Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on May 22, 2019, 12:27:20 AM

Title: Thread for T&T vs Martinique Games (6 & 9-Sept-2019)
Post by: Flex on May 22, 2019, 12:27:20 AM
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs Martinique CON­CA­CAF Na­tions League games on the 6th (away) and 9th of September 2019 (home) will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

To be updated.

Possible TV Station.

To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers:

Marvin Phillip (FC Santa Rosa; T&T), Adrian Foncette (Police FC; T&T), Glenroy Samuel (La Horquetta Rangers FC; T&T).

Defenders:

Sheldon Bateau (KV Mechelen; Belgium), Daneil Cyrus (Mohun Bagan AC; India), Aubrey David (Deportivo Saprissa; Costa Rica), Alvin Jones (Oklahoma City Energy FC; USA), Carlyle Mitchell (La Horquetta Rangers FC; T&T), Keston Julien (AS Trenčín; Slovakia).

Midfielders:

Kevin Molino (Minnesota United; USA), Joevin Jones (Seattle Sounders; USA), Andre Fortune (North Carolina FC; USA), Levi Garcia (Beitar Jerusalem FC, Israel), Nathaniel Garcia (Point Fortin Civic Centre; T&T), Judah Garcia (Point Fortin Civic Centre; T&T), Marcus Joseph (Gokulam Kerala FC; India), Kevan George (Charlotte Independence; USA), Leston Paul (Memphis 901 FC; USA), Jomal Williams (AD Isidro Metapán; El Salvador), Jameel Perry (Police FC; T&T), Ross Russell Jr. (La Horquetta Rangers FC; T&T).

Forwards:

Ryan Telfer (York9 FC; Canada), Daniel Carr (Apollon Limassol FC; Cyprus).

Coach - Dennis Lawrence (TRI).

Martinique Squad

Goalkeepers

To be updated.

Defenders

To be updated.

Midfielders

To be updated.

Forwards

To be updated.

Coach.

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

Title: Re: Thread for T&T vs Martinique Games (6 & 9-Sept-2019)
Post by: Tallman on August 30, 2019, 06:33:04 AM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EDNqMmSXUAA1dJa?format=jpg&name=medium)
Post by: asylumseeker on August 30, 2019, 07:26:36 AM
Finally a match at the true home of football. :P
Post by: Tallman on August 31, 2019, 11:17:33 AM
Kevin Molino called up (https://www.mnufc.com/post/2019/08/30/six-loons-called-international-duties)
Post by: asylumseeker on August 31, 2019, 05:10:50 PM
It appears that GR the GK is not in the squad.
Post by: Sando prince on August 31, 2019, 07:16:13 PM

Given our performance for the last year and who is the coach I will be very surprised if we win
Post by: Brownsugar on September 01, 2019, 08:38:57 AM
 :yawning: :yawning:
Post by: Tallman on September 01, 2019, 06:31:25 PM
Fortune’s upcoming stint with Trinidad & Tobago will be his first with the senior team (https://www.northcarolinafc.com/news_article/show/1045835). The Raleigh native and NCFC Youth Academy product previously played for Trinidad & Tobago’s U-17 national team, as he was eligible to do so through his parents’ nationality. Trinidad & Tobago will play a home-and-home with Martinique on Sept. 6 and Sept. 9 in the Concacaf Nations League.
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 02, 2019, 03:25:00 AM
Fortune’s upcoming stint with Trinidad & Tobago will be his first with the senior team (https://www.northcarolinafc.com/news_article/show/1045835). The Raleigh native and NCFC Youth Academy product previously played for Trinidad & Tobago’s U-17 national team, as he was eligible to do so through his parents’ nationality. Trinidad & Tobago will play a home-and-home with Martinique on Sept. 6 and Sept. 9 in the Concacaf Nations League.

i guess DL  is reading thIs board CONGRATS TO FORTUNE
Post by: andre samuel on September 02, 2019, 06:26:36 AM
Why hasn't our squad been officially released as yet? This is crazy!! It basically four days before the first game vs Martinique. 
Post by: asylumseeker on September 02, 2019, 06:32:50 AM
Why hasn't our squad been officially released as yet? This is crazy!! It basically four days before the first game vs Martinique. 

Deliberately suppressed.
Post by: Tallman on September 02, 2019, 07:28:01 AM

Why you acting surprised?
Post by: soccerman on September 02, 2019, 07:30:31 AM
It appears that GR the GK is not in the squad.
We snooze we lose
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 02, 2019, 09:37:29 AM
when is the AGM . .. this is crap ....
Title: Lawrence announces three new additions to squad for Nations League Qualifier
Post by: Tallman on September 02, 2019, 04:44:13 PM
Lawrence announces three new additions to squad for Nations League Qualifier
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago Senior Men’s head coach Dennis Lawrence today announced the inclusion of three overseas-based players in this country’s squad for Friday’s CONCACAF Nation’s League Qualifier away to Martinique.

Lawrence has secured the services of Canadian-based forward Ryan Telfer who now campaigns for York 9 Fc, on loan from Toronto FC, Andre Fortune, a midfielder with North Carolina FC in the USL and English-based striker Daniel Carr.

Fortune has represented T&T at the Under 20 and Under 17 levels, playing alongside Levi Garcia in the Red, white and black. He has won two “Player of the Week” awards this season in the USL. Telfer and Carr received the relevant international clearance to play for T&T on Monday morning. Telfer has  scored four league goals (along with two in the Canadian Championship, including one against Montreal), has consistently looked dangerous, and even bagged an assist when he made a three-minute substitute appearance for his parent club, Toronto FC.

Carr made 34 appearances for Irish club Shamrock Rovers last season and spent two years at Reading FC during his youth career.  He has also appeared for the likes of Aldershot Town, Dagenham & Redbridge, Huddersfield Town and Swedish club Karlstad BK.

All three players traveled with the group to St Lucia on Monday.

The rest of the squad involves some of the regulars such as Minnesota United midfielder Kevin Molino, Seattle Sounders’ Joevin Jones and Belgium-based defender Sheldon Bateau.

Captain Khaleem Hyland was forced to withdraw due to a hamstring injury while Ataulla Guerra was also ruled out with injury. US-based trio Cordell Cato, Greg Ranjitsingh and Neveal Hackshaw are all unavailable due to passport related issues.

Lawrence spoke about the composition of his selection as the squad arrived in St Lucia on Monday afternoon for a three-day training camp before departing for Martinique on Thursday ahead of Friday’s Nations League clash. T&T will host Martinique at the Hasely Crawford Stadium from 9:00pm on Monday in another Nations League qualifier.

“Obviously the preparation starts today. Most of the guys arrive today and tomorrow and we will be on the training pitch for the first time tomorrow. Neveal Hackshaw, Cordell Cato and Greg Ranjitsingh are all unavailable because their passports are in difference processes now,” Lawrence explained. “Cordell and Greg are in the process of obtaining their green card and Hackshaw is in the process of getting a Canadian visa. We lost Khaleem Hyland who pulled his hamstring on Friday.

“As of this morning, we can announce that Ryan Telfer and Daniel Carr is now be part of the squad. We have been in conversation with them for a long period now getting them to represent Trinidad and Tobago and they finally agreed to do it and we have now confirmed all the documentations to make them eligible to play for Trinidad and Tobago.

“We have also introduced Andre Fortune who will be involved for the first time at the senior level with me. We have brought back in the likes of Nathaniel Garcia, Judah Garcia and Jameel Perry. Looking at the Ascension League  what I have tried to do is select the squad based on players who are actually playing competitive football because I think we had a lot of lessons to learn from past events,” Lawrence said.  “So the squad is made up of mostly of players that have been active and have been playing and we are trying to see how best we can ensure that we are much better prepared.

“I’m relative quite happy with the make up of squad and we will assess everyone when they come in. We have some experience in there along with some youth so the idea is to have the squad gel as best as possible for the games coming up.”

Trinidad and Tobago Squad for Concacaf Nations League Qualifiers vs Martinique

Goalkeepers:
Marvin Phillip (FC Santa Rosa; T&T), Adrian Foncette (Police FC; T&T), Glenroy Samuel (La Horquetta Rangers FC; T&T)

Defenders:
Sheldon Bateau (KV Mechelen; Belgium), Daneil Cyrus (Mohun Bagan AC; India), Aubrey David (Deportivo Saprissa; Costa Rica), Alvin Jones (Oklahoma City Energy FC; USA), Carlyle Mitchell (La Horquetta Rangers FC; T&T), Keston Julien (AS Trenčín; Slovakia)

Midfielders:
Kevin Molino (Minnesota United; USA), Joevin Jones (Seattle Sounders; USA), Andre Fortune (North Carolina FC; USA), Levi Garcia (Beitar Jerusalem FC, Israel), Nathaniel Garcia (Point Fortin Civic Centre; T&T), Judah Garcia (Point Fortin Civic Centre; T&T), Marcus Joseph (Gokulam Kerala FC; India), Kevan George (Charlotte Independence; USA), Leston Paul (Memphis 901 FC; USA), Jomal Williams (AD Isidro Metapán; El Salvador), Jameel Perry (Police FC; T&T), Ross Russell Jr. (La Horquetta Rangers FC; T&T)

Forwards:
Ryan Telfer (York9 FC; Canada), Daniel Carr (Apollon Limassol FC; Cyprus)

TECHNICAL STAFF
Head Coach: Dennis Lawrence
Assistant Coach: Stuart Charles-Fevrier
Assistant Coach: Stern John
Goalkeeper Coach: Ross Russell
Doctor: Akash Dhanai
Medic: Macallister Estrada
Trainer: Dexter Thomas
Massage Therapist: Sion Cain
Match Analyst: James Coneboy
Equipment Manager: Michael Williams
Logistics Manager: Wayne Cunningham
Media Officer: Shaun Fuentes
Team Manager: Richard Piper

https://www.youtube.com/v/8IrMjKnYTYE
Post by: Deeks on September 02, 2019, 07:21:44 PM
Telfer? Wow! That is a pleasant surprise.  Where is Greg ?
Post by: asylumseeker on September 02, 2019, 07:30:57 PM
Pity about Ataulla. We seem almost always unable to use him when we could really use him.

I would like to learn more about Rochford's non-inclusion. 

Muckette being a casualty of war without ever having fired in battle is also of interest.

Also, what became of Mieres' promise?

Thinking of the defence, spare a thought for Triston Hodge. Maybe SW should reach out and vibe with him about his progress.

Success to DL and the squad.
Post by: Sando prince on September 02, 2019, 08:35:13 PM

DL record is terrible lawd ah praying for T&T

https://www.facebook.com/TeamTrinbago/posts/124306598915525
Post by: maxg on September 02, 2019, 08:38:44 PM
I think this is one of the better selections. To bad for Greg doh. Now let’s see who is played.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 02, 2019, 09:17:39 PM
I think this is one of the better selections. To bad for Greg doh. Now let’s see who is played.

Agreed.
Post by: noize on September 03, 2019, 06:53:05 AM
This is the best selection so far as a start. But his first 11 team selection and how we approach the game is always suspect. So let's see if he can finally get something right, I wont hold my breath.
Post by: Dinner Mints on September 03, 2019, 07:34:10 AM
What's the deal with Britto?
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 03, 2019, 07:44:19 AM
Daniel Carr (Apollon Limassol FC) always wanted to rep trinidad as i understand  since the under 20 squad back in 2011 ..
Post by: Thomo on September 03, 2019, 09:22:13 AM
This is the best selection so far as a start. But his first 11 team selection and how we approach the game is always suspect. So let's see if he can finally get something right, I wont hold my breath.
My sentiments exactly
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 03, 2019, 09:36:20 AM

interesting he says there are a couple  other players  they are trying to finalize i wonder who they are ?? Nick delon panos nahkid  .. ryan innis bring back BOSTOCK......
Post by: asylumseeker on September 03, 2019, 10:02:12 AM
Bostock is a must. Make it so.
Post by: kounty on September 03, 2019, 11:18:50 AM
I ent see no apologies on the selection speculation comments that was going on before. People did stop qualifying their statements as if they was in the know that people were purposefully not getting called.  :( Blame as well as credit whenever rightfully due.
Post by: Bianconeri on September 03, 2019, 11:50:55 AM
Lawrence announces three new additions to squad for Nations League Qualifier
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago Senior Men’s head coach Dennis Lawrence today announced the inclusion of three overseas-based players in this country’s squad for Friday’s CONCACAF Nation’s League Qualifier away to Martinique.

Lawrence has secured the services of Canadian-based forward Ryan Telfer who now campaigns for York 9 Fc, on loan from Toronto FC, Andre Fortune, a midfielder with North Carolina FC in the USL and English-based striker Daniel Carr.

Fortune has represented T&T at the Under 20 and Under 17 levels, playing alongside Levi Garcia in the Red, white and black. He has won two “Player of the Week” awards this season in the USL. Telfer and Carr received the relevant international clearance to play for T&T on Monday morning. Telfer has  scored four league goals (along with two in the Canadian Championship, including one against Montreal), has consistently looked dangerous, and even bagged an assist when he made a three-minute substitute appearance for his parent club, Toronto FC.

Carr made 34 appearances for Irish club Shamrock Rovers last season and spent two years at Reading FC during his youth career.  He has also appeared for the likes of Aldershot Town, Dagenham & Redbridge, Huddersfield Town and Swedish club Karlstad BK.

All three players traveled with the group to St Lucia on Monday.

The rest of the squad involves some of the regulars such as Minnesota United midfielder Kevin Molino, Seattle Sounders’ Joevin Jones and Belgium-based defender Sheldon Bateau.

Captain Khaleem Hyland was forced to withdraw due to a hamstring injury while Ataulla Guerra was also ruled out with injury. US-based trio Cordell Cato, Greg Ranjitsingh and Neveal Hackshaw are all unavailable due to passport related issues.

Lawrence spoke about the composition of his selection as the squad arrived in St Lucia on Monday afternoon for a three-day training camp before departing for Martinique on Thursday ahead of Friday’s Nations League clash. T&T will host Martinique at the Hasely Crawford Stadium from 9:00pm on Monday in another Nations League qualifier.

“Obviously the preparation starts today. Most of the guys arrive today and tomorrow and we will be on the training pitch for the first time tomorrow. Neveal Hackshaw, Cordell Cato and Greg Ranjitsingh are all unavailable because their passports are in difference processes now,” Lawrence explained. “Cordell and Greg are in the process of obtaining their green card and Hackshaw is in the process of getting a Canadian visa. We lost Khaleem Hyland who pulled his hamstring on Friday.

“As of this morning, we can announce that Ryan Telfer and Daniel Carr is now be part of the squad. We have been in conversation with them for a long period now getting them to represent Trinidad and Tobago and they finally agreed to do it and we have now confirmed all the documentations to make them eligible to play for Trinidad and Tobago.

“We have also introduced Andre Fortune who will be involved for the first time at the senior level with me. We have brought back in the likes of Nathaniel Garcia, Judah Garcia and Jameel Perry. Looking at the Ascension League  what I have tried to do is select the squad based on players who are actually playing competitive football because I think we had a lot of lessons to learn from past events,” Lawrence said.  “So the squad is made up of mostly of players that have been active and have been playing and we are trying to see how best we can ensure that we are much better prepared.

“I’m relative quite happy with the make up of squad and we will assess everyone when they come in. We have some experience in there along with some youth so the idea is to have the squad gel as best as possible for the games coming up.”

Trinidad and Tobago Squad for Concacaf Nations League Qualifiers vs Martinique

Goalkeepers:
Marvin Phillip (FC Santa Rosa; T&T), Adrian Foncette (Police FC; T&T), Glenroy Samuel (La Horquetta Rangers FC; T&T)

Defenders:
Sheldon Bateau (KV Mechelen; Belgium), Daneil Cyrus (Mohun Bagan AC; India), Aubrey David (Deportivo Saprissa; Costa Rica), Alvin Jones (Oklahoma City Energy FC; USA), Carlyle Mitchell (La Horquetta Rangers FC; T&T), Keston Julien (AS Trenčín; Slovakia)

Midfielders:
Kevin Molino (Minnesota United; USA), Joevin Jones (Seattle Sounders; USA), Andre Fortune (North Carolina FC; USA), Levi Garcia (Beitar Jerusalem FC, Israel), Nathaniel Garcia (Point Fortin Civic Centre; T&T), Judah Garcia (Point Fortin Civic Centre; T&T), Marcus Joseph (Gokulam Kerala FC; India), Kevan George (Charlotte Independence; USA), Leston Paul (Memphis 901 FC; USA), Jomal Williams (AD Isidro Metapán; El Salvador), Jameel Perry (Police FC; T&T), Ross Russell Jr. (La Horquetta Rangers FC; T&T)

Forwards:
Ryan Telfer (York9 FC; Canada), Daniel Carr (Apollon Limassol FC; Cyprus)

TECHNICAL STAFF
Head Coach: Dennis Lawrence
Assistant Coach: Stuart Charles-Fevrier
Assistant Coach: Stern John
Goalkeeper Coach: Ross Russell
Doctor: Akash Dhanai
Medic: Macallister Estrada
Trainer: Dexter Thomas
Massage Therapist: Sion Cain
Match Analyst: James Coneboy
Equipment Manager: Michael Williams
Logistics Manager: Wayne Cunningham
Media Officer: Shaun Fuentes
Team Manager: Richard Piper

Who is James Coneboy?
Any insight??
Post by: Bianconeri on September 03, 2019, 11:53:49 AM

Heard "passport issue"
Sounds odd. 
Has it expired or simply a excuse to cover up not including him?
Post by: soccerman on September 03, 2019, 12:00:31 PM
Bostock is a must. Make it so.
He's playing in England right now so that should make it easier for DL to connect with him.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 03, 2019, 12:40:31 PM
Coneboy is a recent graduate of (or en route to being a BSc grad of Liverpool John Moores Uni). He has ties to Everton where he did an internship. LJMU is a pioneer in England in match/performance analysis and the institution has other strong areas of competence (football business,  physiology etc.) He might be working for free to relatively free/cheap ... with the inherent benefit of a CV line and other things.
Post by: soccerman on September 03, 2019, 01:25:48 PM
Seeker as you say that I now looked at the technical staff and it's a full slate including massage therapist, if I remember correctly that was one of DL's complaints from the GC. I tried to compare this staff to the one from GC but couldn't find anything listed.
Post by: Sam on September 03, 2019, 02:20:09 PM

interesting he says there are a couple  other players  they are trying to finalize i wonder who they are ?? Nick delon panos nahkid  .. ryan innis bring back BOSTOCK......

Good going Dennis.

Still woulda like to see Noah Powder on de team though, oe for de future.

Post by: Tallman on September 03, 2019, 03:03:42 PM
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago train in St. Lucia ahead of their Concacaf Nations League matches against Martinique

https://www.youtube.com/v/bneg71xfNtU
Post by: asylumseeker on September 03, 2019, 05:58:17 PM
Seeker as you say that I now looked at the technical staff and it's a full slate including massage therapist, if I remember correctly that was one of DL's complaints from the GC. I tried to compare this staff to the one from GC but couldn't find anything listed.

There was a football team of a technical staff earlier this year.
Post by: Reaper2004 on September 03, 2019, 06:37:34 PM

Heard "passport issue"
Sounds odd. 

Find that hard to believe since he never had a problem coming down to visit us for Christmas or other Family events. I think the last time I saw him was for a funeral of a family member.
Post by: Dinner Mints on September 03, 2019, 07:02:53 PM

Heard "passport issue"
Sounds odd. 

Find that hard to believe since he never had a problem coming down to visit us for Christmas or other Family events. I think the last time I saw him was for a funeral of a family member.
They saying it's a Green Card thing. You can't be in and out the country like that while you in the immigration process. You have a specific number of days you could be outside. So they likely being mindful of that.
Post by: Trini boi on September 03, 2019, 08:48:38 PM
Where is Keon Daniel? Haven't seen him in a while.
Post by: Tallman on September 03, 2019, 08:54:51 PM
Where is Keon Daniel? Haven't seen him in a while.

Playing in Poland for the last 5 years.
Post by: Flex on September 04, 2019, 12:21:13 AM
Carr ready to give all for T&T.
TTFA Media.

This coun­try’s se­nior men’s foot­ballers were put through their paces un­der sun­ny con­di­tions at the St Lu­cia Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion train­ing cen­tre on Tues­day morn­ing as head coach Den­nis Lawrence com­menced a short train­ing camp ahead of Fri­day’s CON­CA­CAF Na­tions League qual­i­fi­er against Mar­tinique in Fort-de-France.

Turn­ing out in the T&T train­ing kit for the first time were new­ly called up trio for­wards Daniel Carr and Ryan Telfer as well as for­mer na­tion­al Un­der-17 mid­field­er An­dre Nep­tune. Winger Levi Gar­cia, De­porti­vo Sapris­sa de­fend­er Aubrey David, Bel­gium-based de­fend­er Shel­don Bateau and Kevin Moli­no all joined the res­i­den­tial camp in St Lu­cia yes­ter­day as Lawrence looked to in­ten­si­fy his prepa­ra­tion for the qual­i­fi­er.

With some new faces in­volved this time around, ex­pe­ri­enced US-based mid­field­er Ke­van George said it is ex­treme­ly im­por­tant that the play­ers make the most of the ses­sions ahead of match­day.

"It’s re­al­ly the first time we are back to­geth­er since the dis­ap­point­ment of the Gold Cup cam­paign and so for a lot of us, it’s good to be back as group but un­der­stand­ing that this is a crit­i­cal pe­ri­od for us to brush things off and bring some re­spectable lev­els back to our team," George said on Tues­day.

"Coach has in­tro­duced some new faces and it’s good for the squad. We have to gel as quick­ly as pos­si­ble and set­tle in­to the prepa­ra­tions. We all know Mar­tinique is a de­cent team and will be very dif­fi­cult to over­turn at home but we have to be­lieve in our abil­i­ty and ap­proach and take the game to them."

Carr mean­time was buzzing af­ter his first ses­sion un­der Lawrence.

"I'm very proud of this. From a young age, I have al­ways had dreams and am­bi­tions of play­ing for T&T. I wouldn’t say I’ve been eye­ing the call-up but I al­ways thought if you do well in club foot­ball then they will see me. Since I be­came a pro­fes­sion­al I’ve al­ways thought that I need to step up and hope­ful­ly one day I’ll get the call-up which I have now," Carr said.

The for­mer Alder­shot Town for­ward is ful­ly aware that he has to show his worth ear­ly for the red, white and black.

"It's pret­ty black and white. If I play well I get called up again, if not then I don’t. I guess it’s im­por­tant for me to set­tle in very quick­ly oth­er­wise I wouldn’t be here many more times. It's al­so im­por­tant for me to do well in my club foot­ball. It all joins up to­geth­er. It's very im­por­tant that I just put my head down and work. I'm not here for a hol­i­day, I’m here to kick on and play and rep­re­sent T&T," Carr said.

Look­ing ahead to Fri­day’s en­counter, he said, "I'm just tak­ing it all in re­al­ly. I don't know ex­act­ly what to ex­pect from Mar­tinique. I'm just prepar­ing as I would do for any oth­er game. I just want to do my best for the team and that’s all that mat­ters," he said.

Post by: asylumseeker on September 04, 2019, 07:33:32 AM
De Warriors gehhin a lil in-house scrimmage and sharpening from Shabazz's St. Lucia?
Post by: asylumseeker on September 04, 2019, 10:33:58 AM
I ent see no apologies on the selection speculation comments that was going on before. People did stop qualifying their statements as if they was in the know that people were purposefully not getting called.  :( Blame as well as credit whenever rightfully due.

In life there is "before" and "after". Consider that.
Post by: Thomo on September 04, 2019, 10:36:48 AM
I can't recall ever seeing so many left footed attackers in a TNT team - Garcia, Telfer, Jones.
Finally a number 9 like KJ i.e. Carr
Now the big problem now is the 3 goalkeepers - none of them are worthy SMDH
Hopefully donkey DL makes use of our greatest attributes of speed and power. I must admit I don't have much faith in the style he wants them to play and I just get the feeling that the lads are lacking confidence.
After one thing is another.
Post by: Sando prince on September 04, 2019, 10:38:36 AM

In life there are consequences for bad actions and results. Go choose the wrong mechanic or the wrong dentist and then your wife or friend blame you after bad results, then later you choose the right mechanic or dentist then what you expect? you expect your wife to apologise?
Post by: Rastaman on September 04, 2019, 11:09:55 AM

In life there are consequences for bad actions and results. Go choose the wrong mechanic or the wrong dentist and then your wife or friend blame you after bad results, then later you choose the right mechanic or dentist then what you expect? you expect your wife to apologise?
How you go bring the man wife in this  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Tallman on September 04, 2019, 11:11:45 AM

Credit for what?
Post by: Flex on September 04, 2019, 04:01:55 PM
T&T Men off to Martinique… Telfer eager to add to T&T strike force.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior men’s team will arrive in Fort-de-France  on Thursday morning ahead of Friday’s CONCACAF Nations League qualifier against Martinique scheduled for Friday night.

Head Coach Dennis Lawrence will conduct a final training session at the match venue later in the evening as T&T seeks a positive start in the campaign which continues on Monday with a fixture between the two teams at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain from 9:00pm.

T&T will also meet Honduras in T&T on October 10th and away on November 17th. The games are serving as qualifiers for the CONCACAF Nations League Finals next year but now have even more significance as CONCACAF announced on Wednesday that the current phase will serve as a qualifier for the 2021 CONCACAF Gold Cup. if T&T tops the three-team group or finishes runners up, they will qualify directly for Gold Cup but will have to contest a playoff qualifier if they finish third in the group.

The new centralized men’s national team competition represents a new era of national team football for the Confederation, Concacaf stated, further adding that after group stage play in the Nations League in November 2019, the top two teams from each of the four League A groups will qualify directly to the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup. The third-place finishers in League A which involves T&T, the second-place finishers in League B and the first-place finishers in League C will advance to a two-round qualifier, to be played in March and June of 2020.

For the first round of the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup Qualifiers, the second-place finishers of League B will face the first-place finishers of League C in March of 2020. After home-and-away play, the four matchup winners will advance to the second round, where they will face the third-place finishers of League A in June of 2020. The four matchups winners of Round two will qualify to the 2021 Gold Cup.

For the FIFA Men’s World Ranking, all  2019-2020 Concacaf Nations League matches will be granted a coefficient score which corresponds to qualification matches to a Confederations final competition, rather than friendly international matches played during FIFA International Match Calendar window.

With T&T focusing on a good start to the CNL campaign on Friday, newly called up Canadian-based forward Ryan Telfer is looking to make an early impact. The former Fatima College player is currently with York 9 FC in the Canadian Premier League, on loan from MLS club Toronto FC which he has already bagged his first goal.

“It’s an honour to represent the Red,white and black. It’s nice to come back to your home country where you first fell in love with the game and its truly an honour to be back to where everything started and jut to represent tour country at the highest level it’s truly an honour for me,” Telfer told TTFA Media on Wednesday.

Telfer has been on Canada’s radar also but he explained his decision to accept the invitation from T&T.

“I’m the type of person that likes challenges rather than have something been given to you. I totally understand where Trinidad and Tobago football is right now and I believe my abilities that I can bring to the team can help us move forward in terms of qualifying for the Hex and maybe, hopefully qualifying for the World Cup,” he said, explaining that Canada also has an influx of players entering its fray at the moment.

“I was just looking for that one chance, maybe to get called up to the training camp and it just so happened Trinidad at the time time called and they sounded like they really needed me and deep down in mu gut it told me to choose here,” Telfer said.

He spoke about his interaction with head coach Dennis Lawrence while entering the T&T training camp earlier this week.

“I understand the ideas he is bringing into the team, I understand what the team is trying to do, understanding where we are at right now as a football state. If it’s one thing, Trinidad and Tobago has never been short of talent. It’s basically merging all those talents to come together to one. I can see his ideas he’s trying to do that, to make us more into a footballing team that everyone wants to enjoy, even the players, even the fans and he needs some players to do that for him. I was honestly grateful that he look my way and he understands the kind of football I play as well,” Telfer said.

He gave some background info on himself, saying “I was Born in Canada but basically moved to Trinidad, went to Rosary Boys and then Fatima College and played football there as well. The trainers at Sky FC made me who I am today in terms of my mannerisms, the way I address certain situations and it’s there where I really learnt to love the game for what it is and I am very grateful and thankful for where I am now.” Telfer is also currently pursuing a Civil Engineering degree at York University.

Post by: asylumseeker on September 04, 2019, 08:15:43 PM
I can't recall ever seeing so many left footed attackers in a TNT team - Garcia, Telfer, Jones.
Finally a number 9 like KJ i.e. Carr
Now the big problem now is the 3 goalkeepers - none of them are worthy SMDH
Hopefully donkey DL makes use of our greatest attributes of speed and power. I must admit I don't have much faith in the style he wants them to play and I just get the feeling that the lads are lacking confidence.
After one thing is another.

Frenderup has a passport already, so he must not be in favour. He should have had a cap by now.
Title: Pick yuh Team for Martinique
Post by: maxg on September 05, 2019, 08:19:32 AM
Without seeing training and aware of who carrying knocks.
Pick yuh team. Tough one...doh wait till the coach don’t run out your horse and cry. Remember, there can be a best team , your team and the coaches team, we always hope they are one and the same. We rarely know what the best team is, that is football. So lewwe see how close everyone else team is. Doh fraid. Everyone could be right, the important correct has to be the coach’s. Yet he can make 3 changes, and ‘try a ting’.
Y’all have none.    This is the most difficult selection for me, given who in camp, even the goalie position hard. I like it.
Btw , kudos to TTFA, longest camp for awhile, no excuses from coach will be acceptable, must win, even if he makes a few mistakes in selection or communication. Imo
Title: Re: Pick yuh Team for Martinique
Post by: asylumseeker on September 05, 2019, 09:10:08 AM
where yours?   :yellowcard:

Taking a cold hard, rigid look ... I can identify only TWO presumptive starters, neither of whom have precedent as wearing the captain's armband.

If I were to play devil's advocate with myself I could whittle that 2 to 1 if I foresaw a markedly different approach to how the ball will be treated defensively.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 05, 2019, 09:53:28 AM
Les footballeurs martiniquais se concentrent sur les prochaines échéances
By Martiniquela1ère

Troisième entraînement ce mardi soir (3 septembre 2019), de la sélection de Martinique de football. Les joueurs sélectionnées sont réunis au stade Georges Gratiant au Lamentin, comme la veille, afin de répéter des séances de jeu car les échéances arrivent rapidement.

Les martiniquais préparent leur premier match de la Ligue des Nations de la CONCACAF (vendredi 6 septembre 20189 à Fort-de-France), face à Trinidad et Tobago.

Pour cette rencontre, le sélectionneur Mario Bocaly a dû remanier son groupe par rapport à celui formé à la Gold Cup. Il explique à Manuel Larade comment il a procédé à un rajeunissement de l'équipe.

https://la1ere.francetvinfo.fr/martinique/footballeurs-martiniquais-se-concentrent-prochaines-echeances-745473.html

(There's an audio clip of Mario Bocaly describing elements of difference between GC 2019 Martinique and Nations League Martinique.)
Post by: maxg on September 05, 2019, 11:10:30 AM

No argument, just pick...mine

Phillips
              Bateau
Cyrus                           David
                Mitchell
    Williams(Paul)               Jones(L Garcia)
                 George(Joseph)
         Molino           Fortune
                 Telfer (Carr)
Post by: Tallman on September 05, 2019, 11:13:56 AM
The result of a vote on Twitter.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EDtMPX8W4AAjxgs?format=jpg&name=small)
Post by: asylumseeker on September 05, 2019, 11:31:26 AM
In other words, the Twitter vote is a trip down Memory Lane.
Post by: Thomo on September 05, 2019, 11:57:47 AM
The result of a vote on Twitter.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EDtMPX8W4AAjxgs?format=jpg&name=small)

Exactly the team I picked and was about to post. Could have easily been a 3-5-2 formation rather than a 4-2-3-1.
Post by: vb on September 05, 2019, 12:37:55 PM
Let us hope he has the sense to start with Joeven and Molino and please God do not put Levi on the right.

Post by: lefty on September 05, 2019, 03:51:14 PM
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-tUoYZdDHY2a3d0UWZVRTVMQm9JSE5LNko1Qkg3V0UtS2dZ/view?usp=sharing

sit mid to low press/counter, overload through one flank with d e.g. (LCM, LW, LB) and try to drop man in behind on the other flank as fast as we can

also trying to give/force as much passing options dung Levi throat as possible....dat boy too immature and greedy on d ball and is pure liability at times

dais d sticky note version ::)
Post by: Tallman on September 05, 2019, 04:27:51 PM
Trinidad and Tobago look for positive start to Concacaf Nations League campaign
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior men’s team will be aiming to put early points on the board in the their CONCACAF Nations League qualifying campaign when they face off with Martinique in their opening League A encounter at the Stade Pierre Aliker from 6:00pm on Friday.

Head Coach Dennis Lawrence had a final run out with this players at the match venue on Thursday evening after making the short 15-minute flight over from Castries following the team three-day training camp in St Lucia.

Both teams drew 0-0 in a friendly in Fort-de-France in March of last year while the hosts came away 2-0 winners in the Caribbean Cup in 2016, eliminating T&T from Gold Cup qualification that year. Martinique also won 3-2 in another Gold Cup qualifier at Stade Pierre in 2003. But T&T also know how to secure points at the venue as a Hughtun Hector item gave the “Warriors” a 1-0 at the 2010 Caribbean Cup.

Belgium-based defender Sheldon Bateau is optimistic of T&T being able to pull out the stops to start positively away from home.

“I’m happy to be back in the boys. It was really difficult to look at the Gold Cup and disappointing to not be there to help my team. But I’m honoured and privileged to be here to lead the squad for the start of the Nations League campaign,” Bateau told TTFA Media on Thursday.

“I’m eager to show my worth. We have a good squad together. I always thought that the squad would be better off with better quality players in terms of the levels they are playing and with the situation back home at the moment. I think it’s a good opportunity for these players to gel with the ones who were here before to get better results.”

With results here having an impact on FIFA rankings towards qualification for the World Cup qualifying Hex and Gold Cup 2021, Bateau said, “It does add some pressure but the group is motivated. We owe it to the fans and the country to qualify for the Gold Cup and give ourselves a good chance of making the Hex and the World Cup in Qatar.

“But we as players need to put more pressure on ourselves and I told the boys that. We need to raise our levels Our fans back home are what i call happy fans. You win or lose there’s no problem or added pressure. Nobody wants to stone down the bus and so we therefore need to put that pressure on ourselves to get the best from the team. By applying that pressure I think you will see the quality raising. That should come from ourselves as players and not the coach or President or anybody else. The most important thing is that the players go on the field and show it.”

Looking at the opponents, the former Kazakhstan-based player said T&T will have to overcome the challenges on Friday.

“Martinique has some quality and they are at home and will be very competitive. But we have quality also and we need to put it all together to grind out a result. The group is very motivated for the game even though we are expecting a difficult game,” Bateau said.
Post by: Tallman on September 05, 2019, 04:45:23 PM
WATCH: Defender Sheldon Bateau looks ahead to Concacaf Nations League opener versus Martinique

https://www.youtube.com/v/WXPF-CPy4RI
Post by: asylumseeker on September 05, 2019, 07:59:16 PM
How is Aubrey doing? Saprissa had a scare with more than 10 players having puked and reported stomach discomfort, fever and other symptoms/indications ... Aubrey among them. Possible case of salmonella. Might have to factor that in.
Post by: Tallman on September 05, 2019, 09:45:51 PM
WATCH: Dennis Lawrence and Sheldon Bateau pre-match press conference - Martinique vs Trinidad and Tobago

https://www.youtube.com/v/YYubyc69Wjc
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2019, 09:39:14 AM
Phillip
Julien
Bateau (C)
Cyrus
Alvin Jones
George >>>>
^^^^Judah Garcia ^^^^
  <<<< Paul
Molino
Carr
Joevin Jones

I saw Zion in a vision.  ;D

Post by: Jayerson on September 06, 2019, 10:55:52 AM
Any possible television coverage or stream?
Post by: lefty on September 06, 2019, 11:30:35 AM
Phillip
Julien
Bateau (C)
Cyrus
Alvin Jones
George >>>>
^^^^Judah Garcia ^^^^
  <<<< Paul
Molino
Carr
Joevin Jones

I saw Zion in a vision.  ;D

this good, but I think they will try to accommodate Levi, who never play for the team, but this good 
Post by: soccerman on September 06, 2019, 12:29:48 PM
I’m happy to be back in the boys. :o It was really difficult to look at the Gold Cup and disappointing to not be there to help my team. But I’m honoured and privileged to be here to lead the squad for the start of the Nations League campaign,” Bateau told TTFA Media on Thursday.
How they twisting de man words so....
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2019, 12:39:30 PM
Phillip
Joevin Jones
Bateau (C)
Cyrus
Alvin Jones
Ross Russell Jr
George
Nathaniel Garcia
Levi Garcia
Carr
Molino

Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2019, 12:49:01 PM
Just emphasizing that there is an abundance of versatility in the squad. I would be disappointed to find an approach of "more of the same" going into this match. It's not merely a question of acquiring new personnel ... the entire playing dynamic has to change.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2019, 12:55:05 PM
Without seeing training and aware of who carrying knocks.
Pick yuh team. Tough one...doh wait till the coach don’t run out your horse and cry. Remember, there can be a best team , your team and the coaches team, we always hope they are one and the same. We rarely know what the best team is, that is football. So lewwe see how close everyone else team is. Doh fraid. Everyone could be right, the important correct has to be the coach’s. Yet he can make 3 changes, and ‘try a ting’.
Y’all have none.    This is the most difficult selection for me, given who in camp, even the goalie position hard. I like it.
Btw , kudos to TTFA, longest camp for awhile, no excuses from coach will be acceptable, must win, even if he makes a few mistakes in selection or communication. Imo

Spot on.
Post by: soccerman on September 06, 2019, 01:22:16 PM
Just emphasizing that there is an abundance of versatility in the squad. I would be disappointed to find an approach of "more of the same" going into this match. It's not merely a question of acquiring new personnel ... the entire playing dynamic has to change.
I hope that was the reason for the new personnel otherwise they won't enjoy playing with us.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on September 06, 2019, 02:28:39 PM
I want a 4141 with

Phillip
Alvin, Shelly, Cyrus, Aubrey
             K. George
Joevin    Nashy Telfer   Levy
                Carr
Post by: Tallman on September 06, 2019, 03:26:15 PM
Team Lineups

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EDz6lmhXsAA9LsQ?format=jpg&name=medium)

Teams

Trinidad & Tobago: Marvin Phillip; Aubrey David, Joevin Jones, Sheldon Bateau (capt), Daneil Cyrus, Ross Russell, Kevan George, Leston Paul, Marcus Joseph, Kevin Molino, Ryan Telfer.

Martinique: Loic Chauvet; Yordan Thimon, Ambroise Feicliet, Julio Donise, Jhonny Marajo, Yann Thimon, Cyril Mandouki, Daniel Herelle, Stephene Abaul, Sebastien Crelinoil (capt), Romario Barthelery.

Post by: Tallman on September 06, 2019, 03:26:25 PM
Starting Lineups

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EDz5ZEfWsAIXx_6?format=jpg&name=medium)
Post by: pioneertrini on September 06, 2019, 03:34:06 PM
Any possible television coverage or stream?

The official CONCACAF stream, costs $1.99 usd https://www.concacafgo.com/concacafgo/video/2b656b4b-8eb5-4455-9310-d9a4e8b04f5b
Post by: maxg on September 06, 2019, 03:48:02 PM
ok...what we formation we playing ? 3-2-3-2 ?
Post by: Tallman on September 06, 2019, 04:02:06 PM
If you live in the United States and Univision Deportes is part of your TV programming package, you can watch the Martinique vs Trinidad and Tobago game online at no additional charge.
https://www.tudn.com/futbol/concacaf-nations-league/martinica-vs-trinidad-and-tobago-concacaf-nations-league-2019-09-06
Post by: lefty on September 06, 2019, 04:13:04 PM
Plenty discomfort on d ball with defenders already
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 06, 2019, 04:18:29 PM
Plenty discomfort on d ball with defenders already

How you watching the game?
Post by: bingie man on September 06, 2019, 04:21:44 PM
http://mygoaltv.com/martinique-vs-trinidad-and-tobago-m18845
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 06, 2019, 04:34:13 PM
http://mygoaltv.com/martinique-vs-trinidad-and-tobago-m18845

Raspect👊
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 06, 2019, 04:42:27 PM
Goal. Guess for who.. :frustrated:
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 06, 2019, 04:44:15 PM
Wow. I cant believe we that badd. Why is this goalie still getting a call up
Post by: bingie man on September 06, 2019, 04:48:27 PM
 :frustrated:
Post by: trini_stallion on September 06, 2019, 04:48:54 PM
Gary Griffith please lock up David John Williams. He is the “all yuh too wicked,” lady
Post by: Cowen on September 06, 2019, 04:49:25 PM
. Can't blame the gk for that. Defender completely to blame imo
Post by: Tallman on September 06, 2019, 04:51:17 PM
HALF-TIME: Martinique 1-0 Trinidad and Tobago. Goal by Cyril Mandouki (40') (https://twitter.com/CNationsLeague/status/1170105703043874816). #CNL #MTQvTRI

Teams

Trinidad & Tobago: 1.Marvin Phillip; 2.Aubrey David, 3.Joevin Jones, 4.Sheldon Bateau (capt), 5.Daneil Cyrus, 17.Ross Russell, 19.Kevan George, 23.Leston Paul, 15.Marcus Joseph, 10.Kevin Molino, 7.Ryan Telfer.

Martinique: 1.Loic Chauvet; 2.Yordan Thimon, 3.Ambroise Felicitet, 10.Julio Donisa, 12.Jhonny Marajo, 14.Yann Thimon, 15.Cyril Mandouki, 19.Daniel Herelle, 20.Stephene Abaul, 21.Sebastien Cretinoir (capt), 22.Romario Barthelery.

Post by: lefty on September 06, 2019, 04:55:08 PM
. Can't blame the gk for that. Defender completely to blame imo

at least two players just stand there and watch jus slide d ball in, joevin "tackle" was woeful
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 06, 2019, 05:03:03 PM
DL will put in Carr after we concede another goal.
Post by: FF on September 06, 2019, 05:12:25 PM
You can hear Dennis' continuous stream of coaching commands quite clearly. It is very illuminating the types of instructions he feels he needs to give this deep into his tenure.
Post by: lefty on September 06, 2019, 05:14:54 PM
My god d defensive thinking of this team and we moving d ball so fckin slow sometimes it have man open to switch d play and nutten doing
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 06, 2019, 05:17:18 PM
..... DL must resign after today. I want to hear how DJW go rationalize this.
Post by: lefty on September 06, 2019, 05:18:34 PM
Ross Russel need to be taken off.....reckless
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 06, 2019, 05:20:21 PM
My god d defensive thinking of this team and we moving d ball so fckin slow sometimes it have man open to switch d play and nutten doing

For the fellas who've been following the national team for decades, will you agree that this is the worst the team has ever looked? I've been watching the national team since the late 80s. I cant recall seeing a team play this horrible.
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 06, 2019, 05:21:24 PM

How did he even get to start?
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 06, 2019, 05:22:48 PM
Penalty

Goallllll. 1-1
Post by: lefty on September 06, 2019, 05:24:42 PM
Finally speedy counter, penalty, goal
Post by: Tallman on September 06, 2019, 05:25:28 PM
GOALLLLLL! for Trinidad and Tobago. Joevin Jones scores a penalty in the 65th minute. Martinique 1-1 Trinidad and Tobago.
Post by: lefty on September 06, 2019, 05:26:49 PM

How did he even get to start?
  ??? Jr.

Post by: hg495 on September 06, 2019, 05:28:51 PM
Telfair has speed and some class. Good find he could do some damage if he get the ball
Post by: hg495 on September 06, 2019, 05:30:02 PM
Telfair has speed and some class. Good find he could do some damage if he get the ball
Post by: lefty on September 06, 2019, 05:31:42 PM
Levi pass :o  ??? well look at dat
Post by: Dinner Mints on September 06, 2019, 05:35:38 PM
DL will put in Carr after we concede another goal.
He doh play foreign born. Just call them.
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 06, 2019, 05:42:21 PM
DL should just come out of retirement  and play instead ah should every instruction  to players
Post by: fitzinho on September 06, 2019, 05:46:10 PM
These fellas thinking in slow motion.
Post by: Sam on September 06, 2019, 05:51:47 PM
Levi does force heself to much, he is not a smart player.

Marvin Phillip, lord, cant wait for Greg.

T&T playing without a plan.

Post by: Cowen on September 06, 2019, 05:52:42 PM
Not impressed with LP
Post by: Tallman on September 06, 2019, 05:52:55 PM
FULL-TIME: Martinique 1-1 Trinidad and Tobago. Goalscorers: Cyril Mandouki (40'); Joevin Jones (65' penalty).
Post by: lefty on September 06, 2019, 05:57:04 PM
These fellas thinking in slow motion.

shocking at this stage and d quality of the decisions  eye opening as well
Post by: Reaper2004 on September 06, 2019, 05:57:58 PM
Who down on the floor injured after the final whistle? I hope it isn't my cousin Ryan eh?
Post by: OutsideMan on September 06, 2019, 06:00:36 PM
The play that transpired after that 88th minute T&T corner-kick pretty much sums up T&T football today.

T&T is awarded the corner-kick.  T&T player waltzs lazily and nonchalantly to the corner to take the kick. Only 2 T&T players were in the opposition's PK area to await the corner-kick.  Corner-kick is taken.  The ball predictably is easily caught and held by the opposition Goalkeeper.  Opposition's goalkeeper THROWS the ball to one of his midfielders at the halfway-line, with no T&T players anywhere around that opposition midfielder (even though just moments before there were only TWO solitary T&T players in the opposition's penalty area to await the impending T&T corner-kick).

The counter-attack started by the opposition goalkeeper who threw the ball to the halfway-line, is continued UN-OPPOSED by opposition's midfielder who is able, via a series of UN-OPPSED passes, to get the ball to an opposition forward IN THE T&T PENALTY AREA --- and that opposition forward is able to EASILY avoid the T&T defender's poor defense, and with his back to goal, he is able to spin towards goal and take a very good clever shot towards the T&T goal, leaving the T&T defenders and goalkeeper flatfooted and dumbfounded.  T&T was lucky on that play as the ball richocheted off the goal-post.  Although Martinique did not score on that play, this is the type of weak school-boy football that has defined T&T jokey-football in the past few years now.  :banginghead:
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2019, 06:01:17 PM
Chinapoo doh want de wuk on a caretaker basis?
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2019, 06:05:06 PM
Not impressed with LP

I agree. What are your reasons?
Post by: lefty on September 06, 2019, 06:07:11 PM
Who down on the floor injured after the final whistle? I hope it isn't my cousin Ryan eh?

was sub off I believe
Post by: soccerman on September 06, 2019, 06:08:42 PM
It looked like Alvin Jones
Post by: soccerman on September 06, 2019, 06:09:43 PM
Thank you Telfer, that moment of brilliance gave us a point.
Post by: lefty on September 06, 2019, 06:12:19 PM
what position did Telfer play ???
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2019, 06:12:58 PM

Bateau and the player who passed to Telfer..
Post by: lefty on September 06, 2019, 06:19:18 PM
still say we should play a flat three and progress d ball from deep, should play Molino LCM/RCM and let him move into that 10 spot if he can during progression, but we double pivot wasn't doing nutten much to give him service
Post by: maxg on September 06, 2019, 06:53:43 PM
Telfer must have shown real good - the way yuh drop the family connection early, and easy, so   :D
Post by: maxg on September 06, 2019, 07:02:43 PM
btw, my team woulda win  ;D
Post by: Cowen on September 06, 2019, 07:12:22 PM
Not impressed with LP

I'm trying to figure out what exactly is his role on the field. Is he a holding midfielder, creative midfielder? Doesnt add anything to the attack and non existent defensively. Frankly he just seems to be the 11th player on the pitch.
Post by: Tallman on September 06, 2019, 07:13:55 PM

He roamed, but mostly played on the left wing. Although the run he made on the counterattack was done on the right wing.
Post by: Tallman on September 06, 2019, 07:14:35 PM
WATCH: Highlights of Trinidad and Tobago's 1-1 draw with Martinique.

https://www.youtube.com/v/p8QzfSaVo5w
Post by: lefty on September 06, 2019, 07:21:57 PM

He roamed, but mostly played on the left wing. Although the run he made on the counterattack was done on the right wing.

Winger thought he was a CM we need another attacking CM bad, but he very direct and seems smart, more than ah could say for Levi, good individual quality on the ball but pretty dumb player all things considered......

also that is the first time I have seen us break like like dat in a long long time.......Levi kept duncely drifting wide away from help during the Gold cup
Post by: Jayerson on September 06, 2019, 07:33:00 PM
I am happy with Ryan's Telfer's debut. If he can get good service through the channels, he can do damage. He has good speed and made some smart runs. Good service would be the key in getting the best out of him. My other point, I hope Greg Ranjitsingh's issues re: passport is dealt with soon because we are in need of a keeper that commands his area. We have some good shot stoppers but the goal keeping role has evolved waaay past being just that. Ross Russell Jr...SMH.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2019, 07:53:33 PM
Not impressed with LP

I'm trying to figure out what exactly is his role on the field. Is he a holding midfielder, creative midfielder? Doesnt add anything to the attack and non existent defensively. Frankly he just seems to be the 11th player on the pitch.

I think the word you're looking for is "passenger". Some players are passengers even when the keys are in their hands.

There would be an iota of redemption if he didn't make unjustifiably silly tackles. There was a moment when he was so vehement in his protestations to the referee and he didn't have a leg to stand on in the argument ... probably because he lost it whacking away at the attacker from behind. If nothing else, Leston developed a reputation for leadership as a younger player, but his measured temperament seems to have departed him as he has aged.

Xavi Alonso made the point that going to ground with a with your leg as a scythe is not a badge of honor, merely a mark of desperation and improper reading of the initial play. I made the observation on a recent match discussion thread that LP's tackling is rash and that he delays delivery of the ball to advanced areas.

I stated other things as well, but nevertheless chose him as my 11th player and struggled with that decision because I think Garcia, N is a superior generator of the ball and more dynamic to spurring collective movement and influencing playing rhythm. LP offers disruption of the opponent's play but at a cost that I think is increasingly incompatible with international football that does not involve minnows. Since we rarely play any of those these days, he either needs to reorder his influence on the game or stick around (as deteriorating ranking will mean playing minnows with regularity ... particularly since by that time we would have become one also). 

This team is in dire need of a Bostockesque contribution to recuperating possession and generating the attack.  The truth of the matter is that even the Hyland-George pairing is insufficiently dynamic as a central partnership despite both George and Hyland's individual virtues ... which is not to say that Hyland, George and Bostock couldn't play together as a '3'.
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 06, 2019, 08:14:13 PM
Andre Boucaud was a hustler. He was ok in the middle of the field. We still miss him though..
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2019, 08:26:13 PM
I am happy with Ryan's Telfer's debut. If he can get good service through the channels, he can do damage. He has good speed and made some smart runs. Good service would be the key in getting the best out of him. My other point, I hope Greg Ranjitsingh's issues re: passport is dealt with soon because we are in need of a keeper that commands his area. We have some good shot stoppers but the goal keeping role has evolved waaay past being just that. Ross Russell Jr...SMH.

Spot on.

What Telfer brought was polish, intelligence/thought, guile and determination ...

Yet, it must also be said that we ought not be overly dependent on that singular solution ... other ideas for progressing the ball ought to be meshed into our attacking personality. We neither want to run him ragged or make play predictable ... which, for instance, on the stage of the U-13 Champions League is a charge I felt Jabloteh was open to on both counts.

In commenting about what Mexican football could learn from Caribbean football, Jacques Passy identified our direct play as a takeaway. I found that to be an interesting comment ... when the critique (including mine) is that we have a penchant for directness absent imagination and in Mexico a penchant for layered elaboration that broadly overlooks direct play because it feels less sophisticated to  their imagination of how play should be constructed ... the very reason why we seem to have fallen asleep at the precise moment that they unlock our defences. They have so many worked approaches to unlocking in their toolkit. Despite Passy's compliment, we need greater versatility taught earlier in players' development.

From a purist standpoint, it was pleasing to see Martinique rely on some of those resources in waltzing by us. What was less pleasing is that I didn't see recognition from the bench of what needed to be resolved to end Martinique's freedom of the park.
Post by: lefty on September 06, 2019, 08:28:12 PM
Not impressed with LP

I think the word you're looking for is "passenger". Some players are passengers even when the keys are in their hands.

There would be an iota of redemption if he didn't make unjustifiably silly tackles. There was a moment when he was so vehement in his protestations to the referee and he didn't have a leg to stand on in the argument ... probably because he lost it whacking away at the attacker from behind. If nothing else, Leston developed a reputation for leadership as a younger player, but his measured temperament seems to have departed him as he has aged.

Xavi Alonso made the point that going to ground with a with your leg as a scythe is not a badge of honor, merely a mark of desperation and improper reading of the initial play. I made the observation on a recent match discussion thread that LP's tackling is rash and that he delays delivery of the ball to advanced areas.

I stated other things as well, but nevertheless chose him as my 11th player and struggled with that decision because I think Garcia, N is a superior generator of the ball and more dynamic to spurring collective movement and influencing playing rhythm. LP offers disruption of the opponent's play but at a cost that I think is increasingly incompatible with international football that does not involve minnows. Since we rarely play any of those these days, he either needs to reorder his influence on the game or stick around (as deteriorating ranking will mean playing minnows with regularity ... particularly since by that time we would have become one also). 

This team is in dire need of a Bostockesque contribution to recuperating possession and generating the attack.  The truth of the matter is that even the Hyland-George pairing is insufficiently dynamic as a central partnership despite both George and Hyland's individual virtues ... which is not to say that Hyland, George and Bostock couldn't play together as a '3'.

seeker we need to operate ah '3' full stop Molino has little influence on the game as a "10" because he get no meaningful service most of the time, Hyland can at least still carry a ball, he and Molino, can adequately carry us from defense to attack and I still think d defense should push up and be proactive, time and time again Martinique was exploiting that space between mid and defense with measured pings and threading
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2019, 08:32:49 PM
I wouldn't even say "exploit" ... they were like conquerors claiming it for France because we were uninterested in occupying it. It was our gift without a treaty.

Where was the line of confrontation?
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2019, 08:36:00 PM
Andre Boucaud was a hustler. He was ok in the middle of the field. We still miss him though..

Good point. Seems like ancient history now.

How often did Hyland and Boucaud play together?
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2019, 08:37:59 PM
Aubrey isn't playing where he plays for his club? Thoughts? Acceptable delivery? Rating?
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2019, 08:39:40 PM
How solid is Nathaniel Garcia defensively?
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2019, 08:41:49 PM

Of course! You picked about 15 players.  :devil:
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2019, 08:47:51 PM
The play that transpired after that 88th minute T&T corner-kick pretty much sums up T&T football today.

T&T is awarded the corner-kick.  T&T player waltzs lazily and nonchalantly to the corner to take the kick. Only 2 T&T players were in the opposition's PK area to await the corner-kick.  Corner-kick is taken.  The ball predictably is easily caught and held by the opposition Goalkeeper.  Opposition's goalkeeper THROWS the ball to one of his midfielders at the halfway-line, with no T&T players anywhere around that opposition midfielder (even though just moments before there were only TWO solitary T&T players in the opposition's penalty area to await the impending T&T corner-kick).

The counter-attack started by the opposition goalkeeper who threw the ball to the halfway-line, is continued UN-OPPOSED by opposition's midfielder who is able, via a series of UN-OPPSED passes, to get the ball to an opposition forward IN THE T&T PENALTY AREA --- and that opposition forward is able to EASILY avoid the T&T defender's poor defense, and with his back to goal, he is able to spin towards goal and take a very good clever shot towards the T&T goal, leaving the T&T defenders and goalkeeper flatfooted and dumbfounded.  T&T was lucky on that play as the ball richocheted off the goal-post.  Although Martinique did not score on that play, this is the type of weak school-boy football that has defined T&T jokey-football in the past few years now.  :banginghead:

We were tempting fate. I was braced for some late minute drama ... there's always the second leg.

We have the resources to defeat Martinique, I just wish that we would make less of a production of it and handle the matter clinically.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2019, 08:49:56 PM

Winger thought he was a CM we need another attacking CM bad, but he very direct and seems smart, more than ah could say for Levi, good individual quality on the ball but pretty dumb player all things considered......

also that is the first time I have seen us break like like dat in a long long time.......Levi kept duncely drifting wide away from help during the Gold cup

You're not going to get an attacking CM.
Post by: lefty on September 06, 2019, 08:51:05 PM
I wouldn't even say "exploit" ... they were like conquerors claiming it for France because we were uninterested in occupying it. It was our gift without a treaty.

Where was the line of confrontation?

:D ;D :cursing: sigh so true :frustrated: :-[
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2019, 08:52:42 PM

And Joevin. :applause:

Thankfully there was no uncertainty as to who was going to take the penalty.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2019, 08:56:36 PM
DL should just come out of retirement  and play instead ah should every instruction  to players

:thinking:
Post by: soccerman on September 06, 2019, 08:59:39 PM
Aubrey isn't playing where he plays for his club? Thoughts? Acceptable delivery? Rating?
I watched the 2nd half and he didn't have his best game, I remembered he got beaten on a blind side run on the flank but luckily they failed on convert on that opportunity. In fact DL was shouting basic instructions to him like "stay on your toes" or "shift inside", he called Aubrey's name a lot. What position does he play for his club?
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2019, 09:00:31 PM
You can hear Dennis' continuous stream of coaching commands quite clearly. It is very illuminating the types of instructions he feels he needs to give this deep into his tenure.

Oh.
Post by: soccerman on September 06, 2019, 09:02:24 PM

And Joevin. :applause:

Thankfully there was no uncertainty as to who was going to take the penalty.
Yes Joevin deserves credit. I couldn't believe Bateau made that run, he was committed. Kudos to him and whoever passed the ball.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2019, 09:03:32 PM
I watched the 2nd half and he didn't have his best game, I remembered he got beaten on a blind side run on the flank but luckily they failed on convert on that opportunity. In fact DL was shouting basic instructions to him like "stay on your toes" or "shift inside", he called Aubrey's name a lot. What position does he play for his club?

CB.

Yeah, as they say in the UK ... he didn't cover himself in glory.

Might be time to ask why a player who plays in that position (Julien) regularly wasn't granted the opportunity to play on his patch.
Post by: lefty on September 06, 2019, 09:05:00 PM

I mean like an "8" or B2B someone that carry the ball with speed through the middle especially from deep. 
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2019, 09:10:39 PM

I mean like an "8" or B2B someone that carry the ball with speed through the middle especially from deep. 

John Bostock. Find me at Nottingham Forest.

Or find a player with similar attributes ... hint, hint.
Post by: Tallman on September 06, 2019, 09:17:53 PM
It is one year to the day since we last won a match.  :cursing:
Post by: Reaper2004 on September 06, 2019, 09:48:35 PM
Telfer must have shown real good - the way yuh drop the family connection early, and easy, so   :D

From his performances for both Toronto FC and Yorke 9 he has been getting a lot of praise for his playing which in turn got him the call up to the Soca Warriors. I keep in contact to see how he is doing with him and his club's progress lately.
Post by: soccerman on September 06, 2019, 09:54:38 PM
Helluva drought. Don't worry once we get a home the wins will come.
Post by: maxg on September 06, 2019, 09:57:28 PM

Well the bracketed (4) were possible subs, after the coach confused the hell outta the attacking starters. Instructions on field Not being what was worked on during the 5 days of training. Didn’t have time for strategy.

Btw, who were his subs
Post by: Flex on September 07, 2019, 12:05:00 AM
Soca Warriors 1 vs Martinique 1 in Nations League.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

A 65th-minute penal­ty from Jo­evin Jones en­sured that T&T's So­ca War­riors shared the points with Mar­tinique in their open­ing match of the CON­CA­CAF Na­tions League at the Stade Pierre Alik­er Sta­di­um in Mar­tinique on Fri­day night.

The So­ca War­riors, wound­ed af­ter a 1-0 loss to St Vin­cent and the Grenadines re­cent­ly, ap­peared strength­ened by the re­cruit­ment of speedy Canadian-based mid­field­er Ryan Telfer who was on de­but. But in the first half though, they could not stop the home team from tak­ing the ad­van­tage, fol­low­ing a pe­ri­od of dom­i­nance in pos­ses­sion in the 40th minute. From a left side cor­ner, Cyril Man­dou­ki ben­e­fit­ted from a de­flect­ed ef­fort that fell nice­ly in his path, to fire past goal­keep­er Mar­vin Philip for a 1-0 lead.

And de­spite re­lent­less at­tacks in the mo­ments that fol­lowed, the home team could on­ly main­tain their ad­van­tage at the half-time in­ter­val.

Af­ter the break, the home team sought to con­tin­ue their dom­i­nance ear­ly, and it was on­ly a des­per­ate clear­ance by Daneil Cyrus from a Stephone Aboul right-side cross reach­ing the dan­ger­ous legs of goalscor­er Man­dou­ki in the area. Lat­er in the 53rd minute, the home team should have in­creased their ad­van­tage.

This time Aboul, put through on the right side, de­liv­ered per­fect­ly for Yann Thi­man to fire an un­con­trolled shot over the cross­bar.

But Den­nis Lawrence's men came to life in the 59th minute, when Kevin Moli­no and Mar­cus Joseph ex­changed pass­es on the right side, and the lat­ter with a clear shot at goal, turned it wide of the post.

Telfer, how­ev­er, was the ar­chi­tect of the T&T equal­iz­er from the penal­ty spot. The mid­field­er ex­hib­it­ed blind­ing speed to get past his mark­er down the right flank, be­fore re­leas­ing to Shel­don Bateau in­side the area. But be­fore Bateau could have got­ten an at­tempt at goal, de­fend­er Am­broise Fe­licitet stormed in to sweep his legs from un­der him, caus­ing the ref­er­ee to point to the penal­ty spot.

Jo­evin Jones then stepped up and beat Loc Chou­vet in the Mar­tinique goal for the equal­iz­er.

Telfer with an­oth­er surg­ing run down the left side was hacked down in the area a sec­ond time in the 70th minute, but this time the ref­er­ee waved play-on.

In time added on, Mar­tinique al­most clinched the win when Ro­mario Barthel­ery turned nice­ly in the box from a feed by Ar­naud Huygues, but his curl­ing left-foot­er crashed against Phillip's up­right, be­fore go­ing to the safe­ty.

Teams

Trinidad & Tobago: 1.Marvin Phillip (GK); 2.Aubrey David, 4.Sheldon Bateau (capt), 5.Daneil Cyrus, 17.Ross Russell Jr (16.Alvin Jones 71), 19.Kevan George, 23.Leston Paul, 3.Joevin Jones (11.Levi Garcia 71), 10.Kevin Molino, 7.Ryan Telfer (20.Jomal Williams 76), 15.Marcus Joseph,

Unused substitutes: 21.Glenroy Samuel (GK), 22.Adrian Foncette (GK), 6.Keston Julien, 8.Andre Fortune Jr, 9.Jameel Perry, 12.Carlyle Mitchell, 13.Judah Garcia, 14.Daniel Carr, 18.Nathaniel Garcia.

Coach: Dennis Lawrence.

Martinique: 1.Loic Chauvet (GK); 22.Romario Barthelery, 3.Ambroise Felicitet, 21.Sebastien Cretinor (captain), 2.Yordan Thimon; 19.Daniel Herelle, 15.Cyril Mandouki (5.Karl Vitulin 78); 10.Julio Donisa (6.Thierry Catherine 84), 12.Johnny Marajo, 20.Stephane Abaul, 14.Yann Thimon (17.Montabord Rene-Charles 78).

Unused substitutes: 16.Amaud Des Etages (GK), 23.Stephane Michalet (GK), 4.Gerald Dondon, 7.Andy Cesar, 8.Jordy Delem, 9.Marvin Bellance, 11.Andy Mamy, 13.Christof Jougon.

Coach: Mario Bocaly.

Highlights - Relive the Joevin Jones’s penalty kick giving Trinidad the draw (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p8QzfSaVo5w)

RELATED NEWS

Joevin’s penalty earns T&T 1-1 draw in CNL opener.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Dennis Lawrence expressed some level of satisfaction with the efforts of his players as this country came away with a 1-1 draw against a tricky Martinique outfit in their opening match of CONCACAF Nations League qualifying in Fort-de-France on Friday night.

Canadian-based forward Ryan Telfer made his international debut for T&T as Lawrence gave him his first cap alongside India-based forward Marcus Joseph in the attack. It was Joseph though who found himself with the early opportunities to put T&T ahead but he mis-fired on the evening for the visitors.

A minute into the match, Joseph collected inside the box before turning and firing to goal but goalkeeper Loic Chauvet. Martinique settled into stride midway through the first half and once they did, they pressured T&T creating a couple proper chances to take the lead. Midfielder Stephane Abaul fired inches over bar on 22 minutes.

Telfer rose nicely to head from a right side cross by Leston Paul, forcing Chauvet to push around his left post. But after a goalmouth scramble in the T&T box, it was the homeside which drew first blood. T&T failed to handle a right side corner allowing the ball to fall to Julio Doniso whose close range blast deflected off Joevin Jones and France-born midfielder Cyril Mandouki slotted home in the 41st.

T&T regrouped and came again in the second half. Telfer was out the blocks early after a Martinique left sided corner was cleaned up at the back. T&T skipper Sheldon Bateau made the box to box run as Telfer flew down the right flank and played inside for the Belgium-based defender who was hacked down by defender Ambroise Felicitet. Jones converted the resulting penalty clinically to level the scores at one apiece in minute 63.

Moments later Telfer made another drive into the box, this time on the left and was bundled over again but Panamanian referee Jose Kellys waved play on.

T&T were pressed into their own half for the closing minutes as Martinique tried desperately to steal a late winner. Thierry Catherine effort struck the upright in added on time.

The “Warriors” will now look to secure three points when both teams meet again at the Hasely Crawford Stadium at 9:00pm on Monday. Tickets are available at NLCB outlets nationwide .

“I thought tonight we started the game very well. We had a couple changes early on which could have put us in a better position. We knew we would have to weather the storm a bit and see it out. The boys did absolutely remarkable to get themselves back into the game so I was really really pleased for the boys. Now it’s all about recovery and getting home to make sure we are ready for the for the next game on Monday,” Lawrence said.

“Once you are playing away from home you got to expect the opposition, they got the fans behind them and they will throw everything at you. Martinique started to grow in confidence once we let them off the hook after the first fifteen minutes because I thought we should have scored. They grew in confidence and started to take control of the game and we had to weather the storm. But I’m pleased with the boys and the effort they gave in the end to get something from the game,” Lawrence added.

Post by: Thomo on September 07, 2019, 03:29:02 AM
Any links to the full game?
Post by: noize on September 07, 2019, 05:33:14 AM
Our football has become so pathetic that the captain says " They had a plan not to lose the game " and the coach is congratulating the boys for their performance. Is this the mindset that Lawrence has put in place ?  We not even playing a powerhouse it's Martinique who just out played us and we hoping for a draw..look at the stats...SMDH
:banginghead:
Match Stats
MTQ    TRI
Possession
56%   44%
Shots (on Goal)
21 (6)      7 (5)
18   Fouls   12
1   Yellow Cards   2
0   Red Cards   0
3   Offsides   4
9   Corner Kicks   3
4   Saves   5
Post by: asylumseeker on September 07, 2019, 05:42:29 AM

Well the bracketed (4) were possible subs, after the coach confused the hell outta the attacking starters. Instructions on field Not being what was worked on during the 5 days of training. Didn’t have time for strategy.

Btw, who were his subs

Doh mind me ... ah understood, although it did remind me of life before paragraphs :) Unfortunately the formation thingy doesn't allow for 4 lines but you should play with it.

Subs?

17.Ross Russell Jr (16.Alvin Jones 71)

3.Joevin Jones (11.Levi Garcia 71) :)

7.Ryan Telfer (20.Jomal Williams 76)

Ah hope yuh ready fuh de home game pick yuh team.

Post by: asylumseeker on September 07, 2019, 06:53:44 AM
By Martiniquela1ère

Troisième entraînement ce mardi soir (3 septembre 2019), de la sélection de Martinique de football. Les joueurs sélectionnées sont réunis au stade Georges Gratiant au Lamentin, comme la veille, afin de répéter des séances de jeu car les échéances arrivent rapidement.

Les martiniquais préparent leur premier match de la Ligue des Nations de la CONCACAF (vendredi 6 septembre 20189 à Fort-de-France), face à Trinidad et Tobago.

Pour cette rencontre, le sélectionneur Mario Bocaly a dû remanier son groupe par rapport à celui formé à la Gold Cup. Il explique à Manuel Larade comment il a procédé à un rajeunissement de l'équipe.

https://la1ere.francetvinfo.fr/martinique/footballeurs-martiniquais-se-concentrent-prochaines-echeances-745473.html

(There's an audio clip of Mario Bocaly describing elements of difference between GC 2019 Martinique and Nations League Martinique.)

truehaitian, give us you take on the coach's comments pre-match.

The post-match assessment is that their hybrid squad of pros and non-pros deserved more than a point.

Somehow I feel we were preparing for Gold Cup Martinique.

https://m.la1ere.francetvinfo.fr/martinique/ligue-nations-concacaf-martinique-meritait-mieux-1-1-face-trinidad-746687.html
Post by: Tallman on September 07, 2019, 08:27:59 AM
WATCH: Dennis Lawrence and Sheldon Bateau post-match press conference - Martinique 1-1 Trinidad and Tobago

https://www.youtube.com/v/dFEBOJW_iJE
Post by: lefty on September 07, 2019, 10:01:18 AM
be­fore re­leas­ing to Shel­don Bateau in­side the area. But be­fore Bateau could have got­ten an at­tempt at goal, de­fend­er Am­broise Fe­licitet stormed in to sweep his legs from un­der him

Ok Bateau B2B from CB more often or as ah regular tactic.....dais not d first time dat movement produce goals and chances, I can recall at least two others.
.....thoughts....opinions ???
Post by: asylumseeker on September 07, 2019, 02:51:45 PM
For what it's worth ... the opposing view of Mario Bocaly and his captain (in French).

https://youtube.com/v/V6MsvMl-GAA
Post by: Deeks on September 07, 2019, 03:55:51 PM
So we back with Joma? We get punished for wearing capelli. How much money DJW got for that?
Post by: frico on September 07, 2019, 04:43:08 PM
By Martiniquela1ère

truehaitian, give us you take on the coach's comments pre-match.

The post-match assessment is that their hybrid squad of pros and non-pros deserved more than a point.

Somehow I feel we were preparing for Gold Cup Martinique.

https://m.la1ere.francetvinfo.fr/martinique/ligue-nations-concacaf-martinique-meritait-mieux-1-1-face-trinidad-746687.html
Good practice for me because I'm learning French.This is what was said in that bit of French,"Third training session on Tuesday night ofthe selected Martinique players.The players selected will be united at the Stadium in Lamentin as the day before to repeat play sessions because they need to mature quickly.For this meeting the selector Mario Bocaly has to rework his group of players for the match on the 6 of September."
Not much anyway,that is nuff homework for me tonight.I'll say this,French is 20 times more difficult than Spanish.
Post by: Sando prince on September 07, 2019, 06:21:42 PM

and the drought will continue under this current slow uncreative style of play being implemented by DL
Post by: ffisback on September 07, 2019, 07:17:47 PM
Univision Deportes is bringing the games I will be out of town on Monday night so I don't know if I will see the game a draw is a good result to get in Martinique but in TT they must get a win I only saw the 2nd half and from what I saw it does not matter which team DL faces he always play the same way.
Post by: Deeks on September 08, 2019, 04:42:08 AM
Cuba got hammered by Canada, 6-0. Curacao beat Haiti 1-0. Very good game. Curacao looking good. El Sal. beat St. Lucia 3-0. Looshans were no match for them
Post by: andre samuel on September 08, 2019, 06:06:59 AM
Our football has become so pathetic that the captain says " They had a plan not to lose the game " and the coach is congratulating the boys for their performance. Is this the mindset that Lawrence has put in place ?  We not even playing a powerhouse it's Martinique who just out played us and we hoping for a draw..look at the stats...SMDH
:banginghead:
Match Stats
MTQ    TRI
Possession
56%   44%
Shots (on Goal)
21 (6)      7 (5)
18   Fouls   12
1   Yellow Cards   2
0   Red Cards   0
3   Offsides   4
9   Corner Kicks   3
4   Saves   5

Damned if you do and damned if you dont.  While i respect the view of all of the posters, I constantly see overwhelming negativity in here.  Our football is in a sad state, but this is a good result on the road given our form of late. 

Let's see how Monday goes.  They get a pass in this game, since a point away is a decent start, but anything other that a victory on Monday would make this result useless. 

I see tonnes of complained in here, lol. 

Imagine a man start to bad talk our best player at the Gold Cup and he was blamed for the goal, lol. 

I believe that DL is NOT the man for the job, but honestly, the negativity in here is overwhelming.  We got a point on the road!

Post by: Tallman on September 08, 2019, 09:10:34 AM

I believe that DL is NOT the man for the job, but honestly, the negativity in here is overwhelming.  We got a point on the road!

Andre, how much negativity is appropriate for 10 games without a win? Keeping in mind that under this same coach we had a 9-game winless streak.
Post by: andre samuel on September 08, 2019, 02:00:53 PM
Tallest, we could win 4 out of the next 6 games and win the CONCACAF Nations League and Denis overall record will still be poor.  So i am not into his record.  I already stated that he should have been removed from this role. 

However, whether his record poor or not, a point on the road vs Martinique isnt a bad result.  That is simply my point.
Post by: maxg on September 08, 2019, 02:01:50 PM
Phillips
David
Bateau
Cyrus(4)
A Jones
Fortune(1)
george(3)
Molino
Joseph(2)
Carr
Telfer

bench :L Garcia(1) 45 ', Jones(2) 71 ',J Williams(3) 65', Mitchell(4) 82 '

Leading 2-1 at 45'      Leading 3-1 81'  Final score  3-1 TT

and the Loto 6/49 #s this week will be  7,19,22,33,34,46   ;)

doh forget where y'all get it
Post by: asylumseeker on September 08, 2019, 03:49:16 PM
Yuh ready fuh yuh Pro League Second Division debut.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 08, 2019, 03:53:49 PM
Tallest, we could win 4 out of the next 6 games and win the CONCACAF Nations League and Denis overall record will still be poor.  So i am not into his record.  I already stated that he should have been removed from this role. 

However, whether his record poor or not, a point on the road vs Martinique isnt a bad result.  That is simply my point.

I think we all recognize that a point on the road is not the worst scenario. What many reject is the optimistic sheen that it's pissing rain when in actuality things simply just stink of another liquid.

However, as well, there should be a distinction between away points. Going to Martinique is not going to Guatemala although both have historically had their challenges. It's very convenient to reduce the argument to point accumulation on the road, but it should never be reduced to that in dismissal of the quality of the product on display.

That stated, I think Martinique is not coming to Trinidad to be cautious (their away match) and I do not think they are tremendously worried about our product. I think Bocaly has what he believes are the measure of our team and it's now up to DL to present a different mix to combat that. At home we have to be enterprising against Martinique's hybrid of amateurs and pros and to make their trip to the HCS entirely inhospitable.

One thing that we haven't been negative about on this thread is the officiating. I'm going to change that a bit. I think the ref missed a trick here and there: notably what should have been a card when their defender challenged Telfer's back rather than the ball. Card accumulation is influential on the match and it was merely minutes later when the ref was liberal in giving us a card for a garden variety foul.

Looking forward to DL pushing for 3 points with ambition and enterprise.  The selection of Telfer was encouraging because it reflected intent to put the ball down and play.  I thought he might have been inclined to endure with the aerial strategy ... although Carr has approach play that is comfortable with the ball on the carpet.

I like maxg's nod to playing both Carr and Telfer off each other with support. Whatever DL comes up with will be experimental (or ought to be) because the status quo has not worked. He has a clean slate to work his way back to credibility.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 08, 2019, 06:33:07 PM
Yuh ready fuh yuh Pro League Second Division debut.

Then again, yuh might not want the frustration of a mere $ US  8,000 budget infusion. Clearly there will be no promotion and relegation given the inequitable distribution of monies to be received across the divisions (over 100K for the 1st tier and less than 10K for the second). That's nothing short of preposterous and is not forward-thinking. The teams that constitute a second tier should be well-considered in how they merit access and are incentivized. It might make sense also to permit Defence Force and Police to have teams in the second tier in addition to their PL teams.

I've spent a lot of time engaged with Ascenso teams and what I just read is hugely disappointing and borderline ignorance. Since FIFA and CONCACAF are determined to defer to the will of the self-interested, let the beatings continue. I daresay no decision-making with long-term implications for the interest of national football  should be made concrete through the TTFA president's office until after the next ballot. Where consensus is to be had, it should be utilized without undue influence of the self-interested ... particularly in an environment in which they can make no claim to having made football a commercially viable and profitable enterprise .. absent the sequestering of funds.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 08, 2019, 07:06:08 PM
How is Aubrey doing? Saprissa had a scare with more than 10 players having puked and reported stomach discomfort, fever and other symptoms/indications ... Aubrey among them. Possible case of salmonella. Might have to factor that in.

Not ah worry! Aubrey's non-international teammates thrashed Grecia 6-0 today. Means that Saprissa coach Walter Centeno returned to the club he was building at Grecia and knocked out all de windows.  :)

Post by: Flex on September 09, 2019, 12:42:50 AM
Soca Warriors seek full points vs Martinique.
By Rachael Thompson-King (Guardian).

T&T's So­ca War­riors will be hop­ing to get a boost play­ing at home on Mon­day night in their re­turn match against Mar­tinique at the CON­CA­CAF Na­tions League foot­ball match at the Hase­ly Craw­ford Sta­di­um in Mu­cu­rapo. Kick-off is at 9 pm.

On Sun­day at a me­dia press con­fer­ence both head coach Den­nis Lawrence and team cap­tain Shel­don Bateau shared their en­thu­si­asm about the match and what is at stake.

"Win­ing your home match is mas­sive­ly im­por­tant but it is how you go about get­ting that vic­to­ry is the most im­por­tant thing," said Lawrence, a for­mer na­tion­al de­fend­er.

"I think the boys will hope­ful­ly be fine and ready for the game we haven't been home for a while so I would like to be­lieve they are ex­cit­ed and look­ing for­ward to play­ing in front of T&T pub­lic again."

He is mind­ful though that the na­tion­al team still has worked to do if they are to take down the Mar­tini­quans, who scored first in the open­ing match at the Stade Pierre Alik­er Sta­di­um in Mar­tinique on Fri­day night. Cyril Man­dou­ki ben­e­fit­ted from a de­flect­ed ef­fort from a left side cor­ner, that fell in his path, fir­ing past goal­keep­er Mar­vin Philip. It was thanks to a 65th-minute penal­ty from Jo­evin Jones which helped T&T share the points with Mar­tinique.

"Some­thing we need to im­prove on our set-piece. They cause a threat from set-pieces in terms of de­liv­ery and the way they at­tack the ball," said Lawrence. "So over­all we just need to make sure we try to get on the front foot and don't al­low them to build mo­men­tum as they did in Mar­tinique which was ex­pect­ed as they were at home."

Lawrence had his play­ers rest for most of the week­end in prepa­ra­tion for to­day's match.

"I think it's more about re­cov­ery more than prepa­ra­tion be­cause the big part for us is the re­cov­ery that's the prepa­ra­tion," said Lawrence. "We play on such short no­tice and then hav­ing to trav­el and ar­riv­ing here so it's a short time so we couldn't spend much time on the foot­ball pitch so re­cov­ery was the most im­por­tant fac­tor."

Bateau too shared his ex­cite­ment say­ing: "The first was for us to re­cov­er af­ter the match and now we know what to ex­pect and we're back at home. It's been a while since we played at home."

Post by: ffisback on September 09, 2019, 01:55:07 AM
If TT does not win tonight I would not be surprised if fans in the stadium start to publicly call for DL head.
Post by: frico on September 09, 2019, 04:55:51 AM
If we do lose this match which is likely judging from the first,DL should be sacked or he should gracefully hand in his resignation.DL cannot take TT anywhere except the Hasely Crawford Stadium,some may even doubt that,he can easily go down as one of the worst we have had.If we happen to win by luck and chance we still won't get far,someone will cut us down.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 09, 2019, 05:34:05 AM
Soca Warriors seek full points vs Martinique.
By Rachael Thompson-King (Guardian).

T&T's So­ca War­riors will be hop­ing to get a boost play­ing at home on Mon­day night in their re­turn match against Mar­tinique at the CON­CA­CAF Na­tions League foot­ball match at the Hase­ly Craw­ford Sta­di­um in Mu­cu­rapo. Kick-off is at 9 pm.

On Sun­day at a me­dia press con­fer­ence both head coach Den­nis Lawrence and team cap­tain Shel­don Bateau shared their en­thu­si­asm about the match and what is at stake.

"Win­ing your home match is mas­sive­ly im­por­tant but it is how you go about get­ting that vic­to­ry is the most im­por­tant thing," said Lawrence, a for­mer na­tion­al de­fend­er.

"I think the boys will hope­ful­ly be fine and ready for the game we haven't been home for a while so I would like to be­lieve they are ex­cit­ed and look­ing for­ward to play­ing in front of T&T pub­lic again."

He is mind­ful though that the na­tion­al team still has worked to do if they are to take down the Mar­tini­quans, who scored first in the open­ing match at the Stade Pierre Alik­er Sta­di­um in Mar­tinique on Fri­day night. Cyril Man­dou­ki ben­e­fit­ted from a de­flect­ed ef­fort from a left side cor­ner, that fell in his path, fir­ing past goal­keep­er Mar­vin Philip. It was thanks to a 65th-minute penal­ty from Jo­evin Jones which helped T&T share the points with Mar­tinique.

"Some­thing we need to im­prove on our set-piece. They cause a threat from set-pieces in terms of de­liv­ery and the way they at­tack the ball," said Lawrence. "So over­all we just need to make sure we try to get on the front foot and don't al­low them to build mo­men­tum as they did in Mar­tinique which was ex­pect­ed as they were at home."

Lawrence had his play­ers rest for most of the week­end in prepa­ra­tion for to­day's match.

"I think it's more about re­cov­ery more than prepa­ra­tion be­cause the big part for us is the re­cov­ery that's the prepa­ra­tion," said Lawrence. "We play on such short no­tice and then hav­ing to trav­el and ar­riv­ing here so it's a short time so we couldn't spend much time on the foot­ball pitch so re­cov­ery was the most im­por­tant fac­tor."

Bateau too shared his ex­cite­ment say­ing: "The first was for us to re­cov­er af­ter the match and now we know what to ex­pect and we're back at home. It's been a while since we played at home."

Persistent problem known to all and sundry and particularly known to you. Need I take you back to San Jose, Costa Rica in June 2017? Issue both on the road and at home. Still not fixed and the same personnel are involved. Where's the surprise?
Post by: frico on September 09, 2019, 07:05:53 AM
Why oh why we cannot get a coach from Europe,Africa or South America,we just don't have locals capable enough.
Post by: maxg on September 09, 2019, 08:50:14 AM
Whey allyuh team , mouthers   ;D
Post by: andre samuel on September 09, 2019, 09:12:44 AM
Why oh why we cannot get a coach from Europe,Africa or South America,we just don't have locals capable enough.

I actually think that Denis CV is better than most of the coaches that we can afford.

nb: THIS DOES NOT MEAN THAT I WANT HIM TO STAY IN THE ROLE
Post by: maxg on September 09, 2019, 09:22:43 AM

I think you wrong about local, in addition, we cannot afford a top coach, maybe you want another, he who name I cannot call, Seinfeld, Sanford or maybe a son of one of the 3 Stooges. We have ppl who know the game, always had, foreign and domestic, however they are not stooges, and we don’t stand up for or support them during the tough times. One day we will afford the Alex or Pep, some ppl want, even if normal results don’t change. We have to fix ourselves, no coach can do that. We went World Cup , best in the world, and since we ketching hell to win game in our region, so where we develop. News flash: Jack carried us, with his ruthlessness, fifa money and political savvy. Our guys played their best to also make it possible, is Bahrain we fight up with, not Brazil.
We need only to use all our resources to improve and achieve, develop locals, bring back and support all expats. We need to work together, get outta the pissin contest and who have the biggest...resume.. maybe we could try a local woman coach. Not a joke , no dick to waste time with.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 09, 2019, 09:32:36 AM

I actually think that Denis CV is better than most of the coaches that we can afford.

nb: THIS DOES NOT MEAN THAT I WANT HIM TO STAY IN THE ROLE

Was DL's salary ever made public?

That aside, it's conceivable that DL would thrive in another environment with another team. Happens all the time.
Post by: Dinner Mints on September 09, 2019, 09:37:56 AM
Seen Kenwyne on Facebook saying a while back that DL isn't necessarily at fault. It's poor administration and a lack of 'soldiers' and man like Joevin (and others) don't actually care about football.

The amount of shouting DL does have to do on the sidelines, I wouldn't doubt it.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 09, 2019, 11:16:00 AM
Phillip
J. Jones
Bateau (C)
Cyrus
Alvin Jones
N. Garcia
George
Fortune
Telfer
Carr
Molino

Phillip
J. Jones
Bateau (C)
Cyrus
Alvin Jones
Fortune
George
N. Garcia
Telfer
Carr
Molino

Phillip
Julien/David
Bateau (C)
Cyrus
Alvin Jones
J.Jones
George
N.Garcia
Molino
Carr
Telfer

Phillip
David/Julien
Bateau (C)
Cyrus
Alvin Jones
Molino
George
N.Garcia
J. Jones
Carr
Telfer

But to be honest, if the forum's graphic could produce 4 lines, I would find room for Judah. What I expect DL to do is an entirely different matter.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 09, 2019, 12:32:20 PM
Phillip
David/Julien
Bateau (C)
Cyrus
Alvin Jones
J.Jones
N.Garcia
Molino
George
Joseph
Carr

:o
Post by: soccerman on September 09, 2019, 02:44:01 PM
Phillip
David
Bateau
Cryus
A. Jones
Fortune
George
Molino
J. Jones
Carr
Telfer

Going for the win!
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 09, 2019, 04:40:50 PM
4-3-3 bredda?  U tink is Pep Barca
Post by: asylumseeker on September 09, 2019, 04:46:58 PM
This is how Martinique set-up
in the 1st leg.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EDz3Z7NW4AAAm3b?format=jpg&name=small)
Post by: asylumseeker on September 09, 2019, 05:36:55 PM

Trust the process. :)
Post by: kounty on September 09, 2019, 05:48:17 PM
match wasn't today? where the ...
Post by: bingie man on September 09, 2019, 06:12:21 PM
http://sportstream.tv  we mite be lucky here
Post by: lefty on September 09, 2019, 06:37:08 PM

why not, especially if you use 4-5-1 as launch pad, as it stands now the double pivot not distributing well, having molino on either side of d midfield anchor starting closer to the defense will only help with getting d ball up d field more effectively......4-3-3 have been used for semi pragmatic counter attacking before, dat not exactly unheard of :P stop pigeonholing d formation.
Post by: Tallman on September 09, 2019, 06:44:56 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EEEEuuNXsAEJDoI?format=jpg&name=medium)
Post by: maxg on September 09, 2019, 06:58:00 PM
Hmmm Coach pick his team..what position is Russell playing now ?
Post by: asylumseeker on September 09, 2019, 06:58:47 PM
Apparently he's both a sub and a starter :rotfl:
Post by: soccerman on September 09, 2019, 07:00:09 PM

Looks like he's starting while on de bench :devil:
Post by: asylumseeker on September 09, 2019, 07:00:46 PM
Seems clear who Dennis trusts.
Post by: Dinner Mints on September 09, 2019, 07:00:55 PM
Alvin Jones starting according to this: https://www.concacafnationsleague.com/en/nations-league/game-detail/476587#tab_match=match-details
Post by: asylumseeker on September 09, 2019, 07:01:52 PM

Looks like he's starting while on de bench :devil:

Maybe dahis de RR de GK.
Post by: bingie man on September 09, 2019, 07:04:08 PM
http://live.harleyquinnwidget.live/freelivematch/725901012165820.html
Post by: lefty on September 09, 2019, 07:15:49 PM
Too slow at times
Post by: lefty on September 09, 2019, 07:17:12 PM
Sweet
Post by: Thomo on September 09, 2019, 07:17:22 PM
Molino!!!!!!
Post by: lefty on September 09, 2019, 07:19:36 PM
No composure steups
Post by: Thomo on September 09, 2019, 07:32:18 PM
If both teams continue as they are we'll struggle to keep this lead!
Post by: lefty on September 09, 2019, 07:37:56 PM
D pitch seems difficult to run on man slippin all over
Post by: FF on September 09, 2019, 07:39:45 PM
This not really relevant to the product on the field but it look like we wearing the women's kit design from a few years ago  ::)
Post by: che on September 09, 2019, 07:45:54 PM
So long I have not logged on.
I could not remember my password :o
Post by: Trini boi on September 09, 2019, 07:48:52 PM
Jones trynna kill man out dey.  Nearly get a red card. This ref has been very lenient in this game.
Post by: lefty on September 09, 2019, 07:49:48 PM
Levi need to relax compose he self relax and play for d team, we should have a two goal cushion, Joevin was scorin dat break away
Post by: lefty on September 09, 2019, 07:50:22 PM
Jones trynna kill man out dey.  Nearly get a red card. This ref has been very lenient in this game.

dat was alvin
Post by: noize on September 09, 2019, 07:52:20 PM
1-0 T&T at the half. The pitch and Alvin Jones are a liability. Molino and Telfer look decent but we still lack speed, accuracy and composure in our passing. Garcia quality has fallen off he looks like he lacks confidence. Joevin should replace him 2nd half.
Post by: ffisback on September 09, 2019, 07:59:13 PM
AJ is a liability they should sub him with JJ and switch AD to the right side these guys need another goal bad.
Post by: che on September 09, 2019, 07:59:52 PM
Alvin was cutting grass with that tackle
Post by: Trini boi on September 09, 2019, 08:03:53 PM
Telfer is easily our best player by far since he played last game.  He had to score.  So glad to have this guy on our team.
Post by: lefty on September 09, 2019, 08:04:33 PM
brain fart from Martinique goal 2-0
Post by: Thomo on September 09, 2019, 08:06:24 PM
If anyone deserved a goal tonight it was Telfer. Him and Molino have been outstanding - KM in the middle of the park and Telfer in his free offensive role.
Post by: maxg on September 09, 2019, 08:07:17 PM
can i get another stream please, the above crashed on me
Post by: lefty on September 09, 2019, 08:07:30 PM
so much slow motion thinking
Post by: lefty on September 09, 2019, 08:09:14 PM
http://firstrowsportes.net/soccer/trinidad-tobago-martinique-krk72a6c9?l=3191575405

need ah ad blocker though not for d uninitiated
Post by: lefty on September 09, 2019, 08:14:35 PM
Jeezanages should be 3
Post by: lefty on September 09, 2019, 08:17:31 PM
2-1
Post by: Thomo on September 09, 2019, 08:21:51 PM
DL needs to sub AJ, he's very likely atm to cost us!
Post by: Trini boi on September 09, 2019, 08:26:09 PM
Wayyyyyy too many chances thrown away so far.  Easily could've been at least 4 by now.
Post by: Trini boi on September 09, 2019, 08:32:00 PM
And another easy chance thrown away....
Post by: lefty on September 09, 2019, 08:37:48 PM
Steups
Post by: lefty on September 09, 2019, 08:40:24 PM
Should have been at least 4 but alas
Post by: Trini boi on September 09, 2019, 08:48:06 PM
what in the world? Three chances thrown away in the space of two minutes
Post by: lefty on September 09, 2019, 08:51:55 PM
 :bs: we throw way dat....now we making chances and not scoring sigh
Post by: FF on September 09, 2019, 08:52:25 PM
This side cyah beat nobody. How is that for negativity.
Post by: soccerman on September 09, 2019, 08:55:49 PM
So does Martinque get the win on aggregate with 2 always goals? I don't even know the rules for this tournament.
Post by: kiffysmooth on September 09, 2019, 08:57:46 PM
More than likely
Post by: maxg on September 09, 2019, 08:58:28 PM
either we get all wrong, including seeker and his 5 lineups or the coach don't know what he doing...I suspecting the latter, I trust allyuh more than him. ah could be wrong, but something he doing ain't right
Post by: Jayerson on September 09, 2019, 09:00:36 PM
So does Martinque get the win on aggregate with 2 always goals? I don't even know the rules for this tournament.
It's a league format. Both teams on 2 points each.
Post by: FF on September 09, 2019, 09:01:02 PM
Guys it is group play. Nobody gets a win on aggregate. Honduras is also in the group.
Post by: pioneertrini on September 09, 2019, 09:01:39 PM
Have you ever seen a run like this at international level without the coach being sacked?Seems Trinidad is the only place you can be terrible at your job and keep it.
Post by: Jayerson on September 09, 2019, 09:06:19 PM
For those who did not know. The games are on www.concacafgo.com . Its $1.99 USD.
There's just something about our goal keepers that always has me on edge, especially on set plays. There's this lack of confidence in that department and I think the defenders can also sense that.
Post by: Tobago28 on September 09, 2019, 09:09:12 PM
Martinque tops group on away goals, we headed to Honduras next. If we lose that game we dropping from Nations League A to B and Gold Cup qualification all but done.

Where is the bottom with Dennis?
Post by: FF on September 09, 2019, 09:11:00 PM
You paying $1.99 to hurt yuh eyes?!!!

Nah man. You could buys couple pack of ramen, chewing gum, a juice, anything
Post by: asylumseeker on September 09, 2019, 09:12:11 PM
Possession 52% T&T to 48% Martinique
Shots 14 to 13
Shots on target 4 to 5
Passing accuracy 78% to 75%
Passes 376 to 355
Corners 4 to 4
Offside 5 to 4
Fouls 21 to 19
Yellow cards 2 to 2
Post by: Tallman on September 09, 2019, 09:24:57 PM
WATCH: Highlights of Trinidad and Tobago's 2-2 draw with Martinique.

https://www.youtube.com/v/C9RfUpEJu0k
Post by: Dinner Mints on September 09, 2019, 09:26:05 PM
Shots 14 to 13
Shots on target 4 to 5
Passes 376 to 355
Corners 4 to 4
Offside 5 to 4
Fouls 21 to 19
Yellow cards 2 to 2

Basically a fair result.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 09, 2019, 09:29:27 PM
This little piggy went to market,
This little piggy stayed home,
This little piggy had roast beef,
This little piggy had none.
This little piggy went ...
Wee, wee, wee,
all the way home!

Martinique is de lil piggy going "oui, oui, oui" all de way home. Essentially a victory for them and their squad is not even at full strength and their younger players got experience. Our lesser experienced players remain uniformly uninitiated and not trusted.
Post by: soccerman on September 09, 2019, 09:43:30 PM
DL mentioned we have to do better on defending set pieces and we conceded 2 goals from set pieces. He got something right....
Post by: asylumseeker on September 09, 2019, 10:13:50 PM
Shots 14 to 13
Shots on target 4 to 5
Passes 376 to 355
Corners 4 to 4
Offside 5 to 4
Fouls 21 to 19
Yellow cards 2 to 2

Basically a fair result.

Yep, so it seems. Also, we made 2 personnel changes and they made 3 by my count (starting XIs).

Knowing more about pass accuracy in different/specific areas of the field would also add nuance to how the outcome is assessed (instead of just assessing all the passes all across the field).

Post by: Spursy on September 09, 2019, 10:32:14 PM
Congratulations Dennis Lawrence. History will always remember the worse coach of all time.
From World Cup hero to villain.
The end is near, one things for sure, Trinidad will never forget and we will never forgive the ones that bought us to our knees and took away the joy from our football.
There is a special place in football hell awaiting.
Post by: Flex on September 10, 2019, 12:27:13 AM
T&T play to 2-2 draw with Martinique in Nations League clash.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago had to settle for a point after conceding two second half goals in a 2-2 draw with Martinique in CONCACAF Nations League qualifying at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Monday night.

Playing before 2000 fans, T&T were purposeful and looked a driven side in the first half. Minnesota United midfielder Kevin Molino drilled a right footer home on 17 minutes to beat goalkeeper Loic Chauvet.

The halftime whistle was still ringing in fans’ ears when Ryan Telfer doubled the lead. The forward, who debuted for Trinidad and Tobago last week, got the last touch on the ball in a goal-line scramble.

But Martinique fought back at the hour mark, with a corner kick deflecting off Trinidad and Tobago’s Daniel Carr to cut the deficit in half.

And then Jordy Delem was there in the 80th minute to knock in a ball from a set piece that had taken a deflection and sat for the taking in the box.

The home side surged forward, looking to retake the lead, but Chauvet’s double save in the 88th minute to efforts by Leston Paul and Molino  helped earn Les Matinino the point.

T&T faces Honduras in their next Nations League clash at home on October 10 and will play a friendly away to Mexico in Toluca on October 2.

Highlights - Great game between Trinidad and Martinique! (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C9RfUpEJu0k)

Interview with Sheldon Bateau (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1eWluZ2IRgY)

(Team)

Trinidad and Tobago (4-1-4-1): 1.Marvin Phillip (GK); 16.Alvin Jones, 4.Sheldon Bateau (captain), 5.Daneil Cyrus, 2.Aubrey David; 19.Kevan George; 11.Levi Garcia (3.Joevin Jones 62), 23.Leston Paul, 10.Kevin Molino, 7.Ryan Telfer; 14.Daniel Carr (15.Jameel Perry 81).

Unused substitutes: 21.Glenroy Samuel (GK), 22.Adrian Foncette (GK), 6.Keston Julien, 8.Andre Fortune Jr, 12.Carlyle Mitchell, 13.Judah Garcia, 9.Marcus Joseph, 17.Ross Russell Jr, 18.Nathaniel Garcia, 20.Jomal Williams.

Coach: Dennis Lawrence

Martinique (4-3-3): 1.Loic Chauvet (GK); 22.Romario Barthelery (6.Thierry Catherine 24), 8.Jordy Delem, 21.Sebastien Cretinoir (captain), 2.Yordan Thimon; 5.Karl Vitulin, 13.Christof Jougon, 19.Daniel Herelle; 12.Johnny Marajo (7.Andy Cesar 70), 20.Stephane Abaul, 10.Julio Donisa (11.Andy Mamy 58).

Unused substitutes: 16.Amaud Des Etages (GK), 23.Stephane Michalet (GK), 4.Gerald Dondon, 9.Marvin Bellance, 17.Montabord Rene-Charles, 18.Gregory Banal.

Coach: Mario Bocaly

Referee: Diego Montano (Mexico)

Trinidad and Tobago 2 (Kevin Molino 17, Ryan Telfer 46), Martinique 2 (Daniel Carr OG 59, Jordy Delem 80) at Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Wired868 - Editor’s Note: Trinidad and Tobago’s longest ever stretch without a win is 12 matches which the team endured between 1969 and 1971 under coaches Claude “River Vine” Maurice and Ken Henry and again in 1985 under Roderick Warner.

Post by: pull stones on September 10, 2019, 01:23:59 AM
As long as we have players like marvin Phillip who is incapable of keeping a clean sheet, lesson Paul who’s a staunch laborer lacking in creativity and kevan george who severely lacks quality and speed who’s never made a clever pass that lead to a goal or just an assist for the years he’s been on the team, then we will always suffer such crushing disappointing defeats.

It’s time to clean house starting with the federation prez on down, these men have zero knowhow and can’t even grind out a win. from what I’ve seen of those two foreign born players, we need to clean house and get a full 2nd generation trini team because those lads play with more urgency than the local lads, like I thought telfer was just short of fantastic and carr played his socks off, i say it’s time to introduce Greg, fortune and powder to the line up.
Post by: lefty on September 10, 2019, 04:13:54 AM
If yuh lookin for a clever pass from kevan yuh lookin in d wrong place...Kevan need close options that can pass or carry the ball around him when he wins it, to defer quickly and easily and get into position....he is ah ball winner in purest sense.....unfortunately
Post by: Dinner Mints on September 10, 2019, 06:30:23 AM
I ain’t watch the game but I’ve seen the highlights. Sounds like it was a game we could’ve won if not for missed chances, an own goal and bad concentration. Not sure if this specific one can be blamed on Dennis.

But overall it’s his choice to refuse eligible players (especially man like Telfer) when we clearly need reinforcements. Instead he calling up man from Super League and shit.

If he had a more expansive selection process, we coulda been in a much place results and confidence-wise where a flukesy draw with Martinique wouldn’t hurt as much.

Unless ‘keep it cheap’ is an instruction from the top down. So I guess the top hadda go first.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 10, 2019, 08:24:02 AM
I ain’t watch the game but I’ve seen the highlights. Sounds like it was a game we could’ve won if not for missed chances, an own goal and bad concentration. Not sure if this specific one can be blamed on Dennis.

But overall it’s his choice to refuse eligible players (especially man like Telfer) when we clearly need reinforcements. Instead he calling up man from Super League and shit.

If he had a more expansive selection process, we coulda been in a much place results and confidence-wise where a flukesy draw with Martinique wouldn’t hurt as much.

Unless ‘keep it cheap’ is an instruction from the top down. So I guess the top hadda go first.

Yep!
Post by: lefty on September 10, 2019, 08:34:36 AM

D prez has been transparently forceful about getting local players on the field at any cost...d cost however is high, there are talented players but most don't play at the required intensity to be simply plugged into the team
Post by: Reaper2004 on September 10, 2019, 08:57:46 AM
(https://scontent.fpos3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/71081519_10156363702972751_616469034090627072_o.jpg?_nc_cat=104&_nc_eui2=AeFh0ETkeTfewfv4Z-1GgvQ7ixpUeuPBnq49pmxzUL8qVwZfPOdikAyCJaAAJE0r2lIqmmqWHeCjE6dpRdKB2kQf0I7jw44RUmwnge9qlec47g&_nc_oc=AQkWi1JulT2cshbciDh_ypZaDfg0vEPy7CljcWmfdfw0RN2R9B052YBgGxhcl94shMw&_nc_ht=scontent.fpos3-1.fna&oh=c3dd6e0e748b1c87353a5909165e5b62&oe=5E0AD800)
Post by: asylumseeker on September 10, 2019, 09:35:49 AM
Shots 14 to 13
Shots on target 4 to 5
Passes 376 to 355
Corners 4 to 4
Offside 5 to 4
Fouls 21 to 19
Yellow cards 2 to 2

Basically a fair result.

Yep, so it seems. Also, we made 2 3 personnel changes and they made 3 by my count (starting XIs).

Knowing more about pass accuracy in different/specific areas of the field would also add nuance to how the outcome is assessed (instead of just assessing all the passes all across the field).

Because JJ and Levi were both involved in the first encounter I didn't count that.
Post by: pull stones on September 10, 2019, 11:10:16 AM
If yuh lookin for a clever pass from kevan yuh lookin in d wrong place...Kevan need close options that can pass or carry the ball around him when he wins it, to defer quickly and easily and get into position....he is ah ball winner in purest sense.....unfortunately
so let me get this straight, we have two ball winners? because I was under the impression that was hyland and lesson paul’s job, no wonder most of our creativity comes from the flanks which is very scarce.

IMO lesson Paul and George does the same job which is to foul the crap out of the opposition, we are in dire need of a deli ali type midfielder and a Paul pogba because these two stagnant ball watchers who can’t even finish ( lesson Paul’s shot straight at the keeper) and needs to be on the bench and should only be used to close games when we have a sizable lead, as for marvin, please dennis get rid!
Post by: pull stones on September 10, 2019, 11:14:23 AM
(https://scontent.fpos3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/71081519_10156363702972751_616469034090627072_o.jpg?_nc_cat=104&_nc_eui2=AeFh0ETkeTfewfv4Z-1GgvQ7ixpUeuPBnq49pmxzUL8qVwZfPOdikAyCJaAAJE0r2lIqmmqWHeCjE6dpRdKB2kQf0I7jw44RUmwnge9qlec47g&_nc_oc=AQkWi1JulT2cshbciDh_ypZaDfg0vEPy7CljcWmfdfw0RN2R9B052YBgGxhcl94shMw&_nc_ht=scontent.fpos3-1.fna&oh=c3dd6e0e748b1c87353a5909165e5b62&oe=5E0AD800)
CAPTION THIS. 

What the hell did I get myself into, and Who the hell are these people yelling in my ears, are they supposed to be kin folks?
Post by: Deeks on September 10, 2019, 12:05:40 PM
Reaper2004, who are these fans.  We know they are local fans. But say what. We have not a clue who they are?
Post by: asylumseeker on September 10, 2019, 12:23:53 PM
Caption: All ah we is one famalee! :applause: :applause: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: asylumseeker on September 10, 2019, 12:27:24 PM
Reaper2004, who are these fans.  We know they are local fans. But say what. We have not a clue who they are?

Yuh miss de whole plot.
Post by: soccerman on September 10, 2019, 03:07:28 PM

Yuh miss de whole plot.
Ent! The question is, which on is Reaper? :devil:
Post by: asylumseeker on September 10, 2019, 03:26:03 PM

Yuh miss de whole plot.

He might be taking de pic.
Post by: Tallman on September 10, 2019, 05:14:51 PM

Yuh miss de whole plot.

Nah, he in de pic. Ah go leave him tuh identify heself.
Post by: maxg on September 10, 2019, 06:41:40 PM

Yuh miss de whole plot.

Ok, since we can’t guess the National team, we could try ‘guess the Reaper’.
As usual as with every knowledge game, Tman is excluded.
1st prize. 2 cold Carib (compliments Reaper & co.)
2 nd prize. Ah case of stag (compliments maxg)

Wait, once somebody win, it cyah have a 2 nd prize, ok, me and the boys will hold on to that case.

My guess : the fella peeping behind “cousin Ryan”  ;D
Post by: Flex on September 11, 2019, 12:35:10 AM
Lawrence: We failed to defend set piece.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

De­spite three goals in two match­es of the CON­CA­CAF Na­tions League, Den­nis Lawrence's So­ca War­riors are set to head back to the draw­ing board to work on their de­fen­sive tac­tics.

Af­ter a 1-1 tie with Mar­tinique on Fri­day last in Mar­tinique, the So­ca War­riors squan­dered a two-goal ad­van­tage 2-0 in the re­turn leg, to share the points in a hurt­ful 2-2 draw at the Hase­ly Craw­ford Sta­di­um, Mu­cu­rapo on Mon­day night.

Sup­port­ed by an ap­pre­cia­tive crowd that in­clud­ed Min­is­ter of Sports and Youth Af­fairs Sham­fa Cud­joe, and for­mer na­tion­al strik­er and goal­keep­er Dwight Yorke and Sha­ka His­lop, among many oth­ers, the team set­tled ear­ly in the match and were re­ward­ed when Kevin Moli­no found him­self at the end of a way­ward back-kick by goal­keep­er Loic Chau­vet and ri­fled his shot back past him for the ad­van­tage. And soon af­ter the break, Cana­di­an based mid­field­er Ryan Telfer was al­so re­ward­ed for a work­man-like per­for­mance with a goal in the 45th minute.

But for all the chances cre­at­ed, the TT de­fence matched it in blun­ders and it was man­i­fest­ed from a 59th-minute cor­ner from which poor track­ing and mark­ing al­lowed Daniel Her­relle quick­ly pounced on a loose ball. And lat­er Jordy Delem wait­ed un­marked at the back post to tap in a ball that was thread­ed through the TT de­fence twice.

Lawrence in a post-match press con­fer­ence af­ter­wards said "In terms of ef­fort from the boys phys­i­cal­ly, you can't fault them, but we just didn't deal with the re­spon­si­bil­i­ty we had to deal with, which was to de­fend the set pieces. Tonight we scored two goals, but could not keep a clean sheet. We couldn't de­fend the two goals we had, so if you look at it, be­fore we couldn't score, we were con­ced­ing, now we could score but we con­ced­ing. We need to go back to the draw­ing board in terms of us try­ing to en­sure that we can keep clean sheets be­cause if we score two at home and lead­ing 2-0, I don't ex­pect us to con­cede two goals in the man­ner we did."

He added, "We set our­selves tar­gets go­ing in­to these two games and it wasn't to come out with two points in two games. Our tar­get was four or six and we had an op­por­tu­ni­ty tonight and we lost it. How­ev­er, we need to re­fo­cus. We in the past would se­lect squads based on per­for­mances for your club. We have got­ten to a stage now where we se­lect­ing squads based on play­ers just play­ing foot­ball, which is not ide­al."

T&T will next face Hon­duras in the Na­tions League and Lawrence said we need to im­prove, par­tic­u­lar­ly in con­ced­ing goals, say­ing our down­fall tonight was hav­ing the right men­tal­i­ty to de­fend.

RELATED NEWS

T&T throw away 2-0 lead to draw with Martinique.
By Joel Bailey (Newsday).

Set-piece weakness

DENNIS Lawrence, T&T men’s football team coach, has bemoaned the team’s inability to defend set-pieces.

Lawrence was speaking in the post-game media conference at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo on Monday night, after T&T allowed Martinique to rally from two goals down to draw 2-2 in their League A Group C second-leg tie, in the Concacaf Nations League.

Kevin Molino and Ryan Telfer gave T&T a 2-0 cushion with goals in the 17th and 46th minutes respectively, but striker Daniel Carr responded with an own goal, in the 59th, and Jordy Delem tied the scores with 11 minutes of regulation time remaining.

Asked what went wrong for T&T in the second half, Lawrence replied, “We (couldn’t) defend set pieces. It’s a problem we identified in the first game. We didn’t have enough people in the box ready to put their head on it and take a cut. It’s that simple.”

T&T and Martinique drew 1-1 in their first leg contest in Fort-de-France, Martinique on Friday.

Martinique coach Mario Bocaly acknowledged that his team relied a lot on set-pieces against T&T.

“We worked on everything on T&T,” Bocaly said. “We saw (their) quality but we saw (their) faults. We (scored on set-pieces) three times during the two games.”

Monday’s result meant that T&T are yet to win an international match since a 2-0 victory over the United Arab Emirates on September 6, 2018, in Girona, Spain. Since then, T&T have drawn five games and lost seven.

Questioned about the win-less run, Lawrence responded, “I can speak about (Monday) night. We scored two goals and we couldn’t keep a clean sheet. We couldn’t defend the two-goal lead that we had.

“If you look at the overall picture, before we couldn’t score and we conceded, now we could score and we’re still conceding. We need to go back to the drawing board in terms of trying to ensure that we can keep clean sheets. We need to get set and look forward to October.”

Honduras, the other team in this three-team Group C, will meet T&T in a home-and-away tie on October 10 and 13. Lawrence was also asked if there will be changes to the T&T squad before the Honduras matches.

He replied, “Before you talk about changes, you need to have options. We need to find the options first, then start thinking about changes. There are a couple (players) that we’re working on, to bring in to represent TT.

“I’m hoping that, between now and October, that their documents would come into play so we can put some more pressure on the boys that are in the squad. I think we need competition.”

Bocaly was pleased with his team’s display on Monday.

According to the Martinique coach, “I’m proud of my players because it was so difficult (in) the beginning of the game because Trinidad were more solid than they were on Friday. They played really well in the first half. To get two goals is very good for Martinique.”

Martinique is not a member of FIFA and ineligible to enter any the FIFA World Cup or FIFA-organised competition, since it is an overseas department of France.

Delem plays in the American MLS (Major League Soccer) with Seattle Sounders and French-born striker Julio Donisa plays for Lyon-Duchere in France.

“We have so much new players in the team, only two professionals. The other ones work in the morning and train in the night,” said Bocaly. “It’s a reality of Martinique football. We work with these players. They’re proud of representing the team.”

Post by: frico on September 11, 2019, 09:55:42 AM
A much better game and a result that I am happy with,I knew Martinique had the beating of us,this was a "banana skin"waiting to happen,praise the Lord it didn't happen.Let's hope we can "luck" it all the way in the matches to come.
Post by: lefty on September 11, 2019, 11:27:25 AM
We made and missed so many chances though, one good takeaway is that we appear to be becoming competent at counterAttacking again...their are still players dat operate way to slow at this level, but there was improvement, defense is still utter shit though...but was hearing Dennis on d sidelines though, press d ball...get tight.....fall back.....I startin to wonder how much of this is on Dennis and how much is d players attitude, information retention and application
Post by: Deeks on September 11, 2019, 06:22:38 PM
Lefty, DL is the man under the gun, but these guys are professionals, not dock workers playing football in the evening. Not making any excuses for DL. He has limited time with these guys. There is so much he can get them to do. Maybe their club football is part of the issues plaguing our team now.
Post by: Flex on September 12, 2019, 12:34:39 AM
Lawrence: Lack of top-class players a concern.

NATIONAL men’s football team coach Dennis Lawrence is concerned about the lack of top-class players at his disposal.

Lawrence was speaking during the post-game media conference on Monday night at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo, following T&T’s 2-2 draw against Martinique in their Concacaf Nations League, League A, Group C second-leg tie.

Lawrence, the former T&T central defender, was asked if he has enough material to work with, in terms of a talent pool.

“When you look at what we used to call on before, it’s not the same,” Lawrence replied. “We’re calling on a different level of players. A lot of our players are going to India and the target for some of them seems to be the USL (United Soccer League – US), and that’s what we’re picking from. That’s what it is so we have to just work with it.”

The T&T coach was diplomatic in his response, when asked if he thinks the current crop of players are good enough to succeed at the international level.

“I think the challenge remains,” Lawrence said. “If you look at the squad that was selected, we, in the past, would select squads based on performances for your football club. “We’ve got to a stage now where we’re selecting squads based on players just on playing football, which is not ideal,” he continued. “Now the target for a lot of these players is to be selected based on performance. “I have to give credit to Ryan Telfer. He’s performing for his club and he comes and perform for T&T. I hope the boys can learn from his example.” Telfer, a Canadian-born winger, was one of three overseas-born newcomers called up for the pair of Martinique matches. Centre forward Daniel Carr (England-born) and midfielder Andre Fortune (US-born) were the others. Telfer made his debut in the 1-1 draw on Friday’s first leg, and Carr got his maiden international cap on Monday.

Commenting on Carr’s display, Lawrence said, “I thought he did well. He led the line and was very unfortunate not to get himself a goal (in the 72nd minute). With a bit more conviction, he would have put the ball in the back of the net. I was pleased with him and he can build on his performance.” An estimated 2,000 were on hand to watch T&T’s first international match at home since April 2018. “To the ones that turned up, thank you very much for your support,” he said.

“The only thing I can promise is we would always be working very hard to give them what they deserve. Regardless of what we do, we have to support our country. That’s how I am and that’s how I’ll continue to be.” Lawrence added, “We turned up tonight and the only thing we were focused on (was) trying to get a victory. We had it in the palm of our hands and we gave it away.”

Post by: asylumseeker on September 12, 2019, 05:11:09 AM

Yuh miss de whole plot.

Wait, once somebody win, it cyah have a 2 nd prize, ok, me and the boys will hold on to that case.

Reaper disappear as soon as yuh mention prize giving. :)
Post by: asylumseeker on September 12, 2019, 05:34:01 AM
either we get all wrong, including seeker and his 5 lineups or the coach don't know what he doing...I suspecting the latter, I trust allyuh more than him. ah could be wrong, but something he doing ain't right

“Forget players, systems, anything else, its mentality. And the mentality tonight, to defend set pieces was not strong enough.” --- Dennis Lawrence, post-match comments versus Martinique, second leg.

Mentality is a primary thread of the comments I've posted about players and their merits and demerits and whether they would appear in my pick.

What are your thoughts on his comments?

He's the one picking the team and set pieces are a common feature of the game and a deficiency that is well-documented.

For one thing, it seems evident that the zone of creation is where selection needs to be revisited and where there is a failure.

Is no one tired of these lowest common denominator responses?
Post by: Reaper2004 on September 12, 2019, 05:49:06 AM

Yuh miss de whole plot.

Everyone in that pic minus those to the left are the Telfer family. Uncles, Aunts, Cousins and a brother(with his wife and 2 daughters in the pic)

And of y'all can't find me or notice something that stands out then I don't know what to say lmaooooo
Post by: lefty on September 12, 2019, 06:18:09 AM
Well boy my detective skills musbe waning real bad.....I can't really pick no telepathic standout in dat pic dat says "i is reaper"
Post by: maxg on September 12, 2019, 10:21:53 AM

Yuh miss de whole plot.

Everyone in that pic minus those to the left are the Telfer family. Uncles, Aunts, Cousins and a brother(with his wife and 2 daughters in the pic)

And of y'all can't find me or notice something that stands out then I don't know what to say lmaooooo
2nd left of " Cousin Ryan"
Title: Re: Thread for T&T vs Martinique Games (6 & 9-Sept-2019)d
Post by: pull stones on September 12, 2019, 10:51:42 AM
Lawrence: Lack of top-class players a concern.

NATIONAL men’s football team coach Dennis Lawrence is concerned about the lack of top-class players at his disposal.

Lawrence was speaking during the post-game media conference on Monday night at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo, following T&T’s 2-2 draw against Martinique in their Concacaf Nations League, League A, Group C second-leg tie.

Lawrence, the former T&T central defender, was asked if he has enough material to work with, in terms of a talent pool.

“When you look at what we used to call on before, it’s not the same,” Lawrence replied. “We’re calling on a different level of players. A lot of our players are going to India and the target for some of them seems to be the USL (United Soccer League – US), and that’s what we’re picking from. That’s what it is so we have to just work with it.”

The T&T coach was diplomatic in his response, when asked if he thinks the current crop of players are good enough to succeed at the international level.

“I think the challenge remains,” Lawrence said. “If you look at the squad that was selected, we, in the past, would select squads based on performances for your football club. “We’ve got to a stage now where we’re selecting squads based on players just on playing football, which is not ideal,” he continued. “Now the target for a lot of these players is to be selected based on performance. “I have to give credit to Ryan Telfer. He’s performing for his club and he comes and perform for T&T. I hope the boys can learn from his example.” Telfer, a Canadian-born winger, was one of three overseas-born newcomers called up for the pair of Martinique matches. Centre forward Daniel Carr (England-born) and midfielder Andre Fortune (US-born) were the others. Telfer made his debut in the 1-1 draw on Friday’s first leg, and Carr got his maiden international cap on Monday.

Commenting on Carr’s display, Lawrence said, “I thought he did well. He led the line and was very unfortunate not to get himself a goal (in the 72nd minute). With a bit more conviction, he would have put the ball in the back of the net. I was pleased with him and he can build on his performance.” An estimated 2,000 were on hand to watch T&T’s first international match at home since April 2018. “To the ones that turned up, thank you very much for your support,” he said.

“The only thing I can promise is we would always be working very hard to give them what they deserve. Regardless of what we do, we have to support our country. That’s how I am and that’s how I’ll continue to be.” Lawrence added, “We turned up tonight and the only thing we were focused on (was) trying to get a victory. We had it in the palm of our hands and we gave it away.”
Lawrence all that top class rhetoric you claiming now is pure ole talk so save that for those who’s not following this team closely. I saw you blank Greg Ranjitsingh when he was smoking hot for his USL club, then when he was finally integrated into the team he was never used even opting for washed up phillip and foncette on many occasions.

and if that wasn’t bad enough, in the gold cup when we had nothing to play for you still went ahead and played foncette in the Guyana game refusing to cap the lad, now you’re here talking about player performance after you getting your ass kicked all over the place?

don’t blame the lads dennis but blame yourself particularly when marvin phillip is the biggest error in judgement you’ve made since you began coaching this team. The second error in judgement was to go back to players like Aubrey David,  kevan george and Daniel cyrus when you beat the usa without them and many of your first choice starters.

I sat and watch this martinique game again and by god the errors that the lads were making was just short of astronomical. kevan george is very very slow and to compensate he fouls a lot. the second goal came after he fouled the player unnecessarily when Paul already zeroed in on the player, that foul lead to the free kick which was on it’s way out for a goal kick when bateau redirected it across his goal, something that defenders are never supposed to do, it was the perfect head down for the matiniqan player.

Cyrus also made another glaring defensive error when he opted to put the ball out for a corner instead of a throw in. over the years of watching football i’ve seen other big time defenders plow balls into the stands to avoid giving away a corner kick, but not cyrus, this feller simply kicked the ball out and walked away quite contented.

the goal keeper himself is such a dunce, instead of having his defenders stand on the edge os the six yard box he had them crowd his goal so he had no clear pathway to attack the corner kick, the corner was a very poor corner and equally a piss poor header from levi garcia who headed the ball onto the boot of danial Carr, poor guy got his fist goal for TT no fault of his of course compliments of cyrus, phillip and garcia.

if these players are serious and wants to win games and become world beaters they must pay very close attention to their craft because a lot of these guys are not mentally and tactically aware enough to play in the English conference league.

they lack tactical awareness, interest and the desire to succeed,  it to mention technical ability, in that regard they are severely lacking. ask these lads, how many of you really work on your craft, training on their own like christiano, messi, zlatan and Luca modric do? these great though at the end of their career still put in extra time fine tuning their skill set even though they don’t really have too.

take levi garcia for staters, on his debut he came on and scored a brace for us and every one got excited, but that was the last we saw of this bloke, I don’t know if he got his mind blown or he thought that he had arrived but his performances ever since was found lacking and nothing short of atrocious.

levi, jovin and Kevin could stay but I want to see a few main stay starters gone far from this team, just retired or relagated to the bench, and the first player i want to see gone is marvin phillip and i mean gone for good, give this man his gold watch and send him on his way. I also want to see the back of danial cyrus and Aubrey david, these guys are dead wood.

kevan george and Liston Paul needs to ride pine until we find suitable replacements for them, I also want to include hyland in this bunch. I think neval hackshaw is a way better center midfielder than Paul and goerge and should be starting over them. what I think lawrence should do is stick garcia in the middle of the park and see how he fits in now that we found a winger in telfer. I think garcia over plays his hand on the wing and is responsible for killing quite a few counter attacks that could have resulted in goals for us.

the bottom line is dennis we need to clean house. you did it vs the americans and we got good results and i’m a bit confused as to why you didn’t continue along those lines. these older players want to party and enjoy the fruits of their labor and busting a gut for their country is not on their list of things to do. they want to lay back and make that easy club money, so let them.

there are tons of young second generation trinis who’s up for the task, why not give them a shot instead of insisting on these flunkies.

remember November, it’s right around the corner and look Loy and the crew could barely wait to toss your boss out on his ass, you better get cracking before you get tossed with him.
Post by: Deeks on September 12, 2019, 11:10:39 AM
pullstones, while much of what you said is on point, I disagree on the goalkeeper. I don’t see those goal as his fault. The defenders were at fault here. You just don’t like none of the local keepers period.  I am with you on the Rajitsingh fiasco. I honestly believed he should have played against Guyana. But I was glad he did not play because he may have gotten blamed if we had lost. I honestly believe he should be in the mix prominently for WC 2022.
Post by: pull stones on September 12, 2019, 11:57:54 AM
pullstones, while much of what you said is on point, I disagree on the goalkeeper. I don’t see those goal as his fault. The defenders were at fault here. You just don’t like none of the local keepers period.  I am with you on the Rajitsingh fiasco. I honestly believed he should have played against Guyana. But I was glad he did not play because he may have gotten blamed if we had lost. I honestly believe he should be in the mix prominently for WC 2022.
what world cup? have you forgotten that the hex is set in stone? even if we win this nations cup (which is far fetched) we still would be out the top six teams because I believe we don’t have the time to make up the ground needed.

Jamaica and Haiti has taken our spot and our only hope now is to get the fourth slot playoff position. as for dotish marvin the first goal was somewhat his fault because he did not organize his defense properly for the corner. every good keeper leaves room for themselves to attack corners, but look how sloppy and congested his area looked.

that corner should have been attacked punched away grabbed but instead the dunce stayed on his line and allowed a short statued attacker to challenge for the ball resulting in a goal.

you ever wondered why over the years jan micheal, clayton ince , kelvin jack ,cleon John and every other keeper got foreign contracts when marvin never did?

that feller never learned the fundamentals of goal keeping, never mind his heroics and how many great saves he made, every time he keeps for us we wind up conceding, simply examine his record, 95% of the time he plays for us we concede and more than likely it’s a soft goal due to a basic fundamental error. the dude bums, let’s accept it because it’s true.

PS. in our history of international football this is the first keeper we had who don’t know when to stay on his line or when to come out and attacking the football. this guy is very frustrating to watch deeks trust me, he don’t have a clue. i don’t know what our coaches see in him, he’s lost.
Post by: ffisback on September 12, 2019, 09:37:41 PM
This game was heartbreaking it was the best I have seen the team play under DL cause he had to win but it also showed that he is not ready for international football without them English men to help him on the technical staff he is just as bad as S Hart and B St Clair since them English men went back to England TT defense has now become a open door he is just not ready for the big time.

M Philip was always in no mans land he reminds me of K Jack always getting caught in no mans land every corner every set piece was scary it was like a goal was going to score TT need to give GR a chance they need a goalkeeper that takes command of his box.

The team lost its width when he took off L Garcia he should have taken off A Jones instead.
Post by: soccerman on September 13, 2019, 10:09:20 AM
Seeker I remembered you posted this in another thread and came across this this today from the Sapin vs Romania's game last week. It touched on a few things you were speaking about in terms of positioning, playing with intention and breaking the lines with a vertical pass. A picture say 1000 words.
There are several ways to respond to this. Since some have already been touched on, I will go this route:

In organized football, play either develops (1) with intentionality (2) organically/instinctively or (3) opportunistically. The identity of a team is discerned from intentional play. The team's quality is assessed (in part) on the organic elements.

While intentional play and its opposite (haphazard play) can both produce opportunistic moments, the haphazard approach can't achieve the level of cohesion (organic, instinctive) that comes from intentional play and intentional preparation.

A team (or subset of players) consistently doing something (passing patterns, movements off the ball etc) or not consistently doing something (say, eliminating the midfield through use of the long ball) are hallmarks and components of an identity and intentionality.

Even if a team has placed greater intentional emphasis on defending, the supreme moment of intention on a field is a direct attempt to score a goal. It is the sum of all other intentions. It is the sum of intentional play.

A one-touch vertical pass intended to break lines and nullify numerical disadvantage is a high order example of intentional play. Where players have exploiting attributes of that nature, it is the coach's job to maximize those exploiting attributes and even if he doesn't have the benefit of rehearsing such activity with the same frequency as one would have in a club environment, one has the responsibility of setting the conditions/stage for players with those attributes to impose themselves in those game situations (cue Pulisic for the US). You only get intentional play from intentional expectations.

The NT has shown what is emphasized as intentional in its play and verticality with the ball and positioning have not been notable highlights.
(https://scontent-iad3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/69734718_382558879314268_4285246818641510400_o.jpg?_nc_cat=105&_nc_oc=AQm4QhJIlSlQgAQ40x0xEXGUFnaHsv8uiTyvuQrpsUwtpzOht-zHKYx_hOtENQOpvDI&_nc_ht=scontent-iad3-1.xx&oh=be87af37d5da39bf05e764366de2ff0b&oe=5DF19A29)
Post by: asylumseeker on September 13, 2019, 02:52:15 PM
Right on time, soccerman. Right on time.  :beermug:

Here's another example of intentionality that I thought of posting then decided not to mash up Molino's thread any further. But now ... the havoc continues elsewhere. :)

EXCERPT:

But the players are not why I'm so interested in this team. It's the coach I have quoted above. His name is Frank Wormuth. He's the reason I always watch a Germany under-20 game on the edge of my seat.

I'm waiting for the team to give the ball away. Intentionally.

First, some background. Wormuth is 54 years old. He made a name for himself as Joachim Low's assistant at Fenerbahce back in 1998 and has coached Germany's under-20s since 2010. Most importantly, though, he became the head of the Hennes Weisweiler Academy, the place where coaching badges are earned, in 2008. Basically, this means that Wormuth coaches the people who want to coach professional teams in Germany.

This is a huge honour, bestowed upon only a handful of people so far. The academy can be traced back to the great Sepp Herberger. When Herberger became national coach, the equally legendary Hennes Weisweiler ran the academy, which is now named after him. In 1970, a man called Gero Bisanz became Weisweiler's successor. Not too many people outside of Germany know Bisanz, but he's a coaching legend, too, because he was the first-ever manager of Germany's women's team.

Since Wormuth is, technically speaking, the most influential coach in the country, I talked to him in the summer of 2013 about the renaissance of the German game. During the course of our conversation, he casually mentioned that not all innovations are as recent as they may seem. As an example, he cited the idea of the intentional stray pass, which he'd first heard about a long time ago.

If you've never heard about the intentional stray pass -- Wormuth prefers the term "planned stray pass" -- let's have a brief look at the idea behind it.

One thing that made the Spanish national team of roughly five years ago so fearsome was the tactic that seems to have become known, thanks to Jurgen Klopp, by an Anglo-German expression Gegenpressing, or counter-pressing. If you lose the ball far upfield, near the other team's penalty area, you don't drop back but instead move forward.

It means your opponents are under pressure the instant they have won possession. Since they cannot properly build from the back, they will either have to play a long ball, essentially conceding possession again, or try a square pass near their own box -- something most of us have been taught at an early age to avoid like the plague because it's very risky.

Now, if properly defending against counter-pressing is so difficult as the tiniest mistake might immediately lead to a good scoring opportunity, why not deliberately create such a situation? Put differently, what if -- under certain circumstances -- you give the ball away with full intention?

It runs counter to most players' (and, indeed, coaches') instincts to do something that seems detrimental on face value. However, it's no longer unusual. Back when Per Mertesacker was playing for Germany, some opposing teams -- Serbia were a particularly extreme case -- would actually move away from him when he had the ball at his feet and was trying to build from the back. It was as if the Red Sea was parting in front of him. Mertesacker was practically forced to move far upfield where, and this was the plan, he would run out of ideas what to do with the ball -- with a lot of open, unmarked space behind him.

Once you've understood the concept behind such tactical ideas, the planned stray pass doesn't sound quite so crazy anymore. Wormuth told me that "you can do it intentionally but you can also use it as an emergency solution, a controlled clearance. If you are under so much pressure that you can't play a proper pass anymore, you can hoof the ball upfield."

Link to the full article is here. (https://www.espn.com/soccer/team/germany/481/blog/post/2483530/tactics-of-coach-frank-wormuth-make-germany-u20-a-must-watch?src=com)

By the way ... substitute Cyrus for Mertesacker in the example provided and sit back and wait for that image and its consequences to crystallize.
Post by: soccerman on September 13, 2019, 08:04:19 PM
In the first game against Martinque I noticed he was hoofing the ball upfield in hopes of finding Joseph, who looked like the smallest man on the field. Martinque recovered the ball every time like they game planned for the intentional stray pass, their coached must've trained by Wormuth ;D
Post by: Reaper2004 on September 15, 2019, 08:59:16 AM

Yuh miss de whole plot.

2nd left of " Cousin Ryan"

aka the fool with his arm in the air
Post by: maxg on September 15, 2019, 01:33:46 PM
ah case for the boys(& girls) compliments maxg is in order - hoping to be down around November -  since reaper buyin he own 2 cold Carib   ;D
Post by: Tallman on September 17, 2019, 05:48:36 PM
WATCH: Steve David, Alvin Henderson, Larry Joseph, and Hannibal Najjar discuss Trinidad and Tobago's recent performances against Martinique in the Concacaf Nations League

https://www.youtube.com/v/3vQzSGvunE4