Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on April 12, 2019, 12:36:44 AM

Title: Thread for T&T vs USA Game (22-June-2019)
Post by: Flex on April 12, 2019, 12:36:44 AM
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs USA (https://www.goldcup.org/en/gold-cup/game-detail/476776#tab_match=match-details) Gold Cup game at the FirstEnergy Stadium in Cleveland on the 22nd of June 2019 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

To be updated.

Possible TV Station.

To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers:

Adrian Foncette (Police FC), Marvin Phillip (Central FC), Gregory Ranjitsingh (Orlando City—USA);

Defenders:

Alvin Jones (OKC Energy FC—USA), Aubrey David (Deportivo Saprissa—Costa Rica), Daneil Cyrus (Al Orobah—Saudi Arabia), Carlyle Mitchell (La Horquetta Rangers), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Mekeil Williams (Oklahoma City Energy FC—USA);

Midfielders:

Kevan George (Charlotte Independence—USA), Neveal Hackshaw (Indy Eleven—USA), Akeem Humphrey (Club Sando), Leston Paul (Memphis 901 FC—USA), Khaleem Hyland (Al Faisaly FC—Saudi Arabia), Duane Muckette (Memphis 901 FC—USA), Cordell Cato (Oklahoma City Energy FC—USA), Levi Garcia (Kiryat Shmona—Israel), Kevin Molino (Minnesota United—USA), Nathan Lewis (Lansing Ignite—USA), Lester Peltier (Al Orobah—Saudi Arabia), Jomal Williams (W Connection), Joevin Jones (Seattle Sounders—USA);

Forward:

Shahdon Winchester (W Connection).

Coach - Dennis Lawrence (TRI).

USA Squad

Goalkeepers

To be updated.

Defenders

To be updated.

Midfielders

To be updated.

Forwards

To be updated.

Coach - .

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

Title: Re: Thread for T&T vs USA Game (22-June-2019)
Post by: Flex on April 14, 2019, 01:23:07 AM
Berhalter: We will respect Trinidad and Tobago
TTFA Media.

Guyana head coach wants to catch T&T on off-day

United States head coach Gregg Berhalter has said that his team will have respect for Trinidad and Tobago when both teams clash in the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup Group D fixture at First Energy Stadium in Cleveland on June 22nd.

Berhalter along with T&T head coach Dennis Lawrence and head coaches of the other competing nations were present at the Gold Cup draw announcement in Los Angeles on Wednesday.

“I have a lot of respect for Trinidad and Tobago, a lot of respect for their coach and a lot of respect for their team. We are looking forward to it. For us it would be an opportunity to potentially advance with this game and its going to be an exciting game,” Berhalter told TTFA Media.

“I think we have a strong group. I think Group D is one of the strongest groups in the tournament and I am excited about that because any team that gets through our group is going to be prepared for the remainder of the tournament,” he said.

Guyana head coach Michael Johnson was also eager to contest the group as Guyana opens their account against the US on June 18th.

“It’s real excitement. To pick the States, Trinidad, Panama and you look at these nations that have obviously qualified for World Cup campaigns, anybody looking would probably say Guyana has never qualified for a World Cup and never qualified for a Gold Cup. You would probably think we are at the bottom end of the group,” Johnson old TTFA Media.

“I am a very spiritual guy and if anyone knows the David and Goliath story on any given day, David on that day wins. I remember the Buster Douglas story with Mike Tyson So underdogs can bite at any given time, We will be at our best and if any team looks at little Guyana and thinks well maybe we don’t have to research and do our home work then that might be an opportunity for us,” added Johnson who is a former Derby County player and ambassador the English club.

Pinpointing the game versus T&T in Kansas on June 26th, he continued, “It’s a big game for both countries. I respect Dennis and the work has done. I know Stern John from the region, Shaka and a lot of the guys down there. It is a game we would obviously respect and we will obviously do our home work and research and make sure that we are as prepared as we possibly can be. We can’t get away with not being prepared. We are little Guyana as everybody says so we have to make sure that hopefully we can catch Trinidad on their off day and our players are well prepared and has a ten out of ten day, Johnson stated.

RELATED NEWS

CONCACAF reduces roster sizes, introduces other rules changes for Gold Cup
By Donald Wine II (starsandstripesfc)

Say goodbye to mid-tournament roster changes.

Before CONCACAF unveiled the groups for this summer’s Gold Cup yesterday, the confederation announced a few changes to the biennial tournament aimed at bringing the competition in line with similar regional tournaments. Among the biggest changes include an end to mid-tournament roster changes and the re-institution of extra time during the knockout stage.

Previous Gold Cups allowed teams to have rosters of 30 or 35 that would allow them to replace as many as 6 players on their roster between the end of the group stage and the beginning of the knockout stage. Now, teams can only name 23-man rosters, which means that when United States head coach Gregg Berhalter names his squad sometime in late May, that will be the only 23 players who will be eligible to play in the Gold Cup, even if someone gets injured.

The other major change sees extra time being re-introduced into the knockout stage. Before, only the Gold Cup final had two 15-minute extra time periods. The quarterfinals and semifinals both advanced directly to penalties if the score was deadlocked after 90 minutes. This will mean teams can still attempt to win games on the field and not have to worry about penalties after 90 minutes. CONCACAF Chief of Football Manolo Zubiria said in an interview with Goal.com that after “thorough evaluation,” the region decided that it needed extra time during the knockout stage “to not leave anything to chance in a penalty shootout.”

Finally, the International Football Association Board’s updated rules of the game will be in effect for the Gold Cup and the CONCACAF U-17 Championship. This includes requiring substitutes to leave the field of play at the nearest touch line, the end of the requirement that goal kicks leave the box before being touched by an offensive player, and the new interpretation of handball. However, VAR haters will rejoice as the technology will not be in use for this summer’s Gold Cup.

Hit the comments to leave your thoughts on the rules changes and how they could affect the United States Men’s National Team this summer.

Post by: kounty on April 17, 2019, 07:08:15 AM
where we sitting? [* edit: site wukkin now**]

(https://seatingchartview.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/FirstEnergy-Stadium-Soccer-Seating-Chart1.gif)

North East or North West closer to the water [good vibrations] in this stadium, although in the Hasley the uncovered is mostly towards the South and South east.

Tallman, what is the formula? Is about time we come up with a consistent plan on where we sit, and not spread all over the stadium in small numbers like Denver.
Post by: elan on April 25, 2019, 10:59:35 AM
Hey guys.

What section are you all looking at sitting? Any link up before etc.?
Post by: kounty on April 26, 2019, 04:16:39 AM
Elan, so far my crew at 4-5 and hopefully growing, so we go mus knock somthing before the match, although Cleveland mightnt have the number of Trinis to organize something big.
Post by: kiffysmooth on April 28, 2019, 09:30:44 PM
Me and my crew in section 336 and in Row 15
Post by: Brownsugar on May 03, 2019, 12:31:10 PM
Steups!!  I really wish I had known about this game before I organise mih travel plans..... :cursing: :frustrated: :banginghead: :'( :'(
Post by: kounty on May 05, 2019, 07:30:21 AM
Steups!!  I really wish I had known about this game before I organise mih travel plans..... :cursing: :frustrated: :banginghead: :'( :'(
plans made to be changed Brownin! We all know the stadium masses go be longing for that nice easy feelin you leave on people's eyes...particularly the eyes of the menfolk  :D
Post by: Rastaman on May 06, 2019, 08:09:43 AM
plans made to be changed Brownin! We all know the stadium masses go be longing for that nice easy feelin you leave on people's eyes...particularly the eyes of the menfolk  :D
Aye Aye...leave we Tobago Girl alone  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Jefferz on May 11, 2019, 03:42:42 PM
I gunna make d drive down from Toronto. Ya'll decide where ya sittin yet? Last I checked it was like $75 half line. I say it worth it. Anyone ha big flag? Tallman? where ya?
Post by: Tallman on May 12, 2019, 08:12:59 PM
I gunna make d drive down from Toronto. Ya'll decide where ya sittin yet? Last I checked it was like $75 half line. I say it worth it. Anyone ha big flag? Tallman? where ya?

Dat flag down in T&T.
Post by: kounty on May 14, 2019, 01:28:59 PM
**edit** I get rid of them section 118 tix cuz that right next to Sam's Army in 120! lol.
The strategy I will encourage everybody to use in future is to sit in the visitor's section. For this match it is on the south side of the stadium
according to this map (https://www1.ticketmaster.com/event/05005539C0986EE6).
Hopefully other trinis used that strategy and I see more of us in 111 row 18!  ;)
Post by: Brownsugar on May 15, 2019, 05:36:04 PM
Aye Aye...leave we Tobago Girl alone  ;D ;D ;D

:D
Post by: Jefferz on June 03, 2019, 05:21:23 PM
I got some wuk in Philly then I’ll be driving up from there early in the morn on the 22nd. If anyone trying to join lemme know.
Post by: Flex on June 07, 2019, 04:32:12 PM
By Jeff Carlisle

The group stage will include a match against Trinidad & Tobago, the team whose 2-1 win over the U.S. eliminated the Americans from World Cup qualifying.

"It's not going to change anything. Obviously, I want some revenge, I want to beat them," said Pulisic. "The team is going to go out and give it everything. We want to win that game."

Christian Pulisic
Post by: lucky4life on June 08, 2019, 08:29:44 PM
Dam that lost to the socawarrior really HURT the USA on till now because they are still CRYING 😢 like a BITCH 😅😅😅
Post by: lefty on June 09, 2019, 12:42:35 PM
Vene running USA ragged right now 2-0

as usual ad blockers and all dat should be used here
http://firstrowsportes.net/soccer/usa-venezuela-krk70c254?l=3191476535
Post by: lefty on June 09, 2019, 12:47:18 PM
3-0 35mins USA in danger of being humiliated at home Gold Cup goh be interesting if this continues
Post by: lefty on June 09, 2019, 01:16:54 PM
dat trinidad loss real burnin the U.S. ass boy real talk about dat
Post by: Deeks on June 09, 2019, 03:03:28 PM
dat trinidad loss real burnin the U.S. ass boy real talk about dat

Now they know how we felt when Paul Caliguri chongo goal put us out of the Italy WC. And we should have gotten a penalty in that game. But it was not supposed to be for us. So it was not supposed to be for them also.
Title: Paul and Jones ready for the ‘Return’ clash at Gold Cup 2019
Post by: Tallman on June 09, 2019, 03:05:29 PM
Paul and Jones ready for the ‘Return’ clash at Gold Cup 2019
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago are set to face United States in its second Gold Cup 2019 Group clash in Cleveland on June 22nd. With two matches preceding that encounter , a friendly with Canada on Monday and the Gold Cup opener against Panama on June 18th, the build up to the “Return” as it has been billed in the US is already gaining momentum. Just ask Alvin Jones, the now US-based professional who fired past Tim Howard back in November 2017 to send the Americans through the exit door.

It’s not only Jones though. Midfielder Leston Paul is currently contracted to Memphis 901, a USL club of which Howard is part owner. And generally the media interest in the  T&T  team while in the US has been centred around that match.

“Firstly when I got the offer from Memphis one of the things the coach said to me was ‘you knocked Tim Howard out of the World Cup and now he’s hiring you to play for his team’ so I know it had some banter going on,” Paul told TTFA Media. ” “I’ve spoken to him a couple times but nothing about international football.

“Even the first interview I had at Memphis it was the first thing they asked and even coming into this tournament they kept asking about the rematch so I know it is still on the minds of the people over here. It will definitely be a good game,” Paul said.

“I know it’s going to be a battle. I know they have it in the back of their heads that they have to come and bring their A-game but in saying that, they will have some respect for us,” Paul added.

Jones, who now plays for US club OKC Energy said he was anticipating the encounter but does not feel pressured about it.

“For me personally I feel very relaxed. You are as good as your last game. The last time we played them we won 2-1 . We are not taking the game lightly. We know they are at home and it will be a very important game in the group stage. For me personally I will take it game by game.

“I’ve not felt pressured but some of my teammates at the club make it as a joke sometimes but they have never made me feel uncomfortable. They’ve always welcomed me from the first day and it’s football. I will not say I am sorry but it’s football and that’s how it goes. It so happens I’m working in this country now and that’s life. But yea I think we are all looking forward to this Gold Cup and that second game,” Jones said.

“The main thing for us now is the current preparation. We had a good game against Japan and right now we are working really hard each day. We have to take it game by game. Six points is our first goal to take us out of the group,” Jones added.

T&T trained this morning at Great Park in Irvine, a mere ten-minute drive from the team’s hotel base at the Marriott hotel and will continue its preparations leading into Monday’s friendly with Canada.
Post by: grskywalker on June 19, 2019, 08:41:55 AM
I just don't see a way forward for us, we played a totally uninspired game yesterday and nothing coming from the coach to make a difference
Post by: Sando prince on June 19, 2019, 03:08:44 PM

When comparing 1989 T&T vs USA and 2017 T&T vs USA World Cup qualifying matches, one major factor stand out. In one match US win qualified them for the world cup and the other was a match with T&T despite their win they had no chance of qualifying for the world cup

anyway if we play the US the same way we played against Panama, against Canada, against Japan then expect to get slaughtered! the conservative, attack-less, uninspired style of football will rarely get you wins against good teams
Post by: Deeks on June 19, 2019, 03:18:22 PM
I just don't see a way forward for us, we played a totally uninspired game yesterday and nothing coming from the coach to make a difference

Go ahead and blame the coach. But he has to work with what he has in front of him. We lack creative and attacking talent in the middle of the field. And  quick forwards with quick dribbling skills. Levi fit the latter but he still on the learning curve with the national team. On the attack, we below par.

Defensively we so-so.  Yes DL has to come up with something that will enable our team with few possibilities, play like a top 20 team. Hart had the same problem. He had some success, but was not able to get the team to get pass the quarter finals on two occasions. Go ahead. Let them fire DL and bring in a new coach.  Would not make a difference.
Post by: elan on June 19, 2019, 09:17:10 PM
Anyone knows where they training in Cleveland?
Post by: Flex on June 20, 2019, 12:20:04 AM
Michael Bradley feels USMNT rematch with T&T doesn't carry much weight.
By Ian Quillen (MLSsoccer.com).

ST. PAUL, Minn. – Before the US men’s national team could depart Allianz Field following following their 4-0 victory over Guyana to open Group D play Tuesday, questions shifted to their next Concacaf Gold Cup opponent.

Yes, that one. The Trinidad and Tobago national team that sent the US crashing out of 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifying with their stunning upset on Oct. 10, 2017.

But any sort of revenge prospects may be more important to supporters than the players, only a few of whom were at Ato Boldon Stadium that night in Couva.

“Totally different team,” said US midfielder Michael Bradley following Tuesday’s win. “There’s like two or three guys here who were in Trinidad. So I’m not sure other than it being a nice narrative for you guys, I’m not sure inside of the group if it carries a whole lot of weight.”

And those who were on the field for T&T’s 2-1 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1dJMktB9fkI) qualifying victory aren’t quite sure what they’ll feel when they look across at the Soca Warriors come Saturday (8 pm ET | FS1, Univision, UDN TSN).

“I think it’s just the opinion of each person,” said winger Paul Arriola. “For me, you know, it will be a little different than other players, I’m sure. But it’s the second game of the group stage that we have to win and really solidify our spot in the group.

“I can probably tell you more after the game how it was, but leading into the game right now, it’s just focus, recover, and get onto the field.”

What Arriola is sure of is T&T will be totally focused from the outset, in part because of their opening 2-0 loss to Panama. With the Gold Cup field expanded to 16 teams, only the top two finishers in each group advance to the quarterfinals, meaning T&T needs at least a draw and maybe a victory to remain in contention.

In that respect, Tuesday’s game against a Guyana side amped to play their nation’s first ever game in a major tournament may have provided a good test.

“I thought tonight we did a pretty good job of the initial intensity and we were really able to come into our own afterward,” Arriola said. “But it will be extremely important to get off with our right foot forward against [T&T]. They’re a physical team, they’re a fast team. They need the three points just as much or maybe even more than we do.”

A larger portion of the Soca Warriors’ squad from the teams’ previous meeting remains. Six of those who started against the US in Couva were also in coach Dennis Lawrence’s XI on Tuesday.

Does that mean the Americans will face a T&T side carrying more confidence into the meeting than in previous encounters? Bradley isn’t so sure.

“That’s not a question for me,” he said. “Given the result tonight, I expect them to come out and play like they need to get three points. I have no idea if the game from those two years ago means anything to them."

Molino expects US to "come with extra drive" in Trinidad & Tobago rematch

As if there weren’t already enough potential emotion surrounding the US men’s national team’s first chance to play Trinidad and Tobago since T&T knocked them out of 2018 World Cup qualifying, there’s also the reality that the Soca Warriors will be in do-or-die mode.

With 16 teams in the Concacaf Gold Cup for the first time, only the top two group finishers advance. And after a disappointing 2-0 opening loss to Panama on Tuesday, that means Trinidad must perform in Saturday’s Group D encounter against the US in Cleveland (8 pm ET | FS1, Univision, UDN in US, TSN5 in Canada).

“We just need to get a good result, just make sure we don’t lose the game against the US,” said Minnesota United midfielder Kevin Molino after going all 90 minutes for T&T in his home ground. “But I think we have what it takes in the locker room to win the game.”

The teams’ last meeting sent shockwaves around the soccer world in October of 2017, when Alvin Jones’ stunning strike ultimately gave T&T a 2-1 victory and kept the US out of the FIFA World Cup for the first time since 1986.

That history should give the Soca Warriors confidence another upset is possible, but Molino also believes his team needs to leave it in the past.

He doesn’t expect the USMNT to do the same.

“They will come motivated, and come with extra drive to want to win the game because of what happened in the World Cup qualification,” Molino said. “We want to repeat that. We want to win again and qualify for the next round. Most important is that it’s not about the last result [in qualifying]. It’s about us trying to move forward in the tournament.”

Trinidad missed their own chance at revenge at Allianz Field Tuesday, falling to the same Panamanian side that eliminated them on penalties in their last Gold Cup match, the 2015 quarterfinals.

That meant a bittersweet homecoming for Molino, who got a noticeable ovation during player introductions from those who arrived in time for the opener of the twin bill. He must’ve also noticed the roar from the crowd when it reacted to Mason Toye’s winner in MNUFC’s 3-2, come-from-behind U.S. Open Cup triumph at the Houston Dynamo, a match screened during T&T-Panama.

His side couldn’t engineer a similar comeback against a Canaleros squad whose continuous pressure was eventually rewarded with costly T&T mistakes.

“All of us were sloppy, and we have to rebound and go back to the drawing board, and work hard and keep fighting,” Molino said. “I was happy to be here playing, the fan support was great. But overall, collectively, the most important thing is ... we didn’t get the three points.”

Post by: pull stones on June 20, 2019, 03:06:09 AM
I don’t care what the hell molino and Hyland says we’re simply not getting anything from this USA game there’s just no friggin way, it’s over for us we’re going home. The game they were supposed to get something from was the Panama game and they goofed, the USA will stump us in the ground. sorry to say.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 20, 2019, 04:59:04 AM

Go ahead and blame the coach. But he has to work with what he has in front of him. We lack creative and attacking talent in the middle of the field. And  quick forwards with quick dribbling skills. Levi fit the latter but he still on the learning curve with the national team. On the attack, we below par.

Defensively we so-so.  Yes DL has to come up with something that will enable our team with few possibilities, play like a top 20 team. Hart had the same problem. He had some success, but was not able to get the team to get pass the quarter finals on two occasions. Go ahead. Let them fire DL and bring in a new coach.  Would not make a difference.

Players of that ilk were either on the bench or not selected.

With the central midfield constituted as it is, yuh not going  to get the fruits. Perhaps a creative player within the mix, but at least one player needs to not be shy about being positive with the ball.

Finding a way for Williams and Joevin to be on the same time isn't the worst idea. Unlike others, I was not at all surprised that Jomal Williams could get the nod with Jones on the bench. Could that be achieved without sacrificing Lewis? Maybe. Maybe not. Lewis was never going to give you 90 minutes, so why not have him be the sub coming on. We know the shift he could put in as an impact player in reduced time. He'll always give his markers something to think about.

If you review Hyland's career and where he is effective offensively, he's a player one needs to have arriving between 20 to 35 yards from goal. There is a consistent pattern of him troubling goalkeepers from outside the "D" and creating second opportunities for other attackers. To have him in matches sitting on this shooting ability is less than ideal. Why restrict it to dead ball situations? Get him there in the run of play.

Ppl talk about him being anonymous and missing in action, but if I'm a carpenter I would be an anonymous plumber.

Post by: soccerman on June 20, 2019, 07:16:09 AM
^^^^ I remembered when Joevin joined the team before the Canada game he didn't start and DL mentioned it was because he wasn't fit since he just started back at Seattle. Could be the reason he didn't start? Jomal and Joevin both play on the left, what do you think about Joevin in the middle with Molino? I feel they can be positive with the ball and their presence on the inside will create space for us on the width given their ability to attract opponents.
Post by: lefty on June 20, 2019, 08:34:07 AM
^^^^ I remembered when Joevin joined the team before the Canada game he didn't start and DL mentioned it was because he wasn't fit since he just started back at Seattle. Could be the reason he didn't start? Jomal and Joevin both play on the left, what do you think about Joevin in the middle with Molino? I feel they can be positive with the ball and their presence on the inside will create space for us on the width given their ability to attract opponents.

Joevin not left footed slot him on d right and let him cut in...you kinda lose his crossing from the right but u may gain ah goal threat

Post by: Sando prince on June 20, 2019, 09:29:25 AM
T&T sports media lack the substance when asking our athletes questions. Ask the captain Hyland what he think about his own performance. Ask the coach why he think the team has struggled to score a single goal in their last six or seven international matches. When you ask these questions you will have follow up questions based on the answers given. I would love to know more about what are DL expectations from the eleven men he is putting out in the field and the media has to force him to be accountable to the nation as we are supporting the team
Post by: asylumseeker on June 20, 2019, 09:31:48 AM
If Joevin in puts his mind to it, nothing but a tractor would stop him from getting crosses in from the right, regardless of his dominant foot.
Post by: Spursy on June 20, 2019, 10:16:43 AM
What you fellas thinking? 10-0? 7-0? 5-0? honestly i'll take a nice 2-0 loss. We can always blame the referee after the game. I swear if I see Nathan Lewis on the starting 11, I am switching my nationality to Guyana.
Post by: lefty on June 20, 2019, 11:28:22 AM
If Joevin in puts his mind to it, nothing but a tractor would stop him from getting crosses in from the right, regardless of his dominant foot.
so you agree dat could be a good option then....because I does wonder why we never try it....when he scores\shoots on the left is almost always a trivela type shot imagine him getting more opportunities to shoot without d added degree of difficulty
Post by: andre samuel on June 20, 2019, 12:43:55 PM

Quick question..........crosses for who?
Post by: asylumseeker on June 20, 2019, 12:57:52 PM

Quick question..........crosses for who?

Service generally. Despite the fact that we view the attack as not having "recognized" headers of the ball, service still has to be provided and it can be provided in a variety of ways. That stated, I seem to recall Molino putting one away with his noggin.

Other than that, it's about getting numbers forward. I mentioned Hyland in another post.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 20, 2019, 04:28:50 PM
Came across this ... the article as a whole is not authoritative so I'm not posting it in its entirety, but this bit caught my attention.

Marvin Phillip is the clear #1 and is a solid shot stopper, with quick reflexes. He played well in the 2-0 loss against Panama and will to need to have a similar performance.

Expect Daneil Cyrus and Aubrey David to feature as centerbacks. The 6’3” Cyrus is dominant in the air and an excellent tackler. However, he struggles with his positioning and often looks to dribble after winning tackles when he would be better off passing.

David is also 6’3” and similarly dominant in the air. David is far stronger, yet slower and worse on the ball than Cyrus.

Mekeil Williams will likely get the nod at left back. Williams is a good passer and excels at intercepting passes. His greatest flaws are his subpar crossing and tendency to overcommit to tackles.

Look for Alvin Jones to get the nod at right back. Jones, the younger brother of Joevin Jones, is a solid crosser of the ball and is a surprisingly dangerous scoring threat from distance. While he is quite gifted offensively, for a defender, his 1 v. 1 defending is poor and he often finds himself out of position due to joining the attack.

Khaleem Hyland should feature as a defensive midfielder. Hyland is a hard-tackler, with decent dribbling ability, and a powerful shot. However, he is slow as molasses and has a rather limited passing range.

Expect Kevin Molino and Kevan George to feature as central midfielders. Molino will likely play as a #10, in front of George.

Molino is the most talented attacking player on this roster and is a pin-point passer. He is also a good crosser but puts in little defensive effort. It’s unclear if he’ll be at his best, as he just returned from an ACL tear in May.

George will likely drop into defensive midfield where his excellent positioning and exceptional skill at intercepting passes will be useful. His primary flaws are that he receives too many cards and offers nothing offensively.

Look for Joevin Jones to earn the nod at left midfield. Jones is lightning fast, a solid crosser, and a good 1 v. 1 defender. While talented, he is very inconsistent and is a rather poor finisher.

Nathan Lewis has a good chance to start at right midfield. Lewis was T&T’s most dangerous attacker against Panama and is a crafty dribbler who makes dangerous runs. However, his finishing is shockingly poor.

While normally a left winger, Levi Garcia will likely continue to feature as the Soca Warrior’s lone striker. Garcia is an excellent set-piece taker and talented dribbler, but he loses the ball far too easily due to his lack of strength and is a poor passer.

https://www.starsandstripesfc.com/2019/6/20/18691417/2019-gold-cup-us-vs-trinidad-and-tobago-scouting-t-t
Post by: ffisback on June 20, 2019, 04:55:55 PM
If them English boys on the technical staff I say we lose 1 nil but if them English boys not there to help him I say we go collect about 4.
Post by: Tallman on June 20, 2019, 05:12:51 PM
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago arrive in Cleveland ahead of USA clash.

https://www.youtube.com/v/4nvUamaNz_o

WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago defender Aubrey David looks ahead to Saturday's Gold Cup game against USA.

https://www.youtube.com/v/mHp_DCReMn0
Post by: grskywalker on June 20, 2019, 08:39:15 PM

You know what else, that is salt in the wound, Panama honestly did not have a good game, we should have won that one, but all water under the bridge at this point.
Post by: Deeks on June 20, 2019, 09:02:52 PM

You know what else, that is salt in the wound, Panama honestly did not have a good game, we should have won that one, but all water under the bridge at this point.

True, Panama did not have a good game, but they found a way to win.
Post by: Flex on June 21, 2019, 12:32:48 AM
Calls for Lawrence to scrap possession-game.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

There are calls for na­tion­al foot­ball coach Den­nis Lawrence to ei­ther scrap his in­ten­tions to play pos­ses­sion-foot­ball or get in­stru­men­tal mid­field­er Kevin Moli­no more in­volved in at­tack if the So­ca War­riors are to ad­vance out of the group phase of the CON­CA­CAF Gold Cup in the Unit­ed States.

These calls came from coach­es Travis Mul­raine and Ron La For­rest, both of whom are dis­sat­is­fied with the strat­e­gy used by Lawrence in the open­ing 0-2 loss against Pana­ma at the Al­lianz Field in Min­neso­ta on Tues­day night. Both qual­i­fied coach­es agreed that there was a non-ex­is­tent mid­field when the de­fend­ers at­tempt­ed to tran­si­tion from the de­fen­sive third to the mid­field area with the ball.

Mul­raine, a high­ly qual­i­fied coach who has plied his trade at the Sec­ondary Schools and Su­per League lev­els, be­lieves Lawrence just does not have the play­ers to play such a sys­tem. "I think we need to be re­al­is­tic and use our strength, which is speed in at­tack. Be­cause of this, we should con­sid­er play­ing a counter-at­tack­ing game from a 5:3:2 sys­tem, where Levi Gar­cia, Nathan Lewis, Jo­evin Jones or any oth­er at­tack­er can use their speed to get away on the counter-at­tack."

Ac­cord­ing to Mul­raine, "Dur­ing the cur­rent for­mat and play­ing-style, there is no mo­bil­i­ty in the mid­field. This pre­vent­ed the at­tack­ers from get­ting ser­vice of the ball to the goal. I think if we con­tin­ue to play the pos­ses­sion-game, we could find our­selves at the end of a thrash­ing against the Unit­ed States to­mor­row."

La For­rest, on the oth­er hand, be­lieves Moli­no will be key, for the So­ca War­riors to progress. "Lawrence has been try­ing his best, but his strat­e­gy can­not work if the at­tack­ing mid­field­ers are un­able to re­ceive the ball and dis­trib­ute to the strik­ers. Moli­no was no-way to be found when the ball en­tered the mid­field area, and there­fore the Pana­ma­ni­ans were con­stant­ly win­ning the ball and mov­ing in­to quick at­tacks."

He added, "We have a good at­tack­ing force, which we saw it any­time Gar­cia picked up the ball and ran at the de­fence, or any­time Jo­evin Jones touched the ball. But Moli­no could not be found and they could not get the ser­vice they need­ed."

"In ad­di­tion, most of the times the T&T strik­ers were too far away from each oth­er, but gen­er­al­ly, there was no one to con­trol the game for T&T," La For­rest ex­plained.

The So­ca War­riors will next face the USA to­mor­row in group D. They are cur­rent­ly third in the group fol­low­ing their 0-2 loss, cou­pled with Guyana's 0-4 de­feat by the host. With two teams ad­vanc­ing from the group, the War­riors need at least a point from the en­counter, as their match-up with Guyana on Wednes­day is be­ing seen as three points in the bag.

Post by: lefty on June 21, 2019, 04:19:02 AM
What part of what tallest implementing is possession based ??? ???
Post by: asylumseeker on June 21, 2019, 05:26:39 AM

In that it is not counter-attacking oriented. Whether we actually keep possession is a different issue.

Post by: lefty on June 21, 2019, 07:30:26 AM

In that it is not counter-attacking oriented. Whether we actually keep possession is a different issue.

Hmm I always assumed it was extremely poor counterattacking...due to d excessive use of d long punts instead of actual build up play.
Post by: pull stones on June 21, 2019, 10:26:37 AM
I’m sick of watching these training sessions with the team showing how hard they are at it yet it never shows on the pitch. players giving away the ball in critical areas, throw ins are directed at players who are tightly marked eventually giving up possession, why can’t they work on these things in training?

the USA could look at a taped game from 10 years ago and create a strategy on how to play us today with relative success because we have not managed to fix our short comings (passing, trapping, collecting, creating passing opportunities off the ball, running aimlessly into defensive traps ala Nathan Lewis Cordell Cato and Levi garcia, winning headers, throw ins to unmarked players) do we actually work on these things because these are the impediments that stand out for me when we take the field.

in this modern era of the game it is very seldom to see defenders ball watching when their goal is under attack, where in the world does a player get three shots at you keeper in succession while your defenders do nothing.

it’s shocking to see cyrus time after time letting down his fellow defenders and yet make the starting line up IMO that’s insane. when we beat the Americans in couva there was no cyrus no phillip no david no williams and we managed fine without them and i think the coach needs to revisit that notion. those guys are way to nonchalant and lacks intensity for my liking. Intensity won that game for us and it can do it again. let’s go with another option dennis.
Post by: MEP on June 21, 2019, 11:35:50 PM
So apparently things aren't that great with the team heard that was a little toss up in the locker room sad part is that it's not players relaying that info. Will be interesting to see how they play today.
Post by: soccerman on June 22, 2019, 06:17:08 AM
So apparently things aren't that great with the team heard that was a little toss up in the locker room sad part is that it's not players relaying that info. Will be interesting to see how they play today.
Let’s hope they can put that behind them and focus on the game this evening.
Title: Trinidad and Tobago's Gold Cup survival at stake
Post by: Tallman on June 22, 2019, 06:53:21 AM
Trinidad and Tobago's Gold Cup survival at stake
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s Men will be playing for Gold Cup 2019 survival when they face off with host nation United States at the First Energy Stadium in Cleveland from 8pm on Saturday.

A win is needed by T&T to keep alive any chances of progressing to the quarter finals of the competition following Tuesday’s 2-0 loss to Panama. For the US, the result matters for more than one reason. The talk here among the US fans and the media is that the Stars and Stripes men still will want to put that night in Couva behind them and exorcise at least some of the demons by taking care business this time around

USA’s Christian Pulisic has acknowledged that beating T&T in Cleveland is “not going to change anything.” But, he told reporters, “Obviously, I want some revenge. I want to beat them. The team is going to go out and give it everything. We want to win that game.”

And for Alvin Jones, the man who scored the goal that sent the US packing, “It’s just another game in terms of it will not change our chances or theirs of going to the World Cup. But for us, we need to win, it’s that simple,” he told TTFA Media.

Skipper Khaleem Hyland is fully aware of the requirements and his leadership and experience will be vital.

“Yes. We know how critical this game will be. We just have to go out there and leave everything on the pitch. We all know what is at stake. The fans will be against us and America and will be going all out to get a win. But we will not go in there and throw in the towel. For us, survival is the main thing and only a win will guarantee that,” Hyland said.

T&T head coach Dennis Lawrence conducted a one-hour session at the stadium on Friday evening after addressing the media. The conditions were cool on Friday as opposed to the continuous rain the previous day and is expected to remain dry on matchday which should make it ideal for a proper game at the venue which is primarily for American football. It is the home field of the Cleveland Browns of the National Football League and seats 67,895.

“It’s straightforward. There is a lot of history between both countries but like I said before, I want these boys to write their own history. We know what is in front of us and what needs to be done,” Lawrence said.

T&T last met the US at the Gold Cup in 2007, losing 2-0. Prior to that T&T opened the scoring through Arnold Dwarika but lost 3-2 in the 1996 edition with Dwarika netting a double that day.

“The mindset is to get full three points,” said goalkeeper Foncette. We need to win to stay close to the other teams in the group and get out of it . It is a do or die game and there is nothing else on our minds. That time around (2017) was completely different to now. We already knew our fate. We couldn’t qualify for the World Cup and we had nothing to lose. The tables have turned now but this time we have everything to lose. It’s win or go home,” goalkeeper Adrian Foncette said. He stood between the uprights when the teams met in Couva in 2017.

Notes:
Post by: Tallman on June 22, 2019, 08:28:28 AM
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago Camp - All or Nothing going into US Gold Cup clash.

https://www.youtube.com/v/k6gUHFgEOww

WATCH: Dennis Lawrence and Kevan George Pre-Match Press Conference: USA vs Trinidad and Tobago (Pt. 1) - Gold Cup 2019

https://www.youtube.com/v/9yglCPlw4as

WATCH: Dennis Lawrence and Kevan George Pre-Match Press Conference: USA vs Trinidad and Tobago (Pt. 2) - Gold Cup 2019

https://www.youtube.com/v/I214cwAxjS0
Post by: soccerman on June 22, 2019, 09:00:48 AM
Good luck today Warriors  :salute:
Post by: pull stones on June 22, 2019, 09:17:16 AM
Jamol please give us a break. you all were supposed to have done that on tuesday but instead you choked, now you’re telling me that you’re going to succeed today against a team we never got the better of on their home soil in a major tournament with a hostile crowd behind them and I’m supposed to buy that?

Yes the USA is very beatable at the moment but by a quality team, and we just don’t have the quality to beat them so please don’t give us no blasted false hope. what you all should be working on is how to limit the amount of goals that will score on you today, especially is idiot marvin gets the nod.
Post by: kounty on June 22, 2019, 10:58:45 AM
link mih on here if u in cleveland!
Post by: kounty on June 22, 2019, 10:59:58 AM
Good luck today Warriors  :salute:
Post by: Thomo on June 22, 2019, 11:15:03 AM
Jamol please give us a break. you all were supposed to have done that on tuesday but instead you choked, now you’re telling me that you’re going to succeed today against a team we never got the better of on their home soil in a major tournament with a hostile crowd behind them and I’m supposed to buy that?

Yes the USA is very beatable at the moment but by a quality team, and we just don’t have the quality to beat them so please don’t give us no blasted false hope. what you all should be working on is how to limit the amount of goals that will score on you today, especially is idiot marvin gets the nod.
100% pal. Don't want to hear no talk. Only execution. Also we don't have the personnel to play the type of possession based football that DL wants to implement. Play to our friggin strengths - pace and speed, counterattack Football. God help us if donkey Marvin gets the nod again or worse yet Foncette
Post by: frico on June 22, 2019, 12:56:51 PM
It's about time that the people in charge see that DL is not the man to take TT forward,it's more like taking us backward.There was a time when I would wake up to see how we are doing,now I know we are about to lose whichever or whoever we are playing.Football teams all over the whole world shows progress,no one can say we have even improved slightly.Time to forget TT,and I don't mean football alone.
Post by: Sando prince on June 22, 2019, 01:53:38 PM

Somebody send this to dem fellas, if this doh get dem energised for later then nobody can help them

https://www.facebook.com/CaribShowBiz/photos/a.581999751818365/2535436203141367/?type=3&theater
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 22, 2019, 05:20:00 PM
1Marvin Phillip
23 Leston Paul
5 Daneil Cyrus
2 Aubrey David
16 Alvin Jones
8 Khaleem Hyland
4 Neveal Hackshaw
11 Levi Garcí­a
19 Kevan George
7 Cordell Cato
13 Nathan Lewis

Joevin and Molino on de bench.

Me eh know.
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 22, 2019, 05:31:32 PM
2021 is two years away. I hope DJW is far away from the administration. Hopefully Lawrence will be an assistant to Hart in two years. Wishful ent
Post by: soccerman on June 22, 2019, 05:43:02 PM
1Marvin Phillip
23 Leston Paul
5 Daneil Cyrus
2 Aubrey David
16 Alvin Jones
8 Khaleem Hyland
4 Neveal Hackshaw
11 Levi Garcí­a
19 Kevan George
7 Cordell Cato
13 Nathan Lewis

Joevin and Molino on de bench.

Me eh know.
??? Two of our most respected players in the MLS on the bench for this game?
What happen, they break curfew or something?
Post by: noize on June 22, 2019, 05:57:41 PM
DL is a joke yes... :cursing:
Post by: soccerman on June 22, 2019, 06:03:06 PM
How we jersey numbers big in de front so? Almost look like ah American football (NFL) finish.
Post by: lefty on June 22, 2019, 06:21:04 PM
dem fellas not pressing good atall
Post by: lefty on June 22, 2019, 06:41:05 PM
phillips cyah recognize ah counter to save he fckin life steups
Post by: pecan on June 22, 2019, 06:49:00 PM
Have not been on this forum in sometime and I log in and then US score. steups
Post by: Sando prince on June 22, 2019, 06:49:42 PM
T&T keeps possession when moving the ball BACK from their goal but when going forward it seems they have no plan so the possession is always lost in the final third up front
Post by: Sando prince on June 22, 2019, 06:52:01 PM

Wait! why is Joevin jones not on the field now playing?
Post by: trini_stallion on June 22, 2019, 06:59:13 PM
DL needs to  bring in Joevin...Cato getting brush on that left side bad...
Post by: royal on June 22, 2019, 06:59:46 PM
not blaming Phillip for that goal but does he talk to his defenders. That guy had an open header no body really marking him and he just outside de six.
Post by: lefty on June 22, 2019, 07:06:43 PM

whais d good pecan long time no read
Post by: lefty on June 22, 2019, 07:13:17 PM
y dis fckin man so greedy oh muddac#nt man garcia :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated: :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :cursing:
Post by: Sando prince on June 22, 2019, 07:14:29 PM

Is Cato drunk? simple footwork and he is losing control of the ball
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 22, 2019, 07:16:20 PM
not blaming Phillip for that goal but does he talk to his defenders. That guy had an open header no body really marking him and he just outside de six.
Think it was Cato who marking him and let him breeze on through.
Post by: Sando prince on June 22, 2019, 07:16:27 PM
School boy mistakes by our players to give away corners
Post by: Sando prince on June 22, 2019, 07:18:14 PM
The defense is now getting torn apart easily and Marvin now have to play superman goalie
Post by: Sando prince on June 22, 2019, 07:23:58 PM

expected a lot better from Garcia with that! that should have been a goal, best opportunity for him
Post by: lefty on June 22, 2019, 07:25:15 PM
Jesus christ no composure too
Post by: Sando prince on June 22, 2019, 07:29:03 PM

i saw that second goal coming, T&T defense was looking shaky for the last ten minutes, and its NOT Marvin fault
Post by: lefty on June 22, 2019, 07:29:34 PM
Steups
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 22, 2019, 07:30:16 PM
Lewis sleeping.
Post by: Sando prince on June 22, 2019, 07:31:35 PM

So Cato just gives away the ball, its like he out dribbles himself
Post by: Sando prince on June 22, 2019, 07:32:27 PM

Once gain I am NOT blaming Marvin for these goals. Our defense just standing there and watching the American players take shots at him, too much ball watching
Post by: lefty on June 22, 2019, 07:35:21 PM
My goodness
Post by: lefty on June 22, 2019, 07:36:34 PM
Useless
Post by: E-man on June 22, 2019, 07:36:55 PM
Floodgates
Post by: Sando prince on June 22, 2019, 07:37:07 PM
If one does not know football they will think US is some great team, truth be told is T&T poor football that is making them look good. Against any quality team the US will not be having these very easy opportunities to dominate the game
Post by: pecan on June 22, 2019, 07:37:24 PM

Too many distractions and now is 4-0
Like T&T defence asleep

Post by: lefty on June 22, 2019, 07:40:33 PM

Too many distractions and now is 4-0
Like T&T defence asleep

Can appreciate dat
Post by: Sando prince on June 22, 2019, 07:46:15 PM
Sorry but today will be the first time in my lifetime I am going to turn off my tv and not finish watch a T&T football match. I am very curious to see what will be the outcome of DL position as national coach after the Gold Cup. I am very afraid to have him at the helm during WC qualifying. The teams lacks cohesion, chemistry, passion and a plan when on the field.
Post by: noize on June 22, 2019, 07:47:06 PM
The only thing I want to hear Lawrence say in the press conference is that he quit. What an embarrassment,  complete meltdown of this team.
Post by: royal on June 22, 2019, 07:48:29 PM
we'll lose to Guyana
Post by: Sando prince on June 22, 2019, 07:49:00 PM
we'll lose to Guyana

you not saying anything that will surprise us  :D
Post by: g on June 22, 2019, 07:49:19 PM
Sup fellas, the beatings will continue till morale improves.
Post by: Sando prince on June 22, 2019, 07:49:37 PM
Sorry but today will be the first time in my lifetime I am going to turn off my tv and not finish watch a T&T football match. I am very curious to see what will be the outcome of DL position as national coach after the Gold Cup. I am very afraid to have him at the helm during WC qualifying. The teams lacks cohesion, chemistry, passion and a plan when on the field.

and to add his record as coach speak for itself
Post by: FF on June 22, 2019, 07:52:37 PM
Reminder that we haven't scored in 7 games.
Haven't won a game in a year.

Also we were ranked 49 when DJW showed up
Post by: lefty on June 22, 2019, 07:55:03 PM
DL need to go...he clearly have no idea how to use these players
Post by: royal on June 22, 2019, 07:55:15 PM
Trinidad football is in ah real mess from top to bottom, in every area and aspect, not one good part about Trinidad football. 
Post by: D.H.W on June 22, 2019, 07:55:20 PM
They make me come out of retirement to cuss they  :o 6 nil dread. Jesus christ
Post by: Socafan on June 22, 2019, 07:55:32 PM
Wow....haven't been here in such a long time. Not much has changed. I'm just surprised at how amateurish the team is.....they play like amateurs.

I think it's a regression from under Hart, not saying I was a fan of his but under Hart, the team showed conviction, determination., confidence, effort,  the ability to keep the ball in transition. This team shows NONE of that. Where the heck is the midfield? The score is now 6-0. Really? And from a so-so team at that.  So many defensive blunders😲....steups
Post by: Sando prince on June 22, 2019, 07:57:29 PM

Well I turn off my Tv when it was 5-0 and it was hard to not see my team team through the end but I had enough
Post by: Sando prince on June 22, 2019, 07:59:05 PM
If one does not know football they will think US is some great team, truth be told is T&T poor football that is making them look good. Against any quality team the US will not be having these very easy opportunities to dominate the game

As I said earlier, don't be fooled by these American commentators and the score line. Nothing great about this American team and you will see when they face CR or Mex how they will be exposed
Post by: soccerman on June 22, 2019, 08:01:34 PM
Real men fight down Hart too...as embarrassed as I am, I agree with FF, this is beyond the players.
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 22, 2019, 08:03:36 PM
DL need to go...he clearly have no idea how to use these players
And for a man who help bring Birchall on board, he doh seem too keen on courting ‘eligibles’. De Leon son done wit we?
Post by: Anbrat on June 22, 2019, 08:06:11 PM

Do you believe that the coach should have brought on Joevin earlier?
Post by: Sando prince on June 22, 2019, 08:10:13 PM

See this is the issue I have with T&T sports media, because he also brought Joevin off the bench in game against Panama and it seems like the media never challenged him. If Joevin has a minor injury or whatever is the case for starting on the bench to me its not a serious of enough injury for him not to start todays do or die match. Because if you can bring him on early in the second half then may as well start him in a match we must win. Everyone and their mother in T&T knows he is one of our key players. Once again the media never challenged Lawrence on what is going on and Lawrence never really cared to fully explain what d f**kk he doing with the team when talking to the media
Post by: soccerman on June 22, 2019, 08:12:24 PM

Not sure why he didn't start. Either he doesn't have the required work rate or he not fit.
Post by: biga84 on June 22, 2019, 08:13:08 PM
Terrible. Absolutely terrible. I was at the game and the team showed a sense of organization and formation however just before the second goal you could see the team starting to get gassed and lacked shape. Lawrence needed a sub and FAST to slow down the US. He didn’t do it and after that, well it speaks for itself. It’s the minor details in games and the lack of organization hurt Trinidad and fast! US looked like any regular team which Trinidad could’ve beaten however...well the score line ballooned and fast.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 22, 2019, 08:15:09 PM

Not sure why he didn't start. Either he doesn't have the required work rate or he not fit.

After just leaving Bundesliga 2?
Post by: royal on June 22, 2019, 08:16:23 PM
Awful
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D9tjMQ5UYAAOj8F.jpg)
Post by: Anbrat on June 22, 2019, 08:19:38 PM

Joevin looked totally out of his depth. Sub-standard. He never found his rhythm.
Post by: royal on June 22, 2019, 08:20:14 PM
not listening to any post match press conference
Post by: trini_stallion on June 22, 2019, 08:21:38 PM
DL should resign if he’s honest with himself...he should recognize he isn’t ready yet...what a shame...anybody know when is the next TTFA President election? DJW needs to go...can that fool be impeached some how... ??? this is so depressing. We’re not competitive in any way...such a talented group of players that can’t even string a few passses together, play ball in the opposition half, not to mention get some clean shots at goal....terrible state of our football...depressing.
Post by: Peong on June 22, 2019, 08:23:46 PM
Moda foq. Sorry fellas, this is a dark day for us.
Somebody must be held accountable.
Post by: royal on June 22, 2019, 08:26:33 PM
when will we score again ?
Post by: soccerman on June 22, 2019, 08:32:16 PM

That's what's puzzling but listen to DL in his interview after the Canada game. He says Joevin needs more time.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=cQAnHM_O0f4

Post by: Sando prince on June 22, 2019, 08:35:50 PM

well iz now seven games national team play and fail to score one goal. Honestly the average man in T&T dunno the team in such a sad state
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 22, 2019, 08:37:35 PM
No disrespect, but not really listening to DL.  He needs more time, was much better off shadowing Martinez, has a ways to go.  DJW needs to go, we all know this, but we are ballers, TT football fans and citizens, so we support our nation.  Until DJW goes and the footballing fraternity actually gives a damn, forget it
Post by: ffisback on June 22, 2019, 08:42:27 PM
Once the 1st goal score I know the flood gates would open DL set the team up to defensively once the 1st goal went in the team had to turn from a defensive team into a attacking team that's suicidal.
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 22, 2019, 08:59:46 PM
Who are our strikers?
Post by: Controversial on June 22, 2019, 09:50:38 PM
This is what I said would happen

When you fire an Intelligent, creative coach for a sell out yes man
Post by: maxg on June 22, 2019, 09:58:23 PM

Should have been Jomal for me...Something obviously down with JJ. He struggled. Obviously the coach aware, as he not starting him. If JJ turn round and say, he was fine. Then I real disappointed in his current play. Was never impressed with his defensive play anyway. Yet I could say the same about Latas, and would always have him on my field. switk
Post by: Trini Madness on June 22, 2019, 10:12:56 PM
I dont blame the players one bit. The talent is there. The people inside the TTFA, DJW especially, is poisoning the whole footballing body. I think Lawrence should be given one more chance, as long as theres a much better president in power. But my belief in him is dwindling. We go again.
Post by: Controversial on June 22, 2019, 10:14:20 PM

That's what's puzzling but listen to DL in his interview after the Canada game. He says Joevin needs more time.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=cQAnHM_O0f4

Sounds like sabotage to me...

Post by: MEP on June 22, 2019, 11:10:34 PM
I eh even know where to start but there should be a ton of resignations after this game.
Post by: frico on June 23, 2019, 01:10:36 AM
I eh even know where to start but there should be a ton of resignations after this game.
You couldn't be more right...start with DL and work up the ladder.TT should now be relegated to the minnow status of countries that are learning to play football,I wouldn't even rate them better than India,probably just about but not for long.Don't even play Guyana,just pack up and f**king go home now.
SHAMEFUL!!!!!!
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 23, 2019, 04:06:02 AM
I dont blame the players one bit. The talent is there. The people inside the TTFA, DJW especially, is poisoning the whole footballing body. I think Lawrence should be given one more chance, as long as theres a much better president in power. But my belief in him is dwindling. We go again.

lawrence has been getting excellent support !!!  look at matches arranged for him.. the job is beyond him ........
Post by: FF on June 23, 2019, 05:13:08 AM

lawrence has been getting excellent support !!!  look at matches arranged for him.. the job is beyond him ........

Don't be fooled by this. We have been playing one match per international break while other teams play two.
The build up and preparation to these games have been less than ideal as well. Lawrence has done himself no favours mind you.
But the local leagues are in disarray. No football playing. Our ranking has completely fallen through the floor.
There is no strategy, direction or plan in the scheduling of friendlies to move the ranking forward. We just playing whoever like a lucky dip.
So our players going abroad are now journeymen mercenaries playing wherever will give them a check with no regard to their development.
There is no youth program to speak of men's and women's. So where the next generation of ballers coming from?
The local leagues not even playing... The next gen is falling behind daily. This is all on this admin. We thought Ollie was bad and Jack. Some of allyuh couldn't wait for Tim Kee to be out.
Well don't feel things can't get worse. This is Trinbago. Buckle up
Post by: asylumseeker on June 23, 2019, 05:24:20 AM

In a corridor under the stands at the decrepit Estadio Olimpico Metropolitano, a numb Stephen Hart refused to make excuses after watching Canada implode in a shocking 8-1 loss to Honduras.

His team was well-prepared. The heat was not a factor. His players were all professionals.

Reminded that he was not on the field during the debacle, Hart paused and said simply: "But it's my responsibility."

Hart, 52, lived up to that credo two days later by handing in his resignation as national men's soccer coach.

Source (https://www.theglobeandmail.com/amp/sports/soccer/stephen-hart-resigns-as-canadas-mens-soccer-coach/article4621666/)

"But it's my responsibility." Ah so big man talk!

EDIT: Source link fixed.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 23, 2019, 05:44:16 AM

Don't be fooled by this. We have been playing one match per international break while other teams play two.
The build up and preparation to these games have been less than ideal as well. Lawrence has done himself no favours mind you.
But the local leagues are in disarray. No football playing. Our ranking has completely fallen through the floor.
There is no strategy, direction or plan in the scheduling of friendlies to move the ranking forward. We just playing whoever like a lucky dip.
So our players going abroad are now journeymen mercenaries playing wherever will give them a check with no regard to their development.
There is no youth program to speak of men's and women's. So where the next generation of ballers coming from?
The local leagues not even playing... The next gen is falling behind daily. This is all on this admin. We thought Ollie was bad and Jack. Some of allyuh couldn't wait for Tim Kee to be out.

Dahis de damn ting. It's unlikely we have hit rock bottom. Time and time in the past, the presumption by some was that we  had levelled out on f**kery, but it has been confirmed that's not the case.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 23, 2019, 06:00:29 AM

So tempted to put this in the Memorable Quotes thread.

When will we score again and when will we score when it matters?
Post by: lucky4life on June 23, 2019, 06:02:15 AM
I lost all respect for trinidad 🇹🇹 football team last night, you make the USA 🇺🇸 them give you 6 LOVE and to make it worse the USA usa team is not GOOD you make them look like Barcelona last night, I'm so mad 😠 you all lay down last night and make the USA 🇺🇸 do what they wanted to, whenever the USA 🇺🇸 playing any team i always wanted them to lose especially when they are playing the Caribbean teams
Post by: asylumseeker on June 23, 2019, 06:13:42 AM
I lost all respect for trinidad 🇹🇹 football team last night, you make the USA 🇺🇸 them give you 6 LOVE and to make it worse the USA usa team is not GOOD you make them look like Barcelona last night, I'm so mad 😠 you all lay down last night and make the USA 🇺🇸 do what they wanted to, whenever the USA 🇺🇸 playing any team i always wanted them to lose especially when they are playing the Caribbean teams

Aye lucky, oh gorm go easy on de flags nah. Ah feeling like ah in de American Outlaws section of the stadium and today ain't de day for that. :)
Post by: asylumseeker on June 23, 2019, 06:28:42 AM

Absolutely not. Emphatically no! When the writing is on the wall, there's no reason to work your way to the back of the cave.
Post by: Anbrat on June 23, 2019, 06:44:27 AM
You couldn't be more right...start with DL and work up the ladder.TT should now be relegated to the minnow status of countries that are learning to play football,I wouldn't even rate them better than India,probably just about but not for long.Don't even play Guyana,just pack up and f**king go home now.
SHAMEFUL!!!!!!
Sorry Frico but it should start with DJW and work down the ladder.......
Post by: sjahrain on June 23, 2019, 06:47:29 AM
DL should had in his papers...and the knuckle head at the head of the table should walk the plank...bye bye baby bye bye bye...end this sorry era and expriment...
Post by: asylumseeker on June 23, 2019, 07:33:32 AM
WATCH Post-match press conference of Trinidad and Tobago Men's National Team coach, Dennis Lawrence following 6-0 loss to the United States during the 2019 Gold Cup group stage.

https://www.youtube.com/v/pkZxggk21jA
Post by: frico on June 23, 2019, 07:41:56 AM
Anbrat' Point taken but clean out the bloody house.This crap is hard to swallow,it might be an idea to stay out of international football for 2 or 3 years and start with some young talent,as young as 15 or 16.
Post by: Tallman on June 23, 2019, 08:32:53 AM
WATCH: Highlights of Trinidad and Tobago's 6-0 loss to the United States.

https://www.youtube.com/v/UCadLX9hsF0
Post by: MEP on June 23, 2019, 08:36:23 AM
Anbrat' Point taken but clean out the bloody house.This crap is hard to swallow,it might be an idea to stay out of international football for 2 or 3 years and start with som
WATCH Post-match press conference of Trinidad and Tobago Men's National Team coach, Dennis Lawrence following 6-0 loss to the United States during the 2019 Gold Cup group stage.

he does talk a real good game
Post by: lucky4life on June 23, 2019, 08:49:09 AM

Aye lucky, oh gorm go easy on de flags nah. Ah feeling like ah in de American Outlaws section of the stadium and today ain't de day for that. :)
you now what i don't like is when we Caribbean countries play the USA we always play SCARE i don't understand that, and the USA is not are never really been a BETTER team than JAMAICA and TRINIDAD that the part i just don't understand, we need to get rid of that mentality and STOP been scared when we play them
Post by: ffisback on June 23, 2019, 09:25:23 AM
Anbrat' Point taken but clean out the bloody house.This crap is hard to swallow,it might be an idea to stay out of international football for 2 or 3 years and start with som

he does talk a real good game
Its quite obvious this guy this guy does not have a plan B if he does not resign after the Guyana game who ever is responsible for extending his contract should not have anything do with TT football again.
Post by: Tallman on June 23, 2019, 09:43:06 AM
WATCH: Comments from Goalkeeper Marvin Phillip following Trinidad and Tobago's 6-0 loss to USA

https://www.youtube.com/v/r4_tptmP2pQ
Post by: pull stones on June 23, 2019, 10:46:30 AM

mate ollie camps was the absolute worst make no excuses. at least under DJW we playing friendlies be it one vs two games under warner and camps we seldom played in fact there was a time in a space of a year where we played one friendly.

mate ollie camps was the absolute worst make no excuses. at least with DJW we were playing a friendly on every international date. I remember a time when we were playing one friendly per year.......if we were lucky during camps and warner’s tenure. yes DJW has to go and go right now, but to compare Ollie camps with this guy is criminal because there’s absolutely no one worst than mr camps and his criminal friend jack warner. BTW DJW must go now.
Post by: Peong on June 23, 2019, 10:57:38 AM
When last we concede or lose by 6?
What a disgrace.
Post by: pull stones on June 23, 2019, 11:02:21 AM
WATCH: Comments from Goalkeeper Marvin Phillip following Trinidad and Tobago's 6-0 loss to USA

marvin my wish last night was for you to collect a dozen goals but it’s ok my wish didn’t come true but at least I got to see you collect half of that and as the saying goes half a dozen is better than none. now if this is not a cllear indication to you revealing that you are not an international goalie and never was then I don’t know what else would convey the message.

have you ever wondered why you never got an international contract to play anywhere worth while? no one took a chance on you and that’s because you’re a bum, you have no awareness in goal you stand off your line quite often that’s why shit hound zardes scored that third goal with relative ease. you have been doing this to us for over ten years making silly errors and letting in soft goals making ordinary p,Ayers look great. man do us all a favor and walk away and give the youths a chance you and idiot Jan williams. we tired to see your face.
Post by: lefty on June 23, 2019, 11:19:28 AM

marvin my wish last night was for you to collect a dozen goals but it’s ok my wish didn’t come true but at least I got to see you collect half of that and as the saying goes half a dozen is better than none. now if this is not a cllear indication to you revealing that you are not an international goalie and never was then I don’t know what else would convey the message.

have you ever wondered why you never got an international contract to play anywhere worth while? no one took a chance on you and that’s because you’re a bum, you have no awareness in goal you stand off your line quite often that’s why shit hound zardes scored that third goal with relative ease. you have been doing this to us for over ten years making silly errors and letting in soft goals making ordinary p,Ayers look great. man do us all a favor and walk away and give the youths a chance you and idiot Jan williams. we tired to see your face.

dread gettin down on ah man who collect 6 goals from complete defensive and organizational failure ent really fair criticism.....and I DON'T tink he should be first choice keeper either but this jus not fair in d context of how dem goal was conceded
Post by: pull stones on June 23, 2019, 11:43:02 AM

dread gettin down on ah man who collect 6 goals from complete defensive and organizational failure ent really fair criticism.....and I DON'T tink he should be first choice keeper either but this jus not fair in d context of how dem goal was conceded
what you’re actually saying to me is that he was the best man for the job, when he clearly wasn’t. hate to say it mate but I hate this bloke. he has been doing this to us now for the better part of ten years since Clayton ince retired. every time we were demolished by any team in concacaf ironically this dude was in goal. this time he went and let in a half dozen against a team that wasn’t that good. when will this guy leave us alone? he has no bloody conscience.

the first goal last night was quite savable and the 3rd goal was his fault for standing way off his line, he does not inspire confidence in his defenders nor does he talk to them or keep them in formation that’s why he gets hammered. go back and look at tapes of Jan williams who actually screams at his defense when they’re losing shape, he shouts at his players to pick up unmarked players, but not this bloke.

this feller retired from international football and came back to torture us after we defeat usa simply to squeeze out foncette and Ranjitsingh, why? give the youths a chance. I’m glad he got hammered last night he should have stayed retired. hope he keeps getting hammered until him or bull headed lawrence gets the memo. he’s just not good enough for the level.
Post by: pull stones on June 23, 2019, 11:50:14 AM

serves you right. you made all the wrong choices. you left an MLS goalie on the bench for two pro league flunkies. You bench one of the best players in the team (jovin) to play an overrated pair ( garcia and lewis) who can’t hold on the the ball to save their skins.

you insisted on Phillips and cyrus who is the most clueless dim witted players we have while gonzales and Ranjitsingh remain in isolation. and what’s all the more sad is that you will not walk away from the job after this trashing you hard headed mule you.
Post by: pull stones on June 23, 2019, 02:33:57 PM
Who wants to bet in the last worthless game vs Guyana he puts foncette or Phillips in goal and would not give Ranjitsingh a cap to at least tie him to us. just stay tuned.
Post by: Controversial on June 23, 2019, 02:39:44 PM
Why isn’t Greg starting in goal?

Why is Levi playing out of position and why is jones and molino on the bench?  :banginghead:

When I tell man its sabotage, they don’t listen... Lawrence was with Belgium, with some of the biggest names there with him..

You think he doesn’t know Levi is a left winger?  :D where it will suit our team best? LoL

This whole thing is a sabotage
Post by: pull stones on June 23, 2019, 03:26:20 PM
Why isn’t Greg starting in goal?

Why is Levi playing out of position and why is jones and molino on the bench?  :banginghead:

When I tell man its sabotage, they don’t listen... Lawrence was with Belgium, with some of the biggest names there with him..

You think he doesn’t know Levi is a left winger?  :D where it will suit our team best? LoL

This whole thing is a sabotage
levi is a shit hound- tell him I’m leasing my name and he could have it for free, he’s just not good enough for this level- he lacks quality-not very intelligent ala most TT players- plays with his head down- he’s selfish- he beats too way much and gives up possession in the process causing defenders and midfielders to work twice as much regaining possession.

we as a team had the best header of the ball ever in concacaf (kenwin jones) yet our wingers could never put in the crosses that count and did not capitalize on this tower of strength and never use him efficiently because they weren’t good enough.

Carlos, hector, Keon, Lester, atulla, levi, Nathan lewis, cordel cato, Hayden tinto, Kerry baptise, kendel jagdeosingh, none of these wingers winged in anything worthwhile for the best header of the ball ever in concacaf, and the coaches are equally to blame because instead of all this scrimmaging and running around, they should have been running plays putting in crosses to kenny’s head over and over till they got it right. Let’s face it mate our people aren’t very smart and lacks know how. we’re a clueless bunch.
Post by: Tallman on June 23, 2019, 05:44:23 PM
USA rout Trinidad and Tobago 6-0 to book place in Gold Cup quarter-finals
Associated Press

Gyasi Zardes scored two goals in a three-minute span in the second half and the US men’s soccer team earned a small sample of revenge with a 6-0 blowout in the Concacaf Gold Cup on Saturday night over Trinidad and Tobago, which handed the Americans a nightmarish loss two years ago.

Aaron Long scored his first two international goals, and Christian Pulisic and Paul Arriola had one each during a five-goal barrage in the second half. The US cruised to its second shutout this week and clinched a quarter-final berth in Philadelphia on 30 June.

It was the first matchup between the US and Trinidad and Tobago since 10 October 2017, when the Americans, needing only a tie to qualify for the 2018 World Cup, lost 2-1 to the Soca Warriors.

The embarrassing defeat snapped a streak of seven straight World Cup appearances by the Americans and triggered a top-to-bottom overhaul of the men’s program, which has operated in the imposing shadow of the powerful US women, seeking their fourth world title in France.

There would be no repeat performance by this revamped US team. The Americans posted their most lopsided win since beating Honduras 6-0 in a World Cup qualifier on 24 March 2017, when Pulisic also scored and had a pair of assists.

With the US leading 1-0 on Long’s goal in the 41st minute, Zardes scored from right in front shortly after US goalkeeper Zack Steffen made a diving save to stop Trinidad from tying a match the Americans dominated.

Michael Bradley chipped the ball from the left side to a charging Nick Lima, who headed the ball to Zardes in front. The American striker only had to guide it by Trinidad keeper Marvin Phillip in the 65th minute. Two minutes later, Zardes buried a hard shot from the left side for his 10th international goal and second two-goal game for the Americans.

Zardes nearly completed a hat trick, but his low shot from up top in the 70th minute hit the left upright.

Next up for the Americans is a matchup with Panama on Wednesday in Kansas City, Kansas. The Panamanians improved to 2-0 in Group D of the 16-team tournament with a 4-2 win over Guyana, also clinching a quarterfinal berth.

On a picture-perfect night along the shores of Lake Erie, the American team controlled possession and tempo while thoroughly outplaying T&T, which was blanked 2-0 by Panama in its opening match and was eliminated.

The Soca Warriors were content to sit back and let the US attack, hoping to spring counters. They nearly connected in the 61st minute as Cordell Cato eluded three defenders on the right side and hit teammate Levi Garcia in stride. But Garcia’s shot was high and wide, a close call that prompted a collective gasp from the US faithful.

The Americans then took over, flashing offensive firepower from all angles.

It was another step forward for the American side, which includes only six players remaining from the roster in Trinidad two years back.

Prior to kickoff, US players insisted they were not motivated by revenge following the devastating 2017 loss. However, it remains on the minds of American fans jolted by not seeing their team play in Russia last summer.

“It’s about winning the game, period,” US midfielder Wil Trapp said.

US coach Gregg Berhalter stuck with the same starting lineup he used in the opener over Guyana but gave the captain’s arm band to Steffen for the first time. Bradley captained the Americans in the opening 4-0 win over Guyana.

Long, who plays in the MLS for the New York Red Bulls, put the US ahead off a beautiful feed from the left side by Pulisic.

Shortly after the US were awarded a free kick, the Americans kept pressing and maintained possession in Trinidad’s half before Pulisic spotted Long inside the 6-yard-box and delivered an arching pass to the forward, who left his feet, connected and drove the ball past a sprawling Phillip.

The score touched off a flag-waving celebration behind the goal by red-white-and blue clad US fans, who have been anxiously awaiting their team’s chance at some redemption.

They got a little.

Trinidad and Tobago : 1.Marvin Phillip (GK); 16.Alvin Jones, 5.Daneil Cyrus, 2.Aubrey David, 4.Neveal Hackshaw; 19.Kevan George, 23.Leston Paul, 8.Khaleem Hyland (captain) (10.Kevin Molino, 16′); 7.Cordell Cato, 13.Nathan Lewis (3.Joevin Jones 66′),11.Levi Garcia (18.Lester Peltier 76),

Subs not used: 21.Greg Ranjitsingh (GK), 22.Adrian Foncette (GK), 6.Duane Muckette, 20.Jomal Williams. 9.Shahdon Winchester, 12.Carlyle Mitchell, 5.Curtis Gonzales, 17.Mekeil Williams, 14.Akeem Humphrey,

Head coach: Dennis Lawrence

USA  1.Steffen Zack (GK) (captain); 2.Nick Lima, 23.Aaron Long, 13.Tim Ream, 5.Walker Zimmerman; 4.Michael Bradley; 10.Christian Pulisic, 21.Tyler Boyd (11.Jordan Morris 60′), 8.Weston McKennie, 7.Paul Arriola; 9.Gyasi Zardes (17.Jozy Altidore 74′).

Subs not used:  12.Sean Johnson (GK), 22.Tyler Miller (GK), 3.Omar Gonzales, 6.Wil Trapp, 14.Reggie Cannon, 15.Christian Roldan, 16.Daniel Lovitz, 18.Jonathan Lewis, 19.Matt Miazga, 20.Djordje Mihailovic.

Coach: Gregg Berhalter
Post by: grskywalker on June 23, 2019, 06:46:10 PM
Not even surprised by the result, it was expected! It was not a rout, US  ripped us a new asshole
Post by: elan on June 23, 2019, 07:28:10 PM
Being in that stadium last night was sad.
Post by: Sam on June 23, 2019, 07:43:34 PM
Where they find Neveal Hackshaw?

He running like tullum

Post by: asylumseeker on June 23, 2019, 08:00:22 PM

Imagine the players in their hotel rooms.
Post by: pull stones on June 23, 2019, 10:00:23 PM

Imagine the players in their hotel rooms.
they brought it in on themselves, they went in search of the equalizer instead of keeping disciplined and compacted in the back and the Yankees capitalized on their disorganization many times defenders being caught out of position, can’t blame the coaching staff for that. what you could blame them for us insisting on the same players aka cyrus and phillips when we have other options and better options at that.
Post by: Flex on June 24, 2019, 12:17:32 AM
La Forrest: No more excuses please.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

Team se­lec­tion, poor of­fen­sive strat­e­gy and the ad­min­is­tra­tion of the game are be­ing blamed for Sat­ur­day night's 6-0 drub­bing by the Unit­ed States foot­ball team over the T&T So­ca War­riors in a cru­cial Group D en­counter of the CON­CA­CAF Gold Cup at the First En­er­gy Sta­di­um in Cleve­land, USA.

How­ev­er, Ron La For­rest, the for­mer na­tion­al coach, speak­ing to Guardian Me­dia Sports yes­ter­day be­lieves there should be no more ex­cus­es from Den­nis Lawrence, the T&T coach whose team se­lec­tion, among oth­er things, have been ques­tion­able.

La For­rest, once con­sid­ered one of T&T's bet­ter strik­ers, said he was con­fused that mid­field­ers Kevin Moli­no and Jo­evin Jones were not able to make Lawrence's start­ing team for the match, and hint­ed that some­thing seems to be wrong with­in the T&T camp.

Ac­cord­ing to La For­rest, all the de­part­ments in the T&T team were in sham­bles last night (Mean Sat­ur­day night), not­ing that the team hard­ly cre­at­ed chances, and the de­fence failed to stand firm. "Foot­ball is played in two halves, and not be­cause you con­ced­ed just one goal in the first half, means you would not con­cede in the oth­er."

He said Lawrence's strat­e­gy has not al­lowed the T&T play­ers to func­tion ac­cord­ing to their strength.

Al­so ex­press­ing their dis­ap­point­ment yes­ter­day with the team's poor show­ing were for­mer na­tion­al play­ers Clay­ton Mor­ris, Hut­son Charles and Dex­ter Fran­cis, all of whom played on T&T's fa­mous 'Strike Squad' which missed on World Cup qual­i­fi­ca­tion by a point in 1989, be­lieve team prepa­ra­tion which stems from the ad­min­is­tra­tion of the sport, is al­so to be blamed for the em­bar­rass­ing re­sult.

Both Mor­ris and Fran­cis made it clear that what you put in, is what you will re­ceive on the day, both ac­knowl­edg­ing that the sport has been at an all-time low in the past few years.

Mor­ris said, "The re­sult is a mir­ror of the prepa­ra­tion the team had go­ing in­to the tour­na­ment. Of course, Lawrence and his staff must share in the blame, but T&T foot­ball teams, re­gard­less of who is in charge, have been at a dis­ad­van­tage from the get-go, be­cause we do not have the right peo­ple at the lev­el of ad­min­is­tra­tion. Since the in­volve­ment of David John-Williams, we have been made the laugh­ing stock around the world."

Charles, on the oth­er hand, said a to­tal lack of con­cen­tra­tion, which may have re­sult­ed from the play­ers' fit­ness lev­el, may have been caused for the play­ers play­ing well in the first half and just col­laps­ing in the sec­ond.

"The play­ers just stopped what they were do­ing in the first half. I think Levi Gar­cia's in­abil­i­ty to con­vert the chance that came his way, was al­so a ma­jor let-down for the team. Had he scored that, it would have changed the game com­plete­ly."

Ac­cord­ing to Charles, the in­jury to T&T de­fen­sive mid­field­er Khaleem Hy­land al­so im­pact­ed the team as it was with­out lead­er­ship af­ter he was tak­en off.

Post by: Flex on June 27, 2019, 12:34:25 AM
Shabazz wants players to take responsibility.
By Joel Bailey (Newsday).

Former T&T, Guyana coach ‘in a funny position’

JAMAAL SHABAZZ, who held stints as men’s coach for both TT and Guyana, admitted that he is “in a funny position” ahead of today’s Concacaf Gold Cup Group D match between TT and Guyana at the Children’s Mercy Park, Kansas City, United States.

This match will be a virtual dead-rubber, as both teams are out of contention for a place in the Gold Cup quarter-final round.

The Dennis Lawrence-coached TT squad suffered 2-0 and 6-0 defeats to Panama and the United States, on Tuesday and Saturday respectively.

Guyana, with Michael Johnson at the helm, were beaten 4-0 by the US,on Tuesday, and 4-2 by Panama on Saturday.

Shabazz, who is currently the St Lucia team coach, said yesterday, “As a ‘Guyanese-Trinidadian’ who’s gone over to St Lucia, I’m in a funny position.

“I have to support my friend and colleague Dennis Lawrence and I’m always sympathetic to Guyana for what they have done for my own development, and the opportunity that they gave to me,” he added.

Numerous fingers have been pointed at both Lawrence and the TT Football Association (TTFA) for Saturday’s embarrassing 6-0 defeat against the US,at the FirstEnergy Stadium, Cleveland.

But Shabazz has called on the TT players to take more responsibility for their actions.

“For TT to win, the players must take a greater responsibility for their performance,” Shabazz said. “The politicians in local football who wants to push themselves will use this as an opportunity to blame the coach for the performance against USA, the same coach who was there when we beat USA (on October 10, 2017).”

Shabazz, the former Morvant Caledonia United and TT women’s team coach, asked, “Are they saying, that he was a good coach yesterday and a bad coach today, or could the players have applied themselves differently?”

He is expecting a good contest today (kick-off time is 6.30 pm).

“With regards to Guyana, they’ve shown tremendous promise and I like the cadre of players that they have. It’s going to be a good game.”

However, Shabazz is concerned about the performances of four Caribbean teams – TT, Guyana, Martinique and Cuba.

In Group A, Martinique and Cuba have also been eliminated. Martinique finished with three points from three games and Cuba were beaten in all their three encounters. About his current role as St Lucia coach, Shabazz said, “(I) have had one month. We’ve been training for three weeks and we beat (Terminix La Horquetta) Rangers on two occasions.

“I’m very happy with how the team is coming along, and the reception that I have received so far from the players and the people in the (St Lucia Football) Association. I’m eager to continue my work and further my career.”

Post by: Sando prince on June 27, 2019, 01:20:22 AM
^^ So Shabazz really does not understand the criticism of Lawrence goes beyond the 6-0 defeat by the US. So he is not aware of DL piss poor record as coach of T&T? He is quick to mention Larence was the coach when we defeated US in 2017, so does he not know that was only one of five wins since Lawrence took the helm? Is he not seeing the failing style of football Larence has implemented to the team? Is Shabazz just mentality challenged?
Post by: Flex on June 27, 2019, 01:41:48 AM
Board members want urgent meeting after USA humiliation, over 500 fans call for DJW to resign.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) Board members Keith Look Loy and Susan Joseph-Warrick are urging president David John-Williams to call an urgent Board meeting to discuss the Men’s National Senior Team, in the wake of their 6-0 loss to the United States last night—which is a record defeat for the Soca Warriors at the Concacaf Gold Cup.

Head coach Dennis Lawrence received a two and a half year contract extension from the TTFA Board in February, which is set to make him the longest serving national coach in local history.

Yet his record is five wins, five draws and 15 losses in all outings with 18 goals scored and 38 conceded. In competitive fixtures, Lawrence returned two wins and eight losses from 10 matches.

Regardless, four months ago, the Board gave John-Williams authority to keep him until the Qatar 2022 World Cup—despite not knowing Lawrence’s salary or key performance indicators.

Look Loy, the Trinidad and Tobago Super League (TTSL) president and a former FIFA technical officer, had urged the Board to give Lawrence until the ongoing June Gold Cup to earn an extension—but he was overruled. Now, he wants his colleagues to reassess their position.

“After last night’s humiliation in Cleveland, which is being described by all and sundry as ‘a national disgrace’,” stated Look Loy, “I hereby request that you urgently call a Board meeting to discuss: [the] SMNT Gold Cup performance (and the CONCACAF Nations League); Dennis Lawrence’s contract; decisions of the Emergency Committee (previously circulated and attached); and other business

“If there is an emergency in TTFA, it is what happened last night.”

Warrick endorsed Look Loy’s request as did non-Board members like Central Football Association (CFA) general secretary Clynt Taylor, Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) president William Wallace and UTT coach and ex-Strike Squad captain Clayton ‘JB’ Morris.

However, Look Loy is unlikely to get the support necessary to have his meeting since, according to the TTFA Constitution, it would take six members to back his stance.

At present, John-Williams has the unstinting support of his vice-president Ewing Davis and ‘vice-presidents in waiting’ Richard Quan Chan and Anthony Moore, which makes four. Selby Browne and Bandele Kamau are members of the controversial TTFA Emergency Committee that is accused of helping John-Williams sidestep the Board while Sherwyn Dyer has been a consistent ally of the president.

Kamau and Browne travelled to the Gold Cup with the Soca Warriors—all expenses paid—while Dyer, Quan Chan, Moore and Davis have also flown to exotic locations with the squad in 2019, presumably on the say-so of John-Williams.

It means John-Williams might expect to have at least seven from 13 possible votes.

Earlier this month, Pro League CEO Julia Baptiste expressed concern that the Board had been sidelined by the Emergency Committee for several important decisions, including the selection of Women’s National coach Stephan De Four and new kit sponsor Capelli Sport.

“It appears that this emergency committee was put in place to neutralise the Board of Directors,” stated Baptiste. “Something as important as negotiating a kit deal should not be made by a handful of men. Proper protocol will dictate that a decision of this kind be ventilated at the Board level and a decision taken. Not to read an ‘after the fact’ report.

“So the other members of the Board are of non-effect? This is an ‘emergency’ committee; I am sure that the intention and spirit of the constitution was not for this committee to become the sole decision maker or a replacement for the Board.

“[…] This is wrong. It should not be allowed. And if the other members of the emergency committee are comfortable with this then our football is in a worse place than I thought.”

Neither John-Williams nor general secretary Camara David are known to have responded to Baptiste’s concerns.

While the TTFA Board considers meeting to discuss Lawrence’s performances, football fans want to hold someone higher to account. Within 24 hours of the Warriors’ loss to USA, over 500 persons signed a petition that demanded John-Williams to step down as TTFA president.

The petition was started by Warriors fan David Rigby and counted 2006 World Cup goalkeeper Kelvin Jack among its signatories. Below are a few of the reasons giving for signing:

Marvin Nicholas: I’ve signed due to his lack of vision and implementation of a proper structure for the age groups in which these young players could be integrated to the senior level. The biggest mistake was the dismissal of Stephen Hart to deploy a coach with no international experience. POOR CHOICE!!!!!

Stephano Olliviere: A clear lack of accountability and governance in the TTFA, a lack of developmental goals and a clear path to achieve them.

Zwade Swann: Football has regressed badly cause of his governance and approach.

Dillon Seepersad: Trinidad and Tobago’s Football Association needs Proper, Transparent and Accountable leadership which is clearly absent at this point in time. Everything rises and falls on leadership.

Kevin Harry: I just fed up see this side take lix from every body they play…more defeats than victories…ride out soldier!!!

Albert Elbourne: Trinidad soccer lacks the understanding and depth on an international scale. To improve and go forward there must be changes made at the top

Leslie-Ann Bristow: My son is a young footballer. DJW is destroying his future and that if many like him

Ian Fitzwilliam: Tired of watching our national program treated as a personal play thing by the powers that be.

Brian Springer: In my over 30 plus years of supporting Trinidad and Tobago Football I cannot recall us being at a lower ebb EVER! At the end of the day Coaches and Players are Fired/Dropped when results are bad, why should those who administrate not be held to a similar standard? If we are failing in EVERY SINGLE category, Men, Women & Youth teams WHO exactly will the “Home of Football” be housing???

Kristopher Sylvester: Trinidad football is in crisis and he’s the mastermind behind it all

Roger Beaver: These players representing our country deserve better.

Anthony Awai: Simply enough is enough!!

Chantal Forde: We deserve better and I love football. We cannot continue operating under DJW and expect to progress from here on out. It is time.

Roger Dubois: Can’t even manage a parlour.

Dayne Brizan: We need greater accountability and focus on development with the resources we have. John Williams has presided over and is responsible for a high handed approach worst than Jack Warner with far worse results on the field and a poor use of human capital.

Laurainne Douglas: There needs to be a complete revamp of the program which focuses on true development of players and has the best interest of Trinidad and Tobago football, male and female, at hand. No political agendas nor corrupted thoughts allowed.

Richard Valentine: Worst leadership we have ever had in football. It hurts my heart to see something that I am deeply passionate about suffer by the hands of a reckless and inconsiderate TTFA administration. Imagine we are in June and we haven’t scored one international goal for 2019. NOT ONE!!! Coaches don’t even have a clue what to do.

We do have talented footballers, and I will continue to support them in their respective leagues, but in order for Soca Warriors to see their former glory like our 2006 World Cup moment, we need to have a total overhaul of the TTFA administration, starting with Mr David John Williams. Sir, you have tried and you have failed, please step down.

Nigel Myers: DJW is too arrogant, egotistical, and shady. He and his cohorts need to ride out into the sunset.

Post by: Flex on June 27, 2019, 01:51:59 AM
Gally: Soca Warriors lack identity, I don’t understand what football they’re playing.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

“The team lacks structure [and] organisation as some players do not seem to understand their roles and responsibilities. The team also lacks an identity because I don’t understand what kind of football they are playing…”

The following Letter to the Editor on the state of the Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Senior Team was submitted to Wired868 by Hall of Fame footballer and former Strike Squad coach Everald ‘Gally’ Cummings, HBM; CMTT:

A very disappointing performance but not unexpected. The team lacks structure [and] organisation as some players do not seem to understand their roles and responsibilities. The team also lacks an identity because I don’t understand what kind of football they are playing.

To be beaten by six goals was a huge embarrassment to Trinidad and Tobago. We had similar score lines like these in 1987 when I took over the reins of national football from deceased Roderick Warner and Muhammad Isa as a result of a 4-1 thrashing from the same US.

I can’t believe we have gone back to those days, especially where technology is so much more advanced and [there are] so many opportunities available for international friendlies to test your skills against worldwide opponents, which were not available then.

We keep hearing only excuses of learning experiences and developing but they don’t seem to be learning anything or developing. We have very good players, but they look good on an individual basis [and] not in a team situation, which shows a lack of organisation and [that they are] not being used to their strengths.

We cannot continue to go on like this. We need the urgent establishment of a technical committee with the best soccer minds in Trinidad and Tobago—and not friends and associates of the President of the TTFA—to oversee preparation of all national teams.

It hurts to see national teams unable to compete in international competitions due to lack of preparation with so much available potential in the country. I have noticed teams like Jamaica, Haiti and Panama—over whom we had an advantage—are remaining competitive and doing reasonably well.

Over the last five years, I have offered my services to the past and present administrations and the Sportt Company as a technical adviser to assist in preparation of all teams because I have been observing the inadequacies all around.

When national teams are doing well, as in all sport, it lifts the spirit of the country and builds confidence and motivates our young people.