Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on September 07, 2016, 05:40:32 AM

Title: Thread for the T&T vs Costa Rica Game (11-Nov-2016)
Post by: Flex on September 07, 2016, 05:40:32 AM
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifying T&T vs Costa Rica (http://www.espnfc.us/match?gameId=466993) game in T&T on the 11th of November 2016 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

To be updated.

Possible TV Station.

BeIN Sports (5:30 EST).
NBC Universo (5:30 EST).

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers

Jan-Michael Williams (Central FC), Marvin Phillip (Morvant Caledonia United), Adrian Foncette (Police FC).

Defenders

Jelani Peters (W Connection), Aubrey David (FC Dallas), Daneil Cyrus (W Connection), Carlyle Mitchell (Seoul E-Land), Radanfah Abu Bakr (FK Kruoja Pakruojis), Sheldon Bateau (FC Krylia Sovetov Samara), Yohance Marshall (Murciélagos FC).

Midfielders

Khaleem Hyland (KVC Westerlo), Andre Boucaud (Dagenham & Redbridge), Kevan George (Jacksonville Armada), Neveal Hackshaw (Charleston Battery), Joevin Jones (Seattle Sounders), Cordell Cato (San Jose Earthquakes), Levi Garcia (AZ Alkmaar), Marcus Joseph (Central FC), Jomal Williams (Murciélagos FC), Ataulla Guerra (Charleston Battery).

Forwards

Kenwyne Jones (Central FC), Trevin Caesar (Orange County Blues), Willis Plaza (San Juan Jabloteh).

Coach - Stephen Hart.

Costa Rica Squad

Goalkeepers

Keylor Navas (Real Madrid), Patrick Pemberton (Alajuelense) Esteban Alvarado (Trabzonspor).

Defenders

Johnny Acosta (Herediano), Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps), Michael Umana (Alajuelense) Francisco Calvo (Saprissa), Cristian Gamboa (Celtic) Ronald Matarrita (New York City FC), Bryan Oviedo (Everton), Jose Salvatierra (Alajuelense) Pablo Salazar (Herediano).

Midfielders

Randall Azofeifa (Herediano), Celso Borges (Deportivo La Coruna), Yeltsin Tejeda (Lausanne), David Guzman (Saprissa), Bryan Ruiz (Sporting Lisbon), Cristian Bolanos (Vancouver Whitecaps), Johan Venegas (Montreal Impact), Rodney Wallace (Recife).

Forwards

Joel Campbell (Sporting Lisbon), Ariel Rodríguez (Bangkok Glass), Marco Uren (Brondby).

Coach - Oscar Ramírez.

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

Title: Re: Thread for the T&T vs Costa Rica Game (11-Nov-2016)
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 24, 2016, 08:56:47 AM
We know game time for this yet?
Post by: Tallman on October 03, 2016, 04:23:34 PM
Navas gets Costa Rica call up
CONCACAF.com

Real Madrid goalkeeper Keylor Navas may pull on a Costa Rica jersey for the first time since March, when the Central American champion faces host Russia in an international friendly on October 9 in Krasnodar.

The 29-year-old -- winner of the 2014 CONCACAF player of the year award -- had been out of action for three months while recovering from left-heel surgery, which caused him to miss the Copa America Centenario.

Navas was one of 23 players called up by head coach Oscar Ramirez, who kept a majority of the squad that topped the table of its fourth-round CONCACAF qualifying group for the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

"The friendly will be of very good quality,” said Ramirez.  “Russia is a very dynamic team.  They do quite a lot work on combinations and it will demand a lot of us.”

Costa Rica is preparing for the final round World Cup Qualifying, which will open November 11 with an encounter at Trinidad & Tobago.

ROSTER

GOALKEEPERS:
Esteban Alvarado (Trabzonspor/Turkey), Keylor Navas (Real Madrid/Spain), Patrick Pemberton (Alajuelense)

DEFENDERS: Johnny Acosta (Herediano), Francisco Calvo (Saprissa), Óscar Duarte (Espanyol/Spain), Giancarlo Gonzalez (Palermo/Italy), Ronald Matarrita (New York City FC/USA), Jhamir Ordain (Santos), Bryan Oviedo (Everton/England), Jose Salvatierra (Alajuelense), Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps/Canada)

MIDFIELDERS: Randall Azofeifa (Herediano), Cristian Bolaños (Vancouver Whitecaps/Canada), Celso Borges (Deportivo La Coruña/Spain), Joel Campbell (Sporting Lisbon/Portugal), David Guzman (Saprissa), Bryan Ruiz (Sporting Lisbon), Yeltsin Tejeda (Lausanne Sports/Switzerland), Rodney Wallace (Sport Recife/Brazil)

FORWARDS: Yendrick Ruiz (Herediano), Marcos Ureña (Brondby/Denmark), Johan Venegas (Impact de Montreal/Canada)
Post by: frico on October 10, 2016, 03:40:06 AM
Costa Rica beat Russia yesterday 09-10-16 away in Russia 3-4,how are we planning to put a couple pass them without answer.
Post by: soccerman on October 10, 2016, 08:29:55 AM
Saw the CR result yesterday and was a little surprised to see them pull it off, let's see how we do on the road tomorrow. We'll need to be consistent in terms of quality performances throughout the HEX because in the words of buju "it's not an easy road"
Post by: asylumseeker on October 10, 2016, 08:42:29 AM
http://www.ticotimes.net/2016/10/09/costa-rica-tops-russia-4-3-road-friendly
Post by: Tallman on October 13, 2016, 05:59:19 PM
Tickets for Trinidad and Tobago versus Costa Rica on sale from Monday October 17th
TTFA Media

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association is pleased to announce the sale of tickets for the upcoming CONCACAF Final Round World Cup qualifier between Trinidad and Tobago and Costa Rica will begin on Monday October 17th, 2016 at Lotto locations nationwide.

There will be early bird tickets on sale from Monday  until November 4th. Those tickets will cost $300 (covered section) and $160 (uncovered section). From November 5th until match-day, tickets will then cost $350 (covered) and $200 (uncovered). The tickets are available exclusive through Suntixx Caribbean Limited at all Lotto locations in Trinidad and Tobago.

The TTFA introduced a new ticketing system for its events through an affiliation with Sun Tixx Caribbean Limited and G Tech which allowed fans from far and wide to access tickets for the match through the country’s 900 Lotto outlets. And final reports indicated that supporters from 100 plus areas, comprising of towns, villages and boroughs including the cities of Port of Spain and San Fernando as well as Tobago had easy access to tickets which were purchased at the various outlets.

Sales were recorded in areas such as Barrackpore, Caparo, Caroni, Cedros, Chatam, Cumuto, La Brea, Laventille, Sangre Grande, Toco, Los Iros, Santa Flora, Talparo, Tableland, Sea Lots, Williamsville, Wallerfield, Mt Lambert and Lopinot among other places which in the past would not have been the case.

The TTFA also wishes to remind fans that the Season Passes remain on sale and are now available at all First Citizen’s Bank branches across the country. Season passes cost $2000 (covered) and $1000 (uncovered). These Season passes will allow the patron entry to all home matches in the CONCACAF final round and all official national teams (men and women, senior and youth teams) matches through to November, 2017.
Title: Re: Thread for the T&T vs Costa Rica Game (11/12-Jun-2017)
Post by: palos on October 13, 2016, 07:16:17 PM
Any idea what time this match on November 11 at HC Stadium is scheduled for?
Post by: Flex on October 14, 2016, 01:54:25 AM
Tickets for T&T versus Costa Rica on Sale from Monday October 17th.
TTFA Media

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association is pleased to announce the sale of tickets for the upcoming CONCACAF Final Round World Cup qualifier between Trinidad and Tobago and Costa Rica will begin on Monday October 17th, 2016 at Lotto locations nationwide.

There will be early bird tickets on sale from Monday  until November 4th. Those tickets will cost $300 (covered section) and $160 (uncovered section). From November 5th until match-day, tickets will then cost $350 (covered) and $200 (uncovered). The tickets are available exclusive through Suntixx Caribbean Limited at all Lotto locations in Trinidad and Tobago.

The TTFA introduced a new ticketing system for its events through an affiliation with Sun Tixx Caribbean Limited and G Tech which allowed fans from far and wide to access tickets for the match through the country’s 900 Lotto outlets. And final reports indicated that supporters from 100 plus areas, comprising of towns, villages and boroughs including the cities of Port of Spain and San Fernando as well as Tobago had easy access to tickets which were purchased at the various outlets.

Sales were recorded in areas such as Barrackpore, Caparo, Caroni, Cedros, Chatam, Cumuto, La Brea, Laventille, Sangre Grande, Toco, Los Iros, Santa Flora, Talparo, Tableland, Sea Lots, Williamsville, Wallerfield, Mt Lambert and Lopinot among other places which in the past would not have been the case.

The TTFA also wishes to remind fans that the Season Passes remain on sale and are now available at all First Citizen’s Bank branches across the country. Season passes cost $2000 (covered) and $1000 (uncovered). These Season passes will allow the patron entry to all home matches in the CONCACAF final round and all official national teams (men and women, senior and youth teams) matches through to November, 2017.

Post by: frico on October 17, 2016, 02:44:43 PM
The way things are looking at the moment,it is quite possible we won't qualify for the Caribbean Cup,so no Gold Cup either,what is worse there's nothing to suggest that we will beat anybody in the Hex,so no Russia 2018.
WE BLIGHT!
Post by: maxg on October 17, 2016, 05:26:11 PM
doom and gloom.. I rather wait for the final whistle of the last game,, even if we have 0 points after the 1st 5, and even after that, I bawlin Let's go T &T..ah vex, but ah have nobody else to back
Post by: sjahrain on October 17, 2016, 05:33:26 PM
You waving that white flag to early......natty :devil:
Post by: KND2 on October 18, 2016, 03:56:27 AM
Costa Rica have a good squad make no mistake about it.

On paper their players are better than us.
They are currently in better form
They are better prepared.
They have more experience.

Make no mistake about this we will be defending for most of the game.

The good thing is that we at home and we always see to play better at home.
Everyone will be motivated
This is a chance to go to the world cup and we in with a chance.

Hopefully we can keep it close and pull out a win.
Post by: ON DE BLOCK on October 20, 2016, 09:11:52 PM
 OK guys, this is as simple as it gets, on the 11th day of the 11th month 2016, if we could beat costa rica we could win the world cup...
Post by: g on October 21, 2016, 05:30:44 AM
In football 2 plus 2 isn't always 4. Most of the times it's either 3 or 5

Never forget.
Post by: frico on October 21, 2016, 08:27:37 AM
My hope...CR plays their worst match and we play the best we have played for a while,we stick a cheeky one on them in the last 5 minutes and end up with a 1-nil win. :)
Post by: injunchile on October 21, 2016, 11:56:19 AM
11 vs 11. With the home crowd and the way we [played against Mexico twice. We can pull a win at home. The key to getting to Russia is not to lose at home. O ye of little faith
Post by: Sando prince on October 26, 2016, 03:02:08 AM
It is important for us to not surrender 3 pts at home. Every match in the final round is very important. I am hoping for a win altho CR is the better team on paper

Like Benjai say here, win lose or draw ah will still support  :beermug:
https://www.facebook.com/SocaTv/posts/1178340332240826
Post by: Controversial on October 28, 2016, 12:12:19 AM
Last time I check, costa didn't beat a full strength Mexico team or give them trouble like our side.. so I can't agree with everybody doom and gloom bullshit that they preaching...

Pound for pound we are a more talented team, just because their players are playing for better clubs don't mean they are more talented... we have more talent but it's sad that we don't have good agents from Trinidad, language and other factors contribute to our players not going to bigger clubs... and it's not about our lack of talent..
Post by: Sando prince on October 28, 2016, 03:11:45 AM
@Contro you think CR will beat a team like Martinique? ;D last time I checked we get our ass whipped from Martinique  :D

Anyway T&T has to play one of their best games to get a result, that is just the reality. Whether they do it or not is left to be seen
Post by: frico on October 28, 2016, 02:00:35 PM
On a very bad day CR will still beat Martinique, the little I saw of Martinique....they look like ah bunch of ruffians, that may be the reason we lost.We got ruffed up, but the injury to Jones and Molino saga played against us.
Post by: Dutty Love on October 28, 2016, 05:01:12 PM
Last time I check, costa didn't beat a full strength Mexico team or give them trouble like our side.. so I can't agree with everybody doom and gloom bullshit that they preaching...

Pound for pound we are a more talented team, just because their players are playing for better clubs don't mean they are more talented... we have more talent but it's sad that we don't have good agents from Trinidad, language and other factors contribute to our players not going to bigger clubs... and it's not about our lack of talent..

😂😂😂
Post by: vb on October 30, 2016, 03:17:57 PM
Bostock playing?
Post by: Trin on October 30, 2016, 11:30:10 PM

Who is that?
Post by: Deeks on October 31, 2016, 06:17:51 AM
At least Bobby Zamora did not show up.
Post by: Controversial on October 31, 2016, 12:50:59 PM

😂😂😂

Men on here suffering from an inferiority complex, which is laughable...

If you have no confidence in the team stop posting, since plenty men on here predict a loss.. because of a loss to Martinique...which a lot of factors came into play there..
Post by: Dutty Love on October 31, 2016, 03:00:27 PM

😂😂😂

Men on here suffering from an inferiority complex, which is laughable...

If you have no confidence in the team stop posting, since plenty men on here predict a loss.. because of a loss to Martinique...which a lot of factors came into play there..

It's no inferiority complex is being realistic. can you explain to me where T&T would be more talented than Costa Rica?

Let's take some of their likely starters

Navas - Real Madrid vs Williams Really?
Gamboa - Celtics - vs Cyrus at W Connection,failed twice in MLS plus numerous trials...Really?
Gonzalez - Palermo - vs Bateau off and on starter in Russia lower table team
Duarte - Espanyol vs Abu Bakr playing in Estonia a semi pro league ?
Matarrita (best MLS left back by a long shot or Oviedo (Everton) and another back up Junior Diaz at Mainz in Bundesliga

Bryan Ruiz - Best player at Sporting Lisboa
Celso Borges - Dep La Coruna

Joel Campbell vs Shahdon Winchester or Trevin Cesar

T&T has to play the perfect game because the odds are in Costa Rica favor by a long long shot. The beauty of the game is that anything can happen like Costa Rica topping Italy, Uruguay and England's group in 2014 is an example. But for sure they didn't prepare for it thinking they had more talent than Italy!
Post by: Preacher on October 31, 2016, 05:41:45 PM
I don't care who they have written down.  The more stars they got the more they have to prove. 

T&T vs Sweden.   T&T vs Mexico   We can play them and win. 
Post by: palos on October 31, 2016, 06:02:28 PM
It have some major weak heart in here sah

Wheeeyyysss  ???
Post by: g on November 01, 2016, 05:43:23 AM
It have some major weak heart in here sah

Wheeeyyysss  ???

To be fair a TT Football fan is a labour of love. Over the years we have generally under performed. Deep down everybody wants the team to do well but I get a feeling most on this board and outside just know the cycles we go through so not much optimism given the quality of opposition in this round.

I still feel we good enough with this group. The team will get the public behind them if they really have a good game on the 11th, if we can manage a clean sheet that will be excellent.

By the way, what is the status of Kenwyne Jones? 10 days before the match, is the recovered from injury? I havent seen him for Central FC since.

Post by: Adam Lake on November 01, 2016, 01:19:22 PM
Wdma I reading inside here boy..... Alyuh sure this is a Soca Warriors fan club...?

I agree C. Rica might seem better on paper, but dat don't mean Shit come gameday... Nobody expected the results against Mexico last year, but we pulled it off. No one expected the great showing we had in the Gold Cup but we pulled it off. No one expected that we would have qualified for Germany in 06, but we pulled it off... 

Our boys always find a way to rise to the occasion especially against better teams..  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: Win Lose or Fackin Draw.... We goin Russia!
Post by: Tallman on November 01, 2016, 05:44:54 PM
WATCH: Promo for Trinidad and Tobago vs Costa Rica

https://www.youtube.com/v/Y1orVhlvdjM
Title: Boucaud: We must regain our rhythm
Post by: Tallman on November 01, 2016, 06:25:45 PM
Boucaud: We must regain our rhythm
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s English-based midfielder Andre Boucaud is coming to terms with the reality that this is his final chance to qualify and possibly play in a FIFA World Cup Finals.

And with that in mind, the 32-year-old player who was born in Enfield, is stressing the need for this country to make a strong start in the CONCACAF Final Round of qualifying which begins on November 11th against Costa Rica at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. That encounter will be quickly followed by an away clash to Honduras.

The Costa Ricans are definitely one of the giants in the region, appearing in four FIFA World Cups, reaching the quarter-finals of the 2014 competition and boasting the likes of Real Madrid goalkeeper Keylor Navas, Sporting Lisbon duo Joel Campbell and Bryan Ruiz, Everton defender Bryan Oviedo, Deportivo La Coruna midfielder Celso Borges and Saprissa defender Francisco Calvo, former teammate of T&T defender Aubrey David.

“Have no two minds about it, we are playing one of the favourites and giants in CONCACAF on November 11th,” Boucaud told TTFA Media.

“Everyone’s maybe thinking oh well they’re not Mexico or USA, but they are right up there. Obviously we are not going to go into the match intimidated by them but we have to respect what they are capable of. And they will be coming here thinking that it’s not going to be their hardest away game based on history because we’ve never beaten them in Trinidad. It’s so important that we have our best game on the day and that the people come out and stand strongly behind the team,” Boucaud said.

Nine of his 42 appearances for T&T have been World Cup qualifiers including a 2-1 win over St Kitts/Nevis at Warner Park courtesy of a last gasp Stern John winner in a 2006 qualifier. Boucaud had a nine-year gap between his appearance in that semi-final round in 2004 and his next run out for T&T in 2013 against Romania in Bucharest. He has since made 36 appearances in T&T colours.

“I was part of the team in the 2006 campaign and I’m feel honoured about that but obviously I didn’t go on to play in the final round and so this ‘Hex” means a great deal to me and the rest of the guys in the squad. This is huge for us. To me it’s bigger than the Gold Cup and maybe even the Copa because it has more worth to us. If you do well here you get to go to the World Cup whereas the Copa and the Gold Cup are just one off tournaments unless of course you win the Gold Cup and get to the Confederations Cup.

“I think every player has come to realise that this is the real deal and if we can start well at home to Costa Rica and then go to Honduras and get a good result then things are going to begin look really good for us. The most important thing is that we pick ourselves up and return to the being the team we were over the past two years up until the USA game last year. Maybe we lost a bit of momentum this year but we’ve got to find our rhythm again from the next two games,” the 32-year-old Boucaud added.

Boucaud’s career in England spans over fourteen years including time at Reading FC, Peterborough, Luton Town, Notts County, Wycombe Wanderers, Aldershot Town, York City and Dagenham and Redbridge at present.

T&T head coach Stephen Hart is expected to name his final squad later this week with players beginning to arrive into camp from this coming weekend

Tickets remain on sale at all Lotto Locations with the early bird sale running until Friday. Those tickets currently cost $300 (covered section) and $160 (uncovered section). From November 5th until match-day, tickets will then cost $350 (covered) and $200 (uncovered).

Season Passes are available at all First Citizens Bank Branches nationwide. Fans can call the TTFA season pass hotline at 270-6868 for more information.
Post by: Sando prince on November 02, 2016, 06:10:52 AM

Sorry but people are convinced by performances. if the team has not been performing well then the most you can expect is for support in the form of 'hope'. Doh come with no chupid talk about weak heart like you know for sure T&T will beat a more talented team. How strong was your heart when we take four in we pweffen in America? How strong was your heart when we lose to Martinique with a number of top players in the team? Your heart saw how our defense has played in recent games? steupse
Post by: palos on November 02, 2016, 08:32:10 AM

Sorry but people are convinced by performances. if the team has not been performing well then the most you can expect is for support in the form of 'hope'. Doh come with no chupid talk about weak heart like you know for sure T&T will beat a more talented team. How strong was your heart when we take four in we pweffen in America? How strong was your heart when we lose to Martinique with a number of top players in the team? Your heart saw how our defense has played in recent games? steupse

Doh take it so hard sorf prince
Post by: Sando prince on November 02, 2016, 10:33:16 AM

That was just ah small tap on yuh head old man palos
Post by: palos on November 02, 2016, 11:43:22 AM

That was just ah small tap on yuh head old man palos

Post by: SHOTTA on November 02, 2016, 10:37:09 PM
anybody thinking that we should play joevin at lb? just like his club football. it'll allow us to play levi from the start and help us to overload that left side attack and hopefully peg ruiz back a little. both players being quick also means that they can be expected to get back etc.

im hoping to see a relationship like that between spann and edwards  on the right side in the 05 hex. both skillful players really generated excitement and quality on that right side.
Title: Costa Rica returns with full-strength lineup
Post by: Tallman on November 03, 2016, 05:02:12 AM
Costa Rica returns with full-strength lineup in last step toward World Cup qualifying
By Michael Krumholtz (The Tico Times News)

To beat the best, you better bring your best.

For one of the first times under Óscar Ramírez’s regime, the Costa Rican national football team will have all of its top players available as they try to clinch a spot in the 2018 World Cup. In less than two weeks, Costa Rica will begin the final stage of CONCACAF’s World Cup Qualifying, known as the Hexagonal.

La Sele will first travel to Trinidad & Tobago on Nov. 11 before coming back home to take on the United States at the National Stadium on Nov. 15 to kick off the first part of the six-team round robin.

Ramírez announced his lineup at a Wednesday press conference at the Costa Rican Football Federation’s (FEDEFUTBOL) headquarters, listing the who’s who of Costa Rican football. Led by star goalie Keylor Navas, captain Bryan Ruíz, and midfielder Celso Borges, the lineup is as healthy as ever.

As usual, Ramírez’s selection includes a heavy reliance on defenders, with nine of the 23 call-ups being defensemen. Of course, the return of Navas will dominate headlines, but beyond the Real Madrid keeper lies proof of a strong overall lineup that should help La Sele get off to an important 2-0 start in the Hexagonal’s first stage.

Though the midfield will lack normal starters Giancarlo González and Óscar Duarte, and on paper looks to be the weakest part of this selection, there are still plenty of other players to rely on who have already played big minutes. Wingers Bryan Oviedo and Cristian Gamboa also give the team big-game experience, while Ramírez favorites such as Kendall Waston and Ronald Matarrita have proven their worth within “El Profe’s” five-man backline.

During his press conference, Ramírez mentioned how important it will be to counter Trinidad & Tobago’s speed in transition plays. Young Matarrita, though often defeated in one-on-one matchups, excels in transition by turning defense into immediate offense. He’s a sort of defense/midfield breed that acts as this team’s funnel and becomes invaluable for setting up plays against teams such as Trinidad & Tobago that want to rely on speed.

In the second leg, against a United States team that embarrassed La Sele 4-0 in June, it will be key for Costa Rica’s experienced midfield to impose its will on the U.S. and its historically shaky middle. Ruíz and Borges are the known commodities here, but they were also the two biggest culprits of atrocious play in Chicago. Those two leaders, along with the suddenly revived 32-year-old Christian Bolaños, will look to dictate pace against the U.S. in a section of the field where Costa Rica has the talent edge.

Another recently injured player who could have an impact going forward is striker Ariel Rodríguez. After missing June’s Copa América because of injury, the longtime Saprissa star, who’s now playing in Thailand, could provide this team with some much-needed consistency on offense.

Like Rodríguez, another potentially interesting addition is Rodney Wallace. Though it’s been four years since Wallace last competed for La Sele in a World Cup qualifying match, the forward who plays his club ball in Brazil could inject some life into an attack that too often seems passive with normal starters Marco Ureña and Joel Campbell.

Full 23-man roster below with clubs in parenthesis:

Goalkeepers: Keylor Navas (Real Madrid), Patrick Pemberton (Alajuelense), Esteban Alvarado (Trabzonspor)

Defenders: Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps), Bryan Oviedo (Everton), Cristian Gamboa (Celtic), Ronald Matarrita (New York City FC), Francisco Calvo (Saprissa), Johnny Acosta (Herediano), Jose Salvatierra (Alajuelense), Michael Umaña (Alajuelense)

Midfielders: Pablo Salazar (Herediano), David Guzman (Saprissa), Randall Azofeifa (Herediano), Celso Borges (Deportivo de La Coruña), Yeltsin Tejeda (Lausanne), Bryan Ruiz (Sporting Lisbon), Christian Bolaños (Vancouver Whitecaps)

Forwards: Rodney Wallace (Sport Recife), Johan Venegas (Montreal Impact), Joel Campbell (Sporting Lisbon), Ariel Rodriguez (Bangkok Glass), Marco Ureña (Brondby)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CwRgd5GXYAES9Z2.jpg)
Post by: g on November 03, 2016, 07:04:00 AM
In this final round it's all about tactics, team selection and keeping clean sheets.

My hope is for more pragmatism than adventure in this round. When look at some video from 2005 key for us was Chris Birchall's work ethic in particular as defensive cover for the wing backs. Who can play a similar role in this round that will be tactically disciplined and have the engine to do that work in the current squad?

Offense may get us a few goals but defense will get us to the WC.

I still believe we need a sports psychologist.
Post by: Tallman on November 03, 2016, 07:35:45 AM
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago vs Costa Rica (World Cup Qualifying Preview)

https://www.youtube.com/v/BfNiSKbC2SM
Title: Hart to announce squad tomorrow
Post by: Tallman on November 03, 2016, 08:37:03 AM
Hart to announce squad tomorrow
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday)

STEPHEN HART, the Trinidad and Tobago football team coach, will reveal on Friday whether midfielder Kevin Molino will be involved with the squad, for the forthcoming FIFA World Cup Qualifiers CONCACAF Final Round matches against Costa Rica (at home on November 11) and Honduras (away on November 15).

Molino was dropped by Hart for the October 11 Caribbean Cup qualifier away to Martinique — to qualify automatically for the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup — for his second breach of team curfew.

The 26-year-old Orlando City SC midfielder subsequently announced his desire to take a year-long sabbatical from international future, a plan he quashed a week later.

Nonetheless, Hart stated in a telephone interview on Monday that he will have the final say whether or not Molino will be recalled to the team.

“It’s a decision that has been left with me,” said the TT coach.

“I’ll make that decision and everybody will find out about it when the squad is announced.” Concerning the technical staff’s preparations for the forthcoming qualifiers, Hart said, “things are fine.

I’ve been watching all the foreign-based and local (based) players that I think warrant selection.

And we have some players that have returned from their clubs early.

“We have them in training with various (local) clubs and with (TT team trainer) Tobias Ottley,” Hart continued. “From that standpoint, things are going well.” Hart, as is his custom, will be announcing a squad of 23 players, inclusive of three goalkeepers.

“You don’t want something to happen and you’re stuck away with just one goalkeeper (in reserve),” he noted.

Team captain Kenwyne Jones suffered a minor ligament tear to his knee against Martinique.

But Hart admitted that Jones has returned to full training with his loan club Central FC, though his parent club Atlanta United sent a special training programme for the 32-year-old striker.

Asked about the latest with English-born midfielder John Bostock, who is yet to be given clearance by FIFA to switch allegiances and represent the national squad, Hart said, “it’s with FIFA.” He stated, “we have sent in everything that FIFA has requested.

And we are just waiting for some kind of word from FIFA.”
Post by: soccerman on November 03, 2016, 09:36:44 AM
Asked about the latest with English-born midfielder John Bostock, who is yet to be given clearance by FIFA to switch allegiances and represent the national squad, Hart said, “it’s with FIFA.” He stated, “we have sent in everything that FIFA has requested.

And we are just waiting for some kind of word from FIFA.”
:waiting:
Post by: trini_stallion on November 03, 2016, 11:37:19 AM
So regarding bostock that means he not in the squad yet because FIFA dragging their balls
Post by: Sam on November 03, 2016, 12:15:24 PM

Goalkeepers: Keylor Navas (Real Madrid), Patrick Pemberton (Alajuelense), Esteban Alvarado (Trabzonspor)

Defenders: Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps), Bryan Oviedo (Everton), Cristian Gamboa (Celtic), Ronald Matarrita (New York City FC), Francisco Calvo (Saprissa), Johnny Acosta (Herediano), Jose Salvatierra (Alajuelense), Michael Umaña (Alajuelense)

Midfielders: Pablo Salazar (Herediano), David Guzman (Saprissa), Randall Azofeifa (Herediano), Celso Borges (Deportivo de La Coruña), Yeltsin Tejeda (Lausanne), Bryan Ruiz (Sporting Lisbon), Christian Bolaños (Vancouver Whitecaps)

Forwards: Rodney Wallace (Sport Recife), Johan Venegas (Montreal Impact), Joel Campbell (Sporting Lisbon), Ariel Rodriguez (Bangkok Glass), Marco Ureña (Brondby)

Steups...

I respect Costa Rica, but T&T could more than beat that team.

Come on T&T, bull them hard !!!!!!

Campbell does play like he have no brian, running up and down, he have some toes yea.

Oviedo does do good going forward, but he slow, so we have to attack down where he defending.

Ruiz is good yea, but he weak, leggo George on he and keep him close, he cah go no where.

Guzman, Waston and Bolaños eh nothing special.

T&T have to play them like they play Mexico, rough they ass up and unsettle them.

We could do it if we players play like they should.

Post by: Deeks on November 03, 2016, 12:34:40 PM
We should forget about Bostock. I don't feel he wants to play.
What so special, that it is taking this long. You would swear this man
applying for a CIA job. Frigg this bull crap.
Post by: g on November 03, 2016, 01:30:38 PM
We should forget about Bostock. I don't feel he wants to play.
What so special, that it is taking this long. You would swear this man
applying for a CIA job. Frigg this bull crap.

If it were Bostock i feel the TTFA management would have indicated such by now. I genuinely think this is a FIFA issue, I would want to understand what recourse do we have to get some action, Court of Arbitration for Sport? Are we afraid to rock the boat given that we only recently started back to get FIFA funding? Given the FIFA response and our own inaction maybe the team management is OK with the status quo.
Post by: gawd on pitch on November 03, 2016, 02:19:20 PM

Steups...

I respect Costa Rica, but T&T could more than beat that team.

Come on T&T, bull them hard !!!!!!

Campbell does play like he have no brian, running up and down, he have some toes yea.

Oviedo does do good going forward, but he slow, so we have to attack down where he defending.

Ruiz is good yea, but he weak, leggo George on he and keep him close, he cah go no where.

Guzman, Waston and Bolaños eh nothing special.

T&T have to play them like they play Mexico, rough they ass up and unsettle them.

We could do it if we players play like they should.

Yuh hit right in the head Sam. We need to rough them up. That will not allow them to settle. Plus it will throw them off their game. We playing at home, so we will get away with the rough play.

Hart said it the best " we usually play to the same quality as our opposition". Very true.

I say it coming down to two game plans:

- We either playing cagey
- Or open style like South America

Mayne we might need both
Post by: Deeks on November 03, 2016, 03:07:56 PM
We need to rough them up. That will not allow them to settle.

Word of caution with this "rough them UP" talk. We need to be firm and resolute when playing. Especially in Central America. Their players are notorious submariners when touched on the shoulders with a feather. I think our guys need to do more gym work, more so for strength, and not some much for bulk. Now when  they get that strength, they should use it wisely. Not blade them at all cost.
Post by: gawd on pitch on November 03, 2016, 04:24:50 PM
We need to rough them up. That will not allow them to settle.

Word of caution with this "rough them UP" talk. We need to be firm and resolute when playing. Especially in Central America. Their players are notorious submariners when touched on the shoulders with a feather. I think our guys need to do more gym work, more so for strength, and not some much for bulk. Now when  they get that strength, they should use it wisely. Not blade them at all cost.

Me and Sam ain't calling for the blades. We calling for the shoulder charges and thing like that.. no need to skate on the ground
Title: Levi: We must be disciplined but ruthless
Post by: Tallman on November 03, 2016, 05:22:58 PM
Levi: We must be disciplined but ruthless
TTFA Media

Only once in all-time history has Trinidad and Tobago defeated Costa Rica in a World Cup qualifying match at any level. It occurred on Monday April 8th, 2013 in La Chorrera, Panama when this country’s national under 17 men’s team pulled off a 2-0 win over the Central Americans in a CONCACAF Final Round encounter, a result which helped push them through to the quarter final stage.

Netherland-based winger Levi Garcia played the match in its entirety and recalls it vividly. At 15 years, he was given the starting role by coach Shawn Cooper for a match that T&T needed to win after suffering a 2-0 loss to Canada in the opening match.

Now Garcia is hoping to play his part in spurring Stephen Hart’s team off to a winning start to the CONCACAF Final Round of qualification for the 2018 World Cup next Friday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

“Oh yes I remember that match. It was such a joy because we found out after that no national team had ever beaten Costa Rica in a World Cup qualifying match so it felt great to be part of that team,” Garcia told TTFA Media on Thursday.

“I remember we knew Costa Rica were a big team and we were a bit down after losing the first game against Canada. We played really well but we just couldn’t score and then we fixed that in the second game against them (Costa Rica). That was one of my most pleasing experiences as a national youth player,” he said.

Turning 19 on November 20th, Garcia knows that the responsibilities and the expectations are greater now. The stakes are much higher this time around.

“Yes. It’s a totally different stage. For me it’s very exciting. A year ago I maybe didn’t think that I would be on this stage with the senior team. It’s a lot more pressure but now pressure in the sense that it’s a big weight. I have grown and matured over the past year since I moved to Holland but I am still learning every day and the maturing process is continuing for me,” Garcia continued.

“I believe that this game is very important and it will take a big effort from every player from the entire squad, not just for this game but all of our matches in this round. I am confident that we can do it but we have to be smart and disciplined and of course ruthless when we are out there. Nothing must go past us easily and we have to make use of our chances on goal in the games,” he said.
Post by: palos on November 03, 2016, 05:49:57 PM
Ah guess we know 2 names for sure on the team list that will be announced on Friday
Post by: lefty on November 03, 2016, 06:16:15 PM
garcia needs to learn how to share the ball and hold up his play to get support, too greedy against the US, the interplay between the front four that we used so effectively against mexico was nonexistent until he was taken off.
Post by: g on November 04, 2016, 06:56:38 AM
Squad announcing today. Can't see too many changes in the mix. Molino is expected to be recalled in light of the FA's position. Will Cummings get a recall after a long term absence? Any new faces expected or status quo?
Post by: soccerman on November 04, 2016, 07:47:38 AM
I will like to see Molino back, considering of course he properly apologized to Hart, his teammates and the staff.
Post by: trini_stallion on November 04, 2016, 11:52:19 AM
Squad announced. No molino, yes bostock
Post by: trini_stallion on November 04, 2016, 11:53:10 AM
The 23-man Trinidad and Tobago Squad for this Friday's CONCACAF World Cup Qualifier against Costa Rica has just been announced by Head Coach Stephen Hart.

Goalkeepers
Marvin Phillip,Jan-Michael Williams,Adrian Foncette

Defenders

Radanfah Abu Bakr, Sheldon Bateau, Yohance Marshall, Carlyle Mitchell, Aubrey David, Jelani Peters, Daneil Cyrus

Midfielders

Andre Boucaud, Khaleem Hyland, Neveal Hackshaw, Cordell Cato, Jomal Williams, Levi Garcia, Joevin Jones, John Bostock, Kevan George, Marcus Joseph

Forwards

Trevin Caesar, Willis Plaza, Kenwyne Jones
Post by: trini_stallion on November 04, 2016, 11:55:34 AM
Well fellas...this is the warriors that going to open up our World Cup 2018 account. Good luck to the entire team. Rise to the occasion. Faith and trust is bestowed upon each and everyone of you guys. Red white and black alll the way!!
Post by: soccerman on November 04, 2016, 12:07:49 PM
Plaza's back as well.
Post by: Tallman on November 04, 2016, 12:40:59 PM
(https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/t31.0-8/14939506_10154311353478929_5178971877308789280_o.jpg)
Post by: g on November 04, 2016, 12:45:41 PM
Plaza is having a good run of form in the pro league, fair recall. I guess Molino will serve a sabbatical hopefully just for these two games. I know Hart had a press conference so i am not sure what the circumstances are with respect to him and the player.

I see Marshall is in for Williams too. Peters in for Hodge. I thought Hodge was decent versus Dom Rep.

Bostock named again, hopefully the FIFA issue is finally resolved.
Post by: Controversial on November 05, 2016, 01:33:15 AM
Bostock should start and Levi may need to come off the bench... unless hart wants to attack and press high initially but I doubt it because Cummings is the man in the middle for that type of strategy ...

Bostock will have to be that creative mid for us since there is no Cummings, no Molino and no guerra..Cato I hope will factor into this and do well
Post by: asylumseeker on November 05, 2016, 04:22:46 AM
We like to discuss players who didn't make the squad. Hector comes to mind.

Really positive to see Hackshaw steadily making his case.

We shouldn't overlook that this squad is built for TWO opponents, not one.
Post by: Deeks on November 05, 2016, 08:13:31 AM
I just hope our mid field can dominate this game. If our midfield/forward don't show up. That is it.
Post by: g on November 05, 2016, 11:43:43 AM
Two defensive midfielders vs Costa Rica even though we are at home. If the front 4 can play compact they will create chances.

If by Hart's own admission that CR is the best team in the group then he needs to demonstrate pragmatism in his approach.

Stay compact and play the counter attack and convert what the game gives us.
Post by: lefty on November 05, 2016, 02:22:53 PM
Two defensive midfielders vs Costa Rica even though we are at home. If the front 4 can play compact they will create chances.

If by Hart's own admission that CR is the best team in the group then he needs to demonstrate pragmatism in his approach.

Stay compact and play the counter attack and convert what the game gives us.

ting is we not very good at that.......I would favor us pressing and encourage our front four to stay compact to each other and maintain a fast press.....we really haven't done that as much since Mexico and we look like having the beating of any team in concacaf if we can play like that consistently along with plugging the holes in defense.....players have gone back to simply stopping when they loose the ball, that needs to stop.
Post by: Trin on November 05, 2016, 04:37:23 PM
Could still high press in a 2 3 mid field with two defensive mids. Thats the formation Klopp uses. I agree this will probably be the plan. Who would be the two d mids two of Hyland, George and Boucaud? You will need someone to play Gundogan's role in the d mid. A man who doh bun.

If... if.. Bostock get cleared do you play him in the middle or on the wing? I wonder if he could play that position. Havent see enough of him play. Does he even start?
Post by: sub1 on November 06, 2016, 04:21:41 PM
Can anyone give me some Info on Jelani Peters (Tallman). The team seems like a good one except for SH insistence on Cyrus. I wish he could prove me wrong but, to me, that player has neither the talent nor football intellect to prove me wrong.
 Honestly , I can see us out of the running very early in the hex. As a coach, i believe that SH has reached his apex which is just not good enough for this final 6.

Prove me wrong SH , both with the onfield tactics and your Team selections. I could call out a couple other players who, imo, are not up to this level but Cyrus is a hugeee standout, a grain of sand in the apple of the fans' eyes, but a seemingly automatic selection on your and our national team!!  SMH, please tell me what you see in this player. The opposition see a path to the goal and a dangerous long thrower. If only one could wipe out the other.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 06, 2016, 05:01:09 PM
By now it's clear that Cyrus presents the best option there. With compromises we have to accept.
Post by: Trin on November 06, 2016, 09:48:37 PM
Cyrus brings attacking wing back play, long throws, crosses and recovery speed. Unfortunately he also brings bone head mistakes and big gaps at the gap.

Still waiting for him to have his Cyd Grey epiphany moment. When it all comes together. Maybe thats what Hart waiting for too.
Post by: g on November 07, 2016, 06:20:57 AM
Cyrus brings attacking wing back play, long throws, crosses and recovery speed. Unfortunately he also brings bone head mistakes and big gaps at the gap.

Still waiting for him to have his Cyd Grey epiphany moment. When it all comes together. Maybe thats what Hart waiting for too.

Cyrus is exceptionally talented, in addition to the above, his one on one defending is actually very good as well. He is one of those naturally gifted talents that unfortunately fails to realize his full potential.

His problem is and always has been fitness, physical and mental fitness, because he not always match fit, he mentally switches off and gets caught out of position and has to rely on the recovery speed to cover himself. Kid mentality too, into the bling Trini lifestyle rather than pushing himself to move out to an overseas club on a permanent basis to further develop himself.

If the team had a proper sports psychologist he is a prime candidate for the couch.
Post by: trini_stallion on November 07, 2016, 11:53:19 AM
Bostock papers signed by FIFA. He can officially suit up for the Red White and Black!!
Post by: soccerman on November 07, 2016, 11:55:22 AM
Bostock papers signed by FIFA. He can officially suit up for the Red White and Black!!
Where did you see that or get that info from?
Post by: trini_stallion on November 07, 2016, 11:56:05 AM
National Senior Team coach Stephen Hart confirmed that Bostock, a former Crystal Palace and Tottenham Spurs midfielder, is now officially a Trinidad and Tobago player.

“I think it is a very positive thing for us,” said Hart. “We knew that there [would be] a ruling early in November and we were very hopeful because we had submitted everything.”

Bostock’s availability is likely to soften the blow of Kevin Molino’s absence, as the Orlando City midfielder was suspended by national coach Stephen Hart for the Costa Rica outing and the subsequent trip to Honduras on 15 November—after breaching team rules to party twice in a month.

A tall, elegant player with a fierce left foot shot from open play and set pieces, Bostock generally operates as a box to box midfielder. But Hart has suggested that he could also use him in Molino’s “Number 10” role alongside captain and forward Kenwyne Jones.

“I think it is a big addition because he can play two positions, in central midfield or further forward as the ‘t10’,” Hart told Wired868. “So that gives us flexibility. Plus, he is well known for his set plays. So we now have him and Joevin [Jones] for those.”I'm
Post by: soccerman on November 07, 2016, 12:18:59 PM
Post by: g on November 07, 2016, 01:08:41 PM
Finally!! Boss dem Bostock!!
Post by: gawd on pitch on November 07, 2016, 01:13:15 PM
http://wired868.com/2016/11/07/heeeeres-johnny-fifa-gives-bostock-green-light-to-represent-tt-against-costa-rica/

Post by: palos on November 07, 2016, 02:22:59 PM
Possible Starting Line Up

JM Williams
Aubrey David
Carlyle Mitchell
Sheldon Bateau
Daniel Cyrus
Marcus Joseph
Khaleem Hyland
Andre Boucaud
Cordell Cato
Joevin Jones
Kenwyne Jones

OR

JM Williams
Aubrey David
Carlyle Mitchell
Sheldon Bateau
Cordell Cato
Joevin Jones
Khaleem Hyland
Kevan George
Levi Garcia
Jomal Williams
Kenwyne Jones

Post by: g on November 07, 2016, 04:00:15 PM
Hearing news that Guerra has been added to the squad.

Contro gets his wish. Let's see if he can stake a claim for a place on the field.
Title: Guerra added to the T&T Roster for World Cup Qualifier against Costa Rica
Post by: Tallman on November 07, 2016, 05:11:09 PM
Guerra added to the T&T Roster for World Cup Qualifier against Costa Rica
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Stephen Hart has added US-based midfielder Ataulla Guerra to his squad for Friday’s World Cup qualifier versus Costa Rica.

Guerra who is back in the country on offseason away from his club Charleston Battery, joined the T&T camp on Monday as the 24th player.

The 28-year-old midfielder made 26 appearances for Charleston Battery. He is a former player with Caledonia AIA, San Juan Jabloteh, Central FC and ROPS of Finland.
Post by: Adam Lake on November 07, 2016, 05:29:54 PM
National Senior Team coach Stephen Hart confirmed that Bostock, a former Crystal Palace and Tottenham Spurs midfielder, is now officially a Trinidad and Tobago player.

“I think it is a very positive thing for us,” said Hart. “We knew that there [would be] a ruling early in November and we were very hopeful because we had submitted everything.”

Bostock’s availability is likely to soften the blow of Kevin Molino’s absence, as the Orlando City midfielder was suspended by national coach Stephen Hart for the Costa Rica outing and the subsequent trip to Honduras on 15 November—after breaching team rules to party twice in a month.

A tall, elegant player with a fierce left foot shot from open play and set pieces, Bostock generally operates as a box to box midfielder. But Hart has suggested that he could also use him in Molino’s “Number 10” role alongside captain and forward Kenwyne Jones.

“I think it is a big addition because he can play two positions, in central midfield or further forward as the ‘t10’,” Hart told Wired868. “So that gives us flexibility. Plus, he is well known for his set plays. So we now have him and Joevin [Jones] for those.”I'm

About damn time! Welcome to the squad Johnny.. Gih dem hell  :beermug: 
Post by: Brownsugar on November 07, 2016, 06:15:46 PM
Whatever happened to the GK from Canada?  Can't remember the name.  He was on the bench for the last WCQ....
Post by: palos on November 07, 2016, 06:18:27 PM
Whatever happened to the GK from Canada?  Can't remember the name.  He was on the bench for the last WCQ....
Ranjitsingh.

Wham?  Yuh tink he have Dutch background or sumting?  :devil:
Post by: asylumseeker on November 07, 2016, 06:27:06 PM
Bateau and Hyland rolled in tonight.
Post by: soccerman on November 07, 2016, 07:00:42 PM
The game will be broadcasted live on Bein Friday from 5:35pm EST
Post by: gawd on pitch on November 07, 2016, 07:51:53 PM
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Stephen Hart has added US-based midfielder Ataulla Guerra to his squad for Friday’s World Cup qualifier versus Costa Rica.

Guerra who is back in the country on offseason away from his club Charleston Battery, joined the T&T camp on Monday as the 24th player.

The 28-year-old midfielder made 26 appearances for Charleston Battery. He is a former player with Caledonia AIA, San Juan Jabloteh, Central FC and ROPS of Finland.

Maybe I reading into things too much. But this call up is a back in case SOMEONE does not show up by Wednesday..
Post by: Jayerson on November 07, 2016, 08:56:30 PM
TTFA Media

Maybe I reading into things too much. But this call up is a back in case SOMEONE does not show up by Wednesday..
Yep. I was thinking the same thing.
Post by: kounty on November 07, 2016, 10:39:35 PM
TTFA Media

Jus Bless up for showing the eagerness 'Tulla. Carry it all the way - add the consistent hard work to the talent.
Post by: g on November 08, 2016, 04:37:34 AM
TTFA Media

Hart indicated that he wanted full 11 vs 11 scrimmages so the extra body was required.
Post by: trini_stallion on November 08, 2016, 05:09:05 AM
The game will be broadcasted live on Bein Friday from 5:35pm EST

Post by: trini_stallion on November 08, 2016, 05:11:29 AM
TTFA Media

Hart indicated that he wanted full 11 vs 11 scrimmages so the extra body was required.

No pal. Hart said someone picked up a small knock so he call down tulla as ah precaution. He said he eh gonna disclose who get the lil knock because CR will be gunnin for that person if they knew, and now that Tulla here,he cld 11v11 scrimmage
Title: Bostock to miss upcoming World Cup Qualifiers
Post by: Tallman on November 08, 2016, 07:37:34 AM
Bostock to miss upcoming World Cup Qualifiers
TTFA Media

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association wishes to advise that Midfielder John Bostock has withdrawn from the National Senior Men’s Team for the upcoming World Cup qualifiers against Costa Rica and Honduras due to personal reasons.

Bostock was given clearance by FIFA on Monday to represent this country. However he has informed National Senior Team Head Coach Stephen Hart that he regrettably cannot travel this week to join the rest of the squad.

The player issued a statement today, stating that he hopes to make his international debut for Trinidad and Tobago in the not too distant future.

“As many may know it has been a long process in receiving the clearance from FIFA. So understandably it is now with deep regret that due to personal reasons that I’m unable to disclose, I cannot play for Trinidad and Tobago at this stage,” Bostock told TTFA Media.

“I wish Coach Stephen Hart and the boys all the best for the upcoming games. I will of course be following the matches closely and God willing I will be able to make my international bow in the not too distant future,” Bostock stated.

Head Coach Hart added: “I had a conversation with him where he was emotional in expressing his withdrawal due to a family situation which he did not want to disclose.

“We have 23-players in the squad and we will get on with the business of preparing for Friday’s match. The mood is good and upbeat after the first couple of sessions and everyone appears to be in a good physical and mental state of mind based on how things have looked on the training field so far and we’ll have everybody in by today and with that we’ll move ahead full steam with the preparations,” Hart said.

Hart and the T&T squad continues its preparations today with a full session at the Hasely Crawford Stadium this evening. Some of the other overseas-based players joins the squad today including Mexican-based duo Jomal Williams and Yohance Marshall, Belgium-based midfielder Khaleem Hyland, defender Sheldon Bateau and Holland-based winger Levi Garcia.
Post by: g on November 08, 2016, 07:44:10 AM
(Shakes head) Par for the course in Trinidad football i guess.
Post by: Trin on November 08, 2016, 08:29:57 AM
Ground hog day.
Post by: Deeks on November 08, 2016, 09:01:48 AM
I wonder if it is club pressure.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 08, 2016, 12:22:29 PM
Things happen. Costa Rica has had to replace one if its three GKs for personal/family reasons. Posturing also happens but leh we take it for what has been stated.

By the way, it's not Navas who is being replaced.

Post by: gawd on pitch on November 08, 2016, 03:01:24 PM
Things happen. Costa Rica has had to replace one if its three GKs for personal/family reasons. Posturing also happens but leh we take it for what has been stated.

By the way, it's not Navas who is being replaced.

Well if it isn't Navas, then it really does not mean much.. That other keeper probably wasn't going to get a sweat anyways. Whereas with Bostock, he probably would have started.

For some reason I feeling good about this game. We will walk away from this game with something. More pressure on CR as they are the team to beat.
Post by: trini_stallion on November 08, 2016, 03:32:39 PM
So from the sounds of it...it's only the CR game?
Post by: Tallman on November 08, 2016, 05:35:37 PM
WATCH: The Soca Warriors engage in their first training session ahead of Friday’s World Cup Qualifier against Costa Rica

https://www.youtube.com/v/MXj9o8LXC04

WATCH: Defender Radanfah Abu Bakr looks ahead to the encounter with Costa Rica

https://www.youtube.com/v/Dr9xN7cfvB8
Post by: Brownsugar on November 08, 2016, 07:51:52 PM
Ranjitsingh.

Wham?  Yuh tink he have Dutch background or sumting?  :devil:

*cut eye*
Post by: Trin on November 09, 2016, 08:43:51 AM

For some reason I feeling good about this game. We will walk away from this game with something. More pressure on CR as they are the team to beat.

Yup
Post by: Flex on November 09, 2016, 04:41:41 PM
T&T pushes on with preparations.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago senior team goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams maintains that there is no amount of pressure on the current squad that will disrupt the mental state of Stephen Hart’s unit as they look ahead to the CONCACAF Final Round World Cup qualifier against Costa Rica on Friday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Williams, the starting custodian with local club Central FC, has not played a World Cup qualifying game for T&T since last November, missing the two victories against St Vincent and the Grenadines, Guatemala and the United States through a shoulder injury.

But he was back in the starting eleven for the recent Caribbean Cup qualifiers against Dominican Republic and Martinique.
“I think I am in a good mental position right now. The season is midway into the Pro league and we’ve played four massive games in the Concacaf Champions League so I am just hoping to make m away back not the starting team and contribute to the team on Friday,’ Williams told TTFA Media.

“Preparations for games like these are an ongoing something. It’s not just a week or two week preparation. I’ve always tried to keep myself in the right mental and physical position to be able to play in the Hex and I am quite happy to recover from the injury first and foremost.

“The amount of pressure we put on ourselves as a team, the pressure from outside cannot match up. We want to qualify for the World Cup and we know the potential we have as a group and the pressure we have on ourselves is immense but in saying that, it is not the type of pressure that will destabilise us or to make us nervous. It is the kind of pressure to motivate us and to help us to go forward and complete the objective,” he added.

The newcomer in the squad, W Connection defender Jelani Peters, spoke about his first three days with the team, describing it as challenging but enjoyable.

“It’s been a great experience so far. Most of the guys are playing outside so that’s been good for me to get the opportunity to train with them. The first session was a bit challenging but I settled in by the second day. For me this is the best set of players that have been on the national team for some time now and that makes the experience even greater for me, coming in as a local-based. I am hoping to build on this and make a worthy contribution to the team in general,” Peters said.

Hart has had two sessions with his full compliment of players at the Hasely Crawford Stadium even though Mexican-based duo Yohance Marshall and Jomal Williams and Levi Garcia had light involvement having come off the plane only a few hours earlier.

“Well the most important thing is that we have everyone here. That’s always a good sign for a coaching staff,” Hart told TTFA Media.

“The session last evening (Tuesday) was very lively, good energy and the players were consistent throughout. The next couple of days of course we will spend going over a few things with respect to the game and how we intend to go about in our approach to it.”

The T&T team trained on Wednesday evening at the Larry Gomes due the unavailability of the Hasely Crawford Stadium because of the afternoon rainfall.

During his press conference to announce his squad for the match, Costa Rica Oscar Ramírez mentioned how important it will be to counter Trinidad & Tobago’s speed in transition plays.

“They are a good team with a lot of speed and athleticism,” Ramirez said. “They have a good style and we will need to focus and be strong to close them down in the transition of their game.”

The Costa Rican team arrives at Piarco International airport on Thursday night at 7:45pm on a chartered plane. They do not have a training session scheduled for the match venue on Thursday night.

Videos -

Jomal Williams talks about preparations ahead of Costa Rica Qualifier (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KcNz1QmFUSU)

Senior Team commences training ahead of Costa Rica clash (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MXj9o8LXC04)

Security advisory for World Cup qualifier.

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association wishes to inform the Public that a meticulous Security Operational Policy will be in place, adhering to FIFA regulations to ensure  the safety and security of all those who attend the CONCACAF Final Round 2018 World Cup qualifying match between Trinidad and Tobago and Costa Rica commencing at 7:00 pm on Friday November 11th at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Several meetings and on site viewing have been conducted  with all the different arms of the Protective Services, TTFA Security officials and SPORTT to ensure that there would be a comprehensive Security Operational Plan, and all of this would be monitored and coordinated through a Venue Operations Centre in the Stadium on matchday.

That being the case, spectators can feel comfortable to know that all that is required to ensure their safety and security has and would be implemented as meticulous Security arrangements  have been made starting as soon as the teams land in our country.

A thorough research was conducted to rectify matters of the past that may have inconvenienced patrons, and even though there will be strict security protocols implemented, due to intense meetings and planning by a professional Security Secretariat that was set up to ensure that this game would be incident free. Systems will be implemented to also ensure that there would be no undue frustration for spectators such as long lines and waiting periods to enter the venue.

The TTFA will however seek the support of the public to ensure that such concerns  can be even further reduced, if they can adhere to these regulations, and this would cause the entrance into the Stadium to be made even easier for all.

Access points to Stadium- Gates

There will be Five (5) specific Gates that provide access to the Hasely Crawford Stadium

Gate 1

Main Entrance -[ Manned by Private Security of Stadium]
Only access is for maintenance staff, and to park in area east of Jean Pierre Complex only

Gate 2 A– Between Jean Pierre car park entrance point and Gate 2 B.

This is the Gate for access for Seasoned ticket holders uncovered stand
Facing northwards [where ticket sales on match day are usually conducted .Only seasoned uncovered stand ticket holders to have access point at this Gate

Gate 2 B-  next to St John’s Ambulance headquarters

Only entrance for all spectators of uncovered stand – not season ticket holders
No vehicles, security personnel, media, or vendors to have access through this gate

Gate 3- Opposite Lion’s Gate

Entrance for spectators with covered stand tickets [ including covered stand seasoned tickets]
Access also through this gate for –

• Vendors arriving between 1100 hrs to 1600 hrs.
• Differently abled drivers,
• Accredited media
• Team buses
• Accredited staff

Gate 4- Castro Gate

-Access for VIP invitees

POINTS TO NOTE ON MATCH DAY

• Spectator Information Desk for query of tickets etc- Jean Pierre Complex Booth [facing Uncovered stand)

No tickets will be on sale at the Match Venue on Game Day but will remain on sale until 7pm at Lotto Locations within the vicinity of the Hasely Crawford Stadium. There will be no parking for patrons inside the Stadium except for working personnel and match day officials, team buses and emergency and protective services vehicles. Gates open at 4pm.

Patrons are asked to have tickets in hand upon entering the security checkpoints.

We are requesting that the following guidelines be adhered to:

– No Coolers
– No large Knapsacks
– No alcohol to be brought into the Stadium by spectators
-All spectators will be scanned via Walk through scanners on entry,
– All spectators are asked to have their ticket in their hand to show on entry into the Stadium just prior to being searched at  Security Check Points
– As much as possible, other than motor vehicle keys, spectators are asked to refrain from walking with any type of metal object, to prevent a secondary check.
Spectators are advised of the following restrictions and would not be permitted to bring the following into the Stadium
• Chairs
• Firearms, weapons, and knives
• Fireworks, explosives, and flammable items
• Mace/gas containers
• Glass bottles or containers
• Alcohol
• Illegal drugs or narcotics
• Cans (soft drinks and alcohol)
• Video cameras/ camcorders
• Large Umbrellas:
• Own foodstuff (with plastic cutlery)
• Flasks, Soft drinks/water in plastic bottles
• Banners & Flags that may be deemed vulgar, racial, discriminatory, sexual in nature, or display advertising which may in any way conflict with the rights of the sponsors of the event or deemed to be offensive, or impact on the view of other spectators.

Post by: ON DE BLOCK on November 09, 2016, 05:35:11 PM
well bet365 have tnt 5-1  vs   cr  2-1        but  on the same day   san marino  50-1   vs Germany 1-1,   so as the underdogs in our hex the odds show that they know tnt aint no san marino...
Post by: Tallman on November 09, 2016, 07:03:32 PM
WATCH: Goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams talks about the team’s mindset as the prepare to face Costa Rica

https://www.youtube.com/v/1463YpmW2Eg

WATCH: Midfielder Jomal Williams gives his views on what is required to come away with a result against Costa Rica

https://www.youtube.com/v/KcNz1QmFUSU

WATCH: Defender Jelani Peters and midfielder Marcus Joseph share their views on the buildup to the clash with Costa Rica

https://www.youtube.com/v/T8w9WVwS5_8
Post by: asylumseeker on November 09, 2016, 08:00:57 PM
Shaun, doh forget we waiting on video of Jelani Peters singing!!!
Title: Bateau and Garcia anticipating tough task against Costa Rica
Post by: Tallman on November 10, 2016, 09:53:15 AM
Bateau and Garcia anticipating tough task against Costa Rica

TRINIDAD AND Tobago central defender Sheldon Bateau and winger Levi Garcia are both anticipating tough tasks tomorrow when the national football team oppose Costa Rica in a FIFA World Cup Final Round Qualifier at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo.

Both Bateau and Garcia joined the team on Tuesday and engaged in their first training session with the squad later that evening at the Mucurapo facility.

Before the training session got underway, the 25-year-old Bateau, who plays for Krylia Sovetov in the Russian Premier League, said in an interview, “I’m happy to be here as always. This time, (a) different task, different opponents.

I’m excited and ready to work.” With the Final Round qualifiers set to begin tomorrow, Bateau admitted, “we know it’s going to be difficult. It will be my first time playing against Costa Rica but I know what to expect. Mentally, I know the kind of work that I’ll need to do defensively. I’ll try to speak to the players about being disciplined and being ready physically.

We’re ready for the challenge.” On the topic of defending, Bateau was aware of the struggles of Trinidad and Tobago to keep clean sheets this year. But he stressed, “we want to get back to defending as a team and not basically defending four defenders alone. We need to start defending from up front and as an XI. We’re going to be working on the way we defend from the front. We have a few days left still and we’re really going to be working on that.” Since the 2-0 defeat away to Martinique last month, which dented TT ’s hopes of qualifying for the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup, Bateau stated, “I’ve been playing defensive midfield with my team (Krylia Sovetov). I’ve been playing pretty well so my confidence is high, my energy is also high because I have a good level of match fitness. I’m just ready to do a job for the (TT ) team and contribute.” Garcia has also been a regular member of the team since making his debut against St Vincent/ Grenadines in March. “It feels great because it’s always a pleasure being with the national team at the highest level,” said the 18-year-old.

“It feels good to be back.” He is also bracing for the tough road ahead in the Final Round qualifiers. “It’s much stronger (mentality) where you want to go into the game and know that it’s all heart and soul,” he said.

As far as his recent form with Dutch Eredivisie team AZ Alkmaar is concerned, the teenager noted, “it has been good playing a few games since I (went) back, learning something new everyday.” However, he is keeping his feet on the ground, as far as the public’s expectations of him are concerned.

“I take things as they come, no pressure to perform because I know performance will come once you (are) focused. So no pressure, I just do what I have to do.” If selected for tomorrow’s match, Garcia said, “I just want to do as much as it takes for a win. So whatever I have to do on Friday, I will do.”
Post by: Tallman on November 10, 2016, 10:32:35 AM
WATCH: Warriors never back down - Video promo for World Cup Qualifier between Trinidad and Tobago and Costa Rica

https://www.youtube.com/v/r5cjD8y9W9k
Title: Ah hear Jamaican artist Movado to perform at T&T vs Costa Rica
Post by: Sando prince on November 10, 2016, 02:56:58 PM

You think  you will ever SuperBlue performing at any  Reggaeboyz match?

Once again we are the followers and the joke
Title: Re: Ah hear Jamaican artist Movado to perform at T&T vs Costa Rica
Post by: Sando prince on November 10, 2016, 02:58:05 PM

So many Trini artists but you paying Movado to perform at a T&T football game. Must be outta allyuh facking mind
Post by: palos on November 10, 2016, 03:02:43 PM
If true......f**kries and major insult to Trinbago artistes

Maybe we should jes play de forkane game in jamaica
Post by: Sando prince on November 10, 2016, 03:07:25 PM

This is why I will continue to slaughter these 'old men' running our sporting administrations. They have no respect for their own culture, no respect for their people, and just doing what they want to do

So Movado getting paid by T&T tax paying dollars to perform at a T&T match..NO chutney, no Calypso artist, no Steelpan players, but the Jamaican ghetto superstar dey
Post by: soccerman on November 10, 2016, 03:41:22 PM
If that's the case, it's disrespectful to our artists and culture at an event when we are displaying national pride.
Post by: kounty on November 10, 2016, 03:51:32 PM
ttfa brokes. fill dem seats with wagonists yes!
Post by: Sando prince on November 10, 2016, 03:57:55 PM
ttfa brokes. fill dem seats with wagonists yes!

last time I check the seats was filled against US and Guatemala with no foreign artists
Post by: SWF Reporter on November 10, 2016, 04:30:45 PM
Soca Warriors: Civil War; Wired868 goes behind curtain on eve of T&T/Costa Rica WCQ

By Lasana Liburd (Wired868.com)

From 7pm on Friday 11 November, the Costa Rica Senior National Team will grapple with their Trinidad and Tobago counterparts in Russia 2018 World Cup qualifying competition at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain.
But who will the Trinidad and Tobago football squad be fighting?
The answer would probably vary depending on when you ask and who the question is directed to.
Some days, it is the weather. This evening, Trinidad and Tobago coach Stephen Hart expects to take his squad to St Anthony’s College to train in anticipation that the overcast conditions will lead to rain. And rain, almost certainly, means Hasely Crawford stadium facility manager Anthony Blake would deny the squad access to the match venue, so as to ensure it is in good shape tomorrow.
On Tuesday evening, the national team had to use the Larry Gomes Stadium in Malabar—although, at least, they were able to borrow a bus route pass from Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) president David John-Williams, whereas they were stuck in rush hour traffic in the past.
It seems safe to say that Hart is dissatisfied with the facilities afforded to his team.
“Before the Guatemala [World Cup qualifying] game, to get one training session at the national stadium is not healthy. I mean come on.
“We went to play the US in Jacksonville. They had a hurricane [but] the US trained every day on the stadium. What they did was get the stadium maintenance to fix the damn pitch after every training session—but they trained twice a day on the stadium pitch…
“[The facility staff] have to go to work. This is collective. They should call the coach [and ask] how you want the grass cut? That is what happens with big teams.
“We played Costa Rica with Canada and the sprinkler came on on only one half of the pitch. They waterlogged one half of the pitch at half time and all the [Canadian] players came out with the wrong boots. By the time they changed, we were down.”
On other days, the insecurity comes from above, as rumours continue to swirl that Hart, his assistant coaches Hutson “Barber” Charles and Derek King, or team manager William Wallace—and sometimes all of the above—are set to be replaced.
Wallace admitted that on Tuesday night, just three days before they open their CONCACAF Hex campaign against the country’s toughest foe in the confederation, the coaching staff asked two TTFA VPs about their own futures.
“Obviously we have heard the rumours and obviously it brings a certain level of anxiety to people,” Wallace told Wired868. “Mentally it is like you are going game to game. So, yes, there is a certain amount of anxiety among staff members.
“We met with Mr Ewing Davis and Ms Joanne Salazar on Tuesday night and they tried to allay the fears of the coaches [and told us] that was not their thinking at this point in time. For now.
“It wasn’t the main thing on the agenda [of the meeting] but it came up.”
The tension between the squad and the administration extends beyond the job security of the technical staff. And the little things count.
The Costa Rica squad fly in tonight on a chartered flight and leave right after the match to prepare for their second qualifier against the United States in San Jose on 15 November.
In contrast, the Trinidad and Tobago outfit will catch a commercial flight for Panama on Saturday evening where they will overnight before getting to Honduras at 1.15pm on Sunday afternoon with roughly 48 hours left before kick off.
And, as always, Hart’s men will fly economy—unlike Trinidad and Tobago’s World Cup 2006 team, which travelled business class throughout as coach Leo Beenhakker insisted on it.
These days, there seems to be an internal war too. Hart has left his most clinical finisher and fan favourite, Kevin Molino, out of the team, after he was twice caught breaking camp to party.
Read more: http://wired868.com/2016/11/10/soca-warriors-civil-war-can-tt-unite-in-time-to-challenge-costa-rica-in-wcq/
Post by: Preacher on November 10, 2016, 05:20:26 PM
When this game startin?...   Some saying 5:30 Est.  some say 7pm EST. 
Post by: Jumbie on November 10, 2016, 05:44:31 PM
Not Cool.. if true.
Post by: soccerman on November 10, 2016, 06:19:32 PM
When this game startin?...   Some saying 5:30 Est.  some say 7pm EST. 
The game is supposed to start at 6pm EST which is 7 pm TT time. Coverage on Bein sports begins at 5:30pm EST.
Post by: MEP on November 10, 2016, 10:37:24 PM
allyuh makin joke...dat cyah be true
Post by: amielisadore on November 10, 2016, 11:34:05 PM
SUPERBLUE, MAVADO TO PERFORM AT WORLD CUP QUALIFIER TOMORROW

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association has added entertainment to the event schedule at tomorrow’s CONCACAF World Cup qualifying game at the Hasely Crawford Stadium

Nine-time Road March champion Superblue will perform before the start of the match between Trinidad and Tobago and Costa Rica which kicks off at 7pm.

Jamaican Dancehall Artiste Mavado will also make a guest appearance. Mavado has collaborated with other star artistes such as Busta Rhymes, Wyclef, Ludacris, Birdman, Fabolous, Ace Hood, Akon, Snoop Dogg and Jay Z.

http://ttfootball.org/2016/11/10/superblue-mavado-to-perform-at-world-cup-qualifier-tomorrow/ (http://ttfootball.org/2016/11/10/superblue-mavado-to-perform-at-world-cup-qualifier-tomorrow/)

1. With the greatest respect to the living icon that is Super Blue, nowadays he completely struggles to be coherent. I really hope and pray that he can pull it together and put his demons aside, because I would hate to hear the crowd start to boo him

2. The selection of artistes is indicative of a system that stifles the young and enterprising. The likes of Voice and EA have been promoting Sheldon Bateau's brand so it's not to say that they are far away from the action. TTFA would use the same old motto of "financial constraints" but I don't know if Super or Mavado getting financial incentives  ::)

3. Mavado has a concert on Saturday, so out of convenience it may make sense. But to have him, just line up alone with Super Blue is a slap in the face of trying to rally T&T support. If the cast included 2 or 3 local artistes and Mavado just runs on to show a sense of "Caribbean support" then it could've worked.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 11, 2016, 01:26:55 AM
Kid at Piarco pursued Joel Campbell's signature. See video:

http://www.nacion.com/m/deportes/seleccion-nacional/Keylor-Navas-Joel-Campbell-Aeropuerto_0_1596640425.html

CRC reporter surprised by the lack of hostility or fanfare upon CRC's arrival. Mistakenly pronounces that cricket and rugby are more popular than football in T&T.
Post by: Thomo on November 11, 2016, 04:57:44 AM
ITS GAME DAY!!! Heart, soul, passion, concentration, technical and tactical ability for 90 minutes in Red, Black & White is what I expect. I doh care what team Navas, Campbell and Co play for. We are Trinbagonians; we are soca warriors; we are de Red Army!! Show no respect, we going for de jugular!! Same thing vs Honduras away which I think is the tougher assignment of the two. Lead from de front el Capitan KJ!!
Post by: Brownsugar on November 11, 2016, 05:07:41 AM
Firetruckery!!!   :frustrated: :banginghead:
Post by: FF on November 11, 2016, 06:07:15 AM

http://www.nacion.com/m/deportes/seleccion-nacional/Keylor-Navas-Joel-Campbell-Aeropuerto_0_1596640425.html

CRC reporter surprised by the lack of hostility or fanfare upon CRC's arrival. Mistakenly pronounces that cricket and rugby are more popular than football in T&T.

Must be a cub reporter. Fresh in the game.
Post by: maxg on November 11, 2016, 07:55:55 AM
don't see a problem, as a matter of fact, poll the team and see who they listen to most between those two artist. Don't mean there isn't any appreciation for Blue or any of our own local artist. this is almost trumpish, we older folks on the other hand prefer our old (& young local artiste), guess we have our uses. ;D
as a side on a personal note: for a carnival TT association fundraiser here a reggae artiste in town offer to perform for free to help our community, a TT artiste also in town requested 3k up front. Who do we take ? Maybe Movado is a socawarrior fan.  :devil:
also note, he colla with Fay-Ann, so might be a friends and family thing..either way, who cares..it's about the football
Post by: Trin on November 11, 2016, 08:39:21 AM

Must be a cub reporter. Fresh in the game.

I think the lack of fanfare was more insulting to him than if they had a hostile welcome. If so I hope the players share the same sentiment and mission accomplished.  :rotfl:
Post by: Mose on November 11, 2016, 09:31:19 AM
don't see a problem, as a matter of fact, poll the team and see who they listen to most between those two artist. Don't mean there isn't any appreciation for Blue or any of our own local artist. this is almost trumpish, we older folks on the other hand prefer our old (& young local artiste), guess we have our uses. ;D
as a side on a personal note: for a carnival TT association fundraiser here a reggae artiste in town offer to perform for free to help our community, a TT artiste also in town requested 3k up front. Who do we take ? Maybe Movado is a socawarrior fan.  :devil:
also note, he colla with Fay-Ann, so might be a friends and family thing..either way, who cares..it's about the football

To quote a famous Kaisonian "De both ah dem!"  ;D
Post by: Touches on November 11, 2016, 09:45:49 AM
There is always more than the mortar in the pestle.

Perhaps the promoter of the concert tomorrow is a sponsor.

Perhaps Movado is free

Perhaps the local artistes were contacted and buss a fee that the cash strapped TTFF couldnt afford.

Would you have preferred Uncle Ellis to come and wine instead?

Maybe the management in the TTFF would like to promote Caricom and Regional Unity and show the world that Trinidad & Tobago is not insular and petty and that we support everyone and their endeavours!
The world is becoming so fearful of "outsiders" this may be an example that we show to others.

Maybe Uncle Keith sanctioned this as payback for the yardies we didn't let in the country and who slept in Piarco.

There is a reason for him being there...just we ent find out YET!

If you want entertainment go to the fete, chutney show or concert of your favourite entertainer...why hype up yuhself about a man yuh cyar see and you would barely hear on them 2x4 lil speaker that facing the wrong direction. All who complaining never went no football before....everybody knows the stadium doh have a proper PA or sound system.

My point is this is not an issue to be up in arms and post a setta memes in social media about.

We should protest about being able to get in the stadium properly, on time no jammming no worries!

We should protest bout not having alcho in the game

We should protest about having proper washroom facilities and handicap access

Besides...you go miss both he and superblue...because yuh either ketching yuh arse to get in the stadium, looking for a beer or trying to find a toilet with light and that clean to pee.

People direct yuh energies in the right place.
Title: New boy Jelani doing it for mom
Post by: Tallman on November 11, 2016, 10:24:21 AM
New boy Jelani doing it for mom
TTFA Media

Newcomer in the Trinidad and Tobago team, Jelani Peters, is having the time of his football career upon his recent call up for the two World Cup qualifying games against Costa Rica and Honduras. The W Connection player has had one previous opportunity to train with the National Under 23 team but was ruled out because of injury.

Peters relayed some of the inspiring factors in his life so far with his deceased mom at the top of his list. Vanessa Peters passed away on December 22, 2014.

“My entire family, my mom especially, have been big inspirations in my life. She passed away two years ago. I'm doing it for her. She had a mass that was blocking her eyesight in her right eye. She was away on vacation by my sister in the US. Then they did a surgery on the Dec 4, 2014. The operation wasn't successful. She passed on Dec 22, 2014,” Peters explained.

“But now I am thankful that through football I have been able to move on and this is my focus in life.

“I started off with a small community team by the name of Metro Stars. I played for my school Tranquillity Government and St Ann’s Rangers Under 18s, Jabloteh reserve then back to Rangers. Now I am at W Connection,” Peters added. His football idols are David Alaba and teammate Sheldon Bateau.

Peters will be hoping to make his debut for T&T in today’s World Cup qualifier against Costa Rica at the Hasely Crawford Stadium at 7pm.
Post by: Tallman on November 11, 2016, 10:24:59 AM
T&T battle Costa Rica in Final Round

TRINIDAD AND Tobago football team coach Stephen Hart and captain Kenwyne Jones have both issued rallying calls to the local fans to turnout in their numbers today, at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo, for the squad’s FIFA World Cup CONCACAF Zone Final Round Qualifier against Costa Rica. The game will kick off at 7 pm.

During a media conference at the Marriott Hotel, Mucurapo yesterday, Hart acknowledged, “I think the home fans have a big role to play. They should make demands on us to attack and be adventurous. They should be making demands on us to defend and do the right things.

“They should push us and constantly let us know that they’ve paid their hard-earned money and they expect certain things from us,” he continued. “I see nothing wrong with that. That’s what football is all about.” Jones, the 32-yearold Central FC forward, commented, “I think it’s very important.

All over the world you can see what the crowd support can do for the home team, especially when you’re in difficult situations.

It helps motivate you, it helps give you that extra push to be able to either get on top of teams or whatever situation (in) the game.

We’re hoping that the stadium is (filled to) capacity and the fans are rooting for the home team.” The buildup to the game, at least from the TT perspective, revolved around two midfielders, Kevin Molino and the English- born John Bostock.

Molino was suspended by Hart for today’s game, as well as Tuesday’s match away to Honduras, for a pair of team curfew breaches, while Bostock, a day after receiving clearance from FIFA to make his international debut for the twin-island republic, announced his unavailability for the forthcoming games due to personal reasons.

“I can’t worry about who is not here,” said Hart. “I have 23 players in camp, all of who are capable, all who are fighting for a spot in the (team). That’s my main focus.” Notable names on the Costa Rica team are goalkeeper Keylor Navas of Real Madrid, left-back Bryan Oviedo of Everton, midfielder Bryan Ruiz of Sporting Lisbon and forward Joel Campbell, on loan from Arsenal to Sporting Lisbon.

About the Costa Rica outfit, Hart noted, “they have good balance and what we have to do is to be not afraid to play when we are in possession. We will need to try and disrupt the way they play as much as possible and make them uncomfortable.” Another major talking point regarding the TT team is the defending - in 11 international matches this year, the national squad has conceded 24 goals while netting 20.

Asked about the defensive woes lately, Hart replied, “we’ve always been addressing it. Defending is about the team; one or two players might be placed in uncomfortable situations or they might make a mistake, but defending is about the team, everybody’s responsibility. When the ball is lost, to get it back. If we do that, then (we) don’t concede usually unless it’s a penalty or something that’s not in your control.” Jones has been on the mend from a leg injury sustained during the 2-0 loss away to Martinique, in the CONCACAF Gold Cup qualifier, on October 11. But the muscular striker noted, “I think I’m very far (in terms of fitness). If I wasn’t progressing with my injury I don’t think I would have been here.

I’ve been working hard in the last 2-3 weeks to make it to this point.” Constantly the target by fans for his inconsistent returns - he has a total of 23 goals from 82 internationals, Jones commented, “what else can you do but just saddle on and keep playing.

“At the end of the day, as much as the crowd might be up in (anger) about something, as the coach said the game is 90 minutes and I have a job to do for the team, whether it might be attempting to score, assisting, defending, whatever the case is,” he added. “So, for the 90 minutes or however long that I’m on, I’m going to make sure that I try my best to do my job.” In related news, the TT Football Association (TT FA), in a media release yesterday, noted that two popular regional artistes will be performing at today’s match - veteran soca star and multiple Road March and Soca Monarch king Super Blue (Austin Lyons) and Jamaican dancehall ace Mavado (David Brooks).

Teams: TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO: Jan-Michael Williams, Marvin Phillip, Adrian Foncette (goalkeepers); Jelani Peters, Aubrey David, Daneil Cyrus, Carlyle Mitchell, Radanfah Abu Bakr, Sheldon Bateau, Yohance Marshall (defenders); Khaleem Hyland, Andre Boucaud, Kevan George, Neveal Hackshaw, Joevin Jones, Cordell Cato, Levi Garcia, Marcus Joseph, Jomal Williams, Ataullah Guerra (midfielders); Kenwyne Jones, Trevin Caesar, Willis Plaza (strikers).

COSTA RICA: Keylor Navas, Patrick Pemberton, Esteban Alvarado (goalkeepers); Johnny Acosta, Kendall Waston, Michael Umana, Francisco Calvo, Cristian Gamboa, Ronald Matarrita, Bryan Oviedo, Jose Salvatierra, Pablo Salazar (defenders); Randall Azofeifa, Celso Borges, Yeltsin Tejeda, David Guzman, Bryan Ruiz, Cristian Bolanos, Johan Venegas, Rodney Wallace (midfielders); Joel Campbell, Ariel Rodríguez, Marco Uren (forwards).
Post by: Deeks on November 11, 2016, 10:48:00 AM
If they wanted Caribbean unity they could have brought some Soca artistes from the other islands. With Carnival coming up they could have Marvey from Barbados. I could care less about movado at this moment. I want nothing more than a victory. Recently our way of supporting our team with a full fledge flowing rhythm section is being pushed aside by these DJ/technopop promoters. Frig movado and them.
Post by: Sando prince on November 11, 2016, 11:12:48 AM
Wha Caribbean pride some of alyuh talking about? Is it West Indies cricket game playing? This is a T&T national pride event.

Anyway no wonder why there still people around the world who think Trinidad is Jamaica.
Post by: Controversial on November 11, 2016, 11:17:46 AM
Well from a historic pov, the root of reggae music and dancehall is calypso..

But we have to accommodate the pseudo Jamaicans  :D
Post by: palos on November 11, 2016, 11:55:34 AM
There is always more than the mortar in the pestle.

Perhaps the promoter of the concert tomorrow is a sponsor.

Perhaps Movado is free

Perhaps the local artistes were contacted and buss a fee that the cash strapped TTFF couldnt afford.

Would you have preferred Uncle Ellis to come and wine instead?

Maybe the management in the TTFF would like to promote Caricom and Regional Unity and show the world that Trinidad & Tobago is not insular and petty and that we support everyone and their endeavours!
The world is becoming so fearful of "outsiders" this may be an example that we show to others.

Maybe Uncle Keith sanctioned this as payback for the yardies we didn't let in the country and who slept in Piarco.

There is a reason for him being there...just we ent find out YET!

If you want entertainment go to the fete, chutney show or concert of your favourite entertainer...why hype up yuhself about a man yuh cyar see and you would barely hear on them 2x4 lil speaker that facing the wrong direction. All who complaining never went no football before....everybody knows the stadium doh have a proper PA or sound system.

My point is this is not an issue to be up in arms and post a setta memes in social media about.

We should protest about being able to get in the stadium properly, on time no jammming no worries!

We should protest bout not having alcho in the game

We should protest about having proper washroom facilities and handicap access

Besides...you go miss both he and superblue...because yuh either ketching yuh arse to get in the stadium, looking for a beer or trying to find a toilet with light and that clean to pee.

People direct yuh energies in the right place.

Movado, or any other non Trinbagonian, performing at a Soca Warriors world cup qualifying game in Trinidad is wrong forum, wrong place, and outta forkane timing.  FULL STOP.

I eh care what de reason is, who de players does listen to, or if he performin fuh free.

If TTFA strapped and local artistes lookin to charge, play DJ music of Trinbagonian artistes.  It eh bong to have LIVE entertainment at de game in that case.

Trinis have little pride in de country and deyself.  And sadly, is often only when we move outside dat we does come to appreciate what we have.

Post by: soccerman on November 11, 2016, 11:58:44 AM
Well said Palos :thumbsup:
Post by: MEP on November 11, 2016, 12:24:05 PM
Look there are ways to do it and it is how you approach people. If you ask Machel or Bunji and say we would like you to hype up de crowd before the game and be honest and say right now we are struggling we can't afford but in the future run maybe we can collaborate on some fund-raising endeavor.....
Post by: Tallman on November 11, 2016, 12:29:45 PM
WATCH: Head Coach Stephen Hart and Captain Kenwyne Jones speak at the T&T vs Costa Rica pre-match press conference

https://www.youtube.com/v/xB7-8KCgMDA

WATCH: Defender Yohance Marshall looks ahead to T&T’s CONCACAF Hexagonal opener vs Costa Rica

https://www.youtube.com/v/2wq5hTPt9e0

WATCH: Defender Sheldon Bateau says Trinidad and Tobago is focused for today’s clash against Costa Rica

https://www.youtube.com/v/WikVsdZHPrc

WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago’s final training session before their CONCACAF Final Round opener against Costa Rica

https://www.youtube.com/v/iHzkUBTMoc8
Post by: Big Magician on November 11, 2016, 12:31:11 PM
IT GOOD FUH WE... what ah F#CKING SHAME
Post by: Big Magician on November 11, 2016, 12:31:50 PM
TTFA with no sense of Tradition and Rivalry...sad....
Post by: Big Magician on November 11, 2016, 12:34:26 PM
tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt
Post by: Touches on November 11, 2016, 12:38:01 PM
Listen,

The only reason we get Movado...is cause Kartel in jail  ;D
Post by: Sando prince on November 11, 2016, 12:39:06 PM
Listen,

The only reason we get Movado...is cause Kartel in jail  ;D

Iz people like you that does encourage this shit. Let me guess when Movado sing about the Jamaican gully and gaza nonsense at a Trinidad and Tobago football match allyuh will jump for joy
Post by: Dutty Love on November 11, 2016, 12:44:57 PM
I wish the team the best of luck but some of the names on this roster and the ones left out have me wondering.

Was it a good choice to leave Mekeil Williams out who has played every minute of the Gold Cup and the last round of WC qualifiers and who is in the middle of MLS playoffs, to bring instead a newbie from W Connection which recently started at CB along with Cyrus in a 8-1 loss to Pumas? They conceded 12 goals in 2 games to Pumas.

Was it a good choice to leave out Winchester, albeit not scoring a ton, he has been a starter in a more competitive league than USL, not to mention USL has been off season for over a month and match fitness is lost within only 2 weeks tipically.

The only USL worthy player was the GK of Lousville in my opinion, because frankly the locals are very poor, and he wasn't called. He should probably be the starter. Perhaps Hodge is the strongest left foot left back, and Williams could have played on the right as he does for Colorado.

Do you think Plaza is in great form or the TT Pro league is very low level? See above Pumas dropping 12 on W Connection and playing most of their bench. Hard to argue against this point because he failed in El Salvador just few months ago and recently failed a trial in Lebanon.

Should SH insist with Bakr at CB when he plays in Estonia (a semi pro league) or Mitchell who plays in Korea Division 2. Perhaps Marshall plays week in and out vs better competition in Mexico? Not to mention Ascenso MX has starters on both Honduras and Panama national teams or even players like Joe Corona in the USA national team pool.

Do you think a player in England's 5th division should start in the Hexagonal?

What makes Molino's incident so different than tons of other players. Was it worth suspending him for 2 crucial games?

My proposed line up for game 3-4 after collecting 1 point in the next two games (I hope I am wrong but I fear 1 point is optimistic). The key for me is get the guys with the best technical/possession abilities on the field and most importantly those playing in the more competitive leagues. To this point, recently I was reading that Nicaragua's coach Duarte has not been calling Chavarria widely considered the best player of Nicaragua due to the poor choice he made in leaving Real Esteli which every year wins the league and qualifies for Concacaf CL, to go play in Spain Tercera Division. Another example is Giovinco completely snobbed by Ventura because the MLS is not competitive enough.

Ranjitsingh

Williams   Marshall    Bateau   Hodge (Aubrey)

Hyland                   

Cato (Levi)        Jomal           Joevin

Molino               

Kenwyne
Post by: Marcos on November 11, 2016, 01:12:37 PM
Fellas is game day! We dropping 3 on CR tonight!

Good luck T&T
Post by: ON DE BLOCK on November 11, 2016, 01:26:24 PM
   Movado didn't want nikki minaj fly de trini flag in he video...
Post by: kiffysmooth on November 11, 2016, 01:34:02 PM
Dutty Love gone with yuh heavy negative vibes dis hour eh..
Post by: Dutty Love on November 11, 2016, 02:02:57 PM
Dutty Love gone with yuh heavy negative vibes dis hour eh..

Ahah like I said I hope I am wrong. Trust me.
Post by: Thomo on November 11, 2016, 02:15:46 PM
Bare bad vibes this man decide to bring. STEUPS
Post by: chelsealife on November 11, 2016, 02:40:27 PM
Dis man showing he self to be a fool with this speed talk. Bakr plays in Denmark btw. Mikiel Williams is not playing at all, Ranjitsingh can't just walk on this team. How often have u seen Hodge play to say he should start at left back? He mention Cyrus and Jelani conceding twelve against Pumas but what does club football have to do with international. Hasn't messi and barca been in good form? What happen last night with him against Brazil? If yuh have nun good to say keep it to yuhself nah plz. Dem fellas I sure does be reading comments on here
Post by: asylumseeker on November 11, 2016, 02:53:20 PM
De vibes niceing up. De players massing to go to the stadium and de hotel sound system blasting Maximus Dan.
Post by: Sam on November 11, 2016, 02:59:37 PM
Jan
David
Bateau
Marshall
Mitchell
Hyland
Kenwyne
Boucaud
Joevin
Garcia
Cato

Let Kenwyne play under de strikers, he can hold up de ball.

Cato and Garcia together up front will be unstoppable and they fast.

Boucaud could hold dong de field and help de defence, freeing up Kenwyne.
Post by: Dutty Love on November 11, 2016, 03:34:12 PM
Dis man showing he self to be a fool with this speed talk. Bakr plays in Denmark btw. Mikiel Williams is not playing at all, Ranjitsingh can't just walk on this team. How often have u seen Hodge play to say he should start at left back? He mention Cyrus and Jelani conceding twelve against Pumas but what does club football have to do with international. Hasn't messi and barca been in good form? What happen last night with him against Brazil? If yuh have nun good to say keep it to yuhself nah plz. Dem fellas I sure does be reading comments on here

Bakr plays in Estonia. Previously he was in Denmark second division. http://www.transfermarkt.com/radanfah-abu-bakr/profil/spieler/113362

Can't believe you would bring Messi and Brazil into a discussion where the top caliber players are in MLS. Good one. But not as good as club football not being of relevance to International football. Anyway isn't CCL international football?

You are also contradicting yourself because you are using the non playing at his club for Mekeil Williams but then say that club football has nothing to do with national team.

We have seen Hodge play against Uruguay and against Santos and Saprissa last year. I am sorry but those are better tests than playing vs Club Sando and Cuba. Good player.

Next time be more intelligent with your comments before calling someone a fool.
Post by: gawd on pitch on November 11, 2016, 04:05:40 PM
I understand the need for this post. But let's not get carried away. I agree that local talent should be showcased before any foreign talent. But the reality is is that there are more Trinis running reggae on their ipod than yardies running soca on theirs. So maybe this is a good way to get the younger crowd out.

@ On de block, I heard that before.. Jamaicans are very "protectionist" when it comes to their culture. However Jamaicans who are exposed  to Trini culture, tend to be less protectionist and appreciate Trini more.

When I was in Jamaica, I was surprised to hear the amount of soca they does play in the uptown Kingston clubs. However,  don't go to a "dance" and expect the dj to run soca. It ain't happening. But during carnival time, yuh go hear soca in yard.
Post by: Thomo on November 11, 2016, 04:16:10 PM
At the end of the day Dutty Love your timing was off with your original comment. You had enough time prior to game day to poor cold water on team selection and players abilities.
Post by: vb on November 11, 2016, 04:53:30 PM
Jan
David
Bateau
Marshall
Mitchell
Hyland
Kenwyne
Boucaud
Joevin
Garcia
Cato

Let Kenwyne play under de strikers, he can hold up de ball.

Cato and Garcia together up front will be unstoppable and they fast.

Boucaud could hold dong de field and help de defence, freeing up Kenwyne.

We need to have some speed and skill up front to take pressure off the defence.

I would like to see JJ on he left.......Kato right and KJ with Caesar up front.

Bring on Levi in the sec. hlf put him left, switch JJ to the right, take off Kato.
Post by: Thomo on November 11, 2016, 05:03:00 PM
http://hahasport.biz/soccer/trinidad-and-tobago-vs-costa-rica-iz722712#
Post by: chinee boi on November 11, 2016, 05:08:19 PM
What time does the game start?
Post by: che on November 11, 2016, 05:09:15 PM
Let's go T&T......

I like the new uniforms
Post by: Quags on November 11, 2016, 05:16:07 PM
TnT we want ah goal
Post by: Errol on November 11, 2016, 05:16:22 PM
I think Cyrus is Hart stepson?

Post by: che on November 11, 2016, 05:18:03 PM
Had a bad dream last night. We were down 4nil in the 38th min. I woke up sweating. I hope that dream was just nerves on my part :praying:
Post by: Quags on November 11, 2016, 05:30:32 PM
Thanks for the link Thomo .
Che what % of night dream occur ?
Post by: che on November 11, 2016, 05:40:18 PM
English

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R9sjEpvIsjo&list=PL8fVUTBmJhHJBH1SO88FYKaQsisgItjpn&index=60
Post by: che on November 11, 2016, 05:42:00 PM
English

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R9sjEpvIsjo&list=PL8fVUTBmJhHJBH1SO88FYKaQsisgItjpn&index=60

Not sure, maybe between 3-4 o'clock
Post by: dwolfman on November 11, 2016, 05:43:00 PM
Had a bad dream last night. We were down 4nil in the 38th min. I woke up sweating. I hope that dream was just nerves on my part :praying:
31st minute and it is 0-0, so it would have to fall apart spectacularly for your dream to come to reality.

We're actually doing better than holding our own. Had some decent attacking spells and have been fairly comfortable in defense.
Post by: che on November 11, 2016, 05:44:22 PM
We holding our own against one of Concacaf best teams
Post by: Quags on November 11, 2016, 05:49:00 PM
Holy 3 chances on the 38 min
Post by: che on November 11, 2016, 05:49:52 PM
31st minute and it is 0-0, so it would have to fall apart spectacularly for your dream to come to reality.

We're actually doing better than holding our own. Had some decent attacking spells and have been fairly comfortable in defense.

Don;t want that deam to come through.
Post by: che on November 11, 2016, 05:56:33 PM
Not a bad half for us. We can win this game
Post by: chelsealife on November 11, 2016, 05:57:32 PM
No crowd support at all
Post by: Quags on November 11, 2016, 06:03:05 PM
That is test cricket like support .
Post by: ON DE BLOCK on November 11, 2016, 06:04:09 PM
     zero -  zero  1st half also zero shots on goal, coach hart get to hold more ball on de side lines than CRC keeper...
Post by: Errol on November 11, 2016, 06:04:42 PM
Trinidad playing decent bit to consertave

Post by: elan on November 11, 2016, 06:06:48 PM
Whappen To Maximus? See him in a video with the Warriors getting ready. He even take part in the mannequin challenge with them.
Post by: Bitter on November 11, 2016, 06:13:06 PM
Ah reach
0-0 I eh care how it went, we ent concede.

The last time I watch ah event on TV with a drink in mih hand, Trump win. So ah sorry in advance.
Post by: Bitter on November 11, 2016, 06:21:22 PM
ok, this game boring as hell. Two teams looking to not lose.
Post by: Sando prince on November 11, 2016, 06:29:19 PM

We need a spark in this game! somebody remind T&T we playing at home and CR will be happy to steal a point away from home
Post by: Deeks on November 11, 2016, 06:30:30 PM
TT better look for a win. Honduras lost 1-0 to Pana at home.
So Hondo. coming with thunder in SAN Pedro Sula.
Win TT, please win.
Post by: Bitter on November 11, 2016, 06:32:00 PM
Too easy.
Post by: Bitter on November 11, 2016, 06:32:51 PM
Nah man Cyrus
Post by: Dutty Love on November 11, 2016, 06:33:54 PM
Good marking Cyrus
Post by: che on November 11, 2016, 06:35:12 PM
 :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated:
Post by: MEP on November 11, 2016, 06:37:23 PM
wow..wow...that was just pure dumb defending....cyrus is a fackin goat
Post by: elan on November 11, 2016, 06:43:03 PM
Who's that #5?

Basic defending. Just ball watching like he sweating in de savannah  :pissedoff:
Post by: Errol on November 11, 2016, 06:44:00 PM
Hart is lost

Post by: Dutty Love on November 11, 2016, 06:44:56 PM
Pulling out Jomal for a defensive mid?
Post by: dwolfman on November 11, 2016, 06:45:29 PM
Who's that #5?

Basic defending. Just ball watching like he sweating in de savannah  :pissedoff:
That's the Cyrus they cussin. To be fair the CB (#12) left the centre to go to the ball and the left side defenders got cut open easily to allow the attacker freedom behind the defense.

That last Costa Rica attack didn't look like offside.
Post by: elan on November 11, 2016, 06:45:57 PM
This team looking like it settle for being "good enough". They not buzzing at all.

Can't believe that player still only getting involved in the game when the ball in their area of the field. Just walking and watching.
Post by: Dutty Love on November 11, 2016, 06:47:55 PM
Who's that #5?

That's the Cyrus they cussin. To be fair the CB (#12) left the centre to go to the ball and the left side defenders got cut open easily to allow the attacker freedom behind the defense.

Marshall and Williams much much better players
Post by: dwolfman on November 11, 2016, 06:51:28 PM
We are not looking likely to score. J Jones is the only player who looks capable of forcing anything to happen and CR are not allowing him space.
Post by: Sando prince on November 11, 2016, 06:55:10 PM

Oh gosh boi !

Somebody from T&T please score!
Post by: Quags on November 11, 2016, 06:58:56 PM
Stuepppps
Post by: Bitter on November 11, 2016, 06:59:33 PM
Normal service has resumed.

Dos a cero
Post by: che on November 11, 2016, 06:59:57 PM
Real painful to watch. we not playing with any urgency. we playing like we leading. :bs: 
Post by: Dutty Love on November 11, 2016, 07:00:51 PM
1 point in first two games looking VERY optimistic now. Honduras must win after today's loss
Post by: sub1 on November 11, 2016, 07:03:10 PM
Hart has to go and go now. What the hell Cyrus doing on a national team is beyond me. Jomal Williams aint ready. We cant afford to wait! Sh has reached his zenith he just cant get anymore. He dont even understand how to use players and worst of all using players that should not even be near a NATIONAL TEAM. I dont care who it is but it is better he goes now!!!!
Post by: Sando prince on November 11, 2016, 07:06:44 PM
The problem here is players not playing to their ability and not giving their all for country. Look at this game today, which player was playing with the hunger to win? Also, Hart does not have much quality players to choose from, so he has to work with what he has at his disposal.

I just do not understand how the Pro League has not developed better quality defenders for the national team.
Post by: Dutty Love on November 11, 2016, 07:07:28 PM
Jomal Williams showed a lot more than the ones who came in actually.

By the way Navas could have stayed home. No shots
Post by: trini_stallion on November 11, 2016, 07:08:05 PM
Laddd fellas. That was tough. Our creativity comes from joevin and Cato...cmon...something gotta give...once we contain those guys...we have nothing happening!!
Post by: elan on November 11, 2016, 07:12:08 PM
Really don't like how we look. There seems to be no interest in this game from players.
Post by: Socapro on November 11, 2016, 07:14:47 PM
This is the worst possibly start we could have had at home.
We can't be serious about winning any games even at home if we continue to play like this!

Imagine Costa Rica flew in to T&T last night and did not even have a chance to get familiar with the field and still managed to school us in possession and tactical football.

Are we really serious about trying to qualify for our 2nd World Cup Finals?

Doesn't look like it right now.
Post by: Coach on November 11, 2016, 07:21:39 PM
Who's that #5?

The defensive mid showed more offensive skills than Jomal.
Post by: sub1 on November 12, 2016, 01:11:21 PM
Laddd fellas. That was tough. Our creativity comes from joevin and Cato...cmon...something gotta give...once we contain those guys...we have nothing happening!!

If Hart had real vision as a coach, and I personally think that is what he is lacking, Joevin and Cato would have been our right and left backs. He could have had Kenwyn playing on top of the 2 CBs and Guerra, Hyland and George in the middle Garcia and the striker who plays in Iceland up front. This BS that some players dont have a club at the moment is a non-issue when you have players who have a club and are just not up to this standard as yet. He could have called on the 38 yr old carlos to hold the right back position. Ballpest is playing regular ball and is a better option than Jomal, Ceasar and Kenwyn's replacement last night.

Hart is at sea!! Let him have the Honduras game and tell him thanks or have him working with a real head coach. Cyrus is the WORST RB I have ever seen playing for the national team. Oh how I miss Cyd Gray at this very moment!!
Post by: Dutty Love on November 12, 2016, 01:35:05 PM
Cummings better than Jomal?? I am sure that's why he plays in TT Pro league at 28 and Jomal in Mexico at 22.
Post by: Dutty Love on November 12, 2016, 01:36:20 PM
Who's that #5?

The defensive mid showed more offensive skills than Jomal.

Especially on Costa Rica's second goal
Post by: Dutty Love on November 12, 2016, 01:39:47 PM

In fact Cyrus and the GK ended up costing the game
Post by: sub1 on November 12, 2016, 02:01:57 PM
Dont try to sell Jomal right now. He has some potential. But he just aint ready for this level right now. Ballpest has proven otherwise. On the other hand Cyrus will never be good. He has no head, no skill and if Hart cant see that tells me that Hart himself has to go!!.
Post by: trini_stallion on November 12, 2016, 02:05:11 PM

If Hart had real vision as a coach, and I personally think that is what he is lacking, Joevin and Cato would have been our right and left backs. He could have had Kenwyn playing on top of the 2 CBs and Guerra, Hyland and George in the middle Garcia and the striker who plays in Iceland up front. This BS that some players dont have a club at the moment is a non-issue when you have players who have a club and are just not up to this standard as yet. He could have called on the 38 yr old carlos to hold the right back position. Ballpest is playing regular ball and is a better option than Jomal, Ceasar and Kenwyn's replacement last night.

Hart is at sea!! Let him have the Honduras game and tell him thanks or have him working with a real head coach. Cyrus is the WORST RB I have ever seen playing for the national team. Oh how I miss Cyd Gray at this very moment!!

I eh know bout all that now. Imho opinion...we need to not only rely on On wings. If we had cld have another joevin type player in the middle of the field we cld penetrate down the center AS WELL, as a post to relying on the wingers. Boucaud maybe cld til that void til molino and bostock come in de dance. I liked jomal game...we were lacking service...and anything came down the flank to to the skipper and he was getting some serious mark...well done by Costa Rica and their tactics...we lack creativity
Post by: ON DE BLOCK on November 12, 2016, 02:25:55 PM
I understand the need for this post. But let's not get carried away. I agree that local talent should be showcased before any foreign talent. But the reality is is that there are more Trinis running reggae on their ipod than yardies running soca on theirs. So maybe this is a good way to get the younger crowd out.

@ On de block, I heard that before.. Jamaicans are very "protectionist" when it comes to their culture. However Jamaicans who are exposed  to Trini culture, tend to be less protectionist and appreciate Trini more.

When I was in Jamaica, I was surprised to hear the amount of soca they does play in the uptown Kingston clubs. However,  don't go to a "dance" and expect the dj to run soca. It ain't happening. But during carnival time, yuh go hear soca in yard.

Yeah pitch I agree that trini's ipods full of jam culture, and I noticed in the behind the bridge EPOS area sometime ago Jamaicans from the Salasee I order, reaching out to TNT ghetto youth informing them to stop listening to that gun & badman music, that a trail of blood with tens of 1,000's of black youth murdered from JA all thru the Caribbean and they going from island to island seeing the carnage and spreading their message that this is evil vibes that a black man making music with an anointing that  black youth killing out each other...
Post by: Dutty Love on November 12, 2016, 03:39:38 PM
Dont try to sell Jomal right now. He has some potential. But he just aint ready for this level right now. Ballpest has proven otherwise. On the other hand Cyrus will never be good. He has no head, no skill and if Hart cant see that tells me that Hart himself has to go!!.

One game is nothing. Cummings is in TT Pro league at 28 for a reason. He has done nothing against Guatemala in the 2-1 away win.

Jomal plays in a higher level league than Costa Rica first division. And he actually manages to shine there.
Post by: Preacher on November 12, 2016, 03:44:18 PM
Well just saw the game.   So of course will leave my two cents.  As sad as it is to loose a game like this, this side is a very solid unit.  We need some minor upgrades and then it will be up to the lads to believe.  Costa Rica is a solid unit and we bossed them the entire game.  Bossed them.  it was some lapses that caused the goal.  Not sure how tall man didn't track his guy all the way back.  But frankly I've never seen T&T boss Costa Rica like this.  I predict 3 in Honduras. 
Post by: Sando prince on November 12, 2016, 03:46:45 PM
Well just saw the game.   So of course will leave my two cents.  As sad as it is to loose a game like this, this side is a very solid unit.  We need some minor upgrades and then it will be up to the lads to believe.  Costa Rica is a solid unit and we bossed them the entire game.  Bossed them.  it was some lapses that caused the goal.  Not sure how tall man didn't track his guy all the way back.  But frankly I've never seen T&T boss Costa Rica like this.  I predict 3 in Honduras. 

Sorry but to 'boss' a team you have to really dominate the game. T&T created few chances and play with a lack of intensity. Watching the game you will think T&T was going for a draw at home (which is confusing) then after the first goal they were now in a desperate situation.
Post by: elan on November 12, 2016, 04:06:25 PM
I'll just leave this here

https://twitter.com/CristianB_LN/status/797212324914466817 (https://twitter.com/CristianB_LN/status/797212324914466817)

https://twitter.com/caribbeanftbl/status/797250043329806337 (https://twitter.com/caribbeanftbl/status/797250043329806337)

https://twitter.com/caribbeanftbl/status/797249717277196288 (https://twitter.com/caribbeanftbl/status/797249717277196288)
Post by: gawd on pitch on November 12, 2016, 04:34:24 PM
Cato is slowly coming out if his shell. He continues to improve game by game. Once he realizes his potential, he will be another force to reckon with. Speed for days. Plus good control.

Okay so two mistakes cost us the game. Overall the team did not look too bad. I remember when we used to look "shaky" playing against Costa Rica. The team has improved. Bring Molino or Bostock into the mix, and we will have the attacking engine firing on all cylinders.

Better game in Honduras for sure. Any ideas for Cyrus replacement? What going on with the Hoytes?
Post by: Dutty Love on November 12, 2016, 04:42:04 PM
Cato is slowly coming out if his shell. He continues to improve game by game. Once he realizes his potential, he will be another force to reckon with. Speed for days. Plus good control.

Okay so two mistakes cost us the game. Overall the team did not look too bad. I remember when we used to look "shaky" playing against Costa Rica. The team has improved. Bring Molino or Bostock into the mix, and we will have the attacking engine firing on all cylinders.

Better game in Honduras for sure. Any ideas for Cyrus replacement? What going on with the Hoytes?

Mekeil Williams played RB at Colorado the first half of the season (two top 11 team of the week) and did it very well! Only reason why he lost his role was due to an injury and the team kept winning
Post by: Preacher on November 12, 2016, 07:20:54 PM

Sorry but to 'boss' a team you have to really dominate the game. T&T created few chances and play with a lack of intensity. Watching the game you will think T&T was going for a draw at home (which is confusing) then after the first goal they were now in a desperate situation.

It's just a different idea of what "boss" is.   Considering that CR ranked as a way better team than us I think we out played them in every area but for the mistake in D.  I would not take this score and dismiss our guys.  Like I said we need one or two more attacking mid options.  and many teams will open up like sardines. 
Post by: Storeboy on November 12, 2016, 08:03:30 PM
I know that we fans love to express our feelings, but when I read some of the "expert" opinions on this thread, I wonder why these naysayers and fire breathing :pissedoff: commentators not coaching some club or country somewhere. This is the same Hart who was coaching in the last Gold Cup when the team tied Mexico, scoring 4 goals and repeated the drawn game scoring 3 a few months later. Fought Panama into overtime. I believe that the team appears to have regressed. My opinion? This team goes for months without playing any International Friendlies. No team, no matter how good the individual players are, can succeed, or get better, or remain playing at a high level without frequently playing together.  The US has played about 20 games for the year already. We expect to just show up and play. It isn't Hart, it isn't the quality of the players, it is the lack of preparation of the team by not playing together frequently; and much of that is out of Hart's hands. That's my take.
Relax fellas!
Post by: asylumseeker on November 12, 2016, 08:19:13 PM
Cummings better than Jomal?? I am sure that's why he plays in TT Pro league at 28 and Jomal in Mexico at 22.

Nonsensical comment. Yuh better than that. Or should be.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 12, 2016, 08:21:49 PM

It's just a different idea of what "boss" is.   Considering that CR ranked as a way better team than us I think we out played them in every area but for the mistake in D.  I would not take this score and dismiss our guys.  Like I said we need one or two more attacking mid options.  and many teams will open up like sardines.

We did NOT outplay Costa Rica.
Post by: trini_stallion on November 12, 2016, 08:57:22 PM
I know that we fans love to express our feelings, but when I read some of the "expert" opinions on this thread, I wonder why these naysayers and fire breathing :pissedoff: commentators not coaching some club or country somewhere. This is the same Hart who was coaching in the last Gold Cup when the team tied Mexico, scoring 4 goals and repeated the drawn game scoring 3 a few months later. Fought Panama into overtime. I believe that the team appears to have regressed. My opinion? This team goes for months without playing any International Friendlies. No team, no matter how good the individual players are, can succeed, or get better, or remain playing at a high level without frequently playing together.  The US has played about 20 games for the year already. We expect to just show up and play. It isn't Hart, it isn't the quality of the players, it is the lack of preparation of the team by not playing together frequently; and much of that is out of Hart's hands. That's my take.
Relax fellas!

Post by: asylumseeker on November 12, 2016, 09:02:10 PM
I'll just leave this here

https://twitter.com/CristianB_LN/status/797212324914466817 (https://twitter.com/CristianB_LN/status/797212324914466817)

https://twitter.com/caribbeanftbl/status/797250043329806337 (https://twitter.com/caribbeanftbl/status/797250043329806337)

https://twitter.com/caribbeanftbl/status/797249717277196288 (https://twitter.com/caribbeanftbl/status/797249717277196288)

But for the tassa, we would be pronounced dead upon arrival.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 12, 2016, 09:05:53 PM

One game is nothing. Cummings is in TT Pro league at 28 for a reason. He has done nothing against Guatemala in the 2-1 away win.

Jomal plays in a higher level league than Costa Rica first division. And he actually manages to shine there.

He did not "shine" last night ... which spoke volumes because the conditions for "shining" were available.
Post by: gawd on pitch on November 12, 2016, 09:51:48 PM
Maybe the upside to this loss is the team raising their level of play. This loss was a reality check. They know the quality of thr opponents in this round is high. I hope this loss becomes the catalyst to get us going.

Still, this 2-0 should not have HAPPENED .
Post by: Dutty Love on November 12, 2016, 09:59:03 PM

Nonsensical comment. Yuh better than that. Or should be.

Like two meaningless games against Mexico back ups are sufficient to make a great career. Look at his current season stats in the ultra competitive amateur local league whose best side gets goals like it rains against Pumas.

http://us.soccerway.com/players/keron-cummings/75334/

Now compare to Jomal who is usually a left winger by the way. First time he plays CAM role.

http://us.soccerway.com/players/jomal-williams/145543/

The team actually played good posession in the first half yesterday. I wouldn't touch the line up except for Cyrus (call Williams already) and maybe Mitchell, as I rate Marshall more.
Post by: Dutty Love on November 12, 2016, 10:10:02 PM

He did not "shine" last night ... which spoke volumes because the conditions for "shining" were available.

Actually he played good posession and drew a lot of fouls and had the only shot near the goal in the first half. Hart said that as well in post game interview.
Post by: davidephraim on November 13, 2016, 05:12:15 AM
Well yes, almost speechless. Echoing Sando, why were we playing like if a draw was de real scene after already claiming that we trying to win the home games. Costa Rica was primed for a beating had we just turned up. Ah still mad bout the Molino scene, especially since ah seeing people talking bout when he come back. So he gets to come back? If so, who did Hart really punish? Felt like it was the fans.  I don't know what politics goin on in the TT FA right now, but Hart play conservative, like his job on the line. Either free de man so he can revert to previous Gold Cup Hart or fire him but do not dull him; he already soft spoken. Free up de man.
To the team; unfortunately, your inability to unlock Costa Rica defense has left us with nothing from a home game. So now we must fetch for it on de road. Whether or not the dressing room is in disarray, the public at large has determined that this team full of real quality. We expect more I imagine. Is go have to be dat! There is no other satisfactory outcome. 
Lets go Warriors!
Post by: asylumseeker on November 13, 2016, 05:51:43 AM

Actually he played good posession and drew a lot of fouls and had the only shot near the goal in the first half. Hart said that as well in post game interview.

Posession buys you a Pepsi and a sweet bun. On the fine dining stage of WC qualifying, possession is not the main course, it's an appetizer or hors d'oeuvre. Nobody awarding the chef special praise based on that.

Talk to me about penetration. And about whether he understands his role defensively.

Let me ask you this? No agenda. Just want ah honest answer. Do you think he should have played 90 minutes?
Post by: trini_stallion on November 13, 2016, 08:04:32 AM
We wanted 3 or 4 points right guys? 3 points still up for grabs!