Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on March 25, 2018, 01:52:53 AM

Title: Judah Garcia Thread.
Post by: Flex on March 25, 2018, 01:52:53 AM
Judah Garcia stands out in sportlight.
By Nasser Khan (Guardian).

This series “SPORTLIGHT” is brought to you courtesy Health Net Caribbean Ltd (hncl.co.tt). In this installment we feature two of the outstanding junior sports personalities of 2017, nominees at the upcoming First Citizens annual sports awards function.

Judah Garcia, proudly wears, perfectly one might say, number 10 on his Shiva Boys football uniform as he seeks to emulate the steps of his brothers Nathaniel and Levi onto the National Senior team hopefully in the too distant future.

The sign of top class players is often found in how they respond in times of adversity. Where most teenagers would understandably seek shelter and comfort in times of strife, Judah Garcia chose to come to the fore, displaying a maturity beyond his years.

Shiva Boys travails in the most recent Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) season have been well documented. Demoted to the second division of the league, team captain Judah offered a consistency throughout a trying campaign. His sublime skills, vision, and knack for scoring crucial goals were at the heart of the Shiva Boys exciting Intercol run all the way to the glory as they captured a maiden Intercol Title in 2017.

The challenge for the 17 year old National Team standout will be to continually highlight why many consider the Shiva Boys playmaking adorning the number 10 shirt as the most radiant of the rising stars in Trinidad and Tobago's youth leagues. Garcia's 2016 training stint at a camp in Manchester England would have sensitized his pallet to the taste of the European experience and increased his desire for success.

Title: Re: Judah Garcia Thread.
Post by: Tallman on July 31, 2018, 07:43:45 PM
WATCH: Judah Garcia - 2017 Secondary Schools Football League Highlights

https://www.youtube.com/v/h0elb0XgG9U
Post by: ffisback on August 19, 2018, 11:56:33 AM
I watched him play in the CAC games and for a 17 year old who played against players 21 years old he did pretty good he is T&T future #10 just hire a good coach and keep away people like Shabazz ,Corneal ,L Philip ,S Hart and all them other clowns and he will develop into a great player.
Post by: Tallman on November 07, 2018, 05:58:12 PM
WATCH: One on one with Trinidad and Tobago U-20 midfielder Judah Garcia​.

https://www.youtube.com/v/SLoyfKYgaS
Post by: ZANDOLIE on November 07, 2018, 06:37:27 PM
I watched him play in the CAC games and for a 17 year old who played against players 21 years old he did pretty good he is T&T future #10 just hire a good coach and keep away people like Shabazz ,Corneal ,L Philip ,S Hart and all them other clowns and he will develop into a great player.

you put shabazz in the same league as hart? whatever fine herb you smoking i want some
Post by: Anbrat on November 07, 2018, 07:47:40 PM

you put shabazz in the same league as hart? whatever fine herb you smoking i want some
I want some too!
Title: NEROCA FC sign Trinidad & Tobago international Judah Garcia
Post by: Tallman on November 27, 2020, 05:57:10 PM
NEROCA FC sign Trinidad & Tobago international Judah Garcia
By Harigovind Thoyakkat (khelnow.com)

I-League outfit NEROCA FC have completed the signing of Trinidad and Tobago international Judah Garcia, Khel Now has learnt. The versatile attacker has put pen to paper on a deal that will see him play for the Imphal-based club in the upcoming 2020-21 I-League season.

“Judah Garcia has signed with NEROCA FC. He will join the club on a season-long deal,” a source close to the developments informed Khel Now. Earlier last week, the club also completed the signing of Judah’s eldest brother Nathaniel Garcia, who is already a fan-favourite in India from his playing days with another I-League side, Gokulam Kerala FC.

As for Judah Garcia, this will be his first professional stint outside his home country of Trinidad and Tobago, where he kick-started his career in 2016 with Point Fortin Civic FC, a club that plays in the TT Pro League – the top division of Trinidad and Tobago’s football league system. A talented attacking midfielder who can also play as a left or right-winger, he was just 16 years old at that time and consistent performances with them led to him being called up to the Trinidad and Tobago U-20 and U-21 teams the very next year. On April 18, 2018, he made his debut for the senior national team, coming on as a late substitute in a 1-0 defeat to Panama. Since then, he has played three more international matches till date –against Japan, St. Vincent and Mexico.

The 20-year-old started playing football at the age of seven, when he joined the academy of coach Dennis Cox, a very familiar name in Trinidadian footballing circles. Cox’s academy has been credited with the development of several national team players including Judah and Levi Garcia, his second elder brother. Levi currently plays for the Greek Super League 1 club AEK Athens, and also played in the Europa League qualifying matches with them earlier this season.

In the 2019-20 season, the winger made eight appearances for Point Fortin Civic in the TT Pro League, netting four goals in the process. An injury kept him on the sidelines for the remainder of their campaign and in September, he became a free agent. Judah Garcia will now feature in the I-League for NEROCA FC, who have roped him on a free transfer ahead of the competition.

Meanwhile, NEROCA FC are also in the process of executing a squad overhaul, having already completed a flurry of signings this summer. Apart from Nathaniel Garcia, the Manipuri side have already announced the signings of Varghese Jayan, Aryan Gupta, Varney Kallon, Jiteshwor Singh, Naorem Singh, Benjamin Lupheng and so on. Imran Khan (NorthEast United), Philip Adjah (Mohammedan SC), Zodingliana Ralte and Roshan Singh (both Gokulam Kerala) are some of the notable departures from their last season’s squad, as the club looks keen to make an impact in the I-League which is all set to begin on January 9, 2021.
Post by: Cocorite on November 27, 2020, 07:30:06 PM
Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooo! :frustrated:
Post by: maxg on November 27, 2020, 08:44:09 PM
Why No ? Bad club ? Refused other offers ? To far from home ? Non paying league? Better days was coming? Or your team lost out ? Why Coco ?
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 28, 2020, 01:13:59 AM
Why No ? Bad club ? Refused other offers ? To far from home ? Non paying league? Better days was coming? Or your team lost out ? Why Coco ?

who is his agent ?India  he had to go there for a pay cheque one season is enough hope he does not get stuck there
Post by: asylumseeker on November 28, 2020, 03:57:05 AM

I'm curious as to the nature of the counsel and input provided by Levi.
Post by: Tiresais on November 28, 2020, 04:14:51 AM
The standard is improving significantly in India, I won't say it's an amazing move in terms of career progression, but given football now it's good to have a pay check.

If the two Indian leagues merge (as they planned), that's a whole different ball-game.
Post by: maxg on November 28, 2020, 12:32:48 PM

Levi or Nathaniel, or both .
Post by: maxg on November 29, 2020, 04:39:45 PM

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/11/28/garcia-stop-discouraging-young-footballers/
Post by: asylumseeker on November 29, 2020, 05:49:48 PM

Levi or Nathaniel, or both .

Levi.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 29, 2020, 06:17:17 PM

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/11/28/garcia-stop-discouraging-young-footballers/

Judah Garcia is a very talented player with qualities that I have acclaimed on these very pages.

In one post I recall anticipating him in the Starting XI for a NT match and was disappointed that the starting posture of the team did not accommodate what I regard as qualities that would have extended that particular opponent. Instead, what we witnessed was a series of negative passing and little commitment or conviction to playing positively. Maybe that explained his non-inclusion from the first whistle. He appeared subsequently during that match if memory serves correctly.

Cocorite can speak for Cocorite, but I know that Cocorite has also been a fervent supporter of Judah on this forum.

Meanwhile, it seems that Judah has aged overnight all of a sudden --- although he's only just turned 20, but that perception is because the expectation of his movement abroad has been an expectation that has persisted during the lowest period of our international activity.

Levi makes a good point. And, the clock is ticking. However, I think there was also a question as to whether having Levi as a brother enhanced the diversity of Judah's options abroad. I think his comment answers that.

Let's see how it unfolds.
Post by: Cocorite on November 29, 2020, 06:58:26 PM
I’ll keep this brief.

Don’t know whether that article is in direct response to the few comments on this page. I can’t imagine that to be the case because they’re so few and no strictly discouraging remarks.

My “Nooooooooooo” has no intention to discourage. I am a big believer in affirmation and encouragement. I see Judah as a top Trinidad talent. I wish him and his family the very best. I will be cheering for him and all our other sons of the soil plying their trade on this terrestrial ball.

Thanks for the positives, Seeker.

Blessings to all
Post by: asylumseeker on November 29, 2020, 08:20:27 PM
There's also this: “Everyone who follows us knew one day it would have happened and I’m really looking forward to playing with my younger brother. (https://newsday.co.tt/2020/11/29/indias-neroca-fc-sign-garcia-brothers/)

Playing with a sibling abroad would be a pull for many and maybe even more on the first stint at a club abroad.
Post by: maxg on November 30, 2020, 09:10:58 AM
I’ll keep this brief.

Don’t know whether that article is in direct response to the few comments on this page. I can’t imagine that to be the case because they’re so few and no strictly discouraging remarks.

My “Nooooooooooo” has no intention to discourage. I am a big believer in affirmation and encouragement. I see Judah as a top Trinidad talent. I wish him and his family the very best. I will be cheering for him and all our other sons of the soil plying their trade on this terrestrial ball.

Blessings to all
I don't think your "No" was meant to be a discourager of sorts. I posted the article as it was something by Levi. I was just curious as to why you said "No". Were you hoping for a better league or club ? Were you hoping to continue getting a glimpse of him running out for your club ? what ? You still didn't give your reasons. I'm just curious and interested in what your thoughts are ? is all. Full respect, No negativity involved.

add: as a matter of fact, I'm not sure I quite agree with Levi, I think their are a quite a few ppl who do encourage and work extremely hard for the youths, volunteers, sans remuneration. They may not be at the forefront of the bacchanal aspect of our football. They are hardly known or recognized except by the young ppl they work with, many who don't make a name in football, yet some do remember the life lessons they learn from those individuals along the way. 
Post by: Cocorite on November 30, 2020, 02:00:15 PM
I’ll keep this brief.

Blessings to all
I don't think your "No" was meant to be a discourager of sorts. I posted the article as it was something by Levi. I was just curious as to why you said "No". Were you hoping for a better league or club ? Were you hoping to continue getting a glimpse of him running out for your club ? what ? You still didn't give your reasons. I'm just curious and interested in what your thoughts are ? is all. Full respect, No negativity involved.

add: as a matter of fact, I'm not sure I quite agree with Levi, I think their are a quite a few ppl who do encourage and work extremely hard for the youths, volunteers, sans remuneration. They may not be at the forefront of the bacchanal aspect of our football. They are hardly known or recognized except by the young ppl they work with, many who don't make a name in football, yet some do remember the life lessons they learn from those individuals along the way. 

Yes, that is basically it. I wanted better for him being in my mind among our brightest prospects at the moment.

It is probably true that we on our sofas do not know how hard it is for our footballers to secure good contracts.

Blessings & Best wishes
Coco
Post by: maxg on November 30, 2020, 02:55:10 PM
 :chilling:
Post by: Deeks on November 30, 2020, 04:27:33 PM
Good Luck, Judah.
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 20, 2021, 01:49:20 PM
Scored a  double

https://www.youtube.com/v/pJN6CrD4wBk

Post by: asylumseeker on January 20, 2021, 03:31:37 PM
Some seriously amateurish defending. So punish dem.
Post by: Tiresais on January 21, 2021, 02:45:33 AM
That pitch has more bounce than Nicki Minaj...
Post by: Tallman on January 21, 2021, 12:19:18 PM
From Trinidad and Tobago for Football: Garcia Brothers ready to shine for Neroca FC
By Soumo Ghosh (i-league.org)

A number of brothers have enthralled fans of the Hero I-League with their performances. Be it the likes of Climax and Covan Lawrence in Dempo SC, or Michael Regin and Micheal Soosairaj at Chennai City FC — brothers playing for the same side have always been a spectacle.

The 2020-21 season of the Hero I-League is seeing another duo take to the pitch — this time with NEROCA FC badge gleaming on their chest – Nathaniel and Judah Garcia.

Having travelled all the way from Trinidad and Tobago, this duo of attacking players have brought some firepower to the NEROCA front line. While Nathaniel has already played in India last season for Gokulam Kerala FC, this is Judah’s first season in India.

“It’s really good to be here to play football. It’s good to see that League football continues in India with so many precautions being put in place for the Pandemic situation,” said Judah. “Not every country is so lucky.”

“My brother had played here last season and when he told me that there was an opportunity to play here, I was more than happy to hop on the plane with him. I’ve always wanted to play in another country.”

The Hero I-League 2020-21 season is being played from within the confines of a bio-secure bubble due to the ongoing COVID Pandemic. As part of the safety precautions, the players and officials are restricted to their hotel rooms, and movements can only be made of meals, training, and matches. And there are regular tests being conducted at regular intervals.

While such restrictions do affect individuals the Garcia brothers have been at a bit of an advantage.

“Yes, it’s a difficult proposition. Not only do you have to stay away from your family for so many months but you are also not allowed to step out of the hotel other than training or matches,” said Judah. “But having my brother as my roommate has really helped. Especially during the quarantine, when we were restricted to our room, having my brother with me in the room helped a lot.”

The two brothers recounted the surprise that their new teammates at NEROCA registered when the whole squad assembled in Imphal for their pre-season training.

“They were not exactly sure if we were brothers. Some thought that we just happened to have the same last name. Some asked whether we are cousins,” laughed Nathaniel, who is the older of the two brothers. “But we cleared all their doubts. Yes, we are brothers from the same parents.”

Growing up in the Garcia household, both Nathaniel and Judah started playing a number of sports in their younger days.

“We have an older brother who played both cricket and football. We also played a few sports, but eventually, we began to concentrate on football, and now we are not only playing for the same club together but also for the National Team as well,” said Nathaniel.

Having played together since childhood, the two brothers claim to have developed an understanding in the opposition third, something that was on display when Judah, assisted by Nathaniel, produced a Hero of the Match performance against the Indian Arrows to help his side earn their first victory of the season on Wednesday, January 20, 2021.

“We have played together for a long time, at the same club, and for the National Team as well,” said Judah. “I play as a striker, and my brother is an attacking midfielder, so we have always had a bit of a chemistry between ourselves. I hope we can use that to score many goals this season.”
Post by: maxg on January 21, 2021, 05:50:34 PM
Are they all out of the Amwood Academy a la Levi ?
Post by: Tallman on January 31, 2021, 09:48:44 AM
WATCH: Judah Garcia scores his third goal in as many games during Neroca FC's 2-1 loss to Aizawl FC

https://www.youtube.com/v/7YqABlHojg4?start=234
Post by: Tiresais on January 31, 2021, 01:16:59 PM
Love seeing Trinis scoring, but every time I watch Indian league highlights the keeping is woeful
Post by: Tallman on January 31, 2021, 01:41:54 PM
Love seeing Trinis scoring, but every time I watch Indian league highlights the keeping is woeful

Yes, the goalkeeping is poor.
Post by: Tallman on February 20, 2021, 10:10:12 AM
WATCH: Judah Garcia powers in a header to score Neroca FC's first goal in their 2-0 win over Sudeva Delhi FC.

https://www.youtube.com/v/4KFIz8pLCgM?start=312
Post by: asylumseeker on February 20, 2021, 09:47:39 PM
Seems like we are approaching the need for a new challenge.
Post by: Cocorite on February 20, 2021, 10:42:14 PM

An' yuh ain't even duck wwen yuh say dat.
Yuh know yuh hafta be careful . . . ;)
Post by: Cocorite on February 20, 2021, 10:44:20 PM
All jokes aside, i tlooking like Levi READY!

If only T&T had their act together

Hoping Judah & Pappy deliver on their potential . . .
Post by: ffisback on February 21, 2021, 01:29:03 AM
If this kid could make the NT he would get a chance to go to a better league'
Post by: asylumseeker on February 21, 2021, 05:54:31 AM
If this kid could make the NT he would get a chance to go to a better league'

This is one of our inherent structural problems.

Ideally, players should first find themselves in "better leagues" before NT selection. Not NT selection as a personal commercial vehicle to "better football". Of late, it is caps that have been trending useful to get club gigs rather than actual performance on a NT being a platform of merit that leads to a gig or possible gig. Glaring exception? Ballpest. When did it come? Too damn late.

Nevertheless, I agree Judah is a NT contender.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 21, 2021, 06:08:22 AM

An' yuh ain't even duck wwen yuh say dat.
Yuh know yuh hafta be careful . . . ;)

Always cloaked in armor on this thread. :)
Post by: Tallman on April 02, 2021, 12:51:42 PM
WATCH: Highlights of midfielder Judah Garcia

https://www.youtube.com/v/FrUZ1QBEoG0
Post by: pull stones on April 03, 2021, 06:55:43 AM
I guess beatsing is a strong tradition in the garcia family.
Post by: Cocorite on April 03, 2021, 01:18:20 PM

It used to be a strong tradition in the "Trinidad & Tobago" family. But sadly, instead of it being honed and used effectively, it seems to have been discouraged by some European clubs.

When fourmites talk about the Trini brand, beatsin' is a great part of our DNA, and part of what they intend to retain.
Post by: Controversial on April 04, 2021, 11:52:54 PM

It used to be a strong tradition in the "Trinidad & Tobago" family. But sadly, instead of it being honed and used effectively, it seems to have been discouraged by some European clubs.

When fourmites talk about the Trini brand, beatsin' is a great part of our DNA, and part of what they intend to retain.

Well the easiest way to dumb something down and make it easier to play, is getting rid of the flair and creativity in order to level the playing field
Post by: pull stones on April 05, 2021, 08:44:14 AM

just so that we’re clear, I was being facetious. beatsing is one of my frustrations with our wingers especially levi garcia who's not known for passing the ball. this man would run down the flank into a wall of players and try to shake them all when he could have easily pass the ball and make a run in the box off the ball for a give and go.

another player who tries to shake off a line of defenders is cordel cato, this lad is another headache to watch. he has no composure and is always trying the beats the whole defense and ends up losing possession by turning over to the opponent, which in turns puts quite a bit of pressure on his own defense. the same goes for Nathan Lewis and Lester peltier, if these guys had half the smarts that jovin has as a winger we would have won a lot more games.
Post by: pull stones on April 05, 2021, 08:58:05 AM

Well the easiest way to dumb something down and make it easier to play, is getting rid of the flair and creativity in order to level the playing field
creativity? how many games we won with that? Russell latapy and Arnold dwarika was the kings of shake and bake, but where did it get us? show me gold cup final as a result or a world cup appearance. it’s only when a coach with tactical insight came on board we were successful. a perfect example is jovin Jones, a player full of tactical awareness vs Lester peltier mr shake and bake.

jovin has a lot more assist and goals under his belt and simply because he goes the route of getting the ball in the box in the fastest possible time. when a player who tries to beats through a team he’s actually giving the opposing defenders time to get organized where as the one who try’s to get into the box with haste catches the defense in shambles which creates better scoring opportunities.

don’t misunderstand me now, beatsing is good, but when you do it over and over again getting dispossessed every time then it become annoying. IMO Lionel messi is the best at it, but his beatsing has method. it opens up holes and spaces in a defense when he dribbles with pace and purpose, but our lads can’t even run with a ball at their feet at top speed like messi, which makes their beatsing very messy.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 05, 2021, 11:23:56 AM

creativity? how many games we won with that? Russell latapy and Arnold dwarika was the kings of shake and bake, but where did it get us? show me gold cup final as a result or a world cup appearance. it’s only when a coach with tactical insight came on board we were successful. a perfect example is jovin Jones, a player full of tactical awareness vs Lester peltier mr shake and bake.

jovin has a lot more assist and goals under his belt and simply because he goes the route of getting the ball in the box in the fastest possible time. when a player who tries to beats through a team he’s actually giving the opposing defenders time to get organized where as the one who try’s to get into the box with haste catches the defense in shambles thus resting better scoring opportunities.

don’t misunderstand me now, beatsing is good, but when you do it over and over again getting dispossessed every time then it become annoying. IMO Lionel messi is the best at it, but his beatsing has method, it opens up holes and spaces in a defense and he dribbles with pace and tact, but our lads can’t even run with a ball at top speed like messi, which makes their beatsing very messy.

Expand please. Seriously. Not that you are not being serious. I had to think twice about what you've raised.
Post by: pull stones on April 05, 2021, 08:55:49 PM

jovin has a lot more assist and goals under his belt and simply because he goes the route of getting the ball in the box in the fastest possible time. when a player who tries to beats through a team he’s actually giving the opposing defenders time to get organized where as the one who try’s to get into the box with haste catches the defense in shambles thus resting better scoring opportunities.

don’t misunderstand me now, beatsing is good, but when you do it over and over again getting dispossessed every time then it become annoying. IMO Lionel messi is the best at it, but his beatsing has method, it opens up holes and spaces in a defense and he dribbles with pace and tact, but our lads can’t even run with a ball at top speed like messi, which makes their beatsing very messy.

Expand please. Seriously. Not that you are not being serious. I had to think twice about what you've raised.
i was basically making the claim that jovin is not an over dribbler, he is a strong speedy winger who gets down the flank and gets the ball into the box in the quickest time possible, and without the shenanigans of beatsing the whole defense, which is why he has more assist than any other winger presently in the national set up and with more goals under his belt IMO.

he plays direct football and utilizes his pace to his advantage mainly catching defenders out of position scrambling to reorganize, i guess steven hart had a lot to do with jovin's understanding the importance of getting down the flanks in the shortest possible time and either taking the shot or finding the open man in the box.

carlos edwards was another speedy winger and a fair dribbler who should have done much better, but his assist rate was very poor. he had the best header of the ball ever to play the number 9 role in concacaf yet i can't remember one cross that carlos successfully put in the box that connected with kenny's head that resulted in a goal for us, and if he did then i don't remember it, that's how few and far between those crosses were.

try to remember most of our goals scored in the steven hart's era, it was mainly due to the counter attack and players breaking in numbers, steven hart understood this very well that when you have speedy attacking players you use the counter attack to your advantage, and 90% of the time beatsing and over dribbling actually killed those counter attacks by allowing defenders caught out of position the time to regain their shape and fouling the play altogether.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 06, 2021, 06:14:02 AM

i was basically making the claim that jovin is not an over dribbler, he is a strong speedy winger who gets down the flank and gets the ball into the box in the quickest time possible, and without the shenanigans of beatsing the whole defense, which is why he has more assist than any other winger presently in the national set up and with more goals under his belt IMO.

he plays direct football and utilizes his pace to his advantage mainly catching defenders out of position scrambling to reorganize, i guess steven hart had a lot to do with jovin's understanding the importance of getting down the flanks in the shortest possible time and either taking the shot or finding the open man in the box.

carlos edwards was another speedy winger and a fair dribbler who should have done much better, but his assist rate was very poor. he had the best header of the ball ever to play the number 9 role in concacaf yet i can't remember one cross that carlos successfully put in the box that connected with kenny's head that resulted in a goal for us, and if he did then i don't remember it, that's how few and far between those crosses were.

try to remember most of our goals scored in the steven hart's era, it was mainly due to the counter attack and players breaking in numbers, steven hart understood this very well that when you have speedy attacking players you use the counter attack to your advantage, and 90% of the time beatsing and over dribbling actually killed those counter attacks by allowing defenders caught out of position the time to regain their shape and fouling the play altogether.

A player like Joevin, if 100% happy or in de mood, could mash up on any given day. Other than that it is Russian roulette if his head ain't right. Unfortunately. Solution? Keep him happy or make him happy (appropriate incentive) or be a shrewd assessor of when he is just not up to do battle that day. Downside to that is that he doesn't seem to be a player who is motivated by the bench. He has an expectation of starting each match ... including the ones in which he probably knows mentally he shouldn't start. So then it becomes a matter of trying to play himself into the game. Lost time for the collective effort.

In my opinion, he plays on instinct. Which makes him especially incisive when his instinct is counterintuitive to what defenders expect. With that left foot, he can do so many things I wouldn't bet against ... even from/in unorthodox positions.

If the game plan is exclusively for him to run down the flank, then we would be underutilizing him. I haven't checked, but it would be statistically interesting to see where he finds most success. I suspect it is it the areas around top L or R of the penalty area.

I can't promise that this will be the last comment on that missed penalty, but you know what tactical awareness would have told him on the second attempt that seemingly endured for so long (see how long he had his sole on top of the ball)? Maybe toe poke the ball with my right foot and get it into the back of the net ASAP? Anyone who has scored a toe poke in a 11 v 11 knows there is no less a feeling of accomplishment than having banged one in from 30. The art of the simple.

Yeah, I know I'm asking for too much. I don't think I have ever seen him touch the ball with his right foot.

The thing that I didn't appreciate about that penalty was that his second action reminded me of ignorance you see in a small goal sweat when at worst the consequences might be ole talk and beer money. And as Sherwood observed, my thoughts went straight to Balotelli ... who the record shows screwed around with many things in multiple areas of the pitch, but at the penalty spot he was generally the pinnacle of concentration and laser focus.

You know what I want from Joevin? Responsibility. And the highlight reel he deserves whenever he hangs up his boots.

Post by: Sam on April 06, 2021, 07:26:14 PM
WATCH: Highlights of midfielder Judah Garcia

https://www.youtube.com/v/FrUZ1QBEoG0

I see nothing good about this video, maybe he needs to hire a better person to do videos for him instead of highlighting some weak ass shots that was lucky to go in. He shows no technical ability and playing in India will hamper his growth.

I know he is better, playing in India is ok, but he needs to highlight better footage.

Post by: asylumseeker on April 15, 2021, 09:04:23 AM
Judah is among the contenders for Best Assist. It is a fans-based award.

https://i-league.org/season-awards/

I think his is the second best assist of the bunch. The 1st assist in the compilation strikes me as the best of the lot. NONETHELESS ...  ;D.

EDIT: Wait, all dem goals Judah scored ... not one ah dem is a candidate for Best Goal?
Post by: asylumseeker on April 15, 2021, 09:22:50 AM
I think the assist on the goal at 0:55 should have been in the running for Best Assist. It wouldn't change my opinion as stated above, but it would relegate Judah's assist to 3rd. Again, NONETHELESS ... ;D.

That league is calling out for better GKs and better defenders and/or a whole lot of work on defensive organization.
Post by: Tallman on April 15, 2021, 11:22:43 AM
That league is calling out for better GKs and better defenders and/or a whole lot of work on defensive organization.

The goalkeeping is atrocious.
Post by: pull stones on April 15, 2021, 07:06:26 PM

The goalkeeping is atrocious.
I guess marvin phillip would be right at home then.
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 16, 2021, 06:07:22 AM
I hope he is just there for fitness he should not play another season in india ........ 
Post by: andre samuel on April 21, 2021, 07:34:13 PM

ttsportdiary

Good news for the Garcia camp as sources have indicated to us that 20-year old Judah Garcia has gotten intense interests from four top clubs in the world. After the former Shiva Boys’ star’s contract ended with Indian Club Neroca Fc on April 1st, the likes of top flight Portuguese clubs Benfica and Sporting along with two of the Greek giants - Olympiacos and AEK Athens - are all in talks/negotiations for the midfielder.

Garcia’s older brother, Levi, also plays for AEK Athens and the next coming days/weeks will be interested to see how this development plays out.

#ttsportdiary
Post by: Deeks on April 22, 2021, 04:03:25 AM
I do hope something works out for him. Come on Levi pull some (rope) strings for your brother and Papi Emmanuel!!!!! Time running on them.
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 22, 2021, 05:38:57 AM
a team in portugal would be a good move .IMO .
Post by: asylumseeker on April 22, 2021, 06:01:13 AM
a team portugal would be a good move .IMO .

Seconded. However, assuming the veracity of the update, being acquired and then loaned is also possible.
Post by: ffisback on April 24, 2021, 11:27:12 PM

ttsportdiary

Good news for the Garcia camp as sources have indicated to us that 20-year old Judah Garcia has gotten intense interests from four top clubs in the world. After the former Shiva Boys’ star’s contract ended with Indian Club Neroca Fc on April 1st, the likes of top flight Portuguese clubs Benfica and Sporting along with two of the Greek giants - Olympiacos and AEK Athens - are all in talks/negotiations for the midfielder.

Garcia’s older brother, Levi, also plays for AEK Athens and the next coming days/weeks will be interested to see how this development plays out.

#ttsportdiary
He's not going to get any playing time with those clubs at his age he needs to go to a club were he's going to get playing time.
Post by: Thomo on April 24, 2021, 11:53:26 PM

ttsportdiary

#ttsportdiary
He's not going to get any playing time with those clubs at his age he needs to go to a club were he's going to get playing time.
Geez, you must be fun at parties.
How will he/we ever know if he doesn't try? It's not like if any of these clubs are in the top 5 leagues across Europe.
They certainly aren't TT Pro League or the Indian League.
Post by: Tiresais on April 25, 2021, 12:18:24 AM
Those moves would be good for him to get a higher level of professional training. He will get some minutes there, but perhaps just as likely to be loaned somewhere to get game time
Post by: asylumseeker on April 25, 2021, 12:37:41 PM
Braga and Sporting play tonight. Kick-off is at 3pm TT for anyone who is remotely interested in fact-based analysis.
Post by: pull stones on April 25, 2021, 06:34:25 PM

ttsportdiary

#ttsportdiary
Geez, you must be fun at parties.
How will he/we ever know if he doesn't try? It's not like if any of these clubs are in the top 5 leagues across Europe.
They certainly aren't TT Pro League or the Indian League.
the man is a bloody horse fly, he' always on shit. in other words he's the quint essential kill joy on the forum.
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 26, 2021, 01:26:58 PM
ttsportdiary REPORTS  AEK
Post by: Deeks on April 26, 2021, 04:40:58 PM
ttsportdiary REPORTS  AEK

I feel is a Greek club. His brother has a good rep. in Greece.
Post by: ffisback on April 26, 2021, 07:47:01 PM
He would stand a better chance in Greece the Portuguese Primeira Liga  is 1 of the top 10 leagues in Europe its probably the best league outside the top 5 he is not ready for that level of football the Greece super league would rank in the top 15 in Europe he would get a better chance to develop in that league.
Title: Re: Judah Garcia Thread- Welcome to AEK
Post by: raj on April 27, 2021, 08:17:37 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2jBpzeHh5RM

Judah already receiving welcome, check out his video tribute. Also listed as an AEK player on Wikipedia.

Post by: asylumseeker on April 27, 2021, 08:41:12 AM

Judah already receiving welcome, check out his video tribute. Also listed as an AEK player on Wikipedia.

None of that means anything. Same old highlight footage and conjecture.
Post by: Tiresais on April 27, 2021, 09:51:54 AM
I'm shocked honestly, I am hopeful for him but I wouldn't think he's at that level. I talked to an Indian scout and they weren't impressed with him so far...

Not done yet...
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 27, 2021, 11:05:30 AM
I'm shocked honestly, I am hopeful for him but I wouldn't think he's at that level. I talked to an Indian scout and they weren't impressed with him so far...

Not done yet...

can he get to that level ?
Post by: asylumseeker on April 27, 2021, 11:27:55 AM
By "Indian scout" do you mean (1) someone who scouts football in India professionally or (2) a citizen of India who has an informed opinion about the I-league?
Post by: Tiresais on April 27, 2021, 04:32:04 PM
By "Indian scout" do you mean (1) someone who scouts football in India professionally or (2) a citizen of India who has an informed opinion about the I-league?

Both
Post by: kounty on May 22, 2021, 05:51:43 AM

so was this a pr stunt?
Post by: asylumseeker on May 22, 2021, 07:50:00 AM

so was this a pr stunt?

The point made to raj was that neither occurrence was definitive. A format of that video was in circulation before the video tribute. and the Wikipedia: yuh done know.

HOWEVER, there IS independent confirmation of Judah training at AEK. Some format of good news may be in the works. Considering the time of the year, looking at 2021-2022.
Post by: Tallman on June 04, 2021, 02:57:19 PM
WATCH: Judah Garcia says he is mentally and physically ready for the upcoming World Cup Qualifiers

https://www.youtube.com/v/oJ_HHRM01JM
Post by: pull stones on June 04, 2021, 05:06:41 PM
I’m not seeing hyland in training, is he there yet?
Post by: Tallman on June 04, 2021, 06:47:45 PM
I’m not seeing hyland in training, is he there yet?

Supposed to arrive this evening.
Title: Judah Garcia in discussion with AEK Athens
Post by: Tallman on June 08, 2021, 11:13:34 AM
Judah Garcia in discussion with AEK Athens; wants to join older sibling Levi at Greek club
T&T Express

Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Judah Garcia is in advanced talks for a move to Greek football giants AEK Athens where he will join his brother Levi Garcia.

A flamboyant attacker with nimble footwork and incredible agility, Judah, will be leaving behind their eldest brother, Nathaniel Garcia, at Neroca,to unite with his other older brother, Levi Garcia, at the Greek Super League side.

Reports indicate that the final paperwork has almost been drawn up and just the exact duration of the contract is yet to be negotiated upon.

Following a stellar 2019-20 domestic campaign with Point Fortin Civic FC in the TT Pro League -- the top division of Trinidad and Tobago’s football system, Garcia was roped in by Neroca FC side ahead of I-League 2020-21. The 20-year-old speedster arrived in India for his first-ever stint outside his home country and finished as the top scorer for Neroca FC with four goals and a solitary assist.

Both Garcia brothers are currently on national duty with Trinidad and Tobago and have commented on the possible deal with AEK Athens. Judah spoke of his recent trial at Athens where he trained alongside his brother Levi, after his season in India ended.

“An unbelievable experience to be honest,” the younger Garcia said, “It’s everything a player could want and everything a player can take from there and go to the next level.”

Judah Garcia said that upon arriving in Greece recently, press attention had already put him under some pressure to perform. “It had a leak in the media where before I reach everything was done out,” Judah revealed. “It put a lot of pressure because all the press were expecting me to be a better player than him.”

“Physically and mentally I’m very strong right now coming off top quality training,” he said, “Everything went great with me at the club. Soon a few things will be revealed to the media and stuff,” he said.

Judah said it was calming influence to have his brother there. “Levi has always been that inspiration that motivator in my life,” he said. “He is like a God out there. The people always praising him. There was never one day that we walk the city and someone never walk up to him and ask for a picture or an autograph.”

Levi Garcia is also hoping his younger brother signs a contract. “It’s like a dream come through because since we were young guys we were dreaming and hoping to be professionals and so far he has been doing pretty well and he just there before the last step, and hopefully he can launch a deal. It will be a great, great, pleasure to play with him as soon as possible,” Levi said.
Post by: Deeks on June 08, 2021, 01:09:27 PM
Cool!
Post by: Tiresais on June 09, 2021, 02:07:53 AM
Really hoping it works out, it would be great to have more players in professional leagues with a hope of Champions League
Post by: Flex on June 09, 2021, 04:16:46 AM
Don't know if there an any relation to the Garcia's family, but Justin Garcia seem like another good player.

Post by: pull stones on June 09, 2021, 09:27:55 AM
Don't know if there an any relation to the Garcia's family, but Justin Garcia seem like another good player.
according to andre baptiste there’s no relations to justin.
Post by: Tiresais on June 09, 2021, 02:16:57 PM
AEK's B team are likely to be in the 2nd division next year, so he may get better experience even if he doesn't play first team
Post by: Tallman on July 04, 2021, 12:56:32 PM
WATCH: Post-game comments from Judah Garcia after scoring his first international goal

https://www.youtube.com/v/wpx3myGq1cA
Post by: Peong on August 03, 2021, 09:52:31 AM
I saw an announcement......
Title: AEK Athens signs Judah Garcia on a 3-year contract
Post by: Tallman on August 03, 2021, 10:04:38 AM
AEK Athens signs Judah Garcia on a 3-year contract
aekfc.gr

AEK Athens announces its agreement with Trinidad and Tobago international midfielder Judas Garcia. Judah Garcia, brother of Levi, has signed a three-year contract.

Judah Garcia will join AEK B, with which he will start training from next Thursday.

After signing his contract, he told aekfc.gr: "It is really exciting for me to play in the same team as Levi. We have already done it in our National team, and I hope we will do it in AEK soon.

It is a great honor for me and my family to join such a big club with the history of AEK. "I do not hide the fact that I am happy for this development and I believe that there is a huge prospect for my football career".
Post by: soccerman on August 03, 2021, 12:05:08 PM
Brothers unite :thumbsup:
Post by: Cocorite on August 03, 2021, 12:45:29 PM
Quote from: Cocorite on November 29, 2020, 07:58:26 PM
I’ll keep this brief.

Blessings to all

Yesssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss!  ;D
Post by: Flex on August 03, 2021, 01:53:50 PM
Judah Garcia joins brother Levi at AEK Athens in Greece.
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (T&T Newsday).

National midfielder Judah Garcia has signed a three-year contract with Greek top-flight club AEK Athens.

Garcia will join AEK Athens' B team and will begin training with the squad from next Thursday. His older brother Levi, also plies his trade at the club and has since become a regular starter.

After signing his contract on Tuesday, Garcia, who previously represented Neroca FC in India, was elated.

In an interview with AEK Athens media, he said, “It is really exciting for me to play in the same team as Levi. We have already done it in our national team and I hope we will do it in AEK soon.

“It is a great honour for me and my family to join such a big club with the history of AEK. I do not hide the fact that I am happy for this development and I believe that there is a huge prospect for my football career.”

The 20 year old previously played for Point Fortin Civic FC’s junior team before making the jump to its senior squad in 2017.

In November 2020, he was signed to Imphal-based Neroca FC for the 2020/2021 season. He has represented T&T at the under-20 and under-23 levels.

Garcia made his senior international debut against Panama in 2019 under former national coach Dennis Lawrence. He most recently featured in T&T's unsuccessful 2022 World Cup qualifiers and scored his maiden goal in T&T’s Gold Cup campaign under coach Angus Eve before getting injured.

Post by: ffisback on August 08, 2021, 07:49:37 PM
Judah Garcia joins brother Levi at AEK Athens in Greece.
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (T&T Newsday).

National midfielder Judah Garcia has signed a three-year contract with Greek top-flight club AEK Athens.

Garcia will join AEK Athens' B team and will begin training with the squad from next Thursday. His older brother Levi, also plies his trade at the club and has since become a regular starter.

After signing his contract on Tuesday, Garcia, who previously represented Neroca FC in India, was elated.

In an interview with AEK Athens media, he said, “It is really exciting for me to play in the same team as Levi. We have already done it in our national team and I hope we will do it in AEK soon.

“It is a great honour for me and my family to join such a big club with the history of AEK. I do not hide the fact that I am happy for this development and I believe that there is a huge prospect for my football career.”

The 20 year old previously played for Point Fortin Civic FC’s junior team before making the jump to its senior squad in 2017.

In November 2020, he was signed to Imphal-based Neroca FC for the 2020/2021 season. He has represented T&T at the under-20 and under-23 levels.

Garcia made his senior international debut against Panama in 2019 under former national coach Dennis Lawrence. He most recently featured in T&T's unsuccessful 2022 World Cup qualifiers and scored his maiden goal in T&T’s Gold Cup campaign under coach Angus Eve before getting injured.
This is great news i remember when R Latapy went to Portugal he was not good enough to play for fc Porto so they sent him to the second division to develop and in 2 to 3 years they came back knocking on his door so hopefully J Garcia gets the playing time he needs in the 2nd division  and in 2 to 3 years he can move on to the 1st team.
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 04, 2021, 10:21:37 AM
Any info ? Is he getting playing time ?
Post by: Tallman on October 04, 2021, 11:13:12 AM
Any info ? Is he getting playing time ?

I am aware of him playing in two friendly matches so far for AEK B. He came on in the 80th minute against AS Rhodos on August 26th and then he played the entire second half against Aiolikos FC on September 25th. I heard that he was carrying an injury in between those two matches. The Super League Greece 2 will start sometime this month (October),  maybe even this weekend.
Title: Re: Levi Garcia Thread
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 05, 2022, 05:01:48 PM
I wonder how judah is progressing  :)
Title: Re: Re: Levi Garcia Thread
Post by: Tallman on January 05, 2022, 05:55:56 PM

He's regularly getting 15-30 minutes as a sub. I believed he has had two starts and played one full game so far.
Post by: chelsealife on January 07, 2022, 01:16:49 PM

He's regularly getting 15-30 minutes as a sub. I believed he has had two starts and played one full game so far.
First team games?
Post by: Tallman on January 07, 2022, 01:55:56 PM

First team games?

No, strictly for AEK B, the reserve team.
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 26, 2022, 02:04:20 PM
he buss the net today .... long range effort
Post by: Tallman on February 26, 2022, 02:30:45 PM
WATCH: Judah Garcia scores a long-range stunner to earn AEK Athens 'B' a 1-1 draw with Ergotelis FC. This is Judah's first goal for the club.

https://www.youtube.com/v/AOVQVTFndxA
Post by: Tallman on April 27, 2022, 12:15:02 PM
WATCH: Judah Garcia opens the scoring in AEK Athens B's 2-2 draw with AE Kifisia FC

https://www.youtube.com/v/OXzdIql9qN8?start=10
Post by: Marcus868 on February 20, 2024, 06:43:17 AM
So nobody gonna highlight that Judah scored 2 in 2 games!! Both garcia's in fantastic form right now. which augers well for us  :thumbsup: :cheers:

Hopefully he in the coach's plans moving forward!
Post by: chelsealife on February 20, 2024, 08:50:33 AM
I don't think Judah in Angus' plans but I could be wrong. He seems so excited that Levi is in form in a recent interview but Judah has been playing well and no mention of him
Post by: Marcus868 on February 22, 2024, 06:31:11 AM
I don't think Judah in Angus' plans but I could be wrong. He seems so excited that Levi is in form in a recent interview but Judah has been playing well and no mention of him

This is one of the saddest truths that we as the nation have to endure.... seeing our players doing well and flourishing but not getting called up. coach is pretty narrow minded it seems.  :worried:
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 22, 2024, 11:56:21 AM
time for judah to start playing first team football.
Post by: Controversial on February 23, 2024, 09:32:31 PM
Eve will not call the best players, he has his orders ....