Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on April 04, 2017, 04:49:09 AM

Title: Thread for the T&T vs Grenada Game (29-Apr-2017)
Post by: Flex on April 04, 2017, 04:49:09 AM
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs Grenada game in Grenada on the 29th of April 2017 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

I95.5.FM (7:30pm EST)

Possible TV Station.

To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers:

Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin Civic Centre), Glenroy Samuel (Ma Pau Stars), Jan-Michael Williams (North East Stars).

Defenders:

Keston George (Central FC), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Triston Hodge (W Connection), Alvin Jones (W Connection), Seon Power (Central FC), Yohance Marshall (Murcielagos FC), Carlos Edwards (Central FC), Taryk Sampson (Central FC).

Midfielders:

Marcus Joseph (W Connection), Kevon Goddard (W Connection), Nathan Lewis (San Juan Jabloteh), Jared London (Club Sando), Leston Paul (North East Stars), Hughton Hector (W Connection), Hashim Arcia (Defence Force), Keron Cummings (Central FC), Jomal Williams (Murcielagos FC).

Forwards:

Akeem Roach (Central FC), Shahdon Winchester (Murcielagos FC), Jerrel Britto (Honduras Progreso), Jamille Boatswain (Defence Force).

Coach - Dennis Lawrence.

Grenada Squad

Goalkeepers

To be updated.

Defenders

To be updated.

Midfielders

To be updated.

Forwards

To be updated.

Coach - To be updated.

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

Title: Re: Thread for the T&T vs Grenada Game (29-Apr-2017)
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 04, 2017, 07:47:58 AM
I hope DJW  try to get a game against canada AND Venezuela  before the USA  game
Post by: palos on April 04, 2017, 11:07:17 AM
I hope DJW  try to get a game against canada AND Venezuela  before the USA  game

More likely against Guyana, Grenada, and Defence Force
Post by: Jumbie on April 04, 2017, 12:23:23 PM
 :rotfl:  :rotfl: no Central FC?

Post by: Flex on April 04, 2017, 02:59:52 PM
T&T Senior Men to play Grenada on April 29 in St George’s
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Men will travel to St George’s, Grenada to play the Grenada Men’s Senior Team in an International Friendly on April 29th.

The match will be part of the official opening of the Grenada National Football League.

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Dennis Lawrence will use the match as another tune up for his home-based players as the country looks ahead to the 2018 World Cup qualifier away to the United States on June 8th and Costa Rica on June 13th.

“This international game will be useful in terms of it being part of the preparations for our squad ahead of the next set of World Cup qualifiers in June. It’s a good opportunity for myself and the coaching staff to have a further look at the players who are on the fringe of World Cup team selection, also including those who were involved in the past two qualifying matches,” Lawrence told TTFA Media.

“It will be a good opportunity for us to have the players together again, particularly for those who are in off season as it gives us a chance to continue implementing some of the things that we started a few weeks ago in the lead up to the last set of games against Barbados, Panama and Mexico,” Lawrence added

Lawrence will announce his Roster for the match later this month.

Post by: palos on April 04, 2017, 04:50:32 PM
No matter how you look at it....playing Grenada in Grenada and say you preppin players to play against USA and Mexico away is ultimately a futile exercise

Unsure how this could be of any benefit to a team supposedly seeking to qualify for the Wold Cup 2018
Post by: asylumseeker on April 04, 2017, 06:26:36 PM
No matter how you look at it....playing Grenada in Grenada and say you preppin players to play against USA and Mexico away is ultimately a futile exercise

Unsure how this could be of any benefit to a team supposedly seeking to qualify for the Wold Cup 2018

I suppose the idea is to let the local-based come to terms with how Dennis wishes to play (movements etc.). Always easier to imprint these versus comparable opposition. The challenge is replicating it up the ladder. But, getting the imprint is fundamental.
Post by: Sando prince on April 04, 2017, 08:14:55 PM

Well sorry I see this encounter as useless preparation before playing the quality of the US. If we going to use mostly locals in this match against Grenada who will not play against the US then are we preparing them for the next Caribbean Cup cycle :D? and even if we were to use our best players in a match against Grenada in the middle of a final WC campaign how does that prepare them? What happened to playing a South American nation?
Post by: maxg on April 04, 2017, 08:54:47 PM

I suppose the idea is to let the local-based come to terms with how Dennis wishes to play (movements etc.). Always easier to imprint these versus comparable opposition. The challenge is replicating it up the ladder. But, getting the imprint is fundamental.
I think so seeker, best yuh try to instill and excute yuh philosophy and plays to the locals against a Grenada, rather than straight out going and embarass your charges and youself against a Higher caliber team. If things work out and the plays are positive, yuh try it again against harder opposition. If they do not work, chances are you may still have a decent run and positive result with normal player abilities. But to go and try stuff out against say , Colombia, or Peru, and it not working, they might just never want to waste their time with us again.
Post by: vb on April 04, 2017, 09:07:11 PM

I think so seeker, best yuh try to instill and excute yuh philosophy and plays to the locals against a Grenada, rather than straight out going and embarass your charges and youself against a Higher caliber team. If things work out and the plays are positive, yuh try it again against harder opposition. If they do not work, chances are you may still have a decent run and positive result with normal player abilities. But to go and try stuff out against say , Colombia, or Peru, and it not working, they might just never want to waste their time with us again.

:beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Mose on April 05, 2017, 04:46:26 AM

:beermug: :beermug:

:beermug:  :beermug:
1 each fuh maxg and 'seeker!  ;D
Post by: Sando prince on April 05, 2017, 08:52:09 AM

More likely against Guyana, Grenada, and Defence Force

Doh worry who don't hear will feel! when time comes everyone will ask what we did wrong
Post by: g on April 05, 2017, 10:32:15 AM
This is what you call a SMART objective

play the football.
Post by: palos on April 05, 2017, 12:15:20 PM
I see this as a "make work" project for the senior mens national team coaching staff

The reality is this......when playing any kind of meaningful match....the senior mens national team will not be relying on the local based players to fill the vast majority of positions.

People made observations about Joevin Jones when he went to Udinese on trial and how he looked hopelessly out of depth.  And he was.  At the time, he was arguably also the best player in the Pro League.

In order for Joevin to approach fulfilling his talent, he had to go abroad.  He is where he is now...considered one of the best left backs in MLS. 

Jut like oil......he had to be refined.  We have ZERO football refineries in T&T.  That's just the truth. 

So keep Dennis Lawrence and co busy...sure.  But until we start to develop those refineries...we'll be dependent on our players being refined in REPUTABLE leagues abroad. 

And by REPUTABLE, I NOT talking about leagues in Phillipines, India, Vietnam etc.

BTW......it is NOT Dennis Lawrence and his coaching staff's responsibility to refine our players.  Players should come to a senior national team already refined.  We know in too many cases, that's just not the case.
Post by: Jefferz on April 05, 2017, 12:33:17 PM
I see this as a "make work" project for the senior mens national team coaching staff

The reality is this......when playing any kind of meaningful match....the senior mens national team will not be relying on the local based players to fill the vast majority of positions.

People made observations about Joevin Jones when he went to Udinese on trial and how he looked hopelessly out of depth.  And he was.  At the time, he was arguably also the best player in the Pro League.

In order for Joevin to approach fulfilling his talent, he had to go abroad.  He is where he is now...considered one of the best left backs in MLS. 

Jut like oil......he had to be refined.  We have ZERO football refineries in T&T.  That's just the truth. 

So keep Dennis Lawrence and co busy...sure.  But until we start to develop those refineries...we'll be dependent on our players being refined in REPUTABLE leagues abroad. 

And by REPUTABLE, I NOT talking about leagues in Phillipines, India, Vietnam etc.

BTW......it is NOT Dennis Lawrence and his coaching staff's responsibility to refine our players.  Players should come to a senior national team already refined.  We know in too many cases, that's just not the case.

cosign.
Post by: g on April 05, 2017, 02:43:19 PM

It's a Pro League all star team posing as a national team. The notion about having local players in a camp continuously training is laudable but is not the international norm and it comes at a cost too.

But the opposition is at a pro league level so let them play.
Post by: palos on April 05, 2017, 03:07:31 PM
It's a Pro League all star team posing as a national team. The notion about having local players in a camp continuously training is laudable but is not the international norm and it comes at a cost too.

1 - Don't then try to sell it as a warm up match for world cup qualifying. 

2 - Strengthens my claim that this is just a make work project for the national team coaching staff.  A CEPEP for football as it were
Post by: g on April 05, 2017, 03:35:25 PM

2 - Strengthens my claim that this is just a make work project for the national team coaching staff.  A CEPEP for football as it were

Optics........ People were clamoring for warm up games, some right here in this forum, albeit against better opposition but always wanting the national team to be actively training or in game mode. I have a fundamental disagreement with this approach. It takes the responsibility out of the club system for developing their players and puts it on the national team. The national team is not a club.

Every time I see a Pro League team grouped in CONCACAF champions league I cringe, because every time is a hiding, especially away from home. The very best of what we have locally from a player and coaching perspective... licks! Who is our Technical Director again? What is the purpose of the TTFA technical committee? Do they assess the overall standard of play, the developmental system from grassroots to senior? Do they establish benchmarks on fitness, nutrition, tactics and coaching to develop systematic action plans?

So yea it's a make work project, apparently its an exhibition for the opening of the Grenada domestic season. So if nothing else go, get a good result and build some confidence.
Post by: Adam Lake on April 05, 2017, 03:37:21 PM
For the life of me I cya understand how we gone from Playing Teams Like Argentina, China, Mexico and Uruguay under Tim Kee's Administration to now playing Barbados and Grenada under DJW. Even worse, this is during an all important WC qualification.... :frustrated:
Post by: palos on April 05, 2017, 03:41:05 PM

Optics........ People were clamoring for warm up games, some right here in this forum, albeit against better opposition but always wanting the national team to be actively training or in game mode. I have a fundamental disagreement with this approach. It takes the responsibility out of the club system for developing their players and puts it on the national team. The national team is not a club.

Every time I see a Pro League team grouped in CONCACAF champions league I cringe, because every time is a hiding, especially away from home. The very best of what we have locally from a player and coaching perspective... licks! Who is our Technical Director again? What is the purpose of the TTFA technical committee? Do they assess the overall standard of play, the developmental system from grassroots to senior? Do they establish benchmarks on fitness, nutrition, tactics and coaching to develop systematic action plans?

So yea it's a make work project, apparently its an exhibition for the opening of the Grenada domestic season. So if nothing else go, get a good result and build some confidence.

we on the same page.  Except for calling it what it really is

A fete match for local based players.  Some local based players will get the opportunity to get a match in....even though it's a fete match.

Makes me question whether the TTFA is truly invested in qualifying for the 2018 world cup

Plenty on this site does cuss Conto for his theories......but most does only see what they want to see too.
Post by: lefty on April 05, 2017, 04:00:46 PM
For the life of me I cya understand how we gone from Playing Teams Like Argentina, China, Mexico and Uruguay under Tim Kee's Administration to now playing Barbados and Grenada under DJW. Even worse, this is during an all important WC qualification.... :frustrated:

team development was undermined from the word go.........whether it was ah clumsy attempts to earn caps for pro league players or worse an attempt to rack losses to justify hart's ouster, it was still in poor taste and represented, to me, a nasty disregard the progress that had been made previously.......we can't move forward in ANY sport developmentally as long as succession is seen as break down to build back up and is consistently poisoned by small minded jealousies and frenism, which to me has defined DJWs presidency and precipitated the string successes turned failure we have witnessed......upward trajectory has been shot to shit by d PDF man and he minions
Post by: maxg on April 05, 2017, 09:24:25 PM
Let's look at it another way..The next FIFA intl break is june 5th to 13th, means
Trinidad & Tobago Squad becomes

Goalkeepers:
Jan-Michael Williams (Central FC), Marvin Phillip (Morvant Caledonia United), Glenroy Samuel (Ma Pau Stars).
Defenders:
Radanfah Abu Bakr (FK Sūduva Marijampolė—LTU), Aubrey David (PS Kemi Kings—FIN), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Sheldon Bateau (Krylia Sovetov Samara—RUS), Daneil Cyrus (W Connection), Mekeil Williams (Colorado Rapids—USA), Tristan Hodge (W Connection), Carlos Edwards (Ma Pau Stars), Alvin Jones (W Connection).
Midfielders:
Andre Boucaud (Dagenham & Redbridge—ENG), Joevin Jones (Seattle Sounders FC—USA), Nathan Lewis (San Juan Jabloteh), Khaleem Hyland (KVC Westerlo—BEL), Kevan George (Jacksonville Armada—USA), Hughtun Hector (W Connection), Hashim Arcia (Defence Force), Kevin Molino (Minnesota United FC—USA), Leston Paul (Central FC), Levi Garcia (AZ Alkmaar—NED).
Forwards:
Cordell Cato (San Jose Earthquakes—USA), Kenwyne Jones (Atlanta United—USA), Willis Plaza (East Bengal FC—IND), Jamille Boatswain (Defence Force).

+ any National team trialist
So you really want to play C teams from Argentina, China, Mexico and Uruguay and the like with the guys possibly available and expect it to be really helpful ? oor do a "make work project" and take the opportunity to cement/develop the current selectees and a few possible candidates to physically and mentally practice the system you will attempt to establish during the limited time, you will have all of the team together against an opposition that will give them the time and chance to first do it slowly and then hopefully later at a faster pace, peaking when it matters most. I think the latter is the purpose. If you choose opposition where they do not have time or opportunity to learn and execute, then it would be best we avoid any games at all. You can't take all elementary or all High school kids and teach them high-ed University programs. Providing we agree our ProLeague players are operating in an elemetary setting. Yes, there is talent, yes, there is potential, but prerequisites must be covered and at many cases mastered, before the final exams. No player left behind, sort of. Yet, one or two will still fail, the manager job is without any major stress, try to prepare the guys he will eventually select and then from those actually take a guess as to which would most likely succeed. However, it's still a team sport, thus he also have to determine the correct chemical combination to ensure success. So he needs to do these little test, rather than no test at all. My thoughts anyway.

add: in the long run, he and those selected still might get it wrong, but at least they would have tried all available processes.
Post by: Deeks on April 05, 2017, 10:42:59 PM
A fete match for local based players.  Some local based players will get the opportunity to get a match in....even though it's a fete match.

Palos, playing Grenada nowadays is no longer a fete match. Maybe 20 yrs ago. It appears that DJW cannot get a high-profile time to play in the FIFA window. If he cannot get a high-profile, then just get a team willing to play. It appears Grenada willing. The Euro and MLS pros will not get released( are discouraged by their clubs teams) unless it is a WC game. Some of us have been clamouring a Trin-Zuela home and away series. But .... no takers.
Post by: maxg on April 06, 2017, 07:04:27 AM
Might start a rivalry an interfere with the immigration, gun and body organ trafficking 👹
Post by: injunchile on April 06, 2017, 08:05:44 AM
Look on the bright side, some of the local players getting a sweat against Grenada can boast that they played for Trinidad & Tobago and that they played International football.
 Secondly we have to find work for Dennis and his staff so what better incentive than a three days holiday in Grenada .
Post by: Mose on April 06, 2017, 08:39:25 AM
I prefer to use the term "training exeercise" as opposed to make work project.

I agree with what you say here palos, but that leaves DL with two options:
1. Accept that the local based players are substandard and throw them in at the deep end, or
2. Try to do something to better prepare them before throwing them in at the deep end.

I prefer option 2.  :beermug:
Post by: palos on April 06, 2017, 11:13:47 AM

1. Accept that the local based players are substandard and throw them in at the deep end, or
2. Try to do something to better prepare them before throwing them in at the deep end.

And how has this option 2 worked for past coaching staff?
Post by: Mose on April 06, 2017, 12:40:07 PM

And how has this option 2 worked for past coaching staff?

Couldn't really tell you as I'm not in a position to know if it improved anyone or not. And from a team perspective there's no way to undo what you did and go back and play the same games to say one way or the other. Are you seriously insinuating though that option 1 is the better play? If you have another option, feel free to propose it. I'm all for the betterment of the team.
Post by: palos on April 06, 2017, 12:47:08 PM
Couldn't really tell you as I'm not in a position to know if it improved anyone or not. And from a team perspective there's no way to undo what you did and go back and play the same games to say one way or the other. Are you seriously insinuating though that option 1 is the better play? If you have another option, feel free to propose it. I'm all for the betterment of the team.

I'm NOT for spinnin top in mud...which is what we doing with these kinds of games

SH took a mainly local based team to play China, Peru, etc and take copious lixx.  Not that the China trip would have yielded any other results just based on travel time and lack of acclimatization

Saintfiet played Gold Cup qualifying games at home against Haiti & Suriname with a majority local based squad and ended up with zero points AT HOME 

Maybe Lawrence is a miracle worker.  Daz what we seem to be hoping for.

At this point....we're f**ked.  It doh matter who we play.  The solution is a long term solution with NO HALF MEASURES.

Properly develop players at the youth level and ensure that facilities, coaching, support resources etc are of a professional standard.

The old adage is very true in this case.....

Fail to prepare (properly).  Prepare to (properly) fail.
Post by: Sando prince on April 06, 2017, 12:52:00 PM

I'm NOT for spinnin top in mud...which is what we doing with these kinds of games

SH took a mainly local based team to play China, Peru, etc and take copious lixx.  Not that the China trip would have yielded any other results just based on travel time and lack of acclimatization

Saintfiet played Gold Cup qualifying games at home against Haiti & Suriname with a majority local based squad and ended up with zero points AT HOME 

Exactly! Iz either we have short memory or just hope in miracles. We have been down this road before recently with moistly local based teams and suffered heavy consequences.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 06, 2017, 01:07:05 PM
Here's what's missing from this conversation: the yield from the exercise v. Grenada is not expected to be 11 players. If it produces 1 or 2, and disqualifies 9 or 10, it would have delivered value of some merit.

Some of us may be in denial that two local-based central defenders kept two foreign-based CBs from taking the field versus PAN and MEX.

Also, regardless of the ease of Barbados, we got a result v Panama and were robbed v Mexico.

Yes, there is a shop window aspect to this, but it's still only April.

Imperfect solution to an imperfect reality.
Post by: palos on April 06, 2017, 01:18:31 PM
Also, regardless of the ease of Barbados, we got a result v Panama and were robbed v Mexico.

Spin Spin Spin

I could spin it thusly

Panama were robbed and Mexico did what they were always going to do

Spin away

Post by: asylumseeker on April 06, 2017, 02:46:59 PM

Spin Spin Spin

I could spin it thusly

Panama were robbed and Mexico did what they were always going to do

Spin away

Spin or facts?
Post by: Mose on April 06, 2017, 03:16:11 PM

At this point....we're f**ked.  It doh matter who we play.  The solution is a long term solution with NO HALF MEASURES.

Properly develop players at the youth level and ensure that facilities, coaching, support resources etc are of a professional standard.

I seem to remember Wim taking a all local squad to the finals of the Caribbean cup. Having players that were previously considered improperly developed and a waste of time playing good ball. But maybe I wrong. I didn't see the games and going on what was reported here.

Also, where is it written that this has to be zero sum game? Yes long term development is necessary, we've been asking for that for some time. And I count myself amongst the number that have been calling for it. But Dennis is faced with the reality of the hand that he's been dealt and is trying to do something about it in the short term to deal with the situation. The long term solution has to come from the federation and I don't see that what he is doing now is interfering with that.

I said earlier I prefer to call it a training exercise. As such the purpose is not necessarily to win. It is an attempt to acquaint the players with playing in particular system. An attempt at implementing a particular program. At some point yuh have to put them in a game situation to see who is getting it and can be relied upon to implement the system at a higher level and who is not ready or not ready yet. You might call it spinning top in mud because we lost the other games. But assuming your memory is better than mine of what happened in those other games, can you honestly say that there were no local players that were able to start pushing their way onto the national team as a result of those previous exercises?
Post by: maxg on April 06, 2017, 04:24:11 PM
Here's what's missing from this conversation: the yield from the exercise v. Grenada is not expected to be 11 players. If it produces 1 or 2, and disqualifies 9 or 10, it would have delivered value of some merit.

Some of us may be in denial that two local-based central defenders kept two foreign-based CBs from taking the field versus PAN and MEX.

Yes, there is a shop window aspect to this, but it's still only April.

Imperfect solution to an imperfect reality.

I seem to remember Wim taking a all local squad to the finals of the Caribbean cup. Having players that were previously considered improperly developed and a waste of time playing good ball. But maybe I wrong. I didn't see the games and going on what was reported here.

Also, where is it written that this has to be zero sum game? Yes long term development is necessary, we've been asking for that for some time. And I count myself amongst the number that have been calling for it. But Dennis is faced with the reality of the hand that he's been dealt and is trying to do something about it in the short term to deal with the situation. The long term solution has to come from the federation and I don't see that what he is doing now is interfering with that.

I said earlier I prefer to call it a training exercise. As such the purpose is not necessarily to win. It is an attempt to acquaint the players with playing in particular system. An attempt at implementing a particular program. At some point yuh have to put them in a game situation to see who is getting it and can be relied upon to implement the system at a higher level and who is not ready or not ready yet. You might call it spinning top in mud because we lost the other games. But assuming your memory is better than mine of what happened in those other games, can you honestly say that there were no local players that were able to start pushing their way onto the national team as a result of those previous exercises?

:applause: :applause:
Palos, what would you like to see the Coach Of the senior men National team do. Or are you saying we should disband the senior team, and the coach and get some youth coaches to travel round the country for a salary (that probably won't be paid), teaching their own personal philosophy of football. I think we already have that now.
  I not sure what you getting at or suggesting doh. Put a actual suggestion on the table, so we can mull over it nah. How is National team development done in other countries in our region ? Haiti and Jamaica always giving we trouble, what they doing at their youth level that we are not. I don't think they even have as much developmental structures as we do, what they do have however, is a strong abilty to work hard, and play for country, each other and succeed. I think we are a bit spoilt, as somethings have come a bit to easy for us. Everything we want we get, by Hook (money) or by crook( :Police:) . We want to go world cup, we went..Better teams from bigger countries, never get to go..but we went..and nothing wrong with that, but even then, ppl term some of our lesser players shitongs ....and doh talk bout this bunch, who not getting we to go again.. nah, I cyah agree with that bout they no good...They can improve, everybody can, but because you can improve don't make you not good. Even in the best there is always room for improvement. We just have to teach our charges (and supporters), regardless of what, to stick with it, they will improve. F**k the WC for now. buh yes, dah's just me

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CH4AjDgl1Ng

add: oh yeah, frig the paragraphs too  :laugh:
Post by: palos on April 06, 2017, 05:24:48 PM
The solution is a long term solution with NO HALF MEASURES.

I not sure what you getting at or suggesting doh. Put a actual suggestion on the table, so we can mull over it nah.

My solution/suggestion is quite clear.  Can't put it any clearer.  Yuh doh have to like it
Post by: maxg on April 06, 2017, 06:48:21 PM
The solution is a long term solution with NO HALF MEASURES.

I not sure what you getting at or suggesting doh. Put a actual suggestion on the table, so we can mull over it nah.

My solution/suggestion is quite clear.  Can't put it any clearer.  Yuh doh have to like it
but it is not clear at all. What are the full measures ,with whom, by whom ? And what to do with WC qualifying or any senior team for that matter ?  Lay it out, let us critique, analyze and fine tune it and maybe one day somebody will even try to put a well thought out idea in the works. In every nonsense somebody must find some sense .
Post by: Flex on April 23, 2017, 03:25:32 AM
Lawrence calls 24-man training squad for Grenada Friendly.
TTFA Media.

The Trinidad and Tobago Men’s Senior team will return to the training field on Monday for preparations ahead of Saturday’s International Friendly with Grenada in St George’s.

The game will serve as part of the National Team’s build up programme for the two 2018 World Cup qualifiers against the United States and Costa Rica on June 8th and 13th.

“This international game will be useful in terms of it being part of the preparations for our squad ahead of the next set of World Cup qualifiers in June,” head coach Dennis Lawrence told TTFA Media.

“It’s a good opportunity for myself and the coaching staff to have a further look at the players who are on the fringe of World Cup team selection, also including those who were involved in the past two qualifying matches.

Monday’s opening training session takes place at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva.

The 24-man Training Squad for Grenada

Goalkeepers:

Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin Civic Centre), Glenroy Samuel (Ma Pau Stars), Jan-Michael Williams (Ma Pau Stars).

Defenders:

Keston George (Central FC), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Triston Hodge (W Connection), Alvin Jones (W Connection), Seon Power (Central FC), Yohance Marshall (Murcielagos FC), Carlos Edwards (Ma Pau Stars), Taryk Sampson (Ma Pau Stars).

Midfielders:

Marcus Joseph (Central FC), Kevon Goddard (W Connection), Nathan Lewis (San Juan Jabloteh), Jared London (Club Sando), Leston Paul (Ma Pau Stars), Hughton Hector (W Connection), Hashim Arcia (Defence Force), Keron Cummings (Central FC), Jomal Williams (Murcielagos FC).

Forwards:

Akeem Roach (Club Sando), Shahdon Winchester (Murcielagos FC), Jerrel Britto (Honduras Progreso), Jamille Boatswain (Defence Force).

Post by: Trini _2026 on April 23, 2017, 05:24:32 AM
I really hope this is not the only game ..... Power of all pople where has he been in that past few years ???
Post by: Tallman on April 23, 2017, 07:07:53 AM
I really hope this is not the only game ..... Power of all pople where has he been in that past few years ???

Thailand
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 23, 2017, 08:23:37 AM

Thailand
has he been playing regular ???
Post by: lefty on April 23, 2017, 08:24:52 AM

Thailand

if he has improved and is solid he will be a great addition......very cultured feet for defender
Post by: g on April 23, 2017, 05:59:36 PM

Thailand

if he has improved and is solid he will be a great addition......very cultured feet for defender

Haven't seen him for years. Talented but prone to the brainless with a dash of wildness ever so often.
Post by: lefty on April 23, 2017, 07:33:17 PM

Thailand

Haven't seen him for years. Talented but prone to the brainless with a dash of wildness ever so often.

ah know, dais why ah say "if" .......he do ok d last few times he played before d traveling, ah tink it was, got to him.....his game improved when he was encourage to use d ball better....can't remember who he played under after pacho, but he had a fair few solid outings
Post by: asylumseeker on April 23, 2017, 07:49:34 PM
I would like to hear him share his experiences in Thailand. Flex, call dong ah interview nah.

By the way, allyuh feel Powder is a spring chicken?
Post by: Sam on April 24, 2017, 12:08:33 PM
Lawrence calls 24-man training squad for Grenada Friendly.
TTFA Media.

The Trinidad and Tobago Men’s Senior team will return to the training field on Monday for preparations ahead of Saturday’s International Friendly with Grenada in St George’s.

The game will serve as part of the National Team’s build up programme for the two 2018 World Cup qualifiers against the United States and Costa Rica on June 8th and 13th.

“This international game will be useful in terms of it being part of the preparations for our squad ahead of the next set of World Cup qualifiers in June,” head coach Dennis Lawrence told TTFA Media.

“It’s a good opportunity for myself and the coaching staff to have a further look at the players who are on the fringe of World Cup team selection, also including those who were involved in the past two qualifying matches.

Monday’s opening training session takes place at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva.

The 24-man Training Squad for Grenada

Goalkeepers:

Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin Civic Centre), Glenroy Samuel (Ma Pau Stars), Jan-Michael Williams (Ma Pau Stars).

Defenders:

Keston George (Central FC), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Triston Hodge (W Connection), Alvin Jones (W Connection), Seon Power (Central FC), Yohance Marshall (Murcielagos FC), Carlos Edwards (Ma Pau Stars), Taryk Sampson (Ma Pau Stars).

Midfielders:

Marcus Joseph (Central FC), Kevon Goddard (W Connection), Nathan Lewis (San Juan Jabloteh), Jared London (Club Sando), Leston Paul (Ma Pau Stars), Hughton Hector (W Connection), Hashim Arcia (Defence Force), Keron Cummings (Central FC), Jomal Williams (Murcielagos FC).

Forwards:

Akeem Roach (Club Sando), Shahdon Winchester (Murcielagos FC), Jerrel Britto (Honduras Progreso), Jamille Boatswain (Defence Force).

Good team.

Post by: Insider on April 24, 2017, 01:55:49 PM
Spoke to someone inside the TTFA, apparently Daneil Cyrus refused to resign with W Connection hence the reason he wasn't called up, he is trialing with North East Stars.

More to come on this.

Post by: soccerman on April 24, 2017, 01:58:41 PM
Spoke to someone inside the TTFA, apparently Daneil Cyrus refused to resign with W Connection hence the reason he wasn't called up, he is trialing with North East Stars.

More to come on this.
??? clear politics not to select him if that's indeed the case.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on April 24, 2017, 02:42:18 PM
Wow!! So now they will not be able to deny there is bias against some players not with W-Connection especially if the club have issue with them. 
Post by: Controversial on April 24, 2017, 11:46:43 PM

Wim had a rejuvenated creative mid that ate most of the opponents food with bleeder playing holding mid..

In fact I spoke to bleeder several times after the games and hardest and they shared what was going on, had wim had the full team, we would have done extremely well..

Tallest don't have a creative mid, he has Cummings coming off the bench... just like he had Garcia on the bench ... two different approaches
Post by: Controversial on April 24, 2017, 11:50:10 PM
Wow!! So now they will not be able to deny there is bias against some players not with W-Connection especially if the club have issue with them. 

Now what Tallest saying about this? He going along with this nonsense?

If he does, it proves my theory, he's under manners by the dictator and FIFA
Post by: Controversial on April 25, 2017, 12:02:18 AM

More to come on this.

What's tallest stance on this?
Post by: g on April 25, 2017, 05:09:35 AM
The Cyrus issue is an interesting one. My assumption is that he is looking for a move abroad so he is keeping his free agency status so clubs abroad can scoop him up without a transfer fee. To be fair he has looked competent at centre back.

Now one could argue that W Connection looked after him for years, even after multiple unsuccessful attempts abroad they kept taking him back and think they feel that they should be able to cash in on a transfer fee if he does get something abroad.

All pro league players are inactive so even though he is 'unattached' it doesn't make his activity level different to any other local player. I would want to hear Dennis Lawrence on this.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 25, 2017, 06:23:14 AM
The Cyrus issue is an interesting one. My assumption is that he is looking for a move abroad so he is keeping his free agency status so clubs abroad can scoop him up without a transfer fee. To be fair he has looked competent at centre back.

Now one could argue that W Connection looked after him for years, even after multiple unsuccessful attempts abroad they kept taking him back and think they feel that they should be able to cash in on a transfer fee if he does get something abroad.

All pro league players are inactive so even though he is 'unattached' it doesn't make his activity level different to any other local player. I would want to hear Dennis Lawrence on this.

Was W Conn doing Cyrus a "favour"? Or, was he on loan? He was on loan.

Iz you Palos should charge with spinning, instead of unfairly ... :P ... tarnishing me with that brush.  :angel:
Post by: Insider on April 25, 2017, 06:24:38 AM
Asked yourself how Marcus Joseph make the team all of a sudden since he signed for W Connection from Central FC recently.

Post by: Insider on April 25, 2017, 07:44:36 AM
Peter Rampersad was fired after 26 years.

Unless transportation is provided once the TTFA move its office to the Ato Boldon Stadium the women in the office Delyce, Fabrice and Hannifer will have to seek employment elsewhere.

Technically they not directly getting fire, but could be forced out unless the TTFA provide extra money or transportation.

Something has to give.

Post by: g on April 25, 2017, 10:09:32 AM

Iz you Palos should charge with spinning, instead of unfairly ... :P ... tarnishing me with that brush.  :angel:

take win
Post by: asylumseeker on April 25, 2017, 11:39:58 AM

take win

In other words, they had more than a moral obligation to take him back. Dahis de contract.

Buh like palos eh taking de bait at all. Between my comment and yours, we on firm Palos territory and he eh reach yet. :devil:

Post by: palos on April 25, 2017, 01:14:21 PM

Buh like palos eh taking de bait at all. Between my comment and yours, we on firm Palos territory and he eh reach yet. :devil:

Yasir Shah and Shadab Khan eh want nutting wit de 2 a allyuh  :)
Post by: Controversial on April 26, 2017, 02:47:39 AM

So let me understand this correctly, Cyrus on loan means he is subject to not being selected?

The dictator does favours for himself and no one else .... that's the only favour I'm clear about
Post by: Fyzoman on April 26, 2017, 09:11:56 AM

More to come on this.

Not doubting your intel eh...but this cannot be the case, there has to be some other reason...smh.
Post by: Insider on April 26, 2017, 05:12:31 PM
Dennis and his staff was warned not to do any interviews with the media especially SWO and wired868.

Apparently DJW wants to sue both websites.

Post by: Brownsugar on April 26, 2017, 05:54:54 PM
Dennis and his staff was warned not to do any interviews with the media especially SWO and wired868.

You don't say!!.....
Post by: palos on April 26, 2017, 06:09:54 PM

Classic bully behaviour.

Only one way to deal with a bully
Post by: Tallman on April 26, 2017, 07:18:57 PM
WATCH: Head Coach Dennis Lawrence looks ahead to the International Friendly against Grenada, and the upcoming World Cup Qualifiers against United States and Costa Rica.

https://www.youtube.com/v/aY7Z9hyOYrA
Post by: asylumseeker on April 26, 2017, 07:25:10 PM

Classic bully behaviour.

Retire de spinner and bowl short-pitched balls from both ends?  :P
Post by: Sam on April 27, 2017, 06:27:43 AM

When he ass get fired one day, yuh go see how fast he go talk.

Post by: Trini Madness on April 27, 2017, 09:05:06 AM

Well he should be warned to stay away from Ruby Tuesday to prevent a bigger pants size....Fat bastard
Post by: Controversial on April 27, 2017, 10:23:00 AM

Like I said, his sabotage has continued with Tallest, the player selection for our last matches tells you who is controlling our team..

The collusion never ends
Post by: Controversial on April 27, 2017, 10:29:53 AM

Of course the dictator would do that, just like he cut the mic and sound when Lasana was trying to question Infantino about his apparent lack of effort at squashing racism within world football...

A no questions asked environment, the house negroes we have in our football are doing an impeccable job at quelling basic freedoms ....
Post by: Controversial on April 27, 2017, 10:41:03 AM

Classic bully behaviour.

Like I said, Tallest is controlled, he couldn't control hart and hart wouldn't go along with the sabotage, so he undermined him and then fired him
Post by: Flex on April 28, 2017, 01:38:58 AM
T&T 20-man squad off to Grenada.
TTFA Media.

A 20-man Trinidad and Tobago Senior Team will depart for St George’s Grenada on Friday to face Grenada’s Senior Team at the Kirani James National Stadium in an international friendly from 7:30pm on Saturday.

Head Coach Dennis Lawrence will complete his training camp on Friday before the team departs in the evening period following five days of training at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

“I think it was important that we come together at this time because when you look at the structure of the (Pro) league at the moment my concern is that the local based players are not really going to have much competitive football before we get to the USA match on June 8th” Lawrence told TTFA Media.

“I think it’s important to get them in together every now and again and get a competitive game.”

Regarding the inclusion of Mexican-based trio Yohance Marshall, Jomal Williams and Shahdon Winchester, Lawrence added “ The guys from Mexico had their season. They are now available and I think it’s important to give them an opportunity to show their worth. They will bring a bit of experience to the group and it gives us a chance to look at them and get them to understand what we want to do from now on.”

“I think the most important thing now is to get as much competitive football as possible with the league starting on May 26th is not really ideal so  I will try and see how much football I can get into them before the two qualifiers,” added Lawrence.

There will be live radio broadcast of Saturday’s match on I95.5.FM.

The National Stadium was  renamed after the island’s biggest sporting hero, 400M Olympic Gold Medalist, Kirani James on April 8th.

The decision to rename the stadium after James came after calls were made by Grenadians from all walks of life who considered it a fitting gesture to recognise the track star for what he has done for the country in the sporting arena. This Saturday’s affair will be the first official international match to be played since the renaming.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers:

Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin Civic Centre), Glenroy Samuel (Ma Pau Stars), Jan-Michael Williams (North East Stars).

Defenders:

Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Triston Hodge (W Connection), Alvin Jones (W Connection), Seon Power (Central FC), Yohance Marshall (Murcielagos FC), Carlos Edwards (Central FC).

Midfielders:

Nathan Lewis (San Juan Jabloteh), Jared London (Club Sando), Leston Paul (North East Stars), Hughton Hector (W Connection), Hashim Arcia (Defence Force), Keron Cummings (Central FC), Jomal Williams (Murcielagos FC).

Forwards:

Akeem Roach (Central FC), Shahdon Winchester (Murcielagos FC), Jerrel Britto (Honduras Progreso), Jamille Boatswain (Defence Force).

RELATED NEWS

Lawrence: Friendly important for fitness.
T&T Express Reports.

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Dennis Lawrence believes international friendlies like Saturday's against Grenada in St George's will be crucial for locally-based players, as the national side continues to focus on their 2018 World Cup qualifying campaign.

Lawrence, who took over the helm of the side last January, said that with the domestic league starting late next month, it did not afford local players enough time to get themselves match fit.

T&T resume their CONCACAF World Cup qualifying final round in June with a clash against giants United States in Colorado.

“The most important thing is to try and get the boys as much competitive football as possible because with the league starting May 26 it's not really ideal, I would have preferred for it to have started earlier,” the former national defender said.

“But with it starting on the 26th, I'm going to try and see how much football I can get into them before we get to that game on June 8.”

A full month has passed since the national side last played together, when they went down 1-0 to Mexico at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

And while overseas-based players have returned to their active leagues, the locally-based players will not taste competitive action until a month from now, making Saturday's friendly all the more important.

“When you look at the structure of the league at the moment, my concern is that the local-based players are not really going to have much competitive football …,” Lawrence explained.

“So I think it is important to try and use this time now, to every now and then, get the men together as a group and get a competitive game for them so I think this will help the boys.”

T&T lie rock bottom of the CONCACAF qualifying standings on three points gained from their 1-0 victory over Panama last month.

But while their prospects of qualifying for next year's showpiece in Russia were dealt a harsh blow with the Mexico defeat, Lawrence said his side needed to remain focused and improve on the positives coming out of that contest.

“We need to build on where we ended against Mexico. Obviously, as I have said before, it was disappointing to come out with the defeat,” he said.

“But I think there were also positives from the two games and what we need to do is try and improve on that because the next two games [away to the US and Costa Rica] everybody knows historically is not a friendly place for us.

“We don't normally pick up points in those places but we need to go out there and we need to believe and we need to understand that we have to, some way or the other, get the results we need.”

Post by: Tallman on April 28, 2017, 08:25:13 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/YxIw08WjptA
Post by: Jefferz on April 29, 2017, 05:32:41 PM
Any chance for a live stream?
Post by: Brownsugar on April 29, 2017, 05:37:29 PM
Any chance for a live stream?

I95.5fm is the only thing on offer right now it seems......is heart attack commentary in we pwffen!!   :frustrated:
Post by: Jefferz on April 29, 2017, 05:51:15 PM
Dem fellas is d wuss
Post by: Tallman on April 29, 2017, 05:57:15 PM
Starting XI
Marvin Phillip, Carlos Edwards, Triston Hodge, Yohance Marshall, Curtis Gonzales, Jared London, Jomal Williams, Leston Paul, Shahdon Winchester, Hashim Arcia, Jerrel Britto
Post by: Socapro on April 29, 2017, 06:04:15 PM
I95.5fm live link: http://104.238.99.1:8000/i955fm.mp3
Post by: Jefferz on April 29, 2017, 06:13:26 PM
This commentary is painful. I am not confident that the loud one has completed secondary level education. His volume is only rivalled his useless jabbering.

He just wailed so much that I was convinced for a moment that Grenada scored. I still don't bloody know. This may be a rough one.
Post by: royal on April 29, 2017, 06:17:26 PM
This commentary is painful. I am not confident that the loud one has completed secondary level education. His volume is only rivalled his useless jabbering.

He just wailed so much that I was convinced for a moment that Grenada scored. I still don't bloody know. This may be a rough one.

dais what we have to live with ........    unbelievable
Post by: Jefferz on April 29, 2017, 06:19:48 PM
The other commentator is actually quite decent, however it seems that the donkey brays loudest. Empty vessels oui,

in other news,

1-0 to f**king Grenada.

Ps,

This commentator is actually legitimately losing his shit. This no distinguishing the excitement between a chance on goal and an actual goal; this idiot is just screaming on the radio.
Post by: Brownsugar on April 29, 2017, 06:30:43 PM

in other news,

1-0 to f**king Grenada.

Whhhhaaaatttt???!!! I stopped listening so I'm now seeing this development.....steups!!!
Post by: kounty on April 29, 2017, 06:41:38 PM
Like Dutty Love 2nd div mexican boys shattin on deyselves.
Post by: royal on April 29, 2017, 07:08:56 PM
1-1 Nathan Lewis
Post by: royal on April 29, 2017, 07:17:20 PM
T&T lead 2-1 Akeem Roach
Post by: royal on April 29, 2017, 07:22:41 PM
 Grenada equalize
2-2 88'
Post by: royal on April 29, 2017, 07:29:17 PM
FT 2-2
Post by: palos on April 29, 2017, 07:57:42 PM
Ah wonder how long Grenada been training together?

Post by: Jumbie on April 29, 2017, 08:02:47 PM
USA.. yuh dogs ded! We ready. We played a 2nd string team and still managed tie powerhouse Grenada.
Post by: Sando prince on April 29, 2017, 09:43:42 PM

Final score is really 2-2?  :D
Post by: maxg on April 29, 2017, 11:40:48 PM
Ah wonder how long Grenada been training together?

Bet plenty ppl glad we didn't play somebody else now...an ppl talking bout WC dream..I hope Tallest find 2 players who could help save us from future embarassment, and represent us with some decency, even if we don't win. Problems can't be individuals, the boys good, i sure about that. Like our country the problem could be team. The coaches nightmare could very well be getting them to play as one, and or, have them doing what is right for us to produce a successful team product. This where the individual mentality sabotaged Hart, where they failed him - and possibly he failed them- knowing his position with the admin. Whoever manage to get them to play football (a team sport) and not just be good players, would be the one our Admin(read government) will fear most.
Post by: frico on April 30, 2017, 03:32:03 AM
There's no reason to cry and frown about the result,it was a friendly and Grenada has proved to be a "banana skin"for other Caribbean teams on many occasions.I'd like to ask,how many of this lot will start for us,maybe 3 or 2.I listened to the first half and we looked too relaxed while Grenada was playing like it was a final,that was expected because they were playing TT.We got our practice,which is what it was,nothing more nothing less,I'm sure DL would have found out a few things,surely he will act on what he saw.Grenada also appear to be a very strong physical and  athletic team,seems like they have taken a leaf out of the Yardie philosophy.
Post by: Controversial on April 30, 2017, 05:13:26 AM
The dictator sabotage reaching completion

Tallest have us playing some real mediocre football and some people on here loving it, in fact they have already accepted that we may not make it lol
Post by: Sando prince on April 30, 2017, 08:09:11 AM

Let me put it to you in the simplest way. Doh matter how one try to twist and turn it Grenada is NOT a serious team in CONCACAF and if we are struggling to beat them (even without some first team players) we not ready.
Post by: maxg on April 30, 2017, 09:33:50 AM
Like Palos refrenced, what I am curious about doh is, How much Intl tournaments, Intl training, camps from U11,U13, U15 etc..how many coaches, and stadia, scientific measurement instruments, number of certified coaches, level of professionalism, funding and Dictators..that has Grenada developing their youths and men , to be able to consistently given  any of our teams(even if a C Team) a solid practice and decent run..
Sometimes answers are so in one's face, one cyah focus good

nb: today's EPL games, Boro tie City and Swansea tie United, does that mean there is no difference in quality ? or is football ?
Post by: soccerman on May 02, 2017, 09:07:26 AM
No highlights from this game or we get ban from highlights too?
Post by: palos on May 02, 2017, 10:11:21 AM

Is Grenada we play as a warm up for WCQ matches against USA AND Costa Rica away from home. 

At least dey had de good sense not to broadcast that embarrassment
Post by: soccerman on May 02, 2017, 10:34:29 AM
Is Grenada we play as a warm up for WCQ matches against USA AND Costa Rica away from home. 

At least dey had de good sense not to broadcast that embarrassment
Good thing it wasn't St. Kitts :devil:
I know de funds low and probably couldn't afford to send someone across the pond to broadcast the epic showdown.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 22, 2019, 04:03:04 PM

How yuh send that message? By homing pigeon?  :devil:
Post by: Deeks on May 23, 2019, 04:09:35 AM
Ven. playing Mex. in Atlanta June 5th.
Post by: soccerman on May 23, 2019, 09:51:26 AM

How yuh send that message? By homing pigeon?  :devil:

coulda been de 3-eyed raven ;D