Sports => Football => Topic started by: asylumseeker on January 26, 2019, 02:18:07 PM

Title: Luke Singh Thread
Post by: asylumseeker on January 26, 2019, 02:18:07 PM
Luke Singh has been on trial at the Danish Superliga club, Brøndby IF. However, his stint with the club has been interrupted because he sustained a minor back injury. 

Although Luke has returned to Toronto, Brøndby has stated that an announcement about Luke's future with the club will be made at a later date.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DxwUem4WoAAUlyb.jpg)
Title: Re: Luke Singh Thread
Post by: Deeks on January 27, 2019, 07:57:12 AM
Ooooooooooooooooo! Not nice. Hope for a good recovery. Right now, forget about football. Health first. God Bless.
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 27, 2019, 09:28:31 AM
Yes luke prove your critics on this site wrong please..
Post by: lefty on January 27, 2019, 11:37:40 AM
Yes luck prove your critics on this site wrong please..
He is decent on the ball and has passing range...... but too slight and weak for CB, that, in my view is not unfair criticism jus d truth, he would make a decent CM/DM though, he can intercept well and pass....but he was bouncing off everybody he faced 1v1, again not unfair jus honest observations

Sent from my SM-G532M using Tapatalk

Post by: asylumseeker on January 27, 2019, 05:18:18 PM
There is merit to the idea of him playing as a DM, based on what we saw during that tournament. Concur also regarding his pure passing range and what he sought to do with those balls played forward.

As he is in the shop window, I will not touch the other side of the ledger. I suppose the good news is Brøndby hasn't dismissed him outright, but one would imagine they already have a sense of where they are leaning.
Post by: lefty on January 27, 2019, 08:19:21 PM
There is merit to the idea of him playing as a DM, based on what we saw during that tournament. Concur also regarding his pure passing range and what he sought to do with those balls played forward.

As he is in the shop window, I will not touch the other side of the ledger. I suppose the good news is Brøndby hasn't dismissed him outright, but one would imagine they already have a sense of where they are leaning.
yeah seeker I hear yuh re: d shop window......d ting is I would love for us to have at least one proper ball playing CB coming up, in fact, if I were a coach I would work as best as possible on a team with "ball playing everybody" GK included, that aside though wish him ah speedy recovery and a bright future ahead :beermug:
Post by: Tallman on February 06, 2019, 08:09:54 PM
Trinidad and Tobago U-20 Midfielder Luke Singh has gone on loan from Toronto FC to Danish Superliga club, Brøndby IF, for the remainder of the 2018/19 season. (https://brondby.com/nyhed/2019/01/31/broendby-if-lejer-luke-singh)
Post by: Deeks on February 06, 2019, 08:41:57 PM
So he recovered from the back injury?
Post by: asylumseeker on February 06, 2019, 09:09:09 PM
Trinidad and Tobago U-20 Midfielder Luke Singh has gone on loan from Toronto FC to Danish Superliga club, Brøndby IF, for the remainder of the 2018/19 season. (https://brondby.com/nyhed/2019/01/31/broendby-if-lejer-luke-singh)

:applause: Well done.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 06, 2019, 09:16:02 PM
So he recovered from the back injury?

It was described as minor in the translation. Perhaps the intervening days of rest/managed rest and care have been enough. Certainly gave him time to go back to Canada, see friends and family and recharge for Europe.
Post by: lefty on February 07, 2019, 04:27:00 PM
glad for him.....I feel in that environment he will likely get the prep he needs to develop at CB...if that is what the future holds for him....as said before, doh mind ah proper ball playing center back...with some conditioning who knows....... :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: lefty on February 13, 2019, 04:54:59 PM
was doing mih football student ting and remembered this......maybe luke might be able to compensate for his lack of physicality by being a lot more proactive and incorporate more predictive movement into his game as said he intercepts very well at times...dis fella does do he wuk with did minimum of force where able
https://www.youtube.com/v/5q1nXewu1Fs&t=8s
Post by: Tallman on January 10, 2021, 08:23:00 PM
WATCH: Highlights of former Trinidad and Tobago U-17 and U-20 defender Luke Singh

https://www.youtube.com/v/RyNYNB6DDTg
Title: Toronto FC sign defender Luke Singh to short-term agreement
Post by: Tallman on April 07, 2021, 03:14:37 PM
Toronto FC sign defender Luke Singh to short-term agreement
Toronto FC Communications

Toronto FC announced today that the club has signed defender Luke Singh to a short-term agreement for the Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League Round of 16 match against Club Leon on April 7. Per MLS rules, a club may sign players from the USL affiliate to short-term agreements for Concacaf Champions League, Canadian Championship, Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, and exhibition matches.

Singh, 20, signed with Toronto FC II on March 5, 2019, and was sent on loan to Danish football club Brøndby IF for the remainder of the 2019 season. He made 24 appearances and scored two goals for Brøndby. Before joining the Young Reds, Singh spent two seasons with the Toronto FC Academy. During the 2018 season, he appeared in 10 matches with the Toronto FC Academy U-18/U-19 team, registering one goal. Singh originally joined the Toronto FC Academy in January 2017.

Internationally, Singh has represented Trinidad & Tobago at the youth level at the Concacaf U-20 Championship.

TRANSACTION: Toronto FC signed defender Luke Singh to a four-day short-term agreement on April 6, 2021.

LUKE SINGH

Position: Defender

Height: 6’2

Weight: 164

Birthdate: September 12, 2000 (Age – 20)

Birthplace: Brampton, ON

Nationality: Canadian
Post by: lefty on April 07, 2021, 05:48:23 PM
would make a decent sitting "play making" DM in double pivot, unless he grew himself some tough shoulders for CB
Post by: Tallman on April 07, 2021, 08:03:54 PM
Came on in the 87th minute in th1 1-1 draw against Club León

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Eyam3CcW8AAdxob?format=jpg&name=medium)
Post by: Deeks on April 07, 2021, 10:39:41 PM
I saw the last 10 mins. Yes, he did play. Nothing to write home about. 3 mins. to the end. Not much he can do. But he took the cobo sweat. Congrats Luke!
Post by: frico on April 08, 2021, 01:17:47 PM
Luke Singh is 6ft 2inches and weighs 164 lbs,surely he should put on some weight in a couple years,I suppose his height makes him look slight.At the moment I can count several players in the EPL who is surely lighter than Luke Singh.
Post by: lefty on April 08, 2021, 02:08:20 PM
Luke Singh is 6ft 2inches and weighs 164 lbs,surely he should put on some weight in a couple years,I suppose his height makes him look slight.At the moment I can count several players in the EPL who is surely lighter than Luke Singh.

it have plenty "light" players dat could hold their own against imposing hefty players, he just was not physically "strong"  at any level in youth ball, great pass, good reader of the game and thus interceptor of passes, could could ketch ah flambo if yuh throw it, but put dat flambo on ah battering ram however and well........ :nailbiting:  :worried: :banginghead:
Post by: maxg on April 08, 2021, 02:18:19 PM
I saw the last 10 mins. Yes, he did play. Nothing to write home about. 3 mins. to the end. Not much he can do. But he took the cobo sweat. Congrats Luke!
Just because he was put in at all, shows they have a lot of confidence in his defence. In what position was he inserted, Deeks ?
Post by: Deeks on April 09, 2021, 02:28:44 PM
Just because he was put in at all, shows they have a lot of confidence in his defence. In what position was he inserted, Deeks ?

He came in at the stopper position. Like I said, 3 to 5 mins ..... you can't really guage some players. He stayed in position, did not venture in any attacks. I am not sure of a return game in TO. Canada still under lockdown. But I will be eagerly looking for when they play next. Hope he gets a run.
Post by: maxg on April 09, 2021, 02:46:06 PM

He came in at the stopper position. Like I said, 3 to 5 mins ..... you can't really guage some players. He stayed in position, did not venture in any attacks. I am not sure of a return game in TO. Canada still under lockdown. But I will be eagerly looking for when they play next. Hope he gets a run.
They seem to have a friendly against Inter Miami on Sunday. Maybe we will get another glimpse. (2 pm).
Post by: Deeks on April 09, 2021, 04:28:09 PM

They seem to have a friendly against Inter Miami on Sunday. Maybe we will get another glimpse. (2 pm).

TO playing Leon on April 14th at 6:00 pm. That is Eastern Time.

https://www.google.com/search?q=concacaf+champions+league+2021&rlz=1C1GCEB_enUS892US892&oq=&aqs=chrome.0.69i59i450l8.871259098j0j15&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8#sie=lg;/g/11hzgl6lcj;2;/m/03hhfdz;mt;fp;1;;
Post by: maxg on April 10, 2021, 06:25:18 AM
Yes, but if that contract isn’t extended, Mr Singh mighten even be in the stands that game.
Title: Toronto FC sign defender Luke Singh to short-term agreement
Post by: Tallman on April 13, 2021, 05:58:06 PM
Toronto FC sign defender Luke Singh to short-term agreement

Toronto FC announced today that the club has signed defender Luke Singh to a short-term agreement ahead of Wednesday’s Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League (SCCL) Round of 16 second leg matchup with Club Leon. Per MLS rules, clubs are allowed to sign players on loan from their USL affiliate to a maximum of four short-term agreements each season (maximum of 16 days).

Singh, 20, signed his first four-day contact with TFC on April 6, 2021, a day before the Reds’ first leg match with Club Leon, which ended in a 1-1 draw. Singh made his professional debut with the Reds in that game, coming on in the 87th minute. Singh joined Toronto FC II in March 2019 and was sent on loan to Danish football club Brøndby IF for the remainder of the 2019 season. He made 24 appearances and scored two goals for Brøndby. Before joining the Young Reds, Singh spent two seasons with the Toronto FC Academy. During the 2018 season, he appeared in 10 matches with the Toronto FC Academy U-18/U-19 team, registering one goal. Singh originally joined the Toronto FC Academy in January 2017.

Internationally, Singh has represented Trinidad & Tobago at the youth level at the Concacaf U-20 Championship. 
Post by: Tallman on April 14, 2021, 03:35:16 PM
Toronto FC defender Luke Singh is in the starting XI for the second leg of their Concacaf Champions League Round of 16 fixture against Club León.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Ey9klncWQAktuwy?format=jpg&name=large)
Post by: Deeks on April 14, 2021, 07:33:21 PM
Luke had a solid game today. Made no mistakes. Did not look flustered. Covered well. Played the ball out well.  Did well in heading out ball from high crosses. I think he has a future in TO first team. Actually could have scored a header from a corner kick. TO won 2-1. Should be 3-1. Goal disallowed for player judged off-side. Overall, very good performance, especially against a Mexican team. Should he be on the TT team. Yes. Wish we had a U-23 that can play some games. He would be a good leader and possible captain. TO advance to the quarters. TO is a very good team. They are based in Orlando, because of Canada's covid rules. Man, that playing surface looked SUPER.

Nick Deleon came on as a sub at forward. Nothing spectacular to talk about. He put a lot of pressure on the Leon backs. Had a half a chance in the box, but was bounced off by a Leon defender. Should he be on the TT team?  Good question ? Molino is out. So it is up to him to contact TTFA. Or the ones on the thread who insist he should be on the team, contact Terry or his surrogates to get him on board.
Post by: lefty on April 14, 2021, 07:54:07 PM
Luke had a solid game today. Made no mistakes. Did not look flustered. Covered well. Played the ball out well.  Did well in heading out ball from high crosses. I think he has a future in TO first team. Actually could have scored a header from a corner kick. TO won 2-1. Should be 3-1. Goal disallowed for player judged off-side. Overall, very good performance, especially against a Mexican team. Should he be on the TT team. Yes. Wish we had a U-23 that can play some games. He would be a good leader and possible captain. TO advance to the quarters. TO is a very good team. They are based in Orlando, because of Canada's covid rules. Man, that playing surface looked SUPER.

Nick Deleon came on as a sub at forward. Nothing spectacular to talk about. He put a lot of pressure on the Leon backs. Had a half a chance in the box, but was bounced off by a Leon defender. Should he be on the TT team?  Good question ? Molino is out. So it is up to him to contact TTFA. Or the ones on the thread who insist he should be on the team, contact Terry or his surrogates to get him on board.

yes he should!!!! did he deal with physicality well though ??? ???......dais d only issue I have with him....didn't handle dat kinda ting at all well in youth ball even as recently as U20.

I would say as a CCB in ah three back or DM
Post by: asylumseeker on April 15, 2021, 05:16:45 AM
At this stage, it is inconceivable that the concern expressed has escaped the scrutiny of directors of football. 

It seems not to preoccupy at least one social media call for Canada to pull him away from T&T.
Post by: Deeks on April 15, 2021, 05:23:26 AM

yes he should!!!! did he deal with physicality well though ??? ???......dais d only issue I have with him....didn't handle dat kinda ting at all well in youth ball even as recently as U20.

I would say as a CCB in ah three back or DM

did he deal with physicality well though ???

Lefty, you are on point there. He definitely needs to improve in that area. He is a six footer and has a good vertical leap. On one or two occasions I saw him running side by side with a forward. On one occasion the player just could not get off the shot. And the other occasion the the player over push the ball. He will have issues with stronger forwards or more wily players. He needs to go to the gym and muscle up a bit so that he can deal with more physical players, i.e Michael Antonio or L. Baily. I am not looking for a wild man Luke. He said that Van Djik is his idol. Then he really has to look at the films of VVD and see  how he uses his physicality
Post by: lefty on April 15, 2021, 06:49:38 AM
At this stage, it is inconceivable that the concern expressed has escaped the scrutiny of directors of football. 

It seems not to preoccupy at least one social media call for Canada to pull him away from T&T.

D man is ah ball playing CB he deserve d attention, I have seen his lack of strength cost goals though, make no mistake  though he would be ah first name on a team sheet for me, I just recognize he has issues with stronger  players so much so that he started to totally avoid shoulder to shoulder duels during our games and that was deeply concerning to me....d man have serious "libero-esque" quality  though
Post by: Deeks on April 15, 2021, 08:39:10 AM

D man is ah ball playing CB he deserve d attention, I have seen his lack of strength cost goals though, make no mistake  though he would be ah first name on a team sheet for me, I just recognize he has issues with stronger  players so much so that he started to totally avoid shoulder to shoulder duels during our games and that was deeply concerning to me....d man have serious "libero-esque" quality  though

Asylum, Lefty has a point there. But let's see how he does in the games coming up. At the mean time the socawarriors people in TT should remind Fenwick about him. He is no stranger.  He was a U20 TT. He has a passport  and thing already.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 15, 2021, 09:00:12 AM

Asylum, Lefty has a point there. But let's see how he does in the games coming up. At the mean time the socawarriors people in TT should remind Fenwick about him. He is no stranger.  He was a U20 TT. He has a passport  and thing already.

Agreed. No time like the present.
Title: Toronto FC signs defender Luke Singh on a four year contract
Post by: Tallman on April 16, 2021, 06:56:18 PM
Toronto FC signs defender Luke Singh on a four year contract

Toronto FC announced today that the club has signed defender Luke Singh as a Homegrown Player through 2025. Singh becomes the 26th player in club history to sign for the first team from the Toronto FC Academy.

“Luke is a talented young player, and we are excited to add him to the first team. He joined our club beginning with the academy, and then he progressed to TFC II. We began to integrate him more into the first team last year, and then this preseason he truly earned his MLS contract,” said Toronto FC General Manager Ali Curtis. “His training and also performances in Concacaf Champions League were excellent. He has a bright future, and we are looking forward to his continued development.”

Singh, 20, recently signed two short-term deals with Toronto FC to play the Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League (SCCL) Round of 16 matches against Club Leon. He made his professional debut with Toronto FC when he came on in the 87th minute on April 7, 2021. The defender earned his first start for TFC in the 2-1 victory over Leon on April 14.

He joined Toronto FC II in March 2019 and was sent on loan to Danish football club Brøndby IF for the remainder of the 2019 season. He made 24 appearances and scored two goals for Brøndby. Before joining the Young Reds, Singh spent two seasons with the Toronto FC Academy. During the 2018 season, he appeared in 10 matches with the Toronto FC Academy U-18/U-19 team, registering one goal. Singh originally joined the Toronto FC Academy in January 2017. Internationally, Singh has represented Trinidad & Tobago at the youth level at the Concacaf U-20 Championship.

TRANSACTION: Toronto FC signed defender Luke Singh as a Homegrown Player through 2025.

LUKE SINGH

Position: Defender

Height: 6’2

Weight: 170 lbs.

Birthdate: September 12, 2000 (Age – 20)

Birthplace: Brampton, ON

Nationality: Canadian
Post by: maxg on April 16, 2021, 09:07:13 PM
 :applause: :wavetowel: :chilling:
Finally,
Another somebody to watch.
Post by: Deeks on April 17, 2021, 02:41:01 AM
Congrats!!!
Post by: maxg on April 17, 2021, 01:50:01 PM
They are playing him out of position, basically 3 at back, with him left, and he’s lost for the pace of the wingers. He doesn’t close down nor tackle fast enough. They should be playing 4 at back. Mtl is beating them on the wings and isolating the back 3. Toronto mids were nowhere in any of the goals. He doesn’t look like an answer to TT defensive woes, but he’s young, he will improve if given the opportunity. 4-1 , 11 minutes left. DeLeon on as well. Nothing special.

Add: Singh seems quite comfortable with the ball at his feet, and aware and confident with his distribution. Deleon seems to be in an attacking role, but hardly getting played in.

Final: 4-2
Anybody else saw it.
Post by: kounty on April 17, 2021, 02:36:30 PM
They are playing him out of position, basically 3 at back, with him left, and he’s lost for the pace of the wingers. He doesn’t close down nor tackle fast enough. They should be playing 4 at back. Mtl is beating them on the wings and isolating the back 3. Toronto mids were nowhere in any of the goals. He doesn’t look like an answer to TT defensive woes, but he’s young, he will improve if given the opportunity. 4-1 , 11 minutes left. DeLeon on as well. Nothing special.

Add: Singh seems quite comfortable with the ball at his feet, and aware and confident with his distribution. Deleon seems to be in an attacking role, but hardly getting played in.

Anybody else saw it.

I find your opening paragraph was real apologetic  ;D. I didn't see the 1st 2 goals but the last one, the man cut right by him and he ent stick a foot nuttin. I agree with you that he don't shy way from the ball at his feet and that if he manage to stay in the TO first squad he should improve some by the end of the season.
Post by: Tallman on April 17, 2021, 03:16:00 PM

Anybody else saw it.

I didn't see the game, but he he looked lost on the last three goals they conceded. On the second goal, he got beaten for pace, but it's unforgivable that he didn't even get a tackle in, and his body language suggested that he gave up. On the other goals he was flat footed and looked like a deer caught in headlights. It's only his second 90 minutes as a professional and he's only 20 years old, so he has time to grow and learn.

WATCH: Goal #2 (https://twitter.com/MLS/status/1383491149885628418)

WATCH: Goal #3 (https://twitter.com/MLS/status/1383504193835606017)

WATCH: Goal #4 (https://twitter.com/MLS/status/1383507424120737801)

Post by: maxg on April 17, 2021, 03:47:25 PM
Yes. Doh I didn't want to be to negative. He was lost when wingers run at him, speed might be his weakness. I think he might of figured I will just slow them down till help comes. The Mtl wingers say "eh heh, u not tacklin. FOOD"  :devil:
Help didn't come, to much space. TO does need 4 at back, from what I see of their setup. When he don't have that pressure doh, his touch is exceptional. I don't see him helping our NT just yet, but I do think - at 20 yr - he's good for the future.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 17, 2021, 03:48:36 PM
Quioto achieved separation from Singh. By the time Singh caught up, Singh's only real option was risking a card.  However the initial problem wasn't the foot race, it was his positioning. In any event, TOR as a collective risked that because they set the conditions for Singh to be isolated with Quioto. Unless he transforms into a Gentile mentality, he better not be isolated ever.

Post by: asylumseeker on April 17, 2021, 03:50:25 PM
Yes. Doh I didn't want to be to negative. He was lost when wingers run at him, speed might be his weakness. I think he might of figured I will just slow them down till help comes. The Mtl wingers say "eh heh, u not tacklin. FOOD"  :devil:
Help didn't come, to much space. TO does need 4 at back, from what I see of their setup. When he don't have that pressure doh, his touch is exceptional. I don't see him helping our NT just yet, but I do think - at 20 yr - he's good for the future.

He can help. But not in that role.
Post by: lefty on April 17, 2021, 08:39:15 PM
why dey play he as a flanking CB he not strong or fast enough for dat, CCB, even though alyuh may not agree is a better fit, he does interceptions, dais about it, read ah angle cut it off, done, yuh cyah really cut passing lanes as a wide CB as effectively if yuh slow and not physical......

I could only give Chelsea examples dese days but look at Christensen, he more or less in d same boat as Singh,doh deal well with speed and strength too good, yet after Thiago Silva he is second choice CCB in front ah Zouma dat have 6 goals...dais more than Werner have ???, He would fit in d middle of ah three or not as CB at all, DM maybe....

But it seems that his physical strength issues are compounded by mental strength issues so.......hhhhm :-\
Post by: Deeks on April 17, 2021, 09:46:11 PM
I did not see the game but from the highlights, he is a work in progress. I may have been over presumptious in my analysis of him, but what we saw of him in the clips is reason for concern. I do want him on the national team, but he has to bring much more. He has some serious work ahead of him  if he wants to retain his place in TOR and make the national.  I think he is more suited for a center back. He will need a very mobile partner at CB to keep his cover. He is DEFINITELY NOT a wingback. And to play a 3 back system with speedy opposing players is a recipe for disaster. The TOR coach may have to change his tactics and formations. He has about 2 years to improve if he wants to make an impact. He is 20 not 16 or 18. He has to improve fast.
Post by: Storeboy on April 19, 2021, 07:33:26 AM
So, shouldn't Luke Singh be one of the young players Terry Fenwick call up? What is he waiting on?
Post by: maxg on April 19, 2021, 02:48:03 PM
So, shouldn't Luke Singh be one of the young players Terry Fenwick call up? What is he waiting on?
Money? Gary ? Youtube? Hadad ? Lasana ? Somebody else to develop the youth further ? Canada to call him to camp ? All of the above ?   :devil:
Post by: maxg on April 24, 2021, 02:03:51 PM
In better position today (cb), and from analysts seems more comfortable. Didn’t see the 1 st half. Scored.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 24, 2021, 02:19:31 PM
The more successful he is in uncapped status, the less excited ...
Post by: maxg on April 24, 2021, 04:45:48 PM
The more successful he is in uncapped status, the less excited ...
Don`t worry, if we don`t Canada surely will. Then you`ll see excitement to embarrass him, but as usual they would only embarrass themselves.

add: Either way I still a fan even as I was of Kerron Clement, De Leon, Bostock, St Clair, The Roberts boys and my own children  :beermug:
Post by: Tallman on April 24, 2021, 05:14:57 PM
WATCH: Defender Luke Singh scores his 1st career goal to give Toronto FC a 1-0 lead over Vancouver Whitecaps

https://www.youtube.com/v/O_uXZS7gMSU?start=29
Post by: Deeks on April 25, 2021, 07:59:22 AM
Congrats! Keep it up. Work in progress!
Post by: Storeboy on April 26, 2021, 09:22:55 AM
We should be trying to cap as many of our foreign youth players as possible as we have such a small pool before they get picked up by other nations. If he could play for Toronto, he at least have the potential to play for our senior team after already represented TT at the Junior level. Our administration is sleeping.
Post by: kounty on April 26, 2021, 03:26:17 PM
Yes, please cap this man for Gold Cup qualifiers vs Montserrat or something, but also this man need ah lessons on defensive heading on free kicks...bad.
Post by: Deeks on April 26, 2021, 04:04:35 PM
Yes, please cap this man for Gold Cup qualifiers vs Montserrat or something, but also this man need ah lessons on defensive heading on free kicks...bad.

What if he hedging now? And it is unbelievable that Fenwick don't know about him.
Post by: maxg on April 26, 2021, 04:49:47 PM

What if he hedging now? And it is unbelievable that Fenwick don't know about him.
Well his scout know bout him    :devil:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RyNYNB6DDTg
Post by: Deeks on April 26, 2021, 05:00:21 PM

Well his scout know bout him    :devil:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RyNYNB6DDTg

Well if he on youtube, then Fenwick has to known about him. Plus he is a U-20. What is the excuse? If DL was the coach, he would have been getting pong day and night.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 26, 2021, 05:44:08 PM
Isn't that the same video posted here by TM some months ago?
Post by: ffisback on April 26, 2021, 07:26:16 PM
L Singh does not look like the type of defender Terry Fenwick would want on his team.
Post by: maxg on April 26, 2021, 10:23:55 PM
Isn't that the same video posted here by TM some months ago?
Certainly is. So Fenwick video scouts already in the know. Maybe he thinks he already have that position filled with ppl he know now. So why bother bring someone for the future for another coach to benefit.
Post by: palos on April 27, 2021, 05:44:59 PM
First time I saw Luke Singh play was this past weekend and he scored.

Good for him.

He has raw materials to work with.  Tall, strong, decent pace, decent in the tackle, heart.   Needs to work on technical skills and positioning.

Lots to work with.  Good luck to him.
Post by: Deeks on April 27, 2021, 05:56:40 PM
So I wonder what Luke will be thinking when he reads the piece by Lasana about Haddad , the NC and stipend for the players. Allyuh know he weighing his options
Post by: Deeks on May 04, 2021, 09:41:30 PM
Toronto playing Cruz Azul now. I am seeing Luke on Toronto. TO losing 1-0.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 05, 2021, 06:16:48 AM

Unfortunately the matches coincided. I had to abandon meh cementeros to ketch de futsal. Also didn't expect a different outcome.
Post by: Deeks on May 05, 2021, 03:55:30 PM

Unfortunately the matches coincided. I had to abandon meh cementeros to ketch de futsal. Also didn't expect a different outcome.

Sorry, I made a mistype here. I did not see Luke on the Toronto team last night, I meant to say. They lost 1-0.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 01, 2021, 05:21:44 AM
A tale of two countries: Singh agrees to train with Canada, before he joins Soca Warriors
Lasana Liburd Monday 31 May 2021 Global Football, National Football, Volley 2 Comments

Twenty-year-old Toronto FC central defender Luke Singh will take an extraordinary detour en route to representing the Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Senior Team in a do-or-die Qatar 2022 World Cup qualifier against St Kitts and Nevis, after accepting an invitation to train with the Canada national team this week.

https://wired868.com/2021/05/31/a-tale-of-two-countries-singh-agrees-to-train-with-canada-before-he-joins-soca-warriors/

Post by: gawd on pitch on June 01, 2021, 07:19:46 AM

A tale of two countries: Singh agrees to train with Canada, before he joins Soca Warriors
Lasana Liburd Monday 31 May 2021 Global Football, National Football, Volley 2 Comments

Twenty-year-old Toronto FC central defender Luke Singh will take an extraordinary detour en route to representing the Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Senior Team in a do-or-die Qatar 2022 World Cup qualifier against St Kitts and Nevis, after accepting an invitation to train with the Canada national team this week.

https://wired868.com/2021/05/31/a-tale-of-two-countries-singh-agrees-to-train-with-canada-before-he-joins-soca-warriors/

So in otherwords. . "Au revoir Luke". . If he doesn't make the CAN team, which I think he won't, he will be back. However, I doubt we will take him back.
Post by: lefty on June 01, 2021, 07:30:21 AM
Would really like to keep him he is the one of the few defender we have displayed industry in his passin 

Post by: ABTrini on June 01, 2021, 07:31:10 AM
We should be trying to cap as many of our foreign youth players as possible as we have such a small pool before they get picked up by other nations. If he could play for Toronto, he at least have the potential to play for our senior team after already represented TT at the Junior level. Our administration is sleeping.

With all due respect to these  youths whose dreams probably are filled with representing their country of birth - as are the home grown youths of TnT . Should we be relying on the cultivation of foreign born nationals who because of a parentage may chose option B ?  This  way of thinking is at the expense of the proper development, program infrastructure and opportunities of our local youths . The focus should be on nurturing own local product-
There is a residual colonial thinking which permeates our perception that local is never good enough. Witness opportunities  to include  a young u capped local player recently. Talk start about his fathers influence . The young man just want a chance- he went to Ireland  he grew up here his dreams were here with TnT. It's not a plan B or after thought?

Let's  create conditions to foster success in our local youths to aspire and to achieve for the greater good of TnT.
Post by: lefty on June 01, 2021, 08:18:48 AM
Locals are NOT good enough.....and the systems needed to help them get there are nonexistent because our administrators, coaches and governance in general isn't and has never been good enough.

The local system is completely devoid of growth or evolution 
Post by: Deeks on June 01, 2021, 12:21:59 PM
Locals are NOT good enough.....and the systems needed to help them get there are nonexistent because our administrators, coaches and governance in general isn't and has never been good enough.

Regardless of deficiencies in the local coaching, we need to strive to improve the local product somehow or the other.
Post by: lefty on June 01, 2021, 01:53:18 PM

Regardless of deficiencies in the local coaching, we need to strive to improve the local product somehow or the other.
that is what ah gettin at through d power of negative reinforcement :P
Post by: Deeks on June 01, 2021, 02:12:44 PM
Surinam just capped a whole lot of Dutch born players on their team.
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 01, 2021, 03:35:45 PM

Yep. I mentioned that in the CFU thread. And there are over 50 more that are eligible to represent them.

Barbados has also identified 3 premier league players. Also about another 10 playing in lower leagues.

Meanwhile we fighting for Fenwick to find at least 5. Lol
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 01, 2021, 04:17:00 PM

Yep. I mentioned that in the CFU thread. And there are over 50 more that are eligible to represent them.

Barbados has also identified 3 premier league players. Also about another 10 playing in lower leagues.

Fenwick just have to check tallman and ttfa orginal Talent Identification and Player Pool Programme to find some players.... :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: asylumseeker on June 01, 2021, 05:32:39 PM

Is the issue the finding or the capping?
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 01, 2021, 09:38:19 PM

Is the issue the finding or the capping?

Maybe both.
Post by: ABTrini on June 02, 2021, 06:07:18 AM

For those among us who can recall the  60's and 70's our system at one time produced teams that competed and held its own against Brazil Mexico and teams from LatinAmerica. Our squad at that time comprised primarily of locals.

So ask yourself what changed? How did some countries progressed and we regressed?
Post by: asylumseeker on June 02, 2021, 06:51:07 AM

For those among us who can recall the  60's and 70's our system at one time produced teams that competed and held its own against Brazil Mexico and teams from LatinAmerica. Our squad at that time comprised primarily of locals.

So ask yourself what changed? How did some countries progressed and we regressed?

The global environment of football. The past became the present. Not even the footballs that are used are the same.

We don't use history for its proper purpose.
Post by: lefty on June 02, 2021, 11:37:41 AM

The global environment of football. The past became the present. Not even the footballs that are used are the same.

We don't use history for its proper purpose.

cheers mate :beermug:
Post by: Andre on June 02, 2021, 06:18:52 PM

Everybody doing it. Look at lil Monserrat and Curacao sides.

Players with island roots always hoping to play for England or Holland or wherever. If it doh happen then they go check the islands. The latest big one so is Ivan Toney from Brentford. Jamaica want him but he hoping for England.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montserrat_national_football_team
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Curaçao_national_football_team
Post by: pull stones on June 03, 2021, 12:27:33 PM
I don’t think losing out on any of these players are a huge deal. for instance Luke Singh. He might be in the MLS but he’s not that outstanding. I think we do have defenders who are bigger assets than Luke, so no big loss there IMO. please wake me up when we lose out on a real big fish, like a jaden sancho or a Raheem sterling.
Post by: Tiresais on June 03, 2021, 01:09:16 PM
Luke has the potential to lead our defence for a long time, it is a big loss imo, but only time will tell if potential is realised.
Post by: Tallman on June 03, 2021, 06:37:28 PM
I don’t think losing out on any of these players are a huge deal. for instance Luke Singh. He might be in the MLS but he’s not that outstanding. I think we do have defenders who are bigger assets than Luke, so no big loss there IMO. please wake me up when we lose out on a real big fish, like jaden sancho and Raheem sterling.

By definition, big fish will not be interested in playing for us.
Post by: pull stones on June 04, 2021, 04:03:16 AM
I don’t think losing out on any of these players are a huge deal. for instance Luke Singh. He might be in the MLS but he’s not that outstanding. I think we do have defenders who are bigger assets than Luke, so no big loss there IMO. please wake me up when we lose out on a real big fish, like jaden sancho and Raheem sterling.

By definition, big fish will not be interested in playing for us.
true, but there might be the odd situation every once in all very long while like a dwight yorke or a kenwin Jones  ;D (pun intended). BTW in all honesty I don’t know why anyone in their right minds would want to play for us, even born and bred trinis. I was kind of relieved when bostock and de Leon turned us down for fear of them having to deal with the utter rubbish that our federation so readily dishes out to the players and management team.

those guys spared themselves a whole lot of agony and disappointment that’s for sure. Playing for TT as a foreign national is like spending the summer with a miserable sickly grandparent you never knew, once you experienced that first episode you tend to regret having reached out in the first place, and now you’re stuck with people you can’t stand.  :rotfl:
Post by: injunchile on June 04, 2021, 08:17:15 AM
Pride and Joy wearing the T&T colors, Not discounting the opportunity to make a world Cup.
Post by: ABTrini on June 05, 2021, 09:51:10 AM
Luke has the potential to lead our defence for a long time, it is a big loss imo, but only time will tell if potential is realised.

Cyar  lose something that was not yours and yuh never had- that's a big assertion to proclaim that he is that good potentially to lead this defence.

Theylu g man if Canadian and he is finally recognized to get a call up to their team tryouts - nice go cheer him on but his dream does not reside with TnT why should TnT continue to rely on the dream of players liike him being potential saviours for our team? He is a product of a ca Adrian football system- let's cultivate our system to produce the product we dream of one day.
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 05, 2021, 10:11:25 AM
Looks like he was not even selected to ride the pine on the CA team. I knew he wasn't going to make Canada.

https://www.canadasoccer.com/news/canada-announces-squad-for-fifa-world-cup-qatar-2022-qualifiers-in-june/

So the question now is whether a father accepts the "prodigal son" back. Let's see who contacts who first. .
Post by: asylumseeker on June 05, 2021, 10:29:41 AM
Looks like he was not even selected to ride the pine on the CA team. I knew he wasn't going to make Canada.

https://www.canadasoccer.com/news/canada-announces-squad-for-fifa-world-cup-qatar-2022-qualifiers-in-june/

So the question now is whether a father accepts the "prodigal son" back. Let's see who contacts who first. .

Wasn't that the premise? Wasn't he there to observe the vibe and to be vibed, not to be a contender this weekend?
Post by: asylumseeker on June 05, 2021, 10:34:13 AM

Cyar  lose something that was not yours and yuh never had- that's a big assertion to proclaim that he is that good potentially to lead this defence.

Theylu g man if Canadian and he is finally recognized to get a call up to their team tryouts - nice go cheer him on but his dream does not reside with TnT why should TnT continue to rely on the dream of players liike him being potential saviours for our team? He is a product of a ca Adrian football system- let's cultivate our system to produce the product we dream of one day.

The battle is to be waged on both fronts, not one. Argentina didn't retain Messi by chance.
Post by: Tiresais on June 06, 2021, 11:23:15 AM

More a statement on how poor our defence has become that I can say it with confidence. Scouts rate him highly, unlikely to play Premiership in the future but good enough for us.
Post by: maxg on June 06, 2021, 10:16:49 PM

Didn't he play U17 and U20 for TT, not Canada ? How come he wasn't ours ? That's why everybody in our region will grow, while we better than everyone else in our mind. That representation makes him ours, whether we use/keep him or he decide not to wallow in mud that constantly smelling like shit, he must always be ours. As the JA poster say, if a dog born at sea, is still a dog. If a Jamaican born anywhere, is still a Jamaican.
Post by: Bianconeri on June 07, 2021, 12:43:12 PM

As Asylumseeker stated

he wasn't being considered for the game
If he made it it would have been a surprise
He went to experience the camp and was a guest along with about 10 others.

Post by: ABTrini on July 01, 2021, 04:23:27 PM

Time to come begging now for a crack at TNT? I say fck no!!  TnT should not be a second option. Here is where I would give a local who bussing dey arse ah chance.

As Asylumseeker stated

Post by: ABTrini on July 01, 2021, 04:41:52 PM

Time to come begging now for a crack at TNT? I say fck no!!  TnT should not be a second option. Here is where I would give a local who bussing dey arse ah chance.

As Asylumseeker stated

Understand  -  but it TnT at a time when is all hands on deck-  yuh either committed  or  go fishing. Dat come like  a man go to visit ah whore house saying I eh  going  fuh ah bull ah just going tuh see- ah sure if a crack did open  he snatching dat up.
Post by: pull stones on July 02, 2021, 03:36:11 AM

As Asylumseeker stated

Understand  -  but it TnT at a time when is all hands on deck-  yuh either committed  or  go fishing. Dat come like  a man go to visit ah whore house saying I eh  going  fuh ah bull ah just going tuh see- ah sure if a crack did open  he snatching dat up.
who wants to play for this messy federation, especially when they have options to be part of a better team in a far more wholesome environment? it’s like asking someone to leave the dinner table to go outside and eat out the trash can, how does that make any sense unless you’re a mad man of some sort?
Post by: Tallman on September 12, 2021, 08:52:31 AM
WATCH: Luke Singh buries a fee-kick inside the near post during Toronto FC II's 2-1 loss to Union Omaha

https://www.youtube.com/v/1b-2EF6cxKo?start=67
Title: FC Edmonton acquires Luke Singh on loan from Toronto FC
Post by: Tallman on March 03, 2022, 12:09:42 PM
FC Edmonton acquires Luke Singh on loan from Toronto FC
fcedmonton.canpl.ca

FC Edmonton confirmed they have acquired defender Luke Singh on loan from Toronto FC (MLS) today.

Singh, a 21-year-old native of Brampton, Ontario, broke into the TFC first team in 2021, making eight appearances for the club — including two in the Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League against Mexican side Léon. He has been a part of Toronto’s youth system since 2017, having played for the Reds at various reserve levels including both Toronto FC III in League1 Ontario and Toronto FC II in USL League One. He also spent a brief period in 2019 on loan with Danish club Brøndby, where he made 24 appearances between the reserve and U-19 teams.

After representing Trinidad and Tobago at several youth levels, Singh accepted a call-up to the Canadian senior national team in June 2021 and participated in a camp, though he did not see any game action. He’s still eligible to play for Trinidad at the international level.

Singh is a solid athletic centre-back with good aerial ability, and he’s comfortable on the ball with both feet.

“We are excited to embrace Luke with our team this season,” said Alan Koch, Head Coach FC Edmonton. “He is a talented young player with some excellent professional football experiences already. I am excited to work with him, push him to help develop his game further, and hopefully have him aid in team success.”

FC Edmonton will kick the season off at home on Sunday April 10 against Valour FC at 2pm MT at Clarke Stadium.
Post by: kounty on March 04, 2022, 09:41:34 AM
I like the news on Luke  :beermug: Keep improving Brother and please keep Sweet TnT in mind. Hope you get (and answer) all the callups soon.
Post by: Tallman on February 08, 2023, 09:01:58 PM
After a season on loan in the CPL, defender Luke Singh looks to stick with Toronto FC
By Neil Davidson (The Canadian Press)

After being thrown into the deep end with Toronto FC in 2021, defender Luke Singh found himself facing different challenges last season on loan with FC Edmonton.

And while he relished the opportunity he got in the Canadian Premier League, the 22-year-old admits playing for a franchise in limbo wasn’t easy.

The CPL took over the club in December 2021 while the search for new ownership continued. Fellow CPL teams sent players out on loan to Edmonton to help fill out the troubled team’s roster. The league eventually folded the franchise in November after it finished last in the standings at 4-16-8.

“It was a really different situation for me. Just because we had no owner,” said Singh. “We were missing a lot of staff from different departments.”

With just one physio on hand, players took their turn for treatment.

Still, the players, many of whom lived together, bonded after being shipped to a team with an uncertain future.

“I wouldn’t say (we were) the leftovers but nobody had their egos,” said Singh. “We all just played freely. We all played just to prove ourselves.”

“It was more like a family … There was a nice vibe with the team,” he added.

Singh played in 23 games for Edmonton, logging 2,012 minutes, and led the team with 1,010 passes.

“It was nice to just get a game every week,” he said.

A rash of injuries in the 2021 pre-season rocketed Singh up the Toronto depth chart. In April 2021, he signed two short-term deals with the MLS side to play in Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League round-of-16 matches against Mexico’s Club Leon.

Then-manager Chris Armas gave Singh his pro debut with Toronto when he came off the bench in the 87th minute in the first game against Leon on April 7.

“I felt like I wanted to cry after,” Singh said. “You always dream of making your debut.”

He made his first start for Toronto in the April 14 rematch. Two days later he signed as a homegrown player through 2025, becoming the 26th player in club history to join the first team from the TFC academy.

Singh then started league matches at Montreal and against Vancouver in Orlando, one of TFC’s pandemic homes, where he scored in the seventh minute of a 2-2 tie, tapping in the deflection of Omar Gonzalez’s header.

“I was ecstatic. I couldn’t believe it,” he said recalling the goal.

Playing opportunities dried up, however, and he finished the 2021 season having made eight appearances in all competitions.

“It was definitely an up-and-down year for me,” said Singh. “Just getting thrown in games sometimes. But that’s how it is.”

Back in camp with TFC, Singh is taking it day-by-day.

“I’m taking it one training session at a time. I’m not worried about anything else right now. I’m just worried about this pre-season. Just to be in the squad and training with these top guys is always a pleasure.”

Toronto coach Bob Bradley says Singh reported to camp “fitter (and) leaner” this season and had a better understanding of what’s expected.

“He’s had a much better start to this year than he did last year. So that’s positive,” Bradley added. “I don’t think a final decision has been made on his status.”

While Singh had proved in the past he is a good passer when he has time on the ball, Bradley said the young defender needed to improve his footwork and mobility.

“I think that he understood coming into this pre-season that he needed to prepare better than he did a year ago. And so I would give him credit that so far the work in pre-season has improved,” the coach said.

Singh tried out unsuccessfully for the Toronto FC academy at 13. He was a midfielder at the time but the tryout came as a right back.

He made the grade in 2017 as a 17-year-old, with academy coaches shifting him to centre back from midfield.

In 2019, Singh joined Toronto FC II and, as an 18-year-old, was sent on loan in March to Denmark’s Brondby IF for the remainder of the season, scoring two goals in 24 appearances.

“Probably the best football year I had, to be honest,” Singh said.

In Denmark he learned from the likes of Brondby teammate Hany Mukhtar, who went on to earn MLS MVP honours in 2022 with Nashville SC.

“A lot of them (Brondby players) were looking out for me,” Singh said. “Nobody there had egos.”

Singh was 13 when he made his debut in the Canadian youth program at an identification camp in 2014. Singh went on to represent Trinidad and Tobago, his parents’ home country, at youth level.

Both Trinidad and Canada reached out to him ahead of the 2021 Gold Cup. He opted to see what life was like in the Canada camp but as yet to choose his international future.

“I don’t know right now what I’ll do,” he said.
Post by: royal on February 08, 2023, 09:20:23 PM
Haven’t seen him in the CPL but I’ve seen him play many times …..not  impress.He’s definitely not better than what we have right now.
Post by: maxg on February 09, 2023, 07:51:55 AM
Haven’t seen him in the CPL but I’ve seen him play many times …..not  impress.He’s definitely not better than what we have right now.
He must be own shares in TFC.  ::)
Post by: lefty on February 13, 2023, 02:12:00 PM
dude is a DM at best still not dealing with shoulder to shoulder situations comfortable, can cut out a pass and pass with decent vision, honestly him and a prime younger Bateau woulda make a decent double pivot with he box to box runnin.....but I does get nightmares anytime I see dat dude in we backline
Post by: ABTrini on February 13, 2023, 06:46:04 PM
dude is a DM at best still not dealing with shoulder to shoulder situations comfortable, can cut out a pass and pass with decent vision, honestly him and a prime younger Bateau woulda make a decent double pivot with he box to box runnin.....but I does get nightmares anytime I see dat dude in we backline
The dude announced his expectation to play elsewhere why we dogging players who eh care about playing fuh TnT?
Post by: kounty on February 14, 2023, 03:48:21 PM

Lewwe check out the squad against St Maarten's as representative of what we have now:

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Defenders:

Alvin Jones, Isaiah Garcia, Jesse Williams, Ross Russell Jr., Leland Archer, Weslie John, Justin Garcia, Darnell Hospedales, Jameel Neptune;

These are the 9 that you referring to that DEFINITELY better than Luke Singh? Or it have others?

I mean as a small nation I want to be sure what we "throwing away" really have no value.

I like Jesse Williams, and hope that he still at Pittsburg Riverhounds at least.  If so I could see saying he better.
Alvin Jones stuck at "with potential" for so long now I almost completely lose faith but hope is still true that he at Forward Maddison and then maybe he too. 

But maybe you can educate me on the others.
At this current time what make them better?

(Aubrey go be hitting a 36 time next WC).
Post by: Tallman on February 14, 2023, 04:47:06 PM

Lewwe check out the squad against St Maarten's as representative of what we have now:

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Defenders:

Alvin Jones, Isaiah Garcia, Jesse Williams, Ross Russell Jr., Leland Archer, Weslie John, Justin Garcia, Darnell Hospedales, Jameel Neptune;

These are the 9 that you referring to that DEFINITELY better than Luke Singh? Or it have others?

I mean as a small nation I want to be sure what we "throwing away" really have no value.

I like Jesse Williams, and hope that he still at Pittsburg Riverhounds at least.  If so I could see saying he better.
Alvin Jones stuck at "with potential" for so long now I almost completely lose faith but hope is still true that he at Forward Maddison and then maybe he too. 

But maybe you can educate me on the others.
At this current time what make them better?

(Aubrey go be hitting a 36 time next WC).

Jesse Williams is no longer with Pittsburgh Riverhounds. While he was there he made 6 appearances out of an available 33 league matches for a grand total of 147 minutes. He started twice and never played a full game. He made one appearance in the Open Cup, lasting 76 minutes.

Alvin is 28 years old and playing in USL League One. When he was attached to Real Salt Lake in the MLS, he did not make any appearances in the league.
Post by: Tallman on March 02, 2023, 11:46:45 AM
Atlético Ottawa sign defender Luke Singh on loan from Toronto FC
canpl.ca

Atlético Ottawa has secured a loan deal with Toronto FC for 22-year-old centre-back, Luke Singh. The versatile defender came up through the TFC Academy and made his debut for the first team in the MLS in April 2021.

Singh went on to make six appearances in the MLS, as well as playing in the Concacaf Champions League against Club León (Mexico), before joining FC Edmonton on loan for the 2022 CPL season, featuring 24 times.

“Luke is a young player who had an impressive season in the Canadian Premier League last year during a difficult season for FC Edmonton,” said Carlos Gonzalez, Head Coach, Atlético Ottawa. “He has shown good strength of character and will be eager to prove himself this season. He is a strong defender with a good passing range and, his ability to play with both feet adds increased depth and versatility to our defensive line.”

Singh’s journey to professional soccer began with North Mississauga SC and Brampton Youth SC, as well as representing the Team Ontario Provincial program. He joined Toronto FC’s Academy in 2017 and went on to play for TFC III in League 1 Ontario, TFC II in USL League One as well as spending a year on loan with Bröndby IF (Denmark). Singh has represented Trinidad and Tobago at the youth level but is yet to decide on his international future having attended a Canada training camp ahead of the Gold Cup in 2021.

“We are excited to have Luke join our team on loan for the upcoming season,” said Fernando López, CEO, Atlético Ottawa. “His experience playing in the MLS and abroad, combined with his youth and potential, make him a valuable addition to our squad for this season. We look forward to helping him in his professional development as well as growing our relationship with Toronto FC.”

Atlético Ottawa 2023 Roster as of February 23, 2023

Goalkeepers: Nathan Ingham (CAN), Sean Melvin (CAN)

Defenders: Miguel Acosta (ESP), Maxim Tissot (CAN), Niba Macdonald (CAN), Zachary Roy (CAN), Karl Ouimette (CAN), Diego Espejo (ESP), Luke Singh (CAN)

Midfielders: Zachary Verhoven (CAN), Carl Haworth (CAN), Zakaria Bahous (CAN), Ollie Bassett (NI), Noah Verhoeven (CAN), Gabriel Antinoro (CAN), Junior Agyekum (CAN)*

Forwards: Malcolm Shaw (CAN), Jean-Aniel Assi (CAN), Samuel Salter (CAN), Gianni dos Santos (CPV)

*On trial following U-Sports Draft
Post by: Tallman on September 02, 2023, 08:50:19 PM
Luke Singh scores his first goal in the Canadian Premier League with an outrageous acrobatic volley during Atlético Ottawa's 2-1 loss to Cavalry FC

https://www.youtube.com/v/Wj1lz2XBI3A?start=304
Post by: Tallman on March 22, 2024, 12:56:25 PM
Atlético Ottawa welcomes Luke Singh back on loan from Toronto FC
atleticoottawa.canpl.ca

Atlético Ottawa has bolstered its defensive ranks, as Toronto FC defender Luke Singh has returned to the nation’s capital on loan for a second successive season.

Singh’s return follows a successful loan spell with in Ottawa in 2023, during which he emerged as a key figure in our backline. The versatile defender was rewarded for his performances on the international stage, earning his debut for Trinidad and Tobago in June of that year. His standout moment came with a spectacular goal against Cavalry FC at TD Place, a strike that earned plaudits as the best of the season.

Expressing his enthusiasm about rejoining the team, Singh stated, “I’m really excited to be back. Last year I learned to be a better person, as well as a better player and teammate. I love the environment and staff on offer at Atlético. I honestly loved being in Ottawa, and I’m really excited to come back.”

Singh’s impact on the field was significant during his previous stint with Atlético Ottawa. Making 25 league appearances, he became a linchpin in Head Coach Carlos González’s defensive setup, often dictating play from the back. Notably, Singh led the team in several statistical categories, including passes completed, blocks, clearances, and recoveries.

“We are glad to have Luke return,” said Atlético Ottawa’s Head Coach, Carlos González. “We already know that he is a player with very good physical and technical abilities, which makes him have a great impact on the team’s offensive game. During last season we witnessed great growth in his ability to compete and we are sure that he will continue to evolve due to his good natural conditions and youth.”

With Singh already joining his teammates in Mexico for preseason preparations, Atlético Ottawa has two final scrimmages left ahead of returning to Canada as we enter the final couple of weeks ahead of the new CPL campaign. Don’t miss a second of the thrilling actions and electric atmosphere at TD Place by securing your season seats today. Click here for more information.
Post by: lil damo on March 22, 2024, 03:49:13 PM
Good to see more of our players in the CPL. He needs the playing time and the standard in this league is good.