Sports => What about Track & Field => Topic started by: Trini1 on May 11, 2019, 11:12:10 PM

Title: 2019 Outdoor Season Featuring T&T Athletes
Post by: Trini1 on May 11, 2019, 11:12:10 PM
Seems like the forum has seen better days but lets try to keep it going.

On the ladies front it seems as if we have another decent addition to our sprint team. Mauricia Preito, currently a JR at Alabama and has one more year to go. Could be a solid leg for our 4x1 in a years time. Unfortunately haven't seen much of Zakiya Denoon this season I know she is in her final year and school work must be piling up but I don't think she has run a single 100/200 outdoors for the season which isn't a good sign.
Title: Re: 2019 Outdoor Season
Post by: Sando prince on May 12, 2019, 08:36:04 AM
Congrats to the team on the world relay gold! Still our best hope for Olympic Gold next year!

Watch video of race here https://tinyurl.com/yyl9k7pm
Post by: Deeks on May 12, 2019, 09:49:01 AM
Friggin SUUUUUPAH!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Trini1 on May 12, 2019, 09:52:55 AM
Well done lads they have been a consistent presence on the relay scene glad to see they are winning now. Machel always comes through.

The women have an automatic qualifier to the world champs as one of the top 10 teams at the world relays.
Post by: Deeks on May 13, 2019, 12:26:37 AM
They should nickname Cedenio "Heart-Attack". This man does pull out victories like a rabbit out of a magician's hat.
Post by: royal on May 13, 2019, 05:40:27 AM
They should nickname Cedenio "Heart-Attack". This man does pull out victories like a rabbit out of a magician's hat.

he's just an advance version of Ian Morris 
Post by: soccerman on May 13, 2019, 02:26:34 PM
That was great! Still can't believe he pulled it off. Bravo :applause:
Post by: jusbless on May 25, 2019, 09:14:48 PM
Where is Jacob St Clair
Post by: Trini1 on May 26, 2019, 08:04:26 AM
It looks like they have him down as Joshua St Clair on IAAF website. His season best for the 400 was 48. On April 20th. Maybe picked up an injury some time ago and is in the recovery process. I want to know where Zakiya Denoon has been all outdoor season.
Post by: Trini1 on May 26, 2019, 08:26:55 AM
Mauricia Preito qualified for the NCAA finals in PB 22.99. She's a junior so she has 1 year left and already seems like the 200 is her stronger event. Could be a key player in our ladies 4x1 in the future.

I wonder if coach Shaver is resting Denoon seeing as world champs is so late. I highly doubt but hopeful of. She can be a key player in our ladies 4x100. Khalifa, Denoon and Preito with MLA.
Post by: Socapro on June 01, 2019, 07:18:11 AM
Mauricia Preito qualified for the NCAA finals in PB 22.99. She's a junior so she has 1 year left and already seems like the 200 is her stronger event. Could be a key player in our ladies 4x1 in the future.

I wonder if coach Shaver is resting Denoon seeing as world champs is so late. I highly doubt but hopeful of. She can be a key player in our ladies 4x100. Khalifa, Denoon and Preito with MLA.

How can you overlook KAB for our 4x1 relay team when she currently has the fastest 100m time of our female sprinters this season and will most likely drop even quicker times between now and the start of the 2019 World Champs in Doha?
Post by: Trini1 on June 01, 2019, 10:12:58 AM

How can you overlook KAB for our 4x1 relay team when she currently has the fastest 100m time of our female sprinters this season and will most likely drop even quicker times between now and the start of the 2019 World Champs in Doha?
Definitely not overlooking KAB she's the one ever dependable elite athlete that we have it would be criminal of me. I know she's already posted SB of 11.14 and 11.18 and most likely will dip below 11 soonish.

My issue is, when KAB calls it quits in a few years who is going to fill her shoes? We have Khalifa, MLA has years left in her but we need at least 2-4 more youngsters who will fill the void. Semoy seems to be fading, Reyare too. Zakiya Denoon was running solidly last year but this year nothing... Where is she? Mauricia Preito has improved significantly and I can only hope she continues to next year. These are two athletes who can potentially form the backbone of a new sprint relay squad.

I dare say we need to be scouting at high school level. I'm not seeing much apart from Miss Bascombe.

The men sprints 100 has had no one to fill the void left by our 4x1 team. Greaux and Richards are doing well at 200 but who else do we have?
Post by: Socapro on June 03, 2019, 01:26:12 PM
Definitely not overlooking KAB she's the one ever dependable elite athlete that we have it would be criminal of me. I know she's already posted SB of 11.14 and 11.18 and most likely will dip below 11 soonish.

My issue is, when KAB calls it quits in a few years who is going to fill her shoes? We have Khalifa, MLA has years left in her but we need at least 2-4 more youngsters who will fill the void. Semoy seems to be fading, Reyare too. Zakiya Denoon was running solidly last year but this year nothing... Where is she? Mauricia Preito has improved significantly and I can only hope she continues to next year. These are two athletes who can potentially form the backbone of a new sprint relay squad.

I dare say we need to be scouting at high school level. I'm not seeing much apart from Miss Bascombe.

The men sprints 100 has had no one to fill the void left by our 4x1 team. Greaux and Richards are doing well at 200 but who else do we have?

In my opinion our current problem with our Women's 4x100m relay team has much more to do with lack of proper annual relay camps to get them properly prepared for performing at their very best at Global championships in addition to our team not being entered into any or enough world class meets like Penn Relays, Drake Relays, etc so that they can gain experience, build good team chemistry and get better prepared in preparation for major meets.

Right now our "A" team relay pool of our top 6 female sprinters for our Women's 4x100m relay team based off their best 100m and 200m times dropped this season (2019) are:-
KAB, MLA, Mauricia Preito, Khalifa St. Fort, Semoy Hackett and Kamaria Durant.

I would use our next 6 best female sprinters like Kai Selvon, Kayelle Clarke, Reyare Thomas, Alya Stanisclaus, Akilah Lewis and Shaniqua Bascombe to form a "B" team relay pool which would then attend an annual Relay Camp along with the "A" team to work on our best team orders, etc and to help create good team chemistry between team members.

To end the relay camp I would get the "A" team to compete against the "B" team with goal of running particular world class times in mind before being send out to compete in certain world class relay meets in the build-up to global Championships.

Regards our Men's 4x100m we are currently lacking any world class prospects in 100m but I think Kyle Greaux who is now world class at the 200m should definitely be in the 4x100m relay pool.
However as Jereem Richards is now a core member of our world class Men's 4x4 Relay team it woud be highly unwise to burden him with having to run both the 4x1 and 4x4 Relays at Major Championships in addition to him competing in his individual 200m event as he is not super human and could end up injuring himself by trying to take on too much.

In my opinion the 6 member "A" team relay pool for our Men's 4x100m relay should be Bledman, Sorrillo, Greaux, Callender, Akanni Hislop and Jonathan Farinha while the 6 member "B" team relay pool should be Jerod Elcock, Morain Moriba, Nathan Farinha, Holland Cabara, Jalen Purcell and Dan-Neil Telesford;

The Men's 4x1 should all be put through annual Relay Camps just like the Women's 4x1 team and the "A" team should compete against the "B" team at the end of the camp with goal of them running particular world class times before being send out to compete in certain world class relay meets in the build-up to global Championships.

I have not included Jereem Richards, Deon Lendore and Dwight St. Hillarie in the 4x1 pool as they are all members of our world class Men's 4x400m Relay "A" team and cannot be expected to compete in their individual events as well as in both the 4x100m and 4x400m Relays at major championships.

In my opinion members of our Men's 4x400m Relay "A" team 6 man pool should be:-
Deon Lendore, Renny Quow, Jereem Richards, Dwight St. Hillarie, Machel Cedenio and Lalonde Gordon with Asa Guevara and Onal Mitchell as reserves. Jarrin Solomon would also be in my "A" team if he was active this season but so far he has not competed for 2019 due to what I believe is lack of funding and support.

We also should be grooming a world class Women's 4x400m Relay team around this pool of female quarter-milers and hurdlers but so far the NAAA TT seem to have no intention of grooming one:-
Zakiya Denoon, Sparkle McKnight, Alena Brooks, Mauricia Prieto, Rae-Anne Serville and Elia Nero.
Post by: Trini1 on June 05, 2019, 09:52:17 AM
Completely agree with regard to the camps, we do need sufficient practice and that is severely lacking. It's a shame that we have never had a quality 400m flat female sprinter since our male quatermilers have been there for ages. We'll be waiting for a while for one or for a 4x4 team that can make the finals.

As it stands our 4x4 men have a great chance at medaling. I won't put them as favourites since Michael Norman and Rai Benjamin were both missing from the US world relays squad.

Our women 4x1 if they had sufficient practice could be a real threat but you know how it goes. We have decent individual foot speed but without the practice it won't hold up- finals at best if we get the stick around in the prelims. Men's 4x1... Nuff said but I love to be proven wrong by my peeps.

Denoon would be make a great contribution to the 4x4 but I really like seeing her run the 100/200. Very "smooth" technique
Post by: Deeks on June 05, 2019, 05:23:07 PM
Just watching NCAA outdoor. A dude called Divine Oduduru won the 100 in 9.95. In the 200 heat 1 he won with a time of 19.97. It have a Japanese, Sani Brown running good also. He can second in the 100 with a 9.9 also. Akanni Hislop, 5th in heat 2. Did not to advanced to the final.
Post by: Trini1 on June 06, 2019, 04:29:04 PM
Yes it's Mr Oduduru's year he's been running well. A sub 10, sub 20 double is not easy esp on the same day. I think our Ato holds the record for the most same sub 10 and sub 20 on the same day. I never realized Sani Brown was so tall. He will be great when he finds his best.
Post by: Trini1 on June 06, 2019, 11:26:52 PM
Ato is Khalifa ok? I know I read somewhere she had some injury issues last year.
Post by: Sando prince on June 08, 2019, 11:03:10 AM

Well done Keshorn Walcott  :beermug: hope to see you on the medal podium later this year in Doha

https://www.facebook.com/SocaTv/posts/2671668119574699
Post by: Trini1 on June 08, 2019, 04:39:16 PM
Didn't Shakeil Waithe place top 3 too? It would be absolutely amazing if we could do a sweep of Javelin one day when Tyriq Horsford finishes college.

Rae Ann Serville just ran 52.89 for a junior record hoping to see her develop maybe we can have our first sub 51 female in a few years.
Post by: Socapro on June 08, 2019, 08:56:18 PM
Didn't Shakeil Waithe place top 3 too? It would be absolutely amazing if we could do a sweep of Javelin one day when Tyriq Horsford finishes college.

Rae Ann Serville just ran 52.89 for a junior record hoping to see her develop maybe we can have our first sub 51 female in a few years.

That is why I placed Rae-Ann in my TTO "A" Team Women's 4x400m Relay pool in  Reply #12 above.  :thumbsup:
Post by: Socapro on June 09, 2019, 05:54:32 AM
At Racers/ADIDAS Grand Prix 2019 Meet in Jamaica yesterday evening we had 5 TTO athletes (3 females and 2 males) in action:-

TTO's Cleopatra Borel placed 5th in the Women's Shot Put with a 16.66m throw;
TTO's Alena Brooks placed 5th in the Women's 800m in 2:04.95;
TTO's Michelle-Lee Ahye placed 3rd in the Women's 100m in 11.20 into a -0.5 head wind;
(This is a new SB for MLA and also surpasses the Women's 100m IAAF World Champs Qualification Standard of 11.24 for Doha 2019);
TTO's Andwuelle Wright placed 4th in the Men's Long Jump with a leap of 7.90m into a -0.6 head wind;
TTO's Machel Cedenio placed 2nd in the Men's 400m in a time of 44.92;
(This is a new SB for Machel and also surpasses the Men's 400m IAAF World Champs Qualification Standard of 45.30 for Doha 2019);

This gives Machel Cedenio the best of the TTO athlete performances :salute: at this year's Annual Racers Meet in Jamaica.

Here are official results with videos if available......

National Stadium - Kingston - Site License  6/8/2019 - 7:33 PM
           RACERS/ADIDAS Grand Prix 2019 - 6/8/2019           
                       National Stadium                       

Event 2  Women Shot Put
===============================================================
 Sponsor: JUTC                                                 
WORLD RECORD:   22.63m  6/7/1987    Natalya Lisovskaya, URS   
 MEET RECORD:   18.59m  6/9/2018    Danniel Thomas-Dodd, JAM   
    Comp#  Name                Year Team                Finals
Finals                                                         
  1 #157 Lopez, Yaniuvis         Cuba                    18.23m
      17.46m  17.19m  17.60m  18.23m  17.73m  17.58m           
  2 #156 Ramsey, Jessica         United States of        18.19m
      16.80m  17.93m  FOUL  FOUL  18.19m  17.54m               
  3 #158 Riddick, Monique        United States of        18.16m
      17.64m  17.28m  17.90m  17.61m  18.16m  17.90m           
  4 #155 Thomas-Dodd, Dannie     Jamaica                 18.00m
      17.72m  18.00m  FOUL  FOUL  FOUL  FOUL                   
  5 #159 Borel, Cleopatra        Trinidad and Tobago     16.66m
      15.84m  16.66m  16.55m  16.46m  16.61m  FOUL             
  6 #161 Brown, Devia            Jamaica                 15.97m
      FOUL  13.83m  15.21m  15.97m  FOUL  FOUL                 
  7 #160 Smith, Latifah          Jamaica                 14.19m
      14.19m  14.04m  14.09m                                   

National Stadium - Kingston - Site License  6/8/2019 - 7:31 PM
                       National Stadium                       

Event 3  Women 800 Meter Run
 Sponsor: MAIN EVENT                                           
WORLD RECORD:   1:53.28  7/26/1983   Jarmila Kratochvilova, TCH
 MEET RECORD:   2:00.23  6/11/2016   Natoya Goule, JAM         
    Comp#  Name                Year Team                Finals
Finals                                                         
  1 #  121 Wilson, Ajee          United States of       1:59.22
  2 #  124 Almanza, Rosemary     Cuba                   2:00.32
  3 #  127 Rogers, Raevyn        United States of       2:01.08
  4 #  122 Williams, Chishun     United States of       2:03.69
  5 #  126 Brooks, Alena         Trinidad and Tobago    2:04.95
  6 #  125 Baker, Olivia         United States of       2:05.18
  7 #  128 Watson, Samantha      United States of       2:09.72
 -- #  166 Foote, Shaquena       Jamaica                    DNF
 -- #  172 Morales, Priscila     Puerto Rico                DNF

Women's 100m Dash Racers Grand Prix 2019
https://www.youtube.com/v/4Z4cXZN_pOQ
National Stadium - Kingston - Site License              6/8/2019 - 8:25 PM
                             National Stadium                             

Event 9  Women 100 Meter Dash
=====================================================================     
 Sponsor: ADIDAS                                                           
WORLD RECORD:   10.49  7/16/1988   Florence Griffiths-Joyner, USA         
 MEET RECORD:   11.09  6/11/2016   Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, JAM           
    Comp#  Name                Year Team                Finals  Wind     
Finals                                                                     
  1 #81 Fraser-Pryce, Shelly     Jamaica                  10.88  -0.5 0.210
  2 #82 Smith, Jonielle          Jamaica                  11.20  -0.5 0.156
  3 #84 Ahye, Michelle-Lee       Trinidad and Tobago      11.20  -0.5 0.165
  4 #86 Morrison, Natasha        Jamaica                  11.39  -0.5 0.151
  5 #88 Henry-Robinson, Sama     Jamaica                  11.40  -0.5 0.196
  6 #85 Evans, Gayon             Jamaica                  11.45  -0.5 0.191
  7 #162 Smith-Barrett, Dest     United States of         11.49  -0.5 0.179
  8 #87 Williams, Jodie          Great Britain            11.63  -0.5 0.171

National Stadium - Kingston - Site License            6/8/2019 - 9:33 PM
                            National Stadium                             

Event 10  Men Long Jump
 Sponsor: GATORADE/PEPSI                                                 
WORLD RECORD:   8.95m  8/30/1991   Mike Powell, USA                     
    Comp#  Name                Year Team                Finals  Wind   
Finals                                                                   
  1 #104 Thompson, Shawn-D       Jamaica                  8.13m   0.7   
     7.63m(-0.9) 8.04m(-0.0) 7.94m(-0.7) 7.29m(-0.5) PASS      8.13m(0.7)
  2 #69 Gayle, Tajay             Jamaica                  8.07m  -1.0   
     FOUL      7.85m(1.0) FOUL      FOUL      8.07m(-1.0) FOUL           
  3 #64 Forbes, Damar            Jamaica                  7.96m   1.0   
     FOUL      7.96m(1.0) FOUL      7.80m(0.6) 7.89m(0.6) 7.81m(0.6)     
  4 #176 Wright, Andwuelle       Trinidad and Tobago      7.90m  -0.6   
     7.68m(-0.5) FOUL      7.90m(-0.6) 7.75m(-0.6) 7.87m(-0.9) FOUL     
  5 #23 Emmanuel, Archibald      Guyana                   7.87m   0.6   
     7.50m(-0.5) 7.87m(0.6) 7.85m(-0.9) 7.84m(0.8 ) 7.74m(-0.8 ) 7.50m(0.5)
  6 #68 Hatfield, Michael        United States of         7.38m  -1.4   
     7.24m(-1.1) 7.38m(-1.4) FOUL      7.36m(1.0) FOUL      7.18m(-0.7) 
  7 #67 Bailey, Ramone           Jamaica                  7.36m   0.7   
     7.28m(-1.3) 7.16m(0.8 ) 7.36m(0.7)                                   
  8 #71 Breel, Quincy            Aruba                    7.26m   0.6   
     6.89m(0.3) 7.08m(-0.8 ) 7.26m(0.6)       

Men's 400m Dash Racers Grand Prix 2019
https://www.youtube.com/v/6CqPhBhREd8
National Stadium - Kingston - Site License 6/8/2019 - 9:35 PM
National Stadium

Event 17 Men 400 Meter Dash
================================================================
Sponsor: SDF
WORLD RECORD: 43.03 8/14/2016 Wayde Van Nierkerk, RSA
MEET RECORD: 44.37 6/11/2016 Machel Cedenio, T&T
Comp# Name Year Team Finals
================================================================
Finals
1 #39 Kerley, Fred United States of 44.49 0.151
2 #37 Cedenio, MACHEL Trinidad and Tobago 44.92 0.344
3 #34 Gaye, Demish Jamaica 45.37 0.235
4 #36 Taplin, Bralon Grenada 45.41 0.124
5 #33 Allen, Nathan Jamaica 45.68 0.186
6 #38 Strother, Nathan United States of 45.74 0.232
7 #40 McDonald, Rusheen Jamaica 46.83 0.133
Post by: Sando prince on June 09, 2019, 11:55:37 AM
Sha'Carri Richardson fastest woman in the world for 2019 as of now! 10.75

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rWZ99TJ65SA
Title: Re: 2019 Outdoor Season Featuring T&T Athletes
Post by: Deeks on June 09, 2019, 03:14:52 PM

WoW. Booyaka!!!
Post by: Trini1 on June 09, 2019, 05:33:01 PM

Madness
Post by: Deeks on June 10, 2019, 10:02:39 AM

Madness

So where does these these two performances leave Michelle-Lee?
Post by: Sando prince on June 10, 2019, 01:17:52 PM

Madness

So where does these these two performances leave Michelle-Lee?

Leaves her with more motivation to run faster this year
Post by: Sando prince on June 10, 2019, 01:19:46 PM
How many T&T track fans know about this young Trinidadian lady? Well done Tyra Gittens, hope to see you contesting for a medal later this year at the Worlds

On the col­le­giate cir­cuit, T&T's Tyra Git­tens of Texas A&M Uni­ver­si­ty won the sil­ver medal in the hep­tathlon at the NCAA Di­vi­sion I Out­door Track & Field Cham­pi­onships at Mike A. My­ers Track and Soc­cer Sta­di­um in Austin, Texas.

Git­tens com­plet­ed the hep­tathlon with 6,049 points, fin­ish­ing 173 points be­hind gold medal­lists Ashtin Za­m­zow of Texas (6,222). It marks the high­est fin­ish by an Ag­gie in the NCAA hep­tathlon, bet­ter­ing the fourth place by Daphne Fitz­patrick in 2011. The score by Git­tens is the No 2 per­for­mance on the A&M all-time list.
Post by: Deeks on June 10, 2019, 07:58:53 PM
She has been knocking on the door for a while now. All the hard work is paying off. Hope she qualifies for the worlds.
Post by: Trini1 on June 11, 2019, 06:41:50 AM
Definitely know about Tyra and she keeps getting better which is exciting I hope she can make history for herself and Trinidad by winning a medal on the world stage one day. Despite our lack of governance at the NAAA/TTNAAA in these 2000's we've seen more elite talent than ever before. Moreso the emergence of the women.

Imagine what we could do with good leadership/vision and programs in place.
Post by: Socapro on June 11, 2019, 09:04:41 AM
Definitely know about Tyra and she keeps getting better which is exciting I hope she can make history for herself and Trinidad by winning a medal on the world stage one day. Despite our lack of governance at the NAAA/TTNAAA in these 2000's we've seen more elite talent than ever before. Moreso the emergence of the women.

Imagine what we could do with good leadership/vision and programs in place.
:thumbsup:
Post by: Sando prince on June 25, 2019, 08:13:07 PM
Need to see more T&T athletes out in front among the world best in their individual events. This year is a long season due to late World Championships so they still have time..performances during the season will prepare for the Worlds, don't just expect a miracle performance at the worlds
Post by: real madness on July 05, 2019, 05:29:26 PM
Andwuelle Wright won gold in the long jump at NACAC Under 23 Games earlier today.

http://panelcontenido.fmaa.mx/data/documentos/ID1324133040_resultados%20dia%201%20sesion%20matutina%20viernes%205%20de%20julio.pdf

He broke his previous national record and also set a new games record.

Andwuelle is being coached by former Olympian and former national long jump record holder Wendell Williams.
Post by: Deeks on July 05, 2019, 10:26:21 PM
Congratulations. All the best.
Post by: Sando prince on July 06, 2019, 02:42:35 PM

Best of luck Khalifa, you are still very young with a long career ahead of you

https://www.facebook.com/SocaTv/posts/khalifa-st-fort-trinidad-and-tobago-is-supporting-you-in-whatever-is-your-next-d/2726794610728716/
Post by: Sando prince on July 08, 2019, 08:24:50 AM

American sprinter Noah Lyles ran 19.50 in Lousanne  :o

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9kyTY3RA42c&t=7s
Post by: Deeks on July 08, 2019, 02:18:17 PM
The US men's sprints are stacked to the hilt.
Post by: Sando prince on July 11, 2019, 02:53:43 PM

Wow Michelle Ahye yuh in some trouble in America. Hope its not true

https://socamusictv.blogspot.com/2019/07/track-star-michelle-lee-ahye-charged.html
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 11, 2019, 04:11:18 PM

Wow Michelle Ahye yuh in some trouble in America. Hope its not true

https://socamusictv.blogspot.com/2019/07/track-star-michelle-lee-ahye-charged.html

I see. Might explains her poor performances recently.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 11, 2019, 04:25:03 PM
The alternate view:

https://www.sportsmax.tv/index.php/athletics/athletics-regional/item/42214-ahye-confirms-separation-from-wife-says-she-has-not-been-charged-with-domestic-abuse
Post by: Sando prince on July 12, 2019, 12:49:59 PM

Trinidad and Tobago Commonwealth sprint Champion Michelle Lee Ahye is speaking out after her arrest in Texas went viral on social media. In a Facebook post Ahye explains no charges were laid against her despite the arrest.  However the Williamson County Sheriff's office in Texas says she was charged with assault

https://socamusictv.blogspot.com/2019/07/michele-lee-ahye-responds-to-social.html
Post by: Sando prince on July 13, 2019, 04:34:19 AM
Cedenio Golden in Italy

Well done Machel but your times need to improve if you intend to compete for a medal later this year in Doha. 45.34 will not cut it 

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/local/cedenio-golden-in-italy/article_cf9a0106-a503-11e9-9dc5-4bdbf7339cea.html

Post by: Sando prince on July 19, 2019, 12:30:32 PM
The Pan American U-20 Youth Championships is currently happening this weekend. We sent 15 youth athletes. I am looking to see how Tyrique Horsford performs in the Javelin. But hopefully we see a couple of our athletes shine in this tournament which will bring hope to the near future.

Follow their results here https://panam2019.org/Evento.aspx?eve=696&orden=F&jornada=999
Post by: Deeks on July 19, 2019, 11:00:56 PM
Looking at some of the early result. It is exceedingly tough for our youths.
Post by: Deeks on July 22, 2019, 03:35:28 PM
Sando, ah know you is the forum track man, I wonder what you think of the performance. To me it is disappointing. One bronze. Congrats to Horsford. We should be thankful, though. Our youths had it tough for the past 3 days. I was very, very glad to see that we had a women 4x400 team in the meet. Will they meet the times for Tokyo is debatable. I wish they could, but  very doubtful.  On the U-15 football thread there is a photo where all the teams posing on a delapidated running track, I think Asylum said that was disgraceful. I agree. How are we going to produce winners on facilities like that. We have 5 stadiums(stadia) with running track and we could not produce one track medal at the meet. But I commend all the participants. This is just the stepping stone. Work hard. Seek advice on the right nutrition and conditioning. Good luck. Blessings.
Post by: Deeks on July 22, 2019, 07:27:44 PM
Saw this on Youtube. Don't know if it was posted previously.

The Fastest 100m Sprints In Every Country ● Men
https://www.youtube.com/v/OUkToLjpssE
Post by: Sando prince on July 23, 2019, 02:16:22 PM
Sando, ah know you is the forum track man, I wonder what you think of the performance. To me it is disappointing. One bronze. Congrats to Horsford. We should be thankful, though. Our youths had it tough for the past 3 days. I was very, very glad to see that we had a women 4x400 team in the meet. Will they meet the times for Tokyo is debatable. I wish they could, but  very doubtful.  On the U-15 football thread there is a photo where all the teams posing on a delapidated running track, I think Asylum said that was disgraceful. I agree. How are we going to produce winners on facilities like that. We have 5 stadiums(stadia) with running track and we could not produce one track medal at the meet. But I commend all the participants. This is just the stepping stone. Work hard. Seek advice on the right nutrition and conditioning. Good luck. Blessings.

Just the same ole same ole with T&T track and field. No difference from lets say '10 years ago'. yes we continue to say this is just the stepping stone youth, work hard and you will get better. In the end its just talk. yes facilities need to be maintained but there is a lot more to be done.

The culture of track and sports need to change. We often ask why we don't have more medal winners at the senior level at major global championships? the answer is so simple but the dinosaur heads in T&T seem to still not grasp it... success do not happen overnight, its starts at teh youth level, stop wishing for overnight suceess!  we need better coaching, you cant just depend on american scholarships for athletes to develop abroad, and  sorry to say but we do not have local coaches who can fully develop our young athletes to reach their full potential. Instead we need qualified foreign coaches to lead and our coaches can learn from them.

But how do you tell all of this to these old men who think they know it all? Our athletes need better nutrition, need more financial investment, need more local competitive meets during the season.  The netire culture need to change and what is even more sad is our sports media seem not to care or just dont know better because they should be pressing these issues to the sporting authorities and making the public more aware of what needs to be done. Instead they seem to just be happy with the outcome of winning one or two bronze medals every championship for the last twenty years.
Post by: Storeboy on July 23, 2019, 02:41:47 PM

Just the same ole same ole with T&T track and field. No difference from lets say '10 years ago'. yes we continue to say this is just the stepping stone youth, work hard and you will get better. In the end its just talk. yes facilities need to be maintained but there is a lot more to be done.

The culture of track and sports need to change. We often ask why we don't have more medal winners at the senior level at major global championships? the answer is so simple but the dinosaur heads in T&T seem to still not grasp it... success do not happen overnight, its starts at teh youth level, stop wishing for overnight suceess!  we need better coaching, you cant just depend on american scholarships for athletes to develop abroad, and  sorry to say but we do not have local coaches who can fully develop our young athletes to reach their full potential. Instead we need qualified foreign coaches to lead and our coaches can learn from them.

But how do you tell all of this to these old men who think they know it all? Our athletes need better nutrition, need more financial investment, need more local competitive meets during the season.  The netire culture need to change and what is even more sad is our sports media seem not to care or just dont know better because they should be pressing these issues to the sporting authorities and making the public more aware of what needs to be done. Instead they seem to just be happy with the outcome of winning one or two bronze medals every championship for the last twenty years.
No matter how much you say it and no matter the repeated poor results, whether it is football, track and field, cricket, you name it, the know-it-all s who run our sports continue to create more and more embarrassing scenarios for our youth.
Post by: Sando prince on July 23, 2019, 04:34:25 PM
First things first for the NAAATT realize and full accept there is NO local coach in T&T this day and age ready, then realize you planning is piss poor then realize you not doing enough in youth recruitment across the various track and field disciplines then realize the culture has to change. If you can accept that the entire structure is shit then you can then understand the importance of fixing it correctly.. but if you continue believing that some how we good enough because manage to bring out ONE javelin star in fifty years or ONE 200m world champion in the last twenty years then you is an ass.  because you have accepted very little and trying to sell that as as success to the public. What next? you will wait another twenty years for another one athlete who will overcome the shit structure and say TT is successful in sports? Old bannana heads type of mentality
Post by: Deeks on July 23, 2019, 06:27:08 PM
What next? you will wait another twenty years for another one athlete who will overcome the shit structure and say TT is successful in sports? Old bannana heads type of mentality

Yep. I am afraid so. Sando I following sports and football since I small. I remember in the early 70s when Carifta games started( I think it was in Barbados). Of course JA dominated. When the games came to TT, I say we go win. Well we did quite well, but JA dominated. I say, something not right here. JA had more athletes than anyone  in every event. That was the early to mid 70s. And we have regressed. What was disappointed and embarassing (to me at least) was where the games were held. It was the Oval on the grass. Nothing wrong but this was TT, and we did not have a athletics track. JA, B'dos and Bahamas all had. We did not. But the games overall was enjoyable.
Post by: Trini1 on July 27, 2019, 07:54:30 AM
So the National champs have started. Some notable absences from the women's 100:

Khalifa St Fort
Zakiya Denoon
Jenea Spinks

Anybody know what happened to Zakiya Denoon? It's like she fell off the face of the earth after having a solid season last year.

Khalifa is on hiatus I suppose.

Jenea Spinks I'm not too sure.
Post by: Socapro on July 27, 2019, 08:06:10 AM
Link to Senior Champs Results: http://www.naaatt.org/results/2019/naaa_open
Post by: Socapro on July 27, 2019, 08:21:56 AM
All the usual suspects are through to the 100m Semis taking place today.

Hasely Crawford Stadium - Site License                       26/07/2019 - 8:51 PM
         2019 NGC/NAAATT NATIONAL OPEN CHAMPS - 26/07/2019 to 28/07/2019         
                            Live results @ ttnaaa.org                             
                             HASELY CRAWFORD STADIUM                             

Event 3  Women 100 Meter Dash
24 Advance:  Top 4 Each Heat plus Next 8 Best Times
==========================================================================       
          NR: @ 10.82  24/06/2017  Michelle-Lee Ahye                             
          CR: # 10.82  2017        Michelle-Lee Ahye                             
    Comp#  Name                Year Team                   Prelims  Alternate       
Heat  1 Preliminaries   Wind: 0.4                                                 
  1 # 1114 Baptiste, Kelly-A  86 Zenith                   11.50Q                 
  2 #   59 Thomas, Reyare     87 Abilene Wildcats         11.81Q                 
  3 # 2634 Maxime, Jeunice    97 Memphis Pioneers         12.83Q                 
  4 #  740 Cain, Nyoshia      94 Simplex                  13.37Q                 
Heat  2 Preliminaries   Wind: 2.9                                                 
  1 # 2653 Prieto, Mauricia   95 PFNJ                     11.34Q                 
  2 #  928 Stanisclaus, Ayla  00 Rss Phoenix              11.51Q                 
  3 #  397 Selvon, Kai        92 Air Bon Sonics           11.67Q                 
  4 # 2901 Jackson, Ariel     94 Barbados                 11.95Q                 
  5 #  742 Bertrand, Leah     02 Simplex                  11.98q                 
  6 # 1280 MC Sween, Jodiah   99 Utt Fast Track           12.32q                 
  7 # 1440 Charles, Shania M  98 Concorde                 12.76q                 
Heat  3 Preliminaries   Wind: 0.9                                                 
  1 # 1109 Hackett, Semoy     88 T & T Unattached         11.57Q                 
  2 # 2902 Evelyn, Tristan    98 Barbados                 11.64Q                 
  3 # 1459 Prescott, Kadesha  97 Concorde                 11.92Q                 
  4 #  408 Esdelle, Akeera    99 PFNJ                     12.25Q                 
  5 #  752 LA Fortune, Kyah   03 Simplex                  12.58q                 
Heat  4 Preliminaries   Wind: 1.3                                                 
  1 # 2644 Ahye, Michelle Le  92 Rebirth                  11.22Q                 
  2 #  738 Durant, Kamaria    91 Simplex                  11.40Q                 
  3 # 2897 Harrigan-Scott, T  82 British Virgin           11.70Q                 
  4 #  411 Campbell, Naomi    01 PFNJ                     11.87Q                 
  5 # 2522 Barker, Jada       97 Cougars                  12.23q                 
  6 # 1370 Joseph, Curfia     97 Stallion                 12.66q                 
==================================================================================
          NR: @ 10.82  24/06/2017  Michelle-Lee Ahye                             
          CR: # 10.82  2017        Michelle-Lee Ahye                             
    Comp#  Name                Year Team                   Prelims  Wind H# Alternate
==================================================================================
Preliminaries                                                                     
  1 # 2644 Ahye, Michelle Le  92 Rebirth                  11.22Q  1.3  4         
  2 # 2653 Prieto, Mauricia   95 PFNJ                     11.34Q  2.9  2         
  3 # 1114 Baptiste, Kelly-A  86 Zenith                   11.50Q  0.4  1         
  4 # 1109 Hackett, Semoy     88 T & T Unattached         11.57Q  0.9  3         
  5 #  738 Durant, Kamaria    91 Simplex                  11.40Q  1.3  4         
  6 #  928 Stanisclaus, Ayla  00 Rss Phoenix              11.51Q  2.9  2         
  7 # 2902 Evelyn, Tristan    98 Barbados                 11.64Q  0.9  3         
  8 #   59 Thomas, Reyare     87 Abilene Wildcats         11.81Q  0.4  1         
  9 #  397 Selvon, Kai        92 Air Bon Sonics           11.67Q  2.9  2         
 10 # 2897 Harrigan-Scott, T  82 British Virgin           11.70Q  1.3  4         
 11 # 1459 Prescott, Kadesha  97 Concorde                 11.92Q  0.9  3         
 12 # 2634 Maxime, Jeunice    97 Memphis Pioneers         12.83Q  0.4  1         
 13 #  411 Campbell, Naomi    01 PFNJ                     11.87Q  1.3  4         
 14 # 2901 Jackson, Ariel     94 Barbados                 11.95Q  2.9  2         
 15 #  408 Esdelle, Akeera    99 PFNJ                     12.25Q  0.9  3         
 16 #  740 Cain, Nyoshia      94 Simplex                  13.37Q  0.4  1         
 17 #  742 Bertrand, Leah     02 Simplex                  11.98q  2.9  2         
 18 # 2522 Barker, Jada       97 Cougars                  12.23q  1.3  4         
 19 # 1280 MC Sween, Jodiah   99 Utt Fast Track           12.32q  2.9  2         
 20 #  752 LA Fortune, Kyah   03 Simplex                  12.58q  0.9  3         
 21 # 1370 Joseph, Curfia     97 Stallion                 12.66q  1.3  4         
 22 # 1440 Charles, Shania M  98 Concorde                 12.76q  2.9  2         
Post by: Socapro on July 27, 2019, 08:28:25 AM
All the usual suspects are through to the 100m Semis taking place today.
Interesting Darryl Brown is still running!

Hasely Crawford Stadium - Site License                       26/07/2019 - 8:51 PM
                             HASELY CRAWFORD STADIUM                             

Event 4  Men 100 Meter Dash
24 Advance:  Top 3 Each Heat plus Next 6 Best Times
          NR: @  9.82  13/06/2014  Richard Thompson                               
          CR: #  9.82  2014        Richard Thompson                               
Heat  1 Preliminaries   Wind: 1.5                                                 
  1 #  171 Hislop, Akanni     98 Kaizen Panthers          10.36Q                 
  2 # 1161 Taffe, Ayodele     94 Uwi Track & Field        10.59Q                 
  3 #  736 Mark, MACHAEL      93 Simplex                  11.09Q                 
  4 #  496 Robinson, Shemuel  99 Spartans                 11.86                   
Heat  2 Preliminaries   Wind: 0.7                                                 
  1 #   44 Greaux, Kyle       88 Abilene Wildcats         10.26Q                 
  2 # 2638 Marcano, Andre     86 Concorde                 10.47Q                 
  3 #  413 Augustine, Devin   03 PFNJ                     10.68Q                 
  4 # 1478 Williams, Trey     99 Uwi Track & Field        10.74q 10.733           
  4 #  570 Alleyne -noreiga,  99 Memphis Pioneers         10.74q 10.732           
  6 # 1012 Sandy, Darvin      94 Alpha Athletic Club      11.05                   
Heat  3 Preliminaries   Wind: 0.6                                                 
  1 #   40 Elcock, Jerod      98 Abilene Wildcats         10.39Q                 
  2 # 2485 Sorrillo, Rondell  86 LA Brea                  10.42Q                 
  3 # 2966 Bascom, Jeremy     83 Guyana                   10.51Q                 
  4 #  725 Brewster, Aaron    96 Simplex                  10.72q                 
  5 #  682 Diaz, Anthony      03 PFNJ                     11.19                   
Heat  4 Preliminaries   Wind: 0.9                                                 
  1 #   53 Richards, Jereem   94 Abilene Wildcats         10.31Q                 
  2 #  580 Callender, Emmanu  84 Memphis Pioneers         10.42Q                 
  3 #   42 Farinha, Nathan    96 Abilene Wildcats         10.54Q                 
  4 # 2181 Baker, Jonathan    98 Abilene Wildcats         10.78q                 
  5 # 2963 Houston, Harold    90 Bermuda Track Team       10.79q 10.786           
  6 #  724 Abdullah, Khaliyq  94 Simplex                  10.99                   
  7 # 1465 Thompson, Orane A  93 Concorde                 11.31                   
  8 #  480 Leung Woo-Gabriel  98 Spartans                 12.07                   
Heat  5 Preliminaries   Wind: +0.0                                               
  1 #   41 Farinha, Jonathan  96 Abilene Wildcats         10.35Q                 
  2 # 2260 Brown, Darryl      84 Abilene Wildcats         10.58Q                 
  3 # 2412 Constantine, John  95 Abilene Wildcats         10.68Q                 
  4 #  548 Campbell, Clement  99 Memphis Pioneers         10.85                   
  5 #  728 Richards, Christo  95 Simplex                  10.92                   
  6 # 1005 LA Croix, Wynston  92 Alpha Athletic Club      11.05                   
  7 # 1363 Williams, Xaverri  96 Stallion                 11.12                   
Heat  6 Preliminaries   Wind: 1.8                                                 
  1 #  722 Bledman, Keston    88 Simplex                  10.42Q                 
  2 # 1477 Richards, Chad     97 Uwi Track & Field        10.55Q                 
  3 # 2494 Telesford, Dan-Ne  90 Abilene Wildcats         10.56Q                 
  4 #  407 Mitchell, Onil     99 PFNJ                     10.66q                 
  5 # 1645 Thomas, Ian        94 Memphis Pioneers         10.79  10.789           
  6 # 1152 Graham, Matthew    99 Utt Fast Track           11.04                   
 -- # 2896 Singh Nagarkoti,   88 India Track Team            FS                   
          NR: @  9.82  13/06/2014  Richard Thompson                               
          CR: #  9.82  2014        Richard Thompson                               
    Comp#  Name                Year Team                   Prelims  Wind H# Alternate
Preliminaries                                                                     
  1 #   44 Greaux, Kyle       88 Abilene Wildcats         10.26Q  0.7  2         
  2 #   53 Richards, Jereem   94 Abilene Wildcats         10.31Q  0.9  4         
  3 #   41 Farinha, Jonathan  96 Abilene Wildcats         10.35Q +0.0  5         
  4 #  171 Hislop, Akanni     98 Kaizen Panthers          10.36Q  1.5  1         
  5 #   40 Elcock, Jerod      98 Abilene Wildcats         10.39Q  0.6  3         
  6 #  722 Bledman, Keston    88 Simplex                  10.42Q  1.8  6         
  7 #  580 Callender, Emmanu  84 Memphis Pioneers         10.42Q  0.9  4         
  7 # 2485 Sorrillo, Rondell  86 LA Brea                  10.42Q  0.6  3         
  9 # 2638 Marcano, Andre     86 Concorde                 10.47Q  0.7  2         
 10 # 1477 Richards, Chad     97 Uwi Track & Field        10.55Q  1.8  6         
 11 # 2260 Brown, Darryl      84 Abilene Wildcats         10.58Q +0.0  5         
 12 # 1161 Taffe, Ayodele     94 Uwi Track & Field        10.59Q  1.5  1         
 13 # 2966 Bascom, Jeremy     83 Guyana                   10.51Q  0.6  3         
 14 #   42 Farinha, Nathan    96 Abilene Wildcats         10.54Q  0.9  4         
 15 # 2494 Telesford, Dan-Ne  90 Abilene Wildcats         10.56Q  1.8  6         
 16 #  413 Augustine, Devin   03 PFNJ                     10.68Q  0.7  2         
 16 # 2412 Constantine, John  95 Abilene Wildcats         10.68Q +0.0  5         
 18 #  736 Mark, MACHAEL      93 Simplex                  11.09Q  1.5  1         
 19 #  407 Mitchell, Onil     99 PFNJ                     10.66q  1.8  6         
 20 #  725 Brewster, Aaron    96 Simplex                  10.72q  0.6  3         
 21 #  570 Alleyne -noreiga,  99 Memphis Pioneers         10.74q  0.7  2 10.732   
 22 # 1478 Williams, Trey     99 Uwi Track & Field        10.74q  0.7  2 10.733   
 23 # 2181 Baker, Jonathan    98 Abilene Wildcats         10.78q  0.9  4         
 24 # 2963 Houston, Harold    90 Bermuda Track Team       10.79q  0.9  4 10.786   
 25 # 1645 Thomas, Ian        94 Memphis Pioneers         10.79   1.8  6 10.789   
 26 #  548 Campbell, Clement  99 Memphis Pioneers         10.85  +0.0  5         
 27 #  728 Richards, Christo  95 Simplex                  10.92  +0.0  5         
 28 #  724 Abdullah, Khaliyq  94 Simplex                  10.99   0.9  4         
 29 # 1152 Graham, Matthew    99 Utt Fast Track           11.04   1.8  6         
 30 # 1012 Sandy, Darvin      94 Alpha Athletic Club      11.05   0.7  2         
 30 # 1005 LA Croix, Wynston  92 Alpha Athletic Club      11.05  +0.0  5         
 32 # 1363 Williams, Xaverri  96 Stallion                 11.12  +0.0  5         
 33 #  682 Diaz, Anthony      03 PFNJ                     11.19   0.6  3         
 34 # 1465 Thompson, Orane A  93 Concorde                 11.31   0.9  4         
 35 #  496 Robinson, Shemuel  99 Spartans                 11.86   1.5  1         
 36 #  480 Leung Woo-Gabriel  98 Spartans                 12.07   0.9  4         
 -- # 2896 Singh Nagarkoti,   88 India Track Team            FS   1.8  6         
Post by: Socapro on July 27, 2019, 08:34:19 AM
All the usual suspects are through to the 400m Final taking place today.
Interesting that defending champion Deon Lendore did not start yesterday, lets hope he is not injured! :thinking:

Hasely Crawford Stadium - Site License                    26/07/2019 - 8:51 PM
                            HASELY CRAWFORD STADIUM                           

Event 6  Men 400 Meter Dash
16 Advance:  Top 2 Each Heat plus Next 6 Best Times
          NR: @ 44.01  14/08/2016  Machel Cedenio                             
          CR: # 44.45  2016        Machel Cedenio                             
Heat  1 Preliminaries                                                         
  1 #  173 Alfred, Darren     96 Kaizen Panthers          46.80Q               
  2 # 1923 Guevara, Asa E     95 Abilene Wildcats         46.97Q               
  3 #  406 Mitchell, Onal     99 PFNJ                     47.57q               
  4 # 2905 Landburg, Jordon   92 T & T Unattached         49.26q               
  5 # 1299 O'Brien, Justen    99 Abilene Wildcats         49.71q               
  6 #  733 Francis, Shakeel   99 Simplex                  50.99               
 -- # 1685 Gibbs, Daniel      97 Mustangs                    DQ  Art. 163.3b   
Heat  2 Preliminaries                                                         
  1 #  172 St. Hillare, Dwig  97 Kaizen Panthers          46.63Q               
  2 #  807 James, Ohdel R     95 Abilene Wildcats         47.28Q               
  3 # 1984 Mason, Sheldon     84 Abilene Wildcats         49.59q               
  4 #  737 Baptiste, Keron    99 Simplex                  53.89               
Heat  3 Preliminaries                                                         
  1 # 2965 Shearman, Kimorie  92 ST Vincent               48.46Q               
  2 # 1531 Drayton, Nicholas  97 Abilene Wildcats         50.38Q               
  3 # 2380 Robley, Anderson   97 Zenith                   54.27               
Heat  4 Preliminaries                                                         
  1 #  721 Cedenio, Machel    95 Simplex                  46.31Q               
  2 # 1015 Sterling, Tacuma   92 Alpha Athletic Club      47.55Q               
  3 #   58 Taylor, Judah      98 Abilene Wildcats         47.89q               
  4 # 1472 Holder, Andrew     94 Uwi Track & Field        49.76q               
  5 #  487 Baggoo, Gabriel    99 Spartans                 55.16               
 -- #  769 Campbell, Andrii   99 Rebirth                    DNF               
 -- # 1473 Serrant, David J   96 Uwi Track & Field           DQ  Art. 163.3b   
Heat  5 Preliminaries                                                         
  1 # 1115 Quow, Renny        87 Zenith                   48.29Q               
  2 # 1476 Bernard, Dariell   99 Uwi Track & Field        50.75Q               
  3 #  282 Charles, Collin    90 T & T Unattached         55.01               
============================================================================= 
          NR: @ 44.01  14/08/2016  Machel Cedenio                             
          CR: # 44.45  2016        Machel Cedenio                             
    Comp#  Name                Year Team                   Prelims  H# Alternate 
Preliminaries                                                                 
  1 #  721 Cedenio, Machel    95 Simplex                  46.31Q  4           
  2 #  172 St. Hillare, Dwig  97 Kaizen Panthers          46.63Q  2           
  3 #  173 Alfred, Darren     96 Kaizen Panthers          46.80Q  1           
  4 # 1115 Quow, Renny        87 Zenith                   48.29Q  5           
  5 # 2965 Shearman, Kimorie  92 ST Vincent               48.46Q  3           
  6 # 1923 Guevara, Asa E     95 Abilene Wildcats         46.97Q  1           
  7 #  807 James, Ohdel R     95 Abilene Wildcats         47.28Q  2           
  8 # 1015 Sterling, Tacuma   92 Alpha Athletic Club      47.55Q  4           
  9 # 1531 Drayton, Nicholas  97 Abilene Wildcats         50.38Q  3           
 10 # 1476 Bernard, Dariell   99 Uwi Track & Field        50.75Q  5           
 11 #  406 Mitchell, Onal     99 PFNJ                     47.57q  1           
 12 #   58 Taylor, Judah      98 Abilene Wildcats         47.89q  4           
 13 # 2905 Landburg, Jordon   92 T & T Unattached         49.26q  1           
 14 # 1984 Mason, Sheldon     84 Abilene Wildcats         49.59q  2           
 15 # 1299 O'Brien, Justen    99 Abilene Wildcats         49.71q  1           
 16 # 1472 Holder, Andrew     94 Uwi Track & Field        49.76q  4           
 17 #  733 Francis, Shakeel   99 Simplex                  50.99   1           
 18 #  737 Baptiste, Keron    99 Simplex                  53.89   2           
 19 # 2380 Robley, Anderson   97 Zenith                   54.27   3           
 20 #  282 Charles, Collin    90 T & T Unattached         55.01   5           
 21 #  487 Baggoo, Gabriel    99 Spartans                 55.16   4           
 -- #  769 Campbell, Andrii   99 Rebirth                    DNF   4           
 -- # 1685 Gibbs, Daniel      97 Mustangs                    DQ   1 Art. 163.3b
 -- # 1473 Serrant, David J   96 Uwi Track & Field           DQ   4 Art. 163.3b
Post by: Socapro on July 27, 2019, 08:58:32 AM
Here are the qualifiers for the 800m Final on Sunday.
I think Mark London might be the favourite to win the Final!

Hasely Crawford Stadium - Site License                  26/07/2019 - 8:51 PM
                           HASELY CRAWFORD STADIUM                           

Event 8  Men 800 Meter Run
10 Advance:  Top 2 Each Heat plus Next 4 Best Times
          NR: @ 1:45.43  11/06/2005  Sherridan Kirk                         
          CR: # 1:46.40  2005        Sherridan Kirk                         
Heat  1 Preliminaries                                                       
  1 # 2909 Barrington, Deava  93 Guyana                 1:59.33Q             
  2 #  769 Campbell, Andrii   99 Rebirth                1:59.48Q             
  3 # 1118 London, Mark       94 Zenith                 1:59.88q             
  4 #  836 Herbert, David     95 T & T Defence Force    2:03.34q             
  5 # 1473 Serrant, David J   96 Uwi Track & Field      2:09.38q             
  6 #  282 Charles, Collin    90 T & T Unattached       2:16.53             
  7 #  367 Davis, Amos        99 Cheetahs               2:21.50             
Heat  2 Preliminaries                                                       
  1 # 1685 Gibbs, Daniel      97 Mustangs               2:01.15Q             
  2 # 1687 Heresley, Justin   99 Mustangs               2:01.21Q             
  3 #   71 Francis, Donnell   97 MAP                    2:02.05q             
  4 # 1872 Arcia, Akil        99 Stallion               2:02.47q             
  5 # 1350 Noel, Nicholas     95 Silver Bullet          2:06.77q             
  6 # 1163 O'Connor, Kedane   98 Utt Fast Track         2:12.09             
  7 # 2650 Brown, Marvin      86 T & T Unattached       3:03.33             
          NR: @ 1:45.43  11/06/2005  Sherridan Kirk                         
          CR: # 1:46.40  2005        Sherridan Kirk                         
    Comp#  Name                Year Team                   Prelims  H# Alternate
Preliminaries                                                               
  1 # 2909 Barrington, Deava  93 Guyana                 1:59.33Q  1         
  2 # 1685 Gibbs, Daniel      97 Mustangs               2:01.15Q  2         
  3 #  769 Campbell, Andrii   99 Rebirth                1:59.48Q  1         
  4 # 1687 Heresley, Justin   99 Mustangs               2:01.21Q  2         
  5 # 1118 London, Mark       94 Zenith                 1:59.88q  1         
  6 #   71 Francis, Donnell   97 MAP                    2:02.05q  2         
  7 # 1872 Arcia, Akil        99 Stallion               2:02.47q  2         
  8 #  836 Herbert, David     95 T & T Defence Force    2:03.34q  1         
  9 # 1350 Noel, Nicholas     95 Silver Bullet          2:06.77q  2         
 10 # 1473 Serrant, David J   96 Uwi Track & Field      2:09.38q  1         
 11 # 1163 O'Connor, Kedane   98 Utt Fast Track         2:12.09   2         
 12 #  282 Charles, Collin    90 T & T Unattached       2:16.53   1         
 13 #  367 Davis, Amos        99 Cheetahs               2:21.50   1         
 14 # 2650 Brown, Marvin      86 T & T Unattached       3:03.33   2
Post by: Socapro on July 27, 2019, 09:05:56 AM
All the usual suspects are through to the 200m Semis taking place on Sunday.
Final should be a duel between defending champion Kyle Greaux and main challenger Jereem Richards.

Hasely Crawford Stadium - Site License                       26/07/2019 - 8:52 PM
                             HASELY CRAWFORD STADIUM                             

Event 27  Men 200 Meter Dash
24 Advance:  Top 3 Each Heat plus Next 3 Best Times
          NR: @ 19.77  13/07/1997  Ato Boldon                                     
          CR: # 20.15  2017        Jereem Richards                               
          CR: # 19.98  2005        Aaron Armstrong                               
Heat  1 Preliminaries   Wind: +0.0                                               
  1 #   40 Elcock, Jerod      98 Abilene Wildcats         21.32Q                 
  2 #  406 Mitchell, Onal     99 PFNJ                     21.65Q                 
  3 # 1477 Richards, Chad     97 Uwi Track & Field        21.70Q                 
  4 # 2181 Baker, Jonathan    98 Abilene Wildcats         22.49                   
Heat  2 Preliminaries   Wind: 1.2                                                 
  1 # 2485 Sorrillo, Rondell  86 LA Brea                  21.49Q                 
  2 #  725 Brewster, Aaron    96 Simplex                  21.74Q                 
  3 # 2905 Landburg, Jordon   92 T & T Unattached         21.82Q                 
 -- #   41 Farinha, Jonathan  96 Abilene Wildcats           DNF                   
Heat  3 Preliminaries   Wind: 2.5                                                 
  1 #   53 Richards, Jereem   94 Abilene Wildcats         21.04Q                 
  2 #  580 Callender, Emmanu  84 Memphis Pioneers         21.09Q                 
  3 # 1645 Thomas, Ian        94 Memphis Pioneers         21.79Q                 
  4 # 1472 Holder, Andrew     94 Uwi Track & Field        21.87q                 
  5 # 1389 John, Shomari      96 Concorde                 22.02q                 
Heat  4 Preliminaries   Wind: 1.7                                                 
  1 # 1923 Guevara, Asa E     95 Abilene Wildcats         20.98Q                 
  2 #  728 Richards, Christo  95 Simplex                  22.90Q                 
  3 #  173 Alfred, Darren     96 Kaizen Panthers          24.69Q                 
Heat  5 Preliminaries   Wind: 0.8                                                 
  1 #   44 Greaux, Kyle       88 Abilene Wildcats         20.71Q                 
  2 # 1478 Williams, Trey     99 Uwi Track & Field        21.69Q                 
  3 # 2963 Houston, Harold    90 Bermuda Track Team       21.75Q                 
  4 #  407 Mitchell, Onil     99 PFNJ                     21.95q                 
  5 # 1465 Thompson, Orane A  93 Concorde                 22.67                   
  6 #  733 Francis, Shakeel   99 Simplex                  22.71                   
Heat  6 Preliminaries   Wind: 0.3                                                 
  1 #  171 Hislop, Akanni     98 Kaizen Panthers          20.97Q                 
  2 #  172 St. Hillare, Dwig  97 Kaizen Panthers          21.06Q                 
  3 # 2494 Telesford, Dan-Ne  90 Abilene Wildcats         21.19Q                 
  4 # 2965 Shearman, Kimorie  92 ST Vincent               21.45q                 
  5 #  570 Alleyne -noreiga,  99 Memphis Pioneers         22.03q                 
  6 # 1363 Williams, Xaverri  96 Stallion                 22.08q                 
 -- # 2638 Marcano, Andre     86 Concorde                    FS                   
          NR: @ 19.77  13/07/1997  Ato Boldon                                     
          CR: # 20.15  2017        Jereem Richards                               
          CR: # 19.98  2005        Aaron Armstrong                               
Preliminaries                                                                     
  1 #   44 Greaux, Kyle       88 Abilene Wildcats         20.71Q  0.8  5         
  2 #  171 Hislop, Akanni     98 Kaizen Panthers          20.97Q  0.3  6         
  3 # 1923 Guevara, Asa E     95 Abilene Wildcats         20.98Q  1.7  4         
  4 #   53 Richards, Jereem   94 Abilene Wildcats         21.04Q  2.5  3         
  5 #   40 Elcock, Jerod      98 Abilene Wildcats         21.32Q +0.0  1         
  6 # 2485 Sorrillo, Rondell  86 LA Brea                  21.49Q  1.2  2         
  7 #  172 St. Hillare, Dwig  97 Kaizen Panthers          21.06Q  0.3  6         
  8 #  580 Callender, Emmanu  84 Memphis Pioneers         21.09Q  2.5  3         
  9 #  406 Mitchell, Onal     99 PFNJ                     21.65Q +0.0  1         
 10 # 1478 Williams, Trey     99 Uwi Track & Field        21.69Q  0.8  5         
 11 #  725 Brewster, Aaron    96 Simplex                  21.74Q  1.2  2         
 12 #  728 Richards, Christo  95 Simplex                  22.90Q  1.7  4         
 13 # 2494 Telesford, Dan-Ne  90 Abilene Wildcats         21.19Q  0.3  6         
 14 # 1477 Richards, Chad     97 Uwi Track & Field        21.70Q +0.0  1         
 15 # 2963 Houston, Harold    90 Bermuda Track Team       21.75Q  0.8  5         
 16 # 1645 Thomas, Ian        94 Memphis Pioneers         21.79Q  2.5  3         
 17 # 2905 Landburg, Jordon   92 T & T Unattached         21.82Q  1.2  2         
 18 #  173 Alfred, Darren     96 Kaizen Panthers          24.69Q  1.7  4         
 19 # 2965 Shearman, Kimorie  92 ST Vincent               21.45q  0.3  6         
 20 # 1472 Holder, Andrew     94 Uwi Track & Field        21.87q  2.5  3         
 21 #  407 Mitchell, Onil     99 PFNJ                     21.95q  0.8  5         
 22 # 1389 John, Shomari      96 Concorde                 22.02q  2.5  3         
 23 #  570 Alleyne -noreiga,  99 Memphis Pioneers         22.03q  0.3  6         
 24 # 1363 Williams, Xaverri  96 Stallion                 22.08q  0.3  6         
 25 # 2181 Baker, Jonathan    98 Abilene Wildcats         22.49  +0.0  1         
 26 # 1465 Thompson, Orane A  93 Concorde                 22.67   0.8  5         
 27 #  733 Francis, Shakeel   99 Simplex                  22.71   0.8  5         
 -- # 2638 Marcano, Andre     86 Concorde                    FS   0.3  6         
 -- #   41 Farinha, Jonathan  96 Abilene Wildcats           DNF   1.2  2     
Post by: Sando prince on July 27, 2019, 01:08:01 PM

Most interested in the times that will be run by our sprinters in the finals. Its good to win but how fast you running at this stage in the season can indicate how much more work you need to put in before the world championships
Post by: andre samuel on July 27, 2019, 04:01:53 PM

Most interested in the times that will be run by our sprinters in the finals. Its good to win but how fast you running at this stage in the season can indicate how much more work you need to put in before the world championships

Well i hope our timing system is working well.
Post by: real madness on July 28, 2019, 07:46:37 AM
None of our sprinters are performing at a level to compete for medals at the World Championships. MLA decline has started. KSF is injured and may have other issues she need to overcome. KAB is past her prime.  Hopefully MLA, KAB, Semoy, Kamaria and Reyare can form a good 4x100 relay team.
I don't expect many medals at the World Championships.
My predictions:
MLA - semi finals (reaching a final will be a success for her).
women 4 x 100 - final
Cedenio - 400m final
Jereem - 200m final
men 4 x 400 relay - silver medal
Keshorn - javelin final, he performs well at big meets (Olympics) but no success at world championships. If everything comes together he can medal.
Anduwelle Wright - rising star. Capable of getting to the long jump finals.

Our athletes are trying their best but the obstacles they have to overcome continue to grow.
Post by: Trini1 on July 28, 2019, 11:24:34 AM
I don't believe MLA is on the decline I just think that she has had a lot going on behind the scenes this year. If KAB can get into sub 11 form before October she too stands a chance at making the final.
Post by: Socapro on July 28, 2019, 08:22:56 PM
I don't believe MLA is on the decline I just think that she has had a lot going on behind the scenes this year. If KAB can get into sub 11 form before October she too stands a chance at making the final.

Please note that KAB's 100m PB of 11.14 so far this season is quicker than MLA's SB of 11.18.

The fact that MLA has been running much more often on the circuit than KAB this season and yet KAB still has a faster 100m SB than MLA this season should be worrying for those who are expecting MLA to make the World Champs 100m Final and to place anywhere inside the top 6 in the final.
I doubt that anyone who wants to place in the top 6 come the Women's 100m Final at World Champs in Doha will be able to do so without going sub-11 and MLA is yet to go sub-11 this season.   

Lets hope both MLA and KAB can go sub-11 and be in sub-11 form by Doha.

On the bright side Kamaria Durant is looking in the best shape I've seen her in for a while and ran a new 100m PB of 11.17 in the 100m Semis at Senior Open Champs and placed 3rd in the 100m Final. In addition KD also won the 200m Final in a respectable time of 22.96 so a TTO Women's 4x100m relay team of Durant to MLA to (Semoy or Prieto) to KAB can make the World Champs Final and could even place in the top 5 with enough baton practice but they will have to be prepared and able to lower our 4x100m relay NR of 42.03 if they plan to be anything other than lane-fillers in the Final. 
Post by: Deeks on July 28, 2019, 08:46:04 PM
Allyuh PanAm Games going on?
Post by: Socapro on July 28, 2019, 09:10:25 PM

Yeap it start this weekend but the athletics segment don't start till next weekend.
Post by: Deeks on July 29, 2019, 06:17:15 AM

Yeap it start this weekend but the athletics segment don't start till next weekend.

They did the marathon already.  I just happen to flick ah channel and realized that the games start.
Post by: Sando prince on July 29, 2019, 06:35:29 AM
these are the senior level results you get when you don't develop talent on a consistent basis at the youth level. now you end up having to depend on the same senior athletes for five, six years and hope they can bring home medals at world champs and olympics
Post by: Trini1 on July 29, 2019, 04:35:12 PM
Yes that's the problem, not much in the way of new talent. I don't see much on the development of the sport either.
Post by: Sando prince on August 03, 2019, 02:09:21 PM

On a side note we have been winning medals in other sports in the ongoing Pan American games. I created a thread here https://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=66445.msg987233#new

Don't think the track and field portion of the games have started.
Post by: Socapro on August 07, 2019, 04:50:41 PM
Michelle-Lee Ahye came in second to claim her first medal at the Pan American Games in the Womens 100m Final with a time of 11.27 seconds!
Congratulations 🎉 🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹
🥈🥈🥈🥈🥈🥈🥈🥈🥈🥈🥈🥈🥈
See this link: https://www.facebook.com/TTOlympic/posts/2347361105310346

#Lima2019 #LetsAllPlay #JugamosTodos #Peru 🇵🇪 #PanAmSports #TeamTTO🇹🇹#Juegoespanamericanos2019
Post by: Deeks on August 07, 2019, 06:38:51 PM
Congrats. Well done.Continued success at the games. She and Tenil Campbell are the most consistent TT female athletes at the moment. I don't think Cedenio made it to the final. Hope Portius Warren makes it to the final.  Teneil Campbell copped silver in cycling. Not bad. Go Ladies! Tyra Gittens is looking pretty good to medal. Good Luck.
Post by: Sando prince on August 07, 2019, 07:00:14 PM

Happy for Ahye but my only wish is for faster times. Far behind if she want to compete for a medal at Worlds in Doha
Post by: Deeks on August 07, 2019, 07:03:22 PM

Happy for Ahye but my only wish is for faster times. Far behind if she want to compete for a medal at Worlds in Doha

That would be nice. But it cold up in Lima. It is their winter at the moment. She probably don't want to pull a muscle to jeopardize her chances in Doha.
Post by: Sando prince on August 07, 2019, 07:16:36 PM

That would be nice. But it cold up in Lima. It is their winter at the moment. She probably don't want to pull a muscle to jeopardize her chances in Doha.

forget Lima, how many sub 11's she run for the entire season thus far?
Post by: Sando prince on August 07, 2019, 11:55:04 PM

Keston Bledman performance in the men 100m final was terrible and Kelly Ann Baptiste in the women final was just as terrible. Now you see the state of our track and field (especially in the sprints) when we are still depending on these athletes who are clearly past their prime to win us medals. The younger athletes should be running faster than these two so they can compete at these games
Post by: Deeks on August 08, 2019, 03:27:37 PM

Keston Bledman performance in the men 100m final was terrible and Kelly Ann Baptiste in the women final was just as terrible. Now you see the state of our track and field (especially in the sprints) when we are still depending on these athletes who are clearly past their prime to win us medals. The younger athletes should be running faster than these two so they can compete at these games

man this is disappointing. It appears that Richards did not make the 200 finals. I hope I am wrong when I checked the schedule.

Actually, I was wrong. I checked another site which said he qualified. Am I glad on that error.

https://wrsd.lima2019.pe/PAG2019/en/results/athletics/result-200m-m-sfnl-000100-.htm
Post by: Deeks on August 09, 2019, 04:48:05 PM
Silver for Jareem! Congrats!!!
Post by: Deeks on August 10, 2019, 04:34:29 PM
Bronze for men 4c400.
Post by: Deeks on August 11, 2019, 05:40:01 AM
Forumites, what is allyuh opinion on the TT performance at the games. I think Weknow how Sam feel already.
Post by: Sando prince on August 11, 2019, 12:48:51 PM
Forumites, what is allyuh opinion on the TT performance at the games. I think Weknow how Sam feel already.

Not really anything great from our Track and Field athletes. Good to see us collecting medals but based on the times they are running cannot say they are now more ready to medal at Doha than before the Games. Look at our men 100m sprinters, surely easy to say we will be lucky to even have finalist in Doha. Looking back at the world relays from earlier this year I was expecting better from our men 4x400 relay team and now I am skeptical about their chances of winning Gold in Doha, but they still remain our best hope for Gold at the Worlds. Also wanted Keshorn to win gold and improved on his season PB, and Ahye to improve on her times, as she is still running too slow to challenge for a medal. NO Gold medals from any of our Track and Field athletes at the Pan Am. But I am willing to be patient with our top T&F athletes and see what happens as the season continue to progress.

In other sports especially cycling we have done really well. So from a T&T team perspective we have done good, we even improved on our medal count from last Pan American Games but in Track and Field in particular I don't see any major improvements.
Post by: Sando prince on August 11, 2019, 12:50:22 PM

Best moment of the Games 🇹🇹🇹🇹

https://www.facebook.com/TTOlympic/photos/a.183804871665991/2352062711506852/?type=3&theater
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 13, 2019, 01:18:59 PM
is cedenio 100 %  he cannot regain his form from 2016 at all   they ran past him in the  4x 400 and he did not even make the final 400
Post by: Deeks on August 13, 2019, 05:59:27 PM
is cedenio 100 %  he cannot regain his form from 2016 at all   they ran past him in the  4x 400 and he did not even make the final 400

In the relay, he did not have the typical last 200 burst. And he did not make the 400 final. So something is wrong. Better now than Tokyo time. He has time to recover from what ever ailments that is bothering him.
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 13, 2019, 07:55:26 PM
Cedenio, Lendore and St Hillaire are sub 45 runners. And all of them are struggling.. Yes. Better now than Qatar or Tokyo.

What's the deal with Lalonde? He didn't run at the National Championships. Maybe he is resting for Tokyo. .

Post by: A.B. on August 14, 2019, 01:46:26 PM
Men's 100m finalist???

Right now we don't have a single M100m dash worlds qualifier!

I think the last time that's been the case was like 1991.

I love the optimism in here, but trust and believe...

WINTER IS COMING....

With very few exceptions, all there is is a decline in our established stars, and NOTHING coming through the youth ranks makes me think "future prospect".

It's the usual, where one year some very young upstart runs well and is hailed as one to watch, only to disappear soon after.

I tried for a decade to avoid this by calling out the flaws in our system and the removal of the jokers running it, as well as changes in how we prepare our teams, but here we are.
Post by: Deeks on August 14, 2019, 04:47:13 PM
Yeap is dry season for our sprints. It reminded me the gap after Crawfie time went. It took a long time before we get Ato. And Ato was pure luck for us. Out of the blue Ato just appeared. At least for me. I had never heard of him before the World Junior Championship. We would not be that lucky again.
Post by: Sando prince on August 20, 2019, 09:26:11 PM

Heard Keshorn finished 9th at the last DL event smh

Anyway something to keep the thread lively  ;)

https://www.facebook.com/SocaTv/photos/a.1122023934539133/2831827900225386/?type=3&theater
Post by: soccerman on August 21, 2019, 02:44:46 PM
Men's 100m finalist???

Right now we don't have a single M100m dash worlds qualifier!

I think the last time that's been the case was like 1991.

I love the optimism in here, but trust and believe...

WINTER IS COMING....

With very few exceptions, all there is is a decline in our established stars, and NOTHING coming through the youth ranks makes me think "future prospect".

It's the usual, where one year some very young upstart runs well and is hailed as one to watch, only to disappear soon after.

I tried for a decade to avoid this by calling out the flaws in our system and the removal of the jokers running it, as well as changes in how we prepare our teams, but here we are.
Well if the ones in charge don't listen to your advice then we real backward. With your experience and connections with the advancements in T&F, when someone like you offer advice everybody should at least be listening.
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 21, 2019, 02:55:21 PM
I see only one medal at the world championships.

4x400 men

Don't know where else we getting one.
Post by: Socapro on August 27, 2019, 12:30:44 AM
I see only one medal at the world championships.

4x400 men

Don't know where else we getting one.

If this happens (only one medal at Worlds) and the NAAA TT with its current leadership don't wake up and start listening to the advice of people like Ato then they never will.

Lets' see what transpires.
Post by: Sando prince on August 31, 2019, 07:14:01 PM
FIRST GOLD AND WORLD RECORD TOO!

Congrats to Akeem Stewart  :beermug: https://tinyurl.com/y2grae8o

Post by: Sando prince on September 22, 2019, 01:30:06 PM

T&T squad for World Champs...and its a small team simply because enough our athletes did not meet the qualifying standards to compete

Kyle Greaux, Jereem Richards (200m), Machel Cedenio (400m), Andwuelle Wright (long jump), Keshorn Walcott (javelin), mile relay squad
Post by: Sando prince on September 22, 2019, 01:33:10 PM

T&T squad for World Champs...and its a small team simply because enough our athletes did not meet the qualifying standards to compete

Kyle Greaux, Jereem Richards (200m), Machel Cedenio (400m), Andwuelle Wright (long jump), Keshorn Walcott (javelin), mile relay squad (Cedenio, Mitchell, Guevera, Richards, Lendore)

When last you see a T&T team going into a major Track and Field championships with NO contestant in the men and women 100m. NONE of our male athletes meet the qualifying run time standard to compete at the Worlds only ONE of our female the women run time standard (Ahye) and she is on suspension.

So how is this not being raised by the sports media in T&T? Because its the media who has to bring the significance of this disappointment to the attention of the public.
Post by: Sando prince on September 22, 2019, 01:36:02 PM

..and only of our 400m sprinters (Cedenio) will be contesting the individual 400m..once again its because he is the only one who met the qualifying standard
Post by: Socapro on September 29, 2019, 09:24:55 AM

Kyle Greaux, Jereem Richards (200m), Machel Cedenio (400m), Andwuelle Wright (long jump), Keshorn Walcott (javelin), mile relay squad (Cedenio, Mitchell, Guevera, Richards, Lendore)

When last you see a T&T team going into a major Track and Field championships with NO contestant in the men and women 100m. NONE of our male athletes meet the qualifying run time standard to compete at the Worlds only ONE of our female the women run time standard (Ahye) and she is on suspension.

So how is this not being raised by the sports media in T&T? Because its the media who has to bring the significance of this disappointment to the attention of the public.

Its not true that only ONE of our female sprinters ran the 100m IAAF World Champs qualifying standard of 11.24 for this season.  If MLA had not been suspended we would have had 3 female sprinters who ran quicker than the 11.24 IAAF World Champs 100m qualifying standard.

KAB's 100m SB this season is 11.14 which is actually faster than MLA's 100m SB of 11.18.
In addition Kamaria Durant ran quicker than the 11.24 IAAF World Champs 100m qualifying standard at our 2019 Open Senior Champs when she ran a legal 11.17 in the 100m Semis. 
So KAB with a SB of 11.14, Durant with a SB of 11.17 and MLA with a SB of 11.18 all met and surpassed the IAAF World Champs 100m Qualifying Standard of 11.24 this season.
See this link for confirmation: https://www.iaaf.org/records/toplists/sprints/100-metres/outdoor/women/senior/2019

In addition KAB is actually competing in the 100m in Doha and is thru to the 100m Semis taking place this evening. See this link: https://www.iaaf.org/competitions/iaaf-world-championships/iaaf-world-athletics-championships-doha-2019-6033/results/women/100-metres/semi-final/startlist#resultheader

Question we need to ask is why was Kamaria Durant not selected to run the 100m in Doha alongside KAB but we know she is running the 200m so maybe she wanted to concentrate on her stronger event which is the 200m.

Jereem Richards and Kyle Greaux are also starting their 200m medal campaigns today as they appear in Heats 4 & 7 respectively of the Men's 200m. See this link: https://www.iaaf.org/competitions/iaaf-world-championships/iaaf-world-athletics-championships-doha-2019-6033/results/men/200-metres/heats/startlist#resultheader
Post by: Sando prince on September 29, 2019, 09:27:29 PM

None of ^^these women made the final. No men made final because none competed due to not meeting qualifying standard
Post by: Sando prince on September 29, 2019, 09:28:41 PM

People say a prayer for the men 4x400 team to not just win a medal but win Gold. They are the only real chance of seeing T&T on the podium in Doha
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 30, 2019, 06:02:56 AM
Greaux is in tremendous form. I seen his race yesterday. He has a chance of getting on to the podium. Actually he's looking better than Jereem.. and Jereem does not look bad at all.

Someone actually thought KAB will be in the final?
Post by: Sando prince on September 30, 2019, 07:06:37 AM
Greaux is in tremendous form. I seen his race yesterday. He has a chance of getting on to the podium. Actually he's looking better than Jereem.. and Jereem does not look bad at all.

Someone actually thought KAB will be in the final?

Those were just the heats, wait for the semis to really measure them
Post by: Socapro on September 30, 2019, 08:47:12 AM

Post by: gawd on pitch on September 30, 2019, 07:02:51 PM
Jereem struggled. No final for him.

Greaux had to work his way for 2nd in the semi. Did not look as good as he did in the heats. He needs a good lane to finish top 5. Top 3.. he'll need nothing higher than 19.90
Post by: Socapro on October 01, 2019, 07:51:13 AM

Greaux had to work his way for 2nd in the semi. Did not look as good as he did in the heats. He needs a good lane to finish top 5. Top 3.. he'll need nothing higher than 19.90

Post by: Socapro on October 01, 2019, 07:58:33 AM
Cedenio won his 400m Heat!  :thumbsup:

See this link: https://www.iaaf.org/competitions/iaaf-world-championships/iaaf-world-athletics-championships-doha-2019-6033/results/men/400-metres/heats/result
Post by: Sando prince on October 01, 2019, 07:59:44 AM

and like I told you earlier don't get carried away by the heats see what happened in the semi final
Post by: Deeks on October 02, 2019, 12:02:36 PM
just saw Machel won the heat for the 400m. Shocker number one. Fred Norman did not make it. He appears to have an injury. And shocker number 2, Machel was carried off in a wheel chair. He look alright to me. But I don't know what that means for the final. He did not make the PanAm finals. So is this "injury" come back or what?
Post by: gawd on pitch on October 02, 2019, 01:37:38 PM
just saw Machel won the heat for the 400m. Shocker number one. Fred Norman did not make it. He appears to have an injury. And shocker number 2, Machel was carried off in a wheel chair. He look alright to me. But I don't know what that means for the final. He did not make the PanAm finals. So is this "injury" come back or what?

Of course Fred Norman aint make it. . Fred Norman doesnt exist. You mean Michael Norman.

I hope Cedenio is okay. He's on pace to challenge for a medal. He'll need to run sub 44. The 3 big guys ahead of him (Kerley, James and Gardiner) have all run 43
Post by: Deeks on October 02, 2019, 02:42:01 PM
My very baad!
Post by: gawd on pitch on October 02, 2019, 07:05:49 PM
My very baad!

You know I playing with yuh deeks :thumbsup:

Cedenio is 100%. He confirmed the wheelchair was just a precaution. He got a good lane draw this time. In Rio he was running out of the inside lane. For a man his height, that is the last lane you dont want to be in..
Post by: Deeks on October 03, 2019, 03:55:54 PM
Shauni Miller beaten today by a Bahraini I have never heard about. Was a great race and fantastic time also.
Post by: Sando prince on October 04, 2019, 08:27:00 AM
Shauni Miller beaten today by a Bahraini I have never heard about. Was a great race and fantastic time also.

How you never heard of Naser and you been following track? She is one of the top 400m sprinters in the last three years. Look back at her old races and where she finished.
Post by: Socapro on October 04, 2019, 08:31:32 AM

Salwa Eid Naser is originally from Nigeria and has been showing signs of becoming a world beater ever since she won the junior 400m world title as an 18 year old. She is only 21 now so could dominate the women's 400m for the next 4 to 8 years.
Post by: Trini1 on October 04, 2019, 01:37:24 PM
Sad to see Cedenio fade but he did his best
Post by: Deeks on October 04, 2019, 06:12:28 PM
So it appears it will be  zero medals at this championships.
Post by: Sando prince on October 04, 2019, 08:13:28 PM
So it appears it will be  zero medals at this championships.

Waiting to see what the 4x400 relay team do
Post by: Deeks on October 04, 2019, 11:50:20 PM
Khalila Muhammed and Sydney MCLoughlin. What  a fantastic duo!  I saw our girls in the 4x100. They looked good. I wish them all the best. I like how Kamaria is coming into her own.
Post by: Socapro on October 05, 2019, 09:20:58 AM
Sad to see Cedenio fade but he did his best

He exerted a bit too much energy during the first half of the race trying to keep up with the main medal contenders and realized that he did not have enough gas left down the home straight to execute his trademark kick. Or it is also possible when Cedenio realized he couldn't get among the medals to conserve his energy for the 4x4 relays which is the next day (Saturday) and also Sunday (provided we qualify for the Final).

I believe next season Machel needs to run more 200s to work on his raw speed and to try to get his 200m PB down to 20 flat or faster if he wants to seriously contend for a medal in the 400m flat in Tokyo next year which will require sub-44 times and ability.

To win medals in 400m these days at World Champs or Olympics you need to also be very good at the 200m to have that raw speed so that running the first half of the race in about 22 flat or less does not take too much out of you effort wise.
Post by: Peong on October 05, 2019, 09:49:45 AM
When Cedenio came around the last turn he had a little wobble like he had to adjust his steps so he wouldn't step outside his lane. That had to have taken away some momentum.
Better luck next time
Post by: Deeks on October 05, 2019, 01:24:50 PM
Just saw our girls in the 4x100. Honestly, they never stood a chance. But I liked their fight. Unfortunately, they not fast enough. Their baton passing decent to good.  The last 2 exchanges could be bit better. But I like this quartet.  They just need to work on their passing. Hopefully Khalifa will be fit and ready. We need more than 4.  One injury and that is it.  Well done.  Work hard.  Blessings.
Post by: Socapro on October 05, 2019, 01:56:24 PM
Just saw our girls in the 4x100. Honestly, they never stood a chance. But I liked their fight. Unfortunately, they not fast enough. Their baton passing decent to good.  The last 2 exchanges could be bit better. But I like this quartet.  They just need to work on their passing. Hopefully Khalifa will be fit and ready. We need more than 4.  One injury and that is it.  Well done.  Work hard.  Blessings.

With Khalifa and MLA back in the squad their chance of pressing for a medal should improve but they will need to run relays more regularly next season and to hopefully take part in an annual relay camp which is desperately needed.

Hopefully MLA wins her "Whereabouts Failure" hearing based on her case being almost exactly the same as USA's Christian Coleman's and she will be back in the Relay squad and running for T&T next year rather than having to face a possible 2 year ban.
Post by: Peong on October 06, 2019, 08:19:28 AM
We just narrowly qualified for the 4x400 mens final. Lendore had to come from behind to get us in. Valiant effort by our team.
Post by: Sando prince on October 06, 2019, 12:43:27 PM
We just narrowly qualified for the 4x400 mens final. Lendore had to come from behind to get us in. Valiant effort by our team.

and finished 5th in final
Post by: Sando prince on October 06, 2019, 12:44:05 PM

Who brave enough to tell me out loud how many medals T&T won at the Championships and when last we win this amount?  :D
Post by: Socapro on October 08, 2019, 10:53:29 PM

Who brave enough to tell me out loud how many medals T&T won at the Championships and when last we win this amount?  :D

This was our worst World Champs medal performance since the 2007 edition in which we also won zero medals.

In the 2009 edition we won 3 medals (1 silver by our Men's 4×100m Relay team & 2 bronze, one by Renny Quow in the Men's 400m and the other by  Josanne Lucas in the Women's 400m Hurdles);

In the 2011 edition we won just 1 medal (1 bronze by Kelly-Ann Baptiste in the Women's 100m);

In the 2013 edition we again won 1 medal (1 gold by Jehue Gordon in Men's 400m Hurdles);

In the 2015 edition we won 2 medals (1 silver by our Men's 4×400m Relay team & 1 bronze by our Women's 4x100m Relay team);

In the 2017 edition we again won 2 medals (1 gold by Men's 4×400m Relay team & 1 bronze by Jereem Richards in the Men's 200m);

In the 2019 edition we are back to no medals as in 2007 but congrats still to all our athletes for givong their very best and flying the flag.

We all know where the blame lies for our lack of progress and going backwards rather than forwards and the athletes are not to be blamed if you truly understand the hurdles they have to overcome to represent the country and to be at their very best come these global championships.
Post by: A.B. on October 09, 2019, 12:00:12 PM
Athletes are NOT to be blamed?

We all know the shit-show the NAAA is, but to say the athletes are not to be blamed is disingenuous.

Blame the NAAA for the lack of proper 4x1 prep for decades, blame them for Carifta and World Junior/Youth failures and ZERO new talents coming through, but YES, the PRO athletes themselves have to be accountable.

If you are in your absolute prime years and performing worse than 2-4 years ago, whose fault is that?

Certainly not the NAAA.
Post by: Sando prince on October 09, 2019, 12:59:36 PM

We all know the shit-show the NAAA is, but to say the athletes are not to be blamed is disingenuous.

Hmmmm most I could do is either shake my head or just laugh at the reality that NO T&T athlete won one medal  :D
Post by: Deeks on October 09, 2019, 11:31:12 PM
As far as Olympics, guava season eh nothing new to us. We ate guava in Melbourne, Mexico, Moscow, LA, Seoul, Barsa. if the recent performance in Doha is a bell-weather for Tokyo, we maybe eating guava again.
Post by: Socapro on October 10, 2019, 07:11:29 PM

Blame the NAAA for the lack of proper 4x1 prep for decades, blame them for Carifta and World Junior/Youth failures and ZERO new talents coming through, but YES, the PRO athletes themselves have to be accountable.

If you are in your absolute prime years and performing worse than 2-4 years ago, whose fault is that?

Certainly not the NAAA.

Hmmmm... Food for thought.

However some of our athletes who are supposed to be in their prime right now have been contending with injuries this season so I wouldn't knock any of them who did not medal. Lets not forget that before Doha none of the sports analysts around the world were rating any of our TTO athletes as strong medals contenders in any of the events.
Only our Men's 4x4 team (as defending champions) were being mentioned as potential medal contenders and as it was their best efforts could only give us a 5th place finish in the final because the other medal contenders fielded stronger 4x4 relay teams in comparison to the teams they fielded back in 2017 while we in contrast fielded a weaker Men's 4x4 relay team than we did back in 2017.