Sports => Football => Topic started by: FF on January 01, 2017, 06:06:08 PM

Title: Saintfiet names 20 man Gold Cup Squad
Post by: FF on January 01, 2017, 06:06:08 PM
Saintfiet names 20-man squad for Gold Cup playoffs
TTFA Media Release

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Tom Saintfiet announced his 20-man squad this evening for the two upcoming CFU Gold Cup playoff matches against Suriname and Haiti.

The only addition to the list that was in the squad for the recent Nicaragua matches is English-based midfielder Andre Boucaud.

Saintfiet revealed that he took a decision to omit Daneil Cyrus and Jomal Williams from the 20-man squad due to both players arriving to a residential camp at Cara Suites Hotel more than an hour after the scheduled time. US-based player Joevin Jones was also in the initial 20-man squad but was also released after the player failed to report to camp. The players recalled are Trevin Caesar, Curtis Gonzales and Akeem Roach.

Saintfiet spoke more about his decision moments before a training session at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Sunday evening.

T&T 20-man Squad

Goalkeepers:

Adrian Foncette (Police FC), Glenroy Samuel (Ma Pau Stars).

Defenders:

Carlos Edwards (Ma Paul Stars), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Carlyle Mitchell (Seoul E-Land—Korea Republic), Radanfah Abu Bakr (Sillamae Kallen—Estonia), Maurice Ford (W Connection), Aubrey David (Deportivo Saprissa—Costa Rica).

Midfielders:

Kevan George (Jacksonville Armada—USA), Andre Boucaud (Dagenham & Redbridge—England), Alvin Jones, Hughtun Hector (both W Connection), Aikim Andrews (W Connection), Trevin Caesar (Orange County Blues—USA), Hashim Arcia (Defence Force), Nathan Lewis, Tyrone Charles (both San Juan Jabloteh).

Forwards:

Akeem Roach (Club Sando), Shahdon Winchester (Murcielagos FC—Mexico), Cornell Glen (Ozone FC Bengalaru—India).

Technical Staff:

Tom Saintfiet (head coach), Russell Latapy (assistant coach), Jamaal Shabazz (assistant coach), Lukas Wojciak (goalkeeper coach), Riedoh Berdien (trainer), Dr Terence Babwah (doctor), Dave Isaac (paramedic), Michael Williams (equipment manager), Shaun Fuentes (press officer), Azaad Khan (interim manager).

Video - Saintfiet on 20-man Squad selection for CFU Gold Cup playoffs (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bsthvhjuv7A)

RELATED NEWS

Saintfiet sends home Cyrus, Jomal.
T&T Newsday Reports.

National coach Tom Saintfiet yesterday sent home Daneil Cyrus and Jomal Williams after the pair allegedly arrived late to camp at Cara Suites Hotel.

Saintifiet later omitted them from his 20-man squad for the Gold Cup qualifiers vs Suriname and Haiti this week. Saintfiet, speaking at yesterday’s training session at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, was quoted by CNMG news as saying: “Two players came one and a half hours too late in camp and had still a decent smell of alcohol around them.

That was Daneil Cyrus and Jomal Williams. Both were immediately sent home back to party.” Meanwhile, Saintfiet has also left out Seattle Sounders’ Joevin Jones from his squad after the player failed to report to camp.

The T&T coach explained that the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) had an agreement with Joevin that he would skip the Nicaragua friendlies but report for duty on New Year’s Day.

Trinidad and Tobago were back on the training pitch yesterday, less than 24 hours after arriving home from their two match training camp in Managua, Nicaragua.

Saintfiet and his squad returned home on Saturday afternoon before assembling for a residential camp ahead of their training session at the Hasely Crawford Stadium yesterday. T&T face Suriname at 7pm on Wednesday at the Ato Boldon Stadium and then square off with Haiti on Sunday at 5pm at the Couva venue in Gold Cup qualifiers.

T&T are coming off a 3-1 victory over Nicaragua on Friday night and team captain Carlos Edwards said he felt the result was a timely confidence booster for the T&T squad.

“It felt good to get the win. At the same time we were under a little bit of pressure after the first game, we needed to get a victory and put in a good performance.

The guys came out and rolled their sleeves up and took the game to Nicaragua and we came away with the 3-1 victory,” Edwards told TTFA Media.

“We worked on a few things and we really got into the game.

We got a sucker punch with the Nicaragua first game but the guys stuck to it, we had a game plan and we had to improvise also and I think by getting the equaliser it built our rhythm and we took the game to them,” he added.

“It was nice for the coach to call this camp at an early stage and we also have a few guys joining the squad for the two games against Suriname and Haiti. It’s a good bond and hopefully with the boys coming in we can complete the jigsaw puzzle,” the former Wrexham player added.

W Connection’s Aikim Andrews who put T&T 3-1 ahead with a brilliant second half goal, said he had it in his mind that something remarkable would have to be on the cards after he missed the original flight with the team to Managua due to a passport issue.

Title: Re: Saintfiet names 20 man Gold Cup Squad
Post by: FF on January 01, 2017, 06:08:51 PM
https://youtube.com/V/Bsthvhjuv7A
Post by: Storeboy on January 01, 2017, 06:22:08 PM
SAINTFIET NAMES 20-MAN SQUAD FOR GOLD CUP PLAYOFFS
TTFA Media Release

http://ttfootball.org/2017/01/01/saintfiet-names-20-man-squad-for-gold-cup-playoffs/

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Tom Saintfiet announced his 20-man squad this evening for the two upcoming CFU Gold Cup playoff matches against Suriname and Haiti.

The only addition to the list that was in the squad for the recent Nicaragua matches is English-based midfielder Andre Boucaud.

Saintfiet revealed that he took a decision to omit Daneil Cyrus and Jomal Williams from the 20-man squad due to both players arriving to a residential camp at Cara Suites Hotel more than an hour after the scheduled time. US-based player Joevin Jones was also in the initial 20-man squad but was also released after the player failed to report to camp. The players recalled are Trevin Caesar, Curtis Gonzales and Akeem Roach.

Saintfiet spoke more about his decision moments before a training session at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Sunday evening.

T&T 20-man squad

Adrian Foncette,  Glenroy Samuel.Carlos Edwards (captain), Curtis Gonzales, Carlyle Mitchell,Radanfah Abu Bakr,Maurice Ford; Hughtun Hector, Alvin Jones,Kevan George, Nathan Lewis, Aikim Andrews,  Hashim Arcia, Tyrone Charles Cornell Glen, Shahdon Winchester, Akeem Roach,Trevin Caesar, Aubrey David and Andre Boucaud.

...and strong smell of alcohol. Many posters have been observing the poor performance of Daniel Cyrus. That may be an insightful observation.  Certainly, a lack of professionalism.
Post by: pull stones on January 01, 2017, 06:26:39 PM
never a dull moment in the daily life of trinidadians. it's pure drama with these people nonstop when there's no need to. god i could be doing something more productive with my time like following arsenal or chelsea instead of these perplexed people. may god help us TT football fans pressure.
Post by: pull stones on January 01, 2017, 06:38:02 PM
SAINTFIET NAMES 20-MAN SQUAD FOR GOLD CUP PLAYOFFS
TTFA Media Release

http://ttfootball.org/2017/01/01/saintfiet-names-20-man-squad-for-gold-cup-playoffs/

T&T 20-man squad

Adrian Foncette,  Glenroy Samuel.Carlos Edwards (captain), Curtis Gonzales, Carlyle Mitchell,Radanfah Abu Bakr,Maurice Ford; Hughtun Hector, Alvin Jones,Kevan George, Nathan Lewis, Aikim Andrews,  Hashim Arcia, Tyrone Charles Cornell Glen, Shahdon Winchester, Akeem Roach,Trevin Caesar, Aubrey David and Andre Boucaud.
absolutely no fire power up front. we are a shoe in to struggle for goals in these two matches. jovin mate you have learned nothing from your last few experience with foreign coaches, you did it with otto pfister, you did it with hart and now you are doing it with this belgian man. good luck with your career yes man, you will soon learn the very hard way.
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 01, 2017, 06:42:16 PM
There is more to this story..

I guess we can say goodbye to the Gold cup as this team WILL NOT MAKE IT.
Post by: Thomo on January 01, 2017, 06:50:19 PM
Turned up late with alcohol on your breath? Is this a joke? This is your country. Haven't they heard of national pride?  Plus Cyrus, Jomal and Joevin are all affiliated with W Connection and Molino say he not motivated to play for his country. I never hear more in my life Smdh
Post by: lefty on January 01, 2017, 06:54:26 PM
I feared the campaign would fall apart if Timkee lost the TTFA elections and so said so done......not a fan of the man.......but his hands off approach to on field NT business, to me was key to the successes we were having with him as pres.......now campaign crumbling, TTFA is ruled by incompetence far and above timkee levels.....I sorry for dem season ticket holders real sorry.
Post by: trini_stallion on January 01, 2017, 06:56:21 PM
Guys the plot thickens with Joevin and Molino...what hell really going on??
Post by: trini_stallion on January 01, 2017, 06:57:27 PM
‘Rum corks!’ Saintfiet axes Jomal and Cyrus; slams Joevin and Molino’s commitment.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

Trinidad and Tobago National Senior Team coach Tom Saintfiet launched an extraordinary attack on four of his senior players today, as he accused Daneil Cyrus and Jomal Williams of arriving two hours to his live-in camp allegedly smelling of rum.

The Belgian coach also blasted Major League Soccer (MLS) players Joevin Jones, who was initially included in his 20-man squad for this week’s Gold Cup playoff matches against Suriname and Haiti, and Kevin Molino for failing to show sufficient desire to represent their national team.

Saintfiet told the media that Cyrus and Williams were dropped on the spot while Jones was also replaced.

Club Sando forward Akeem Roach, Defence Force utility player Curtis Gonzales and Orange County Blues attacker Trevin Caesar were all recalled to replace them after they were initially cut from the squad on their return from Managua yesterday.

It means England-based midfielder Andre Boucaud is the only addition to the squad that faced Nicaragua twice last week and returned with a 2-1 loss and 3-1 triumph respectively. Boucaud is expected in Trinidad on Tuesday, roughly 24 hours before kick off against Suriname, after he received an extra day’s grace to represent his club in England.

Saintfiet’s leniency with his overseas-based players is unlikely to be lost on local Pro League and Caribbean club champs, Central FC, who were told to release their players and not use them for their own clubs. The subsequent stand-off led to goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams and midfielders Nathaniel Garcia and Sean De Silva being omitted.

And although Garcia and Williams are free now—De Silva was injured at a national training session—and Saintfiet lost goalkeeper Marvin Phillip to injury, the coach ignored both players and again left them out of his squad.

Today, Saintfiet revealed internal problems with the players he did want.

“We selected 20 players [and] I have to say that three of the 20 players didn’t show up,” said Saintfiet, who was joined today by assistant coach Russell Latapy for the first time. “Two of the players came one and a half hours too late in camp and had still decent smell of alcohol around [them]. That was Daneil Cyrus and Jomal Williams.

“Both were immediately sent home back to party but are replaced in squad.”

Cyrus stressed that he did not have any alcohol though and claimed the coach was referring only to Williams.

Jones, according to Saintfiet, was simply a no-show. The Belgian coach gave special dispensation to the Seattle Sounders player to skip the Nicaragua tour after complaining about fatigue.

“I spoke with him individually and he did not show up at all for the camp,” said the Belgian coach. “So I think he has no interest to help his country to qualify.”

Saintfiet was not impressed to discover that Jones played in two charity matches over the Christmas period, after he claimed to be too tired to represent his country. And, bizarrely, Jones also represented W Connection in a friendly match against Haiti last week.

“Joevin is here on holiday and Joevin played, two days ago, a friendly with W Connection against Haiti,” said Saintfiet. “So if his club had no problem with him playing a friendly match with a club where he is not registered, I see no problem why he cannot play for his national team…

“I had face to face communication with him. I said take a few days off and see you on January 1st. I told him where and when and which time [to enter] camp and he never called or informed us in any way that he would not show up.

“So I think he has no interest to help his country to qualify.”

Remarkably, all four players dropped by Saintfiet for disciplinary reasons since he took over the reigns as head coach are wholly or part-owned by W Connection.

Last week, defender Triston Hodge became the first player to be cut after he allegedly missed one training session, turning up late for camp and failed to win over the new coach with his demeanour.

Williams, who is on loan at Mexico second division club Murcielagos FC, was next today along with versatile Connection defender, Cyrus, who has 62 full international caps.

Williams started in Saintfiet’s first game as Warriors head coach against Nicaragua on 27 December and came off the bench for the second contest in Managua. Cyrus featured as a substitute in both fixtures.

Connection are believed to have inserted a sell-in clause in their deal with Seattle, which entitles them to a slice of any revenue earned if the MLS club cashes in on Jones. Jones won the MLS Cup with Seattle last season and is Trinidad and Tobago’s top scorer in the Russia 2018 World Cup qualifiers.

However, his commitment to the two island republic has been questioned before.

Hart cut Jones—along with Cyrus—for playing minor league football after skipping an international tour, supposedly due to fatigue, in September 2013. Jones was also fined by Hart for breaking camp to attend a boat party, alongside teammates Mekeil Williams and Molino, three days before a World Cup qualifier against Guatemala on 2 September 2016.

The background of the players at odds with successive national team coaches ought to alarm and embarrass Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) president David John-Williams, since he is the co-founder of the W Connection team.

The national youth teams have not been spared such disciplinary issues either, as Connection teenager Isaiah Hudson abandoned the Trinidad and Tobago National Under-20 Team during their Caribbean Cup campaign last October.

Hudson’s father, Brent Hudson, insisted that the Naparima College student was injured. However, National Under-20 coach Brian Williams denied this.

Arguably, John-Williams did not help Saintfiet’s authority much when he publicly warned the coach, at his unveiling, that he would be sacked if he does not manage four points from World Cup qualifiers against Panama and Mexico on 24 and 28 March respectively.

But, thus far, the cringeworthy introduction does not appear to have inhibited Saintfiet much, as the coach has not been shy about imposing himself on the national squad. And, unlike almost everyone else at the TTFA, the new coach does not seem to be interested in holding secrets.

“[Molino] said he was not available [to play] for his country at that point in time,” said Saintfiet. “He told me he didn’t feel motivated or ready for that. And later, I [heard] he played games at lower league or social level…”

The downside to Saintfiet’s managerial style is he must now try to outdo Haiti with a notably weaker squad than Hart had last year when the Warriors fell 1-0 to the Haitians in a Copa America Centenario playoff in Panama.

And, after his bullish approach to his senior players and bravado in mentioning Connection during a broadside at Jones, this week’s qualifiers may take on increased importance for the Belgian coach.

The Warriors face Suriname from 7pm on Wednesday at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva and then tackle Haiti on Sunday from 5pm at the same venue.

It would be some accomplishment if Saintfiet can lead the Warriors to two wins regardless of the patchiness of his squad. Arguably, his authority—on the training ground and in the corridors of power—can be significantly weakened if his current squad fails to deliver for him. Perhaps irretrievably so.

Whatever is written about Saintfiet when he does depart at Piarco, he certainly will not be remembered as dull.

Now, it is up to his present squad—which includes 37-year-old captain and right back Carlos Edwards and 35-year-old striker Cornell Glen—to prove that the coach can win football matches too.

Suriname would be a good place to start on Tuesday.

(Trinidad and Tobago 20-man Gold Cup playoff squad)

Goalkeepers: Adrian Foncette (Police FC), Glenroy Samuel (Ma Pau Stars);

Defenders: Carlos Edwards (Ma Paul Stars), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Carlyle Mitchell (Seoul E-Land—Korea Republic), Radanfah Abu Bakr (Sillamae Kallen—Estonia), Maurice Ford (W Connection), Aubrey David (Deportivo Saprissa—Costa Rica);

Midfielders: Kevan George (Jacksonville Armada—USA), Andre Boucaud (Dagenham & Redbridge—England), Alvin Jones, Hughtun Hector (both W Connection);

Attacking midfielders: Aikim Andrews (W Connection), Trevin Caesar (Orange County Blues—USA), Hashim Arcia (Defence Force), Nathan Lewis, Tyrone Charles (both San Juan Jabloteh);

Forwards: Akeem Roach (Club Sando), Shahdon Winchester (Murcielagos FC—Mexico), Cornell Glen (Ozone FC Bengalaru—India).

Technical staff: Tom Saintfiet (head coach), Russell Latapy (assistant coach), Jamaal Shabazz (assistant coach), Lukas Wojciak (goalkeeper coach), Riedoh Berdien (trainer), Dr Terence Babwah (doctor), Dave Isaac (paramedic), Michael Williams (equipment manager), Shaun Fuentes (press officer), Azaad Khan (interim manager).

Post by: trini_stallion on January 01, 2017, 06:58:55 PM
Molino saying he eh motivated...and Jones knocking against a friendly for WConnection?? Sainfeit putting WConnection players on blast...

This man earning a lil respect
Post by: andre samuel on January 01, 2017, 07:50:49 PM
I cannot wait to hear the spin that Controversial puts on the omission of four players with W Connection links, lol.

Post by: FF on January 01, 2017, 08:28:39 PM
Boat Cruise Jammers sailing along smooth
Post by: congo on January 01, 2017, 08:29:58 PM
There's something not quite right about the water in Carenage. I really hear them boys and them were sweating up there last week. I didn't know that you can represent two clubs at the same time. Mad people all around yes.

Lord help them carenage boys cause they really don't know what going on. After joy is sorrow.

Post by: royal on January 01, 2017, 08:55:03 PM
am with Sandfly on dis one. He must be catch DJW and dem off guard with his frank commits. Let's see if dey muzzle him now. 
Post by: royal on January 01, 2017, 08:57:28 PM
dis is what happens when a player doesn't have respect for de coach and de team. Tell Jones to try dat with Seattle. 
Post by: CAPITANO on January 01, 2017, 08:57:48 PM
de rum boys...smh....
these fellas gave up on the national side a long time ago...I have no idea why Hart kept them around for so long.. Hart didn't want to change what stopped working for him a long time ago and that's why he got sacked
Post by: Fyzoman on January 01, 2017, 10:07:48 PM
Boat Cruise Jammers sailing along smooth
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

I better off laughing at this than even trying to begin to comment on this jokiness, ah mean really what question can you ask, what comment can you make?? Where do you even start??

Boat Cruise Jammers man:)
Post by: asylumseeker on January 01, 2017, 10:43:34 PM
Pretty soon TTFA will need ah breathalyzer unit.  :beermug:
Post by: congo on January 01, 2017, 11:48:39 PM
Could somone please inform these boys that they need international caps if they hope to secure work permits in Europe please. I guess they are pretty comfy in MLS and really lack the ambition to play at a higher level.

To think that someone in here had the audacity to mention Joevin's name next to some of the biggest clubs in Europe. Steups..These boys not ready and quite frankly they already done.
Post by: ribbit on January 02, 2017, 12:45:22 AM
Pretty soon TTFA will need ah breathalyzer unit.  :beermug:

Maybe dey hoping to get a contract to play with Al-Anon  ;) ???
Post by: madness on January 02, 2017, 01:08:19 AM
these fellas want to play for nonsense games other than playing for the national team where the world is watching. It is a privilege to play for your national team. :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead: This may be the reason why these key players didn't want to play for Trinidad.
Post by: FF on January 02, 2017, 01:55:56 AM
Cyrus say he get a flat tire. Old faithful. Dat and de dog eat meh homework
Post by: MEP on January 02, 2017, 02:55:26 AM
what's that old saying Charity begins at home....seems as if the indiscipline that DJW has reflects on his players....
guess the true meaning of the W has been revealed - Wutless
Post by: Controversial on January 02, 2017, 03:30:41 AM
I cannot wait to hear the spin that Controversial puts on the omission of four players with W Connection links, lol.

Molino and certain players knew Hart was going to be fired and decided to not care anymore... as they know the dictator up to his tricks..

The reason none of them taking it seriously is because the dictator is there as president ...

The lack of commitment was sorted until the dictator entered the picture..

You notice how Andre conveniently leaves out Kenwyne jones and his statement when he was dropped, he chose not to speak out at this time or buss the files on the corrupt admin...

So if you think it's player indiscipline alone, it's no respect shown to djw and his cabal ... as they knew what his end objective was..

Digest that if yuh intelligent enough to understand it..
Post by: Controversial on January 02, 2017, 03:36:06 AM
what's that old saying Charity begins at home....seems as if the indiscipline that DJW has reflects on his players....
guess the true meaning of the W has been revealed - Wutless

What some people on this board fail to realize is that there are athletes who are the top stars in their respective sport that have moments of indiscipline..

Would you like me to list stars that have done worse and still shined and propelled themselves to the top..

The bottom line is the Dictator came in to sabotage our football, Hart has these so called indisciplined players playing at a higher level than any Shabazz or SANTHIEF coached team against quality teams..

Yes indiscipline is wrong but it happens, people who have never played organized sports for teams would never understand that... Hart said you can't stifle these players they will not respond positively ... hence what's going on now, SANTHIEF doesn't understand our culture or players.. btw Cyrus had a flat tire and proved it to the coach... so only jomal was the one who had a drink with his family..

Hart did and he managed to get the best out of them and was heading for better until Andres boy the dictator stepped in and sabotaged it..
Post by: Thomo on January 02, 2017, 05:34:08 AM

Molino and certain players knew Hart was going to be fired and decided to not care anymore... as they know the dictator up to his tricks..

The reason none of them taking it seriously is because the dictator is there as president ...

You notice how Andre conveniently leaves out Kenwyne jones and his statement when he was dropped, he chose not to speak out at this time or buss the files on the corrupt admin...

So if you think it's player indiscipline alone, it's no respect shown to djw and his cabal ... as they knew what his end objective was..

So how do you address the fact that they are all players with W Connection links?
Post by: g on January 02, 2017, 06:31:16 AM
Allyuh splitting hairs, this whole thing stinks no matter what spin yuh put on this.

I always go back to the interview with Jan Michael Williams with Andre Baptiste. He said that this group of players are motivated by different things, when you watch the Molinos and the Joevins of this world it becomes clearer and clearer

Saintfet is attempting to establish authority and while I not agreeing with all his methods, he showing me some consistency in his actions. To be fair he doesn't have time for non compliance.

The results this week will bear heavily on all the players previously omitted for the rest of the campaign
Post by: AB.Trini on January 02, 2017, 06:59:12 AM
It is rather disappointing to read of the players who allegedly are not motivated to represent their country. It seems like a denouncing of the highest honour as an athlete to wear that jersey and play for ones country.
 We may not know or have the opportunity to hear from the players but whatever the reasons  the optics of this does not set a positive trend for our skilled players. How quickly they forget that where that are today in part may have been their representation for TNT on a bigger stage.
Too often this alleged snubbery of country is raising its nasty head- recall Keon Daniels - how many times did he refuse and simply did not turn up?

Politics and sports should not intertwine within the decision making for a player . Nor should a country be held at ransom by players who believe
that their worth is above all others. I strongly support a coach who could take a stance to omit these players and begin the mentality which has been pervasive in our football legacy - the ' star boi'
With the eradication of these dissidents I would hope that we could begin to see an era of a more cohesive structured team where scoring is by committee rather than on the reliance of few.
When I follow international football it is with pride to see our national players on an international stage today I will not be so filled with zest to watch the MLS teams with these players who allegedly turn their backs on TNT during a time of need.
Ask not what your country can do for you but what you can do for your country!
Players ought to make a pledge that outside interference should not get in the way of their burning desire to represent ones country.
Post by: Sam on January 02, 2017, 07:08:08 AM
Apart from Molino, it looks like its the current and former W Connection players who really have a problem with David John Williams since he took over.

Mekeil, Joevin, Cyrus, Kenwyne, Jomal, Hodge and Jan. Ah know Kenwyne and Jan get drop, but they never perform since DJW took over.

DJW need to check he self. Ah hear players complain about him a lot.

He pushing he W Connection players on de team and them is de one sabotaging him.

I said this a long time ago, if I was coach, Molino would never play for T&T again, he to dam ungrateful !!

Post by: injunchile on January 02, 2017, 07:38:33 AM
Saintfiet consistent and demands discipline. No individual is bigger than the team. Give this coach some credit , he is up front with his disciplinary demands and it augurs well for the future. A. B. Trini is spot on in his contribution.
Post by: dcs on January 02, 2017, 07:48:23 AM
I prefer if you not motivated to come to work you say so and don't come.
I don't fault Jones or Molino and appreciate they not making a fuss by causing any more trouble saying WHY be it the coach, President or otherwise. I am pretty sure they work hard for their clubs so this specific to not being able to take our approach seriously based on a whole heap of nonsense.

I can't fault the coach much for his selection, I actually think the discipline and selection based on what he is seeing is a good thing.
I can fault him for not inviting KJ, Jan Michael and Central players to the Jan 1st camp and his head will be on a stick if his current goalkeepers contribute to any failure to qualify.

At least he brave enough.
If we don't qualify for the GC are we waiting for March to replace.  More importantly what exactly is the contingency plan for replacement.... :thinking: :thinking: :thinking:

I want us to win. I see some hope in how we played in the 2nd game and the players on the squad will fight. Results are the only thing that matter at this point in time.
Post by: frico on January 02, 2017, 07:52:21 AM
Bravo Mr.Saintfiet!!!
Drop all the c - - - s with the "star boi"and I am bigger than the game attitude,TT means nothing to me.This is the time to start building with the people who wants to represent with heart and soul,that counts just as much as skill.Win lose or draw we must continue use players who wants to play.We must remember the best team we ever had,was all home grown talents,only Nahkid was a pro but wasn't he troublemaker,hope we qualify for the GC,and stick two fingers at those idiots.I totally agree with the players selected.
Post by: g on January 02, 2017, 08:15:10 AM
Given the current scenario I want the team to do better than ever now. I want fellas who not motivated to feel the burn of success without them and see them begging to come back in.
Post by: congo on January 02, 2017, 11:58:09 AM
If them only knew how great they could really be if they just focused for a couple of years yeh....Jeez...>Dey does hurt meh heart bad.
Post by: frico on January 02, 2017, 01:19:13 PM
Given the current scenario I want the team to do better than ever now. I want fellas who not motivated to feel the burn of success without them and see them begging to come back in.
E X A C T L Y!
Post by: frico on January 02, 2017, 01:26:21 PM
If them only knew how great they could really be if they just focused for a couple of years yeh....Jeez...>Dey does hurt meh heart bad.
My heart is also in pain,I just don't know how anybody could treat their country with so much disrespect,just because of their attitude,I would like us to qualify for GC and WC,let's see how they feel then.I know that looks impossible at the moment,but sports have a way of bringing people back to earth with a big bump. :(
Post by: palos on January 02, 2017, 01:52:17 PM
People acting like if things happen in some sort of vacuum

Local based players get contracts to go abroad and see how things are done both ON AND OFF the field.

Then they compare that to what exists back home.

The TTFA doh give a f**k about qualifying for Russia 2018.....so why should these players?

They see themselves as being pawns in a game played by the corrupt and inept.

The rewards of their labor are largely reaped by those in administrative power.

So they look out for themselves first and foremost.  Why should they sacrifice and work hard for "country" when same country does little or nothing to support them, so called supporters call them shit hound and sell out at the slightest sign of adversity, their administrators running the game locally into the ground, as long as they get paid, and local supporters don't care enough to come out and support the local pro league.

I not condoning the players behavior, but instead of banning and acting all high and mighty, maybe you might want to look at getting your own house in order first. Players always get the blame when often, the administrators just as much, if not more, to blame.

I don't blame Saintfiet. Is not his job to get the TTFA in order, but the same way he allegedly consult with locals with knowledge about who should get selected, he could also look at the totality of the situation. 

The question he and others must ask is, why so many players not that honored to represent T&T?  The answer(s) might be revealing

Post by: Lower St. John on January 02, 2017, 02:37:29 PM
Tired of the continued indiscipline in all levels of our sports administrations. Who is to blame the administrators or the players for the present situation in the football, analogous to the chicken and egg situation. In the end and as we try to qualify for the Gold Cup and World Cup, the new coach can only be held responsible for what he has control over. He would be foolish to go into a game with players who show no dedication, desire or want to be on the field.

I will be accepting of the results with this group of players and hold out hope that we can still qualify for the Gold Cup, at a minimum, but I am not underestimating our chances.

Blessings
Post by: dcs on January 02, 2017, 02:44:42 PM
I will be accepting of the results with this group of players and hold out hope that we can still qualify for the Gold Cup, at a minimum, but I am not underestimating our chances.

For me accepting of the current players efforts yes.
Coach maybe with the exception of goalkeeping and forward positions since it have journeyman he blank for no objective reason related to discipline.
Administration.....no bly at all. You change coaches at this juncture when results are required so 100% accountability for their part in any outcome...which goes both ways if things go well which hopefully it does.

Post by: congo on January 02, 2017, 02:47:55 PM
Palos,

What does that have to do with indiscipline? How is that connected to showing up to a training session smelling of alcohol or not showing up at all. That is down to the character and discipline of the individual. These are not disciplined individuals and it shows time and time again. What may happen is that they are comfortable with the level of the mls so they wouldn't do anything to jeopardize that income but give that time as well. This groups of reeks of people who have very little to show in terms of football achievement or  even talent but somehow given off the impression that they have arrived.

Sheldon Bateau is probably the player playing at the highest level on that team and yet we don't seem to have any disciplinary problems from him. He's coming from RUSSIA to play ball and we have never had any problems with him. That is humbleness and discipline. Maybe it is difference in upbringing. Personally, I think Bateau should be captain. He's 25 and already has a bright future ahead of him.

Where is Lester Peltier anyway....Another one who break meh heart.
Post by: congo on January 02, 2017, 02:51:07 PM
Palos,

Don't forget that these are not players with dual nationality etc. They need the caps. Whether or not TTFA in order they still need to wear the national colours in order to have a chance of securing a work permit etc. This is not no jokey matter. If they serious about football then they would realise that past 25+ and still playing in MLS is not an option. They already too old.  But some have shown a serious lack of ambition so there is that as well. The wake up call will come when they end back up in the pro league fighting for "sweat". This football life not easy. Somebody needs to advise these boys who pretending to be men.
Post by: Thomo on January 02, 2017, 03:07:10 PM
I guess these guys are happy with the MLS, USL and NASL as its more money than they ever earned in their life. Hell some even happy with TT Pro League and prefer that than Costa Rica. As far as I'm concerned Molino should never be allowed to wear the national shirt again EVER. Too many indiscretions. Look at Mekeil Williams after he finally got to the MLS, he fell off the boil after an initial good start but sat on the bench for the second half of the season,  now on the hunt for a new club. Hart dropped him and even Saintfeit didn't pick him for his final squad. Look how long Joevin take before someone took a chance on him, ended the season on a high then basically spat on the national team shirt. Another who should NEVER be allowed to play again imo. Really sad state of events. Good luck to these new guys, I really hope they pull through.
Post by: Controversial on January 02, 2017, 03:31:53 PM

So how do you address the fact that they are all players with W Connection links?

You just answered it for yourself without thinking.. why do you think they knew? Especially the connection players..

Use your brains nah.. ent the dictator fixing the situation with Cyrus now...
Post by: Controversial on January 02, 2017, 03:40:09 PM
It is rather disappointing to read of the players who allegedly are not motivated to represent their country. It seems like a denouncing of the highest honour as an athlete to wear that jersey and play for ones country.
 We may not know or have the opportunity to hear from the players but whatever the reasons  the optics of this does not set a positive trend for our skilled players. How quickly they forget that where that are today in part may have been their representation for TNT on a bigger stage.
Too often this alleged snubbery of country is raising its nasty head- recall Keon Daniels - how many times did he refuse and simply did not turn up?

Politics and sports should not intertwine within the decision making for a player . Nor should a country be held at ransom by players who believe
that their worth is above all others. I strongly support a coach who could take a stance to omit these players and begin the mentality which has been pervasive in our football legacy - the ' star boi'
With the eradication of these dissidents I would hope that we could begin to see an era of a more cohesive structured team where scoring is by committee rather than on the reliance of few.
When I follow international football it is with pride to see our national players on an international stage today I will not be so filled with zest to watch the MLS teams with these players who allegedly turn their backs on TNT during a time of need.
Ask not what your country can do for you but what you can do for your country!
Players ought to make a pledge that outside interference should not get in the way of their burning desire to represent ones country.

All great points but this brings me back to Harts interview with Lasana. Where he outlines how unprofessional the federation is and how badly the players are treated and the lack of insurance, lack of respect and many other factors that clubs hate about the ttfa..

So Glen pointed out that if he saw injured the fed didn't care, it doesn't provide comfort for players..

Now if the ttfa created a good environment like the US or another developed nation, then the players would have nothing to gripe about..

However, that is not case, because we had guys like the dictator who create toxic environments and our govts who have the money but don't invest in making sport a priority..

So yes the players are at fault but you also have to look at the entire picture..
Post by: Controversial on January 02, 2017, 03:46:54 PM
Palos,

Don't forget that these are not players with dual nationality etc. They need the caps. Whether or not TTFA in order they still need to wear the national colours in order to have a chance of securing a work permit etc. This is not no jokey matter. If they serious about football then they would realise that past 25+ and still playing in MLS is not an option. They already too old.  But some have shown a serious lack of ambition so there is that as well. The wake up call will come when they end back up in the pro league fighting for "sweat". This football life not easy. Somebody needs to advise these boys who pretending to be men.

Under what conditions though? Palos said it best, men not realizing what it's like to play under a corrupt micro manager..

This whole thing was a sabotage..
Post by: Controversial on January 02, 2017, 03:48:37 PM
People acting like if things happen in some sort of vacuum

Local based players get contracts to go abroad and see how things are done both ON AND OFF the field.

Then they compare that to what exists back home.

The TTFA doh give a f**k about qualifying for Russia 2018.....so why should these players?

They see themselves as being pawns in a game played by the corrupt and inept.

The rewards of their labor are largely reaped by those in administrative power.

So they look out for themselves first and foremost.  Why should they sacrifice and work hard for "country" when same country does little or nothing to support them, so called supporters call them shit hound and sell out at the slightest sign of adversity, their administrators running the game locally into the ground, as long as they get paid, and local supporters don't care enough to come out and support the local pro league.

I not condoning the players behavior, but instead of banning and acting all high and mighty, maybe you might want to look at getting your own house in order first. Players always get the blame when often, the administrators just as much, if not more, to blame.

I don't blame Saintfiet. Is not his job to get the TTFA in order, but the same way he allegedly consult with locals with knowledge about who should get selected, he could also look at the totality of the situation. 

The question he and others must ask is, why so many players not that honored to represent T&T?  The answer(s) might be revealing

Brilliant  :beermug:
Post by: congo on January 02, 2017, 03:58:07 PM
Contro, don't come with that bs.....Bostick's lack of interest may be because of an unprofessional federation etc.

Jones et al behaviour has nothing to do with the TTFA. It has all to do with the fact that they are unprofessional .You breaking camp to go a boat cruise is no frigging protest whatsoever. You wanted to go that boat ride.
Post by: dcs on January 02, 2017, 06:42:05 PM
Contro, don't come with that bs.....Bostick's lack of interest may be because of an unprofessional federation etc.

Jones et al behaviour has nothing to do with the TTFA. It has all to do with the fact that they are unprofessional .You breaking camp to go a boat cruise is no frigging protest whatsoever. You wanted to go that boat ride.

They are not unprofessional with their clubs so I'm not sure it is anything inherent with them.

An employers environment affects staff particularly when they are asked to give 110% and then still be subjected to boos from their own countrymen or have people come on a board tear them down.
At some point if it is not a positive experience motivation drops regardless of how much an honour we say it is. It stops being an honour when people are disrespecting you not so?
This is not a first it has been happening with players/TTFA forever.
When they don't respect the organization then they take liberties with their actions or just don't give a frig about administrators or fickle fans.

Between Tim Kee and DJW we are supposed to be turning over a new leaf and putting things in place so we can get the best out of our footballers. It is not in our best interest to have players turned off with the way things run though I have to say not many coming outright to say that. Just hints that causing us to speculate. I guess they to blame for not having FPATT in place so they don't have any standards to demand as a group.

It will have some who wouldn't be committed regardless and time will tell if Molino and Jones in that category but with a positive environment and some professionalism these guys will fall in line easily. I don't think they anywhere near troublemakers like the current assistant coach used to be  ;D
Post by: Insider on January 02, 2017, 07:45:14 PM
Yesterday I was on a Boat Ride, on Harbour Master boat between 1 to 5 pm and about 3 pm Joevin was on a jetski in the water surrounding the boat as well as Khaleem Hyland, he was on the boat ride as a patron.

Post by: soccerman on January 02, 2017, 07:48:17 PM
Oh yes Trini football is de bess, is de bess is de bess, Trini football is de bess....aiyee aiyee
Post by: Flex on January 02, 2017, 07:49:35 PM
https://youtu.be/781JYte435o

Post by: soccerman on January 02, 2017, 07:57:54 PM
This had way more spectators than a Pro League game
Post by: pull stones on January 02, 2017, 08:17:37 PM
And when I spoke about the carenage crew people were annoyed and perturbed but look at these players blanking the goal cup just to hang out and play fete matches and cruise the harbor master while bocouad is leaving all the way in England in the middle of his season to come to trinidad to play for a country that he wasn't even raised in.

I Have to say that I am quite disappointed with Sheldon bateau. The coach should never pick any of the carenage crew, for that matter none of these guys. I hope to heavens that old man Carlos and cornell glen could pull off the impossible with this b team so they could watch the gold cup and the World Cup on the harbor master TV. Blooming idiots.
Post by: Controversial on January 02, 2017, 08:18:57 PM
This had way more spectators than a Pro League game

Because it's grassroots community football, real, zero tampering
Post by: Controversial on January 02, 2017, 08:22:24 PM
And when I spoke about the carenage crew people were annoyed and perturbed but look at these players blanking the goal cup just to hang out and play fete matches and cruise the harbor master while bocouad is leaving all the way in England in the middle of his season to come to trinidad to play for a country that he wasn't even raised in.

I Have to say that I am quite disappointed with Sheldon bateau. The coach should never pick any of the carenage crew, for that matter none of these guys. I hope to heavens that old man Carlos and cornell glen could pull off the impossible with this b team so they could watch the gold cup and the World Cup on the harbor master TV. Blooming idiots.

Hart is the man... the dictator will fall, so shall it be written, so shall it be done...
Post by: ffisback on January 02, 2017, 09:00:38 PM
AMATEURS AMATEURS AMATEURS !!!!!!!!!
Post by: ON DE BLOCK on January 02, 2017, 09:10:29 PM
there seem to be a pattern with saintfiet, with Bangladesh he cut 5 top players an gave Bhutan their first victory ever over Bangladesh, also with togo they never advanced under his coaching, hoping he does not run true to form here...
Post by: Controversial on January 02, 2017, 09:46:43 PM

Yeah okay Shabazz.. says the man who committed high treason against his nation...

You're lucky you didn't try that in a nation like the US or Canada...  :D

Let's see how far allyuh amateurish so called coaches take this team..
Post by: Jumbie on January 02, 2017, 10:26:45 PM
Mr Saintfiet... good luck! (actually feeling sorry for the fella)

Post by: Preacher on January 02, 2017, 11:04:52 PM
I don't see the issue really.  I'm sure these fellas didn't plan this fete match yesterday.  It's a good thing they doing.  I can't knock them for that, honestly.  They can't not sure up.  For things like this I will give them a break to come in camp a lil later.  Once they do their duty and don't go out drinking and thing.  It's a positive..  I'm for that.  They are grown fellas..treat them with respect even when they drift lil bit. 
Post by: asylumseeker on January 03, 2017, 01:50:24 AM
Yesterday I was on a Boat Ride, on Harbour Master boat between 1 to 5 pm and about 3 pm Joevin was on a jetski in the water surrounding the boat as well as Khaleem Hyland, he was on the boat ride as a patron.

The sole issue that "jumps out" at me is whether this constitutes a prohibited activity under his contract. Other than that ...
Post by: Flex on January 03, 2017, 06:08:35 AM
Daneil Cyrus: Clear my name.
By Jelani Beckles (Newsday).

NATIONAL footballer Daneil Cyrus has denied that he showed up to training camp stale drunk on Sunday, saying that everyone knows he does not consume alcohol.

Cyrus and fellow national footballer Jomal Williams were sent home from camp after head coach Tom Saintfeit told the media the pair was smelling of alcohol after arriving to camp at the Cara Suites Hotel in Claxton Bay. Saintfeit stated, “Two players came one and a half hours too late in camp and had still a decent smell of alcohol around them.

That was Daneil Cyrus and Jomal Williams. Both were immediately sent home, back to party.” Cyrus, giving his version of what transpired on New Year’s Day, said he arrived at camp late because of a flat tyre he got in St Helena and said he was not smelling of alcohol.

Cyrus explained that when he arrived at camp he tried to clear the situation but it proved futile.

The W Connection defender explained, “I went to him (Saintfeit) and he ask me to see the flat tyre and when I was going to show him at the same time he said ‘Jomal you smell like alcohol’ and then Jomal said ‘Yes I had a drink with my family.’ And after that I don’t know if that triggered him off and he told both of us to wait out in the lobby and then he came back and said ‘thanks for everything but you could go back and party.’” Cyrus said he did not expect Saintfeit to react like that.

“I was shocked because he asked me to see the flat tyre in which I was going to show him. He just went off because Jomal was kinda smelling like alcohol - it wasn’t me he was talking to. When I saw the Newsday and everyone say that both of us showed up smelling stink of alcohol I was shocked because if anybody know me, any of my friends, they know I can’t drink and I don’t drink so I don’t know where all this is coming from.

I just want my name to clear up from this because people thinking I showing up in camp drunk and I drink (alcohol). I don’t drink.” Cyrus, despite being snubbed for the upcoming Gold Cup qualifiers against Suriname on Wednesday and Haiti on Sunday, said he is still 100 percent dedicated and eager to represent the national team. “All the time the commitment is there. If they call (me) back tomorrow (I will go back). I just don’t like the fact that the coach never spoke to me about alcohol, it wasn’t me he was talking to and for him to say both players showed up in camp smelling stink of alcohol, that is wrong.

Even one of my friends posted on Facebook and say ‘if you know Cyrus and you’re his friend, Cyrus does drink one cup of something and Cyrus head start to spin.’” The defender is hoping the situation is resolved soon and he will be back in national colours.

“Once this clear up and everything, I am hoping everything works out for me and the team.

Even if he (Saintfeit) does not include me for these two games (Suriname and Haiti) I just hoping the team could qualify for the Gold Cup and I could get back on the squad as soon as possible because my heart is always with the team.” Calls to Williams’ mobile yesterday proved futile as it went straight to voicemail.

TT face Suriname tomorrow at 7 pm at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva, and then play Haiti at 5 pm at the same venue in Gold Cup qualifiers.

Post by: g on January 03, 2017, 06:25:06 AM
The availability of players outside of designated FIFA windows are at the sole discretion of football clubs around the world.

What I find is that there isn't a lot of clarity of who has been officially made available versus who isn't.

From what I have been told the FA approached MLS clubs (who are in their off season) and responses from the respective teams were mixed. Some clubs said no, others said yes with conditions as they want their players rested.

Hyland and Bateau's clubs said no, even though they are both on winter breaks and the players are both in T&T. Bateau was involved in community football but I not sure if he got his own clearance to participate on his side. On the flip side Boucaud's club gave the OK for him to join the team for the week to play in the qualifiers.

Different players have different contractual arrangements with their clubs. Some cannot participate in any football related activity including international football without club permission while others are not as restricted and only have fitness clauses in their contract. The only leverage the FA has is during official international windows, the next one is in March.

We create our own issues by having to play competitive games outside of the windows, creating all this drama. The FA has to do what it can to try and prepare who is available. We still have to be careful when we see players restricted and are on holiday and suggesting they are not committed.

Some of the feedback from the coach conflicts this though.
Post by: MEP on January 03, 2017, 07:52:29 AM
Some things come through proper planning. If The TTFA were to organize friendlies a year in advance and using the FIFA calendar they would encounter less issues with the release of players.
Post by: Marcos on January 03, 2017, 08:05:51 AM
Dred, these men in their mid-20s, making less than $150K a year in the MLS (IN THEIR PRIME YEARS). They not in a position to buss style. This isn't like Yorke and Latas,who had already represented the country for 20 years and made a hell of a lot more money and were likely financially set.

It amazes me how little it takes for some of these people to get an inflated sense of self. Molino in particular, who suffered a serious injury should be more grounded.
Post by: Thomo on January 03, 2017, 08:31:02 AM
Dred, these men in their mid-20s, making less than $150K a year in the MLS (IN THEIR PRIME YEARS). They not in a position to buss style. This isn't like Yorke and Latas,who had already represented the country for 20 years and made a hell of a lot more money and were likely financially set.

It amazes me how little it takes for some of these people to get an inflated sense of self. Molino in particular, who suffered a serious injury should be more grounded.

I guess 1 penny more than what an average man earns from their hometown is a big thing for them. Molino $110K and £70K per annum and them fellas settled oui, SMDH See here...http://www.mlsplayers.org/images/September%2015%202016%20Salary%20Information%20-%20Alphabetical.pdf I remember when Yorke was earing £25K per week with Man Utd and Latapy £15K per week at Rangers in his twilight!! Plus them fellas play for more established clubs too. Aston Villa, Man Utd, Porto and Academica!!!
Post by: Dinner Mints on January 03, 2017, 08:58:28 AM
Could it be that these fellas disillusioned by the firing of Hart? They eh like how things went down and now they eh motivated to work with the new regime?

That would also be unprofessional and unfortunate, but it somewhat easier to empathize with than, "they just like a fete."
Post by: Thomo on January 03, 2017, 09:06:34 AM
Could it be that these fellas disillusioned by the firing of Hart? They eh like how things went down and now they eh motivated to work with the new regime?

That would also be unprofessional and unfortunate, but it somewhat easier to empathize with than, "they just like a fete."

I reckon their might be an element of that but in Molino's case he helped throw Hart under the bus with his antics. However, it definitely is unprofessional and unfortunate to boycott and treat the country with such utter disrespect saying you aren't "motivated" enough to play for the national team. He wasn't so insolent when Adrian Heath get fired by OCSC and Heath was the man that scouted him and took him to the USA. Again when Bertille was fired in 2005, Yorke was pissed off but he eventually became the bigger man and lead the team to the WC. They ent playing for Hart, they playing for their country!! I ent like the best bone in DJW but I love & support TnT and that trumps all the s**t the TTFA have to offer!!
Post by: g on January 03, 2017, 09:57:03 AM

Life is really about perspective, some of these fellas come from real poverty so 150k USD a year is like mini fortune for them. They could look after their families while playing but that wont be nearly enough to take them past retirement.

I always wonder what support structures these players have around them, they have agents i presume, but what about a business manager or an accountant at least to help them manage their finances and affairs and professional decisions? I just get a sense that they kind of operating in the wilderness as their decisions are naive at best.

The FA has not improved their administrative capacity over multiple presidents so I can't even say there has been a decline in our ability to manage players. Over the years players themselves have endured with the FA because they recognized that their professional earning potential has a large part in being active with the national team, even if the FA couldn't be it purposely or circumstantially sufficiently compensate players for representing country.

It just comes across as a lose lose situation for everybody involved.
Post by: pull stones on January 03, 2017, 09:58:56 AM
The availability of players outside of designated FIFA windows are at the sole discretion of football clubs around the world.

What I find is that there isn't a lot of clarity of who has been officially made available versus who isn't.

From what I have been told the FA approached MLS clubs (who are in their off season) and responses from the respective teams were mixed. Some clubs said no, others said yes with conditions as they want their players rested.

Hyland and Bateau's clubs said no, even though they are both on winter breaks and the players are both in T&T. Bateau was involved in community football but I not sure if he got his own clearance to participate on his side. On the flip side Boucaud's club gave the OK for him to join the team for the week to play in the qualifiers.

Different players have different contractual arrangements with their clubs. Some cannot participate in any football related activity including international football without club permission while others are not as restricted and only have fitness clauses in their contract. The only leverage the FA has is during official international windows, the next one is in March.

We create our own issues by having to play competitive games outside of the windows, creating all this drama. The FA has to do what it can to try and prepare who is available. We still have to be careful when we see players restricted and are on holiday and suggesting they are not committed.

Some of the feedback from the coach conflicts this though.
thanks for clearing that up g. I had no idea that bateau and hyland's club did not grant them permission to play in these games and was presumptuous in my assessment of the lads, and for this I apologize to the players. as for Jovin and kevin, I will reserve my comments on them until the situation has come to light. i will be keeping my ears open.
Post by: Bitter on January 03, 2017, 11:39:20 AM
Seattle's Joevin Jones has 'no interest to help his country' - T&T manager
ESPN STAFF

Seattle Sounders left-back Joevin Jones has been dropped from the Trinidad and Tobago squad after new coach Tom Saintfiet accused him of having "no interest" in helping the national team.

The Belgian coach, hired in December after Stephen Hart was sacked, also criticized the commitment of other T&T players and accused at least one of showing up to training smelling of alcohol.

Saintfiet had originally named Jones to the squad that will face Suriname and Haiti this week in crucial playoff matches to qualify for this summer's CONCACAF Gold Cup, but he said on Sunday that Jones did not appear at training as expected this weekend.

"I spoke with him individually and he did not show up at all for the camp," Saintfiet said, according to Wired 868. "So I think he has no interest to help his country to qualify."

Saintfiet said he had allowed Jones to skip the previous week's friendlies against Nicaragua after the 25-year-old had an extended Sounders season that ended with a win on penalties in the MLS Cup final on Dec. 10.

But the coach said he was then disappointed to learn that Jones had played in a friendly with his former club W Connection against the Haiti national team on Friday.

"Joevin is here on holiday and Joevin played, two days ago, a friendly with W Connection against Haiti," Saintfiet said. "So if his club had no problem with him playing a friendly match with a club where he is not registered, I see no problem why he cannot play for his national team...

"I had face-to-face communication with him. I said take a few days off and see you on Jan. 1. I told him where and when and which time [to enter] camp and he never called or informed us in any way that he would not show up."

Saintfiet said he also dropped Daneil Cyrus and Jomal Williams from the team after they arrived to camp late.

"Two of the players came one and a half hours too late in camp and had still decent smell of alcohol around," he said. "That was Daneil Cyrus and Jomal Williams. Both were immediately sent home back to party."

Cyrus denied smelling of alcohol and said the coach was referring only to Williams, Wired 868 reported.

Saintfiet also had harsh words for Orlando City midfielder Kevin Molino, who he said asked not to be named to the team for this month's qualifiers.

"[Molino] said he was not available [to play] for his country at that point in time," Saintfiet said. "He told me he didn't feel motivated or ready for that. And later, I [heard] he played games at lower league or social level."

Trinidad and Tobago was required to play in the Gold Cup playoffs after a surprise loss to Martinique in October. It must top the three-team group this week to advance to a final playoff against a Central American team.

After Trinidad and Tobago lost its first two games in the final round of CONCACAF World Cup qualifying, federation president David John Williams said that Saintfiet's appointment could be short-term if he does not earn results in March's games against Panama and Mexico.

RELATED NEWS

Joevin: Saintfiet is trying to dirty my name; I always want to play for T&T.

“I can’t see why Tom [Saintfiet] is saying I am not interested and I don’t want to play for my country. I don’t know why he is trying to turn things on me.”

The following Letter to the Editor was submitted to Wired868 by Trinidad and Tobago National Senior Team midfielder Joevin Jones regarding his coach Tom Saintfiet’s claim that the Seattle Sounders player was not interested in representing the Soca Warriors in this week’s Gold Cup playoffs:

I just want to clear my name. I just want to say I always want to play for my country. It’s an honour to play for this country.

First to begin, me and Tom [Saintfiet] talked face to face weeks ago agreeing on me coming to the camp on the 1st [of January]. Yes, I did agree to [that]. But the problem was getting clearance from my team [Seattle Sounders].

After the Trinidad and Tobago team got back from the two friendlies [in Nicaragua] on the 31st [of December], I got a message from my lil brother [and national team player] Alvin that I have to come in camp on the 1st [of January] at 12pm, which was the next day.

I had no info as yet from my club stating if I can go [to camp] or not… [And] why do I have to get a message from my lil brother to come in camp? What about the manager [Azaad Khan]?

My club gave me late clearance on Sunday morning to go. My lil brother was in camp already, so I sent a message with my lil brother stating that I got the clearance and I would be in camp or training the following evening, which he did deliver.

The only reason why I delivered the message back through my lil brother was because they sent one with him. I think they were unprofessional [in doing] that.

The only reason why I played with W Connection [in a friendly against Haiti last week] was because they asked me to train and stay shape for the upcoming game on the 4th against Suriname. So I decided to play the game with W Connection because I can’t watch football because I love the game.

The person who called me to train with Connection called Tom and asked if I could play in the game. The answer I get was: ‘Yes and be careful’.

I risked my contract with Seattle by playing—just to maintain some fitness to feature in the upcoming games. I can’t see why Tom is saying I am not interested and I don’t want to play for my country. I don’t know why he is trying to turn things on me.

I can’t just come in camp just like that. I am under contract with Seattle. They have to give me clearance.

As I said, I got late clearance on Sunday morning. I was on my way to camp on Sunday evening when my lil brother Alvin said to me they don’t want me again. I said no problem.

I think the communication was wrong by sending messages through my lil brother. I don’t see why Tom is trying to dirty my name by saying [if] I could play for Connection [then] why I can’t play with the national team, when the TTFA told me to go and stay in shape and keep fitness. That I didn’t like, [especially] when I risked my contract with Seattle by playing to say fit and in-shape to play for my country.

I just want to tell the people of Trinidad and Tobago, this has nothing to do with me not wanting to play for my loving country. I always love playing.

I just want to clear my name. If I wasn’t interested, why did I talk to Tom and agree face to face to play and to come in camp on the 1st?

If I wasn’t interested, I would have told Tom I had a long season and I needed rest. Simple as that. It hurt me to read stuff that isn’t true.

Editor’s Note: Trinidad and Tobago coach Tom Saintfiet also claimed that Kevin Molino and Cordell Cato declined invitations to represent their country at this week’s Gold Cup playoffs. He later amended this to say that Molino offered to play but he refused to accept him since the midfielder initially said no.

Defender Daneil Cyrus denied suggestions that he turned up to the team camp smelling of alcohol although Saintfiet insisted that he never accused the player of this.

Post by: Controversial on January 03, 2017, 12:32:24 PM
The repercussions of Harts firing being felt and the dictators presence has added fuel to that fire..

Like I said, the dictator sabotage is almost fully complete.. when our qualifiers come around it will come full circle..
Post by: Storeboy on January 03, 2017, 01:19:19 PM

I reckon their might be an element of that but in Molino's case he helped throw Hart under the bus with his antics. However, it definitely is unprofessional and unfortunate to boycott and treat the country with such utter disrespect saying you aren't "motivated" enough to play for the national team. He wasn't so insolent when Adrian Heath get fired by OCSC and Heath was the man that scouted him and took him to the USA. Again when Bertille was fired in 2005, Yorke was pissed off but he eventually became the bigger man and lead the team to the WC. They ent playing for Hart, they playing for their country!! I ent like the best bone in DJW but I love & support TnT and that trumps all the s**t the TTFA have to offer!!

When you are a professional, you just play for the country and your team, no matter who the  coach is. Molino had the example of his teammate Kaka, who left OSC several times whenever he was called up by Brazil and every one knew that he was unlikely to ever play for Brazil again. He was even named in a provisional list then sent back without making the final cut. But country came first.  Molino is a small fish in a small pond and pretending he is bigger that he is by his poor attitude. Joevin Jones will soon also realize how important it is to represent your country whether you like the administration or not.
Post by: Thomo on January 03, 2017, 01:49:36 PM

When you are a professional, you just play for the country and your team, no matter who the  coach is. Molino had the example of his teammate Kaka, who left OSC several times whenever he was called up by Brazil and every one knew that he was unlikely to ever play for Brazil again. He was even named in a provisional list then sent back without making the final cut. But country came first.  Molino is a small fish in a small pond and pretending he is bigger that he is by his poor attitude. Joevin Jones will soon also realize how important it is to represent your country whether you like the administration or not.
Truer words have never been spoken!
Post by: congo on January 03, 2017, 03:47:02 PM
Storeboy, couldn't have said it better. It really is sad that those small fame that these boys experiencing really gone to their heads. No one cares about the MLS and no one cares about a trinidadian boy in the MLS. These boys are already pass 25 and earning what will most likely be their "peak" wage. There is so much more that they could achieve if they focus now. Putting on the national uniform regardless of circumstances can only favour them. They need these caps and further exposure. No one in the football world is batting an eye at Orlando City fc. A football manager at a english league one club wouldn't even look twice at the mls. It is regarded as a mickey mouse league by europeans. They don't even consider the USMNT anything significant. That money they making yearly is what most players make easily weekly. They have so much more to do it's not even funny anymore.
Post by: palos on January 03, 2017, 04:00:53 PM
Storeboy, couldn't have said it better. It really is sad that those small fame that these boys experiencing really gone to their heads. No one cares about the MLS and no one cares about a trinidadian boy in the MLS. These boys are already pass 25 and earning what will most likely be their "peak" wage. There is so much more that they could achieve if they focus now. Putting on the national uniform regardless of circumstances can only favour them. They need these caps and further exposure. No one in the football world is batting an eye at Orlando City fc. A football manager at a english league one club wouldn't even look twice at the mls. It is regarded as a mickey mouse league by europeans. They don't even consider the USMNT anything significant. That money they making yearly is what most players make easily weekly. They have so much more to do it's not even funny anymore.

Many fans are guilty of wanting more for our players than the players want for themselves.

Few of us know just how HARD it is to be the very best.  The amount of sacrifice it takes to get to that level.  The discipline.  The single mindedness.

Even fewer of us would do it ourselves if we were in that position.

Dwight Yorke was an anomaly....and is why...despite Latas being my favorite balla.....Yorkie is hands down IMO, the best footballer ever to come from not just this country....but the region.

Men getting paid in US$
They have a certain amount of celebrity
They have girlz
They have car
They have bling
They could maintain that lifestyle for the near future doing what they doing right now.

They must give that up to be a de facto monk so that they could get a chance to move to be in a higher league and likely be lost in the shuffle?

Post by: congo on January 03, 2017, 04:13:36 PM
But isn't that what discipline is. It's no different to the student to foregoes the weekend party in order to study and gain that scholarship. They can't even compare to the Ronaldo's or Sanchez's of this world when it comes to poverty. Sanchez worked in a salt mine as a teen and Ronaldo's father swept the streets. In trinidad it basically impossible to live a life of absolute poverty due to the amt of social welfare in place such as food card etc. These guys are soft in comparison.

No one is asking them to be a monk. They just asking them not to skip camp to go a flicking boat ride. The same boat ride that will be there when camp finish. These things are a dime a dozen in trinidad. Also, surround yourselves with better influences. Stop hanging around known gang leaders etc. That will only serve to bring you down a notch.

That $US they getting paid probably enough to fix they mother roof on her house but not much else in terms of investment etc. Somebody needs to wise them up quickly.
Post by: palos on January 03, 2017, 04:24:52 PM
But isn't that what discipline is. It's no different to the student to foregoes the weekend party in order to study and gain that scholarship. They can't even compare to the Ronaldo's or Sanchez's of this world when it comes to poverty. Sanchez worked in a salt mine as a teen and Ronaldo's father swept the streets. In trinidad it basically impossible to live a life of absolute poverty due to the amt of social welfare in place such as food card etc. These guys are soft in comparison.

No one is asking them to be a monk. They just asking them not to skip camp to go a flicking boat ride. The same boat ride that will be there when camp finish. These things are a dime a dozen in trinidad. Also, surround yourselves with better influences. Stop hanging around known gang leaders etc. That will only serve to bring you down a notch.

That $US they getting paid probably enough to fix they mother roof on her house but not much else in terms of investment etc. Somebody needs to wise them up quickly.

The point is.....you, me, they mother, father, coach etc could all want the heights for them.  At the end of the day, it ultimately comes down to what they want.

They're not children.  They make their own decisions and will live with the consequences of their actions....or lack thereof.

As the saying goes....you could lead a horse to water....but you cyah make it drink

It's also patently unfair to compare them to Sanchez and Ronaldo.  You take 2 of the very best footballers in world football history and looking to compare them to our players?  That's disingenuous bruh.

I would venture to say compare those players circumstances to 99% of the rest of the football players on the planet and they still wouldn't measure up....not in terms of playing ability....but in terms of where they end up.

Your expectations waaaayyyy too high bro.  And I say that with all respect.  Again....Dwight Yorke is very much the exception.  We will be very lucky to see the likes of him again.....not from a skill standpoint....but from a mentality standpoint.

And even Dwight had his run ins with de runnin woman, fast car, and booze later on in his career.
Post by: congo on January 03, 2017, 04:34:29 PM
I agree and when they get dropped that should be the end of the matter and quite frankly the end of them. Yet many times we see people clamouring for them to be given another chance and chance after chance.

Palos, with regards to Sanchez and Ronaldo I am comparing their circumstances and hardships that they faced in life. Some here are quick to note that some of our players come from hardship/poverty hence being comfortable with the money they being paid etc.

Dwight may have had his run ins but he never quit being extremely professional and disciplined. It never affected his football etc and anyone at Man U could attest to this.
Post by: g on January 03, 2017, 05:21:56 PM

The point is.....you, me, they mother, father, coach etc could all want the heights for them.  At the end of the day, it ultimately comes down to what they want.

They're not children.  They make their own decisions and will live with the consequences of their actions....or lack thereof.

As the saying goes....you could lead a horse to water....but you cyah make it drink

It's also patently unfair to compare them to Sanchez and Ronaldo.  You take 2 of the very best footballers in world football history and looking to compare them to our players?  That's disingenuous bruh.

I would venture to say compare those players circumstances to 99% of the rest of the football players on the planet and they still wouldn't measure up....not in terms of playing ability....but in terms of where they end up.

Your expectations waaaayyyy too high bro.  And I say that with all respect.  Again....Dwight Yorke is very much the exception.  We will be very lucky to see the likes of him again.....not from a skill standpoint....but from a mentality standpoint.

And even Dwight had his run ins with de runnin woman, fast car, and booze later on in his career.

This is well said, can't want more than what them fellas want for themselves.

Let's move on with the fellas who show up, trying their best and give them the support
Post by: palos on January 03, 2017, 05:31:26 PM
Let's move on with the fellas who show up, trying their best and give them the support

De ting is....we have to be careful with that too.

Yes...they show up.  But who's to say they any more committed than the oens who currently getting flak? 

The ones who showin up now have few other options so it easy to show up in a sense. 

Is when you have options is when you go see how things go.

And I still maintain......leadership comes from the top and the players not blind. 

Case in point....players get sanction for not coming to camp, not making deyself available for the Nicaragua tour, and for showin up late etc.

Yet.....the assistant coach get to miss the camp AND tour and only now showin up with the team.

Not blamin Latas.....but optics nah   
Post by: g on January 03, 2017, 06:07:33 PM
See a previous post of mine. The reality of playing international football for Trinidad and Tobago is enduring a hazardous administration, this is not new, Camps, Tim Kee and DJW. When have we been able to have a relatively stable administrative environment in the last 20 years? The biggest element of being a professional footballer is the ability to endure difficult scenarios without compromising your own professional standards, on and off the field and that goes for the domestic and international level.

Our best pros had their run ins, dealt with the ups and down of poor administrators and coaches. Players can decide whatever they want based on what they see and observe but the cause and effect dynamic will prevail nonetheless.
Post by: CAPITANO on January 03, 2017, 07:12:56 PM

Don't forget Hart had these same issues with these players the last few games
Post by: Peong on January 04, 2017, 12:09:52 AM
So much bullshit to sift through. All d best to the team!
All the omitted players startin to look like our preferred 11.
Post by: Controversial on January 04, 2017, 12:12:19 AM
I agree and when they get dropped that should be the end of the matter and quite frankly the end of them. Yet many times we see people clamouring for them to be given another chance and chance after chance.

Palos, with regards to Sanchez and Ronaldo I am comparing their circumstances and hardships that they faced in life. Some here are quick to note that some of our players come from hardship/poverty hence being comfortable with the money they being paid etc.

Dwight may have had his run ins but he never quit being extremely professional and disciplined. It never affected his football etc and anyone at Man U could attest to this.

Yuh talking rubbish...

Jack Warner is the only man-could make Yorke run for our nation because of jacks power and stature for so many years...

Yorke wasn't discipline with Trinidad football until his twilight..  or was he ever fully committed in his prime for playing for the nation..
Post by: Controversial on January 04, 2017, 12:13:22 AM

Hart had them players under the dictatorship of djw .... makes a big difference..
Post by: AB.Trini on January 04, 2017, 12:38:28 AM

De ting is....we have to be careful with that too.

Yes...they show up.  But who's to say they any more committed than the oens who currently getting flak? 

The ones who showin up now have few other options so it easy to show up in a sense. 

Is when you have options is when you go see how things go.

And I still maintain......leadership comes from the top and the players not blind. 

Case in point....players get sanction for not coming to camp, not making deyself available for the Nicaragua tour, and for showin up late etc.

Yet.....the assistant coach get to miss the camp AND tour and only now showin up with the team.

Not blamin Latas.....but optics nah   

This struck a chord with me to really try to be objective and to try to see this from a player's perspective. I realize as fans we want to see our best players at all times  representing TNT no matter what the circumstances. However players are also humans not  robots who blindly jump to a patriotic call of duty.
Consider the road that some of these players had to take to make  it  out of TNT to play professionally abroad. There had to be some degree of commitment  and motivation to get to that level. Now consider what they experience once  they are call to duty for country? You have administrators who appear to be self aggrandizing , self serving and self seeking only to benefit themselves.
When administrators allegedly work in ways to undermine the coach or to pit players aganist a coach how does this teach loyalty? Commitment? Patriotism? When an administrator appears to be acting to benefit the team yet publicially undermines a coach by giving him an ultimatum how does this teach commitment to players?   Why would a player want to commit to another coach if he knows that the coach may not be in for the long haul?
In many regards. What we may be seeing from these dissident players could be a byproduct of the administration who are entrusted to  guide and steer our program for the common good however that has not always been the case. Suffice to say  commitment starts from the top and if those in charge are not committed to the cause- National pride - love of country - then why should the foot soldiers blindly follow?  How many of us may even consider wantiNg to follow the directions of one who was part of a coup  in ones country? How many are looking at coaches and seeing one show up just prior to the most important games ?
See in trying to be impartial I think we ought to look at the head of the fish to see what is rotten in the state of our beloved football. We have had too corrupt a legacy of corrupt administrators who profited off the backs of players yet we tend to ignore and continue to support these rouges yet we expect players to be professional 'suck it up" and play for country despite all that is swirling around them.

This is a different perspective but in retrospect I think I am willing to see the players perspective  and I am trying to understand what would make players chose to joy ride fete play pick up games yet not want to toil for their country?

Post by: Preacher on January 04, 2017, 01:39:57 AM
Is it to far fetched that other powerful federations around Concacaf has paid off DJW so that 1. Hart can be fired and 2. All chances of Qualifying are gone.  Because if you can hold Mexico twice, then maybe a shaky US don't qualify.  Just some random musings I guess.
Post by: Preacher on January 04, 2017, 01:45:01 AM

Relationship is key.  Leadership is paramount.  I'm beginning to feel St. Feet lacking on both fronts.  Yes there was little thing here and there but the difference is how they were handled.  You don't blast people in the press. St Feet may have to come to terms with some prejudices. 
Post by: Controversial on January 04, 2017, 02:15:36 AM
So the ttfa set up joevin for a fall... as I said before, they tying to sabotage our chances..

Why would you send a message through his brother, then tell him to play for connection, then feed info to SANTHIEF that he can play for connection against Haiti but can't for the national team? SANTHIEF part of the set up

Then send a message back through his brother telling him he not needed and then report false news to everyone that he doesn't want to play..

Sabotage... no other way to categorize it..
Post by: sjahrain on January 04, 2017, 04:17:48 AM
Tell me more
How can a national team member be not available for the national team
But he was available to play for a team where he is not registered.Where that team is owned by the President of the national body overseeing that sport
I need to have head examined...Straight to St Anns
Seems like we did not miss that banana boat ride after all
Post by: grskywalker on January 04, 2017, 05:17:22 AM
I question the Cyrus omission but, overall until our players need to start taking things seriously when it comes to the National team and the quest for World Cup
Post by: Flex on January 04, 2017, 06:25:35 AM
T&T coach denies saying Cyrus smelt of alcohol.
T& Newsday Reports.

TRINIDAD and Tobago football head coach Tom Saintfeit has stated that he never specifically told the media that national footballer Daneil Cyrus was smelling of alcohol.

Saintfeit sent home Cyrus and Jomal Williams from training camp at the Cara Suites Hotel in Claxton Bay on Sunday, after the pair arrived 90 minutes late on New Year’s Day.

In an interview with the media at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in which he revealed his squad for the Gold Cup qualifiers later that day.

Saintfeit stated, “We selected 20 players, I have to say that three of the 20 players didn’t show up. Two players (Williams and Cyrus) came one and a half hours too late in camp and had still a decent smell of alcohol around them. That was Daneil Cyrus and Jomal Williams. Both were immediately sent home, back to party.” In an attempt to clear up the situation after Cyrus vehemently denied drinking alcohol, Saintfeit said he did not say Cyrus smelt of alcohol.

In an interview with online sports website Wired868.com Saintfeit explained, “I never said Daneil smelt of alcohol. I said I smelt alcohol. I stood next to them and said I smelt alcohol. For me, the real issue was the late coming.” The players allegedly reached late because of a flat tyre but Saintfeit said if Cyrus had called before their noon check-in, he may have allowed him to enter camp.

Cyrus said he could not remember exactly when he called his teammate to tell him he had a flat tyre and was running late but he believed it was before noon.

Saintfeit told Wired868, Cyrus called around 12.30 pm and did not use the proper protocol as Cyrus called one of his teammates who passed the phone to the team manager. “Daneil called at 12.31 (pm),” said Saintfiet, “and, even then, he did not call one of us.

He called a player who came to the manager and said I have Cyrus on the phone. And he said he would be 15 minutes (late) and he came an hour later.”

Saintfeit cited striker Cornell Glen’s situation to explain his stance. “(Glen) calls at 11 (am) and said he had no babysitter. (Team manager) Azaad (Khan) called me and said: ‘What do we do?’ And I said let him come, bring the baby girl with (him) and let them come and pick (her) up afterwards. I am there to solve problems and Cornell Glen was the first one in camp (on New Year’s Day). The baby girl was there for a few hours, (then) they picked her up. No problem.

Because we trained only in the evening.

“If you have a problem, call. But you have to call before 12 o’clock. Otherwise who proves you did not leave home before 12 o’clock?”

RELATED NEWS

Saintfiet: I never said Daneil smelt of alcohol; T&T coach adds Cato to list of noncommittal players.

Trinidad and Tobago National Senior Team coach Tom Saintfiet suggested he is not to blame for insinuations that defender Daneil Cyrus turned up smelling of alcohol at the team’s camp on New Year’s Day, despite his public comments on the matter.

On Sunday evening, Saintfiet told reporters that: “Two of the players came one and a half hours too late in camp and had still decent smell of alcohol around him (sic). That was Daneil Cyrus and Jomal Williams.

“Both were immediately sent home, back to party—but are replaced in the squad.”

Cyrus denied that he turned up at the team hotel smelling of alcohol and said he was offended by the suggestion while his aunt, Phyllis Andrews, said the W Connection defender had just one glass of Bailey’s that morning.

Saintfiet’s response was that he never specifically said Cyrus smelt of alcohol.

“I never said Daneil smelt of alcohol,” the Belgian coach told Wired868. “I said I smelt alcohol. I stood next to them and said I smelt alcohol…

“For me, the real issue was the late coming.”

Saintfiet explained that, if Cyrus had called before their noon check-in, he might have allowed him to enter camp. Tardiness, he said, was the main reason why he axed Cyrus and midfielder Jomal Williams from this week’s 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup playoffs.

The W Connection defender said he could not remember exactly when he told his teammate, Alvin Jones, that he had a flat tyre and was running late. But he believed it was before noon.

Saintfiet rubbished that claim.

“Daneil called at 12.31[pm],” said Saintfiet, “and, even then, he did not call one of us. He called a player who came to the manager and said I have Cyrus on the phone.

“And he said he would be 15 minutes [late] and he came an hour later.”

The Soca Warriors coach used striker Cornell Glen as an example of his flexibility as boss.

“[Glen] calls at 11[am] and said he had no babysitter… [Team manager] Azaad [Khan] called me and said: ‘What do we do?’ And I said let him come, bring the baby girl with [him] and let them come and pick [her] up afterwards…

“I am there to solve problems and Cornell Glen was the first one in camp [on New Year’s Day]. The baby girl was there for a few hours, [then] they picked her up. No problem. Because we trained only in the evening.

“If you have a problem, call. But you have to call before 12 o’ clock. Otherwise who proves you did not leave home before 12 o’ clock?”

Saintfiet spoke in detail about Orlando City midfielder Kevin Molino’s absence from the team too. He explained that the midfield ace did ask to be included in the squad to face Suriname and Haiti this week. But that was after he had already turned down the chance to join the team in camp last month and play in Nicaragua.

“Kevin told me face to face: ‘Coach I have to go back to Orlando [on 22 December] to arrange some stuff. I am not available [to train]’. I said okay then you can come to Nicaragua. He said no.

“I asked him about the games against Suriname and Haiti and he told me very straight: ‘I am not motivated, I am not in shape, I do not want to play at the moment’.

“Later, he changed his vision and he said: ‘Yeah, okay I will play’. But when he told us the first moment ‘I am not motivated to play for the national team, I am not ready’ then…”

For the first time, Saintfiet revealed that San Jose Earthquakes winger Cordell Cato also made himself unavailable to represent his country.

Saintfiet stood by his decision to omit Molino—although he eventually made himself available—on the grounds that the gifted midfielder did not have a valid reason for skipping the team’s preparations in December and he needed to be consistent with his players.

“[Molino] was not interested to play Nicaragua. He wanted first to have the holiday off. And then because the president [David John-Williams] spoke with him then he said: ‘Yeah okay, I will be playing’… Why [would he be allowed to join] the current team to play without going to training when Jan-Michael [Williams] and Sean De Silva and Nathaniel [Garcia] have to be in camp?

“He is holidaying. He is not occupied with [his] club somewhere or anything else. By the way, [Cordell] Cato is exactly the same. He was also selected but he also said I prefer a holiday instead of training.”

Was Saintfiet concerned about burning bridges with key players, after his public criticisms?

The coach said he was only being honest. And he reiterated that he would never close the door on a player because of a previous disagreement.

“No, I cannot judge about [their reaction to my criticisms],” said Saintfiet. “I only see at the moment that these players are not committed to the national team. And it is sad because we play two important qualifiers for our country.

“But I cannot think in their position. I don’t know what the reasons are behind that. I don’t know the history and I even don’t want to think about that. I am occupied with what I have and I am very satisfied with the boys who I have. That’s my task—working with the guys who are there.”

Saintfiet also called on Wired868 to give him his due.

The Warriors coach pointed out that the website said Trinidad and Tobago’s 2-1 loss to Nicaragua was the country’s first ever defeat to the Central American nation. However, he suggested enough was not made of the fact that Trinidad and Tobago had never played in Nicaragua before. And enough credit was not given for the Warriors’ subsequent 3-1 win in Managua.

“Never in history [has] Trinidad and Tobago played in Nicaragua,” said Saintfiet. “[…] There are five meetings [for Trinidad and Tobago] against Nicaragua and I wrote history. I am the first one to win in Nicaragua… So [that is also] historic.”

Saintfiet has the opportunity to enhance his reputation this week when he leads a weakened team into competitive battle against Suriname and Haiti. Only one team will advance to the final Gold Cup play off round.

Trinidad and Tobago won their last five internationals against Suriname—between 1992 and 2012—and their last defeat to the Dutch-speaking nation came in a friendly on 5 May 1985.

Haiti are another prospect altogether.

Trinidad and Tobago won eight of 16 meetings with Haiti in this millennium with two draws and six losses. However, the two island republic’s last win against the Haitians was six years ago.

And, crucially, the last meeting between the two nations ended in a 1-0 win for the French-speaking islanders on 8 January 2016, which denied the Warriors a chance to compete at the Copa America Centenario competition.

Saintfiet might not have the country’s most decorated players with him, as he tries to avoid a repeat against Haiti. But, he insists, he has the most committed.

Trinidad and Tobago face Suriname from 7pm on 4 January before tackling Haiti from 5pm on 8 January. Both games will be held at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva.

Aunt Phyllis: Saintfiet is defaming Cyrus; T&T defender had just one glass of Bailey’s!
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868)

Does one glass of Bailey’s on New Year’s Day constitute excessive drinking for a professional athlete?

Phyllis Andrews, the “aunt” of 26-year-old Trinidad and Tobago National Senior Team defender Daneil Cyrus, insisted that national head coach Tom Saintfiet has defamed the Soca Warriors player. And she is urging Saintfiet or the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) to clear Cyrus’ name.

Saintfiet dropped Cyrus and 22-year-old national midfielder Jomal Williams and told the media that the players missed their noon check-in at the Cara Suites hotel on New Year’s Day and smelt of alcohol.

“Two of the players came one and a half hours too late in camp and had still decent smell of alcohol around him (sic),” said Saintfiet. “That was Daneil Cyrus and Jomal Williams. Both were immediately sent home, back to party—but are replaced in the squad.”

Aunt Phyllis admitted Cyrus was late for their residential camp in Claxton Bay. However, she is offended by the insinuation that the versatile W Connection player turned up for national duty reeking of alcohol.

“If [Saintfiet] says the other fella was drinking, he has to prove that too but that is their business,” said aunt Phyllis. “You can drop [Cyrus] for any other reason but don’t say he was stink of alcohol. That boy never came in my house stink of alcohol. And I open the door most of the time for him because he always loses his keys…

“So I want them to clear that up.”

Cyrus did, she admitted, have a glass of Bailey’s. The national defender told Wired868 yesterday he did not touch alcohol that morning. However, he confirmed that he had one drink.

She insisted there was a social context that should not be overlooked, though. It was New Year’s Day and just one glass of “weak” alcohol. Don’t players in England, Belgium and other European countries, she asked, have a drink to celebrate too—once they do not end up drunk?

“He slept by me that night and he left from my house to go to camp,” she told Wired868. “We had a family lime and my children don’t get to have much time with him anymore, so they are always happy when he is around.

“He had just one drink and they were laughing at him and saying ‘Bailey’s boy?!’ I have all the alcohol in the world in house and he would hardly drink. All he would say is ‘Ms Andrews, I am taking a shandy’.

“So I really, really take offence to this. This is tarnishing the boy’s name.”

Aunt Phyllis first opened her Santa Rosa Heights home to Cyrus a decade ago when the Plymouth-based teenager needed a place to stay in Trinidad to train with the National Under-17 Team.

She was friends with the mother of National Under-17 forward Stephen Knox. One day, Knox’s mother introduced her to then National Team manager Chris De Silva who asked whether she would give a place to stay to a teenaged boy she had never met.

“[Knox’s mother] asked me if I could take him and then Mr De Silva and Daneil’s mother came and met me,” said aunt Phyllis. “Daneil was 15 and he has been with me ever since. I have two younger children and everyone welcomed him with open arms, so we are all like family.

“If anything, my children felt I spoiled him. But they are like brothers and sisters.”

Cyrus went on to play in two World Youth Cups for Trinidad and Tobago—the Korea Republic 2007 Under-17 and Egypt 2009 Under-20 World Cups—and cement his place in the National Senior Team.

Aunt Phyllis gave her account of what happened on New Year’s Day, as Cyrus set off for his noon check-in time with his national teammates in Claxton Bay.

“He left [Santa Rosa Heights] about 11am and, when he was in the back of St Helena, he got a flat,” she said. “So he had to call another partner [to come and help him since he did not have a jack]. He called and spoke to the manager [Azaad Khan] and the manager said: ‘Okay come… The coach is really upset but still come’.

“[Cyrus] wasn’t sure of the time [he spoke to Khan] but he thinks it was before 12… I know he left by me a little late and he could have been earlier. But he would have been on time, if not for the flat he had.”

Aunt Phyllis said she called W Connection co-founder and TTFA president David John-Williams to complain today.

“I called John-Williams and he said he is not charge of the team and that is the [coach’s responsibility],” she told Wired868. “But he said that could be fixed. He said: ‘you know he has a reputation of being late for Connection practice’. But what does that have to do with this? I am dealing with the defamation of character with the [coach claiming the] boy was smelling of alcohol.

“I don’t have a problem with him being dropped for being late. But not for alcohol.”’

Wired868 asked John-Williams to confirm if he said said Cyrus’ issue could “be fixed” and what he would have meant by that. But, although he read the message, he did not respond up to the time of publication.

The website was unable to get further comment from Saintfiet, Jomal Williams or national team manager Azaad Khan.

The Soca Warriors face Suriname from 7pm at the Ato Boldon Stadium on Wednesday in the first game of a round-robin series, which also includes Haiti. One of the three nations will advance to the next Gold Cup playoff round against Central American opposition.

Post by: MEP on January 04, 2017, 06:40:02 AM
Seems as if Santeef is under pressure and maybe a lot of pressure as it seems as if the terrorist and DJW are always on his back. There are ways to enforce discipline and still win over players but I guess Santeef's thinking is always short-term as he is never in one place too long.
Post by: trini_stallion on January 04, 2017, 06:40:28 AM
Joevin: Saintfiet is trying to dirty my name; I always want to play for T&T
Letters to the Editor  Wednesday 4 January 2017 Global Football, National Football, Volley 58 Comments

“I can’t see why Tom [Saintfiet] is saying I am not interested and I don’t want to play for my country. I don’t know why he is trying to turn things on me.”

The following Letter to the Editor was submitted to Wired868 by Trinidad and Tobago National Senior Team midfielder Joevin Jones regarding his coach Tom Saintfiet’s claim that the Seattle Sounders player was not interested in representing the Soca Warriors in this week’s Gold Cup playoffs:

Photo: Trinidad and Tobago winger Joevin Jones (centre) is tackled by two Costa Rican players during Russia 2018 World Cup qualifying action at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on 11 November 2016. (Courtesy Sean Morrison/Wired868)
Photo: Trinidad and Tobago winger Joevin Jones (centre) is tackled by two Costa Rican players during Russia 2018 World Cup qualifying action at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on 11 November 2016.
(Courtesy Sean Morrison/Wired868)
I just want to clear my name. I just want to say I always want to play for my country. It’s an honour to play for this country.

First to begin, me and Tom [Saintfiet] talked face to face weeks ago agreeing on me coming to the camp on the 1st [of January]. Yes, I did agree to [that]. But the problem was getting clearance from my team [Seattle Sounders].

After the Trinidad and Tobago team got back from the two friendlies [in Nicaragua] on the 31st [of December], I got a message from my lil brother [and national team player] Alvin that I have to come in camp on the 1st [of January] at 12pm, which was the next day.

I had no info as yet from my club stating if I can go [to camp] or not… [And] why do I have to get a message from my lil brother to come in camp? What about the manager [Azaad Khan]?

My club gave me late clearance on Sunday morning to go. My lil brother was in camp already, so I sent a message with my lil brother stating that I got the clearance and I would be in camp or training the following evening, which he did deliver.

Photo: Seattle Sounders wing back Joevin Jones (left) controls the ball during MLS action against Real Salt Lake at Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, Utah on 12 March 2016. (Courtesy AFP 2017/Gene Sweeney Jr)
Photo: Seattle Sounders wing back Joevin Jones (left) controls the ball during MLS action against Real Salt Lake at Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, Utah on 12 March 2016.
(Courtesy AFP 2017/Gene Sweeney Jr)
The only reason why I delivered the message back through my lil brother was because they sent one with him. I think they were unprofessional [in doing] that.

The only reason why I played with W Connection [in a friendly against Haiti last week] was because they asked me to train and stay shape for the upcoming game on the 4th against Suriname. So I decided to play the game with W Connection because I can’t watch football because I love the game.

The person who called me to train with Connection called Tom and asked if I could play in the game. The answer I get was: ‘Yes and be careful’.

I risked my contract with Seattle by playing—just to maintain some fitness to feature in the upcoming games. I can’t see why Tom is saying I am not interested and I don’t want to play for my country. I don’t know why he is trying to turn things on me.

I can’t just come in camp just like that. I am under contract with Seattle. They have to give me clearance.

As I said, I got late clearance on Sunday morning. I was on my way to camp on Sunday evening when my lil brother Alvin said to me they don’t want me again. I said no problem.

Photo: Trinidad and Tobago winger Joevin Jones controls the ball during Russia 2018 World Cup qualifying action against St Vincent and the Grenadines at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain on 29 March 2016. (Courtesy: Allan V Crane/CA-images/Wired868)
Photo: Trinidad and Tobago winger Joevin Jones controls the ball during Russia 2018 World Cup qualifying action against St Vincent and the Grenadines at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain on 29 March 2016.
(Courtesy: Allan V Crane/CA-images/Wired868)
I think the communication was wrong by sending messages through my lil brother. I don’t see why Tom is trying to dirty my name by saying [if] I could play for Connection [then] why I can’t play with the national team, when the TTFA told me to go and stay in shape and keep fitness. That I didn’t like, [especially] when I risked my contract with Seattle by playing to say fit and in-shape to play for my country.

I just want to tell the people of Trinidad and Tobago, this has nothing to do with me not wanting to play for my loving country. I always love playing.

I just want to clear my name. If I wasn’t interested, why did I talk to Tom and agree face to face to play and to come in camp on the 1st?

If I wasn’t interested, I would have told Tom I had a long season and I needed rest. Simple as that. It hurt me to read stuff that isn’t true.

Editor’s Note: Trinidad and Tobago coach Tom Saintfiet also claimed that Kevin Molino and Cordell Cato declined invitations to represent their country at this week’s Gold Cup playoffs. He later amended this to say that Molino offered to play but he refused to accept him since the midfielder initially said no.

Defender Daneil Cyrus denied suggestions that he turned up to the team camp smelling of alcohol although Saintfiet insisted that he never accused the player of this.

Trinidad and Tobago play Suriname from 7pm today at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva.
Post by: trini_stallion on January 04, 2017, 06:42:57 AM
What kinda bachannal really taking place with we football dred...some sort of miscommunication going on. Why Alvin contacting Joevin? Also, Joevin should not have stooped to the manager level and send a reply back through his brother...we need everyone to be on board, this qualification thing is not a joke
Post by: congo on January 04, 2017, 08:40:43 AM
So the ttfa set up joevin for a fall... as I said before, they tying to sabotage our chances..

Why would you send a message through his brother, then tell him to play for connection, then feed info to SANTHIEF that he can play for connection against Haiti but can't for the national team? SANTHIEF part of the set up

Then send a message back through his brother telling him he not needed and then report false news to everyone that he doesn't want to play..

Sabotage... no other way to categorize it..

Bro, please tell me how you as a professional footballer can be ordered by your National team federation to play for a football club whilst  still contracted to another club. :frustrated: :frustrated:
Post by: MEP on January 04, 2017, 08:44:39 AM
oh lord look bacchanal and once again this reflects on the current administration. 
Post by: congo on January 04, 2017, 08:50:27 AM
Why Joevin risking his contract with Seattle by playing for W Connection in order to stay fit for the National Team? Can someone advise these men pleaseeeeeeeeeeeee.....What mickey mouse thing does be going on in Trinidad. He's on loan or he has been sold?  Tom can't give you permission to play for another club....What really going on here..

So he knows that he "can't just come into camp" with his National Team without clearance from his club yet he can still "sweat" for Connection in a friendly against the same opponents that he and the national team was gonna face. All based on the fact that he can't "watch the game, he loves football." This is ridiculous. These boys need serious guidance. I really mean that.
Post by: MEP on January 04, 2017, 08:54:17 AM
Bro, please tell me how you as a professional footballer can be ordered by your National team federation to play for a football club whilst  still contracted to another club. :frustrated: :frustrated:

What team did Joevin first play for? Obviously the W connection coach would have spoken to the TTFA President and the TTFA President would have spoken to the W connection President and coach to say it's ok ...maybe it's a big setup for Joevin whereby he is transferred and guess who maybe is entitled to some transfer money...
In many ways he probably feels obligated to W connection unless he has a Manager and an Agent the people he would most likely trust would be those fro W connection.
Post by: congo on January 04, 2017, 09:02:23 AM

What team did Joevin first play for? Obviously the W connection coach would have spoken to the TTFA President and the TTFA President would have spoken to the W connection President and coach to say it's ok ...maybe it's a big setup for Joevin whereby he is transferred and guess who maybe is entitled to some transfer money...
In many ways he probably feels obligated to W connection unless he has a Manager and an Agent the people he would most likely trust would be those fro W connection.

At no point did you mention any correspondence between Seattle and Connection. He is contracted to Seattle. That is a breach of contract if he wasn't given permission by Seattle. What would have been the case had he gotten injured etc? An agent doesn't need to tell you that. You signed a contract with another club. I don't know what the situation is between Seattle and Connection but he did say that he risked his contract with Seattle to play for Connection so I am guessing permission wasn't granted. DJW and Connection as a professional football club feel comfortable fielding a player who is contracted to another club? Pretty much sums up how seriously people take the MLS.
Post by: congo on January 04, 2017, 09:04:25 AM
This situation is madness :frustrated: :frustrated: :rotfl:
Post by: MEP on January 04, 2017, 09:10:55 AM

What the hell does that even mean. Nobody could make you play for a club if you are already contracted to another. What madness you saying here. That is a breach of contract if he wasn't given permission by Seattle. What would have been the case had he gotten injured etc? An agent doesn't need to tell you that. You signed a contract with another club. I don't know what the situation is between Seattle and Connection but he did say that he risked his contract with Seattle to play for Connection so I am guessing permission wasn't granted. DJW and Connection as a professional football club feel comfortable fielding a player who is contracted to another club? Pretty much sums up how seriously people take the MLS.

ok so logic fails you...what team has always been his handler????? For him to have played do you think he just showed up and said I want to play? Someone told him it was ok and that had to have come from the top
Post by: congo on January 04, 2017, 09:13:01 AM
Stop assuming that it was ok....he already said that he risked his contract with Seattle in order to play. You missing that part or "logic failing you"?

The boy has a "handler"? I thought he signed a contract with Seattle?
Post by: Preacher on January 04, 2017, 11:32:35 AM
Jeesan Ages!!!!   Hmm.  Truth Stranger than Fiction. 
Post by: Deeks on January 04, 2017, 12:20:51 PM
Maybe DJW and Seattle has an agreement for Joevin to play for Connection. That is not out of the ordinary.
Post by: congo on January 04, 2017, 12:29:08 PM
Maybe DJW and Seattle has an agreement for Joevin to play for Connection. That is not out of the ordinary.

During his "offseason" where he just played a key role in a long and possibly exhausting season culminating in a title? I could understand if he had just returned from a long injury towards the end of the season and needed some match practice and trying to keep fit etc. He needed special permission to join the National team camp from Seattle. He did say that he risked his contract with Seattle by playing and that he played because he loved football and couldn't just "watch". Connection would have to be really mad to field a player contracted to another club against a team that he suppose to playing against whilst on National duty.... This is confusing.
Post by: Deeks on January 04, 2017, 12:42:58 PM

During his "offseason" where he just played a key role in a long and possibly exhausting season culminating in a title? I could understand if he had just returned from a long injury towards the end of the season and needed some match practice and trying to keep fit etc. He needed special permission to join the National team camp from Seattle. He did say that he risked his contract with Seattle by playing and that he played because he loved football and couldn't just "watch". Connection would have to be really mad to field a player contracted to another club against a team that he suppose to playing against whilst on National duty.... This is confusing.

Congo, I am just as surprised that JJ playing for Connection. And the only conclusion I could come with, is that DJW MUST have some kind of agreement with Seattle for JJ to do that. There are different types of agreements clubs sign. Unless JJ totally dotish, why would he jeopardize his career. This whole thing is friggin is too unprofessional to my liking. All of a sudden our most "promising" players in a downward spiral. DJW need to clear the air on these matters. He is the president of football. Unfortunately, his club affiliation is causing real serious issue.
Post by: Errol on January 04, 2017, 12:43:26 PM
I think Daneil and Joevin should get recalled. However, wasn't Joevin, Bateau and Molino playing for Carenage the other day?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=781JYte435o&feature=player_embedded

This is a communication breakdown.

Post by: Controversial on January 04, 2017, 12:44:36 PM
Why Joevin risking his contract with Seattle by playing for W Connection in order to stay fit for the National Team? Can someone advise these men pleaseeeeeeeeeeeee.....What mickey mouse thing does be going on in Trinidad. He's on loan or he has been sold?  Tom can't give you permission to play for another club....What really going on here..

So he knows that he "can't just come into camp" with his National Team without clearance from his club yet he can still "sweat" for Connection in a friendly against the same opponents that he and the national team was gonna face. All based on the fact that he can't "watch the game, he loves football." This is ridiculous. These boys need serious guidance. I really mean that.

The dictator instructed him to play... allyuh men don't know djw tactics by now  :D
Post by: Thomo on January 04, 2017, 01:01:59 PM
The situation shouldn't be allowed to deteriorate anymore. Someone needs to step in and stop the rot. DJW is ah imps so he ent making no sense! Why doesn't Latapy get into and help sort this mess out? Everyday is some-frigging-thing new. SMDH
Post by: Controversial on January 04, 2017, 02:31:32 PM
The situation shouldn't be allowed to deteriorate anymore. Someone needs to step in and stop the rot. DJW is ah imps so he ent making no sense! Why doesn't Latapy get into and help sort this mess out? Everyday is some-frigging-thing new. SMDH

That's what will continue under djw .... his goal wasn't to build but to destroy..

He's like the baron sasha cohen movie, the dictator lol
Post by: Deeks on January 04, 2017, 03:36:18 PM

As I said, I got late clearance on Sunday morning. I was on my way to camp on Sunday evening when my lil brother Alvin said to me they don’t want me again. I said no problem

This does not make sense. DJW team play a practice with one of the Teams TT playing. Connection asked JJ to play for them. That is the president's team. He don't know about that sweat? Seattle had to give clearance for JJ to play. The coach he hired heard that JJ played. The coach dropped JJ. JJ, DJW and Santfiet making Contro. look like a friggin genius.
Post by: palos on January 04, 2017, 03:48:02 PM
DJW team play a practice with one of the Teams TT playing. Connection asked JJ to play for them. That is the president's team.

Not to mention......JJ supposed to be one of T&T main weapons.  How difficult would it be, for an unscrupulous team, to "injure" JJ in that game?

Who would benefit?

Why even take the chance?

This whole situation reeks........ and football fans being taken for pappyshow along the way
Post by: Deeks on January 04, 2017, 04:31:53 PM
and football fans being taken for pappyshow along the way

I don't think so. The fans know the deal. That is why football suffering. The fans don't support local pro football. The fans sometimes go to support the MNT grudgingly. The support for the MNT should not be taken as support for the TTFA.
Post by: Coach on January 04, 2017, 05:41:02 PM
Our football has become a cartoon show

I wouldn't be surprise after these 2 games there are voluntary resignations.
Post by: kounty on January 04, 2017, 09:14:22 PM
good thing the "Pros" getting it done!
Post by: dcs on January 04, 2017, 09:40:52 PM
Wow.

We have players feeling the need to go to the press to defend themselves after they are being slandered in the media.

No FPATT to defend them or read them the riot act on protecting themselves by not getting chain up to play for their old club.  How W Connection could be involved in that is ridiculous.....imagine the pong if it was Central FC.

TTFA complete silence and doing who knows what in the background.  They sure as hell doing a piss poor job on talent management of our players.  This downward spiral to me coincides with elections last year....but who is taking the responsibility for putting in DJW?

We hold DJW accountable for the results under the new coach...who to hold accountable for results under DJW?  Andre Baptiste need to go poll the club owners and stakeholders and ask them if they take any responsibility for where we are now.

Gimmicks not going and cut it.
Post by: Controversial on January 05, 2017, 03:14:21 AM
Wow.

We have players feeling the need to go to the press to defend themselves after they are being slandered in the media.

No FPATT to defend them or read them the riot act on protecting themselves by not getting chain up to play for their old club.  How W Connection could be involved in that is ridiculous.....imagine the pong if it was Central FC.

TTFA complete silence and doing who knows what in the background.  They sure as hell doing a piss poor job on talent management of our players.  This downward spiral to me coincides with elections last year....but who is taking the responsibility for putting in DJW?

We hold DJW accountable for the results under the new coach...who to hold accountable for results under DJW?  Andre Baptiste need to go poll the club owners and stakeholders and ask them if they take any responsibility for where we are now.

Gimmicks not going and cut it.

How about their funds for this year, govt release that yet?