Group C
Mexico
El Salvador
Curaçao
Jamaica

July 9, 2017
Mexico v El Salvador, Qualcomm Stadium, San Diego
Curaçao v Jamaica, Qualcomm Stadium, San Diego

Title: Re: 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup Thread.
Post by: Sam on March 31, 2017, 05:53:24 AM
Nicaragua beat Haiti to qualify.

Post by: Sando prince on March 31, 2017, 10:15:27 AM

Reminds me of the Copa America last year = NO T&T  :D
Post by: Deeks on March 31, 2017, 11:54:05 AM

Oh oh!!!
Post by: asylumseeker on March 31, 2017, 12:13:48 PM

Oh oh!!!

They geh tief. The opening goal was courtesy an elegant Colombian dive. Copete threw his frame. Penalty called. CFU teams doh learn. Don't provide the conditions to assist your opponents' strengths and instincts.

Contro, if yuh really want to see a match with a questionable tinge, watch those 3 goals. 3 goals within 8 minutes, with less than 10 minutes to play in regulation.

Call for a Commission of Inquiry.
Post by: maxg on March 31, 2017, 01:19:39 PM
u find tings to quiet today ?  :devil:
Post by: Mose on March 31, 2017, 01:39:06 PM
u find tings to quiet today ?  :devil:

I believe his job description includes "stimulate discussion"!  ;D
Title: Harty boy......I jes get REAL SOUR..AGAIN
Post by: palos on July 07, 2017, 06:01:36 PM
I now walk een de cafeteria, switch de TV channel at wuk and seeing Canada play French Guiana in de first game of de Gold Cup

Man take a weak ass shot and de keeper practically dive over de ball to make it 2-0 Canada at de half

And I OVER SOUR because we shoulda been there.  No excuses.  Jus like last year when we shoulda been at de Copa America.

We had enough chances to qualify and lorse each time.  We have nobody else but we to blame.

Even after yuh get fired, we still had a chance at home and couldn't do it.

This Gold Cup extra sour for me this rongs......WE...T&T...should be there....and we aren't   :-[ >:( :pissedoff:
Title: Re: Harty boy......I jes get REAL SOUR..AGAIN
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 07, 2017, 06:21:52 PM
U have belly, I banning mine and watching Disney JR with the boys for the next month
Post by: palos on July 07, 2017, 06:33:33 PM
The ONLY bright spot, purely on a personal note....happy for 16 year old Alphonso Davies who just scored his first goal for Canada

First saw him a couple years ago when he first moved from Edmonton to Vancouver to be part of the Whitecaps residency program.  It was CLEARLY apparent this yute was going places.  Talent like dirt

Post by: Peong on July 07, 2017, 07:00:24 PM
We miss put on the Gold Cup way too often. It should never happen
Post by: Sando prince on July 07, 2017, 09:58:56 PM

Me eh even watching this year Gold Cup tournament
Post by: FF on July 08, 2017, 12:38:05 PM
What is Gold Cup??  ???
Post by: Jumbie on July 08, 2017, 12:44:36 PM
The ONLY bright spot, purely on a personal note....happy for 16 year old Alphonso Davies who just scored his first goal for Canada

First saw him a couple years ago when he first moved from Edmonton to Vancouver to be part of the Whitecaps residency program.  It was CLEARLY apparent this yute was going places.  Talent like dirt

Kid is a treat to watch  :thumbsup: . 2 against French Guiana 
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2017, 09:19:44 AM
Panama played some real good ball vs the US. I hope Tallest looking at them. I go be a hell of a fight when we go there.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 09, 2017, 12:14:05 PM
Panama played some real good ball vs the US. I hope Tallest looking at them. I go be a hell of a fight when we go there.

btw that a panama second string it seems
Post by: Controversial on July 09, 2017, 03:04:04 PM
The only gold cup is probably the one the dictator drinking our national football blood out of
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 09, 2017, 06:40:15 PM
The only gold cup is probably the one the dictator drinking our national football blood out of

Lol. Speaking about gold. The green, gold and black dealing with the Dutch 2nd team. Mattocks just score a nice one. Blake is a special keeper. Made some good saves.
Post by: Sando prince on July 09, 2017, 07:45:07 PM

Lol. Speaking about gold. The green, gold and black dealing with the Dutch 2nd team. Mattocks just score a nice one. Blake is a special keeper. Made some good saves.

and when the same green, gold and black face CR, Mex or USA watch them lose. Doh get hype up because your team beat Curacao  :D
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 09, 2017, 07:57:49 PM
I know that would have been enough for a quick banter with you..

On another note Mexico 1 - 1 El Salvador

Very entertaining match so far.
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2017, 10:53:30 PM
I watched the JA - Curaçao game. The game was even. JA had nothing over them except the two excellent goals. And yes, the JA keeper was the difference between a tie game. Curaçao players handle the ball extremely well. They did not fear JA in any way. Their players appear big, strong and was just as fast. But JA goals were excellent.
Post by: Controversial on July 10, 2017, 12:37:51 AM

Word is from a friend of mine who is close to certain players on the yard team was the head coach against the final against Mexico had made changes that were suspicious at best... they played some very good football and in the final they dropped off mysteriously

Patrick was doing a great job, need to ask my uncle about what really happened with that situation, as he was friends with Patrick

Post by: Controversial on July 10, 2017, 12:39:47 AM
I watched the JA - Curaçao game. The game was even. JA had nothing over them except the two excellent goals. And yes, the JA keeper was the difference between a tie game. Curaçao players handle the ball extremely well. They did not fear JA in any way. Their players appear big, strong and was just as fast. But JA goals were excellent.

Concacaf can be a force to be reckoned with if Suriname and some of the other teams get their act together
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 10, 2017, 06:01:39 AM

Concacaf can be a force to be reckoned with if Suriname and some of the other teams get their act together

By next world cup qualifying campaign, Suriname will have their Dutch born players to choose from. And if Martinique and Guadeloupe petition FIFA to play as their own nation in the wcqs, the CFU will become very competitive. We better pray that we don't meet one of them before the hex.
Post by: Errol on July 10, 2017, 06:35:17 AM
When I watch these games I just shake my head with disappointment that T&T is not there.

Thank goodness Hart not here anymore, he just couldn't take us to the next level.

Post by: Deeks on July 10, 2017, 10:25:56 AM

By next world cup qualifying campaign, Suriname will have their Dutch born players to choose from. And if Martinique and Guadeloupe petition FIFA to play as their own nation in the wcqs, the CFU will become very competitive. We better pray that we don't meet one of them before the hex.

If Suriname decides to use that option, the CFU and Concacaf can expect tougher competition. But that bodes well for our zone. The tougher competition can only help. TT just has to adjust or they will be left by the wayside.

As far as Martinique and Quadeloupe petition to play WC, I really don't know how that will work. They are part of France. If it works more power to them. Also if they succeed, French Guiana, Mayotte and Reunion could ask for permission also. But let's see.

https://simple.wikipedia.org/wiki/Overseas_departments_of_France

Post by: Controversial on July 11, 2017, 01:27:42 PM

If Suriname decides to use that option, the CFU and Concacaf can expect tougher competition. But that bodes well for our zone. The tougher competition can only help. TT just has to adjust or they will be left by the wayside.

As far as Martinique and Quadeloupe petition to play WC, I really don't know how that will work. They are part of France. If it works more power to them. Also if they succeed, French Guiana, Mayotte and Reunion could ask for permission also. But let's see.

https://simple.wikipedia.org/wiki/Overseas_departments_of_France

When my uncle was the MOF in Suriname he was pushing for this a while now, decades actually with Frank and the others ...

Once it happens, Suriname will compete and that will also mean with South American teams ...

In TT with guys like the dictator we will face a tough task next qualifying because of his sabotage and selling out.. it doesn't bode well for us and our teams in the future

Cfu needs its own qualifying and wc allocation, that's the answer

Post by: pull stones on July 11, 2017, 05:12:22 PM
When I watch these games I just shake my head with disappointment that T&T is not there.

Thank goodness Hart not here anymore, he just couldn't take us to the next level.
thats what I have been saying, hart ran aground and could not take the team any further for whatever reason be it his tactics or the team simply out grew him. but I think he would make an excellent technical director. We still have lots of uses for a guy like Steven hart.
Post by: Deeks on July 11, 2017, 05:26:19 PM
but I think he would make an excellent technical director. We still have lots of uses for a guy like Steven hart.

In Canada, not TT. At least not while DJW in charge. Maybe a next admin. would hire him for that job.
Post by: Deeks on July 11, 2017, 07:39:15 PM
Canada held CR to a 1-1 draw.
Post by: coache on July 11, 2017, 09:47:10 PM
Little French Guiana playing better football than Trinidad and Tobago ...by far.
Post by: Deeks on July 11, 2017, 10:29:00 PM
Little French Guiana playing better football than Trinidad and Tobago ...by far.

FG is part of France. They should be playing better than us.
Post by: pull stones on July 12, 2017, 02:40:24 AM

FG is part of France. They should be playing better than us.
pay no attention to that blasted troll. all he does is come around to demoralize the team and never has anything encouraging to say about the lads. i also watched the game and french guinna played ok but we would have destroyed honduras. this was our gold cup to win and we blew it. thank you DJW.
Post by: FF on July 12, 2017, 06:07:59 AM
French Guiana may/will forfeit the game as Florent Malouda was deemed ineligible by concacaf. They ruled he is cup tied to France appearing over 80 times for them.

He played anyway and Honduras has already had their protest referred to the Concacaf disciplinary committee.
Post by: Deeks on July 12, 2017, 09:02:37 AM
FF, that is real sad for FG. Concacaf and Cfu have to fix this.
Post by: Peong on July 12, 2017, 11:13:19 AM
How is it different from when Angloma played for Guadeloupe?
I hope they don't get penalized. Obviously his team felt strongly about him playing.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 12, 2017, 11:21:45 AM
How is it different from when Angloma played for Guadeloupe?

I hope they don't get penalized. Obviously his team felt strongly about him playing.

Are the competition rules the same in 2017 as they were then?
Post by: Deeks on July 12, 2017, 02:28:01 PM
From the UK Guardian

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2017/jul/12/french-guiana-florent-malouda-gold-cup-2017-forfeit-game

It appears that FG were told that they could not use Malouda. But I am also confused (as Peong noted), why Angloma could have played for Guadaloupe and nothing happened to them.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 12, 2017, 03:03:14 PM
The view from France/French Guyana: Angloma was viewed as older and likely less influential.

Pourquoi Angloma a pu jouer en 2007

Si la FIFA et la CONCACAF ont autorisé Jocelyn Angloma à disputer la Gold Cup en 2007, c'est avant tout en raison de son âge. A l'époque, il avait 42 ans. Son passé international était loin derrière lui, sa dernière sélection remontait à 1996 et surtout, l'ancien défenseur guadeloupéen était officiellement retraité depuis longtemps. Il ne représentait aucune menace pour ses adversaires. Aujourd'hui, la situation de Florent Malouda est différente. Bien que sans club, le joueur est toujours en activité. En 2012, il portait encore le maillot tricolore. Pour ces raisons, l'exception faite plus tôt pour son compatriote semble plus difficile à accorder cette année.

https://m.lequipe.fr/Football/Actualites/Gold-cup-florent-malouda-victime-d-un-vide-juridique/816716?xtref

Post by: Deeks on July 12, 2017, 04:58:50 PM
The view from France/French Guyana: Angloma was viewed as older and likely less influential.

That eh logical. That means Angloma should not have played. If FG loss their 1 point, that means all Guada points in 2007 should be forefeited.
Post by: Deeks on July 12, 2017, 05:46:00 PM
Panama screwing around with Nicaragua. Nica bust a shot outside the area, and 1-0. Two  mins. later, Panama march right down and equalize. That Nica goal was their first ever in GC.
Post by: Peong on July 12, 2017, 10:56:35 PM
A couple articles say the rules have changed since Angloma played as asylumseeker surmised.

I looked up the rule. It says "ELIGIBILITY OF PLAYERS AND TEAM REGISTRATION
a. Each participating Member Association shall select its national representative
team from the best players who are nationals of its country and under its
jurisdiction, and are eligible for selection in accordance with the provisions
of the applicable FIFA Regulations."

So what are the applicable FIFA regulations?
Sounds like there might be some wiggle room.
Post by: Deeks on July 13, 2017, 09:53:48 AM
Boy, we have a serious GC tabanka.
Post by: Peong on July 13, 2017, 09:56:22 AM
Boy, we have a serious GC tabanka.

Ent! Sad state of affairs
Post by: FF on July 14, 2017, 07:52:46 AM
http://www.mlssoccer.com/post/2017/07/14/concacaf-issues-florent-malouda-ruling-french-guiana-forfeit-gold-cup-game

CONCACAF ruled on Friday that the 0-0 draw against Honduras will now officially be ruled a 3-0 Honduras win by forfeit. The French Guiana federation will be fined an undisclosed amount, and Malouda has also been suspended two matches, which includes a stadium ban.
Post by: Tallman on July 14, 2017, 10:30:51 AM
http://www.mlssoccer.com/post/2017/07/14/concacaf-issues-florent-malouda-ruling-french-guiana-forfeit-gold-cup-game

CONCACAF ruled on Friday that the 0-0 draw against Honduras will now officially be ruled a 3-0 Honduras win by forfeit. The French Guiana federation will be fined an undisclosed amount, and Malouda has also been suspended two matches, which includes a stadium ban.

I find this whole thing need to be reviewed. So Malouda was allowed to play for French Guiana in the Caribbean Cup which saw them qualify for the Gold Cup. But now he cyar play because CONCACAF applying FIFA rules. Why even bother having them, Guadeloupe, and Martinique in CONCACAF or even CFU if dey not FIFA members. So what happen if one ah dem win Gold Cup? Dey will let dem play in de Confederations Cup? I say FIFA need to review dey rules and look at granting dem member status. De way it is right now, technically matches against those countries are not even considered "A" matches. It is too much confusion.
Post by: Deeks on July 14, 2017, 12:13:36 PM
Tallman you making sense.
Post by: Flex on July 14, 2017, 02:14:03 PM

I find this whole thing need to be reviewed. So Malouda was allowed to play for French Guiana in the Caribbean Cup which saw them qualify for the Gold Cup. But now he cyar play because CONCACAF applying FIFA rules. Why even bother having them, Guadeloupe, and Martinique in CONCACAF or even CFU if dey not FIFA members. So what happen if one ah dem win Gold Cup? Dey will let dem play in de Confederations Cup? I say FIFA need to review dey rules and look at granting dem member status. De way it is right now, technically matches against those countries are not even considered "A" matches. It is too much confusion.

Isn't the Caribbean Cup given the same status as official, meaning players must be allowed to participate without Club interference? In other words, like Tallman say, official A matches.

This rule really stupid, cause teams like Suriname, Guadeloupe and Martinique could get a lot of ex French and Dutch superstars to play for them in the Caribbean Cup (official tournament or so it seems) just to win it, imagine what will happen....

Not only this, but they can use ineligible players in the Caribbean Cup to qualify for an official FIFA tournament (Gold Cup).

Caribbean (CFU) means nothing to FIFA it seems and they control 25 deadhead no-voice FIFA votes.

Post by: Deeks on July 14, 2017, 02:53:31 PM
Exclude Suriname and Curacao. They are independent. The rules of allegiance are the same for all countries. It just that the French overseas countries are departments, something like Puerto Rico and the States. But PR can can field a team for official WC and Olimpics. The French can't because their system is a bit more inclusive. The CFU has to make a decision. If they want the French countries to play, then they have to come up with specific rules. And let it run for everybody. If French can't abide by the rules, then they can't play.

But they definitely needs clarifications. If Martinique was to win they GC, they cannot play in the Confed. Cup. Because they are a part of France. the runner's up will be selected instead.
Post by: coache on July 14, 2017, 08:11:48 PM
Martinique playing better ball than Trinidad..ent allyuh know all de football why we not in the Gold Cup..blame John Williams all allyuh want..de level of football in Trinidad is quite low..Thanks to Hart ..de man came in and propped it up..

Now allyuh bring British Trini ..which British Coach winning any competition on de globe right now? When last
a English Coach or an England team won anything..

I am de football troll who talk de truth
Post by: Peong on July 15, 2017, 08:02:54 AM
Martinique playing better ball than Trinidad..ent allyuh know all de football why we not in the Gold Cup..blame John Williams all allyuh want..de level of football in Trinidad is quite low..Thanks to Hart ..de man came in and propped it up..

Now allyuh bring British Trini ..which British Coach winning any competition on de globe right now? When last

An English coach and an English team just won FIFA U-20 World Cup a couple weeks ago
Post by: Controversial on July 15, 2017, 12:17:34 PM

An English coach and an English team just won FIFA U-20 World Cup a couple weeks ago

Since when is tow the line tallest in that category?
Post by: coache on July 16, 2017, 04:23:00 PM
Jamaica  and Trinidad suffering from a similar football disease ..both countries lack the ability to play basic football..

Jamaica dont know the first principle of control and pass..the Coach employed a bunch of woodcutters,cement workers and sprinters to run around like brutes..

a strategy of disrupting and battering the opponent until the final whistle..
Post by: pull stones on July 16, 2017, 10:49:43 PM
Jamaica  and Trinidad suffering from a similar football disease ..both countries lack the ability to play basic football..wn

Jamaica dont know the first principle of control and pass..the Coach employed a bunch of woodcutters,cement workers and sprinters to run around like brutes..

a strategy of disrupting and battering the opponent until the final whistle..
ok great one. since you know so much why then not open your own academy from scratch and develop young players to the standard that you think they should be instead of trying to show a bunch of fans how wrong they are. but you know why you won't do it? because you are just another big mouth talker who love nothing but small talk, and that exactly why your here trolling us but to no avail.

for the most part we are just fans who have no power to change a thing, we are but well wishers hoping for the best for our national team. if there was seriousness in you suggestions you would have directed your grudge to the people who could actually do something about it instead of trying so hard to kill our joy? I'm arriving at the conclusion that you and this controversial guy are psychophathic trolls who live for negative reactions in people, if not one and the same.
Post by: Peong on July 17, 2017, 10:09:16 AM

Since when is tow the line tallest in that category?

I just answering mr coache's question
Post by: Bitter on July 17, 2017, 12:40:04 PM
Curacao play a nice brand, they give every team they play fits they needed a finisher though.
Post by: ANC2 on July 19, 2017, 06:46:21 AM
Many of the teams in this Gold Cup are B even C teams. USA, Mex, Jamaica all not carrying their top players. US however, just added some beef.

Curacao and Nicaragua played some nice football,especially Curacao with almost the entire squad being born and playing in Holland.

French Guiana I dont know why countries not in FIFA in this tournament, and the Malouda thing real jokey.

Canada seems to be the surprise team of this tournament. I read they have not scored goals or even won a game since 2011 and not been in he quarter finals since 2009. I feel they making semi.

Jamaica running like crazy, but have very little team play. With Mattocks they still scoring and could surprise any team

Mexico not playing ball, they dam luck vs Curacao , they have a tinker man coach and no striker. Don't know which mexico will show up.

Costa Rica look like a team missing a spark plug, they have not played good since 2016. Campbell playing real poor, he gorn anyway, but they have Ruiz one of the best players in concacaf

El Sal is a nice little team good touches and their bribe takers are back in the squad, quarters is an achievement

Honduras real Jekyl and Hyde but the running like fowl thief. In front of goal dem strikers cokey eye. Anybody know why Bengton and Najar no longer playing for them ???

Panama playing the best ball and seem to like GC, nobody who could score. Where Perez?  They in another quarters and could upset CR

US is US and now they added some guns sending a message they want to win this tournament.
Post by: palos on July 19, 2017, 12:28:36 PM
Canada disciplined but Jamaica should beat them

This incarnation of Costa Rica is not as formidable as before

Mexico 2nd XI remains the class of the tournament and will beat Honduras

Panama can cause an upset

USA is so so but they playing at home and will dispatch El Salvador

Semis:
Panama vs USA
Mexico vs Jamaica

Final:
Mexico vs Panama

Mexico wins

Post by: Bitter on July 19, 2017, 06:07:20 PM
Yuh prediction done buss in the first game.  ;D

Canada disciplined but Jamaica should beat them

This incarnation of Costa Rica is not as formidable as before

Mexico 2nd XI remains the class of the tournament and will beat Honduras

Panama can cause an upset

USA is so so but they playing at home and will dispatch El Salvador

Semis:
Panama vs USA
Mexico vs Jamaica

Final:
Mexico vs Panama

Mexico wins
Post by: ANC2 on July 20, 2017, 07:21:06 AM
Keep an eye out for EL Salvador they showed that even under pressure they can move that ball.
They really should have scored a couple against US. Credit to USA they found a way to win the game, but
boy talk about shit.

Feel real sorry for Panama, tough goal, but they had there chances. CR in the semi vs USA
Post by: Deeks on July 20, 2017, 10:22:23 PM
Honduras giving Mex a run for their money, but thy down 1-0.
Post by: Bitter on July 20, 2017, 10:28:14 PM
For Honduras to score, Malouda need to come on for Mexico.
Post by: palos on July 21, 2017, 10:27:08 AM
For Honduras to score, Malouda need to come on for Mexico.

Dey shoulda sub een Burkie
Post by: soccerman on July 22, 2017, 10:37:03 PM
The US keep beating everybody, looks like another US vs Mexico finals.
Post by: Flex on July 23, 2017, 03:24:15 AM
El Salvador players banned 6 and 3 games after biting U.S. players
ESPN

El Salvador's Henry Romero has been suspended six games and Darwin Ceren three after they bit United States players in the Gold Cup quarterfinals, CONCACAF announced Saturday night.

Romero bit U.S. striker Jozy Altidore on the back of his shoulder and twisted his nipple before Cerin bit U.S. defender Omar Gonzalez in the second half of the Americans' 2-0 win Wednesday.

CONCACAF's disciplinary committee announced the sanctions just before the U.S. kicked off its semifinal against Costa Rica.

Asked for his reaction to the decision after the U.S. defeated Costa 2-0 on Saturday, Altidore responded: "Look, it's unfortunate. You don't wish bad on people, but I'm sure [Romero] can tell you, it was a wild play. It's something I'm sure he's not proud of."

The suspensions affect only "official matches," said CONCACAF, which did not specify the reasons for the ban.

El Salvador have already been eliminated from 2018 World Cup qualifying, so the players are likely to miss the next Copa Centroamericana or qualifiers for the 2022 World Cup when they begin in 2019.

Uruguay's Luis Suarez was banned nine official matches after his infamous biting incident at the 2014 World Cup.

Romero plays his club football in El Salvador, while national team captain Ceren plays in MLS for the San Jose Earthquakes.

Post by: Brownsugar on July 23, 2017, 12:15:43 PM

:yawning: :yawning:  Stevie Wonder could have seen this coming.....was there ever a year when neither team was in the Finals??
Post by: soccerman on July 23, 2017, 01:35:05 PM

:yawning: :yawning:  Stevie Wonder could have seen this coming.....was there ever a year when neither team was in the Finals??
I thought CR would've taken them down but the US was resilient and CR didn't put away their chances. Didn't JA play in the finals before?
Post by: reggae-fan on July 23, 2017, 02:43:57 PM

The party was spoiled last year as the USA got knocked out at the Semis by a Caribbean team.  Said Caribbean team is back in the semis this year and will face Mexico for a place in the final tonight.

The USA are favorites in my book to win it all.  Mexico has sent a weak team to this tournament this edition.
Post by: Peong on July 23, 2017, 08:53:16 PM
So why didn't the mexican goalie jump? That look like he had more than enough time and he was in position
Post by: Bitter on July 23, 2017, 08:58:47 PM
Hard luck dey Mexico. That sh** side was going to lose Wednesday anyway.
Post by: Deeks on July 23, 2017, 09:15:19 PM
JA played brilliantly. Excellent goal. Keeper could have dived. But I did not see him getting to the ball.
Post by: reggae-fan on July 23, 2017, 10:03:36 PM
Congrats to Jamaica on the win. 
Never saw this coming.
Post by: pull stones on July 23, 2017, 10:12:29 PM
Hard luck dey Mexico. That sh** side was going to lose Wednesday anyway.
serves them right for bringing a third string team to the regional cup. Now they know never to pull that bollocks again. Congrats jamaica, at least someone in the caribbean region/ CFU has a plan and plays with heart and purpose.
Post by: pull stones on July 23, 2017, 10:16:54 PM

I thought CR would've taken them down but the US was resilient and CR didn't put away their chances. Didn't JA play in the finals before?
this was our chance to win the gold cup and we blew it. Almost every team brought a second or third string team and could not see any of them beating our best eleven, that's why arena went and got 6 more of his first team players and the United States had the best second string team of all.
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 23, 2017, 10:30:06 PM
It's about getting it done congrats Jamaica.
Post by: soccerman on July 23, 2017, 11:27:42 PM

Stevie Wonder and I both didn't see this one
Post by: Peong on July 24, 2017, 12:50:29 AM
JA played brilliantly. Excellent goal. Keeper could have dived. But I did not see him getting to the ball.

I talk shit there. Keeper wasn't reachin that ball
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 24, 2017, 02:42:23 AM
Ja got it done without these guys.

West Morgan (leicester city )
Gareth mccleary (reading)
Giles Barnes (houston dynamo)
Jobi mcanuff(reading)
Adrian marriappa (watford)
Michael Hector (chelsea)
Leon Baily (bayer leverkusen)
Clayton donaldson (birmingham city)

Post by: ANC2 on July 24, 2017, 06:51:59 AM
JA out hustle, out muscle and just run Mexico into the ground. Not the prettiest football but once the keeper kept making big save Mexico was getting frustrated. Mexico bring on a wide player late, the man almost change it for them, why he on bench ??? Jamaica was jamming and Mexico really did not have it to mix it up. The keeper should have anticipated that free kick but then again, well placed. Congrats Jamaica
Post by: MEP on July 24, 2017, 12:43:25 PM
Ja got it done without these guys.

West Morgan (leicester city )
Gareth mccleary (reading)
Giles Barnes (houston dynamo)
Jobi mcanuff(reading)
Adrian marriappa (watford)
Michael Hector (chelsea)
Leon Baily (bayer leverkusen)
Clayton donaldson (birmingham city)

other than Old Captain Morgan those names mean nothing as they are not impact players for their various clubs.
Post by: pull stones on July 24, 2017, 01:14:25 PM
The highlight of the night for me was after the goal scored that old boy mexican who must have travelled miles to see his team complete a victory and the time he must have taken to put his wardrobe together, flung away his precious sombrero in frustration and you could have seen the beer emanating from his drunken cuss words which was pure entertainment for me,  I am pretty sure that goal sobered him right up. :D :D
Post by: Deeks on July 24, 2017, 03:49:02 PM
This must the worse  loss that Mex. has experience to Caribbean team since the 4-0 zip beating by TT in 73. You know if this was the old system of qualifying for the WC, Mexico would be out.
Post by: Brownsugar on July 24, 2017, 06:38:41 PM

Stevie Wonder and I both didn't see this one

Boy.....ah eat some serious crow here.....ah glad for de Yardies dem.....dat Mexican team was real crappy by their standards.....
Post by: Deeks on July 24, 2017, 07:10:38 PM
Mex. just came back from the confed. cup, so they use different players. Yes they out of the cup, but the WC is what they looking at primarily. And because they are MEXICO, the South Americans will definitely invite the Mexicans to the next COPA America.
Post by: Sando prince on July 24, 2017, 09:57:43 PM

Get ready for another United States Gold Cup title
Post by: Deeks on July 24, 2017, 10:16:37 PM

Not so fast, Breds!
Post by: Sando prince on July 25, 2017, 05:32:48 AM

Not so fast, Breds!

We shall see  :D
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 25, 2017, 08:50:33 AM
Would be good if JA can cause an upset, bodes well for upsetting the order of things in concacaf.  I will live with the decades of banter that we will have to hear as a result...
Title: I hate Jamaica, but this is one time ah want dem to win.
Post by: Sam on July 26, 2017, 04:42:17 AM
Mods, allyuh merge when ready, but give it ah few.

Title: Re: I hate Jamaica, but this is one time ah want dem to win.
Post by: madness on July 26, 2017, 05:34:17 AM
i want dem to win too
Post by: frico on July 26, 2017, 09:49:29 AM
The only time i hate Jamaica is when they beat us,but by them doing so well it will resonate all around the footballing world,that will also be good for the whole Caribbean.I just don't know what kind ah football we does play,we had all the chance to be in the GC,but as usual we piss our chances away.Bravo Jamaica!
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 26, 2017, 10:47:00 AM
Indeed. Right now Jamaica is the best team in the Caribbean. Hands down.

They deserve to be in the Hex more than us. I do believe if DJW (and his belly) was far away from the TTFA we would have been in the Gold cup.. and we would be sitting a bit better in the Hex.

Jamaica making history tonight. Even if they dint win, they still made history. 2 Gold cup finals in 2 campaigns is very impressive. I still think they had an easy road to get to this final. Let's give credit where it is due. Big up!
Post by: reggae-fan on July 26, 2017, 11:29:55 AM
There is saying in sports "offence wins games, defence wins championships". Jamaica success up to this point has relied heavily on it's defensive play lead by goalkeeper Blake. Only two goals conceded leading up to the final.  Call it bunkering if you will or "parking the bus". It's a strategy that has gotten Jamaica deep into this tournament.

Of course the two target strikers has 4 goals between them with another 2 coming from wide players so the offense has done it's part as well.

Well need two goals and a stellar defense tonight to stop the hosts.

Caribbean football must be strong when teams like T&T, Haiti and Cuba are not good enough to make the Gold Cup.  In fact Martinique, Curacao and French Guiana represented well.

Post by: pull stones on July 26, 2017, 02:40:26 PM
There is saying in sports "offence wins games, defence wins championships". Jamaica success up to this point has relied heavily on it's defensive play lead by goalkeeper Blake. Only two goals conceded leading up to the final.  Call it bunkering if you will or "parking the bus". It's a strategy that has gotten Jamaica deep into this tournament.

Of course the two target strikers has 4 goals between them with another 2 coming from wide players so the offense has done it's part as well.

Well need two goals and a stellar defense tonight to stop the hosts.

Caribbean football must be strong when teams like T&T, Haiti and Cuba are not good enough to make the Gold Cup.  In fact Martinique, Curacao and French Guiana represented well.
you are so right about one thing, Jamaica truly does have a very good defensive unit especially jermaine taylor and Kemar lawrence. alves Powell needs a little polishing he's not quite ready for a Mexican A team as of yet but when he's learned his position well no doubt he will be a big big player the other central defender however has not been as impressive and Taylor has been working over time picking up the slack for him.

i could honestly say i envy Jamaica for it's back line and their goal keeper, if only we had a jermaine taylor along side bateau and a keeper the likes of yohan blake we would have been in a better position in the hex and more than likely made it to the gold cup. as for your midfield and offense, those guys are you could keep.

i know for sure tonight Jamaica will need a divine intervention to beat Bruce arena and his robots. maybe if you had a Jovin jones a kevin molino and a levi garcia in your attack along side mattocks and Williams i would feel more confident about Jamaica having an even shot but I certainly don't fancy your chances tonight against the mighty yankees.

Post by: gawd on pitch on July 26, 2017, 02:54:13 PM
Maybe now is the time to expand the Gold cup to 16 teams. The CFU teams are much more mature now. Not a lot of blow outs as in the past. And CFU teams make the quarter finals easy now. Although only 1 team made the quarter final this time, last Gold cup  all the CFU teams made the quarter final. So 4 more spots for CFU will make the Gold cup more competitive. Of course USA and Mexico might not want that.. Reason being, it decreases the chances of them being in the final. I guess something to think about.
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 26, 2017, 02:57:43 PM
@ Pull stones, Yohan Blake ain't playing keeper tonight. He supposed to be getting ready for 100m.. Yuh sure yuh mean Alves Powell or Asafa Powell.. lol.

But I with you. I envy Jamaica badd.. That goalie is something else. Remember he won MLS goal keeper of the year.. I guess we see why..
Post by: DeSoWa on July 26, 2017, 04:26:15 PM
It would be tough for JA to win that game with the US having the home advantage and Refs on their side. Won't be surprise if it's close at the end, the US gets a penalty for the go ahead goal  :D
Post by: pull stones on July 26, 2017, 04:29:57 PM
@ Pull stones, Yohan Blake ain't playing keeper tonight. He supposed to be getting ready for 100m.. Yuh sure yuh mean Alves Powell or Asafa Powell.. lol.

But I with you. I envy Jamaica badd.. That goalie is something else. Remember he won MLS goal keeper of the year.. I guess we see why..
sorry I meant to say ANDRE don't know where YOHAN came from. ;D
Post by: pull stones on July 26, 2017, 04:43:03 PM
It would be tough for JA to win that game with the US having the home advantage and Refs on their side. Won't be surprise if it's close at the end, the US gets a penalty for the go ahead goal  :D
especially with Bruce arena in charge that man would rather lose his right arm than lose to caribbean opposition that's how much contempt he holds for Caribbean teams. as I said be gore if jamaica wins would only be by fortunate string of events like an obvious penalty or a sending off of yankee players, other than that I don't see them winning this game.
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 26, 2017, 08:14:30 PM
Yikes. Blake just take a kick to he hand. All kind of blood and thing. Jamaica using another keeper. Hard luck for Blake..
Post by: Bitter on July 26, 2017, 08:36:07 PM
Game done
Post by: Sando prince on July 26, 2017, 08:36:12 PM

LICKS!  :D
Post by: Sando prince on July 26, 2017, 08:36:52 PM
The only time i hate Jamaica is when they beat us,but by them doing so well it will resonate all around the footballing world,that will also be good for the whole Caribbean.I just don't know what kind ah football we does play,we had all the chance to be in the GC,but as usual we piss our chances away.Bravo Jamaica!

Caribbean? Caribbean my ass! LICKS!  :D
Post by: Sando prince on July 26, 2017, 08:37:30 PM

a second goal to put the nail in the coffin! LICKS!   :D
Post by: Sando prince on July 26, 2017, 08:39:33 PM

Man chattin about Caribbean, oh yeah so when last you support Cuba or Haiti or Anguilla in anything? iz friggin licks for yard today  :D
Post by: kaliman2006 on July 26, 2017, 08:40:26 PM
 Ah cyah stand the USA and they smug attitude. I want Jamaica to win, although that goal scored by the US on the stroke of halftime is going to make the task all the more difficult.
Post by: soccerman on July 26, 2017, 08:41:06 PM
Game done
Yea we lose 3-1 :devil:
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 26, 2017, 08:56:03 PM
Same with me kaliman.. I'd rather support the people I have more in common with than the stars and stripes.. regardless of how this bun me, I would be an idiot to support the country that has a history of oppressing meh people.
Post by: Bitter on July 26, 2017, 08:56:32 PM
Game done
Yea we lose 3-1 :devil:
Post by: Bitter on July 26, 2017, 08:59:19 PM
Game start back
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 26, 2017, 09:00:57 PM
Licks for JA Sando.. Oh shyte.  GAME TIE 1-1
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 26, 2017, 09:03:26 PM

Post by: Sando prince on July 26, 2017, 09:06:40 PM

don't cry hard for your team when d game done eh

doh say the oppressor cheat  :D
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 26, 2017, 09:11:27 PM

don't cry hard for your team when d game done eh

doh say the oppressor cheat  :D

Right now they are my team. I REFUSE to support any thing connected to the Whitehouse..
Post by: kaliman2006 on July 26, 2017, 09:26:38 PM
The fact that Jamaica did not lose its composure and equalized after conceding a goal very close to halftime is a sign of the mental strength of this team.
Post by: Bitter on July 26, 2017, 09:37:46 PM
Game done
Post by: kaliman2006 on July 26, 2017, 09:44:35 PM
Game done

Yep. Perhaps Whitmore should have brought on some fresher legs earlier. The winner was the result of a tired defence.
Post by: Sando prince on July 26, 2017, 09:45:09 PM

well boi gawd on pitch, your team fight hard but d 'oppressors' were the better team. dominated possession, more shots on goal and wanted it more. US deserve to win
Post by: Sando prince on July 26, 2017, 09:45:49 PM
US deserve to win. They dominated possession, more shots on goal and wanted it more.
Post by: frico on July 27, 2017, 03:58:53 PM

Man chattin about Caribbean, oh yeah so when last you support Cuba or Haiti or Anguilla in anything? iz friggin licks for yard today  :D
I understand how yuh feel about our inability to get to the Caribbean Cup and the GC as such,but we must be objective.Jamaica is better than us at the moment,and is a better defensive team,they can defend,it will take a few more years to teach TT about defending.I support all Caribbean teams,when we play anybody I support us(TT),but I am an objective person,and although it's hard to swallow,Jamaica is a far more organized team than us.
Post by: Sando prince on July 27, 2017, 05:50:27 PM

I understand how yuh feel about our inability to get to the Caribbean Cup and the GC as such,but we must be objective.Jamaica is better than us at the moment,and is a better defensive team,they can defend,it will take a few more years to teach TT about defending.I support all Caribbean teams,when we play anybody I support us(TT),but I am an objective person,and although it's hard to swallow,Jamaica is a far more organized team than us.

Right now both jamaica and Trinidad is shit. That is what you cannot seem to understand. If you want to swallow a shit team as your team because they are located in the Caribbean dais your business, doh force that down my throat
Post by: Deeks on July 27, 2017, 10:43:34 PM
Right now both jamaica and Trinidad is shit.

JA reached two consecutive GC finals and they is shit? Nah Breds!.  I beg to differ. if you want to blast TT, fine. But how you come to the conclusion that JA football is not good, I really don't know.  Holland went to 3 WC finals and lost all 3.  Their football not good?
Post by: Sando prince on July 28, 2017, 06:23:38 AM

JA reached two consecutive GC finals and they is shit? Nah Breds!.  I beg to differ. if you want to blast TT, fine. But how you come to the conclusion that JA football is not good, I really don't know.  Holland went to 3 WC finals and lost all 3.  Their football not good?

Gold Cup is not a measuring stick for quality. Even T&T made Gold Cup semi-final last time and what happened since?
Did you watch the Gold Cup final on wednesday? maybe you need to watch it again to see how JA was dominated in every way by the US. There is a reason why they did not make the hex, rank so low, poor overall record against top teams. Two gold cup finals is not enough. Nah breds you can't be serious. Like you just started watching football
Post by: frico on July 28, 2017, 10:03:54 AM
Sando prince,we are having a discussion,this is what we do on this MB,you don't have to agree,but if you say something,please back up with facts.I am not trying to force anything down your throat,sorry mate you got that wrong.You said both Jamaica and TT are shit,you got that half right,I forgive you,we all make mistakes. :)
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 28, 2017, 12:34:59 PM
Sando just have high expectations.

Sando, tell me what teams in the Gold cup are up to your expectations?

Post by: Sando prince on July 28, 2017, 05:00:35 PM

Let us start with teams who perform consistently well from WC qualification, completive friendly matches, Copa America and not just do well once every two years in a Gold Cup tournament (For example shit teams like T&T and JA). So let us figure out who are those teams, well in CONCACAF they will be CR, US and Mex. Oh is it those teams are your 'oppressors' so you too blind to accept the obvious?  :)
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 28, 2017, 08:15:20 PM
If that is your answer, you're on a slippery slope. Don't dig your own hole Sando. You know better.
Post by: rastafari on July 29, 2017, 12:37:24 PM
Stop calling d national team of Trinidad and Tobago shit. I am very serious.

Jah bless
Rastafari
Post by: frico on July 29, 2017, 02:00:28 PM
Now if TT can take a leaf outta Jamaica book, improve the defence and play with heart and soul like Jamaica,we may still  have a chance of qualifying, but we must think like the Jamaicans.So far we have matched Mex, CR, Hon and the US but lost,we also should have had a draw against Mexico, but a good goal was ruled off side.So a lil more blood and sweat and good defending, we have good midfield and the front men are good enough.
Post by: Controversial on July 29, 2017, 03:54:46 PM

Let us start with teams who perform consistently well from WC qualification, completive friendly matches, Copa America and not just do well once every two years in a Gold Cup tournament (For example shit teams like T&T and JA). So let us figure out who are those teams, well in CONCACAF they will be CR, US and Mex. Oh is it those teams are your 'oppressors' so you too blind to accept the obvious?  :)

The only shit around here is what the dictator doing with our football
Post by: Sando prince on July 29, 2017, 06:20:14 PM
Now if TT can take a leaf outta Jamaica book, improve the defence and play with heart and soul like Jamaica,we may still  have a chance of qualifying, but we must think like the Jamaicans. So far we have matched Mex, CR, Hon and the US but lost,we also should have had a draw against Mexico, but a good goal was ruled off side.So a lil more blood and sweat and good defending, we have good midfield and the front men are good enough.

continue posting when you drunk  :D
Post by: ffisback on July 30, 2017, 12:04:52 AM
Now if TT can take a leaf outta Jamaica book, improve the defence and play with heart and soul like Jamaica,we may still  have a chance of qualifying, but we must think like the Jamaicans.So far we have matched Mex, CR, Hon and the US but lost,we also should have had a draw against Mexico, but a good goal was ruled off side.So a lil more blood and sweat and good defending, we have good midfield and the front men are good enough.
I would rather TT lose than to play such disgraceful football.
Post by: Deeks on July 30, 2017, 09:01:46 AM
To say that TT don't heart and soul football is disingenuous. We frustrated because of the results. We blame TTFa for contributing to our current disaster. But honestly we eh ready. Some of them are. Not the whole squad. They have 4 games to prove us wrong.
Post by: Controversial on July 30, 2017, 12:50:28 PM
To say that TT don't heart and soul football is disingenuous. We frustrated because of the results. We blame TTFa for contributing to our current disaster. But honestly we eh ready. Some of them are. Not the whole squad. They have 4 games to prove us wrong.

Here we go again..

Boss like yuh don't retain things well, our squad ready but the big nations in concacaf don't want us to be ready
Post by: frico on July 30, 2017, 02:45:23 PM
Now if TT can take a leaf outta Jamaica book, improve the defence and play with heart and soul like Jamaica,we may still  have a chance of qualifying, but we must think like the Jamaicans. So far we have matched Mex, CR, Hon and the US but lost,we also should have had a draw against Mexico, but a good goal was ruled off side.So a lil more blood and sweat and good defending, we have good midfield and the front men are good enough.

continue posting when you drunk  :D
Ah can do with a bloody drink right now Sando, mek it rum. ;D
Post by: Deeks on July 31, 2017, 05:28:26 AM

Gold Cup is not a measuring stick for quality. Even T&T made Gold Cup semi-final last time and what happened since?
Did you watch the Gold Cup final on wednesday? maybe you need to watch it again to see how JA was dominated in every way by the US. There is a reason why they did not make the hex, rank so low, poor overall record against top teams. Two gold cup finals is not enough. Nah breds you can't be serious. Like you just started watching football

Breds, Quality or not, the fact is the champs go to the confed cup. And what you mean by "even TT made it ". What are you saying? We did not deserve to make it?  Breds, this tournament going since the original format in 67, and the updated  GG format about 12 years ago, you don't think we long overdue? To be honest, I think we are underachieving when it come to football.
Post by: Deeks on July 31, 2017, 06:23:20 AM

Here we go again..

Boss like yuh don't retain things well, our squad ready but the big nations in concacaf don't want us to be ready

Breds, you joking oui.  Breds, we lost the qualifiers because our players underachieved. Not to leave out. DJW with his bull. So are you saying  the same with with JA. So is JA one of the big nations? If they are not, are you saying concacaf  conspired for JA to lose the game. JA lose the game fair and square. What conspiracy theories you talking about?  JA could not sustain the pressure, and they conceded the goal to the US. The stronger team won. Now TT played Ecuador. If we that good as your suggested. Why we lost to Ecuador?  Is there a conspiracy theory there too. They were better. Their B team beat our B team. They did not have their best, and we also did not have ours.