Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on April 12, 2019, 12:35:18 AM

Title: Thread for T&T vs Panama Game (18-Jun-2019)
Post by: Flex on April 12, 2019, 12:35:18 AM
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs Panama (https://www.goldcup.org/en/gold-cup/game-detail/476769#tab_match=match-details) Gold Cup game at the Allianz Field in St. Paul on the 18th of June 2019 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

To be updated.

Possible TV Station.

To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers:

Adrian Foncette (Police FC), Marvin Phillip (Central FC), Gregory Ranjitsingh (Orlando City—USA);

Defenders:

Alvin Jones (OKC Energy FC—USA), Aubrey David (Deportivo Saprissa—Costa Rica), Daneil Cyrus (Al Orobah—Saudi Arabia), Carlyle Mitchell (La Horquetta Rangers), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Mekeil Williams (Oklahoma City Energy FC—USA);

Midfielders:

Kevan George (Charlotte Independence—USA), Neveal Hackshaw (Indy Eleven—USA), Akeem Humphrey (Club Sando), Leston Paul (Memphis 901 FC—USA), Khaleem Hyland (Al Faisaly FC—Saudi Arabia), Duane Muckette (Memphis 901 FC—USA), Cordell Cato (Oklahoma City Energy FC—USA), Levi Garcia (Kiryat Shmona—Israel), Kevin Molino (Minnesota United—USA), Nathan Lewis (Lansing Ignite—USA), Lester Peltier (Al Orobah—Saudi Arabia), Jomal Williams (W Connection), Joevin Jones (Seattle Sounders—USA);

Forward:

Shahdon Winchester (W Connection).

Coach - Dennis Lawrence (TRI).

Panama Squad

Goalkeepers

To be updated.

Defenders

To be updated.

Midfielders

To be updated.

Forwards

To be updated.

Coach - .

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

Title: Re: Thread for T&T vs Panama Game (18-Jun-2016)
Post by: soccerman on June 17, 2019, 08:22:56 AM
Goodluck to the team. Hope we can start the tournament with a positive result.
Title: Re: Thread for T&T vs Panama Game (18-Jun-2019)
Post by: ffisback on June 17, 2019, 12:47:27 PM
I predict 3 draws
Post by: Tallman on June 17, 2019, 03:05:52 PM
I predict 3 draws

You are correct.

(https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/f~sAAOSwSppc3VMK/s-l1600.jpg)
Post by: Deeks on June 17, 2019, 05:11:11 PM
Change the grey to red!!!
Post by: Tallman on June 17, 2019, 09:44:39 PM
WATCH: Head Coach Dennis Lawrence and midfielder Leston Paul at the Panama vs T&T pre-match press conference.

https://www.youtube.com/v/XIDxEp3wLpc
Post by: Flex on June 17, 2019, 11:47:24 PM
T&T goes for opening win against Panama.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Men will be aiming to start their 2019 CONCACAF Gold Cup campaign on a winning note when they face off with Panama in the first Group D match of a double header at Allianz Field in Minnesota on Tuesday.T&T will raise the curtains from 6:30pm (7:30pm TT time) with the United States taking on Guyana from 9:00pm

Allianz is the home venue of Kevin Molino’s Minnesota United and the T&T squad got their first feel of the venue as head coach Dennis Lawrence conducted the official training session on Monday evening. A capacity crowd of 19,000 is expected for the double header.

T&T’s last Gold Cup outing was a quarter final encounter with the Panamanians in the quarter finals of the 2015 competition. T&T went out 6-5 on penalties after nine rounds of kicks following a 1-1 scoreline after extra time. T&T then won a home 2018 World Cup qualifier 1-0 on a Kevin Molino winner before losing 3-0 in Panama City.

“At this point in time I don’t think history will play a part,” Hyland told TTFA Media. “This is a new competition. There are new faces on board, new ambitions, new atmosphere, in a different country and none of us are home. It’s all up for the grabs so we have to take front before front takes us and hopefully we can get the three points,” he added.

“The mood is great and everyone is gelling and doing their tasks that they have been asked to do by the head coach and the staff. In every major tournament your first game is one of the most important and in these tournaments you have to take it game by game. This game game we know is going to be a difficult one. We know the strengths of Panama and we know they are a hardworking team but we have to match them throughout the game,” Hyland continued.

The Saudi Arabia based midfielder, formerly of Belgium side Racing Genk had a brief message for the T&T faithful, saying “I just want the fans to keep faith in us. This is your team. We believe in ourselves and you have to believe in us and it will only happen if we come together as one country, one nation and that’s the only way things will get better… by supporting each other.”

Meantime, defender Aubrey David has joined theTrinidad and Tobago Men’s team for the 2019 CONCACAF Gold Cup.
Following a lengthy delay, David was granted his US Visa on Friday and linked up with teammates in the United States. He comes into the 23-man squad for Charleston Battery defender Leland Archer who will leave the camp on Wednesday following the opening group match versus Panama on Tuesday.David who plays for Deportivo Saprissa in Costa Rica,  is eligible for Tuesday’s match.

Fans can view the matches on Fox Soccer Soccer Plus, Fox Sports 2, Univision or Concacafgo.com

Lawrence and Leston Paul at #GoldCup2019 PreMatch Press Conference (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XIDxEp3wLpc)

Post by: Peong on June 18, 2019, 08:54:55 AM
Good luck and God bless to the team, and to us long-suffering fans.  Ah really lookin forward to a good game tonight. 
Any kind of win for us will do; convincing, scrappy, last-gasp, anything.

Anybody know if this competition have VAR?
Post by: Tallman on June 18, 2019, 09:15:38 AM

No VAR
Post by: Cocorite on June 18, 2019, 11:18:15 AM

No VAR
VAR? No VAR for Concacaf!
Dat zone go be left in the half
Let dem wait another year or two
De Ref an’ dem go impromptu
Whenever there is a questionable call
No problem, man; jus’ give the Empire the ball
Yuh fine ah does put T&T in a hole
Wah yuh expect, not give the powers the goal?
VAR? What VAR
The Ref will be the Superstar
Post by: Tallman on June 18, 2019, 11:27:30 AM

No VAR
VAR? No VAR for Concacaf!
Dat zone go be left in the half
Let dem wait another year or two
De Ref an’ dem go impromptu
Whenever there is a questionable call
No problem, man; jus’ give the Empire the ball
Yuh fine ah does put T&T in a hole
Wah yuh expect, not give the powers the goal?
VAR? What VAR
The Ref will be the Superstar

Concacaf said:

"We are committed to bringing VAR into Concacaf. We know there’s obviously a lot to be done because VAR is not just the technology aspect, there’s a lot of the human aspect as well that goes into the training, the simulators. That’s where we’re committed to starting," Zubiria said. "Already we have a set of referees that’s familiar with it. At the World Cup, they’ve been exposed to VAR, they were actually VAR assistants at the World Cup in Russia, but we need to grow that pool of referees that then we can put in our major competitions to officiate using the technology. The technology is probably the easiest part. It’s more how to use that technology to make sure the right decisions are made."
https://www.goal.com/en-us/news/concacaf-makes-rule-changes-to-bring-gold-cup-in-line-with-other-/1jjcpb2gf9gh1z211ltmodn9m
Post by: Cocorite on June 18, 2019, 12:52:29 PM
Thanks Tallest!

Dah was a prompt to draw out Sam  ;D

De rel poet, nah
Post by: asylumseeker on June 18, 2019, 01:05:35 PM
On a day like today, Peltier should be reminded how tortured and inconsolable he was when we lost to Panama in 2015.  :devil:
Post by: Tallman on June 18, 2019, 02:06:01 PM
On a day like today, Peltier should be reminded how tortured and inconsolable he was when we lost to Panama in 2015.  :devil:

He should just be glad dat he get back in de team.
Post by: kounty on June 18, 2019, 03:08:00 PM
BIG UP to the SocaWarriors. You all doing us proud, making sugar out of sh!t. It not lost on the true fans. We know how it go. We Trini to the bone - expecting top top of the class without paying a dime - but you represent us well; win, lose or draw. Play your hearts out and make yourselves proud and we will be proud too. This is a great chance for you all, b/c you not on anybody's radar and you KNOW you have the talent. Break out. I knockin a cold one back while I watch..doh make mih buss a wine!  ;D
Post by: asylumseeker on June 18, 2019, 03:32:09 PM

He should just be glad dat he get back in de team.

:)
Post by: Deeks on June 18, 2019, 04:33:49 PM
Good Luck, Warriors!!!
Post by: vb on June 18, 2019, 04:46:32 PM

Getting excited. Love to see my NT in action.

Post by: asylumseeker on June 18, 2019, 05:10:19 PM
If you have reliable links for ppl to view the match, post them please.
Post by: samo on June 18, 2019, 05:31:09 PM
Good Luck T&T
Post by: Adam Lake on June 18, 2019, 05:45:47 PM
Any channel bringing the game locally? Streams?
Post by: Adam Lake on June 18, 2019, 05:51:07 PM
Found this stream on youtube

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sI8TQmB0a8g
Post by: lefty on June 18, 2019, 06:17:10 PM
http://firstrowsportes.net/soccer/panama-trinidad-tobago-krk710c54?l=3191574362
Post by: Sando prince on June 18, 2019, 06:20:47 PM

been a long time since T&T took a shot at Panama goalie smh
Post by: Sando prince on June 18, 2019, 06:24:13 PM

1st half was dead , both teams playing midfield football and not creating in the final third of attack. Hoping for better in the second half
Post by: lefty on June 18, 2019, 06:25:35 PM
Levi trying to do it all again on our best oportunity still plays for himself...this not fkin laksmi
Post by: Cocorite on June 18, 2019, 06:26:07 PM
Allyuh hire a defender wah allyuh expect

Underwhelming
Post by: kounty on June 18, 2019, 06:26:45 PM
they saving joevin as a secret weapon orwa?
Post by: noize on June 18, 2019, 06:28:33 PM
This is what our football has come to??..Watching paint dry has more excitement... :cursing: :cursing:
Post by: Deeks on June 18, 2019, 06:30:41 PM
Decent. Nothing spectacular. We desperately missing some men who could dribble with speed. And a creative mid-fielder. We basically have 3 defensive minded mids. Can't win with that. But the team looking decent.
Post by: lefty on June 18, 2019, 06:33:09 PM
We would have real joy if we make d pitch wide and utilize late runs from d opposite flank....dem opportunities clear as day and one time levi stay on d last defender's shoulder we created a break but Levi didn't try to square when presented
Post by: lefty on June 18, 2019, 06:41:24 PM
Decent. Nothing spectacular. We desperately missing some men who could dribble with speed. And a creative mid-fielder. We basically have 3 defensive minded mids. Can't win with that. But the team looking decent.

Deeks we better off playin direct right now we just doin it wrong....levi and at least one winger need to straddle d back line from wide and d mids needs to feed diagonal balls just behind or in front d defence
Post by: grskywalker on June 18, 2019, 06:42:15 PM
first half of pure rubbish. No urgency , uninspired and no finish
Post by: grskywalker on June 18, 2019, 06:46:40 PM
Panama playing as much shit as we are at this rate the US women could beat we
Post by: grskywalker on June 18, 2019, 06:47:58 PM
No fffing surprise
Post by: Sando prince on June 18, 2019, 06:48:10 PM
Now that Panama score expect T&T to play with passion and aggression, allyuh know we like it that hard way smh
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 18, 2019, 06:48:26 PM
panama 1 tnt 0
Post by: lefty on June 18, 2019, 06:49:34 PM
Steups shocking play
Post by: grskywalker on June 18, 2019, 06:51:08 PM
Was this Lawerence strategy geez!
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 18, 2019, 06:53:57 PM
Beating a dead horse, but I hope all the old talkers now realize how important a KJ was to our attack. Ball eh sticking up front at all.
Post by: Sando prince on June 18, 2019, 07:03:51 PM

So really? Panama striker got the rebound twice off marvin phillip and no T&T defender intervened. They just stand there and watch him take two rebounds before he score Pan second goal
Post by: grskywalker on June 18, 2019, 07:04:34 PM
WHERE IS HART!!!!!!!
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 18, 2019, 07:04:41 PM
Missing KJ BADDDDD
Post by: lefty on June 18, 2019, 07:05:22 PM
shit reaction from d team on dat play
Post by: Sando prince on June 18, 2019, 07:06:00 PM
Even if the team had Hart and KJ this performance so is still no good. team lack passion and creativity in the final end to score a goal. The players playing clueless and flat 
Post by: Sando prince on June 18, 2019, 07:06:54 PM

Believe me if KJ was playing it will be no different because there will be no creativity in midfield to give him support
Post by: lefty on June 18, 2019, 07:07:03 PM
Beating a dead horse, but I hope all the old talkers now realize how important a KJ was to our attack. Ball eh sticking up front at all.

no body to link d play, Levi not doing dat
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 18, 2019, 07:07:14 PM

So really? Panama striker got the rebound twice off marvin phillip and no T&T defender intervened. They just stand there and watch him take two rebounds before he score Pan second goal

i was expecting cyrus to run on the line
Post by: lefty on June 18, 2019, 07:08:06 PM

i was expecting cyrus to run on the line

ent!!
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 18, 2019, 07:08:51 PM
BTW  TOP TWO ANDVANCE
Post by: asylumseeker on June 18, 2019, 07:09:42 PM
Pity about John Bostock.
Post by: Sando prince on June 18, 2019, 07:11:07 PM

but how Joevin did not start this game? I would like to hear Lawrence strategy behind this move
Post by: grskywalker on June 18, 2019, 07:12:27 PM
SOOOO MUCHHH BUUULLLSHIT GOIMG ON
Post by: Sando prince on June 18, 2019, 07:12:38 PM
T&T players just jogging on the field, its like they give up already
Post by: noize on June 18, 2019, 07:12:52 PM
Like they say " yuh reap what yuh sow " . This team set up and playing exactly like every other game we played. No midfield attacking plan, move the ball from side to side in the back and long hopefull balls to no one. Hoping to catch a lucky opportunity on counterattack once in a blue moon...Absolutely pathetic. Time for Lawrence to march on
Post by: grskywalker on June 18, 2019, 07:13:28 PM
WE DOH HAVE A CLUE HOW TO GET TO THE GOAL OR TAKE A BLASTED SHOT!!!!!!! :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated: :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead:
Post by: lefty on June 18, 2019, 07:14:43 PM
we win d ball den progressing it so slow we gettin close down easy......Fck man FckFckFckFckFckFckFckFck :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated:
Post by: Sando prince on June 18, 2019, 07:15:03 PM
WHERE IS THE CAPTAIN HYLAND? because I have not heard his name all game!
Post by: Sando prince on June 18, 2019, 07:16:46 PM
 :D seriously but why is Hyland captain? because this is not the first time I see him in a game where he is having NO impact whatsoever
Post by: grskywalker on June 18, 2019, 07:18:11 PM
A F :cursing: :cursing:ING DISASTER
Post by: lefty on June 18, 2019, 07:20:32 PM
dis team know how to attack on d break, my god
Post by: OutsideMan on June 18, 2019, 07:20:55 PM
Unimpressive performance.  These guys have crazy skills, but don't understand the game they get paid to play.
Post by: FF on June 18, 2019, 07:25:43 PM
Wait nah. Like men wasn't following this team for the past 18 months?? Or even the past 6 months or 3 weeks?

Come nah man.
Post by: Deeks on June 18, 2019, 07:27:12 PM
I don't know about crazy skills. They certainly lack players who have creative ability. Especially in the middle of the field.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 18, 2019, 07:28:19 PM
Wait nah. Like men wasn't following this team for the past 18 months?? Or even the past 6 months or 3 weeks?

Come nah man.

True, you said it, should not be surprised
Post by: lefty on June 18, 2019, 07:29:07 PM

Come nah man.

I have I fed up cuss about d same shit, we attackin issues have solutions yet we only play one proper diagonal for Levi to get on to and he f**k it up playin hero
Post by: FF on June 18, 2019, 07:29:16 PM
The fish does rot from the head. Cast blame where it is due
Post by: Sando prince on June 18, 2019, 07:29:23 PM
Right now I am not even sure if T&T deserve to be in the Gold Cup  :D
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 18, 2019, 07:29:34 PM
Honest question: When last we score a goal?
Post by: Sando prince on June 18, 2019, 07:34:18 PM

Well I am sure Tallman will answer with the stats. But I know we failed to score any goals in our last two games against Canada and Japan
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 18, 2019, 07:37:08 PM
uae iran wales japan canada etc for this
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 18, 2019, 07:38:07 PM

Well I am sure Tallman will answer with the stats. But I know we failed to score any goals in our last two games against Canada and Japan

we did not score since iran
Post by: elan on June 18, 2019, 07:39:37 PM
This was a sad outing from a team who've had great preparation. Basic things this team failed at all night. We adjusted nothing in 90 minutes. We kept playing around the back into the wingers and then lost the ball. In the 88 minute we were still doing this. Panama just allowed us to play the ball into the winger and then shut the door. Why didn't Lawrence adjust our strategy?

Our defenders are terrible with the ball at their feet. Why are we trying to play out when Cyrus (any of our defenders)can't use the ball? Cyrus can only do one thing and is tackle the ball away. That's it.  Alvin Jones looked like he never saw the game before. Very disappointed in Hyland. He's been at it for to long to still be this invisible. No leadership. We didn't even try to win corners at the end of the game.

I don't get this. It's very perplexing  :frustrated: watching our approach. We had no purpose. None. Nada. Zilch.
Post by: elan on June 18, 2019, 07:40:05 PM
uae iran wales japan canada etc for this

Exactly
Post by: FF on June 18, 2019, 07:40:24 PM
Great preparation??!! Ha haiiii
Post by: Peong on June 18, 2019, 07:44:00 PM
I tired see us concede goals like this.
Defenders too casual around those fast strikers.
The 2nd goal ah feel sorry for we keeps, man make 2 great saves and get a hand to the 3rd with the defence nowhere to be seen.

Ah guess we just hadda beat USA and Guyana.
Post by: Trinidogg on June 18, 2019, 07:45:40 PM
This transition from Hart to Lawrence has been heart breaking, team has absolutely no flair at all. This whole team Except Joevin Jones, Garcia and Cato looked like they didn't have a clue going forward.
Post by: sjahrain on June 18, 2019, 07:46:29 PM
The best this team has played in a minute..... we gave up 2...but l like what l see
Got weak knees in the offensive third...
Post by: lefty on June 18, 2019, 07:48:39 PM
This was a sad outing from a team who've had great preparation. Basic things this team failed at all night. We adjusted nothing in 90 minutes. We kept playing around the back into the wingers and then lost the ball. In the 88 minute we were still doing this. Panama just allowed us to play the ball into the winger and then shut the door. Why didn't Lawrence adjust our strategy?

Our defenders are terrible with the ball at their feet. Why are we trying to play out when Cyrus (any of our defenders)can't use the ball? Cyrus can only do one thing and is tackle the ball away. That's it.  Alvin Jones looked like he never saw the game before. Very disappointed in Hyland. He's been at it for to long to still be this invisible. No leadership. We didn't even try to win corners at the end of the game.

I don't get this. It's very perplexing  :frustrated: watching our approach. We had no purpose. None. Nada. Zilch.

Is d same shit through d middle d problem through d wings, is d....um...."build up" if yuh could call it dat, to f'cking slow must ah d time, big gaps from left to right but no switchin play or it too slow....out wide is d best solution for dis team....dey jus doin everyting wrong and nobody reading to game to direct d play
Post by: Deeks on June 18, 2019, 07:49:03 PM
Nothing in mid-field. We poor! No creativity. We need some new guys. Anybody in the current under -23 pool can replace some of the current ones. Really disappointed in Jomal Williams. Had a lot of promise 2 to 3 years ago. Was not effective. Hyland! What can I say.
Post by: MEP on June 18, 2019, 07:49:15 PM
I don't even know where to start with my criticism. First I think Lawrence needs to grow some balls and I hope he reads this...you have better options at the keeper position. You're sticking with a keeper who can't use his feet, doesn't know how to narrow angles, refuses to come out of the box, can't hold on to the ball and is just not ready for this level. Apparently whoever is telling him to pick the keeper thinks shot blocking is goalkeeping.
Post by: pull stones on June 18, 2019, 07:51:18 PM
Poorest performance ever and I mean ever, this team  continues to make the same errors over and over, Marvin Phillip is a terrible keeper and that would never change for me both goals were partially his fault, Cyrus is not a central defender and Aubrey David just joined the team on Sunday he’s played in none of the warm up matches yet he starts, WTF dennis?
Post by: kounty on June 18, 2019, 07:52:21 PM
Lemme take some positives yes (a la Dreamer): I like how Cyrus play. He step up. Alvin Jones might be faulted with that 1st goal (he wasn't even in the frame), and he gave up a lot of errant passes, but I get the feeling that if he settle into this level of play he will become a better player. Levi I thought had a decent game compared to his games in the past. He got the freedom to express himself, and he took on players, but the system he playing in nobody up top with him as a foil so he can't do it on his own, but I hope he continues to settle and grow. I always like Nathan Lewis' shift, to me he does be all over the pitch. Joevin show he have the confidence at this level, but to me it look like no strategy to utilize his talents in place (or no clear instructions on his role) -- still good crosses - but no forwards on the other end; he dribbles nice in the middle too, but I dunno.

okay daiz it. I would love to see Dennis Lawrence post match interview b/c it never look to me like there is a well thought-on plan on how to score. Just 10 men behind the ball all the time.
Post by: elan on June 18, 2019, 07:54:05 PM

Is d same shit through d middle d problem through d wings, is d....um...."build up" if yuh could call it dat, to f'cking slow must ah d time, big gaps from left to right but no switchin play or it too slow....out wide is d best solution for dis team....dey jus doin everyting wrong and nobody reading to game to direct d play

Garcia and Lewis should have run the wing ragged with pace and skill.
Post by: grskywalker on June 18, 2019, 07:55:10 PM
I tired see us concede goals like this.
Defenders too casual around those fast strikers.
The 2nd goal ah feel sorry for we keeps, man make 2 great saves and get a hand to the 3rd with the defence nowhere to be seen.

Ah guess we just hadda beat USA and Guyana.

WHAT ! BEAT WHO STEUUUPPS WE AIN'T WINNING NOTHING IN THIS CUP! LAWRENCE JUST DOES NOT HAVE WHAT IT TAKES TO TAKE THIS TEAM FORWARD. HE BETTER OFF COACHING THAILAND WOMEN TEAM! HIS COACHING RECORD IS NOT WHERE IT SHOULD BE WITH THIS TEAM
Post by: sjahrain on June 18, 2019, 07:57:41 PM
Cannot fault Phillips on either goal...on the second one he made two saves and even touched the third attempt which scored...where were his four defenders...ball watching...
Post by: grskywalker on June 18, 2019, 07:58:29 PM
US GOING TO SLAUGHTER US IN OHIO NEXT WEEK!!!!!!
Post by: MEP on June 18, 2019, 07:58:35 PM
Mr. Kounty...Alvin Jones is 25 if he eh hit he prime yet ..when would he....someone needs to see if he is color blind and even so he should be able to differentiate between dark and light. He probably  led the Panama teams in passes completed.
Post by: sjahrain on June 18, 2019, 07:58:44 PM
Cannot fault Phillips on either goal...on the second one he made two saves and even touched the third attempt which scored...where were his four defenders...ball watching...
Post by: lefty on June 18, 2019, 08:03:33 PM

Garcia and Lewis should have run the wing ragged with pace and skill.

then switch d play for late man runs especially for Levi.....Panama was pulling across narrow whole game, but still maintain dat Levi does telegraph too much and this is predictable to any center\fullback who actually know how to defend
Post by: pull stones on June 18, 2019, 08:05:06 PM
Panama was a must win game, and judging by this performance there no way in hell we are beating the USA again, not in America,. let’s face it this team doesn’t inspire any confidence in me or anyone. I declare it’s over, stick a fork in us we’re done.
Post by: MEP on June 18, 2019, 08:09:52 PM
One thing for sure D. Lawrence has been found wanting as he doesn't know the difference between strategy and tactics.
Post by: pull stones on June 18, 2019, 08:19:59 PM
Lemme take some positives yes (a la Dreamer): I like how Cyrus play. He step up. Alvin Jones might be faulted with that 1st goal (he wasn't even in the frame), and he gave up a lot of errant passes, but I get the feeling that if he settle into this level of play he will become a better player. Levi I thought had a decent game compared to his games in the past. He got the freedom to express himself, and he took on players, but the system he playing in nobody up top with him as a foil so he can't do it on his own, but I hope he continues to settle and grow. I always like Nathan Lewis' shift, to me he does be all over the pitch. Joevin show he have the confidence at this level, but to me it look like no strategy to utilize his talents in place (or no clear instructions on his role) -- still good crosses - but no forwards on the other end; he dribbles nice in the middle too, but I dunno.

okay daiz it. I would love to see Dennis Lawrence post match interview b/c it never look to me like there is a well thought-on plan on how to score. Just 10 men behind the ball all the time.
what game you watched mate? the names you mentioned were the biggest impediments all game long. Someone needs to tell Garcia and Lewis that they are not pele and instead of beatsing their way into a wall of players since the hex and losing the ball on every attempt, they need to realize that passing the ball and making runs in the box yields better results.

As for Cyrus, that boy needs to grow bunions on his ass from sitting on the bench. he had no clue what to do with the ball tonight and often logs the ball up field for a turn overand, he’s at best an emergency option. IMO dennis got it way wrong tonight. there’s no way you play molino as a striker he’s more effective playing from behind. Curtis gonzales and mikiel Williams should have started in the center with Cyrus on the bench. Oh well panama did it to us again.
Post by: Trini boi on June 18, 2019, 08:41:54 PM
It seemed like no one wanted the ball. Our movement off the ball was atrocious, and the passing was despicable.  Open passes being missed all game; players hiding behind Panama players and not being open; continuous back passing; no midfield; Joevin not starting.  It all boils down to coaching.  Firing Hart was the biggest mistake Trinidad football ever made (that led to Jones retirement).
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 18, 2019, 08:52:52 PM
It seemed like no one wanted the ball. Our movement off the ball was atrocious, and the passing was despicable.  Open passes being missed all game; players hiding behind Panama players and not being open; continuous back passing; no midfield; Joevin not starting.  It all boils down to coaching.  Firing Hart was the biggest mistake Trinidad football ever made (that led to Jones retirement).
I think injuries really led to Jones retirement tbh.
Post by: Tallman on June 18, 2019, 09:09:34 PM

We have been scoreless in the last six games. The last time we scored was against UAE last September.
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 18, 2019, 09:18:22 PM

We have been scoreless in the last six games. The last time we scored was against UAE last September.
Gracias.
Post by: Tallman on June 18, 2019, 09:32:20 PM
WATCH: Highlights of Trinidad and Tobago's 2-0 loss to Panama

https://www.youtube.com/v/Tt5z78W_r0o
Post by: pull stones on June 18, 2019, 09:33:39 PM
It became quite clear while watching this game tonight that this team has no quality none at all. We actually struggle to put a string of attacking passes together and Panama wasn’t even that good a team. and I just don’t understand lobbing the ball in the opponent’s box hoping for a miracle, IMO that tantamount to giving the ball away. that happened with hart and now with Lawrence, that’s a total waste of a good possession.
Post by: pull stones on June 18, 2019, 09:41:26 PM

shameful bloody performance. look how Cyrus escorted the attacker instead of putting a body on him or putting in a tackle giving him the opportunity to shoot at the keep the ball watched while the goal scorer got two shots, what a disgusting display,ay of football. I guess the draw with Japan went to their heads.
Post by: pull stones on June 18, 2019, 09:54:14 PM
A whole lot of presumptuous passing over beatsing and running into defensive human walls, that’s what I have been seeing on the attacking end of this team. Anyway the Guyana keeper had a right to save that 4th goal, that goal was quite savable.
Post by: Socapro on June 18, 2019, 10:02:54 PM
Maybe we should get some of the Venes who have been regularized and who can play football to rep T&T in our next game?!

As an incentive any Vene player that scores for us gets instant T&T citizenship!  ;)

And btw I don't care if our Trinvene football players can't speak English as I can't handle witnessing another awful T&T performance like we had against Panama last night.
Post by: Flex on June 19, 2019, 12:11:49 AM
T&T starts Gold Cup 2019 with 2-0 defeat.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s 2019 Gold Cup campaign got off to a disappointing start in Minnesota on Tuesday night as they went down 2-0 to Panama at the Allianz Field.

T&T actually had the first real attack on goal with a play down the right but couldn’t finish off as they would have hoped. Levi Garcia has a couple good moments in attack but had nothing to show for it.

Moments before half time skipper Khaleem Hyland saw volley flash inches wide of the upright as both teams laboured to a 0-0 scoreline going into the break.

The breakthrough for Panama came in the 53rd minute. Panama had possession in the final third where Gabriel Torres sent a delicate pass through to Armando Cooper. The veteran attacking  midfielder  calmly cut by onrushing Trinidad and Tobago  goalkeeper Marvin Phillip, before slotting home to put his side ahead. The play started when Hyland gave up possession in his team’s half.

Fifteen minutes later, after a phenomenal double-save from Phillip, a third Panama chance fell to Edgar Barcenas. Phillip managed to get a hand to the close-range effort, but could not prevent Panama from doubling their tally.

Head Coach Dennis Lawrence introduced Joevin Jones in the second half as T&T tried to get themselves back into the game. Jones’ delivery from the left caused problems in the box for Panama but they then broke away leading to the second goal. Kevin Molino came close late on but couldn’t get the final touch right as Luis Mejia raced off his line to stop the effort.  Next up on Saturday, T&T will face United States which got past Guyana 4-0 in Tuesday’s second match.

Lawrence said after the match that T&T paid the price by conceding two goals due to lapses.

“I didn’t feel it was much in the game. The two critical moments in the game – Our effort, we gave the ball and we got caught and the second one us is almost scoring and then getting done in transition,”Lawrence said in the post-game press conference.

“So two soft goals to give away. We have dug ourselves in a bit of a hole now which means we have to start thinking about getting two wins from the next two games. That’s international football. If you don’t take your chances and you give away sloppy possession you can get hurt. Panama has got quality players that can do that to you. We now need to recover very quickly. Pull away from all the negatives and go onto to the next game.”

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago:  1.Marvin Phillip (GK); 16.Alvin Jones, 2.Aubrey David, 5.Daneil Cyrus, 17.Mekeil Williams; 19.Kevan George (23.Leston Paul 65′), 8.Khaleem Hyland (captain);  10.Kevin Molino, 20.Jomal Williams (3.Joevin Jones 65′); 11.Levi Garcia,13.Nathan Lewis (7.Cordell Cato 82′),

Subs not used –  21.Greg Ranjitsingh (GK), 22.Adrian Foncette (GK), 4.Neveal Hackshaw, 6.Duane Muckette, 9.Shahdon Winchester, 12.Carlyle Mitchell, 14.Akeem Humphrey, 15.Curtis Gonzales, 18.Lester Peltier.

Head coach: Dennis Lawrence

Panama (4-4-2): 1.Luis Mejia (GK); 23.Michael Murillo, 3.Harold Cummings, 5.Roman Torres (captain), 15.Eric Davis, 4.Fidel Escobar, 19.Albert Quintero (21.Omar Browne 88′), 10.Edgar Barcenas, 11.Armando Cooper, 17.Jose Fajardo (20.Ernesto Walker 78′), 9.Gabriel Torres (18.Abdiel Arroyo 84′);

Unused substitutes: 12.Jose Calderon (GK), 22.Orlando Mosquera (GK), 2.Francisco Palacios, 6.Kevin Galvan, 7.Jose Rodriguez, 8.Marcos Sanchez, 13.Adolfo Machado, 14.Valentin Pimentel, 16.Rolando Blackburn.

Head coach: Julio Valdes

Post Match Press Conference - Lawrence speaks after Panama loss (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3WBrg7ZJwug)

Panama (2) vs. Trinidad and Tobago (0) - Gold Cup 2019 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tt5z78W_r0o)

Standings

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts
USA  1  1  0  0  4  0  3
Panama  1  1  0  0  2  0  3
T&T  1  0  0  1  0  2  0
Guyana  1  0  0  1  0  4  0

RELATED NEWS

Panama outplays Soca Warriors 2-0.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

Two sec­ond-half goals by Ar­man­do Coop­er in the 52nd and Edgar Barce­nas in the 68th minute for Pana­ma, con­fined T&T to its first de­feat 2-0 in Group D of the CON­CA­CAF Gold Cup in the Unit­ed States on Tues­day night.

The re­sult now means that the So­ca War­riors will have to get a re­sult each when they face the host in their sec­ond match on Sat­ur­day, and then four days lat­er when they take on re­gion­al ri­vals Guyana.

De­spite a quick start by the T&T team at the Al­lianz Field in Min­neso­ta, USA, in the ear­ly mo­ments, the re­sult ap­peared to have been on­ly a mat­ter of time, once the Pana­ma­ni­ans set­tled and dom­i­nat­ed the match.

Nathan Lewis twice in the first half used his speed to telling ef­fect down the right flank, but on both oc­ca­sions his at­tempt to pick out Jo­mal Williams was bro­ken down by the quick in­ter­ven­tion of de­fend­er Fi­del Es­co­bar. Soon af­ter, Levi Gar­cia, on one of his sweep­ing runs at the Pana­ma de­fence, tried to thread one to Lewis, but it was again in­ter­cept­ed by the steady de­fence. Pana­ma's in­abil­i­ty to hit the tar­get pre­vent­ed any chance they had of tak­ing the ad­van­tage at the half and the teams went to the break with the scores at 0-0.

How­ev­er, at the re­sump­tion the Pana­ma­ni­ans quick­ly picked up from where they left off and were re­ward­ed for their pos­ses­sion.

Coop­er found him­self at the end of an­oth­er neat build-up in­side the T&T penal­ty area and de­spite the chal­lenge by skip­per Khaleem Hy­land, Coop­er raced past the ad­vanc­ing TT goalie Mar­vin Phillips, be­fore slot­ting the ball in­to an emp­ty goal for the lead.

Mo­ments lat­er, the Pana­ma­ni­ans were un­lucky not to score again in the 61st minute from an­oth­er sweep­ing build-up that saw Gabriel Tor­res re­lease to an un­marked Es­co­bar. But Es­co­bar's thump­ing shot from some 20 yards out was pushed wide by Philips.

T&T, who were bogged down by the mid­field­ers' in­abil­i­ty to be cre­ative in the cen­tre, cou­pled with the de­fend­ers' re­luc­tance to sup­ply the pass­es when they were in pos­ses­sion of the ball, cre­at­ed lit­tle goal-scor­ing op­por­tu­ni­ties.

Still, Gar­cia had the Pana­ma de­fence back­ing when he cut in from the left side on to his un­favourable right foot, be­fore hit­ting high over the bars.

But the Pana­ma­ni­ans lat­er sealed the win de­spite the bril­liance of Philips. Tor­res, who was picked out un­marked on the left side, elud­ed his mark­er and re­leased a thun­der­ous right-foot­er that Philips some­how dived low to keep out. He then kept out a blis­ter­ing dri­ve from Coop­er on the re­bound, but could not stop Barce­nas from putting the ball in­to an open net be­fore the re­ac­tion of any T&T de­fend­er.

Post by: maxg on June 19, 2019, 12:14:20 AM
Some of y'all ah little to rough..y'all does TALK ah damn good game doh..Not saying the team was not bad, but to say the boys played total garbage is just not true. Lawrence has to work with what he sees and has, and the players have to work with what they have and get..I feel many ah y'all should be players and coaches, cause y'all real know this game from in front the tv.
 Anyway I also have criticism and a suggestion(might be totally wrong and probably not worth anything), 4, 1 depth/width space1 ,2 width space, 1 depth space,1 is not a proper formation for full field...
                          G
                 CB
                                    CB             
RB                                                LB
          DM        Space                 DM

RM               Space         Space          LM

Space                F
        Space                   F                 Space

might be good for half field practice, as the spaces won't seem that big..What I don't understand doh, is we played big field warm-up games , it must have been evident in our lack of numbers on attack and opposing midfield attacks on our defence.  The 2 wingers have to come back on possession to get the ball from wingbacks and sometimes to assit in coverage, otherwise the defensive mids have to much ground to cover, leaving our whole defensive players overwhelmed and late, whenever a team attacks with numbers.  Of Course the guys would have to play better, but I saw what they tried to do and not do, and Panama was having none of it. They attacked the spaces and killed us on adjustments with numbers, and defended with numbers..For me, it's their mids that had us in a mess..our mids was trying to cover to much ground...to repeat, IMO, we need our wingers to come in and back more and our central mids to be not as defensive, or play 1 defensive mid.
Good luck next game guys. Go T&T.
Post by: Tiresais on June 19, 2019, 01:30:12 AM
That defending... Damn...
Post by: Controversial on June 19, 2019, 01:30:38 AM
What coach in this world will just allow his team to play this type of unproductive, unattractive football?

At least go out fighting and take risks, play attacking football, if its not sabotage, its just a poor coaching choice..

We had so many other choices much better after Hart was fired by the dictator and they choose the worse one that is controlled and in the house.. smh
Post by: asylumseeker on June 19, 2019, 04:22:46 AM

Rare that you see highlights that only show the kick-off from the 1st half and nothing else of interest from that half. Telling?

" Criminal defending" ... Quote, unquote is that what the commentator said? Wow.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 19, 2019, 06:36:51 AM
One thing for sure D. Lawrence has been found wanting as he doesn't know the difference between strategy and tactics.

Yuh go leave it like that?
Post by: kounty on June 19, 2019, 06:37:49 AM

what game you watched mate? the names you mentioned were the biggest impediments all game long. Someone needs to tell Garcia and Lewis that they are not pele and instead of beatsing their way into a wall of players since the hex and losing the ball on every attempt, they need to realize that passing the ball and making runs in the box yields better results.

As for Cyrus, that boy needs to grow bunions on his ass from sitting on the bench. he had no clue what to do with the ball tonight and often logs the ball up field for a turn overand, he’s at best an emergency option. IMO dennis got it way wrong tonight. there’s no way you play molino as a striker he’s more effective playing from behind. Curtis gonzales and mikiel Williams should have started in the center with Cyrus on the bench. Oh well panama did it to us again.

I disagree with some of this. If you have one or two forwards and everybody else in their own half, I don't think what you talking about could ever possibly happen. There was one time Levi end up on the right side near the corner flag after he used his speed to break forward, he was isolated shielding off and eluding 3-4 Panamanians for a good 10-15 seconds till Cyrus eventually run up to provide an outlet.
I am no Cyrus fan, but what you talking about is a CB bringing the ball forward under pressure (like Hector for Jam down, who plays for chelsea?) and making a nice pass forward. I don't think Trini ever had a CB that could do that. (Under Leo that was one of Dwight's main jobs).
Post by: kounty on June 19, 2019, 06:48:34 AM

shameful bloody performance. look how Cyrus escorted the attacker instead of putting a body on him or putting in a tackle giving him the opportunity to shoot at the keep the ball watched while the goal scorer got two shots, what a disgusting display,ay of football. I guess the draw with Japan went to their heads.
I think angles and highlights can be deceiving. Cyrus was coming from the left to cover for the missing man on the right (Alvin Jones) and got there late. The highlights pick up at the end of play. To me what is shameful is Dennis post-match comments. He took no blame/responsibility for the toots that went on structurally, and even though I going to the USA game, I really could only see lix on we horizon...or a completely parked bus 0-0. shameful.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 19, 2019, 06:54:44 AM

I disagree with some of this. If you have one or two forwards and everybody else in their own half, I don't think what you talking about could ever possibly happen. There was one time Levi end up on the right side near the corner flag after he used his speed to break forward, he was isolated shielding off and eluding 3-4 Panamanians for a good 10-15 seconds till Cyrus eventually run up to provide an outlet.
I am no Cyrus fan, but what you talking about is a CB bringing the ball forward under pressure (like Hector for Jam down, who plays for chelsea?) and making a nice pass forward. I don't think Trini ever had a CB that could do that. (Under Leo that was one of Dwight's main jobs).
  hello we played with no foward Levi is a winger .
Winchester is the only striker there.
Post by: noize on June 19, 2019, 07:49:21 AM
I just looked at DL post match interview. No disrespect to him as a person but is he delusional ? Was he watching the same game ? This team looks dismal, no cohesion, lack of confidence and clueless going forward. Time for DL to move on, this is the worst I've seen this team look in donkey years..Ridiculous..Grow some balls and understand that your slow defensive style of football does not work  :frustrated:
Post by: grskywalker on June 19, 2019, 08:29:39 AM
The team had no idea how to mount a productive attack to finish with a shot on goal. Lawrence stood on the sideline looking dumbfounded and clueless WTF!. We need to play 4-4-2 ;

WINCHESTER          LEVI

JONES      HYLAND     MOLINO   CATO/LEWIS

WILLIAMS   DAVID   CYRUS       JONES

Levi would be deadly coming in with his left foot from the right side
By the way what happen to Bateu

Post by: grskywalker on June 19, 2019, 08:33:21 AM
This is all wishful thinking of course. If the players not up to the task no formation would make a difference, US would crush us plain and simple
Post by: asylumseeker on June 19, 2019, 08:36:27 AM
Barring injuries, barring visa issues, barring other obstacles ... the back four would likely have been Hodge, Bateau, Cyrus and David. Only one of those players played in his likely assigned role.

Discuss.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 19, 2019, 08:39:38 AM
This is all wishful thinking of course. If the players not up to the task no formation would make a difference, US would crush us plain and simple

It's not that the players are not up to the task. If we look at the starting XI, we didn't play an inexperienced squad at this level of competition. There are items that need to be reinforced that do seem to not have been emphasized.

It's also a bit baffling that there is a central defender as boss and a heralded forward as an assistant coach and we are seeing the ball being distributed in ways that neither one of them would prefer as a player on the field.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 19, 2019, 08:46:38 AM
I just looked at DL post match interview. No disrespect to him as a person but is he delusional ? Was he watching the same game ? This team looks dismal, no cohesion, lack of confidence and clueless going forward. Time for DL to move on, this is the worst I've seen this team look in donkey years..Ridiculous..Grow some balls and understand that your slow defensive style of football does not work  :frustrated:

I agree that the post-match comments seem not to have absorbed the entire picture. The match was more than just about two critical moments. The goals were about two critical moments but the match turned on much more than merely the goals. Yuh takeaway hadda be more than the goals. What about the body of work?

https://www.youtube.com/v/azmKEjSQfGA
Post by: soccerman on June 19, 2019, 08:50:32 AM
Seeker, on another note. Did Panama fire the previous coach? The one who coached them at the WC.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 19, 2019, 08:54:19 AM
Seeker, on another note. Did Panama fire the previous coach? The one who coached them at the WC.

He left voluntarily.

P.S. And now he's being accused of having a lack of ideas after Uruguay smashed Ecuador 4-0.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 19, 2019, 09:01:26 AM
hello we played with no foward Levi is a winger .
Winchester is the only striker there.

So, if you put Cyrus to play in central midfield, he's not a CM ... on the day?
Post by: soccerman on June 19, 2019, 09:02:36 AM

He left voluntarily.

P.S. And now he's being accused of having a lack of ideas after Uruguay smashed Ecuador 4-0.
Now he's coaching in the big leagues and playing against the big boys. That Uruguay squad is no joke though!

If Ecuador fires him, we may know of a potential destination lol
Post by: Tallman on June 19, 2019, 10:27:47 AM
WATCH: Khaleem Hyland post-match comments

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=52Lp5Q-Xb78

WATCH: Kevin Molino post-match comments

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hpYEWzpweeg

WATCH: Levi Garcia post-match comments

https://www.youtube.com/v/_EbA8C4dzSA
Post by: Controversial on June 19, 2019, 04:00:32 PM
Where's pullstones, i thought he said tallest had a better record and doing better than Hart  :D

https://linktr.ee/ginomckoy (https://linktr.ee/ginomckoy)
Post by: Sam on June 19, 2019, 04:55:34 PM
How much chance Dennis go get, Hart was fired long time.

Dennis might be a nice guy, but I find he have Sarri ways, stubborn and one way.

He play very flat and predictable football.

Lewis shoulda be first to be sub out.

David better as a wing back, center back he is not good.

We using important games to try players.

Joevin needed to start.

Garcia is not Hazard, Garcia is not a false 9.

Why did he pick forwards when he doh play them.

Did our game improve since Lawrence took over as coach.

We give away the ball after two passes.

We have not even one shot on goal.

Panama was very beatable, he play so much shit they build confidence on us.

Molino shoulda been sub early to.

We have to beat USA now, or we out, when Panama woulda be a easier route.

That was terrible football yesterday.

Even though Guyana lose 4-0 to USA, they play like they had a plan, they just wasn't good even for the USA and they didn't had the players.

We in big trouble

We have no under 23 football team and they are the future.

We done.

Post by: Deeks on June 19, 2019, 05:16:02 PM
Go dey Sam!!!!
Post by: asylumseeker on June 19, 2019, 05:17:30 PM
At least seven playing assignments on the field need to be reconsidered. Under another analysis, maybe as many as nine.
Post by: kounty on June 19, 2019, 05:18:42 PM

Dennis might be a nice guy, but I find he have Sarri ways, stubborn and one way.

Joevin needed to start.

We have not even one shot on goal.

Even though Guyana lose 4-0 to USA, they play like they had a plan, they just wasn't good even for the USA and they didn't had the players.

We in big trouble

We done.

We in big trouble

We done.

Amen Brother! When coach come up in front a camera and ent talk about opposing keeper making ZERO saves, I know he not coming straight with us fans. I support the team still but as soon as the federation sort things out (after elections?) I want him to go.
Post by: elan on June 19, 2019, 09:16:03 PM
Some of y'all ah little to rough..y'all does TALK ah damn good game doh..Not saying the team was not bad, but to say the boys played total garbage is just not true. Lawrence has to work with what he sees and has, and the players have to work with what they have and get..I feel many ah y'all should be players and coaches, cause y'all real know this game from in front the tv.
 Anyway I also have criticism and a suggestion(might be totally wrong and probably not worth anything), 4, 1 depth/width space1 ,2 width space, 1 depth space,1 is not a proper formation for full field...
                          G
                 CB
                                    CB             
RB                                                LB
          DM        Space                 DM

RM               Space         Space          LM

Space                F
        Space                   F                 Space

might be good for half field practice, as the spaces won't seem that big..What I don't understand doh, is we played big field warm-up games , it must have been evident in our lack of numbers on attack and opposing midfield attacks on our defence.  The 2 wingers have to come back on possession to get the ball from wingbacks and sometimes to assit in coverage, otherwise the defensive mids have to much ground to cover, leaving our whole defensive players overwhelmed and late, whenever a team attacks with numbers.  Of Course the guys would have to play better, but I saw what they tried to do and not do, and Panama was having none of it. They attacked the spaces and killed us on adjustments with numbers, and defended with numbers..For me, it's their mids that had us in a mess..our mids was trying to cover to much ground...to repeat, IMO, we need our wingers to come in and back more and our central mids to be not as defensive, or play 1 defensive mid.
Good luck next game guys. Go T&T.

If Lawrence has to work with what he sees and what he has and this is what he comes up with, he needs glasses cause vision surely lacking. He have been playing around with these ingredients for how long now and still can't cook a bess pot. If you have ingredients for curry, yuh cyah try to make pelau. Unless you ah mad chef. Lawrence must see that he doesn't have (or choose) the players to play the way he maybe want to play.

Forget all that. We had no urgency at no point in the game. Our approach was one of "meh". We never tried to win the game. This game was a very confusing game.
Post by: maxg on June 19, 2019, 09:41:53 PM
So what’s on your menu elan ? “Chicken Surprise”...surprise no chicken? What you seeing that Lawrence not seeing ? Tell him the recipe for success, if he blind, he might be able to hear. We hope.  ???
Post by: Flex on June 20, 2019, 12:04:45 AM
Hyland: We have what it takes to rebound.
By Nigel Simon (Guardian).

So­ca War­riors cap­tain Khaleem Hy­land says he be­lieves his team has what it takes to re­bound from its 2-0 loss to Pana­ma in their 2019 CON­CA­CAF Gold Cup Pool B match at Al­lianz Field, Min­neso­ta on Tues­day night.

The de­feat left T&T joint bot­tom of the four-team pool with Guyana, which suf­fered a 4-0 drub­bing against the USA in Tues­day's sec­ond match.

Up next for T&T is a clash with the USA on Sat­ur­day in Cleve­land be­fore fac­ing Guyana next Wednes­day in Kansas.

Speak­ing af­ter the loss to Pana­ma, the 30-year-old Hy­land who plays for Sau­di Ara­bi­an club, Al Faisaly said: "Its al­ways a dif­fi­cult game against Pana­ma. We know Pana­ma is a good team as they hold back and wait on the counter-at­tack."

"We had a good start, but just you know sim­ple mis­takes cost us and I would take the blame for the first goal, but you know its a team ef­fort and we will keep on go­ing un­til the last game."

Look­ing ahead to his team's next match Hy­land said, "We fo­cus now on the next game which is Amer­i­ca and hope­ful­ly we can do things and change things around."

"At this lev­el when you don't score, you will al­ways get chances against you, so it's very dif­fi­cult to don't score and ex­pect the oth­er teams to don't score al­so."

"So you have to have some luck on your side which we didn't have to­day, but as we say, we will go back to the draw­ing board, work hard and hope we can tidy up our mis­takes and come out for the next game against Amer­i­ca.

Asked he felt T&T had what it takes to get the pos­i­tive re­sults in its next two match­es, Hy­land replied, "For sure we have what it takes to re­bound. I be­lieve in all the guys and the staff, we have been work­ing hard and we just have to con­tin­ue to work hard and hope­ful­ly, we can be suc­cess­ful at the end.

"We just need to im­prove on our own mis­takes. We give away too many easy pass­es which sim­ply we could do bet­ter be­cause it cost us the game."

Mid­field­er Kevin Moli­no, 29, of US Ma­jor League Soc­cer's Min­neso­ta Unit­ed said it was a tough one to lose.

He added, "I think we fought hard and cer­tain pe­ri­ods of the game we could have done bet­ter, all of us were slop­py.

"We have to re­bound, and go back to the draw­ing board and work hard, and keep the fight."

"I want­ed three points, un­for­tu­nate­ly, I didn't get it, but I'm hap­py to be here and play­ing and the fan sup­port was great."

"Over­all, we did get the three points we want­ed, we now have to stay fo­cus and look for­ward to the next match."

Look­ing ahead to the USA match on Sat­ur­day, Moli­no said, "We just need to get a good re­sult and make sure and don't lose the game, and I be­lieve we have what it takes in the lock­er room to win the game."

Moli­no not­ed the Amer­i­cans will be com­ing to win the match against T&T as well to make amends for the de­feat dur­ing the last World Cup qual­i­fiers, which dashed their qual­i­fi­ca­tions hopes and hand­ed Pana­ma a World Cup spot.

"They will be com­ing with an ex­tra dri­ve, but al­so us be­cause we want to win the game and qual­i­fy for the next rounds.

"For us most im­por­tant­ly it's not about the last re­sult, but for us right now here and try­ing to go for­ward in this tour­na­ment."

Winger, Levi Gar­cia, 21, of Ironi Kiry­at Shmona in Is­rael said it was a dis­ap­point­ing re­sult.

"The team fought hard, so we have to re­cu­per­ate, con­tin­ue train­ing and we still have two games in hand that can bring us six points. It was a good start to the game for us, we were full of con­fi­dence and we were do­ing well. The chances we didn't take them and we were a bit slop­py in the at­tack­ing third. Both goals came from sim­ple mis­takes."

"But we are all at fault as a team, and as I would say, we slept a lit­tle bit and we paid for it.

Look­ing ahead to the rest of the tour­na­ment, Gar­cia said, "I to­tal­ly be­lieve in the team, and an­tic­i­pates the guys com­ing back in train­ing, work­ing even hard­er and get­ting the six points that we need."

RELATED NEWS

Lawrence: We paid the price for defensive lapses.
By Nigel Simon (Guardian).

So­ca War­riors coach, Den­nis Lawrence said his team paid the price by con­ced­ing two goals due to de­fen­sive laps­es in their CON­CA­CAF Gold Cup Pool B open­er, 2-0 loss to Pana­ma at the Al­lianz Field, Min­neso­ta on Tues­day night.

Sec­ond-half goals from Ar­mano Coop­er in the 52nd and Edgar Barce­nas in the 68th earn the Cen­tral Amer­i­cans three points and end­ed a nine-match win­less streak since their World Cup cam­paign, and the team's first win in 14 match­es dat­ing back to April 17, last year.

Speak­ing af­ter the loss on Tue­sady night, Lawrence was quick to state he felt the match it­self was close.

He said, "I didn’t feel it was much in the game. The two crit­i­cal mo­ments came when we gave the ball away, and we got caught, and the sec­ond one was we al­most scored. So two soft goals we give away. We have dug our­selves in a bit of a hole now which means we have to start think­ing about get­ting two wins from the next two games."

He con­tin­ued, "That’s in­ter­na­tion­al foot­ball. If you don’t take your chances and you give away pos­ses­sion you can get hurt. Pana­ma has qual­i­ty play­ers that can do that to you, so we now need to re­cov­er very quick­ly. Pull away from all the neg­a­tives and go on­to the next game.”

Com­ment­ing on the first-half dis­play of winger Nathan Lewis, who played on the right flank, Lawrence, a for­mer na­tion­al World Cup de­fend­er said, "As I said be­fore, to me there was noth­ing much in the game, and I ac­tu­al­ly think in the first half we had prob­a­bly the bet­ter of the chances. We got in bet­ter sit­u­a­tions with­out putting the ball in the back of the net, and Nathan, un­for­tu­nate­ly, got a bit tired com­ing down to the end of the half, which I think is be­cause of the lack of game time with his club (he plays for Lans­ing Ig­nite), and is some­thing that we need to try and work on be­tween now and then."

He ex­plained, "Kevin has ob­vi­ous­ly been out for a while, but when it comes to play­ing in his home sta­di­um, I think it would have been fool­ish of us not to try and take ad­van­tage of that sit­u­a­tion, and he did rel­a­tive­ly well. I think with the way Pana­ma played, par­tic­u­lar­ly in the first half, with Es­co­bar (Fi­del) play­ing more of a sit­ting in, it helped him (Moli­no) be­cause he was able to play and stay with him, and then when we got pos­ses­sion, he was able to play off of him."

Up next for the T&T is a must-win clash with host USA on Sat­ur­day, at First En­er­gy Sta­di­um, Cleve­land, Ohio from 8 pm be­fore Guyana match four days lat­er at Chil­dren's Mer­cy Park, Kansas City, Kansas on June 26, from 6.30pm.

The Amer­i­cans sit at the top of the four-team pool af­ter blank­ing Guyana 4-0 in Tues­day's sec­ond match at the Al­lianz Field.

Post by: Sando prince on June 20, 2019, 09:28:37 AM
T&T sports media lack the substance when asking our athletes questions. Ask Hyland what he think about his own performance. Ask the coach why he think the team has struggled to score a single goal in their last six or seven international matches. When you ask these questions you will have follow up questions based on the answers given. I would love to know more about what are DL expectations from the eleven men he is putting out in the field and the media has to force him to be accountable to the nation as we are supporting the team
Post by: Spursy on June 20, 2019, 10:06:34 AM
That was a good beating we take. Was always going to be difficult if Panama scored first and we allowed them to control the game. Players lack movement off the ball. It's clear we cant break down defenses, our only hope is to get in behind but then we have no tall players to convert headers. This team is a mess. We don't belong in this Gold Cup. I'm sorry to say this but it's true, lackluster, no rhythm. Just rubbish boring football. Dennis and his team has to go, this is bad. JA, Haiti and Guyana look light years ahead of us, USA going to drop atleast 5 on we tonite. AND, if this wasn't enough, there is no building for the future. This team is trying though and I do wish them luck, they gonna need it later today. I'll accept a 2-0 loss. This is the reality of our football.
Post by: elan on June 20, 2019, 12:20:13 PM
So what’s on your menu elan ? “Chicken Surprise”...surprise no chicken? What you seeing that Lawrence not seeing ? Tell him the recipe for success, if he blind, he might be able to hear. We hope.  ???

;D ;D ;D ;D

Chicken surprise or surprise chicken  :rotfl:

I would make a cook-up with them ingredients cause is a little bit of everything. The main thing I would have ensure the pot have is some Moruga scorpion. Panama would have it hot going in and coming out. Instead we end up with a bland stale gyro.

Long-term. This is beyond a TTMNT coach. We need grassroots development to develop the ingredients for the pot we want to bubble at the senior level.

Post by: asylumseeker on June 20, 2019, 04:21:34 PM
(https://cdn.vox-cdn.com/thumbor/D9j5SDdkEEgCnQi5_c7XLPFhrPs=/0x0:3812x2596/920x613/filters:focal(1602x994:2210x1602):format(webp)/cdn.vox-cdn.com/uploads/chorus_image/image/64043049/1150623305.jpg.0.jpg)
Post by: maxg on June 20, 2019, 04:27:24 PM

;D ;D ;D ;D

Chicken surprise or surprise chicken  :rotfl:

I would make a cook-up with them ingredients cause is a little bit of everything. The main thing I would have ensure the pot have is some Moruga scorpion. Panama would have it hot going in and coming out. Instead we end up with a bland stale gyro.

Long-term. This is beyond a TTMNT coach. We need grassroots development to develop the ingredients for the pot we want to bubble at the senior level.

Ahhh...so why be dumping blame on Lawrence (or the current players)...He don't have men like Yorke, Latapy, Stern, Shaka, a young KJ, Dog, guys who played in one of the top leagues and further other seasoned veterans who take licks like Carlos, Cornell, himself, Sancho, Samuel from 2nd tier..then a birchall,Avery, Cyd, bleeder, Whitley workhorses  who played in MLS... we have a few fellas trying a ting...our top players (just 2, i think) in MLS,... the rest trying to make a living..I think they doing quite well considering, but y'all tend to underestimate teams like Panama et al...cvause y'all don't know nothing bout them..i.e. them just like we, however most their players are individually rated in arguablly similar or better clubs.. The match was always gonna be tough for our boys.. Besides the fact that our to known top guys, not in particularly top form..so  i thought going in we were underdogs, in spite of our history.. The coach and the players will do the best they can, but we should try to understand or face up to what is presently our best...and they probably trying their best, nobody going out their to look bad...Go T&T
Not giving up, is all I can ask..just my opinion..
It will take us awhile to achieve again, with all the greatness, history and Cultural backing, even the top teams in our region does ketch they ass, so why not we.. Mexico win this cup 7 times, USA 6, i think, Canada once, not much others...we always ketch hell to get by first round, so what ppl always expecting to see, I dunno.. Because of 1 or 2 good individuals, ppl make believe we is a top team in the region...we is just and has always been an average team with good days and bad days, even with our greatest players...we could only hope for more good days than bad..but to believe if we hire the best and pick the best, we could go out and beat anybody in our region anyday and everyday is just delusional  .... Wish, Hope or Cuss however much we want.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 20, 2019, 06:21:08 PM
Point taken Maxg.  I think it's more a criticism of the lack of purpose, came across like a poor man's catenaccio, no sense of startegy in attack, midfielders rarely dropping to collect from the defense and create link up play.  When the opposition had the ball limited press, seemed like Dennis went out to try to hold Panama 0-0 and play on a very slow counter.  Yes, we don't have world beaters like in the past, household names, but in Molino, Joevin, Nathan, and Levi w/box to box support from Hyland and Kevan, should have enough to compete. 

The lack of purpose and lethargic approach is what gets me, incredibly uninspiring.  Truth be told, Panama was only marginally better, wonder what could have been if we had some purpose
Post by: Deeks on June 20, 2019, 07:10:39 PM
but y'all tend to underestimate teams like Panama et al...cvause y'all don't know nothing bout them.

Honestly, maxg. Out of the last 5 outings against Panama we lost 4. So how we does underestimate a team that beat we 4 out of 5.  The basic fact is, this team lack creative and attacking talent. They don't have it at the moment. They just don't have it. Now they probable put on a performance of a lifetime like they did at Couva or Corva as the Yanks does called it. I honestly don't know which TT team will show up.
Post by: lefty on June 20, 2019, 08:11:34 PM
but y'all tend to underestimate teams like Panama et al...cvause y'all don't know nothing bout them.

Honestly, maxg. Out of the last 5 outings against Panama we lost 4. So how we does underestimate a team that beat we 4 out of 5.  The basic fact is, this team lack creative and attacking talent. They don't have it at the moment. They just don't have it. Now they probable put on a performance of a lifetime like they did at Couva or Corva as the Yanks does called it. I honestly don't know which TT team will show up.

deeks til pullisic USA didn' have no recognized creative force cept maybe landon and found a way to win "pass and move with speed, physicality and most importantly THOUGHTFULNESS" my point is they found a way, we have seen trini teams progress the ball with urgency in d past, now men misplacing 3 yard pass normel normel and quite gallingly, DOH THINK.......some SERIOUS and intense and varied rondo sessions might be remedial in dat regard. simply being able to collect dat ball cleanly and move it on quickly and thoughtfully could make such a drastic improvement to dis team.....is 2019 and we still producing defenders dat cyah do nutten useful with a ball at dey feet and I include phillips in dat........Ranjitsingh can distribute accurately into midfield and he may not be gold with his feet but he has vision to launch attacks with his throws, apart from shot blockin what phillips have? dennis play with him ah him some.....steup....ah coach dat know what dey doing CAN patch sumting together with these fellas.........I really thought dat Lawrence given his years away would have been clued into how to get a team operating even given the fact of what he has to work with, but sadly, like all our exports dat come back to coach he has been underwhelming, thus leaving me again to ponder what d hell he learn while out dey ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
Post by: Deeks on June 20, 2019, 08:57:35 PM

deeks til pullisic USA didn' have no recognized creative force cept maybe landon and found a way to win "pass and move with speed, physicality and most importantly THOUGHTFULNESS" my point is they found a way, we have seen trini teams progress the ball with urgency in d past, now men misplacing 3 yard pass normel normel and quite gallingly, DOH THINK.......some SERIOUS and intense and varied rondo sessions might be remedial in dat regard. simply being able to collect dat ball cleanly and move it on quickly and thoughtfully could make such a drastic improvement to dis team.....is 2019 and we still producing defenders dat cyah do nutten useful with a ball at dey feet and I include phillips in dat........Ranjitsingh can distribute accurately into midfield and he may not be gold with his feet but he has vision to launch attacks with his throws, apart from shot blockin what phillips have? dennis play with him ah him some.....steup....ah coach dat know what dey doing CAN patch sumting together with these fellas.........I really thought dat Lawrence given his years away would have been clued into how to get a team operating even given the fact of what he has to work with, but sadly, like all our exports dat come back to coach he has been underwhelming, thus leaving me again to ponder what d hell he learn while out dey ??? ??? ??? ??? ???

I would not disagree with some of your points. Yes, Phillips can be wanting at times and Greg needs to play. But our problem has been and continue to be the PAUCITY of creative players. Especially in the middle of the field. At this level of football none of them inspires me or at least give me hope for our football. Defensively we so-so. We can hold our own for the first 45 to 60 mins. After that, we just lose it. We lack concentration, we bad passing, we .. we .. we just not there.
Post by: lefty on June 20, 2019, 10:36:37 PM
But deeks my point is dat creation need not be the job of a single individual d stereotypical 10 being driven into extinction as we speak, if we fix some simple things namely touch, passing, movement and composure....(if your cyah think straight under pressure yuh wasting time in football  these days) we can improve and create as a unit
Post by: maxg on June 20, 2019, 10:49:55 PM

Don't think the team underestimates, our knowledgeable fans seems to doh
Post by: ffisback on June 20, 2019, 11:13:31 PM
The problem is DL is doing the same thing SH did and he failed and DL is failing to TT should not be playing any English football TT need to hire a real professional coach and stop hiring these over rated Trinis.
Post by: maxg on June 21, 2019, 12:32:12 AM
The problem is DL is doing the same thing SH did and he failed and DL is failing to TT should not be playing any English football TT need to hire a real professional coach and stop hiring these over rated Trinis.
Any suggestions as to who available ?
Matter of fact here's a list that might be to your liking

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/trainer/verfuegbaretrainer/statistik

We go pay them in Mangoes ? ooor if every Trini give up 1 doubles a day, we might be able to pay them
 doubles..  ::)   :banginghead:

my bad..btw Tman, all who we owing still ?
Post by: asylumseeker on June 21, 2019, 05:21:02 AM
But deeks my point is dat creation need not be the job of a single individual d stereotypical 10 being driven into extinction as we speak, if we fix some simple things namely touch, passing, movement and composure....(if your cyah think straight under pressure yuh wasting time in football  these days) we can improve and create as a unit

Agree that creativity is/ought not be the responsibility of one player, but you at least need one player to impose challenges rather than orthodoxy.

Also, in our football it can't necessarily be the 10 because the 10 rarely gets the ball. 100% Barataria mentioned "purpose". When you see purpose-filled teams one of their traits often is that of having an identified ball handler(s) who get the ball and get it often or assume positions that suggest to the defending players that they are intended recipients of the ball. Our approach is all animals are equal and that is simply not football reality because it's not a constructive approach. Beyond that, we need creativity before we arrive in the final third, not upon arrival in the final third. Or we need quicker, intentional circulation of the ball that is circulation accompanied by penetration, not just circulation.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 21, 2019, 05:41:20 AM
I've watched Panama on TV. I've watched Panama in Panama. I've watched Panama outside of Panama and I've watched Panama in Trinidad and Tobago. They are not light years ahead of us. Although (too much) deference can easily place them in another galaxy, if we keep this up we will find that they are firmly in another universe. Our mentality is part of the problem.

A similar perceived malady is threatening on the women's side of the game as between both teams. T&T's women are superior to Panama in every facet of the game. Yet, we lost to them. But wait four years and see if time has stood still in Panama City.
Post by: Tallman on June 21, 2019, 05:56:27 AM
my bad..btw Tman, all who we owing still ?

Too much to mention, plus more judgements to come.
Post by: lefty on June 21, 2019, 07:07:08 AM

Agree that creativity is/ought not be the responsibility of one player, but you at least need one player to impose challenges rather than orthodoxy.

Also, in our football it can't necessarily be the 10 because the 10 rarely gets the ball. 100% Barataria mentioned "purpose". When you see purpose-filled teams one of their traits often is that of having an identified ball handler(s) who get the ball and get it often or assume positions that suggest to the defending players that they are intended recipients of the ball. Our approach is all animals are equal and that is simply not football reality because it's not a constructive approach. Beyond that, we need creativity before we arrive in the final third, not upon arrival in the final third.  quicker, intentional circulation of the ball that is circulation accompanied by penetration, not just circulation.
I agree with all this but I still think we operate (for now) without an out and out creative outlet playerwise, but with the creative use of space i.e. positioning and movement to achieve specific goals. A fine example of this is how man city front 5 tends to operate; the wingers stretch the pitch by hogging touchline to create room for d 2 CAMs, Aguero similar attempts to occupy space between d opposite CB and FB partly to distract but mostly because his late diagonal runs mostly leaves at least defender blindsided or dragged off to make room for d CAM or late running opposite winger.

Now man city is man city chuck full ah talent, we aint dem, but notwithstanding d sum ah d parts.. d PLAN and EXECUTION is what does facilitate d success...creatin and using space cleverly is ah function of d unit.

Post by: asylumseeker on August 01, 2019, 04:19:24 AM

He left voluntarily.

Now he's coaching in the big leagues and playing against the big boys. That Uruguay squad is no joke though!

He was relieved of his job yesterday by mutual agreement.

He was fired but both parties have agreed terms that would prevent sending the farewell to litigation or arbitration.
Post by: soccerman on August 01, 2019, 07:54:11 AM

He left voluntarily.

He was fired but both parties have agreed terms that would prevent sending the farewell to litigation or arbitration.
That's the life in the profession. Maybe he punched above his weight? I'll give him credit for the job he did with Panama though.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 01, 2019, 09:06:15 AM

He left voluntarily.

That's the life in the profession. Maybe he punched above his weight? I'll give him credit for the job he did with Panama though.

Since our friendly there in 2017, this is their third coaching change. Gustavo Quinteros who was coaching them at that time, was fired with only two games left in WC qualifying. The decision to fire him did not bring the silver bullet. Sounds familiar?

As far as Gomez's dismissal goes, he may have taken the job for sentimental reasons (he is the coach that qualified them for the 2002 WC). He's been with the big boys before. Some people think the game is moving past him.

There is talk about modernizing Ecuador's in-house affairs and Gomez in 2018+ may not have been the best fit for the giant leap forward. But, if you look at the coaches they have chosen, it's not easy to discern a pattern in the decision-making as to what preferences are valued (they have also changed federation presidents). However, if you look at the players they have at their disposal, finding their right boss shouldn't be hard on paper but is tough in terms of who they can court and attract. Historically, it's been a job that attracts Colombian coaches or locals. They either need to look further afield or to a commanding internal figure.