Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on May 29, 2018, 02:28:37 AM

Title: Thread for T&T vs United Arab Emirates Game (06-Sept-2018)
Post by: Flex on May 29, 2018, 02:28:37 AM
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs United Arab Emirates game in Spain on the 6th of September 2018 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

To be updated.

Possible TV Station.

To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers:

To be updated.

Defenders:

To be updated.

Midfielders:

To be updated.

Forwards:

To be updated.

Coach - Dennis Lawrence (TRI).

UAE Squad

Goalkeepers

To be updated.

Defenders

To be updated.

Midfielders

To be updated.

Forwards

To be updated.

Coach - To be updated.

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

Title: Re: Thread for T&T vs United Arab Emirates Game (06-Sept-2018)
Post by: Flex on May 29, 2018, 02:29:38 AM
T&T Senior Men to face United Arab Emirates in September Friendly.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Men’s team will meet United Arab Emirates,  an an opponent currently ranked 11 places above them on the FIFA World ranking, in their next scheduled Friendly International encounter.

Head Coach Dennis Lawrence and his squad will take on the Asian opponent on September 6, in Spain as the TTFA continues to ensure the National Men’s Team is active during the official FIFA windows.

Lawrence was elated when confirmation of the encounter came.

“This is a good test for us at this time. UAE has a strong football tradition and we can expect a tough contest. The timing is also ideal because the Pro League will be just about three months into its competition which would have the local players selected in a better “match ready condition,” Lawrence told TTFA Media.

The FIFA Window is September 3-11 and with this in mind, Lawrence and the TTFA is currently pursuing another friendly while in Europe.

“It will be practical to secure another friendly while we are in Europe to maximise our time on the continent, so I am liaising with my contact with the hope of giving the Association some feasible recommendations soon,” Lawrence explained.

The T&T head coach will be matching wits in the Catalonian city of Girona with Italian Alberto Zaccheroni who took up the UAE Head Coaching position in October 2017 with some lofty credentials which include leading AC Milan to the Italian title in 1999. The Arabs will host the AFC Asian Cup in 2019 and are ranked at 81 on FIFA World Ranking Table while Trinidad and Tobago is at 92.

Like T&T, the UAE has one FIFA World Cup finals appearance  which came in 1990 when Italy hosted. Both nations last met in 2013 at the OSN Cup with the game finishing 3-3 before the UAE prevailed on penalty kicks.

UAE’s  most recent international achievement was a third place  finish at the prestigious Asian Cup in 2015. As for  the 2018 World Cup campaign, the UAE qualified for the Second Round of the Asian Football Confederation competition, where they finished second in Group A behind Saudi Arabia and qualified for the Third Round. In this round, they finished fourth in Group B, bowing out of the qualifying race for the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

Post by: soccerman on August 26, 2018, 03:10:35 PM
Is this still on?
Post by: Brownsugar on August 26, 2018, 05:16:26 PM
Is this still on?

Well boy, when I see de thread I say something happen that I eh know bout....then ah see de thread start since May.....I'm gonna hazard a guess that the answer is no.....
Post by: vb on August 26, 2018, 11:18:15 PM
Barbados and J'ca  have played two friendlies this month.

I now coming here to try to smile a bit and nobody even know if the game is on.

I feeling sorry for Lawrence.

Post by: palos on August 27, 2018, 01:04:14 PM
Looks like it is on.  Lawrence selected a 20 man squad. 

Contro will be happy.....Guerra get selected

Contro will benn......Ball Pest did not get selected

Stay tuned for Wired report

As for Lawrence’s comment that UAE has a strong football tradition, I was a little perplexed by that

I thought if anything, UAE more known for their cricket team than football team. 
Post by: Tallman on August 27, 2018, 02:02:20 PM
Lawrence announces Squad for United Arab Emirates Friendly
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Dennis Lawrence today announced a 20-man squad for the September 6th International Friendly against United Arab Emirates.

There were call ups for European-based duo Keston Julien and Kathon St Hillaire as well as a recall for Charleston Battery midfielder Ataulla Guerra. Some of the notables back in the team include German-based Joevin Jones, Sheldon Bateau, Shahdon Winchester, Levi Garcia, Nathan Lewis, Aubrey David, Khaleem Hyland, Daneil Cyrus, Triston Hodge, Kevan George and goalkeepers Adrian Foncette and Marvin Phillip.

The team assembles in Barcelona on September 3rd before heading to Gerona for the match.

“It is important that we understand that the squad was selected with different things to take into consideration. There were a number of players that were very close but we had to take into consideration the amount of time we will have in terms of training because the journey will take almost over day and half. We had to select a squad of players that basically knew what exactly what we are about and how we want to work and the things we want to do. We need to put in a performance and try to get a result,” Lawrence said.

“We took the opportunity to bring in players like Keston Julien and Ataulla Guerra to give them the opportunity to come in and push for a place in the team. We have to have a competitive squad. Going into this  game we are going to challenge ourselves in a different way. Me the head coach,  I am going to challenge myself in terms of right, ‘can we go and win the game’. The objective is to try and win the game,” he added.

T&T Squad to face United Arab Emirates

Goalkeepers: Adrian Foncette (Police FC), Marvin Phillip (Central FC)

Defenders: Sheldon Bateau (FC Kairat—Kazakhstan), Daneil Cyrus (Al-Orobah FC—Saudi Arabia), Aubrey David (Vaasan Palloseura FC—Finland), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Triston Hodge (W Connection), Keston Julien (AS Trencin FC—Slovakia)

Midfielders: Kevan George (Charlotte Independence—USA), Neveal Hackshaw (Charleston Battery—USA), Akeem Humphrey (Club Sando), Khaleem Hyland (Al Faisaly FC—Saudi Arabia), Duane Muckette (Central FC), Levi Garcia (Kiryat Shomona FC—Israel), Ataulla Guerra (Charleston Battery—USA), Joevin Jones (Darmstadt 98—Germany), Nathan Lewis (Indy Eleven FC—USA), Kathon St Hillaire (SC Znojmo FK—Czech Republic), Jomal Williams (W Connection)

Forward: Shahdon Winchester (SJK Seinajoki—Finland)

https://www.youtube.com/v/RX9JgSK01uk
Post by: soccerman on August 27, 2018, 07:15:16 PM
Still in call up Greg I see, like our keepers at home in top form.
Post by: Sam on August 28, 2018, 03:48:30 AM
Quit Spain to play just one game?

Some other players who could add to we next WC team.

We need to find a potent striker, we can't rely on Shahdon alone.

Greg Ramjitsingh, Keron Cummings, Shannon Gomez, Cordell Cato, Mekeil Williams, Alvin Jones, Brent Sam, Noah Powder, Aikim Andrews, Jomal Williams, Rundell Winchester, Andre Fortune, Weslie John, Ricardo John, Leston Paul and Kareem Moses.

Ah feel if Greg Ramjitsingh sign for W Connection he might get call.

Post by: Deeks on August 28, 2018, 08:08:37 AM
Good to see Guerra in the mix again. Would have liked to see Greg in the mix also. Don't know how his club schedule is, or if DL not interested anymore. Like I said this DJW admin. is pure pins and needles.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 28, 2018, 08:17:02 AM

Greg Ramjitsingh, Keron Cummings, Shannon Gomez, Cordell Cato, Mekeil Williams, Alvin Jones, Brent Sam, Noah Powder, Aikim Andrews, Jomal Williams, Rundell Winchester, Andre Fortune, Weslie John, Ricardo John, Leston Paul and Kareem Moses.

Reasonable question.

However, as you know, we likely can't afford the costs of additional days in Europe.

That stated, playing Andorra might/would have been a feasible consideration. Closest viable FIFA member association to Girona. If we can play Grenada, there's certainly no foul in playing Andorra.
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 28, 2018, 10:06:58 AM
Sill no greg ranjitsingh ... Lawrence calling up the same old same old .....  time to move on past Guerra he is 31
Post by: asylumseeker on August 28, 2018, 11:51:32 AM
Sill no greg ranjitsingh ... Lawrence calling up the same old same old .....  time to move on past Guerra he is 31

Is he too old to contribute to the Gold Cup effort? I think not.
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 28, 2018, 12:42:49 PM
We could move past Guerra when we find somebody younger... ANYBODY younger...  who scoring and performing at a decent level. Not these Borat leagues man playing in and still cyah make. Best players at all times. Ah playing Carlos and all if he better than the next.
Post by: Cocorite on August 28, 2018, 01:18:55 PM
Yeah woudda like to see Greg Ranjitsingh in the mix. Wah bout the Shiva boys? Whey Judah Garcia? Whey Pappy?

We seem to be developing quite a few midfielders. Lacking in the striking department.
Post by: soccerman on August 28, 2018, 02:01:02 PM

Reasonable question.

However, as you know, we likely can't afford the costs of additional days in Europe.

That stated, playing Andorra might/would have been a feasible consideration. Closest viable FIFA member association to Girona. If we can play Grenada, there's certainly no foul in playing Andorra.
Andorra would've been a good opponent for us at this stage. I agree with Sam, if we're going to Spain best we play at least 2 games and make the most of it. However I am grateful for a game.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 29, 2018, 06:45:24 AM

Reasonable question.

Andorra would've been a good opponent for us at this stage. I agree with Sam, if we're going to Spain best we play at least 2 games and make the most of it. However I am grateful for a game.

It turns out that the UAE played Andorra about a week and a half ago.
Post by: Deeks on August 29, 2018, 05:14:29 PM
I don't know if TT have the money to spend two weeks away.
Post by: Flex on August 30, 2018, 12:51:36 AM
Williams, Phillip eager to cement T&T spots.
By Joel Bailey (Newsday).

JOMAL WILLIAMS and Marvin Phillip are both eager to regain their spots for the national men’s football team ahead of the friendly international against the United Arab Emirates, on September 6, in Girona, Spain.

The 24-year-old Williams, who has 11 international caps, last played for T&T in the July 26 2017 fixture away to Ecuador.

And the 34-year-old Phillip’s last match for the national team was a 1-0 win away to Guadeloupe on March 23.

Both Williams and Phillip are among the 20-member team announced by coach Dennis Lawrence on Monday for the contest against the UAE.

Williams hopes that this time around, he can get an extended run on the national team.

“Of course. That’s what I’ve been working towards, to (cement) my spot on the national team, and give Dennis a hard time in selecting the team,” said the diminutive winger, moments after a media briefing at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva on Monday.

Williams recently returned to W Connection after overseas stints with Murcielagos FC in Mexico and Zika in Azerbaijan.

“It’s always (good) for me to be home, knowing that I came from here,” said Williams. “It’s a great feeling to be back here, showing my experience that I’ve gained abroad.”

Asked how it felt playing club football abroad, Williams responded, “The experience was good. The level was a bit higher. I’m just thankful for the experience that I’ve gained thus far playing outside.

Williams has played a key role in Connection’s perfect start, after five matches, in the 2018 Pro League. And he noted that his form, including two goals, was key to his T&T recall.

“I’ll bring a lot to the team,” he said. “It’s helped me a lot with my selection, playing day-in day-out football.”

Phillip, the lone goalkeeper on the Central FC’s Pro League squad, is willing to battle with the incumbent Adrian Foncette for the role as first-choice keeper in Lawrence’s squad.

“It’s an honour to be called to a national team at any point in time, whether it’s a friendly or in a competition,” said the experienced Phillip. “Foncette and I have a good relationship so, when the training start, we’ll just work hard and put the coach under pressure to see who will be the starting goalkeeper.”

Considering his number of appearances, Phillip can call himself one of the ‘elder statesmen’ on the team. He acknowledged, “It’s a pleasure to be under the coach’s radar. It’s best for me to go there and put out the work, and to lend my experience to the team.”

As far as his club’s form is concerned, Phillip noted, “We started off the Pro League a bit up and down, after winning the (First Citizens) Cup. We just need to refocus on getting that drive, and being consistent in the Pro League.”

Post by: soccerman on August 30, 2018, 01:07:35 AM
I don't know if TT have the money to spend two weeks away.
Nah man, you could play 2 games in 6 days. Plus it's a 20 man squad so players can be rotated and the coaches can see more of them.
Post by: Sando prince on August 30, 2018, 04:47:17 AM

seen enough disappoint from Cyrus over the years. Interesting he always make T&T team
Post by: Tallman on August 30, 2018, 05:18:27 AM
WATCH: Goalkeeper Adrian Foncette eager to wear national colours

https://www.youtube.com/v/3Ezy9t_nJo0
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 30, 2018, 11:14:35 AM
How is Ryan Telfer flying under the radar?
Post by: Tallman on August 30, 2018, 12:05:13 PM

You assuming we have ah radar.
Post by: Cocorite on August 30, 2018, 12:30:31 PM

Interestingly put! Who is heading up that department, anyway?
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 30, 2018, 02:31:04 PM

I guess having mediocre expectations is too much for this current TTFA administration/DJW.

At this point all I can do is have in Keith. I hope he's successful with "cutting off the head of the snake".

Hopefully that DJW is gone by the new year. We need serious prep for the Gold Cup and qualification to Copa America 2020.. As it is quite evident now that DJW is only taking us backwards.

And yes, Ramjitsingh DESERVES a call up.
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 30, 2018, 06:18:17 PM
I think our recruitment policy is: dem outside eh better than we.
Post by: Thomo on August 31, 2018, 12:02:39 AM
I think our recruitment policy is: dem outside eh better than we.
Same damn thing I'm saying. The opposite is true when considering an almost non existent non competitive league, poor development and our competitors have acknowledged this deficiency and recruited abroad. Lawrence seems to have bought into this crap and expects to reap dividends. I cyah see no fruit bearing from this smdh
Post by: Brownsugar on August 31, 2018, 06:49:06 AM
Lawrence announces Squad for United Arab Emirates Friendly
TTFA Media

Well blow me down....its on..... :o
Post by: truehaitian on August 31, 2018, 09:10:48 AM
Recent Friendly between Haiti and UAE

Full game https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XR5wAYZjwbg

Highlights: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pjsGaqX2cZw
Post by: asylumseeker on August 31, 2018, 10:05:02 AM
The TT-based players will be right at home playing in front of empty seats.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 02, 2018, 06:22:37 PM
Good sense prevails: Marcus Joseph will be in Spain. Will he play doh?
Post by: amielisadore on September 02, 2018, 06:57:55 PM
Good sense prevails: Marcus Joseph will be in Spain. Will he play doh?

That's solely up to him and his focus. He has had many opportunities under a few coaches but has never really really seized the chance.
Post by: palos on September 02, 2018, 08:14:32 PM

Does anyone in the TTFA get any cut from Telfer playing at TFC?

Don’t be surprised to see Ranjitsingh being called up for Canada

It not profiting anybody (directly) to have him called up for T&T....so why will they pick him?

The T&T Men’s National team is prezzie de facto personal shopping cart.

Ray Charles and all could see that.  And he dead to boot

Post by: Flex on September 03, 2018, 12:50:23 AM
Joseph replaces injured Garcia for friendly versus United Arab Emirates.
TTFA Media.

Israel-based winger Levi Garcia has been ruled out of Trinidad and Tobago’s International Friendly against United Arab Emirates after suffering a hamstring injury while playing for his club Hapoel Ironi Kiryat Shmona F.C on Saturday.

Garcia pulled up in the 42nd minute of his team’s 2-1 loss to Happoel Ra’anana yesterday.

T&T head coach Dennis Lawrence has named W Connection’s Marcus Joseph as a replacement and he will fly through London, joining the rest of the team in Girona, Spain on September 4th.

“It is always disappointing to lose a player like Levi Garcia for an international fixture but this happens in football and we have to make the adjustments,” Lawrence commented.

“It’s fortunate that we have been able to make arrangements for Marcus to join the team. He is in fine form in the TT Pro League this season and we are eager to see this translated unto the international stage.”

The local contingent of players and staff departed for Barcelona on Sunday and will journey by bus to Girona on Tuesday for the September 6th International Friendly against United Arab Emirates.

Title: ¡Ay, caramba! … Training woes for Trinidad and Tobago in Spain
Post by: Tallman on September 04, 2018, 02:38:00 PM
¡Ay, caramba! … Training woes for Trinidad and Tobago in Spain
TTFA Media

Despite arriving in Spain on Monday morning, the Trinidad and Tobago Senior Men’s team is yet to get in a training session ahead of the Friendly International versus the United Arab Emirates scheduled for Thursday in Girona.

Dennis Lawrence and his men were scheduled to hit the training pitch in Barcelona on the afternoon of their arrival but despite promises from the match agent this never materialised. The situation worsen on Tuesday with players and staff awaiting confirmation of their six o’clock session in Girona. At 5:45pm there was no word from the representative assigned to the team or his colleagues.

The Head Coach was obviously not pleased. “At the moment I have to say it has been very very disappointing for all the efforts we have made to come over here and be well prepared. We approached the TTFA to fund us being here an extra day just in terms of our preparation and at the moment it has just gone all to waste because of the representatives of the UAE. I am disappointed for the players, I disappointed for football.”

TTFA President David John Williams is in continuous contact with Lawrence and has reached out the the UAE to solve the situation. “I am fully aware of the situation in Spain as I was updated by Coach Dennis and manager Richard Piper. They have our full support from this end and we are confident they will make the right decisions to protect our integrity” John-Williams told TTFA Media.

“The contract with the UAE catered to all the team’s training requirements and we will continue liaising with them to iron out these issues” the President concluded.

Lawrence also touched on those contractual arrangements “We were really excited to come over here and fulfil this fixture, players came over in good spirits and now we get to this situation where things contractually agreed to were not provided by the representatives of the UAE, because I don’t believe is the UAE Football Association itself, I believe it’s the representative of the match agent, those are the ones that got everything wrong in terms of no bus turning up for our training sessions and no pitches arranged.”

Disappointing was the word Lawrence closed with.

https://www.youtube.com/v/gbAMSOiz20A
Post by: palos on September 04, 2018, 04:36:40 PM
TTFA President David John Williams is in continuous contact with Lawrence and has reached out the the UAE to solve the situation. “I am fully aware of the situation in Spain as I was updated by Coach Dennis and manager Richard Piper. They have our full support from this end and we are confident they will make the right decisions to protect our integrity” John-Williams told TTFA Media.
“Full support” AKA “as long as WConnection players get a outside contract, I good”
Post by: asylumseeker on September 04, 2018, 05:48:55 PM
The downside of having one fixture booked ...
Post by: soccerman on September 05, 2018, 08:29:57 PM
What time is the game?
Post by: Flex on September 06, 2018, 12:46:52 AM
Soca Warriors get UAE test today.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Shel­don Bateau, the T&T mid­field­er has said in spite of chal­lenges faced by the na­tion­al team ahead of to­day's in­ter­na­tion­al friend­ly en­counter with the Unit­ed Arab Emi­rates in Girona, Spain, the na­tion­al team will be­gin its quest to put T&T back on the map in world foot­ball.

He said while this can­not be achieved in one match, it will be­gin to­day. The T&T team missed three days to get in much-need­ed prac­tice since the team's ar­rival on Mon­day, due to un­ful­filled promis­es by the match agent.

The team was ex­pect­ed to train at a Barcelona pitch up­on ar­rival Mon­day but this nev­er ma­te­ri­al­ized. And on Tues­day the team again could not take the pitch as the agent failed to make con­tact with team of­fi­cials. How­ev­er, yes­ter­day Bateau said the team which is a young one has al­ready placed all the ob­sta­cles be­hind it and just wants to play foot­ball.

'Re­gard­less of what hap­pens they are will­ing to fight, ig­nore it all and just play foot­ball' Bateau said.

He added 'They are aware that they are not on­ly play­ing for them­selves but for an en­tire coun­try. We plan to give of our best and come out vic­to­ri­ous. "

How­ev­er, he was quick to note that the game will be no easy task for them, say­ing both he and Khaleem Hy­land know some of the play­ers from UAE and they will be a force to be reck­oned with.

He be­lieves the match will pro­vide an op­por­tu­ni­ty for his play­ers to re­assem­ble af­ter the failed World Cup qual­i­fiers.

Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2018, 03:09:36 AM
Omar joins camp as UAE gear up for two friendlies
By James Jose, Khaleej Times

Star playmaker Omar Abdulrahman linked up with the UAE National football squad for the first time since his mega switch from Al Ain to Saudi Arabia's Al Hilal.

The 26-year-old, who made the move from the record 13-time Arabian Gulf League champions to the record Saudi Professional League winners last month, joined his teammates in the second camp in Girona, Spain.

Omar, nicknamed 'Amoory', had missed the first camp in Salzburg, Austria from August 1 to 19 as he sorted out his club future. The UAE team management had approved his request to skip the camp.

As coach Alberto Zaccheroni ramps up preparations for the AFC Asian Cup to be held on home soil in January next year, the team are set to play their first of two international friendlies on Thursday.

The Whites take on Trinidad and Tobago at the Estadio Palamos Costa Brava Stadium and later meet Laos in the second international friendly on September 11. The ongoing camp comes to an end on September 12.

The 26-man squad trained on Wednesday, with a special session for goalkeepers. Saif Rashid has returned home for medical treatment after tests confirmed he has a back muscle injury. The Sharjah winger was called up by Zaccheroni for both the camps and had impressed during the first camp in Salzburg, Austria.

"The friendly against Trinidad and Tobago will be a real test for the team as the opponents are fast-paced and physically strong. It will be a tough test and the team will learn from the experience," team manager Obaid Habita said.

"The international friendlies have been chosen very carefully in order to achieve certain goals. We will be playing against different teams, which offers different schools and different styles of football. It will help the team when it comes to tactics and help the players deal with and adapt to different methods of play," he added.

Habita also said that future camps will be held during Fifa days and will not exceed two weeks, which is sufficient for the players, especially since they will be participating with their respective clubs in domestic competitions.

The third camp will also be held in Spain, in Barcelona, from October 6 to 16 with two friendlies against Honduras and Venezuela on October 11 and 16 respectively. The fourth and fifth camps will run from November 6 to 20 and December 15 to 31 respectively at home, most likely in Al Ain, with two friendlies scheduled.

SQUAD:
Khalid Eisa, Ismail Ahmed, Mohannad Salem, Mohammed Ahmed, Bandar Al Ahbabi, Amer Abdulrahman Ahmed Barman, Rayan Yaslam, Mohammed Abdulrahman (Al Ain), Mohammed Marzooq, Walid Abbas, Majed Hassan, Ismail Al Hammadi, Ahmed Khalil (Shabab Al Ahli), Ali Khaseif, Fares Jumaa, Ali Mabkhout (Al Jazira), Mahmoud Khamis, Khalifa Mubarak (Al Nasr), Khamis Ismail, Ali Salmin (Al Wasl), Alhasan Saleh (Sharjah), Fahad Al Dhanhani (Bani Yas), Mohamed Bargash (Al Wahda), Omar Abdulrahman ( Al Hilal).
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2018, 03:37:11 AM
Meet the FIFA match agent bringing football teams to the UAE
Sport Industry Insider

FIFA match agent Lenar Sayfullin explains how he has capitalised on the increase in clubs and national teams visiting the UAE for camps and friendlies.

Winter trips to the UAE have become as synonymous with football as Messi vs Ronaldo debates and fantasy league frustrations. More and more clubs are travelling to the emirates to take advantage of the Gulf’s warmer climate and impressive facilities.

Residents and fans may have begun to take these football forays for granted, such is there regularity, but it is only in the past few years that the UAE has truly established itself as the go-to mid-season destination.

Russian Lenar Sayfullin is one of the men reaping the rewards of this evolution. As an official FIFA match agent – one of only two in the UAE – Sayfullin and his company SR9 Management have been increasing their footprint in a booming market.

Many clubs do still choose to go through informal intermediaries but FIFA’s seal of approval has helped Sayfullin grow his business; he has organised UAE training camps and friendly matches for the likes of Borussia Dortmund, Hamburg, and a host of Chinese Super League clubs.

“When I came to UAE, the first football training I organised was for Ukrainian club Dnipro, who played in the 2015 Europa League final. It made me see that there was an appetite for it, particularly from European clubs.

“It is a big logistical undertaking and can involve organisation of camps, matches, tournaments, transfers, training facilities, media, TV. It’s all-encompassing but the clubs and the national teams really appreciate what you do for them.”

Building strong relationships with local stakeholders has always been key for Sayfullin, who has witnessed a dramatic improvement in the sporting facilities on offer in a short space of time.

“Ten years ago when I started the business it was quite hard to get teams here because the facilities were limited and there were only one or two quality, but also expensive, places. The rest were not so good.

“But since then Dubai and Abu Dhabi in particular have invested in some great facilities.

“You have Jebel Ali, which is becoming a world class sport and football destination. They started with two pitches and now they have four with natural grass, as well as two hotels five minutes away. Every year we have at least 2-3 teams, sometimes more, stay there.

“In Abu Dhabi, they have Zayed Sports City, which hosts plenty of FIFA and AFC events. They have eight training pitches around the stadium – again there are lots of great hotels close by. Then there are some new facilities like New York University and Nad Al Sheba, which I also work with very closely.

“Other emirates like Sharjah, Ajman and Ras-al-Khaimah also have decent facilities. Some clubs prefer to stay away from Dubai because of the budget and that continued interest has prompted those emirates to improve their facilities.”

Better pitches and places to train are a key part of the UAE’s attraction but Sayfullin believes it is a triumvirate of factors that appeals to football clubs.

“Facilities is obviously key but I think the weather is perhaps the biggest draw still. Most coaches prefer to have a comfortable climate for the training – usually around 22-25 degrees in the winter. You get that year in, year out in the UAE, while other potential destinations like Turkey and Spain just don’t have the same consistency.

“Also, cities like Dubai and Abu Dhabi are top tourist destinations so you see that players and staff really enjoy their free time – sightseeing and shopping. If the team comes for 10-14 days which Is a regular training camp period, they always have one or two days off so they can enjoy what is on offer.”

As well as training camps, many visiting clubs and international teams want to play friendlies to maintain their match fitness. Cue the FIFA match agent. Sayfullin has arranged plenty of the years and while it’s an extra level of organisation, he has witnessed some memorable occasions.

“Sometimes teams want privacy and to play behind closed doors; some don’t even allow us to announce where they play. But I think, generally clubs like to connect with their fans if they have fans in the UAE.

“It costs from $10,000 to $50,000 to rent a stadium from one of the local clubs, though that includes everything like police, security and ambulance for the match. Yes it’s a bigger workload, but it is great when you give fans the chance to watch their team.

“When Borussia Dortmund were here for example, we arranged a friendly against South Korean champions Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors. I was really proud that Dortmund contacted me and we reached an agreement quickly.

“It was quite last-minute but it was a pleasure to work with such big clubs. The game was shown on local and international TV, tickets were sold and the match was really well attended.”

Sayfullin’s reputation as a FIFA match agent is such that SR9 will be a recommended provider of the AFC for the upcoming Asian Cup in January. And looking ahead, he sees the 2022 World Cup in Qatar as a major business opportunity.

“The AFC will host their pre-tournament meetings in the next few weeks and our company are the preferred agency to arrange camps and friendlies. I’ve been contacted already by several federations and I think over 50% of teams will be coming to the UAE for their camps ahead of the tournament.

“For 2022, I have already received requests too. Looking at the facilities in the neighbours of Qatar, UAE is the absolute top destination.

“Even if the diplomatic stand-off is still in place, I don’t think it’s a big issue logistically. With a stop it is still only a maximum of two-and-a half or three hours flight.

“Teams will be looking for top facilities and we have that in the UAE; I’m sure plenty of countries will be based here before and even during the World Cup and as the UAE’s FIFA match agent, that presents some great opportunities.”

At the moment, SR9’s focus is on the UAE market, as well as Eastern Europe in the summer months. But elsewhere in the region there are some exciting possibilities yet to be explored.

“From this year we will start working in the other Middle East markets, particularly in Qatar considering they are hosting the World Cup.

“It will be very hectic in the UAE in January because of the Asian Cup – most of the facilities will be taken. So I’m looking carefully to see how Qatar develops in terms of facilities and opportunities for hosting matched.

“Saudi Arabia is interesting, too. Saudi clubs love to come to the UAE for training camps and I’ve worked with Al Hilal before. I think it will still be some time before the Kingdom becomes a popular destination for European clubs as the facilities and the restrictions need to improve. But of course, there is potential there and we will keep an eye on developments.”
Post by: Tallman on September 06, 2018, 05:10:38 AM
What time is the game?

12pm EST
Post by: Tallman on September 06, 2018, 06:01:21 AM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DmaK-DIW0AATYKP.jpg)
Post by: Big Magician on September 06, 2018, 09:47:24 AM
stream links please ??..or TV ??..
Post by: palos on September 06, 2018, 09:47:43 AM
Really breds?  They would have been able to train on practice fields had there been multiple fixtures?

I don’t see how.
Post by: Big Magician on September 06, 2018, 09:57:40 AM
http://www.dubaisports.ae/content/dubaisports/livestreaming.html
Post by: g on September 06, 2018, 10:11:09 AM

Thanks stream sticking for allyuh? Mine tends to start stop often and I keep having to refresh
Post by: Jayerson on September 06, 2018, 10:30:28 AM

Thanks stream sticking for allyuh? Mine tends to start stop often and I keep having to refresh

Has not stuck once for me.
Post by: Jayerson on September 06, 2018, 10:45:29 AM
Atullah Guerra, 37th minute. UAE 0 - 1 TnT
Post by: Tallman on September 06, 2018, 10:48:49 AM
GOALLLLLLLLLLL!!!!: Ataulla Guerra gives Trinidad and Tobago a 1-0 lead over United Arab Emirates in the 37th minute.
Post by: Tallman on September 06, 2018, 10:54:45 AM
HALF-TIME: Trinidad and Tobago 1-0 United Arab Emirates. Goal by Ataulla Guerra in the 37th minute.
Post by: Big Magician on September 06, 2018, 10:57:36 AM
to me...this looks like the 11 starters

Marvin

aubrey....curus...bateau...mikel

J Jones..... K George..K Hyland... N Lewis

Tulla
                                                       Shandon
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 06, 2018, 10:57:54 AM
HALF-TIME: Trinidad and Tobago 1-0 United Arab Emirates. Goal by Ataulla Guerra in the 37th minute.

Tallman, is T&T No. 7 on the left wing Nathan Lewis?
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 06, 2018, 11:00:17 AM
Ok it is Lewis, just saw Big Mag's post. Having a decent game so far.
Post by: Jayerson on September 06, 2018, 11:22:57 AM
Nathan Lewis, 58th minute. 2 - 0 TnT.
Post by: FF on September 06, 2018, 11:24:36 AM
GOALLLLLLLLLLL!!!!: Nathan Lewis gives Trinidad and Tobago a 2-0 lead over United Arab Emirates in the 58th minute. Assist by Joevin Jones
Post by: FF on September 06, 2018, 11:59:58 AM
FULL TIME: Trinidad and Tobago 2-0 United Arab Emirates. Goals by Ataulla Guerra in the 37th minute and Nathan Lewis in the 58th minute.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2018, 12:01:12 PM
Really breds?  They would have been able to train on practice fields had there been multiple fixtures?

I don’t see how.

The crux of Lawrence's comments were focused on the frustration stemming from the logistics around ONE match and perhaps not (at the moment he was speaking) even getting/having the benefit of that match (because his words suggested that it coming off was at risk).

The preparations for a second match would (still) have allowed the coaching staff to observe players (especially players like Guerra who have not been in the recent mix) without the trip being a potential net loss. This is why (for example) teams even opt to play each other more than once within a matter of days (as is happening with Brazil and Mexico currently in the U-20 age group, playing three games).
Post by: g on September 06, 2018, 12:01:56 PM
Comfortable for the most part, happy for the clean sheet.

The journey now start
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 06, 2018, 12:03:07 PM
Good stuff. Congrats to the team and staff.
Post by: g on September 06, 2018, 12:07:35 PM

I don’t see how.

The crux of Lawrence's comments were focused on the frustration stemming from the logistics around ONE match and perhaps not (at the moment he was speaking) even getting/having the benefit of that match (because his words suggested that it coming off was at risk).

The preparations for a second match would (still) have allowed the coaching staff to observe players (especially players like Guerra who have not been in the recent mix) without the trip being a potential net loss. This is why (for example) teams even opt to play each other more than once within a matter of days (as is happening with Brazil and Mexico currently in the U-20 age group, playing three games).

Also seems like the FA relying heavily on other countries to foot the bill for friendlies as well. One of the bits of info before the match was around the travel which was booked by the UAE FA which caused visa issues for some players due to connecting flights through the USA.

Arab Gulf and Asian FAs may have the resources to do this hence the friendlies this month and the next.
Post by: FF on September 06, 2018, 12:09:30 PM
The journey always starting
Post by: g on September 06, 2018, 12:17:29 PM

:rotfl: just like the beatings will continue
Post by: maxg on September 06, 2018, 12:18:05 PM
Went looking for highlights, knew something was wrong when I see the crowd

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0qewJ_VXUjg

better

https://www.youtube.com/v/gVdaribs3P0
Post by: lefty on September 06, 2018, 01:12:12 PM
d new structure seems sound, kinda look like 4-1-4-1 not sure, we seemed to be pressing in central areas and I saw what looked like urgency both in d tackle and d ball movement at times....nice dat we can get some ah dat from pro league players.....ah fair start

Post by: kounty on September 06, 2018, 01:18:59 PM
Went looking for highlights, knew something was wrong when I see the crowd

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0qewJ_VXUjg

better

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVdaribs3P0

good detective work!
Post by: Storeboy on September 06, 2018, 01:22:06 PM
d new structure seems sound, kinda look like 4-1-4-1 not sure, we seemed to be pressing in central areas and I saw what looked like urgency both in d tackle and d ball movement at times....nice dat we can get some ah dat from pro league players.....ah fair start

It's a start. We want to see progress now leading up to the Gold Cup!
Post by: lefty on September 06, 2018, 01:22:46 PM
ok almost everybody except hodge and Phillips playin outside.......so d intensity wasn't pro league intensity...for d most part :( and d formation was 4-2-3-1 if this continue DJW goh start interfering again :frustrated: but pro league so slow
Post by: Tallman on September 06, 2018, 03:06:03 PM
Post match comments from Dennis Lawrence
https://www.youtube.com/v/h2-V9nKRRkg
Post by: Deeks on September 06, 2018, 03:55:00 PM
Two good goals. This Nathan Lewis looking promising.  Guerra. What can we say about Atuallah? It would have been nice to have him in the Hex.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2018, 05:08:07 PM

Ent!
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2018, 05:13:07 PM
Zaccheroni has work to do after UAE lose to Trinidad and Tobago
By James Jose, Khaleej Times

Alberto Zaccheroni has his task cut out.
It is still early days yet but coach Alberto Zaccheroni has quite a bit of work to do if he hopes to replicate his AFC Asian Cup title triumph, with the UAE on home soil.

The Italian, who masterminded Japan's win in 2011, is at the helm after taking over from Emirati Mahdi Ali last October, and has been given the remit of winning the 17th edition of Asia's biggest football competition on home soil.

The UAE play hosts to the Cup from January 5 to February 1 next year and in the run up to the tournament, the UAE lost to Trinidad and Tobago 2-0 at the Estadio Palamos Costa Brava Stadium in Girona, Spain on Thursday.

It may have been just a football friendly but there were some glaring mistakes, not least a slippery backline as Trinidad and Tobago, ranked 91 to the UAE's 77, more than punched above their weight.

Nathan Lewis provided an assist and scored as Trinidad and Tobago notched their first win against the UAE following a 3-3 stalemate in their only previous meeting in an international friendly in 2013. Ataullah Guerra had given Trindad and Tobago the lead on 37 minutes.

Zaccheroni will also have to address things upfront too with his frontmen Ahmed Khalil and Ali Mabkhout a bit off-colour on the day. Perhaps, the inclusion of a few Olympic team players, who won bronze at the just-concluded Asian Games in Indonesia, for the forthcoming camps in Barcelona from October 6 to 16 and the fourth and fifth camps from November 6 to 20 and December 15 to 31 at home, will help as he will have a bigger pool of players to work with.

The UAE take on Laos in the second international friendly on September 11.

james@khaleejtimes.com
Post by: Deeks on September 06, 2018, 05:26:46 PM
Trinidad and Tobago, ranked 91 to the UAE's 77, more than punched above their weight

Them doh know we are the "jekyll and hyde" of international football. We have no perception of rankings. It does not matter. On a given day we like teemahwee club playing in the savannah. On the next,  we like the team that play Sweden in 2006.

for the forthcoming camps in Barcelona from October 6 to 16 and the fourth and fifth camps from November 6 to 20 and December 15 to 31 at home, will help as he will have a bigger pool of players to work with.

We lucky if we could get a 5 day practice session
Post by: soccerman on September 06, 2018, 06:51:46 PM
Would've been good if we could've played them twice on this trip, or even scrimmage Girona's reserves.
Post by: Big Magician on September 06, 2018, 07:08:37 PM
so it was Hodge at left back then ??..i thought was Mikel Williams...
Post by: Tallman on September 06, 2018, 08:26:57 PM
so it was Hodge at left back then ??..i thought was Mikel Williams...

Yeh, Mekeil did't get call-up.
Post by: Cocorite on September 06, 2018, 08:45:18 PM
Thanks for the highlights. From what I saw, we didn't do too bad considering the preparations. UAE didn't look too great either.

Joven looked dangerous. Tulla showed his confidence in his abilities, Cyrus also playing with a lot of confidence. Good start for Lawrence & T&T.

Would like to see the entire game if possible.

We have quite a few decent players all over the place. It's just to put the program together and execute.
Post by: Flex on September 07, 2018, 12:47:24 AM
Lewis inspires Soca Warriors win.
T&T Guardian Reports.

In­dy Eleven mid­field­er Nathan Lewis scored a goal af­ter mak­ing the open­er as T&T So­ca War­riors blanked Unit­ed Arab Emi­rates 2-0 in their in­ter­na­tion­al friend­ly in Girona, Spain, yes­ter­day,

The Arabs were in trou­ble as ear­ly as the sec­ond minute when T&T skip­per Khaleem Hy­land found some free­dom in the area, un­for­tu­nate­ly his shot was on the wrong side of the cross­bar but Charleston Bat­tery' Ataulla Guer­ra, play­ing his first match for T&T in over two years was the epit­o­me of com­po­sure when he fin­ished in style to open the scor­ing in the 37th minute at the end of a classy build up be­tween Lewis and Fin­land-based Shah­don Win­ches­ter.

The speedy Lewis was a thorn in the side of the UAE as he dom­i­nat­ed the left flank for long pe­ri­ods and sub­se­quent­ly came in for some rough play but de­spite con­stant prob­ing from the for­mer Jabloteh winger and Ger­many-based Jo­evin Jones, it re­mained 1-0 T&T at the half.

Jones took over pro­ceed­ings in the sec­ond pe­ri­od as he tor­ment­ed his op­po­nents with deft skill and pen­e­tra­tive pass­es and it was one of those pass­es which opened the door for goal num­ber two.

The Darm­stadt 98 mid­field­er pick up the ball at the half line and just left de­fend­ers in his wake be­fore de­liv­er­ing the per­fect cen­tre for Lewis to neat­ly fin­ish in the 58th minute.

To their cred­it, the UAE then came hard at Den­nis Lawrence’s team with Omar Al­raqi caus­ing some prob­lems in the mid­dle of the pitch but the de­fence in that area was well mar­shalled by Daniel Cyrus and Kevon George.

When they did get through, T&T goal­keep­er Mar­vin Phillip showed his class be­tween the up­rights, deny­ing Al­raqi and Is­mail Al­ham­ma­di who pro­duced cred­i­ble at­tempts.

The 2-0 vic­to­ry makes for an im­pres­sive run for the team since the No­vem­ber 2017 win over the Unit­ed States with three wins, three draws and one loss.

Coach Lawrence was ob­vi­ous­ly pleased with the ef­fort and said: 'I think we did re­al­ly well. I am re­al­ly pleased with the boys. I think every­body knows what we have been through over the last few days and I have to give them full cred­it for their per­for­mance.'

Look­ing at the game the ef­fort they put in and I thought they worked very well as a group and they de­served the vic­to­ry.

'With re­gards to Guer­ra, Lawrence said he thought the USA based play­er played well.'

'I thought Ataulla (Guer­ra) came in and did re­al­ly well. He took his goal re­al­ly well and Nathan Lewis I thought he had an out­stand­ing match to­day (yes­ter­day).

All in all, as a team they all worked to­geth­er and dug in as a team.

In gen­er­al, Lawrence said the match was re­al­ly im­por­tant for the na­tion­al team.

'We spoke about the prepa­ra­tion and they were all an­gry just like I was, so we are very proud with the re­sult and we move on from here now.'

Slo­va­kian-based de­fend­er, 19-year-old Ke­ston Julien was a late in­tro­duc­tion in the match and Lawrence speak­ing of the for­mer Jabloteh play­er said he did a great job.

'We were lead­ing 2-0 and UAE was press­ing and look­ing for a goal, but he came in and did very well, and al­so cre­at­ed a chance where he al­most had an as­sist to make it 3-0.

'All in all, I was very pleased with the to­tal team ef­fort as the boys have shown again they are pre­pared to work hard for T&T.'

Look­ing ahead Lawrence said the fo­cus will now shift to the match against Thai­land on Oc­to­ber 14 in Bangkok, but be­fore that he is ex­pect­ed to have a de­brief­ing about the UAE con­test as well as some dis­cus­sions with the T&T Foot­ball Fed­er­a­tion.

Videos -

Trinidad Tobago vs UAE 2-0 Highlights /friendly match (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVdaribs3P0)

Dennis Lawrence's post match reactions after 2-0 win over UAE (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h2-V9nKRRkg)

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago (4-2-3-1): 1.Marvin Phillip (GK); 2.Aubrey David, 4.Sheldon Bateau, 5.Daneil Cyrus, 18.Triston Hodge (6.Keston Julien); 19.Kevan George, 8.Khaleem Hyland (captain); 7.Nathan Lewis (12.Kathon St Hillaire 88), 9.Ataulla Guerra (16.Neveal Hackshaw 67), 3.Joevin Jones (23.Jomal Williams 83); 10.Shahdon Winchester (11.Marcus Joseph 74).

Unused substitutes: 22.Adrian Foncette (GK), 15.Curtis Gonzales, 14.Akeem Humphrey, 13.Duane Muckette.

Coach: Dennis Lawrence

UAE (3-4-3): Khalid Eisa (GK); 20.Mohammed Marzooq (16.Hassan Al Saheh 81), 19.Ismail Ahmed, 6.Mohnad Salem; 2.Mohamed Barghash, 8.Majed Ahmed (25.Ali Salmin 59), 13.Khamis Esmaeel, 21.Mahmoud Al Hammadi; 10.Omar Abdulrahman, 7.Ali Mabkhout, 11.Ahmed Khalil (captain) (15.Ismail Al Hammadi 59).

Unused substitutes: 1.Ali Humaid (GK), 22.Fahad Ahmed (GK), 9.Ahmed Barman, 23.Mohamed Ahmed, 5.Amer Abdulrahman, 26.Bandar Sahmeed, 3.Walid Murad, 4.Khalifa Mubarak, 14.Rayan Mohammed, 17.Fares Hasan.

Coach: Alberto Zaccheroni

Post by: maxg on September 07, 2018, 01:51:44 PM
New game plan. Get we boys vex..  :devil:
Post by: Tallman on September 07, 2018, 04:02:26 PM
WATCH: Post-match comments from Captain Khaleem Hyland

https://www.youtube.com/v/QjDrGO39k38
Post by: Controversial on September 07, 2018, 06:30:18 PM
Good win but tallest not playing a deadly brand like what hart had us playing at our peak

Also where is Cummins? And hyland as capt, hmmmm

I guess Greg can’t get a call up

We need to replace DL and DJW if we are to have any chance of quatar
Post by: andre samuel on September 08, 2018, 06:53:54 PM
Still with the Hart talk? Lol.....at least you're consistent ;D
Post by: lefty on September 08, 2018, 07:28:52 PM
Still with the Hart talk? Lol.....at least you're consistent ;D
so.....how d fat c**t with d pdf doing
Post by: Trini Madness on September 09, 2018, 04:24:39 AM
Good win but tallest not playing a deadly brand like what hart had us playing at our peak

Also where is Cummins? And hyland as capt, hmmmm

I guess Greg can’t get a call up

We need to replace DL and DJW if we are to have any chance of quatar
Nothing wrong with DL in my mind, replace DJW with someone who can give DL full support and freedom of choosing players, then you will see a difference.
Post by: Deeks on September 09, 2018, 08:26:19 AM
Nothing wrong with DL in my mind, replace DJW with someone who can give DL full support and freedom of choosing players, then you will see a difference.

I agree, Trini Madness!
Post by: asylumseeker on September 11, 2018, 01:58:07 PM
UAE vs Laos. Just wrapped up 3-0 in favor of the UAE.

Two goals (24' and 26') by Mabkhout (who Marvin denied on a free-kick effort last week) and the third item at 68' courtesy Omar Abdulrahman (the Saudi Arabia-based player highlighted in one of the articles posted above).
Title: Footballers show power of unity
Post by: Tallman on September 12, 2018, 06:21:39 AM
Footballers show power of unity
By Andre Baptiste (T&T Guardian)

Adversity can either breed success or increase failure!

Life is about challenges and accepting that on occasions, your faith will be tested and your commitment questioned by everyone, including those that closest to you.

In sports, which are a reflection of life, there constantly exists that turmoil of both mind and body.

In Spain over the last week, I witnessed a young group of men representing their country first in all of their actions and the effort that was displayed in some difficult circumstances should not go unnoticed.

Despite the abysmal efforts of the Spanish officials hired by United Arab Emirates management team to ensure that the T&T football contingent received satisfactory arrangements for training (transportation and training), these young men had a smile on their face when they were together.

On the way, to their only training session last Tuesday, the weather changed dramatically in Girona, from sun to rain, then thunder with lighting and finally hail and as the stones from above hit the coach and taxis, everything began to look rather doubtful. The taxi driver, a citizen of Girona, was only shaking his head and constantly making the sign of the cross in this predominantly Catholic state.

Yet still, when the team arrived to train on the grass surface was waterlogged and almost unplayable, the team eagerly ran to the field to practice. Eventually, the authorities at the community ground, fearing for the surface, requested the team to use the artificial surface at the back, which they did. Still, I must add with a smile and energy, not often seen in this country, where many of us complain, once we do not get our own way.

For me, it was that enthusiasm that sent a signal, that this team was bonded as one, it was not only the fact, that they all timely assembled for a traditional walk or the team bus, but it was the indomitable very rarely seen at the national level. Let me rephrase that comment, to say, that "Team building only works when everyone is reading from the same script", and during the brief time in Spain, the players all understood the philosophy of coach Dennis Lawrence and his staff.

Lawrence’s last message, as the players gathered in a circle to say a parting prayer, resonated with me for the entire night, it was one of: "No excuses, despite the problems, despite the difficulties, this was the time to demonstrate the resolve to aim for success and leave everything on the field out there".

This may not have been November 15, 2005 in Bahrain, where the Bahrain officials banished the T&T supporters to an awkward part of the stadium, only for the national team’s management to react angrily to that, and claim, "Bahrain would pay!" which history showed through Dennis "Tallest" Lawrence’s goal that Bahrain ultimately did. But it was clear, Lawrence understood the message he was delivering and his players knew exactly what their coach was demanding.

If one did not know better, it could well be, that there are some in T&T, that want the team to fail, that want to pound their chests and be proud of any disaster or any problem incurred by the team. Football, I hasten to add, is not the only sport that has this, it exists in our society, because everyone likes to be the leader, to have the best ideas and to succeed, forgetting that the legacy should be measured in what is left after them, not what is done by them alone.

Speaking of caps, those players that made their first cap for their country will always remember the occasion, so to watch the joy on Keston Julien’s face or the glint in his eye was worth replaying for all who seek to represent their country with pride, purpose and grace.

If only we could all understand the importance of sports, and its role in building the society and enhancing the quality of life that we all live, and therefore try to contribute positively to its existence and help in its growth.

When the final whistle blew on Thursday night in Barcelona, the agony on the face of the UAE, the 77th ranked team which had been preparing for over six weeks to lose to the 91st ranked T&T was there for all to witness. Their World famous Italian coach Alberto Zaccheroni (AC Milan, Juventus, Lazio and Inter) was visibly upset by the 2-0 loss. However, on the night, Lawrence’s team, ably marshalled by captain Khaleem Hyland were intent on delivering a message to all that could hear, listen and eventually watch.

It is one of "Unity breeds success, unity binds us together and keeps us strong".
Post by: asylumseeker on September 12, 2018, 10:44:49 AM
Footballers show power of unity
By Andre Baptiste (T&T Guardian)

If one did not know better, it could well be, that there are some in T&T, that want the team to fail, that want to pound their chests and be proud of any disaster or any problem incurred by the team. Football, I hasten to add, is not the only sport that has this, it exists in our society, because everyone likes to be the leader, to have the best ideas and to succeed, forgetting that the legacy should be measured in what is left after them, not what is done by them alone.

To whom is he referring? One would think everyone wants the team to succeed.

Surely there is a recognized distinction between supporting the team and questioning or challenging administrative practices or decisions within the federation.

Certainly anyone who wants a NT to fail would be unfit to lead the federation (again).

At the same time, curiously, the last sentence also places the current boss in the dock.
Post by: Thomo on September 13, 2018, 07:14:36 AM
@assylumseeker, seems like he's referring to Look Loy and/or anyone who dares be critical of the president. Andre's singing for his supper clearly. Can't beleive I wasted 2 minutes of my life reading that drivel.