Sports => Football => Topic started by: Errol on September 10, 2016, 03:25:17 AM

Title: T&T's HEX predictions.
Post by: Errol on September 10, 2016, 03:25:17 AM
Trying to be as realistic here as possible. However, if Hart can get his guys to play like they did at the Gold Cup we could really do some damage.

But given the inconsistency of players like Kenwyne, Hyland, Molino, Abu Bakr, David and Cyrus it will be hard unless we play more games or Hart finds some back up players and really start to bench some of his favorites.

I know its not easy, but maybe more games will help these players build confidence and consistency.

Mitchell and especially Mekeil gives away the ball in bad places and constantly get lost on the field allowing their man to run away from them very easily.

Cyrus gets forward a lot but forgets to run back or is slow at it and his man gets away from him and our defence are left stranded.

David can be a good player, but very stagnant at times.

Joevin, Bateau and Boucaud carries T&T.

Kenwyne presence is needed even if he doesn't do much. Would really be nice to get Bradley Wright-Phillips.

George can be the x-factor for T&T's defence, maybe Hart could convert him to a central defender?

Players like Bostock, Cummings, Levi and Cato could really stir things up for T&T.

I like players like Sean De Silva, Darren Mitchell and Ricardo John.

Weslie John, Shannon Williams and Ryan Inniss could help our defence, maybe?

Maybe Hart could offer Shaquell Moore a chance to play for T&T, he is a good wing back.

Guatemala and USA really showed us up especially down the center, once you beat T&T's wing backs, players run into the center and shoot untop of the box or slip the ball behind T&T defence and you are almost guaranteed to score.

Costa Rica, USA and Mexico, nuff said.

Honduras can run and T&T cannot play against runners, especially teams that keeps the ball on the ground. Honduras did very well at the Olympics, so I expect them to draft in a few of those young players.

Panama is the only team T&T might get by because T&T is similar, so the results could go either way.

Again, if T&T can find back that magic from the Gold Cup, they could surprise a few teams like Mexico, USA and Costa Rica at home, but you know we struggle at home and with Hart careful approach like against USA last November (0-0) we could be in trouble.

T&T is a good team and we have good individual players, but we lack a proper formation and confidence. The players tend to day dream a lot on the field too.

My predictions.

H - T&T 1-1 Costa Rica Game (11-Nov-2016) = 1
A - T&T 1-2 Honduras Game (15-Nov-2016) = 0
H - T&T 1-0 Panama Game (24-Mar-2017) = 3
H - T&T 1-2 Mexico Game (28-Mar-2017) = 0
A - T&T 0-2 USA Game (7/8-Jun-2017) = 0
A - T&T 0-3 Costa Rica Game (11/12-Jun-2017) = 0
H - T&T 2-0 Honduras Game (1-Sept-2017) = 3
A - T&T 2-1 Panama Game (5-Sept-2017) = 3
A - T&T 0-3 Mexico Game (6-Oct-2017) = 0
H - T&T 1-1 USA Game (10-Oct-2017) = 1

Total = 11pts

Title: Re: T&T's HEX predictions.
Post by: lefty on September 10, 2016, 06:37:55 AM
we need to widen the pool, but the first team need real playing time, not pseudo friendlies to cap fringe pro "leaguers"- we need to use d windows and breaks effectively.....we also need a move back to team football.....people keep saying dat molino disappear.....but it seemed more to me dat he was an outlet only when d wingers got stuck.....watch how he works at orlando...molino doh have no set ah beats yuh hadda actually use him and be around and capable to utilize d ping backs.....he does disappear in orlando when eh getting people to 1-2 d ball with especially when kaka eh play.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 10, 2016, 07:06:06 AM
11 points eh enough to even "secure" 4th place. Not that 4th place is our target.

The home game versus the US must be a 3pt. game. Away to Honduras must be a 3pt. game.

The Hex participants from '06 qualifying are all the same nations but for Honduras.
Post by: FF on September 10, 2016, 10:44:12 AM
I want 3 pts from Mexico home too
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 10, 2016, 10:47:15 AM
My predictions:

Panama and Honduras games= 7 - 9 points
Mexico games= 3 points
Costa Rica games = 1 point
USA games = 1 point

We need to do the double over Panama or Honduras. Or beat and tie both of them. We will learn our fate early if we don't get 8 or 9 points from the games against them. 13 or 14 points is possible. And I think that will be enough once we deal with Panama and Honduras.

As Asylum said, I'm not suggesting our goal is 4th place too.
Post by: Sando prince on September 10, 2016, 11:52:41 AM

Too early to make any serious predictions. Just keep in mind no one would have predicted Mexico finishing fourth and having to fight in a playoff battle with a nation from another federation to qualify for the last world cup. So the take away is you never know what can happen in a round of football that will unfold over twelve month period.
Post by: madness on September 10, 2016, 01:10:17 PM
do not underestimate Trinidad team...
Post by: kounty on September 10, 2016, 01:37:28 PM
I really like the post and contributions so far. I think we have the quality to pull it off, but any realistic person will have to view us as the weakest link. Hart might have to experiment with a more defensive structure with 5 at the back, with truly overlapping defenders like Cato and even Joevin (subject to change with substitutions as the game goes on and formation change). We need practice matches. As much as it hurt, it really hard to argue with Errol predictions. With preparation we could pull 2 more wins (home or away) against the top 3 as he call it.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 10, 2016, 07:35:27 PM
I don't think 13 or 14 points present a better outcome (in the big scheme of things) than 11 points. Consider that even if we win all of our home games (the ideal scenario) but lose all our away engagements, we garner only 15 points. That would also not necessarily place us in a zone of comfort. We need probably ~17 points to qualify directly.
Post by: Swima on September 11, 2016, 06:46:44 AM
Three telling stats...
We have never beaten Costa Rica
We have never lost to Mexico in Trinidad
We have never lost in Honduras.

At least if my memory serves.
We must play to win at home for sure. However, we have gone to Panama and Honduras in the worst of times and gotten a point or three in the past. It is very doable to get top 4 here and possible to get top three. Never have our chances been so great as this since before 06. I think 06 was lucky as we were fourth with more losses than wins.
We can actually look for 10-12 points before our last 3 games if we get something from the opener against Costa Rica, against whom we have the worst record.
Post by: ffisback on September 11, 2016, 08:33:29 AM
Since the Hex started in 1998 it took 11-16 pts to get 4th spot and took 14-17 pts to get 3rd spot depending on how competitive the Hex is this time there is 2 weak teams in TT and Panama that means there is going to be more pts for the rest of teams.
What TT has to do is 1st hire a coach that can coach at the international level that will make TT competitive with the big 4 and those pts would be reachable with S Heart in charge we just competing for the wooden spoon.
Post by: sjahrain on September 11, 2016, 09:29:02 AM
It's all about what have YOU  done for me lately
And in all sincerity YOU have been found wanting....... :rotfl:
I take it you have many wooden spoons..... :devil:
Don't look down your under pants is showing
Post by: NUFF on September 11, 2016, 10:10:37 AM
Three telling stats...

We must play to win at home for sure. However, we have gone to Panama and Honduras in the worst of times and gotten a point or three in the past. It is very doable to get top 4 here and possible to get top three. Never have our chances been so great as this since before 06. I think 06 was lucky as we were fourth with more losses than wins.
We can actually look for 10-12 points before our last 3 games if we get something from the opener against Costa Rica, against whom we have the worst record.

We have lost once in Honduras.
Three telling stats...

We have lost at least once in Honduras.
Post by: NUFF on September 11, 2016, 10:12:46 AM
Since the Hex started in 1998 it took 11-16 pts to get 4th spot and took 14-17 pts to get 3rd spot depending on how competitive the Hex is this time there is 2 weak teams in TT and Panama that means there is going to be more pts for the rest of teams.
What TT has to do is 1st hire a coach that can coach at the international level that will make TT competitive with the big 4 and those pts would be reachable with S Heart in charge we just competing for the wooden spoon.

What makes you say Panama is a weak team?  Going into the hex I would rate them above Honduras.
Post by: ffisback on September 11, 2016, 11:23:58 AM

What makes you say Panama is a weak team?  Going into the hex I would rate them above Honduras.
Costa Rica defeated Panama 2-1 in Panama that tells me the top 4 teams are going into Panama take away pts. Honduras have been to the past 2 WC's and the past couple of olympics so I would put them in the big 4.
Post by: Swima on September 11, 2016, 01:07:16 PM

Remind me nah.
Not in 88, not in 01... cannot remember losing there in any qualifying series.

Edit... we lost there in 09.
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 11, 2016, 01:51:07 PM
The key games will be the 2 legs against Panama and Honduras.

Imagine this scenario.. We entering the final day with 9 or 10 points needing a win vs a US side that will probably have qualified by then. You see the direction this plot can probably go? Another 1989 if the US hasn't secured qualification.. Just lovely. I hope the nation has many doctors on call. Because I know there go be a record of heart attacks if that comes to fruition.
Post by: Sando prince on September 11, 2016, 01:54:15 PM
The key games will be the 2 legs against Panama and Honduras.

Imagine this scenario.. We entering the final day with 9 or 10 points needing a win vs a US side that will probably have qualified by then. You see the direction this plot can probably go? Another 1989 if the US hasn't secured qualification.. Just lovely. I hope the nation has many doctors on call. Because I know there go be a record of heart attacks..

The point for the team is to not reach in this situation. So no I am not going to imagine this.
Post by: Controversial on September 11, 2016, 01:56:26 PM
From the first 5 games, we will have 10 points

The last 5 games I see a minimum  of 6

Leaving us at a minimum of 16 points

Maybe 17 with a draw against Panama in Panama
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 11, 2016, 02:34:29 PM
Was listening to a weekend wrap up of the recent qualifiers. They ranked Concacaf hex as the hardest set of qualifiers. Mainly due to the extreme climates, high elevations, rowdy central American fans, travel/distance and even time zones. When you put it into context. It's hard to argue that Concacaf hex isn't the hardest set of qualifiers. Never heard the others. But here are the top 3 named:

# 1 Concacaf hex
# 2  Conmebol
# 3. AFC
Post by: asylumseeker on September 11, 2016, 05:16:36 PM
Was listening to a weekend wrap up of the recent qualifiers. They ranked Concacaf hex as the hardest set of qualifiers. Mainly due to the extreme climates, high elevations, rowdy central American fans, travel/distance and even time zones. When you put it into context. It's hard to argue that Concacaf hex isn't the hardest set of qualifiers. Never heard the others. But here are the top 3 named:

# 1 Concacaf hex
# 2  Conmebol
# 3. AFC

Who is the "they"?
Post by: Trin on September 11, 2016, 07:03:35 PM
Much like 2005 we need to win home games against Panama, Honduras  (would have been Guatemala in 05) and can afford to only lose one at home to CR Mex and US.

Away we must win at Panama. In 05 we lost badly to Guatemala away. This time we'd need to sneek a point away to Honduras. Realistically any result away to CR Mex and US would be gravy. That would be 9 to 12 pts at homeand 4 to 6 away 13 to 18 pts total.
Post by: lefty on September 12, 2016, 03:55:11 AM
If I was hart, I would look at d personnel I have and build d biggest toughest bus possible for mex, CR and d states away games, dat might mean no molino and Levi, I would "budget" for a point from all, d good ting bout budgets is dat yuh doh really expect dem to balance but if they do yuh does be glad for d outcome.

Sent from my BLU ADVANCE 4.0 using Tapatalk

Post by: Sam on September 12, 2016, 07:03:25 AM
I really wanted Canada to go through, this is a hard group because we have 4 central american teams and it hard to play there.

We have to win our home games and tie de away, which is easier said than done.

Ah really disappointed in some of T&T players like Molino and Hyland because I know them fellas better than that, Hyland working hard eh, but he don't do much with de ball to be playing that number 10 role.

We really need a few new faces on de team and Hart need to groom them, maybe he could use de caribbean cup for that.

Lets see what will happen.

De caribbean cup is official which means we could get foreign players if we want.

But some players might be good to see in action a little more, we need answers and deepth.

Greg Ranjitsingh

Weslie John, Julius James, Tristan Hodge, Noah Powder, Robert Primus, Alvin Jones, Tyler David

Hughtun Hector, Jomal Williams, Keron Cummings, Darren Mitchell, Sean de Silva, John Bostock, Duane Muckette, Aikim Andrews, Morgan Bruce

Trevin Caesar, Ricardo John, Brent Sam.

Woulda be nice we could really get these 3 defenders to play for we, Desevio Payne, Ryan Inniss and Shaquell Moore??

Post by: Thomo on September 12, 2016, 07:23:30 AM
Well we might as well get Ryan Innis out of our plans at least for a while. He got sentenced to 14 weeks in jail for assault. He did however appeal it though
Post by: Sando prince on September 12, 2016, 08:16:58 AM
I really wanted Canada to go through, this is a hard group because we have 4 central american teams and it hard to play there.

We have to win our home games and tie de away, which is easier said than done.

Ah really disappointed in some of T&T players like Molino and Hyland because I know them fellas better than that, Hyland working hard eh, but he don't do much with de ball to be playing that number 10 role.

We really need a few new faces on de team and Hart need to groom them, maybe he could use de caribbean cup for that.

Lets see what will happen.

De caribbean cup is official which means we could get foreign players if we want.

But some players might be good to see in action a little more, we need answers and deepth.

Greg Ranjitsingh

Weslie John, Julius James, Tristan Hodge, Noah Powder, Robert Primus, Alvin Jones, Tyler David

Hughtun Hector, Jomal Williams, Keron Cummings, Darren Mitchell, Sean de Silva, John Bostock, Duane Muckette, Aikim Andrews, Morgan Bruce

Trevin Caesar, Ricardo John, Brent Sam.

Woulda be nice we could really get these 3 defenders to play for we, Desevio Payne, Ryan Inniss and Shaquell Moore??

One point about the Caribbean Cup is although we may want to experiment a bit, we still need to put a team capable of winning and reaching the final round because the importance of the Caribbean Cup is to qualify for the Gold Cup and god forbid we experiment too much with the Caribbean Cup using a weak team and fail to reach the Gold Cup, which will be a massive failure.
Post by: Deeks on September 12, 2016, 08:42:25 AM
The only overseas player we should target for the Caribbean Cup is Bostock, Levi, Bateau, Mitchell, Marshall. The MLS should be over by then. So we should have a pretty stable squad. I don't know if Boucaud and Hyland clubs will release them because of their leagues are in full swing.
Post by: FF on September 12, 2016, 08:51:45 AM
Well we might as well get Ryan Innis out of our plans at least for a while. He got sentenced to 14 weeks in jail for assault. He did however appeal it though

Successful appeal.. sentence suspended for 18 months

http://www.croydonadvertiser.co.uk/ryan-inniss-on-last-chance-says-crystal-palace-chief-steve-parish/story-29707576-detail/story.html

The Eagles defender, currently on loan at Southend United, was sentenced at Bexley Magistrates' Court last Wednesday for the assault.

However, Inniss successfully appealed his sentence at Croydon Crown Court today. His 14-week conviction stands, but was suspended for 18 months.

He was also ordered to carry out 240 hours of unpaid work, pay £300 compensation to victim George Bryan and spend 20 days on an alcohol rehabilitation course.

The court head how Inniss had a troubled upbringing. When he was a teenager his mum was a drug addict and his dad was in prison.

Defence counsel Peter Hunter said: "Ryan had, in effect, responsibility for two younger siblings. Despite these pressures he managed to attend Crystal Palace's academy since the age of 14 and worked very hard to be given the opportunity that he's got."

He supported his mum through drug rehabilitation and supports his family financially, which was one of the key factors considered by Judge Adam Hiddleston when deciding to reduce his sentence to a suspended jail term.

Palace chairman Parish was at the court today to show his support - and issue a warning - to Inniss, saying the club will help him with his issues, but that he is on his "last chance".

Read more (http://www.croydonadvertiser.co.uk/ryan-inniss-on-last-chance-says-crystal-palace-chief-steve-parish/story-29707576-detail/story.html#g0XpXkAS6lBKdxrl.99)
Post by: asylumseeker on September 13, 2016, 07:45:21 AM

# 1 Concacaf hex
# 2  Conmebol
# 3. AFC

Who is the "they"?

Yuh eh answer yet, buh I cyah see how CONCACAF prevails on the factors stated.

Also, have a look at the CONMEBOL standings and see how they look versus the points totals we have been proposing on this thread. Won't even touch CAF qualifying.
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 13, 2016, 08:18:09 AM

# 1 Concacaf hex
# 2  Conmebol
# 3. AFC

Who is the "they"?

Yuh eh answer yet, buh I cyah see how CONCACAF prevails on the factors stated.

Also, have a look at the CONMEBOL standings and see how they look versus the points totals we have been proposing on this thread. Won't even touch CAF qualifying.

I caught the last minutes of the wrap up. All I remember them saying is Concacaf and Conmebol being the toughest.

Will check out what you said.
Post by: soccerholic on September 13, 2016, 06:22:35 PM
It is imperative to get 9pts thru the first 3 games, this will set the tone and give us the momentum to go on a grab at least the third spot. Even if we lose the next 3 (MEX,US, CRC)... We can pick up 6 from HON and PAN, 2 home draws in our last 2 games will put us at 17... This should secure third place. I know I'm sounding optimistic, but it'll an attainable goal once we play to our potential...
Post by: palos on September 13, 2016, 06:23:23 PM
It is imperative to get 9pts thru the first 3 games,

;D ;D ;D
Post by: pull stones on September 14, 2016, 07:39:42 AM

Remind me nah.
Not in 88, not in 01... cannot remember losing there in any qualifying series.

Edit... we lost there in 09.
i was just about to challenge your knowledge of the game but then I saw your edit.  We not only lose that game, but we got a 4 goal whipping with Marvin in goal. we also got a 4-0 whipping in Costa Rica with Marvin again in goal. I can't begin to tell you how nervous I get when he starts for us, real liability if you ask me.
Post by: pull stones on September 14, 2016, 07:55:27 AM
steven hart can't coach..........and you can? I specifically remembered a certain coach going to the 2012 semifinal round only grabbing one single point from a possible 18 pts, you should be the last to talk. Some people are truly shameless.

This team here has a few good players who could achieve much but they are unpredictable, unprofessional and complaisant, and I fear that not even pep guardiola could achieve much success with them. can't even understand why we call them warriors.

the flip sides to this is that we could beat any team in the in concacaf, we do have the talents to do so providing we were to get a good right back and a solid central defender. we also need a top class goal keeper who could organize his defenders in front of him. At this point Carlyle Mitchell Cyrus and David not holding their end of the bargain. Maybe these guys need regular playing time in more competitive leagues to perform  and keep up with this level.

I would go out on a limb here and say that if hart was jamaica's coach they would have been in the hex, and I will go further to say that if he was argentina's coach they would have won both the World Cup and the copa america.
Post by: Sam on September 14, 2016, 08:35:06 AM
Hartie all de way !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Allyuh watch my coach, he is ah boss.

Post by: ffisback on September 14, 2016, 08:04:40 PM
steven hart can't coach..........and you can? I specifically remembered a certain coach going to the 2012 semifinal round only grabbing one single point from a possible 18 pts, you should be the last to talk. Some people are truly shameless.

This team here has a few good players who could achieve much but they are unpredictable, unprofessional and complaisant, and I fear that not even pep guardiola could achieve much success with them. can't even understand why we call them warriors.

the flip sides to this is that we could beat any team in the in concacaf, we do have the talents to do so providing we were to get a good right back and a solid central defender. we also need a top class goal keeper who could organize his defenders in front of him. At this point Carlyle Mitchell Cyrus and David not holding their end of the bargain. Maybe these guys need regular playing time in more competitive leagues to perform  and keep up with this level.

I would go out on a limb here and say that if hart was jamaica's coach they would have been in the hex, and I will go further to say that if he was argentina's coach they would have won both the World Cup and the copa america.
TT was in the weakest group if we were in another group TT would not make it to the HEX we were just plain lucky.
If S Heart was that good they would not have run his behind out of Canada for the type of crap he had them playing.
Post by: lefty on September 14, 2016, 08:09:15 PM

TT was in the weakest group if we were in another group TT would not make it to the HEX we were just plain lucky.
If S Heart was that good they would not have run his behind out of Canada for the type of crap he had them playing.

like we shoulda run your ass outa town for doin zilch with d women or gettin beat by estonia
Post by: asylumseeker on September 14, 2016, 08:27:21 PM
ffisback, who would you hire?
Post by: Jumbie on September 14, 2016, 09:13:15 PM
I believe Mr Hart resigned from the Canadian mens National Program (integrity?)  and had the option to take the Coaching role with T&T  Possibly with other opportunities in hand. Ask anyone he's coached in Canada (youth to senior) and they will all have good things to say about him.

Post by: ffisback on September 18, 2016, 02:52:15 AM
ffisback, who would you hire?
If I were in charge I would not allow any local coach to coach the Olympic or senior teams because they lack the basic organization skills to coach at the international level this team looks disjointed and unorganized St Clair team had the same problem his teams use to get some real bad licks but when I Porterfield  took over all of sudden this team that was getting bad licks now start to share licks coach's like L Beenhakker who I'm not a fan of R Simoes ,Z Vanes all new how to keep there team organized I would rather go with a south American coach because Trinidad is were latin America meets the Caribbean that's our style of football but anyone of those coach's would have our team playing better football than they are now and give TT  a chance to get 3rd or 4th spot.
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 18, 2016, 09:02:11 AM

That is a lie. Where did you get that they ran Hart out? In fact Canada was on the verge of making the Hex. They lost the final game to Honduras which put them out of the hex by one point.

Hart resigned :

http://www.cbc.ca/m/sports/soccer/canadian-men-s-soccer-coach-stephen-hart-steps-down-1.1135060

Check your sources before making claims my brother. Majority of the fellas on here do their research before making any claims. Perhaps you should do the same.
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 18, 2016, 09:51:13 AM
Wap wap
Post by: ffisback on September 18, 2016, 04:18:29 PM

That is a lie. Where did you get that they ran Hart out? In fact Canada was on the verge of making the Hex. They lost the final game to Honduras which put them out of the hex by one point.

Hart resigned :

http://www.cbc.ca/m/sports/soccer/canadian-men-s-soccer-coach-stephen-hart-steps-down-1.1135060

Check your sources before making claims my brother. Majority of the fellas on here do their research before making any claims. Perhaps you should do the same.
Dude in the real world after such a humiliating defeat you resign or you get fired that's how it works in the professional world so that article does not make me a Lier this article supports what I have been saying there is no way the fans ,media or board would have forgiven him after that loss his head was on the chopping blocks so he had to resign.
S Hart could not get to the Hex with Canada because he could not win his home games which is why TT is not going to the WC with S Heart because we cannot win our home games his record is there for anyone to see nothing has changed he is just not ready for this level of football.
Post by: Errol on September 22, 2016, 03:56:29 AM
I'll be honest, if certain changes aren't made to some senior players, I don't see T&T qualifying.

They couldn't even beat Haiti, how are we going to beat the likes of Honduras and Panama, 2 teams we are hoping to take points from?

Our defence is in a big mess.

Our midfield can't string 4 passes together and they leave hugh gaps for teams to easily run at our defence.

Our strikers can't score, as we can see more goals are coming from midfield.

Players like Kenwyne, Hyland and especially Molino not pulling their weight.

Abu Bakr, Cyrus and David could have a good game but we just don't know when.

It's going to be very interesting.

I really hope Mr. Hart put his feet down and I hope he at least get some much needed games as our first 2 matches are very important, one at home and vs Honduras, a team we are hoping to steal points from.

I don't want to sound negative, but somethings have to give.

Post by: ffisback on September 25, 2016, 02:08:45 AM
I'll be honest, if certain changes aren't made to some senior players, I don't see T&T qualifying.

They couldn't even beat Haiti, how are we going to beat the likes of Honduras and Panama, 2 teams we are hoping to take points from?

Our defence is in a big mess.

Our midfield can't string 4 passes together and they leave hugh gaps for teams to easily run at our defence.

Our strikers can't score, as we can see more goals are coming from midfield.

Players like Kenwyne, Hyland and especially Molino not pulling their weight.

Abu Bakr, Cyrus and David could have a good game but we just don't know when.

It's going to be very interesting.

I really hope Mr. Hart put his feet down and I hope he at least get some much needed games as our first 2 matches are very important, one at home and vs Honduras, a team we are hoping to steal points from.

I don't want to sound negative, but somethings have to give.
Changing players is not going to improve the team  much if the coach ant know good just look at what happen to B St Clair he use to get real bad licks he went to England and start recruiting players he put together the most talented team in TT history and still use to get licks things did not change until TT finally hire a good coach S Heart is just not good enough to coach at this level the quicker TT hire a good coach the better TT chances will be in the Hex.
Post by: Trin on September 25, 2016, 11:21:38 AM
A late afternoon thunderstorm and TTFA's continued ineptitude combine to have the stadium half empty for the 8:00pm kickoff against Costa Rica.

By 8:15, the game already started, multiple entries are finally opened and the stadium fills to capacity. (and Gary Griffith beats his chest)

It is a cool evening and the field is slick from the late afternoon shower. This benefits CRs slick quick passing and they settle first. T&T is on the back foot for the first 20 mins and are lucky not to be behind with Phillips making a couple of sharp reflex saves from Campbell after a couple of quick one twos between him and Brian Ruiz catch Mitchell and Bateau Square and Campbell through on goal.

The break through for Costa Rica comes in the 35thmin when Ruiz, instead of playing the through ball, takes a shot at the top right of the 18 which Phillips can only parry into the path of the on rushing Bolanos. 1-0 CR.

The goal silences the crowd and CR proceed to pressure T&T with a high press for the remainder of the half. The pressure pays off 5mins after the first goal when Campbell scores a scrappy item off a short corner to give the CR a two goal lead.

CR continues the high press but in the 45th min T&T finally play the ball out through Bateau who finds Boucaud in the middle. A quick pass to to the speedy Cato on the wing sees him through on goal but he is tackled from behind by Gonzales in the box. Gonzales is given his marching orders and K. Jones slots the PK past the dive of Pemberton in Goal. 1-2 Half time score CR down to 10 men.

The second half sees Hart revert to a 4-2-3-1 formation instead of the 4-4-2 he started with. Now playing down a man CR begin to hold a deeper line and T&T finally are able to get more possession in the middle. Garcia is brought on for Cato in the 65min and immediately he and J Jones begin pressing both wings with pace. The final ball to the middle us lacking however. It isn't until the 78th min when Garcia collects the ball at midfield and runs at Gamboa cutting inside and feeding a delightful through ball to Molino. Molino calmly dinks the ball over the on rushing Pemberton to send the HCS into an uproar. 2-2.

The last 10 mins see T&T going to the direct routes sending long diagonal balls into K Jones. In the 87th He is able to get above the tiring defense to head down to JJones at the top right of the 18 yard box. The younger Jones hits a sweet one time shot into the top right corner past a despairing Pemberton. 3-2 T&T.

CR push forward in the final 3mins of extra time and almost get an equalizer with their first real threat of the second half when Ruiz hits the cross bar with a long range shot after being given way to much space by Hyland. T&T hold on for a much needed victory in the first game of the Hex.  ;D
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 25, 2016, 12:25:49 PM
Good writing Trin! If that was your dream for last night we all hope that you dream straight
Post by: Trin on September 26, 2016, 07:06:15 AM
Good writing Trin! If that was your dream for last night we all hope that you dream straight

I hope so too.... I think we may probably need something like a sending off to push us over the line in this game.
Post by: Quags on September 26, 2016, 09:40:38 AM
We need more like that last goal JJ score Trin.
But who's gonna send on those crosses ? No one , we need someone to put aerial passes on Kenwyne head ,just like Becks use to do for Yorke ,then I think it would be thunder as a combo like that would terrorize concacaf defences no end!.
But who ?Bostock ??
I wonder if Sean DeSilva can whip in crosses ?If not he should start working on it ,and maybe hart could use him for that .
Title: Team Goals after 2 games
Post by: g on November 07, 2016, 07:10:56 AM
Mods can move the thread based on suitability when ready.

What do you think will be a realistic points tally after the first round of matches. Consider that in context of the full schedule of the other games and match ups.

Optimistic/Hopeful - 6 pts?
Achievable/Realistic - 3 or 4 pts?
Pessimistic - 2 or less pts?

Of course we would want to go for maximum at all times, but come November 16th if we end up with 3 or 4 points i think we could be top or second in the group. I can't see anybody getting maximum points after 2 games based on the match ups.

Match day 1
TT vs CR
USA vs Mex
Hon vs Pan

Match day 2
Hon vs TT
CR vs USA
Pan vs Mex

US, Mex and CR who normally come out on top have difficult fixtures to start. Can't see them with more than 3 or 4 points after 2 games either. Mexico playing well but start with two away fixtures. Honduras could easily be on 3 or 4 points as they have two home games to start. Panama is home and away to start like T&T.

None of these games are easy so it's tough to predict. I will be happy with 4 points, key for me not conceding and getting something out of the first game. The conflict is in the grand scheme of the overall campaign Honduras and Panama away are the two games where realistically more than 1 point is achievable.

In the 2006 campaign we had 1 point after 3 games and 4 points after 6 games. I'm just not sure we have the luxury of schedule for that kind of rear guard action this time around. USA and Mex both amassed 22 points which leveled the playing field for the remainder of teams involved. This round is a real dogfight, even for US and Mex. We need to make our first few rounds count.
Title: Re: Team Goals after 2 games
Post by: andremartinsc on November 07, 2016, 07:26:13 AM
I truly believe T&T can beat Honduras, but will probably loose by 2 or 3 goals against CR, sadly.

Anyway, I hope they win both, but without Jones and Molino it's gonna be harder.
Trevin Caesar scored 10 goals in USL this season, but it was in USL.
Cordell Cato is pretty average in MLS and Kevan George had a great season in NASL, but again, it was in NASL, and he used to be a backup/average player in MLS sometime ago.
Bostock is the only bright spot right now (offensively speaking).
Post by: asylumseeker on November 07, 2016, 07:48:19 AM
Caesar will rupture nets. USL or not.
Post by: trini_stallion on November 07, 2016, 09:03:26 AM
Kj is available. Injury free.
Post by: Trin on November 07, 2016, 09:29:28 AM
Also no confirmation on Bostock yet...
Post by: kounty on November 09, 2016, 11:42:06 AM
So we go for the win vs Costa Rica @ home risking the counterattack and losing @ home? I think the 1st game is where you have the room to gamble and CR is the team expected to be in the 3rd spot where we want to be.  But with Molino & Bostock gone, maybe now is not the time to go for attack.
Post by: Errol on November 19, 2016, 07:23:24 AM
I at least gave them one point after two games !!!

Post by: Socapro on November 19, 2016, 10:43:20 AM
I at least gave them one point after two games !!!

Your Hex Predictions for T&T that you made since September were not bad at all!

My predictions.

Total = 11pts

If we can turn things around then we are capable of a draw against CR away to them to get back the 1 point which you predicted we could have earned against them at Home.

Everything else you predicted is still correct (we lost to Honduras in Honduras) or is still possible come the new year if we can get our team back to playing to the standard that they were playing in the last Gold Cup when we gave both the USA and Mexico a very hard time and earned a lot of respect.

If we can beat Panama at home as you predicted and then at least draw our next home game against Mexico then your prediction of 11 points for T&T after our 10 Hex games will still be on track.
Question is will 11 points be good enough to get us at least the 4th play off spot?
Unless we can earn a 3 points away to one of the other Hex teams (like CR did to us) I don't think we will manage one of the 3 automatic WC spots but the play-off spot will be possible.

If SH and the team can turn things around and qualify us for Russia 2018 then I think they will all deserve our highest national award! 

Like Captain Kenwyne I still have faith that our team (meaning the players, coaching staff and die-hard supporters) can qualify for Russia, call me a blind patriot if you wish!  :challenge:
Post by: Sando prince on November 20, 2016, 04:07:47 PM

WIN, LOSE OR DRAW !   🇹🇹

https://www.facebook.com/SocaTv/photos/a.1122023934539133.1073741828.1121948897879970/1217287698346089/?type=3&theater

Post by: Thomo on November 21, 2016, 02:32:20 PM
Dunno where else to mention it but Klinsmann just got the sack
Post by: Sando prince on November 21, 2016, 02:58:28 PM
Dunno where else to mention it but Klinsmann just got the sack

Maybe in this thread, but I am not surprised about the sacking

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=60380.0
Post by: Preacher on November 21, 2016, 04:37:53 PM
Donovan back in the side now.  :) 
Post by: Errol on March 21, 2017, 04:39:03 AM
Prediction time

Post by: Deeks on March 21, 2017, 05:32:58 AM
Vodka like water, we drinking Putin Vodka!!!
Post by: coache on March 21, 2017, 09:31:46 PM
Wah kind ah question...Can T+T qualify...Yes of course.

The question should be ..would T+T qualify..I would say not likely..it's a bit of a stretch..if we do Dennis Lawrence is a boss coach.
Post by: Sam on March 26, 2017, 11:36:42 AM
My prediction for Tuesday.

Trinidad & Tobago 2 v Mexico 1
Panama 2 v USA 2
Honduras 1 v Costa Rica 2

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts
Costa Rica  4  3  0  1  8  3  9
Mexico  4  2  1  1  5  3  7
Trinidad & Tobago  4  2  0  2  4  6  6
Panama  4  1  2  1  3  3  5
United States  4  1  1  2  9  8  4
Honduras  4  1  0  3  4  10  3

Post by: gawd on pitch on March 26, 2017, 11:42:28 AM

Panama 2 v USA 2

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts

Sam yuh does read meh mind.. I smelling 3 points on Tuesday with the same score.
Post by: vb on March 26, 2017, 02:19:10 PM

Panama 2 v USA 2

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts

Sam yuh does read meh mind.. I smelling 3 points on Tuesday with the same score.

I was thinking the same damn thing.

Dennis is in  a similar boat to Beenie, no room for error ESPECIALLY at home. I think that home loss  to CR will come back to haunt us.

I do not see the US, Mex or CR getting less than 16 pts.
Our best chances for away pts. was Pan and  Hond. and we mess up in Hond already.

But Mex hasn never been a big deal in TT. Good luck fellas.

Post by: Trin on March 26, 2017, 02:51:28 PM
If we win I feel it will be a late late go ahead goal  :beermug:
Post by: judge101 on March 26, 2017, 03:01:51 PM
Seeind dat after tuesday's game against mexico we only have 2 home games left our chances of qualifying 4 wc is heavily dependant on what we get out of dis home game with mex. As our closets rivals 4 d fourth spot also have some tough home games also. 3 points would set us up nice especailly if panama and hunduras lose.
Post by: Tallman on March 26, 2017, 04:54:06 PM
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago - “Small axe looking to cut down big trees” in the Hex

https://www.youtube.com/v/TsMQO_978FQ
Post by: FireBrand on March 26, 2017, 06:30:36 PM
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago - “Small axe looking to cut down big trees” in the Hex

Top stuff Gary and Cheyenne!!!🙌🏽
Post by: soccerman on March 26, 2017, 06:50:28 PM
I enjoyed it, thanks for sharing. Big Mag I was like you in 1989, my family had tickets and couldn't get in. Funny to see that tickets cost $25 back then.
Post by: Adam Lake on March 26, 2017, 07:25:22 PM
Great stuff Big Mag..... $25 fuh the '89 ticket yes  :o :o , Nice piece of history...
Post by: Socapro on March 26, 2017, 08:40:51 PM

Nice one Big Mag!!  :beermug:

I am also feeling Sam's predictions for Tuesday!!

Panama 2 v USA 2

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts

Post by: Swima on March 28, 2017, 07:57:52 AM
http://ultra.zone/2018-FIFA-World-Cup-qualification-CONCACAF-Fifth-Round

A simulator for the hard core peongs.
Post by: vb on March 28, 2017, 02:37:38 PM
I have a feeling no points in the first two games will come back to haunt us.

Hond and Pan will be the two easiest teams for away pts. and we already screw up in Hond.

If we do not screw up at home, the fourth place spot is wide open.

USA, Mex and CR will not get less than 16 pts so they already in.

But with TT, Pan and Hond it's all up to who capitulates the least.
We can only hope that both teams gradually self destruct, in addition our last game is against the US, if they would have already qualified that should make it easier for us.

One step at a time. Today let's handle Mexico.
We showed in the GC, they are mere mortals.

Post by: vb on March 28, 2017, 04:57:09 PM
I have a feeling no points in the first two games will come back to haunt us.

Hond and Pan will be the two easiest teams for away pts. and we already screw up in Hond.

If we do not screw up at home, the fourth place spot is wide open.

USA, Mex and CR will not get less than 16 pts so they already in.

But with TT, Pan and Hond it's all up to who capitulates the least.
We can only hope that both teams gradually self destruct, in addition our last game is against the US, if they would have already qualified that should make it easier for us.

One step at a time. Today let's handle Mexico.
We showed in the GC, they are mere mortals.

Hond. just drew at home vs CR. They now have a total of 4 pts from three home games. Guess who was the one team they beat.
Let's hope they continue on this track. Ironically the weakest team Pan. is the one that beat them at home.
They have the US and Mex left at home.  ;D
Post by: Sam on March 29, 2017, 08:48:03 AM
Worst case, If we get this results, we good for third.

USA 1 v T&T 1
Costa Rica 2 v T&T 0
T&T 3 v Honduras 1
T&T 2 v Panama 1
T&T 0 v Mexico 2
T&T 1 v USA 0

http://ultra.zone/2018-FIFA-World-Cup-qualification-CONCACAF-Fifth-Round

Title: Is 13 points enough?
Post by: g on June 12, 2017, 08:11:31 AM
Mods can feel free to merge to the appropriate thread if necessary

We have 3 points.

Looking at the remaining 5 games, 2 home and 3 away starting tomorrow. I think the coaching staff can realistically target 10 points over the next 5 games.

2 home games must win - 6 points
3 away games - 1 Win 1 Draw 1 Loss - 4 points

Will it be enough to get us into a play off position? In 2006, 13 points got us into the play off but that group included a Panama team that only got 2 points over the 10 games. Teams are much closer matched up this time around.
Title: Re: Is 13 points enough?
Post by: spideybuff on June 12, 2017, 08:35:47 AM
Yeah 13 should be enough but a lot depends on the outcome of the Honduras vs Panama game.

However, where we getting those points from? The only points we realistically supposed to get is Honduras at home and a draw vs Panama away or USA at home. Neither really guaranteed but statistically we likely to get at least one point from one of those games.

Costa Rica away and Mexico away we should accept that anything other than licks is a miracle.

Panama away...the players have to show their worth and earn that one.

USA at home...the states hadda really not care. Bruce Arena has our number and the states have strength in depth. Even the B side or C side will be men who trying to earn a spot to Russia and out to impress and run us to the ground before scoring from a set piece or defensive lapse. Aside from Pulisic, very little to separate the next 40 men they could call on.
Post by: g on June 12, 2017, 10:26:47 AM
I was thinking

6 points from the two home games - Honduras and USA

We have to target that away game in Panama City for 3 points

Hopeful for a point from either tomorrow night in San Jose or away to Mexico.

Our backs against the wall but that's when we tend to be at our best. To your point if we get anything tomorrow that will keep the squad believing. If we come out with nothing then I think mentally players will start to switch off.
Post by: vb on June 12, 2017, 11:26:07 AM
13 pts. might fight up a fourth place but that is strong wishful thinking.

Simply put you have to perform away from home. We were unlucky to lose vs Mex in TT.

And  our best hope for pts away were Hond. and Pan.
CR has show its vulenerability and we will have to fight it hard.

If we can win vs Pan we have a strong fighting chance.

But you don't make it easy for yourself when you lose two home games.
Post by: palos on June 12, 2017, 12:18:11 PM

https://www.youtube.com/v/USfKJYZcUmI

Post by: maxg on June 12, 2017, 02:46:21 PM

isn't your lunch over ? instead u here tryin to buss man belly
Post by: kounty on June 12, 2017, 02:54:55 PM
Trying to be as realistic here as possible. However, if Hart can get his guys to play like they did at the Gold Cup we could really do some damage.

But given the inconsistency of players like Kenwyne, Hyland, Molino, Abu Bakr, David and Cyrus it will be hard unless we play more games or Hart finds some back up players and really start to bench some of his favorites.

I know its not easy, but maybe more games will help these players build confidence and consistency.

Mitchell and especially Mekeil gives away the ball in bad places and constantly get lost on the field allowing their man to run away from them very easily.

Cyrus gets forward a lot but forgets to run back or is slow at it and his man gets away from him and our defence are left stranded.

David can be a good player, but very stagnant at times.

Joevin, Bateau and Boucaud carries T&T.

Kenwyne presence is needed even if he doesn't do much. Would really be nice to get Bradley Wright-Phillips.

George can be the x-factor for T&T's defence, maybe Hart could convert him to a central defender?

Players like Bostock, Cummings, Levi and Cato could really stir things up for T&T.

I like players like Sean De Silva, Darren Mitchell and Ricardo John.

Weslie John, Shannon Williams and Ryan Inniss could help our defence, maybe?

Maybe Hart could offer Shaquell Moore a chance to play for T&T, he is a good wing back.

Guatemala and USA really showed us up especially down the center, once you beat T&T's wing backs, players run into the center and shoot untop of the box or slip the ball behind T&T defence and you are almost guaranteed to score.

Costa Rica, USA and Mexico, nuff said.

Honduras can run and T&T cannot play against runners, especially teams that keeps the ball on the ground. Honduras did very well at the Olympics, so I expect them to draft in a few of those young players.

Panama is the only team T&T might get by because T&T is similar, so the results could go either way.

Again, if T&T can find back that magic from the Gold Cup, they could surprise a few teams like Mexico, USA and Costa Rica at home, but you know we struggle at home and with Hart careful approach like against USA last November (0-0) we could be in trouble.

T&T is a good team and we have good individual players, but we lack a proper formation and confidence. The players tend to day dream a lot on the field too.

My predictions.

Total = 11pts

Time to check this post again. Well done so far.
Post by: lefty on June 12, 2017, 04:48:51 PM

https://www.youtube.com/v/USfKJYZcUmI

dafuq boy!!!!!!!!!! :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :laugh:
Post by: spideybuff on June 13, 2017, 07:21:08 AM
Yup...that post by Errol is absolutely correct in terms of expected points.
It will come down to us being able to turn the predicted draw against the US at home, into a win in order to reach 4th.
Post by: Sam on June 16, 2017, 05:04:19 AM
My prediction

H - T&T 2-1 Honduras Game (1-Sept-2017) = 3
A - T&T 1-0 Panama Game (5-Sept-2017) = 3
A - T&T 0-1 Mexico Game (6-Oct-2017) = 0
H - T&T 1-0 USA Game (10-Oct-2017) = 3

12 points

Post by: asylumseeker on September 05, 2017, 09:51:59 PM
As it turns out ...