Sports => Football => Topic started by: palos on March 29, 2017, 11:53:27 AM

Title: You're down a goal....how come no Levi Garcia?
Post by: palos on March 29, 2017, 11:53:27 AM
 ???
Title: Re: You're down a goal....how come no Levi Garcia?
Post by: asylumseeker on March 29, 2017, 12:21:29 PM
 :)
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 29, 2017, 12:30:16 PM
 Jamille Boatswain ... is there
Post by: frico on March 29, 2017, 12:47:52 PM
???
No Bateau or Garcia,had me wondering.
Post by: lefty on March 29, 2017, 01:27:46 PM
???

especially since bateau is d closest ting we have to a ball playing defender and has goals to his name
Post by: palos on March 29, 2017, 01:41:04 PM
???

especially since bateau is d closest ting we have to a ball playing defender and has goals to his name

All coaches have their preferences.  And it could be that players might be carrying a slight injury....or not performing optimally in training....or they don't fit the tactical approach the coach want to play....or it could just be a hunch

Any number can play.  But......all coaches know that their actions...AND inactions....will elicit scrutiny.

Especially after a loss

So this is MY scrutiny.

I don't understand how Boatswain can be expected to have much impact.  ESPECIALLY in a WCQ against forkane Mexico.

Maybe Tallest feel Boatswain is the Trini Marcus Rashford or something.  But if that was the case...yuh eh think he woulda be playin somewhere other than for Defence Force in the Pro League?

I know Boatswain and Levi Garcia do not play the same position.  The swap would be Cato and it's obvious that Tallest likes Cato. And nothing wrong with that.

But we down a goal in the 2nd half at home....we not getting much done offensively....if anything at all....and rather than bring on the speed....yuh go with Boatswain?

Again....coach prerogative.  I get that

My prerogative to question that.
Post by: lefty on March 29, 2017, 02:19:59 PM
???

All coaches have their preferences.  And it could be that players might be carrying a slight injury....or not performing optimally in training....or they don't fit the tactical approach the coach want to play....or it could just be a hunch

Any number can play.  But......all coaches know that their actions...AND inactions....will elicit scrutiny.

Especially after a loss

So this is MY scrutiny.

I don't understand how Boatswain can be expected to have much impact.  ESPECIALLY in a WCQ against forkane Mexico.

Maybe Tallest feel Boatswain is the Trini Marcus Rashford or something.  But if that was the case...yuh eh think he woulda be playin somewhere other than for Defence Force in the Pro League?

I know Boatswain and Levi Garcia do not play the same position.  The swap would be Cato and it's obvious that Tallest likes Cato. And nothing wrong with that.

But we down a goal in the 2nd half at home....we not getting much done offensively....if anything at all....and rather than bring on the speed....yuh go with Boatswain?

Again....coach prerogative.  I get that

My prerogative to question that.

didn' mind d boatswain change  except dat it was for KJ, my feelin was dat molino should have made way, do agree on levi though....but we should have doubled down on d physicality at that stage and brought in some speed and skill to compliment joevin
Post by: palos on March 29, 2017, 02:29:09 PM
didn' mind d boatswain change  except dat it was for KJ, my feelin was dat molino should have made way, do agree on levi though....but we should have doubled down on d physicality at that stage and brought in some speed and skill to compliment joevin

I honestly don't get the boatswain thing.

Ah mean....football so sophisticated these days and teams have scouts EVERYWHERE.  No stone left unturned as it were.

If he was THAT special, yuh doh think he would be playing somewhere like where Levi playing at least?  Even a lil trial self?

Is like we ketch a vaps and hoping that the player that scores goals against Rangers, Club Sando, and Barbados will emulate that against MEXICO

Sad to say....it mostly doh wuk like that
Post by: lefty on March 29, 2017, 03:30:22 PM

Ah mean....football so sophisticated these days and teams have scouts EVERYWHERE.  No stone left unturned as it were.

If he was THAT special, yuh doh think he would be playing somewhere like where Levi playing at least?  Even a lil trial self?

Is like we ketch a vaps and hoping that the player that scores goals against Rangers, Club Sando, and Barbados will emulate that against MEXICO

he has a physical present and willing to shoot if he see ah opening....when is d last time we had ah striker dat fancy d odd full blooded blast, keron was sweetin minor league ball normel normel and was given ah go....he not d savior like people making out but he have hustle .....but den I'sa chelsea man so I like strikers dat look like dey could bully defenders
Post by: palos on March 29, 2017, 04:05:18 PM
keron was sweetin minor league ball normel normel and was given ah go....he not d savior like people making out but he have hustle .....but den I'sa chelsea man so I like strikers dat look like dey could bully defenders

Kerron was given a go because when Molino got injured, he was the only player eligible to play for T&T who was willing to play off of Kenwyne Jones and feed on those balls that came to him as a result.

He wasn't the only player with the skill set to do so. 

Lest you forget....Guerra lost his place to Kerron.  Guerra arguably has more "skills"....certainly had greater physicality....but for whatever reason, he couldn't perform the role consistently.  Kerron....up until his unfortunate injury.....performed.

Is more than just being able to shoot from anywhere.  Is about running into space intelligently.  Knowing when to run into the space. Timing.  Anticipation.  And even with all that....you still have to have the technique and composure to execute.  That is exactly how Molino makes his name.  He feeds off of "scraps".  He shows up at the right time.  He has the knack for timing his run and all the stuff I previously mentioned.

I haven't seen any of that from Boatswain.
Post by: andre samuel on March 29, 2017, 04:12:40 PM
Quick question Palos.................How effective was Levi Garcia when he came on vs Panama?
Post by: palos on March 29, 2017, 04:26:57 PM
Quick question Palos.................How effective was Levi Garcia when he came on vs Panama?

More effective than Willis Plaza was against Mexico?
Post by: asylumseeker on March 29, 2017, 04:27:20 PM

he has a physical present and willing to shoot if he see ah opening....when is d last time we had ah striker dat fancy d odd full blooded blast, keron was sweetin minor league ball normel normel and was given ah go....he not d savior like people making out but he have hustle .....but den I'sa chelsea man so I like strikers dat look like dey could bully defenders

Not a trait to be discarded, but his insertion last night should have been accompanied by a more enterprising mix of those staying on the pitch, those entering and where they played. Although Boucaud got into advanced positions and played forward passes, he did not do both simultaneously (playing a forward or penetrating pass from an  advanced position). Nevertheless, his insertion was correct.

Could we have gone 3 in the back? Removed Gonzales, inserted an attacking option in the midfield above George? And, deployed the variation of Garcia while leaving KJ on the field?

It was interesting to see Cyrus taking a long throw with KJ on the bench and our numerical inferiority in the penalty area.

Discussion stimulated.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 29, 2017, 04:34:12 PM

Dis is a red herring. Or red herring-esque.
Post by: FF on March 29, 2017, 04:47:59 PM
To me no matter how tired Kenwyne was he posed an aerial threat and presence that Mexico had to take note of.
As soon as he was gone they put numbers behind the ball and we were stymied.

All this talk Controversial talking about Hart brand vs Mexico. If You followed this event closely you would have noted that the Mexican coach quite rightly heeded the lessons of those last two encounters and set up Mexico quite differently to what we saw in the Gold Cup and even against Costa Rica last Friday. So we comparing apples and oranges. Mexico then wasn't Mexico now.

They were looking to actively cut out our counter attacking threat and nullify the option of playing direct to Kenwyne. This was not high octane mexico leaving gaps across the back. Yet still we created dangerous opportunities in the first half and restricted Mexico to early crosses from a little deeper out.

As far as the short corners went. I actually thought it was clever to say ok you brought in big men in the back we could knock it short.
But at some point we should have thrown the kitchen sink and just lump them in.

Long story short. I thought it was one of our better first halves and a very good tactical battle between coaches. Very intriguing.
I believe the second half was won by Mexico's gamesmanship and our players naivete and yes some tactical errors by our staff.
Perhaps inexperience? I could concede that.

Post by: lefty on March 29, 2017, 04:55:13 PM
To me no matter how tired Kenwyne was he posed an aerial threat and presence that Mexico had to take note of.

All this talk Controversial talking about Hart brand vs Mexico. If You followed this event closely you would have noted that the Mexican coach quite rightly heeded the lessons of those last two encounters and set up Mexico quite differently to what we saw in the Gold Cup and even against Costa Rica last Friday. So we comparing apples and oranges. Mexico then wasn't Mexico now.

They were looking to actively cut out our counter attacking threat and nullify the option of playing direct to Kenwyne. This was not high octane mexico leaving gaps across the back. Yet still we created dangerous opportunities in the first half and restricted Mexico to early crosses from a little deeper out.

As far as the short corners went. I actually thought it was clever to say ok you brought in big men in the back we could knock it short.

Long story short. I thought it was one of our better first halves and a very good tactical battle between coaches. Very intriguing.
I believe the second half was won by Mexico's gamesmanship and our players naivete and yes some tactical errors by our staff.

agreed
Post by: lefty on March 29, 2017, 05:04:26 PM

Not a trait to be discarded, but his insertion last night should have been accompanied by a more enterprising mix of those staying on the pitch, those entering and where they played. Although Boucaud got into advanced positions and played forward passes, he did not do both simultaneously (playing a forward or penetrating pass from an  advanced position). Nevertheless, his insertion was correct.

Could we have gone 3 in the back? Removed Gonzales, inserted an attacking option in the midfield above George? And, deployed the variation of Garcia while leaving KJ on the field?

It was interesting to see Cyrus taking a long throw with KJ on the bench and our numerical inferiority in the penalty area.

Discussion stimulated.

I would have favour 3-5-2 or even 4-4-2(yuk) at that point, molino as u pointed out, was a passenger last night and barring d goal was in and out against panama...intangibles...a yellow carded, somewhat ephemeral, clearly riled molino wasn't going to change that game.....and I standin by dat

d mexican coach targeted our physicality for special attention, but still we should have doubled down, we know for a fact dat kenwin could handle he shit as ah withdrawn forward
Post by: maxg on March 29, 2017, 05:04:52 PM

:cheers:
Post by: Spursy on March 29, 2017, 05:25:02 PM
Levi took some knocks against Panama. The game was at a stage where it was too risky to insert Garcia - it is important to protect the young players in big clubs in a game so physical. Plaza was picked because of his high work rate and pace. No one knows what is best for the team besides the manager he knows all the details and we don't. Face it we were a bit unlucky but played well enough to deserve respect.
Post by: vb on March 29, 2017, 06:18:13 PM

I continue to be confused by KJ's presence up front. He hardly ever really bothers anyone.
This man should be playing midfield, you would notice against HOnd. he was behind the striker basically midfield and did a fine job manhandling the opposition.

He is also a boon when defending against corners.

I was surprised by Garcia's absence in the 2nd half. LG may not have been amazing vs Pan. but he is fast and skillful and we don't really have better.

Plaza ent much but he tries and his speed in the sec. half would be more hopeful than having to watch KJ stumble up front.

A midfield with KJ and Hyland with Molino in front would be useful. We may have to convert someone up front, perhaps Kato.

But we CONTINUE to waste time with KJ up front by himself. If he ever scores a goal well lord ....he wll become the present day Bleeder.
Post by: gawd on pitch on March 29, 2017, 07:27:49 PM
Aubrey David is a good player. However, he is the one that gave the Mexican too much space to shoot on to the goal.. This caused the corner, which caused the goal. I think Bateau should have started.

Gonzales isnt a bad player. Will like to see if he gets a contract from abroad.
Post by: Coach on March 29, 2017, 08:51:08 PM
Normal mistakes for a rookie head coach at this level. Big price to pay though! Hope he learns and can make better decisions at critical times in future games.

He should have left on KJ inserted another striker with him and switching to a more offensive 3-5-2, you at home need to get at least a pt. Levi is playing at a high level should have been involved if he was ok to play. DL seems to have a passion for Army players need to think professional not with his heart.
Post by: pull stones on March 29, 2017, 09:08:50 PM
???who knows. Maybe he's carrying a knock or he probably wasn't 100% on the night, diarrhea, headache, chills, or probably he defied the coaches instruction on friday, point is it cold be w number of things. but the bigger question should be....why cato who has no awareness what so ever.
Post by: injunchile on March 29, 2017, 09:18:31 PM
Gally Cummings was right when he said to me one day , The Reason That I don't go on these local sites is that Everyone in Trinidad & Tobago is a coach and they know what is best for the Team.
Post by: Preacher on March 29, 2017, 09:35:43 PM

Well to be honest.  Boatswain could have scored.  Late in the game JJ draw 4 men at the top of the area. Boatswain pull away onside in the 18 all JJ had to to was release the ball and he all by himself instead JJ hold on to the ball and get fowl.  JJ is consistently denying other players the ball (KJ) and holding it to much.  Remember the the 4 - 4 draw with Mexico?  KJ break inside push past a player and then lay the ball off bam goal.  JJ did the same exact play yesterday but unlike KJ refused Boatswain the ball and choose to go down for the free kick. 

Posting the link
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=73SB56ql4rs

1:29.  JJ get the ball instead of just hittin it back across to KJ (Which is the best option) he decides to go for goal.  He scores but harder chance to take.  Same thing with Molino against Panama. KJ open and free but he choose the harder thing and scores.  That kinda mentality hurts a team against better opposition which it did against Mexico. 
Post by: palos on March 30, 2017, 12:30:56 AM
Gally Cummings was right when he said to me one day , The Reason That I don't go on these local sites is that Everyone in Trinidad & Tobago is a coach and they know what is best for the Team.

Welcome to fandom.  Gally should be happy people invested enough to care
Post by: asylumseeker on March 30, 2017, 12:43:48 AM

Yet, there are indications he hasn't been shy about turning up at this venue.
Post by: davyjenny1 on March 30, 2017, 01:08:47 AM

agreed
On point.
Post by: sjahrain on March 30, 2017, 03:03:44 AM
I said some time ago KJ needs to come with the play as opposed to the play coming to him,he becomes stagnant and be easily marked,more difficult to mark a moving target,and in coming with the play he gives us more options
I think Cyrus needs to play in the midfield instead of Kevin George,he will give us more options,he can do all what George does and still be an attacking player,George is to one dimensional,face it there is zero creativity in the midfield,Cyrus could change That
Post by: Controversial on March 30, 2017, 04:16:53 AM

agreed
On point.

On point my ass, I love that Palos and seeker are the few that are actually thinking analytically

Tallest inexperience showed as I said, right after the match I stated this... I also stated why the hell you leave a player like Levi on the bench and tallest subs were not Intelligent moves on his part

FF and Andre can sugar coat the shit as much as they want, but it's still shit at the end of the day, it smells and rots like it..

The intelligent thing would have been to start Bateau, Boucaud and bring Levi off the bench .... with Cummings absent from the mid, we now have to run our offense through Molino and at times he's selfish Andre doesn't distribute the ball well.. as someone pointed out he is a scavenger, he will pounce on scraps, kerron creates, Levi creates, the last game against Panama we saw Levi in the box and he passed the ball..

Before Levi would look to attack the goal and dribble, I don't know who is stifling Levi but Tallest is doing his job at diminishing our chances to qualify and playing into the dictator plan, fooling people with that win against Panama then playing shit against Mexico at home..

Andre and FF think that brand of football will beat big teams lol that's a joke.. I warned men, FIFA is paying Tallest salary, remember that, Mexico and the other elite teams want an easy walk through to the World Cup..
Post by: Controversial on March 30, 2017, 04:25:29 AM
Normal mistakes for a rookie head coach at this level. Big price to pay though! Hope he learns and can make better decisions at critical times in future games.

He should have left on KJ inserted another striker with him and switching to a more offensive 3-5-2, you at home need to get at least a pt. Levi is playing at a high level should have been involved if he was ok to play. DL seems to have a passion for Army players need to think professional not with his heart.

Nah I think it was deliberate on tallest part...

Tallest so absent minded that he don't know Levi is our best impact player off the bench? He didn't review game tape from before?

Allyuh buying cat in bag now, tallest is paid by FIFA and is in cohorts with the dictator ... things going as planned..

Hire a former player with no experience as head coach at this level, mamaguy the people with the fact he's a son of the soil and took us to the World Cup to gain everyone's trust, then blame it on his lack of experience as to why we lost or start losing, when in truth it's him making selections that inhibit our team from winning..

Logically there was no reason why he didn't start Sheldon and sub Levi, and why he couldn't keep kenwyne in the game.. he's now a part of the sabotage with the dictator, ensuring the elite teams advance, TT is the fall guy...

Once people caught onto the dictator set up, he pretend to pull out and create a ficticious battle with skeene and tallest gets selected ... FIFA paying Tallest, I don't know any corp or employer on this earth that has no say in the people they pay.. what dream world is people living in on this board.. no conspiracy there, just facts, in steps the corrupt refs who ensure the game is biased, hence the poor officiating to ensure things go smoothly ....
Post by: asylumseeker on March 30, 2017, 06:06:36 AM
I said some time ago KJ needs to come with the play as opposed to the play coming to him,he becomes stagnant and be easily marked,more difficult to mark a moving target,and in coming with the play he gives us more options
I think Cyrus needs to play in the midfield instead of Kevin George,he will give us more options,he can do all what George does and still be an attacking player,George is to one dimensional,face it there is zero creativity in the midfield,Cyrus could change That

Ok, I'll play.

What was George's influence on possession and the tempo of play? What was his pass accuracy percentage? Were his passes short or long? Lateral or vertical? Have you observed any difference in the length and direction of his passes? When in possession, how long does he keep the ball for?

End of first paragraph.
Post by: Storeboy on March 30, 2017, 08:22:34 AM
:beermug:  :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Storeboy on March 30, 2017, 08:31:32 AM

Tallest so absent minded that he don't know Levi is our best impact player off the bench? He didn't review game tape from before?

Allyuh buying cat in bag now, tallest is paid by FIFA and is in cohorts with the dictator ... things going as planned..

Hire a former player with no experience as head coach at this level, mamaguy the people with the fact he's a son of the soil and took us to the World Cup to gain everyone's trust, then blame it on his lack of experience as to why we lost or start losing, when in truth it's him making selections that inhibit our team from winning..

Logically there was no reason why he didn't start Sheldon and sub Levi, and why he couldn't keep kenwyne in the game.. he's now a part of the sabotage with the dictator, ensuring the elite teams advance, TT is the fall guy...

Once people caught onto the dictator set up, he pretend to pull out and create a ficticious battle with skeene and tallest gets selected ... FIFA paying Tallest, I don't know any corp or employer on this earth that has no say in the people they pay.. what dream world is people living in on this board.. no conspiracy there, just facts, in steps the corrupt refs who ensure the game is biased, hence the poor officiating to ensure things go smoothly ....
Does all this conspiracy crap come from your head?
Post by: ribbit on March 30, 2017, 08:45:58 AM

contro, how yuh so sure hart isn't the real saboteur?

ah mean - who have more points, hart (0) or tallest (3)?
Post by: asylumseeker on March 30, 2017, 09:01:57 AM

Look where dis ting reach. More appeals to conscience than Amnesty International.
Post by: FF on March 30, 2017, 11:05:18 AM

On point my ass, I love that Palos and seeker are the few that are actually thinking analytically

Tallest inexperience showed as I said, right after the match I stated this... I also stated why the hell you leave a player like Levi on the bench and tallest subs were not Intelligent moves on his part

FF and Andre can sugar coat the shit as much as they want, but it's still shit at the end of the day, it smells and rots like it..

The intelligent thing would have been to start Bateau, Boucaud and bring Levi off the bench .... with Cummings absent from the mid, we now have to run our offense through Molino and at times he's selfish Andre doesn't distribute the ball well.. as someone pointed out he is a scavenger, he will pounce on scraps, kerron creates, Levi creates, the last game against Panama we saw Levi in the box and he passed the ball..

Before Levi would look to attack the goal and dribble, I don't know who is stifling Levi but Tallest is doing his job at diminishing our chances to qualify and playing into the dictator plan, fooling people with that win against Panama then playing shit against Mexico at home..

Andre and FF think that brand of football will beat big teams lol that's a joke.. I warned men, FIFA is paying Tallest salary, remember that, Mexico and the other elite teams want an easy walk through to the World Cup..

Lol this is what you glean? More conspiracy theories Lol and calling palos and seeker name in a desperate bid for legitimacy.
Not even going and comment on the subsequent post. Lol
Let go the crazy rants and talk sense. Inexperience, tactical gambits, game management, something.

But no. You right now lol.

(http://www.reactiongifs.com/r/trmp.gif)
Post by: asylumseeker on March 30, 2017, 11:28:58 AM

All this talk Controversial talking about Hart brand vs Mexico. If You followed this event closely you would have noted that the Mexican coach quite rightly heeded the lessons of those last two encounters and set up Mexico quite differently to what we saw in the Gold Cup and even against Costa Rica last Friday So we comparing apples and oranges. Mexico then wasn't Mexico now.

Mexico's posture on corners is one clear indication of tactical intent. Not sure how evident it was on TV, but when we had a corner they positioned 3 to 4 attacking players across the width of the field to create potential 1 v 1 battles that could rise to their numerical superiority in our half of the field, building from 2 v 1 centrally.

Also, Osorio made 5 or 6 personnel changes from the team he fielded in the first match this round. Specific tinkering.
Post by: Sando prince on March 30, 2017, 11:40:22 AM

The biggest mistake the TTFF was hiring that Sankfeit (or whatever his name) failed Coach. We lost some crucial games (hence no Gold Cup 2017) , we lost momentum and defensive chemistry as a team, we regressed as a team in a different ways and now its like we starting from scratch again. 
Post by: FF on March 30, 2017, 11:44:57 AM
I think the incompetence and meddling goes back further. But you will not hear me sanction that Saintfete debacle
Post by: asylumseeker on March 30, 2017, 11:49:03 AM

The biggest mistake the TTFF was hiring that Sankfeit (or whatever his name) failed Coach. We lost some crucial games (hence no Gold Cup 2017) , we lost momentum and defensive chemistry as a team, we regressed as a team in a different ways and now its like we starting from scratch again.

We are. And with de SAME players!
Post by: ribbit on March 30, 2017, 02:11:01 PM

Look where dis ting reach. More appeals to conscience than Amnesty International.

is cyber rum shop talk without even de excuse of rum.
Post by: Marcos on March 30, 2017, 02:36:23 PM
We played a good match and held our own against the class of the federation. Ppl acting like they expected us to blaze them. Mexico showed us a lot of respect, KJ and Joevin in particular, in a VERY close game.

I agree KJ should have stayed on, as he was occupying and pressuring defenders well. The importance of using him as an outlet was evident once he was taken off and we struggled to maintain possession. The Mexican defenders also were more comfortable coming forward after that.

I would not have minded seeing Levi, but thought Plaza and Boatswain both showed something after they came on. Plaza had a real crossing opportunity from in the box (probably our best position)... before playing it out after hesitating too long. Unless i am mistaken, i think his hustle and speed created this opportunity.

I don't like questioning the coach when we aren't present during training. Perhaps Boatswain has been ripping up in training and scoring with regularity. I'm sure he has his reasons.
Post by: maxg on March 30, 2017, 02:47:36 PM

is cyber rum shop talk without even de excuse of rum.
Cyah find ah decent rumshop in dis place, buh we have brasseries (beer gardens), it's where I hone meh skills, ent seeker    :rotfl: :beermug:

add: My subs, giving barring injury. Levi for Cato at the half, BooBoo for George and Boatman/Plaza for KJ around 75th if still 0-0. Later if we up, earlier if we down. Simply because KJ rep (warrented or not), tends to keep 2 1/2 defenders at home. jmo
Post by: asylumseeker on March 30, 2017, 03:03:17 PM
We played a good match and held our own against the class of the federation. Ppl acting like they expected us to blaze them. Mexico showed us a lot of respect KJ and Joevin in particular, in a VERY close game.

I agree KJ should have stayed on, as he was occupying and pressuring defenders well. The importance of using him as an outlet was evident once he was taken off and we struggled to maintain possession. The Mexican defenders also were more comfortable coming forward after that.

I would not have minded seeing Levi, but thought Plaza and Boatswain both showed something after they came on. Plaza had a real crossing opportunity from in the box (probably our best position)... before playing it out after hesitating too long. Unless i am mistaken, i think his hustle and speed created this opportunity.

I don't like questioning the coach when we aren't present during training. Perhaps Boatswain has been ripping up in training and scoring with regularity. I'm sure he has his reasons.

Interesting thing ... on Fútbol Picante a commentator expressed the view that WE accorded Mexico too much respect. No one disagreed. All of them Mexican.

Thoughts?
Post by: Controversial on March 30, 2017, 03:06:29 PM

Does all this conspiracy crap come from your head?

Address the facts, was Tallest unaware of Levi and Bateau capabilities? Was he unaware that leaving jones in the game would increase our chances to win?
Post by: FF on March 30, 2017, 03:10:06 PM
We played a good match and held our own against the class of the federation. Ppl acting like they expected us to blaze them. Mexico showed us a lot of respect KJ and Joevin in particular, in a VERY close game.

Interesting thing ... on Fútbol Picante a commentator expressed the view that WE accorded Mexico too much respect. No one disagreed. All of them Mexican.

Thoughts?

That holding water. I was real optimistic when I saw Mexico starting line up and especially the way we started.
But it all romantic to say go and have a go at the likes of Mexico but when stakes high, it is understandable to be conservative.

The win against Panama and Honduras capitulation allowed us the luxury of not having to be very cavalier.
Post by: Controversial on March 30, 2017, 03:13:47 PM

LoL did you join the Dictators band of merry men?

Last time I checked Hart was undermined, by the chief saboteur the dictator and his stooges... try coaching under those conditions with some players siding with the dictator as Tim kee pointed out in his interview, then come and talk that rubbish you posted above..

Tallest is being given everything and he still have the team playing a sub par brand of football... They had choices like Suarez, Maturana and even a local like Nakhid, who would all have been better and more experienced choices .... Hart is a patriot ...
Post by: Controversial on March 30, 2017, 03:22:27 PM

Lol this is what you glean? More conspiracy theories Lol and calling palos and seeker name in a desperate bid for legitimacy.
Not even going and comment on the subsequent post. Lol
Let go the crazy rants and talk sense. Inexperience, tactical gambits, game management, something.

But no. You right now lol.

(http://www.reactiongifs.com/r/trmp.gif)

You getting absent minded at such an early age bro?

I addressed Palos post, I gave my perspective of what I think is transpiring. That's my opinion based on a number of factors... Whether you agree with it or not, it's up to you..

I asked a simple question, is Tallest unaware of what Levi, Bateau, Boucaud and leaving Jones in would have done? Up to now, no one has answered this question?

Tallest is towing the line, from his first interview it was a clear indicator he was on the same page as the dictator.

I also asked the question, what employer has no say in the person they are paying? If you owned your corp and paid for a coach or manager, would you not have a say in what his role is and what he does?

Simple questions, no one wants to touch, so you and others choose to deflect instead.
Post by: Controversial on March 30, 2017, 03:31:33 PM

What is the address of that rock you living under?
Post by: ribbit on March 30, 2017, 04:28:00 PM

Last time I checked Hart was undermined, by the chief saboteur the dictator and his stooges... try coaching under those conditions with some players siding with the dictator as Tim kee pointed out in his interview, then come and talk that rubbish you posted above..

Tallest is being given everything and he still have the team playing a sub par brand of football... They had choices like Suarez, Maturana and even a local like Nakhid, who would all have been better and more experienced choices .... Hart is a patriot ...

contro, you happier with 0 points than with 3 points.
Post by: gawd on pitch on March 30, 2017, 05:02:05 PM
Contro, I with yuh on everything you saying about the dictator and his attempt to decrease our chances of making Russia.. I also agree with you that Hart had Mexico figured out and that he is more experienced than Tallest.

But I don't find that the teams' performance vs PAN and MEX was as sub par as you make it sound. Yes the team lacked that "hungar"
that was displayed in the 2015 Mexico games. But they managed the game well.

Your point about Tallest getting more access to tools for preparing the team than Hart is true. I could only imagine what Hart could have done with the tools he's been prevented from accessing.

I do think and hope that the dictator will one day be very far away from the team, which might allow for Hart to come back or have some type of role in the coaching staff.

A Tallest and Hart partnership is probably the right formula to get to the world cup. But the reality is that Hart is gone.. And Tallest is probably the next best thing. Who else can we get that's more patriotic than the man who headed the goal that sent us to Germany? We have a TT hero that is the coach. I think that is something all of us are happy to support for now.. Providing that he delivers of course.
Post by: Controversial on March 30, 2017, 05:02:50 PM

contro, you happier with 0 points than with 3 points.

Care to analyze why we had zero points after the first games? What occurances were attributed to those losses?

Hart could have gotten 3 points as well had he been supported lol what's your point? So I should accept the rubbish we are playing now because we got 3 points we were suppose to get...

Are you happy 3 points from two home games? And Tallest basically making us play like if we are some push overs?
Post by: Controversial on March 30, 2017, 05:17:50 PM
Contro, I with yuh on everything you saying about the dictator and his attempt to decrease our chances of making Russia.. I also agree with you that Hart had Mexico figured out and that he is more experienced than Tallest.

But I don't find that the teams' performance vs PAN and MEX was as sub par as you make it sound. Yes the team lacked that "hungar"
that was displayed in the 2015 Mexico games. But they managed the game well.

Your point about Tallest getting more access to tools for preparing the team than Hart is true. I could only imagine what Hart could have done with the tools he's been prevented from accessing.

I do think and hope that the dictator will one day be very far away from the team, which might allow for Hart to come back or have some type of role in the coaching staff.

A Tallest and Hart partnership is probably the right formula to get to the world cup. But the reality is that Hart is gone.. And Tallest is probably the next best thing. Who else can we get that's more patriotic than the man who headed the goal that sent us to Germany? We have a TT hero that is the coach. I think that is something all of us are happy to support for now.. Providing that he delivers of course.

Brother I supported Tallest but after that display and his decisions against Mexico, I am very suspicious about his intentions...

We played on the back foot and absorbed pressure, it almost made me feel like if we are playing away from home... his subs were beyond suspicious and didn't make sense.. people may attribute that to inexperience but I don't buy that, he was under big names and knows talent and skill, he knows capabilities of certain players.. He stunted our attack and we were playing like the Trinidad of old before Hart...

No shots on goal, no creativity in the mid and a lack of expression, by attacking players like Levi.. Tallest is good as a defensive coach, not the head coach.. He's either too conservative or he's in on the sabotage, and I'm having a hard tim buying that he is conservative in his approach.

Too many question marks after that match and his coaching style also comes into question. Hart wasn't controlled, I believe Tallest is being controlled.

And I know Hart is gone but that doesn't mean you cannot compare styles of play and how each coach handled pressure and adjusted to losing situations. You go from dominating and playing on par with Mexico to playing way below them and watching the team play I had no confidence they would come back like what I saw under Hart...
Post by: gawd on pitch on March 30, 2017, 05:28:07 PM
@ Contro.  Point taking. But remember it took Hart a few games to prepare a strategy to beat Mexico.. This is Tallest 3rd game.. Actually 2nd game with the first team.

His substitutions might have been questionable. But that's about it. I don't think he's being controlled. It would take much more than a 1-0 loss to a Mexican team, who is arguably the best team in Concacaf, to convince me that Tallest has some underlying intention. Maybe a 4 nil might convince me.. but not that close game we seen on Tuesday.
Post by: KND2 on March 30, 2017, 06:02:11 PM
I agree with the subs

If we did not have to sub hyland early Garcia might have come on.

Boatswain have to come on base on the early hype he getting from training and some good effort in the panama 10 mins.

That said he did not do well so that info will be taking in account in the next game.

With 10 mins left plaza is a better option than Garcia because at that point you need an out an out striker to try to cause problem.

Cato been doing well so he deserve he pick

It is also a tough decision if to take off Molino because he have 50% of we goals in the last 2 years.

Garcia is not really a goal scorer and his biggest problem is he playing the same position as J Jones.

All that said we need to find a position to play garcia because I think he can help the team.

Post by: palos on March 30, 2017, 06:20:58 PM

Garcia is not really a goal scorer and his biggest problem is he playing the same position as J Jones.

All that said we need to find a position to play garcia because I think he can help the team.

Allyuh mightn't remember dis but de talk in de strike squad days used to be that Latapy and Yorke couldn't be on the field together.

Post by: asylumseeker on March 30, 2017, 08:41:42 PM
How did we get a goal down in the first place? Meaning why did Osorio insist on attacking down the right flank?
Post by: sjahrain on March 31, 2017, 02:45:07 AM
A.S
Let me watch that game again..So I can accurately answer all your questions
Not that my observations will change much
He is a defensive  mid ..Be is going to hold it for a couple seconds if that much ...Most times he passes to who is closest to him...He is not going to make any pass to split any defenders...His objective is to break up a movement and hand off..My point is Cyrus can do that and also add some more intangibles to the play
Post by: asylumseeker on March 31, 2017, 05:18:51 AM
A.S
Let me watch that game again..So I can accurately answer all your questions
Not that my observations will change much
He is a defensive  mid ..Be is going to hold it for a couple seconds if that much ...Most times he passes to who is closest to him...He is not going to make any pass to split any defenders...His objective is to break up a movement and hand off..My point is Cyrus can do that and also add some more intangibles to the play

Depends on who you consider a defender or how you define a defender. We're partially at the answer.

With the execution of those intangibles, who would accompany Cyrus in midfield? (I agree there are intangibles).

Post by: Dutty Love on March 31, 2017, 06:06:19 AM
Dwane James is much much more technical than Cyrus. And Jamal Jack had very good performances as box to box midfielder. https://youtu.be/W_6kZF-9C8I

Post by: maxg on March 31, 2017, 12:04:04 PM
Dwane James is much much more technical than Cyrus. And Jamal Jack had very good performances as box to box midfielder. https://youtu.be/W_6kZF-9C8I

Nice video case for Jamal Jack, D. Looks like a good prospect to me.
Post by: maxg on April 02, 2017, 01:13:37 AM
Noticed pittsburgh has him(Jamal Jack ) as Central Defender
http://www.uslsoccer.com/pittsburghriverhounds-fccincinnati-905451
Post by: sjahrain on April 02, 2017, 07:02:08 AM
A.S
We splitting hairs here my brother...Every member of that team is a defender..True...The situation will arise where it will come into play as the game plays out..Be it a concept of team defence or one and one defending....I want the best talent on the field to maximize all opportunities
You cannot deny the fact yes fact ..That Cyrus is  more talented than George and by extension much more versatile
No coach thus far has been able to find his true position on the field,looked very solid in central defence...It's my opinion ...Only an opinion he will serve this team best occupying a spot in midfield
Post by: asylumseeker on April 02, 2017, 09:43:06 AM
A.S
We splitting hairs here my brother...Every member of that team is a defender..True...The situation will arise where it will come into play as the game plays out..Be it a concept of team defence or one and one defending....I want the best talent on the field to maximize all opportunities
You cannot deny the fact yes fact ..That Cyrus is  more talented than George and by extension much more versatile
No coach thus far has been able to find his true position on the field,looked very solid in central defence...It's my opinion ...Only an opinion he will serve this team best occupying a spot in midfield

Cyrus played in central midfield versus Nicaragua, under Saintfiet. Prior to that happening, several posters were curious about how Cyrus would do in that role. I can tell you how Cyrus was "discovered" and by whom. From what I gather, Daneil was capable of playing anywhere on the pitch (including in goal) as a young player coming up. As such, I'm aware of his versatility. And indeed, I was among those curious as to how he would perform in an advanced area of the field, other than the flank.

You'll recall that a bone of contention between SH and the brain trust at W Connection was that DC was playing CB for club, but out on the flank for country. There was the thought that he should be used with consistency as a CB on the NT, just as he was deployed by clubs at home and abroad. It was Hart's prerogative to make the contrary determination; however this far, after two outings, for the first time in a long time, Cyrus has not invoked the ire of posters (not even sub1 has appeared to call for the hangman).

In professional football, utility players struggle more to establish a defined role than do players with defined, established positions. I do not think it is a case of "no coach thus far has been able to find his true position". Fevrier would argue otherwise. And, SH might argue otherwise. However, even if Saintfiet were to weigh in (and our fellow posters), do you actually believe that at the age of 26, that center mid is Daneil's true position? I think most who proposed him at CM proposed that route as a temporary or exigent solution to a problem we face or faced. Also, I doubt that the player views playing at CM helps his cause on the international market (and Cyrus wants to return to club football abroad), but he would do it for the shirt. His best bet for doing so is to assert a case of stability in position and execute with best performances. Clubs are not purchasing on various rolls of the die.

You chose not to answer some of what I asked, but I'll overlook that for the purpose of this response (with the option to return to what you neglected).

Replacing George with Cyrus doesn't get you to where you want to get because you are seeking to stoke creativity, but George serves another purpose on the field. What I'm suggesting is that you should turn your attention to where the creative failure stems, not George. Flat out, Cyrus CYAH do what George offers. Examine their styles of play and answer my questions. I would go so far as to say that George has shown a modfication in his play (fewer to almost no short lateral passes as previously seen). Rasta, I gave you homework for a reason.

Regarding the issue of who is a defender ... That's not splitting hairs. If the splitting passes dissect opposing midfielders and arrive at the feet of our forward, George is doing his job ( he certainly isn't sending KJ on another 20 meter sprint a la Cato).

Coaches think highly of George in his specified role. If you doubt me, see what would have happened had he a different passport. I've had two authoritative figures within CONCACAF ( neither of whom coached him) sing his praises. One told me the story of going to scout another player and seeing him play.

At issue here, is the type of player we like in local football. Yeah, George isn't Kante, buh he doh need to be Cyrus either.

Having stated all of that, ah still waiting to hear who would accompany Cyrus in midfield and what sort of midfield you would play him in. Why? Because I think you might be able to get away with it if you choose carefully. However, ask yourself is it a solution for 6 WC quals or even the next two opponents.

More homework.

And, inherently what we are saying is that a Cyrus who plays in a Back Four for club and country is better or is a better or preferred candidate to other players who actually play CM in the Pro League or abroad?

Post by: lefty on April 02, 2017, 10:20:12 AM
seeker boy I still doh understand how people could dismiss specialist ball winners as people who do nothing.....even kante only recently started passes greater than 3-4ft into his game....and that was at conte's insistence and drilling....cyrus is not ah ball winner, his almost complete lack of position sense is testament to that....for all d benefits he will bring to the position, he will present even more drawbacks.......he seems to be doing well it CB let him stay there.....if we ever balls up and play ah 3CB system....could join bateau as ball playing CB
Post by: sjahrain on April 02, 2017, 05:40:14 PM
A S
Must admit that I have not figured it all out
Just an idea
He looked very  comfortable in central defence
Post by: Deeks on April 02, 2017, 10:47:39 PM

So if this guys is so good, how come he is not in the mix for our current campaign?
Post by: Dutty Love on April 03, 2017, 06:59:07 AM

So if this guys is so good, how come he is not in the mix for our current campaign?

Since when the national team has called the right players?
Post by: maxg on April 03, 2017, 07:41:50 AM

Since when the national team has called the right players?
ok..let's be real doh. He maybe should have been called in the past, I dunno

At present he's 29, playing as a defender in USL (some consider 2nd/3rd tier US). His past experience are
Wiki
Years   Team   Apps   (Gls)
2009   Tobago United   2   (0)
2010–2011   San Juan Jabloteh   18   (1)
2012   St. Ann's Rangers   10   (1)
2013–2016   Central   6   (1)
2013   → Alpha United (loan)      
2016   Dragón[1]   19[2]   (2)
2017–   Pittsburgh Riverhounds

He has not been quite stable with any team or played a lot of high profile football. Teams seem to allow him to move on, doh not necessarily up.
Part of his or any player issue for selection, is who are they replacing. If you have been working with a selectee for awhile, he knows what you want, he tries to execute to best of his ability. You may be able to replace with someone new, who you have had access to, and you are able to train regularly eg. a past or present local, but to bring a guy from away, without some outstanding record or real major positive mark on his resume, or maybe some serious and excellent references or recommendations, does not make a solid based decision. So who in Coach Lawrence present team you would replace at this point. IMO, no one. Although, yes, I will try to keep an eye open, in case of some unexpected condition and just being aware of who might be available.

Defenders:
Radanfah Abu Bakr (FK Sūduva Marijampolė—LTU), Aubrey David (PS Kemi Kings—FIN), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Sheldon Bateau (Krylia Sovetov Samara—RUS), Daneil Cyrus (W Connection), Mekeil Williams (Colorado Rapids—USA), Tristan Hodge (W Connection), Carlos Edwards (Ma Pau Stars), Alvin Jones (W Connection).

Midfielders:

Andre Boucaud (Dagenham & Redbridge—ENG), Joevin Jones (Seattle Sounders FC—USA), Nathan Lewis (San Juan Jabloteh), Khaleem Hyland (KVC Westerlo—BEL), Kevan George (Jacksonville Armada—USA), Hughtun Hector (W Connection), Hashim Arcia (Defence Force), Kevin Molino (Minnesota United FC—USA), Leston Paul (Central FC), Levi Garcia (AZ Alkmaar—NED).