Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on August 01, 2019, 12:32:14 AM

Title: Michel Poon-Angeron Thread
Post by: Flex on August 01, 2019, 12:32:14 AM
First T&T player to play in Argentina?

Former St. Mary's College midfielder Michel Poon-Angeron (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Club_Atl%C3%A9tico_Banfield#Current_squad) is now with Superliga Argentina club, Club Atlético Banfield. He plays on their Reserve Team. The club's head coach is former Argentinian marksman, Hernán Crespo.

https://www.facebook.com/socawarriors.net/videos/1351321438353777/

RELATED (Michel Poon-Angeron) NEWS

“It was about desire and pride!” Poon-Angeron inspires CIC to 4-2 triumph over Fatima.
By Roneil Walcott (Wired868).

St Mary’s College got their first victory of the 2018 Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) season today as they defeated rivals Fatima College 4-2 at Mucurapo Road to move off the bottom of the Premier Division standings.

Coming into this afternoon’s encounter, both schools were situated at the foot of the table with a point apiece after four matches. But a double from attacker Devon Charles and a sterling midfield display from playmaker Michel Poon-Angeron helped the Frederick Street “Saints” to climb out of the relegation zone for the first time this season.

“Well we needed to get the first one in the bag after we let ourselves down against Valencia Secondary on Wednesday,” said St Mary’s coach Ryan Shim. “We were table-proppers after Wednesday and that’s not a comfortable position to be in. We went back to the drawing board and did some soul searching and spoke to the boys. We tweaked a few things and we were able to come out with the victory today.”

The news was more sobering for their hosts, Fatima, who were handed their fourth straight defeat of the young Premier Division season. And for the boys in blue and yellow, the soul searching continues.

“The better team on the day definitely won,” Fatima coach Wayne Sheppard told Wired868. “That game wasn’t about tactics. That game was about desire and pride and we came up short again.

“There has to be a conversation to find out what it is that is stopping you from doing the task that your position requires of you.”

Meanwhile, in Westmoorings, defending champions Presentation College (San Fernando) had no doubts about their position, as they maintained their two-point lead atop the standings with a 1-0 win over East Mucurapo Secondary—their fifth straight victory for the season.

Bulldozing midfielder Ackeel “Hulk” Jacob was the man on target for the “Pres Lions”, who are now the only top flight team still with a 100% record, after San Juan North Secondary were held 1-1 by Trinity College (Moka) in Maraval. The tie snapped San Juan’s run of three successive wins.

San Juan and Trinity (Moka) have 10 points each and occupy third and fourth place respectively at present. Naparima College remain second after defeating St Augustine Secondary 3-1, which was the second straight loss for the “Green Machine.”

At Mucurapo Road, survival was the name of the game, though. Prior to the clash of northern strugglers, Sheppard and Shim spoke to the significance of the occasion and the importance of a positive showing by their respective teams.

The atmosphere at the Fatima College grounds reflected this, as hundreds gathered to will on the two bickering sibling schools. And opposing fans even squared off briefly during the match, after some chanting went a bit too far.

On the field, St Mary’s brought the tempo early on, with Poon-Angeron and captain Gabriel Nanton pulling the strings in midfield. Meantime, Charles and fellow attacker Tyrese Spicer were bustling down the wings.

And in the 18th minute, Charles tapped in from close range after Fatima goalkeeper Jacob Camacho parried a low Spicer effort.

Fatima promptly responded through former National Under-15 attacker Jean-Heim McFee two minutes later; but the visitors had the advantage at the interval, after Poon-Angeron blasted into an empty net in first half stoppage time.

Poon-Angeron epitomised the grit and pride which Sheppard found  lacking within his own ranks. Apart from being smooth and calculated in possession—effortlessly spreading passes out to either wing—the St Mary’s playmaker did the dirty work in the middle of the park as well.

And, when a right side Charles cross was deflected on to the bar, Poon-Angeron burst his lung to reach the loose ball and thump it past a hapless Camacho.

“The second St Mary’s goal sums up the game for me,” Sheppard said. “The St Mary’s player was willing to go into a tackle, the Fatima player wasn’t. And from that they transitioned and scored… They didn’t want to lose.”

Although St Mary’s had a deserved lead at the half, Sheppard was certain that his Fatima team could turn it around in the second period.

“Every time we stuck to the plan offensively and passed the ball we were able to open up St Mary’s in the first half,” Sheppard said. “At halftime, I was pretty confident that we would come out and start to play our game.”

But inside the first ten minutes of the second half, the game was well and truly over. St Mary’s looked dangerous on the counter all afternoon, and Charles could have had himself a first half hat-trick with better finishing. The bustling attacker made amends in the second half though.

First, he converted a 49th minute penalty after Fatima defender Elisha Taylor handled in the area. Four minutes later, Charles turned provider as he teed up fellow attacker Kyle Carrington for a neat, first-time volley from roughly ten yards out.

Fatima did not appear to know what had hit them. Shim, on the other hand, was pleased to get the monkey off his back.

“Today was very important for us to bounce back and we did it in fine style,” said Shim, who credited his midfield trio of Nanton, Poon-Angeron and Justin Keith. “We sort of reverted to what we did last year. Those were the three players we had in the midfield [when we won the 2017 North Intercol title] and again it seemed to work for us today. Most likely that’ll be the template for us moving forward.”

Sheppard only set his team game by game targets for the 2018 season. And getting three points is a must once more, when they face East Mucurapo at the same venue on Wednesday.

“I believe we are playing our next three games are at home,” Sheppard said. “We need to get at least seven points from those three games.”

After battling Mucurapo, who are languishing in 12th position with two points, Fatima will next host eastern outfits San Juan North and St Augustine.

Next up for St Mary’s is the little matter of the “Saints” derby. St Mary’s did the double over St Anthony’s College last year and Shim will want his team to pick up where they left off.

“That’s our North Zone rival [and] they are on a roll and doing well,” Shim said. “We have to come out there and play at our best to come away from the Tigers’ den with anything.”

Today, St Mary’s leapt to tenth spot after their triumph on Mucurapo Road. Sheppard presumably came away with a migraine, which even a sweet, low drive by McFee—easily Fatima’s best player on the day—could not cure, as the hosts got a second half consolation item.

“I cannot be in the fifth game of the season and telling [players] what [their] job is—that impacts on my coaching,” said Sheppard. “At the end of the day, it’s an institution you’re representing and we must put out our best effort every time we go out on the field. And I thought today we didn’t do that today.”

Fourth-place finishers last season, Fatima need to start remedying their issues soon.

The boys of the old brigade of gallant CIC won’t give a “Raz” about that now though.

(Teams)

Fatima College (3-4-3): 1.Jacob Camacho (GK); 3.Joshua Evans (captain), 13.Luke Gooding, 4.Elisha Taylor; 14.Luke Boucaud, 10.Luke Darwent (8.Zachary Welch 46), 16.Andrew De Gannes (12.Aaron Moruf 67), 23.Jordan Romany; 18.Kaylon Taylor, 33.Azharias Ali (11.Lucas Farfan 62), 7.Jean-Heim McFee.

Unused Substitutes: 5.Jaheim Aguilleira, 21.Saeed Pompey Charles, 22.Jaden Perryman, 40.Adam Perreira.

Coach: Wayne Sheppard

St Mary’s College (4-2-3-1): 30.Regaleo Holder (GK); 26.Nathaniel Williams, 4.Schileon Phillip, 5.Luke Savery, 2.Augustine Nkemakolam; 10.Gabriel Nanton (captain), 6.Justin Keith; 9.Devon Charles (7.Terran Winner 67), 19.Michel Poon-Angeron (17.Elijah Bain-Hares 70), 11.Tyrese Spicer; 18.Kyle Carrington (8.Jed Rigsby 90+2).

Unused Substitutes: 29.Jordan Bidaisee (GK), 13.Kyle Alexis, 20.Shiloh Galera, 25.Jaheim Ryan.

Coach: Ryan Shim

Referee: Cecile Hinds

Title: Re: First T&T player to play in Argentina?
Post by: asylumseeker on August 01, 2019, 08:20:09 PM
What we are reading here is further indictment of the TTFA's decision to abandon the U23s.
Post by: pull stones on August 02, 2019, 12:20:50 AM
Very impressive. this is what I’d like to see more of, young men and woman speaking another language especially Spanish. it’s also a pleasant sight to behold players who come from and represent a wide range of trinidadians and not just guys from the black urban community but Chinese, white, French creole and asian, the whole gamut.

It bothers me to no end that we’re just a few miles from south america and our closest neighbor yet we can’t speak a lick of Spanish, how ridiculous is that? we in trinidad especially should be bilingual and spitting Spanish like nobody’s business. this should be on the list of programs destined for vision 2030.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 02, 2019, 04:10:53 AM
Very impressive. this is what I’d like to see more of, young men and woman speaking another language especially Spanish. it’s also a pleasant sight to behold players who come from and represent a wide range of trinidadians and not just guys from the black urban community but Chinese, white, French creole and asian, the whole gamut.

It bothers me to no end that we’re just a few miles from south america and our closest neighbor yet we can’t speak a lick of Spanish, how ridiculous is that? we in trinidad especially should be bilingual and spitting Spanish like nobody’s business. this should be on the list of programs destined for vision 2030.

Selah. Amen.
Post by: frico on August 02, 2019, 08:30:03 AM
pull stones,I hope Trinis will eventually speak Spanish,as you say we are literally part of the continent and our people can't speak the language,how bloody sad.I left TT long ago and I had loved Spanish at school and passed the subject.I remember how it was helpful at Discos and different times,you do feel good.I am now learning French because my brother is married to a french girl.
Post by: Deeks on August 02, 2019, 03:47:14 PM
pull stones,I hope Trinis will eventually speak Spanish,as you say we are literally part of the continent and our people can't speak the language,how bloody sad.I left TT long ago and I had loved Spanish at school and passed the subject.I remember how it was helpful at Discos and different times,you do feel good.I am now learning French because my brother is married to a french girl.

I agree with you. In my times in HS(60s-70s), Spanish was compulsory. Sometime after that,  I don't know what happened. TT, like most Anglophone countries suffer from the diseases of "English is the world 's leading language, so you don't have to know another one". I think they should make it compulsory again.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 06, 2019, 04:51:58 PM
Gone MIA?
Post by: Controversial on November 07, 2019, 10:16:13 PM

I agree with you. In my times in HS(60s-70s), Spanish was compulsory. Sometime after that,  I don't know what happened. TT, like most Anglophone countries suffer from the diseases of "English is the world 's leading language, so you don't have to know another one". I think they should make it compulsory again.

I mentioned this many years ago and most men on this board laughed at my suggestion, goes to show how narrow minded most are about making themselves marketable as a player
Post by: Tallman on November 25, 2019, 02:56:48 PM
WATCH: Former St. Mary's midfielder Michel Poon-Angeron talks about life at Superliga Argentina club, Club Atlético Banfield

https://www.youtube.com/v/cqo-clC9rNk
Post by: asylumseeker on November 25, 2019, 04:06:08 PM

And it would enhance our football.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 25, 2019, 04:15:10 PM
Gone MIA?

He is still MIA on the club's website aside from the opening match of the season with the Reserva.

Post by: Dinner Mints on November 25, 2019, 04:27:43 PM
Gone MIA?

He is still MIA on the club's website aside from the opening match of the season with the Reserva.

Well, seems like he work his way up from youth team to reserves. So he MIA in de right direction, I guess.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 25, 2019, 05:14:54 PM
Gone MIA?

Well, seems like he work his way up from youth team to reserves. So he MIA in de right direction, I guess.

In terms of ARG, what he has done is not abnormal. Happens every year that there are a couple+ players playing in more than one age band from weekend to weekend or training in more than one category depending on need.

The club just don't have him on the rosters of any of the teams on the site. It's been like that for weeks. From the match summaries it is hard for me to assess how much he is playing although exposed to three teams ... because they focus mostly on players who have scored or the key ball generators or on players who were subbed in.

https://clubabanfield.org/inicio/reserva-2019/

https://clubabanfield.org/inicio/4ta-division-2019/

https://clubabanfield.org/inicio/5ta-division-2019/ (Poon is categoría 2001).
Post by: palos on November 25, 2019, 05:50:21 PM
Trinis speak Spanish Papi

Post by: Controversial on November 26, 2019, 01:19:35 AM
I thought we don’t have talent lol  :D
Post by: ffisback on November 28, 2019, 04:37:05 AM
Its going to be hard for a player who was playing SSFL to make in the Argentinian league maybe a team in the lower division might give him a chance.
Post by: pull stones on November 28, 2019, 06:49:44 AM
Its going to be hard for a player who was playing SSFL to make in the Argentinian league maybe a team in the lower division might give him a chance.
why can’t you be happy for the lad and wish him well, do you even listen to yourself? you’re always trying to dump on our football and put a damper on things. Dwight York ,russell latapy and Clint marcelle came from the school league and in dwight’s case he came straight from the school league to Aston villa and so did levi garcia who went from the SSFL to the eridivise. why do you grudge our football so much, are you sure you’re from trinidad and tobago?
Post by: asylumseeker on November 28, 2019, 08:31:48 AM

Well, that's the challenge, isn't it? He's in school to be a pro. That's the challenge facing him and facing all the players in that environment. It doesn't matter where they came from; they have all been deemed qualified to be in that mix. To Michel I say keep battling, keep learning and stay positive.

I can tell you that other players (unknown to most of them) have been in consideration for that environment prior to Poon, although not at Banfield specifically and that will continue to be the case.
Post by: ffisback on November 28, 2019, 10:32:39 AM
There is nothing wrong with trying but 1 must be realistic the game has change the days for players from SSFL getting a pro contract is gone since the 90's more country's around the world is starting professional leagues thus starting football academy's for young kids this has made the SSFL obsolete while these kids have been preparing to be a professional footballer for several years kids in TT have been playing gallery football in the SSFL that's why players like Levi Garcia couldn't cut in Holland.
Post by: Controversial on November 28, 2019, 11:33:40 AM
There is nothing wrong with trying but 1 must be realistic the game has change the days for players from SSFL getting a pro contract is gone since the 90's more country's around the world is starting professional leagues thus starting football academy's for young kids this has made the SSFL obsolete while these kids have been preparing to be a professional footballer for several years kids in TT have been playing gallery football in the SSFL that's why players like Levi Garcia couldn't cut in Holland.

YOu have an inferiority complex lol

Like really, you know nothing about football but make these broad sweeping statements that you believe is gospel  :D
Post by: Dinner Mints on November 28, 2019, 02:28:59 PM
Well, he already comment on the gap in intensity and speed. Seem a little intimidated but not too much. Just have to hope he take it in stride and rise to it.
Title: Re: Michel Poon-Angeron Thread
Post by: Tallman on February 15, 2020, 09:28:49 PM
WATCH: Michel Poon-Angeron 2019 Highlights

https://www.youtube.com/v/DGxRbcsNL3c
Post by: maxg on February 16, 2020, 12:02:55 AM
Impressive. Was also looking for SOG.
Post by: lefty on February 16, 2020, 08:31:45 AM

Like really, you know nothing about football but make these broad sweeping statements that you believe is gospel  :D

But he is not wrong doh agree with ff on plenty tings but SSFL is pretty bad measure of talent in this country, we need to come to terms with that accept it and change it
Post by: Tallman on February 16, 2020, 09:10:12 AM

His primary position is central defensive midfielder, so maybe de opportunity doh arise often for him.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 16, 2020, 09:23:16 AM

But he is not wrong doh agree with ff on plenty tings but SSFL is pretty bad measure of talent in this country, we need to come to terms with that accept it and change it

Before you all go down that road,  join maxg in acknowledging the player's showing and progress nah. In fact for 2020 I would encourage more posters to post their approval and their support rather than registering that approval and support silently. Solidarity goes a long way when it travels to the players.

My general observation over the years is that there is a lack of delivering congratulations when congrats are due. Lehwe ride hard in both directions: congratulating and condemning.

I'm just trying to figure out why iz de CIC men that leading the way.  ::)
Post by: lefty on February 16, 2020, 10:05:24 AM

Before you all go down that road,  join maxg in acknowledging the player's showing and progress nah. In fact for 2020 I would encourage more posters to post their approval and their support rather than registering that approval and support silently. Solidarity goes a long way when it travels to the players.

My general observation over the years is that there is a lack of delivering congratulations when congrats are due. Lehwe ride hard in both directions: congratulating and condemning.

I'm just trying to figure out why iz de CIC men that leading the way.  ::)

nah nah I not condemning, glad d player doing well, ah does just cyah resist pushing back on the over estimation of SSFL and the false positives that it often produces for us.....I jus want realism when estimating d football, maybe dais ah big ask given d poster but yeah...........

I jus want us to be where players leave these shores and not be shocked dat yuh hadda think fast, run and sprint instead ah trot or in some cases walk and be indecisive without consequences.
Post by: maxg on February 16, 2020, 01:11:36 PM

His primary position is central defensive midfielder, so maybe de opportunity doh arise often for him.
acknowledged. I would use him as a overlapping left back or mid. Feeling he can be even more dangerous in attack, yet still quick and experienced enough to maintain defensive duties.

Add: as you have more inside info, what's your thoughts ?
Post by: Flex on February 16, 2020, 01:51:20 PM
(https://fmdataba.com/images/profile/20-163954-michel-poon-angeron.jpg)
Post by: asylumseeker on February 16, 2020, 02:14:28 PM
Despite his obvious attacking qualities, in terms of the market, he is "good" where he is.
Post by: Thomo on February 16, 2020, 10:44:17 PM
(https://fmdataba.com/images/profile/20-163954-michel-poon-angeron.jpg)
Thanks Flex, great breakdown
Where'd you get this info from?
And these numbers (or ratings), are they rated out of 10 or 20?
I'm trying to work out how he's being rated against his peers.
Post by: maxg on February 16, 2020, 11:07:16 PM
Did i see 30 Euros/week ?
Post by: asylumseeker on February 17, 2020, 01:15:01 AM
Did i see 30 Euros/week ?

I will respond as follows in the absence of speaking to the player's specific reality.

Anyone vaguely familiar with contemporary world economics news would attest to the Argentine economy as having experienced significant volatility in the foreign currency and exchange  market. The underground market ("black") for the $/peso exchange has had very vigorous to robust moments,  particularly tied to political winds and  mismanagement of the economy and no doubt internal meddling from outside ... but not exclusively those.

It's an economy with distortions and football has been far from immune to them. 

Typically only the daftest person would have considered a formal exchange rate when the informal market offered a ridiculously favorable premium on-the $.

Some name brand players have been known to refuse to be paid in pesos.

Where am I going with this?

In July 2018 there was a collective bargaining agreement that guaranteed players aged 16 to 18, who were playing in the top five domestic divisions, minimum salaries ranging from 13,200 pesos (bottom league ) to 21,000 pesos (top pro league). At that time the $ to peso exchange rate was about $1:27 pesos. Today on the official market, not even two years later,  it's about 1:62 or 1:63 or thereabout. That would put a dent on anyone's purchasing habits without cost of living adjustments.

Previous bargaining agreements have been valid for three year periods but given the economic absurdities that characterize that economy you can guess what the problem is if the cost of living rises, consumer purchasing power is decreased etc. within that three year  period.

So yearly modifications are what happens now.  In the current year,  even with modifications, minimums can't sustain basic monthly purchases (the minimum salary is below that sustainable to level with the consumer price index).  For players over 18 in 2018 and playing in the top flight,  the minimum was 25,000 pesos (1:27). This year these players were guaranteed 34,500 pesos. There was a corresponding 35% increase for the 16-18s. Do the math (35% of 13,200 to 21,000).

However,  in the context of players that are being housed and fed by teams ... those in the youth categories ... they are like kids in your house: you feed them and shelter them and it counts for value. Why "pay" them?

This market is about betting on the future while learning to play at a very good level. Although the level has suffered a bit it is still second to one.
Post by: maxg on February 17, 2020, 08:08:21 AM
So Yes, plus Room and Board ?

Maybe he didn’t need to go St Mary’s.  :devil:
Post by: asylumseeker on February 17, 2020, 09:21:14 AM
He's over 18. At the clubs once you are 18, typically you have to move out ... but there are other communal arrangements that are put in place depending on the particular situation of each player.  Some players are from the provinces (far) ... so they have to find shared spots. Others might have immediate family with them. Some players get money from sponsorship and not the club.  Ah doh know how Banfield is set up.

120 euros a month is about 9000 pesos. That is way off the chart based on the figures I mentioned.
Post by: Tiresais on February 17, 2020, 11:06:22 AM
The screenshot is from Football Manager's Database - some of the basic research was done by me, so the only attributes that are consistent there are Acceleration and Pace, Vision, Passing and finishing - can't remember which of that lot was done by me vs. the Banfield researcher.

The Banfield researcher will have it updated most likely for the game's next post-transfer window patch, so you may get a more accurate assessment then. I rated him highly for potential, if you wondered - I believed he had enough about him to aspire to Championship level or maybe even Premier League in England. There's a strong change he's good enough for Banfield's first team in the future, and in a year or two he should be in the NT.
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 02, 2021, 03:35:53 PM
Is Poon  still with this club?
Post by: asylumseeker on January 02, 2021, 04:34:19 PM

He is.
Post by: Tiresais on January 03, 2021, 11:34:59 PM
Apparently he is doing well - played a lot of reserve football and been encouraging/impressive
Post by: Bianconeri on January 04, 2021, 09:26:54 AM

He is.

He went back very recently then?
As he was here up to last month training with the national team pool

Definitely one to monitor for the near future...if we had a proper scouting setup (yes i know funding is the bane of our existence)
Post by: asylumseeker on January 04, 2021, 02:11:07 PM

He is.

He went back very recently then?
As he was here up to last month training with the national team pool

Definitely one to monitor for the near future...if we had a proper scouting setup (yes i know funding is the bane of our existence)

Compared to other nations we have fewer players to monitor. And a player based in Argentina would be among the easiest to receive real-time feedback on. Also at less cost than is thought to be the case. Organization eliminates overhead.
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 15, 2021, 11:34:57 AM
this guy is in trinidad still
Post by: asylumseeker on January 15, 2021, 02:19:56 PM
this guy is in trinidad still

I know.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 17, 2021, 04:54:33 PM
See what the Banfield First Team looks like (more or less). Banfield v Boca. Final of the Copa Maradona. 9:10pm TT.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 17, 2021, 09:32:42 PM
Banfield will meet Velez next Sunday to see who qualifies for the Sudamericana. Not a bad shift by Banfield, despite losing the final.
Post by: Flex on March 16, 2021, 03:20:10 PM
Poon-Angeron excited about W/Cup challenge
T&T Express Reports.

Michel Poon-Angeron is relishing the prospect of a long national team career, having been short-listed in coach Terry Fenwick’s 26-team squad for upcoming World Cup qualifiers against Guyana and Puerto Rico.

Nineteen year-old Poon-Angeron is a former St Mary’s College midfielder who currently plays for the reserve squad of Argentina Premier division Club Atlético Banfield, having initially joined the club’s Under-19s.

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior men’s team open their qualifying campaign for the Qatar 2022 World Cup against Guyana next Thursday at the Estadio Panamericano in the Dominican Republic capital of Santo Domingo, before playing an away qualifier against Puerto Rico three days later at the Estadio Centroamericano in Mayaguez.

“I believe that with some grit and some fight we could go and pull some results off,” Poon-Angeron speculated about the upcoming assignments.

“I am confident in what we have been putting in as an entire group,” he continued, adding, “We’ve been putting in hard work and working on the game plan that coach Terry (Fenwick) has put out for us.”

A former national youth player, Poon-Angeron had his first experience at senior level when a young, experimental Trinidad and Tobago team fell to a humiliating 7-0 defeat to the USA in a friendly international in January.

Poon-Angeron feels that the USA defeat has inspired many of the young players to try and prove themselves, himself being among them. “I see a lot of intent and a lot of points to be proven among the players,” he noted.

Likewise, the teenager is also hoping to prove himself as a future senior national player. “For me this has always been my dream as a little boy so I feel very privileged. It coming into fruition and I just want to seize the opportunity with both hands and make the country proud...make my family proud.”

Watch: Poon Angeron ready for World Cup qualifying task (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PEP3jxeJMaI)

Post by: Trini _2026 on July 22, 2021, 05:02:47 AM
So whats next for this youngster . the goldcup would have been a nice showcase for him .   Belgium  french 2nd division switzerland  or portugal would be a nice start ..... Or even back in argentina
Post by: pull stones on July 22, 2021, 05:38:36 AM
So whats next for this youngster . the goldcup would have been a nice showcase for him .   Belgium  french 2nd division switzerland  or portugal would be a nice start ..... Or even back in argentina
if angus has anything to do with it this young man’s career would be in the doldrums before you know it, not to mention GG the third and all who look like them. these former footballers are the enemies of TT football, didn’t you know? some don’t like indian like greg ranjitsingh and some don’t like french creole like poon angeron and Gary. spend some time in trinidad and tobago and you would get a clearer picture of the nature of that beast call TT.

PS. how many games did frenderup play in the gold cup? imagine an aging failed goal keeper gets more exposure than a younger more capable custodian with far more prospects, now what’s that about?
Post by: Trinidad Sports Reality on July 22, 2021, 11:01:05 PM
Yall must stop talk stupidness Poon got an injury in training while in Florida thats the only reason he dint make the 23 man squad
Post by: asylumseeker on July 23, 2021, 08:25:22 AM
Yall must stop talk stupidness Poon got an injury in training while in Florida thats the only reason he dint make the 23 man squad

Was there an announcement or media release?
Post by: pull stones on July 23, 2021, 01:08:27 PM
so who's fault is that? if angus believed in transparency then he would have been decent enough to make an announcement on the player's position and we wouldn't have to guess. and i'll tell you this, the only reason i am against angus as coach is because of what i've seen in the past with local coaches. there's way too much favoritism and terrible decision making on their part especially with player selection, for instance look at the cadre of good players lawrence ignored, frenderup, greg ranjitsingh, hackshaw, jelani peters, noah powder, reon moore, poon angeron, duane muckette and marcus joseph to name few. so you will have to forgive me if i come over as foolish, i'm just fed up of the terrible decision making by these so called local coaches.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 23, 2021, 02:08:40 PM
so who's fault is that? if angus believed in transparency then he would have been decent enough to make an announcement on the player's position and we wouldn't have to guess. and i'll tell you this, the only reason i am against angus as coach is because of what i've seen in the past with local coaches. there's way too much favoritism and terrible decision making on their part especially with player selection, for instance look at the cadre of good players lawrence ignored, frenderup, greg ranjitsingh, hackshaw, jelani peters, noah powder, reon moore, poon angeron, duane muckette and marcus joseph to name few. so you will have to forgive me if i come over as foolish, i'm just fed up of the terrible decision making by these so called local coaches.

To be fair, he was transparent about many things during the GC and its lead-up. The issue regarding transparency is an institutional problem that is greater than an interim coach. You know the roll call as well as I do.

You know who was more interested in covering and hiding and blocking access and limiting possibilities etc. than in opening processes and in attaining consensus beyond a closed circle.
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 09, 2022, 12:33:49 PM
Is he close to finding a club now ?
Post by: Tallman on January 12, 2022, 01:02:30 PM

I eh know if he close, but he is still unattached.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 13, 2022, 01:18:44 AM

I eh know if he close, but he is still unattached.

A bird in hand is better than two in de bush. As de saying goes ...
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 28, 2023, 06:56:43 PM
Tell me why Poon did not get picked 
Post by: pull stones on June 28, 2023, 09:43:51 PM
Tell me why Poon did not get picked
because rampersad is much better than him. poon in my opinion is a hot mess, he loses the ball way too easy and brings very little in attack. i think if angus started hodge and auvrey, and our keeper didn't panic so badly, then we could have taken at least a point from the game.

i am of the opinion that we could beat this usa team.... but if we get it right and play our best game.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 15, 2023, 04:31:37 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/pQ1-FkmUF6s
Post by: ffisback on July 15, 2023, 08:58:48 PM
Rampersad is better defensively and is the type of player that S Hart and A Eve like but M P Angeron is a much better all around player with more of a upside he is a better investment for the future the downside is if they bring back S Hart his chances of going abroad and developing would be over.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 16, 2023, 06:21:50 AM
Rampersad is better defensively and is the type of player that S Hart and A Eve like but M P Angeron is a much better all around player with more of a upside he is a better investment for the future the downside is if they bring back S Hart his chances of going abroad and developing would be over.

? ??? ??? ???
Post by: pull stones on July 16, 2023, 07:30:28 AM

? ??? ??? ???
do you really take him seriously?? this man has been making some absurd comments for the little time I’ve been a member, and I’m yet to hear him make sense of any situation. He actually thought that jack warner was good for our football, that zoran vranes was the answer to our prayers and so many more senseless comments to the point where I total fly past his post, the same way fly past abttrini and controversial’s comments.

andre rampersad is a better player than angeron, rampersad is faster, a way better passer and dribbler of the ball, and he showed where he can be dangerous in front of goal. poon is a good, player but he lacks movement off the ball and loses possession quite frequently and needs to learn how to hold on to the ball, and he hardly shows any sign of scoring at the international level. I’ll take keron cummings over him any day.
Post by: ffisback on July 16, 2023, 12:24:06 PM
If they bring back S Heart as the coach he will do the same thing he did before go back to playing that outdated English football were they get rid of there technically best players and go back to building a strong man team like he did before so M P Angeron days with the national team is pretty much numbered.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 17, 2023, 05:13:36 AM
If they bring back S Heart as the coach he will do the same thing he did before go back to playing that outdated English football were they get rid of there technically best players and go back to building a strong man team like he did before so M P Angeron days with the national team is pretty much numbered.

What may really number his days is whether he enhances his club affiliation or credentials.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 17, 2023, 05:23:58 AM

Quantifying upside vis-à-vis immediate needs comes with something ---  it presents a slippery slope.

See my other post. You are advocating NT selection as the building block of a career.

Poon started well in NT colors. Had some good outings when others around him were notably poor, but none of the appearances recommend wild assertions or exaggeration. Nothing also suggests he is done as a NT prospect.

It would have been interesting to see him play alongside Hyland.
Post by: lil damo on July 30, 2023, 03:31:51 PM
York United FC could desperately use a player like Poon-Angeron. They need a deep lying midfielder with good ball control. They have no midfield presence and every time I watch them play I can see how M. P-A would fit well here. Why are more of our younger players not in the Canadian Premier League?
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 30, 2023, 07:12:37 PM
Lil damo why should our players go to that league ? Look at our nation team its so weak with these  usl based players. That league does nothing for us ....  :pissedoff:
Post by: lil damo on July 30, 2023, 07:56:33 PM
Don’t get me wrong, if our players can get into the bigger and better leagues by all means. But the young ones like him are better off in an emerging league like the CPL than the local league in T&T. The training, facilities, coaching and football is of a higher standard and getting better each year. He and a few others would benefit from the exposure if there is no prospect of them getting into the signature leagues around the world.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 31, 2023, 03:09:59 AM
I understand lil damo's position. @Trini_2026, focusing on league quality is one thing, but one also has to consider the reality in the actual league. In the CPL, one man has been responsible for the presence of at least half of the T&T players in the league. Plus yuh have to abstract that list for those who emerged directly from T&T, rather than through other pathways emerged in Canada. Where in Canada is the compelling case for the T&T player being made otherwise? This is a supply and demand market. Iz one thing to be dismissive of a league, but the reality is that even if I accept your position wholeheartedly (I accept it to significant degree) ... you would concede that we should be at a place where there are T&T players present in the CPL, whether or not they necessarily command the attention of a NT coaching staff. Sadly, we are still at a place in which as soon as someone signs abroad they are rendered a NT candidate and that shouldn't be the case. Let the players focus on career building and let the NT figure out how to build a visionary program.

It also should be pointed out that on CPL squads three (3) players have to be Canadian and 21 or under and half of all international spots have to be U-23. On top of that, look at the profile of the foreign players in the league and the picture painted is that it ent exactly straightforward unless there is a strong coaching preference/discretion for a particular player and immigration requirements can be satisfied (which takes us back to the coaching preference/discretion that led to the Halifax players getting to Canada.

The issue is structural, but where exactly is the compelling case for our players being made?

All of the above stated, check Poon's age. His reality is changing drastically as the paint dries ... lehwe call it "overnight". Anything is possible, but if I am mapping this out on paper and I am a director of football, iz not likely I am riding for MPA as my presumptive choice. All things considered eh ... not just age.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 31, 2023, 04:56:11 PM
Asylum this is where we reach  you hurting meh this to hard to accept  :'(.. from arsenal  wanting peltier harry  rednapp wanting  Hyland  and Guerra badly at portsmouth fc when they were in the epl to now  CPL?......... something  is wrong somewhere man. A
Post by: asylumseeker on July 31, 2023, 06:21:15 PM
Iz ah mess from multiple angles. Keep hope alive doh. There is always a seam.
Post by: Tallman on October 03, 2023, 06:26:57 PM
Warrior Profile: Poon-Angeron credits Argentina stint for transformation
By Stephon Nicholas (T&T Newsday)

MICHEL POON-ANGERON, 22, might not be the biggest player on the football field, but what he lacks in size he makes up in heart, skill and a calculated reading of the beautiful game.

The versatile midfielder plies his trade with T&T Premier Football League (TTPFL) runners-up AC Port of Spain, competing as a box-to-box player or holding midfielder.

At just five foot-nine inches, Poon-Angeron said he is accustomed to the naysayers, but he is supremely confident in his abilities.

"Trust me, I hear about that a lot of times, especially in the position I play – defensive midfield. They looking for somebody with size, somebody to win headers, but I make up for that with tenacity and controlled aggression.

"I not afraid to rough it up; I'm not afraid of a tackle, challenge, putting my body on the line, but it's about reading of the game – where to be and when."

Born in Poon Lane, Morvant, Poon-Angeron said a high physical conditioning is crucial to succeed in his position – especially at the international level. He credits a one-year stint (2019-2020) at Club Atletico Banfield in Argentina's first division for not only transforming his body but his mind as well.

Club Atletico Banfield was then coached by legendary Argentina striker Hernan Crespo, who played for a number of top clubs such as River Plate, Parma, Lazio, Inter Milan, AC Milan and Chelsea.

"I was in their youth ranks – under-19, under-20 and reserve team – but I was forced to come back home because of covid. It hurt, but I was able to make my senior (T&T) debut under (ex-coach Terry) Fenwick. I was able to be in the country and training."

Poon-Angeron, who now resides in Santa Cruz, is proud of this achievement as he had never represented T&T at the youth level before. He hailed Movement Mechanics, owned by Gregory Seale, for the opportunity to go to Argentina, and getting him physically ready for its demands.

What did he learn in South America?

"I learned Spanish, for one. I speak it fluently now. I couldn't speak a lick of Spanish before.

"Argentina opened my eyes to a whole different side of the game. I trained six days a week – sometimes double sessions. That level of intensity, luckily I was prepared for it by my trainer Gregory Seale."

He said the change in his football was exponential.

"Within three months, six months, one year, you could see the change in my game. So much so, I was able to get a call in the senior team without ever making a youth team. Starting and playing whole games and World Cup qualifiers."

He said the football culture in Argentina was different to anything he had experienced.

"Football is like a religion over there. It's not so much like that in the Caribbean or in Trinidad. People live and die for it. People wake up each morning – their week decided by a result."

He recalled the intense competition for a spot in the Club Atletico Banfield senior team.

"It's like an export for them., Some of the players come from really tough backgrounds, travelling for hours each day to come and put in (the effort) for a chance to make it out, because their player pool is huge. I was immersed in this. I wasn't there for a vacation."

On the pitch, Poon-Angeron said his work-rate is high and he is capable of showcasing his skills in varying roles. "It really depends on the system. Say I'm playing the #6 position, I would want to get on the ball, dictate the pace of the game, see the ball between the lines, switch the point of attack. If the diagonal is on, I would go for it.

"My game, I would be breaking up the play (of the opposition). I won't pelt a set of wild tackles, but you're winning back the ball and starting back the attack."

Poon-Angeron was a late substitute for T&T last month in a Concacaf Nations League A match against El Salvador, as coach Angus Eve sought to hold on for a 3-2 victory. It was his tenth appearance for T&T.

What is it like to pull on the national jersey?

"It's an inexplicable feeling. You feel a lot of pride.You feel like you have to earn it. Even though our player pool is small, some windows are there and some windows are not.

"Each time I go out there to represent my country, if anyone knows me – I leave it out there on the pitch."