Sports => Football => Topic started by: vb on December 01, 2019, 02:57:00 AM

Title: Trinidad vs China, 1978
Post by: vb on December 01, 2019, 02:57:00 AM
I was told by someone that China visited TT in 1978.

I cannot find a record of it. I believe there was a seperate game vs the Caribbean All Stars.

Anyone remember the TT game and what the score was.
Title: Re: Trinidad vs China, 1978
Post by: theworm2345 on December 01, 2019, 08:01:08 AM
I was told by someone that China visited TT in 1978.

I cannot find a record of it. I believe there was a seperate game vs the Caribbean All Stars.

Anyone remember the TT game and what the score was.
I can't help much other than to tell you China beat Suriname 3-1 in Suriname on 26 November 1978, so it surely would've been around then that they were in T&T. 

Here is the good site for guys who research historical results, I'm not registered on there but they may have access to old newspaper articles or something that could mention it.
https://www.tapatalk.com/groups/roonbafr/
Post by: vb on December 01, 2019, 12:26:35 PM
 :beermug: :beermug:

Whether or not I get the info I want, looks like an interesting site.

Thanks,VB
Post by: Tallman on December 01, 2019, 06:00:12 PM
I don't remember anything like that taking place, but after doing some research, it looks like it would have been in 1977. They played Jamaica in a couple of games, and according to your own website VB, the played a Caribbean All Stars Team at the Queen's Park Oval (https://vbhoolai.wixsite.com/hail-caribbeansport/earl-carter-trinidad-football).

China’s historic 1977 tour to the USA remembered (https://wildeastfootball.net/2017/01/chinas-historic-1977-tour-to-the-usa-remembered/)
Post by: vb on December 02, 2019, 01:38:01 AM
I don't remember anything like that taking place, but after doing some research, it looks like it would have been in 1977. They played Jamaica in a couple of games, and according to your own website VB, the played a Caribbean All Stars Team at the Queen's Park Oval (https://vbhoolai.wixsite.com/hail-caribbeansport/earl-carter-trinidad-football).

China’s historic 1977 tour to the USA remembered (https://wildeastfootball.net/2017/01/chinas-historic-1977-tour-to-the-usa-remembered/)

That's just it, playing a Caribbean All Stars and playing TT are two different things.

Earl Carter is in the photo vs China.
But I was told that in 78 Emmerson Dubisson was plucked from Mucurapo to play for TT vs China. I thought maybe the source mixed up teams but Earl would have confirmed if this was so as he was on that team.
Post by: Cocorite on December 03, 2019, 11:44:58 PM
vb,

Proposition fuh yuh.

Interview Arnold Dwarika. Now that's a player I wish I'd seen play
Post by: vb on December 04, 2019, 11:12:08 AM
Spoke to Earl Carter, he is not aware of China vs TT at that time but China did play three games vs the Caribbean All Stars and EC was the Vice-Captain.