Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on December 12, 2016, 04:44:11 PM

Title: Saintfiet engages discussion with players
Post by: Tallman on December 12, 2016, 04:44:11 PM
Saintfiet engages discussion with players
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago Senior Men’s Team head coach Tom Saintfiet has been in the country for a week now and held his first meeting with a few of this country’s overseas-based professionals who are currently in the country.

Saintfiet will conduct his first training session on Thursday at the start of a non-residential camp before switching to a residential camp ahead of the team’s departure for Nicaragua for two international friendlies against that country’s senior national team on December 27th and 30th.

Saintfiet described the meeting as important and well received ahead of the preparations. He also previously spoke to team captain Kenwyne Jones and Russian-based defender Sheldon Bateau and Khaleem Hyland.

“I had a meeting today with few of the professional players from overseas and of course some of the others were excused because they are still with their respective clubs. The idea behind this was to have a brief introduction and to explain to them what the programme will be like over the short holiday period ahead of these upcoming matches,” Saintfiet told TTFA Media.

“I was able to introduce myself and talk about my plans for the next few weeks. It was a fruitful meeting and we are looking forward to starting camp later this week, first a non-residential camp and then next week we will change to a residential camp before heading off to Nicaragua,” he added.

“I am here now for a week and the last few days I have had the chance to see a few games in the local Pro League and also the National Super League which has allowed me to get a better impression of the local game and also the country on a whole.

“I’ve had many discussions with some of the local coaches and members involved in local football and all these things will help me become better prepared for the preparation phase of the team leading up to the qualifying matches in January and March,” stated Saintfiet who attended Monday’s “Big Four” final between Naparima College and Presentation College, San Fernando and the Pro League fixture between W Connection and Central FC at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

Among the players who met with Saintfiet on Monday was Estonian-based defender Randanfah Abu Bakr who is currently back home on a break. He spoke about the discussion with Saintfiet.

“It was brief and I thought it went well. He basically re-introduced himself to us and outlined his qualifications and even shared some of his more personal background information,” Abu Bakr said.

“Within that he dispelled some of the (negative) rhetoric that has been circulating about him. He seemed to have a pretty good idea about us in terms of where we play and played and described himself as a disciplinarian. At the same time he appears very personable, positive and optimistic,” the former Denmark-based defender added.

“The meeting was interactive. He did invite opinions, questions, feedback and ideas about, for example, the scheduling of our training camp for the upcoming friendlies and Gold Cup playoff games considering it’s a holiday period. He emphasised finding a balance between allowing guys their family time and putting in the necessary work to get the results . He’s clearly ambitious and said he’s looking forward to working with the group,” Abu Bakr concluded.
Title: Re: Saintfiet engages discussion with players
Post by: Controversial on December 12, 2016, 11:11:28 PM
So reiterating you are disciplinarian is aimed at achieving what exactly?

Hart summed it up best, don't stifle the players because they will not respond to that and rebel... you have to have the ability to reason with these young men who are trinis... Hart understood that intimately, this joker doesn't, because from the jump he's already creating a divide with his poor use of language.. understanding a culture takes more than a few months...

TTFA and Mccartyism...
Title: Saintfiet gets the ball rolling
Post by: Tallman on December 16, 2016, 07:36:43 PM
Saintfiet gets the ball rolling
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s Men Senior Team head coach Tom Saintfiet got the ball rolling in his new position as he oversaw the first couple sessions at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Thursday evening and then on Friday morning at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium.

Among those training under Saintfiet on Thursday was Orlando City midfielder Kevin Molino, US-based players Aubrey David, Mekeil Williams, Cordell Cato, Estonian-based Radanfah Abu Bakr, Mexican-based duo Jomal Williams and Shahdon Winchester and veteran Carlos Edwards among the twenty four players who showed up on Friday. Not training was Central FC duo Jan Michael Williams, Sean De Silva and Nathaniel Garcia due to club matters.

Russian-based defender Sheldon Bateau was not in attendance as he is out of the country, so too Joevin Jones.

Saintfiet will go into the two international friendlies against Nicaragua on December 27th and 30th without the services of Bateau and Belgian-based midfielder Khaleem Hyland as the clubs of both players have indicated that they would not be released for the matches which are not being played inside of a FIFA international window. Local-based Elton John has been added to the training squad which will be trimmed next week when the team goes into a residential camp.

Saintfiet was in good spirits after his first session, saying he was pleased with the commitment shown by the players involved. He held a brief discussion with the members present before the beginning of the session which went for just over an hour.

“It’s a good start. I know the players have to go still to their clubs and for me it was the first contact with the players and I am quite happy with the commitment of the players,” Saintfiet told TTFA Media.

“I was very happy that we had a big group of players here. I felt a huge commitment of the guys with a good atmosphere. For me the connection between coach and players, staff and players is very important.

“ A national team coach has not so much influence on the physical part of the players because I train normally only five days, maybe a little bit longer with the group. We don’t have so much influence on the technical part because making players better takes much more time. My biggest influence can be tactically and psychologically and I think if you play for the national team it has to be first of all an honour to be selected,” he said.

He touched on what his selection will be based on, saying “I try to always play with the quality we have compared to the opponent because if we have good quality but the opponent has better quality then our quality is not so good as our opponent so I have to choose my tactic.

“In this situation I came to the country which had this year maybe not such a good year, two victories over St Vincent and the Grenadines and one against Dominican Republic, the only victories in 2016 so my first aim is to try to get a tactic to get points. Maybe it is not the most attractive tactic but playing good and losing 4-3 doesn’t bring anything at this moment. We need results immediately for sure against Suriname and Haiti so my tactical choice would result oriented based on our quality compared to the opponent,” Saintfiet added.

And the commitment of everyone involved will be a major factor during his tenure at the helm of the Senior Men’s Team.

“We have 1.3 million and only eleven people will stand in the middle of the stadium and listen to the national anthem and only 22 or 23 players will be selected. I want players who feel committed to the team and the country and I feel responsible for that. We need to create a group of players who are ready to battle, to fight. I always say national team is a modern type of army in war to fight against another country and we need players who will fight for their country because we have to go to the Gold Cup and then to the World Cup. That was very important for me today and I noticed a group of players who are committed and happy to be here and that’s a good start,” Saintfiet stated.
Title: Re: Saintfiet gets the ball rolling
Post by: MEP on December 17, 2016, 06:27:42 AM
Not training was Central FC duo Jan Michael Williams, Sean De Silva and Nathaniel Garcia due to club matters.
Dumb asses can't even proof their press release

“I try to always play with the quality we have compared to the opponent because if we have good quality but the opponent has better quality then our quality is not so good as our opponent so I have to choose my tactic.

What?????
Post by: ribbit on December 17, 2016, 10:09:48 AM
Not training was Central FC duo Jan Michael Williams, Sean De Silva and Nathaniel Garcia due to club matters.

“I try to always play with the quality we have compared to the opponent because if we have good quality but the opponent has better quality then our quality is not so good as our opponent so I have to choose my tactic.

What?????

I think he saying selection base on whether the player can implement his tactics even if they are better footballers. A nod to KJ?
Post by: Tobago28 on December 17, 2016, 10:27:02 AM

What?????

It's not worth dissecting the high level of ignorance about football in that statement.

We got rid of a class act like HART, for this ASS!
Post by: frico on December 17, 2016, 11:08:57 AM
Sanfiet will surprise many people.
Post by: ribbit on December 17, 2016, 11:37:41 AM

well, who will run better:

hart w/o the holdouts or sainfiet a full strength team?
Post by: Controversial on December 17, 2016, 11:49:29 AM

What?????

It's not worth dissecting the high level of ignorance about football in that statement.

SanThief head...

You buying that rubbish.. he think men dotish, you think he could spin that nonsense in Belgium? LoL

He's a damn puppet for those liars ... after David John was elected the players almost striked, which made us lose against Haiti and everything went downhill because of these snakes, now they sending some puppet to fool people

Post by: pull stones on December 17, 2016, 12:50:47 PM

What?????

SanThief head...

You buying that rubbish.. he think men dotish, you think he could spin that nonsense in Belgium? LoL

He's a damn puppet for those liars ... after David John was elected the players almost striked, which made us lose against Haiti and everything went downhill because of these snakes, now they sending some puppet to fool people

yes hart was a class act but he lost the plot. Somewhere along the line hart lost the dressing room with players like Cyrus and molino of whom I still believe conspired along with people like babwa shabazz and CO to get rid off the coach, of which I always maintain to this day that keron cummings shooting was a hit called by someone who wanted us to lose to haiti. yes I know I am beginning to sound a bit like controversial but DJW had it in for hart from day one.

As for him surprising people, well that would be a refreshing change after all the pot luck we had since DJW took over from timkee.
Post by: Tobago28 on December 17, 2016, 02:11:42 PM
[/quote

Frico you will be surprised how Frikking worse it has gotten. No Gold Cup Nor Russia with Saintfeit
Post by: Controversial on December 17, 2016, 02:29:41 PM

What?????

SanThief head...

yes hart was a class act but he lost the plot. Somewhere along the line hart lost the dressing room with players like Cyrus and molino of whom I still believe conspired along with people like babwa shabazz and CO to get rid off the coach, of which I always maintain to this day that keron cummings shooting was a hit called by someone who wanted us to lose to haiti. yes I know I am beginning to sound a bit like controversial but DJW had it in for hart from day one.

As for him surprising people, well that would be a refreshing change after all the pot luck we had since DJW took over from timkee.

If your player gets shot and you have Dictator breathing down your neck, you would lose the plot somewhat... :D

Come on brother... you know things are nefarious and yet you think it's all Hart losing the dressing room.. that's rubbish
Post by: congo on December 17, 2016, 04:15:02 PM
Since when players like Molino or Cyrus could influence a dressing room? We really giving these players more props than they deserve.  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

In what country/club can a player of Molino's or Cryrus' "pedigree" cause a coach to lose his wuk. Steupss...If that really is the case then we in deeper mess than we realise
Post by: Controversial on December 17, 2016, 04:34:18 PM
Since when players like Molino or Cyrus could influence a dressing room? We really giving these players more props than they deserve.  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

In what country/club can a player of Molino's or Cryrus' "pedigree" cause a coach to lose his wuk. Steupss...If that really is the case then we in deeper mess than we realise

He said conspired with the dictator and Shabazz, so he wasn't assuming it was a solitary effort, more like a group effort, with Cyrus he's under the dictator, who pays his bills, so that's an easy fix... Molino probably has aspirations to be captain
Post by: pull stones on December 17, 2016, 11:56:50 PM

i guess it was also very funny when babwa a long standing team doctor made up a vicious lie in order to make it easier to have hart dismissed, even turning in his resignation in the process.

As for molino and cyrus, daniel Cyrus played in our last 9 international matches and has played a part in almost every goal we conceded and in some cases he baffled commentators on his lack of awareness.

same for molino, this bloke broke camp twice and on the eve of major must win games. was it possible that he had his beefs with coach hart and wanted him gone? read molino's tweet when he claimed that he would be back on the team with hart or another coach and this was way before we played our first game in the hex, tell us then how did he know that there was another coach on the horizon? think mate think.
Post by: frico on December 18, 2016, 11:03:50 AM
I think Sanfiet talks a good talk and things could just take a different direction now,anything apart form a loss in the 2 matches at home,will be an improvement.
Bonne parole Monsieur Sanfiet
Post by: Controversial on December 18, 2016, 01:01:50 PM

i guess it was also very funny when babwa a long standing team doctor made up a vicious lie in order to make it easier to have hart dismissed, even turning in his resignation in the process.

As for molino and cyrus, daniel Cyrus played in our last 9 international matches and has played a part in almost every goal we conceded and in some cases he baffled commentators on his lack of awareness.

same for molino, this bloke broke camp twice and on the eve of major must win games. was it possible that he had his beefs with coach hart and wanted him gone? read molino's tweet when he claimed that he would be back on the team with hart or another coach and this was way before we played our first game in the hex, tell us then how did he know that there was another coach on the horizon? think mate think.

Good point, didn't know that was his tweet, I guess David john got to him as well before... interesting as I never paid attention to his tweets
Post by: congo on December 18, 2016, 04:55:10 PM
All I am saying is that we have reached a stage where a player like Molino could disrupt a dressing room. Molino aint no Yorke or Latapy. Them boys a couple games away from ending right back in the pro league...Heaven help us

Who next? Peltier/Corn Curls? LMAO
Post by: Controversial on December 18, 2016, 08:49:47 PM
All I am saying is that we have reached a stage where a player like Molino could disrupt a dressing room. Molino aint no Yorke or Latapy. Them boys a couple games away from ending right back in the pro league...Heaven help us

Who next? Peltier/Corn Curls? LMAO

Dissent is dissent, a defender and one of our brightest young mids can create a problem when you have a cohesive unit...

You may say he's nothing, but that disregard could be what created our downfall from within... never underestimate someone
Post by: Flex on December 20, 2016, 07:43:51 AM
Saintfiet, Central FC stand-off continues.
By Joel Bailey (Newsday).

MIDFIELDER Sean De Silva is set for a two week long layoff, after allegedly sustaining a groin injury during a national team training session at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium, Marabella.

De Silva’s Central FC teammates - goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams and midfielder Nathaniel Garcia, may be denied selection from the national team for next week’s international friendlies away to Nicaragua (on December 27 and 30). Central FC’s owner Brent Sancho, last Friday, revealed that he was told in no uncertain terms from Trinidad and Tobago team coach Tom Saintfiet that the trio had to participate in the training camp in order to merit selection.

Sancho fumed that the players were being forced to skip club duties for a camp, and matches, that do not fall on FIFA match dates.

The former T&T defender and Minister of Sport, in a telephone interview yesterday, stated that the trio were involved in a national team training session yesterday morning at Marabella.

“They trained Saturday, Sunday and Monday,” said Sancho. “My players were told that they have to go and train. Apparently they were told that if they play in the game (today for Central FC against Morvant Caledonia United), they’ll be dropped from the squad.”

Asked if Saintfiet’s directive will be strictly for the Central FC trio or the other Pro League players involved in the TT team training, Sancho replied, “it’s left to be seen what is the mandate for the other players. But he told the Central FC players that if they play, that they’ll be dropped from the squad.”

Sancho continued, “as I said earlier, no coach should be saying these kinds of things to their players. This is a man that’s trying to hold a training camp and (the games) are outside of FIFA dates. I’m absolutely flabbergasted that he’s carrying on in such a manner.

“We’ve tried to contact the management team but they’ve never returned my calls, never answered my calls. So it’s either their way or the highway.” There are Pro League matches today and Friday, and Sancho insists that he will like to have his players, particularly Williams and Garcia, available for domestic matches this week.

“Central’s position remains (the same),” stressed Sancho. “We have injuries, we have suspensions (to deal with). All we’re asking, and I’ll go back to the original letter we sent on Tuesday asking for some level of discussion where the coach can have an understanding of our position. We have allowed them to train Saturday and Sunday, and even (yesterday), the day before the game.

“We’re not acting in bad faith at all,” Sancho added.

“We’ve shown that we’ve acted in very good faith. But it’s the coach, and the Association, have given no response to say ‘look we understand your situation’.

You really have to question what is their motive. Is it really to select the best team to go to Nicaragua or is it to prove some sort of point that is not there? I don’t understand, I really am baffled. This is the first time, since the club is existing, that we’ve ran into this kind of situation.”

Manager Azaad Khan, commenting on the situation yesterday, remarked: “Remember at the end of the day the coach is in charge.” He added: “Talk to him (Saintfiet) and hear what he says.”

Efforts to reach Saintfiet up to press time proved futile as the TTFA press officer indicated he was resting.

Post by: palos on December 20, 2016, 12:14:26 PM
Interesting

Which team stands to benefit from Central FC missing players in these last few matches?

The team that is 2nd in the standings perhaps?
Post by: Errol on December 21, 2016, 12:39:56 PM
If I was Saintfiet, I would not pick any Central FC players going forward.

Sancho is a fool as always, for a former player he is really a idiot.

Central could benefit greatly from having their players play for the national team.

Saintfiet and the TTFA was willing to work with Central but Sancho thinks he is a big time manager in England.

Never liked him, even when he was MoS, what a fool he turned out to be.

If was me, I would forced him to beg the TTFA to pick his players.

Post by: Errol on December 21, 2016, 12:44:09 PM
Tom checks in with SWO; new coach vows to turn things around
INSHAN MOHAMMED    CREATED: 13 DECEMBER 2016

Saintfiet - I am a proud 'Soca Warrior.'

Soca Warriors Online (SWO) recently caught up with journeyman and T&T's new head coach Mr. Tom Saintfiet who seemed passionate and ready for the rugged road lying ahead despite the TTFA's ultimatum.

Tom Saintfiet was hired on a short-term contract as a replacement for former head coach Stephen Hart. What is really facetious is that Saintfiet's ultimatum from his new employers was quite forthright and predispose, “Win the next two World Cup games or you're out.”

After, speaking with the 43-year old one thing definitely stood-out. He seemed desirous to prove his critics wrong, win over the supporters and ready to tackle the dark unknown quest which awaits.

While not getting carried away, Saintfiet recognises that it will not be an easy assignment. However, he feels that his experience as a player and a coach as well as his decorated curriculum vitae will play a pivotal role and pull him through in the end.

Tom meanwhile, is a man of many languages which includes; Dutch, English, French, German, Faroese and basic knowledge of Arabic, Afrikaans and Spanish.

http://www.socawarriors.net/senior-team-news/19222-tom-checks-in-with-swo-new-coach-vows-to-turn-things-around.html

Post by: Tiresais on December 21, 2016, 01:23:12 PM
Interesting. He comes across as a bit arrogant in places, but can understand the desire to set the record straight given the recent reaction.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on December 21, 2016, 02:19:48 PM
If I was Saintfiet, I would not pick any Central FC players going forward.

Sancho is a fool as always, for a former player he is really a idiot.

Central could benefit greatly from having their players play for the national team.

Saintfiet and the TTFA was willing to work with Central but Sancho thinks he is a big time manager in England.

Never liked him, even when he was MoS, what a fool he turned out to be.

What yuh saying sounds utterly jackassish!  So despite having a club to run, a rash of injuries and unavailable players, and games coming up, they supposed to send the players they need?  If you find that unreasonable then yuh iz ah rell imps!

I eh no Sancho fan but yuh gone too flikkin far wit yuh bullshit killa
Post by: Tallman on December 21, 2016, 03:43:17 PM
Interesting. He comes across as a bit arrogant in places, but can understand the desire to set the record straight given the recent reaction.
But he hasn't really set the record straight.
Post by: palos on December 21, 2016, 04:10:38 PM

You sound like a perfect candidate to work in this TTFA administration. 

Can someone put in a word for Errol?  Based on the above statement, his qualifications are stellar
Post by: Tiresais on December 21, 2016, 04:49:52 PM
But he hasn't really set the record straight.
Agreed, I didn't say he succeeded!

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

Post by: Controversial on December 21, 2016, 07:21:58 PM

You sound like a perfect candidate to work in this TTFA administration. 

Can someone put in a word for Errol?  Based on the above statement, his qualifications are stellar

He fits the profile..

Post by: Spursy on December 21, 2016, 09:43:01 PM
I like the Glenn/Edwards call up, these guys know each other well. Edwards can organised that backline with his experience and glenn is a proven goal scorer with alot of confidence plus his jokes in the dressing room will be an instant comic relief in order to bring this group together.

On the other hand I dont see why Kevan George and Winchester on this team.
Post by: Tallman on December 23, 2016, 05:03:58 PM
WATCH: Head Coach Tom Saintfiet discusses his tactical approach and player selection methods

https://www.youtube.com/v/fqDS_pAKA8s
Post by: Controversial on December 23, 2016, 10:58:16 PM
He talking in circles.... he hasn't even analyzed or given a short analysis of the other teams...
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 24, 2016, 03:56:08 PM
In the few moments that I see this man on media, cyar help but think I am watching an AA session, just like we football, always in a state of constant recovery
Post by: Controversial on December 24, 2016, 08:40:10 PM
In the few moments that I see this man on media, cyar help but think I am watching an AA session, just like we football, always in a state of constant recovery

Sprangfiet maybe?
Title: Happy are Saintfiet’s Warriors
Post by: Tallman on December 24, 2016, 09:14:59 PM
Happy are Saintfiet’s Warriors
By Alvin Corneal (T&T Guardian)

It is almost magical! Two weeks ago, Tom Saintfiet was just another name, certainly unfamiliar to the people on this side of the world. Ten days later, the chants of support from the selected players are overwhelming and high in praise of the man’s ability to do his job.

We must respect these comments because they are now expected to show that the work which has been done under the eyes of the Belgian, must prove to be a marked improvement on what they experienced before.

Apart from a few seconds on the TV screen during Sports News, I cannot make an assessment of any kind.

However, the selection process continues to be much of a jigsaw puzzle where many of the key players are unavailable because of their commitment to their clubs. I am surprised at the decision coming from the European clubs, seeing that they are closed for Christmas, which should have allowed the lads to drop by and join the charge against Nicaragua twice.

Be that as it may, the opportunity arose for the locally based players, many of whom were asked to join the squad to show their worth in the absence of the more recognised players.

It has been very much to the benefit of the W Connection squad whose six players have caught the eyes of the new coach. Add to those names, some relative newcomers seem to have impressed such as Akeem Roach of a Super League, Club Sando, maybe the first from the league to gain selection.

There may well have been more if the clubs were exposed to the gleaming eyes of the Belgian.

The omission of Kenwyne Jones may well have been based upon information from the local coaching staff, as the new coach could not have made a judgement without having a look.

The inclusion of Carlos Edwards has been making a positive impact with the Ma Pau squad and there is justification in the short term for the former EPL (English Premier League) defender.

Tyrone Charles and Nathan Lewis, both of Jabloteh, have been given a chance to prove that they are ready for the big occasion and we wish them luck.

And now, what of the players from the Central FC? Why have they not been included in the squad?

Don’t tell me to ask Brent Sancho, the boss of the Club. Like many of you, I have heard the reasons why these players are not among the selectees in our national team.

I am at a loss to know how the owners of Central FC have the right to stop their players from representing their country.

Maybe the powers that be have forgotten that it is taxpayers’ money which is handed out to the players of the Pro League clubs.

Should they not have some form of allegiance to the national flag? In past years, the current T&T Football Association president David John Williams may have also indulged in that practice.

Today, he has to wear the hat of the president TTFA and demand that all players should be allowed to participate in the national team’s activity.

Is it not simple to ask the technical director of the Pro League to reschedule the dates of matches in order to clear the period when the International friendlies are played and allow the players to fight for national honours?

Could anyone explain the omission of Jan-Michael Williams? And finally, did the new coach have a look at the Defence Force striker Devorn Jorsling within the last few matches? Goals galore and we know that he has been potent at the national level in the past.

As to the recall of Cornell Glen, is it that the coach had seen him play in Asia of elsewhere? Or is he guided by local knowledge for some of these decisions?

Nevertheless, the gentleman has notified us all that he will win the first two matches in the World Cup Qualifiers in March, but never mentioned Haiti and Suriname. That gives him time to get his feet wet.

My fondest wishes to our national team during their Christmas jaunt, may they find the time to appreciate the birthday of Jesus Christ and score two victories. To my friends and readers, my wish for each and everyone to join your families during the Yuletide season and let us all pray that we can create an improved way of life for the New Year.
Post by: Flex on January 10, 2017, 05:43:19 AM
Saintfiet needs a miracle.
By Stephon Nicholas (Newsday).

One month since being named national head coach, Tom Saintfiet, is staring the axe. Three defeats in his first four games including Sunday’s 4-3 extra time loss to Haiti that saw T&T crash out of Gold Cup qualifying while playing at home show the depths to which this country’s football has sunk.

Saintfiet, the 43-year-old Belgian, is supposed to revive a floundering World Cup campaign but any optimism has since dissipated with T&T defeats to 150th-ranked Suriname 2-1 and a first-ever defeat to Nicaragua in December.

With much tougher opposition looming in the World Cup qualifiers vs Panama (March 24) and Mexico (March 28), T&T’s performances under their new coach thus far do not augur well for the immediate future.

Playing on home soil for the Gold Cup qualifiers against Suriname and Haiti, it did not seem as if the hosts had any advantage whatsoever in front their home crowd. Timid in their opening match against Suriname, a neutral observer could be forgiven for thinking the match was being held in Suriname.

After that defeat, Saintfiet told the media: “We gave ball possession on purpose to be stronger on the counter- attack.” Why T&T would not attack an inexperienced Suriname team whose best player plays in the Pro League? Only Saintfiet could answer that question.

His tactics did not work. But even in that fixture, contrary to the T&T coach’s assertion that the hosts had the better of the exchanges and a lot of “almost goals”, it was T&T goalkeeper Adrian Foncette who had to dive full stretch to push a shot past the post just before the half. And in the second period on a counter-attack, Suriname hit the post with the TT defence all at sea.

On Sunday, after a thrilling 4-3 defeat to Haiti, Saintfiet unsurprisingly appealed for more time. His team was given 48 more hours to prepare for Sunday’s match than their opponent (T&T played Suriname on Wednesday while Haiti played Suriname on Friday) but surprisingly it was the visitors who seemed the fresher team.

After a month in charge, it is difficult to see what Saintfiet’s men are trying to do in the middle and attacking third while defensively it has been a calamity with eight goals conceded from their four games so far. The zonal marking by TT against Haiti was a complete disaster with four Haitians getting their heads on the ball repeatedly while outnumbered by nine TT players in the box on set-plays. Given three goals were conceded by headers off set-plays, TT clearly needed more work on the training ground before trying to incorporate zonal marking into their play book.

Another cause for concern has been Saintfiet’s substitutions which have failed to provide the impetus off the bench in the Gold Cup qualifiers.

The national coach admitted to this after the Suriname game.

“Later in the match I think we had too little power, energy in the replacements who came in... If you bring a fresh player in you expect that they fight and battle and fly over the pitch because they are less tired than the (others), I think that was our weakness today,” he said.

Again, vs Haiti, Saintfiet brought on Alvin Jones (injury to Carlos Edwards), Cornell Glen, Hughton Hector and Trevin Caesar but the flow of the match never changed. He again resorted to centre-back Radanfah Abu Bakr being deployed in the latter stages of the match as a forward, looking to win aerial duels in the box. Earlier in the match, after Haiti withstood the opening barrage from the hosts, T&T began hoofing long passes to the energetic but five footsix inches Shahdon Winchester without success. Having dropped captain Kenwyne Jones to shift to a more fluid style of play it was bemusing to see T&T resort to those tactics.

Haitian midfielder Herold Charles was also made to look like Ronaldinho in his heyday, orchestrating the Haitian attacks continuously with little pressure on him. The dreadlocked #10 certainly oozes skill but in a door- die game at home, T&T failed to address the obvious threat the midfielder possesses, dictating play, and leaving the TT players tired while chasing shadows all over the field.

On the positive side, 25-year-old forward Shahdon Winchester got his chance on his birthday and showed he is hungry to make a name for himself with a hat-trick in Sunday’s 4-3 defeat. Jabloteh’s Tyrone Charles also had flashes of brilliance with his dead ball skills providing a threat for the national team.

Can Saintfiet turn things around in time for the World Cup qualifiers? Maybe. But on the evidence of his four games in charge so far, the future does not look bright.

David John Williams, president of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA), has laid out an ultimatum that T&T need to get four points in their next two World Cup qualifiers for Saintfiet to keep his job. On the evidence so far, the man nicknamed “The Saint” and the “The Messiah” after a two-year stint in Namibia will need a miracle for that to happen.

Post by: Flex on January 10, 2017, 05:49:21 AM
Saintfiet: Not enough time.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

National coach Belgian Tom Saintfiet sought to cover himself by admitting that he did not have sufficient time to prepare the team properly for the Caribbean Football Union/Concacaf Gold Cup play-off qualifiers against Suriname and Haiti.

At a post match press conference the coach who took over from Stephen Hart about three weeks ago, said he had just two weeks to prepare a team ahead of the tournament, conceding defeats to Nicaragua 2-1 in a friendly, Suriname 2-1 and Haiti 4-3 out of four matches. T&T defeated Nicaragua 3-1.

The 43-year-old Belgian explained the country’s best coach ever Leo Beenhakker had three months before his first qualifying match and lost three out of the first five games the team played.

He told the media that a number of top international players, whom he depended upon, were invited for the play-offs but did not show up for one reason or another. “We invited Khaleem Hyland, Jomal Williams, Levi Garcia, John Bostock, Kevin Molino, Joevin Jones, Cordell Cato and Mikeil Williams.

So we invited a lot of players who did not make for several reasons, because it was not a FIFA date or personally was not ready to perform for the team. But it has consequences, if you have a lot of good players missing before such an important game.”

“Ten days before the first of January I spoke face to face with Joevin Jones and informed him to take a few days off and on the first of January I expect to see you in camp. It is not the coach who invites players but the general secretary, except what I did for Joevin.”

According to Saintfiet, “On the otherside in the two weeks time of working with the team, the boys grew as they worked very hard and I think the local people have discovered some very good local players who they never expected to play at this level.

So I have had good experiences of working with the boys and can assure that some of the boys would be on the squad or have to be in the squad in the future.”

The team gave a fighting performance which Saintfiet said he could not fault them for generally, but noted he was very disappointed with the blunders that prevented them from winning the match. He pointed out that the team led twice in the match and created many opportunities.

He claimed that with the game at 2-apiece it seem like the players did not want to score to take the lead 3-2.

“In extra-time I saw three good chances, one by Cornell Glen , one by Winchester who had an excellent game and another one” Saintfiet explained.

He lashed out at the defensive part of the team, saying it is unacceptable to concede three four goals. “Haiti scored from two corners and a free-kick and two of those goal were unacceptable.”

Post by: g on January 10, 2017, 06:18:16 AM
I asked before, within the coaching staff, who has responsibility for coaching the defense?

Back in the 06 campaign Wim Rijsbergen had specific responsibility for tactical organization for defense and playing without the ball.

He spent a lot of time sorting out Cyd Gray, Avery John, Marvin Andrews, Dennis Lawrence and Brent Sancho with Chris Birchall sitting in front of them. We were properly organized. A lot of us thought Cyd Gray was the worst thing in a tugs, he turned out to be an effective wing back, these things don't happen just like that. Work was put in and we got results.

We concede too much too often, with all the so called administrators i just not seeing any kind of pragmatism in how we are organizing ourselves from a coaching perspective.

Even in the post match comments you are not seeing any kind of technical postmortem, just emotive reactions to our frailties.
Post by: Sando on January 10, 2017, 07:11:56 AM
Give the coach some credit he did relatively decent given the time and team he had.

The only problem I had was not starting Roach and Arcia vs Haiti, two attacking players in a must win game.

Adrian Foncette inexperience game time
Carlos Edwards injured
Carlyle Mitchell injured
Cornell Glen not 100%
Alvin Jones inexperience
Tyrone Charles inexperience
Maurice Ford inexperience
Nathan Lewis inexperience
Aikim Andrews inexperience
Shahdon Winchester inexperience game time
Akeem Roach inexperience
Hashim Arcia inexperience

Post by: MEP on January 10, 2017, 07:34:54 AM
Give the coach some credit he did relatively decent given the time and team he had.

The only problem I had was not starting Roach and Arcia vs Haiti, two attacking players in a must win game.

Adrian Foncette inexperience game time
Carlos Edwards injured
Carlyle Mitchell injured
Cornell Glen not 100%
Alvin Jones inexperience
Tyrone Charles inexperience
Maurice Ford inexperience
Nathan Lewis inexperience
Aikim Andrews inexperience
Shahdon Winchester inexperience game time
Akeem Roach inexperience
Hashim Arcia inexperience

Bullcrap he help pick the team so he has to shoulder blame too.
Any decent coach would know what they are getting into...you don't gamble with inexperience.
Post by: g on January 10, 2017, 08:29:09 AM
You don't overhaul the core of a squad that has been playing together for almost 4 years.

The coach whether is be outside influences or not has to take responsibility for that. If the first thing when you arrive is to drop the captain then you set yourself or allow yourself to be set up. The first thing you need to recognize is that Trinidad and Tobago does not have the player pool of a top tier football nation.

Once you recognize that you have to identify your top talent and treat with them. I am not suggesting any preferential treatment, only to develop a proper working relationship and build trust and understanding. If he attempted that then the outcome speaks for itself.

Even if you want to try a different tactical approach, you simply DO NOT drop the captain, there is no justifiable basis to suggest that there are 2 or 3 other forwards that completely displaces him from your team. It comes across as premeditated and deliberate.

You come into a new job and rather than discussion and dialogue you take a hard line approach with local clubs, as a result we lose our top goalkeeper and most capped player and deputy captain.

You engage a coaching staff where half is not even here during the key period of preparation and the other half has little or no success in managing top talent. No real identifiable defensive coaching acumen within the staff and a medical staff based on the recent past was involved in controversy, as i mention that, where are the inquiries into Carlyle Mitchell and Cornell Glen playing injured, where is the conviction or priority for player health and safety now?

I genuinely think Saintfet wants to do well, I have to believe that, but he is either extremely naive in some of the decisions he makes or allows himself to be influenced and become the subsequent scapegoat as a result. He must recognize that he comes into this role with no track record so he cannot boss his environment upfront, he has been placed in a tough situation given all the circumstances, but he has to be smarter in his approach.
Post by: Tallman on January 10, 2017, 08:41:39 AM

Compare that to the Haitian coach who was only appointed on Boxing Day.
Post by: Deeks on January 10, 2017, 10:26:55 AM
Shadon is not an inexperienced player. Yes he is in and out of the team, but he has had enough international games under his belt to shoulder some of the weight. I would not comment on the coach now because of the time factor. Let's see what happens after the next 2 Hex games, that is if he is not replaced by DJW. These four games served as warm up for the Hex. We have only the WC to focus. The next 2 games will be a pivotal point for our football. If we lose, everybody should be fired, including the president. We will have had enough by then.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 10, 2017, 10:34:26 AM
Saintfiet gets the ball rolling? The only things rolling here are dice.
Post by: Sando on January 10, 2017, 10:44:00 AM

Yes, but Haiti had most of their players and they had been training together for a while.

Post by: maxg on January 10, 2017, 11:08:42 AM
I asked before, within the coaching staff, who has responsibility for coaching the defense?

Back in the 06 campaign Wim Rijsbergen had specific responsibility for tactical organization for defense and playing without the ball.

He spent a lot of time sorting out Cyd Gray, Avery John, Marvin Andrews, Dennis Lawrence and Brent Sancho with Chris Birchall sitting in front of them. We were properly organized. A lot of us thought Cyd Gray was the worst thing in a tugs, he turned out to be an effective wing back, these things don't happen just like that. Work was put in and we got results.

We concede too much too often, with all the so called administrators i just not seeing any kind of pragmatism in how we are organizing ourselves from a coaching perspective.

Even in the post match comments you are not seeing any kind of technical postmortem, just emotive reactions to our frailties.
:thumbsup:
Saintfiet: Not enough time.

.........National coach Belgian Tom Saintfiet sought to cover himself by admitting that he did not have sufficient time to prepare the team properly for the Caribbean Football Union/Concacaf Gold Cup play-off qualifiers against Suriname and Haiti.

The team gave a fighting performance which Saintfiet said he could not fault them for generally, but noted he was very disappointed with the blunders that prevented them from winning the match. He pointed out that the team led twice in the match and created many opportunities.

He claimed that with the game at 2-apiece it seem like the players did not want to score to take the lead 3-2.

“In extra-time I saw three good chances, one by Cornell Glen , one by Winchester who had an excellent game and another one” Saintfiet explained.

He lashed out at the defensive part of the team, saying it is unacceptable to concede three four goals. “Haiti scored from two corners and a free-kick and two of those goal were unacceptable.”
If he was the coach of those Haiti or Suriname teams, I wonder how he himself would evaluate their game play, tactics,defense and offensive possession, effort and chances ? To my bias eye, Haiti seemed way more in control of the game than we did, even when we led, they seemed to have us in more disarray than we did them. Had we won, I would have said, we were outplayed- in all facets, but goals win games. Our individual defenders saved us quite a few times,Unfortunately, our team defense didn't and we lost. Can't speak about the Suriname game, didn't see, and Andre Baptiste and co, has to be taken with a grain of salt (and lottsa pepper).
Post by: palos on January 10, 2017, 11:33:41 AM
These four games served as warm up for the Hex. We have only the WC to focus.

I'll take a leaf out of coach Saintfiet's book

The team didn't have:
Joevin Jones
Kevin Molino
Khaleem Hyland
Cordell Cato
Levi Garcia
Sheldon Bateau

All missing for various reasons

He dropped Kenwyne Jones, Jan Michael Williams, Dexter Cyrus, Jomal Williams, and Mekiel Williams

John Bostock has never represented T&T

So from the regulars on the T&T team....he used Andre Boucaud, Kevan George, Abu Bakr, Aubrey David, and Carlyle Mitchell.  Essentially 99% of the back line.

So for these warm ups, the back line....against way inferior opposition compared to what they will face in the Hex...conceded way too many goals.

The back line has been a problem throughout....but there's been no improvement.  In fact, if anything, they've looked worse....especially given the opposition.

Maybe that's down to a new coach and new tactics etc. 

But Saintfiet will face the same challenge as every other national team coach unless it's a majority or total local based squad.

He'll get players for a few days prior to an important match....in this case....near back to back world cup qualifiers against Panama and Mexico.  If there's ANY silver lining...it's that both matches are home matches.   But T&T's home stadium isn't exactly a fortress or a daunting place for the opposition to play.

Let's see what happens.  Who knows?  Maybe Saintfiet won't be coach and the lineup will look like this

Foncette
Aubrey David
Bateau
Abu Bakr
Carlos Edwards
Joevin Jones
Hyland
Boucaud
Charles
Molino
Winchester

Post by: Tallman on January 10, 2017, 11:42:29 AM

Yes, but Haiti had most of their players and they had been training together for a while.

Nope. Haiti had only about four players from the Copa Centroamerica playoff match against us. Plus four players who were called up missed joining up with the squad. Yuh ent see how jokey dey keeper was?
Post by: Controversial on January 10, 2017, 01:21:49 PM
Like some people on here expect a miracle to happen come wc qualifiers lol
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 10, 2017, 02:30:44 PM

Nope. Haiti had only about four players from the Copa Centroamerica playoff match against us. Plus four players who were called up missed joining up with the squad. Yuh ent see how jokey dey keeper was?

Yeah. They beat us with a jokey keeper. Imagine if they had a less jokey keeper. We might not have scored.
Post by: Deeks on January 10, 2017, 04:46:51 PM
Yeah. They beat us with a jokey keeper. Imagine if they had a less jokey keeper. We might not have scored.

We had a jokey keeper also.
Post by: pull stones on January 10, 2017, 06:42:46 PM

We had a jokey keeper also.
best comment i've heard all week. take a bow my friend. just when you thought it couldn't get any worst than marvin phillips here comes foncette to break the mold. this atrocious display of goal keeping in the last four games is the absolute worst i've ever seen of any goalkeeper in national colors which includes marchan.

i could not believe it when i saw him defending a free kick in the six yard box instead of on his line, what a gift goal that was to the haitians. our lost was a result of our discombobulated defense and poor goal keeping ethics.

i don't mean to embarrass the lad but he needs to go somewhere and learn proper goal keeping techniques which includes trusting your defenders and not run at attackers trying to make things happen and this is very true of all our goal keepers, they never stop trying to be defenders instead of goal tenders.

Post by: pull stones on January 10, 2017, 06:59:34 PM
These four games served as warm up for the Hex. We have only the WC to focus.

I'll take a leaf out of coach Saintfiet's book

The team didn't have:
Joevin Jones
Kevin Molino
Khaleem Hyland
Cordell Cato
Levi Garcia
Sheldon Bateau

All missing for various reasons

He dropped Kenwyne Jones, Jan Michael Williams, Dexter Cyrus, Jomal Williams, and Mekiel Williams

John Bostock has never represented T&T

So from the regulars on the T&T team....he used Andre Boucaud, Kevan George, Abu Bakr, Aubrey David, and Carlyle Mitchell.  Essentially 99% of the back line.

So for these warm ups, the back line....against way inferior opposition compared to what they will face in the Hex...conceded way too many goals.

The back line has been a problem throughout....but there's been no improvement.  In fact, if anything, they've looked worse....especially given the opposition.

Maybe that's down to a new coach and new tactics etc. 

But Saintfiet will face the same challenge as every other national team coach unless it's a majority or total local based squad.

He'll get players for a few days prior to an important match....in this case....near back to back world cup qualifiers against Panama and Mexico.  If there's ANY silver lining...it's that both matches are home matches.   But T&T's home stadium isn't exactly a fortress or a daunting place for the opposition to play.

Let's see what happens.  Who knows?  Maybe Saintfiet won't be coach and the lineup will look like this

Foncette
Aubrey David
Bateau
Abu Bakr
Carlos Edwards
Joevin Jones
Hyland
Boucaud
Charles
Molino
Winchester

that team would get killed against any of the top 8 teams in concacaf which includes jamaica canada and el salvador. the fact that you are willing to use aubrey david and abu bakar after their poor showing in those past four games leaves me to wonder.

why not nathan lewis over tyrone charles? he showed very good awareness on the flanks and put in some nice crosses, and kavan george over boucaud would be a better defensive option. last but not least i will love to see greg ranjitsingh for a change instead of this foncette lad, his poot technique and tactical awareness in my opinion was the main reason for the three losses.
Post by: palos on January 10, 2017, 08:45:47 PM

Foncette
Aubrey David
Bateau
Abu Bakr
Carlos Edwards
Joevin Jones
Hyland
Boucaud
Charles
Molino
Winchester

that team would get killed against any of the top 8 teams in concacaf which includes jamaica canada and el salvador. the fact that you are willing to use aubrey david and abu bakar after their poor showing in those past four games leaves me to wonder.

why not nathan lewis over tyrone charles? he showed very good awareness on the flanks and put in some nice crosses, and kavan george over boucaud would be a better defensive option. last but not least i will love to see greg ranjitsingh for a change instead of this foncette lad, his poot technique and tactical awareness in my opinion was the main reason for the three losses.

So coach.....who would you select that is demonstrably better than david and abu bakr? 

By the way...it's not "MY TEAM"....I going by what current coach Saintfiet has selected and taking a guess as to who he MAY select out of the "foreign based" in the future.  Tyrone Charles...Nathan Lewis...6 of one...half dozen of the other. 

BTW..if Ranjitsingh was an option, don''t you think he would have at least been called to camp like everyone else bar tje Central FC players?
Post by: Controversial on January 11, 2017, 02:21:09 PM
Palos hold that thought for latas or vranes or the dictators lap dog...
Post by: Flex on January 12, 2017, 05:09:47 AM
Saintfiet cries lack of TTFA respect.

Corneal, Look Loy identify TTFA as the problem

After just 35 days in the job, national football coach, Belgian Tom Saintfiet has resigned. His decision came after he said in a release that he did not get the support of the T&T Football Association and its president David John-Williams.

Local football pundits Alvin Corneal and Keith Look Loy, however said the blame for his resignation should be placed squarely on the shoulders of the TTFA, saying Saintfiet problem was that he took the job.

Saintfiet, who accepted a contract to take T&T to the FIFA World Cup in Russia 2018 with a clause that he faced being fired if he did not win the team’s home matches against Panama and Mexico in March, faced mounting pressure by the country’s failure to qualify for the CONCACAF Gold Cup, by losing both its matches in a CFU/CONCACAF play-off last week at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva.

In his first game the T&T went down 2-1 to Suriname and then 4-3 to Haiti in extra-time, as the host needed to win by two clear goals.

In addition to his defeats in the play-off, the Belgian was also criticised for poor performances in the two friendly international encounters against Nicaragua in that country on December (27th and 30th).

Yesterday, in a release he said “Given the mandate to guide the team past Panama and Mexico in the coming World Cup qualifiers in March 2017, I have come to the conclusion that I can’t be successful in this environment.

From the first day of my unveiling, I did not get the support of the TTFA and its president; support which is needed to be able to do my job in a professional and successful way. I never got the chance to work with the players or staff requested.”

He added, “Perhaps I should have taken that decision right from day one of my appointment, after the president openly second-guessed his own choice of employing me, but I gave him and the TTFA the benefit of the doubt.”

Meanwhile, a release from the TTFA stated it had accepted the resignation of Saintfiet. But both Look Loy and Corneal have said Saintfiet is not the problem, but rather the TTFA. While admitting they both expected Saintfiet to fail, they lashed out at the TTFA for its poor selection of a coach who has had no experience and reputation at this level, as his resume shows.

According to Corneal: “They (TTFA) should have done a proper research than to recruit a man who knows absolutely nothing about our culture, the players and our football.

“He should have come here before to do his own assessment on what he was getting into.”

Corneal, a former national footballer and coach lashed out at Saintfiet, saying the principle of him even accepting the job under such circumstances was a bit amateurish.

Corneal also questioned Saintfiet’s comment that he did not get the support of the TTFA, saying as a professional he came here to do a job, that’s all he needed.

Look Loy said the little-known Belgian coach had made his own bed to lay in, pointing to his acceptance of a job where the president said he was not the first choice. “Any self-respecting person would have resigned immediately.”

Like Corneal, he believes Saintfiet took the job knowing what he was getting into, and later compounded it by some of his poor decisions, such as the removal of goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams.

Look Loy himself an ex-national player and coach, took a swipe at the TTFA, blaming it for poor administration and decision-making in dealing with the sacking of Stephen Hart and selection of Saintfiet.

He accused the TTFA of playing politics with the game, saying because of its poor administration it has been left with a situation of either chosing a local coach or searching for a top coach from abroad.

Post by: Tiresais on January 12, 2017, 05:48:42 AM

Well...
Post by: Bourbon on January 12, 2017, 06:34:33 AM

Well...
He surprise me.

I thought he would have held on to get fired and get the pay.

Sent from my TBOOK 11(E5A6) using Tapatalk

Post by: sjahrain on January 12, 2017, 09:14:59 AM
Pressure..Bust  pipe
At least he is leaving with some of his sanity and dignity intack seasoned with some humiliation
You were set up and you went for it hook line and sinker
All the best...It's called the Macauel  effect...Play with it long enough you get swallowed whole
Post by: Mose on January 12, 2017, 09:54:08 AM

Well...
He surprise me.

I thought he would have held on to get fired and get the pay.

Sent from my TBOOK 11(E5A6) using Tapatalk

Me too. Didn't see that one coming. Earned a measure of respect from me for that. However, I don't/can't feel sorry for him. Shouldn't have taken the job if he didn't know what he was getting into and then his hardline stance with some of the players and Central basically amounted to cutting off yuh nose to spite yuh face.

Post by: Mose on January 12, 2017, 09:54:46 AM
Pressure..Bust  pipe
At least he is leaving with some of his sanity and dignity intack seasoned with some humiliation
You were set up and you went for it hook line and sinker
All the best...It's called the Macauel  effect...Play with it long enough you get swallowed whole

Ah like dat one! Have to remember that!  :beermug:
Post by: Flex on January 15, 2017, 06:25:42 AM
Saintfiet’s unravelling: A look at Belgian’s brief stint as T&T coach and what it said about DJW.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

If departing Belgian coach Tom Saintfiet is the punchline, then, surely, Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) president David John-Williams is the joke.

This morning, Saintfiet gave John-Williams—and, by extension, the local football fraternity—the middle finger as he declared that a country that is, mathematically, eight matches away from the Russian 2018 World Cup are not worthy of his supposed talents.

Or, to be more precise, that the TTFA President had created an un-winnable atmosphere for any professional coach.

“I have come to the conclusion that I can’t be successful in this environment,” said Saintfiet.

The Belgian coach—whose last employers, Bangladesh, are 103 spots lower down the FIFA rankings than T&T at 185—had only been in Trinidad for one month. And, in what might go down as one of the most unforgettable passages in a resignation letter, Saintfiet suggested he stayed here one month too long.

“From the first day of my unveiling, I did not get the support of the TTFA and its President, support which is needed to be able to do my job in a professional and successful way…

“Perhaps I should have taken this decision right from day one of my appointment, after the President openly second guessed his own choice of employing me.”

Saintfiet was referring to John-Williams’ assertion—on the public unveiling of his new coach on Wednesday 7 December 2016—that the Belgian was hired because he was more affordable than the other options. And that he would sack Saintfiet at the end of March if he did not deliver in World Cup qualifiers against Panama and Mexico.

It might be the first time that a coach was hired and given notice on his impending firing on the same day. And it made Saintfiet a laughing stock before he held his first training session.

Notably, John-Williams does not have the constitutional power to deliver on his threat. Only the TTFA board of directors can hire or fire coaches, and there was no pre-arranged conclusion as to Saintfiet’s supposed expiry date.

John-Williams disrespected not only his new coach but all football stakeholders at that moment. And it is hardly the first time either.

Former technical director Kendall Walkes told a similar story within the first three months of John-Williams’ tenure, as the football president claimed to have legal advice that the former’s contract was invalid and, without sharing his proof with the TTFA board, recommended he be replaced with Muhammad Isa.

“Without any provocation, he just decided to take this stance against me, almost from day one,” Walkes told Wired868. “I would talk to my wife after (our) meetings and she is aware of the ridicule and cynicism I have had to deal with, as he tries to feed his narcissistic needs and ego.

“He even ridiculed my decision to come here. He has brought the entire situation into something personal. I can’t tell you how vindictive his actions were in a lot of instances.”

John-Williams, who also broke his campaign promise to stay out of W Connection business while serving as local football president, set about running roughshod over the local football apparatus with startling zeal.

Before his election to the TTFA post—which is questionable in itself, as roughly one third of the electorate appeared to have been illegitimate—Trinidad and Tobago football was enjoying a revival at senior level while junior teams were still holding their own at Caribbean level, despite struggling at Concacaf.

Former TTFA president Raymond Tim Kee failed to raise money to fund the local game or to create the relevant standing committees to ensure that the football body operated smoothly. John-Williams talked a good game but did neither once elected—he has taken credit for restoring FIFA funding but, in truth, the audit that lead to the reopening of the financial tap started under his predecessor.

Instead, the W Connection co-owner, whether due to ego or darker reasons, took to interfering with national football teams—sometimes directly, sometimes indirectly.

John-Williams gave Isa a short-term deal as technical director, for instance, that might arguably leave him vulnerable to pressure from the football boss. And the head of the technical committee, Dexter Skeene, is the Pro League CEO, who serves at the whim of the local top flight clubs of which Connection is an influential member.

The most startling known example of John-Williams’ meddling came on 17 May 2016 when the football president allegedly walked into a training session at the Ato Boldon Stadium and asked players if they would agree to take a friendly match that then head coach Stephen Hart already declined.

John-Williams denied the incident ever took place and insisted that Hart would clear him. Notably, Hart never did.

As always, the players have been the pawns in this game.

Even as Saintfiet lambasted Kevin Molino, Joevin Jones and Cordell Cato for snubbing his Christmas camp in Nicaragua, the reality is that the players are yet to receive match fees from their time there. And, shamefully, the national players are yet to receive a cent of their promised US$200 per day stipends.

So, after agreeing to leave their friends and family for the Christmas holidays, they had to dip in their own pockets for spending money in Managua.

All the while, the players—who included former England Premier League player Carlos Edwards and his World Cup 2006 teammate Cornell Glen—were forced to implement bizarre tactical instructions by Saintfiet.

The Belgian, to his credit, was complimented for the sharp, professional nature of his training sessions as well as his attention to detail in matters such as nutrition and fitness.

But squad members—not limited only to players—found flaws in his playing philosophy. Saintfiet apparently preached a deep, compact backline but did little work on actually winning the ball, as was evident in opponent’s ability to find shooting space even when Trinidad and Tobago had 10 players in their own half of the field.

Worse, Saintfiet was disinclined to amend his general plan to suit their opponents and viewed alternate suggestions with suspicion and, at times, aggression.

The Warriors tried to follow instructions during the Gold Cup playoffs, even as spectators abused them for using long balls at every opportunity. Fans failed to notice too that wingers Nathan Lewis and Tyrone Charles looked to always be running into trouble because their full backs were ordered not to push up to support them.

Almost from the beginning, Saintfiet was said to be paranoid about opinions in the media and the Soca Warriors and Wired868 forums while he appeared limited in his tactical strategies. And his charm would disappear quickly when asked to explain his methods.

Saintfiet is alleged to have warned assistant coach Russell Latapy, a former European Champions League player, against speaking directly to the players, even to offer simple tips. It seemed a bizarre decision from a coach who never played professional top flight football and perhaps spoke to his distrust of the environment.

If John-Williams assumed that the Belgian could be made more pliable by withholding job security from him, it proved to be a colossal mistake.

From his first competitive loss to Suriname, Saintfiet kept his nose close to the ground. And, according to insiders, he asked often: Do you think they are going to fire me?

At his first press conference, the Belgian insisted that he had never been fired as coach. It was a remarkable and, almost certainly, dishonest statement for any professional coach with over a decade’s experience at a dozen different teams—let alone someone who lasted less than three months in at least three postings.

Some of the world’s most famous coaches like Sir Alex Ferguson, Jose Mourinho and Carlo Ancelotti were sacked, after all.

But Trinidad and Tobago will not have the opportunity to scrutinise Saintfiet’s insecurities.

The TTFA technical committee was asked to meet today on the new coach and there were allegations that John-Williams begun to look for a successor within hours of their loss to Haiti. It will be the Warrior’s third head coach in just three months.

Saintfiet decided to cheat the axe and jump before he was pushed. Judging from the disgraceful manner in which he was hired, the Belgian could be forgiven for wondering if John-Williams might have set the dogs on him at his sacking.

So, with middle finger to the sky, Saintfiet dropped the mic and, presumably, booked a one-way ticket back to Europe.

The fact that Saintfiet’s initial press statement on his departure was issued only to the foreign press spoke volumes. The two island republic is already in his rearview.

Saintfiet is known to have repeatedly muttered that the Bangladesh FA was more professional than its Trinidad and Tobago counterparts. No doubt, he will repeat that claim in whatever corner of the globe he ends up next.

A salesman with a coaching certificate, Saintfiet has no problem getting jobs. Keeping them has been a far trickier proposition.

But, with the “Rattans coach”—as some readers disparagingly coined the Belgian—sauntering off into the sunset, whatever are we to do with the engineer of this mess, TTFA president John-Williams, and his technical committee?

The TTFA technical committee consists of: Skeene (chairman), Dr Alvin Henderson (vice-chairman), Errol Lovell (former national goalkeeper), Jinelle James (ex-national player and current administrator) and Muhammad Isa (technical director).

Former 1991 World Youth Cup coach, Bertille St Clair, has not attended any technical committee meetings in months due to ill-health.

The current TTFA board of directors comprises: John-Williams (president), Joanne Salazar, Ewing Davis and Allan Warner (vice-presidents), Samuel Saunders (Central FA), Sherwyn Dyer (Eastern Counties Football Union), Karanjabari Williams (Northern FA), Richard Quan Chan (Southern FA), Anthony Moore (Tobago FA), Joseph Taylor (Trinidad and Tobago Football Referees Association), Sharon O’Brien (Women’s League Football), Wayne Cunningham (Eastern FA) and Skeene (TT Pro League).

The results of the Trinidad and Tobago national teams before and after John-Williams are as follows:

(Men’s National Senior Team)

Before DJW: 2012 and 2014 Caribbean Cup runners-up, 2013 and 2015 Concacaf Gold Cup quarterfinalist;

After DJW: Failed to qualify for 2017 Caribbean Cup semifinals or 2017 Concacaf Gold;

(Men’s National Under-20 Team)

Before DJW: 2014 Caribbean Cup champions, 2015 Concacaf group stage;

After DJW: 2016 Caribbean Cup fourth placed, qualified for 2017 Concacaf group stage;

(Men’s National Under-17 Team)

Before DJW: 2015 CONCACAF group stage;

After DJW: Failed to qualify for 2016 Caribbean Cup semifinals, despite home advantage, or to advance to the 2017 Concacaf stage.

(Women’s National Senior Team)

Before DJW: 2014 Concacaf semifinals;

After DJW: 2016 Concacaf semifinals;

(Women’s National Under-20/Under-17 Teams)

Neither played qualifying matches since John-Williams was elected president.

(Women’s National Under-15 Team)

Before DJW: Third in 2014 Concacaf championship after 1-0 semifinal loss to Canada;

After DJW: Eliminated in 2016 Concacaf group stage after 22-0 loss to USA and 11-0 loss to Mexico.

Post by: Flex on January 16, 2017, 06:42:51 AM
A downward spiral
By Fazeer Mohammed (Express).

Based on the ultimatum Tom Saintfiet faced, it stands to reason that his successor should be required to earn four points from the next two World Cup qualifiers, failing which he will join the list of former head coaches of the senior men’s national football team.

Yet while the usual preoccupation with personality dominates speculation ahead of the announcement of the Belgian’s successor, it really doesn’t matter who gets the job. Unless there is respect for a process and adherence to a system defined by discipline and accountability, no-one will be able to prevent Trinidad and Tobago’s Russia 2018 aspirations effectively coming to an end after the game against Mexico on March 28 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

But the bigger issue will be where the impetus and inspiration are to come from to transform the nation’s premier sport. So much about football here, as anywhere else, is defined by the on and off-field issues related to the flagship side.

Yet as we have seen with the experience of the women, even after the attention-grabbing ever-so-close World Cup qualifying effort in 2014, and the age-group sides of both sexes, the ship is sinking with all hands on deck and no clear sign that the captain is capable of providing the sort of leadership necessary to rescue the increasingly desperate situation.

As president of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association, David John-Williams is an obvious target when anything related to the sport here goes awry. Often that vitriol is misplaced because much of the self-righteous indignation presumes that the game as a whole was on a consistently progressive path prior to his election to head the administration almost 14 months ago. That is patently not true.

Precipitous deterioration

Still, can we dismiss the almost simultaneous precipitous deterioration in the performance of the side that reached the quarter-finals of two consecutive Gold Cups and made it to the “Hex” of World Cup qualification for 2018 with relative comfort as mere coincidence?

Even as his claim of finally achieving a measure of financial accountability in the TTFA is worthy of commendation, can he successfully withstand accusations of imposing his will on the decision-making process in a number of matters?

If those among his growing list of detractors are accurate, that hands-on approach has healed rather than widened rifts in a community that has spent decades going at each others’ throats anyway.

So let’s say, for the sake of argument, John-Williams resigns immediately after March 28 with Trinidad and Tobago rooted at the bottom of the six-nation CONCACAF standings, where is the evidence to suggest that any of the familiar personalities in football are capable of leading a meaningful transformation of the game here?

This is not meant to be a plea in his defence by someone who has known him for over 20 years of media-related interactions, but a simple straightforward query in the context of whether change for change’s sake will amount to nothing more than exchange, much like what we have continually experienced in political governance for the past 25 years.

Public relations disaster

Look, that moment a month ago, when he issued the ultimatum upon announcing the appointment of Saintfiet to succeed Stephen Hart, even scolding the relatively unknown coach as he smiled nervously at the highly inappropriate statement, was both humiliating and a public relations disaster. To his detractors it revealed his true nature.

To those trying to maintain an objective perspective it raised questions about an apparent autocratic style of leadership unable to reconcile with the many interest groups in the game and buckling under the pressure of strident media criticism.

Too much dishonesty

There is little to suggest that football’s downward spiral in this country will be slowed anytime soon though, whether or not John-Williams serves out his full term at the helm of the TTFA. There is too much duplicity, too much dishonesty, too many self-serving feeders at the trough for the game itself to prosper.

And there is too much old talk too. I see the veteran footballers are going to have their latest spleen-venting exercise where nothing more than hot air will be generated. Okay, so maybe there will be a few half-decent recommendations proposed, but it’s very much like the broader issues of governance in this land, where almost everyone knows what’s wrong but no-one is really prepared to do what needs to be done to remedy the situation.

We like it so, or else we would have changed it a long time ago.

From the players, some of whom would have contributed to Hart’s loss of control in the team, making their own coaching recommendations to administrators over the years surrounding themselves with well-fed yes men, football’s present dilemma is no more than another episode in a long-running drama. But what the hell, we jammin’ still, not so?

Post by: Controversial on January 16, 2017, 12:24:12 PM
Why faz don't talk like this about the wicb and their biased selection policy and outside interference into West Indies cricket, he is right in what he is saying about the ttfa but why the hell he don't open he damn mouth about cricket and the victimization of trini players... schupsss
Post by: panterry1 on January 16, 2017, 02:57:39 PM
As president of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association, David John-Williams is an obvious target when anything related to the sport here goes awry. Often that vitriol is misplaced because much of the self-righteous indignation presumes that the game as a whole was on a consistently progressive path prior to his election to head the administration almost 14 months ago. That is patently not true.

That is patently TRUE.  Look at the stats.  Numbers don't lie.  DJW is doing a horrible job.. You seem to be assuming that no one will succeed because the system is broken.  I must let you know it takes a good leader to fix the system.  DJW is not that person.  The prior leader of the TTFA was doing a good job.  Your article is downright depressing.  I prefer to view this situation as half full.  Put a good leader in place and things will improve.
Post by: Deeks on January 16, 2017, 04:04:50 PM
There is little to suggest that football’s downward spiral in this country will be slowed anytime soon though, whether or not John-Williams serves out his full term at the helm of the TTFA.

While it is true that our football was on a downward spiral, the TimKee-Hart period did slow that downward spiral to a great extent. Especially after the GCs, the team's fighting performances gave us hope that the bleeding will stop in the near future. But since DJW term in office, it is like snakes and ladders. We going down them big snakes only.

But I am optimistic that once he leaves office, our football will revive.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 16, 2017, 05:52:22 PM
If those among his growing list of detractors are accurate, that hands-on approach has healed rather than widened rifts in a community that has spent decades going at each others’ throats anyway.

DJW's detractors think his hands-on approach has been beneficial? Look ting.
Post by: Controversial on January 16, 2017, 07:00:45 PM

DJW's detractors think his hands-on approach has been beneficial? Look ting.

Who are these detractors, definitely not the guys on here...
Post by: Deeks on January 16, 2017, 07:44:37 PM

Fazeer, you talking about somebody else in the future who, hopefully, will be able to heal the rift!!!! Not DJW!