Sports => Football => Topic started by: weary1969 on September 12, 2016, 07:49:53 AM

Title: TTFA fines Molino, Jones and Williams.
Post by: weary1969 on September 12, 2016, 07:49:53 AM
BOAT RIDE ON INDEPENDENCE DAY

So 3 overseas based players broke camp and went on a boat ride. I guess they too young to remember Trotman. I say name them I WANT A PUBLIC APOLOGY. People cyah be going through hell to come to pay their hard earn money and them fetting. Let them know November 11 is Panel season.

So I want a press conference and apology at a minimum.

Title: Re: BOAT RIDE ON INDEPENDENCE DAY
Post by: Sando prince on September 12, 2016, 08:08:24 AM

We need to know the sources too to know if the rumour has some validity. Also what were the rules from the coaching staff? Maybe they were allowed to go out and have fun? I don't know, just thinking about all the alternatives.

I just want to make sure the correct information is put out there

Post by: weary1969 on September 12, 2016, 09:07:36 AM

We need to know the sources too to know if the rumour has some validity. Also what were the rules from the coaching staff? Maybe they were allowed to go out and have fun? I don't know, just thinking about all the alternatives.

I just want to make sure the correct information is put out there

Well Andre Baptiste broke the story on I95. We wait to see what happen. He indicated taht Hart and DJW have to meet on the issue.
Post by: Adam Lake on September 12, 2016, 10:11:19 AM
Well, well, well.... Boat ride is just the tip of the iceberg...

Had this info since last week... I wasn't gonna post anything, but I know for a fact that some of the players also went on the Avenue, think ARIA after the Guatemala game and came in to there hotel around 3am in the morning and had to leave the hotel around 6am to catch the flight to JAX.... Heard SH was furious and real buff man.... That may explain there lackluster 2nd half against the US...
Post by: Sando prince on September 12, 2016, 10:13:14 AM
Well, well, well.... Boat ride is just the tip of the iceberg...

Had this info since last week... I wasn't gonna post anything, but I know for a fact that some of the players also went on the Avenue, think ARIA after the Guatemala game and came in to there hotel around 3am in the morning and had to leave the hotel around 6am to catch the flight to JAX.... Heard SH was furious and real buff man.... That may explain there lackluster 2nd half against the US...

No wonder why they look so tired playing against the US.
Post by: Tallman on September 12, 2016, 10:13:36 AM
https://www.youtube.com/v/5eXvPl4kc_A
Post by: biga84 on September 12, 2016, 11:00:34 AM
Two things...
1. Is this really that 'big' of an issue? 3 players went out 2/3 days before a game...these are big men who should be able to handle their business on and off the pitch. A boat ride when you reach home, a few days before the game is no 'big' scene to me. That's easy discussions behind close doors as a team if necessary. The end!  Players going out after their Guatemala game...again...no big scene. They handled their business. Got the result needed. Go out and have a time. Be safe and reach back before we leaving for the airport. When we land in Jax, I running that alcohol outta dem. They go sleep and realize they ain't doing that again. Then meeting time I sent the ground work to let them know that the fun is done. Allyuh went out, drink etc. Cool. Lewwe get back to work.

2. To me...this is what happens when the federation lacks professionalism. You expect the men to act like 'True professionals' when they don't know if / when they will get wages, they travelling in coach class from Europe to play big qualifying matches, lack of professional training (they couldn't train too much at the HC) etc etc etc. Yes these fellas are professionals in Europe, Central America, North America etc. however these WC qualifying trips home must feel like a vacay compared to their everyday responsibilities with their clubs. Professionalism Breds professionalism. TTFA must do a better job then expectations can be higher for the players.
Post by: weary1969 on September 12, 2016, 11:09:52 AM
Two things...
1. Is this really that 'big' of an issue? 3 players went out 2/3 days before a game...these are big men who should be able to handle their business on and off the pitch. A boat ride when you reach home, a few days before the game is no 'big' scene to me. That's easy discussions behind close doors as a team if necessary. The end!  Players going out after their Guatemala game...again...no big scene. They handled their business. Got the result needed. Go out and have a time. Be safe and reach back before we leaving for the airport. When we land in Jax, I running that alcohol outta dem. They go sleep and realize they ain't doing that again. Then meeting time I sent the ground work to let them know that the fun is done. Allyuh went out, drink etc. Cool. Lewwe get back to work.

2. To me...this is what happens when the federation lacks professionalism. You expect the men to act like 'True professionals' when they don't know if / when they will get wages, they travelling in coach class from Europe to play big qualifying matches, lack of professional training (they couldn't train too much at the HC) etc etc etc. Yes these fellas are professionals in Europe, Central America, North America etc. however these WC qualifying trips home must feel like a vacay compared to their everyday responsibilities with their clubs. Professionalism Breds professionalism. TTFA must do a better job then expectations can be higher for the players.

So 2 wrongs make a right now. Yuh chatting nonsense. How many of our employers are buffons and unprofessional? Yet we go to work and do our jobs as professionals.
Post by: Sando prince on September 12, 2016, 11:12:35 AM
Two things...

These are grown men and not school boys. They were here on paid national duty and not on vacation. I bet you they will most likely not do the same if they were playing for their club overseas in a Championship tournament. So the same attitude they can apply for their national team.

You advocating for the 'blame everyone else but me' mentality.
Post by: palos on September 12, 2016, 11:16:22 AM
Smoke screen ting fuh bigger play

Allyuh well gullible.....AND easily manipulated
Post by: weary1969 on September 12, 2016, 11:27:08 AM

Reason to fire Hart? I eh really care if it is  have more than the mortar than the pestle. Long story short them fellas need to be dealt with because next thing I hear the Under 17 by the whore house in Chase Village Thursday night.
Post by: Sando prince on September 12, 2016, 11:29:42 AM

doh worry about who in a forum gullible, instead yuh should worry about what actually taking place in the team among some players. I believe the latter is more important
Post by: weary1969 on September 12, 2016, 11:33:16 AM

doh worry about who in a forum gullible, instead yuh should worry about what actually taking place in the team among some players. I believe the latter is more important

ENT
Post by: Trin on September 12, 2016, 11:36:15 AM
disappointing
Post by: Tallman on September 12, 2016, 11:42:02 AM
Reason to fire Hart? I eh really care if it is  have more than the mortar than the pestle. Long story short them fellas need to be dealt with because next thing I hear the Under 17 by the whore house in Chase Village Thursday night.

Where exactly is dat again?
Post by: weary1969 on September 12, 2016, 11:42:39 AM

Where exactly is dat again?

You need me to draw you a map.
Post by: palos on September 12, 2016, 11:59:51 AM
Team achieved job 1 which was to qualify for the Hex.

Men decide to go out to celebrate knowing that they already in the Hex

And yes...it was against team curfew etc.....but I'm fairly confident this would not have happened had they not already qualified

Teams deal with curfew and team discipline issues all the time.  ALL TEAMS.

And fans are among the most hypocritical set of people.  They expect priest like behaviour from athletes and turn a blind eye to administrators who royally f**k up on a regular basis.

Some players went on a boat ride after making the Hex....and we lose our shit.  Because they so well taken care of and catered to and we expect that they will think of nothing else than going on the field of play and playing their heart out while we boo dem down at the slightest mis trap.  GOD forbid they miss a chance or palm the ball to the opposing player for them to score.  Then is all kinda cried of shithound etc raining down.

We like we comess and this just feeds into that.  Is big men we dealing with.  EVERY team has rules and a culture particular to that team.  The issue would have been dealt with internally. 

This is the same team members that got the team to the Hex.  Now allyuh want blood.   Whatever happens from here....we fully deserve it.
Post by: Jumbie on September 12, 2016, 12:24:32 PM
things falling in place nicely for the elected
Post by: Deeks on September 12, 2016, 12:24:44 PM
Did they go to the boat ride before or after the Guat. game?
Post by: weary1969 on September 12, 2016, 01:02:34 PM
Did they go to the boat ride before or after the Guat. game?

As far as I know Independence is Aug 31st and the game was Sep 2nd. So the answer to that question is YES.
Post by: weary1969 on September 12, 2016, 01:04:42 PM

And yes...it was against team curfew etc.....but I'm fairly confident this would not have happened had they not already qualified

And fans are among the most hypocritical set of people.  They expect priest like behaviour from athletes and turn a blind eye to administrators who royally f**k up on a regular basis.

Some players went on a boat ride after making the Hex....and we lose our shit.  Because they so well taken care of and catered to and we expect that they will think of nothing else than going on the field of play and playing their heart out while we boo dem down at the slightest mis trap.  GOD forbid they miss a chance or palm the ball to the opposing player for them to score.  Then is all kinda cried of shithound etc raining down.

We like we comess and this just feeds into that.  Is big men we dealing with.  EVERY team has rules and a culture particular to that team.  The issue would have been dealt with internally. 

This is the same team members that got the team to the Hex.  Now allyuh want blood.   Whatever happens from here....we fully deserve it.

Well internally some players feel that they eh like how it was handled. I guess if the local based felt that if they had pull that stunt it would have been a differnt story. We culture is to break curfew. Like they need to make all national players read about Trotman and the consequences of breaking curfew.
Post by: Jayerson on September 12, 2016, 01:21:45 PM
In my very humble opinion, that was not very smart of the players. It does not create the correct optics for public opinion and not to mention was against the agreed rules of the camp. Two days before a crucial qualifier is trying to screw yourself, your team mates and your coach. The act of going on a boat ride is one thing but its the thought process behind it is another. I am fairly certain they know if they did that before a crucial club match, their club manager would have enormous problems and they wouldn't do it to jeopardise their position.
Post by: g on September 12, 2016, 01:24:03 PM
It's the 1990s/2000s all over again. I honestly thought in the dawn of the professional era we were past this.

Ah well,
Post by: Jayerson on September 12, 2016, 01:27:04 PM
It's the 1990s/2000s all over again. I honestly thought in the dawn of the professional era we were past this.

Ah well,
One would have thought so, especially given what was at stake...a place in the Hex and possibly your manager's job.
Post by: Thomo on September 12, 2016, 01:27:45 PM
Remember in 2001 when after beating Mexico at the HCS, Latapy and Yorke were on a helicopter to the airport to get their flights back to the UK and somehow decided to make a U-turn in order to party? Yorke got back to Man Utd late and got disciplined by Fergie.
Then a few days before the Scottish Cup final Lara, Yorke and Latapy again were out partying in Scotland, Latapy got arrested for being over the limit and was fined and banned by from appearing in the game by Alex McLeish and Hibernian.
Now this, and some guys think that because we were through to the Hex, we should turn a blind eye to breaking the curfew and protocol. There are rules and regulations in place for a reason and they should be respected and adhered to. I don't know if some ah de players getting ahead of themselves and think dey reach but dis ent good enough.
This kinda behaviour is endemic in our society and Trini culture. This lax behaviour is far reaching and breeds corruption on a grand scale. For example somebody always know somebody who could pull ah string to get in a fete or purchase a boat/plane ticket fuh free or at a reduced rate. Or even our lack of respect for joining a queue.
If this episode is true ah real disappointed.
Post by: weary1969 on September 12, 2016, 01:28:08 PM

Ah well,

WE ALL THOUGHT SO. But we were wrong like an o
Post by: weary1969 on September 12, 2016, 01:29:22 PM
Remember in 2001 when after beating Mexico at the HCS, Latapy and Yorke were on a helicopter to the airport to get their flights back to the UK and somehow decided to make a U-turn in order to party? Yorke got back to Man Utd late and got disciplined by Fergie.
Then a few days before the Scottish Cup final Lara, Yorke and Latapy again were out partying in Scotland, Latapy got arrested for being over the limit and was fined and banned by from appearing in the game by Alex McLeish and Hibernian.
Now this, and some guys think that because we were through to the Hex, we should turn a blind eye to breaking the curfew and protocol. There are rules and regulations in place for a reason and they should be respected and adhered to. I don't know if some ah de players getting ahead of themselves and think dey reach but dis ent good enough.
This kinda behaviour is endemic in our society and Trini culture. This lax behaviour is far reaching and breeds corruption on a grand scale. For example somebody always know somebody who could pull ah string to get in a fete or purchase a boat/plane ticket fuh free or at a reduced rate. Or even our lack of respect for joining a queue.
If this episode is true ah real disappointed.

CO-SIGN
Post by: Quags on September 12, 2016, 01:51:20 PM
Let coach deal with them and let it be done internally ,if it was  fringe players drop em ,rehab the good ones .Relace with Sean DeSilva for more team first player oui .
Post by: Deeks on September 12, 2016, 01:54:01 PM
Should the players drink before the game , should they have sex before a game. I have heard about this for a while now. Some big name players do it and nothing is done to them, especially if they win. If they had beaten Guat., I don't think there would have been a big brouha. But the players involved should have known better. They should not have gone, knowing the precarious nature of our squad. Knowing some fans would question their judgement.  We don't "rule" concacaf. We don't even rule CFU. They should have found another way to "blow off steam". I don't think the boat ride was the reason for poor performance. They were simply outplayed.
Post by: weary1969 on September 12, 2016, 02:17:03 PM
Joevin Jones
Kevin Molino
Mekeil Williams

Lasana say so
Post by: weary1969 on September 12, 2016, 02:18:32 PM
Should the players drink before the game , should they have sex before a game. I have heard about this for a while now. Some big name players do it and nothing is done to them, especially if they win. If they had beaten Guat., I don't think there would have been a big brouha. But the players involved should have known better. They should not have gone, knowing the precarious nature of our squad. Knowing some fans would question their judgement.  We don't "rule" concacaf. We don't even rule CFU. They should have found another way to "blow off steam". I don't think the boat ride was the reason for poor performance. They were simply outplayed.

We really eh care whether they were outplayed indiscipline is the issue
Post by: palos on September 12, 2016, 02:19:21 PM

Well internally some players feel that they eh like how it was handled. I guess if the local based felt that if they had pull that stunt it would have been a differnt story. We culture is to break curfew. Like they need to make all national players read about Trotman and the consequences of breaking curfew.

Fair enough.  And that's for the management team to handle. 
Post by: Quags on September 12, 2016, 02:22:39 PM
No since destroying the boys career because they been away pining for home .Some of these guys are still just young men if not kids .Just keep it confidential .
I know if I had done that in my early twenties I would hope ppl who knew would not blurb on me .
Post by: Quags on September 12, 2016, 02:41:53 PM
Joevin Jones
Kevin  Molino
Mekeil Williams

Lasana say so
Lol Suspend them all for a game ;D
And Joevin still score a brace
Expect the backlash caused the USA debacle .
Oh well boys will be boys and them boys been busting them asses off . Still should not have done it tho
Post by: Deeks on September 12, 2016, 02:54:04 PM
Quags, as far as I am concern, after 19/20 .... the responsibility issues kicks in. They are not dock workers or civil servants. They have been in a professional environment from about 17/18. Not like in my time in the 70s. That should have been instilled in them from early. Like I said, if they had won, this would have been a none issue. They just have to find another way to relax. We went Toronto for a youth tournament, and about 3 guys went out one night. How the coach know that? because the coach, manager, assistant coach and the runaways, all bounced up in the same night club. The next morning the entire team had to run in the park for over an hour. And after that the team get a speech on priority and responsibility. And a curfew was handed down. We were not 19 as yet.
Post by: Quags on September 12, 2016, 03:01:34 PM
Quags, as far as I am concern, after 19/20 .... the responsibility issues kicks in. They are not dock workers or civil servants. They have been in a professional environment from about 17/18. Not like in my time in the 70s. That should have been instilled in them from early. Like I said, if they had won, this would have been a none issue. They just have to find another way to relax. We went Toronto for a youth tournament, and about 3 guys went out one night. How the coach know that? because the coach, manager, assistant coach and the runaways, all bounced up in the same night club. The next morning the entire team had to run in the park for over an hour. And after that the team get a speech on priority and responsibility. And a curfew was handed down. We were not 19 as yet.
Exactly the coach dealt with it internally did not nationally embrass them .
Post by: Quags on September 12, 2016, 03:05:53 PM
Buh look who say wha if Sam had done this no one would bat an eyelid lol
Molino score for Orlando on return also .
Also if on the boat cruise they just chilled no drinking just took in the sights and sounds anybody thought of that .Just looked at the island .
Post by: FF on September 12, 2016, 03:27:30 PM
Yes, Quags dey break curfew to go on a sightseeing tour overnight.  ;D

I ent know what kinda boat ride you does go lol
Post by: Quags on September 12, 2016, 03:35:37 PM
Yes, Quags dey break curfew to go on a sightseeing tour overnight.  ;D

I ent know what kinda boat ride you does go lol
Well it could happen they are professionals after all, trained to be good at all times .
Post by: Deeks on September 12, 2016, 03:36:54 PM
It really doh matter now because the cat is out of the bag. The whole friggin team should have gone to the boat ride for a pre match bonding.
Post by: palos on September 12, 2016, 03:41:10 PM
Hopefully we could get Stuart Charles with Shabazz as technical advisor in there as quickly as possible to root out the indiscipline and guarantee us a top 2 spot in the Hex.
Post by: davyjenny1 on September 12, 2016, 03:41:36 PM

Pin point accuracy  ;)
Post by: asylumseeker on September 12, 2016, 04:01:56 PM
Hopefully we could get Stuart Charles with Shabazz as technical advisor in there as quickly as possible to root out the indiscipline and guarantee us a top 2 spot in the Hex.

You real hammering that home. Message received. :)
Post by: mukumsplau on September 12, 2016, 04:44:37 PM
It really doh matter now because the cat is out of the bag. The whole friggin team should have gone to the boat ride for a pre match bonding.

:rotfl: :rotfl: ah weak

but yea if ppl aint see anything wrong with it then by all means shuttle d whole team down too

imagine the latent discord within the camp and between groups of players
Post by: palos on September 12, 2016, 05:02:00 PM

You real hammering that home. Message received. :)

Actually...it won't be Stuartie as Head Coach.....he'll likely be one of the assistants.  Legends bro.....legends....and the masses will be well pleased  :)
Post by: weary1969 on September 12, 2016, 06:28:21 PM

You real hammering that home. Message received

Actually...it won't be Stuartie as Head Coach.....he'll likely be one of the assistants.  Legends bro.....legends....and the masses will be well pleased  :)

If Hart is axed because of this then my Panel shopping starting now. No need to wait for Divali. Molino etal so dumb they eh realize they creasing the axe for DJW.
Post by: davyjenny1 on September 12, 2016, 10:39:53 PM

http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2016-09-13/ttfa-fines-molino-jones-and-williams

.as Hart promises drastic action if repeated
Published:
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
United States' Christian Pulisic (10) moves the ball past Trinidad & Tobago's Joevin Jones (3) during the second half of a CONCACAF World Cup qualifying soccer match on September 6 in Jacksonville, Fla, USA. The USA won 4-0. AP photo

WALTER ALIBEY

The three players who broke camp before the World Cup Qualifier against Guatemala on September 2, received hefty fines, national coach Stephen Hart said yesterday.

The players—midfielders Kevin Molino and Joevin Jones, who play for Orlando City and the Seattle Sounders in America’s Major League Soccer (MLS) respectively—and defender Mekeil Williams of the Colorado Rapids that also campaigns in the MLS, broke the team’s curfew on Independence night (August 31st) to attend a boat cruise, without the knowledge of Hart and his technical staff.

Hart explained yesterday that the matter was dealt with as a team the morning after by handing the players heavy fines, saying it is the way matters like those are normally handled.

Hart said he wanted to get on with the matter at heart which was qualifying for the World Cup. “I can assure you the fines were hefty, after that we just got on with game. It was actually the first time it has happened under my reign and not like it happens all the time. However, I can assure you that if it happens again, more drastic actions will be taken against the players” Hart explained.

The issue has since gained the attention of the media and the public, with concerns being raised about appropriate action for the players.

Contacted, president of the T&T Football Association David John-Williams said he was expected to receive a report on the matter this evening (yesterday ). He told the Trinidad Guardian that while he did not want to comment on the issue until he receives the report, he felt very disappointed by what had happened. And when quizzed on whether he felt it may have had an effect on the performance of the team, John-Williams said: “It may have. You can never know if that may have affected the way the team played that night. It was very possible”

The T&T team came from a goal down to draw with Guatemala 2-2 in front a sold-out crowd at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo, with the left footed Jones (Joevin) getting the double strike to earn his team the vital point to advance to the Final Round of the FIFA World Cup Qualifier, Concacaf Zone.

It is understood the players are likely to be sent to the football association’s Disciplinary Committee upon investigation. But Hart, when quizzed on whether the players should receive additional punishment, said “That is entirely up to the FA to decide. We have dealt with it as a team but I cannot say what the FA should or should not do.”
Title: TTFA fines Molino, Jones and Williams.
Post by: Flex on September 13, 2016, 03:28:14 AM
TTFA fines Molino, Jones and Williams.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

Hart promises drastic action if repeated

The three players who broke camp before the World Cup Qualifier against Guatemala on September 2, received hefty fines, national coach Stephen Hart said yesterday.

The players—midfielders Kevin Molino and Joevin Jones, who play for Orlando City and the Seattle Sounders in America’s Major League Soccer (MLS) respectively—and defender Mekeil Williams of the Colorado Rapids that also campaigns in the MLS, broke the team’s curfew on Independence night (August 31st) to attend a boat cruise, without the knowledge of Hart and his technical staff.

Hart explained yesterday that the matter was dealt with as a team the morning after by handing the players heavy fines, saying it is the way matters like those are normally handled.

Hart said he wanted to get on with the matter at heart which was qualifying for the World Cup. “I can assure you the fines were hefty, after that we just got on with game. It was actually the first time it has happened under my reign and not like it happens all the time. However, I can assure you that if it happens again, more drastic actions will be taken against the players” Hart explained.

The issue has since gained the attention of the media and the public, with concerns being raised about appropriate action for the players.

Contacted, president of the T&T Football Association David John-Williams said he was expected to receive a report on the matter this evening (yesterday ). He told the Trinidad Guardian that while he did not want to comment on the issue until he receives the report, he felt very disappointed by what had happened. And when quizzed on whether he felt it may have had an effect on the performance of the team, John-Williams said: “It may have. You can never know if that may have affected the way the team played that night. It was very possible”

The T&T team came from a goal down to draw with Guatemala 2-2 in front a sold-out crowd at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo, with the left footed Jones (Joevin) getting the double strike to earn his team the vital point to advance to the Final Round of the FIFA World Cup Qualifier, Concacaf Zone.

It is understood the players are likely to be sent to the football association’s Disciplinary Committee upon investigation. But Hart, when quizzed on whether the players should receive additional punishment, said “That is entirely up to the FA to decide. We have dealt with it as a team but I cannot say what the FA should or should not do.”

RELATED NEWS

TTFA: No comment
...wants dialogue with management before making statement
By Sean Taylor (Express).

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) is staying mum on the current issue involving three national players who were allegedly reported to be partying two days before the Guatemala match at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Feedback from the TTFA indicated that no discussions regarding the incident have yet been had, but should be tackled soon to find a resolution. According to reports in the media, three overseas-based professionals broke camp on Independence Day, which was virtually on the eve of the crunch match against Guatemala at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on September 2.

The players, who have yet to be identified, were alleged to have gone on a boat ride, and were then subsequently allowed to play in both the Guatemala match as well as the final match against the United States last Tuesday.

Claims include that the national squad has been divided since, however no confirmation was forthcoming as to whether the rumours of disunity are indeed true. “All I have to say about the issue is that I am disappointed,” said John-Williams yesterday.

The TTFA president was unwilling to comment further, as it is a management issue and he cannot comment until he meets with the management team. Team manager William Wallace also was unable to confirm the allegations of division and nepotism within the squad, echoing John-Williams' sentiments that they would have to sit and discuss the matter, before they make an official release.

Post by: maxg on September 13, 2016, 04:04:52 AM
They wrong to go against team rules, but sometimes there are to much rules. Team  SPORT , but not everyone prepares the same. Individuals prepare differently. should be up to team and coaches, and also to do the fix. Ppl tend to equate with going to war and doing some critical job as if ppl lives depend on it, I guess that is why athletes today can make so much money, and they must be professional la la la...good thing hart didn't fire them on the spot.. We went thru.. Good thing we didn't lose, firing squad ? We take sport to this level, and ppl who responsible for actually helping other people and saving lives, we underpay them, hardly take notice publicly, except when we need them individually, and regardless of how many successes they have, they mess up once, we kick them out of helping and want them dead..so they better come good.

Professional Athletes don't have to be so perfect doh, and regardless of what reasons of giving professional status, they are not. Besides the fact they are young.
Some ppl recognized ppl feel this way about sport and had the bright idea to make it a business, and the public termed the athletes professionals. Many are just talented big kids with money, cause from young, ppl not letting them be free, they must be this and can't do that..etc.. I think they should be allowed to live a little, and learn from their mistakes..what might be a error in judgement for one, might be the relaxation necessary for another...the manager could decide who is ready, acting within reason and m make the appropriate selections or disciplinary actions.

Players have to understand the concept of the plan and be able to execute said plan, but they won't all read the same way. Some may not be able to read at all. And a good manager can still utilize and guide him/her. Like parenting.

Discipline in order, yes, but to be going on and on, no..move on..next lesson...

I just thinking out loud, I not a professional myself..so excuse the rambling
If
Post by: injunchile on September 13, 2016, 05:43:57 AM
To whom much is given much is expected. Those three should set an example . They know that they could not try that foolishness with their professional clubs. Is it any wonder that some folks prefer a foreign coach , We seem not to respect our own. Is the same star boy thing that is a curse to our football. The same S---- another day. This episode really does no favors to the Coach.
Post by: Sando prince on September 13, 2016, 06:17:07 AM
To whom much is given much is expected. Those three should set an example . They know that they could not try that foolishness with their professional clubs. Is it any wonder that some folks prefer a foreign coach , We seem not to respect our own. Is the same star boy thing that is a curse to our football. The same S---- another day. This episode really does no favors to the Coach.

:beermug: well said. I hope this is a learning lesson to them and other players who will even think about putting their personal gains before the national team while on duty. Time for this shit to stop as we have to set the right example for the youths coming up the ranks. I hope this never happens again.
Post by: congo on September 13, 2016, 08:32:29 AM
This still happening? For a f**king boat cruise? Men risking it all for a boat cruise? Men didn't sneak out to go check the gf or pregnant wife but to go on a boat lime? A big hard back 25+ year old footballer can't do without a boat cruise 2 days before a qualifier? You sneaking out at 25 years old to go party? We still calling these men "young". Pulisic at 17 years old make them boys look like amateurs. All those boys on tnt team wish hey could switch places with Pulisic and play for a big German team. We still don't understand discipline. Why are some people encouraging or downplaying this. What if there was an incident on the boat cruise resulting in an injury or something. How does insurance work with things like that. Those things not always safe. Does have fight and shooting after at times. Didn't a national player get shot at home after coming home from one? Those boys from carenage don't always keep the best company and they move in a group. You may have had nothing to do with anything but end up in the cross fire. SMH
Post by: Dinner Mints on September 13, 2016, 08:40:10 AM
This still happening? For a f**king boat cruise? Men risking it all for a boat cruise? Men didn't sneak out to go check the gf or pregnant wife but to go on a boat lime? A big hard back 25+ year old footballer can't do without a boat cruise 2 days before a qualifier? You sneaking out at 25 years old to go party? We still calling these men "young". Pulisic at 17 years old make them boys look like amateurs. All those boys on tnt team wish hey could switch places with Pulisic and play for a big German team. We still don't understand discipline. Why are some people encouraging or downplaying this. What if there was an incident on the boat cruise resulting in an injury or something. How does insurance work with things like that. Those things not always safe. Does have fight and shooting after at times. Didn't a national player get shot at home after coming home from one? Those boys from carenage don't always keep the best company and they move in a group. You may have had nothing to do with anything but end up in the cross fire. SMH
Yuh asking answers, man.

Q: Why are some people encouraging or downplaying this?
A: We still don't understand discipline.

We always looking to give a bligh. Our motto should be, 'Oh gosh nah, man.' Our laidbackness is a gift and a curse.
Post by: maxg on September 13, 2016, 09:18:14 AM
s
Yuh asking answers, man.

We always looking to give a bligh. Our motto should be, 'Oh gosh nah, man.' Our laidbackness is a gift and a curse.
other than figuratively stoning the young men in public, or they feeling so ashamed that they quit, or surrender their 1st born. Any suggestions ?  Nobody condoning the behavior, but is it enough if the coach and admin handle it. Do you trust your coach/manager I guess is what I am asking. Or we should punish them by burning their national jerseys, so they don't do that again. Drive them way, replace, them, set an example. We have tons of Intl level players in the wings, even more professional foreign players lining up to wear the colours. Drag these indiscipline fellas thru the mud, see what you will get.
Post by: Dinner Mints on September 13, 2016, 09:25:57 AM
s
Yuh asking answers, man.

other than figuratively stoning the young men in public, or they feeling so ashamed that they quit, or surrender their 1st born. Any suggestions ?  Nobody condoning the behavior, but is it enough if the coach and admin handle it. Do you trust your coach/manager I guess is what I am asking. Or we should punish them by burning their national jerseys, so they don't do that again. Drive them way, replace, them, set an example. We have tons of Intl level players in the wings, even more professional foreign players lining up to wear the colours. Drag these indiscipline fellas thru the mud, see what you will get.
First ting you say is it does have 'too much rules.' But, yes, a strong fine and a good cussout is sufficient punishment in my opinion. They deserve and getting both.
Post by: Sando prince on September 13, 2016, 09:27:04 AM
s
Yuh asking answers, man.

wait it seems you have a problem with fans criticising the players for what happened? you want us to just be quiet and hush we mouth?
Post by: maxg on September 13, 2016, 10:01:04 AM
Huh ? I have no problem with critique of players and their play. Why you think that ? I thought they played ok, did the job actually. Why you think that ? Why have fans who would hush they mouth ?
Post by: Sando prince on September 13, 2016, 10:03:48 AM
:frustrated:Huh ? I have no problem with critique of players and their play. Why you think that ? I thought they played ok, did the job actually. Why you think that ? Wht have fans who would hush they mouth ?

Their play is not being discussed here and it is not their play being criticised as well. Sure you know this but I will gladly point it out to you.
Post by: maxg on September 13, 2016, 10:06:38 AM
:frustrated:Huh ? I have no problem with critique of players and their play. Why you think that ? I thought they played ok, did the job actually. Why you think that ? Wht have fans who would hush they mouth ?

Their play is not being discussed here and it is not their play being criticised as well. Sure you know this but I will gladly point it out to you.
Are you all discussing or berating ? (read, insulting, cussin out)  my bad..maybe I misunderstood. Carry on
Post by: Sando prince on September 13, 2016, 10:28:36 AM

Are you all discussing or berating ? (read, insulting, cussin out)  my bad..maybe I misunderstood. Carry on

Next time we will hire you to stand as guard in front the players hotel room door to make sure they behave themselves and not break curfew so we can avoid your feelings being hurt by fans criticism of players indiscipline.
:D
Post by: congo on September 13, 2016, 10:40:02 AM
Nothing is more pathetic than having to stand outside their door to ensure that they don't break camp to go to a boat cruise. The sad thing about it is that most of them are one bad season away from ending back up in the Pro League. Didn't Jones get fined a couple years ago for playing in a minor league whilst contracted for W Connection. These guys are over 25 years old. That is olddddddddd
Post by: palos on September 13, 2016, 10:54:41 AM
Ah wonder what the conversation today would be had we played Guatemala without Joevin Jones (scored 2 goals), Molino, and Mekeil Williams due to the coaching staff suspending them for breaking curfew?

Probably wouldn't have much conversation at all as we likely would be out the Hex and this board would be dead.

Then peeps would be bawlin bout how the coaching staff duncy

I'm also curious about reports that some players in the team are disgruntled by the way the issue was handled and claims of bias and nepotism.

Nepotism?

nepotism
noun [ U ] UK ​ /ˈnep.ə.tɪ.zəm/ US ​ /ˈnep.ə.tɪ.zəm/ formal disapproving

the act of using your power or influence to get good jobs or unfair advantages for members of your own family:

I wasn't aware that anyone on the team was a member of the coaching staff's family.
Post by: maxg on September 13, 2016, 11:01:20 AM

Next time we will hire you to stand as guard in front the players hotel room door to make sure they behave themselves and not break curfew so we can avoid your feelings being hurt by fans criticism of players indiscipline.
:D
yuh making meh a professional then, I prefer U put meh to guard the boat, I will include rounds and spot checks..it's my National duty..free   ;D
Post by: palos on September 13, 2016, 11:04:51 AM
yuh making meh a professional then, I prefer U put meh to guard the boat, I will include rounds and spot checks..it's my National duty..free   ;D

;D ;D
Post by: congo on September 13, 2016, 11:45:53 AM
My beef not with the coaching staff...I think the punishment was appropriate. I am really disappointed in the players' immaturity though...They too old to be behaving like this. We need to see if there is a correlation between lack of intelligence and this type of behaviour.
Post by: Fyzoman on September 13, 2016, 11:51:12 AM
All dis talk, them fellahs jokey and that's that...IMHO ;)

Oh and it might be too late but somebody need to mention MICKEY TROTMAN to these jokers, steups!!! ah friggin boatride?? SMFH.
Title: Re: TTFA fines Molino, Jones and Williams.
Post by: weary1969 on September 13, 2016, 12:43:47 PM
All dis talk, them fellahs jokey and that's that...IMHO ;)

Oh and it might be too late but somebody need to mention MICKEY TROTMAN to these jokers, steups!!! ah friggin boatride?? SMFH.

Ent like in yuh welcome package to th eteam astory on Mickey Trotman need to be included. I really thought that was a thing of the past. But just like flooding I was wrong.
Post by: Spursy on September 13, 2016, 02:07:55 PM
Sad
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on September 13, 2016, 02:14:27 PM
Jokers still going on dem boatride since one of their teammates get shot after one..........if the avenue was another destination for others they foolish too..........
Post by: palos on September 13, 2016, 02:34:22 PM
For VERY brief....VERY fleeting moments in time....I think to myself that it might have been better had we NOT made the Hex....

And then I say.....naaaaaaaahhhhhh

But boy......sometimes we like a never see come see in trute
Post by: maxg on September 13, 2016, 04:27:38 PM
For VERY brief....VERY fleeting moments in time....I think to myself that it might have been better had we NOT made the Hex....

And then I say.....naaaaaaaahhhhhh

But boy......sometimes we like a never see come see in trute

All big men, with big clubs,..as if it never happen before, and won't again ?..and they still getting millions and love and admiration rain on them, but we boys..nah, dem can't have no excuse for a moment of thoughtlessness ..not a excuse or reason, but it's not the end of the world..and if their indiscretion lands them in hot water or - 'Pray to god, no'- a Hell..Then so be it. I expect them to be reprimanded as they should be, but if ppl could throw they money at Wayne and Leo, why we can't help our LIL BOYS. I done.

http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/news-and-comment/breaking-curfew-footballers-punished-for-staying-out-late-6284466.html

http://www.thesportster.com/soccer/top-20-soccer-players-who-are-jerks-in-real-life/

Post by: congo on September 13, 2016, 04:31:51 PM
Mario Balotelli broke curfew and was fined a week's wages of 150,000 pounds. The players on that list could retire early 10 times over and still enjoy comfortable lives. Those in Trinidad don't have that luxury. At 25+, they not even knocking on a door to Europe. So if they want to go and risks their livelihood and reputation for a "boat ride" hats off to them. I hope they have a decent pension plan to fall back on cause with that set of thinking I'm sure they lacking education.
Post by: maxg on September 13, 2016, 04:52:47 PM
Mario Balotelli broke curfew and was fined a week's wages of 150,000 pounds. The players on that list could retire early 10 times over and still enjoy comfortable lives. Those in Trinidad don't have that luxury. At 25+, they not even knocking on a door to Europe. So if they want to go and risks their livelihood and reputation for a "boat ride" hats off to them. I hope they have a decent pension plan to fall back on cause with that set of thinking I'm sure they lacking education.
hmmmm..you got the best education congo..that why u know better and always did things correct and in order..like now

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPw-3e_pzqU       

:laugh:
Post by: congo on September 13, 2016, 05:31:40 PM
Is not bout always doing things right...Is about decision making and being disciplined. These are not teenagers on their first overseas trip etc. These are hard back seasoned professionals. I rather you tell me they sneak away to go lay pipe at various locations. A Boat Cruise? Really....HAHAHAHA
Post by: g on September 13, 2016, 07:10:05 PM
Allyuh saw Mr Joevin's instagram shortly after the issue was made public?

Check it out, it's good insight into the players' mentality.

Will leave folks to decide for themselves.
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 13, 2016, 07:27:53 PM

G, what did it say?  Not on instagram
Post by: Fyzoman on September 13, 2016, 08:09:22 PM

G, what did it say?  Not on instagram

"We only count blessings not problems, performance is all that matters on the day...@nash10 (3 indecipherable emojis) I see you kev (2 deuces/peace sign emojis)
Post by: dcs on September 13, 2016, 10:30:30 PM
Team chemistry was one of their strengths last year. Players griping and taking it to people outside the camp I more concerned about.
Should name those too as that worse.

Is just me or things slipping since the Haiti impasse (or election  :devil:)

I'm also curious about reports that some players in the team are disgruntled by the way the issue was handled and claims of bias and nepotism.

Post by: frico on September 14, 2016, 05:55:22 AM
Fifty four years as an independent country but we still behave like 12 year olds,it is small country mentality,an island full of prima donnas,that style extends to our sporting personalities.Those 3 who behaved in such an arrogant manner have done enough to send their message to others in the team,their attitude is like saying,look at us,we just qualify for the Hex,and we going for a boat ride,way allyuh go do.Well,they should be taught a lesson and dropped from the squad,let that resonate through the team and nation,bottom line is,you are not bigger than the game,TT football got you where you are so have some bloody respect for your country,stop being petty,childish and brainless.I know it was only a boat ride,but they broke the rules,we live by rules and regulations,if you can't do that then avoid sport,or any form of regimentation,sports have plenty of that.
It's time to start putting more emphasis on local players,our best football up to date has come from local players,1974 and 1990,yes I know we qualified for 2006,that's another story.If a Trini is playing abroad and wants to play for TT,that player must contact TT,not the other way around.A GOOD EXAMPLE OF HOW TO DEAL WITH PRIMA DONNAS IS KEVIN PETERSEN,PROBABLY THE GREATEST BATSMAN IN THE WORLD AT THE TIME HE WAS DROPPED.
Post by: Quags on September 14, 2016, 07:00:34 AM
Fifty four years as an independent country but we still behave like 12 year olds,it is small country mentality,an island full of prima donnas,that style extends to our sporting personalities.Those 3 who behaved in such an arrogant manner have done enough to send their message to others in the team,their attitude is like saying,look at us,we just qualify for the Hex,and we going for a boat ride,way allyuh go do.Well,they should be taught a lesson and dropped from the squad,let that resonate through the team and nation,bottom line is,you are not bigger than the game,TT football got you where you are so have some bloody respect for your country,stop being petty,childish and brainless.I know it was only a boat ride,but they broke the rules,we live by rules and regulations,if you can't do that then avoid sport,or any form of regimentation,sports have plenty of that.
It's time to start putting more emphasis on local players,our best football up to date has come from local players,1974 and 1990,yes I know we qualified for 2006,that's another story.If a Trini is playing abroad and wants to play for TT,that player must contact TT,not the other way around.A GOOD EXAMPLE OF HOW TO DEAL WITH PRIMA DONNAS IS KEVIN PETERSEN,PROBABLY THE GREATEST BATSMAN IN THE WORLD AT THE TIME HE WAS DROPPED.
Why don't you buy your own team and then hire and fire your own players .
Post by: weary1969 on September 14, 2016, 08:23:07 AM
Team chemistry was one of their strengths last year. Players griping and taking it to people outside the camp I more concerned about.

Team Chemistry is important but the local players know that if they pull that stunt it would be a different course of action. Thus they talking out.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 14, 2016, 09:05:03 AM

Team Chemistry is important but the local players know that if they pull that stunt it would be a different course of action. Thus they talking out.

You have concrete evidence of that? Dubious.

T&T 24-man Squad

Marvin Phillip – Morvant Caledonia AIA
Greg Ranjitsingh – Louisville City FC
Adrian Foncette – Police FC
Aubrey David – Dallas FC
Radanfah Abu Bakr – JK Silame Kalev
Sheldon Bateau – FC Krylia Sovetov
Carlyle Mitchell – Seoul E-Land FC
Daneil Cyrus – W Connection FC
Yohance Marshall – Murcielagos FC
Mekeil Williams – Colorado Rapids
Joevin Jones – Seattle Sounders
Andre Boucaud – Dagenham & Redbridge
Hughtun Hector – W Connection FC
John Bostock – Racing Lens
Levi Garcia – AZ Alkmaar
Kevin Molino – Orlando City
Khaleem Hyland – KVC Westerlo
Neveal Hackshaw – Charleston Battery
Jomal Williams – Murcielagos FC
Trevin Caesar – Orange County FC
Shahdon Winchester – Murcielagos FC
Kevan George – Jacksonville Armada FC
Cordell Cato – San Jose Earthquakes
Kenwyne Jones – Central FC
Post by: pull stones on September 14, 2016, 09:25:25 AM

the local guys have to pipe down with that noise. It is very simple.......the coach's hands were tied, plus these are not fringe players we're talking about, these guys are top players on the squad who we would class as irreplaceable. What local could fill the void of a Molina or Jovin jones? And as its stands mikel Williams is or best performing full back.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 14, 2016, 09:45:22 AM
Look at that list and tell me where that local talk makes any sense. Start by scratching KJ and both GKs as being disgruntled or griping etc.
Post by: palos on September 14, 2016, 10:29:20 AM
Obviously Molino, Joevin, and Mekeil not local.  ::)

I hate this talk about local and foreign.  ALL represent T&T and people who should know better fuelin dat dotish talk

And is not now.   Yorke used to deal with that dotish talk too.

Not a peep when "local" Hardest, Whitley, Guerra etc do assness back in de day and still play on the National team tho
Post by: pull stones on September 14, 2016, 10:44:52 AM
Obviously Molino, Joevin, and Mekeil not local.  ::)

I hate this talk about local and foreign.  ALL represent T&T and people who should know better fuelin dat dotish talk

And is not now.   Yorke used to deal with that dotish talk too.

Not a peep when "local" Hardest, Whitley, Guerra etc do assness back in de day and still play on the National team tho
have to agree with you. trinidadians are never happy unless there is mele and uneasiness. Just look at the news, every day there is bickering and melodrama about who said what and who broke what law in the political arena with the whole investigative process costing the state millions over pure nonsense, and for things they could have easily overlooked or have open discussions on that actually turns into a charade.
Post by: Deeks on September 14, 2016, 11:41:38 AM
Dudes, things like this has happened before. I remember in the 70s, a big TT player was side-lined fom the team for some indescretion that occurred while on tour. I think it was breaking a curfew. It was on the papers. But no names was mentioned. But it has happened before. This boat ride thing is leaving a sourness on the forum. We don't know if the team is affected by it. All we want from them players is to play good football and win. That did not happen for the last 2 games. We tired of hearing "they go learn", "they go learn".  Bullshit. Yes, they get the results, but it was on pins and friggin needles. When allyuh come home, is not holidays. The coach barely has 5 days to prepare. What the frig, allyuh cyah stay inside for one night.
Post by: weary1969 on September 14, 2016, 12:08:46 PM
Look at that list and tell me where that local talk makes any sense. Start by scratching KJ and both GKs as being disgruntled or griping etc.

So it eh the local base who spoke out but somebody did. I am sure they spoke out because they felt that if they had pull that stunt the treatment would have been different. So be it local or foreign players in the squad feel that there is not equal treatment that is the issue.
Post by: maxg on September 14, 2016, 12:24:27 PM
but Weary, how could you possibly know "the treatment"/disciplinary action or seriousness would have been different ? Would you have reacted differently if was some other players ? Should there be a different "treatment" depending on who eg. 3 non starters or subs so far ? As someone pointed out 3 fringe players. How would you react and what kind of treatment ? The whole situation is unfortunate regardless of who it is or whatever treatment is metered out. Their indiscretion still may not be readily apparent to them, even with disciplinary action. I know, cause I been there.
Post by: palos on September 14, 2016, 12:32:20 PM
So it eh the local base who spoke out but somebody did. I am sure they spoke out because they felt that if they had pull that stunt the treatment would have been different. So be it local or foreign players in the squad feel that there is not equal treatment that is the issue.

I have no way of knowing if the highlighted statement is accurate or not.

But what I do know is that the world not equal. Society eh equal.  And sports teams definitely not equal.

If anybody feel that Isco getting the exact same treatment as Ronaldo at Real Madrid......they livin in fantasy land with Tatoo

If Azpilicueta did defraud the Spanish Government of hundreds of millions of dollars by not paying taxes like Lionel Messi.....he ass would be lost in jail.  Messi get a jail sentence.....in theory because he didn't have to spend a second in jail and continuing to score hat tricks in Champions League matches.  And he not even Spanish

Stars ALWAYS get preferential treatment.  Is it a good optic?  Of course not.  Should the "stars" be more responsible?  Absolutely. 

But when your livelihood is decided on whether you win or lose....coaches will choose to go with what they feel is their best chance to win the vast majority of the time.

ALL teams have issues.  If it's not about man breaking curfew...is about who get to take free kick.....who get to start....who getting to play where they want....who have dey own room....etc.   

This is nothing new.  And in the better teams....it is sometimes the players as a group that hold everyone accountable.

Then it go be talk bout coach pet (it always have those)....dey doh like meh because ah from south......dey hatin because iz a ghetto yute etc

Post by: weary1969 on September 14, 2016, 01:55:36 PM

But what I do know is that the world not equal. Society eh equal.  And sports teams definitely not equal.

If anybody feel that Isco getting the exact same treatment as Ronaldo at Real Madrid......they livin in fantasy land with Tatoo

If Azpilicueta did defraud the Spanish Government of hundreds of millions of dollars by not paying taxes like Lionel Messi.....he ass would be lost in jail.  Messi get a jail sentence.....in theory because he didn't have to spend a second in jail and continuing to score hat tricks in Champions League matches.  And he not even Spanish

Stars ALWAYS get preferential treatment.  Is it a good optic?  Of course not.  Should the "stars" be more responsible?  Absolutely. 

But when your livelihood is decided on whether you win or lose....coaches will choose to go with what they feel is their best chance to win the vast majority of the time.

ALL teams have issues.  If it's not about man breaking curfew...is about who get to take free kick.....who get to start....who getting to play where they want....who have dey own room....etc.   

This is nothing new.  And in the better teams....it is sometimes the players as a group that hold everyone accountable.

Then it go be talk bout coach pet (it always have those)....dey doh like meh because ah from south......dey hatin because iz a ghetto yute etc

We know all of that but obvious they eh feel so. Somebody spokeo inmaturity on all side. The 23rd man in the squad suppose to know he is 23rd and them fellas suppose to not break camp like some teenagers.
Post by: Thomo on September 14, 2016, 01:57:44 PM
At the end of the day this whole episode left a bad taste in most supporters mouth.
Post by: palos on September 14, 2016, 03:59:16 PM

We know all of that but obvious they eh feel so. Somebody spokeo inmaturity on all side. The 23rd man in the squad suppose to know he is 23rd and them fellas suppose to not break camp like some teenagers.

I will say again.....this is, and should have remained an internal team issue.  Sometimes people are disgruntled and nothing wrong with that.  That happens.  Usually there are protocols in place for players to make their feelings known and have them addressed

If players feel they can't trust those protocols so that they can get a fair hearing...that's definitely an issue and one that needs to be addressed.

I also don't think venting to people outside of the team environment as a means to communicate their displeasure publicly does anyone, far less the team, any good.

What's the expectation?   I disappointed in my teammates actions and vex that they still get to play so I tellin de public what went on?  I show up my teammates and coaches in the process...but that doh matter.   Is unfairness going on and dem fellas get off easy.

It must be real bun dem players when de player dey wanted to punish end up scoring de goals for the team to qualify.
Post by: dcs on September 15, 2016, 03:57:53 AM

I give credit to the coach on how he is handling himself with the press and stakeholders. Very professional and unusually humble in my opinion.

Disunity is so destructive for us over the years as a fan I almost want to do a witch hunt for the leak and drop them. At the least I would want the coach to know who it is so he can have a talk with them and set them straight same he did with the three and close this off.

The focus needs to be on how we regaining our on field chemistry and form. CFU is critical and I hope they understand they need to push themselves regardless of the competition and be merciless to the end of every game....or be consistent if we getting a run.
Post by: Quags on September 15, 2016, 04:26:03 AM

I give credit to the coach on how he is handling himself with the press and stakeholders. Very professional and unusually humble in my opinion.

Disunity is so destructive for us over the years as a fan I almost want to do a witch hunt for the leak and drop them. At the least I would want the coach to know who it is so he can have a talk with them and set them straight same he did with the three and close this off.

The focus needs to be on how we regaining our on field chemistry and form. CFU is critical and I hope they understand they need to push themselves regardless of the competition and be merciless to the end of every game....or be consistent if we getting a run.
So the leak came from a player within the team ?.Wow shocking ,what a snake ,I agree he should be dropped .Was not sure where this news came from I was thinking ppl on the boatride recognized them ,did not think it had mole in the team .
Title: Play hard or party hard
Post by: Tallman on September 15, 2016, 05:18:15 AM
Play hard or party hard
By Marlon Miller (T&T Express)

THERE’S nothing like a World Cup qualifier to get almost 20,000 people from Trinidad and Tobago and a handful of visitors from Guatemala together without anyone feeling a burning sensation in some part of their body.

For those who haven’t had the misfortune to experience it, that is police-speak for getting shot. But where we were two Fridays ago was a non-combat zone, with most everyone assembled in unanimous support of T&T’s Soca Warriors.

There were bright smiles and high fives, especially with the team collecting the point that takes it onto the next round of qualifying for the big dance, the Concacaf Hexagonal, where it gets serious from the first game to the last.

The last time we were in the mix with a chance to get to the Copa Mundial was 11 years ago, when some of the spectators at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on September 2, 2016 were running around in pampers. And a few weren’t even born when T&T held Bahrain to a draw at the same venue, while those brave Trini souls who ventured to the Middle East for the away leg dodged stones and other missiles after Dennis Lawrence, one of this country’s unsung heroes, secured a famous victory, with a towering header that booked our ticket to Germany, where T&T was, and still is, the smallest-ever country to put its name among FIFA World Cup finalists.

Now, we have the good fortune to contend again for that rare honour, which will give us something else to think about besides crime over the next 12 months.

The names this time around don’t slip off the tongue as easily as Dwight Yorke, Russell Latapy, Shaka Hislop and Stern John did all those years ago, when the above-named quartet had already earned their stripes with big clubs in the UK and Europe, adding proven experience to a squad that lacked quality in certain areas.

But together, under the supervision of a wily old fox named Leo Beenhakker, they got their act together when it mattered most and took us all the way to Dortmund, Nuremberg and Kaiserslautern, and all points in between, for a once-in-a-lifetime journey that those of us who were fortunate enough to accompany them will treasure forever.

Okay, we can spew all the flowery prose we like and revive sweet memories of 2006, but the harsh reality ten years later is that we have very little chance of setting off on another summertime excursion through Europe in 2018.

Yes, the honest ones among us will admit that Guatemala could have put tears in our eyes that Friday night, denying us the point that got us into the Hex. And we all know what happened four days later, when the US reasserted itself as the top dog in the zone with an authoritative 4-0 victory over T&T.

Now, it turns out that three of our players broke curfew a couple nights before the Guatemala encounter to enjoy a boat cruise in the Gulf of Paria. And one of the guilty trio even scored both goals which earned us the 2-2 draw with the Central Americans.

So all I can think about is that if coach Stephen Hart had benched those guys, instead of fining them—or both—we wouldn’t be looking forward to the road to Russia and the national football programme would be another smouldering mess, once again failing to live up to its undoubted potential.

Instead, we are very much alive and now it is all about how much these players want it, whether they are prepared to make the ultimate sacrifice in order to try to display their talents on football’s grandest stage—to play hard or party hard.

The supporters who were at the stadium earlier this month will be back again come November 11, when Costa Rica come calling…actually, not all of them because some of my friends were grumbling about how much trouble they had to go through to find a cold beer, and others didn’t like the long wait in line to get into the venue. So unless the TTFA gets its act together, there will be a few seats to fill.

But the die-hard Warrior fans will return with their flags and face paint, decked in red, and as long as skipper Kenwyne Jones and his troops are giving it their all, they will stick it out right to the end in October next year, when the US are our final opponents.

As another pessimistic friend said, let’s hope we don’t need a point then, we having lived through November 19, 1989, when a point was all we needed to get to Italia 1990…and we all know what happened that day.
But, for now, I’ll be the eternal optimist.

I have the utmost respect for coach Hart, who knows how to get the best out of his players. Hopefully, those players will return that respect and not abandon him to have a good time.
Post by: Deeks on September 15, 2016, 06:16:34 AM
Nothing wrong in partying hard. Just know when to do it.
Post by: Sam on September 15, 2016, 09:33:14 AM
Look, them men f00cked up but they paid they penalty.

Move on now, hopefully they learn they lesson.

Title: Football fans taken on a goat ride?
Post by: Tallman on September 17, 2016, 08:28:42 AM
Football fans taken on a goat ride?
T&T Newsday Letter

THE EDITOR: I have heard the bleating sounds coming from the camp of the national football team and was wondering if football fans are being taken for a goat ride.

I find it hard to understand national football coach Stephen Hart’s approach to dealing “internally” with a serious matter of indiscipline involving three members of the team, Joevin Jones, Kevin Molino and Mekeil Williams, who broke camp and went on a boat ride to pock it, rock it and bend down low, ahead of the World Cup qualifier against Guatemala.

Football fans learned, through the media, that the trio was heavily fined and the matter dealt with “internally”. Am I to believe that once the matter was dealt with that was that? I say that Hart and the TT Football Association (TTFA) have a responsibility to fans and taxpayers, whose dollars support the team, to always account even if it is the good, the bad or the ugly.

President of the TTFA, David John Williams, cannot be talking about transparency and being open and a matter is handled “internally”. Football supporters are not beh behs. This matter could have been handled with a simple press release the following day, stating the facts and the fines and the penalty for future indiscretions by any player.

Just like in the match against the US, Hart has blundered.

The US qualifier in Florida is a telling view of how not to play football. The basics were lacking.

All that was missing were alcoholic drinks, and a pot of pelau. Did I hear someone say it was a fete match? Hart and some players must either shape up or ship out.

KEITH ANDERSON via e-mail
Post by: Trin on September 17, 2016, 09:18:24 AM
What a steaming pile I just read there ^^ lol. Everyone is an expert on team discipline now steups. Ttfa actually not obliged to say anything wrt discipinary action. Had this not been leaked the general public should not even be aware.
Title: Re: Football fans taken on a goat ride?
Post by: Tobago28 on September 17, 2016, 10:04:08 AM
Football fans taken on a goat ride?
T&T Newsday Letter

THE EDITOR: I have heard the bleating sounds coming from the camp of the national football team and was wondering if football fans are being taken for a goat ride.

I find it hard to understand national football coach Stephen Hart’s approach to dealing “internally” with a serious matter of indiscipline involving three members of the team, Joevin Jones, Kevin Molino and Mekeil Williams, who broke camp and went on a boat ride to pock it, rock it and bend down low, ahead of the World Cup qualifier against Guatemala.

Football fans learned, through the media, that the trio was heavily fined and the matter dealt with “internally”. Am I to believe that once the matter was dealt with that was that? I say that Hart and the TT Football Association (TTFA) have a responsibility to fans and taxpayers, whose dollars support the team, to always account even if it is the good, the bad or the ugly.

President of the TTFA, David John Williams, cannot be talking about transparency and being open and a matter is handled “internally”. Football supporters are not beh behs. This matter could have been handled with a simple press release the following day, stating the facts and the fines and the penalty for future indiscretions by any player.

Just like in the match against the US, Hart has blundered.

The US qualifier in Florida is a telling view of how not to play football. The basics were lacking.

All that was missing were alcoholic drinks, and a pot of pelau. Did I hear someone say it was a fete match? Hart and some players must either shape up or ship out.

KEITH ANDERSON via e-mail

Taxpayer dollars is the reason you want to know. Go ask UNC about 1 billion desalination plant, 6 million to wreck a firetruck or 120 Life Sport. Go ask PNM for for Calder Hart and UDECOTT hundreds of millions.

You not man enough to do that so you asking for football money accountability. Steups