Sports => Football => Topic started by: elan on December 07, 2016, 04:47:00 PM

Title: Carolina Morace Thread
Post by: elan on December 07, 2016, 04:47:00 PM
New National Women's Coach

Not sure if this was posted elsewhere.

Carolina Morace has been named Head Coach of the Trinidad and Tobago Women's program. She will be directly in charge of all Women's Program on the Island from what I heard and read.

So that one session recently was her interview or acceptance?

What women's Program do we currently have?

Title: Re: Carolina Morace Thread
Post by: royal on January 16, 2017, 09:03:34 PM
Morace wants to take TT football to next level.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Italian Carolina Morace, the country’s new women’s coach said she intends to take T&T football to the next level.

Soon after her arrival at the VIP Lounge of the Piarco International Airport yesterday afternoon, Morace told the Guardian Media that she was totally impressed with what she saw from the T&T team when she coached the Canadian team against them back in 2010, saying, “Before Canada played T&T, I thought they would have been an easy team, but instead they turned out to be much harder than I expected.”

Morace, 52, who is here on a two and a half-year contract as coach and technical director also came with her assistant coach Nicola Williams, who will be the country’s Under-20 coach.

Morace, a native of Venice, said she was honoured to be coaching T&T, as she loves to coach women’s football but called for the support of the football public and the T&T Football Association, which she had already received from its president David John-Williams.

The local football boss told a media gathering at the unveiling of Belgian Tom Saintfiet as the new men’s football coach in December, that he was honoured to have Morace as coach of the team, noting she was among the top five women coaches in the world. She coached the Canadian and Italian national teams and club sides Lazio and Viterbese men’s club side.

The former striker who played for 10 different teams in Italy, said she will first have a look at the players, the seniors, under-20s and under-17s to see the level of skill and fitness before she selects a core of 25-26 to work with for each team.

“The first thing is to create athletes and then I will focus on the league” Morace said. In addition to being coach and technical director, the Italian is the holder of a UEFA PRO License and is best known for being the first woman to coach a professional men’s football team, Viterbese of Italian in the Serie C1, will also be responsible for coaches’ education and development in the women programme. She will also conduct grassroots programmes.

Morace, who represented Italy 153 times and scored 105 goals, (from 1978 - 1997) made it clear via skype just over a month ago, that she wants to win, but noted she cannot achieve this if the players are not committed.

(http://www.guardian.co.tt/sites/default/files/styles/large/public/field/image/women_coaches.jpg?itok=sSLLyT9Y)
Newly appointed national women's football coach Carolina Morrace, centre, at the Piarco International Airport on her arrival to T&T, yesterday afternoon. With her is assistant coach Nicola Williams, left, and Joanne Salazar, the third vice-president in the T&T Football Association (TTFA).

Post by: Tallman on January 16, 2017, 09:27:14 PM
WATCH: New Women’s Head Coach, Carolina Morace, has arrived in Trinidad and Tobago

https://www.youtube.com/v/26F0CjVWgmo
Post by: Controversial on January 16, 2017, 10:13:41 PM
The only decision that was made correctly by the ttfa ....

She has my support but even the previous coach had it as well.. she will do a good job or should if the dictator doesn't interfere

The question is, why isn't the men's program equally important ?

Happy the ladies will be getting a good coach.. the only good news in a while
Post by: Sando on January 17, 2017, 05:55:10 AM
Credit where credit is due.

Good going by the TTFA.

I just hope Carolina Morace gets the support without interference to do her job.

Post by: dcs on January 17, 2017, 07:13:17 AM

Looking forward to her running the program.
Once people respect her decisions I can see us raising the standard across all levels particularly with the younger ones.
Post by: Tiresais on January 17, 2017, 07:42:57 AM
Looks like a solid acquisition. Really interested in what direction she'll take it in.

I wonder if the success of the American women's game is a thought - getting more Trini women better training might dramatically increase our exports to the US.
Post by: maxg on January 17, 2017, 09:46:12 AM
what if she coach the men's team in the meanwhile
Post by: Sam on January 17, 2017, 09:53:24 AM
Good coach.

Ah hope she go in de US and Canada to look for players, because them countries have some of de best women players in the world and we have plenty there in de college systems.

Post by: Controversial on January 17, 2017, 11:10:30 AM
Good coach.

Ah hope she go in de US and Canada to look for players, because them countries have some of de best women players in the world and we have plenty there in de college systems.

She will, a lot of trini players in Toronto that are women...

Not to mention the US
Post by: palos on January 17, 2017, 12:11:24 PM
Good coach

Same administration

Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. Albert Einstein
Post by: Controversial on January 17, 2017, 12:45:20 PM
Good coach

Same administration

Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. Albert Einstein

Post by: Sam on January 17, 2017, 03:21:27 PM
Good coach

Same administration

Post by: Tallman on February 01, 2017, 09:24:54 PM
WATCH: Women’s Head Coach Carolina Morace says she did not come to Trinidad and Tobago for a holiday

https://www.youtube.com/v/21SVPEGUfRc
Post by: MEP on February 02, 2017, 02:50:41 AM

She has my support but even the previous coach had it as well.. she will do a good job or should if the dictator doesn't interfere

I disagree she might be a decent coach but you have to think about about a couple of things
Who had more connections to coaches in American Universities ....the US college system ranks amongst the highest level of play for women
 and young women under Pellerud would have had a chance at more quality coaching and a good education.
Post by: Mose on February 02, 2017, 09:28:48 AM

I disagree she might be a decent coach but you have to think about about a couple of things
Who had more connections to coaches in American Universities ....the US college system ranks amongst the highest level of play for women
 and young women under Pellerud would have had a chance at more quality coaching and a good education.

This is not a question of one coach vs another. It's a matter of the TTFA having actually put in place a comprehensive program for the development of women's football in T&T using an accomplished and recognised coach who was also a top player in the game. I'll take that any day and I think they need to be commended for that. Remember, in between Waldrum being released and the announcement of this program we had nothing. This is a BIG step in the right direction.
Post by: Tallman on February 02, 2017, 08:36:12 PM
Morace observing players in first week.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

It’s clear that Carolina Morace mixes no matters when it comes to serious preparations of a team. Her demeanour and her history in the game spells a no-nonsense attitude and approach to it all.

But the Italian-born has emphasised that her first couple of weeks on the job with the T&T players will be short of intense as she tries to get a feel for the women’s game locally along with members of her staff.

“The focus is the physical tests for the players. We looked at their explosive and elastic strength and the physical trainer has already said he is impressed with some of the players. It is more than technical and tactically at this early time,” Morace said.

“To judge the player, the have to have a good condition or in others words be fit. There is no distinction between a basketball player or a football player. We want to understand more about the players now and it is a lot about the nutrition, diet and the way the players rest as well,” she added.

WATCH: Head Coach Carolina Morace talks about her first training session with the Trinidad and Tobago Women’s Senior Team

https://www.youtube.com/v/nuKUew6TAEg
Post by: maxg on February 03, 2017, 01:28:15 AM
Allyuh sure she cyah coach the local men's teams. I think she on the right track for TD.
Post by: elan on February 03, 2017, 10:49:12 AM
We will ever learn.

Top down get's you nowhere unless you're in a convertible and it's beginning to rain.
Title: Football is no longer a man’s game
Post by: Tallman on February 10, 2017, 04:18:27 PM
Football is no longer a man’s game
By Carolina Morace (theplayerstribune.com)

You think because you are blonde and beautiful that you don’t have to work hard?”

My coach was shouting at me in the dressing room after our team, Italy, had just lost 6–0.

To Denmark.

6–0.

It was unacceptable, and we all knew it. But the strange thing was, I hadn’t even played in the game. Why was he yelling at me?

My coach, Sergio Guenza, was a phenomenal manager. He spent many years managing different sides in Italy — including successful professional men’s teams. He knew what he was doing. At the time, I didn’t understand why he said what he said. Eventually, I understood that he wanted me to be upset, and to see that the team needed me on the pitch. It’s why I was on the bench. He was making a point. Sometimes you need to be taken away from something to realize how much you mean to it. The next game, the results were obvious.

He put me in the starting lineup for the first time in our next match. I scored, and we won. He gave me a smile as I walked off the pitch that said: See. You get it now?

I was just 21, but I was taught lessons at a young age that led me toward a coaching career down the road. Sometimes, you’re not teaching somebody how to play. You’re teaching them how to think. Sports are as much about a mindset — a personality — as they are physical talent.

You had to be a brave little girl if you wanted to play football in Italy.

The entire country loved football. My whole family loved football. It was in our blood.

But, it was still a “man’s game.”

My father was in the Italian army. I knew bravery. We lived in a military complex in Venice, so we had a few sports fields and facilities near us. But there was only one sport I was going to choose. My brother, Davide, was two years older than me and I followed him everywhere. I made him drag me around Venice with his friends so we could play football. I played every day with boys who were older than me by two or three years.

Our schedule in elementary school worked a bit differently in Italy than it did in other countries. It left more time for activities. We would go to class, come home and eat lunch, and then go out to play football. We would play at the local park from 2 p.m. to 5 p.m., or until Mom yelled at us that it was time to come inside to do our homework.

But it is no exaggeration that we played every day. Every. Single. Day.

I was never allowed to play in an organized game with the boys because of the local rules. But when I was 11, a women’s club started in our town. Unfortunately, you had to be 12 to play. But the club told my mom that I was very good and that they were going to call in some favors to get me on the team. I’m not sure what they did … but within a few days I was playing in a league where few players were 18 but the majority were 28 or 30 years old!  That was the first time that I got to play real, competitive football.

I immediately knew that I had found my calling.

Goals.

I loved to score. The feeling was unlike anything else. It didn’t matter how skilled, fast or young you were – if you scored, people would watch. Within a few years I was playing in the second tier (Serie B) of the Italian women’s football league. I was only 13, just trying to enjoy football and learn about the game. I was still scoring lots of goals, but I didn’t know what my future would hold, or what I wanted to pursue.

That all changed in 1978, when I was 14.

I came home from school one day and my dad was waiting for me in the kitchen.

“Carolina, I want you to sit down.”

“Oh, mamma mia!” I said “What happened now?”

Usually my mom was the one who would talk to me about serious things. I was concerned about what my dad was going to say.

“The president of your football club called me,” he said. “You have been called up to the national team.”

I could barely believe him. “Which national team?”

“What do you mean, ‘Which national team?’ ” he said, laughing.

I was stunned. I was only 14, how could I have been called up to play for Italy? I knew that I could score well in Serie B. But doing it against some of the best players in the world it was going to be a different task.

I remember how skeptical the other girls on the team were of me. How could they not be? My oldest teammate was in her late 30s? Most of them were in their 20s. Before our first training session I remember the way some of them glared at me from across the dressing room.

Two hours later, I had their respect.

The hours I had spent going shoulder to shoulder with older boys helped me — because I didn’t have the physicality to compete with them, I had to develop technical ability. For me, it was all about top-of-ball skill. I had to be quicker to get the ball off my feet and to make it go where I wanted it to go.

During my career with the national team, I also grew to love the tactical side of the game. I became close with the coaches and staff, and tried to learn everything I could about the sport. During games, I would often relay instructions from the coaches to the players. I felt like I could see the pitch from different angles.

I translated that skill to broadcasting toward the end of my playing career. I began doing color commentary for men’s Serie A games. When you’re on TV, you have to think about the sport in a unique way. You need to be able to relay a very complex series of plays to casual fans watching at home, and you need to be able to do it in a way that makes sense.

I have known for a long time — probably since that 6–0 loss to Denmark — that I wanted to be a coach. The impact that you can have on not only the game, but also on the players as people was what stood out to me.

When my career ended in 1999, I took a chance and became the manager of a men’s side in Serie C. It was an opportunity that unfortunately didn’t work out, but it was an important step for me.  I learned a lot, including management’s sometimes overbearing involvement. The president at the time, Luciano Gaucci, used to intrude on training and make suggestions for his coaches. He tried to interfere with me, and at that point, I resigned. But the team, under my leadership, had won their group in the Copa Italia having defeated two teams (Ancona and Ascoli) that were later promoted to the Serie B. I felt that even though it didn’t work, I had earned enough respect on and off the field to continue my coaching career.

Despite other offers to coach men’s professional teams, I chose to be on one of the highest levels, International European championship with the Italian women’s National team – this time as manager.

The technology (data analysis and video) and talent level in the women’s game had risen since my playing days. But having spent so much time as an analyst for men’s football, I was still shocked at the differences between the two.

First of all, if you watch a women’s game, what do you notice?

Most people will say the speed.

There’s no acceleration and deceleration – everything moves at one pace compared to the men’s game. The skill is still there. The control these women have with the ball at their feet is terrific, but they lack so much in terms of physical preparation.

Why is that?

I think the problem starts with physical training from a young age. When boys become teenagers, the physical side of the game is heavily emphasized — football becomes as much about stamina as skill. It’s wind sprints and suicides … until they just can’t take anymore. For women, we still focus on the basics. It’s almost as if we think the only way to beat our opponents is with skill.

Look at the best women’s side in the world: the USWNT.

The U.S. is good technically, but its players aren’t that much better than everyone else. The Americans beat everyone because they’re fast, and they can outrun you in the 85th minute. The training systems in the U.S. don’t just focus on technical ability.

When I became the manager of the Canadian women’s national team in 2009, I tried to bring this to my practices. At the 2011 women’s World Cup, FIFA measured each team’s sprints per game. Canada ranked first, followed by the U.S. and Germany. It didn’t necessarily translate to success, because there’s much more to playing winning football at that level — including tactical approaches.

I try to study the best teams in the world as much as I can. Barcelona, Real Madrid, Bayern Munich — they all play the game at the highest level tactically. And my biggest takeaway from watching them play was the idea of buildup. When I came to Canada, our keeper would immediately boot the ball down the field whenever she got it. But for a team like Barcelona, the keeper’s distribution is a very important part of each attack.

These are the little things that are holding our women’s game back.

I hope to bring these ideas with me as I head (along with the rest of my staff) to my next destination: Trinidad and Tobago. You probably didn’t even know that Trinidad and Tobago had a women’s team. It hasn’t qualified for a World Cup yet, but it is improving. In 2010, Trinidad and Tobago made it to the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup, and in 2014, the national team placed fourth in the CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup.

There’s talent there, and I believe it’s a great place for me to start over and work with an enthusiastic group of young women.

Football has taken me all over the world and I’m thankful for that. We now stand at an important time for the women’s game. There’s an opportunity for us to continue to develop the sport — I just hope I can play a part.
Post by: Cocorite on February 10, 2017, 05:15:22 PM
Wonderful story. Respect Carolina. Glad to have you and your staff aboard.

Watch out for meddling Presidents  ;)
Post by: Controversial on February 10, 2017, 06:55:32 PM
Wonderful story. Respect Carolina. Glad to have you and your staff aboard.

Watch out for meddling Presidents  ;)

Was thinking the same thing..  :beermug:
Post by: lefty on February 10, 2017, 06:58:35 PM
one thing I have often noted with women's coaches for this country, the foreign ones take the time to turn our girls/woman into athletes and the local coaches never seemed to do that well.....if at all, under shabbazz and others most seemed a bit uncoordinated and ran like....well ....girls and seemed to have a very awkward and difficult time with concepts like change of direction at speed........under waldrun *spelling the movement was crisp and accomplish more than not......hope she our girls/woman looking like athletes again
Post by: Flex on March 12, 2017, 09:10:14 AM
Senior Women embrace Morace’s approach during ongoing training programme.
TTFA Media.

Members of the Trinidad and Tobago Senior Women’s Team have embraced Head Coach Carolina Morace and her staff and are putting in endless hours on the training pitch as they engage in an ongoing training programme at the Mannie Ramjohn and Ato Boldon Stadiums.

A pool of close to twenty players, excluding the overseas-based players, trains up to five days per week as Morace seeks to develop a team that is capable of performing at the highest level possible for the  qualification towards  2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup in France. And the focus is not only on the Senior Women’s Team but programmes are also outlined for the Under 20 and Under 17 Women’s team and sessions are ongoing under the respective head coaches Nicola Williams and Manuela Tesse, both past international players and coaches in Australia and Italy.

Prolific T&T forward Kennya Cordner has lauded the work being done by Morace and her staff.

“The preparations have been really good. We are focusing more on fitness at this time to get ourselves ready for the international matches. She (Morace) is also focusing on defensive stuff as you know for years that has been an issue for us,” Cordner told TTFA Media.

“The sessions are enjoyable. She brings a different vibes to practice, making players want to work and push themselves more. As for me I have been pushing myself all these years and coaches go and coaches come  it will be the same for me. But generally it’s a great atmosphere in the training and we are gelling together,” Cordner said.

The Tobago-born former US-based player also commended the TTFA for investing tremendously in the women’s programme.

“For years we know that the TTFA wasn’t too strongly behind the women’s programme but now to see they are riding for us and putting a lot of support more than they have done for years is good. We have seen things happened because we have new coaches and I’ll ride for them as long as they ride for us. I am excited to play under the new coaches and for the country once more,” Cordner added.

National Under 20 goalkeeper Rebecca Almondoz, who has been drafted into the senior team pool, also spoke about the level of preparations, saying that there were already signs of improvements along the way so far.

“It’s been really intense but really interesting because she is bringing a new dynamic and a new look on how to do things and you can see the improvement almost immediately from all the players,” Almondoz said.

She noted that knowing that they are being guided by coaches such as Morace and her assistants drives the players to give it their all every time they step onto the field.

“It’s been really good because we know she has had the experience and she has the mindset to carry out the training sessions and we just listen to everything she says and do what she says. We train nearly every day of the week and we have our gym sessions which we have to do on our own and when she brings her intensity on the field, it makes us just want to put all our hearts into it,” Almondoz said.

The 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup will be the 8th edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup, the quadrennial international women’s football championship contested by the national teams of the member associations of FIFA. In March 2015, France won the right to host the event, the first time the country would host the tournament and the third time in Europe. Matches are planned for eleven cities across France. The current format of the tournament is to be among 24 national teams, including that of the host nation. The defending champions are the United States.

Inside the Senior Women's Team Training Session (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aJRGiU0FpJU)

Post by: maxg on March 12, 2017, 12:07:34 PM
Post by: Adam Lake on March 15, 2017, 12:51:48 PM
 :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: Wishing all the Women Teams and our New Coach loads of success. Finally seems we're on the right track where Women's football and development is concerned. Hopefully the TTFA doh  :cursing: it up
Post by: Flex on March 17, 2017, 01:52:03 AM
Morace plans for ‘March Madness’
TTFA Media.

National Women’s coach Carolina Morace believes that her players are on the right path to being prepared for taking on the rigours and demands of international women’s football.

Morace is currently overseeing a staff that is preparing the senior, under 20 and under 17 Women’s teams for international games and respective Word Cup qualification. Her first test at the international level with T&T comes when the senior team faces Venezuela in two friendlies at the Ato Boldon Stadium on March 26th and 29th. The period is being dubbed “March Madness” as the Senior Men’s Team also engage in two crucial World Cup qualifiers against Panama on March 24th and Mexico on March 28th.

“At the moment we are dealing a lot with the physical aspect of the players as I believe it is a very important component for being able to play the game,”Morace said.

“So far the players are responding well. They are demonstrating a good attitude and willingness to develop and to train hard. These two games comes at a good time for us because the players I am sure are eager to play in an international match and we also get to assess their state of play at this point in time.

“Of course it doesn’t all come together in one month or two months and this is why we have programmes for the various teams over a period of time,” Morace said.

“We have the Venezuela games and they come from South America where there is a strong passion and a lot of football. We are not quite there yet in terms of our strength but we will get there with the right amount of work.”

She has also held meetings with local women coaches and have invited them to attend and observe national team training sessions.

“We are also here to help the coaches and to develop the programme and we see it as important to have local coaches involved and to put things in place for their development also.”

Post by: maxg on March 17, 2017, 10:43:24 AM
Yaaaay...she real wukkin, she could TD the whole program IMO, men's and women's. No secrets strategies or patented discoveries here. Same page development, not rocket science

"She has also held meetings with local women coaches and have invited them to attend and observe national team training sessions.

“We are also here to help the coaches and to develop the programme and we see it as important to have local coaches involved and to put things in place for their development also.”
Post by: doc on March 17, 2017, 11:14:42 AM
Yaaaay...she real wukkin, she could TD the whole program IMO, men's and women's. No secrets strategies or patented discoveries here. Same page development, not rocket science

"She has also held meetings with local women coaches and have invited them to attend and observe national team training sessions.

Everything is not what it seems; skim milk masquerades as cream.... ;D
Post by: maxg on March 17, 2017, 12:11:15 PM

:laugh: oh gorm, doh tell meh Fake news reach allyuh   :devil:
Post by: Flex on March 20, 2017, 05:30:43 AM
Timely Italian lesson
By Fazeer Mohammed (Express).

“Roti is culture, being late is not culture. It's a bad habit.”

It is always a bit of an eye-opener when foreign eyes survey the local environment and present a very different perspective on attitudes and behaviours.

Carolina Morace has been in this country for just about two months, obviously enough time to have been exposed to this “any time is Trinidad time” mantra so as to have an instant reply when the topic was broached nearing the end of an interview last Friday on TV6's “Morning Edition.”

Charged with the responsibility of overseeing the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association's female programme apart from being head coach of the senior national women's team, the former Italian international striker pounced on that celebrated notion of acceptable tardiness like a loose ball in the six-yard box.

Paolo Rossi would have been proud.

In a very different context, Dennis Lawrence extolled the virtues of international exposure in relation to developing a more professional attitude and fostering a work ethic among players that will redound to the benefit of the individual footballers apart, of course, from being of greater value to the national cause, especially with the onus now on the new senior national men's team coach to revive a flagging World Cup qualifying campaign.

Given the immediate concerns of Friday's duel with Panama and next Tuesday's fixture against Mexico, both at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, the former national defender - who will always be remembered for that headed goal in Bahrain which clinched this country's first-ever qualification for a senior men's World Cup finals in 2006 – needed to be upbeat ahead of those games.

I mean, you wouldn't expect your head coach to be downcast and bracing the population for the worst, given the limited preparation time and the additional challenge of rebuilding cohesion and morale in a squad following the contentious departure of Stephen Hart last November and the short-lived tenure of Tom Saintfiet.

Sitting alongside Morace and with TTFA president David John-Williams also in attendance for the hour-long dialogue, Lawrence praised the commitment of the locally-based players while remaining optimistic that the incoming talent, including the recently errant Kevin Molino, would be smoothly integrated into the system that he is developing to counteract the threat of the Panamanians and Mexicans.

Which raises an interesting question: what is our system, what is our style of play? Is it a hybrid of European, South American and other influences or something unique, a brand that is immediately distinguishable? Given the increasing globalisation of the sport, a phenomenon lamented by some as resulting in a tedious technically-dominated sameness to the international game, a stand-alone brand of play is unlikely.

During the heady days of the qualification campaign for Italia '90, the brand “Kaisoca Soccer” was affixed to the team that carried its own nickname – the “Strike Squad” – and took this country to within a point of getting to the World Cup finals.

Under the guidance of head coach and former national striker Everald “Gally” Cummings, the unit led by central defender Clayton Morris churned out result after encouraging result to galvanise national fervour to a level not experienced before or since, the subsequent qualification for Germany 16 years later notwithstanding.

Yet while we (meaning both the media and general public) heaped praise on the team and conveniently overlooked questionable happenings around the succession of games in 1989, many looking on from the outside offered a very different perspective.

Among the international press contingent for that critical final qualifier against the United States on November 19, Italian football writer Giancarlo Galavotti, reporting then for Turin-based Guerin Sportivo, the world's oldest regular sports magazine, described the national team's style as “naive” ahead of the heartbreaking 1-0 loss to the Americans.

Having finally made it to football's “Big Yard” in 2006, Trinidad and Tobago played what could be described as a pragmatic style under the guidance of Leo Beenhakker, seeking to frustrate more accomplished group opponents – Sweden, England and Paraguay – by getting as many players as possible behind the ball and only very occasionally daring to range forward with any concerted sense of purpose.

Not surprisingly, it divided opinion back at home, especially as the beloved veteran playmaker Russell Latapy was left on the bench for the first two games. Agreement with the Dutchman's tactics of trying to eke out a result, as ugly as it looked, was counteracted by a desire for a more expressive, attacking type of football, even if it risked comprehensive defeats.

Now, almost 11 years on from that historic experience, we appear no closer to understanding what works best for us on the football pitch. Whatever that style is though, it is doomed to fail without adherence to time-honoured virtues.

Believe it or not, that includes something as rudimentary as punctuality.

Post by: Rastaman on March 20, 2017, 09:28:27 AM

No fake news....Doc and I got a first hand experience with her.....it was not the best. the situation was not the best but it could have been handled better on her part.
Post by: maxg on March 20, 2017, 10:28:32 AM

No fake news....Doc and I got a first hand experience with her.....it was not the best. the situation was not the best but it could have been handled better on her part.
the fake news reference was to the quotes from the article, in relation to doc post (and your personal experience). Yet some ppl prefer Cream to milk. I would of course have a more informed opinion, hearing your version of that interaction. Was she dismissive to the local coaches in attendance in your opinion, or just to a certain few. Tell it like it is, the truth doh sometimes disappointing sets us all free, no ? Don't worry, everyone has a different opinion of the truth, together we can all make a better inference of the reality of the situation and move accordingly. Bring it man.
Post by: elan on March 21, 2017, 08:05:32 AM
Funny how the stereotype of "lazy island life" is always the first thing that's brought up.

Like I said the only top down that works is on a convertible on a nice day.
Post by: Mose on March 21, 2017, 08:58:44 AM
Funny how it seems to be only acceptable for us on here to bring up issues of professionalism.
Post by: doc on March 21, 2017, 09:26:44 AM
Funny how the stereotype of "lazy island life" is always the first thing that's brought up.

Simple... we have a different axiological reference to her...  :banginghead:
Post by: g on March 21, 2017, 01:02:23 PM
I now reading some drama with the women's team.

Johnson, Cordner and Mollon withdraw from the national squad.

Story from wired868 http://wired868.com/2017/03/21/maylee-kennya-and-mollon-pull-out-as-fiery-morace-starts-reign-without-tt-stars/

I think in both the men's and women's programs when foreign coaches come in, they need to realize that their top level talent pools are so small they have to adjust their approach somewhat to ensure they build trust with the team and their personalities and only within that trust you can start to implement your philosophy. Especially if it can potentially clash with the culture.

Time will tell how it pans out for Morace.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 21, 2017, 02:13:54 PM
Pasta is culture.
Post by: soccerman on March 21, 2017, 02:34:24 PM
Pasta is culture.
:D
I don't even know where to start with this. Will wait to see how the developments unfold.
Post by: Mose on March 21, 2017, 02:37:47 PM
I now reading some drama with the women's team.

Johnson, Cordner and Mollon withdraw from the national squad.

Story from wired868 http://wired868.com/2017/03/21/maylee-kennya-and-mollon-pull-out-as-fiery-morace-starts-reign-without-tt-stars/

I think in both the men's and women's programs when foreign coaches come in, they need to realize that their top level talent pools are so small they have to adjust their approach somewhat to ensure they build trust with the team and their personalities and only within that trust you can start to implement your philosophy. Especially if it can potentially clash with the culture.

Time will tell how it pans out for Morace.

Hopefully they can resolve this issue.
Post by: maxg on March 21, 2017, 02:53:04 PM
frig, i was afraid of this, especially with the 3 in question. Not that they always wrong, but it seems strike/quit before communication and compromise is always the 1st reaction, and they do support each other. Well we will play who we have, no choice there.
Post by: Controversial on March 21, 2017, 03:22:31 PM

If players are constantly late to practice and that's her mantra as the coach, they need to adjust to that, professionalism means being able to adapt and work within a system..

Simply saying your experience was bad means what? What was bad about it, how did she handle the situation? What was said to you that you were offended by?
Post by: elan on March 22, 2017, 03:14:12 PM

If players are constantly late to practice and that's her mantra as the coach, they need to adjust to that, professionalism means being able to adapt and work within a system..

Simply saying your experience was bad means what? What was bad about it, how did she handle the situation? What was said to you that you were offended by?

The person to make the first adjustment is the coach.

It will be great to know what dialogue took place before coming to the consensus that "Roti is Culture". I'm pretty sure that if an intervention took place then more likely than not the notion of "roti is culture" would not be publicly uttered.
If she understand the culture that much then she would know how to "crack down" on punctuality without coming across like "colonial master".

This is not a unique or new revelation in T&T sports.
Post by: Storeboy on March 22, 2017, 03:46:30 PM
We need to get over this nonsense about our culture, and we do things this way, blah, blah, blah! What has that given us? This laissez faire attitude and penchant to disrespect time is utter foolishness that has brought us nothing good. What have we won? Nothing! These players need to change their attitude because it only happens when they are in Trinidad. These same players, if they get a foreign contract, can't make those silly excuses and do as they please. So it's all a lot of bull that leads to little success.
Post by: maxg on March 22, 2017, 05:32:48 PM
We need to get over this nonsense about our culture, and we do things this way, blah, blah, blah! What has that given us? This laissez faire attitude and penchant to disrespect time is utter foolishness that has brought us nothing good. What have we won? Nothing! These players need to change their attitude because it only happens when they are in Trinidad. These same players, if they get a foreign contract, can't make those silly excuses and do as they please. So it's all a lot of bull that leads to little success.
although I agree, the transportation system and getting from point A to Point B is definitely not as efficient, though cheaper than in other countries,. So all factors must be considered.
On a less serious note, I in TT, ah padna say he go meet me at a fete by Hasely carnival thursday, the wife drop meh around 10, 2 bands dun play, the man show up at 2 am (3 bands later), I dun drunk..ah say "wha the ass man, I ready to go, ah drunk an ah tired", he lead meh to the car bout ah mile up the road, and say he coming now, he hah to check somebody, around 5 I wake up when the car next to he own pull out, at 6 he come back, head nice, hear he nah.."sorry bout that man, still have another dj to play", and oh he hah to leave this nice ting, buh we go head down south for airgirls(???) all inclusive dayfete, so no sweat".. me with meh Canadian self: "Yuh wha meh f**kin wife to f**kin kill meh reachin home f**kin 7 in the morning and u tellin me bout f**kin airgyul, airgyul go put f**kin food on my table or f**kin keep me warm in that cold ass fkin country, wdmc wrong with allyuh, is 6:30 in the morning"..hear he " oh gorm, dat remind meh meh moms wha see yuh, we go swing by dey in Valsayn for breakfast,call the wifeys from dey, then we go head home,...arite...sorry, sorry" ....I call ah few nex  padnas, and was beggin directions on taking some maxi home, wait for ah bus Friday...well, to make ah long story short, ah reach home bout 7 am Saturday, with the same padna as was supposed to be with, wifey meet we by the gate..he tell she, "gyul traffic was real bad"..vrooom, he gone, an leave me dey to explain...nuttin I could say could sound true...T & T boy ...travel is ah adventure everytime yuh step out yuh door... thank god I old now yes, doh go no way
Post by: MEP on March 22, 2017, 06:03:48 PM
Maxg ---yuh eh realize beforehand that yuh padnah eh change and the beauty about padnahs like dat is when yuh limin wid them is rel fun but they want to lime like dey is still 25 so how yuh solve dat is that you always tell them I go meet you dey.

Post by: soccerman on March 22, 2017, 08:09:06 PM
@ Maxg :rotfl:
Post by: Bakes on March 22, 2017, 10:29:43 PM
...well, to make ah long story short, ah reach home bout 7 am Saturday, with the same padna as was supposed to be with, wifey meet we by the gate..he tell she, "gyul traffic was real bad"..vrooom, he gone, an leave me dey to explain...nuttin I could say could sound true...

Post by: Storeboy on March 23, 2017, 07:29:40 AM
although I agree, the transportation system and getting from point A to Point B is definitely not as efficient, though cheaper than in other countries,. So all factors must be considered.
On a less serious note, I in TT, ah padna say he go meet me at a fete by Hasely carnival thursday, the wife drop meh around 10, 2 bands dun play, the man show up at 2 am (3 bands later), I dun drunk..ah say "wha the ass man, I ready to go, ah drunk an ah tired", he lead meh to the car bout ah mile up the road, and say he coming now, he hah to check somebody, around 5 I wake up when the car next to he own pull out, at 6 he come back, head nice, hear he nah.."sorry bout that man, still have another dj to play", and oh he hah to leave this nice ting, buh we go head down south for airgirls(???) all inclusive dayfete, so no sweat".. me with meh Canadian self: "Yuh wha meh f**kin wife to f**kin kill meh reachin home f**kin 7 in the morning and u tellin me bout f**kin airgyul, airgyul go put f**kin food on my table or f**kin keep me warm in that cold ass fkin country, wdmc wrong with allyuh, is 6:30 in the morning"..hear he " oh gorm, dat remind meh meh moms wha see yuh, we go swing by dey in Valsayn for breakfast,call the wifeys from dey, then we go head home,...arite...sorry, sorry" ....I call ah few nex  padnas, and was beggin directions on taking some maxi home, wait for ah bus Friday...well, to make ah long story short, ah reach home bout 7 am Saturday, with the same padna as was supposed to be with, wifey meet we by the gate..he tell she, "gyul traffic was real bad"..vrooom, he gone, an leave me dey to explain...nuttin I could say could sound true...T & T boy ...travel is ah adventure everytime yuh step out yuh door... thank god I old now yes, doh go no way

Appropriate for limin'! Totally in appropriate professional behavior involving work, school, and official professional appointments whether you live in Trinidad and Tobago or elsewhere. And as I said, even our athletes, when they get a foreign contract, immediately change their attitude or they're done. Nobody puts up with that. So, the geographic location of Trinidad and Tobago is no excuse for irresponsible behavior.  And by the way, if transportation is inefficient, leave home early!
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 23, 2017, 10:05:53 AM

:rotfl: Max that sound adventurous eh but yuh sounding rell geriatric in yuh reactions too.  Is carnival time and yuh limin, once he drive off yuh jess was supposed to walk een normal and either head straight and bathe or fling yuhself in de 1st sorf spot yuh find and sleep. Deal wit she when yuh wake up.  one like me when I wake up I making movements one time.  Any querries will all get discussed after carnival lol
Post by: maxg on March 23, 2017, 11:37:26 AM
Storeboy, yes leave home early, but in an non-professional environment not always that simple. Remember to, these are basically kids or ppl depending on a third party and in many cases not everyone on the same page. National representation, even in foreign, depends on a community, includes parents, friends and concerned citizens. In TT today, I have observed their is definitely a more selfish attitude today, than I have ever observed in the past. Whether due to whatever reasoni.e. the state of the nation,crime, society,lime & party, have and have nots, jealousy, whatever, I don't know...but in a more organized society, there are more things in place to ensure a National athlete receives all possible assistance (whether through, community, sport association or government) to get to wherever the training venue is, and in a healthy body and mind disposition. The rest is the talent. The talent however, is where we are very strong.

Scorpion, I old and I grow up foreign, but at least ah was never 'tie like ah cow in Morvant'  -  dammit, age mehself dey again, ent   :rotfl:
Post by: soccerman on March 23, 2017, 11:58:29 AM
I can't remember us having this type of player/coaching problems under Waldrum, and he's an elite coach in the women's game....guess he understood the culture.
Post by: loyalist on March 23, 2017, 12:10:13 PM
I could say from experience and for argument sake, some females respond better to a male coach. Could be clash of egos. However I'll take the side of the coach in this instance. I could be wrong.
Post by: Mose on March 23, 2017, 01:38:49 PM
I can't remember us having this type of player/coaching problems under Waldrum, and he's an elite coach in the women's game....guess he understood the culture.

Doesn't mean it didn't happen. It may have been dealt with before it got out of hand, however.

I do remember reading on here somewhere though that Don Leo sent Yorke home with a "Get the f*ck out of here"  when he showed up late for a practice one time and no one accused him of not understanding the culture, or told him he'd have to adjust his approach. On the contrary it helped to bring the team together because they saw that "no one" was above the rules.
Post by: maxg on March 23, 2017, 03:21:00 PM
Look we just chattin eh, but I sure is not all bout being late...bet it have something to do with communication and tone as well- if I know that lady..As I tell my son, sometimes yuh just have to suck it up, even if it hard to swallow, and do what it takes to get where yuh want to go..if you realizing, what yuh doing won't get yuh there, then ring the bell, and get off dat bus..but don't jump off the bus while it moving and nobody else not complaining, yuh might only hurt yuhself and don't get off in the middle of nowhere, and yuh more lorse than ever.. Communicate with everyone, the other passengers and the driver, even shout out to ppl on the road asking for directions, and if an agreement or reassurance cannot be reached or met, yuh wish everybody luck and get off at the next decent rest stop. No hard feelings, everybody good. Doh yuh still neither home nor your destination, but at least yuh made yuh choice.
Post by: Mose on March 24, 2017, 08:16:26 AM
Look we just chattin eh, but I sure is not all bout being late...bet it have something to do with communication and tone as well- if I know that lady..As I tell my son, sometimes yuh just have to suck it up, even if it hard to swallow, and do what it takes to get where yuh want to go..if you realizing, what yuh doing won't get yuh there, then ring the bell, and get off dat bus..but don't jump off the bus while it moving and nobody else not complaining, yuh might only hurt yuhself and don't get off in the middle of nowhere, and yuh more lorse than ever.. Communicate with everyone, the other passengers and the driver, even shout out to ppl on the road asking for directions, and if an agreement or reassurance cannot be reached or met, yuh wish everybody luck and get off at the next decent rest stop. No hard feelings, everybody good. Doh yuh still neither home nor your destination, but at least yuh made yuh choice.

And an informed one at that!  :beermug:
Post by: maxg on March 24, 2017, 11:33:20 AM

And an informed one at that!  :beermug:
Btw MrsG sent me a Blog by a Mz Baboolal

http://sharmainbaboolal.blogspot.ca/2017/03/messy-morace-working-with-sht.html?spref=tw&m=1

Messy Morace: Working With "Sheet".
By Sharmain Baboolal (iBlog).

Taking the Warriors out of TT football

If it was a prison in Canada, it is slavery in Trinidad conducted by a  woman who was imported- along with her dog and cat- into this Banana Republic where she is being treated like a Tin God.

Deservedly so, based on her impressive resume and brilliant football mind, Carolina Morace is a long overdue gift to the Women Warriors.

Sadly, the Italian Hall of Famer was  never fully investigated before she was hired by the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA). Her last stint as a national coach was in 2012 in Canada where she left  football scars caused by an “aggressive Italian regime” which turned  that country’s World Cup adventure into a “micro managing prison camp,” according to a report in the Toronto Sun.

After just eight weeks  in T&T, her impressive resume is a distant memory as her new found reputation, from all reports, includes “verbal abuse”, “disrespect” and “nightmare” as the newly appointed Technical Director of Women’s Football  tries to get a grip on her first Third World assignment.

Yes, she insists all is good in her camp.

Why did she settle for  coaching T&T, not even considered a CONCACAF powerhouse? That’s a question which only Morace can answer.

Three  cornerstones of the current Women's football  have  walked away, hanging up their boots. Though fit and match ready they are broken hearted.

The trio, captain Maylee Attin Johnson, Ahkeela Mollon and Kennya Cordner, in their respective rights are leaders who fought with their lives  as part of the history making Women Warriors team that united T&T  in 2015, setting the foundation for Morace’s appointment in Trinidad.

Already attempts are being made to smear their characters in favor of the Italian whom, informed sources say, seems to be creating alliances in Trinidad and Tobago to impose her own culture.

What role is there for the  VP of the TTFA, Joanne Salazar, to whom  Morace has aligned herself, in a move which is transparent to the players.

Therefore, is Morace's relationship  with the TTFA evolving  in a way that she does not want her coaching to interfered with?  Everybody is beginning to ‘fraid Morace,” as she has them  all believing that they are less-than-professional.

Among the first to be sidelined, unofficially, of course, is  the TTFA’s Coordinator of Technical Programmes Jamal Shabazz, who shut down the discussion when I called him.

“We have a working relationship, I do what is necessary to get the job done. I do not have to interact with her a great deal, but I do go to watch the players,” Shabazz  deadpanned  refusing to acknowledge that Morace clearly does not speak with him and there is obvious tension when they relate.

But has he heard of complaints from both staff and players?

“It is not my jurisdiction,” he answered, adding “I don’t fit into the equation.

“I read  about what transpired and it is unfortunate that the situation has reached to that,” he said, refusing further questions.

“There is time for the matter to be resolved, I trust that the Technical Director, Muhammed Isa, will get a total feedback and I will know what happened eventually,” Shabazz ended.

The main bone of contention, at this time, is Captain Maylee, described as a woman with strong opinions  but all in the interest of the team and the program and  one who has fought with her life.

Highly respected by her team mates, Maylee  clearly sets her  standards for  respect.  Attin Johnson untied her laces  obviously walking  away from further confrontation which seemed imminent given Morace’’s blunt and demoralizing disrespect.

Football trumps all. By the time  Morace started her stint in Trinidad, all the Women Warriors were lining up to give up two and half years of their life for the experience, not knowing what they signed up for.

Described by those who know as a woman with a “tendency to  burn her bridges,” Morace’s most often used  phrase in training at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium has been “This is sheet,” the last word being her pronunciation of “shit”.

With that, in a few weeks all Trinbagonians- players and staff - are thinking that she has turned her back on her declaration at a news conference in Port of Spain “We are more open. What we want to do is put our experience into place but at the same time we have to match with your culture .For a good system the two  cultures  have to match”.

This is how it is being dismantled; The core of the  Women Warriors team are players who have been through the US College system. Almost all college based players were home for the Christmas holidays and returned  stateside in mid January.

Not having played a game since November, they were summoned  back a couple of weeks after they returned, at great expense ,to the TTFA, for a one week assessment by Morace.

“She did not even put them into a game situation, but had them do simple drills and passes and summed it all up as “sheet,” another source explained, sad about how demoralized the girls seemed after their encounter with the Italian. “The College players were told their technique is bad - they were not fit enough to be on a National team.

“Khadidra Debisette, who has played at the national level for several years- left a meeting literally crying,” returning to the US with the hopes of once again playing for the national team dashed.

"In front of everyone, she declared that the College system is crap, telling them they would be worse off as players.“

Is it professional to be disrespectful? “She has all the knowledge but is a dictator,” my source explained.

“Next to go was Ahkeela Mollon who was fit and ready and  turning a blind eye to the negative criticism that became a hallmark of training sessions on the field from 6pm to 8pm, after which the players stretched and had ice baths where necessary, before leaving for home in various parts of Trinidad.

“Thinking of her safety, Mollon who lives in Longdenville, on the border line with  Enterprise  asked  her Manager for the ice baths to be taken at home,” my source said.

“The Coach responded with a loud comment across the field ‘ Why do they even come out of their houses?” mocking the  clear and present danger posed by crime.

“One day later two men were shot and killed a  stone’s throw from Mollon’s home. One year earlier she ducked gunshots as she made her way home from training.

Morace, incidentally, lives in South Trinidad- not far from where her team trains at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium which is the base for the women football programme.

“She came here to be a mentor, but now  the players are clearly suffering, players  are low on self esteem, they need  help.

‘She walks around the field and pinches people, telling them they’re too fat,” my source said.

The women who have been exposed to international coaches and training in the US and in Europe  have never experienced someone like the Italian, whom they say is “running amok” with no one to control her.

For the sake of professionalism, this woman who signed up to work in a Third World country, handed it to the TTFA again, when she showed up in Tobago  earlier this month to try out players for the National Team.

“The field was not marked and she left the 40 innocent players stranded as she made an about turn with her technical staff and returned to Trinidad.

‘It is commendable  that she stood up for professionalism, holding up the bar for the TTFA, but was there another way to go about it?

“There is no indication that she  truly cares about reform and pointing in the right direction.

“There are some girls in training who do not have food, or even a roof over their heads, the players work with each other to make it to training  and it’s  far worse than boot camp,” my source added.

“If indeed it is all that bad in Trinidad, where even the coaches are “sheet”, I feel sorry for her, after all,” a veteran T&T footballer said, weighing in on the discussion.

“Because of her resume she is obviously coaching down, this was not a lateral move, so it begs the question: What did the TTFA offer her?

“There are cases where women coaches believe they must behave worse than men in order to get the job done,.

“But you don’t get respect by shouting down people. You must treat people like people.

‘It is clear she left Canada with a bad taste  and remember most Canadians came out of the  US College system,” he added.

“These girls here are not  gonna learn to play the short passing, that is not our style and we cannot even  get the men to play that way,” he noted.

“Morace is yet to show that she can merge the cultures, because clearly she has no respect for our culture,” he ended, with a sigh.

What appeared to be one step forward for women’s football in T&T is turning out to be another nightmare.

Especially for the footballers who grabbed at the opportunity having been left unattended since 2014, until Morace appeared.

It appears that TTFA President David John-Williams  was so eager and enthusiastic to make a statement because of the pressure he was getting for his leadership, he wanted a high profile coach.

They clearly did not take time to get someone to come in and understand the culture. Just as the Toronto Sun reported, she worked on taking the Canadian out of  Canada’s team, so too, she is well on her way to removing all warriors from the T&T’s women football.

Post by: soccerman on March 24, 2017, 11:52:14 AM
We hire a drill sergeant....Major Payne-Morace :salute:
Post by: Mose on March 24, 2017, 01:42:41 PM
IF that is true then she need to follow Saint Fiet!!
Post by: lefty on March 24, 2017, 01:44:38 PM
We hire a drill sergeant....Major Payne-Morace :salute:

nah dread demanding quality and respect is one thing complete beast treatment is completely different.....how come dat team was flyin, fit and ready under waldrun with no talk of abuse ever being aired......is we colonial mindset dat does have we believing d bes boss is d jackass boss.......and no sexism intended buh female jackass bosses is d wuss kinda jackass boss, 'cause dey have dat ting to prove chip on dey shoulder
Post by: MEP on March 24, 2017, 03:28:03 PM
weren't you one of those who was touting her accomplishments and saying that she'd be a good fit?????? just to remind you....
Post by: Flex on March 25, 2017, 03:41:12 PM
Morace: My players have smiles on their faces; W/Warriors coach plays down absences.
Wired868.Com.

“First of all, here the mood is good because we are in a beautiful hotel and it’s the first time that the players are staying together since we began training,” Trinidad and Tobago Women’s National Senior Team head coach Carolina Morace told the TTFA Media. “We are doing some team building that helps the players to get to know each other better and they are appreciative of that.”

If there was any fallout from the abrupt departures of former captain Maylee Attin-Johnson, talented winger Ahkeela Mollon and three-time Player of the Year Kennya “Yaya” Cordner, Morace did not hint at it as she painted a rosy picture of her current team camp.

The Women Soca Warriors face Venezuela from 4pm on Sunday at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva for their first international affair under the high profile Italian coach.

The suspensions of Attin-Johnson and Cordner, which followed Mollon’s self-imposed exile, caused some disquiet among local football fans. And there were fingers pointed towards Morace’s sometimes fractious relationship with players during a previous stint as Canada coach.

In response, Morace depicted her team camp as a love fest.

“It’s good to see them all day—and all speaking and laughing together,” said Morace. “That is a very good thing. I am happy about that because a team actually becomes a team when the players to come everyday to the field with a smile and to want to come to us coaches and enjoy the training.

“I was a player before so I know how important it is for the player to have a lot of involvement. They play because they play for each other, they are friends on the field and they want to represent the country in the best way possible.”

The Women Warriors have the benefit of an unprecedented two and a half year programme leading up to the France 2019 World Cup. It is likely to be an easier journey if the coach has Cordner, Mollon and Attin-Johnson on her side.

But, for now, Morace is focusing on the players in her camp. And she says they are getting better.

“The players are looking forward to this match just as a verification to see where they are at […] and to see where we are at,” said Morace. “It’s normal that the players training with us everyday will know better about the movement that I want from them but also the players who are now joining us I can see they are very focused also.

“It is important that they understand the need for that.”

The Italian coach suggested that the Warriors have not yet attained the physical levels necessary to implement her preferred style of play. However, she insisted that the players and staff are anxious to gauge their progress against Venezuela.

“We are working on timing, on ball possession and how we must play when we have the ball and, in non-ball possession, we will play zonal,” she said. “Of course the coaches before may have had a different style. We will try to have strong team in defence when we do not have the ball and then be ready to attack when we are in possession of the ball.

“We know that we are not in the best physical condition right now, so we have to decide if we have to attack high or whether it’s better in an intermediate way. Our staff is working hard in the camp every day to have the players ready. We are all curious and all excited to play these two games.”

Trinidad and Tobago and Venezuela meet from 4pm on Sunday and then from 7pm on Wednesday 29 March at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

Tickets cost TT$100 (covered) and TT$50 (uncovered) and will be sold at the match venue on game day.

Post by: Mose on March 27, 2017, 08:44:30 AM
weren't you one of those who was touting her accomplishments and saying that she'd be a good fit?????? just to remind you....

No need to remind me as I haven't forgotten, however, I'm pretty sure I never said "she'd be a good fit". If I did then I'll be the first to put up mih and hand and say "My bad, ah make a out dey!" I felt she was a good coach based on her achievements and I felt some fellas was unfairly crying down her achievements. I believe in the program that was put in place and what it's attempting to achieve. Many of us on here have been asking for exactly that.  The woman has solid credentials and I feel she deserved a chance to put her program in place and see what she could achieve. If it work great, if not, so long. This should not be surprising.

Also, I have no problem with a coach demanding excellence and professionalism from their players, however, I do take issue with a coach who regularly denigrates their players. I doh put up with that. And that's why I said "if it's true she needs to go". We doh need that! I'm also aware that there is a fine line between criticism and denigration. So, I'm hoping that this was more a misunderstanding and that something can be done to resolve the situation for the better of the Women's program. If, however, there's no misunderstanding and she's in the wrong... well, I said it already!

Just to clarify!

Post by: Socapro on March 27, 2017, 09:47:02 AM

No need to remind me as I haven't forgotten, however, I'm pretty sure I never said "she'd be a good fit". If I did then I'll be the first to put up mih and hand and say "My bad, ah make a out dey!" I felt she was a good coach based on her achievements and I felt some fellas was unfairly crying down her achievements. I believe in the program that was put in place and what it's attempting to achieve. Many of us on here have been asking for exactly that.  The woman has solid credentials and I feel she deserved a chance to put her program in place and see what she could achieve. If it work great, if not, so long. This should not be surprising.

Also, I have no problem with a coach demanding excellence and professionalism from their players, however, I do take issue with a coach who regularly denigrates their players. I doh put up with that. And that's why I said "if it's true she needs to go". We doh need that! I'm also aware that there is a fine line between criticism and denigration. So, I'm hoping that this was more a misunderstanding and that something can be done to resolve the situation for the better of the Women's program. If, however, there's no misunderstanding and she's in the wrong... well, I said it already!

Just to clarify!

:thumbsup:
Title: MORACE'S POST-MATCH COMMENTS AFTER 0-0 DRAW WITH VENEZUELA
Post by: Socapro on March 27, 2017, 09:50:06 AM
MORACE'S POST-MATCH COMMENTS AFTER 0-0 DRAW WITH VENEZUELA
Trinidad & Tobago Football Association
Published on 26 Mar 2017

T&T Senior Women's Head Coach Carolina Morace speaks after 0-0 draw with Venezuela in international friendly at Ato Boldon Stadium on Sunday - TTFA Media TV

https://www.youtube.com/v/-SUaw8aS5M4
Post by: kounty on March 27, 2017, 10:33:47 AM
Good job by the president showing up [even a broken clock is right twice a day]. I wish these warriors the best. Hang in there for the nation please. we support you 100%. I think the lady have a lot to teach [i don't think anybody denying that] that will irreversibly lift the program to a top level. even after she is gone the physios, players and all the staff around will know what top is about. the only sad part is that it is on the backs of these current players, so is good for people like the president to pop in and show the ladies our support [fans could show it too]. I think she will soften too when she see how we love up we women [and don't think of them like ironmen].
Post by: maxg on March 27, 2017, 01:43:45 PM
Excellent questions Shaun
Post by: asylumseeker on March 29, 2017, 06:46:04 AM
Apparently the players were prohibited from attending the men's match last night.
Post by: Flex on July 17, 2017, 03:23:43 AM
Non-payment of salaries by TTFA...Morace and staff hit the exit.
T&T Guardian Reports.

T&T’s Italian head coach of women’s football Carolina Morace is abandoning the once-promising local women’s programme, reportedly over three and a half month’s unpaid wages.

Reports are that Morace’s contract and those of her entire staff were “terminated by just cause,” and a letter with indication of that was sent to the T&T Football Association (TTFA) some time late last week. Morace broke the news to her players and local staff on Friday.

When contacted yesterday, TTFA communications manager Shaun Fuentes told Guardian Media Sports that the association’s president David John Williams has declined comment on the matter until he has been properly advised and met with the FA’s board of directors. Fuentes said an official statement would be made within the coming week.

The highly-qualified Morace was brought into the position with much fanfare along with a cadre of her own hand-picked coaches on December 7, 2016, including fellow Italians Manuela Tessa who has also since walked away from the job as head coach of the under 17 team and Elisabetta Bavagnoli. Morace also employed Englishwoman Nicola Williams as her senior team assistant and under 20 head coach. The quartet of coaches officially started duties in February of this year.

Williams (N) told Guardian Media Sports yesterday: “It was not something that we wanted to do, but rather something that we had to do.”

“We kept on giving them notice of the non-payment of salaries until we decided to give the TTFA a period of 15 days to pay, but they still did not respond, so we did what we had to do. It is sad.” Williams explained.

She made it clear however that their decision will now be followed by legal actions to recover the monies owed to them.

John Williams, when asked in March, told the media that monies to pay for the Women’s programme would come from the CONCACAF subvention and boasted of his administration’s prudent management of funds received from the world governing body for football—FIFA.

One source close to the women’s programme, speaking to Guardian Media Sports under the condition of strict anonimity hoped that there is an alternative resolution, saying: “At this time it is (beyond reconciliation) and I don’t know if the authorities could or if they want to reconcile.

“ I think Carolina is very open because it is not something that they want to do but because of circumstances, they are forced to.”

The departure of the overseas-based coaches has thrown the women’s programme into disarray with the T&T U-17s due to kick off their campaign in the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Qualifiers at the end of August and the country to host the U-20 CONCACAF Qualifiers in January.

The Guardian Media Sports source added: “When they told the team, I don’t think there was a dry eye in the room including them. That is to tell you how hard it was to make the decision. She does not want to leave.”

Morace is a former Italy international player and coached Canada’s senior women’s team at the 2011 World Cup and also holds a law degree.

Her previous job before coming to T&T was as Technical Director Men’s National Premier League Club Floreat Athena FC in Western Australia.

RELATED NEWS

TTFA mum on departure of women’s coach Morace.
T&T Newsday Reports.

THE TRINIDAD and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) are remaining mum on a report on local sports website Wired 868, which stated that Italian- born Carolina Morace has left her roles as both coach of the national women’s team and head of the TT Women’s Team Programme.

“There is nothing further to say, so you’ll have to go with whatever you have,” said TTFA director of communications Shaun Fuentes, when contacted for a comment last evening.

“The TTFA (are) unable to comment on that matter at this time.” According to the report, Morace allegedly informed the TT FA on Friday that she was leaving her post after six months, apparently over a lack of payment of salaries for herself and her assistant, English-born Australian Nicola Williams.

In January, at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva, the TTFA announced a new coaching regime for the women’s team, headed by Morace, and including Williams, Elisabetta Bavagnoli and Manuela Tesse.

However, Bavagnoli and Tesse quit their roles a couple months later, while Morace and Williams have decided to leave their posts.

TTFA president David John-Williams and general secretary Justin Latapy-George were unavailable for comment yesterday.

Post by: Sam on July 17, 2017, 01:48:12 PM
Shameless. I just Jamaal Shabaaz and he wife go be coach now.

Just now Dennis Lawrence go walk to and Stuart Charles Forever go be coach and assisted by Latapy and Lewis

By to Jack Warner days.

Post by: Trini _2026 on July 17, 2017, 06:54:01 PM
Shameless. I just Jamaal Shabaaz and he wife go be coach now.

Just now Dennis Lawrence go walk to and Stuart Charles Forever go be coach and assisted by Latapy and Lewis

By to Jack Warner days.

Dennis Lawrence i wonder .. does he get paid also ??/
Post by: Storeboy on July 18, 2017, 12:03:26 PM
This is the same nonsense over and over and over again. Do we have anybody with business savvy, commonsense on financial issues and who could do accounting?
This is insane.  If we don't have money why write contracts!
Post by: royal on July 18, 2017, 04:19:05 PM
Shabazz is de new coach .... all de teams  :banginghead: