Sports => Other Sports => Topic started by: Bitter on August 03, 2016, 01:33:00 PM

Title: Olympics: Rio 2016
Post by: Bitter on August 03, 2016, 01:33:00 PM
Women's Soccer has already started.

Sweden v South Africa
Canada v Australia

Brazil v China 4:00 PM
Zimbabwe v Germany 5:00 PM
United States v New Zealand 6:00 PM
France v Colombia 9:00 PM
Title: Re: Olympics: Rio 2016
Post by: Deeks on August 03, 2016, 09:02:11 PM
Sweden, Canada, Brazil, Germany, US, France, all won their games today.
Post by: Bitter on August 04, 2016, 12:18:34 PM
Nigeria's soccer team landing in Brazil day of game after flight delay
http://www.espn.com/olympics/story/_/id/17217430/nigeria-soccer-team-flight-delayed-debut-rio-olympics

RIO DE JANEIRO -- A flight delay stranded the Nigerian men's soccer team in the United States on the same day the club was set to play its first game in the Olympic Games.

The team boarded a jet out of Atlanta on Thursday morning for the jungle city of Manaus, Brazil, where it is scheduled to play Japan later in the day.

The team's spokesman posted a picture on Twitter of the team boarding the plane with the message, "here we go." He said they were scheduled to arrive in Manaus in time to play the match, but the team faced the uncomfortable situation of making its debut almost immediately after a lengthy flight.

The flight was aboard a chartered Delta jet.

Nigeria won the gold medal in the 1996 Olympics.
Post by: Bitter on August 04, 2016, 02:18:58 PM
I now coming to say how South Africa looking good vs Brazil and they get a red, 2 yellows in 3 minutes. Senseless.
Post by: Bitter on August 04, 2016, 02:27:47 PM
We might have to rename that fella GabiPost.
Post by: Bitter on August 04, 2016, 06:11:15 PM
Fiji goalie is in beast mode.
Post by: Bitter on August 04, 2016, 06:18:17 PM
Pipe Buss
Post by: Deeks on August 04, 2016, 07:08:09 PM
Nigeria 1-0 vs Japan.
Post by: Deeks on August 04, 2016, 07:09:23 PM
Penalty Japan. 1-1.
Post by: Deeks on August 04, 2016, 07:10:56 PM
Nigeria 2-1. Crazy game. After 9 mins.
Post by: Deeks on August 04, 2016, 07:12:05 PM
Japan 2 vs Nigeria 2 after 11 mins. Japanese forward looked offside, but that is what happens when you playing the offside trap.
Post by: Deeks on August 04, 2016, 07:43:58 PM
3-2 Nigeria. 42 mins.
Post by: Bitter on August 05, 2016, 09:28:47 PM
Looking at this parade of nations, and listening to the stories. It's amazing that so many of these little dots in the Caribbean sea have produced olympic medalists, and other larger countries are still seeking their first.

In the other thread, we're arguing about how many medals we expect. We could easily be hoping to get our first. Its all about perspective sometimes.
Post by: soccerman on August 05, 2016, 09:41:02 PM
NBC gave us a good 10 seconds....but to see our athletes embracing the moment nevertheless
Post by: asylumseeker on August 06, 2016, 02:51:29 AM
Looking at this parade of nations, and listening to the stories. It's amazing that so many of these little dots in the Caribbean sea have produced olympic medalists, and other larger countries are still seeking their first.

In the other thread, we're arguing about how many medals we expect. We could easily be hoping to get our first. Its all about perspective sometimes.

... and this the Caribbean has achieved with inefficiencies. Imagine what our medal count should really look like.

Good point.

+++

During the tribute video to Kipchoge Keino, I was struck by the image of the kids assembled around the swimming pool. Obviously they were using the pool. Implicit message to the world.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 06, 2016, 09:06:45 AM
Taking in some table tennis. A battle between the US and Iran. Brave effort x the US, but Iran prevailed. Younger American player. Match lasted 36 minutes.

Years and years of prep came down to 36 minutes.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 06, 2016, 10:38:53 AM
De hill section in this cycling road race is POISON.

I bun and I only watch from 92 km to go to 72 km to go.
Post by: soccerman on August 07, 2016, 04:40:13 PM
Venus and Serena under some pressure here against the Czech Rep., Venus not pulling her weight but to be fair she's under the weather. Serena trying to remain positive throughout it all, though at times it seems like she want to say Venus wtf!
Post by: Bitter on August 07, 2016, 07:04:40 PM
I say this every 4 years, but swimming is suspect to me.
Way too many world records.
Post by: Deeks on August 07, 2016, 07:58:57 PM
Any news about Bovel and Carter?
Post by: Bitter on August 07, 2016, 08:39:30 PM
Any news about Bovel and Carter?

Their events start until Tuesday and Thursday. The official site is well put together, you can pull up a schedule for just T&T athletes.

https://www.rio2016.com/en/swimming-mens-50m-freestyle-heat-10
Post by: Sando prince on August 07, 2016, 08:47:46 PM

Ah feel dey just getting old, probably should have sit out this Olympics.

Serena and Venus Williams lost an Olympic match as partners for the first time, stunned in the opening round of the Rio de Janeiro Games by the Czech Republic's Lucie Safarova and Barbora Strycova 6-3, 6-4.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 08, 2016, 12:51:01 PM
Venus and Serena under some pressure here against the Czech Rep., Venus not pulling her weight but to be fair she's under the weather. Serena trying to remain positive throughout it all, though at times it seems like she want to say Venus wtf!

And Djokovic departed in tears in the first round.
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 08, 2016, 04:39:10 PM

And Djokovic departed in tears in the first round.

Apparently his Argentine opponent was stuck in an elevator on game day and emerged to beat Djokovic, doesn't get better than that.  When the game was over Djokovic embraced him and whatever he said to him as he was congratulated led to him breaking down in tears -- priceless  :beermug:
Post by: maxg on August 09, 2016, 02:18:01 PM
Congrats to Dylan Carter on winning his heat and doing a pb at that. Keep strong, Keep healthy, keep improving, 2020 will be a blast and that podium will look real nice with you on it..heavens, if god spare life, we might have a team with a few 1st. You dah capitan .  :cheers:
add: and i almost forget, just breaking George record, in your 1st Olympics.Amazing.   :notworthy:
Post by: soccerman on August 09, 2016, 09:29:45 PM
Congrats to Dylan Carter on winning his heat and doing a pb at that. Keep strong, Keep healthy, keep improving, 2020 will be a blast and that podium will look real nice with you on it..heavens, if god spare life, we might have a team with a few 1st You dah capitan .  :cheers:
add: and i almost forget, just breaking George record, in your 1st Olympics.Amazing.   :notworthy:
Lilman, Angel and Mzting  ;D
Post by: maxg on August 09, 2016, 09:41:45 PM
Congrats to Dylan Carter on winning his heat and doing a pb at that. Keep strong, Keep healthy, keep improving, 2020 will be a blast and that podium will look real nice with you on it..heavens, if god spare life, we might have a team with a few 1st You dah capitan .  :cheers:
Lilman  :praying:, Angel  ???  :praying: and Mzting ;D
Post by: Sando prince on August 09, 2016, 09:49:16 PM

So far in this Olympics China is giving the US a good challenge on the gold medal count. I am rooting for them simply because the American commentary has been too one sided, some commentators going as far as to publicly say during events that other countries do not stand a chance against the US.

Post by: soccerman on August 10, 2016, 09:45:41 AM
Lilman  :praying:, Angel  ???  :praying: and Mzting ;D
I hear you....I'll root for them still
Post by: Deeks on August 10, 2016, 04:42:40 PM
Olympic basket. Aussie 48- US 43. 2 mins remaining in the 1st half.
Post by: Deeks on August 11, 2016, 05:22:06 PM
Anything about Bovel?
Post by: asylumseeker on August 11, 2016, 05:33:38 PM
Anything about Bovel?

No dice.

http://www.reuters.com/article/olympics-swimming-men-results-idUSISS815165

http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2016-08-11/olympic-glory-dashed-bovell-fails-advance
Post by: Deeks on August 11, 2016, 06:28:42 PM
Well, Thanks for the Bronze in Athens. It was worth it. Good luck in all the future endeavours. Hope he becomes a coach. God Bless.
Post by: kounty on August 12, 2016, 11:56:30 AM
I see the shotput girl come something like 4th in her qualifying round. not sure if that is enough to get into the final or not.
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 12, 2016, 12:57:14 PM
I see the shotput girl come something like 4th in her qualifying round. not sure if that is enough to get into the final or not.

She is..
Post by: Deeks on August 12, 2016, 03:23:08 PM
Njisane out of the men's sprint. He just was not in it.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 12, 2016, 07:19:25 PM
Crazy!!!! 3 way tie for silver in the 100m butterfly. Including Phelps.
Post by: kounty on August 12, 2016, 09:32:56 PM
jus manage to ketch Gordon win his heat dey !!  :wavetowel:

lendore jus fade in the last 40 dey to unqualify  :(
Post by: Deeks on August 13, 2016, 06:42:30 AM
All the time people saying that they should not have pros on the US basketball team. They are spoil millionaires. They will dominate and there will be no competition, the tv ratings will fall because the will run roughshod over everybody and win the gold medal. They got 2 back to back tough games, and they crying like friggin wimps. Allyuh want competition. Take competition in allyuh arse.
Post by: soccerman on August 14, 2016, 01:39:47 AM
The men's 10,000M race was probably the best event I've seen so far. Farah of Great Britian won that race like a borse....he was last at one point, he made some strides then got tripped and fell and he still came and out ran everyone in the end. For a long ass race, it was thrilling. True grit and perseverance was on display.
Post by: Deeks on August 14, 2016, 08:06:42 AM
The men's 10,000M race was probably the best event I've seen so far. Farah of Great Britian won that race like a borse....he was last at one point, he made some strides then got tripped and fell and he still came and out ran everyone in the end. For a long ass race, it was thrilling. True grit and perseverance was on display.

This victory was priceless. Absolutely superb!
Post by: Sando prince on August 14, 2016, 02:51:25 PM

Americans dominating the Olympic medal table

They doing it once again this Olympics. I will say their strong dominance in swimming this year has given them a bigger medal advantage on the overall Olympic medal count this year

I do believe in the future Olympics China will be going neck and neck with them in the medals
Post by: asylumseeker on August 14, 2016, 03:12:39 PM
Have been impressed with the depth and breadth in participation of Poland. Although Cuba has dropped off, we could still learn much from the capacity they have built in this respect. In similar vein, Jamaica.

The stadium has had/had steeplechase capacity since its inception. Imagine in all these decades, we have NOT produced steeplechasers. But even more basically, why don't we have credible 5000 and 10000m runners? Why don't we have hammer throwers instead of mischief makers?
Post by: Bitter on August 14, 2016, 05:48:57 PM
Mischief takes less effort and pays better.
Post by: Deeks on August 14, 2016, 07:31:06 PM
Bolt and Degrasse!!!
Post by: soccerman on August 14, 2016, 07:37:06 PM
Bolt is just unreal
Post by: soccerman on August 14, 2016, 08:48:52 PM
I'm a Usain Bolt fan and the man is a legend but Bob Costas said he's a more popular Jamacian than Bob Marley....hmmm not so sure about that one
Post by: Deeks on August 15, 2016, 04:48:06 PM
I'm a Usain Bolt fan and the man is a legend but Bob Costas said he's a more popular Jamacian than Bob Marley....hmmm not so sure about that one

Actually, he just might be. But honestly what difference does it make. Both of them spread joy to the world.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 16, 2016, 04:16:13 AM
Mischief takes less effort and pays better.

Perhaps absolutely true.

Yet, my view is that policymakers have failed to incentivize boredom, idleness, curiosity and ability.

A net of mischief-making is somewhat of an acceptable outcome after policy has reasonably attempted to harness and benefit potential. Not before. We should try it just once.

It's revolting to listen to discussions about the condition of sport in T&T and hear several of the same elements that plagued the 70s and 80s recounted as plaguing 2016.

We are a reactionary people. At least for five minutes. Then we move on to the next thing in a cycle and circus of a lack of focus.

It's likely we have a world-class pole vaulter sleeping under a bridge. Next to the steeplechaser.
Post by: Swima on August 16, 2016, 08:35:02 AM

It's likely we have a world-class pole vaulter sleeping under a bridge. Next to the steeplechaser.

That right there, is the absolute truth! All we do is guess and hope. No one wants to build.
Post by: weary1969 on August 16, 2016, 01:41:49 PM

That right there, is the absolute truth! All we do is guess and hope. No one wants to build.

We do everything by VAPS in TNT.
Post by: Bitter on August 16, 2016, 08:07:20 PM

We do everything by VAPS in TNT.

We should petition for vaps to become an Olympic sport.
Post by: Bitter on August 16, 2016, 08:18:50 PM
Watching Brazil play volleyball at home is so much fun. The crowd would prefer blowouts though.
Post by: Bitter on August 16, 2016, 09:29:21 PM
Hard luck dey Brazil. Twice in one day.
Post by: Dutty on August 17, 2016, 06:07:02 AM
Ato, now dat yuh co-anchor drop some patois from yard on a live international broadcast

You now, hadda fine an appropriate spot to drop the  professional decorum and buss some trini shit talk in de air eh......yuh wukkin dey much longer, yuh entitled

ah go wait  :waiting:

Post by: soccerman on August 17, 2016, 08:07:33 AM
Ato, now dat yuh co-anchor drop some patois from yard on a live international broadcast

You now, hadda fine an appropriate spot to drop the  professional decorum and buss some trini shit talk in de air eh......yuh wukkin dey much longer, yuh entitled

Is she Jamaican?
Post by: maxg on August 17, 2016, 01:51:08 PM
NEWSDAY tt
New sporting facility unveiled in Sangre Grande
MARCELL THOMAS Wednesday, August 17 2016

Sports in Sangre Grande received a boost yesterday with the official opening of the North Eastern
Regional Multi­Purpose Sport Facility at Ojoe Road Recreation Ground. The newly completed multi­milliondollar
indoor arena will accomodate basketball, volleyball, table tennis, and gymnastics. It was packed to
capacity yesterday with Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs Darryl Smith, Member of Parliament for Toco /
Sangre Grande Glenda Jennings­Smith, Chairman of the Sangre Grande Regional Corporation Terry
Rondon, Councillors, Aldermen and bus loads of students from neighbouring vacation camps attending.
This modern day structure has a seating accommodation of approximately 800 and is designed to host two
basketball games simultaneously.
This facility boasts to be one of the first of its kind in Trinidad and Tobago that has retractable bleachers and
floor markings for only basketball.
Specially invited guest Rondon entertained the crowd with an opening “Champion” dance and became
emotional as he said that he feels like the community of Sangre Grande are all champions due to the
“champion facility”.
He said there was always a need for such a centre within the region and said “it belongs to the community,
therefore you all need to take care of it.” He added: “Further employment will be given to community members
as it relates to maintenance of the facility.” Jennings­ Smith later thanked Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley and
the Minister of Sport and commended them for their efforts in ensuring the project was completed.
She said it will help youths in her area achieve their dreams.
She acknowledged though that “to whom much is given much is expected” and accepted that she too is
responsible for ensuring that the facility is properly maintained and utilised. In reference to 2012 Olympic gold
medallist Keshorn Walcott, who is a son of the soil of the Toco / Sangre Grande region, she said the facility will
aid in the the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee’s 10 gold by 2024 Olympics thrust.
Smith, discussing the history of the project, said it was one which his Ministry inherited when it was about 60
percent complete.
He gave a special thanks to MP Jennings­Smith for her commitment and dedication in ensuring that the people
of Sangre Grande and environs were delivered not only what was promised but rather what was deserved.
He further lauded the people of Sangre Grande for their patience throughout the years and gratitude was also
extended to contractor Shanghai Construction Group. Touching on the topic of the Olympics, he noted that this
year, TT have not only made history by fielding their most competitors, but also their youngest team, their most
females and competitors in the most sports.
The Minister expressed his commitment for continuity in youth development as he promised further investment
into sport at primary and secondary school level.
To mark the official opening, both Jennings­Smith and Smith tested their basketball skills, much to the delight of
those gathered. Closing the evening’s formalities, the crowd was entertained by an exhibition game between
Grande All­Stars and TT’s U­19s who won the quarter 26­18.
Post by: Deeks on August 17, 2016, 03:44:45 PM
Simone Biles Belize connection.

http://edition.cnn.com/2016/08/16/sport/simone-biles-belize-ties-rio-olympics-gymnastics-2016/

Simone Biles appears to have strong roots to Belize. He mother is from there. She is of Garifuna descent. The Garifunas are related to St Vincent.  And she has visited there. But
Allyuh remember the last American superstar that had connection to Belize. Marian Jones.

Post by: 100% Barataria on August 17, 2016, 07:51:00 PM

Is she Jamaican?

Yeah...
Post by: Bitter on August 17, 2016, 08:05:21 PM
I feel Lochte and them come up with this story because they really get ketch or robbed by some transvestites or hookers.
Post by: Bitter on August 17, 2016, 08:06:55 PM
Anyway, Brazil v Argentina in men's Volleyball.

Crowd is nervous
Post by: soccerman on August 17, 2016, 08:32:54 PM
I feel Lochte and them come up with this story because they really get ketch or robbed by some transvestites or hookers.
Their story is fishy and inconsistent. Brazil's law enforcement not letting this one go easy, tonight they take 2 of the swimmers off the plane to take in for questioning.
Post by: Deeks on August 17, 2016, 08:34:12 PM
It is said that Lochte is back in the states??!!
Post by: Mose on August 18, 2016, 12:53:48 PM
Yeah, he left before the judge issued the order for them to stay. And CBC is reporting that source tells them the other 2 swimmers admitted to the story being fake.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/world/us-swimmer-robbery-1.3726339
Post by: ribbit on August 19, 2016, 09:59:20 AM
Serbia vs USA in women's volleyball was entertaining. USA fall flat without Akinradewo. Serbia have two killers in mijhalovic and boskovic.
Post by: Sando prince on August 20, 2016, 11:26:14 AM

Ah going and take in some other Olympic sports now, last few days was too focused on track and field
Post by: ribbit on August 20, 2016, 12:44:22 PM
Italy vs USA volleyball - ivan zayetsev is a BEAST! Italy vs Brazil will be a great match.
Post by: maxg on August 20, 2016, 10:29:51 PM
Mo Farah  :applause: :applause:
Post by: Bitter on August 21, 2016, 11:55:53 AM
Wallace and them getting on!

Neymar and all cheering them on.

:salute:
Post by: Bitter on August 21, 2016, 11:59:31 AM
Imagine these fellas had to beat France to just make it to the knockout stages.

:wavetowel: :wavetowel:

That was fun.
Post by: Sando prince on August 21, 2016, 12:07:45 PM
America dominates swimming medal table and track and field medal table. Far ahead in overall Olympic medal table.

Respect to Great Britain they have improved a lot in various Sports or maybe their success this Olympics is due to Russia only having half their team in Rio.
Post by: Deeks on August 21, 2016, 03:56:11 PM
Russia, China, Japan, Australia and South Korean will gunning for the US in Tokyo.
Post by: Sando prince on August 21, 2016, 07:18:39 PM
The final Rio 2016 medal podium

(https://scontent-sjc.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/14068294_1197963796932754_8959263159777384345_n.jpg?oh=5c4312b84c710a71ee7fc42182630704&oe=585E4BA4)
Post by: Sando prince on August 21, 2016, 07:22:10 PM
^^ So if T&T ever make it up dey (ah say if) they will have to put ah steelpan dey to symbolise we  :)
Post by: Bitter on August 21, 2016, 08:59:15 PM
I already having withdrawal symptoms. What I go watch now?
Post by: asylumseeker on August 21, 2016, 10:24:23 PM

The Games had everything from marriage proposals to death and all sorts of intrigue and drama in between (excluding Lochte's shenanigans). Just seeing a recap and there's a lot I had no clue occurred.
Post by: soccerman on August 21, 2016, 10:30:53 PM
That's the exact same thing I said after the closing ceremony. Guess we could watch and see how the Lochte drama unfolds...speaking of which, is his boys still in Brazil?
Post by: asylumseeker on August 22, 2016, 08:01:55 AM
America dominates swimming medal table and track and field medal table. Far ahead in overall Olympic medal table.

Respect to Great Britain they have improved a lot in various Sports or maybe their success this Olympics is due to Russia only having half their team in Rio.

http://www.itv.com/news/wales/2016-08-21/welsh-athletes-end-their-time-at-rio-with-record-breaking-medal-haul/
Post by: asylumseeker on August 23, 2016, 06:44:39 AM
T&T should invest in handball, water polo, diving, synchronised swimming ... what else?
Post by: maxg on August 23, 2016, 07:27:22 AM
T&T should invest in handball, water polo, diving, synchronised swimming ... what else?
disagree, the things we like and have a comparatively decent turnout cannot get decent investment, farless something that will be new and thus minimal participation, especially when it comes to administration and selection. Eg. Controversial football admin and even Controversial gymnastics selections. In addition, our small selections pools are further divided.imo
Post by: asylumseeker on August 23, 2016, 08:26:39 AM
disagree, the things we like and have a comparatively decent turnout cannot get decent investment, farless something that will be new and thus minimal participation, especially when it comes to administration and selection. Eg. Controversial football admin and even Controversial gymnastics selections. In addition, our small selections pools are further divided.imo

Participants will gravitate to activities that (1) interest them and (2) to which they have a measure of success. If we fail to diversify the number of possible activities, there will be numerous participants - who having been excluded from our traditional activities - would literally be idle hands that could be engaged in other activities. Handball in particular has transferable capacities (and recipient capacities from other invasion sports such as basketball) and is also not a cost intensive activity to participants. In Germany, NT and Bundesliga coaches often refer to lessons learned from observing elite handball. Volleyball, although not an invasion game, also has multiple transferability vis-a-vis handball.

Water polo and diving also mirror much of the same proposition.

We have to treat attendance at events and likely interest in participation in activities as sides of two distinct coins. We don't lack proper investment because of minimal participation. Moreover, minimal participation is not the root product of a lack of investment. It is the product of a lack of exposure and  activity promotion.

For instance, the generation before me at secondary school played hockey. I bought a hockey stick but there were few avenues to learn the sport. The 6th formers played but the 1st formers had no clue. On the other hand, the gymnasts were aggressive recruiters and instructors. The flips I used to do on my bed, ended up being "useful". If someone had shown up to teach diving, I would have had an opportunity to test and transfer that capacity. But guess what? It would have been no "loss" to hockey or even football. Definitely not cricket. Why? No one ever taught me how to move my feet at the wicket, but in the field I could dive for any catch.

Synchronised swimming? Might be a luxury but also lots of transferability from other activities and let's face it ... Not every swimmer is going to be a Missy Franklin. But they might make competent synchronised swimmers.

Finally, I don't think population size pours cold water on opening up to other sports. We have to look at things as once human activity is implicated and all the ranges of motion that accompany that, there will be disposition to those activities throughout our society to all such activity.

I saw a women's hockey team representing T&T abroad and I thought ..." this can't be it". We just are not extending the web sufficiently. Cuba did it. Yes bigger country, yet more difficult to traverse. Why can't we?

One of the reasons we have a small selection pool is because we don't diversify who participates/is exposed to what. Invest in people. Market forces will dictate what follows.
Post by: maxg on August 24, 2016, 10:52:29 PM
I like how yuh organize yuh points. But the bottomline, is they will not be funded adequately and without that the attainment, practice and achievement of elite level status, although beneficial in the short term, may just be a
 fun activity at best, in the long term. We may get a World Class athlete, but a team, not so sure...we have problems with teams. However, an association with proper management and private support might be able to make a go, yet might still only be restricted to a very few, who in themselves may not even have the talent for it..like yuh hockey stick and my swimming. Yet is within the organization continuity where the trouble might start. I am chatting based on personal opinion and history, not facts. The 1st step , introduction & promotion, where will that originate. Let's go thru the list of possible sports...Synchro.. oops , will have to defer..later
add: we will talk this one out in person over a few  :chilling:..just want to say besides finance, organization, my last concern is the amount of devotion and time commitment to a fringe sport would not lead to world class development in the short term. Therefore, less support and funding, especially a team sport..catch-22. We may get ppl to play, but can they compete with success, irregardless of all the normal bobbol..eg gymnastics, swimming, etc.. an individual sport may be easier..as they can hone their skills and results in foreign and get some measure of support there..eg..rowing, sailing, gymnastics, swimming and even synchro and diving etc..but there are still some fringe items where luck and training cannot truly become Olympic class in the now, and require a long term commitment, which is difficult to justify trini public support - read 'we want it now syndrome' eg Judo, Equestrian, Handball, swimming , football  (men & women), athletics, you name it.
Post by: Sando prince on August 27, 2016, 03:26:54 PM
I am waiting to see what is the long term profit of the Olympic swimming pool facility we just opened in Couva. Is it going to be used as a venue to develop our swimming talent in T&T? First of all we need the right coaching to guide and develop talent if we want to be taken seriously in this sport, which means we have to hire qualified foreign coaches, then there is the issue of recruitment. We have to reach out to all the talent everywhere in the country, so there has to be a plan in place, I suggest going into the schools because there are schools in every corner of the country so no talent will be left untouched. Then there needs to be financial investment by the business community because the Govt cannot do it by themselves.

I wait patiently to see what happens
Post by: maxg on August 28, 2016, 12:02:51 PM
I am waiting to see what is the long term profit of the Olympic swimming pool facility we just opened in Couva. Is it going to be used as a venue to develop our swimming talent in T&T? First of all we need the right coaching to guide and develop talent if we want to be taken seriously in this sport, which means we have to hire qualified foreign coaches, then there is the issue of recruitment. We have to reach out to all the talent everywhere in the country, so there has to be a plan in place, I suggest going into the schools because there are schools in every corner of the country so no talent will be left untouched. Then there needs to be financial investment by the business community because the Govt cannot do it by themselves.

ok..hold on..research 1st..there is Ntl secondary & primary school meets. Maybe the ppl who not aware of it, focus isn't there and that is a possible point to address. I have always been suspect, more so lately of their PR.
nb: Swimming is not generally a money making sport, what i have found it to be, is more character building. How many ppl in TT or TTians in general,  think they need to pay to build the character of their children (future). Nah man. nobody can't teach WE children better than WE. Besides we can put that money to better use - read give them book sense without guidance, read materiality and the importance of acquisition, without hard work, read celebrations without achievement. nb: I am not of the impression, swimming is for everyone, or any sport or non-sport process for that matter. What I do believe, for us to develop as a people, we have to learn some humility and prepare to work hard and not be ashamed to say or do it. read, teach our kids good & proper values. One does not have to be religious to do this.
hmmm, sometimes we feel we brighter than the teachers and we expect our countrymen to out do the doers. Very few foreign coaches (expat or not) have been totally frustrated by this. There are a few right on this site.
http://www.swimtt.com/

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/m0um79r1m54iva8/AAAhdU2Dr3xTj2XIZeHu2ijHa?dl=0

add: for those reading this, please understand, I have made a lot of mistakes, so i'm not holier than thou or better than anybody else, i just aged and learned. Still, answers is not what I have, just what i seek, i  mostly have questions, and i make decisions based on the answers received, and adjust as most TTians used to do. My observations lately tells me, that many of us anxious to reach and expect everything to come to us, not realizing that even if one reach, the focal moves, therefore we can't stop. ok..thinkin  to much, (and typin to much of things that i'm not even sure about, IMO).ah done.
Post by: Sando prince on August 28, 2016, 01:42:15 PM

ok..hold on..research 1st..there is Ntl secondary & primary school meets. Maybe the ppl who not aware of it, focus isn't there and that is a possible point to address. I have always been suspect, more so lately of their PR.
nb: Swimming is not generally a money making sport, what i have found it to be, is more character building. How many ppl in TT or TTians in general,  think they need to pay to build the character of their children (future). Nah man. nobody can't teach WE children better than WE. Besides we can put that money to better use - read give them book sense without guidance, read materiality and the importance of acquisition, without hard work, read celebrations without achievement. nb: I am not of the impression, swimming is for everyone, or any sport or non-sport process for that matter. What I do believe, for us to develop as a people, we have to learn some humility and prepare to work hard and not be ashamed to say or do it. read, teach our kids good & proper values. One does not have to be religious to do this.
hmmm, sometimes we feel we brighter than the teachers and we expect our countrymen to out do the doers. Very few foreign coaches (expat or not) have been totally frustrated by this. There are a few right on this site.
http://www.swimtt.com/

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/m0um79r1m54iva8/AAAhdU2Dr3xTj2XIZeHu2ijHa?dl=0

Ok slow down elder, YOU are advocating for a society with better values and morals and seem ready to attach my post on making the best use of this Olympic swimming facility to address your concern. What you mean by putting the money to better use? So how much money you think should be put to ensure we get the best return from this state of the art facility? Do not tell me the facility is there to just have swimming lessons. No wonder why we underachieve at regional and International events in sports, because we are not even willing to attend to the grassroots problems which prevents us from developing the sport. But yet when failure reach we ask 'what went wrong?'.

The secondary school swimming is what exactly? The recruitment is poor in the sport and we need a program in place in TnT to develop the talent professionally, which means we need financial investment and foreign coaching. If we are not going to do this then what is the future of the sport and the facility? Do not bring the ills of society in this post because even if we did have those issues corrected the sport will not be where we want it to be today if all these issues mentioned still existed.
Post by: Swima on August 28, 2016, 04:39:18 PM
One coming SP. Drafted and ready for submission. However, the current aquatics executive needs to leave. No more piggy backing and stabbing me in the same area you riding.

When a working exec is in place, mine and the ideas of other who at the very least are both fanatic and patriotic will be revealed.

Don't think some in the Ministry aren't aware either.
Post by: maxg on August 28, 2016, 07:43:47 PM
my bad. It's not from me you will hear "Nah man. nobody can't teach WE children better than WE. Besides we can put that money to better use - read give them book sense without guidance, read materiality and the importance of acquisition, without hard work, read celebrations without achievement."  Please watch the context, obviously you didn't see my point, in spite of my faux pas..
but why
 No wonder why we underachieve at regional and International events in sports, because we are not even willing to attend to the grassroots problems which prevents us from developing the sport. But yet when failure reach we ask 'what went wrong?'.
 I was talking about the grassroot level of our sports, which is based on the grassroot level of every society.
I only used swimming as an example because, you used swimming as the focus of discussion. In addition, there are very good coaches and possibly good swim administrators in the country, even if they are not the one presently in a decision making position and you are not familiar with them.
Thirdly, before you become professional, better believe you have to start with swimming lessons or whatever sport lessons, wherever they might be. In my town in a 5 mile radius there are over 26 swimming pools that have summer pool lessons and weekly competitions, it's how we started. Winter competitive swimming occurs at 3 major indoor pools, and guess what pays for the clubs that swim out of these pools. Lessons, and it is these lessons that feed the club swimmers, who eventually move on to provincial & in a very few cases National level swimmers, so far lately, we have had 5 or 6 out of the thousands that pass thru. Two of which i'm trying to convince to represent our country. They always hoping for more in the future.So although you do need a professional admin, it does not necessarily mean you would be always producing professional or world level athletes, it takes work, time and people.You can give a kid the best coach, best facility, best support in football, and he become a professional lawn tennis player, thus we need numbers.
There are people who are preparing to do this as Swima point out above, but in many cases they are ignored, politically shot down or just plain discouraged. Did we need a major International standard pool, maybe or maybe not, I would have preferred many smaller pools accessible pools across the islands, yet with this one, proper management and and admin , the swimtt, may be able to enjoy more visit from teams and coaches that we can learn from, and more swim space for more kids (even if we can have them bussed from the schools ) to learn.
Finally, my advocation of a better society, is what I think will give us more success at sport even if only we have more numbers to choose from. Sorry, if you think i attached my spiel to your post to help promote that, and did not help in answering part of your question. Forgive the oldman, he don't express himself to clearly and don't have no special degree in communication either.
Post by: Sando prince on August 28, 2016, 07:52:24 PM
In addition, there are very good coaches and possibly good swim administrators in the country, even if they are not the one presently in a decision making position and you are not familiar with them.

This is this old man mentality. WHO are these people you are defending? we have been FAILING and getting WORSE at the youth level in Carifta but yet you saying we have good coaches here in TnT. Continue with more of the same nonsense, because like in many sports in T&T the old man mentality have us still behind. They believe we do not need outside help despite the results saying otherwise.

Thirdly, before you become professional, better believe you have to start with swimming lessons or whatever sport lessons, wherever they might be. In my town in a 5 mile radius there are over 26 swimming pools that have summer pool lessons and weekly competitions, it's how we started. Winter competitive swimming occurs at 3 major indoor pools, and guess what pays for the clubs that swim out of these pools. Lessons, and it is these lessons that feed the club swimmers, who eventually move on to provincial & in a very few cases National level swimmers, so far lately, we have had 5 or 6 out of the thousands that pass thru. Two of which i'm trying to convince to represent our country. They always hoping for more in the future.So although you do need a professional admin, it does not necessarily mean you would be always producing professional or world level athletes, it takes work, time and people.You can give a kid the best coach, best facility, best support in football, and he become a professional lawn tennis player, thus we need numbers.

Point is you need a professional program, because a youth finish school what next? there needs to be a mechanism in place that is long term and stable that is financially supported. One with the right coaching and give developing swimmers direction. What is the name of this program in T&T today?

We have an Olympic swimming pool which is a perfect venue for this program, and this can be implemented in the form of a professional club or whatever is equivalent to one, furthermore this new state of the art venue has to be used to help bring the best results for the sport in T&T
Post by: Sando prince on August 28, 2016, 08:02:18 PM
A youth want to be a footballer in T&T, he knows where to start, he will go try out for a local club which plays in a zonal league with the goal to be scouted by a pro league club n the near future. So now a youth want to be a swimmer in T&T where does he start? He has no idea and already discouraged. What we know today is we just opened a star of the art swimming facility and that is a venue that should already have a program in place to develop talent. However the swimming federation has to put mechanisms in place to reach out to talent throughout the country. I do not hear shit on radio, see shit on Tv, see anything in the newspaper, nothing on social media. Once again the old man ideas by the old men running sports in T&T is not working.
Post by: maxg on August 28, 2016, 09:04:30 PM
Old man mentality. Defense of people ? Failing and getting worse because we don't have good coaches ? etc etc I have no idea what you talking about, and what's more, i think you don't either. You fail to grasp the simple concept of sport. even your eg.  a youth want to be a footballer he goes and try for a local club, etc...just so. and if he don't make the zonal club, he should just forget it ?..I don't think any sport work like that. and then as far as you concerned we not doing well, because old men running the sport with old ideas..and what's worse, like myself.. some of the people i say holding back other people who have ideas, and I thinking like dem od men, when it is clear, like you, i think more could be done..ok, young fella everybody but you have oldman ideas,  and killing our sport..ok..u right..no need for further discussion.
Post by: Sando prince on August 28, 2016, 09:15:32 PM
Old man mentality. Defense of people ? Failing and getting worse because we don't have good coaches ? etc etc I have no idea what you talking about, and what's more, i think you don't either. You fail to grasp the simple concept of sport. even your eg.  a youth want to be a footballer he goes and try for a local club, etc...just so. and if he don't make the zonal club, he should just forget it ?..I don't think any sport work like that. and then as far as you concerned we not doing well, because old men running the sport with old ideas..and what's worse, like myself.. some of the people i say holding back other people who have ideas, and I thinking like dem od men, when it is clear, like you, i think more could be done..ok, young fella everybody but you have oldman ideas,  and killing our sport..ok..u right..no need for further discussion.

Clearly you need to absorb what is being said then re- absorb it again. Let me repeat for you below

A youth want to be a footballer in T&T, he knows where to start, he will go try out for a local club which plays in a zonal league with the goal to be scouted by a pro league club n the near future. So now a youth want to be a swimmer in T&T where does he start? He has no idea and already discouraged. What we know today is we just opened a state of the art swimming facility and that is a venue that should already have a program in place to develop talent. However the swimming federation has to put mechanisms in place to reach out to talent throughout the country. I do not hear shit on radio, see shit on Tv, see anything in the newspaper, nothing on social media. Once again the old man ideas by the old men running sports in T&T is not working.

Also like I said earlier,

Point is you need a professional program, because a youth finish school what next? there needs to be a mechanism in place that is long term and stable that is financially supported. One with the right coaching and give developing swimmers direction. What is the name of this program in T&T today?

We have an Olympic swimming pool which is a perfect venue for this program, and this can be implemented in the form of a professional club or whatever is equivalent to one, furthermore this new state of the art venue has to be used to help bring the best results for the sport in T&T
Post by: Sando prince on August 28, 2016, 09:21:56 PM
Latest Carifta results over recent years shows a decline in swimming for T&T yet the old heads will say everything is ok. they believe these coaches in Trinidad could guide local talent to International success despite the results clearly showing otherwise. Dais the nonsense and the old man mentality. The coaching is poor and the management of the sport is poor. It will be embarrassing if next Olympics with a state of the art Olympic swimming facility we cannot produce locally trained swimmers to compete in Tokyo because they cannot meet the Olympic qualification times, but at the same time it will be expected because the old heads who running the sport will just put together some excuses as usual as to why they did not make the necessary changes at the grassroots level.
Post by: Swima on August 29, 2016, 05:08:33 AM
Don't think you hearing what max is saying. Human resource is there. Systems not in place. Hence the decline you identified.

Local coaches have contributed to the development of every Olympic swimmer in our history. Should any of Max's kids make it, they may very well be the first.

The issue is not talent, it is the system to reap the full harvest.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 31, 2016, 09:05:22 AM
Trini volunteer in Rio
By Charles Kong Soo, T&T Guardian.

When Trinidadian Jon Mahabir saw the request online for volunteers for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games not long after he returned from the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil, he was determined to be part of the drama and spectacle.

After passing all the tests to be a volunteer, the T&TEC employee from Port-of-Spain left Trinidad on August 2 to embark on the once-in-a-lifetime experience and arrived in Rio on August 3 where he hit the ground running, working at the Beach Volleyball Arena in Copacabana, on August 6.

Speaking with the Sunday Guardian on Wednesday via Skype, Mahabir said, “In all, it’s about 50 to 60,000 volunteers and I’m extremely proud to probably be the only volunteer here from T&T.

“I haven’t met anyone else from the Caribbean actually.

“About half of the volunteers are Brazilian and the others are from various countries in the world.

“At the hostel where I’m staying, which is about 40 minutes walk from the volleyball arena, there are people from Holland, Indonesia, England, France, and there are others I work with from Germany and the USA as well. Very exciting stuff.”

Mahabir, who speaks English, Spanish, French and Portuguese, is working as part of the press operations mixed zone at the beach volleyball arena. He said as soon as a game is finished, there was a corridor where the athletes must pass to give interviews with various media houses.

Mahabir said what he was tasked with was ensuring that the large media houses stayed in their assigned zones and the other press such as local country press and newspaper houses and websites do not enter the zone for the high-profile press. He said the volunteers also had to ensure that no filming or photos were taken in areas where it was not allowed.

Mahabir said the volunteers themselves were not allowed to interact with the athletes, ask for autographs, pictures or to photograph them. He said, however, the volunteers were extremely close to the athletes and it was a really wonderful experience seeing the athletes from the various countries interact and give interviews with members of the media.

Most memorable experiences of Rio 2016 Olympic Games
Mahabir said so far his most memorable experience was checking in for his first day of work on August 6. He said the Rio 2016 Olympic games committee gave the volunteers a welcome present of a Swatch watch designed especially for them.

Mahabir said his other memorable moment was being able to sit in the press tribune and watch the game live. He said his favourite experience was being able to be so close to the athletes when they finished their games.

Mahabir said the first night he worked, the US women’s volleyball team, defending champion Kerri Walsh Jennings and her new partner, April Ross, played the last game beating Australia, maintaining their legendary status. He said Walsh Jennings and Ross stayed behind to thank the crowd and then gave interviews to all the media at 2 am.

Mahabir said the Americans were the last out and the volunteers were also able to leave at the same time as them. He said he was able to congratulate them and tell them what a fantastic job they did. He said Walsh Jennings and Ross were very appreciative and gracious of his well wishes.

Mahabir said another big moment was on August 8, his birthday. He said he was scheduled to work from 8 am to 5 pm and the organisers told him to take the day off, go change and return, and he could see the games as a spectator and stay however long he wanted.

Mahabir said he was able to catch some great games and it was fantastic.

Mahabir, who loves football, said he actually started learning Portuguese to attend the FIFA World Cup 2014 in Brazil and he never stopped; he studied it right here in Trinidad at the UWI Centre For Language Learning. He said it was a three-year programme and he completed it in April 2016. He said at the World Cup he was purely a spectator and fan.

Mahabir said this time he was part of the inner workings of the Olympic games and he got to see the background and how much work went into putting on these kind of events. He said there were a lot of logistics planning and organising that took place and it was fun to be able to be backstage at the show as much as it was a lot of work.

Mahabir, who purchased his own ticket to Brazil and paid for his stay at the hostel, said they were provided with uniforms, training, food, and the opportunity to be part of the experience.

The Rio 2016 Olympic Games organisers treated the volunteers as well as they would treat anyone else, Mahabir said. He said there were about six or seven volunteers at the hostel so it was a fun community.

Mahabir said some of the volunteers were assigned to the beach volleyball venue, same title but different shifts while others were based in different locations and stadia, sports and tasks. Mahabir said he booked his return ticket to Trinidad for August 16.

The organisers wanted to give him shifts on August 16 and 18 for the semis and finals in the press tribune, but unfortunately he could not accept otherwise he would have to sleep in the street he said in jest.
Post by: maxg on August 31, 2016, 10:28:29 AM
I had the luck and opportunity to work at Montreal'76, VIP section of the main stadium, one of the highlights of my life. Met and actually conversed with Joffre Serette, Telly Savalas, Wilt Chamberlain(not much talk, he was upset when I blocked him), Prince Phillip, Pierre Elliot Trudeau, O J Simpson, Hasely Crawford, Donald Quarrie to name a few. Longest chat was with Prince Phillip, who indicated he love T & T. I asked him "how come you didn't come over and talk to me, when I was waving at you in '66 by the savannah", Think they came for Independence. He had a good laugh and said it wouldn't happen again. Never seen him since  lol.
 Years later, ran into Crawfie on Jerningham place (Over the Hill boys fete), that man had memory. He remembered I ran against him in TO and I was the 1st TTian, that came into the athlete's press area to congratulate him. I said, man, you real good. He said, "Out there, I cyah forget my people". Amazing.  I wonder if he still like that ?
Post by: asylumseeker on August 31, 2016, 12:06:46 PM
Thanks for sharing that, maxg. When Brownsugar mentioned she would be going to Rio, I suggested volunteering as an option because it is a tremendous way in which to see the Games. It's also a way to lend one's area(s) of experience and expertise to the Games effort because the selections process elicits those details as it seeks to source/place personnel where they can make a viable difference.

I applied for Athens 2004 and, after going through a couple stages of the selection/validation process, was eventually selected as a volunteer. However, ended up viewing like everyone else from a distance. Would not be surprised if a Trini or two volunteered at the London Games.
Post by: maxg on September 01, 2016, 12:02:32 AM
tbh,  i didn't volunteer,I applied for a job, but that is another story. Yuh know the French interviewer guy thought Spanish was our language in Trinidad, being so close to South america. Interview was in french & English , they did 2 at a time, the other interviewee spoke no english, and i no french, so he answered all the french questions, and i the english. Because the man thought i was trilingual(Spanish my 1st tongue) , i got the VIP section job, but it was a paying job, i couldn't do it otherwise. I was young and needed the money, baby was on the way.   :thumbsup: all good still