. With Trinidad & Tobago, he participated in the 2015 CONCACAF U-17 Championships in Honduras in which he started all five matches and scored two goals.

In the 2015-16 U.S. Soccer Development Academy season, Powder played 12 games, including 10 starts, for the Red Bulls U-18s and scored two goals.

Noah Powder

Position: Defender

Height: 5’8”

DOB: 10/27/1998

Hometown: Maplewood, N.J.

Previous Club: Red Bulls Academy

Post by: Tobago28 on July 20, 2017, 06:57:12 AM
Powder with NYRB vs. Aikim Andrews, Ricardo John and Jelani Peters with Toronto FC on Friday at 7:30pm live stream on USL website.

Good chance to see 4 TT internationals in one game.
Post by: Tobago28 on August 06, 2017, 06:19:18 AM
Powder started his 4th game in a row since returning to NYRBII at LWB. Dennis Lawrence should be looking at  him for an invite into camp. Yes he is only 18 years old but certainly can handle playing at the this level and has been playing at this level since 17 years old. Many of the players playing in the Pro League trying to get contracts in USL but not successful at trials.

http://www.uslsoccer.com/noah-powder

Can't understand why he not considered?
Post by: Deeks on August 06, 2017, 02:01:18 PM
Powder started his 4th game in a row since returning to NYRBII at LWB. Dennis Lawrence should be looking at  him for an invite into camp. Yes he is only 18 years old but certainly can handle playing at the this level and has been playing at this level since 17 years old. Many of the players playing in the Pro League trying to get contracts in USL but not successful at trials.

I agree with you, Breds.
Post by: Tobago28 on August 06, 2017, 07:20:43 PM

I agree with you, Breds.

Deeks

Hope the coaching staff and scouts will be watching on Saturday at 7:00pm when NYRBII plays Charleston Battery. Noah Powder will face Neveal Hackshaw and Ataulla Guerra. Game streaming live on USL website.
Post by: Deeks on August 06, 2017, 07:25:38 PM

I agree with you, Breds.

Deeks

Hope the coaching staff and scouts will be watching on Saturday at 7:00pm when NYRBII plays Charleston Battery. Noah Powder will face Neveal Hackshaw and Ataulla Guerra. Game streaming live on USL website.

Thanks for that bit of info.
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 07, 2017, 09:43:30 AM
5'10" 150lb? He better start living in Red Bulls weight room.
Post by: Tobago28 on August 07, 2017, 05:05:05 PM

Dinner Mints

At 18 that's appropriate size, I hope you don't want him to be fat, overweight and unfit like so many of the Pro League players currently in the national setup that are exhausted in the 70th minute.  Let me help you by showing you the height and weight stats of arguably the 10 best LWB in the world:

Age   Height   Weight
Luke Shaw               22   6'1"           165
Patrice Evra               36   5'8"           159
Nancho Monreal               31   5'10"           159
Raphael Guerreiro       23   5'7"           148
Aleksandar Kolarov       31   6'2"           183
Cesar Azpilicueta       27   5'10           154
Marcelo Viera               29   5'9"           165
Danny Rose               27   5'9"           168
Jordi Alba                       28   5'7"           150
David Alaba               25   5'11"      165

Average Height     5.67
Average Weight    162
Average pounds/inch 2.376

Next time use some data to back up your statements. I am sure by 22 Powder will add 10 pounds of muscle.

Though they play very different positions with different physical demands, Neymar is 5"9" and 150 pounds.

Post by: Dutty Love on August 09, 2017, 04:56:00 PM

Dinner Mints

At 18 that's appropriate size, I hope you don't want him to be fat, overweight and unfit like so many of the Pro League players currently in the national setup that are exhausted in the 70th minute.  Let me help you by showing you the height and weight stats of arguably the 10 best LWB in the world:

Age   Height   Weight

Average Height     5.67
Average Weight    162

Next time use some data to back up your statements. I am sure by 22 Powder will add 10 pounds of muscle.

Though they play very different positions with different physical demands, Neymar is 5"9" and 150 pounds.

Alex Sandro and Marcelo are better than all of them. Arguably.
Post by: Tobago28 on August 09, 2017, 09:08:05 PM
Quote from: Tobago28 link=topic=65390.msg975175#msg975175
date=1502147105

Dinner Mints

Age   Height   Weight

Average Height     5.67
Average Weight    162

Alex Sandro and Marcelo are better than all of them. Arguably.

Dutty Love

Marcelo on the list, he is a Bosss
Post by: Deeks on August 09, 2017, 10:18:51 PM
Alaba, pretty good too.
Post by: Tobago28 on August 20, 2017, 02:06:42 PM
Nothing against Taryk Sampson nor Shane Sandy but if you looking for a defender from last U20 why Powder would not be top of the list. He playing at much higher level and the full 90.

Powder have USA and Haitian passport, his days could be numbered with us.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 20, 2017, 02:13:39 PM
Nothing against Taryk Sampson nor Shane Sandy but if you looking for a defender from last U20 why Powder would not be top of the list. He playing at much higher level and the full 90.

Could he have commanded a starting position in Haiti's U-20 squad?
Post by: Tobago28 on August 20, 2017, 02:27:44 PM
Quote from: Tobago28 link=topic=65390.msg975541#msg975541
date=1503259602

Definetely at LWB, he was approached by them and pushed by NYRB team mate Derrick Etienne.

Brian and Staff opted to play him as a left or right winger instead of his natural LWB position even though Brian had no left footed defender for the position
Post by: asylumseeker on August 20, 2017, 02:40:53 PM
Quote from: Tobago28 link=topic=65390.msg975541#msg975541
date=1503259602

Definetely at LWB, he was approached by them and pushed by NYRB team mate Derrick Etienne.

Brian and Staff opted to play him as a left or right winger instead of his natural LWB position even though Brian had no left footed defender for the position

I was about to question the comment, but then I remembered that Keston Julien was not available for Costa Rica.

Looked at the video of these matches again recently, and what you raise explains a question I was left with ... because I expected more from Powder.

That Haiti wanted him, I can't question. But, from what I saw in Curacao, I have reservations to say he could have full-fledged started (based on Haiti's team).
Post by: Tobago28 on August 20, 2017, 02:45:07 PM
Sadly, Keston was not there. He would have been a huge help
Post by: asylumseeker on August 20, 2017, 02:47:56 PM
We are either at the end of a cycle or soon at the start of another. Hold tight. All indications are that the coaching staff recognizes it's time to ease youth in.

That stated, the player is not a finished article ... so it's not like he is ready, ready right now. Or will be hurt career-wise. Hold strain.
Post by: Tobago28 on August 20, 2017, 03:22:26 PM
We are either at the end of a cycle or soon at the start of another. Hold tight. All indications are that the coaching staff recognizes it's time to ease youth in.

That stated, the player is not a finished article ... so it's not like he is ready, ready right now. Or will be hurt career-wise. Hold strain.

He have time but we dont with the quality of defense we putting out against Jamaica. I watched Powder on line yesterday vs. Justin Hoyte who played for us a year ago under Hart. Hoyte a former Arsenal academy player and Powder dominated that side of the pitch though Hoyte is probably now 15 years older than Powder. NYRBII, Powder won 4-0 vs. FC Cinncinati with Powder earning the penalty for the opener. Watch on USL website and tell me because his quality is much better than them jokers they select for the Jamaica game. Its always better to get young players with other options to commit early to avoid chasing and begging like we doing now foe some. Its foolish by TTFA to ease in players of lesser ability and only one country option if they really thinking about starting a new cycle. Looks more like they starting a Connection Cycle with that defense...expect Jamaica to score goals
Post by: asylumseeker on August 20, 2017, 03:44:11 PM
By the way, why the mention of Shane Sandy? Shane is not a direct competitor for Powder's position. Neither is Taryk Sampson.
Post by: Tobago28 on August 20, 2017, 05:03:38 PM
By the way, why the mention of Shane Sandy? Shane is not a direct competitor for Powder's position. Neither is Taryk Sampson.

I was referencing young defenders, that should be called up. Sandy and Sampson are in the JA match. Props to both especially Tobago Sandy
Post by: Cocorite on August 20, 2017, 11:13:50 PM
Tobago, I'm with you dude. Powder is a no-brainer. Should definitely be capped at senior level. He is sound, level-headed and seems committed to T&T. . .But that may change and no one could blame him if he chooses whichever country to play for.

Blood him now.
Post by: Tobago28 on August 21, 2017, 05:56:30 AM
Tobago, I'm with you dude. Powder is a no-brainer. Should definitely be capped at senior level. He is sound, level-headed and seems committed to T&T. . .But that may change and no one could blame him if he chooses whichever country to play for.

Blood him now.

Exactly, he will only get better and attract attention from other countries he is eligible to play for, I fear the same will happen with the goal keeper Ranjatsingh who plays for Louisville FC.
Post by: Tobago28 on September 02, 2017, 05:00:06 PM
Powder Scores and gets an Assists but no interest from Dennis Lawrence

https://youtu.be/UUcmf4bZ34g

Post by: Trini _2026 on September 02, 2017, 11:15:49 PM
I think  our  coaches  look down on the USL  ..its not a high enough level of football but i could be wrong .. But from watching a few usl games it is more competitive than the pro league .
Post by: maxg on September 02, 2017, 11:40:20 PM
I think  our  coaches  look down on the USL  ..its not a high enough level of football but i could be wrong .. But from watching a few usl games it is more competitive than the pro league .
i'm reminded of Marvin Oliver
Post by: Tobago28 on September 03, 2017, 01:28:30 AM

If that's the case then the coaches should be fired. Pro League players begging to get a USL trial so why select all the Pro League players? Powder scores after being fouled by Joe Cole, the same Joe Cole that was at West Ham, Chelsea and Liverpool with God knows how many caps for England. If the coaches don't know that Drogba playing in the USL then the coaches, scouts and administrators useless
Post by: Flex on September 03, 2017, 11:32:10 AM
WATCH: Defender Noah Powder scores a free-kick and has an assist in New York Red Bulls II’s 4-2 win over Tampa Bay Rowdies

https://www.youtube.com/v/UUcmf4bZ34g
Post by: Flex on September 03, 2017, 11:33:07 AM
Wouldn't be surprised if we lose this player to the USMNT the way our current admin are being run.

Post by: Dinner Mints on September 03, 2017, 02:22:16 PM
We still trying to pretend local-based players could step up. Is a pride thing.
Post by: Tobago28 on September 03, 2017, 06:08:44 PM
Wouldn't be surprised if we lose this player to the USMNT the way our current admin are being run.

Met the mother and father in Curacao during CFU-U20 Finals, the mother is Haitian and was joking that he should be playing for Haiti instead of TnT especially since Haiti won CFU at U20 and U17. This youth have 3 options, hoping he stays with us.
Post by: Tobago28 on September 05, 2017, 06:09:38 PM
Noah Powder named to USL Team of the Week

D – Noah Powder, New York Red Bulls II: Powder had a goal and assist and also notched five tackles and six interceptions in a standout two-way performance, as New York defeated the Tampa Bay Rowdies 4-2.

http://www.uslsoccer.com/news_article/show/830201?referrer_id=2424352

Title: Noah Powder has left New York Red Bulls II
Post by: Tallman on January 26, 2018, 04:37:49 PM
Noah Powder has left New York Red Bulls II
By Austin Fido (onceametro.com)

Noah Powder has parted ways with the New York Red Bulls and is currently exploring opportunities abroad, Once A Metro can confirm, per sources familiar with the player’s situation.

The 19-year-old is a Red Bulls Academy product, who made 20 appearances for RBNY’s second team while still a schoolboy in 2016. That season brought him USL regular-season and Cup titles, and his first goal at the pro level.

Powder looked overseas for opportunities in 2017, but ultimately signed his first professional contract with the RBNY II team in July. In a curtailed season, he made 10 appearances.

Able to play on both sides of the field, in defense and midfield, Powder was primarily regarded as left-back in the Red Bulls’ set-up. As such, he had appeared to be a homegrown candidate for the role of successor to first-team starter Kemar Lawrence. He was one of five players retained on USL contracts from RBNY II’s 2017 season, and had been expected to continue with the reserve team in 2018.

Powder’s exit adds to the Red Bulls’ impressive list of youth-international caliber, Academy full backs who are not attached to the club. That list includes Matt Olosunde (currently in Manchester United’s U-23 squad), Marcello Borges (trained with RBNY last year and played for the RBNY U-23s in PDL; assumed to be staying in college for now), and Chris Gloster, reportedly on trial at Schalke. All three players have represented the US at youth international level. Powder is US-born, but has played his national-team soccer for Trinidad and Tobago’s U-17 and U-20 teams.

Another ex-Academy, former USYNT full-back, Kyle Duncan, has recently returned to RBNY - joining the current preseason camp on trial after a couple of seasons with French club Valenciennes. Duncan’s return illustrates the point that gone does not mean forgotten, and players often do cross paths with former clubs as their careers progress.

For now, however, Powder is gone and Duncan is part of RBNY’s project to build full-back depth for 2018 and beyond. That project currently includes two contracted USL players (Ethan Kutler and Andrew Lombard), two pre-season trialists (Duncan and Ismaila Jome), one 2018 draft pick (Niko De Vera), as well as first-teamers Kemar Lawrence, Amir Murillo and Connor Lade - with multiple players, including Tyler Adams and Fidel Escobar - able to cover the position. So the full-back cupboard is not bare, but Powder’s departure furthers the impression that RBNY is good at recruiting elite talent at the position, less good at retaining that talent.

Once A Metro wishes Noah Powder every success as he continues his career.
Post by: Tallman on March 02, 2018, 08:59:27 PM
Orange County SC sign Trinidad and Tobago U-20 International Noah Powder
Orange County SC Communications

Orange County Soccer Club announced the signing of Trinidadian and Tobago U-20 international, Noah Powder for the upcoming season today. Powder, 19 joins Orange County SC from New York Red Bulls II, where he began his career with the Red Bulls U-18 Academy before making the transition to their USL side.

“Noah is an exciting young player with a bright future.  He already has quite a bit of experience in the league despite being 19,” said Orange County SC Head Coach Braeden Cloutier.  “I’m looking forward to working with him and helping him continue his development.”

The Maplewood, New Jersey native signed his first professional contract with New York Red Bulls II on July 14, 2017. Powder made his professional debut on March 26, 2016 against Toronto FC and played an integral role in the side that went on to be crowned USL Champions that year. He made a total of 28 appearances for Red Bulls II over a two-year spell. Despite being only 19 years old he already has USL Playoff experience having played in the quarter-final match against Orlando City B and in the semi-final match vs. Rochester Rhinos in 2016.

Powder is eligible to play for the US National Team through birth, or for Trinidad and Tobago through his father, who was born in Tobago.  In 2015, he captained the Trinidad and Tobago national U-17 team when he appeared in the 2015 CONCACAF U-17 Championships in Honduras where he started all five matches and scored two goals.  He was called up to the Trinidad and Tobago national U-20 team in 2016 and has since made 8 appearances for the U-20s and remains eligible.

Noah Powder
Height: 5-10
Weight: 150 lbs.
Born: 10/27/1998
Birthplace: Maplewood, NJ
Post by: Deeks on March 02, 2018, 09:21:29 PM
What wrong with WE. Is only second division. Are we ugly or what ?
Post by: Tallman on September 09, 2018, 08:50:24 AM
WATCH: Defender Noah Powder scores a sublime free-kick in injury time during Orange County SC’s 3-2 come-from-behind win over Oklahoma City Energy FC

https://www.youtube.com/v/cNBvE1cybR8?start=105
Post by: Tallman on September 17, 2018, 05:05:05 AM
WATCH: Noah Powder scores for the second consecutive game, giving Orange County SC a 1-0 win over Fresno FC

https://www.youtube.com/v/QAsGcLqnrVc?start=86
Post by: Cocorite on September 17, 2018, 11:34:38 AM
WATCH: Noah Powder scores for the second consecutive game, giving Orange County SC a 1-0 win over Fresno FC

https://www.youtube.com/v/QAsGcLqnrVc?start=86

Way-to-go Noah, give Dennis something to think about
Post by: Tallman on September 20, 2018, 06:41:32 AM
WATCH: Noah Powder scores for the third consecutive game when he chips the goalkeeper from 45 yards out during Orange County SC’s 5-2 win over Real Monarchs. Powder also notched an assist on Orange County’s first goal.

https://www.youtube.com/v/GBOnd1VwsUc?start=60
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on September 20, 2018, 08:08:45 AM
This yute on fire right now!!!  Well done Powder, Keep it going!
Title: Real Monarchs SLC signs defender Noah Powder
Post by: Tallman on January 23, 2019, 02:37:26 PM
Real Monarchs SLC signs defender Noah Powder
RSL Communications

Real Monarchs SLC has signed DF Noah Powder ahead of the 2019 USL Championship season, General Manager Dan Egner announced today. Powder’s signing is pending league and federation approval.

“Noah was one of the top left backs in the USL last season and having over fifty USL matches under his belt at twenty years old is massive. Left back is a tough position to fill, and we couldn’t be happier to bring Noah in to fill that role for us. Noah has set goals that he is determined to reach, and we hope to continue Noah’s development and help him reach those goals.”

Powder, 20, spent the 2018 season with Orange County SC where he logged 1,636 minutes in 22 matches. Making 16 starts at left back for OCSC, Powder notched three goals and added two assists. An Edison, New Jersey native, Powder spent the 2016 and 2017 seasons with New York Red Bulls II where together with Monarchs defender Konrad Plewa, helped New York to the USL Cup title in 2016. Powder has also featured for the Trinidad & Tobago U-17 and U-20 sides since 2016.

“I'm very excited join The Real Monarch's for the 2019 season,” Powder said. “The Monarchs are a club with great potential. I will be looking to make the most of this opportunity in helping this club bring the USL Cup to Utah."

Player Information

Name: Noah Powder

Height: 5’11”

Weight: 160 lbs

Born: 10/27/1998 (20 yo)

Hometown: Edison, New Jersey

Last Club: Orange County SC

Real Monarchs SLC will face Sacramento Republic FC on Saturday, March 9 to open its fifth campaign in the USL Championship. The Monarchs will then return home the following weekend to host league newcomer El Paso Locomotive FC at Zions Bank Stadium on March 16, a venue in which the Monarchs earned a league-best home record of 13-2-2 in 2018.

Real Monarchs SLC season tickets and single-match tickets are set to be announced and be available for purchase in the near future.
Post by: Tallman on June 09, 2019, 07:53:54 AM
WATCH: Noah Powder with a trademark free-kick goal during Real Monarchs' 5-3 win over Rio Grande Valley FC Toros

https://www.youtube.com/v/9EwYJztKRP4?start=134
Post by: Tobago28 on June 09, 2019, 09:34:32 AM
Powder shows quality again but Dennis and TTFA still blind
Post by: Sam on June 09, 2019, 04:10:06 PM
This man should have been on T&T team a long time ago, at least in de provisional squad.

Post by: Deeks on June 10, 2019, 10:00:28 AM
This man should have been on T&T team a long time ago, at least in de provisional squad.

Actually he should be on the U-23 team getting ready for the Olympics. But DJW and the TTFA moving in another direction. Next WC, he and a couple of the younger youths should be replacing some of these guys on the current team.
Post by: Tobago28 on June 25, 2019, 09:38:37 PM
Powder selected for USL Pro Team of the week.https://www.uslchampionship.com/news_article/show/1030959
Post by: Tallman on September 30, 2019, 10:49:59 AM
WATCH: Noah Powder slices through the defence to pull one back for Real Monarchs in their 2-1 come-from-behind win over Reno 1868

https://www.youtube.com/v/z-yvDOz-ic0?start=42
Title: Noah Powder named to USL Championship Week 30 Team of the Week
Post by: Tallman on October 03, 2019, 07:07:21 AM
Noah Powder named to USL Championship Week 30 Team of the Week
By Derick Fox (RSL.com)

For the second time this season, defender Noah Powder earned a spot on the USL Championship Team of the Week. Powder made his presence known throughout the night in the 2-1 win over Reno 1868 FC last Saturday, scoring the equalizing goal after dribbling through three defenders as well as an unmarked headed effort that ended in the goalkeeper's hands. Powder completed 90% of his passes and won 63% of his duels to earn a spot in the Top XI for Week 30.

See below for the full list of players for the Week 30 Team of the Week:

USL Championship Team of the Week

GK – Kyle Morton, Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC: Morton posted a three-save shutout as the Hounds took a 3-0 victory against Indy Eleven on Saturday night, extending the club’s current shutout streak to 646 minutes.

D – Manny Perez, North Carolina FC: Perez came off the bench and recorded two assists while winning 4 of 5 duels and making two recoveries to help North Carolina rally to an important win against Ottawa Fury FC.

D – Noah Powder, Real Monarchs SLC: Powder scored the opening goal as the Monarchs rallied for a 2-1 victory on the road in Reno while also completing 39 of 43 passes and 4 of 5 dribbles and winning 7 of 11 duels.

D – Bryam Rebellon, El Paso Locomotive FC: Rebellon scored the tying goal, completed 34 of 46 passes, made six recoveries and three tackles and won 8 of 12 duels as Locomotive FC rallied past Republic FC on Saturday night.

M – Walter Restrepo, San Antonio FC: Restrepo had two goals, one assist and eight chances created, while completing 10 of 13 dribbles over two games that included a key home win against Fresno FC on Saturday.

M – Kenardo Forbes, Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC: Forbes scored two goals in the Hounds’ victory against Indy Eleven, had three key passes and completed 67 of 78 passes overall for the week as Pittsburgh moved into second place in the East.

M – Enzo Martinez, Charlotte Independence: Martinez had two goals, one assist and four chances created while also recording seven recoveries in Charlotte’s victory against Hartford Athletic on Saturday.

M – Joey Calistri, Phoenix Rising FC: Calistri scored both goals as Rising FC rallied to earn a 2-2 draw with New Mexico United, while also recording two key passes and completing 13 of 16 passes overall after coming on as a substitute.

M – Cristhian Altamirano, Tulsa Roughnecks FC: Altamirano had one goal, two assists and over two games completed 40 of 52 passes and recorded six chances created as the Roughnecks took four points for the week.

F – Gordon Wild, Loudoun United FC: Wild recorded the first hat trick in Loudoun’s history in a victory against Swope Park, and had five chances created and 33 of 38 completed passes over two games for the week.

F – Irvin Parra, Las Vegas Lights FC: Parra had two goals and one assist, completed of 14 of 17 passes and 3 of 4 dribbles to lead Lights FC to a crucial road victory against Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC.

Bench: Nico Corti (RGV), Cam Lindley (MEM), Kevin Rodriguez (RGV), Ethan Zubak (LA), Neco Brett (PIT), Daniel Rios (NSH), Malik Johnson (TBR)
Title: Re: Noah Powder Thread
Post by: Tallman on November 17, 2019, 11:11:17 PM
WATCH: Noah Powder seals the USL Championship for Real Monarchs with a delightful goal in their 3-1 win over Louisville City.

https://www.youtube.com/v/AnbOferHBfQ?start=140
Title: Noah Powder was the X-Factor the Monarchs needed him to be
Post by: Tallman on November 18, 2019, 01:03:05 PM
Noah Powder was the X-Factor the Monarchs needed him to be
By Nicholas Murray (uslchampionship.com)

The biggest lineup question Real Monarchs SLC faced going into Sunday’s 2019 USL Championship Final was which player would sit in the right wingback position.

On one hand, there was James Moberg, who had earned the call in the Western Conference Final as the Monarchs went more conservative against the threat of El Paso Locomotive FC’s Omar Salgado down the flank.

On the other, there was Noah Powder, a far more aggressive option that could leave Real’s defense more exposed, but would also provide a bigger attacking threat that the Monarchs would likely need to earn victory on the road against Louisville City FC as they had against Phoenix Rising FC earlier this postseason.

Interim Head Coach Jamison Olave chose Powder, and while there might have been questions as to whether it was the right move before the game, at the end of the 90 minutes when Real had the trophy in its hands thanks in part to Powder’s strong display, it was clearly the right one.

Powder put in the performance that was needed. His passing was crisp, completing 28 of 32 passes overall, he won the majority of his duels and his speed teamed with Mikael Chang down the right side for Real proved key, especially when the game became stretched in the second half.

He showed off his flair for the spectacular, too. His first shot of the night – a blistering drive from 30 yards that Louisville goalkeeper Chris Hubbard had to claw away from finding the bottom right corner of the net – almost put the Monarchs ahead just before halftime. Instead, it set up the corner that led to Konrad Plewa’s stoppage-time finish which ended up proving the game-winner.

His second, meanwhile, effectively put the game out of reach as he was given too much space while cutting into the penalty area from the right side before arrowing a low shot into the bottom-left corner of the net. Hubbard might feel he should have done better with the effort, but the dip that saw the ball skip off the turf a couple of yards in front of him made it trickier than it might have first looked.

The best thing for the Monarchs – and Real Salt Lake’s organization – is there’s still room for the 21-year-old to grow. He can be very good on the ball, but in both Sunday’s game and that against Phoenix there were moments where he can still be too casual, allowing him to be dispossessed while putting his side on the back foot.

On Sunday night, though, the positives Powder brought – which earned him in my eyes a good shot at Man of the Match honors – far outweighed any negatives.

Known as The Special Ingredient around RSL, Powder’s addition to Olave’s recipe provided the perfect result.
Post by: Dinner Mints on November 18, 2019, 01:07:27 PM
Probably my biggest confusion/beef/frustration in all this is the call-up policy.
Post by: Tallman on November 26, 2019, 04:03:38 PM
Noah Powder has won four postseason USL Championship trophies in four years, yet has been unable to get even a single call-up to Trinidad and Tobago's senior team.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EKUvWtaX0AAC_Z1?format=jpg&name=4096x4096)
Post by: asylumseeker on November 26, 2019, 04:07:44 PM
Noah who?
Post by: gawd on pitch on November 26, 2019, 07:44:23 PM
It's clear that DL had his favourites. But that will be changing when he goes. I expect that to be soon.
Post by: Controversial on November 26, 2019, 10:01:31 PM
It's clear that DL had his favourites. But that will be changing when he goes. I expect that to be soon.

DL had his orders, lose and sabotage the team, don’t select the best players ....

Some men want to be the only ones to qualify for a wc and heralded forever in TT history
Post by: Tallman on March 06, 2020, 07:25:00 PM
Noah Powder, defender, Real Monarchs SLC (https://www.prosoccerusa.com/usl/14-players-watch-2020-usl-championship-season-espn-tambakis-carleton-asante/)
A 21-year-old fullback from Trinidad & Tobago, Powder claimed his second title in the Championship last season, helping Real Monarchs SLC top Louisville City for the league’s crown. Powder also scored in the final for his third goal of the season. Powder came up in the New York Red Bulls academy, but seemed to really have a breakout season last year, notching career-highs in minutes and matches played. Powder was integral to the Monarchs’ success last year and should be again this year too. If he continues to play at a high level, his senior national team debut could come sooner rather than later.
Post by: Flex on July 20, 2020, 05:14:29 AM
Powder sets up two goals but Monarchs held to draw.
By Nigel Simon (Guardian).

T&T defender Noah Powder had a hand in two goals but defending United Soccer League (USL) Championship Division champions, Real Monarchs failed to make good use and was held to a 3-3 draw by ten-man Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC at Rio Tinto Stadium, Sandy, Utah on Saturday (July 18).

The Monarchs, beaten 1-0 by San Diego Loyal when competition resumed on July 19, opened the scoring on the half-hour mark when a long throw-in by James Moberg fell to Andrew Brody just inside the penalty area, and his touch found Kyle Coffee, who controlled with one touch and then fired a finish into the top-left corner of the net.

Ten minutes later, Brody added a goal to his assist as 21-year-old Powder came through a challenge near the halfway line and moved inside from the left flank before releasing Brody on the right side.

Brody then drove forward, cut inside a defender at the top of the penalty area and shot low into the left corner to double the Monarchs’ lead.

The Monarchs almost added a third in first-half stoppage time but Switchbacks goalkeeper Sean Melvin made a big save to deny Powder when he got a clean look on goal after a good header by Coffee.

That save proved even bigger moments later when Joan Cervos followed up a hard, low shot by Usvaldo Luna from the left and bounced home the rebound to make it a one-goal game at the break.

Just past the hour-mark, however, the Monarchs restored their two-goal advantage at 3-1 orchestrated by Powder again.

Awarded a free-kick on the right flank, Powder’s near-post delivery was flicked on by Taylor Peay and into the left corner of the net.

The hosts then seemed in control, especially when Lewis was sent off with 17 minutes to go but the Switchbacks’ late rally left the Monarchs still looking for their first win of 2020.

Colorado Springs grabbed a lifeline in the 89th minute when Austin Dewing held off a challenge and set up Jordan Burt as he arrived late to finish.

It appeared the goal might only serve as a consolation, but then in the fifth minute of stoppage time, the Switchbacks earned one final chance from a corner kick on the left.

Luke Ferreira delivered a cross to the top of the six-yard area and Abdul Rwatubyaye met the ball with a powerful header that found the back of the net, completing a thrilling comeback and a 3-3 scoreline.

Neveal Hackshaw and Indy Eleven made it three wins on the trot to start the season with a 2-1 defeat of Sporting Kansas City II. Tyler Pasher fired Indy Eleven ahead in the 39th minute but four minutes into the second half, Wilson Harris got Sporting Kansas City level, only for Paddy Barrett to net in the 67th minute with what turned out to be the decisive item at Lucas Oil Stadium, Indianapolis, USA.

And at Fifth Third Bank Stadium, Kennesaw, USA, the T&T trio of Duane Muckette, Triston Hodge and Leston Paul all saw action in Memphis 901 FC's 2-2 draw with at Atlanta United II.

Atlanta United took the lead through Jackson Conway in the 21st minute, however a minute before the interval, Brandon Allen drew Memphis on even terms. The hosts then regained the lead in the 57th when Coleman Gannon found the target.

Starring defeat Memphis then introduced Paul in midfield for the tiring Jean-Christopher Koffi in the 81st minute while Hodge was replaced by Raul Gonzalez, three minutes later, and the latter then set up his team's equaliser two minutes into time added on for Cal Jennings to earn their club a share of the points.

On Sunday (July 19), Leland Archer and Kierron Mason were the last T&T players to see action in the opening week when their Charleston Battery battled Birmingham Legion FC while Shannon Gomez’ Sacramento Republic met Reno 1868 FC.

Post by: Trini _2026 on July 20, 2020, 06:31:05 AM
Powder sets up two goals but Monarchs held to draw.
By Nigel Simon (Guardian).

T&T defender Noah Powder had a hand in two goals but defending United Soccer League (USL) Championship Division champions, Real Monarchs failed to make good use and was held to a 3-3 draw by ten-man Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC at Rio Tinto Stadium, Sandy, Utah on Saturday (July 18).

The Monarchs, beaten 1-0 by San Diego Loyal when competition resumed on July 19, opened the scoring on the half-hour mark when a long throw-in by James Moberg fell to Andrew Brody just inside the penalty area, and his touch found Kyle Coffee, who controlled with one touch and then fired a finish into the top-left corner of the net.

Ten minutes later, Brody added a goal to his assist as 21-year-old Powder came through a challenge near the halfway line and moved inside from the left flank before releasing Brody on the right side.

Brody then drove forward, cut inside a defender at the top of the penalty area and shot low into the left corner to double the Monarchs’ lead.

The Monarchs almost added a third in first-half stoppage time but Switchbacks goalkeeper Sean Melvin made a big save to deny Powder when he got a clean look on goal after a good header by Coffee.

That save proved even bigger moments later when Joan Cervos followed up a hard, low shot by Usvaldo Luna from the left and bounced home the rebound to make it a one-goal game at the break.

Just past the hour-mark, however, the Monarchs restored their two-goal advantage at 3-1 orchestrated by Powder again.

Awarded a free-kick on the right flank, Powder’s near-post delivery was flicked on by Taylor Peay and into the left corner of the net.

The hosts then seemed in control, especially when Lewis was sent off with 17 minutes to go but the Switchbacks’ late rally left the Monarchs still looking for their first win of 2020.

Colorado Springs grabbed a lifeline in the 89th minute when Austin Dewing held off a challenge and set up Jordan Burt as he arrived late to finish.

It appeared the goal might only serve as a consolation, but then in the fifth minute of stoppage time, the Switchbacks earned one final chance from a corner kick on the left.

Luke Ferreira delivered a cross to the top of the six-yard area and Abdul Rwatubyaye met the ball with a powerful header that found the back of the net, completing a thrilling comeback and a 3-3 scoreline.

Neveal Hackshaw and Indy Eleven made it three wins on the trot to start the season with a 2-1 defeat of Sporting Kansas City II. Tyler Pasher fired Indy Eleven ahead in the 39th minute but four minutes into the second half, Wilson Harris got Sporting Kansas City level, only for Paddy Barrett to net in the 67th minute with what turned out to be the decisive item at Lucas Oil Stadium, Indianapolis, USA.

And at Fifth Third Bank Stadium, Kennesaw, USA, the T&T trio of Duane Muckette, Triston Hodge and Leston Paul all saw action in Memphis 901 FC's 2-2 draw with at Atlanta United II.

Atlanta United took the lead through Jackson Conway in the 21st minute, however a minute before the interval, Brandon Allen drew Memphis on even terms. The hosts then regained the lead in the 57th when Coleman Gannon found the target.

Starring defeat Memphis then introduced Paul in midfield for the tiring Jean-Christopher Koffi in the 81st minute while Hodge was replaced by Raul Gonzalez, three minutes later, and the latter then set up his team's equaliser two minutes into time added on for Cal Jennings to earn their club a share of the points.

On Sunday (July 19), Leland Archer and Kierron Mason were the last T&T players to see action in the opening week when their Charleston Battery battled Birmingham Legion FC while Shannon Gomez’ Sacramento Republic met Reno 1868 FC.

Oh my how things have changed before 10-15 years ago it used to be the UK round up .... Now is the USL  :o
Post by: lefty on July 20, 2020, 09:08:37 AM
Oh my how things have changed before 10-15 it used to be the UK round up .... Now is the USL  :o

forget talent, Uk been givin trini players d cold shoulder since dat fiasco with jack warner.......even players already in d system couldn't find good teams, no one can convince me no uk team couldna sign Jloyd jus so
Post by: Tallman on September 10, 2020, 07:19:39 AM
WATCH: Defender Noah Powder fires a left-footed free-kick into the bottom left corner of the net to round off the scoring in Real Monarchs 4-1 win over Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC.

https://www.youtube.com/v/Pkos7uRjeiY?start=130
Title: Real Salt Lake signs Noah Powder for 2021 season
Post by: Tallman on September 24, 2020, 03:50:39 PM
Real Salt Lake signs Noah Powder for 2021 season
By RSL Communications

Real Salt Lake has signed defender Noah Powder from Real Monarchs, the club announced today. Powder will join RSL for the 2021 season.

“Noah is another success story of our development model.  He’s a young, talented player who came into the Monarchs with something to prove and is hungry to show his skills at every level,” RSL General Manager Elliot Fall said.  “He proved it by helping lead the team to a championship in 2019 and he’s really taken a step forward this year in terms of what he brings on the field and what he brings to the locker room.  We are excited to see him at our Club for years to come.”

Powder, 21, featured in 30 regular season matches for the Monarchs in 2019, scoring two goals in 2,629 minutes.  In the playoffs, he notched two assists and scored in the USL Championship Final to secure the club’s first title. To date, Powder has nine goals and seven assists in 90 USL matches, logging 7,050 minutes.  That includes one goal and four assists in 10 appearances this season.

“I’m grateful for this opportunity from this great organization.  I am extremely grateful for my time as a Monarch and want to thank their staff in helping me reach my goal,” Powder said.  “As a Monarch the main goal is to play well and earn a chance with Real Salt Lake.  I'm excited for this opportunity and ready for what’s to come in the near future."

Powder joined the Monarchs prior to the 2019 season as a young veteran in the USL Championship. Success has followed since his professional career began in 2016. The New Jersey native and Trinidad and Tobago international joined New York Red Bulls II in 2016 and helped NYRBII to a USL title as a rookie. After spending two years in Harrison, New Jersey, Powder joined Orange County SC in the USL Championship where he helped OCSC to the Western Conference Final in 2018.  Internationally, he played extensively at the U-18 and U-20 levels for Trinidad and Tobago in 2015 and 2016.

“We have been tracking Noah for a while and the Monarchs staff has done a great job with him.  He’s been in some big games at the USL level with multiple teams so he has a lot of experience there,” RSL Head Coach Freddy Juarez said.  “We feel he has the technical ability to play at the next level.  Now we have to challenge him to help him reach his full potential and help the team.”

Player Information
Name: Noah Powder
Height: 5’11”
Weight: 160 lbs
Hometown: Edison, New Jersey
Last club: Real Monarchs

Transaction: Real Satl Lake signs Noah Powder for the 2021 season on September 24, 2020.

Real Salt Lake continues its 2020 season on Sunday on the road against Minnesota United FC. Kickoff is set for 6 p.m. MT and will be broadcast live on KMYU and the KSL TV app and on the radio on ESPN700.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 24, 2020, 11:52:53 PM
Well-played! Congratulations to the Powders. :applause:
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 26, 2021, 12:21:06 PM
Noah must a get a call  this time
Title: Noah Powder receives first call to Trinidad and Tobago National Team
Post by: Tallman on January 27, 2021, 08:25:59 PM
Noah Powder receives first call to Trinidad and Tobago National Team
RSL Communications

Real Salt Lake defender Noah Powder has been named to Trinidad & Tobago’s squad to face the United States at Exploria Stadium in Orlando, Florida on Sunday, January 31. The match will kick off at 5:00 p.m. MT and be broadcast live nationally on FS1.

“It is always an honor to receive a call to your national team and Noah has earned this opportunity,” RSL General Manager Elliot Fall said. “As someone who is hungry to show his skills at every level, he’s proven that he’s ready for the international stage and we wish him well in Sunday’s match against the United States.”

Powder, 21, played 30 regular season matches for the Monarchs in 2019, scoring two goals in 2,629 minutes. In the playoffs, he notched two assists and scored in the USL Championship Final to secure the club’s first title. To date, Powder has nine goals and seven assists in 90 USL matches, logging 7,050 minutes, including one goal and four assists in 10 appearances in 2020.

Powder signed for RSL in September 2020 ahead of the 2021 season.

“I’m truly honored and humbled to receive my first senior team call for the country I’ve enjoyed representing through the youth ranks,” Powder said. “This is a huge honor not only for me but my whole family who has been behind me the whole way. I’m looking forward to meeting the lads and the coaching staff for this upcoming camp.” 

Internationally, Powder has played 13 matches across the T&T U-17 and U-20 sides, notching two goals for each age group.

Powder joined the Monarchs prior to the 2019 season as a young veteran in the USL Championship. Success has followed since his professional career began in 2016. The New Jersey native played two seasons with New York Red Bulls II in 2016 and 2017 and helped NYRBII to a USL title as a rookie. He then joined Orange County SC in the USL Championship where he helped OCSC to the Western Conference Final in 2018.
Post by: Tallman on January 30, 2021, 11:32:39 AM
WATCH: Noah Powder looks ahead to Sunday's International Friendly against the United States

https://www.youtube.com/v/xqhe1ywirEU
Post by: asylumseeker on January 30, 2021, 12:10:00 PM
Liking it. :thumbsup: Solid.
Post by: Tallman on June 30, 2021, 10:44:27 PM
WATCH: Noah Powder scores a spectacular long range goal to seal Real Monarchs' 3-2 come-from-behind win against New Mexico United

https://www.youtube.com/v/MiKVUY5xE1k?start=123
Post by: asylumseeker on July 01, 2021, 04:45:37 AM
WATCH: Noah Powder scores a spectacular long range goal to seal Real Monarchs' 3-2 come-from-behind win against New Mexico United

https://www.youtube.com/v/MiKVUY5xE1k?start=123

Why does that look like it's in slo-mo when it is in real time?
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 01, 2021, 06:34:20 AM
has yet to get a fair shot .... on the NT
Post by: asylumseeker on July 01, 2021, 03:29:43 PM

What would that look like?
Post by: Tallman on July 01, 2021, 03:58:47 PM

What would that look like?

Man ent even get to start one game, much less play an entire 90. His CV alone would suggest that he deserves a run of games.
Post by: Tiresais on July 02, 2021, 03:10:17 AM
He's definitely one of our best options at left-back, if not now then in a year or two
Post by: pull stones on July 02, 2021, 03:31:38 AM
He's definitely one of our best options at left-back, if not now then in a year or two
well don’t look now because we have a local coach who favors local players just like dennis, and if he remains then you could kiss mr powder good bye, just like mr ranjitsingh.
Post by: Peong on July 02, 2021, 09:30:33 AM
Why does that look like it's in slo-mo when it is in real time?

Just the camera angle I feel, that shot covered a long distance in a short time. What a goal to win it
Post by: Tiresais on July 03, 2021, 02:02:17 AM
well don’t look now because we have a local coach who favors local players just like dennis, and if he remains then you could kiss mr powder good bye, just like mr ranjitsingh.

Look I get it, the only man for you is Fenwick, but I don't see Eve ignoring him in the future. Like him or not he picked a good team for Montserrat given the result, and it included 5 players playing in America and one in Canada, so I can't see your rationale.
Title: Noah Powder called in for Concacaf Gold Cup
Post by: Tallman on July 09, 2021, 12:10:35 PM
Noah Powder called in for Concacaf Gold Cup
rsl.com

Real Salt Lake defender Noah Powder has been named to Trinidad & Tobago’s squad as an injury replacement for the upcoming Concacaf Gold Cup. Trinidad & Tobago open its Gold Cup tournament on Saturday, July 10 when it faces Mexico at 8:00 p.m. MT at AT&T Stadium in Dallas, Texas.

Trinidad & Tobago will feature in Group A for the Concacaf Gold Cup alongside Curacao, El Salvador and Mexico.

“This honor is a testament to the hard work Noah has put in over the years. We are proud to see his quality recognized and excited to watch him represent his country in this region’s premier international competition.” RSL General Manager Elliot Fall said.

Powder, 22, made his Major League Soccer debut on May 15 when he entered a match against Nashville SC to play the final seven minutes of the contest. In 2019 played 30 regular season matches for Real Monarchs, scoring two goals in 2,629 minutes. In the playoffs, he notched two assists and scored in the USL Championship Final to secure the club’s first title. To date, Powder has nine goals and seven assists in 90 USL matches, logging 7,050 minutes, including one goal and four assists in 10 appearances in 2020.

Powder signed for RSL in September 2020 ahead of the 2021 season.

Internationally, Powder has played 13 matches across the Trinidad & Tobago U-17 and U-20 sides, notching two goals for each age group. He made his senior national team debut on January 31 against the United States in Orlando, Florida.

Powder joined the Monarchs prior to the 2019 season as a young veteran in the USL Championship. Success has followed since his professional career began in 2016. The New Jersey native played two seasons with New York Red Bulls II in 2016 and 2017 and helped NYRBII to a USL title as a rookie. He then joined Orange County SC in the USL Championship where he helped OCSC to the Western Conference Final in 2018.

Real Salt Lake returns to the field on Saturday, July 17 when it faces LAFC at Banc of California Stadium in Los Angeles, California. Fans can watch the match live locally on KMYU or the KSL TV app beginning at 7:30 p.m. MT.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 18, 2021, 02:05:39 PM
 proved himself .....
Post by: Tallman on August 30, 2021, 09:50:33 AM
WATCH: Real Salt Lake defender Noah Powder unleashes a rocket from 35 yards out which forces the Vancouver Whitecaps goalkeeper into a save at full stretch with the ball then hitting the post.

https://www.youtube.com/v/VEkD1k4t7Fs?start=135

Post by: asylumseeker on August 30, 2021, 10:31:30 AM
And that was on debut first start? Going brave!
Post by: Tallman on September 07, 2021, 09:02:31 PM
Quote Sheet: RSL 3-2 FC Dallas
By RSL Communications

Interim Head Coach Pablo Mastroeni

On Noah Powder’s performance tonight:

“He’s been great. It’s tough for a young player to get an opportunity. It’s almost amidst all this chaos that it fell serendipitously to him. It was a moment where if Aaron Herrera wasn’t out last week, he probably wouldn’t have had a chance to start. But I think there were glimpses of some really good stuff in Vancouver, so I guess that game wasn’t all lost. Because from that you realize that there’s a young kid who’s still learning the defensive side of that position. But [Noah] is just a Ferrari going forward. He’s everything you want in a left back. He’s calm on the ball. He brings his midfielders into the game. He looks forward and combines. He can cross and shoot. So he’s an attacking player in that position that’s also able to defend, which he’s made great strides on this year. We’ve worked really hard to get him to where he’s at. I couldn’t be happier for the young man and think he’s got a really bright future ahead of him.”

Defender Noah Powder

On his increased confidence:

“Honestly, I feel as though I am [more confident]. It was a little difficult in the early minutes because we had to feel out the game. We have to know how the other team plays and how we want to implement ourselves. In the first 15 minutes we said, ‘We’ll go big.’ And that’s what we wanted to do. But once we got to play, that’s my style of play, so once we did that we got to implement our football and the way we play.”

On his crossing:

“I would say we work on crossing about two times after training, maybe twice a week. I’m always out there crossing right or left-footed as much as I can to get better on both feet looking for our best players to score goals.”

On his level of comfort at the MLS level:

“I feel a lot more comfortable. Obviously I’m still very young and I still have a lot more to learn. As long as I stay grounded and learn each game, I’m progressing in fitness and experience. I feel as though I can take it to the next level and finally can.”

Midfielder Albert Rusnak

On Noah Powder’s performance:

“He's a very attacking minded left back and he showed that today. Our second goal came from him being in a high position and shooting on the goalkeeper who made the save allowing Jony [Menendez] to tap it in. Credit to him for being in such a high position to attack as a left back. He’s been training very well all year. He’s been waiting for this chance and I feel like he took it today.
Post by: Tallman on October 22, 2021, 09:43:27 PM
Real Salt Lake defender Noah Powder suspended three games after impaired driving conviction
By Alex Vejar (The Salt Lake Tribune)

Real Salt Lake defender Noah Powder has been suspended for three games by Major League Soccer after he pleaded guilty in a Murray courtroom to impaired driving. The league announced the suspension Friday afternoon.

Powder will not be allowed to participate in team activities, including games, until his suspension ends, the league said.

Powder was arrested on July 2 after police say he was driving 108 miles per hour on Interstate 15, driving erratically and allegedly appearing to race another vehicle. He was arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, and speeding, according to a probable cause statement filed with the Utah courts.

Prior to his arrest, Powder agreed to a Breathalyzer test, according to the statement, which read a blood-alcohol content of 0.133 — more than twice the legal limit in Utah of 0.05.

Powder was ordered Tuesday by the court to pay a fine of $1,460, complete 24 hours of community service and complete a DUI class. He was also placed on probation for a year.
Post by: Tallman on January 14, 2022, 01:24:03 PM
Indy Eleven signs Trinidad and Tobago international defender Noah Powder
By Indy Eleven Communications

Indy Eleven’s build-out of its 2022 roster continued with today’s signing of Trinidad & Tobago international defender Noah Powder. Per club policy, terms of the contract that brings Powder to Indiana’s Team following a season with Major League Soccer’s Real Salt Lake will not be released; the signing will be finalized pending league and federation approval. 

“Once interest came to my attention from Indy Eleven I was immediately intrigued,” said Powder. “I really feel like Coach Mark Lowry’s style of play best suits the way I see and play the game. I’m excited a deal could get done and I’m ready to get to work for the 2022 season.”

Powder, 23, brings six seasons of professional experience to the Boys in Blue, including title-winning seasons in the USL Championship with Real Monarchs SLC (2019) and New York Red Bulls II (2016). Powder split his 2021 campaign between Monarchs SLC and their MLS parent club Real Salt Lake, where he started in two of his seven appearances in regular season action.

“For me, Noah Powder is one of the best left backs outside of MLS and has been for the past couple of seasons,” said Lowry, whose teams faced Powder five times since 2019 while at the helm of El Paso Locomotive FC. “He has had, and still has, a lot of MLS interest, so to get him to Indy Eleven shows the intent of this club and where we want to be.”                                   

In his six seasons of play in the USL Championship, the native of Edison, N.J., has collected 11 goals and nine assists in 103 combined regular season (96) and postseason (7) affairs. After coming up through the New York Red Bulls Academy system, Powder made his professional debut at the age of 17 during a two-season stint at NY Red Bulls II from 2016-17, helping the squad to the top record in the Championship’s regular season in 2016 and a trophy-lifting finish to the playoffs that followed. After joining Orange County SC for their 2018 campaign, Powder got another taste of postseason glory in 2019, starting his three-year tenure at Monarchs SLC by figuring prominently in their title run, including scoring the final tally in a 3-1 victory over Louisville City FC in the Final.

Eligible to represent Trinidad & Tobago through his father born in Tobago, Powder represented the Soca Warriors 13 times in competitions at the U-17 and U-20 levels towards the start of his pro career before earning his first full senior team call up just under a year ago. Powder made six “caps” for T&T in 2021, several of which came in crucial contests alongside his new teammate, Eleven midfielder Neveal Hackshaw. After making his full international debut on Feb. 1, in a friendly against the United States, Powder appeared twice off the bench in CONCACAF region qualifiers for the 2022 FIFA World Cup last spring before starting two of his three appearances in the CONCACAF Gold Cup in July.

Indy Eleven will continue to make additional announcements surrounding its roster leading up to the 2022 preseason beginning in February. Following are the 14 players currently signed to the squad’s 2022 roster:

Goalkeeper: Bobby Edwards

Defender: A.J. Cochran, Mechack Jérôme, Alex McQueen, Karl Ouimette, Noah Powder, Jared Timmer

Midfielder: Raul Aguilera, Ayoze, Sam Brown, Neveal Hackshaw, Nicky Law, Bryam Rebellón

Forward: Manuel Arteaga, Aris Briggs
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 14, 2022, 06:08:33 PM
USL championship is the standard now
Post by: Tallman on January 14, 2022, 10:00:25 PM
USL championship is the standard now

It's been that way for a while now.
Post by: Tallman on April 24, 2022, 09:46:05 PM
WATCH: Noah Powder scores within a minute of stepping on to the pitch to spark Indy Eleven's 3-1 come-from-behind win against Orange County SC.

https://www.youtube.com/v/JtuD-5fvWwo?start=96
Post by: Tallman on July 06, 2022, 03:54:53 PM
FC Tulsa acquires Noah Powder via trade from Indy Eleven
FC Tulsa Media

FC Tulsa has finalized a trade to bring in a proven young defender with MLS experience to bolster its backline. The club announced on Tuesday afternoon that it has acquired 2x USL Championship title winner and 2021 Real Salt Lake man Noah Powder from Indy Eleven in exchange for FC Tulsa goalkeeper Sean Lewis, pending league and federation approval.

Powder, a 23-year-old left-back from New Jersey representing Trinidad and Tobago internationally, has already made 115 appearances over his USL Championship career with 12 goals and 10 assists. Last season, Powder was rewarded for his excellent play with a promotion to MLS’ Real Salt Lake where he would go on to make seven appearances in the United States’ top-flight soccer league.

“We’re excited to add someone of Noah’s caliber to our roster at this point in the season,” said FC Tulsa president Sam Doerr. “At just 23 years old, he has already won two USL Championship titles and knows what it takes to win in this league. Our fans will enjoy his attacking style and his pace fits the roster identity we are trying to build at this club.”

Powder kicked off his career by signing with the New York Red Bulls Academy in 2016 and debuted for its USL Championship side as a 17-year-old. A strong defense led Red Bulls II to the best record in the regular season in 2016 and the club would go on to win the USL Championship title the same year, the first title win of Powder’s career. He would ink his first professional contract the following season with Red Bulls II and finish his time in New York with three goals and one assist.

In 2018, the Trinidadian and Tobagonian headed out west and signed with Orange County SC. He scored a regular season career-high three goals for Orange County in 21 appearances with two assists en route to winning the league’s Western Conference. Orange County went on to win its first three playoff matches before losing to Phoenix Rising FC in the Conference Semifinals.

Powder stayed in the Western Conference in 2019 by signing with Real Monarchs SLC where he would play for three seasons. Including playoff appearances, Powder hit the pitch 51 times for Real Monarchs, tallying five goals and six assists. He would hoist the USL Championship Final trophy once again in 2019 with Real Monarchs and scored his third goal of the season in the USL Championship Final against Louisville City FC.

Midway through the 2021 season, Real Monarchs’ MLS parent club, Real Salt Lake, called Powder up to the MLS squad and the left-back made his debut on May 16, 2021. In total, Powder made seven appearances and logged 279 minutes for Real Salt Lake.

Powder signed with Indy Eleven ahead of the 2022 season where he made 12 appearances with one goal and one assist before being acquired by Tulsa.

Internationally, Powder has capped 12 times for the senior Trinidad and Tobago National Team between World Cup Qualifying, the 2021 Gold Cup, Friendlies, and most recently in CONCACAF Nations League B play. Powder started three of Trinidad and Tobago’s four Nations League matches in June, and the “Soca Warriors” won all three. He also made five appearances for the U-17 side and eight more for the U-20 side before getting the call to the senior squad.

In return for Powder, FC Tula will send goalkeeper Sean Lewis to Indy. Lewis was the longest-tenured player on the FC Tulsa roster dating back to Lewis signing with Tulsa as a free agent in 2018. His 61 appearances are tied for eighth all-time in franchise history, and his 189 saves and 10 clean sheets are both second-most in club history among goalkeepers.

“We are thankful to Sean for all he’s done for our club and are excited for him to get the chance to play meaningful minutes with Indy,” said Doerr. “We wish him and his family the best and he will always be part of the FC Tulsa family.”

The move marks the second player-for-player trade in the FC Tulsa era of the club and the third in franchise history.
Post by: Tallman on August 14, 2022, 09:20:52 AM
WATCH: Noah Powder's first goal for FC Tulsa is the game-winner as they defeat Miami FC 2-1.

https://www.youtube.com/v/s7SedMkXjL4
Post by: Tallman on June 12, 2023, 07:54:09 PM
Hailstorm sign defender Noah Powder
hailstormfc.com

Northern Colorado Hailstorm FC have signed defender Noah Powder to a short-term contract.

Powder, a 24-year-old Trinidad & Tobago international, made his debut for the club as a substitute in Hailstorm’s 2-0 win over the Richmond Kickers on June 7. He also made a substitute appearance in Hailstorm’s 0-0 draw against One Knoxville SC on June 10.

“It’s definitely been a great experience so far, the guys are very welcoming,” Powder said.

Powder spent 2022 playing in the USL Championship with both Indy Eleven and FC Tulsa, making 25 appearances and scoring a pair of goals between both clubs. He has also made 13 appearances for the Trinidad & Tobago national team, scoring two goals in a 4-1 win over Saint Vincent and the Grenadines in the CONCACAF Nations League in 2022.

“When Noah came up as somebody that was available we jumped at the chance,” Hailstorm FC head coach Éamon Zayed said. “(Assistant coach) Colin Falvey was aware of him from his time in Sacramento, and they actually looked at bringing him into Sacramento a couple of years ago.”

Primarily a left back, Powder can also play on the wing, which he did against Knoxville when he came on for Billy King in the 87th minute.

“He’s not afraid to get up and attack, get crosses in the box,” Zayed said.

Powder and his Hailstorm teammates will be back in action on June 17 against South Georgia Tormenta FC, kickoff is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. Mountain time on ESPN+.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 13, 2023, 01:21:09 AM
Career regressing ?
Post by: Tallman on July 06, 2023, 03:38:32 PM
Hailstorm sign Noah Powder to new deal through end of 2023 season
USLLeagueOne.com Staff

Northern Colorado Hailstorm FC has signed Trinidad and Tobago international Noah Powder to a contract extension through the end of the 2023 USL League One season, re-upping the 24-year-old after a solid run since his arrival at the club on a 25-day contract in June.

“It’s great to finally get pencil on paper and be here for the rest of the season,” said Powder.

Powder has made three appearances for the Hailstorm since his arrival, recording one start in the side’s 1-0 win against Central Valley Fuego FC on June 24. In that time he has one 5 of 8 duels and recorded one tackle, one chance created and made eight recoveries in 81 minutes of action.

“Most of the guys really like him, and he’s fit into the group really well,” said Hailstorm head coach Éamon Zayed. “That for me is just as important as his ability on the pitch.”

Hailstorm will return to action on Saturday night when they visit Chattanooga Red Wolves SC at CHI Memorial Stadium with kickoff scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET.
Post by: Tallman on September 04, 2023, 06:07:31 PM
Noah Powder scores a left-footed screamer in what turned out to be the game-winning goal in Northern Colorado Hailstorm FC's 4-2 win over Charlotte Independence. This is Noah's first goal for the Hailstorm.

https://www.youtube.com/v/_o0nK_troUw?start=270
Post by: Tallman on September 06, 2023, 06:54:16 AM
Noah Powder named USL League One Player of the Week
By USLLeagueOne.com Staff

USL League One today announced the Team of the Week for Week 25 of the 2023 regular season with Northern Colorado Hailstorm FC midfielder Noah Powder named Player of the Week presented by Konami eFootball with his one-goal, two-assist performance in the Hailstorm's victory over the Independence.

After splitting the 2022 season with USL Championship sides Indy Eleven and FC Tulsa, the two-time USL Championship title-winner and former Major League Soccer talent joined the Hailstorm in July 2023. The Trinidad and Tobago international has helped the Hailstorm to a club record 43 points and 12 wins with the first three-goal-contribution match of his career in Northern Colorado's massive Week 25 victory over the Charlotte Independence.

Powder started his afternoon by laying the ball off to Trevor Amann in the sixth minute who slotted home his 19th goal of the season - the most in a single regular season in League One history. In an even 2-2 contest with just over 10 minutes remaining, Powder unleashed a long-range, on-target effort to stun Charlotte's Austin Pack in goal for his first Hailstorm goal. Rounding out a productive evening and massive Hailstorm victory, Powder set up Marky Hernandez's stoppage-time score.

"I looked over my shoulder and no one was behind me, and you really shouldn’t give me that much space," Powder said of his first Hailstorm goal.

"After going 12 unbeaten, we lost to North Carolina, lost to Charlotte, lost to Lexington," Hailstorm Head Coach Éamon Zayed said after the victory. "Now we redeemed ourselves against North Carolina last week, against Charlotte tonight, and we have a chance to redeem ourselves against Lexington on Wednesday."

Central Valley, Chattanooga and Lexington place multiple starters on the Team of the Week and eight clubs see representation across the Team of the Week and Team of the Week bench. Further exemplifying the parity of the league, nine of the 11 starters and five of the seven bench players came from clubs below the playoff line as the push for the postseason continues.
Post by: Tallman on September 07, 2023, 06:56:50 AM
Reigning USL League One Player of the Week Noah Powder fires home his second game-winning goal in as many matches during Northern Colorado Hailstorm's 3-2 win over Lexington SC.

https://www.youtube.com/v/Nf-oo_Atudg?start=210
Post by: Tallman on October 09, 2023, 07:57:57 PM
Noah Powder opens the scoring with a well placed free-kick during Northern Colorado Hailstorm FC's 2-0 win over Forward Madison FC

https://www.youtube.com/v/vS0FMdPmQ8I
Post by: Tallman on October 13, 2023, 07:23:29 AM
Warrior Profile: Noah Powder – Added versatility for Trinidad and Tobago
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (T&T Newsday)

US-born Trinidad and Tobago men’s footballer Noah Powder is back in coach Angus Eve’s Soca Warriors setup after a seven-month absence from the national squad. With the return of the 24-year-old Northern Colorado Hailstorm player, Eve has a fighter and a player whose versatility brings a plethora of options for the T&T head coach.

Since making his debut under coach Terry Fenwick in a heavy 7-0 friendly loss to the US in February 2021, Powder has accumulated a total of 16 caps for T&T and has played in at least five positions. A defensive-minded player by trade, Powder has played in defensive midfield for T&T and has also had his foray in the attacking midfield and wide positions as well.

During T&T’s Concacaf Nations League B 22/23 campaign, Powder showed the T&T public and the visiting St and the Grenadines team his full repertoire as he scored a double in the Soca Warriors’ 4-1 victory at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo on June 13, 2022. Playing on the left wing in a three-man midfield which included Judah Garcia and Duane Muckette, Powder put the sword to SVG with his only senior international goals to date.

On that night, Powder vowed to put it all on the line for the red, white and black.

“Coach (Angus Eve) has a lot of confidence in me, so wherever I play I’ll give 100 per cent for the country. It’s honestly an honour to play for this country, so if I’m playing left back, right back or goalkeeper it doesn’t matter.”

Following his exploits against SVG, Powder played in friendlies versus Tajikistan and Jamaica in December 2022 and March 2023 respectively. He also featured for the T&T team in competitive action in March as they closed off their Nations League B campaign with matches against the Bahamas and Nicaragua. T&T eventually finished behind Nicaragua in the group, but the Central American team was punished by Concacaf for their use of an illegal player – thus elevating TT to the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup and the ongoing 2023/24 Concacaf Nations League A campaign.

Noah and his 22-year-old brother Samory Powder were both selected in T&T’s 60-man provisional squad ahead of the 2023 Gold Cup. Neither was picked in the final squad though. Noah also missed out as T&T rattled off two wins over Curacao (1-0) and El Salvador (3-2) to top their Nations League A group with two more matches to go. T&T will host Guatemala at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Friday before closing off the group with an away outing to Curacao on October 17.

Though only 24, Noah does bring a wealth of experience as he has featured in Major League Soccer (MLS) with Real Salt Lake City and has also represented several teams in the United Soccer League (USL). Although he missed out on T&T’s Gold Cup campaign this year, Noah did play all three matches at the 2021 Gold Cup in Eve’s first competitive tournament as T&T head coach.

Noah, who qualifies to play for T&T through his father, was also a consistent player for T&T at the youth level as he played for both the under-17 and under-20 teams. In 2015, Noah captained T&T’s under-17 team – netting two goals in the process. He then turned down the opportunity to represent the US a couple of years later as he played for T&T at the Concacaf men’s under-20 championship in 2017.

Six years later, Powder has the chance to show his worth and versatility to the T&T football fans once more.
Post by: Tallman on February 01, 2024, 09:00:08 PM
Noah Powder re-signs with Hailstorm for 2024 season
hailstormfc.com

Northern Colorado Hailstorm FC announce that Noah Powder has been re-signed for 2024, pending League and Federation approval.

Powder joined Hailstorm in June and played in 20 matches last season. He scored three goals and providing five assists, which tied for second on the team.

“We knew he had quality when he came in, but it took him a couple months to really get going. Once he did, he was fantastic, took us up another level,” Hailstorm head coach Éamon Zayed said.

Capped 16 times by Trinidad and Tobago, Powder brings experience in both MLS and the USL Championship along with his standout performances for Hailstorm in 2023. His goal from distance against Charlotte Independence in a 4-2 Hailstorm win was nominated for the USL League One Goal of the Year.

After being knocked out in the USL League One semifinals last season, Powder is back in 2024 with just one thing on his mind.

“Become a champion. That should be the goal for all of us,” Powder said.