Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on September 07, 2016, 05:50:45 AM

Title: Thread for the T&T vs Honduras Game (1-Sept-2017)
Post by: Flex on September 07, 2016, 05:50:45 AM
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifying T&T vs Honduras game at the Ato Boldon Stadium (8pm) on the 1st of September 2017 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

To be updated.

Possible TV Station.

To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers

Jan-Michael Williams (Juticalpa FC), Adrian Foncette (Police FC), Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin Civic Centre)

Defenders

Mekeil Williams (Colorado Rapids), Aubrey David (PS Kemi Kings), Alvin Jones (W Connection), Carlyle Mitchell (East Bengal), Triston Hodge (W Connection), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Kevon Villaroel (North East Stars), Radanfah Abu Bakr (Sūduva Marijampolė), Sheldon Bateau (FC Kairat), Daneil Cyrus (Juticalpa FC).

Midfielders

Leston Paul (CD Pasaquina), Khaleem Hyland (Al-Faisaly Harmah), Joevin Jones (Seattle Sounders), Kevin Molino (Minnesota United), Cordell Cato (San Jose Earthquakes), Kevan George (Jacksonville Armada), Jomal Williams (Murciélagos FC), Tyrone Charles (San Juan Jabloteh).

Forwards

Jamille Boatswain (Alajuelense), Willis Plaza (East Bengal), Nathan Lewis (San Juan Jabloteh), Trevin Caesar (Orange County).

Coach - Dennis Lawrence.

Honduras Squad

Goalkeepers

Donis Escober (Olimpia), Luis Lopez (Real Espana), Ricardo Canales (Vida).

Defenders: Bryan Beckeles (Necaxa), Maynor Figueroa (Dallas), Henry Figueroa and Felix Crisanto (Motagua), Carlos Sanchez (Honduras Progreso), Jhonny Palacios and Ever Alvarado (Olimpia), Emilio Izaguirre (Al-Fayha, Arabia), Jhonny Leveron (Marathon).

Midfielders

Bryan Acosta (Tenerife, Espana), Jorge Claros (Real Espana), Alexander Lopez (Olimpia), Alfredo Mejia (Xanthi, China), Oliver Morazan (Juticalpa), Esdras Padilla (Juticalpa), Sergio Pena (Real Sociedad), Carlos Discua (Motagua), Boniek García (Houston Dynamo), Juan Delgado (Honduras Progreso).

Forwards

Anthony Lozano (Barcelona B), Rony Martinez (Baoding Yingli Yitong), Alberth Elis (Houston Dynamo), Romnell Quioto (Houston Dynamo), Carlo Costly (Olimpia), Ovidio Lanza (Juticalpa), Eddie Hernandez (Motagua).

Coach - Jorge Luis Pinto.

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

Title: Re: Thread for the T&T vs Honduras Game (1-Sept-2017)
Post by: Flex on June 29, 2017, 01:32:05 AM
Lawrence starts to focus on Honduras and Panama.
TTFA Media.

With just over two months to go before this country’s next 2018 World Cup qualifier at home to Honduras, National Senior Team head coach Dennis Lawrence is putting his pieces together in anticipation of what is set to be a game that could swing the momentum in this country’s direction for the remaining matches on the schedule.

Speaking last Friday, Lawrence indicated that his team would be giving it absolutely everything to achieve the required results in the next set of matches. T&T will host Honduras on Friday September 1st, the day after Independence Day and then travel to face Panama on September 5th.

“At the moment we have got Honduras next and that is the key focus. Plain and simple we need to win the game. If we want to have any chance of qualifying for Russia, we need to win this game. It’s not going to be easy because there are no easy games in World Cup qualifying but we are home and we need to take advantage of the situation. After we win this game then we need to win the next one against Panama, plain and simple,” Lawrence stated.

And as to why there should be that belief that T&T can still get to Russia 2018, the former Wrexham man pointed to the positives from the team’s recent encounters which has brought one victory over Panama and three solid performances against Mexico and away to United States and Costa Rica.

“If you want to take the positives from the games we played so far, you would like to say we have a good chance but it’s not going to be easy because Honduras are in the same position as us. They know they need the points. They are going to come here well prepared and they are going to fight. We just need to ensure that we want it just a little bit more than them,” Lawrence said on the Good Morning T&T show.

“We have to focus on the positives. It’s not an easy thing and it’s not often we go to a place like Costa Rica and be able to come out of the game with more possession and more shots and having a performance where I thought we should have taken something away from the game, When you look back at the positives it gives you hope going into the next game. But we cannot afford to rest on these good things we have done, we have to keep progressing,” Lawrence said.

And staying positive and maintaining a buzz on the the job is important like anything else that comes with the territory.

“The important thing for me is to enjoy every moment because why, I am doing something that I have grown up all my life being involved in,” he said.

“I am doing something that I enjoy doing on a daily basis. OF course the last couple results are not something I enjoying because I am not here to lose games but i ma here to try and build something for Trinidad and Tobago football. At the moment I am seeing progress but what I would like to see is results.”

He commented on the evidence of synergy between himself and the players, explaining that there’s some history to it.

“It’s because of the fact that I am still young coming out of being a player myself, because I understand Trinidad and Tobago as a country, I understand our people and our needs. I have known some of the players for a while so I think it was quite easy for me to interact with them and get them to understand what I was trying to do, myself and the staff. We are just trying to integrate and get to know each other very quickly which the players have taken on board.

“There has been synergy with past coaches but what has helped me is being a Trinidad and Tobago citizen. I understand a lot about what takes place in our football environment. It was easier for me to come in and transcend and interact with the boys and get a quick understanding of where we were and what level we are trying to get to,” stated Lawrence who has 89 appearances for T&T and played in three World Cup campaigns.

The past Everton coach spoke about his ideas as he carries out his duties during his tenure with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association which he intends to take beyond the Senior Men’s Team.The former Defence Force player who made his debut for T&T at age 25 in 2000, spoke about the developmental process he sees as the way to go for T&T football.

“This is something that I am trying to affect as quickly as possible. Our development has always been about the youth teams winning and we have lost track of the idea on developing the player. The idea now is we have to try and develop players within trying to win games. The focus can go very quickly into winning tournaments or games and we could lose a bit of focus on the direction of developing the individuals.

“Now the idea is to try and work with the coaches, the zones, at some point get into the schools leagues and get them to understand what the development process is about. As much as I understand winning is a major part of development, we cannot afford to sacrifice the development for the winning .”

“We need to understand what the development process is in the younger generation so that we can have that continuity in our football. Too many a years we have always produced a good group of players who have done well and then we have gone on a lull for two or three years and then we come again because the development process is not really going the way i think it should be.”

With his immediate focus being the Senior Team when he came in to the job in late January, Lawrence still has his eyes on the overall development here.

“I’ve come in right in the middle of the campaign for Russia so I haven’t been able to go deep into how we are going to structure this but at some point I am going to be involved. I am going to have meetings with the youth team coaches. I’ve met with the zones recently because we have started the Under 13 programme. The idea is to try and bring everything into one so that we can have direction in our development process and not just try to create winning teams.

“We need to create our own philosophy. We need to be very strong in what we are going to do and believe in what we are going to do. I have brought on board coaches with me and we have worked together for the past four and a half months or so. They have seen what I am trying to do and they have all bought into it. The idea now is for it to spiral all the way down. The idea is for people to see there is progression and there is positive in what we are trying to do and then people will come on board and  try to integrate it within their club.

“At the end of the day, each club is responsible for how they want to play and how they choose to set their team up. But my idea is if I can affect the national team at that level then hopefully the coaches at the Pro league level will see something good and if they can pick up bits which can help the players then that would be great for us,” Lawrence said.

Post by: g on June 29, 2017, 07:16:51 AM
I just want to know which officiating crew going to be in charge of this game.

Post by: palos on June 29, 2017, 11:59:35 AM

Officiating crews cause Costa Rica to score in the first minute of the game?

Did they cause Ruiz to waltz through we defence and score?

They cause Pulis to score twice on we?

Bad breaks are part of the game.  Is not like we score 5 times and had 4 goals disallowed by the officials.

Post by: g on June 29, 2017, 02:30:06 PM

Bad breaks are part of the game.  Is not like we score 5 times and had 4 goals disallowed by the officials.

I agree bad breaks are part of the game, and normally calls tend to even out over a run of games but I am seeing a trend skewed in one direction over the last 3 games, that's how i see it. I have no basis to suggest anything sinister, it is what it is. I do hope we can get an experienced officiating group come September, it may mean nothing or it may mean something but I still hope we do.

It's all hypothetical but 2 offside goals and a missed penalty call could could be the difference between 3 and 5 points. The campaign would look much different, especially to the psyche of the squad.
Post by: Controversial on June 30, 2017, 02:17:19 AM

I agree bad breaks are part of the game, and normally calls tend to even out over a run of games but I am seeing a trend skewed in one direction over the last 3 games, that's how i see it. I have no basis to suggest anything sinister, it is what it is. I do hope we can get an experienced officiating group come September, it may mean nothing or it may mean something but I still hope we do.

It's all hypothetical but 2 offside goals and a missed penalty call could could be the difference between 3 and 5 points. The campaign would look much different, especially to the psyche of the squad.

Lawrence selection and strategy is suspect and it's being exposed with every game...

We can't score at will like before, I don't care what people say but our defence is only marginally better
Post by: andre samuel on June 30, 2017, 12:03:17 PM

This man sick inno
Post by: Deeks on June 30, 2017, 04:51:07 PM
Contro. when did our team use to "score at will" ?
Post by: FF on June 30, 2017, 06:21:42 PM
That is the greatest part
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 30, 2017, 06:34:11 PM
I think what has called the campaign for us so far are the bad calls by the officials. They have hurt our campaign just as much as DJW.
Post by: Controversial on July 01, 2017, 11:14:30 AM
I think what has called the campaign for us so far are the bad calls by the officials. They have hurt our campaign just as much as DJW.

Before we had that confidence that the team could rebound from a deficit but now it's back to pre Hart where we don't have that same confidence of the team coming back or winning...

Many times in the not so distant past we created more scoring opportunities and looked a lot more dangerous in the opponents first third..

I understand we got gip with some goals by referees but we didn't look as deadly as previously to mount a comeback.. And in certain instances we were capable of scoring at will against our opponents because of the amount of opportunities we created in past encounters...

In fact we were playing better football than the 06' warriors prior to their World Cup matches...

Post by: Controversial on July 01, 2017, 11:23:04 AM

This man sick inno

Nah you just blind, anything the dictator feed you, yuh eating or yuh buying it wholesale because you're not intelligent enough to see it :D
Post by: Deeks on July 01, 2017, 04:46:01 PM
Contro., we performed well in the prelims of the two GC tournaments that Hart coached. For whatever reason we performed above par vs Mexico, the strongest team in the region. The memorable 4-4. was the apex. And also the 3-3 friendly against them. Why we psyched against Mexico. I don't know. But against Panama we let down. We get a next shot to go to the Copa, we fall flat against a make shift Haitian team. So what is your point that we used to score at will against teams. I agree that under Hart we used to make plenty scoring chances. But  by then Hart had the team for more than a year. How many games Tallest has under his belt so far? 10? He still trying to figure out the best eleven. Unfortunately, he has to figure this out in the Hex. He is doing his best under the circumstances.
Post by: Tallman on July 13, 2017, 07:49:57 PM
DJW confirms Couva switch for Honduras WCQ, TTFA plots Emancipation Day friendly.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

The Trinidad and Tobago National Senior Team will play their do-or-die World Cup qualifier against Honduras on 1 September at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva from 8pm.

It will be the first time in eight years that the Soca Warriors play a World Cup qualifying home match outside of the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain. On 6 June 2009, Trinidad and Tobago—under then rookie coach Russell Latapy—hosted Costa Rica at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet.

The Warriors earned credit for their showing then although the result was a 3-2 defeat.

There is no margin for error for Trinidad and Tobago on 1 September and the Ato Boldon Stadium has not exactly been a lucky venue. The National Under-17 Team were eliminated in the group stage of the Caribbean Cup tournament at Couva last year while the Senior Team failed to impress there in January when they lost Gold Cup qualifiers against Suriname and Haiti .

Current Senior Team head coach Dennis Lawrence will hope to have more good fortune than Latapy and Tom Saintfiet respectively.

Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFA) president David John-Williams, during a call in to I95.5FM, said the decision to move the game was made after consultation with the Sport Company and Lawrence and several factors were taken into account.

Twice during the CONCACAF semifinal round, there were delays as the generator at the Hasely Crawford Stadium failed and the venue was plunged into darkness. John-Williams said the TTFA and Sportt felt more confident about the reliability of the Ato Boldon ground.

The TTFA president also noted the small crowds for the Warriors’ last home games against Panama and Mexico in Port-of-Spain in March, which attracted between 10,000 and 12,000 patrons respectively.

At these games, only 8,500 and 6,500 spectators, according to John-Williams, were paying patrons while the others benefitted from complimentary tickets.

The Ato Boldon Stadium holds just 10,000 persons compared to 23,000 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. And John-Williams suggested that the football body preferred to be certain of a full ground, which could create a better atmosphere for the affair.

John-Williams noted too that the Couva facility is now the TTFA’s headquarters while the area also houses national venues for swimming, cycling and cricket. Central Trinidad, he suggested, is now the capital for sport in the two-island republic.

The local football president claimed that patrons will be allowed to park at the neighbouring sport venues, which should be able to accommodate another 700 vehicles. He also told Wired868 the TTFA will discuss with the PTSC the possibility of arranging a shuttle service to help fans get to a ground that is considered a nightmare for commuters.

There should be an early treat for football fans, though, as the TTFA is attempting to secure a home friendly against an African nation on Emancipation Day—1 August—as well as an 18 August outing against El Salvador.

Both outings should offer crucial match practice for the Warriors, who are the only team of the six in the Hex to miss out on the Gold Cup, currently in progress in the US. The Emancipation Day affair should be particularly useful as, coming five days after a friendly against Ecuador in Guayaquil, it allows Lawrence and his squad to mirror the September schedule of home and away matches within a five-day period.

John-Williams said the TTFA will ensure that the National Senior Team’s friendlies on the road, including Ecuador, continue to be broadcast on television at home.

After hosting Honduras, Trinidad and Tobago play Panama in Panama City on 5 September. Anything less than six points from the two upcoming qualifiers will extinguish any lingering hope of the National Senior Team advancing to the Russia 2018 World Cup.

WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago to play World Cup Qualifier against Honduras at Ato Boldon Stadium on Friday, September 1st at 8pm

https://www.youtube.com/v/llVqpIXPvtQ
Post by: pull stones on July 13, 2017, 11:10:18 PM
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago to play World Cup Qualifier against Honduras at Ato Boldon Stadium on Friday, September 1st at 8pm

Very foolish decision by the federation to take the team to couva in traffic which reminds me of when they took the team to Tobago to play Costa rica in 2009. how could you take the team all the way to couva 45 minutes away when they could take a five minute ride to the hasely crawford where we have grown accustomed too. what would fat head DJW think of next. there's never dull moment in Trinidad football, what a bunch of brainless mooks.
Post by: Jayerson on July 14, 2017, 08:55:59 AM

Very foolish decision by the federation to take the team to couva in traffic which reminds me of when they took the team to Tobago to play Costa rica in 2009. how could you take the team all the way to couva 45 minutes away when they could take a five minute ride to the hasely crawford where we have grown accustomed too. what would fat head DJW think of next. there's never dull moment in Trinidad football, what a bunch of brainless mooks.

I am not sure where the team will be based for this match but for the Gold Cup playoffs, which were played at the Ato Boldon Stadium, they were based in Cara Suites which is about a 15 minute drive.
Post by: pull stones on July 14, 2017, 05:08:36 PM

I am not sure where the team will be based for this match but for the Gold Cup playoffs, which were played at the Ato Boldon Stadium, they were based in Cara Suites which is about a 15 minute drive.
my point being, home games are designed for home teams to exploit their advantages for instances azteca for its altitude, San Pedro for its hostile crowd. jamaica never plays any major competitive game other than the office. now what advantage does the ato bolden stadium afford us?
Post by: Deeks on July 14, 2017, 05:27:09 PM
now what advantage does the ato bolden stadium afford us?

It is not about advantage. It is about tong people who tink everything south of the Caroni river is country. Come south to see what south and central does go thru to get to that Piece of Spain. Oh gorm, for once, all come central, nah!

I just trying to be sarcastic! Everybody just go and support the team. Put on allyuh blinders. Don't think about DJW in charge. Just support for the sake of the players. God Bless!
Post by: pull stones on July 15, 2017, 01:36:26 AM
now what advantage does the ato bolden stadium afford us?

It is not about advantage. It is about tong people who tink everything south of the Caroni river is country. Come south to see what south and central does go thru to get to that Piece of Spain. Oh gorm, for once, all come central, nah!

I just trying to be sarcastic! Everybody just go and support the team. Put on allyuh blinders. Don't think about DJW in charge. Just support for the sake of the players. God Bless!
this is not the time to play up north down south. I'm sure the people in Mexico don't quarrel about not having games in mexico city, vera cruz or tasco, once the give themselves the best chance of winning they ok with the azteca and I am sure people travel from far and wide to make the trip some as far as three hundred miles or more just to support the team so what's a 20 mile ride from Sando to town?
Post by: Deeks on July 15, 2017, 07:42:18 AM
Pull stones, our president in his infinite "wisdom" had a "grand vision". I like you eh think it is wise to mess with our 12th man. But he in the drivers seat.
Post by: Controversial on July 15, 2017, 12:23:04 PM
Contro., we performed well in the prelims of the two GC tournaments that Hart coached. For whatever reason we performed above par vs Mexico, the strongest team in the region. The memorable 4-4. was the apex. And also the 3-3 friendly against them. Why we psyched against Mexico. I don't know. But against Panama we let down. We get a next shot to go to the Copa, we fall flat against a make shift Haitian team. So what is your point that we used to score at will against teams. I agree that under Hart we used to make plenty scoring chances. But  by then Hart had the team for more than a year. How many games Tallest has under his belt so far? 10? He still trying to figure out the best eleven. Unfortunately, he has to figure this out in the Hex. He is doing his best under the circumstances.

You keep ignoring the issues surrounding the team, strike, player getting shot, djw bacially upsetting Hart and undermining him... sabotaging our national program

So when you talk about Haiti and that year, it was under the dictator, so yeah of course our team chemistry diminished and we didn't play the free flowing football we were playing previously..

I can't understand why people forget the factors surrounding the team at that time and somehow try to say it was a fluke, it wasn't, it was sabotage on the part of the dictator that caused the drop in performance

For the first time in the history of me watching the national team, when we dropped a goal or were behind, I had no doubt we would come back or win... that's the confidence I'm speaking about
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 15, 2017, 12:30:09 PM
Retrospection important in life contro, but in the absence of looking forward is useless.  Now if to be forward looking for our national program is an exercise in futility given the current factors then so be it.  But a constant avalanche of the factors leading to the demise of Hartand our pgm then how is that useful?
Post by: Controversial on July 15, 2017, 01:03:25 PM
Retrospection important in life contro, but in the absence of looking forward is useless.  Now if to be forward looking for our national program is an exercise in futility given the current factors then so be it.  But a constant avalanche of the factors leading to the demise of Hartand our pgm then how is that useful?

And I agree with you, it's not useful but Deeks and others need to stop bringing up things that are irrelevant in regards to our drop in performances ... acknowelegement of the real core factors that are attributed to our drop in performance needs to be realized.

I hate re hashing to be honest but when I hear someone just throw in something that absolutely makes no sense I can't sit there and shake my head in agreement...

It's problematic to look forward when we have looming issues with our current admin to be honest.. To most people it won't bother them, but that has always been the trinbagonian way of life... I find it troubling and undermining, so much so I voice my opinion, irregardless of how many People disagree.

Personally I would love the program to move forward but acceptance and ignoring what is going on will hinder that forward progress because there are ulterior motives at play currently... If we don't speak up, the vicious cycle will continue
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 15, 2017, 01:33:38 PM
Cool cool and I echo your sentiments re the issues with the current admin and many others do as well.  Wonder if we would ever get to a certain level of transparency with a core team really trying to move our football program forward...
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 15, 2017, 03:20:00 PM
How many spectators does that stadium hold? 5000? Why isn't anyone questioning the decisions of a mad man? He becoming the Trump of TT football..
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 15, 2017, 03:46:01 PM
GOP (no pun intended with the abbreviation)  beyond this site and a few others not enough fans exist to protest / question these types of decisions, plus culturally we jokey when it comes to standing up for anything, the "who say beers" culture happy once you can drink and lime
Post by: g on July 15, 2017, 04:33:36 PM
The only rationale I can apply is the fact that the campaign is on its last leg and local support will start to flounder, so it may be best to sell out a 15,000 Ato Bolton than have a half full 27,000 Hasley Crawford Stadium to potentially create a better support atmosphere.

Other than that, logistically it makes little sense.
Post by: lefty on July 15, 2017, 06:13:10 PM
The only rationale I can apply is the fact that the campaign is on its last leg and local support will start to flounder, so it may be best to sell out a 15,000 Ato Bolton than have a half full 27,000 Hasley Crawford Stadium to potentially create a better support atmosphere.

Other than that, logistically it makes little sense.
don't agree with couva due to commuter travel being ify on many levels......but.....given that the campaign is floundering....a small more intimate setting where d crowd dat little bit more "on top" d action might actually be a good thing, HCS aint exactly no fortress....if we were to be honest....forget d pres for a moment....and tink tactically for once......I would even water dat pitch ah lil more dan usual ....depending on rain fall
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 15, 2017, 07:47:06 PM
GOP (no pun intended with the abbreviation)  beyond this site and a few others not enough fans exist to protest / question these types of decisions, plus culturally we jokey when it comes to standing up for anything, the "who say beers" culture happy once you can drink and lime

I had to read that one twice. I now realize what you mean by no pun intended. Good one.

That is too bad. DJW is taking something that is a source of national pride and making it a disgrace.
Post by: Bianconeri on July 15, 2017, 09:11:03 PM
I think it holds around 10,000 ppl

Heard talk that when intl games been played there at diff levels, the crowd is more supportive and interactive
whereas at the Hasley Crawford, we already know most of the crowd moves stoosh and a lot of the times the Away team makes more noise than us!
A poor WC qualifying run....so def. gonna have a smaller crowd than earlier in the campaign i think unfortunately judging from past experiences.
So maybe having the Ato Stadium close to capacity and probably with a more vocal crowd as well could help.

If POS peeps dont wanna make the drive, I feel it have more than enough ppl in south n central that will make that turn
Parking is a concern tho. Would they block off ppl from parking inside like they do for the Hasley?
What security precautions they gonna decide on so we dont have any madness like we did early in the campaign with extremely crowded gates outside to get in???
Post by: Sando prince on July 15, 2017, 09:37:25 PM

Don't expect to see the same sell out crowds we saw when we played against the US and Guatemala at home. This time around expect a small home crowd as everyone is disappointed with the campaign
Post by: pull stones on July 16, 2017, 02:00:35 PM

You keep ignoring the issues surrounding the team, strike, player getting shot, djw bacially upsetting Hart and undermining him... sabotaging our national program

So when you talk about Haiti and that year, it was under the dictator, so yeah of course our team chemistry diminished and we didn't play the free flowing football we were playing previously..

I can't understand why people forget the factors surrounding the team at that time and somehow try to say it was a fluke, it wasn't, it was sabotage on the part of the dictator that caused the drop in performance

For the first time in the history of me watching the national team, when we dropped a goal or were behind, I had no doubt we would come back or win... that's the confidence I'm speaking about
ok mate we got it......now...... when are we going to get passed this stale same old same old argument, you do know by going on and on about Steve hart isnt doing the man's image any favors right? dude by bringing up the same topic over and over actually kills the effectiveness of your message in case anyone was taking you somewhat seriously.

Please mister try and change that record it's getting on my last nerve now. how could you be so inconsiderate of others to think that we would want to hear the same ole topic every time we hear from you? come on man grow up.
Post by: palos on July 17, 2017, 09:41:30 AM
Where does W Connection play it's home matches?
Post by: Deeks on July 17, 2017, 12:53:59 PM

No brainer.
Post by: palos on July 17, 2017, 01:28:28 PM

No brainer.

I serious.  I don't know.  Where do they play their home games?  Which venue?
Post by: Deeks on July 17, 2017, 02:25:54 PM

No brainer.

Ato Bolden stadium.
Post by: palos on July 17, 2017, 02:29:22 PM

No brainer.

Ato Bolden stadium.

Thanks.

Consistent
Post by: Brownsugar on July 17, 2017, 05:22:52 PM

Did the change in venue for that Costa Rica game in 2009 really hamper our performance on the field? 
Post by: pull stones on July 17, 2017, 11:45:03 PM

Did the change in venue for that Costa Rica game in 2009 really hamper our performance on the field?
that seem like a loaded question and I get the feeling like I am walking into a trap if I answer were to answer honestly but allow me to answer anyway. who knows what the out come would have been had we played in familiar surroundings HSC where we have had a string of very good results of any venue in the country. the point of my dissatisfaction with a venue change is that we have a home ground in the HSC where so far we have had relative success so why change it. we have had some success at the AB but nothing compared to the HSC where the lads know every crease and crevice of the pitch and in my view that's a huge waste of home field advantage.
Post by: lefty on July 18, 2017, 07:59:58 AM
Why people making ah big deal for this .....d campaign done at ah stage where plenty people may not go to d game.....5,000 people in ah 10,000 seat stadia will give more atmosphere than 5000 in 27,000 seats

And couva does generate some atmosphere even when nutten much eh happen AFAIK. ....d same is not true for HCS

AND why d f**k every game hadda be in PoS d ress ah T&T is not people too

D fed actually trying to use dey brain lil bit stop being selfish and give it ah chance nah

Sent from my SM-J105B using Tapatalk

Post by: palos on July 18, 2017, 10:38:53 AM
I have no problem with trying other venues.  As long as they're FIFA approved venues, why not spread matches throughout the country?

That said.....AFAIK....Couva eh no hotbed of football.  Besides that, way more so than the HC Stadium.....Ato Boldon Stadium is a logistical nightmare for anyone without a vehicle to get to.  It done hard for people who have a car anyway.

As for atmosphere.....it really doesn't matter.  Someone said that the only way we will get enthusiasm and real support at any T&T matches is if we import fans.  That's gospel right there.  We are a people like to WATCH football and make we little comments as the match goes on.  It seems like the only time we make any kind of noise at a football match is to waste dong players or when a man get breed. 

It is what it is.   That said......I eh get the feeling that this move is about spreading the football elsewhere in the country.

DJW just take a step further than Trump.  Trump would prefer to live and work out of Trump Plaza in New York but instead, he have to spend his weekdays living at the White House. 

DJW move everything to he "home" and to f**k with everybody else.
Post by: lefty on July 18, 2017, 12:37:28 PM
D logistical nightmare we can agree on....as ah said earlier couva wouldna be my first choice.......due to ify commuter transportation....still tink dat under d circumstances ah smaller stadium might be best...my personal choice would be manny, d area jus safer for commuters than couva and easier to get to

Post by: Deeks on July 18, 2017, 02:15:59 PM
Guys would you all believe that about 1975, in midweek, TT played Barbados in the Oval in front about 15 thousand, maybe 18 thousand in an Olympic qualifying match. Not WC. So that "no longer" interested in football came when the special advisor started to f--k up the admin. side of football. This happened over a 25 year period. So like it is part of our culture now. This generation don't know of our pass enthusiasm for football and sports.

Yes in the past mostly all sporting events(football and cricket mainly) were scheduled in POS. And we had bare bone facilities. We did not even have a athletics track and people used to go to Walker Park in Caroni for track and field. Well don't talk about Guaracara Park. It was the numero Uno destination for track and cycling. Especially Southern Games. It just these blood-sucking  wanna-be administrators, are the ones who turn off a whole generation from ENJOYING SPORTS. And they continuing to do it.
Post by: Deeks on July 18, 2017, 02:25:54 PM
Honestly, I don't mind playing the game at ATO. Jeez-an, you could see the top of the stadium from the highway. Why is it so difficult to organize smooth transport to the venue. That same RR that was rejected would have help immensely in facilitating the "smooth" movement of fans to the stadium. Is TTFA organizing some buses to take fans down there? Cheups!!! Get there whichever way you can.

Like Palos said, DJW move everything to he "home" and to f**k with everybody else.. That is it right dey. But if I was home, I would definitely ban meh belly and go to the game. We need to support the Warriors. We will deal with DJW later.
Post by: palos on July 18, 2017, 03:05:02 PM
Guys would you all believe that about 1975, in midweek, TT played Barbados in the Oval in front about 15 thousand, maybe 18 thousand in an Olympic qualifying match. Not WC. So that "no longer" interested in football came when the special advisor started to f--k up the admin. side of football. This happened over a 25 year period. So like it is part of our culture now. This generation don't know of our pass enthusiasm for football and sports.

Yes in the past mostly all sporting events(football and cricket mainly) were scheduled in POS. And we had bare bone facilities. We did not even have a athletics track and people used to go to Walker Park in Caroni for track and field. Well don't talk about Guaracara Park. It was the numero Uno destination for track and cycling. Especially Southern Games. It just these blood-sucking  wanna-be administrators, are the ones who turn off a whole generation from ENJOYING SPORTS. And they continuing to do it.

You know why 15K people showed up then?

Because people knew and were invested in the players.  In dem times...de only football we was seeing outside of world cup football was Star Soccer showing ONE MATCH of the then English First Division on a Saturday. 

Pele, Rivelino, Tostao, Garrincha, Beckenbauer, Muller, etc were virtual imaginary figures.  Especially the latin players.  We never saw them on a weekly basis.

So our frame of reference was our local players.  Steve David, Gally, Dilly, Archie etc

Today, we seeing Messi and Ronaldo every week.  Our players by (UNFAIR) comparison are virtual shithongs.  Local club football is practically dead.  Our best players playing outside in secondary (AT BEST) leagues.

Globalization is not just about economics.  It's also about culture and entertainment. 

Administrators been out fuh deyself from long time.  Some have done good things and same ones have done bad things.  Yuh tink Eric James was a saint?  Who yuh think Jackula learn from? 

One thing is for sure....administration is a thankless occupation.  Many GOOD people do it out of a sense of duty and service to country and whatever discipline they participating in.  Sometimes the perks that come along with SOME positions are enough to corrupt most people.

But to blame it ALL on administration is a convenient cop out.  Plenty forces at play
Post by: Deeks on July 18, 2017, 03:54:50 PM
So our frame of reference was our local players.  Steve David, Gally, Dilly, Archie etc

Breds, them guys you mentioned were pros by then. It was Carter, Grayson, Murrel, Steve Khan, Russel, Teshera, Sammy, Laforest, Walkes, etc. The new generation at that time.

You are correct about Eric James. He was no saint. He was a quiet tyrant. To me he looked a bit like Papa Doc. Had a strong  connection to PNM. But inspite of Eric James heavy hand, people use to passionately support local football.
Post by: palos on July 18, 2017, 06:23:31 PM
But inspite of Eric James heavy hand, people use to passionately support local football.

Because what else was there in dem times?

People today have plenty options.  1000 TV channels.  Entertainment galore.  Curry Q this week....Cook off next week.....BBQ competition same weekend....Pan.....Soca.....Lime....Fete....

I seein Neymar, Messi and Suarez play.  Change de channel and is Ozil and Sanchez...nex channel is Lewandowski, Robben, and Vidale.

And you want me to go and PAY to watch Shahdon Winchester, Devon Jorsling, and Chucky?  ::)

People doh even go cinema anymore breds...too much ting to do

Now.....with that said.....people WILL go out if we had players like Latas, and Yorke, and Leonson and dem.  But right now.....we producing more defenders than attackers....and people eh comin out dey house to go and watch defence

Post by: Sando prince on July 18, 2017, 09:43:48 PM
Triniz love winners and not spending money on a losing team. We will spend money early in the hex round because there was still a lot of hope in the aftermath of a very good showing in the previous Gold Cup. THE POTENTIAL TO WIN WAS THERE at that time! But the vibe right now is the team is a losing team and Trinis have ALWAYS been ones who will not break bank for a losing team in any sport. Now we can argue if that is the right or wrong attitude to have as fans from now until Christmas but that is the reality and has always been the reality
Post by: Flex on July 28, 2017, 12:32:44 AM
Lawrence targets Mid-August for resumption of Preparations for Honduras.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Dennis Lawrence has indicated that preparations for the upcoming 2018 World Cup qualifier at home to Honduras will resume  on August 14th as he seeks to secure a second victory at home during the final round of Concacaf qualification to put this country’s qualifying hopes back on track.

Lawrence was speaking on Thursday morning as he also reflected on T&T’s performance the previous night in a 3-1 defeat to Ecuador in Guayaquil. The game was T&T’s first outing since the 2-1 defeat to Costa Rica in San Jose in World Cup qualifying action in June.

“I was pleased in the first half. I thought we competed and we tried to do the right things. We had some moments where we made some critical errors at critical points in the game. But these types of games are what the boys need in preparation for the Honduras game,” Lawrence told TTFA Media.

“We had players coming back from injury with Carlyle Mitchell, who had’t played for a long time, six months since his last game. So we had to use this opportunity to get ready for the Honduras game.”

The former Everton coach said he was particularly pleased with T&T’s first half showing but didn’t think the same about the second 45 minutes.

“First half I was generally pleased with the effort and the way we applied ourselves. I think second half we were just totally outplayed if I were to be honest. We gave away the ball very, very easily. Ecuador dominated the second half. We had a bit of resilience at times but then the third goal was a bit disappointing as we couldn’t manage to see out the game and if we lost 2-1 it looks a lot better than 3-1. In general it was good exercise for the boys but a disappointing result,” Lawrence added.

He spoke about the playing time handed to players such as Kevon Villaroel, Keron Clarke, Tyrone Charles, Jared London and Nathaniel Garcia who have not previously been regulars in the squad.

“When you get the opportunity to give people the chance to compete for places in your World Cup squad you need to use it. It was an experience for the debutants. I think it is another level to what they are used to but I thought they gave their best effort and hopefully it will give them an idea of what they need to  try and get their levels up to. The preparation is for Honduras and looking back at the game we learnt a lot about a lot of players, whether or not they are ready to push and vie for a spot in the team to play Honduras,” Lawrence said.

T&T needs to secure three points when they clash with Honduras at the Ato Boldon Stadium on September 1st before traveling to face Panama four days later and Lawrence intends to have the best team ready for the two encounters.

“The idea now is that we will try to start on August 14th. We have between now and then where the players will go back to their clubs and continue to play and they will be assessed. We will come together on the 14th and make sure we put together the best squad for the game against Honduras on September 1st,” he said.

Video - Dennis Lawrence's Post-Match comments - T&T vs Ecuador (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5zwtNnFsCZw)

Post by: Flex on August 11, 2017, 02:49:52 PM
Mexicans officials appointed for T&T/Honduras World Cup qualifier.
TTFA Media.

Four Mexican officials have been appointed to take charge of this country’s crucial 2018 World Cup qualifier against Honduras at the Ato Boldon Stadium on Friday September 1st. Fernando Guerrero Ramirez will be the referee while his assistants will be Marcos Quintero Huitron and Andres Hernandez Delgado. The Fourth official is Luis Enrique Aguirre.

Ramirez is a 36-year-old who officiates in the Mexican Premier League. He has also officiated at the CONCACAF Gold Cup, Copa Centroamericana, CONCACAF Champions League, Copa Libertadores and Indian Super League.

The T&T team will begin training on Monday ahead of the August 24th International Friendly versus Jamaica at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. The team will continue its preparations following that fixture for the Honduras encounter.

Costa Rican-based forward Jamille Boatswain meantime is anticipating a call-up from head coach Dennis Lawrence for the qualifier and is hoping he has better luck this time around. Boatswain made his debut for Alajuelense in the Costa Rican league earlier this month.

“It’s a huge period for us now. I am feeling very good at the moment having made by debut for Alajuelense and my fitness is near tops at the moment,” Boatswain told TTFA Media.

“Obviously the World Cup qualifiers is beginning to take the main focus again because we are about two weeks away. Hopefully things will work out well for us. There have been some tough calls against us in recent games but I think once we put our heads down and let the football take care of things then is a good possibility we can come out on top,” Boatswain said.

Tickets now available at Lotto Locations for Jamaica and Honduras matches.

Fans can now access their tickets for this country’s two upcoming international matches against Jamaica and Honduras at NLCB Lotto Locations across the country.

T&T will face off with the Jamaica Reggae Boyz in an international friendly at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on August 24th as a build up for the crucial 2018 World Cup qualifier against Honduras at the Ato Boldon Stadium on September 1st.

And the FA has agreed that patrons who purchase their early bird tickets for the qualifier against Honduras which are priced at $150 (uncovered section) and $300 (covered) from Wednesday 9th August to Thursday 24th August, will receive their ticket for the Jamaica friendly at no additional cost.

Tickets for the qualifier versus Honduras (only) goes up from August 25th to $200 (uncovered) and $350 (covered.) Limited Early Bird tickets will be on sale for the Honduras match so fans are being encouraged to purchase only in order to benefit from the deal package.

T&T faces Jamaica at the Hasely Crawford Stadium from 8pm on Thursday August 24th. Regular priced tickets for that encounter only cost $100 (covered) and $50 (uncovered).

Post by: FF on August 14, 2017, 05:00:36 PM
Bostock fit and playing FYI  ::)
Post by: Deeks on August 14, 2017, 06:01:29 PM
Bostock fit and playing FYI  ::)

Not FMI. He eh playing for the RWB. Not interested.
Post by: Flex on August 17, 2017, 02:41:04 PM
TTFA offers party stand ticket option for T&T versus Honduras World Cup qualifier.
TTFA Media.

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association will be offering fans the party stand experience at its upcoming FIFA 2018 World Cup Qualifying encounter between the T&T Men’s Senior team and Honduras at the Ato Boldon Stadium on Friday September 1st.

Fans will have the option of purchasing a ticket to be in either of the three party sections that will be created with a closer vantage point to the playing pitch with entertainment and drinks inclusive options. The three Party groups the TTFA have teamed up with are Fantasy and Entice, Warrior Posse by Winerboy Entertainment and the Illusions Family.

Fans can purchase tickets for the respective groups from this Friday and Saturday. Warrior Posse tickets will be available at All Out Restaurant, Queen’s Park Oval and Cellmates (opposite Medford Gas Station, Chaguanas) while for Fantasy and Entice, interested persons can call 221-4966 or any Fantasy/Entice committee member and Illusions Family can be reached at 708-5183 and 320 7024.

Patrons purchasing their tickets from these sections will also access the T&T versus Jamaica Friendly at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on August 24th for free, using the same ticket.

The TTFA will also create a Fan Zone just inside the main entrance to the venue in collaboration with Teqball Trinidad and Tobago. Teqball which is already globally popular,  is a new and revolutionary sports equipment that took over two years’ testing and research to eventually develop its final innovative and sophisticated shape. Teqball’s rules and guidelines makes it fun and mentally challenging as it also improves player’s skill level, first touch, stamina and confidence.

The structure of Teqball table, aligned with the rules, does not allow luck or chance to interfere with the game; players can only rely on their skills and abilities. Fans will have the opportunity to win attractive giveaways at the Fan Zone.

Match kick off time on September 1st is 8pm.

Title: Lawrence selects 25-man roster for World Cup Qualifier vs Honduras
Post by: Tallman on August 26, 2017, 01:58:30 PM
Lawrence selects 25-man roster for World Cup Qualifier vs Honduras
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Dennis Lawrence today announced a 25-man Roster for this country’s 2018 World Cup Qualifying Match against Honduras on Friday at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva.

Following a training session at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Saturday morning, Lawrence disclosed his selection which will enter a residential training camp on Monday for the duration of the week leading into Friday’s encounter which kicks off at 8pm.

Ten players who were part of the squad for Thursday’s International Friendly against Jamaica have been retained including goalkeepers Marvin ‘Phillip and Andrian Foncette, Alvin Jones, Kevon Villaroel, Curtis Gonzales, Triston Hodge, Aubrey David, Cordell Cato, Nathan Lewis and Tyrone Charles.

The rest of the squad includes overseas-based professionals, goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams, European-based duo Sheldon Bateau and Radanfah Abu Bakr, US-based Kevin Molino, Kevan George, Mekeil Williams, Joevin Jones and Trevin Caesar with Honduras-based defender Daneil Cyrus, India-based duo Willis Plaza and Carlyle Mitchell, Jomal Williams of Murcielagos FC, Saudi Arabia-based midfielder Khaleem Hyland, Costa Rican-based forward Jamille Boatswain and El Salvador-based midfielder Leston Paul.

“After a proper assessment of the players who have been with us and also those have been involved with their clubs overseas, we’ve selected a squad that we believed is the best one at the moment that can get us the result we are working towards,” Lawrence told TTFA Media.

“The week ahead will be crucial with regards to the build up to the match. We have a couple of the overseas boys already here with us along with the home-based players and the others will start coming in this weekend. We will put in the work with the boys over the next few days to try to ensure that we are prepared as best as possible for what is ahead of us coming Friday against Honduras,” Lawrence added.

Atlanta United forward Kenwyne Jones was not considered for selection as he has not returned to full match fitness after his knee injury (knee inflammation) in the pre-game warm up against Costa Rica in June. He only returned to training (running session) with Atlanta United a couple weeks ago.

Tickets for Friday’s encounter are on sale at all NLCB Lotto Outlets priced at $350 (covered) and $200 (Covered). There are three party group sections with Fantasy/Entice, Illusions Family and Warriors Posse by Winerboy Entertainment all proving the option for drinks inclusive match experiences. Details on these party sections can be found on the TTFA’s Facebook Page as well as the respective social media platforms for the groups.

T&T 25-man Roster

Goalkeepers:

Jan Michael Williams (Juticalpa FC), Adrian Foncette (Police FC), Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin Civic Centre)

Defenders:

Mekeil Williams (Colorado Rapids), Aubrey David (PS Kemi Kings), Alvin Jones (W Connection), Carlyle Mitchell (East Bengal), Triston Hodge (W Connection), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Kevon Villaroel (North East Stars), Radanfah Abu Bakr (Sūduva Marijampolė), Sheldon Bateau (FC Kairat), Daneil Cyrus (Juticalpa FC)

Midfielders:

Leston Paul (CD Pasaquina), Khaleem Hyland (Al-Faisaly Harmah), Joevin Jones (Seattle Sounders), Kevin Molino (Minnesota United), Cordell Cato (San Jose Earthquakes), Kevan George (Jacksonville Armada) Jomal Williams (Murciélagos FC), Tyrone Charles (San Juan Jabloteh)

Forwards:

Jamille Boatswain (Alajuelense), Willis Plaza (East Bengal), Nathan Lewis (San Juan Jabloteh), Trevin Caesar (Orange County)

RELATED NEWS

Lawrence urges public to back T&T; explains Levi and Caesar absences and Sol’s role.
By Amiel Mohammed (wired868).

“We’ve lost too many games; we need to start changing the results.”

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Dennis Lawrence knows that tomorrow’s crucial 2018 World Cup qualifier against Honduras at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva is a make-or-break encounter for his team. But as the Soca Warriors prepare for the epic battle, he is not allowing himself or his men to think break.

Lawrence is only too well aware that the team has already suffered numerous setbacks and he believes that the power of positive thinking will work to put an end to the negatives.

“We intend to try and put that right on Friday,” he told the assembled media yesterday. “It’s a must-win. We need to start getting the results. We’ve had a couple issues and what has happened in the US has affected us.”

The ill winds of Hurricane Harvey, which left the US Gulf Coast under many inches of water, have indeed blown the National Senior Team no good. According to Lawrence, delays and cancellations of flights in and out of the US have robbed many members of the squad of critical training time as well as, in some cases, spots on the team altogether.

“Trevin Caesar was unable to make a flight because of the hurricane,” Lawrence said. “Some of the boys had delays and had to arrive at later dates and later times. It is a bit of a hindrance.”

Caesar’s last international appearance came during the brief tenure of short-lived ex-coach Tom Saintfiet in a 4-3 loss to Haiti in the Caribbean Cup in January. With six goals in 20 matches for United States third division team Sacramento Republic, Caesar was expected to provide cut and thrust in an attacking unit that has proven to be uninspired in front of goal in qualifying so far.

Caesar thus joins captain Kenwyne Jones, who will also be watching the clash from afar as Lawrence ruled him out because of injury.

“Kenwyne Jones has been injured since the Costa Rica incident,” Lawrence announced. “He is being rehabilitated at his football club Atlanta and has not been involved in competitive football so at this moment in time he is unavailable.”

Their absences leave Lawrence with just Willis Plaza and Jamille Boatswain to choose from on top. Neither is in a rich vein of form at present.

Boatswain is yet to start for new Costa Rican employers, Alajuelense, while he did not even make their match day squad last weekend. And the Times of India reported that Plaza was booed by his own supporters, earlier this month, after a couple of underwhelming performances for East Bengal.

The Warriors will not have the services of Holland-based winger Levi Garcia either, who was excluded from the final provisional squad. Lawrence explained that the young attacker was simply not in the right frame of mind to be selected at this time.

“Levi was originally selected in the provisional squad,” Lawrence told the media. “He then reached out to me with a few concerns—he was now coming off of an injury and is in the last year of his contract with his club and it was a bit of a concern to him with coming and being fully fit and being part of it.

“I felt like if he wasn’t mentally prepared to be here [and so] I had to make that adjustment.”

The good news for the coaching staff and the T&T fans is that ace attacker Joevin Jones is available and fully fit. Recently, in the lead-up to the 24 July friendly against Jamaica, which the visitors won 2-1, Jones was the centre of national attention after he allegedly left his Seattle Sounders club without permission.

Lawrence said he had not had the club’s permission to use the player in that game and he was unwilling to chance it. For tomorrow’s do-or-die encounter against the Hondurans, however, there is no issue about Jones’ availability.

Whoever the final who take the field tomorrow, the lanky head coach stressed, the really important thing is that all the players are fit and firing and that the T&T public comes out and drives them on with vocal support.

“The boys need the support,” Lawrence emphasised. “[We moved] to a smaller stadium to try and generate some sort of atmosphere. The thinking behind it is that, If we put a small crowd in a small stadium, it gives us a better atmosphere.”

“What we are looking for,” the optimistic former national defender continued, “is marginal gains, any gain that we can get to put Honduras under a bit of pressure.”

Lawrence also sought to explain what assistant coach Sol Campbell, a former Arsenal and England stand-out, brings to the team despite joining the Warriors just seven days prior to a match.

“[Sol] has been used very wisely in terms of what he has to offer,” he commented. “I think our defenders are going to learn very quickly off of him and, in general, Sol is here to give us that immediate impact that we are looking for.”

Following the coach’s pleas for support, TTFA Communications Director Shaun Fuentes revealed that the Ato Boldon Stadium’s seating capacity will be increased to just under 11,000 for tomorrow’s clash. The stadium is built to seat just under 10,000 patrons.

Tickets, priced at $350 (covered) and $200 (uncovered), are available at all NLCB Lotto locations and additional parking will be available at the nearby National Cricket Centre.

(Trinidad and Tobago squad)

Goalkeepers: Jan Michael Williams (Juticalpa FC—Honduras), Adrian Foncette (Police FC), Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin Civic Centre);

Defenders: Aubrey David (PS Khemi—Finland), Alvin Jones (W Connection), Mekeil Williams (Colorado Rapids—USA), Carlyle Mitchell (East Bengal—India), Radanfah Abu Bakr (Sūduva Marijampolė—Lithuania), Sheldon Bateau (FC Kairat—Kazakhstan), Daneil Cyrus (Juticalpa FC—Honduras), Triston Hodge (W Connection), Kevon Villaroel (North East Stars);

Midfielders: Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Leston Paul (CD Pasaquina—El Salvador), Khaleem Hyland (Al-Faisaly Harmah—Saudi Arabia), Kevan George (Jacksonville Armada—USA), Hughtun Hector (W Connection);

Attacking midfielders: Joevin Jones (Seattle Sounders—USA), Kevin Molino (Minnesota United—USA), Cordell Cato (San Jose Earthquakes—USA), Jomal Williams (Murciélagos FC—Mexico), Nathan Lewis (San Juan Jabloteh), Tyrone Charles (Club Sando);

Forwards: Jamille Boatswain (Alajuelense—Costa Rica), Willis Plaza (East Bengal—India).

Post by: Dutty Love on August 26, 2017, 02:05:51 PM
Boatswain is so not needed in Alajuelense they let him leave early before the match with Saprissa https://www.facebook.com/lda.cr/posts/10154844233601127
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 26, 2017, 02:21:45 PM
lord he phasing them out boy ... no Andre Boucaud  no levi garcia
Post by: palos on August 26, 2017, 02:37:59 PM
Dat forward Line go have de oppposition defenders sleepless with worry and fear

Kinda surprised Lobo eh get a bligh tho
Post by: palos on August 26, 2017, 02:42:19 PM
Trivia question:

Whatever happened to Levi Garcia?

He never played for W Connection?
Post by: asylumseeker on August 26, 2017, 03:07:55 PM
lord he phasing them out boy ... no Andre Boucaud  no levi garcia

Garcia begins comeback from hamstring injury lay-off (http://www.newsday.co.tt/sport/0,247750.html)

Sensible exclusion of Arcia.

Is Adrian Foncette, the 3rd best T&T-eligible GK? Who could answer that with a straight face?
Post by: pull stones on August 26, 2017, 03:22:43 PM
well now we are surely officially out the world up 2018 without kenwin jones (who is injured) in the line up, we have no super subs (levi garcia- andre boucard- atulla guerra) who could make a sudden impact, even old timer carlos has a little more umph than these unclinical local lads. dennis ole boy you got this one wrong.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 26, 2017, 03:25:07 PM
well now we are surely officially out the world up 2018 without kenwin jones (who is injured) in the line up, we have no super subs (levi garcia- andre boucard- atulla guerra) who could make a sudden impact, even old timer carlos has a little more umph than these unclinical lads. dennis ole boy you got this one wrong.

Comment from the Atlanta Journal Constitution:

"Striker Kenwyne Jones, who suffered an injury with the Trinidad and Tobago national team the last time he was called up earlier this summer, finally is healthy and could also be brought into the team."

http://www.ajc.com/sports/atlanta-united-players-called-national-teams/o3ya6LI2WBXb0XNCJP1HaP/
Post by: asylumseeker on August 26, 2017, 03:33:10 PM
Trivia question:

Whatever happened to Levi Garcia?

He never played for W Connection?

Yet, no H. Hector.
Post by: Jumbie on August 26, 2017, 05:04:21 PM
towel on the floor?
Post by: Tobago28 on August 26, 2017, 08:09:51 PM
 7 Pro league players, that's 28 percent of the team from the not so Pro League for WCQ? Throw in the towel and whatever else you have to throw
Post by: Fyzoman on August 27, 2017, 05:29:51 AM
7 Pro league players, that's 28 percent of the team from the not so Pro League for WCQ? Throw in the towel and whatever else you have to throw

Granted AZ Alkmaar is not ManU, but is there a TnT player that plays for a bigger club than AZ???? He couldn't be selected to sit on the bench?!? Yeah I know everybody can't get picked, but Levi Garcia? To at least go with the team? Fit enough for AZ to bring him on in the 28 minute but can't get picked in front of 7 pro league players? Maybe I'm missing something, what is he being saved for, the next WC 2022??
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 27, 2017, 06:31:24 AM
No wonder progress is at glacial pace...
Post by: Tobago28 on August 27, 2017, 07:23:54 AM

Granted AZ Alkmaar is not ManU, but is there a TnT player that plays for a bigger club than AZ???? He couldn't be selected to sit on the bench?!? Yeah I know everybody can't get picked, but Levi Garcia? To at least go with the team? Fit enough for AZ to bring him on in the 28 minute but can't get picked in front of 7 pro league players? Maybe I'm missing something, what is he being saved for, the next WC 2022??

You are not missing anything, its obvious team selection is not about qualifying. The remaining WCQ matches are exactly suited for players 25 and below to be included with 2022 in mind.
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 27, 2017, 10:07:28 AM

We still holding on to 'foreign eh better' insecurities.
Title: Joevin ready to shoulder responsibility/Honduras recalls veteran Costly
Post by: Tallman on August 27, 2017, 10:29:45 AM
Joevin ready to shoulder responsibility/Honduras recalls veteran Costly
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s Joevin Jones will have a key part to play in the national team’s effort to secure full points in Friday’s World Cup qualifier against Honduras at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

And Jones, bound for Germany in January, is ready to shoulder the responsibility, adding that he sees the importance of delivering the goods and meeting the expectations.

The Seattle Sounders left back took part in Saturday morning’s training session at the Hasely Crawford Stadium and immediately began to take aim at the Hondurans.

“It’s a massively important game for us. I think everybody is clear about that,” Jones said.

“The last time we played them it was not a pretty experience for us. We conceded early and we couldn’t get ourselves back into the match and this time we need to make them know how that experience feels. We are at home and I think we can get it together and pull off a performance that will bring us three points,” he told TTFA Media.

“I think I owe the country in the hex now. In the past few games, I had what I would say not awful but bad performances .This is like a final to us. We need three points to stay alive. I had a good week of preparation between ball work and fitness. I am looking forward to the game and very excited about it,” Jones added.

He mentioned that there has been constant dialogue between himself and Kevin Molino about the upcoming fixtures.

“Everyday myself and Kevin have been talking about these games. And about how making it to a World Cup can change our lives. I think that is in the back of our minds but first we need to take care of business on the pitch and that is the main focus now for Friday and then onto Panama, Jones said.

“Looking back at the last match with Honduras, it’s not much we want to remember but I wasn’t pleased with the way I performed and now it’s a chance to step up. Hopefully by God’s grace and with the right approach we can get it down right on the day and give the fans something to be happy about and keep our chances alive,” the former W Connection man added.

Meantime, Honduras have recalled veteran striker Carlo Costly for Friday’s match.

The Olimpia player has returned to the national team after an 18-month absence, head coach Jorge Luis Pinto has said.

The 35-year-old quit international football in March 2016 after publicly falling out with Pinto, but the pair have settled their differences, the former Colombia and Costa Rica manager told a press conference on Friday.

“Carlo is playing his best football in years. We hope that he can carry on that form for the national team,” Pinto said.

“As the head coach, I know what I should do, and he knows what he needs to do on the pitch. We’ve brought him in to the team at an opportune time.”
Honduras are currently fifth in the Concacaf standings with five points, nine points behind leaders Mexico.

Honduras squad

Goalkeepers: Donis Escober (Olimpia), Luis Lopez (Real Espana), Ricardo Canales (Vida).

Defenders: Bryan Beckeles (Necaxa), Maynor Figueroa (Dallas), Henry Figueroa and Felix Crisanto (Motagua), Carlos Sanchez (Honduras Progreso), Jhonny Palacios and Ever Alvarado (Olimpia), Emilio Izaguirre (Al-Fayha, Arabia), Jhonny Leveron (Marathon).

Midfielders: Bryan Acosta (Tenerife, Espana), Jorge Claros (Real Espana), Alexander Lopez (Olimpia), Alfredo Mejia (Xanthi, China), Oliver Morazan and Esdras Padilla (Juticalpa), Sergio Pena (Real Sociedad), Carlos Discua (Motagua), Boniek García (Houston), Juan Delgado (Honduras Progreso)

Forwards: Anthony Lozano (Barcelona B), Rony Martinez (Baoding Yingli Yitong), Alberth Elis and Romnell Quioto (Houston), Carlo Costly (Olimpia), Ovidio Lanza (Juticalpa), Eddie Hernandez (Motagua).

https://www.youtube.com/v/yaqkQMIYEjI
Post by: palos on August 27, 2017, 04:18:36 PM
“Everyday myself and Kevin have been talking about these games. And about how making it to a World Cup can change our lives. I think that is in the back of our minds but first we need to take care of business on the pitch and that is the main focus now for Friday and then onto Panama, Jones said.
Dat wasn't on dey mind when dey was on de Treasure Queen tho

Mout make to talk yes
Post by: pull stones on August 27, 2017, 06:20:31 PM

Mout make to talk yes
you sort of remind me of Oscar the grouch mate it's like you never have anything encouraging to say about the lads only cynicism and hard talk like that jerk coache feller. if it's that tough on you then you should reconsider supporting the team, why even bother?
Post by: palos on August 27, 2017, 10:21:35 PM

Mout make to talk yes
you sort of remind me of Oscar the grouch mate it's like you never have anything encouraging to say about lads only cynicism and hard talk like that jerk coache feller. if it's that tough on you then you should reconsider supporting the team, why even bother?
You support your way and I'll support mine.

BTW...who appoint you supporter police?
Post by: Controversial on August 27, 2017, 11:20:27 PM

Tallest towing the line for the dictator...

So why would one of our brightest talents be selected to play?

Tallest isn't trying to win....
Post by: maxg on August 27, 2017, 11:47:19 PM

You are not missing anything, its obvious team selection is not about qualifying. The remaining WCQ matches are exactly suited for players 25 and below to be included with 2022 in mind.
Yes he is missing something..look again..2 goalies, 4 defenders, 1 midfielder, 1 ..forward..so it's really 2 positions..now mount the agument for the 2 positions, or leave out a defender and add a midfielder or forward

Haven't seen performances, but both The forward and midfielder were well talked up in previous games..and made that opportunity for themselves..Levi hasn't really blown TT selections or his team away recently (doh we must consider injury issues). Fly him for a definite bench at this time might not be so necessary..but if you actually certain that this time was his time..then sure he should be picked..were you certain ?
Post by: pull stones on August 28, 2017, 03:55:13 AM

Mout make to talk yes
you sort of remind me of Oscar the grouch mate it's like you never have anything encouraging to say about lads only cynicism and hard talk like that jerk coache feller. if it's that tough on you then you should reconsider supporting the team, why even bother?
You support your way and I'll support mine.

BTW...who appoint you supporter police?
what you're doing is unmistakenly agitating and riling up the heard which obviously lacks any kind of supportive effort. and it is clearly not my intention to police anyone i was only making an observation.
Post by: pull stones on August 28, 2017, 04:42:43 AM

Tallest towing the line for the dictator...

So why would one of our brightest talents be selected to play?

Tallest isn't trying to win....
we heard you months ago dude message received. and please don't tell me we're revisiting this rusty topic once again, i thought you called time on this monotonous subject? it's quite obvious you can't handle the rigors of football and its politics and maybe its time to get another past time go support the yankees.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 28, 2017, 04:47:29 AM
Mitchell: Time to make it count
T&T Guardian

T&T senior men’s football team defender, Carlyle Mitchell, is eager to take on Honduras in Friday’s 2018 World Cup Qualifier at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Balmain, Couva.

Mitchell, who is among the overseas-based players selected by Dennis Lawrence for the fixture said he is anticipating a sold-out venue on Friday.

“It’s not often we get to take such a big game outside of Port-of-Spain. I think the last time we played in Couva was against Panama couple years ago and then we had the warm up against Barbados. But this match is very big one as it’s a World Cup qualifier with both teams needed points to stay alive,” Mitchell told TTFA Media following his arrival on Saturday.

He and fellow India-based player Willis Plaza arrived together and took a light part in training at Hasely Crawford Stadium yesterday morning.

He added: “I expect to see the stadium rammed to capacity and a sea of red because we need that extra support. When we played in Honduras it was a sea of blue from two hours before kick off and their fans lined the streets hours before the game. It is something that players take note of when we are in the bus heading to the match.This time we are at home and we need to make it count,” Mitchell said.

“Honduras are coming to win because they always feel they have an edge over us but we need to show them that as a football country and as a team we are not a walk over,” said the East Bengal player.

The Honduran team is expected here on Wednesday and will train once at the match venue while staying at the Hilton Trinidad hotel. Head Coach Dennis Lawrence, who is only expected to have his full contingent of players by Tuesday, will lead a training session this evening at the match venue.

Additional stands are being erected at the venue to push the accommodation from 8,500 up to just over 11,000.
Post by: Controversial on August 28, 2017, 01:24:36 PM

Yes he is missing something..look again..2 goalies, 4 defenders, 1 midfielder, 1 ..forward..so it's really 2 positions..now mount the agument for the 2 positions, or leave out a defender and add a midfielder or forward

Haven't seen performances, but both The forward and midfielder were well talked up in previous games..and made that opportunity for themselves..Levi hasn't really blown TT selections or his team away recently (doh we must consider injury issues). Fly him for a definite bench at this time might not be so necessary..but if you actually certain that this time was his time..then sure he should be picked..were you certain ?

That's the excuse you're making for Tallest not selecting Levi?
Post by: pull stones on August 28, 2017, 01:42:37 PM

That's the excuse you're making for Tallest not selecting Levi?
relax dude i am almost certain that Levi is heavily involved in Lawrence's plans but there's not much you could do with a player who's not match fit. Garcia just had his fist match in months do you really believe he could have any serious impact on the game? what I saw of this kid is that he would be a tremendous super sub but he has to learn to pass the ball in critical moments of the match.

regardless of his skills at present he plays a very unproductive game by trying too hard to make things happen which ultimately cost us a lot of possession by his errant turn over rate which puts the defense under tremendous pressure, and to add to that he's not a very good defensive player. what is so difficult to grasp by his non selection? you really need to get off Lawrence's case mate it angers me to hear you make such defamatory comments.
Post by: Tallman on August 28, 2017, 03:12:37 PM
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago Men’s Senior Team assemble for Honduras Qualifier - Day 1

https://www.youtube.com/v/433x4WTeJD0
Title: George: Belief is the key for Friday’s World Cup Qualifier
Post by: Tallman on August 28, 2017, 04:59:55 PM
George: Belief is the key for Friday’s World Cup Qualifier
TTFA Media

“Belief in our ability and believing that we have what it takes.”

That will be the sentiment echoing throughout the next few days in the Trinidad and Tobago Senior Men’s team camp as they commenced their residential training camp at Cara Suites Hotel in Claxton Bay on Monday ahead of Friday’s all-important 2018 World Cup Qualifying match against Honduras.

Head Coach Dennis Lawrence and the majority of his 26-man squad checked into the facility prior to a late evening training session at the Ato Boldon Stadium and immediately there was sense of focus and business-like approach to the few days ahead. According to Jacksonville Armada midfielder Kevan George, “We have to believe in our ability.. that is what can make the difference for us.”

“I am very motivated and personally I’m ready to play this evening if the match is changed to that time,” George told TTFA Media.

“We need max points. There’s nothing like a tie in either of these two games.

“We have to get in their faces more and obstruct their rhythm. They are a team that likes to keep possession especially in midfield, and they build on that momentum. If we can disrupt their pay early especially as we are home and try to impose ourselves then that will be a key for us. We have to stay focused and now focus on the game against Panama. We have to take care of Honduras.

“The main thing is belief and we need the fans to get behind us and keep supporting. It will be an adjustment playing at Ato Boldon but football is football so we will just get accustomed to the surface over a couple days. Our main thing is just to make it uncomfortable for Honduras,” George added.

People underestimate belief. I have seen a lot of crazy things happen in my short life span. The coaches believe in us and we believe in ourselves as players and this is something we have to maintain right through to the final whistle on Friday,” he said.

Among the players already in camp along with the home-based pros are Minnesota United midfielder Kevin Molino, Mekeil Williams, Honduras-based duo Jan Michael Williams and Daneil Cyrus, Jomal Williams, Khaleem Hyland, Cordell Cato, Joevin Jones, Aubrey David, Carlyle Mitchell, Willis Plaza, Jamille Boatswain and George. El Salvador-based midfielder Leston Paul, European-based duo Radanfah Abu Bakr and Sheldon Bateau and US-based forward  Trevin Caesar are all expected to join the camp within the next few hours.

Tickets remain on sale for the encounter at all NLCB Lotto Locations priced at $350 (covered) and $200 (uncovered.)
Post by: just cool on August 28, 2017, 07:38:51 PM
Greetings all.

as yuhs know i does fall een before and after the game to say how ah feel, and tuh wish de team all the best, but ah seeing things dat bothering meh ahready, like man bawlin for levi garcia and K jones and putting down dey head like we done lorse ahready.

for dem man who crying down the yutes dem, is like allyuh ent watch the game we play against CR in dey own back yard or what?? and without KJ and levi and had dem under pressure too!!

for de fuss time in my years ah watching we play CR in CR and we looked like we coulda come away wid something from the game.

the bredda boatswain IMO look more dangerous than KJ offensively and had three clear chances on goal, but was unlucky not tuh score BC of navas, the only ting he have tuh learn is tuh check the constant offside, and he could be the next stern bound tuh score john.

another very bright spot was the lewis fella who put in a proper shift. dat man worked like a quarry donkey dat day, he run forward an he run backward to defend, and the fella better than guerra and corn curls going forward not over dribbling or giving away de ball unnecessarily.

KJ used tuh be meh boy but it seem like the man give up on being one for the record books, an is like he just brezzin through his last days as a pro baller collecting an easy pay check, and callin it george.

i've seen KJ got soft over the years falling down with the slightest touch and complaining to the ref constantly, and not trying to poison the opposing team. so i think it's time some yuteman put KJ on the bench to pasture.

allyuh please put allyuh support behind the next generation regardless of the federation's f**k ups and  short comings, and please support tallest the man good for the team, and stop bitching over small ting!!

in reality i don't expect us to qualify for the WC, but it have some on here who feel we are entitled to that which in reality is flawed thinking.

the point is that we will have a better chance to qualify come 2022 providing things remain the same in terms of sticking to this coach and creating cohesion between the players, and that ugly boy david john williams stop acting like he head eh good.

PS: our main concern right now should be to win another caribbean cup, make a gold cup final like JA and then to lift that big obzockey cup finally.

this should be our main goals, to be dominant in the region, and in order to do that mr prezident need to stop meddling and be a good administrator like the US and mex, and keep his muggly arse quiet. only after we accomplish dat we should be studying to make a WC again, no sooner than.

peace and blessings. positive.
Post by: Tallman on August 28, 2017, 08:38:08 PM
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago vs Honduras - PRE MATCH DISCUSSION

https://www.youtube.com/v/qrBHZ8ksXmE
Title: Sedley Joseph wants Trinidad and Tobago to attack Honduras
Post by: Tallman on August 29, 2017, 05:50:15 AM
Sedley Joseph wants Trinidad and Tobago to attack Honduras
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday)

FORMER NATIONAL football team captain and defender Sedley Joseph is hopeful that Trinidad and Tobago would adopt an attacking approach in Friday’s 2018 FIFA World Cup CONCACAF Zone Final Round Qualifier against Honduras at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva.

After six games, in the six-team standings, Honduras are fifth with five points, while T&T are rooted to the bottom with three points. Mexico lead with 14 points, followed by Costa Rica (11), United States (eight) and Panama (seven).

The top three teams will book their tickets for the World Cup in Russia while the fourth-placed team will progress to the Inter-Confederation Play-offs against the fifth-placed team in the Asian Zone in a home-and-away tie in November.

Asked how T&T coach Dennis Lawrence should approach Friday’s game, Joseph responded, “It’s important that Trinidad (and Tobago) try to get a victory in those games because we’re in the bottom of the table. Playing at home, we have the advantage.

“The game is playing in Couva and that is some advantage as far as the crowd support and (according to the coach) the closeness of the spectators to the ground. I expect that there should be a full house because it’s a smaller stadium than the Hasely Crawford Stadium.” As far as tactics are concerned, Joseph noted, “In order for us to get three points in this game, we have to use a fairly attacking system which means there might be some problems as far as the defensive part of his formation is concerned.” Joseph added, “He can’t afford to decide on an attacking formation and leave his defence open. He has to mix it in the sense that he has to be very careful to ensuring that his defence is steady and, at the same time, trying to get goals up front.

“Having played against these Central American teams, they are very quick and they use the short (passing) balls. We can’t leave the defence open because they’ll try and make use of it.” Regular captain and centre forward Kenwyne Jones is still out of the squad after suffering a knee injury in June.

Joseph stated out, “Kenwyne Jones was being used as the point man and, with the games that I saw, you weren’t seeing many much movements from him. He was looking for the ball coming across from the air. He has the strength, he has the height to get at the ball in the air but, at the same time, you cannot be static. It may be a good thing that he’s not in the team.

“We have few forwards who may be fairly quick. I think this might be a good thing that he is not playing and there are other players who could really cause some problems with the opposing defences.”
Post by: Deeks on August 29, 2017, 06:12:26 AM
The crowds are no closer than that in Manny, Dwight or at Larry. All have athletic tracks. Is like Spurs crying that Wembley to big for them. The writing is on the wall nothing less than 4 wins. If this team pull this off, they will be considered one of the best. No more excuses. God Luck. God Bless!
Post by: pull stones on August 29, 2017, 10:10:42 AM
The crowds are no closer than that in Manny, Dwight or at Larry. All have athletic tracks. Is like Spurs crying that Wembley to big for them. The writing is on the wall nothing less than 4 wins. If this team pull this off, they will be considered one of the best. No more excuses. God Luck. God Bless!
are you actually taking these elders seriously mate? looking at the show yesterday obviously sound it up for me that most trinis don't know much about the game and are not keen observers even though they once played on an international level. I was really disappointed with anthony clark for talking all that rubbish about kenwin it's obvious that he doesn't see what kenwin brings on defense on set pieces on counter attacking situations on central defenders overlapping and playing a high line, he's emotionally clueless in terms of kenwin's contributions.

had kenwin played in that costa rica game more than likely we would not have conceded that early goal from that set piece but costa rica had the luxury of committing more defenders forward where as with kenwin there would be that for fear of an immediate counter attack and to add to that kenwin is a master of defending set pieces. like steven hart reiterated once, people just don't understand what kenwin brings to the team. The spaces he occupies the runs other players could make off the ball which would not be possible had kenwin not been in the game. i will be honest here I don't see Jim winning another game without kenwin jones.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 29, 2017, 11:13:17 AM
I appreciate and accept KJ's merits as a defensive header of the ball, but it must also be said that the core reason for that opening goal v. Costa Rica occurred BEFORE the corner occurred. What occurred there can be/could have been addressed with a tactical correction/instruction. The deciding pass should have been played forward rather than negatively. We had NO reason to play in that direction. None.  NONE!
Post by: Tallman on August 29, 2017, 12:51:37 PM
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago prepare for Honduras - Day 1

https://www.youtube.com/v/QhnZApcQtkI
Post by: Tallman on August 29, 2017, 01:12:11 PM
WATCH: Defender Kevon Villaroel talks about making his debut for Trinidad and Tobago, and looks ahead to the World Cup Qualifier against Honduras.

https://www.youtube.com/v/f_igQ3VcRzY
Post by: Deeks on August 29, 2017, 03:39:41 PM
I see the put temporary stands behind the goal for the match. Alll forumites please, get uncle, cousin, tantie, nennen, macoomere,compare,deputies to the game.  ;D
Title: Honduras arrives! Villaroel says Soca Warriors ready
Post by: Tallman on August 29, 2017, 04:58:14 PM
Honduras arrives! Villaroel says Soca Warriors ready for Central American opponents
TTFA Media

Honduras’ National Team arrived in Port of Spain on Tuesday afternoon on a chartered flight and had a their first training session scheduled for the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Tuesday evening following their check in at the Hilton Trinidad.

The Honduras team, under head coach Jorge Luis Pinto, includes Barcelona B team player Anthony Lozano who told reporters before the team’s departure out of San Pedro Sula that he was expecting a tough outing on Friday.

“We are going there with the conviction that we will get the there points. We have worked hard and we believe we can give it our all in these two games to get the results,”  Lozano said.

“We are hoping everything can turn out well. We have no excuses because we know each other well and we have prepared for this game”

Reports indicated that China-based forward Rony Martinez did not travel with the team as his club Baoding Yingli Yitong did not release him for travel in time for the encounter.

Pinto meantime added that he expected the contest to be a closely fought one.

“The both teams have a good chance and we know every point is crucial. We know the Trinidad and Tobago team can be dangerous and they are at home but we will be prepared to face whatever challenge comes our way. We know the importance of this game. Both teams know it,” Pinto said.

The T&T team trained on Monday at the Ato Boldon Stadium and a second session was scheduled for Tuesday evening at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium.  European-based player Radanfah Abu Bakr was the latest overseas pro to join the camp on Monday night while Kazakhstan-based defender Sheldon Bateau is the last player to come in on Wednesday.

Among the new local call ups into the World Cup squad is defender Kevon Villaroel who scored T&T’s goal in last Thursday’s friendly with Jamaica. He is eager to prove his worth in the qualifiers now.

“It’s something I have always dreamt of, being on the national team. I’ve worked hard over the years trying to catch the eye of the different national coaches and now finally I have gotten the chance. It felt great to score my first international goal in my second appearance for the national team,” Villaroel told TTFA Media.

“But that’s gone now and it’s about focusing on the preparations for Honduras. The players have all be a great bunch to work with and we’ve been meshing since preparations began leading up to the Jamaica game. I think everyone understands the importance of a victory on Friday. W’ve been discussing it on and off the training field and it’s a case now of completing our preparations and going out thee and finishing the job before going over to Panama,” the former Puerto Rico Islanders player added.

W Connection’s Alvin Jones, brother of Seattle Sounders left back Joevin Jones, is also another player that has come on strongly under Lawrence and will be hoping to play his part in Friday’s outing, making mention of  a strong bond within the selection.

“There is a brotherly love not just between myself and Joevin but I think among everyone in the squad. It is a joy when we come together and while we may be having a laugh at times, I think the serious part of things is always there when the boys come together to prepare for a game, especially one as huge as this game on Friday,” Jones (A) said on Tuesday.

“For me personally, I have been working hard and waiting on a chance to do something of worth in the qualifiers. And for my mom especially, she has, I think once before, seen Joevin and I play for the national team together so I know it will be a great joy for her and my family to see this happen again. Hopefully we can all combine to get the country the three points and we can stay alive in the qualification for Russia,” Jones added.

Tickets for the encounter remain on sale at all NLCB Lotto outlets priced at $350 (covered) and $200 (uncovered).
Post by: frico on August 29, 2017, 05:50:59 PM
DL is doing the right thing, we have had overseas players come back over and over and they have done very little, I feel the local boys will put up a fiercer fight, if only to prove they are as good or better than the foreign based.It is also time to build a team of home based players, how many times we are unable to secure foreign based, forget them, sometimes you get the feeling they don't give ah shit bout TT, let them stay where they feel better.
Post by: soccerman on August 29, 2017, 07:29:11 PM
Bein Sports bringing the game at 7:30pm on Friday.
Post by: Deeks on August 29, 2017, 07:38:34 PM
Thanks for that info, soccerman.
Post by: trini_stallion on August 30, 2017, 02:50:38 AM
I see the put temporary stands behind the goal for the match. Alll forumites please, get uncle, cousin, tantie, nennen, macoomere,compare,deputies to the game.  ;D

😂😂😂😂 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

WAR! Nothing more, nothing less!
Post by: g on August 30, 2017, 07:24:17 AM
Bateau coming in Wednesday for the game on Friday? Sighs.....

That is one full session before the game for our best defender, what is the likelihood of him starting that Honduras game, 2 days of travel with all that jet lag.

This is where the FA need to play a lil more hardball via FIFA with those clubs, considering his travel he should have been released earlier than Sunday.
Post by: frico on August 30, 2017, 09:02:17 AM
Bateau coming in Wednesday for the game on Friday? Sighs.....

That is one full session before the game for our best defender, what is the likelihood of him starting that Honduras game, 2 days of travel with all that jet lag.

This is where the FA need to play a lil more hardball via FIFA with those clubs, considering his travel he should have been released earlier than Sunday.
Small country aint got no clout and will always suffer the indignities of being brushed away for the sake of a club.Because of us always suffering and having to beg for our best players, I feel we have to start showing some more respect to local, give them as much opportunities as possible.When foreign cyah come we should have replacements that is aware and not a novice.
Post by: palos on August 30, 2017, 09:25:01 AM
A jet lagged, limping  Bateau  is still infinitely better than ANY local based defender we have
Post by: sjahrain on August 30, 2017, 09:57:14 AM
The only cure for that distress,is to put up  a serious winning streak on your resume and while doing so make sure you clip the wings of some higher ranked teams..then that respect will surface
Win baby ...just win...it's the only cure
It can start on Friday
Post by: Tallman on August 30, 2017, 03:02:28 PM
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago vs Honduras - PREVIEW

https://www.youtube.com/v/iQC4QXNiLOk
Post by: Tallman on August 30, 2017, 03:06:41 PM
WATCH: Defender Carlyle Mitchell and Goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams talk about the upcoming World Cup Qualifier against Honduras

https://www.youtube.com/v/QfKahpJlW_A
Title: Maynor Figueroa says Honduras has “no margin for error”
Post by: Tallman on August 30, 2017, 04:35:25 PM
Maynor Figueroa says Honduras has “no margin for error”
CONCACAF.com

Defender Maynor Figueroa knows what is at stake for Honduras ahead of its next two World Cup qualifiers against Trinidad & Tobago (September 1, away) and the United States (September 5, home).

The Catrachos (1W-2D-3L, 6 points) sit fifth in the six-team CONCACAF Hexagonal table. A win over last-place T&T on Friday is almost required for the match against the third-place Americans (2-2-2, 8 ) -- four days later -- to have any genuine bearing on the automatic qualifying race for Russia 2018.

“I believe that there is no margin for error,” said Figueroa. “We have to look to add three. We are in a situation in that’s what we need. We hope to God that those three points come.”

That situation, however, is not yet dire. Honduras still controls its own destiny, especially with a win over the Trinidadians and if the fourth-place Panama (away v Mexico) and the U.S. (home v Costa Rica) lose.

“The possibilities are still there and it depends on us,” Figueroa remarked. “Like I said before, it is an important match. We are playing for everything. We have to prepare ourselves in the best way.”

One thing appears to be uncertain, despite a four-game WCQ winless streak, the Hondurans are in a confident mood.

“The team is motivated. The squad is strengthened and we have worked well,” finished Figueroa. “Now it’s just waiting for the match. The team is strong and we have to show it in the match.”

In their first Hexagonal meeting on November 15, 2016, Honduras defeated T&T, 3-0, on a goal by Romell Quioto (16’), Emilio Izaguirre (19’) and Eddie Hernandez (81’).
Title: Williams: We have to better their passion and aggression
Post by: Tallman on August 31, 2017, 04:34:45 AM
Williams: We have to better their passion and aggression
TTFA Media

“Long flight and maybe the legs were a bit tired at first but the fans don’t want to hear about that so I’ve got to put it behind me and get on with the work and prepare well for the game.”

Those were the words from defender Carlyle Mitchell following his second day of training with the Men’s Senior Team at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium ahead of Friday’s crucial 2018 World Cup qualifier against Honduras. Mitchell had just a day earlier stepped off a plane with T&T forward Willis Plaza following their 18-hour of traveling from India where the two players are full-time professionals with East Bengal FC.

Mitchell scored T&T’s lone goal in the 3-1 loss to Honduras last November in San Pedro Sula. This time, he thinks it’s a period that should go well for the hosts.

“We know it is going to be an extremely difficult match but like the coach said, we are going into a ring, we will get hit, we will get a few knocks but we’ve got to pick ourselves up and get on with the match and ensure we come out on top at the last whistle,” Mitchell told TTFA Media.  “Dennis (Lawrence) is a very serious man when it comes to preparation and matches. We know the team has been playing well but the reality is we’ve lost our all last five matches and we have to ensure this does not happen on Friday.”

“We have to defend well but score goal when we attack as well. That is our main objective because we need to win.”

T&T trained on Wednesday evening at Mannie Ramjohn Stadium while Honduras got a feel of local conditions with an early morning session at the Hasely Crawford Stadium training field. Both team will have their official one-hour sessions at the Ato Boldon Stadium on Thursday evening. T&T’s final player to arrive on Wednesday night will be Kazakhstan-based defender Sheldon Bateau.

Also expecting the encounter to be a gripping one is Honduras-based goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams. Both he and Daneil Cyrus are attached to Juticalpa FC and have started their season coming up against some of the Honduran national players in the league including Olimpia striker Carlo Costly who has bene recalled to the side for Friday’s match.

“The Hondurans are extremely passionate about football and about this game and we have to ensure we match them with passion and aggression on Friday and be even better than them,” Williams said on Wednesday while at the team base at Cara Suites Hotel.

“We used the time to look around and observe everything about Honduras football. The league is very competitive and physical and that will transfer into the game on Friday,” he said.

“Preparations have gone very well and we have had in the back of our minds for the last two games how important this game is. Trinidadians are people that tend to operate when their backs against the wall. Culturally this is one of our strength and weakness. I think it is sad where we have had to come to a situation where we are desperately in need of points but on Friday we will use that situation to work in our favour where we need the points to stay alive in the qualification bid,” Williams added.

Tickets remain on sale at all Lotto Locations at $350 (covered) and $200 (uncovered).
Post by: Tallman on August 31, 2017, 04:42:47 AM
WATCH: Head Coach Dennis Lawrence at Trinidad and Tobago vs Honduras pre-game press conference

https://www.youtube.com/v/G935DYJYx-c
Post by: asylumseeker on August 31, 2017, 08:01:48 AM
Can't recall Shaun Fuentes having to engage as vigorously as that in any press conference.
Post by: g on August 31, 2017, 09:40:08 AM
I wonder if DL will deploy 3 CBs for this game, it's the only position that we have good depth in the squad.

Cyrus
Williams
Bateau
Mitchell
David
Abu Bakr

Post by: soccerman on August 31, 2017, 09:44:55 AM
I wonder if DL will deploy 3 CBs for this game, it's the only position that we have good depth in the squad.

Cyrus
Williams
Bateau
Mitchell
David
Abu Bakr

We can't afford to play defensive now, we desperately need points, it's do or die. I'm stunned we lack depth in our forward line selection.
Post by: g on August 31, 2017, 11:45:01 AM
3 CBs actually enable better attacking play, you can deploy wing backs further up the field when in possession knowing you have the defensive cover to shift across and become less vulnerable to a counter attack than a traditional back 4
Post by: asylumseeker on August 31, 2017, 12:04:07 PM
With only a couple sessions to prepare before kick-off, ah doubt we will witness more than conservative adjustments.
Post by: soccerman on August 31, 2017, 01:54:41 PM
3 CBs actually enable better attacking play, you can deploy wing backs further up the field when in possession knowing you have the defensive cover to shift across and become less vulnerable to a counter attack than a traditional back 4
Ok I got you, makes sense. If we implement it that way then it could be beneficial, I'll like to see us press more in this game.
Who will you recommend for our other outside back with Joevin?
Post by: Deeks on August 31, 2017, 02:14:15 PM
How versatile are our 3 CBs?
Post by: Flex on August 31, 2017, 05:44:33 PM
T&T hunt three points against Honduras.
TTFA Media.

Stage Set!

All is set for this country’s assault on Honduras in their crucial 2018 World Cup qualifier at the Ato Boldon Stadium from 8pm on Friday.

Team Trinidad and Tobago completed their official one hour training session at the venue after Honduras trained in the morning from 9:30am.

Head Coach Dennis Lawrence made it no secret but emphasising that his team needs to come out of the blocks early and put the visitors under pressure.

“There’s no other option but for us to win the match. Pressure or not I think we have to be efficient in everything we do, on how we start the game, how we manage it and how we finish,” Lawrence said.

“We’ve had a good few days of preparations and we’ll be looking to put that into play come Friday night. The both teams have a lot at stake in this game. Obviously we do not expect them to make it easy for us by any means but we must be prepared to give it our all and try to take three points from this match,” Lawrence said.

Costa Rican-based forward Jamille Boatswain will shoulder the responsibilities up front with Willis Plaza with Kenwyne Jones out and US-based forward Trevin Caesar unable to make the trip due the situation in Houston. Boatswain started the 2-1 loss to Costa Rica and will be hoping to find the target this time around while Minnesota midfielder Kevin Molino will also be looking to add to his tally of two goals in the final round so far.

“Everything is fine for me at the moment. I know how important this game is and I think as a team and a nation we understand what we need to do. We need the fans there supporting us and the players, we have to put our best performance of the campaign . I think once we play as a team and leave everything out there on the field, then we can pull off a win,” Boatswain told TTFA Media.

Honduras gave away two points in its last match, losing a 2-1 lead in the last minute and settling for a 2-2 draw at Panama.

“We’re going to give everything in this match,” said Honduras’ Colombia-born coach Jorge Luis Pinto. “We have to win.”

In previous World Cup qualifiers between the two in Port of Spain, there’s been two draws and a victory for the Central Americans. In 1988, both teams drew 0-0 at the Queen’s Park Oval, while in 2009, Khaleem land scored a late equaliser in a 1-1 draw and Honduras’ lone win came in 2001, a 4-2 victory at the Hasley Crawford Stadium.

Through six of 10 matches, Mexico has 14 points followed by Costa Rica (11), United States (8.), Panama (7), Honduras (5), and Trinidad and Tobago (3). Mexico host Panama and USA are at home to Costa Rica in other qualifying matches on Friday.

Gates open at 5pm and tickets will be on sale at the venue and all NLCB Lotto Locations. Party stand tickets are also available and details for this can be found via TTFA’s Facebook page. There will be parking provision for patrons at the nearby National Cricket Centre.

Spectator Advisory for World Cup Qualifier

Spectators attending Friday’s 2018 World Cup Qualifier at the Ato Boldon Stadium are advised of the following restrictions and would not be permitted to bring the following into the Stadium

• Coolers of any size
• Chairs
• Firearms, weapons, and knives
• Fireworks, explosives, and flammable items
• Mace/gas containers
• Glass bottles or containers
• Alcohol
• Illegal drugs or narcotics
• Cans (soft drinks and alcohol)
• Video cameras or camcorders, Drones
• Large Umbrellas:
• The Management reserves the right to refuse entry to any person carrying or wearing any other items or substances that may be deemed to be offensive, disruptive, dangerous or likely to infringe any party’s rights or any party’s safety or security or any dangerous article or substance not referred to above.

The following will be permitted.

• Own foodstuff (with plastic cutlery)
• Soft drinks/water in plastic bottles
• Flasks
• Banners & Flags up to a maximum size of 1.5m, provided that, in the opinion of the Management they are not vulgar, political, racial, discriminatory, sexual in nature, or display advertising which may in any way impinge or will be in conflict with the rights of the partners/ sponsors/ suppliers/ vendors of the event (in any language) or deemed to be offensive or impact on the view of other spectators.

Any other objects or items or substances that may be deemed in the discretion of TTFA to be offensive, disruptive, dangerous or likely to infringe any party’s rights or any party’s
safety or security or any dangerous article or substance not referred to above.

Prohibited items discovered during security inspection must be returned to the visitor’s vehicle or will be confiscated. There is no provision of a cloak room or holding area at the stadium for any of these articles that are prohibited.

Any spectator that attempts to breach any of these regulations inclusive of pitch invasion would be removed from the Stadium

Gates open at 5pm. Tickets will be in close proximity to the Stadium. Kick off time is 8pm

Post by: g on August 31, 2017, 05:58:44 PM
Ok I got you, makes sense. If we implement it that way then it could be beneficial, I'll like to see us press more in this game.

That position requires high endurance and work rate, ideally Cato as he plays that role for his club but his end product is not always great but will put a shift in. Alternatively Alvin Jones can be utilized.

How versatile are our 3 CBs?

I like the combination of Cyrus, Bateau and Williams but Mitchell is right there, as he is prob the best on attacking set pieces alongside Bateau, Abu Bakr is good in the air defensively but doesn't have the best foot speed , David is good with the ball at his feet but I don't like his defensive positioning at times, Cyrus has emerged as one our better individual defenders in recent months.

Bateau plus any other 2 is okay with me.
Post by: Tallman on August 31, 2017, 09:32:06 PM
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago vs Honduras - Final day preparations at the Ato Boldon Stadium

https://www.youtube.com/v/-rMhIxylDfo
Post by: soccerman on August 31, 2017, 10:39:41 PM

That position requires high endurance and work rate, ideally Cato as he plays that role for his club but his end product is not always great but will put a shift in. Alternatively Alvin Jones can be utilized.
I was thinking Cato as well. Brazil today had Dani Alvez on the right and Marcelo on the left...pick your poison.
Post by: Deeks on August 31, 2017, 10:42:41 PM
Everything looking ready for tomorrow. Grass look great. Good luck fellas. Nothing but a win. Or else in Qatar.
Post by: Flex on September 01, 2017, 04:22:45 AM
Warriors and Honduras go for broke.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

T&T’s Senior Men’s team will be looking to pull off their first World Cup qualifying win at home to Honduras when the two teams square off at the Ato Boldon Stadium in what is a must win encounter for the two nations from 8 pm tonight.

In previous World Cup qualifiers between the two in Port-of-Spain, there have been two draws and a victory for the Central Americans. In 1988, both teams drew 0-0 at the Queen’s Park Oval, while in 2009, Khaleem land scored a late equaliser in a 1-1 draw and Honduras’ lone win came in 2001, a 4-2 victory at the Hasley Crawford Stadium. So the change in venue is hopefully going to bring a change in fortune for the hosts.

“Obvious we are hoping that the game being played at the Ato Boldon Stadium will give us a that extra home advantage. The stadium looks to be a good nick and we’ve had a couple good sessions on the surface. We know that history does not favour us but we’ve always had in the back of our minds that we have to write our own history,” said head coach Dennis Lawrence, who was on the field when Honduras won 4-2 in 2001.

“We’ve done our work but we know they have as well and we will have to ensure that we pull out all the stops to get a win,” Lawrence added.

Honduras trained at the Ato Boldon Stadium with their 26-man squad at 9.30 am on Thursday while T&T had use of the facility from 6 pm to 7 pm. The entire T&T playing contingent is fit and match ready, with defender Sheldon Bateau taking part in Thursday’s session.

Honduras head coach Jose Luis Pinto remained in a cautious mood but is not expected to have his side play to the tune of T&T’s rhythm.

“We know it will be a tough game. They are home and they need a result but we are also hoping to be positive and to go into our game after this with something to show for it,” said the Colombian-born coach.

Stern: A win is possible

National team assistant coach Stern John, who scored in the 4-2 loss to Honduras in Port-of-Spain in 2001, but also caused one of the biggest upsets in Honduran football history with his first half winner in Honduras in a 1-0 win in the return match of the 2002 campaign, is expecting T&T to give it everything on Friday.

John’s goal saw Honduras miss out on qualifying for the 2002 World Cup with just a win needed to secure qualification.

“History shows that we can defeat them. It’s a great chance now for the boys to flip the script a bit because our backs are against the wall and Honduras has a good history of playing here in that they have never lost a World Cup qualifier here. But I think once we show up ready to play from the first whistle and we can take it to them and maintain our composure and be solid for 90 minutes with the fans behind us, then there’s no reason why we can’t get three points,” John said.

Bateau ready for coach’s call

Having arrived just Wednesday night from Kazakhstan, defender Sheldon Bateau is not a sure starter in today’s qualifying match. But having settled in and trained with the team on Thursday evening, the former Jabloteh man is up to the call if needed by head coach Dennis Lawrence.

“It was a bit of a challenge getting in here so late but I played a full game for my club on the weekend and I’m on good shape at the moment. I know the boys have been hard at work this week and I’m here to contribute in whatever way necessary. The team always comes first and I’m here to give one hundred percent and more once called upon,” Bateau said.

Tickets will be on sale at the match venue as well as all NLCB Lotto Locations. Parking for patrons will be provided at the nearby National Cricket Centre and patrons are being urged to arrive early.

Gates opens at 5 pm.

Post by: Tallman on September 01, 2017, 04:48:52 AM
History shows that we can defeat them.

Yes, but history shows that was the only time we've ever beaten them in a World Cup Qualifier in eight tries. Also, overall, we've played them seventeen times and only had three wins. We've also never beaten them in T&T. Make no mistake, history is not on our side, and we have our work cut out for us.
Post by: sjahrain on September 01, 2017, 05:19:20 AM
Forward Warriors
Give the country this present
Thank you
Post by: Jumbie on September 01, 2017, 05:23:56 AM
All the best today Warriors!

Post by: palos on September 01, 2017, 09:37:03 AM
Gi dem hell today Warriors!  Good luck
Post by: soccerman on September 01, 2017, 11:04:39 AM
 :wavetowel:
Post by: Big Magician on September 01, 2017, 11:14:04 AM
tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt ...PLAY DE FITBALL ( yes..i said it )
Post by: Big Magician on September 01, 2017, 11:14:57 AM
Hope that rain not over The Ato Boldon Stadium..
Savannah grass dont like rain....

DJW will have to dry up the pitch again...walking with mop and bucket
Post by: frico on September 01, 2017, 01:30:04 PM
Whenever I lose interest in TT football we usually win, and to tell yuh the truth, I have totally lost even a glimmer of interest or hope.
Post by: vb on September 01, 2017, 01:31:45 PM
I feel quite confident.

In our last two games we lost but there was tremendous improvement.

We usually get manhanndled in the US but this was our best performance in two decades. What was warming was how we put the ball in the back of the net as soon as the US scored - too bad it was offside.

We actually dominated CR in the second half and were just plain unlucky. When was the last time anyone could say that for TT away to CR.

When I think of the goal not given vs Mex and the Penalty vs CR - this competition could be wide open.

Oh well, let's win this one. TT 2 or 3 - 1.

PS anyone else notice how much better our attack is without KJ.
Post by: g on September 01, 2017, 01:55:29 PM
Something about game day is always feels different.
Post by: injunchile on September 01, 2017, 02:07:06 PM
3points today- Independence Gift to the Nation.
Post by: maxg on September 01, 2017, 02:32:29 PM
I feel quite confident.

In our last two games we lost but there was tremendous improvement.

We usually get manhanndled in the US but this was our best performance in two decades. What was warming was how we put the ball in the back of the net as soon as the US scored - too bad it was offside.

We actually dominated CR in the second half and were just plain unlucky. When was the last time anyone could say that for TT away to CR.

When I think of the goal not given vs Mex and the Penalty vs CR - this competition could be wide open.

Oh well, let's win this one. TT 2 or 3 - 1.

PS anyone else notice how much better our attack is without KJ.
I don't. But I hoping it better tonight. 2 of the 3 games yuh big up was with KJ. Our last WC win was with KJ. So it's amazing how yuh figure that out. Hopefully Coach selections will keep KJ on the sidelines tonight and next game. For our sake and as god wills.
Post by: Midknight on September 01, 2017, 02:42:38 PM
Good Day Forumites,

Good luck to the boys. Not holding out much hope for qualification but would like something positive to build on going forward.

On another note, kind of short notice but I have two advanced unconvered tickets burning a hole in my pocket and car issues all cropping up at the last minute.

Would still like to make it but no way I'm trying to commute with threat of rain locusts and whatever else happens in that strange country called South  :D

I'm in Diego side, pm me if anyone is interested.
Post by: Brownsugar on September 01, 2017, 03:22:55 PM
Good Day Forumites,

Good luck to the boys. Not holding out much hope for qualification but would like something positive to build on going forward.

On another note, kind of short notice but I have two advanced unconvered tickets burning a hole in my pocket and car issues all cropping up at the last minute.

Would still like to make it but no way I'm trying to commute with threat of rain locusts and whatever else happens in that strange country called South  :D

Midknight!!! Long time no see!! How you doin'?!!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk

Post by: Brownsugar on September 01, 2017, 03:23:48 PM
Looking to head down to the Ato Boldon in about half hour....6:30 latest.....

Post by: Midknight on September 01, 2017, 04:03:55 PM
Good Day Forumites,

Midknight!!! Long time no see!! How you doin'?!!

surviving like most. Hope you enjoy de match :)
Post by: Bitter on September 01, 2017, 04:27:53 PM
Whenever I lose interest in TT football we usually win, and to tell yuh the truth, I have totally lost even a glimmer of interest or hope.

Nah, yuh faking it. Otherwise you wouldn't have posted. So now self the cutass book.
Post by: Brownsugar on September 01, 2017, 04:48:02 PM
I een....place nowhere near full.....sound system loud and clear though....

Post by: Fyzoman on September 01, 2017, 05:28:11 PM
Any links please, I don't have BEin:(
Title: Trinidad and Tobago vs. Honduras: Much Ado About Plenty – Staying in World Cup Q
Post by: asylumseeker on September 01, 2017, 05:38:20 PM
Trinidad and Tobago vs. Honduras: Much Ado About Plenty – Staying in World Cup Qualification Contention
By Chambi Sey

In a departure from the traditional script, Trinidad and Tobago’s potentially final match of material interest in the 2018 World Cup qualification process kicks-off today at an unanticipated venue, the Ato Boldon Stadium. It has been proposed that the location offers the intimacy of a spectator-player interaction that would be absent at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. However, despite the change in location, the warmth with which visiting teams are received in Trinidad and Tobago is unlikely to change.  Within CONCACAF, there are no legendary stories in circulation with respect to hostility emanating from fans in Trinbagonian stands. Apparently, Trinis reserve their powder for internecine skirmishes and bacchanal.

At worst, the Hondurans are likely to be mutually affected by the change in venue. At best, they are likely to be mutually benefitted. Jorge Luis Pinto, the Colombian head coach of the Honduran national team, has complained about the condition of the grass at the facility and there has been a reasonable interpretation in Tegucigalpa that the venue change was conveniently calculated to frustrate the catrachos’ progress, rather than to aid harmony in local support. Nonetheless, by their own testimony, Hondurans are not strangers to adversity. As Greece-based defensive midfielder Alfredo Mejia explained, “we come from humble circumstances, I’ve played on worst pitches”.

Entering this round of competition, Trinidad and Tobago’s record is by far the most dismal of the teams in the Hex (1-0-5), yet the nation remains within arithmetic striking distance of preserving a stake in the competition. Three of the six teams in the standings have mustered merely one victory in six outings (Honduras, Panama and Trinidad and Tobago). Of the other teams, only Mexico and Costa Rica have compiled more than two wins.  Victory would somersault the Socawarriors above the currently fifth-placed Hondurans and potentially position Dennis Lawrence’s charges within one point of Panama, who face a stiff assignment away to Mexico in the Estadio Azteca. Panama has scored at the Azteca on only two occasions (Jorge Dely Valdes in 2000 and Luis Tejada in 2013) and has never won at the venue. Moreover, the canaleros will be entering the arena without the inspirational presence of suspended team captain Roman Torres (Seattle Sounders) and injured goalkeeper Jaime Penedo (Dynamo Bucharest). Mexico with a win over Panama would happily seal a return trip to Russia, following their appearance at the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup. Icing on the cake would be provided should Costa Rica stall efforts by the United States to add to the eight points the Americans have accumulated. Costa Rica have had one of the stingier defenses on display in the hexagonal and statistically present one of the more balanced showings between attacking success and defensive solidity. Collectively, these combined scenarios offer an encouraging picture with respect to Trinidad and Tobago’s prospects of resuscitating its World Cup effort. However, the obstacle wedged in the way is Honduras, a nation that has represented CONCACAF at the two immediately preceding editions of the FIFA World Cup, a nation that has in its touring party players who acquired valuable international experience at the 2016 Olympic Games in Brazil, and a squad that is conscious of the projected weight and statistics of a fixture disproportionately in their favor. Although episodes of Trinbagonian resistance to the Hondurans exist (draws in 1990 and 2010 World Cup qualifying), crucially, Trinidad and Tobago have never defeated Honduras on Trinidad and Tobago national territory.

Across two coaching regimes, it has been a testing campaign for Trinidad and Tobago. Goals and victories have been difficult to achieve, and so too have been draws that would have salvaged or preserved points. Lamentably, the Socawarriors are the only team not to have drawn a match at this stage of the competition and have mustered solely three goals in the ten months since the present phase of qualifying commenced (a Carlyle Mitchell header versus Honduras away and two contributions by Kevin Molino, one in Port of Spain versus Panama and the other away to Costa Rica). On the contrary, the Panamanians’ present tentative hold on the “playoff spot” is on the backs of having drawn four matches. Under any assessment, the coaching changes instituted by the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) have not precipitated tangible changes in fortune where it matters most – winning matches. However, there is no guarantee that sustaining the preceding status quo would have resulted in a different present. On the historical evidence, Trinidad and Tobago have typically suffered less than optimal showings during World Cup qualifying.

In the Honduran goal, regular starter Donis Escober (CD Olimpia) will be unavailable for the match due to injury. Having recalled Escober’s teammate Carlo Costly to the national team, Jorge Luis Pinto has confirmed that the 35-year-old player will participate in the proceedings, but has been tightlipped as to whether the forward will enter the fray from the first whistle. The likely scenario is that the experienced Costly will enter the field off the bench. Regarded as an “X” factor in the playing equation, the rapprochement between player and coach has generated excitement among Honduran fans, injected vigor into the qualification project, lifted morale within the visiting camp and added to the Honduran artillery a footballer with echoes of the indomitable Blas Perez.

Pinto’s squad has not travelled well during the hexagonal phase and are seeking their first victory on the road. Costly, in his third World Cup qualification cycle, returns a competent body of experience and delivery to the cause. In 28 World Cup qualifying appearances, he has scored 13 goals. Although Costly has been away from the national team for roughly a year and a half, his reintegration into the squad appears to have been seamless. Having converted his most recent World Cup qualification goal in October 2013, the hope across Trinidad and Tobago is that the player departs the two-island republic without having supplemented his tally.

Since the inception of qualifying, Trinidad and Tobago’s forward line and attacking balance has been the subject of inquiry and concern, but not of significant tinkering. The participants until recently have been a parade of familiar faces led by the imposing presence of Kenwyne Jones, a player respected across CONCACAF but much maligned at home due to a dissonance in fans’ expectations of how the game should be played and a lack of dynamic cohesiveness in advanced areas of the pitch. While in the preceding round, Trinidad and Tobago benefitted from a diversity of goal scoring contributors, three of those players are unavailable for the encounter tonight (Trevin Caesar, Levi Garcia and Kenwyne Jones) and other members of the attacking cast are either largely attempting to assert their playing merits or to extend their international careers. However, Joevin Jones, the most prolific of the scoring contributors, expressed this week his performance debt to the footballing public and promised improved performances after having rendered successive sub-par performances. The comments constitute a welcome self-critique by an immensely talented player whose attacking insistence must not be compromised or restrained in the quest for maximum points. Jones is correctly perceived by the Hondurans as a fundamental element in Trinidad and Tobago cementing its goal scoring opportunities in counterattacking situations. 

Honduras, wary of Trinidad and Tobago executing on the counterattack, are expected to seek to maintain controlled possession of the ball. Upon losing the ball, they are expected to attempt to regain it quickly, seeking to exploit vulnerable spaces relative to Trinidad and Tobago’s posture on transition. According to Pinto, the Hondurans accept that they must take calculated risks to secure departure from Couva with more points than which they arrived.

In goal, Pinto is regarded as favoring Buba Lopez (Real España) and a Back Four consisting of skipper Maynor Figueroa (FC Dallas) and Henry Figueroa (CD Motagua) as central defenders with Emilio Izaguirre (Al Feiha FC, Saudi Arabia) on the left flank and Felix Crisanto (CD Motagua) on the right. In front of them, he is favored to deploy Alfredo Mejia and Jorge “Pitbull” Claros (Real España). In more advanced positions, the surging contenders are Alex Lopez (CD Olimpia), Romell Quioto (Houston Dynamo), Alberth Elis (Houston Dynamo) and Anthony Lozano (FC Barcelona B, Spain). In the first-leg encounter, Quioto and Izaguirre were the authors of goals that deflated Trinidad and Tobago’s acquisition of points. And, on that occasion Pinto also opted for the Figueroa pairing in central defense.

Crisanto has emerged as a contender to start the match due to the card accumulation suspension of Brayan Beckeles (Necaxa, Mexico). The proposed role for Henry Figueroa would occur at the expense of Johnny Palacios (CD Olimpia). And, it is left to be seen whether Jan-Michael Williams or Daneil Cyrus will do battle with any of their teammates from Juticalpa FC.  With Ovidio Lanza and Edras Padilla - the club teammates of Jan-Michael Williams and Daneil Cyrus - both likely to be secondary considerations in Pinto’s plans, it is unlikely that spectators will witness individualized derbies.

While Hurricane Harvey is represented to have thwarted what would likely have been a useful contribution by Trevin Caesar, Honduras’ Houston-based players Alberth Elis and Romell Quioto are notoriously present in Trinidad and Tobago having sensibly been rerouted for departure from Dallas.  Why is the California-based Caesar not in Trinidad and Tobago when the Houston-based pair were observed on social media in knee-deep water?  It is troubling that a player not resident in the immediately affected area has been unable to report for participation at the most important match of the calendar, when several other players from Houston have not been similarly impeded in reporting to their national teams. The player would have added a dimension in play (dribbling and penetrating with a purpose), not possessed or sufficiently exhibited by his colleagues, that has endeared him to observers of the game.

Following Honduras suffering a 3-0 loss to Mexico and a 2-2 draw away to Panama on the last pair of matchdays during this qualification stage, the head coach’s future had to be publicly ratified by his employers. Honduras decided to swim or sink with Pinto, a path the TTFA declined to adopt with the coaching staff that inserted Trinidad and Tobago into the hexagonal round. Versus Panama, after Quioto and Ellis punctuated both halves of play with opening and apparently closing goals, the Hondurans appeared to be three points clear until opposing captain Roman Torres produced a committed 90th minute strike that robbed Honduras of the two points that would have placed them in an ascendant position coming into tonight’s engagement. In referring to the defensive organization of the Hondurans vis-à-vis Torres’ equalizer, a television analyst described the incident as reflecting “total anarchy …  disorder across the board”. Across Trini fandom, lapses in application of that sort undoubtedly would be embraced.

There’s the sense that after well-documented officiating errors (notably a disallowed goal ruled offside versus Mexico and a notorious foul that should have provoked the compensatory award of a penalty against Costa Rica), Trinidad and Tobago’s national team is due a break in the transmission of unfavorable outcomes. Whether the national team’s errant marksmen can compose themselves to make new history is another question. In November 2015, it took Mexico 22 years to defeat Honduras on Honduran soil. Although history favors the Hondurans in Trinidad, Trinbagonians hope not to have to wait that long to disrupt Honduran fortunes and to return to World Cup contention.
Post by: E-man on September 01, 2017, 05:40:20 PM
Lineups http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/matches/round=276449/match=300364768/index.html#lineups

21 Jan-Michael WILLIAMS (GK)(C)
2 Aubrey DAVID
3 Joevin JONES
4 Sheldon BATEAU
5 Daneil CYRUS
7 Cordell CATO
8 Khaleem HYLAND
10 Kevin MOLINO
13 Kevon VILLAROEL
19 Kevan GEORGE
20 Jamille BOATSWAIN

Honduras

1 Luis LOPEZ (GK)
2 Felix CRISANTO
3 Maynor FIGUEROA (C)
4 Henry FIGUEROA
7 Emilio IZAGUIRRE
8 Alfredo MEJIA
9 Antony LOZANO
10 Alexander LOPEZ
12 Romell QUIOTO
17 Alberth ELIS
20 Jorge CLAROS
Post by: Bitter on September 01, 2017, 05:47:27 PM
Any links please, I don't have BEin:(

This *might* work

http://www.stream2watch.cc/livenow/soccer/trinidad-tobago-vs-honduras-live-stream#
Post by: Bitter on September 01, 2017, 05:55:43 PM
Small crowd. But we looking good so far.

Vivid.

We will see what the actual game look like after it start.  ;D
Post by: Deeks on September 01, 2017, 05:56:46 PM
Dan Blocker!
Post by: College on September 01, 2017, 05:59:05 PM
Been to Colleges League games with larger crowds... good luck T&T##!###
Post by: che on September 01, 2017, 06:01:06 PM
Come on guys ! Hold dem and rock dem.
Post by: Deeks on September 01, 2017, 06:03:38 PM
Been to Colleges League games with larger crowds... good luck T&T##!###

It tells you about the state of football in TT. The people has fallen out of love with national team football. For them to get the crowd back, they just have to EARN IT.
Post by: Trin on September 01, 2017, 06:06:33 PM
What's worse a big empty stadium or a small empty stadium?
Post by: Bitter on September 01, 2017, 06:07:50 PM
and so it begins...  ??? :frustrated:
Post by: Trin on September 01, 2017, 06:08:38 PM
Wow
Post by: che on September 01, 2017, 06:11:05 PM
Oh my  :(
Post by: Bitter on September 01, 2017, 06:17:29 PM
Best I had stay playing FIFA oui.
Post by: maxg on September 01, 2017, 06:17:50 PM
Wow
what ?
WHAT ?
Post by: asylumseeker on September 01, 2017, 06:18:00 PM
What's worse a big empty stadium or a small empty stadium?

:)

Post by: Trin on September 01, 2017, 06:18:39 PM
Side good for 6 at this rate
Post by: FF on September 01, 2017, 06:19:09 PM
Wow
what ?
WHAT ?

Goal in we ass as the game start nah

And a next one in we ass after that
Post by: che on September 01, 2017, 06:19:24 PM
I can't watch any more. :cursing:
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 01, 2017, 06:20:39 PM
 Kevon VILLAROEL ahh boy
Post by: che on September 01, 2017, 06:21:50 PM

4 more to go .  :bs:
Post by: Anbrat on September 01, 2017, 06:22:53 PM
Any working links?
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 01, 2017, 06:23:51 PM
Any working links?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jttgCUmLSbs
Post by: Anbrat on September 01, 2017, 06:24:45 PM
Any working links?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jttgCUmLSbs

Thank U.
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 01, 2017, 06:26:41 PM
So if we get six w

4 more to go .  :bs:

if they get 6 and Dennis Lawrence eh get fired ?? btw are we  the away team it seems so
Post by: asylumseeker on September 01, 2017, 06:30:56 PM
I hope this match does not become the subject of international scrutiny.
Post by: FF on September 01, 2017, 06:31:52 PM
DJW in 3 years Tim-Kee oversaw a rise from 79 to 49 in the FIFA rankings.

You have now, as of the January 2017 rankings, seen us fall to 83.

How low can we go. Do the right thing and walk away.

Thought I would repost this from January. It still holds along with the continued decline of all our other programs.
By the way we have oscillated a little in the rankings since and coincidentally are exactly 83 as of the Aug rankings.
But the overall trajectory only going one way  :(

Post by: FF on September 01, 2017, 06:32:52 PM
I hope this match does not become the subject of international scrutiny.

It that bad? Don't say spineless
Post by: Trini Madness on September 01, 2017, 06:33:58 PM
Is it just me or they didn't cut the grass? Did they also theif that ball from someone backyard? Where's the regular Nike ball?
Post by: Trin on September 01, 2017, 06:34:30 PM
We looking like Bambi on ice every man jack slipping. They eh know is friggin savannah grass. It rain today. Wear  the right boots! Honduras eh slipping doh....
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on September 01, 2017, 06:35:26 PM
Wish we had KJ, doh care wha nobody say!
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 01, 2017, 06:36:53 PM

we lacking badly
Post by: E-man on September 01, 2017, 06:37:48 PM
US is down 2 to CRC if it's any consolation
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on September 01, 2017, 06:39:11 PM

means nothing if we can't take the opportunity to close the gap
Post by: Bitter on September 01, 2017, 06:39:49 PM

We so like to copy America...  :devil:
Post by: Cocorite on September 01, 2017, 06:40:13 PM
Why didn't Joven take that free kick? T&T serious?
Post by: palos on September 01, 2017, 06:40:24 PM
Calamity Jan  :-[
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on September 01, 2017, 06:41:14 PM

He did! Clean yuh glasses nah
Post by: FF on September 01, 2017, 06:42:07 PM

(https://media.tenor.com/images/abe08060d4f2b339c6e48da6e9c62af9/tenor.gif)
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on September 01, 2017, 06:43:01 PM
Dis is unfackinbelievable. No whistle and den men slowing down?  steups!
Post by: Trin on September 01, 2017, 06:43:48 PM
No structure going forward. No ideas
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 01, 2017, 06:48:13 PM
Miss KJ badd. No bite in the front.

The commentators said it.. our crowd is not a 12th man. Thanks DJW.

Post by: Cocorite on September 01, 2017, 06:50:20 PM

Wish we had Tim Kee and Hart
Post by: palos on September 01, 2017, 06:51:32 PM
Cue the 2nd half comeback

BTW....ironic how peeps bawlin for KJ now

Going forward, we are relying exclusively on individualism from Joevin and Molino.  Little or no buildup, creativity or attacking strategy.  Very disappointing

We have no width in attack.  Cato often playing striker.  Boatswain invisible.  And it doh appear to be his fault.  Is what happens when you running around waiting for the starboys to do their thing.

Ironically, our defence is too wide apart and Honduras filling the gaps easily

If our attack and defence could switch, we likely would play better

All keepers make mistakes and Jan's mistake was calamituous.  Jan is a decent goalie and the best we have.  Too bad he forked that one up.

And another observation.  When our players make defensive headers why are they heading the ball back to the middle of the field?  Yuh supposed to head it out to the sides.

Someone explained to me that when T&T players are under pressure, they panic.  It's a direct result of the fact that we don't have a single player playing in a top league anywhere.  The highest level is MLS
Post by: Deeks on September 01, 2017, 06:52:05 PM
CR beat US 2-0 in the US!
Post by: E-man on September 01, 2017, 06:52:33 PM

I'm for that
Post by: Cocorite on September 01, 2017, 06:52:48 PM

He did! Clean yuh glasses nah

Wow! That was Joven? Bad free-kick. Nah it wasn't the glasses, it was poor internet stream.

Thanks for the correction
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on September 01, 2017, 06:53:48 PM
Miss KJ badd. No bite in the front.

The commentators said it.. our crowd is not a 12th man. Thanks DJW.

Only gum up dey no teeth! I want to hear de drop KJ voices speak up in favor of this bullshit!  Botswain have tools but when we need to settle and try to play the ball around he hasn't impressed me yet. KJ we could rely on.
Post by: lefty on September 01, 2017, 06:54:12 PM
d moment we change president I knew the campaign would fall apart....despite timkee's cock ups and instances of nepotism our programs were on d up ......steups
Post by: davyjenny1 on September 01, 2017, 06:55:39 PM
Let's see the second shift go do, the 3 to 11 shift.
Post by: Cocorite on September 01, 2017, 06:55:52 PM

I'm for that

Replace who? Aubrey! . . . Our midfield needs to work a lot harder off the ball.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on September 01, 2017, 06:56:37 PM
d moment we change president I knew the campaign would fall apart....despite timkee's cock ups and instances of nepotism our programs were on d up ......steups

I was among the few who was not calling for him to go. Nuff ah dam same man complaining now was calling fun RTK head! It flockin good!
Post by: asylumseeker on September 01, 2017, 06:57:21 PM
Who to blame? De Commissioner of Police, for extortionist security fees? Or should we thank him that this 1st half toots not happening at Hasely Crawford?

Where all the season ticket holders?
Post by: FF on September 01, 2017, 07:02:12 PM
Who to blame? De Commissioner of Police, for extortionist security fees? Or should we thank him that this 1st half toots not happening at Hasely Crawford?

They brighter than we
Post by: palos on September 01, 2017, 07:03:47 PM
CR beat US 2-0 in the US!

Good result for Costa Rica.

Seeing that we allegedly played better than Costa Rica when we recently lost to them in Costa Rica, this result should mean we will beat the Is when next we face them
Post by: asylumseeker on September 01, 2017, 07:04:30 PM

They brighter than we

Ent.
Post by: E-man on September 01, 2017, 07:08:31 PM
why was that goal reversed?  ???
Post by: Deeks on September 01, 2017, 07:08:56 PM
What wrong with that goal. If hon. had score one like that is goal. friggin bias tiefing ref.
Post by: palos on September 01, 2017, 07:10:19 PM
Alvin Jones? 

He must be have to audition for a trial and the match being televised in Vietnam  :devil:
Post by: palos on September 01, 2017, 07:11:41 PM
What wrong with that goal. If hon. had score one like that is goal. friggin bias tiefing ref.

To be fair, looks like the whistle blew long BEFORE the ball crossed the line
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on September 01, 2017, 07:13:02 PM
lol Now we going an get Plaza!
Post by: Deeks on September 01, 2017, 07:15:30 PM

To be fair, looks like the whistle blew long BEFORE the ball crossed the line

What the ref blow for ?
Post by: FF on September 01, 2017, 07:16:15 PM
Red card in we ass now. Some dotish blade was passing
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 01, 2017, 07:16:51 PM
Ok. Let's face reality now. 2022.
Post by: FF on September 01, 2017, 07:17:14 PM
Now you want to face reality?
Post by: palos on September 01, 2017, 07:18:00 PM
Oops  :-\
Post by: Deeks on September 01, 2017, 07:18:20 PM
wtf??????????????????????????????
Post by: palos on September 01, 2017, 07:19:21 PM

If you REALLY want to face reality, it FAR longer than 2022. Especially under this current administration
Post by: asylumseeker on September 01, 2017, 07:19:30 PM
3 matches and 3 consecutive injudicious decisions by Alvin Jones. Lightning of course strikes the same place 3 times.
Post by: Trini Madness on September 01, 2017, 07:19:36 PM
I honestly think that wasn't a red card. They both were going for the ball, in fact Jones touched the ball first, then his momentum went into the Honduran player.
Post by: FF on September 01, 2017, 07:22:22 PM
Madness you can't defend that.....

Studs up plus there was 2 wild tackles in quick order right before
Post by: Jumbie on September 01, 2017, 07:22:42 PM
if you missed Germany 2006, I truly feel sorry for you.

Post by: lefty on September 01, 2017, 07:23:09 PM
10v10 now
Post by: asylumseeker on September 01, 2017, 07:24:09 PM

If you REALLY want to face reality, it FAR longer than 2022. Especially under this current administration

The only "2022" coming is Trini_2018 changing to Trini_2022.

gawd on de pitch feel like bombing a church because he jes find out de preacherman has been lying.
Post by: davyjenny1 on September 01, 2017, 07:24:17 PM
The referee just change the game.
Post by: lefty on September 01, 2017, 07:24:29 PM
2-1
Post by: Deeks on September 01, 2017, 07:24:46 PM
My stream changed to Pan. Mex preview. Any new links plz!!!!
Post by: lefty on September 01, 2017, 07:25:37 PM
http://www.goatd.net/215563/watch-trinidad-and-tobago-vs-honduras
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 01, 2017, 07:25:47 PM
Ah now reach, maybe ah should go back where ah was
Post by: Deeks on September 01, 2017, 07:26:22 PM
2-1! The score should have been 2-2. Come TT, DOG fight.
Post by: FF on September 01, 2017, 07:26:27 PM
Hope does only play cricket fellas
Post by: Deeks on September 01, 2017, 07:27:24 PM
http://www.goatd.net/215563/watch-trinidad-and-tobago-vs-honduras

Thanks. Not working for me. Is the score really 2-1?
Post by: lefty on September 01, 2017, 07:28:04 PM
Yes

Post by: lefty on September 01, 2017, 07:30:04 PM
jesus @#$%ing christ
Post by: asylumseeker on September 01, 2017, 07:33:16 PM
jesus @#$%ing christ

Fill us in ...
Post by: Deeks on September 01, 2017, 07:33:36 PM
What???? Doh keep me in suspense!!!
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 01, 2017, 07:34:58 PM
Hope does only play cricket fellas

Post by: E-man on September 01, 2017, 07:35:30 PM
67' Joevin JONES (Trinidad and Tobago) successfully converts the penalty!

nothing since then on the ticker

1:2 in the 77'
Post by: Deeks on September 01, 2017, 07:36:07 PM
Pan vs Mex. started. field full ah water. Irma coming!
Post by: lefty on September 01, 2017, 07:37:09 PM
jesus @#$%ing christ

Fill us in ...

molino close miss point blank and he eh get ah good connection
Post by: palos on September 01, 2017, 07:37:56 PM
As Honduras drops deeper to defend, it gives us more room to play.  The individualism "tactic" has more effect

Fantastic run and pass off by Molino to humans to ultimately get the penalty which was expertly converted by Joevin

Then Nashy missed a Glorious opportunity to equalize after a great run and pass from Joevin.

Those two are the entire sum of our attacking initiatives in this match.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 01, 2017, 07:39:03 PM
jesus @#$%ing christ

Fill us in ...

Perhaps inspired by Cato.  :devil:
Post by: palos on September 01, 2017, 07:39:54 PM
jesus @#$%ing christ

Fill us in ...

Ball was slightly behind him at pace and he couldn't adjust his body sufficiently in time.  Hard luck

Yes...should have scored but it happens
Post by: lefty on September 01, 2017, 07:41:06 PM
jesus @#$%ing christ

Fill us in ...

???
Post by: asylumseeker on September 01, 2017, 07:42:08 PM
As Honduras drops deeper to defend, it gives us more room to play.  The individualism "tactic" has more effect

Fantastic run and pass off by Molino to humans to ultimately get the penalty which was expertly converted by Joevin

Then Nashy missed a Glorious opportunity to equalize after a great run and pass from Joevin.

Those two are the entire sum of our attacking initiatives in this match.

There's an adage: players must express themeselves ... even if that squanders precious time of the 90'.
Post by: E-man on September 01, 2017, 07:43:01 PM
Third sub

78'
Nathan LEWIS (in) comes off the bench to replace Cordell CATO (out) (Trinidad and Tobago)
Post by: Deeks on September 01, 2017, 07:45:22 PM
Come on, Guys, Come On!
Post by: asylumseeker on September 01, 2017, 07:46:10 PM
jesus @#$%ing christ

Fill us in ...

???

Cato's composure in front of goal is legendary.
Post by: lefty on September 01, 2017, 07:47:37 PM
Oh nah wasn't ah composure issue

Post by: asylumseeker on September 01, 2017, 07:50:06 PM
What???? Doh keep me in suspense!!!

Ok, Deeks. We are not going to qualify.  :P
Post by: palos on September 01, 2017, 07:54:17 PM
Would be interesting to see Villaroel's passing stats for this match
Post by: lefty on September 01, 2017, 07:55:55 PM
campaign done.... f**k DJW ......eh andre samuel tell DAJW to stuff dat pdf up he nose hole
Post by: Trini Madness on September 01, 2017, 08:04:27 PM
DJW and everybody in that damn admin staff have to go, for f#@$ sake man. We in SWO could run the TTFA better than these idiots.
Post by: lefty on September 01, 2017, 08:07:30 PM
we gone competitive youth, women, mens programs to this steups
Post by: lefty on September 01, 2017, 08:17:18 PM

I was among the few who was not calling for him to go. Nuff ah dam same man complaining now was calling fun RTK head! It flockin good!

damn fukkin straight
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 01, 2017, 08:28:37 PM
On a serious note, DJW needs to go by fall of 2018. Caribbean cup and gold cup qualifying is a year away. Plus league of nations. He can't be around to f00k things up.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 01, 2017, 08:41:10 PM

BTW....ironic how peeps bawlin for KJ now

Going forward, we are relying exclusively on individualism from Joevin and Molino.  Little or no buildup, creativity or attacking strategy.  Very disappointing

We have no width in attack.  Cato often playing striker.  Boatswain invisible.  And it doh appear to be his fault.  Is what happens when you running around waiting for the starboys to do their thing.

Ironically, our defence is too wide apart and Honduras filling the gaps easily

If our attack and defence could switch, we likely would play better

All keepers make mistakes and Jan's mistake was calamituous.  Jan is a decent goalie and the best we have.  Too bad he forked that one up.

And another observation.  When our players make defensive headers why are they heading the ball back to the middle of the field?  Yuh supposed to head it out to the sides.

Someone explained to me that when T&T players are under pressure, they panic.  It's a direct result of the fact that we don't have a single player playing in a top league anywhere.  The highest level is MLS

That by itself is a separate topic. Will say this doh ... had a player on one of our best local teams report that they doh play panicked football. Why yuh suppose that is? It's hard to conceive of a pedestrian pace invoking panic?

Yet that same player was critical of another player (a teammate) who had multiple playing experiences outside of T&T ... because he perceived the player to be panicking (what was actually occurring was that Player B was resolving the problem quickly and decisively.

Player B returned to play overseas. Go figure.
Post by: davyjenny1 on September 01, 2017, 08:44:07 PM
A new topic thread is in the making, one that has been spiraling out of control post 2006.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 01, 2017, 08:51:43 PM
On a serious note, DJW needs to go by fall of 2018. Caribbean cup and gold cup qualifying is a year away. Plus league of nations. He can't be around to f00k things up.

What do you propose he do in the interim?
Post by: davyjenny1 on September 01, 2017, 09:00:30 PM
Alvin Henderson and Anthony Clarke was talking a lot of shit about KJ. One thing I know is that a team has to play to their strengths and play the type of game that identifies within their style of play and not try to experiment at this stage. TTFA always behind, come next World Cup qualifying they will be behind again and it's years away. Culture is a question regarding success.
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 01, 2017, 09:04:40 PM

He accomplished the mission. Time for him to go
Post by: Big Magician on September 01, 2017, 09:05:32 PM
POOR
Post by: Big Magician on September 01, 2017, 09:15:32 PM
ato blodon stadium was a disaster...100%
Post by: davyjenny1 on September 01, 2017, 09:18:56 PM
Yes, another experiment that back fired
Post by: Big Magician on September 01, 2017, 09:25:30 PM
not the result...
Post by: davyjenny1 on September 01, 2017, 09:41:07 PM
Long story short, I understand where you coming from
Post by: g on September 01, 2017, 09:57:47 PM
Hear nah, I not even upset about this result yes.

I will always support Trinidad and Tobago football, these fellas share a passport and heritage with me and I will do my part.

But this group of players, coaches and administrators were not good enough today across all accountabilities. Venue, tactics, formation, selection, application and effort.

Only mathematically possible to qualify, the campaign hangs by a thread. I just come back from Couva after waiting an hour and a half to get out the venue, I will try to break down the flawed tactics tomorrow, but in essence like a previous poster said, pass to Kevin and Joevin and hope for the best.

One question though for those who can answer: HOW MUCH 3 HAND KNOCK CAN ONE PLAY WHERE THE LOSERS DRINK SO MUCH WATER THAT IT STARTS TO IMPACT PERFORMANCE???
Post by: soccerman on September 01, 2017, 10:12:18 PM
This result messed up my holiday weekend  :cursing:

Time to move on from Jan, I've seen enough blunders from him at this stage. Let's move forward with GR!

Our teams (all of them) has all declined since DJW took over.

For those who were highly critical of Hart, what do you have to say about DL?

We eh ready, collectively the team looked disjointed and out of sync.
Post by: coache on September 01, 2017, 10:57:56 PM
It eh over yet we still have a chance we could win de next one 5-nil man ..and de next one 3-nil..we goin
Russia doh beat up..doh hot up allyuh head nah man...
Post by: Brownsugar on September 01, 2017, 11:08:55 PM
I have no words.....*sigh *

:'( :frustrated: :banginghead:  :'( :'(
Post by: maxg on September 01, 2017, 11:14:48 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RN5i33Og0m8
Post by: frico on September 02, 2017, 03:32:05 AM
I am sure that blame should go to the players and nobody else,first the GK needs to be replaced for standing well out of position ball watching,it's not the first time he has given the opposition goals.We should at least come away with a draw and a win wasn't out of the question;we as usual,didn't take some clear cut chances.I know Hon had chances but we appeared to have had more clear cut chances.This may sound a bit corny,but TT seems to be an unlucky team.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 02, 2017, 04:15:43 AM

He accomplished the mission. Time for him to go

Oh, so you really meant 2017?
Post by: Bitter on September 02, 2017, 07:00:01 AM
Now I have to read about the dictator for the next 6 weeks months...
Post by: Adam Lake on September 02, 2017, 07:18:06 AM
Obviously Tallest and the team have to take blame, but my grouse is with DJW and the TTFA. Why d fak you'd play an all important do or die encounter in Ato is beyond me. Was a logistical nightmare...  Everything this man do since assuming the Presidency has been a disaster. He has destroyed our chances for not only the men but the lil momentum we had going with the Women.

I doh know bout alyuh, but we must use that home game against USA to EMBARRASS this TTFA Administration and especially DJW..... #DJWOUT

Ah feelin sick to my stomach!